Rocket launched

Posted on March 07, 2018 by

This was us for most of yesterday:

Because we were genuinely concerned about this year’s fundraiser. It was coming off the back of our lowest traffic month in four years (February was absolutely dead in Scottish politics, and we had almost no internet for the last two weeks of it), and some other indy sites had had badly underachieving crowdfunders in recent months.

So it’s quite the pleasant surprise to be able to say that the total (direct donations as well as through the fundraising page) for the first 24 hours alone was… £72,429.

That’s a new record, up by more than £3,000 even on last year’s incredible first-day figure and almost £30,000 beyond our target. Opponents were stunned and dismayed as they watched the results come in:

While our proud allies in the Yes movement rejoiced in our good news:

As so often, your support leaves us almost lost for words. There’s still a month of the appeal to go and the Wings Fighting Fund is a vile insatiable monster, but yesterday genuinely surpassed our wildest expectations. You’re simply amazing, readers. We’ll keep doing our best to live up to you.

1. 07 03 18 09:56

Rocket launched | speymouth

310 to “Rocket launched”

1. Sarah

You’re worth it, Rev. I’m lost for words on what you go through for Scotland.

2. Lenny Hartley

Well done, worth every penny, more to come, i am away and need to pay money into account used for online stuff, what was last years final total, also give yourself a bonus, you deserve it.

3. Marie Clark

Your worth every single penny Rev. Well done.

4. Martin

I was only introduced to the world of Gregor today. The fact that you’ve angered him gives me great pride in the money I donated.

5. cctxt

Respect to you Stu – as Lenny says, well done, you’re worth every penny.

6. Marcia

Well done young man.

7. X_Sticks

Great news Stuart. Busted it already and I haven’t even chucked in my bit yet!

Just goes to show how much your superb dissection of our atrocious media is (rightly) appreciated.

I hope your detractors burst a blood vessel.

8. Bob Mack

Isn’t it rather touching that they express concern about Indy supporters ( who they usually despise), being ripped off by the Rev. Could they be sincere? Not really. They know and understand what a danger he is to their long time superiority complex.

He is the bearer of truth, who brings us the facts rather than what they want us to believe. We are not the brainwashed any more. We question everything and everyone these days.

However,if we told them that publications like the Hoots man or the Daily re record were the liars, they would tell us that this was lies.

So to each their own I suppose. I know who is brainwashed all right, and it isn’t us on Wings.

I feel inclined to further donate now. Baaaa Baaaa.

9. Macart

Keep doing what you’re doing and that’ll be enough.

Good luck to you.

10. mark

Couldn’t give much but gave it with a good heart.

11. Morgatron

Stu, as others have said. Your worth every penny. Thanks .

12. Lollysmum

It would seem that you’ve not lost your touch despite your rough treatment this year by all & sundry. Well done-brilliant total (so far) & who knows maybe more to come-it’s not payday yet for many.

Keep up the good work 🙂

13. Capella

Donating to a vital cause is the least we can do. You’re the one standing in the firing line and getting plenty of flak for your work. Scotland has had some sterling Guardians in the past and you’re one of them IMO. So worth every groat.

Instead of a seat in the Lords, I think we ought to create a Guardians of Scotland honour, for outstanding service to Scottish self determination.

14. Bobp

As a lifelong daily record reader, (even ordered at my local newsagents down here in engerlund) i never bought another copy (or any other paper). After that infamous front page lie “the vow”. The quicker they all go under the better.

15. Breastplate

Well done Rev and well done to all of us who use this site.
    Any donations are an investment in Scotland and ourselves as it’s our site too.

16. Eleanor Boyd

Delighted to contribute and pleased to see iScot magazine involvement. It’s excellent. And thanks for your invaluable hard work for Scotland.

17. Scott Cameron

How much is your Snake Oil and can I cook chips with it?

18. bobajock

I do wonder 🙂

Seems that there is some kind of appetite for truth.

19. RebelJock

Almost never comment but always reading the work that’s done here. I suspect there are many, many thousands like me. We may not be vocal but we are watching and listening and appreciate everything that’s done here. Proud to have contributed to every Wings fundraiser for the last 4 years.

Thanks in no small part to this site and its raising of awareness, Independence is at long, long last within touching distance.

The sour jealousy and envy of the “radical yessers” is pitiful.

20. Bobp

Slander in those words from gregor pisher murray.

21. Fairliered

Stuart, the reason the fundraiser did so well is because many of us see you as the most potent strikeforce against the Britnat liars and their mouthpieces – BBC, Herald, P&J, etc. Keep up the good work!

22. The Tree of Liberty

Just think, a guy raises a vast amount of poppy in 12 hours, yet there is nothing on the telly about it? In any other field, except Scottish Independence Movement, the MSM would be beating your door down for an interview!

23. Cactus

T-minus 10 seconds…

Ignition sequence..

Lift off!:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLUnBzSBMjg

30 days to go, remaining.

24. Eleanor Boyd

Delighted to contribute and pleased to see iScot mag involvement. It’s excellent. And thank you for your invaluable hard work for Scotland.

25. Almannysbunnet

It’s always a pleasure to donate. The fact that it upsets these so called “proud supporters in the Yes movement” is an added bonus.

26. Marcia

Cactus

The reaction from the SIU letter writing group;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2mcdYmrBzY

27. galamcennalath

I find that criticism of WoS is never supported by evidence or counter claim. All it seem so to be is incoherent hissing and spitting.

“Snake oil”?

A product with questionable or unverifiable quality or benefits

I can completely understand why BritNats hate WoS. Their fear and hatred is precisely because it is NOT ‘questionable or unverifiable’! And if WoS didn’t offer considerable benefit to the Indy cause, the BritNats wouldn’t be so het up.

To continue the snake analogies, I think it is the BritNats who nothing left but to speak with forked tongues!

28. auld highlander

Well done Rev.

The truth hurts and they don’t like it.

Keep spreading the word.

29. heedtracker

Scott Cameron says:
    7 March, 2018 at 9:55 am
    How much is your Snake Oil and can I cook chips with it?

That’s a weak slam Scott.

Better than, shaddaapp though.

THere’s still the 37 UK tory newspapers in your Scotland region, all raging away SNP out, vote tory. You’ve still got STV, the great beeb gimp network, both more and more desperately trying to get the SNP out.

So chillax.

Actually just going by BBC Scotland SNP Out’s extraordinary monstering of Mark Macdonald, on their teatime news last night, BBC Scotland are going to get the SNP out next time, right:D

30. MJack

Great now you can set up that underground bunker incase the police/SS want to take away any of your equipment.

31. Cactus

Yeah, also summin’ like this Marcia xx:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9mxon4txFQ

Never say no…

32. Nation Libre

^^ What they said ^^

33. galamcennalath

Sounds like 99% of WoS visitors haven’t contributed.

To them, I have to say … if you want independence, and if you enjoy reading what’s here … please make a wee donation! 🙂

34. mike cassidy

You do realise all this money is just to keep the Rev going in black-market, old-recipe Irn Bru.

35. winifred mccartney

Fantastic the truth will give us the freedom we need to make a truly fairer more equal Scotland and Rev Stu it will be in no small part because of you and your articles.

36. Doreen Milne

Well done, Stuart, never had any doubts you would get the funding you needed. You are a valuable asset to the independence movement. x

37. Gullane No4

https://news.sky.com/story/vote-who-is-britains-most-influential-woman-11274648

Poll closes today just 3,000 votes needed to make it a Scotland 1st and 2nd.

38. Terry

Delighted to have contributed. And probably will do again before the month is up – to annoy some of those tools – he he. They don’t like it up them captain mainwaring. But more importantly it’s because your journalism is in a league of its own, you bust a gut for the cause and also you give us our “ammo” to keep up the good fight. And win!!

Plus I get to read Robert peffers too. I don’t know who you are Robert but thanks for all your contributions – and all the other smart, committed Wingers.

39. One_Scot

I am genuinely humbled by the generosity of this websites supporters and the fact that they don’t care that the fundraiser target has been reached, they just want to show their gratitude no matter what. I tip my hat to you all.

40. call me dave

Hey! Maybe Terry was right yesterday.

On my tablet NS and MB have just disappeared to the bottom of the list… No votes shown in the boxes.
    Queenie at the top of picture List. 🙂

41. katherine hamilton

Hi Rev,
    haven’t put the hand in my pocket yet.
    A couple of observations. Why are all our opponents so abjectly objectionable? It’s all bile and filth.
    Secondly re the fighting fund being a voracious beast and youneeding a holiday at some point before the merde hits the fan.
    You always set a modest target and we always beat it. This year of all years please ask for as much as you need. I know we will all dig deep for what will be our best chance in all our lifetimes, I believe.
    We don’t need a top line (there isn’t one) but don’t sit there wondering.
    My usual valedictory. 2nd only to Nicola for the cause.
    Thanks a million.

42. Clootie

Interesting attack comments on you and this site. A lot of vile statements and yet not ONE piece of evidence in support…it reminds me of the Scottish media

…and if needed I will give again and again! This is not just about Independence it is about giving balance to the information available to the public. I do not want the propaganda of the unionists but neither do I wish the propaganda of minority groups and activists. I want facts with a quoted source.

The example of Bella Caledonia that is now in the hands of a minority interest groups.
    I want Scotland as a whole to decide our future not Westminster OR a bunch of minor home grown “masters” who feel the know what I need.

43. Clootie

Sky poll…what a surprise…I never seen that coming. The Queen wins again…shall I stand?
    I haven’t seen such a turnaround in a poll since, since…the last unionist media poll.

44. Cactus

When did ye all last check the active running page total…

Almost 1,200 excellent donors now.

https://wingsoverscotland.charitycheckout.co.uk/cf/The-Final-Countdown

45. Scot Finlayson

A “snake oil selling charlatan piss artist”,

is there any invective that Stuart hasn`t been attacked with,

as Jesus said,

`Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.`

they fricken hate it when you do that.

46. TheBuchanLoony

I would like to know how much Sensible Dave and Colin Alexander have contributed as they use this site more than most!

47. Red squirrel

OK I’m going to bore everyone by explaining just why this is so important.

Sorry Rev but I see supporting Wings as our last hope now. If Brexit hits and Scotland goes down too, we’re lost. I love my home and I don’t want to leave but I have to consider the future of my family and realistically that might not be here.

I’m heartbroken to even think it but I must.

I only ever seem to say thank you at the fundraiser – once a year seems pretty miserly for all that you do. I’m so glad that Wings and all Wingers are here.

48. bob

Can’t beleive you guys give money to Stu so he can look at the internet all day.

49. Black Joan

The BBC has failed in its mission “to inform, educate and entertain”, and it menaces those who don’t want or need to pay its TV tax with threatening letters.

Wings informs, educates and entertains and provides an online degree course in the forensic sciences of pish-detection and hypocrisy-deflation. For performing this service the Rev is menaced with abuse, hate-mail, arrest and confiscation of the tools of his trade.

Your work is hugely appreciated, Rev. The fundraisers prove it.

50. Gus

Can you be a little more controversial this year please?

51. Arbroath1320

Well who knew oor Stu was so well liked? 😉

Oh that would be US of course! 😀

£45,000 asked for and £72,000 received within first 24 hours.

Hmm … There is only one question remaining to be answered I reckon … how high will the total go? Isn’t the record somewhere near £118,000?

What makes this year’s fundraiser, like every Wings fundraiser, so great is the level of green eyed hatred jealousy from the Britnat brigade. 😀

52. Brian Powell

Go for £100,000!

53. Bobby McPherson

Cannae think of anything or too many people that have done more to challenge the anti Scottish british establishment or champion the cause of Scottish independence. Another bung to follow Rev. You really are the greatest thing since sliced breid.

54. heedtracker

I’m heartbroken to even think it but I must.

Its not over yet, Red squirrel:-)

55. el cruden

To think there are those pro-indy types who, when doorstepping during the next indyref, might be asked about ‘this Wee Blue Book ‘hing I got fae my niece’, and will persuade the swithering possible *not* to read the Wee Blue Book (revised ed.) because…ahem…’the guy who wrote it thinks [opinion x] about [topic y, unrelated to Scottish Independence]’. Ach…hey ho. Well in Stu.

56. Indy2

“Terry”,,,real name Peffers.

Terry writes to say how great Robert Peffers is.

Terry is of course Robert Paffers.

This boring arse actually posts in under different names congratulating himself.

You are a Troll Peffers.

57. Dr Jim

I am @Robert Peffers

58. David McCann

As Mr Tesco says, “every little helps’!
    Worth every penny. Donation ‘Winging’ its way

59. Terry

@black Joan

Excellent comment. Thank you.

