Standing still to be shot at

Posted on June 13, 2013 by

We’re struggling to think of a reason why the SNP’s Angus Robertson (and to a slightly lesser extent journalist Lesley Riddoch) would still want to turn up for tonight’s Question Time in Edinburgh. Up against four anti-independence panellists, Robertson can’t expect to achieve much other than looking embattled and defensive – he can surely hope for little protection from David Dimbleby in the chair.

qt

Riddoch has already tweeted about the show’s imbalanced line-up. If our memory serves us correctly, she’s a firm advocate of the policy of male speakers refusing to appear on heavily gender-imbalanced panels (which tonight’s QT also is), so why not politically-skewed ones too?

It seems to this site that principled withdrawal is by far the better option.

Rather than playing along by turning up to be used as Aunt Sallies, Robertson and Riddoch pulling out of the show would send a powerful message that the sort of casual bias habitually employed by the BBC was no longer acceptable. It would put the likes of Sarwar and Davidson in the very awkward position of having to defend the unmerited inclusion of Farage and Galloway, and explain why they were happy as Unionists to be given such a palpably unfair numerical advantage over pro-independence parties.

(Both will be marginalised anyway, as the BBC’s transparent main interest will be in a ratings-happy bunfight between the two self-publicists, and frankly Sarwar and Davidson are embarrassingly ill-equipped to handle themselves alongside two far more eloquent consummate performers.)

Robertson and Riddoch pulling out at short notice would leave the show visibly short-handed, whereas Robertson withdrawing on his own would still see the normal five guests. The non-aligned Riddoch refusing to go along with the circus would prevent the media portraying it as nationalist sour grapes.

Of course, not showing up because you’re outnumbered runs the risk of appearing petulant. But in a case as startlingly clear-cut as this one, where Farage in particular has been so massively over-represented by the BBC while parties with far more electoral support in Scotland are ignored, the SNP and Riddoch could easily claim the moral high ground, since they’d be honourably acting in protest at the exclusion of another party rather than in their own interests.

The issue of the BBC’s unrelenting love affair with Farage extends across the entire UK, not just Scotland, so this evening represents a golden opportunity to fix a spotlight on the state broadcaster and ask it to account for itself to licence-fee payers in front of a large nationwide audience. We won’t be tuning in tonight, but THAT would be a “question time” we’d make an appointment to view.

57 to “Standing still to be shot at”

1. Craig M

What you will see is a picture of the UK as is and it’s final destination, contrasted with where Scotland could be, in the persons of Farage and Angus Robertson. I think it’s a nail in the coffin of the UK Establishment.

2. Luigi

Rev, I would normally disagree with pulling out – as you imply there are risks attached. However, the inclusion of Farage may indeed provide an opportunity to make a powerful point. Farage is, at best, irrelevant; at worst, very unpopular in Scotland. His inclusion in QT is bizzare. Drawing attention to his invitation could embarrass the BBC.

3. Clydebuilt

I’m for pulling out of tonight’s QT. Should pro Independence people even turn up for Newsnight Scotland when Gordon Brewer’s in the chair. they don’t get to make teir point and not turning up would send out a message to the public re. the BBC bias.

4. Horacesaysyes

Whilst I’m not actually sure whether it would be better to attend or withdraw, would it not have maxium impact if they turned up, gave their reasons for withdrawl on camera, and then left?

5. Luigi

Standing still to be shot at?
    Davidson and Sarwar will be the easy targets that Galloway and Farage may find difficult to resist.

6. Luigi

Horace,
    Aye!  If they are going to pull out, they may as well make it dramatic.  And give everyone something to talk about tomorrow morning.  The BBC could yet end up with a pounding hangover!

7. Desimond

There is one way round this, send in Alex Salmond. He would easily wipe the floor with the lot of them like some WWE fiasco, which some of the kids could enjoy too!

8. HandandShrimp

With Galloway and Farage defending the Union I am not sure if Anas and Ruth might be not be tempted to go to the pub too. I can’t see them relishing being on the same side as these two. It doesn’t do their credibility much good either. Farage could be the spoiler that hurts BT rather than Yes Scotland. If I was Angus I would egg Farage on to an ever rising crescendo of swivel eyedness leaving Ruthie saying Chewing the Fat style to Farage “you took that too far”.

