Our end of the bargain

Posted on February 26, 2014 by

It’s time to finish the job.

Just over a year ago now, the readers of Wings Over Scotland quietly revolutionised the independence campaign. When we launched the first ever formal public fundraising appeal for a Scottish political website (indeed, as far as we know the first for a politics site anywhere in Britain), your response was incredible.

2014fundraiser1dClick to go to this year’s fundraiser

Our £30,000 target was smashed, enabling the site to become a full-time professional concern, and others followed in our footsteps. By our reckoning around £150,000 was raised in 2013 for various pro-independence sites and projects, including the Common Weal and “Scotland Yet”, a full-length documentary currently being produced by Jack Foster and Christopher Silver, makers of “The Fear Factor”.

Now we need to do it again.

We pledged last year that in return for your money and your trust we’d devote ourselves to the site, give you more articles and bring the facts and arguments about independence to a wider audience. We like to think we’ve delivered.

febstats

MONTHLY READERSHIP

Jan 2013: 29,769
Feb 2014: 233,296

MONTHLY PAGEVIEWS

Jan 2013: 755,406
Feb 2014: 3,647,300

POSTS PUBLISHED

Year to Feb 2013: 632
Year to Feb 2014: 1,211

In the last 12 months Wings Over Scotland has been visited by 959,086 unique readers – almost a quarter of the entire Scottish electorate. And as our properly-researched, fully-sourced information and arguments have reached more and more of the people of Scotland, so the gap in the opinion polls has closed.

(Not that we’re taking all the credit for that, of course, but a recent poll for STV found that this website is the single most-relied-on named source for independence facts in Scotland, so it seems fair to say we’ve done our bit.)

It would seem a shame to stop now. But we’ve spent all of last year’s money, so it’s time for us to ask you to put your hands in your pockets again.

This year’s target is an ambitious £50,000. That’s a lot of cash, but then there’s a lot to do. Here’s what we want it for:

————————————————————————————————-

1. SALARY

Keen readers will have noticed that as editor I usually put in around 16 hours a day, seven days a week, 52 weeks a year – from reading and tweeting interesting stories from the papers around 6-7am to throwing things at the TV screen during Newsnight Scotland at 11pm.

But I do pop out to the shops sometimes and I don’t want to play the martyr, so let’s only call half of that work time – that’s 50 hours a week. The UK living wage is £7.65 an hour, which comes to £19,890 a year. It’s not a fortune (it’s nearly £7000 less than the UK average) but it’ll keep the lights on at Wings HQ.

(Why a full year with only seven months to the referendum? Because we’re not hypothesising on defeat – if and when we win the subsequent negotiations will be every bit as important as the campaign, so we plan to be watching the politicians and media just as closely as we do now.)

2. RUNNING COSTS

We’ve been a victim of our own success – our webhosting costs, for example, recently jumped by over 600% to cope with our rocketing traffic figures.

We’re just finalising the move across to a new seriously-upgraded server which should cope better, and also reduce the security measures we’ve had to adopt to cope with a malicious and ongoing attack aimed at taking the site down. We’re budgeting £3000 for hosting and other expenses.

3. PROJECT BLUE

The thing we want to do more than anything else this year is The Wee Blue Book. This will be a printed pocket-sized booklet, 32 or 48 pages in total, containing the most concise and accessible summaries of all the key issues about independence that we can muster, dealing with all of the No campaign’s scare stories and putting the facts right at people’s fingertips, ready to refer to wherever you may be.

We think printed material is vital, because you can only reach so many people on the internet. It won’t be cheap. We’ll write the words, but we’ll need a professional to design it and lay it out and then we’ll have to print thousands of copies and distribute them across Scotland. We tentatively reckon £15,000 will do it.

4. MORE POLLS

Our Panelbase opinion polls – crowdfunded separately last year – have played a significant part in the debate, generating significant amounts of media coverage and bringing many new readers to the site. We’ve got a little bit of money still left in the polling fund, but we’d like to top it up and do at least two more between now and September. That’ll take around £8000.

5. A LITTLE HELP

We’ve carried posts by around 50 different authors. Many contribute regularly, like Scott Minto‘s invaluable in-depth features and Chris Cairns‘ brilliant weekly cartoons. These take hours or even days of work, and people deserve to be paid.

We also haven’t had a day off in the last 18 months, and it’d be nice to be able to commission a few pieces to cover a weekend break once in a blue moon. Can we find a modest £4000 for all of those things?

6. THE MIDDLE MAN

Indiegogo make running a fundraiser like this easy and straightforward both for us and people who want to donate. Very reasonably they take a small cut for that service, which means that to actually get £50,000 we have to take in another £3000 on top.

————————————————————————————————-

And just like that, there’s £53,000. Ooft. It’s a lot of money – more than anyone has asked for or achieved before – but we think that the breakdown above is offering pretty good value for it, and we hope you’ll agree.

stretch

Should we be lucky enough to exceed it, we’ve got a whole raft of what in the fundraising business are called “stretch goals” – other projects we’d like to do:

– We’d like to produce more printed materials, perhaps including a paper edition of The Sealand Gazette.

– We really want to do some live events, such as Q&A sessions for undecided voters in locations around Scotland. Those will cost money to hire venues and equipment, produce flyers for and so on.

– Undertaking some promotional work – readers have suggested hiring billboards in railway stations to bring more people to the site, for example. They’re not as expensive as you might think.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves – we can worry about those if we get past the initial goal, and that’s a big enough ask to be going on with for now.

There are a lot of you out there, but times are hard and not everyone can spare money. If you can’t, don’t fret about it, and definitely don’t send us anything you can’t really afford – there are plenty of other ways you can help out, by tweeting and sharing links and telling people about the site. We’d be nothing without all the people who’ve spread the word in the last 12 months.

But if you’ve got a couple of quid burning a hole in your pocket, and a desire for independence burning in your heart, we reckon you could do worse than send a wee something our way. We’ll make good use of it, we promise.

850 to “Our end of the bargain”

1. Ally

Got a return on the football bets last night – so, a wee tenner heading your way – with pleasure!!

2. Extreme0

Quite an ambitious goal you got there. You think it could happen?

3. heraldnomore

I’m in. Now get on with it…

4. X_Sticks

Count me in Stuart! You are doing a STERLING job, and deserve our sterling in return. I’m sure you’ll not only meet the goal but exceed it. Eat your heart our Blair MacDougal and the naysayers!

5. Ron Wilson

Contribution made with pleasure. Open up your wallets WoS readers.

6. Helen Yates

Payment on way glad to help

7. Thistle

Scottish Independence Live Events was inspired by WoS and funded by some people who use this site. Please give generously!

Oh yeah…
    RUMBLE IN THE JUNGLE… Tommy Sheridan vs Labour MP Brian Donohoe
    This Friday, 7:30pm live from Irvine on http://new.livestrea.com/IndependenceLive

Rev we are here for any any events you want to run.

8. Ukp42

Although un-employed, I just gave a fiver to this. keep up the good work, lad.

9. Dave Murchison

Have you looked into using Cloudflare to mitigate the DDOS attacks? I think there is a plugin for WordPress you can use. I’ve used it on a few websites and it’s fantastic. Even if the site does go down for whatever reason it’ll show a cached version so the articles will still appear for people to read. It’s free to use, but has monthly plans for more features. http://www.cloudflare.com/overview

Keep up the good work!

10. steve stewart

How do you do it? I’m actually excited about donating money!

That’s some skill you have.

11. Extreme0

Jeez. Thousand pounds raised in just under ten minutes. That’s quite impressive when I last saw it at £30

12. Taranaich

(Why a full year with only seven months to the referendum? Because we’re not hypothesising on defeat – if and when we win the subsequent negotiations will be every bit as important as the campaign, so we plan to be watching the politicians and media just as closely as we do now.)

Indeed: even after a Yes vote, there’ll still be close to two years before the Scottish Government’s target to make it official.

13. bunter

Dosh has been sent. Lets go gettem

14. orkers

I’ll keep on sliding in some cash right up to the end of the thirty four days.

If anything was ever a worthwhile cause, this is it.

15. Colin Cameron

Good luck – I’m sure the target will be smashed!

Thanks for the amazing work you put in every day Rev. Chucked a tenner your way.

16. Taranaich

Also, the Wee Blue Book is ESSENTIAL.

17. wee162

Doing it on my pay day. Cunning 🙂

18. Dunc

Pay day on Friday…

19. Chris Knowles

Payday Friday and I’ll be chipping in. Let’s get this done!

20. dmw42

Donation on the way Stu. Keep at it fella and regards to fellow WoS readers and contributors.

21. Stuart Black

Horribly frustrating, no ‘Continue’ button showing on the Indiegogo payment page, I’ll keep trying…

22. mogabee

So easy to send a few quid after the ripple you’ve created across t’internet!

Impressive amount so far????

23. heedtracker

“16 hours a day, seven days a week, 52 weeks a year – from reading and tweeting interesting stories from the papers around 6-7am to throwing things at the TV screen during Newsnight Scotland at 11pm.” and god knows how you do it. Anyone else would need trauma therapy. Mind you, as Labour in Scotland leader and national genetics specialist Jojo Lamont sez, we Scots are not genetically programmed to make political decisions http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBH55ZeZU4w

Vote Labour in Scotland, making decisions for you because you’ve got the wrong genes.

24. Ayes On The Prize

The unholy alliance of the Westminster elite have the unquestioning obedience of the BBC and the vast army of the mainstream media.

History though is littered with examples of incredible odds being overturned by determined opposition, that knows it’s enemy’s weak spots then strikes hard and sure.

WOS is one such weapon in our armoury.

Dosh on the way

25. Brotyboy

Rev, I seem to recall that Paypal give you options for paying for Goods and Services or Sending Money to Friends and Family, with the latter avoiding charges. Is it legitimate to use the latter method if donating through Paypal?

This is more relevant to subscriptions, I suppose, but I want to ensure all of my money gets to you.

26. bunter

Jeez, at this rate you will have 10% of yer target by lunchtime!

27. Frost

Proud to be a Patron!

28. Doug Daniel

This reads more like a business proposal than a mere fundraiser, so as they would say on a certain TV programme: I’M IN.

29. DonUnder

Payment made. Worth every penny.

30. callum

best of luck in the campaign, I’ve dropped a few coins in the tin. The business case looks really good, the blue book is a very good idea.

31. Appleby

There’s no doubt just how much good work can be done with this. WoS has had a huge impact. It has the potential to do even more.

32. ronnie anderson

Rev, That,s that delusional amount you mentioned last month, ( naw ah didna win the Euro million,s, ah wiz hoping Atos would have got their finger,s oot,an it would have been a lot mair, I would have to buy big boy,s nappy,s, donating a month,s money tae Wings, still live in hope, an then I,ll be PMSL.

You,s are doing a grand job,mair power tae yer elbow,s.

33. Ian Anderson

Is there something wrong with the site? If I go to http://www.wingsoverscotland.com I cant see the fundraiser in recently published articles. If I go to http://wingsoverscotland.com/our-end-of-the-bargain/ I can see it fine

34. margaret mcneil

I am on minimum wage with a zero hours contract but even I can spare £10 every now and then so please let me know how to donate. I regularly visit your page and it is the most up to date and significant pro Indy blog out. Very informative and it helped me decide for certain which way I was voting. Even after deciding to vote Yes I revisited your page to get more information, the more I visit the more I realize I am right to vote Yes, there is no other democratic decision I will ever make in my lifetime that will matter or mean so much to my future descendants.