60. Desimond

I’ve heard you called a lot of things, but a BLOGGER!

HOW VERY DARE THEY!

61. heedtracker

You are a Troll Peffers.

How is explaining in depth issues like Scottish history, trolling? Politics does bring out some very creepy characters and you’re right up there with the creepiest pal.

62. Proud Cybernat

Well done, Rev. You deserve this. Hopefully we can bust last year’s total.

Sky Poll (current standing)

1) Nicola Sturgeon (40.3k votes)
    2) Brenda (23.2k votes)
    3) Mhairi Black (20.3k votes)

Can we make it a 1 & 2 for Scotland?

63. Liz Rannoch

Gullane No4 and Clootie re Sly poll

I asked yesterday if somebody could do one of those screen shots/grab thingys.

I find it incredibly hard to get that site working – long running scripts and recover web page. When I do get on to it, it looks ‘normal’ – Nicola first up – however…. maybe the fact that I’ve checked a few times and having so much trouble… as somebody once said “I smell .. copra!”

We’ll find out at 4pm today.

64. Dan Huil

Excellent news. The British nationalist media hates WOS and eveyone who donates to it. It’s a clear sign WOS and its supporters are doing the right thing.

The Britnat media continues to peddle lies about the Yes movement generally. WOS is more important than ever.

65. Liz Rannoch

me @ 11.11am

That of course should be Sky poll. Note to self – time to trim nails.

66. Arbroath1320

Black Joan says:
    7 March, 2018 at 10:50 am
    The BBC has failed in its mission “to inform, educate and entertain”, and it menaces those who don’t want or need to pay its TV tax with threatening letters.

Interesting that you say that BJ I have just read this from Humza Yousaf over on Twitter.

https://twitter.com/HumzaYousaf/status/971310789549281280

Good old BBC doing what it does best … PREVENTING the TRUTH from reaching those in need of the TRUTH.

Time to shut down BBC in Scotland … PERMANENTLY. (NOT BBC Alba though they do a good job. Perhaps change their name to SBS Alba though.)

67. mogabee

As I said yesterday Stu, you are the oasis in a desert of misinformation. You are the buffer between the those who would and do mean to remove our right to a second referendum.

It’s no exaggeration for folk to feel that without your contribution we just would not be as challenging or skeptical about the ‘information’ that is pushed by much of our ‘independent’ non Scottish media.

As for those who are supposed to be fighting for the same end point but castigate those who want to hear Wings viewpoint first…*insert own words here*

How utterly tedious they are!

68. Cactus

750,000 new version Wee Blue Books funded for, to date.

One million new version WBB’s funded for, by this time next month!

Here’s the previous (downloadable) Wee Blue Book:
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/weebluebook/

Get smart.

69. Glamaig

Not sure why queenie is in that Sky poll of influential women at all – surely as head of state she is not allowed to be influential.

70. Kangaroo

@indy2 11am

I am Robert Peffers

71. heedtracker

No! I am Robert Peffers.

72. Cath

“was only introduced to the world of Gregor today. ”

Me too. And what a scary world that is. The SNP have a real problem if he’s made it not only to councillor (some utter bellends do slip through as elected councillor) but also been given an equalities brief!

73. Ronert Kerr

@Glamaig

You are being sarcastic… Bad boy

74. heedtracker

Tis true.

GAPonsonby
    ?

@GAPonsonby
    Following Following @GAPonsonby

A fiver of this is mine. The Wings Over Scotland appeal isn’t just about funding a website, it’s become a symbol of the strength of feeling and passion that endures post-Indtref1. It sends a message to North British Nationalists and their media.

75. Iain MacGillivray

Just sent you a Pavarotti my man, not a lot, but I hope it helps swell the coffers for more laser targeted spotlight on the rotten union and its antics. Big push required, from us all..the line is in sight, but these truly are the hard yards…

76. Darrin L Hall

Rev,
    Even though I now live in the USA (bloody American wife needed summers longer than an Aberdeen afternoon in July !!!!), I’m proud to have donated to the cause.

My extended family (mostly all Yesser’s) still in Scotland deserve to have the levers of power to shape the country for all future generations of Scots, and to be free of the Tsunami of bullshit coming from Warmonster and the Tories (Blue & Red variety).

Keep at mate !

77. Iain MacGillivray

the donate button or link to the page could be more central, in your face, easier to find, just saying 🙂

78. Mark

Could only afford a fiver, but every penny counts I suppose. Looking forward to the total hopefully reaching £100k or more!

79. turnbulldrier

I am Robert Peffers, and so is my wife. (sorry, couldn’t resist)

80. Black Joan

@Arbroath 1320 I heard that BBC Shortbread garbage this morning, including what turns out to be the lie about Humza’s availability.

By their own very terrible standards it was still one of the worst “news” programmes ever. With so much going on in the world (Brexit, poisoned Russians, visiting Saudi princes provoking protests) Radio Shortbread got all worked up about a report full of painfully obvious stuff about buses being a bit less reliable and available in rural areas and, by the way, here’s a Labour man to say SNP BAD at length, while Humza’s “travelling”.

There was also a plague of people (including the female presenter), who couldn’t read from a script or answer questions coherently. It was as if they were all half asleep. Utterly embarrassing and, yes, another perfect demonstration of why we value Wings.

81. Jockanese Wind Talker

No you’re not, I am Robert Peffers.

82. call me dave

Did I hear right on car radio BBC shortbread a bit earlier, when Kaye is celebrating ‘Womans Day’ tomorrow and her guest is (if I heard right)

BBC – Donalda MacKinnon. Aye right!

PS:
    At home now and my tablet is showing that Sky Poll same as my desk top PC with NS 1st and MB 3rd Queenie at 2nd God Bless the Queen!

So no jiggery pokery 🙂

83. Arbroath1320

I’m always amazed BJ that someone had to step up to the plate to defend an Independent Scotland’s corner in the “media”. What has really amazed me though is that our hero turns out to be a guy living in Bath … erm … in England! 😀

As far as the BBC is concerned, be it (mis)Reporting Scotland , GMS, Call Kay (with an E) or whatever I can not believe that there are so many people STILL believing every simple syllable spouted by the Britnat Brigade at Britnat HQ in Pacific Quay.

84. galamcennalath

Re Sky poll.

At 4pm SkyNews are having a debate on influential women based on this.

It will be very interesting to see how the handle the result!

85. Robert Kerr

@call me dave

YET!

maybe some one can track/archive how the top 3 move.

I note that recently MB is closing on BW.

NS 40.6K

BW 23.3K

MB 20.6K

86. ScotsRenewables

galamcennalath says:
    7 March, 2018 at 10:13 am
    Sounds like 99% of WoS visitors haven’t contributed.

Indeed. If each one of those 300,000 visitors just bunged in a quid in that would be a fighting fund of over a quarter of a million of your soon to be obsolete British pounds.

87. galamcennalath

OT. All the loyal media pretending to be surprised that the EU’s draft trade deal proposals are based on ‘Canada’. As the EU themselves say, given all TMay’s red lines, that is the best they will offer.

All a long way from customs unions / single market.

Clearly some way to go, but that scenario must necessitate IndyRef2 to allow Scotland to choose a more EU orientated future. Only question is – how long before we have the necessary clarity?

88. gerry parker

More on it’s way next payday Stu.

89. Johnny

My cat is Robert Peffers.

90. gerry parker

Mark at 11:49

Your fiver makes you 100% part of it.

91. Stoker

Rev wrote:

“So it’s quite the pleasant surprise to be able to say that the total…..for the first 24 hours alone was… £72,429……That’s a new record, up by more than £3,000 even on last year’s incredible first-day figure and almost £30,000 beyond our target.”

The very violent tremors experienced at that point was not, despite rumours, Scotland’s first serious earthquake in centuries. It’s what’s known as The Collective BritNat Tantrum.

Lollysmum wrote on 7 March, 2018 at 9:48 am:

“..who knows maybe more to come-it’s not payday yet for many.”

My thoughts exactly! 🙂

Cactus wrote on 7 March, 2018 at 9:59 am:

“30 days to go, remaining.”

Yes, we *will* be remaining and they don’t like that, eh! 🙂

I’ve got a spring in my step, a whistle on my lips and i can see a monster coming over the hills = ONE MILLION WEE BOOKS! 😀

BTW, Rev,(serious Q) Any chance we could call this one The Wee Golden Book? Gold’s a pretty positive colour for obvious reasons and it signifies a lot more besides. It’ll be our GOLDEN opportunity *and* ‘The Wee GB’ sounds just about right, eh? 😉

92. Fireproofjim

OT
    European Council President Donald Tusk pours cold water on U.K. ambitions and says any agreement must include retaining current fishing rights for EU countries.
    Watch the Tories sell out the fishermen again.
    How easily they were conned.

93. TheItalianJob

Great result so far ref funding.

Good support from all the regulars and Robert Peffers is our true hero on here.

Of course you too Stu are a real hero to Scotland’s rightful destiny of being Independent from this loony So called U.K.

94. heedtracker

Why is the creator of Project Fear 2014, so scoff centric? Sure he’s a house hubby now which is nice, that JK Trolling million UKOK million squid should keep him going for a whilee but even so.

Also, how comes SLab BetterTogether gods like Lord Darling of Roulanish, Morgan Stanley bankster seat on the board etc, all got made knights and lord by Brenda…yet poor old not so future Sir Flub here, never even got an OBE? Our imperial masters have a different logic clearly.

Blair McDougall
    ?
    Verified account

@blairmcdougall
    5h5 hours ago

Also, they’ve attacked:
    Shortbread makers,
    Whiskey producers,
    Tunnocks Tea Cakes,
    Mackies Ice Cream,
    Haggis makers,
    Harry Potter,
    Baxter’s soup…

…and then they accuse other people of hating Scotland

95. Blair Paterson

O.T. America and Britain are supplying arms to the rebels who are fighting in Syria and thus prolonging the war there and at the same time calling for aid to be allowed in via a cease fire if they stopped supplying the rebels the war would stop but no the usual double standards from the Brit Nats blame Russia who are helping a democratically elected president stay in power the usual BBC lies and make the real criminals look innocent and the innocent appear guilty

96. Dorothy Devine

I’m getting a badge , I’m getting a badge – I’m so excited!

I love the upset , spite , sneering and indignation voiced by the media and pals with WoS fund raising.

I hope every disreputable , dishonest journalist has their nose severely disjointed as the fundraiser reaches higher and higher then hits 100,000 quid – c’mon everybody let’s really pi$$ them off.

I look forward to the day when newspapers fold as those who live and love Scotland reject the ordure they print.

It is sad to see the Herald degenerate into a grammatically impoverished version of the DM/DR/Sun. I do miss the once wonderful, even handed Glasgow Herald – long , long gone.

97. galamcennalath

OT Wirral South MP Alison McGovern (Labour) says:

“And Brexit is just like, if I’m allowed to use this terminology, the shit cherry on the shit icing on the shit cake that the Tories baked us all in the 1980s.”

She’s right, of course. All this started with Thatcher’s de-industrialisation. However, we should add Blair’s shift to the right leaving millions of ordinary English folks feeling no one represents them.

Our mission is to make sure Brexit become just Engexit!

98. Dr Jim

Theresa May says Britains links with Saudi Arabia saves 100s of potential lives in Britain

I don’t think the use of the expression *potential lives* means what she thinks it means

99. ronnie anderson

Aye U wait tae am in Spain Rev then you launch the crowdfunder , well you´ll chist hiv tae tae ah get back hame tae git ma money , onyhows the Wings stall workers how s say´s you´s on us chucking ah few hundred intae the pot from the till .

100. Liz Rannoch

Dorothy Devine @ 12.44

I know how you feel! This year I’ve been able to bung a bit more so I’m getting my Notebook – yah-heyy!

By the way – I AM Robert Peffers.

Anybody know where the maybot is on the Sky poll? I’m not being lazy, I just have so much carry-on getting onto that site.

101. Ken500

Teresa May and the Hedge Fund manager’s links with Saudia Arabia ensures a colossal income. Tax evaded. While both regime starve, kill and maim millions of people. Causing the worst migration crisis in Europe since the 11WW. Then trying to walk away from it.

May is a lunatic. The sooner she goes the better. A total and utter two faced liar trying to destroy the world economy. Brexit is a complete and utter mess.

Saudia Arabia is the most absolute despot monarchy in the world. Now going bust.

102. Arbroath1320

She is currently languishing down in 18th slot with Caroline Lucas within 1,000 votes of her in 19th Liz.

For anyone wondering about the Politician of the year well she can’t even make the top 100! 😀

103. Arbroath1320

Damn it!

