Politics is satire plus time

Posted on September 10, 2014 by

Here’s an image we made back in October 2012:

edunity

It’s based on a graphic from the movie version of “V For Vendetta”.

And here’s a piece from the right-wing Guido Fawkes blog today:

guido

The rather creepy video itself – which is notionally a “Better Together” one, but really a Labour election broadcast bashing the Tories in the most shamelessly disingenuous way – can be viewed here.

If you’ve seen the movie, the similarities between the fictional prime minister Adam Susan (played by John Hurt) and the former real one are all too chilling. But not as chilling as Labour’s whole wider “One Nation” schtick, which the video is nothing but a hasty rebadging of, and whose “Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuhrer” echoes give us the heeby-jeebies as much now as they did two years ago.

(Especially given Labour’s enduring fondness for grotesquely pejorative language about “foreigners” and its willingness to refer to its opponents as a “virus”.)

It seems safe to say that in the current Unionist omnipanic, no holds are barred.

508 to “Politics is satire plus time”

1. Balaaargh says:

@Fiona

Lloyds Bank itself is registered at Gresham Street in London as are many other companies within the group.

The parent company, Lloyds Banking Group, is registered at the Mound in Edinburgh.

TSB are registered at Henry Duncan House in Edinburgh. They are operating using the license from LTSB Scotland.

2. North chiel says:

Party political broadcast for BT at peak morning viewing time
    This morning on EBC “North British” branch with “baroness Liddle”

3. I have this morning complained to the BBC for their total BIAS in favour of the UK GOV/BT/No Campaign, citing all the journalists and politic and news programmes. I also told them that there are over 1.3 million yes voters who have signed the declaration to vote yes which equates to aprox £150,000,000 of lost TV Licence fee to the BBC.

I used the phrase ”Withdrawing my implied right of access”. I went on and told them that we are well versed in the ways of the social media and internet as out campaign is using it. All the information on not paying the licence fee is being passed around. The internet is a brilliant tool to educate in how not to pay the TV Licence from the legal standpoint.

link to bbctvlicence.com

————————–

We now must all tell the banks who have declared that they will move from Scotland in the event of a YES vote, that we will be removing our money from them. Nearly 2 million people demanding their money (in cash) will cause a run on the banks and a crisis for the Bank of England and the UK Gov.
    Friday the 19th if I don’t get what I hope for I will be going to Clydesdale bank and Bank of Scotland and withdrawing my money.

4. tonymac says:

ot link to cataloniavotes.eu
    a-giant-V-for-independence

5. Helena Brown says:

James Caithness, we are about to close our joint accounts with the Royal Bank which we have held for over forty years. I held one personally for forty six years, but when the servant tells the Maister what to do something has to give.
    E-mails to Morrison’s and John Lewis, I do hope there are enough Proud Scot’s but, to keep them in business. As for Lloyds well I never cared for English Banks. I do hope that the Royal Bank will find people in England who want to Bank with them, because the impression that I have been given since it’s failure is that is very unlikely.
    Anyway who would want to keep business with no sense, nature behoves a vacuum and for every firm leaving there will be another along to fill the space.

6. Will Podmore says:

‘Unity is strength’ also happens to be a trade union call. See, for example, the ‘Unity is Strength’ miners lodge banner at @Beamish_Museum pic.twitter.com/r02JC6Vl1A.
    Are you going to smear miners as fascists too?

7. Ann says:

Kestral 11.09 – Tha’t pretty similar to the response I received from the EC.

Jim – It wasn’t Beverage Park for me with the Gala, it was Burntisland. Mums and kids at the shows. Dads and the others in the pub. Fish and chips from the chippy on the way home.

Those were great times to be miners kids.

8. Rock says:

James Caithness,

“I meant to say the FO has to find in the customers favour some times.”

The Financial Ombudsman is definitely in the pocket of the banks. He lets them get away with murder.

Ruling in favour of clients in minor complaints is just window dressing.

Has anyone ever won a substantial complaint?

A new citizens’ bank is now a must, whatever the result. I would suggest a co-operative called the Yes Citizens Bank.

