Our end of the bargain

Posted on February 26, 2014 by

It’s time to finish the job.

Just over a year ago now, the readers of Wings Over Scotland quietly revolutionised the independence campaign. When we launched the first ever formal public fundraising appeal for a Scottish political website (indeed, as far as we know the first for a politics site anywhere in Britain), your response was incredible.

2014fundraiser1dClick to go to this year’s fundraiser

Our £30,000 target was smashed, enabling the site to become a full-time professional concern, and others followed in our footsteps. By our reckoning around £150,000 was raised in 2013 for various pro-independence sites and projects, including the Common Weal and “Scotland Yet”, a full-length documentary currently being produced by Jack Foster and Christopher Silver, makers of “The Fear Factor”.

Now we need to do it again.

We pledged last year that in return for your money and your trust we’d devote ourselves to the site, give you more articles and bring the facts and arguments about independence to a wider audience. We like to think we’ve delivered.

febstats

MONTHLY READERSHIP

Jan 2013: 29,769
Feb 2014: 233,296

MONTHLY PAGEVIEWS

Jan 2013: 755,406
Feb 2014: 3,647,300

POSTS PUBLISHED

Year to Feb 2013: 632
Year to Feb 2014: 1,211

In the last 12 months Wings Over Scotland has been visited by 959,086 unique readers – almost a quarter of the entire Scottish electorate. And as our properly-researched, fully-sourced information and arguments have reached more and more of the people of Scotland, so the gap in the opinion polls has closed.

(Not that we’re taking all the credit for that, of course, but a recent poll for STV found that this website is the single most-relied-on named source for independence facts in Scotland, so it seems fair to say we’ve done our bit.)

It would seem a shame to stop now. But we’ve spent all of last year’s money, so it’s time for us to ask you to put your hands in your pockets again.

This year’s target is an ambitious £50,000. That’s a lot of cash, but then there’s a lot to do. Here’s what we want it for:

————————————————————————————————-

1. SALARY

Keen readers will have noticed that as editor I usually put in around 16 hours a day, seven days a week, 52 weeks a year – from reading and tweeting interesting stories from the papers around 6-7am to throwing things at the TV screen during Newsnight Scotland at 11pm.

But I do pop out to the shops sometimes and I don’t want to play the martyr, so let’s only call half of that work time – that’s 50 hours a week. The UK living wage is £7.65 an hour, which comes to £19,890 a year. It’s not a fortune (it’s nearly £7000 less than the UK average) but it’ll keep the lights on at Wings HQ.

(Why a full year with only seven months to the referendum? Because we’re not hypothesising on defeat – if and when we win the subsequent negotiations will be every bit as important as the campaign, so we plan to be watching the politicians and media just as closely as we do now.)

2. RUNNING COSTS

We’ve been a victim of our own success – our webhosting costs, for example, recently jumped by over 600% to cope with our rocketing traffic figures.

We’re just finalising the move across to a new seriously-upgraded server which should cope better, and also reduce the security measures we’ve had to adopt to cope with a malicious and ongoing attack aimed at taking the site down. We’re budgeting £3000 for hosting and other expenses.

3. PROJECT BLUE

The thing we want to do more than anything else this year is The Wee Blue Book. This will be a printed pocket-sized booklet, 32 or 48 pages in total, containing the most concise and accessible summaries of all the key issues about independence that we can muster, dealing with all of the No campaign’s scare stories and putting the facts right at people’s fingertips, ready to refer to wherever you may be.

We think printed material is vital, because you can only reach so many people on the internet. It won’t be cheap. We’ll write the words, but we’ll need a professional to design it and lay it out and then we’ll have to print thousands of copies and distribute them across Scotland. We tentatively reckon £15,000 will do it.

4. MORE POLLS

Our Panelbase opinion polls – crowdfunded separately last year – have played a significant part in the debate, generating significant amounts of media coverage and bringing many new readers to the site. We’ve got a little bit of money still left in the polling fund, but we’d like to top it up and do at least two more between now and September. That’ll take around £8000.

5. A LITTLE HELP

We’ve carried posts by around 50 different authors. Many contribute regularly, like Scott Minto‘s invaluable in-depth features and Chris Cairns‘ brilliant weekly cartoons. These take hours or even days of work, and people deserve to be paid.

We also haven’t had a day off in the last 18 months, and it’d be nice to be able to commission a few pieces to cover a weekend break once in a blue moon. Can we find a modest £4000 for all of those things?

6. THE MIDDLE MAN

Indiegogo make running a fundraiser like this easy and straightforward both for us and people who want to donate. Very reasonably they take a small cut for that service, which means that to actually get £50,000 we have to take in another £3000 on top.

————————————————————————————————-

And just like that, there’s £53,000. Ooft. It’s a lot of money – more than anyone has asked for or achieved before – but we think that the breakdown above is offering pretty good value for it, and we hope you’ll agree.

stretch

Should we be lucky enough to exceed it, we’ve got a whole raft of what in the fundraising business are called “stretch goals” – other projects we’d like to do:

– We’d like to produce more printed materials, perhaps including a paper edition of The Sealand Gazette.

– We really want to do some live events, such as Q&A sessions for undecided voters in locations around Scotland. Those will cost money to hire venues and equipment, produce flyers for and so on.

– Undertaking some promotional work – readers have suggested hiring billboards in railway stations to bring more people to the site, for example. They’re not as expensive as you might think.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves – we can worry about those if we get past the initial goal, and that’s a big enough ask to be going on with for now.

There are a lot of you out there, but times are hard and not everyone can spare money. If you can’t, don’t fret about it, and definitely don’t send us anything you can’t really afford – there are plenty of other ways you can help out, by tweeting and sharing links and telling people about the site. We’d be nothing without all the people who’ve spread the word in the last 12 months.

But if you’ve got a couple of quid burning a hole in your pocket, and a desire for independence burning in your heart, we reckon you could do worse than send a wee something our way. We’ll make good use of it, we promise.

1. 26 02 14 21:30

Congratulations To Wings Over Scotland | An Sionnach Fionn

850 to “Our end of the bargain”

1. Calgacus MacAndrews

Spectacularly badly-timed FearBomb today in the Guardian (Help! … we’re going to lose our wonderful BBC !!!)

http://archive.is/GbVtg

2. Caroline Corfield

£42,98 something, so gobsmacked I can’t recall all the numbers, so, so, happy for the campaign and everyone involved

3. Stevie

AM I THE ONLY ONE WHO THINKS THE GOOD REVERAND SHOULD TAKE 25K to 30K SALARY ?

4. Rod Mac

Where are you Rev ,time to make an appearance and receive the applause.

5. chalks

Great to see.

Donating is only part of it though folks, if you can’t spare anything fear not. Spread the word instead!

And if you can…..do both!

FK THE MAINSTREAM MEDIA.

6. Mully

Long time viewer, 1st ever post – Donation made, excellent work Rev Stu. Wings has been my 1st port of call every day for over 2 years now and also a big thank you to the regular posters who’s contributions add so much more to the site. Well done everybody.

7. Desimond

Anyone else spot the indiegogo question below the categories?

Do you think this campaign contains prohibited content?

I bet BetterTogether would say so!

8. HoraceSaysYes

And there’s now less than £10,000 to go. 🙂

9. Morag

Stu has just announced on Twitter that he’s had a donation of £10,000 (that is TEN THOUSAND POUNDS) through the donate button, not Indiegogo.

Target achieved, in less than seven HOURS.

10. kininvie

@Caroline

Give me a quote for Stu’s press release, pretty please… ‘I live in northern England, but I’m donating to Wings because……

kininvie@gmail.com

11. creag an tuirc

Rev just tweeted: We’ve just had a £10,000 donation through the donate page, not via the fundraiser. Yes, TEN thousand. Target breached. #gobsmacked

12. Gordon

I’ve been a long-time reader of this fantastic site, but this is my first post – proud to say I’ve contributed my tuppence worth to continue the excellent work of the good Rev, and the many others who contribute everyday.

13. chicmac

Stevie

No. I was thinking something similar myself.

14. chicmac

Un forking believable. Yahoo!

15. Ian Brotherhood

£10,000?

That’ll be Kate Higgins, right?

16. Murray McCallum

Wow! This is bloody marvelous.

17. Kate Fraczek

Shit!!! £43, 056 Man this is the best, well done everyone…

18. kininvie

“Wings Over Scotland ?@WingsScotland 5m

We’ve just had a £10,000 donation through the donate page, not via the fundraiser. Yes, TEN thousand. Target breached. #gobsmacked

Bet it was the Tories helping the cause along….

19. Desimond

10 grand….how big is the badge for that?