It’s NOT a 1,000 votes behind … Caroline Lucas is only 100 votes behind Feartie. … DOH!

104. Ken500

The Whisky producers, ice cream makers, shortbread producers biscuit and soup makers are going to be wiped out with Brexit. They funded it. Zoomers. Many of them are already declaring lower profits because of austerity and the fall in the pound. Scotland will get it worst. An £8Billion loss.

105. Jack Murphy

BBC VIDEO. Sorry for going Off Topic so soon but here’s Mhairi BlacK MP speaking in a House of Commons Committee during a debate,when she speaks about her recent illness and voting record.

Ian Murray MP for Edinburgh South and Paul Sweeney MP for Glasgow North get a passing mention during Mhairi Black’s contribution.

https://tinyurl.com/y86bc9oh

106. Macandroid

Bunged in a few Groats with the utmost pleasure knowing how upset the Brit Nats will get!

I was Robert Peffers in a previous life!

Lurkers – come out and play. You’ll have the best time.

107. Toby Goodwin

On the subject of “alarming web hosting costs”, next time you’re reviewing your hosting, Mythic Beasts would be happy to quote. (I won’t bother linking and risking the wrath of the Akismet bot, search and you will find!)

108. galamcennalath

Ken500 says:

The Whisky producers, ice cream makers, shortbread producers biscuit and soup makers are going to be wiped out with Brexit. They funded it.

Aye, those who supported the three headed demon of Union-Tories-Brexit are going to get bitten themselves by the beast they helped unleash!

And isn’t it ironic that despite all that, the efforts of ourselves in the Indy movement might end up being what saves their skins!

109. frogesque

I am the real Robert Peffers. All others are just paleface impersonators.

Seriously Robert, your knowledge and input are invaluable.

110. heedtracker

I was Robert Peffers in a previous life!

Rabbie Peffers is age and timeless.

Wallace himself would have said, I am Robert Peffers.

As long as there one hundred Rab Peffers…

111. Davy

It’s very nice to see Stu pissing off the SPM “Soor Plum Mob”.?.

Wings is worth every penny and it was a pleasure to donàte.

112. Davy

113. Davy

114. Capella

re Sky poll of influential women. I voted for Nicola and Mhairi yesterday but today I added a vote for Jane Goodall because it’s such a good photo of her with baby orang outan. She has no chance of being influential though – likes animals and wants them to be left in peace.

115. Giving Goose

Re the response from the EU to May’s recent speech – Mr Tusk of the EU said that the deal should involve zero-tariffs on goods, and that it should address services. He also said the EU would want access to fishing waters and resources to be maintained.

So that’s going very well for the Far Right BritNats representing the Scottish fishing industry.

Brutish my name and Brutish by intellect.

116. Macart

I may, or may not be, Robert Peffers.

Ah’m no tellin’. 😛

117. Spartacus

Get a grip everybody. It is obvious that I am Robert Peffers.

118. Socrates MacSporran

Can I just say: I am not Robert Peffers, but, Auld Boab, if you ever need “hauners”, I’m yer man, just whistle.

119. Lollysmum

What’s with this indy2 character having a go at our Robert? He is Mr Peffers to you indy2-he’s been here for years & knows more about Scots deliberately hidden history than anyone. If anyone is a troll then it has to be you indy2 & by the way how dare you adopt that name & tarnish it so.

Go back to your mates Rock, sensible & Colin & commiserate with each other cos your lies don’t work here.

PS-It’s my turn now to be Robert Peffers for the rest of this week so crawl back under your bridge little troll.

120. dakk

Um ur Robin Peffers anaw.

121. galamcennalath

Retailer New Look to close 60 stores, putting 980 jobs at risk. In part it blames, “the implications of Brexit”.

At what point does the reality that we are already in a Brexit driven recession (Brexession) become accepted?

122. sassenach

O/T PMQs

Was it just me or did the Scots Tory idiots get a lot of time? The tone seemed very much like “Why don’t you close Holyrood down?” – and May pointedly using the term British oil.

Her answers still always involve Treez calling SNP the Scottish NationalISTS Party. What a deluded fool she is – but still dangerous to Scotland.

123. Liz Rannoch

Arbroath 1320 @ 1.09pm

Thanks for that. So way down the list. Hee hee.

124. sassenach

Sorry, forgot to say “Robert Peffers knew my father – who’s name happened to be …..Robert Peffers”.

Confusing, Indy2, isn’t it?

125. heedtracker

She has no chance of being influential though – likes animals and wants them to be left in peace.

You dont know that Capella. Scotland’s Highland’s are essentially an open slaughter house, for our filthy rich imperial masters, Brenda for example loves killing for fun on her palatial Scottish estates.

Ofcourse the catastrophic environmental damage caused to the Highlands, by turning them in to an enormous open air slaughterhouse, routine mass fire burn off of all Highland life, flora and fauna, is rarely if ever mentioned by our UKOK tory gimp media, BBC Scotland gimps in particular.

What’s it all got to do with Jane Goodall?

Well she’s an early environmentalist and she’s still a huge influence on a lot of people.

People like these, who are much like WoS and who we try also try to support with money.

https://www.onekind.scot/campaigns/stop-the-mountain-hare-slaughter/

Unless we support these people, like WoS, our imperial masters and their very high paid gimpy BBC liggers and newspapers, will never change.

126. Lenny Hartley

Im no auld enough to be Robert Peffers:) however im no old enough to be Spartacus but im both.
    Indy2 bugger off ya little troll.

127. Tinto Chiel

Tha mi Robert Peffers.

Hope you get some Shekels of Solidarity from the brothers and sisters at Bella Caledonia too, to further the common cause of Scottish Independence.

Oh, haud oan…..

128. Sinky

Mike Russell explaining the Continuity Bill for opposition dummies
    live now from Holyrood

https://www.scottishparliament.tv/channel/the-debating-chamber

129. Greg Drysdale

Is this Bonnie Prince fellow a somebody? It was nice of him to share my tweet and suggest I might be brainwashed. All I wrote was…
    “Wings Over Scotland
    Simply the BEST journalism you will find.
    This could be the last fundraiser before we gain independence. We wouldn’t be where we are without this site.
    Please donate and share link”

…y’know, just like you told me to! 😀

130. Sinky

Mike Russell live on Continuity Bill

https://www.scottishparliament.tv/channel/the-debating-chamber

131. emgeeeff@hotmail.com

@ Greg Drysdale,

We have checked your circuits and mother board at control central. You appear to be functioning normally. Resume duties.

132. Phydaux

Heartfelt thanks and gratitude to Stuart for your outstanding journalistic integrity, commitment, courage and forensic analysis…a uniquely powerful voice.Like many others, I would donate again in a heartbeat as and whenever.We need you to help us fight the good fight.

The British Nationalists can’t stand it that you and Indy supporters are not afraid of the truth.Together we need to become so brave that we don’t know how to be afraid.

It’s coming yet for a’ that. In a braw wee warp-drive rocket!

133. sensibledave

Over the years, we have had a number of discussions with respect to the UK intervening (interfering?) in matters abroad where, it was argued we have no business getting involved. Generally speaking, the UK’s approached would be criticised here on Wings as “imperialistic”, or war mongering, etc, etc.

Usually, it would be me that would be left to defend the actions of British armed forces ; intervening in Bosnia, Intervening to save the poor folk trapped in Benghaxzi in Libya, or the Yazidis trapped on a mountain top in Iraq.

More recently, the voices of non-intervention have won the day and “the West” is now frozen into inaction.

Now, I watch the news and I see videos of the poor folk in Eastern Guta. I see tham covered in dust as they are pulled out of another obliterated building or fleeing with all of their worldly possessions tied to a bicycle.

Where is “the west” the say. Why wont anyone help us they say.

134. Conan the Librarian

I’m genuinely saddened at some old comrades that are trashing Wings on Twitter right now. Don’t they realise they should be attacking the real enemy, the Judean People’s Front?

135. Terence callachan

Be careful.
    So many people underestimate what the British will do for control.
    They will do anything and I do mean anything .
    Across Europe people have been killed to prevent details of corruption and tax fraud being revealed.
    You have already seen how the law is bent and misused when they are after someone.
    Stay strong, many many Scots are right behind you here in Scotland ,UK ,and overseas.
    My heart hurts when I think about Scottish independence and the dirty lies and deceptions used by Englands Westminster and its supporters to keep control.
    Keep your values positive because your values become your destiny.
    Scottish independence

136. Sinky

So far, BBC Politics Scotland steadfastly ignoring the ongoing Continuity Bill at Holyrood.

137. Bevrijdingsdag

Nee.
    Ik ben Robert Peffers

138. Referendum1707

Lollysmum 2.02

Indy2 has been outed as a troll for a few days now, and not a very subtle or good one at that.

Just ignore.

139. jfngw

Who to believe, watching the BBC Lunchtime news I got the impression that the EU were impressed by May’s ‘concessions’, although to me they looked like EU concessions, and were softening their stance. Everywhere else I look they say the EU has rejected the UK offer and sent them homeward to think again.

140. Scottish Steve

Got to laugh at these absolute roasters. How dare Scots have a different opinion from them! How dare they fund a blog which promotes their political values!

Also love how they use the word nationalist like it’s an insult. Unionist logic is, “oh no, we’re not nationalists, we’re far too inclusive, progressive and intelligent for that. We simply believe in perpetuating and preserving the nation-state that is Britain. That’s not nationalism at all.”

141. misteralz

Bevrijdingsdag, nee, u bent geen Peffers, maar ben ik hem wel!

142. Breeks

Ha Ha Ha.

I see the National is running a story that the Queen Elizabeth Carrier was allegedly and controversially named after Queen Elizabeth 1, who of course beheaded Mary Queen of Scots, rather than Queen Elizabeth 11.

Viewers in Scotland have their own programs of course, and will be aware that the current Queen is in fact the first Queen Elizabeth ever to be monarch in Scotland.

Far from upset about the naming of the Queen Elizabeth Carrier, it would appear for once, uncommonly sympathetic towards Scotland’s constitutional sensibilities.

143. Robert Kerr

@12.09

NS 40.6K

BW 23.3K

MB 20.6K

Now

NS 41.4K

BW 23.4K

MB 21.3K

144. Liz g

Well I don’t think I’m Robert Peffers,so I’m declaring my candidacy tae be the Robert Peffers “Decider” Person..
    And I’ve asked first!

145. Capella

@ Heedtracker – well Jane Goodall is at no.14 in the Sky poll at the moment. Still, higher than JK Rowling and the Spice Girls and Theresa May. So not all bad.
    Lovely photo. Scroll down to no 14 for a look.

Mhairi catching up on the Queen. Only 2,000 votes behind but I think the poll closes soon.

146. galamcennalath

Totally, OT, sorry. Apparently, the aircraft carrier Queen Elizabeth is named after that foreign queen responsible of the murder of our Mary I.

I suggest it’s about time Elizabeth, Queen of Scots had some of her ships named after ‘our lot’. Perhaps HMS King Robert, or maybe even a notable commoner or two like HMS William Wallace or HMS James Douglas.

Whesht! Dinna talk about non-English history, it’s just fairy tales.

147. galamcennalath

Breeks @ 3:13
    Me @ 3:28

Coincidence or telepathy!?

148. fillofficer

jis wee bob p 😉

149. Iain mhor

Just a wee donation fae me.
    Though it’s odd the grief eh?
    My donation was because I use the site.
    What happens to that money is entirely up to the Rev.
    It wasn’t to fund anything specifically, it wasn’t an implicit acknowledgement I agree with everything posted.
    I just pay for a lot of things, fair’s fair. A labourer is worthy of his reward is he not?
    If I wanted to read FT or some other online media, I’d be paying a subscription – here I’m just asked for the odd donation.
    So I can only assume the wish is for me not use this site.
    Is there anything else I’m not allowed to read while they’re at it I wonder?
    That’s some very shaky ground they’re treading…
    Assholes.

150. Robert J. Sutherland

Don’t you get it yet? We’re ALL Robert Peffers. Even Stu is Robert Peffers. It’s all one big front! =laugh=

(But jeez, all that hard writing has to be paid for somehow… =grin=)

151. Cubby

Sensibledave = arrogant ignorant offensive British Nationalist paid to TROLL

152. galamcennalath

Iain mhor says:

If I wanted to read FT or some other online media, I’d be paying a subscription

Not necessarily. Have you looked at google caching? 😉

153. manandboy

The Sky poll bursts the hot air balloon of Ruth Davidson’s propaganda machine. Not even in the top 100. She truly is a complete fraud, and along with the Secretary of Shate, David Mundell, is the laughing stock of Scottish politics – and more besides.