35. patronsaintofcats

It’s an ambitious target, but I have no doubt you’ll meet or even exceed it. Best of luck! I’ll deffo throw some funds your way 🙂

36. Barontorc

Monthly donation sent Rev – whatever you get is well justified, you’re doing a great job. Keep on truckin!

37. ANDY NIMMO

Hi Guys…..Ah get paid ramorra. How much will ah need to pit inty ra kitty tae get ma brand new blog – http://justinfayresweeklyrant.wordpress.com included in your list.
    Please dinnae go overboard eh. Ahm only a poor Homeless Support Worker

Cheers

Andy

38. HoraceSaysYes

Looks like I’ll need to see if I can remember my Indiegogo account details then! 🙂

39. Jock the dug

Ayr East SNP commit to £100 and our South Ayrshire Councillors have signed up for the same. Our other 4 SNP branches here have also been asked to contribute.. So good luck and many, many thanks.

40. Theunicorn

Donation made. Mony a mickle maks a muckle.

41. scottish_skier

Pay day the morn so nice timing.

42. southernscot

WOW! 10% raised in 40mins.

43. Doug Daniel

Well that’s a tenth raised already in just 45 minutes…

44. Macart

Contribution made.

Lets do this.

45. bunter

Not too good with the computer, I haven’t seen the fundraiser come up on my timeline so that I can share?

Eek, well over 5K WOW.

46. margaret mcneil

£10 just donated, will make another donation when my wages are paid. I will try and make a monthly donation whenever I can.

47. Fireproofjim

Great work, Stuart. £50 sent. Keep up the good work

48. Frost

@Doug Daniel

Hopefully we can get this fund raising wrapped up by tea time!

49. Laurie

I will be donating with pleasure and grateful thanks to you, Stu. Can I just paraphrase:

“Those of us, about to thrive, salute you!”

Apologies to Spartacus MacTumchie.

50. Ally

Over 6 Grand in 50 minutes??? & that includes time it takes to read the post & make the payment! Can we buy the BBC? – Nae bother!

51. I G

Payment made.

FYI, I originally pledged £100, but when I clicked on my “perk” it reverted to £62. It’s still possible to pay £100 but you want to make sure that you get every penny possible.

More power to your elbow.

52. saporian

Looking forward to receiving my wee badge. Would like to see you doing as many opinion polls as possible so that we know that they are from a trusted source.

53. patronsaintofcats

W00t! Fundraiser at £6515 already! Go Wingers 🙂

54. Bigbricks

Thanks for the hard work. £10 winging its way to Wings. £935 raised in the time it took me to make a cup of coffee ( a cafetiere, but nevertheless…). I think this shows the value placed on your work by an awful lot of us out here.

55. I G

20% by lunchtime. Spread the word!

56. Colin Dunn

A not-so-little something added to the kitty.

57. Grahame

Rev Stu – best of luck with your crowdfunder!

58. Smith

A few more POUNDS from me too. I think you can reach 50k quite easily. 5,000 people each giving £10. Doesn’t sound too far fetched.

Personally, I think billboards would be a great spend – giving details of where to get the Wee Blue Book.

59. HoraceSaysYes

Found the account details – and it said it was at £7,272 once I’d submitted. 🙂

60. a Supporter

I’m in. Just a point Rev. What is the definition of a “unique visitor”. For example am I counted every day when I visit the first time on each day? Or is it people who have made their virgin visit?

61. Tasmanian

The IndieGoGo link is a bit subtle IMO so here it is again:

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/let-s-finish-the-job

62. Macart

@Smith

I think YES Scotland have all the billboard space booked for the rest of the year. 🙂

63. Silverytay

I cant donate from the computer at work but will donate when I get home tonight .

Lets get this job done first time as we wont get a 2nd chance at it .

64. aldo_macb

Cash on its way. Scotland is ready. Let’s do this.

65. patronsaintofcats

I’ve just looked – £2000 up from when I donated just 20 minutes ago!

66. Hotrod Cadets

Not sure what the problem is, but when I click the final link (expecting to go to IndieGoGo) it takes me back to this article.

67. Appleby

Didn’t regret last donation and know I won’t this time. 🙂

68. Helena Brown

Money on the way, in fact should have it by now.

69. Colin

Hi Rev

I’m a recent visitor to the wings website but appreciate all that you are doing, but wish you could do more. I’ve been disabled after an accident for the last six years and live off of my wifes wages, so I don’t have a lot of spare income but I’ll send you a tenner in appreciation.

70. Appleby

@Hotrod Cadets

You’re right! STU FIX YOUR LINK!

71. jingly jangly

nearly 9k already I am impressed!!!

72. AllyPally

@thistle: the link about streaming Friday’s debate doesn’t work for me. Do you have any more details you can share?

73. superhaggis

Donated, best of luck reaching your target!

74. Appleby

Make the link more obvious to the donation thingie and I hope there will be obvious regular link until end of campaign. Don’t make us hunt for it.

75. a Supporter

I read in a post that on the site there is a list of Cybernats who hate the Daily Mail. Where is it?

76. Tim F-G

@ Rev Stu, if those live events happen (provided the campaign well exceeds its target), I’m happy to film them for you. I’m based in Edinburgh so could cover any events taking place in Central Scotland.

77. Morag

I always imagined this would go right on to at least March 2016 and Independence Day. Though I’m not sure if Stu’s constitution can stand another two years.

By the time I noticed the fundraiser was open, it had already achieved 10% of its target. Which is slightly amazing. Keep it coming, chaps.

I noticed that Stu didn’t take a holiday last year, apart from coming to the march in September which was definitely work. I think we should pay him more than the minimum wage and a few perks beside. I don’t suppose he fancies a week in Corfu this summer, but maybe next year we can send him somewhere nice.

Dig deep, all who can afford it.

78. Clootie

Sorry to be thick but is this a special donate fund or do we use the donate button on the home page?

79. indigo

Delighted to support this – think of the attention this site will get if you hit the target in a single day, and from the progress so far that looks more than achievable!

80. Hotrod Cadets

Donation made. Thank you for all your efforts, and here’s to the next year of making a difference.

81. kininvie

Looks like we’ll hit £10,000 by the time I’ve finished writing this comment! Happy to contribute. Look forward to my badge…

82. HoraceSaysYes

That’s it hit ten grand now. 🙂

83. Macart

Just toddled off to drop a link or three on other sites.

Lets spread the word.

84. Bill Lees

Donation made wings over Scotland keeps me sane with all the madness around me!

please dont stop!

85. Desimond

You want some time aff?…do those hard working MPs take any holidays or time-aff?.. 🙂

Dont forget avenues like http://www.calameo.com for any online publications. Excellent output quality and easily created, linked and embeddable when final file available.

Right, time to free the moths from the wallet!

Altogether now…“Here we..here we..here we f*cking go!”

86. Morag

That’s the £10,000 “barrier” skelped.

Next!

87. SquareHaggis

Penny pot raided and duly despatched.

88. Training Day

Ach, I’ll only fritter the cash away in Lamont-like fripperies otherwise.

Donation made. Let’s win this.

89. Desimond

As a Celtic fan I will let the title Wee Blue Book go without moaning…I will just call it “Rev. Stu Cambells Chicken Soup for the Soul” in my head

90. uilleam_beag

Great to see the fundraising has got off to a rocking start – over 9k already. That’s from just 116 folk, an average of about 80quid a head!

I’ll be adding my share as soon as I’m back on a proper computer.

91. jingly jangly

Rev for some reason contribution is showing as undisclosed on the indiegogo website. Any idea how that is, I had some issues making the pledge, so just want to make sure you received it ok?

92. Stuart Black

That’s us over the 20% mark already, great stuff! 😀

93. Captain Caveman

Hell, guys, even I subscribe. 😀

Don’t agree with much of the content (which is fair enough), but am amazed at the overall achievement. From an Indy perspective, this is the best ticket in town, without doubt.

When this is all over Stu, I hope you get snapped up by some media types and earn lots of wedge!

Cavey

94. Tartan Tory

Rev – !!You have new mail waiting!!….. 😉

95. indigo

20% of the way there, even before it’s had much of a social media push? wow!

96. Desimond

“Type your country”

Type in Sc…it comes up United Kingdom

Hahahaha….shame on you sir 🙂

97. Cindie

Have made a small contribution, considering that you’re close to 12K already I don’t think you’re being too ambitious, you’re worth every penny. I should get a small payment for work that I’ve done early next month and I’ll pop in a bit more if I do. Just one question – will you be signing those wee blue books? 🙂

98. turnbull drier

Added.. use it wisely 🙂

99. Stuart Black

Ocht, I’ve put work to one side for now, I’m just amusing myself by watching the total go up as I hit refresh!

I imagine there will be a wheen of publicity about this fundraiser if it carries on at this rate, win-win. 😉

100. Grouse Beater

Stuart

You can have a three figure sum from me … and I don’t mean £1.50. I keep reading you’re in the Georgian city of Bath – perhaps we can meet and I’ll buy a pint. Maybe one for you too. (Just joshing!)

Grouse Beater

101. kininvie

@Captain

Amazing! – even our opponents chipping in! If only everyone on your side were as broad-minded!

102. niall

Donation made. Looking forward to the Wee Blue Book and the WoS roadshow!

103. Cath

I’m totally skint until payday on Thursday, when I’ll definitely chuck a bit in the pot. Though I have a feeling we may be over the target by then at this rate 🙂

104. Robert Kerr

The Blue Book sounds good.

Follow on from “The Blue Book, The Thoughts of Dief the Chief”. Canadian PC Prime minister counter to the Red Books, issued by Mao and Gaddafi.

Best quote from John Diefenbaker is

“The Liberals are the flying saucers of politics. No one can make head nor tail of them and they never are seen twice in the same place.”

So lets have the Rev’s book. “The thoughts of Stu”

Donation sent.

105. Graeme S

Delighted to contribute again this year. Thanks for all your hard work.

106. Iain Crighton

How do you donate and can we set up direct debuts until the referendum is finished?

107. Alt Clut

£11,500+ and rising – remarkable.
    I had no idea that there were so many readers. We can and shall win !

108. iheartscotland

Go Rev, just donated some hard earned,for a better Scotland!!!!

109. Jamielad75

My first comment.. have just given a small payment Stu..I think im addicted to this site!!..I feel a fire burn in my heart every time i come on..Alba gu brath

110. ronnie anderson

Rev, I donated through the donate button ( paypal ) does that count in the crowdfunding,or hiv ah feked up.

111. haud oan the noo

This is the most important vote of our lives. It must be YES.

112. Tony Williams

Donated but it will seem to come from my wife! I can’t be assed to open a PayPal account.

113. creag an tuirc

I’m sure the last big Wings fundraiser went fast over the first two days then slowed down (it may have got to £17,000, cannae remember) so it will be interesting to see what happens this time round 🙂

114. Gavin Barrie (Jammach)

Done. Let’s go get ’em. No stone unturned to transform Scotland and make her Independent and free.

115. Tartan Tory

It seems I’ve just raised the campaign total to: £13,957! 🙂

116. Andy McKay

Probably staying in this week-end if so, they I will send you the bevvy money.

117. K1

Think this is going to break some record of fastest fundraise ever statistics! Brilliant stuff! I’ve said it before and will repeat here, your work and commitment is enlightening the hearts and minds of a nation. The elites’ have sorely underestimated the human spirit. Thank you again Stu.