20. K1

under £10,000 to go, think target will be hit at 8 hours (or just under) 🙂

21. scottish_skier

Man. Target hit already and I’ve not even had a chance to chip in yet.

https://twitter.com/WingsScotland

22. chicmac

Best thing is it’ll knock the donors total off 666 when it goes through.

23. scottish_skier

Wings Over Scotland ?@WingsScotland 9 mins
    We’ve just had a £10,000 donation through the donate page, not via the fundraiser. Yes, TEN thousand. Target breached. #gobsmacked

24. Stevie

Stu – we don’t need a struggling artist – take 25K to 30K wages and do your stuff. IF NOBODY DISAGREES WITH THIS POST THEN YOU ARE GIVEN APPROVAL. None of us here begrudge it and it will produce a happier, healthier Stu.

Do as your told.

25. Andy Reynolds

Phenomenal stuff, really brilliant.

Rev, use the spare cash as a bonus from us to you for a job well done.

26. K1

wow! it’s all over bar the greetin’, how wonderful!

27. msean

Fantastic to raise so much so quickly. 🙂

28. Stevie

10K – that’s more than the Daily Mail makes in a day.

29. John H.

Better brush up your smile Rev. I don’t see how the broadcasters can avoid interviewing you now. Well actually I can, but RT might give you a call.

Over £43,000 when I last looked.

30. BigSteveChisholm

You’re all elated NOW?

Imagine how it will feel on the evening of 18 September when it’s not ££s that are being counted, but YES votes!

31. HoraceSaysYes

@Stevie – I don’t think any of us would begrudge Stu getting a bit of a pay rise.

32. Cymru Rydd

30 quid just sent your way from Wales, Rev.

As far as I’m concerned, you are paving the way for our own freedom here in Wales a few years down the line. Independence for Scotland will change EVERYTHING.

Wings Over Scotland and the other fantastic pro-independence websites are engaging the public in a way that has never been done before. It truly is groundbreaking and inspiring.

Hopefully, this type of vibrant engagement and involvement will provide the blueprint that we can emulate in Wales before long.

Soar Alba!

33. Gray

Good to see this already at 82% .. I think everyone can give themselves a pat on the back 🙂

34. MajorBloodnok

Ye Gods!

Also, I think that Duncan Hothersall should set up a wee fundraiser and then see how influential he actually is.

35. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Love your site, but £3000 for webhosting etc is extortionate.”

Not all of that’s going on hosting. But our hosts have many qualities that are worth paying a little extra for. Many cheapo hosts would have pulled the entire site as soon as Ian Taylor’s lawyers cheeped, for example.

36. mutters

Done! Worth every penny, especially to get data and analysis to share more widely. Thanks Wings 🙂

37. john king

Here’s what Hothershall thinks of us

Retweeted by Wings Over Scotland
    Johnny ?@JohnnyDundee 37m
    To those donating to @WingsScotland as a result of a biased media, here`s what Labour`s @dhothersall thinks of you pic.twitter.com/r3lE0XtjwW
    Embedded image permalink

38. A2

Tip top

Fingers crossed for hitting the target in a day 87% there already. Go us!

But would such an extra-ordinary achievement make the headlines, don’t hold your breath.

39. John H.

Just saw the £10,000 donation. Amazing.

40. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood, did you no mean Kate hopkins lol.

41. jimsie

You might be heading for another record Stuart as you may achieve your target in one day. Keep up the good work and we”ll win the indyref hands down.

42. Alfresco Dent

This happened…

[IMG]http://i1091.photobucket.com/albums/i393/heyzorro/f044235b9b6b7421e864f9626c1e2a3d_zps7f1e7c34.jpg[/IMG]

43. Dcanmore

£10,000 single donation WOW! 🙂

44. Morag

£3000 for web hosting? There’s been a DDoS attack going on for weeks and we’re still here. Enough said, I think.

45. john king

Just been sending this to Al Jazeera and New York times lets see if they pick it up.

46. jim t

What are the rules for a stipend?

If the Rev takes a “salary” it means those nice caring folks in the Treasury get a slice of that money we’ve just donated!

47. Les Wilson

Rod Mac says:
    26 February, 2014 at 3:05 pm
    Don’t know where you are right now Rev,

I guess he will be pissed by now LOL!

48. Bugger (the Panda)

Les Wilson says:
    26 February, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Stu at this rate it makes buying the Scotsman a possibility LOL ( you think I am Joking? )

I hope you are. To make a small fortune from The Scotsman you would need a very large one at the start.

49. Xaracen

Wow, chipped in some hard-earned dough, barely just in time!

Now at £43,460. At this rate, Stu’s target will be reached by tea-time. With another month to go, he’ll be a millionaire!

50. scaredy cat.

This is great. Well done everybody. I will have to make my contribution on Friday. I’m currently in a hotel just a stone’s throw from the Houses of Parliament in London and I don’t have a secure internet connection.

51. Alba4Eva

£10K donation is simply incredible. WOW!

Very proud day for all us Cybernattery types 🙂 would still like to see the Indegogo target reached by 10pm though for sticking it to the MSM big time.

52. HandandShrimp

Why doesnt he give it to the Food Banks” – Labours Kezia Dugdale

Now that is a torn face and a not despertaely bright torn face either. We have given this money (OK, I have still to give) to Stu for a specific purpose. I and I am sure others here have also given to food banks and other needy causes. Pretty insulting to imply we have not. Does she expect her own and other Labour subs to go to food banks or does she expect them to be used to fund the Labour Party?

53. Les Wilson

Bugger (the Panda) says:

We can dream can’t we! LOL!

54. Paul Kelly

I get a lot more than £20 of enjoyment out of this site, however i’m broke so £20 it is. 🙂

55. Arbroath 1320

Hmm!

Just watching BBC News 24 reporting outside the Old Bailey about the sentencing of Drummer Rigby’s killers. Nothing wrong with that except looking behind the reporter are supporters of the E.D.L. and B.N.P. and mixed in with the usual union and English flags there are a couple of Scotland flags! WTF!

What sort of numpty takes a St. Andrews flag along to a protest organised by the E.D.L. or B.N.P.?

56. Bugger (the Panda)

Les Wilson

We don’t need to dream, we are living it daily.

57. CameronB

Wow, just wow. Is this not a powerful indictment of the MSM.

58. Proud Cybernat

£53,000 x 35 days = £1,855,000.

Let’s go for it!

59. Bugger (the Panda)

“What sort of numpty takes a St. Andrews flag along to a protest organised by the E.D.L. or B.N.P.?”

Mischief makers from the BNP and EDL

60. ronnie anderson

@Cymru Rydd 4.36, much appreciated, and we,ll be there for you,s

tae, an am sure the Rev will offer his services.

61. Michael

What this shows spectacularly is the desperate desire from so many of us for discussion and debate that doesn’t have the genetically programmed running down Scotland bias of the MSM. There must be a huge market for a pro-Scottish news site. Why the crises-ridden Herald and Scotsman can’t understand that is anyone’s guess. I wouldn’t give the Herald a bean and I’d only give to the Scotsman if I could be certain that the money would be used to close the place down. But more than happy to give this donation today. It’s maybe overstating the case but this feels like a revolutionary act.

62. A2

Horthersall really is a silly billy.

We are paying for a service. One which we are not getting from the papers or broadcast media. Worth £20k easily.

63. McHaggis

Hothersall makes a tribal, hate-filled generalisation about those who donate to Wings…

I can detect the seething in his tweets getting stronger and stronger…

64. Rod Mac

By this time tomorrow it will be interesting to see what we have managed to raise.
    Not only will BT be jealous ,dare I say that the “Scottish Press” must look on and groan .
    If they had an ounce of business acumen they would know with the correct journalism and just balance in their reporting funds might very well flow into their coffers.

65. chicmac

Another possible internet first, well probably not.

If I may be so bold, I propose a cyber toast at 9pm this evening. Get a glass of whatever and raise it ‘To Wings, The Reverand Stuart and a Free Scotland’.

So we can collectively even though apart, celebrate this milestone achievement.

66. Stuart Black

From the Rev’s Twitter feed, apparently someone has donated 10,000, yes, 10,000 through the normal Donate button, so it doesn’t appear on the total, but it means the target has already been smashed!

So proud of all of you. 😀

67. Arbroath 1320

BtP says

“What sort of numpty takes a St. Andrews flag along to a protest organised by the E.D.L. or B.N.P.?”

Mischief makers from the BNP and EDL

Aye well I’m not going to argue with you over that one BtP. 🙂

68. Stuart Black

Mmmm, I’m behind the times as usual, I see. 😉

69. gordoz

Been saving up for this for a while, since I stopped buying British state orchestrated newspapers, which covers all the Scottish press and their Hacks. The quicker we can hasten their complete demise the better in my view.