154. Craig P

Q1: why does Rev Stu get so many pelters from British nationalists?

a: on account of he’s an arsehole
    b: he’s an x-phobe
    c: he uncovers their lies

Q2: and why does he get so many pelters from Scottish nationalists?

a: arsehole
    b: x-phobe
    c: his site is more successful than theirs

If you answered c: to either question, congratulations. You can see through the fog of ad hominy to the real issues at hand.

And that’s why there will be more funds coming Wings’ way next pay day too.

155. cearc

“If you don’t make stuff, you can’t have a strong country … just look at what’s happened to the U.K.” – US Steel CEO David Burritt.

156. Cuilean

OT

BBCScotland are today attacking the Scottish Govt on buses saying vast majority of Scots unhappy with their buses.

This is extrapolated from a Report by Citizen Advice Bureau (CAB) Scotland and is on their web site.

The BBC assertion is contrived bollocks at best.

CAB received responses from just 4677 people.

250 of these said they never took a bus!

30% of the 4677 left no comments at all on whether they thought the buses were good, bad or indifferent.

So the actual survey refers to the comments of only just over 3000 people in Scotland.

The BBC omits to say that of this sliver 3000 bus users the findings were also that

68% were generally satisfied with condition of buses.

57% were generally satisfied with time tables.

49% were generally satisfied with bus information.

54% were generally satisfied with time to sit down.

76% were generally satisfied with their safety on a bus

71% were generally satisfied with bus drivers’ behaviour

Of the 12 categories listed, the public said it was generally satisfied with 6 categories.

So the 3000 users were generally satisfied in 50% of categories.

Where the 3000 odd were generally dissatisfied was clearly areas which would affect the older bus user e.g. getting help on and off buses, providing feedback.

As usual, BBC Scotland are ‘glass half empty’

157. Capella

@ cearc – wow – a palpable hit by Mr Burritt. But we do make some things – weapons for instance – for Saudi Princes and tin-pot dictators around the world.

158. Robert J. Sutherland

Craig P @ 15:54,

Q2: and why does he get so many pelters from pretendy Scottish nationalists?

Sorted! (WoS is a kind of touchstone for sorting out the real from the fake all over. I don’t think genuine supporters of Scottish independence have any problem with Stu at all, maybe just some minor reservations about his occasional choice of rude words on Twitter.)

Cuilean @ 16:00,

More like a glass 85% empty. They’re not even trying to be even-handed anymore. And it shows.

159. Bill not Ben

Its a funny old world ( pointless yakking

When asked about the father and daughter found poisoned on a bench in england, a Russian guy said, we do not do this, the americans do not do this, no government does this.
    What he should have said was, we all do this, so come and stop us if you think your hard enough.
    And Boris Johnstone opened his mouth and said something, but the world was none the wiser, as Boris is a twat that makes as much sense as a screaming monkey in a zoo

160. call me dave

@Cuilean

Thanks for that.

I was listening to Mr Colin Smith getting almost carte blanche on shortbread radio this morning on SG very bad on the busses.

‘Scottish Labour’ will fix it by nationalisation. Aye right!
    They had years to fix it but never bothered.

However the presenter did refer to ‘a poll’ which indicated that public satisfaction was not that bad… and I wondered when it would come up.

They also said that Humza Yousaf couldn’t appear as he was travelling? Seems he did want to take part but by Skype, as he had done before on previous occasions, but shortbread said no!

Funny that, they were willing to Skype folk ‘trapped in their cars during the bad weather…good old auntie with a kilt. 🙂

161. galamcennalath

Bertie Armstrong, chief executive of the Scottish Fishermen’s Federation….

“Each year we will then decide who catches what, where and when. The days of the EU taking 60% of our fish are coming to an end.”

… sadly deluded. London will sell out Scottish fisheries for something London considers more important.

If fishermen want a seat at the top table, then they can only get it from an independent Scotland.

162. Dr Jim

Better togethers Blair Mc Dougall thinks Whisky is spelled Whiskey which is very apt or a slip of the keyboard because right at this moment Diageo are in talks with brewing companies in of all places Kentucky in America, and guess what they make in that part of America? well..Bourbon Whiskey of all things

David Mundell was in Peru a couple of weeks ago when he was supposed to be here answering questions on his unkept promises to Scotland, well he wasn’t in Peru for a wee holiday, he was in fact in Peru with representatives from, guess who, Diageo on a trade mission

Now there are tons of people who’ll argue this is all conspiracy theories and we know who those people will be, but, as I’ve been banging on for about three years now when the UK finalises Brexit with the EU all yes all of Scotlands food and drink branding is left unprotected by EU law and can be reproduced by anyone anywhere and we can’t do a damn thing to stop them through legal means because the UK will have removed our right to do so (No EU legal protection)

All readers must by now have seen the massive increase in supermarkets of Union flags stuck all over produce and all now referenced as British produce, there’s a reason for this and it’s happening now, Scotlands future as a country is being written out and replaced (ref the continuity bill)

Check your supermarket shelves and you will see Scottish produce and the Saltires are disappearing and indeed some supermarkets like Morrisons for example sell practically no Scottish produce at all except for some milk and the usual token cheese which is placed right next to own brand British cheese at sometimes half the price in order that the Supermarket can defend their actions by saying Scottish produce is too expensive so they’re reducing their stock on that basis

Westminster has always controlled Scotland now they’re openly replacing it until even the word Scotland will be irrelevant, and eh, they did that before

163. X_Sticks

@ronnie anderson 12:59

“how s say´s you´s on us chucking ah few hundred intae the pot from the till”

Naw, let’s just have a mega pissup at the next wings social 😉

164. cearc

Yesterday,

Russian gas delivered into the U.K. network at Milford Haven due today, Siberian LNG bought by Shell says FT

Today,

Boris Johnson, ‘… it may well be we are forced to look again at our sanctions regime…’ and “Bring Russia to heel” was the phrase from the FS…

(presumably with our…err, ehm, powerful trading position? Well, whatever, tell them we’re British, that should do the trick.)

165. Alan Murphy

Pleased to donate. If we achieve indie2 then this site will have been a main influence.

I listen to radio Scotland am as I like to keep a hand on the opposition. A lot of phone ins are about money.
    More cash for students. More for hospitals. Carers. Tax the baby boomers.
    Is the elephant in the room not Scotland’s share of trident and what will it cot us for HS2 and we won’t see it.
    I think Alex S said 30 billion.

Should the conversation on BBC be… Hello caller… what do you want…more money…do you want nuclear missiles…Yes…Fuck off…

166. Dr Jim

Every time the UK Guv of whatever colour is in trouble they alway always start a rammie with some other country to deflect from their own incompetency and when it’s over get back to thieving again

167. Proud Cybernat

BREAKING from Pravda Quay
    with Union Jackie Kim Ono:

https://i.imgur.com/EGYEiJt.jpg

168. sensibledave

Dr Jim

You wrote “Check your supermarket shelves and you will see Scottish produce and the Saltires are disappearing and indeed some supermarkets like Morrisons for example sell practically no Scottish produce at all except for some milk and the usual token cheese which is placed right next to own brand British cheese at sometimes half the price in order that the Supermarket can defend their actions by saying Scottish produce is too expensive so they’re reducing their stock on that basis”

…. I hear that some of the supermarkets have got a special aisle where they are selling double skin, tin foil hats Dr Jim. I am sure you will find one with your name on. Assuming you are Dr Jim Tesco that is.

169. yesindyref2

The United Kingdom is legally a bipartite, (a two partner), kingdom how can it end that two partner kingdom as if one equally sovereign partner, (Scotland), was leaving behind any kind of rUnited Kingdom? What will happen is a two partner united kingdom ends in two again independent kingdoms.

A two partner union, as in a marriage for example, ends when one of the partners divorces the other. It cannot exist still as a two partner kingdom for one partner but not for the other partner.

When Scotland leaves the untied kingdom, the untied kingdom ceases to exist.

170. ScottieDog

I go away for a couple of days and this happens.
    Oh well my powder is still dry. Do I contribute anyway, now the beast is launched or save it for another project??

171. Nuggets O'Pish

I am Peter R. Fforbes, and I like doing anagrams.

172. frogesque

Continuity Bill Debate

Tories try to sell out Scotland but it has passed.

173. Macart

@yesindyref2

Pretty much. Not secession from a continuing union, but more dissolution of a union treaty between two signatories.

174. Hamish100

Ot

If a Minister can’t speak on the radio the snp need to get a deputy on. Labour had an open goal this morning over buses. Bad show

175. wull2

Robert Peffers posts a lot of sense, and uses me to post compared to him less sense, apart from vote YES next time and be part of history.

176. Robert J. Sutherland

galamcennalath @ 16:30,

Right-wing BritNat stooge Armstrong opines:

The days of the EU taking 60% of our fish are coming to an end.”

There is batshit mental Brexit isolationist self-harm encapsulated in a single sentence. The “trading with the world” fantasy bubble popped by one of their own. He blithely assumes that this “60%” will be caught by his wee set of wealthy pals instead and sold on to the EU regardless. Dream on, skippers!

As WGD wryly comments, maybe Belarus and Burkina Faso can take up the slack instead…? =lopsided sneer=

177. Robert J. Sutherland

ScottieDog @ 16:58,

I was offline for a couple of days too. But the target is notional (“the more the merrier”, in fact, I would say). And you have a better idea for next year…(?)

178. ScottieDog

“Where is “the west” the say. Why wont anyone help us they say.”
    The west only intervenes when it benefits the west.

179. Liz g

Dr Jim 4.36
    As a Scottish resident in the central belt of actual Scotland….yes that’s been my experience of the local shops as well.
    When you have for many years paid attention to where your food actually comes from, it is indeed very noticeable.

180. heraldnomore

Hamish, the Minister could speak on the radio this morning, but the state broadcaster declined the offer…

181. Dr Jim

@Liz 5.29pm

Norwegian Salmon and Yorkshire Brook trout among others sold by Morrisons right here in the land of Salmon and Trout
    If you ask where the Haddock and Cod comes from the answer you get is from a van from Grimsby

No college degree required to work this out

It’ll not dawn on folk till they see stuff like British Tweed from our British Islands (Harris no more)

182. Robert Louis

I see SKY ‘news’ – a supposed ‘news’ channel, are playing the British establishment game for them. For the last hour, the ONLY story they have covered is a former Russian spy getting poisoned in Salisbury. Not one other story at all.

Nothing else happened today – especially NOT in Brussels.

Doing Westminster’s job for them. Stir up the anti Russion hysteria, oh, and while you are at it, DON’T MENTION THE CLUSTERF**** CALLED BREXIT’.

And they wonder why fewer and fewer people believe a single word from the mainstream media.

183. North chiel

“Yesindyref2 @ 0458 pm “ “ the United Kingdom is legally a bipartite ( two partner ) Kingdom . How on earth can the “ equal partner” United Kingdom Government legislate for a “ devolved” parliament in Scotland without also having a “ devolved parliament “ for England ?? .As our own Robert Peffers as stated repeatedly , the Westminster ( United Kingdom) parliament is none other than the assumed de facto parliament of England.

184. Terry

@dr Jim

Seen that already. A shop in Elgin had the Harris tweed label stitched in to a jacket but the attached paper label had a Union Jack and the words Made in England on it.

As for the sky news poll. Sky seemed to have dumped it. No link on sky show to it. Just a survey of Londoners!!No mention on the news either.

That’s why we have Wings.

185. Robert Louis

Dr Jim at 436pm,

Excellent post. I wholly agree. It is no conspiracy theory, it is actually happening. It is not just food, everywhere you look, all kinds of products are getting plastered in the butcher’s apron.

After brexit, it will be ‘buy British’. and you are right, the Tories will happily sell Scotch whisky – one of the most revered drinks brands in the world – to the Americans.

I now, no matter what the product, simply avoid anything food or otherwise that has the union jackery plastered over it.

The ground is being set. On the day it all kicks in, these and many other changes will simply be imposed on Scotland. It will be ‘whisky from the British Islands’, or ‘Great British Shortbread’ (after their rather defensive statement today, will we ever see a SALTIRE bedecked Walkers shortbread tin?? Aye right. Tartan or union jacks only. That’s how they view Scotland.)

Getting really, really sick of it. These companies are simply ‘proud Scots in name only. You don’t need a union jack to sell SCOTTISH shortbread in Germany – to suggest you do, is just pure bulls***. Germans are not stupid, they know where and what Scotland is. No, union jackery is done to please those in Westminster who will promote your products in foreign markets. That is what it is about.

Time some of these so-called ‘Scots’ actually got some REAL pride in their country, Scotland, instead of fawning to the British nationalist whims of London Tory fops.