118. John H.

£50 contributed. More to come later. Over £13,000 already.

119. Stephen Brown

10 quid for ya…already 15000…amazing!

120. kininvie

Fast heading for the £15,000 mark…

121. John H.

Sorry, make that£15,000. I can’t keep up with it.

122. hetty

Thanks for a fab site, I thrive on the articles and importantly the many wonderful and often very informative comments! I should get out more!
    Just sent a small contribution.

My son is a typeface expert/geek, if he can help with anything regards publications…gratis of course for the cause.

123. heedtracker

“I read in a post that on the site there is a list of Cybernats who hate the Daily Mail. Where is it?”

Try asking this Labour MSP and best friend of the Daily Mail although Ms Dugdale’s supporters at the Daily Mail have really gone after Dugdale’s colleague Harriet Harman in England now. Talk about mixed and even creepier vote NO messages Labour in Scotland. http://wingsoverscotland.com/youd-need-a-heart-of-stone/

124. Mark Piggott/ tartanpigsy/ @a_nation_again

I’ve an event this weekend so will be able to spare you some cash next week. I’m also going to make an effort to get the Yes Flag project further on. I’ll explain to all when it’s ready, was going to pester for funds but I think I’ve cracked that one 😉
    BTW if anyone cares I’m going to stick to “a_nation_again” as user name everywhere from now on cos it’s my fav.

Well done Stu with what you’ve achieved so far, our whole campaign has come on leaps and bounds to the extent I think we are all really looking forward to these next few months and all realize that victory in September is highly possible 😉

125. turnbull drier

@ Stuart Black…

Yup this is like some kind of addictive game..

F5 and another 400 quid..
    F5 and another 28 quid..

I’m not gonna get much done today 🙂

126. ronnie anderson

Stairheid Maggs on Daily Politics

127. Janine

A cheeky wee tenner winging (see what I did there?) it’s way to the funds – will check back after payday and subsequent budgeting on Friday 🙂

128. Ananurhing

Links not working for me. I’ll up my contribution this year, and up my monthly also.

I like the sound of the Wee Blue Book. I’ll buy and distribute some of them.

129. CameronB

refresh p@ge

130. msean

Over £15,000 already,not even dinner time yet.

131. Craig Stewart

I really want to see some sort of graph showing the meteoric rise in the total amount pledged. Over a quarter of the way there already! We deffo need some stats! 😀

132. tartanfever

£10 sent via paypal, no problems, took me a minute to do it.

Total at £15,709 when I was there. Staggering.

Thanks Rev, all your hard work and dedication is appreciated.

133. Blackford Wheeler

£300 coming your way Rev.

The best investment I can think of for the Grandbairns; and their Grandbairns.

134. Tartan Tory

Really looking forward to a wee gold badge which I promise to wear with pride every day.

135. Jamie S

Glad to be of some help. Keep up the fantastic work Rev and may you get that well deserved holiday soon!

136. uilleam_beag

Is there a bug in the indiegogo website? The total seems to be going up an an unfeasible pace… 😉

137. Doug

Once I get paid, a wee sum will head your way 🙂

138. tartanfever

Going by what Tartan Tory says at 11.41 – total at £13,957 and what I just saw, you raised nearly £2k in 9 minutes.

Unbelievable. Keep it up guys.

139. steve stewart

Good grief! This is going extremely well.

140. EphemeralDeception

Just contributed and total has already broke £15,000… amazing.

@ A Supporter. definition of a “unique visitor”…

It is probably unique source IPs but since I access from 3 different devices from 4 different locations, this could be considered as several different unique visitors.

141. Winging it

Donates, eternally grateful for the chance to do so, turns, assumes lurking position. Maybe I’m just genetically programmed that way…

Thanks for shining a light in dark corners, Rev, you deserve every penny.

142. Conan_the_Librarian

Well that was traumatic…goodbye beer vouchers *sob*

143. Desimond

£17061…wow just imagine when you stand for Parliament..

144. Neil B

Contribution made – keep up the good work.

145. Coolheads Prevail

Tenner contributed, Rev. Total now exceeds £17000.

146. Stuart Black

Oh, this is fun! Third of the way there already, brilliant! 😀

147. John Roland

Currently on holiday in Malaysia and met many Scots who are here on work or leisure.
    Share with them WoS. They are proud of it and are willing to contribute. Perhaps you could reach out to wider readers when you put your appeal through “expat blog.”
    I am contributing to this gallant efforts.
    Cheers.

148. pmcrek

At this rate you could probably build a deathstar for Cybernat HQ.

149. BuckieBraes

A third of the way there already. Start preparing that Wee Blue Book.

150. Stuart Black

@turnbull drier, yes mate, I’ve given up all thought of progress, you’ve hit the nail on the head, addictive!

By the way folks, you know, I mean really know, that we will win this thing, can you imagine any Better NO Together getting a response of this nature?

Me neither!

151. norrie

Dosh in and WOW thrid of the way there.

152. Linda's Back

Over £17,500 after my modest donation

153. Calgacus MacAndrews

Paid my dues.

Looks like by the end of the day Wings will have enough bawbees to be able to act as Lender-of-Last-Resort in iScotland.

(Plan B joke)

154. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

Can’t believe how much money has been raised already. Well done. I will be sending a few quid soon. Just moved house and am skint until payday – which is the middle of the month for me so it’s beans on toast til then.

155. eric

I was delighted to take the money from my annual Newspaper account.

Herald somewhat and Scotsman specifically, take note. You just lost a minimum of £268 of revenue due to your bias and inability to provide balanced reporting.

As Bowie says “We can be heroes, just for one day”

Lets make that day the 18th September.

156. Alba4Eva

Donation pinged yer way… onwards and upwards 😉

157. Whiplash

Apparently Scotland can’t have it’s share of the BBC if we vote yes. I say keep it.

http://archive.is/4kYYr

158. Desimond

@Calgacus

Bravo!…cannae beat a lunchtime laugh out loud!

159. wingman 2020

This is the cost of a daily newspaper, the death of the Scotsman and a celebration of online revolution.

What price can you put on truth?

What price can you put on the pride of the 19th September?

Dig deep and get this fundraiser out to everyone you know.

160. caz-m

That’s my contribution away Rev.

May it help to free us from the shackles of Westminster rule.

161. Tartan Tory

I’ve just sat at my desk and genuinely cried like a baby! I’ve discovered that there are ONLY 100 gold badges to be had. Then I thought about the Declaration of Arbroath “…for, as long as but a hundred of us remain alive,”

I’ve never made a political donation in my life, but I feel unbelievably proud to be one of the hundred. I only wish I could afford to pay the same again many times over on behalf of others, so that they could get a badge too and feel exactly as I do in this moment. There are so many whose heart is of no lesser value than my own.

162. Craig P

Job done. A bit more than last time. If my bet at the bookies on the referendum result comes good, I should make back most of the money that I will be donating to various indy causes over the year!

163. Dcanmore

Yup, made a payment, will do it again when the wages come in 🙂

Onwards and upwards … YES!

164. Bob W

Contribution winging it’s way to you Stu.

Hope you factored in the cost of the perks 🙂

165. kininvie

I bet some people are watching this and shitting bricks. If the managing editors of our glorious printed media aren’t beginning to wonder where they went wrong, they should be.

166. patronsaintofcats

I reckon that’s just shy of £20,000 in a little more than two hours. Way to go folks!

167. Morag

Stu’s nobody’s fool. Friday is payday (some people seem to be expecting theirs tomorrow), so anyone who’s a wee bit short right now will probably be able to throw something in the pot within a day or two.

The last day of the fundraiser is 31st March. Also payday. To encourage last-minute exhibitions of mad generosity to get that final total up.

It’s tactics like this that win wars.

168. Ally

Thats £20K in just 2 hours!

Think this could be a monthly deal now?

169. CletusIRL

Donated 🙂 It’s real people who are going to make a difference on this. Keep up the good work Stu, and the very best of luck to everyone 🙂

170. K1

£20,000 breakthrough!

171. moujick

Am I the only one having trouble getting past the “contribute” page? Continue button isnae appearing for me!

172. kininvie

Halfway mark by 2pm?

173. Stuart Black

@moujick, I had the same problem first thing, and it turned out to be because I was in an In-Private browsing tab (for bypassing the Herald paywall, ken? 😉 )

Going back to a normal tab cured the problem. Good luck!

174. Ron Preedy

20K with my contribution. My father just died, aged 92, he would have loved to see independence. Now I’ve done a little bit to help my Mum see that day!

175. moujick

@ Stuart Black – cheers will maybe have to wait till I get hame to contribute – at this rate it’ll be over £50k by then!

176. Conan_the_Librarian

No work getting done until £25,000,

177. Conan_the_Librarian

@Stuart Black

How do you do that?

Just out of interest…

178. Shaun Milne

Donated. We’re over the £20,000 already! Fantastic stuff. I love the Wings fundraiser time of year!

179. Stuart Black

@Conan, you’ll be back hard at it in a few minutes then, at this rate! 😉

180. EphemeralDeception

@Whiplash… Since the BBC IN SCOTLAND is not wanted anyway and what is proposed is to setup a new Scottish broadcaster, then its a bit pointless to say we can’t have it.

However the BBC fixed assets in Scotland will be ours + any remaining pro rata share is likely.

As the Rev says the site will need to keep going for years..even after the 18 months eg. Someone needs to analyze who is going to Staff the new Scottish broadcaster and its responsibilities for balance. Eg. I would not want anyone on record calling independence supporters ‘Vermin’ anywhere near it.

181. Moi

Love your site, but £3000 for webhosting etc is extortionate.

You can get 200gb a month bandwidth for £80 a year, uk-based. If you’re not hosting a lot of video content, or streaming media, or high volume downloads you shouldn’t be anywhere near that.

Anyway, keep up the good work!

182. Appleby

Well LAMONT I am genetically capable to make THIS decision! Well worth donating for a better future. One where the people of Scotland can stand up with pride and make their own life better and a better one for those who come after.

If anyone doesn’t know what the disgraceful leader of “Scottish” Labour has said follow the links:

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/117234396524712551/

183. K1

@kininvie
    half way mark by quarter tae wan? lol

184. Morag

I’ve just sat at my desk and genuinely cried like a baby! I’ve discovered that there are ONLY 100 gold badges to be had. Then I thought about the Declaration of Arbroath “…for, as long as but a hundred of us remain alive,”

I have one of the silver ones from September, and I wear it always. When I saw there were only 100 of the gold ones on offer, I immediately jumped in, because I had budgeted to put £500 into the fundraiser anyway.

Paypal knocked me back and said it was over my limit. Which I don’t really understand, but there it was. I actually sat there gnashing my teeth and wondering what to do, or would it work on my home computer, worrying that the gold badges would get so popular I’d miss out before I could manage to donate.

Then common sense tapped me on the shoulder and said, “you have a debit card in your wallet, get it out.”

There aren’t many appeals for funds that would provoke the sort of reactions this one is achieving.

185. Stuart Black

@Conan, I assume you mean bypassing the Herald’s paywall? You can do it by deleting cookies each time you’ve read three articles, but I find the easiest thing is to open the In-Private browser (under Safety in IE), read the allowed three articles, then close the tab. This cancels the history automatically, and you can then re-open and start afresh each time you reach the limit.

186. wingman 2020

@TartanTory

Wow. Inspiring. Well said.

187. Craig Brown

Money transferred, and will send more when I can. We really do appreciate your work Rev and I hope you can have The Wee Blue Book ready for us pronto.