70. Mosstrooper

P@ge refresh

71. boglestone

Almost reached the same amount as Anas Sarwar claims in expenses.

72. john king

“If I may be so bold, I propose a cyber toast at 9pm this evening. Get a glass of whatever and raise it ‘To Wings, The Reverand Stuart and a Free Scotland’.”

I’ll second that chicmac

73. Albalha

@HandS

FFS re Dugdale, I could scream, I think she’ll find that many, many people on here have donated to foodbanks, hardly mutually exclusive.

They really are something else. The bitterness they display is what I want an independent Scotland to rise above, we can be SO much better as a nation.

Let’s hope the voters on the day finally unshackle themselves from the past.

74. Linda's Back

Not that BBC /MSM will report it, but has anyone got info on the unctuous Jim Murphy telling Pete Wishart to F**K Off when Pete was counting the number of Labour MPs voting on Bedroom Tax.

75. Juteman

A few quid from me. Well done everyone.

76. crisiscult

I see I’m not the first one to say it but having stopped paying for a TV licence, this would be a very worthy use of the cash.

77. Findlay Farquaharson

what a happy day.

78. Proud Cybernat

Now the MSM are seeing the power of Citizen Journalism. With their lies and deceit, they made a rod for their own backs and Wings is reaping the rewards. Hell slap it into them.

79. Kate Fraczek

@Cymru Rydd says:
    26 February, 2014 at 4:36 pm
    30 quid just sent your way from Wales, Rev.

And when you get your own fundraising set up, to take your country fwd, then you can found on this site, Thank You

80. Kate Fraczek

COUNT!!!

81. Helpmaboab

I’ve just returned home from work to discover that you’ve all been very busy today! 🙂

Our wee community of free-thinkers has an extraordinary power, doesn’t it?

Now, I’m off to the payment page to add my bit…

82. Macart

Holy moley.

Went out for some tea and another 5K appears. This begs a question.

What are we going to do with the other 33 days? 🙂

83. Macandroid

Had to donate – couldn’t miss out on all the fun.
    Well done everyone 🙂

84. MajorBloodnok

@chicmac

Might have a bottle of chilled Black Isle blonde this evening, I know it’s a school night but… (that’s a beer by the way, in case anyone was thinking it was a euphemism for some teuchtar tottie). [winks]

85. Andrew Morton

Take that!

£46,097 when I logged out.

Could raise £200,0000?

86. Stan Drews

MSM going with “A bad day for Yes”?

87. Dal Riata

A 10K donation… That’s just incredible!

To whoever you are that donated that sum: From one of the people of Scotland who wish for nothing more than the independence of their country, I can only say thank you… Thank you very much indeed!

To the Rev: Your terrific work deserves the terrific response you are getting for the fundraiser. Congratulations! Well done!

PS Any information on the actual size of the wee blue book? ie How ‘wee’ will it be?

And: Maybe some who follow the bhoys in green wouldn’t be too partial to waving that colour of book about, so… How about a wee *tartan* book? (semi-joking emoticon thing here)

88. Macart

GIRUY MSM.

Bwahahahahahaha! 😀

89. john king

“What are we going to do with the other 33 days? ”

I was going to say play poker, but I think Stu would have the shirts off our backs. 🙂

90. Findlay Farquaharson

wee tartan book

91. Faltdubh

Cymru am blyth, Rydd. Chan eil Cumiris agam, ach le dhurchdan gu uile sa’ Chumirigh. 🙂

WOW! Terrific work, folks. This SHOULD Be news worthy. 44k (probably go up since 17.15 already) in just a few hours work.

Unbelievable.

92. Another Union Dividend

Arbroath 1320

The St Andrew’s Flags at Could well be from the SDL or BNP who are active on certain Scottish football fan zones over Lee Rigby as a cause celebre

93. Macandroid

@ Mosstrooper
    Replace the @ with a and your refreshing comment will not appear once it has been modded out!

94. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

I can’t believe the response from wingers. Surely £100k is on the horizon now. Astonishing!

95. Rod Mac

I wonder if the £10,000 was from that guy Anonymous, he has been most generous today.

96. Juteman

If I was a Scottish journalist working for one of the MSM titles, I would be hanging my head in shame at this. Folk are desperate for the truth, and this is the result.

97. John H.

Why doesnt he give it to the Food Banks” – Labours Kezia Dugdale

We’re trying to get rid of the foodbanks you idiot.

98. Craig Stewart

So, I got the notification email of this being open around 10am. At 5pm, the total was approx £46,000.

By my quick calculations, that averages out at…

OVER £100 per minute!!

Great work everyone! 🙂

99. liz

Well done Rev – it’s a testament to your hard work.
    Donation sent – been saving up and did not buy posh bag.

100. X_Sticks

Mully & Gordon

Everyone’s a bit distracted right now 🙂 so I’ll take it upon myself to welcome you to Wings!

Now you’ve broken the ice I hope we’ll see you posting regularly – it doesn’t hurt, honest! (unless you break any of Stu’s rules;) )

BTW Dunc(e)an Hotnbothered is all hot n bothered about all us SIMPLETONS who are donating to Wings. All those with Twitter accounts might want to drop him a tweet to let him know what you think about that. Keep it clean and civil though!

101. CameronB

MajorBloodnok said, “…in case anyone was thinking….”.

Would never dream of it old boy.

It must be pretty obvious, that neither do an awful lot of people, who appear happy with the MSM propaganda. Just what Westminster and Whitehall intended. Isn’t that right Better Together?

102. Craig Stewart

… and a +1 for the suggestion of the wee tartan book! 🙂

103. Macart

@John King

I’m middle aged not nuts. I wouldn’t play snap with Stu in this kinda form. 😉

104. MajorBloodnok

@CameronB

Ah, so it was just me then…

105. chicmac

Rod Mac

‘Anonymous’? He was a small rodent who used to play for Celtic wasn’t he? 🙂

106. Stuart Black

@Albalha says “FFS re Dugdale, I could scream, I think she’ll find that many, many people on here have donated to foodbanks, hardly mutually exclusive

Spot on, Albalha. I’ll wager I have donated far more to food banks than La Bon-bon, and it is a bitter and twisted mind that would make a statement like that. Perhaps she should reflect on the 70 odd years of Labour hegemony that has brought us to this.

107. The Tree of Liberty

Rev, you can thank kendomacaroonbar fir that extra fiver! Sometimes it’s great being a Scot.

108. X_Sticks

@MajorBloodnok

“Might have a bottle of chilled Black Isle blonde”

My favorite tipple when at Belladrum, Major. Fine brew.

109. Findlay Farquaharson

dae you viruses no unerstaun whit yer daen?

110. Jamie S

Who ever imagined watching a green line slowly moving (or relatively very quickly) could be so utterly absorbing! You deserve this Wings and is great to be a part of it.

111. Chris Cairns

Ever heard a lion purr? Bloody deafening.

Anyhoo, on behalf of Hamish – our humblest of thanks.

(BTW, the Rev’s trials and tribs with this site and me having to sign in as a ‘new user’ every time has prompted me to ditch my alter ego FreddieThreepwood. (That and the fact I’m no longer on the witness protection programme). Be interested now to see if my new gravitar pops up. Here goes …)

112. SquareHaggis

A young tory? Maybe of the St Andrews variety?

113. Dal Riata

@kininvie

Re quotes:

Here is my in-depth, mature and intelligent contribution: “GIRUYz!”

Or, in the more common vernacular: “GIRFUYz!”

(Actually, maybe best not to offer those salutations. Us cybernats have an immaculate reputation to uphold, after all!)

114. Albaman

Do the S.N.P. and the “YES” campaigners realise what potent force WINGS is to the cause?, surely someone is monitoring the social internet, anyway I have managed to prise open the old sporran so a few Groats winging you way, have long wanted something sourced by “Wings” to be put into print and distributed to the general public.

115. Stuart Black

I see there are some first time posters here today, a very warm welcome one and all, and for any others out there hesitating to dip your toes in, on you come and gie’s your craic, the water’s lovely!

116. Alan Mackintosh

Major, No not just you. I’m quite partial to a Black Isle Blonde too…

Pip Pip!

117. G H Graham

I’ll second that chicmac.

A toast at 9:00pm tonight.

Might I suggest …

“Fantastic result, Rev Campbell Stuart & all those who read, follow & support Wings Over Scotland. And one day closer to an independent Scotland. Cheers!”

118. Rod Mac

I wonder if Mr Hothersall had anything to say when Tony Blair and The Labour Party were selling Peerages for donations?

119. gerry parker

I’ll join you all at 9 and I’ll have a wee tin of non alcoholic beer tonight to celebrate then.

120. john king

“dae you viruses no unerstaun whit yer daen?”