186. yesindyref2

@North chiel
    Sorry, I was doing a “subtle” I am Robert Peffers by cutting and pasting part of one of his postings, though the last line is mine (and Michael Forsyth Conservative ex secretary of state for Scotland in the House of Lords 2012). Mind you, I agree with that bit of RP’s.

187. yesindyref2

@Macart
    I can’t wait for the UK Withdrawal from the European Union (Legal Continuity) (Scotland) Bill to be passed.

http://www.parliament.scot/parliamentarybusiness/Bills/107725.aspx

May & Co still seem to think Sturgeon is bluffing. Personally I think she has a Royal Flush, whereas May is sitting with two pair, knaves over dunces.

188. Robert Louis

While we are on the subject of Scottish brands – their is a Scottish watch company I’d never heard of before – Kartel watches, based in St.Andrews. I don’t think they make them here, but I could be wrong ,but they are proud to be Scottish. Where else can you buy a watch that says ‘designed in Scotland’ on the watch face? Their watches are all called things like, Tarbert, Cuillin or Lewis, and so on.

Just for the record, I’m not involved with them, just happened to find them on the internet. Going to get one, since I like the idea of a watch that says designed in Scotland, on it.

189. Fred

@ Cuilean, my bus service couldn’t be bettered, superb choice! Just sayin!

190. Fred

Anent, Mhairi Black, this arsehole Murray should be thoroughly ashamed of himself!

191. Bevrijdingsdag

@Misteralz
    Blijkbaar zijn we allemaal Meneer Peffers.

192. gus1940

There is nothing wrong with Lothian Buses apart from having to subsidise Labour’s Vanity Tram Financial Fiasco.

193. Robert J. Sutherland

yesindyref2 @ 18:26,

Yes, funny how Bluster Gal retreated PDQ after realising the legal minefield she was about to wander into.

UKGov and their servile NorthBriTories have been treading carefully, but they are rapidly running out of safe places to take their anti-democratic arrogance.

194. Iain mhor

@galamcennalath 3:51pm

Naw ah hudny really. Theres ways and means richt enough, but how wid the puir souls keep their ocean going yachts afloat if ah didny pay for the content?
    No that ah really want tae, but ah’m feart noo tae read onything – is there mibbes a spokesperson who could gie me an approved reading list ah wonder?
    Ochone, ah huv said too much. There’s ma handle in ma post an aw! Ah’m awa tae lurk wi’ a hoodie pulled low so’s they canny clock me!
    Ah’ll need a new handle noo – Sumthin patriotic efter a Scottish King mibbe, or geographical near the capital. Ehh Haddington or Pefferburn, aye.
    Ah’m no Iain – ah’m Robert Peffers!

(shhh kiddy oan – ye huvny seen me richt?)

195. Fairliered

I am also Robert Peffers. Robert Peffers is Spartacus. Indy2 – don’t let the door hit your arse on the way out.

Well done Mhairi Black, but a pity she didn’t name and shame some of her Britnat attackers.

196. yesindyref2

@RJS
    Been skimming through it from my link, and there’s a large number of times “Scots Law” is in there. Also found this in the briefing notes:

Part 2 of the Bill aims to ensure that EU law is saved in Scots law after the UK has left the EU. Sections 2 to 5 of the Bill seek to ensure that EU law currently incorporated in Scots law continues to apply after Brexit. It replicates the provisions in clauses 2 and 3 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill.

https://digitalpublications.parliament.scot/ResearchBriefings/Report/2018/3/6/UK-Withdrawal-from-the-European-Union–Legal-Continuity—Scotland–Bill

197. galamcennalath

The leader and deputy leader of far-right group Britain First have been found guilty of religiously-aggravated harassment. I seem to remember there was an BritTroll on here attempting to excuse their actions.

We seem to have reached a point where the far right in the UK is mostly inside the Tory party. And yet, there are still some who are soooo far out they are beyond Tories!

198. Habib Steele

Snake oil! I think there are some spitting cobras spitting at you. I very much appreciate your work.

199. mumsyhugs

Oops! Nearly missed the fundraiser! Seems to be doing nae bad despite my tardiness ? – and despite what you say Stuart we’ll dip in to the old pockets again for the next fundraiser!

200. galamcennalath

The EU Guidelines published at lunchtime were dismissed by Philip Hammond as the sort of opening bid you would expect from a negotiating partner. , reports Channel 4.

Why are the Tories still pretending that this is a negotiation between to equal sides?

Why do they also pretend that the EU hasn’t been consistent for almost two years now?

And, talking of time, why are the Tories now where they should have been more than a year ago?

IMO the answer is that the outcome which solves the incompatible demands upon them is to crash out and blame and ‘intransigent EU’!

201. K1

Gala, they just have to convince their English serfs that it’s the EU’s fault but they won’t be taking us with them if they do go for the crash out as predicted. Like we all didn’t say this was inevitable right from the start. Shower of rockets the lot of them.

Oh there was one of them on earlier too on here…glad to see nobody ‘bit’.

Also as that twat doesn’t live here and knows sfa about our produce being over run with UJ’s and our Scotland brand being altered to ‘British’, he should just stfu about stuff he has no clue about.

202. Chick McGregor

Cearc & Capella

The UK to EU trade deficit on the last available figures is between £80 billion (UK figures) and £180 billion (EU figures which treat financial services differently).
    Which set of figures do you trust? Either way, the ‘UK’ has shit BoT.

I have also posted graphs and bar charts which show the clear normal dependence of GDP PPP to Balance of Trade deficit.

The UK is an outlier having by far the biggest Balance of Trade deficit in Europe, however, it bucks the normal trend by having a very large financial services sector of around £150 billion, so UK GDP PPP actually reaches middling European levels despite its horrendous BoT figures.

How safe is that financial services sector post Brexit? Perhaps it is better just to adopt the Brexiteers policy of singing the La, La, La song and looking for a bucket of sand rather than address the question.

An indy Scotland, would not be stellar on BoT but at least would be well within the European norm.

I’d re post the graphs, but honestly, I don’t think anyone looks at them.

For those into astronomy, it is rather beautifully analogous to a small outlying group of stars which depart from the normal size versus brightness line (the ‘main line’). These are brighter than they should be for their size, but only because they are old stars which have used up their fusion fuel and have started to burn their core material and will soon be dead.

203. schrodingers cat

yesindyref2 says:
    I’am Robert Peffers

——————
    I’m Brian and so’s my wife 🙂

204. Stephen McKenzie

Just donated and feel so much better.

Glad to see Robert Peffers being mentioned, I went to Robert Peffers Academy.

205. geeo

Going to need a fundraiser for WM at this rate…brexit going better by the day !

Brexit: Euroclear confirms headquarters move from London to Brussels

http://archive.is/N2H47

206. Capella

Chick McGregor says:
    they are old stars which have used up their fusion fuel and have started to burn their core material and will soon be dead.

I do hope so.

207. JLT

Well done, Stuart. All the best with the coming year. You just never know …sooner or later, the Union has to lose. All things have an end date stamped on it …even time itself.

Go and have a beer (or two) to celebrate!

208. Fireproofjim

Je suis Napoleon. Mais aussi, quelques fois, Robert Peffers

209. boris

Denis Healey was the last honest UK Chancellor of the twentieth century. Asked for his views on independence his reply was truly revealing

https://caltonjock.com/2014/08/28/a-labour-government-chancellor-revealed-the-truth-without-scotland-england-would-be-a-basket-case-economy-keep-this-handy-for-the-next-scottish-independence-referendum/

210. Cherry

Glad to fund you for the fight ahead.
    Anyone seen the advert on the UAE and UK working as partners… I have no words.

211. North chiel

“ yesindyref2 @ 0614pm” no need to apologise sir for “ quoting the great man” . It is indeed an honour bestowed ( none greater) than by his fellow citizens .

212. stu mac

He’s not been mentioned so far on this thread but I thought I’d drop this in before I forget.
    http://www.private-eye.co.uk/hp-sauce

Just something for when folk argue that a vote for Corbyn is a vote for true socialism in the UK.

213. Macart

@yesindyref2 6.26

Like I said on the other thread dads… One more domino. 😉

214. Glamaig

Radio Shortbread news tonight announced cheerfully that the EU were offering the UK a ‘free trade deal’ that involved ‘tariff-free trade’, as if that were a good thing, forgetting to mention that is several orders worse than what we already have, no mention of all of what we would lose, or the cost to the economy. That was it.

Thank god I get my information from Wings and other sources like the SNP and Scottish Government, Irish and European media, and various twitter accounts of MEPs, MPs etc.

Anybody relying on the MSM is of course kept in ignorance of what is going on, that is really scary.

Contribution to Wings fundraiser on its way…

215. Tinto Chiel

Re: Dr Jim’s Disappearing Saltires…..

A few months ago, and in an unfamiliar area, I entered a shop called Waitrose for a goosie while I killed time waiting for SWMBO.

The cheese counter was large and had a mural behind it which named cheese varieties fromall over Europe on a map. The sum total for Scotland was one, Orkney. I found this strange, since I was sure we had more than one variety in our country.

“Is that the only Scottish cheese you have?” I asked.

Uninterested cheesemonger: “Yes.”

“But there are lots of Scottish cheeses.”

Expression of Monger of Cheese: *Bite Me*.

Irked, I sought a manager but before I could find one my Controller appeared and we left.

I immediately e-mailed a complaint when I got home, asking if this oversight was deliberate or based on ignorance. The eventual reply assured me that the establishment sold some more Scottish cheeses in the pre-packed aisle.

My point was that the snobby cheese counter gave the impression we hardly produced any quality cheese. The usual anaemic English stuff was, of course, on display. I absolve the Stilton: I rather like it.

Memo to Sweaties: “You’re crap and you know you are.”

216. ahundredthidiot

donating soon. love you Rev. You do what most of us only wish we could. stay strong and God speed.
    We shall overcome.

217. auld highlander

Tonight on the box Aberdeen Angus as stated as britshit and that was an Aldi advert.

218. Macart

@yesindyref2

Oh, here we go.

https://archive.is/5IWZu

5,4,3,2,1…

219. ALAN GERRISH

Fred says:
    7 March, 2018 at 6:32 pm
    Anent, Mhairi Black, this arsehole Murray should be thoroughly ashamed of himself!

I don’t think “this arsehole Murray” (and his partner-in-crime Paul Sweeney) would know the meaning of shame. They should be immediately suspended from the Labour party for this disgusting and sustained attack on, and abuse of, Mhairi.

How about it Richard? Don’t you feel this sort of behaviour drags your BLiS party into the gutter along with the perpetrators? You’re the leader you know, why don’t you ever act like one?

220. Legerwood

It is not just supermarkets that are stocking fewer Scottish food products. Farm shops seem to be reducing the amount of Scottish produce that they stock.

I go fairly regular to a number of farm food shop/cafes in my local area and always bought something Scottish whether food or goods but over the past year I have noticed that the amount of Scottish products that they stock seems to have reduced in quantity and variety over the past year. Even the range of gins that they stock has reduced in number.

I always found these shops a good source of a wide variety Scottish produced food and Scottish cheeses and chocolates – Ok it is not a balanced diet. We have some great cheesemakers in Scotland and chocolate makers.

My local Lidl has Saltire signs on the doors and does sell a variety of Scottish products – cheeses from the Highland Fine Cheese Company in Tain for example – but even Lidl seems to have reduced the range of Scottish produce.

By the way, a large proportion of the cheddar cheese sold in the UK is imported.

As to brands such as Harris Tweed its orb logo is, I believe, one of the oldest product logos in the world and it is going to be trashed for no good reason by ignoramuses in Westminster

221. Susan Smith

“Cheque’s in the post” – or will be tomorrow. I don’t know what we’d all do without you, for the same reasons as other people have given. We’re certainly going to have to fight for our independence. We need you to keep us sane and well informed.

222. Meg merrilees

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-politics-43301781/mhairi-black-i-was-pressed-up-against-colleague-accused-of-sexual-misconduct

I don’t know if this has been posted yet – a speech from Mhairi Black in the HoC today supposedly about sexual misconduct, but by golly, she gives ian Murray and his colleague one heck of a tongue -lashing at the end. Fantastic -way to go Mhairi.

Last time I looked at Britain’s most influential women link NS 42.4k; The Queen 23.5k; Mhairi Black 22.1; Diana 9.5k; Thatcher the milk snatcher 8.5k;

Is Nicola Sturgeon Robert Peffers?