188. jingly jangly

Its losing momentum I hit the refresh key after 5 secs and it only went up a tenner wst

Seriously 22.6k in a couple of hours highly impressive…

189. Albalha

Wow, I spend the morning watching the Economics committee evidence at Holyrood, pop back here, not only have you launched but having now contributed, watching closely, and it’s over £22000 already, fantastic!!

Your target will smashed.

190. Desimond

@Conan @Stuart Black

If using Chrome…go to Settings ( 3 horizontal bars on top right hand corner) and choose ‘New Incognito Window’ ( shortcut is CTRL+SHIFT+N)

You should see a wee Spy in left corner of new browser window..this hides info from Herald for at least a few reads at least each time.

191. Conan_the_Librarian

@Stuart Black

Cheers, I already knew about the deleting cookie thingie, but not the other way.

192. handyandy

have made a small donation keep up the good work

193. Stuart Black

@Morag, I was the same, first I had difficulties with the lack of a ‘Continue’ button, then Paypal said the debit card I always use was not valid, any remaining hair was starting to come into real danger, but I ended up paying direct by credit card.

I had to, I didn’t get one of the coveted badges as I was out of the country at the time of the rally. Happy now though! 🙂

194. Findlay Farquaharson

well, thats my smoke for the week winging its way to bath, will most likely wish it wasnt but cant wait to see my name on this site and accepted as a official cybernat.

195. Andy Anderson

I made a contribution last time and I think it is the best investment for my family’s future I ever made.

I will have to wait to next month but I will double my contribution this time.

196. Eric

@ Morag … Brilliant. Well done.

Personally, I had to have Heroes just as a reminder of Bowie’s intervention.

We can beat them, just for one day
    We can be Heroes, just for one day

And you, you can be mean
    And I, I’ll drink all the time
    ‘Cause we’re lovers, and that is a fact
    Yes we’re lovers, and that is that

Though nothing, will keep us together
    We could steal time,
    just for one day
    We can be Heroes, for ever and ever
    What d’you say?

197. steve stewart

Hitting F5 on the indegogo page and watching the total rise is almost as much fun as election night 2011 was.

198. Dougie Douglas

It’s going off like a frog in a sock Rev. I think you will be done by nightfall 🙂

199. Ivan McKee

Amazing – Wouldn’t be surprised if this train doesn’t stop much short of £100k.

O/T : My favourite JL quote from last night (@23:50) “Trident should be negotiated away, not simply used as a bargaining chip” …mmm…

200. Eric

@ Findlay

“…name on this site and accepted as a official cybernat…” No doubt there will be a list on the Daily Mail. In which case we will have a second fundraiser for a legal action.

I like the idea of Cybernat Certificate though. 🙂

201. Rod Robertson

Rev ,considering how our friends in BT ,and especially the Daily Mail view you, would “My Struggle” not be a better title than The Wee Blue Book?

202. Megsmaw

£24,297 and counting…

Nearly half way already! Brilliant!

203. Stuart Black

25k, 😀

204. Findlay Farquaharson

if this fundraiser does not make the scottish news today, im gonna start thinking the media might just be bias.

205. theycan'tbeserious

I think I can “stretch Armstrong” to donating a few Scottish pounds to the cause…good luck Rev.

P.s. Are you not due a rise?

206. Desimond

In the words of Robin the Frog..”Halfway Down the stairs”

207. bookie from hell

dare I say it,if not was NO

it could still be a win 2015 if YES is over 45%?

208. Alan Mackintosh

Ivan, I caught that one too, Honestly, I had to do a double take and replay, but yes she said it!

Vote Labour ! you know it makes sense (sarc off, as if i needed to say that…)

209. kininvie

That’s the half-way mark at exactly 12.45pm

@K1 – you win (just)!

210. John H.

Over £25,000 now. Other fundraisers look on and weep.

211. Dougie Douglas

Rev, if your not sitting there looking at the Indiegogo page with a stupid grin on your face and creaming your daks whilst hitting refresh every 2 minutes you should be.

212. Conan_the_Librarian

OK, another cup of tea…£40,000 by two?

213. Desimond

Kajagoogoo time!!

Two..Five Five…(hush hush)Five to Five

£25,555GBP

214. Steve B

Well that’s my donation in. It looks as though the Rev’s salary and running costs are already covered – so everything else is on the “extras” like the blue book!

Keep up the good work Stu – we all appreciate it 🙂

215. scottish_skier

Can we maybe aim for a narrow No so we can keep wings running for another 5 years?

216. muttley79

Already at nearly 50 per cent of the target!! Who could wish for better recruiting sergeants than Lamont, Sarwar, Baillie, Cuuran, Davidson etc. 😀

217. Stevie

Stu – you need to take a larger share as a wage – 19 to 20K is not enough, take 5K more. The site is helping our cause and 5K more is not too much to ask given we use you as a resource all the time.

218. Doug Daniel

page refresh BIG FAT KNOBS

219. muttley79

Doh Curran.

220. gerry parker

Now I’ve been genetically modified, dosh on it’s way.

221. Eric

Its official apparently…

Putin has contributed to this fundraiser!

????? ? ????????? – Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin

I am surprised, I’d thought he’d have done it anonymously. Literally hundreds of Roubles!

222. rabb

Donation made Rev.

Another one next pay day (I seriously believe the target will be hit by tonight anyway).

223. Craneskin

Already at 25K?

Dear God, I have never seen anything like it.

I think you’re breaking crowd funding records here.

This is people power at its best.

Onwards!

224. charlieb

monies sent and now its over half way !
    wow just wow

225. Craneskin

Er hem. 26K now.

How many minutes was that since my former post?

226. indigo

nearly halfway, wonder if bob mortimer would do a retweet after his post the other day?

227. Craneskin

Only 34 days to go now.

It’s going to be tight 🙂

228. Mary Bruce

Good luck Rev Stu, you’re our hero. I think you might hit your target before the day is out. I don’t buy papers so can’t give that up, but have decided to give up the red wine till September so you can have that saving instead. Hopefully it will cover the cost of my new silver wings badge, can’t wait till it arrives!

229. Fergus

Done!

230. Findlay Farquaharson

most donaters still at work.

231. Quinie frae Angus

Can’t ever remember being so excited at parting with £268!!

Luckily I have just landed a new job with a bit of a pay rise so I can afford it.

This is absolutely amazing. The Wee Blue Book is a magnificent idea, Rev. I have converted a few online folk already but I really really really need some good printed material for friends and relatives for whom the online pro-indy revolution is still a hidden and unfathomable phenomenon….

What a sweet victory this is going to be in September. And it will have been the Cybernats wot won it! Ha ha ha!

232. Eric

@Ivan

“Trident should be negotiated away, not simply used as a bargaining chip”

Has to be in the top ten Indy Classics of all times. Problem is JoJo is going to be in the charts more than most … and the charts are going to be dominated by Labour.

“The debate will go on in the sense there is a large number of wounded still to be bayoneted …” By Davidson, is my personal favourite.

233. Scotrock

Donation made – keep up the excellent work. Well done

234. creag an tuirc

Half way after 3 hours 45 minutes, jesus 🙂

235. HoraceSaysYes

That’s the 50% mark passed now. 😀

236. halftracknat

At £26924 already! Well done!

237. kininvie

Only 86 gold badges left….

238. balgayboy

The way this is going it looks like we’ll be getting the billboards on the trains, buses no problem.

239. Desimond

Cant believe in this body-art day and age the Rev didnt have a “Donate £5 and get a WingoverScotland dabbity tattoo”

Kids would have jumped on that!

240. Colin

Off Topic but has anyone else seen the new rUK flag debate on the Guardian website today? Hilarious.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/shortcuts/poll/2014/feb/26/poll-british-flag-scotland-independent?commentpage=1

241. Ian Brotherhood

JoLa will be hitting ‘refresh page’ repeatedly, neck crimson…’I. Am. Astonished…MacDougall’s headed off for a liquid lunch and won’t surface until next Monday…Darling is lying in a darkened room, damp towel over his heid, twitching, hallucinating about big hairy ginger-nutted Highlanders with enormous Wings descending from the clouds, howling at him…

242. Elaine

There is so much info. to convey to voters because obviously it’s just not carried by the mainstream media, the Yes campaign’s condensed conclusions can come across as baseless unfounded assertions (as the background on which it’s built isn’t communicated). But voters are asking for information, they don’t just swallow what is being fed to them via their TV. Unfortunately without it they are left without the confidence to cast that Yes vote. What the No side wants. The problem.

I have been printing and compiling the background nuts and bolts, of articles, analysis, views and info. graphics that I think would most likely engage voters, in a folder as my tool kit to use to validate my answers to them. But they are only going to read some bits about the particular question they asked about at that time. Your idea of a booklet (who is going to wade through the white paper!) I support. If it can get the information across in a one-er…it’s user friendly and engaging. The public needs briefing.

243. Dick Gaughan

Quite stunning – I thought it must be a typo but after I chucked my bit into the pot it was showing a total of over £27,000!

Well done, Stu, and well done everyone.

244. Dcanmore

Just a reminder of Labour for Indy’s wee campaign too but just as important me thinks …

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/labour-for-independence-campaign

245. uilleam_beag

You have to be kidding – I look away for little over an hour and the total jumps to over 27k?

Way to go, Wingers, that’s a phenomenal response!

246. Rod Robertson

At most of the YES meetings someone always says how will you feel on Sept. 19th if.. only I had done more , delivered more leaflets etc.
    Well think if only I had given Wings £5,£10,£20 more it might have made the difference.

247. sneddon

That’s a ten spot courtesy of DWP on its way. Blimey that’s some amount raised sio far. I like the idea of a WIngs roadshow taking the good word to the citizens 🙂

248. heraldnomore

So, Herald down 10%, no surprise there. Under 40,000 and on the wireless talking up the online numbers – yeah, yeah, yeah.

Meanwhile for real online numbers, indiegogogogogo – go Stu

249. Jeannie

Another celebrity donation from Father Ted Crilly of Craggy Island. It seems there was still a small amount of money “resting in his account” that he’d completely forgotten about. He thought you might as well have it, Stu, just in case the Bishop finds out.

250. onzebill

Just gone past £26,000 I’m in, well done all but especially Stuart

251. squarego

Thanks for all your great work Stuart. I shudder to think where we’d be without Wings.

252. Desimond

Somewhere, someone is leaning over and telling JoLa whats going on out there in CyberDONAT land….

all she hears is :

253. Eric

Stu, will you be preparing a Press Release to the Mainstream Media regarding WOS ‘Finish the Job’ and ‘Wee Blue Book’ initiatives – Or perhaps someone like Albaha could do it?

Should be released to as many political journalists as possible.

254. Robert Kerr

“The money keeps rolling in” Student days song.

More importantly at the moment there are 385 funders. This is a serious community here, not to be ignored. Flash crowding via the internet. Again thanks Stu and everyone who makes the WoS community so uplifting.

255. callum

1pm, £27k – and what’s typically *us* is that it is made up from £1 donations through to much larger donations – each donation is equally important no matter how much the amount is and sends a very clear message to the unionist media and the wider “no” campaign that we’re not fools.

PS: Send Rev off to Spain the week after the referendum for some holiday. I understand Catalonia is quite nice at that time of the year 🙂

256. Donald Kerr

Let’s get a Wings ‘Wee Blue Book’ to every Scottish household!

257. Lanarkist

Just made a political decision to set free some bawbee’s, now winging towards you.