9. north chiel says:

if YES how about THE SCOTLAND FIRST NATIONAL BANK ?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,852 Posts, 1,232,309 Comments

• Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: “I for one will be sorry to see you leave this place, James. Your stoical perseverance in acquiring and presenting…Dec 13, 12:58
    • Mark Beggan on How Far To Go, How Far: “Is that carpet burns on Swinney’s face?Dec 13, 12:50
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Thoughts for today, I will retire and make way for others after the two year long wait from DWP and…Dec 13, 12:36
    • Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: ““…I write, as always, to educate the readers on the world’s most-read Indy website.” We uneducated plebians here on “the…Dec 13, 12:22
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “The gender issue of how to use women and children spaces as a trademark fetish is dangerous. I suppose if…Dec 13, 12:06
    • Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: “An excellent comment, Alf.Dec 13, 11:45
    • Bilbo on The ginger stepchild: “Who’s the loser? Me with the cut and paste jobs at every election or you and your multiple accounts stalking…Dec 13, 11:35
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Thought of today, For nearly a year now I have been stating I will retire from the efforts of independence…Dec 13, 11:17
    • David Henry on How Far To Go, How Far: “It’s clear that political interference has been involved and Judge Kemp must take responsibility for the made up quotes and…Dec 13, 11:16
    • Alf Baird on How Far To Go, How Far: “” that Scotland still contains some decent, rational, balanced individuals, capable of reason and the logical development of arguments.” That…Dec 13, 11:08
    • agentx on How Far To Go, How Far: ““he brother-in-law of Scotland’s former first minister Humza Yousaf has been cleared of extortion and drugs charges. Ramsay El-Nakla, 37,…Dec 13, 11:03
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “We need to organise popular rituals of support like when we clapped for the SNHS during the long Covid years…Dec 13, 10:54
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “Good post, Lorncal. Obviously, you mostly get it. But you perhaps overlook the involvement of our New Scots in pursuing…Dec 13, 10:45
    • Dan on How Far To Go, How Far: “So, are you saying all these people are unbalanced and have an unhealthy obsession with matters sexual, when everything else…Dec 13, 10:41
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “Fit a surprise, it’s the ad hominem. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, Northy, and that maybe even one…Dec 13, 10:34
    • Lorncal on How Far To Go, How Far: “You don’t get it, do you? This stuff underpins everything else that is happening in Scotland. It has done us…Dec 13, 10:22
    • Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: ““Or, for those of you who are ruffians and prefer a translation that leans more towards the tongue of the…Dec 13, 10:18
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: ““us” “fastcand” Please send my 30 quid via Rev Stu.Dec 13, 10:18
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “Sex sells, Dan. Even here in Scotland.Dec 13, 10:14
    • Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: “WHIT? Gibberish is as gibberish does, eh? Sniff…sniff.. sniff… The anally obsessed are prone to talk a lot of shite.…Dec 13, 10:13
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “Wow, Cynicus, so suddenly, just like that, “ise” and “ize” spellings matter. So Alf’s Americanisms strongly suggest his posts are…Dec 13, 10:07
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “Fit aboot those ruffians that like common logic, Northy? Fa aboot’s the logical cause and effect linkages leading frae “Scotland’s…Dec 13, 10:01
    • Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: “I Forgot to say… but by these words my omission be rectified: Good morning, all… I hope you have a…Dec 13, 09:57
    • Dee Dubya on How Far To Go, How Far: “This may well be the same Sandy Kemp. If so there us a 30 quid mine of irony awaiting someone…Dec 13, 09:47
    • Dan on How Far To Go, How Far: “Some stuff other than the genderwoowoo circus going on in Scotland. https://www.isp.scot/december-6th-december-12th-2025/ It’s interesting that quite so many btl commenters…Dec 13, 09:35
    • macbeda blackstone on How Far To Go, How Far: “Since when did the Record ever worry about the proper use of English.Dec 13, 09:22
    • Northcode on How Far To Go, How Far: “Patience, my fellow Scots – not long to wait now. All is going to plan… and faster than we, the…Dec 13, 09:04
    • BLMac on How Far To Go, How Far: “Stench of Kompromat.Dec 13, 08:41
    • Mark Beggan on How Far To Go, How Far: “That would be correct if ‘passionate opposition’ was against equality. Where as Linehan and Rowling are against perversion and intimidation…Dec 13, 06:32
    • twathater on How Far To Go, How Far: “The fact that this supposed learned professional is receiving such criticism from his fellow legal professionals indicates that they can…Dec 13, 04:26