223. Ken500

Scotland exports £44Billion. Over £10Billion more pro rata.. The UK exports £320Billion? Scotland imports and exports are balanced. No deficit. The rest of the UK has a large balance and trade deficit. Putting up the debt. The Tories /Westminster have just been borrow and spending more in the rest of the UK. Putting up the debt. Scotland doesn’t borrow or spend it but has to make loan repayments. Illegal wars, Trudent, financial fraud and tax evasion are costing Scotland £Billions.

In UK 2010 Labour were raising £600Billion in tax revenue. Borrowing and spending £120Billion. = £720Billion.

Now in the UK seven years later, The Tories (tax cuts) are raising £533Billion. Borrowing and spending £100Billion? = £633Billion.

They are building grotesque projects of little value. Funded by the Chinese. Calling it private enterprise but has to be paid back with public money. Paying for Hinkley Point and HS2. A collossal waste of public money. With no business case. Costing £Billions more than alternative. The Tory slush fund. The Tories are misappropriating, embezzling £Billions. Making £Millions out of it. Cameron, Carrington and their associates. Funding the Tory Party. Carrillion were up to their eyes in debt but funding the Tory Party. A whitewash cover up. Directors getting £Millions, from the public purse, making up the losses.

Wasting money which should be spent on essential services. Cutting essential services. Cutting funding for the NHS, education etc.

Brexit is a disaster. Another Tory mess. They have not got a clue what they are doing. The DUP illegal Brexit donation being covered up.

224. Macart

@Meg merrilees

“Is Nicola Sturgeon Robert Peffers?”

Have you ever seen them in the same room at the same time? 😉

225. jfngw

Remember those who decide to not donate, Rep Scot are waiting to declare that support for independence is on the wane if the total is lower than last year.

226. yesindyref2

@Macart
    Well, if the UK Gov does give way they can always sack Mundell because he made a mess of the JMC meetings.

227. Macart

@yesindyref2

As per the article link I supplied, they ‘claim’ they’re not willing to back down on the 25 remaining powers…

…They could, of course, always attempt to see if the FM’s bluffing, but they may come to regret that choice.

228. Capella

@ stu mac – thx for that link to Private Eye. There is also a very interesting report on how PFI came to be Labour policy – which can be downloaded by submitting your email address to join their mailing list.
    Presumably you can cancel that later if you aren’t happy about it.

http://www.private-eye.co.uk/special-reports/pf-eye

229. galamcennalath

Of course, if the Tories are planning to crash out with Brexit, it would make sense to be able to share the blame among as many others as possible …. the EU, Scotland, Trump, WTO, whoever! Everyone but themselves.

230. Dr Jim

Scotland tonight 10.30pm if you want to see Mhairi Black being interviewed by Help me Rona

231. Robert J. Sutherland

Macart @ 21:49,

Each gamble the Tories have so far taken has been more rash than the one before, and as they get more and more tangled in the consequences of their mishandling, they seem to be getting more desperate rather than more inclined to compromise.

When May took over, it was all warm words about “full consultation”, now it’s “unitary market and take what we hand out, peons”.

Ironically, the lack of any significant popular backlash in Scotland so far may have misled them into thinking they can get away with anything. In that I believe they are seriously mistaken.

They seem to have hesitated so far in challenging the SG and Parliament, so they have a vestige of caution left. But events are driving them down a path over which they don’t seem to have much control left now, and are rapidly running out of track over pretty much everything.

They are clearly already casting around for scapegoats.

Which may work for them in England, but I doubt if it will here, since we will be among them!

232. Spartacus

Nicola Sturgeon is not Robert Peffers. I am.

FREEDOM

233. Highland Wifie

Have just been enjoying catching up. Fantastic result on the fundraiser. Happy to give more when required.
    Thanks to Macart for link to Herald article. Treeza may think she’s talking tough but if she doesn’t blink first she might also live to regret this little gem:-

If no agreement is given, then Mrs May and her colleagues believe the issue will end up in the “court of public opinion” as to who is to blame for the constitutional deadlock and are confident most Scottish voters will not point the finger at them.

You’re confident are you?

234. Sinky

Meg @ 9.25

That video link of Mhairi Black exposing Ian Murray’s shocking behaviour should be sent to every Red Tory voter in South Edinburgh. I bet the local press will not report this.

235. Dr Jim

The news:

The Russians are coming, we’re not saying it was them that did the dirty deed but it definitely was although we’re not saying it, although we’re saying it every fifteen minutes that it might not definitely be them, but wink wink!

Do they not make you want to throw up in your own hair, anybody who knows anything about cold warring stuff knows perfectly well this could just as easily have been the British Government or an old comrade who got grassed up double agent styley

But it really suits Britnat media right now to calm the Brexit fears of Ar precious Yoonion from the fact the Donald Tusk just told the Maybot to stick her stupid nonsense straight up her deep and special Arse along with her strong and stable government

236. Dorothy Devine

The fact that the supermarkets are trying to pretend that there is no such thing as Scottish produce endangers our producers . The powers that be can refuse to buy and then bankrupt the producers – and once gone they will not return.

I am seriously concerned about my country being sidelined and left as a theme park for the huntin’ and shootin’ and fishin ‘gentry’

237. K1

For anyone who missed this the other day (think Nana posted part 1), Here’s part 2.

‘Editors’ note: This is the first of a two-part post on the UK Withdrawal from the European Union (Legal Continuity) (Scotland) Bill, introduced into the Scottish Parliament on 27 February 2018, and the Law Derived from the European Union (Wales) Bill. Part I can be found here’:

https://ukconstitutionallaw.org/2018/03/06/christopher-mccorkindale-and-aileen-mcharg-continuity-and-confusion-legislating-for-brexit-in-scotland-and-wales-part-i/

Part 2:

https://ukconstitutionallaw.org/2018/03/07/christopher-mccorkindale-and-aileen-mcharg-continuity-and-confusion-legislating-for-brexit-in-scotland-and-wales-part-ii/

238. louis.b.argyll

Referendum1707 says:3:02 pm
    Lollysmum 2.02

Indy2 has been outed as a troll for a few days now, and not a very subtle or good one at that.

Phew, thought it was just me picking him up wrong, at first. Don’t know what his craic is.

239. Ken500

Scottish products are exported worldwide. £30Billion. Scottish produces carry a premier.Labelling them Scottish sells more. If producers do not realise that it will hit their products. EU law and others requires sources/country of origin is labelled. Highly likely they will not accept produces without source labelling. It is an increasing requirement worldwide. Fish whisky, food products carry a premium price. The top quality fish is exported. (to the EU) The tins of UJ shortbread were left over from the Olympics. (Contract). Hopefully with fresh shortbread in them. They either over ordered or they did not sell. Might be because of the labelling. They were using up the tins. Trying to flog them somewhere else. Or that is the information.

Imagine these producers funding Brexit. To damage their companies. Their orders and profits are already falling because of austerity and the fall in the pound. There is a 40million Scottish diaporia and other countries market Japan, US, Australia, NZ, Canada etc. . 500 million EU market. Scottish goods have a premium worldwide. Why would any producer not acknowledge to maximise orders and profits.

The fishing industry will gain £200Million but Scotland will loss £8Billion. What’s the use of that. Conservation was brought in because the UK fishing industry was not regulated properly by the UK (Tories). They were throwing back dead fish for years. There should have been regulations enforced to use bigger nets. Like Norway. As soon as the SNP Gov got involved that was what was happening. Quotas were being increased. EU Grants were making improvements to the markets and premises. Goodness knows what will happen now. Cutting off their nose to spite their face.

Half of the fish purchased in the UK is imported.

240. louis.b.argyll

Remember when Robert had a wee run in with Lochside awhile back? Both learned to live with it. But i2 is taking it to another, more divisive level.

Big day today, politics-wise. The truth about the Tories ineptitude and their distracting tactics should shame those editors and journalists who foresaw nothing.

241. Capella

@ Dr Jim – I listened with amazement to the News at Ten. The Tory spokesman on the Russian spy poisoning was hysterical. No need for an investigation, Putin did it and we must retaliate. Russia’s our neighbour and is threatening us with bad weapons and should behave better. Have they any idea where Russia actually is?
    Oh and the Russians engineered the Catalan referendum etc etc.

Then BREXIT – more paranoid nonsense. The EU will jolly well have to do what we want or we’ll give the business to New York and Singapore.

I had no idea that the chatterati of Londinium had gone stark staring mad. Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKHUGvde7KU

242. Rock

Rock (9th February 2017 – “A division of principles”):

“If anyone can tip the balance in favour of winning, it is this site and its author.”

heedtracker (9th February 2017 – “A division of principles”):

“Rock, whatever you’re up to on WoS, listen up, the author of Wings over Scotland is not the messiah and he’s not going to win ref 2.”

243. Rock

Lollysmum,

“Go back to your mates Rock, sensible & Colin & commiserate with each other cos your lies don’t work here.”

I see you have sneaked back in through the back door:

Lollysmum (5th August 2015 – “The day before yesterday’s news”):

“After my rant at you some time ago I left WOS as I was sick of the way you continually dragged threads down into the gutter with your attacks on individuals. Maybe that was your intention, I don’t know but I found it insulting to other posters & Rev Stu.”

Rock (5th August 2015 – “The day before yesterday’s news”):

“You left WOS because you had lost the argument and couldn’t answer back:

Lollysmum,

“No Derek Bateman, I don’t agree with you, the cringe is peeking through your argument.”

“Just shut the fuck up for a change-it’s people like you that are feeding the ‘one party state’ narrative with your attitude that gives MSM & WM its ammunition & you are too dim to see that you are doing it.”

One Scottish cringer attacking another!”

244. Rock

wull2,

“Robert Peffers posts a lot of sense”

Robert Peffers posts a lot of pish:

Robert Peffers (5th March – “Our problems and how to solve them”):

“Second question being that as The Kingdom of Scotland voted to remain in the EU and that the United Kingdom is exactly what it says on the tin – A two partner Kingdom and not a single country – how can they throw Scotland, either kingdom or country, out of the EU of which they were founding members?”

Rock (5th March – “Our problems and how to solve them”):

“Utter pish as usual.

Scotland a founding member of the EU?

Has anyone ever seen Scotland’s name on the list of EU members?

Does Nicola hide behind Saint Theresa at EU leaders’ meetings?

The UK is a member of the EU and the UK voted to leave the EU.

As far as the EU is concerned, Scotland is nothing more than a region of the UK.

Who is negotiating Brexit with the EU, Scotland or the UK?

And you have the brass neck to call other posters “numpties”.”

245. North chiel

“ the U.K. is “ negotiating “ with the EU .In the context of these “ negotiations” which side
    could be aptly described as “ numpties”?

246. yesindyref2

@K1
    Part 2 is interesting. I personally think there’s a little more to it than that, that Wolffe has a little more up his sleeve. His submission to the Miller Appeal had more to it than meets the eye I thought, and he went very easy with it, as I don’t think he was that interested in the result, it was more a scouting run. But hey, what do I know?

247. Hamish100

ot

Scottish fishing rights will be sold to the English fishing fleet and to the EU. All to suit Armstrongs unionist sell out.

Scottish pelagic fleet is being sold out in front of their eyes= again

248. K1

Yes, I think the LA was very circumspect in what he was prepared to ‘hypothesise’ on when he gave his remarks in the parly last week, I rather agree, ‘events dear boy’ and ‘perception’ will decide as much as any court case will.

249. heedtracker

“Rock, whatever you’re up to on WoS, listen up, the author of Wings over Scotland is not the messiah and he’s not going to win ref 2.”

So I could be wrong:D

Hope so!

250. heedtracker

I had no idea that the chatterati of Londinium had gone stark staring mad. Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.

The City could be looking at the end of the road and they’ve handed the EU the Scottish fish stocks, for something.

Its been a big day for our imperial masters alright.

BBC r4 news gimpery’s been like watching a big match through a crack in the stand doors.

At the very least, EU keeping control of the UK fishing stocks makes their future more certain. Left in the hands of the toryboys, what’s remains of Scottish fishing would be caught and gone very quickly.

Should be interesting listening to head of Scots fishing and ultra yoon toryboy Bertie Armstrong’s next public statements because he was up in Nairn lately, BBC r4 QT, explainerising like a real tory, how Scotland will get 90% of UK Brexit fish stocks.

251. K1

All you do is copy and paste the same comments that ‘you think’ somehow undermine posters such as Robert Peffers (Sir to you), they don’t.

He, (Sir to you), Robert Peffers, has educated more people on this one site over the past few years and done more to aid in the understanding of the history of our country than any other commenter btl on Wings.

So keep making an arse of yourself, keep showing your petty mindedness with your copy and pasting of comments that ‘you think’ lessen the impact of his input all the live long day Craig.