Apparently not according to (hotnbothered) we’re simpletons

121. Macart

9pm tonight?

I have a fine wee drop of cognac left over from Christmas. I’ll raise a glass. 🙂

122. SquareHaggis

Has the number of posts in a thread been smashed yet?

Must be gettin close now….

123. andymac

brilliant work,heres a wee something to nhelp, Thank You 🙂

124. Stuart Black

Just incidentally folks, Duncan Hothersall reckons the Rev makes a living out of whipping us “simpletons into hatred”.

Nice to see Scottish Labour’s analysis of events is still so rigorous and logical, Lol!

125. gordoz

@Juteman

Agreed shameful lot !

Papers, TV & radio – how do they sleep at night.

Probably very well – paid well by their masters.

Big sports news just announced on BBC radio Scotland –

Mo Farah will run in New York marathon to prepare for London marathon.

Sorry – but big fxckin wow BBC ! No offence taken – What planet are the on ?

126. The Man in the Jar

I just donated a modest amount. A bawhair off £3,000 to go till the target on Indigo is breached! Thats not including the extremely generous donation outwith Indigo. Thank you whoever you are!

I was going to leave it till (private) pension day, the 15th. but this early surge is something else. Quite a phenomena I will not be holding my breath waiting for the MSM to report this news but it is a massive GIRFUY to the MSM and BBC. They won’t report this but you can bet your arse that they will be watching.

At first I wondered if we could raise £50,000 in 50 hours. Now it looks like we will reach the Indigo target in 12 hours. Amazing!

127. Andrew Morton

Scottish people are genetically programmed to donate to Wings Over Scotland.

128. orkers

It’s like the last 10 minutes of ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’
    A tear in the eye and a lump in the thrapple.
    What a result.

Couldn’t believe the sum raised already.

Well done everybody

129. Findlay Farquaharson

Just incidentally folks, Duncan Hothersall reckons the Rev makes a living out of whipping us “simpletons into hatred”
    i hate that cu guy.

130. Les Wilson

Only 6K to 1st target!!

131. Kate Fraczek

£48, ooo and that is without the £10.000 donation…Rev have you let go of your head yet, surely it has been in your hands all day. Mines has…

132. G H Graham

48,147 quid at 17:41.

Unbelievable !!!

133. Gary

Thanks for the hard work rev. It keeps this simpleton informed of the real issues.

Perhaps I need to go ‘Full Simpleton’ though – I’ve not been whipped up into a cloud of hatred yet.

134. Roddy Macdonald

Well that’s taken it to £48,112. Who says Jocks are tight?

Keep up the good work, Stuart.

135. ayemachrihanish

Rev, very strange – 17.41pm system not taking bank details – looks like the targets reached or the system can’t cope with those currently trying to donate. Congratulations – as the total proves we are obvious better together….

136. gordoz

Yeah – Labour have their finger on the pulse of the Scottish voter !

Oh watch this ! Tomorrow – proudscot Lord Wallace of Tankerness to ‘hammer’ SNP plans of currency union as fatally flawed.

Yawn !!

137. Roddy Macdonald

Sorry, £48,821 – And not a single penny from a Serbian War Criminal funder or Middle-Eastern dictator’s arse kisser among them.

That’s what I call a grassroots campaign.

138. Training Day

What an indictment of the laughably titled ‘Scottish’ MSM this is.

Let’s make sure we say ‘toodle-oo-the-noo’ to every last one of the wretches on September 18.

139. Stuart Black

“Scottish people are genetically programmed to donate to Wings Over Scotland.”

*Sprays brandy over keyboard and screen!*

(I know it’s not nine o’clock yet, in my defence it is an hour ahead where I am. 😉 )

140. gerry parker

Whipping us simpletons.
    Is that like being strapped for cash?

141. Spiel

Very happy to chuck my own little contribution into this. It’s brought a tear to my eye seeing the instant and unquestioning support. Extremely proud and grateful to be a part of this

We are the independence generation

142. Albalha

@squarehaggis

Re number of posters I’d say from memory the highest or near it, though I know someone who has a far sharper memory than me! Though reckon he’s ploughing through his zilions of e mails.

143. Macart

Those eejits in the media reckon we’re not engaged, that we’re lacking motivation?

Guess where a fair chunk of the money went, we’d have spent on subscriptions this year?

I’m still putting in another contribution when the wages hit the bank tomorrow.

144. AlexMci

@ian Brotherhood , “That’ll be Kate Higgins, right”? I nearly wet myself laughing at that mate. Cheers nice one.

145. kininvie

Thanks to all who have sent in wonderful quotes….can’t use them all, though I would have loved to.

Press release drafted & being run past albaha (who knows about these things) Then on to Stu for approval & out to the press agencies with luck.

Thanks again

146. The Man in the Jar

Just over £600 till the target is reached and it is not even 6pm. Some folk not even home from work yet.

Who is going to be the one to take us over the £50,000 line?

Cant keep up under £40 to go.

147. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Stuart Black says:
    Just incidentally folks, Duncan Hothersall reckons the Rev makes a living out of whipping us “simpletons into hatred”.

Duncan’s got it wrong.

We don’t do hate.

Just Groupthink

(on steroids today)

148. The Man in the Jar

FFS £500 over target in the time it took to post comment. 🙂

149. G H Graham

Stairheid Rammy Expert, Johann Lamont & leader of North British Labour while in Scotland has just been quoted in the English based media …

“See, a’ telt ye that yoos sep-ratists ur suffrin fae a virus. An’ a’ wiz right, yer no getting sumfin fer nuthin. It’s costin’ ye 50 grand. Am aff tae the bingo noo, cos a’ got ma expense check cashed on the way hame fae work.”

150. gerry parker

Tombola!
    50 Grand.

151. steviecosmic

This is insanity!

Every 5 mins, the total jumps by a grand!

It really is a beautiful sight to behold a grassroots movement coming together like this.

152. Young NED

Erm right… That was £600 raised in the (roughly 1 min 30) it took me to pay by paypal. This is… positive

153. Kate

WoooHooo £50, 525 WITHOUT that £10.000

154. Gray

Only £2500 to go, must be a lot of genetically modified voters out there 🙂

155. muttley79

@The Man in the Jar

“Quite a phenomena I will not be holding my breath waiting for the MSM to report this news but it is a massive GIRFUY to the MSM and BBC.”

Precisely. GIRUY you biased, corrupt MSM. BTW, did Kezia Dugdale actually say that abut the food banks? I thought it was a poster being sarcastic.

156. Mosstrooper

What a wonderful time to be alive and among friends. Our enemies are many and powerful yet we must remain steadfast and be like Horatius at the bridge.

And how can man die better than facing fearful odds, for the ashes of his fathers and the temples of his gods.

I am so proud to be reckoned in your number.

Scotland for ever.

157. Arbroath 1320

Findlay Farquaharson says:

dae you viruses no unerstaun whit yer daen?

Would that be a cybernat virus by any chance? 🙂

As others have already intimated, I’d like to add my warmest of welcomes to all the new visitors to this site. Don’t keep quiet now, we all have an equal voice, mind you some might have a more equal voice than others. 🙂

158. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Mci –

Mister!!

Where did you be? I e-mailed you last week. If you’ve changed address please let me know.

159. a2

amazing target reached plus that 10k , not 6.00 yet!!!!!!!!!

160. john king

“AM I THE ONLY ONE WHO THINKS THE GOOD REVERAND SHOULD TAKE 25K to 30K SALARY ?”

Are you serious? the work he does he’s worth twice that, I cant see why we cant all put in a couple of pounds a months each for his salary and the crowdfund used for the campaign!

161. Stuart Black

Poor Duncan, he obviously has no conception of how utterly exhilarating and hopeful it is to take part in something like this, with the goal of fashioning a country that works for everyone, rather than a handful of wealthy, Tory sociopaths.

Contrast the donors here, Dunc, yes, those you have classified as “simpletons”, people who can afford it, shoulder to shoulder with pensioners and the unemployed, lobbing in what little they can afford (I tip my hat to you all, by the way), with the Better Together donors, Vitol and the rest, and reflect on who has the positive vision here, and who is wearing blinkers.

You mentioned that the Rev whips up hatred, there is a difference between hatred and contempt, and the hatred is only travelling one way, and it’s not from here out.

162. Ian Brotherhood

Just heard Douglas Fraser on RS doing a piece on the latest newspaper circulation figures, enlightening the nation with his in-depth analysis, considering the threat from the internet etc.

Somehow, he forgot to mention what’s been happening here today. Quelle dommage…

163. Tim F-G

Donated £10 just now. That it makes Duncan Hothersall ill to see Stu hit his target within 24-48 hours is only an added bonus.