Will add more before deadline, income permitting.

This should give everyone involved a big lift, head held high, Spring in the step!

Stu, buy some healthy food supplements!

258. Elaine

Warning, rule breaking long post. It’s support via ideas this time.
    Take it down once it’s been read if you like.

Ideas:

Leave the booklets (as with flyers, Yes newspapers) in cafes that we visit, in office canteens at work, and waiting rooms for others to pick up. Have free (cardboard?) stands filled with them for folk to take, perhaps at willing newsagents, or from a ‘seller’ volunteer (a la the Evening Times) in city streets. Maybe have a wee tub for any donations. This reaches those that simple letterbox deliveries won’t, like rural homes.

Provide associated files for readers to download and print off themselves, to hand to friends and colleagues, and out and about. Even the whole booklet. I for one would not mind the printing and paper costs to get a few more copies in circulation. I’d see it as for a good cause. Every little helps. To cover any possible imperfections in quality I’d just say I printed these off myself.

Your train station billboard idea is spot on. I’d do it sooner if you can rather than later. Include bus stops in areas without many trains stops eg. north east. How much are they each? Perhaps readers would be willing to pay for one? I’d offer but I don’t know how much. (Just determine a unit price once you have negotiated a ‘block booking’?)

Also, add your website address and Facebook and Twitter logos to your car bumper stickers so people can find you, and offer car window stickers (if you don’t). I know there is a site where I can add graphics and text and they will produce and post a sticker for me so I will just create my own. Though most people won’t. But they would buy one from you. It would be good if all your loyal readers had one on their car. To spread the word.

These are just my ideas off the top of my head, they won’t all be brilliant. However I definitely support getting the message out there. The way your site cuts through the nonsense is vital.

259. Alan Mackintosh

Ok, just pushed it over £28K 🙂

260. K1

@kininvie
    lol, yeah technically it made it past 25k at that moment (50k being the amount rev needs, 3k being for crowdfund site) it took another 13 minutes to get to actual half way mark…not that I’ve got a life or anythin’ of import to be gettin’on wi!

Anyway brilliant stuff, we’re going to win this and win it well with inspiring support from Wings and all it’s contributors/commenters!

261. Ian Brotherhood

@castle hills chavie –

For SSP leaflets, contact

richieventon@hotmail.com

and please include a phone number.

Cheers.

262. veofello

You never disappoint Rev., the Wee Blue Book is a tops idea. I will visit the piggy bank in the next day or so.

263. Alfresco Dent

I’ve been off on the sick for a month St so it’s only a tenner but it’s yours. Keep up the good work. We’re nearly there.

264. patronsaintofcats

At this rate we will hit target before 6pm. Jings!

265. tartanpigsy

This is incredible, 10K added as I took wee one to nursery,
    Also chipped a bit in to LFI campaign.

Well done everyone, and a wee reminder to anyone available that tonight sees RIC’s first mass canvass in Easterhouse, 6:30pm kick off at the main shopping centre in Easterhouse.

The Unionists must be truely bricking it now 😉 They can feel the old order vanishing into dust as the days go by.

Alba gu snooker loopy!

266. jim arnott

Glad to have make my contribution to The Wings Fundraiser. Stu, you are making the most effective contribution to achieving a Yes Vote

267. tartanpigsy

page refresh

2nd comment in a row (excluding this one) into moderation, was possibly the multiple usernames on first attempt this morning….

268. Kev

Just provided my bit to the cause, its up near £29k now, truly incredible!!

269. Eric

I look forward to the Mainstream Media reporting this splendid fundraiser for democracy.

270. Alex Mcintyre

Looking good, a donation sent Rev. Will chip in a bit more when I can.

271. Desimond

If you pass 50k, Indulge yourself Rev, sponsor Aberdeen in the Cup Final..or both Finals.. if we pass £60k

272. Findlay Farquaharson

will make another donation if the union jack on home page was moved somwhere less visible, just sayin like.

273. Ananurhing

£29k. Astonishing!

274. Albalha

@callum

Absolutely agree that the power of this site is the sheer range of people on it who share one common goal.

As I’ve said in the past once we’re over the Yes line we can all have a jolly heated political debate, can’t wait.

275. Elizabeth Sutherland

Made that donation of £50 that wasn’t collected, for a photo of a soup kitchen on a Street in Scotland this winter. I also sent a little extra on behalf of those who would have liked to send more but can’t. Let’s get our country back from Westminster.

276. Brotyboy

OT

My son is studying in Germany at the moment. He has blogged on the Indie debate, here;

http://realisticbeinggreen.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/the-no-campaign-is-practically-begging-scotland-to-leave-the-union/

Forgive his spelling mistakes; he didn’t go to Grove. We are currently arguing about the use of the ‘z’ in ’emphasize’ and others, as well.

277. Taysideterrier

Cheeky wee donation fired in, payday the morn so more on its way then.
    Will donate same to yes campaign aswell.
    Thanks and Keep up the good work.

278. HoraceSaysYes

That’s £30,000 passed now too. 😀

279. Macandroid

Waiting until I hear if my contract is going to be extended in which case it will be more than a few bawbees. 🙂

A few coming on Friday regardless. 🙂

Fight the good fight!

280. muttley79

Over £30,000 now!

281. kininvie

There went £30,000….

Can we get in another £20,300 before midnight?

282. David McCann

Donation on the way. Also put up on my FB page. Hope to get a few of my over 1000 friends to chip in.

283. wingman 2020

So Putin donated. Thats great news. Anyone else famous put something in?

Or even ‘D’ list infamous
    I am watching for Hothersall, Baird, Brigadoon Gent, Torcuil Crichton and Severin Carrell.

284. heedtracker

£30,245 in how many hours?! I cc’d this across to friends and relatives in the USA and Canada too. Quite a lot of Scots abroad are very very YES.

285. Wee Copey

Just donated and the total was over £29k, you’ll have your £50k by tea time yay.

286. Findlay Farquaharson

can anyone imagine a unionist blogger doing this? clly terry kelly for example.

287. Clootie

My donation took it past £30,220

An impressive effort by all in a few hours.

288. Calum Craig

I get paid on Friday so a few quid will be winging its way to play its part. I think 50k is actually quite conservative and I’m sure it will be far exceeded.

289. Tamson

Contribution made, keep up the good work!

290. Thepnr

Fantastic site Rev, fantastic work and fantastic response from the WoS readers. Claps on the back all round.

291. Morag

Y’all realise we passed last year’s target and last year’s total take in only three-and-a-half hours?

292. Macart

Holy shit, that’s impressive.

Rev, yer a weel liked fella.

293. Juteman

Will bung a few quid in when i finish work. Amazing so far!

294. Maybolebuddie

Wee tenner sent, keep up the good work, power to the people!!

295. Indy_Scot

Donation made.

You are worth every penny and more.

I would give you my house if I didn’t have a family that needed it.

296. Stuart Black

@scottish_skier says: “Can we maybe aim for a narrow No so we can keep wings running for another 5 years?”

I think the Rev has already indicated a willingness to keep this going through the negotiation phase, and I very much hope that he will see his way to making it a full time job. I see this most important of sites as something an independent Scotland would be very well-served by, for who else is going to watch the watchers?

I’d be very happy to continue funding Wings indefinitely but, of course, that will be Rev Stu’s decision.

297. jingly jangly

Beeb claiming that the hootsman gets over 2.5 million readers per month online. The herald have that, he didn’t say what the Hootsman circulation fell to apart from mentioning under 30k a day, he did however day that the herald circulation fell by 10% to under 40k per day.
    The P+J sells more per day than the Hootsman and Herald together. I would not think that advertising revenue will support the Hootsman and Herald for much longer. There doomed!!!

P.S. Don’t think much of the new Scotland away strip, Pink, yellow and white, FFS who is going to buy one of those it will clash with the Anderson tartan for starter!!!

298. Stuart Black

Over 31K now, I’m enjoying this immensely! 😀

299. Calum Craig

OMG, 30k+ in a few hours!! Got a wee lump in my throat. Very, very proud to part of this.

300. dramfineday

Help ma boab (no not you mate) I go in for a look just after 10 and there’s a few thou on the radar. I come in at lunch time to make a contribution and it’s over £30K. What chance of hitting the initial target later today?

As young Mr Grace used to put it “you’ve all done very well”!

301. kininvie

It’s barely slowing – time between donations still at 2-3 minutes. Much as it has been all day.

Keep up the good work, wingers!

302. X_Sticks

I’m truly moved by the response from you all! Astonished, as JoLo would say.

Just imagine the look on Blair MacDours face – priceless!

Well done everyone. 🙂 🙂 🙂

303. Chris

Contribution made- lets get to the total in one day!

304. Lee Rogers

I wouldn’t usually, but I must quote JoLa – I AM ASTONISHED!
    Well done everyone, great effort, keep it coming 🙂

305. handclapping

@Captain Caveman
    Well done that man! Of course we all know that its so you can claim that he never would have done it without the English! 😉

306. Macart

Hell it’ll be worth it to see the look on their faces.

Payday tomorrow and a second contribution will ‘wing’ its way.

307. SuffolkQuine

That’s my donation sent. Sorry it’s a small contribution, I am looking for work at the moment.

308. Ronnie

I had intended donating my Panelbase earnings, but that only came to £14.

I keep getting screened out – wrong age group probably.

Brilliant so far – Go Stu!

309. Cath

Broken £30K!

310. Condooo

There’s a cheeky tenner on its way to you. All the best.

311. Luan

Keep refreshing the page, watching the money, great to see the shared enthusiasm for Wings.

Really looking forward to getting some copies of the Wee Blue Book out to undecided friends.

312. K1

@Elaine
    Good suggestions re distribution of articles etc. I was inspired, infuriated so much by John Jappy’s article on wings in December, that I bought a laminator. Re jigged the article to remove the pictures, adjusted font to fit a 2 page document, printed off,took to Mailboxes, had it copied into one A4, photocopied a hundred or so, laminated them all. Have been going round parks, leaving on benches, next to trees, side of bins, giving them to friends, who have been asking for more, and am now doing similar stuff with other pertinent information.

A laminator is about 20 quid from Amazon. The reason I thought of laminating is threefold, I live in Scotland, rain, people often walk dogs in parks, (many older folk also like to take a wee seat on benches) people can’t just screw them up and bin them.

It’s not much, but it helped me feel like I was doing something and also released a lot of frustration about the lies we have been told…also strangely subvertive pleasure…cyberparknat!

313. Jamie Arriere

I was going to wait till the end of the month but I’ve got swept along with everyone else.

So, I’ll give you 0.043% of the money, but I’ll want 40% of the business… 🙂

No? Worth a try. Benefactor status it is for the last of the cheapskates!

314. Stevie

People here – it’s alread at 30K plus. I think Stu should take 25 to 30K as a wage, what do you think?

Gave my bit – keep up the good work.

315. Stevie

If taking the bare minimum is all that’s being asked then Stu will be in a tight situation – 25K to 30K is a fair wage. The YES campaign has spent a fortune and I think they would have been happy to pay for success like Stu’s – I am content to do so too.

316. keyser soze

Hi Stu , where would we be without you?

Donation made on behalf of Evelyn R Mcculloch and Keyser soze.

Please keep-up the good work .

Off to promote this even more !

317. Misteralz

Will donate when I get home later – wouldn’t know what to do without this site now! Of course, by the time I get to donating, you’ll have obliterated your target…

318. proudscot

Tenner donated from this OAP. Keep up the good work RevStu, spreading the truth and facts about the indy debate, and debunking the assertions and scaremongering of the Bitter Together lot.