It will never change the reality that he has contributed more to the understanding and education of thousands of Scots with just a dozen comments, than anything you have posted over the entirety of your time on Wings ever could.

252. heedtracker

God only knows what Bertie means. Never trust a toryboy basically. He will shaft you raw and then tell you to thank him.

http://www.sff.co.uk/statement-eu-draft-trade-talks-guidelines/

Statement on EU draft trade talks guidelines

Reacting to the EU’s draft guidelines for trade talks published today, Scottish Fishermen’s Federation chief executive Bertie Armstrong said: “There cannot be ‘fairer shares’ for our fishing communities if we maintain existing reciprocal access.

253. Meg merrilees

Macart Yesindyref2

I notice that the BBC live feed of the Holyrood debate this afternoon on the Continuity Bill quoted Tomkins at length, especially one section.
    Tomkins pointed out that Mike Russell himself had said that ‘these are not normal times’ and by using these words, he had left the door open for WM to legislate over Holyrood through the Sewel Convention …” WM would not normally legislate over the Scottish parliament”.

The Tory is saying that Scotland will be worse off than if Nicola had agreed a deal with WM because WM can now do what they want as ‘these are not normal times’ – sleekit!

I also remember T May saying in her long speech the other day that it is important that we have power over food and drink, as we go into these negotiations — i.e. scottish produce and whisky???

It will need nerves of steel and a clear head to steer through this minefield, but as someone said above, there are a fair few mentions of ‘Scots Law’ surfacing in and around these discussions of the Continuity Bill. It passed today’s first stage with 94 votes to 30.

254. ben madigan

In view of The Rev’s statement in the previous post “One way or another this is probably the last time we’re going to ask you to put your hands in your pockets . . .”.

I would just like to point out that “The EU does not envisage reopening discussions after the EU and UK strike a deal on the terms of the future relationship in October”. https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2018/mar/07/what-is-in-the-eus-brexit-guidelines-document

So, correct me if I am wrong, but if Scotland’s voice is not heard before October 2018, will it be silenced as far as EU membership is concerned? Will it be silenced as far as the UK Govt is concerned?
    I don’t know.
    Like the rest of us, I can only trust the Scottish Govt knows what it is doing to ensure Scotland’s voice will be heard at the right moment in time.

255. Liz g

Meg Merrilee’s @ 12.56
    I saw that Meg but what the two faced bam,was counting on was
    that,the chamber didn’t know he tried that line earlier on in the committee, and was immediately and firmly corrected by Aileen McHarg.
    That he should know the Legal meaning of normally in that instance…..I had wondered for a wee minute,if Aleen McHarg wiz Robert Peffers…..

256. Dr Jim

Many of the fish in the North sea are Norwegian Danish Swedish and other countries but have decided to be caught in Scotland because that’s where they wanted to raise their fishy families settle down and make themselves available to hurl themselves into Berties nets because all of these fish love the idea of dying in Scotland but still retain the right to their European citizenship and Bertie should respect that

Mon the fish!

257. yesindyref2

Oh OK, I’ve snuck back into my posting elsewhere and made Peffers our 14th warship after McHarg. May your god if you have one bless her and all who sail in her. Cheers!

258. Yesitis

Always a good feeling when the Wings fundraiser raises the roof. You never know how these things are going to go, but it was a bit of a mind blower to see the target reached so quickly. Very pleasing.
    Congrats Stu, and well done everybody.

259. Meg merrilees

Seems peeps are on good form tonight.

I know for a fact that Ruth Davidson is NOT Robert Peffers – she might want to be …

Brilliant 36 hours of fundraising – well done all.

260. Flower of Scotland

Well jealousy seems to be the word from James McEnaney. Commonspace,s leading columnist. Always griping about Independence instead of supporting it!

Mr Robert Peffers is very well thought of on this site. I’ve certainly kept some great information about sovereignty that he wrote.

Well done Stu! I can’t tell you how pleased I was to see this total so far. Some supposedly Indy bloggers not so it seems. They cause a lot of problems for the YES side. I wish that they would grow up!

261. Lynne

It’s a shame the new fundraiser site doesn’t display the actual percentage raised now – sticking at 100% just makes it look like the job is done & misses the significance of how far over target it has already gone. It’s actually approaching 150%, I think? (Maths not my strong point…)

262. Cactus

The one year digital countdown clock to their exit, begins in:

Less than 21 days.

So said:
    – A week is a long time in politics.
    – Two weeks is a generation.
    – Three weeks is a lifetime.

Sittin’ sweet at 66K+ on the main page.

It’s your turn international colorful neighbors:
    https://wingsoverscotland.charitycheckout.co.uk/cf/The-Final-Countdown

Cheers.

263. twathater

Put a wee drap in to help fuel the rocket

264. Ken500

The Press are a joke. Habitual liars. The way that Mark McDonad has been pillorated and portrayed as a ‘sexual predator’ is an absolute disgrace. Where is the evidence? He sent an inappropriate e-mail and let a drunk sleep it off? Done by millions of people every day. Anyone who met him or knows him, knows he is not a ‘sexual predator’ in any way. He is not doing the bullying. He is being bullied. A witch hunt. On the spectrum. Losing his career and his job. Totally out of order of any ‘offence’. It is just ridiculous. The so called ‘charges’ that have come to light would be laughed out of court. Totally out of proportion to any offence. The NE has lost another hard working, dedicated, decent politician.

The work he did for additional needs children and their families and others. He has a wife and children to support, Daily struggles. Some other people should have diversity training. Get some more understanding. 1 in 20 people are on the spectrum and should get the support they need. The ‘accusers’ should hang their heads in shame. Why are the ‘accusers’ being kept anonymous and reports not being disclosed. These ‘charges’ so far would be laughed out of court. There is no less likely ‘sexual predator’ than Mark McDonald. It is just ridiculous. Totally unjust,

The hypocrites who are coming out to miss cry him. They have committed electoral fraud, embezzled on public contracts. Not declared interest. They are only in politics for what they can get. Starved killed and maimed millions of people. Caused Brexit. Etc. They even changed the electoral system in Scotland without consultation so no one can get rid of the 3rd rate rejects. Offending and insulting people every day.

Politicans or others who send offensive e-mails and use colourful language should not complain about getting them. Everybody does it. Kettle black. It goes with the territory. If you don’t like the heat stay out of the kitchen. They volunteer. Disenfranchised people often get quite angry. Quite understandedly. The useless incompetents at Westminster cause the mess. No wonder no one joins unionist parties, especially in Scotland.

The average Tory Party members, the few that exist are over seventy males. In Scotland they have literally having to drag candidates off the street. Racists and bigots. The Tory party will literally die out. Thatcher and May etc. and their associates etc. The two biggest destructive, hypocrite liars ever on the planet. They do nothing for woman’s rights.

The hypocrisy of meetings with Saudis Arabia non representatives. The most absolute, despot monarchy in the world. No rights for its citizens. Going broke. May then making hypocritical speeches about people’s rights. About women’s rights. Someone else has written. It is laughable. The most absolute, despot monarchy in the world, that supports and funds terrorism. Causing havoc in the world. May and the Hedge fund manager lining their pockets and wasting £Billions of public money on grotesque projects of no value. Instead of funding essential services. The welfare cuts have hit women and children, the disabled and the vulnerable the most. Caused misery. Just appalling and unnecessary.

265. Ken500

Some fishermen complaining about 60% Debatable.They threw back dead fish for years. 50%? Instead of using bigger nets, The terms and conditions of the industry mean youngsters will not go in the industry where there is alternative employment. They should put their own house in order. The NE has had low unemployment for years. All the authorities were trying to do was conserve fish and the industry Or there would be no industry left. To blame the SNP for UK policy (Tory) for forty years, with which they did not agreed, is just plain wrong. Brexit could gain £200Million? for the fishing industry. Yet lose Scotland £8Billions. How ridiculous is supporting that? They can’t count or read a balance sheet.

Conservation measures and bigger nets will conserve stocks and increase quotas and revenues, That was already happening. Half the fish purchased in the UK is imported. Fish from the UK (for higher prices) is exported to the EU. The nearest, biggest market. Putting up trade barriers and tariffs will not help solve any fishing industry problems. Neither will Brexit. Sorting out the fishing industry i.e. Terms and conditions and using bigger nets.conservation. Like the Norwegians. Makes sense. Bertie is a one person non representative Tory. No one joins the club.

266. Meg merrilees

The penny is beginning to drop in England – just listened to 10minute interview with Gibraltar minister on the radio this morning, R4 Today programme coming, in part, from Gibraltar. Interviewing people in Madrid – the people think that Gibraltar is Spanish and they want it back, especially after Catalan situation.

Gibraltar has special status which included membership of the single market and they think that they have bargaining power with Spain because the area needs an airport and a harbour.

Headline in the Financial Times is that the EU completely rebuffs T May’s trade vision in warning of inevitable friction – but all the other papers concentrate on the poisoning of the Russian spy whipping up the fear of Russia in England and in Scotland they can’t agree if there is any important news or not.

267. starlaw

Expect some Scottish farm produce to disappear from the shops about now. Its a seasonal thing, but this does not apply to dairy products.

268. Kangaroo

Just donated a little bit. More if we need it later on and other indy causes may need some.

Suggest we also do a chain letter with a digital copy of the WBB or WeeGoldBook too. This will get to a lot of places other methods won’t reach. A “confirm receipt” instruction will show how many hits we get. Apologies if this is already a normal thing.

@indy2 who is the real Robert Peffers?

269. Ronbon857

Made my small donation. More to come if needed. Thanks Stu for all the work you do for the cause.

270. skintybroko

Delighted to hear that the Labour Party according to Neil Findlay are now Nationalists – but only in Wales apparently -at least I believe that’s what he inferred in the Scottish Parliament debate yesterday when saying the Tories had made a mess of devolving powers and it had fallen into the hands of the nationalists.

Robert Peffers is a legend.

271. call me dave

A mealy mouthed Lord Wallace of Tankerness failing to support the Scottish Government position during his interview there on shortbread radio.

What’s the loss of a power or three, does it make a huge difference kinda thing at the end of the day? 🙁

272. Macart

Many thanks Nana.

Looks like a two mug read this morning. 🙂

RE: continuity bill? Given this release: https://archive.is/5IWZu

Should be worth keeping an eye on. 😉

273. bob

Highland Clearances on R4 this morning with Melvin Bragg and several experts.

It will be interesting to hear the facts.

274. Dorothy Devine

callmedave , he was always a mealy mouthed blowhard , nothing to recommend him at all.

Come to think of it the entire Scottish HoL has hee haw to recommend it with the possible exception of Helena Kennedy.

whether you agree with her or not ,she at least has a bull by the horns approach and rarely appears as an over stuffed , over indulged ,somnolent , uncaring Scot .

Come to think of it I haven’t seen or heard her interviewed for a while. Must have upset someone.

275. Macart

@call me dave

Clearly Laird Tankedootness is a shade vague on the nature of devolution and the current devolution settlement, democracy, mandate, direct representation and such. Which, y’know, is surprising*.

(*It’s not really)

276. Robert Peffers

@Bobp says: 7 March, 2018 at 9:57 am:

“Slander in those words from gregor pisher murray”

Aye! That Gregor Fisher Murray person could well find some of the Wings donations being used to fund a very easy to prove court action.

277. Tinto Chiel

“Delighted to hear that the Labour Party according to Neil Findlay are now Nationalists – but only in Wales apparently.”

It’s not just those sad sacks, skintybroko. As far as I am aware, there are 11 Tory Welsh Assembly members and they all voted for the Welsh Continuity Bill.

Perhaps one of our fearless Scottish journalists could find Ruth Davidson in the caves of Bora Bora or wherever she’s hingin oot and explore this contradiction and her motives for opposing both the SG and our chief law officer.

278. call me dave

International woman’s Day and I was right yesterday when I heard that Donalda McKinnon has a guest spot on Kaye’s ‘Your Call’ Jings interviewing the boss! 🙂

Ruthie and the FM will also appear!

279. galamcennalath

This spell out what ‘Canada’ means

https://tinyurl.com/y7yaklbh

– EU UK trade halved
    – Irish border in the Irish Sea
    – cross-border supply chains more expensive
    – not in EU regulatory agencies

and, even that deal won’t happen until Phase 1 agreed.

Also, not mentioned in the article, but appeasing DUP plus Phase 1 details plus Irish border in the sea, are mutually incompatible!

280. galamcennalath

@Tinto Chiel

An excellent opening question for anyone lucky enough to pin down Davidson or Mundell for some questioning ….. “And how did you find the caves at Bora Bora, quiet?”

281. Bob Mack

I have had one or two run ins with Robert Peffers. Hand on heart though, in terms of teaching me the history of Scotland he has no peer. I have learned so much of which I was ignorant.