164. john king

“mind you some might have a more equal voice than others. :)”

And jist whit dae ye mean by that btw 😉

165. twenty14

Monies will be donated on Friday – like many others but I do have to say from leaving the house this morning – fresh in the knowledge that I, along with the rest of my Countryman, was incapable of making political decisions to come home to find we have probably created the quickest, biggest crowdfund in crowdfund history – has brought a lump to my throat – I echo a 9pm toast this evening to Wings, The Rev, fellow contributors and my Countryman. What a momentous day

166. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Calgacus MacAndrews says:
    @Stuart Black says:
    Duncan Hothersall reckons the Rev makes a living out of whipping us “simpletons into hatred”.

I thought that was more what the Daily Mail did?

167. SquareHaggis

An anagram quiz, can anyone guess what it’s from?

Northland leach us

168. Neil B

I made my first post today, and this is my second. Just wanted to say well done to everyone who has contributed to making today such a resounding success. I have never enjoyed refreshing a page so often.

169. msean

Over £50,000 now,absolutely amazing total after only a few hours.

170. Juteman

You might want to spend some of it on a bodyguard.
    I hear Duncan can be a right wild one.

171. liz

Kezia Dugdale can get lost – she is too stupid to realise that with an indy scotland we can get rid of the food banks and bedroom tax.

If she thinks any of us on here trust Lab, Scottish branch, to do anything positive – she’s living in a dream world.

A lot of us are still angry at her pathetic contribution to the Daily Heil.

172. john king

“Somehow, he forgot to mention what’s been happening here today. Quelle dommage…”

Whats happening here and now is historic which is why I’ve been emailing foreign media to let them know whats going on , hopefully Al Jazeera et al will run with it and show the BBC/STV poodles up for what they are.

173. Arbroath 1320

Oops!

WARNING!

Mega brain cell failure!

I forgot to add my thanks to the anonymous donor who donated £10,000 direct to Wings over Scotland. We do not know who are, we do not need to know who are, but rest assured that the population of this site are extremely grateful for your extremely deep pockets. 😉

174. Proud Cybernat

Since the MSM felt it newsworthy a couple of months back to publish that YES Scotland was failing to reach its £10,000 target (until Wingers stepped in to rescue it at the last minute), surely it is even more newsworthy that the biggest crowd-funding target any indy site has ever set themselves has been smashed in a matter of hours, well in advance of the 35 days allocated to raise the funds.

Come on MSM–get yer finger out. This isn’t just a wee crowd-fund that’s going on here. It’s a national movement for freedom and democracy, Scotland-style. Do not tell us we are not determined to win this thing. In yer face!

175. Calgacus MacAndrews

Rev,

Have you had the call yet from George Osborne?

He needs to raise £1.7 trillion, and could do with your advice.

He’s been trying the Alexander Technique, but that doesn’t seem to be working.

176. MajorBloodnok

Over £60,000 raised from a standing start this morning. I think I’ll put twa bottles o Black Isle in the refridgymerator noo.

177. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

Schiehallion1 got in first thing and sent its wedge to the good Rev’s bank account. S2 sloped in a bit later on and Indegogoed. Twin punts, if not peaks.

Absolutely fantastic work, Wingers! It’s like throwing money darts at a picture of – oh, I don’t know who. Let’s not be mean, eh? Cough, cough. (Twin pechs.)

Back to work!

178. K1

just under £2,000 to go!

179. Dubbieside

As Mr Victor Meldrew would say “I cannot believe it”

180. Arbroath 1320

john king says:

mind you some might have a more equal voice than others. :)”

And jist whit dae ye mean by that btw 😉

I have no idea, it was that very nice Duncan Hotherstall who made me write it. 🙂

Honest 😉

181. Aidan

Stunning. Just stunning.

This is the kind of programme for self-imposed austerity that I can get behind. 🙂

Our chance to vote for independence and a different kind of country is the most important thing to happen in my lifetime. This is the year, this is the time, and ‘Wings’ is at the forefront of an almighty charge, as the response today shows.

I make my contribution whole-heartedly, with more gratitude than I can express.

182. David Martin

I am astonished! Wha’s like us?

183. john king

“I made my first post today,

Hiya Neil
    dont be a stranger,
    lets hear your thoughts.

184. chicmac

I am neither imbued with hatred nor a simpleton. OK I may have been whipped by the Rev a couple of times, but only because I was a very naughty boy. 🙂

185. crisiscult

re Duncan’s comment about simpletons (not entirely sure who the guy is but anyway) reminds me of the constant reference by politicians to the people of Scotland being intelligent, not being stupid, etc (in fact both sides came out with the statement in that stramash on STV last night) – so basically, it’s a lie I think. Based on opinion polls from day 1, a minimum of 23% of adults in Scotland are idiots and at least another 10 – 20% have become stupid, with that number increasing monthly.

186. patronsaintofcats

This is a huge achievement – how do we get the word out and make it go viral? Congrats to all and special thanks to the amazing £10,000 donor. We are going to win this 🙂

187. Midgehunter

In the Herald now:

“BBC boss Tony Hall said he wants to extend the licence fee to cover people watching programmes on the iPlayer.”

This sounds like something is starting to bother the beeb.

Too many people not paying the licence or maybe something else…

188. Stan Drews

I believe I have just been patronised.
    (To the tune of £62) 🙂

189. thomas

Donation sent. Proud of each and every one of you that make this site what it is.

190. big_al

I think there’s been a ddosh attack on the fundraiser!

191. K1

under a grand to go! Wow…

192. john king

Whats that wi the new Scotland strip?
    the wife says they look like waasps.

193. Albalha

If only the SFA had done a fundraiser via Wings on a design for the new Scotland strip, simply horrid I’d say!

194. Dubbieside

Rev Stu

Would suggest that you put a small poll on Wings tomorrow.

What should Stus salary be?

£20000 to £25000 Yes/no
    £25000 to £30000 Yes/

This is a democracy let us decide. I reckon it would be 99% Yes and a Duncan for no.

195. haud on the noo

If we need a tartan designed just ask.

196. K1

under a hundred quid!

197. Big Al (aka tartanthing)

It may not be a lot but I hope my tenner helps.

Looks like your on track to get fully funded before 7pm!

198. john king

“I think there’s been a ddosh attack on the fundraiser!”

CLASSY ? thats a keeper.

199. squarego

Any second now! 🙂

What a fantastic testimony to the value we put on this great website, and the community which surrounds it. It’s a proud moment for us all.

200. Silverytay

Thats my donation now in , well done Stu and keep up the good work .

Just a wee piece of advise , don’t overdo things as we are going to need you at your best for the next 7 months , we don’t want you keeling over with heart problems either natural ones or ones brought about by the dirty tricks brigade .

201. handclapping

£827 to go

202. John Roland

Wify and me pushing button of pay pal for good 2hrs but no success to donate as pop up “call pay pal” for help.(contribution tru visa)
    We are both in Malaysia now.
    Me lady is upset as she is not able to contribute and support you Rev.

203. cearc

I had a wee bet with myself at lunchtime that we would hit the 53k, about 18.30 and it looks like it. Shame Ladbroke’s weren’t offering odds.

204. jinglyjangly

that’s the magic 53k on the Indiegogo site, plus the 10k directly to this site, take a bow, wingers highly impressive, but don’t stop donating if you have not already, it will all be put to good use.

Think I might crack open a bottle of Arran Malt tonight in a wee celebration…

205. David Martin

Wings over Scotland. Worth every single penny. Congrats on hitting the target in less than 12 hours. Been refreshing for the last half hour….

206. Thepnr

Open the bubbly! What a job absolutely brilliant.

207. Albalha

Over £53000 on the site! Bloody marvellous.

208. Proud Cybernat

It’s gone!!!! £53,080.

209. David

WE WIN!

210. MajorBloodnok

There you go, £53,080 raised at 1824 (plus £10,000). Remarkable.

211. K1

£53,080 @ 18.23pm! Astonishing!

212. SquareHaggis

BINGO! IT’S A FULL HOUSE FOLKS!

Now, lets finish the job

213. Michael

Congratulations, well deserved.

214. creag an tuirc

Target raised in 8 hours. ya dancer 🙂

215. K1

Lol…God, have tears in my eyes…

216. Malc

That is my contribution in , incredible response.

217. Thepnr

8hr 16min between first post and target met.

£106.85 a minute. Fecking Fantastic!

218. cearc

and we did!

219. john king

The CO-OP bank screws up big time, so what gets the axe? well the CO-OP farms of course, the best thing about the CO-OP is their meat especially their pork so they sell off the best part of the company to bale out a despicable sham who’s only purpose is to support the Labour party with free loans, truly disgusted.

220. Marcia

Well I expect you are astonished. Monies sent via relative as I am scared to pay things on the internet as I was scammed once.