319. Spout

In

320. bunter

Unionists looking on will be in no doubt of the power of this site and should be well worried.

Its good you are getting a more secure server Rev.

321. HoraceSaysYes

And that’s last years grand total of £33,014 passed too. 🙂

322. kininvie

Over 10% of the silver badges gone!

They are going to be rare…

323. William Duguid

Onwards and upwards. Never seen a fund-raiser like this in my puff.

324. kininvie

Donation rates speeding up – social media kicking in? Donations now coming in at 1-2 minute intervals

325. Jean

£10 on its way, brought the total to more than £33k. We will win in September.

326. Misteralz

On 35k yet? 🙂

327. indigo

wonder how much of the total the daily mail has indirectly made happen, with all the new visitors who only became aware of WoS as a result of their cybernat hate campaign?

328. Alba4Eva

That’s everything on the list fully funded… Just got Rev Stu’s wages to go now 🙂

Keep going folks. This is sending the message loud and clear to the Unionist MSM.

329. richard

FFS guys

have pity. I don’t get my pension until the 15th. there will be no ‘treats’ left.

well done Stu and all contributors

330. Ivanhoe

Great to see such a response from your readers Stu. My modest contribution hopefully will help and more to come later..just saving for my ticket back to Scotland for the biggest event in my lifetime… now 75 and excited about our prospects.

331. The_Duke

Donation made.

Keep up the good work everyone! and especially you, Rev.

332. sionnach

I said recently I’d double my original thought: actually, after reading your proposals, I’ve trebled it. £75 winging its way Wingswards. Some great ideas in there, Stu, and those of us who have been around for the last year (and more) know you’ll deliver. (And more!)

333. Murray McCallum

The “Wee Blue Book” is a great idea. Lots of quality stuff to go in there the issue will be summarising it!

334. Rannoch

I am a OAP and I contributed £10.

335. Skip_NC

Greetings from Raleigh, North Carolina.

X-Sticks, are you sure you are allowed to say that the Rev is doing a Sterling job? I am pretty sure Mr Osballder banned that.

As for the WoS fundraising campaign, are there any legal niceties an expat, not registered to vote in Scotland, should be aware of before contributing?

336. Macart

This is fascinating just watching the total climb.

Gnats whisker off 35K.

Whooooosshh. 😀

337. Alan Mackintosh

£35 k broken and counting…

338. Bugger (the Panda)

renew page

339. Mosstrooper

Dosh away, now over 35,000

340. Misteralz

Slightly O/T – Is this the most commented on post on Wings so far? We’re over 300 now!

341. heedtracker

Ofcourse we’ll win!!! We’re up on our desks right now because for some reason our very Reverend seems a lot like this guy. Crank it up http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgd46QiHz4I

342. TheGreatBaldo

Right with over £35K in less than 5 hours…..

How long until the Rev becomes a millionaire? 🙂

I make it just under 6 days at current rates.

When we vote YES the Scottish Govt should get him to organise The Scottish National Bonds….would probably raise a billion in a week !!

343. msean

Wow,just wow.£35,000+ already and I guess many still wish to contribute but only have another 34 days to do so lol.Well done Rev Stuart.

344. Midgehunter

Tried to send over a couple of hundred quid via c-card – it doesn’t seem to work, WILL try again later.

I don’t know… the things you do just to get a shiny wings badge 😉

345. indigo

just smashed through two thirds of the way there!

346. Archie [not Erchie]

I have to go out for 20mins. It will be so hard to concentrate with this funding firestorm going on. My contribution on payday – Friday. Well done to everyone and I agree Rev Stu should consider a pay rise.

347. Morag

The way this is going, there’s only one thing I’m worried about.

Stu is only one man. They say a one man band is a pretty poor orchestra, but in this case I’m not sure that’s true. It’s Stu’s personal je-ne-sais-quoi that makes Wings what it is. Nevertheless, there are only 24 hours in each day and even Stu has to sleep some of them.

Are we in danger of throwing so much money at him that he simply can’t physically do the work?

Nah. I’ve never seen energy and enthusiasm like this. It’ll get done.

And as regards the Blue Book. I have just completed a survey of all the homes containing people who are on the electoral roll in the little corner of Scotland I call home. (This is facilitated by the geography, which means that I live in the middle of a square which has county boundaries on three sides and a main road on the fourth.) Together with my trusty assistant Peter I have pledged to get Yes newspapers to every one of these addresses. Even the one called Lonelybield, and the one called Stonypath that nearly took the undercarriage off my car in April 2011.

I hereby pledge to get copies of this Blue Book to these households as well. There are 950 of them. Who is going to match me on this? (My area is pretty rural – urban residents get a lot more bang for their buck.)

348. john king

Nothing has given me has much pleasure to part with thirty quid for many a long day, the total? oh, it just over £35.000 unbelievable in the space of a few hours,

349. Papadox

Stu you are the man. Thanks for giving us a chance to feel the power of the people and the support and help we can be to each other.

We were a lot of twigs scattered all over the world, as we all know you can snap a single twig with your fingers, but bind they twigs into a bundle and you have a very strong structure. You stu are the binding holding us all together in common purpose.

Sincere thanks.

350. heedtracker

This campaign will receive all funds raised even if it does not reach its goal. Funding duration: February 26, 2014 – March 31, 2014 (11:59pm PT). lol

351. turnbull drier

I go away for 20min and we are up to 35 grand..

All done by tea time??

352. Bill C

Donation made Stu. Absolutely astounded that you have raised so much in so little time, Scotland is on fire thanks in part to you. Doing my bit with regular tweets in support of fundraiser. Thanks for all you are doing, think you will be on more than a few pints after 18th September.

353. Jim McIntosh

Never been a Patron before. Total now £35,811

354. Finlay Mair

Piggie bank raided!

Looking forward to the Blue Book, an excellent idea.

Keep up the debate winning work Rev, a Yes vote becoming a reality simply wouldn’t be possible without the work you and the other contributers have been putting in.

And thanks for all the laughs, Wings is the best entertainment out there!

355. muttley79

Nearly at £36,000 now!! 😀 Not exactly a ringing endorsement of the MSM in Scotland, or the rest of the UK.

356. Misteralz

Ach, what the hell. Didn’t want to be left behind, so donated on my ‘phone courtesy of a shite 3G signal.

357. kininvie

And that’s the £36,000

358. Indy_Scot

When the first fundraising appeal was launched I asked the Sun to have a look at WOS as I felt there was a story there. Not sure if they did, but if this isn’t worth some media interest I don’t know what is.

359. boglestone

£36,071 and counting…

360. Stuart Black

What are we going to do for the other 34 days? 😉

361. Rod Mac

£36k incredible, just think if we were genetically able to make political decisions

362. HandandShrimp

I shall look at this tonight and break open the piggy bank hidden beneath the garden slabs that say Danger Adders Nesting.

363. patronsaintofcats

What the heck, I say we keep going and buy ourselves a newspaper to play with. What’s the Hootsman share price these days 🙂

364. tartanfever

£36,400 now.

Quite unbelievable, I’m actually lost for words.

365. X_Sticks

I hope you’re enjoying this Rev – we all are for sure! 🙂 🙂

366. Roseanne

Wings is my fav site. You do fantastic work. More than happy to donate a couple of pound

367. HandandShrimp

I have to say our ability to crowdsource annoys the nipple ends off some of our more vocal opponents

This is good 🙂

368. Quinie frae Angus

I am sitting at my work with tears running down my cheeks! Colleagues concerned but I just had to tell them I am crying with elation, excitement, emotion and history-making! (It’s OK, they know me well….)

Upshot is, that’s now eight new folk away to read what this “Wings” thing is all about.

Better book the Hydro after all for April 4th, Ian Brotherhood!

369. Haughheed Highlander

Just donated the refund I got when I cancelled my TV license direct debit.
    From now on my money goes to media outlets with the correct bias.
    I strongly urge all of you to do the same now,our time is short.
    MoniWings!

370. The Rough Bounds

”We’re not genetically programmed in Scotland to make political decisions”

In the name of all that’s effing Holy, who the Hell does that damnable woman think she’s talking about?

I’m so furious. £30 on its way to you Stu. I know you’ll make it work.

371. X_Sticks

Is this a record breaking fundraiser for the UK? It can’t be far off it!

372. Brian Nicholson

This doonhamer living in Canada is proud to send my bit to support Rev. Stu and WOS.. more to come before the deadline

373. Morag

When they hang Stu’s portrait in the Scottish parliament, I hope it’s the one with the strange hair, where he looks about 19.

374. muttley79

Less than £16,000 away from the goal already, and we are not even a day into the fund raiser. GIRUY MSM in Scotland.

375. Arbroath 1320

Just added my wee tuppence worth to the pot Stu. 😉

Glad to be of service. 🙂

376. frankieboy

Donation being made once I have typed this. Thanks for all your work Stu.

377. Susan

My donation will be in on Thursday. Over £36000 in just 3 hours! 🙂

378. Kendomacaroonbar

Donation made Stu.

I still have WoS vinyl car window stickers left.

SAE to Kendo ( address details in quarantine .. you will have to scroll up a few times to get it )

Please, let’s all make a statement and send out a signal that citizen power exists and people should sit up and take note. Donate as much as you can afford to the WoS fundraiser…every penny counts 🙂

379. Arbroath 1320

Oops, forgot to mention that the payment went in under my partner’s name, not a problem cause she’s as energetic about Scottish independence as I think I have been told that I am. 🙂

380. Rubberbelly

Have to admit to a few tears as well Quinie. Its good to know you’re not alone

381. Morag

Arb, we know the pair of you are just as mental as the rest of us!

382. dramfineday

Handandshrimp

plus 1 my friend

383. Johnney come lately

I’ve signed up for a tenner a month, wish it could be more:)

384. MajorBloodnok

£38,143 – and I’m still trying to get the padlock of me wallet.

385. jim t

Two lots of benificence (that’s got to be a word) from the missus and me.

KUTGW

386. Kate

Donated.. just saw it go to £38, 143
    Rev you have some following here, & I see you cracking your target by midnight tonight, if not, another donation will head your way next week & the next till we get there…

387. keyser soze

…this is going so well .Lets go for the £100,000 !!

388. pa_broon74

Hud on the noo.

You can’t reach the target before midnight tonight when I get paid.

Slow down.

I bet Blair McDougall etc are looking on in Horror.

Ha ha!

389. Captain Caveman

… Incredible, well done.

I mean £40k raised in one afternoon isn’t bad I suppose, but just how much could it have been if you weren’t TEH MISSOGINIST HOMOFOBE and smelled of poo etc.

😀

Seriously, it is incredible, you must be chuffed to bits. I can’t imagine what it must feel like to be able to achieve something like this ever, let alone in about 4 hours.

390. Morag

£100,000? I suppose upping the print run on the Blue Book and paying for distribution could swallow a hell of a lot of cash.

Let’s do it.

391. Linda's Back

Great stuff and a pat on the back to all wingers.

O /T To-day’s squeaky bum time in the Hootsman (circulation down again)

A vote for an independent Scotland would be a vote to “leave” the BBC as well, Culture Secretary Maria Miller has warned.

CLAIMS by the SNP Scottish Government that an independent Scotland would be entitled to keep the pound and Bank of England are “fundamentally flawed” on legal grounds, Advocate general Lord Wallace will say in a lecture tomorrow.