Comments decry his postings,but ultimately he has pointed the way to win our independence. It will be won by legal argument . If only his detractors knew as much as him,we would have several VIABLE options on the table by now.

Gawn yer sell Peffers.

282. wull2

Every now and then the Rev should publish his daily reading figures and put some of the Scottish papers to shame.

I say YES to most things.

283. galamcennalath

OT “Do you think men and women should have equal rights and status in society, and be treated equally in every way?”

Across Europe an average of around 10% say NO!

It seems quite common in polls where there isn’t a small group, usually single figures, who appear to be ‘way out there’. Their perceptions of, and attitudes to, society seem to be other worldly!

I saw another reacently where a small percentage said they didn’t agree with fundamental human rights. There are some very odd opinions out there.

https://yougov.co.uk/news/2018/03/08/when-feminist-not-feminist/

284. Tinto Chiel

No-one seems to know where Grima Wormtongue aka Peerie Mun’ell actually is, galam. He wasn’t in the cabinet foatie recently (out making the tea?) and I think his last known position was in South America.

He’s too insignificant to attain even nonentity status, I think.

285. Joe of the Coutts

Re the MSP SNP who is intending going Independent: two major government ministers resigned their top jobs, but weren’t asked to leave the Tories, or WM. Selective demands methinks.
    They all ought to have been ‘resigned’. Easy targets for blackmail.

286. Robert Peffers

@Terry says: 7 March, 2018 at 10:24 am:

“Plus I get to read Robert peffers too. I don’t know who you are Robert but thanks for all your contributions – and all the other smart, committed Wingers.”

Thanks for the compliment, Terry, but I’m not in the same league as Rev Stu or some of the Wingers, some of them semi-retired professional journalists.

As to not knowing who I am – I’m exactly who I say I am. Unlike these false-flag wavers who claim to be indy supporters I do not use a nickname to hide who or what I claim to be.

287. Ken500

How ignorant can some people be? The whole fishing sector in the UK should have been using bigger nets. Conserving stock. Not throwing dead fish back for years. Including fishermen who supported this policy. The SNP did not, All fish will be more expensive after Brexit. Losing production, staff and profits. Imported – exported. Then they are the first demanding subsidies of public money. They already get £Millions of EU Grants. To improve conditions and markets. New facilities.

When the £ went down against the Euro. The last time. They had to get bailed out with public money. Brexit will harm industry. Speak about leemings going over the cliff. Ignorant, incompetents. They can’t count or read a balance sheet. Imagine wanting to gain £200Million but lose £8Billion. When the problems were being sorted out by negotiation. Including increased quotas. (By SNP representation).

288. Cubby

Sensibledave = arrogant offensive ignorant British Nationalist TROLL. Paid to troll sensible.

289. Robert Peffers

@call me dave says: 7 March, 2018 at 10:31 am:

“Hey! Maybe Terry was right yesterday.
    On my tablet NS and MB have just disappeared to the bottom of the list… No votes shown in the boxes.
    Queenie at the top of picture List.

What did you expect, Call me dave?

These particular shysters have previous form in that department.

Thing is that even their more rabid regular customers cannot fail to see their obvious duplicity and, although cheering on their dishonesty, must know in their hearts that the results of the poll are a rather hollow victory.

Moreover their duplicity only serves to highlight how weak the unionist case is that they have to cheat to win anything.

The Union, (sic), is a total farce and it always has been.

When our real history is considered the obvious flaws in their case become all too obvious. Quite simply their case is demolished by the very name, “The United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland”, as it describes the exact truth that the United Kingdom is NOT a unified country but a union of only two Kingdoms Yet it is not how Westminster is being run and it never has been.

he stark truth is there is no, elected as such, legal parliament of England and Westminster is thus not the Parliament of the United Kingdom it is the de facto parliament of the country of England.

Furthermore, every time a Yoon says, “Britain”, when they actually refer to, “The United Kingdom”, they are proving that it is a farce. Call them out on that lie and they cannot make their case stick.

290. Robert Peffers

@Indy2 says: 7 March, 2018 at 11:00 am:

““Terry”,,,real name Peffers.
    Terry writes to say how great Robert Peffers is.
    Terry is of course Robert Paffers.
    This boring arse actually posts in under different names congratulating himself.
    You are a Troll Peffers.”

Hilarious! This total idiot who posts under, at least one, Nom de Guerre, attempts to make his/her/its case with not a single bit of evidence to support anything it/her/he claims.

I’m me, numptie, come look me up in Kelty – How about you, though?

291. Kangaroo

I have just checked the poll

Nicola still #1
    Brenda #2
    Mhairi #3

Votes arevstill roughly where they have been all day. 43 23 & 22 thousand

Excellent lets see how they report it

292. alexicon

Did you miss these Nana?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5472081/Britains-foreign-trade-fall-cliff-Brexit.html

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5475425/Ministers-open-trading-away-access-British-fish-stocks.html

Can someone please archive these so others can open. Apologies if you’ve already covered these Nana, I’m working from my new Samsung phone, I’m a iPhone person,
    And I’m finding it very difficult to navigate, hence my slowness to donate. I will get there though.

293. Nana

@alexicon

I have archived them for you

Britain’s foreign trade could ‘fall off a cliff’
    http://archive.is/Vashb

Ministers are open to trading away access to British fish stocks in return for a better Brexit deal, admits Philip Hammond
    http://archive.is/ySxyY

294. Robert Peffers

@Glamaig says: 7 March, 2018 at 11:30 am:

“Not sure why queenie is in that Sky poll of influential women at all – surely as head of state she is not allowed to be influential.”

I was checking out Mhairi Black’s recent speech in the debating chamber and, on the page the video was on, I came across a BBC claim about their, “Impartiality”.

I honestly burst out laughing – it was total codswallop. I copied the URL and meant to post it but it had failed to copy and I cannot now find the original site I copied it from.

The BBC’s self righteous claptrap in their claims of being impartial were comedy gold.

295. Nana

Nicola Sturgeon warns against ‘extreme Brexit ideological experiment’
    http://archive.is/liaWR

296. Robert Peffers

@Jockanese Wind Talker says: 7 March, 2018 at 11:58 am:

“No you’re not, I am Robert Peffers.”

Well! Ah’m no Robert Peffers, Ah’m Auld Bob Peffers but Ah changed it, bit jist oan wings.

Ah wiz Auld Bob fir mony years oan mony ither political an Scottish newsgroups oan Newsnet.

So there!

297. geeo

Cannot wait for Scottish Unionists to non stop berate their English chums in WM for these figures on NHS England (note hoe headline avoids mentioning it is actually NHS England …

http://archive.is/r7t8M

298. Robert Peffers

@Lollysmum says: 7 March, 2018 at 2:02 pm:

“What’s with this indy2 character having a go at our Robert? He is Mr Peffers to you indy2-he’s been here for years & knows more about Scots deliberately hidden history than anyone.”

No! No! Lollysmum, Mr Peffers was my Father. I’m just Robert but even when Dad was alive I wasn’t even Robert Peffers. There were far too many Roberts in the family so I was, “Robin. That is until someone got creative and then, Grand Father became, Auld, Auld Bob, My Dad became Auld Bob but for some odd reason I remained just, “Robin”.

Then Grand Dad died and Dad became, Auld, Auld Bob, (and Mr Peffers), and I became Auld Bob, (I was only 25), and my late son became Robert.

So for some strange reason I was never Mr Peffers, except on official government documents.

So, on getting to Wings I claimed Robert Peffers for myself but to everyone else in the family I was still Auld Bob or Robin.

So now some Wingers are calling me Mr Peffers and I keep looking round expecting to see Dad’s ghost walk in.

(You have to look on the funny side now and then, Lollysmum, or you would go mad)
    ;-))

299. Robert Peffers

@Scottish Steve says: 7 March, 2018 at 3:10 pm:

“Unionist logic is, “oh no, we’re not nationalists, we’re far too inclusive, progressive and intelligent for that.”

I find them unbelievably funny, (Ha! Ha! funny, not peculiar funny).

I have the ability to keep a straight face, when finding such things hilarious, this means they never know when I’m taking the urine and having them on or not.

What is even more humorous is them claiming not to be, “Nationalists”, (which they assume everyone knows to be BAAAAD!), but then they claim they are merely, “Patriots”, which they assume everyone knows is a shining example of everything that is good.

That is until I remind them, (with that perfectly straight face), that:-

“(1) – noun: nationalism. – patriotic feeling, principles, or efforts.

Example – “an early consciousness of nationalism and pride”

synonyms: patriotism, patriotic sentiment, allegiance/loyalty to one’s country, loyalism, nationality; xenophobia, chauvinism, jingoism, flag-waving, isolationism, ethnocentrism, ethnocentricity.

(2) nationalism – an extreme form of patriotism marked by a feeling of superiority over other countries.

Example:- “playing with right-wing nationalism”

The point being that there are two forms of, “nationalism – one bad and one good.

In the good one the nationalist only desires that their nation remains their nation and has no desire to control or acquire any other nation.

In the bad one the Nationalist wishes to not only acquire other nations but to force these acquired nations by the nationalist’s into subservience to the Nationalists and that bad nationalism is a synonym of bad Patriotism.

They usually go a bit quite around this part of the explanation but – BIG BUT- some become rather more aggressive only to have it pointed out that doing so proves the point being made.

300. Robert Peffers

@Iain mhor says: 7 March, 2018 at 6:45 pm:

“Ah’ll need a new handle noo – Sumthin patriotic efter a Scottish King mibbe, or geographical near the capital. Ehh Haddington or Pefferburn, aye.”

Aye!Iain Mhor, Ye ken yer Scotland. I’m from that Haddington branch of the Peffers family. There’s a Peffers Wynde and a Peffers Place in Haddingtom and My Grandfather & Grandmother are buried in St Mary’s Lamp o The Lothians Kirkyaird. The Family farmed in the area but went bankrupt, “In the year o the short Corn”.

One of the Haddington Peffers Family married into a flour milling family, if memory serves, the Thorburns, who built a mill in Edinburgh – Peffermill.

There were two branches of the family in Edinburgh, or rather one in Leith and one in the Stennhouse area of Edinburgh. There is a Peffers Place in The Duddingston area of Edinburgh.

My lot were in the Kirknewton/East Calder area. The Haddington branch came from a farm at Pattismuir, (outside Dunfermline), and they came from Balmarino on the Tay coast of Fife and these had had family in Angus and Dundee. That Balmerino family dates back to the 1600s.

The name may come from Strathpeffer and that name translates as “Strath” – a flat low lying area of land and, “peffer”, -between two rivers. And indeed Strathpeffer is a strath between two rivers.

See the mony things ye kin learn ony day on Wings? It’s amazing how many knowledgeable folk wi hae oan Wings.

301. Robert Peffers

@Macart says: 7 March, 2018 at 8:55 pm:

“@yesindyref2
    Oh, here we go.
    https://archive.is/5IWZu
    5,4,3,2,1…”

I read that headline, Macart :-“Theresa May will move no further”.

Poor dear should try Senna Pods or Syrup of Figs. Mibbies even work it oot wi a pencil.

302. geeo

Here is my response to the article on EU power grab and the “no more ground” pash from WM.

When TM says “let the court of public opinion decide”, she is smoking crack.

If the issue is not resolved, the issue will end up in court alright, a LAW court.

In that law court, the question will surely be posed…

Are the people of scotland the Sovereign power, as per the Act and treaties of Union itself, particularly the Declaration of Arbroath, of which both union partners are signatories ?

There is only one possible answer, YES, they are.

As such, WM ignoring a Holyrood Legislative Consent Motion is a clear subjugation of the Sovereign Scots will. 

That surely means the Union is legally ended by clear breach of the Act and Treaties of union 1707. 

No referendum needed ?

This is why the Holyrood Continuity Bill is THE game changer, as it legally formalises the Sewell Convention (LCM) and removes the phrase “not NORMALLY”, used in the Article 50 case, which allowed The tory gov to ignore the Scots gov refusal to give Legislative consent. 

The Supreme Court shied away from ruling on WM ability to ignore a LCM on the ACTUAL Brexit Bill, as it knew the SG would surely invoke the legal Scots Sovereignty question, which would have killed brexit stone dead there and then. 

She didn’t seem to realise it, or maybe she did, but in that moment, she had effectively ended the union. 

If the refuses to allow ALL 111 returning powers direct passage to Holyrood, there WILL be a constitutional crisis, one she cannot legally win. 

Bring it on i say.

303. Cubby

Sensibledave = arrogant ignorant offensive paid to write rubbish British Nationalist.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.