221. The Tree of Liberty

53 Grand, stoonin on oor heid. You should hold on tae that poster, by the way.

222. callum

that’s the indigogo total reached at 1825hrs. It does not matter whether you donated £1 or £10000, this is yet another game changer from the Rev. Twitter BT crowd are having palpatations.

223. Kate

Well, I have just enjoyed the best of days here, have also partook of a couple of glasses of wine while sat in awe! At all the great people on this site.

Noo I hate to admit it but I am ready to go lie doon, so come on all you working people that are just finishing your tea, get donating, let’s show the NO side what a real media force can achieve. Could I possibly be waking up to £100.000 raised tomorrow morning?

Oh the sweet dreams I am about to enjoy…
    Nite Nite all

224. Michael

I keep thinking about miseryguts Euan whatsisname, the ‘political’ reporter or whatever they call the job at the Scotsman. The sanctimonious, foul mouthed creep must be sitting in his bed site seething about this. And you know what, donating was worth it for that alone.

225. liz quinn

I have been feeling low recently with all the nasty stuff from the BT crowd. This has cured me! What a wonderful demonstration of hope. Will be donating on Friday.

226. Kevin Scullion

What a remarkable achievement in funding raising terms. Wings Over Scotland your doing a grand job.

227. Kev

Well that’s the 53k reached n breached folks (excluding the 10k ofcourse), bring on the 100k next! And if that’s reached surely we can get Wings on the telly??

228. CameronB

Stan Drews
    I look forward to being similarly patronised, in the next couple of days. I am receiving state entitlements as I’m currently unable to work, so I will simply be acting as a middle-man enabling the British state to fund Wings.

Cheers HMG.

229. Juteman

This didn’t happen, unless the BBC or the MSM report it.

230. kendomacaroonbar

These numbers are climbing faster than a rigged Scotsman newspaper poll. And these people are donating deliberatly !

231. Arbroath 1320

Just seen headline on BBC (dis)Reporting Scotland that a former director is advising fans not to renew their season tickets. Hmm…

I’m not a fan of Rangers but perhaps Stu might want to think about offering his crowd funding skills to Rangers. 🙂

I know Rangers are not your favourite team Stu just thinking out load, as I’m well known for doing from time to time. 🙂

232. Aidan

Big grin on seeing it hit 53K. 😀

What’s really good – and perhaps even unique – about this site is that we can all see where the money goes. Talk about value!

Wings Over Scotland: the biggest bang for your bawbee in the Referendum debate.

233. ayemachrihanish

There you go rev! Not a bad day’s work…. £53,674 – first milestone reached – and on to the next one. As you said; let’s finish the job…

234. Alistair Livingston

CONGRATULATIONS! Checked at 6. 30 pm and £53 000 had been reached. A very newsworthy result…

235. Calgacus MacAndrews

Just back from the convenience store.

No Black Isle, but I managed to get a couple of bottles of “Harviestoun Bitter (Together) & Twisted Blonde Beer” for the 9pm toast.

236. Macart

Page reload

237. ronnie anderson

@ Stuart Black, Thats because we feed Hootananny, that Vid of Xandu that wiz played ( dave dee dozy mick tich )gave him ideas,
    its Rawhide this week ( whip em up move em out )heha.

238. Albalha

Good grief hard copies of Scotsman under 30 000, dearie me.

239. MochaChoca

Got in from work just in just in time to tip us over the target, but some other bugger beat me to it!

240. Arbroath 1320

According to Douglas Fraser the Hootsmon, sorry Scotsman, is an influential newspaper! *cough cough* Well with 29,500 in its daily sales I can see how that is the case…NOT! 🙂

241. msean

Is this the longest thread now at over 700 posts? Two records for the site in one half day.

242. Babs Gribbon

Dash it all! forgot to pick up my perk. Oh well, I’ll just have to pay up again 🙂 And I was here for £53000! I mean £53741, I mean £54,261….

243. mato21

Have tried twice just now to donate but my donation was not accepted then a notice came up to say my bank would contact me within the next hour What am I doing wrong anyone have any idea?

244. Gwiz

Wow words fail me, well done everyone. Stu you rock!

245. Macart

Absolutely aced it.

Brilliant 😀

Tomorrow Pinky we plot to take over…etc

246. twenty14

sorry to be o/t on such a momentous day but can anyone put up the link on the bT fake leaflet handout on the bbc ( same day as the march ) can’t find it anywhere on youtube – need to make a serious point

247. My Mutterings

What is this £10K that everyone is talking about?

248. Alec K

Blown away with how this went and so chuffed for everyone involved! I can’t afford to contribute right now but will when I get next payment in.

Been reading here for about two years now and without this place I wouldn’t know half of what I do about the issues despite supporting Independence for as long as I have been politically aware.

Perhaps the detractors who criticise donations to a political cause while there are foodbanks will issue a statement decrying any personal donations being made to the Labour party or others? Maybe they will suggest the unions political funds be diverted to foodbanks for as long as they exist?

249. Juteman

If newspapers wanted to make money, they would see this potential market, and change their pro-Union position. The fact that they won’t, proves that they are only there for propaganda, and not a real business.

250. MajorBloodnok

@ Calgacus MacAndrews

Bitter and Twisted – not bad at all – and quite similar to Black Isle Blonde.

I recommend Fyne Ales ‘Avalanche’ if you like the citrus and flinty taste of cascade hops, or even Williams Bros’ “Birds & Bees” which is similiar but with a late dash of elderflowers and lemon zest (it really works!). Hmmm, that’s me off the wagon…

251. G H Graham

53k target met already !

And at the rate of 100 quid per minute.

About the same rate Peers charge for snoring in the House of Lords, while waiting for their expense sheets to be signed off.

Awesome.

252. Ian Brotherhood

I can’t believe people on this site are encouraging one another to drink alcohol at 9 p.m. on a Wednesday, and on the flimsiest of pretexts too.

Pure outrageous so it is.

253. heedtracker

£54.382! Just watched BBC in Scotland tea time vote no propaganda machine try to wish away the crash in Scottish newspaper sales. The dude sez the Scotsman cant sell much due to “cut backs and changes in journalists.” Another day another BetterTogetherBBC lie oozes out of the telly from good old beeb.

254. Chris Cairns

Can’t see last post so must assume lost. In which case this probably will be too. In which case I’m talking to myself. Plus ca change.

Anyway – worth repeating – many thanks y’all.

255. john king

“This didn’t happen, unless the BBC or the MSM report it.”

Not if I can effing help it!
    sending tweets and emails to international sources such as New York times , Al Jazeera, Izvestia, maybe just maybe.

256. john king

“Pure outrageous so it is.”

Couldnt hic agree more hic,

Its a disgrace hic so’in it hic is
    hic.

257. Alan Mackintosh

Reloaded page and started at the beginning. Heres the second post

“Extreme0 says:
    26 February, 2014 at 10:11 am

Quite an ambitious goal you got there. You think it could happen?”

Is it just me or does that seem like simultaneously a long time ago, and just a moment ago. Phew…

258. Dave

Exciting stuff indeed. My ten spot is in. Let’s buy the Scotsman with your surplus!

259. crisiscult

can we raise enough money to get Rev a secretary? Maybe he doesn’t want one but things like emails and admin type stuff must be pretty time consuming.

260. GrahamR

I donated at 16:40 – £40k
    At 17:40 – £50k
    WOW…

Well done, and keep up the good work.

261. X_Sticks

I’M WITH THE PAYRISE FOR STU CREW 🙂

I think Rev Stu should get at least another tenner for all his hard work.

That and a night off to celebrate.

Then he should get back to fukn work! We’re hard taskmasters and there’s a lot to do 😉

262. rab_the_doubter

Donation made with thanks for raising me out of apathy and getting me tk think about our potential futures both good and bad.
    Keep up the good work.

263. john king

Chris Cairns
    A love you man, no really a really love you hic,
    your ma man hic,
    is he no the bees knees folks whit?

264. Glass Girl

Ya dancer! What a result! More than happy to have chipped in my wee bit.

265. Alan Mackintosh

My mutterings

Rev received a £10K donation outwith the indiegogo donation page so is not shown in the running total

266. AllyPally

Why don’t we keep going and put in an offer for the Scotsman?

267. Alan Mackintosh

Crisiscult. A secretary? How about a Black Isle Blonde? (Continung the 9pm toast theme 🙂 )

268. Gray

Refresh

269. Arbroath 1320

I see the crowd fund has almost reached the £55,000 mark. I was just wondering if Stu could lend us a couple of quid, we’re looking at raising the suspension on our Jeep and might need a few pennies to make it happen. 🙂

270. muttley79

Woof! Over £55,000 now. Once again GIRUY “Scottish media.” 😀

271. My Mutterings

Alan Mackintosh

“Rev received a £10K donation outwith the indiegogo donation page”

Bloody hell! How do you know? I searched the whole thread.

272. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

Inveralmond brewery have a beer called “Independence” but it is not sold in bottles, only get it on tap in pubs. Would be good to know which ones sell it in Fife and Aberdeen. I haven’t seen it in any of my usual hangouts.

273. Alba4Eva

I’m timing my next Lemsip for the 9pm toast. (Looks for sympathy emoticon)

274. HandandShrimp

It is precisely because the Duncans, Kezias, Euans, Daily Mails etc, hate this site so much that tells me that this is the right place to invest a groat or two.

A self evident bench mark that makes the site increasingly successful. Thank you Bitter Ones you are part of that success story

Thinking of some of our choooms and their twitter rage and
    for those of you that know your Bible the words “Why was not this (….) sold for three hundred pence, and given to the poor”

The words of Judas Iscariot.

Most apposite in the circumstances 😉

275. Hwanofbute

Paid! Brilliant stuff. Keep up the good work Rev.

276. Braco

Congratulations Rev ( and all wingers)!

We are going to win and I think, with this kind of attitude, talent, and commitment on tap, win BIG!

So happy for you Stu, you more than deserve this wonderful accolade. Many, many thanks.

277. Valkyrie

My first post. I am so delighted by today my eyes are full of tears of pride. I donated earlier but had no idea until just now how fantastically well it has gone. Runrig moment…this is a real Hearthammer.

278. Alan Mackintosh

My mutterings

Rev tweeted it about 5 o clock or so. Have a look there, although it was mentioned in the thread about the same time.

279. Arbroath 1320

Sorry to be a stick in the mud here. 🙁

Last year we started with Stu looking to crowd fund £30,000 and he eventually doubled that figure, or came close to can’t remember actual figure raised. 😉

This year Stu was looking to raise £53,000 and, including the donation direct to Wings, has already raised £65,000. I just have a fear that we might be creating a rod for our own backs here.

What happens next year folks?

Having seen how successful Stu has been in surpassing his original totals of £30,000 and £53,000 respectfully what happens next year when Stu looks for say £100,000. Will we be disappointed if we do not reach that total within 24 hours?

Will our failure to reach next years total, whatever it is, within 24 hours be deemed a failure?

Brain cell now firmly re-engaged. 🙂

280. Capella

Fantastic achievement. Speaks volumes for the importance of having this online resource, and I include the comments. It’s always my first port of call when looking for the real story behind the MSM blizzard of spin. I would agree that Stu should have a pay rise to at least the median – around £25,000. Looking forward to checking in later to see the total rising.

281. Les Wilson

Well, we should all be very happy over the statement that has, and is, still being made. We are making history, congratulations to all of.

Rev, will be a very happy man, and rightly so, he knows for sure his efforts do not fall on deaf ears.

282. scottish_skier

Independence parties.

283. ronnie anderson

Rev,Rev, pit the brakes oon to feking late, somebody phone Hootinstall,the Rev,s geid me Whiplash wie hittin the crash
    barrier. Weil done tae one n all,an a special thank,s tae the person who donated £10.000.

284. Les Wilson

scottish_skier says:
    26 February, 2014 at 7:15 pm

One hell of a party! A wings party would be a great celebratory idea. Faces to the names etc. That would be a great,and happy occasion.

285. Misteralz

Just looked and the target’s been breached by a decent margin. Will we see £75k by the morning? Six figures by lunchtime tomorrow? 😀

286. Alba4Eva

Story on NNS regarding BBC and media bias…

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/8795-bbc-bias-is-already-a-referendum-issue

Ps. This campaign influenced me to make a wee donation to NNS too today… all the Pro-Indepence alternative media need our support.

287. James Kay

Bloody fantastic!

I have been away from my computer since 9 o’clock this morning, when the fundraiser had not even been announced. By the time I sit down to my keyboard at 7 pm, it has been exceeded!

Contribution for a ‘stretch project’ will be on its way shortly.

288. HoraceSaysYes

orkers says “It’s like the last 10 minutes of ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’”

Genius! lol

Well done to every single contributor so far – whatever you were able to give.

And welcome to all those posting for the first time – you’re very welcome.

289. X_Sticks

Valkyrie says:

“My first post. I am so delighted by today my eyes are full of tears of pride.”

Welcome in Valkyrie! I have to say I’ve had a tear or two in my eye as well – an astounding day!

If we’re feeling this emotional I can only guess how Stu is feeling. He has become a lightning rod for our desires for independence, so no pressure then, eh?

Nae worries Stu, you’re doing a magnificent job and today is the proof of that. I’ll be joining the Wings toast at 9pm!

290. MalkiEightO

You were already over your target when I woke up in NZ, but I thought you could use it to print more books. Books that i will happily hand out to everyone I see on my return to the motherland in June. Cannae wait to get involved on the ground and cast my ballot to save the country I love.

291. stonefaction

I spent £50+ on YES merchandise at Christmas. Just topped that amount with a donation here. Keep up the great work, RevStu. And to the WoS ‘massive’ – wow! Just WOW!
    Posted a link on Facebook, just off to do the same on EastFootball.co.uk.

292. heraldnomore

Wow. What a bunch.

Count me in for the nine o’clock dram. Old Pulteney I reckon tonight.

And Yes for the payrise for the man. Nae overtime though…Enjoy everyone

293. Midgehunter

Page refresh

There’s been so much traffic on the site and Indiegogo today even I’m starting to have refresh problems..!

Anyway it’s taken me all day and round about 7-8-9 attempts to donate the cash – but – I finally made it. 😉

We have something BT will never have, it’s called PRIDE.

294. kininvie

@My Mutterings

You need to be plugged into the Rev’s Twitter feed…

295. Jim

Very well done one and all. WOS has received more funding today than Slab in a year!

296. SometimeSoon

Hi Folks.
    Brand new at this.
    I have been reading Wings, NNS and others for a while now. I’m a confirmed yes voter and I’ve been quite astonished at this response and have been motivated to join in. Money on the way tomorrow.
    The job that this site and the other pro independence sites do is immeasurable, not to mention so motivational. It just confirms for me that we can win this, not just because we have to but because there are so many of us, arguing, debating, leafletting, promoting, donating and wishing for a better Scotland. As I said to a wavering pal of mine, “This surely isn’t good enough?”

297. Wilberforce

QUESTION why is there no decent hi res version of ‘The Fear Factor’ available online? What happened to the one that was on Vimeo? The quality of the one of YouTube is terrible…

Anybody? Or am I missing something?

298. Boorach

@ Chris Cairns

Many thanks for all the smiles you’ve brought me over the past year.

My wee donation is barely recognition for all the wisdom you’ve given us Stuart but even overdrafts have limits I’m afraid. 🙂

299. Marjorie

Brilliant achievement, absolutely fantastic. Wings is so important to us all.
    Thank you Stu for all you hard work.

300. Thepnr

@Midgehunter
    We have something BT will never have, it’s called PRIDE.

We have more than just pride, we have belief, we have commitment, we have passion, we have reason, we have each other and… WE HAVE WINGS

301. Ian Brotherhood

800th comment?

302. Thepnr

Sorry Ian 🙂

303. Ghengis D'Midgies

Brilliant stuff. Congratulations to the Rev. Thanks for the great work. Carry on 🙂

304. Southerner

Truely amazing, this fund raising must be unique for a political cause.

WoS must now have a daily readership many times that of the Guardian newspaper and the Guardian are all over the BBC. Does Question Time loom for Stu?

Ps Article in the Times today concerning North Sea oil, may be worth addressing.

305. alexicon

Wow! I’ve just arrived back from Aberdeen this evening just to see you are enjoying yourselves without me.
    I’m tired so I’ll wait until tomorrow to fire off £50 then I’ll wait 2 weeks and send another £50 to the cause.
    We’ll done to all.

306. G H Graham

9:00PM

BONG, BONG, BONG, BONG, BONG, BONG, BONG, BONG, BONG !

“Cheers everyone!”

307. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Given what your name stands for, it’s appropriate that you hit that landmark number. Won’t be hit again for a long time, and never again for the first.

Slainte!

308. Lanarkist

Sitting here grinning from ear to ear with anArran Blonde and an Edinburgh Brunette. I’ll let you work out which is which.

“I ask you all to raise your glasses and drink to all those here,

For who knows where we all will be upon another year.

Some may be wed, some may be dead, some may be lying low,
    Some may be in a foreign land and not know where to go.

If health were a thing that money could buy,
    The rich would live and the poor would die,
    But God in his wisdom has made it so that the rich and the poor alike must go,
    And so I ask you all to raise their glasses,
    And toast good health.”