9. frankieboy

The show is not live. It is edited. With that they can portray anything any way they want, and they do. The only way to be effective is to switch off.

10. Lobeydosser

@Horacesaysyes.I agree about the impact that would have but I also have a wee worry about the spin that would be put on it.

11. The Man in the Jar

I have decided to watch this car crash to see how it plays out. I agree that Robertson Riddoch should pull out but that is unlikely. Without them this would become a further episode of The Muppet Show with Miss Piggy battling it out with Kermit and Statler and Waldorf booing from the sidelines. Not such a bad thing at that!

12. Robert Bryce

Quite astonishingly the most breathtaking peice of state propaganda I have seen in my lifetime.

For George Galloway to participate in this abhorant propaganda with his track record of speaking out and opposing the state machine over Iraq & Afghanistan etc is the most remarkable act of hypocracy imaginable.
    I fully expected it from the likes of Sarwar, Davidson & even Farage but Galloway?

The man who heads the “Respect” party? That beacon of Socialism? That guardian of democracy? Hang your head in shame man and never darken my doorstep again.

RESPECT my arse!!

13. DMyers

One of my colleagues just told me the line-up had been tweeted and that it didn’t include Lesley Riddoch?

14. Max

Time to take a stand. Angus Robertson should pull out. 

15. Roddy Macdonald

A principled withdrawal by Angus Robertson is an idea, but probably worthless in an unprincipled world. After having a go at the SNP over their principled abstention in the Wasteminster England & Wales only gay marriage vote, Labour are now to abstain from the EU Referendum vote on the principled basis that they’re agin it, they think it’s wrong but they’re too feart to upset the swivel-eyed loons they’re now courting.

Dimbleby will be the new Jeremy Kyle after this and we may well have cause to be thankful as an English ratings-chasing bunfight between 2 irrelevant narcissistic nut-jobs pushes middle of the road undecided Scots towards indy. Come to think of it, I’m surprised BBC QT didn’t transfer the whole show to CBeebies, complete with gunge tanks.

Farage will be rattled by RIC Protest at the Corn Exchange at 5.30 – Like most narcissistic bullies, he’s not the street fighter he likes to pretend he is.  I think Angus may well come off best.

16. ianbrotherhood

Rev –

Is there any way you could do one of your option-style pages and ask WoS readrers to vote on this right now? I’m pretty sure Robertson, Riddoch and their people would be interested in the response.

Options –

Turn up, take your seats, explain reasons for leaving, and leave.

Not turn up at all.

Turn up and treat it as a normal QT, ignore the obvious imbalance.

Threaten to boycott unless Farage is dropped.

Must be others….

17. scottish_skier

So is tonight’s QT going to cause a massive upsurge in support for the Tories and UKIP in Scotland?

Folk will be saying after ‘Well, I was thinking aboot independence, but then I saw QT and they had that guy Farage that I hate and that stupid Tory Davidson with the SNP – who I like – outnumbered and a thought tae maself am gonnae vote Tory, God save the Queen, an long live the union’.

I’m just struggling to see that. I’m kinda thinking the opposite, if anything, is most likely.

18. muttley79

@Desimond

There is one way round this, send in Alex Salmond.

That was what I was thinking…

19. scottish_skier

A cause or political party can only destroy itself.
    The ‘opposition’ can never do that, no matter how hard they try.
    Worth remembering.

20. Adrian B

I’m just struggling to see that. I’m kinda thinking the opposite, if anything, is most likely.

+1

21. Robert Kerr

Turn up, say nothing. If asked by the chairperson prefix reply with “I expect to be listened to. If we cannot have a civilised adult discussion I shall immediately leave” Then do so !

22. Yesitis

It`s a difficult one. Almost certainly a no-win situation.

I do think the BBC needs to be shaken; there need to be consequences for their skullduggery.

23. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Is there any way you could do one of your option-style pages and ask WoS readrers to vote on this right now? I’m pretty sure Robertson, Riddoch and their people would be interested in the response.”

The technical term is a “poll” 😀

And your wish is my command, dear reader.

24. ochyes

I phoned up the BBC and complained in advance. Said it is hardly impartial.  Is the sort of thing that you would expect the Syrian, Iranian or Zimbabwian state broadcasters to do.

25. Roddy Macdonald

Standing my previous comment, wouldn’t it be huge boost to the perceived dignity of Scottish Youth if the studio audience boycotted the show?

26. EdinScot

Robertson and Riddoch should pull out as they’re turning up to a Unionist kangaroo court where the EBC rules the airwaves to show London rules.  The recent anti Farage protest in Edinburgh obviously hurt the  British  establishment very badly.  This smacks of payback and the recent survey of 16/17 year olds on independence and quelle surprise an audience of said section of society on qt adds more suspicion that the EBC is out to launch an assault on the physche of the Scottish people and thus hammer a huge nail into the independence cause.

If there is only a unionist friendly panel and it coming from Edinburgh, then this will play badly with most   non political anorak Scots tuning in and increase their frustration that there is something unsavoury going on.  Whether the SNP appears or not the EBC will still slander the SNP.  Look no further than at the propagandist EBC health correspondent  to bear witness to that.  If Robertson and Riddoch do pull out it would boomerang badly for the EBC and the   unionists where we now have clear proof that there will be  no fair debate.  Its time to highlight it to everyone and the disgrace of that organisation that people in Scotland pay a licence fee  for to be spat right back in our faces.  If we just go along with this outrage then normalisation will take place  in peoples minds and quite possibly a no vote will follow and  we will be sucker punched again.  Enough is enough.

27. ianbrotherhood

@Rev-
    ‘And your wish is my command, dear reader.’

Wow.

That was fast. And 66 votes already cast…pretty clear favourite option.

28. Cath

I was furious about this earlier. But thinking about it further I’m not sure it’ll be too bad for the Yes campaign. Angus Robertson is a very, very good political operator, and one the UK may have underestimated (probably due to not knowing who he is). He’s also from the North East, where the by-election is. Lesely Riddoch is also very good.

On the NO side, OTOH, Tory Davidson, Sarwar who’s dire, Galloway and Farage who’re there for spectacle and a fight. However hard the unionists try, I just can’t see that line up, with that level of bias looking good for the No campaign or the BBC.

I have no doubt though that the 60% poll was entirely fabricated for the purpose of packing the audience with unionists too. That bothers me more.

29. GP Walrus

Robertson and Riddoch should definitely participate. They are competent reasonable people will coherent well-founded points to make. The rest are incompetent or lack credibility. Numbers are less important here, the contrast between quality of argument / individual panellists will be much more telling.

OTOH it is shameful that the Greens have not been included.

30. Tattie-boggle

It wouldn’t be the first time the BBC broadcast The Farrage Show . They hold him aloft like some kind of Parkinson type character.

31. Yesitis

Cath
    I have no doubt though that the 60% poll was entirely fabricated for the purpose of packing the audience with unionists too. That bothers me more.

Absolutely.
    With the BBC working in cahoots with the unionists, and unreliable polls regularly used and mentioned as the apparent gauge of public feeling towards independence, it appears the BBC/MSM can construct a “bad situation” for effect whenever they choose.

32. Douglas Young

Leaving on camera with reasons as to why would be the ideal.

33. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I was furious about this earlier. But thinking about it further I’m not sure it’ll be too bad for the Yes campaign.”

It may well not. Farage isn’t much of a vote-winner in Scotland. But that’s not the point. There will rarely, if ever, be a better opportunity to make a stand about the BBC’s lack of balance in general and its absurd promotion of Farage in particular, and have it make nationwide news. The chance to do it on behalf of a third party, rather than out of self-interested pique, is also a gift that almost certainly won’t be offered again before the referendum.

Personally I’m not sure Robertson has the right temperament to come over well in this particular panel, but I guess we’ll see.