And it won’t be long before another financial instuition boss will blackmail their staff and customers by saying they will leave Scotland if we dare to vote Yes for self government.

392. beachthistle

Happy to contribute Stu – not least cos really appreciate that you answer emails on top of all the valuable visible work that you do!

(PS Will there be a few bob in amongst the £50k to get the wee orange quick up and downy scroll buttons working again?)

393. heraldnomore

This all quite humbling; imagine how Stu feels.

And as the goodwill spreads across the land, and the polls move with each passing week, we’re going to get there. I can feel it in I my old bones, if not my water.

Are you watching JoLa, or still running through your performance last night with your media gurus?

394. scotbud

Just sent mine keep up the good work, first site i visit, we must win this. Personally the thought of waking up on the 19th of September and its a no vote fills me with despair, so come on lets make our voices heard. YES SCOTLAND

395. steviecosmic

Dear god in heaven!

Almost 40 grand in a few hours.

That is insane.

Well done Rev, and Wingsters. THAT is the level of support a grassroots Yes cause has.

396. bookie from hell

why based bath,somerset?

397. cearc

Stuart should definitely have a pay rise this year. He delivered far more than value for money with what we raised last year.

How about matching the 11% that MPs think they are worth and rounding it up to 25K.

398. theycan'tbeserious

oops! “rise” should read “raise”.

399. Patrick Roden

Goodness!!!

Over £38,000 already 🙂

400. G H Graham

OK, to guarantee I don’t get peeved by missing out on this historic crowd funding exercise, I’ve just added my donation to the pot.

An added bonus this year, is that you’ll finally be able to afford the beans as well as the toast.

I cannot express in words, the feeling of being part of a genuine, grass roots movement that will make a significant contribution to the achievement of returning Scotland to full, sovereign independence.

“For those about to rock, we salute you!”

401. Rod Mac

Don’t know where you are right now Rev,however wherever that is ,even you must be gobsmacked at this reaction from the ordinary folk

402. Kate

Ye Gods this is crazy in a GREAT way, it is now standing at £38, 646

403. Kate

@ Linda’s Back”A vote for an independent Scotland would be a vote to “leave” the BBC as well, Culture Secretary Maria Miller has warned.”

All the more reason to vote YES as far as I am concerned.

404. Piemonteis

This is mental.

£35,000 in a few hours, and that’s before payday! I’m unable to donate until late March, and looking at other posters, I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Sweepstake on the total raised?

405. Breastplate

Holy cow Batman, it’s just a kick in the arse off £40,000. I want one of the wings badges but I’ll talk to my wife to see if we can push the boat out for a gold one, after all it will be a future Scottish artefact. 🙂

406. TJenny

Cant believe how excited I am about donating money and it’s not just the lure of the wee shiney, shiney.

Had difficulties making payt so have asked the Rev to checkk if it went through or not and will just have to re-do it again if not.

What a great champion we have in Stu and what a fabulous community we WoSers are.

Pure feeling the lurv. 🙂

407. handclapping

£38000! Awesome! Still pouring in even though everybody ought to be at work so it must be us OAPs. Come on the wrinklies, lets show the younger generation we’re not dead yet!

408. G H Graham

One of the benefits of independence is that we can get RID of funding the BBC & replace it in Scotland with a broadcaster that actually serves the people.

Who wants to keep funding a corrupt organisation that serves to assist the British Establishment with keeping us in our place?

409. jim t

I suspect that when the Wingsters who have to work during the day and have no interweb access get home after 5pm, there will be another surge in contributions.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBEn3a4TIUw

Indeed.

410. kininvie

£39,000 now vanishing into the rear view mirror

411. Ekindy

Donation done. Keep up the good work Stu.

Stevie

412. McNic

1st I broke ribs laughing at JoLo last night, timimg belt went on the M8 this morning and now I find my better half has changed Paypal details after spending an hour trying to donate :o? Holy Feck, only now just realised I’m not auto-logged in as I always have been!!!!
    Anyhoo will get it sorted when the boss gets home.

413. Weedeochandorris

Woweeee! Did my contribution bitty and had to go out for a while, came back and it’s just unbelievable! Nearly 40 grandaroonies!! So proud of all the good will and generosity of wingers :-). Rev you’re worth every last penny, thanks for all the hard work from you and the team. Feel like greetin’ ma een oot noo…….

414. Misteralz

No new articles since this one this morning? We’ve been taken for a ride. Stu’s just retired to Venezuela…

415. annie

Just had a look at Duncan Hothersall’s twitter timeline to see if he had any comments about the Rev’s fundraiser but he is too busy defending JoLo’s infamous “we are not genetically designed to make political decisions in Scotland” comment. What a sh*t day he must be having.

416. Macart

refresh

417. muttley79

@G H Graham

“One of the benefits of independence is that we can get RID of funding the BBC & replace it in Scotland with a broadcaster that actually serves the people.

Who wants to keep funding a corrupt organisation that serves to assist the British Establishment with keeping us in our place?”

This x100.

418. X_Sticks

Over 39k – now I’m truly gobsmacked! You lot are the BIZZ 🙂

419. muttley79

It is pretty much at £40,000 now. 😀

420. Findlay Farquaharson

What a sh*t day he must be having. (D. Hothershall).
    just makes you want too smile.

421. bookie from hell

NEW STATESMAN(reader)

JamesB0nd • an hour ago

Racist buffoon.

Can’t wait to watch you lose your stupid referendum Alex. I’ll enjoy watching you humiliated, even though I’d love you to be booted out of the union along with your collapsed banks and your dole-sucking nation of schemies.

bfh–isn’t james bond Scottish?

422. Fiona

Will chuck in a few groats on Friday (payday). Target will be smashed to smithereens by then 😀

423. SquareHaggis

It feels good to be impoverishing oneself whilst at the same time enriching oneself so, so much. 40 thou at my last peek.

Well done every one.

424. HoraceSaysYes

75% of the way there, now. 🙂

425. steve stewart

Stu, you must be rubbing your eyes in complete and utter disbelief at this absolutely staggering display of generosity.

Keep up the good work. You are an absolute belter.

426. john king

How the hell can the MSM and the tv news channels avoid this story, its huge chances are the foreign news channels will embarrass them, somebody get Al Jazeera on the phone,
    I know what the BBC will do

427. Flooplepoop

£20 winging you way, keep up the good work and buy yourself some smarties

428. Caroline Corfield

So worth it, and I love the little blue book idea. Gaun yersel.

429. scottish_skier

Don’t know where you are right now Rev

Probably away gettin his messages.

Aldi most likely although could be Waitrose following the fundraiser.

430. Zed

Absolute crazy! It’s about £60 (sixty) quid off £40k as I write this!

Not donated yet, will do this evening when I get hame

431. tartanfever

that’s the £40,000 barrier broken..

432. Rod Mac

Wrong Muttley ,over £40 grand now ,go wingers

433. Brian Nicholson

40,000 pounds now behind us … keep the dosh coming in

434. Aikenheed

Some white fivers, two moths and a stamp for 2/6d liberated from wallet and donated. The Blue Book is a brilliant idea – if we make enough could we have a first edition – then a second (or there wouldn’t be a first) so we keep people bubbling?

435. Chani

Thanks, chani.tough! You raised the campaign total to: £40,084!

Holy Mackerel! (does not even cover it)

436. muttley79

@Rod Mac

It was when I last posted though!

437. benarmine

that’s just stunning. 40k already.

438. Robert Louis

The real truth behind all of this, aside from Wings being a very good site, is that people in Scotland are sick and fed up of blatant pro-Britannia, anti-Scotland propaganda from the Herald, the laughingly titled ‘Scotsman’ and the very worst of them all, the state run and funded Propaganda outlet, the BBC.

We will win this referendum, and will put to bed forever, the craven conniving corrupt propagandist media which Scotland has been subjected to for far too long.

Upon independence, I do hope the REV realises he will be forced to return to Scotland, to set up at least one new newspaper in Scotland. A newspaper that serves ALL the people of Scotland, and not some anti independence paymasters hidden away in London.

This is a fantastic day. We will win this referendum. We really, really will.

Now over 40K!!!!! 🙂

439. kininvie

Press release:

Just in case Stu wants to release this triumph (to wire agencies etc in the first instance) I’ve offered to draft something for him…

If he agrees, it would be really useful to have a few quotes from wingers to say why they have donated. Just a few words along the lines of ‘I’m happy to donate to Wings because….

Send your thoughts to kininvie@gmail.com

Best if you are prepared to use your real name. If not, make sure you make that clear when sending your quote. Thanks

440. Jean

This wrinklie donated an hour or so ago and can I say that I am not astonished or astounded that fellow wingers have so easily proven jola wrong…we can make decisions and will make the most important one on September 18th.
    Within a whisker of £40k…well done everyone.

441. K Mackay

Unbelievable! I opened the donate page 5 minutes ago, couldn’t believe the total so far, just hit refresh and it’s jumped by over a grand!

Better get mine in quick before the total’s hit. This has to be some sort of world record, has someone let the Guinness folk know?

The Dail Heil are going to lose their shit over this! I can see it now “Evil cybernat controller brainwashes mentally feeble separatists into giving all their money away”

442. Jean

Ok…I took too long to type…£40k plus.

443. cearc

Perhaps the last thread, ‘After the Gold Rush’, should be renamed ‘BEFORE the Gold Rush’!

444. MajorBloodnok

Wallet prised open and donation made in name of myself and the memsahib. It’s a proud day for all of us and for Scotland!

445. Proud Cybernat

Over 40k and counting. They’re gonna have to DDOS attack indiegogo now!

446. Danny

Aye keep it going past the 50 grand mark and buy the Scotsman.I’d even do a paper round to do my wee bit of getting it out there.

447. Macart

@Kininvie

Superb idea.

448. Desimond

This is turning out to be one helluva Fundraising Legend…speaking of which…

http://www.mirror.co.uk/3am/celebrity-news/the-urban-myth-of-sir-bob-geldofs-271609

449. Arbroath 1320

WOW!

I’ve just had a wee peek at the amount raised and it’s sitting at £40,224. Holy cow Batman that appears to be around £10,000 an hour or something like it I think. 😉

Just had a wee look at the funders list as well and can now officially confirm my donation did not go up under my partner’s name…PHEW! 🙂 it’s used my e-mail address! 🙂

450. Anne Graham

I’m not genetically programmed to spend money but I somehow overcame it. I love this site. Worth every penny, pound, groat or merk.

Considering the name “Wings over Scotland”, are we all Flying Scots? (Oh wait, that’s a bicycle. Perhaps not).

451. Les Wilson

Well Stu, if you wanted confirmation of how well you are thought of, this must be it.There is no doubt of all the effort that you put in. You must feel proud, and rightly so.
    Mine going on shortly, just came in to find this, over the moon.

452. Morag

Thought as much. Stu hasn’t been on this thread, or on Twitter, since the fundraiser started. I wondered if he might have gone out and be deliberately not looking. Seems that was the case, and he’s only now got in and had a look. Check his Twitter feed!

453. Edward

congrats on the amount raised so far
    By the way don’t suppose you could extend the crowdfunding to supplying the SFA with away strips for the Scotland team?
    Have you seen what these pricks have come up with?
    PINK, white and Yellow, I kid you not!

454. Dcanmore

Over £40,000 now. All of Rev’s Christmases have came at once 🙂

I have to admit when I first saw the total required I thought it was a wee bit ambitious … wow, just wow! 🙂

Well done everyone.