In memory of my Grandfather and to my Dad and all to who sail on Wings Over Scotland.

309. AlexMcI

@ian brotherhood , al_m75@rocketmail.com

310. Doug R

The one day that I don’t check Wings as soon as I get in from work & you’ve only gone and had another fundraiser and beaten the target spectacularly! There’s another £50 heading your way.

Thanks for everything you’ve done Rev & thanks also to all the wonderful contributers and commenters.

I hardly bother with any other websites these days 🙂

311. setondene

So great to see people standing up for Scotland. My contribution will go in on Friday when I get paid. Congratulations to everyone involved.

312. X_Sticks

Hi to you SometimeSoon

Welcome aboard Wings.

313. JnrTick

Donated on my lunch hour and only just got to my laptop tonight to see this astonishing figure.
    This site’s forensic examination and debunking of the daily barrage of one sided NO slanted scare stories have obviously struck a chord with so many.

We must all push the boat out, go the extra mile to ensure the YES vote is successful. As Nicola says, don’t wake up on the 19th September wishing you had done a bit more.

Every last penny donated could not be invested in a more productive source than this site, tremendous work.

314. Seasick Dave

I’m at the affshore on my birthday so, to cheer myself up, I’m going to donate 50 smackers.

315. Tam Jardine

Am raising a jar to Stu and all the contibutors of this amazing site! Before I found Wings Over Scotland the appalling negativity, lies and smears of the press and EBC were really getting to me… you are an inspiration for us all.

By the time I sat down with the laptop the 50K target was reached- there is but money fumes in the account until Friday- will do my bit then.

Guid health!

316. sandra s

I’m winging my donation from the USA .

No Greater Cause can I Imagine

317. TJenny

Seasick Dave – Happy Birthday. 🙂

And a very BIG WELCOME to all new Wingers, or should that be fledglings. 🙂

318. Keith MacMillan

As a mexpat, i sadly don´t get my own vote – hopefully my 2000 pesos will help to convince someone else to vote YES on my behalf! Keep up the excellent work folks!

319. Seasick Dave

TJenny

Thanks!

I made it up to £62 just so that I could be a patron and now I’m really happy!

I think that my genetic programming must be suspect.

320. Angusman

Hi Stuart,
    Very excited about your plans, especially the Blue Book. However I have aphasia so print reading is slow and difficult. I have friends and relatives who read articles with screen readers and IPads etc.
    please remember to make the books available in digital format as well please.
    Thanks

321. TJenny

Seasick Dave – can you tell me if you received an email confirmig your donation payt? I tried to make a payt but not sure it went through and haven’t rec’d any emai confirmation.

322. Weedeochandorris

Absolutely amazing, what a day. Happy, Happy, Happy. Thanks to all the wingers, old and new, who truly are the wind beneath OUR WINGS and who will lift Scotland up to her rightful place in the world. Stu, bless.

323. Inbhir Anainn

Contribution gladly made Hail Alba.

324. Seasick Dave

TJenny

Yes, I received the following:

Hello Seasick_Dave

Congratulations! You brought the ‘Let’s Finish The Job’ team one step further to making their campaign happen!

Here are the details of your contribution:

Contribution Amount: £62
    Payment Method: Credit Card
    Perk: Patrons

Onwards and upwards!

325. TJenny

Seasick Dave – thanks for that. I obviously have to try paying again – I really want one of these emails. 🙂

326. Weedeochandorris

By the way Peter Rabbit sez –

“Some little seeds of goodness You’ll find in every heart,
    To sprout and keep on growing When once they get a start.” 🙂

327. garyjc

Donation sent from Calgary – Canada not the Scottish beach. Trying to think how I can come home in time to register to vote (11 weeks out I think), stay for the vote and still keep the wolf from the door over here. Still reckon 64% to yes come the day.

328. Jock Politicaljunkie

Just gone Midnight, have just donated, tally now beyond £66,000!!! 🙂

329. Colin

Congratulations on a fantastic fundraising, I only wish I could have given you more. I am keeping my fingers crossed that the fund reaches £100.000 and we see WOS billboards everywhere, and a wee tartan book. Not keen on blue 😉

330. Marcia

gorjc

what you were asking about;

http://www.aboutmyvote.co.uk/referendum_scotland.aspx

331. Morag

Mit Flügeln, die ich mir errungen, werde ich entschweben….

332. sionnach

@chicmac:

I was at work so missed out on your proposed 9pm cybertoast. Somewhat belatedly raising a drappie o the Glenlivet to Rev Stu and everything he’s done over the past year. Also toasting all the Wossers who have contributed so enthusiastically to this amazing fund-raiser!

I’ve had a good feeling about the referendum outcome for a few weeks now: it just got a whole lot better! 🙂

333. CJ

Been waiting all day to come on and donate/comment. WOW. Incredible result and it`s been less than 24 hours.

334. Appleby

Ooooh pipped at the post there.

335. Meg McLean

In the morning to the bank. So proud to be even a tiny part of this

336. Ged Giblin

Just recently discovered this site over here in Oz and I love what you’re doing. The reason I left Scotland in the first place was mainly because of a corrupt Westminster. Don’t get a vote now but more than happy to donate $100 to help spread the truth. Keep up the fantastic work. Hopefully one day I can return to find a free Scotland

337. JLT

I am absolutely gobsmacked. Seriously …my heart is aglow and on fire!

I have never felt more proud of my nation as I do now. As I have said on other posts …Scotland at the moment, is in the middle of an Epiphany.

A very, very rare thing.

There have been nations who have never had one. Now, Scotland is having her second (the first being 500 years ago with the installation of schools in each parish).

Scotland has a vision as do her children. At this moment, our nation is probably being the most enlightened, most democratic, greatest visionaries in the world at this moment.

What other nation is demanding …demanding …out and out democracy in so many fields, ranging from Economics, to Health Care, to Education, to unbiased media, and so on…

We are going to win. We are most definitely …going to win!

338. Rosco_v1

Just contributed my £23 – I wish it could have been more but I’m a skint student so that’s a significant number of Pot Noodles.

This has been absolutely unbelievable, congratulations to everyone that’s donated. I wonder if we’ll see anything about it in the MSM…

339. AndyKie

Donation on it’s way via paypal.

340. Mealer

Some folk on here will be doing without so they can donate to this great cause.They have my thanks and admiration.But for many of us,putting our hand in our pocket is by far the easiest bit.Sites like this are an essential part of our campaign.So is social media.But I firmly believe that we will win by talking about our belief in this,face to face,with people around us.A lot of people aren’t comfortable doing that sort of thing.Myself included.But if we can step out of our comfort zone,even just a wee bit,we can win a better Scotland.

341. Vestas

Anyone using a Visa credit card to contribute more than £100 then be aware that your transaction will most likely NOT complete. You will have to call your card issuer to get the security flag lifted from Indiegogo first.

The reason Visa card services gave me is because Indiegogo’s merchant account states they are a charity (charitable contributions) and cardholder not present fraud is rife in charities. They’ve also apparently seen a very high number of transactions to Indiegogo “recently” 😉

Make of that what you will – I suspect anything over £100 gets flagged because section 75 consumer credit act makes Visa jointly liable and that makes the system “twitchy”.

342. Riverclyder

Congratulations, this is a fantastic site, for those in both camps requiring inbiased interpretations of what is actually going on!!!

343. AB45Alan

Happy to Donate! Money on it’s way.
    Vote YES on 18th September.

344. proudscot

I recommend the RevStu is paid £30,000 per year from our crowdfunding. He’s well worth it. That will also serve as our answer to Hothersall’s snide comment about how we are being duped into contributing to some sort of alleged profit-making enterprise.

345. Kilty

Donation sent!
    Congratulations on smashing the target already!
    Hope things go great for you over the coming months, and thank you very much as always for such informative, humourous and incisive analyses of our news and politicians. 🙂

346. Iain

Im in donation sent , keep up the good work

347. Morag

Did anyone notice Stu tweeted about half past four that the grand total (including donations outwith the Indiegogo site) had passed £90,000?

Earlier this month I thought, he’ll ask for £50,000 because that represents a decent sum in hand to up the ante this year without looking ridiculous and/or unrealistic, and he’ll probably get £100,000.

I seriously think he needs to budget for secretarial help, even if only part time. Someone coming in mornings to help him catch up. Deal with the tedious bits. Triage the email. A six-month contract from 19th March.

348. big_al

@Vestas
    Exactly what happened to me. Tried twice with credit card, denied. Did it with pay pal.

Got a call from the bank asking me to confirm it was me attempting the transactions.

They gave the same account as you have detailed about indiegogo being a ‘charity’ suffering high levels of fraudulent transactions.

They had actually suspended my card until they had spoken to me.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.