34. Les Wilson

Yes, I agree pull out 15-20 min before airtime.
    That would be taken by the masses as an action taken in protest at the unfairness of the BBC, but would have to be Robertson and Riddoch, as Robertson only would be portrayed as something else entirely.
    So Angus and Lesley, get talking now! 

35. John Lyons

Robertson should just go and, at every opportunity point out that neither Ukip or respect have any say in Scotland And refuse to respond to any points either of them make. He could then Focus the Tories only having One MP here making them a similar irrelevance, and well, Labour will just continue Tory policy and have nothing original to offer.

Job done.

36. The Man in the Jar

Don’t forget that this follows “Rory goes to Holyrood” BBC 2 (Scotland only) at 9: 00pm another unionist stitch up!

37. Gordon Bain

They really have to pull out on camera. As you say Rev this is a golden opportunity to make BBC bias a headline. On the BBC! Factor in the non-representation of the Greens and it’s like it’s written in the stars. And I’ll promise you all this too. If Angus Robertson does go through with this then his party has lost one member. Me!
    Hail Alba.

38. Bugger (the Panda)

I think that Robertson is a better thinker and planner than a bear pit politician.

He just seems to me to a bit ill at ease in the times I have seen him in interviews and debates.

39. fordie

Just complained to the BBC over the bias and inappropriate make of the panel. Phone number if anyone else wishes to do so is: 03700 100 222.

The woman taking the complaint told me that they had received many complaints and were making them available to ‘the programme’. I’ve asked for a formal written response to the complaint – promised within 10 days. That’ll be a first.

40. EphemeralDeception

There are a couple of additional options or variations.  They should at least turn up but then use the situation to show that the BBC are biased.
    Have T shirts stating STOP BBC BIAS
    At any Question, answer simply
    “This BBC panel is not balanced.
    This panel is not representative. Why?” or variation.
    Walk out near the end during some Farage drivel, in front of him and the cameras.
    ———
    Or for comedy – Every time Farage is about to speak say “Who invited Mr baw bag?” into the mike 🙂

41. jo

I think, despite agreeing that the line up tonight is shocking, that Lesley Riddoch and Angus Robertson will come over as the two most reasonable people there.   I think they will stand out while the others deteriorate into a rabble.  (Apart from Davidson who is irrelevant anyway.)  

42. Stewart

Gordon Bain, that makes no sense whatsoever. In fact, resigning from the party over that is just silly.

43. Vronsky

Look at the image with this post – check the poppies in their lapels.  Murderers, and so proud of it as to wear the proficiency badge. Filth.

44. Linda's back

Apart from their obvious anti Scottish independence stance, is BBC’s love affair with UKIP to help Labour win next election in England.

45. iain taylor (not that one)

So, so happy that I’m not a licence payer. Come & join me. It’s wonderful. 

46. Dan Simmie

I’d be more upset about sharing a platform with Galloway.At least Farage is up front about his views.Galloway is the biggest hypocrite in politics.

47. colin mccartney

for those who didnt watch it – it was awful.
    4 unionists, 1 pro-independence and 1 neutral – aye thats the bbc’s idea of a balanced debate. Galloway and Ffarage havent a single elected member in Scotland, Anal Sarwar – and i mean Anal – is as dodgy as his father and Davidson had a party conference in a phone box last week but it was broadcast live on the bbc. and they wonder why people dont bother to vote !!!!!
    sadly it didn’t show 16 and 17 year olds in the best light either

48. Ken Johnston

O/T on Rory Bremner.
    I watched it, and I was surprised to find it very balanced, in fact it favored our side.

Why does it need a comic/mimic to point out that bank bailouts are shared in proportion to the business that they do in each country and BY that countries exchequer.
    Not where the headoffice nameplate is. Why have I never seen the SNP point this out. Never. On Newsnight a few weeks ago Nicola and Moore were on. At the end  Moore was lying again that an independent Scotland would NOT have been able to support the banks in the crash. Nicola did not demur. Is there some plan behind this, or do they Really not know, which I can’t believe.  And I can’t say I liked it when Nicola said that in our New Scotland, she would work shoulder to shoulder with this ****ing Moore for the good of the nation.