YES2014!

455. G H Graham

Rev, the fund is rising at the rate of over 80 quid per minute.

That’s House of Lord’s rates for a 4 minute visit to drop of an expenses claim, isn’t it?

456. chicmac

Don’t know how it works, but I hope you can get access to funds once the target has been reached. It would be annoying to think the dosh was sitting there for another 33 days when it could be getting used now.

And oh, great job by the way.

457. kininvie

That’s less than £10,000 to go before we hit the target, and still four and a half hours before 10pm, which will allow us to say we made it inside 12 hours….

Must be a record.

458. wingman 2020

@Quinie frae Angus

“I am sitting at my work with tears running down my cheeks! Colleagues concerned but I just had to tell them I am crying with elation, excitement, emotion and history-making! (It’s OK, they know me well….)

Upshot is, that’s now eight new folk away to read what this “Wings” thing is all about.”

Inspiring. Honest and moving.

And that is what the unionists will never understand or get.

459. Rod Mac

That guy Anonymous has put in a right few quid

460. Arbroath 1320

Edwards says:

By the way don’t suppose you could extend the crowdfunding to supplying the SFA with away strips for the Scotland team?
    Have you seen what these pricks have come up with?
    PINK, white and Yellow, I kid you not!

Aye I’m thinking the reputation of Scotland supporters being hairy e***** warriors has definitely left the building, sorry stadium, with that strip! 🙂

461. Les Wilson

Just put mine in 3.40 pm £40500 and climbing.
    Stu, you will need a swally tonight !

462. Betty Boop

“steve stewart says:

26 February, 2014 at 10:17 am
    How do you do it? I’m actually excited about donating money!

That’s some skill you have.”

You can say that again, Steve! I reckon I’ve spent more money on indy than I’ve spent wine gums in the past forever. I love wine gums! Will we have them in an independent Scotland?

Blue Book – fantastic idea. Probably should think of upping the run though considering I delivered 500+ papers in one nearby estate.

£40,300 when I last looked. At this rate, you might beat Children in Need.

463. Morag

Chicmac, last time we did this Stu said the money went straight to him as soon as it was donated. So he can get going with the projects immediately!

464. Desimond

I like that on indiegogo it says

Let’s Finish The Job
    Fund Wings Over Scotland for another year.
    Politics – Bath, United Kingdom

I think “Politics Bath Scotland” makes for a lovely subtitle once we win this Vote and Wings evolves into its next wonderful phase.

465. Helena Brown

Now $40,553 great work.

466. haud oan the noo

Get another 50k and we can buy the Scotsman…

467. Eric

@kinivie

“I have donated to Wings over Scotland because they do what the mainstream media doesn’t. Wings analyses and deconstructs the Westminster propaganda and provides a more balanced view. My donation cost me nothing, I saved it from my daily newspapers. My next donation will be my TV licence, as I turn off the biased BBC for good, in my house.”

Eric, Edinburgh.

468. Cath

I think I’ve missed the post D-DOS attack instructions. Do you have to post to refresh the thread comments now?

469. Alan Mackintosh

Bookie,

Aye James Bond was inspired by the exploits of Fitzroy Maclean apparently. Volunteered for diplomatic service in Russia before the war,and wandered about all over the ‘…stans. Then was in the SAS in the desert, and then Tito’s liason Officer. He got about a bit.
    Up to £41259 now… Onwards and upwards

470. Desimond

@Rod MAc

There’s a Rabbie Burns rip off in there for sure!

“Ode to Anonymous”
    Great, discreetit, towerin, generous beastie,
    O, what a purse’s in thy breastie!
    Thou keeps donatin’ awa sae hasty,
    Wi’ flickering cash!
    I wad be proud to hug an’ praise thee,
    Wi’ aw yir fellow Cybernats!

471. Anne Graham

Rod Mac said
    That guy Anonymous has put in a right few quid

The reader Anonymous is probably quite rich – just think of all the folk songs he or she has written. 🙂

472. Purr

I’m Astonished, and you are doing it on purpose, Great Stuff

473. Les Wilson

Stu at this rate it makes buying the Scotsman a possibility LOL ( you think I am Joking? )

474. creag an tuirc

Still to get a spike of donations tonight then tomorrow when people are payed. This is going to be an interesting one.

475. proudscot

Consider the contrast – it only takes a few mega-rich Tory donors to raise the millions the pro-union lot then spend on producing their anti-independence propaganda papers from Whitehall. On the other hand, how many of we YES campaigners does it take to raise the multiple thousands we achieve? – TENS of thousands of us!

Like all liberation movements the world over, I’m convinced we’re winning the war on the ground, while our opponents continue to carpet-bomb us from the air. To expand on my analogy, their mainly Labour Party foot soldiers entrench themselves in their fortified bunkers across the Glasgow and Central Belt, convincing no-one but themselves that they’re winning – reassured by the very selectively conducted polls published in the unionist supporting MSM. Remember May 2011! Let’s do that again!

476. muttley79

O/T Just read this tweet from Pete Wishart:

“Just been told to f*** off aggressively again and again by @jimmurphymp in my face. And he goes on about online abuse.”

477. Misteralz

Stu’s cat. 😀

478. Albalha

Just over £10 000 to go for the initial target, surely it’ll be achieved in a 12 hour period, remarkable.

479. Rod Mac

It is days like today seeing this amazing reaction from the ordinary folk that love Scotland, and democracy above that of self aggrandisement that makes you want to just keep going ,and going.
    Like a lot of us on here ,sometimes when I read or hear the lies and demeaning of my country I get down.
    However on days like this it just makes me even more certain that in my lifetime I will see the Independent Scotland.
    Rev this site renews hope and gives us all a boost ,keep up the good work.
    If you did not know it before now ,you are valued by the cybernats.

480. Desimond

Tomorrows Daily Mail…

“Why doesnt he give it to the Food Banks” – Labours Kezia Dugdale discusses spending spree plans by the alleged Man of God.

481. jinglyjangly

Alan Mackintosh
    McLean was my MP, I still feel bad about walking out on a speech of his at a Whist Drive in Brodick when I was about 15. I walked out because he was a Tory, it was only later reading his autobiography I realised what a great man he was.
    My Father always heckled him, it was only later that I discovered that Fitroy would buy him a couple of pints for livening up the debates!!!

One episode springs to mind, when he was in the Long Range Desert group (Forerunner of SAS) behind German lines in Tripoli, the Germans were on the alert as the LRG were sneaking into airfields during the night and blowing up the parked aircraft. McLean still wearing his British Uniform marched into the German Camp’s guardroom, woke up all the soldiers, got them out on parade, stripped them off (In Fluent German obviously) for being unattentive, sent them back to their beds and then drove round the parked planes and left bombs on timers. He then headed back to his hiding place and awaited the results.

Pity about his politics.

482. Morag

The fundraiser has only been open for six HOURS, and it’s over £42,000. That’s only a smidgen over £10,000 from the overall total. It really doesn’t seem unrealistic to imagine it might make its total within 12 hours, when people who don’t have internet access during the day get home.

Then we see how much further we can push it? What percentage of the total number of homes in Scotland are going to get this amazing Blue Book?

483. Alan Mackintosh

Cath, to renew the page you can just type p@ge refresh. Replace the “@” with “a”. this goes to moderation and stays out of the thread, so Stu doesnt have to manually go through the thread to remove them. If you want to renew again just add another word or number after the phrase and that will stop the duplicate post thingy

484. Arbroath 1320

DAMN!

I step out of my darkened bedroom, part of the Darkened room complex to make a cup of tea and salute the flag flying proudly from the flagpole in my garden and look, the total is now sitting at £42,197. 😉

This is embarrassing, no not for US but for all those union supporters at BTHQ who must be down to the last few hairs on their head. BT wig anyone? 🙂

485. Misteralz

80%!

486. JPFife

Cameron, Lamont, WM, BT, your media took a hell of a beating, a hell of a beating.

487. Alba4Eva

Heck, apparently I have used both refresh page & page refresh and it won’t accept duplicate posts. Over £42K now and counting 🙂

488. Robert Louis

Rev,

Tory boy David Cameron, came up to Scotland this week to tell us that us Scots aren’t capable of looking after our own oil and how it’s best if we just give the oil to London for free. Well, today I’ve been giving this all some thought, and you know, 53K pounds is an awful, awful lot of money. I’m not so sure us Scots are up to coping with it, what with us (according to Westminster) being too wee, too poor and too stupid, so maybe we’d best hand it all over to those nice London Tories with ‘broad shoulders’, in Westminster.

It’s for the best. 🙂 🙂

489. Jeannie

Wow – Just wow! I remember doing this last year and was amazed we reached the target, but this year I’m just gobsmacked. I just love you lot!

490. Frances

I can’t get any work done, it’s all too exciting.

I think Wings is the catalyst for our own 21st century Enlightenment. We’re learning about our own country, our own people and our ability to create change for the better. We have optimisim, intelligence in abundance (as evidenced here above and below the line) and compassion.

Here’s what wiki says about the Scottish Enlightenment of the 18th century:

“the thinkers of the Scottish Enlightenment asserted the fundamental importance of human reason combined with a rejection of any authority that could not be justified by reason. They held to an optimistic belief in the ability of humanity to effect changes for the better in society and nature, guided only by reason. This latter feature gave the Scottish Enlightenment its special flavour, distinguishing it from its continental European counterpart. In Scotland, the Enlightenment was characterised by a thoroughgoing empiricism and practicality where the chief virtues were improvement, virtue, and practical benefit for the individual and society as a whole.”

491. StevieMcB

This is fantastic, the true meaning of working better together, the British media are letting us down with the vile untruths perpetrated by themselves to suit themselves
    we the people of Scotland are sick of this, hence the brilliant response to the Wings appeal.
    we will win!

492. John Sm.

Just away to make a donation.

Are you ok with Scottish notes?

493. kininvie

More quotes please….

Just a few words on ‘why I am happy to donate to Wings’

Send them to kininvie@gmail.com

Thanks to those who have contributed already.

Please tell me if you do NOT want your real name used

494. EdinScot

Gee wiz its over 42 thousand! Gaun yersel Rev Stu, you really deserve every penny and more. Ive still to donate and will do on 28th aka pay day.

Way off topic, we must be nearing the beginning of the end when Royalist hair cutter Nicky Clark is on a politics programme slagging Scotland..apparantly he could give us a bit of reality…oh do bog off Nicky and cut one’s barnet.
    Then there is Jola outdoing her ‘something for nothing speech’ and boy that takes some doing. The Britnats really know how to woo a country eh…Not.

495. Calgacus MacAndrews

Quick … somebody can be Funder “666” if they want …

496. Kendomacaroonbar

42.5K in the kitty already.

I predict £ 70+ grand at the end of the fundraising term.

497. Alan Mackintosh

Jingly jangly, Aye, If you havent head of him, you should look up Popskis Private Army. He was another Irregular unit, in the desert and later in Italy using jeeps and hit and run tactics. Colonel Vladimir Peniakoff set it up. I have the book that he wrote about it. A cracking story!

Fitzroy was mentioned on WoS a wee while ago. Think his private security firm (he set it up) was one of the donors to BT.

498. Aikenheed

Betty Boop at 3.42pm
    In a way this is for children in need

499. Peter Macbeastie

I see the total is rapidly rising. I’ll add a couple of quid to it. Your work is too good to not help out at all.

You annoy the Daily Mail, after all; what’s not to like?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.