Not where the headoffice nameplate is. Why have I never seen anyone point this out.
    Also he mentioned Blair’s 6000 sq. mile North Sea land grab.
    And McCrone and the 30 year secrecy.
    Interviewed Andy Wightman about our criminal land ownership patterns AND Professor  Alex Kemp on the oil reserves and the revenues which will be accruing for a long time yet.
    I think another wee brick in the wall.

49. Colin Duffy

The SNP need to pick the right fight to have with the BBC, QT tonight wasn`t that fight. I think they are aware of this.
    Angus said his piece and that was fine. The debate wasn`t the worst i`ve seen on the BBC and the young folk in the audience should be commended for being fairly clued up on the subjects discussed. Some even using facts with supporting figures. I`ve seen far more hysterical debates on the BBC in Scotland.There`s a video I saw on youtube where someone has broken it down to all the questions asked by the audience, I think there was about 18 unionist questions and comments compared to about 4 pro indy and even one of those was critical of it.
    I know from experience that they know the political make up of an audience and the questions that will be asked so that particular debate was deliberately one sided.
    The population of this country deserves to know what the BBC are up to. I hope they know before the vote next year.

50. BillyBigbaws

@ Ken Johnston,

Sounds like I owe Rory Bremner a silent apology, for silently thinking that he was coming here to stitch us up.

In one of his recent newspaper interviews he did come across as thinking the unpleasantness in the debate was all coming from the pro-independence side, but of course I should know better than to believe that people have actually said what they are reported as saying.

McCrone, the Adjacent Waters Boundaries Order, and the long-term prospects of oil – excellent stuff to touch on. 

Why has Road to Referendum not (so far) covered the same stuff though?  Or has it?  Maybe I nodded out for a second.

51. Chic McGregor

I thought Angus made good use of the limited time he was allowed (less than even pro rata for an already heavily U biased panel).  Two things I thought he might have mentioned and possibly would have if he were given more time – first the anti-Farage demo was lead by an Englishman and by no means all of the protesters were even pro independence never mind SNP, second Galloway is reported to be considering standing for Mayor of London.

I thought Lesley did well too and am glad she has at last nailed her colours to the post.

Ruth Davidson’s innate blind vitriol was evident and did her and her cause no favours.  Particularly the distorting of Angus’s comment about masters by attributing ‘slaves’ to it.  Galloway did not go that far, settling for ‘servants’.

Farage kept (or was kept) unusually quiet – for him.

Sarwar said nothing sensible, I would have him on every day of the week were it up to me.

52. Gordon Bain

@ Stewart
    You’re quite correct. I had perhaps imbibed a few too many when I typed that. Bit of a ‘drama-queen’ moment and i apologise for that. I actually think the programme didn’t turn into the car crash it could have been. Angus Robertson made his point well.
    Having said that, have you all seen what BBC Scottish news are saying on TV this morning? The only reference they’ve made of the show so far is to show a clip of Fromage ranting. It would seem the make-up of the audience and panel is actually irrelevant as the BBC will still spin it to their own agenda.

53. jr ewen

QT last night
    rev was right, ruth and anas might have not bothered turning up they were useless.
    thought the audience was well informed.
    george and farage just trying to shout the loudest was very silly. 
    think angus did well and lesley, she’s a voice of calm and reason, i’ve no doubt she made more yes voters.

54. theycan'tbeserious

Robert Bryce says:
    “Respect…my arse!”…..Has a ring to it don’t you think!

Totally agree with your comment! 

55. Ken Johnston

Re the BBC and QT mentioned on this morning “news”.
    My wife mentioned she had seen it @7.30. At 8.00 AM it had been cut out, but, my word, they managed 4 news items, instead of their usual 2. Sometimes 3.
    Re BillyBigbaws , I say again, why has it been left to a comic/mimic to mention these Extremely important facts.
    A. Wightman also explained the Crown Estates situation to him while walking along the shore.  I think Rory might be one of us, and his team, or nearly.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.