Now featuring Scotland

Posted on October 31, 2018 by

Or so they say, at any rate. Near the end, we think.

1. 31 10 18 13:56

Now featuring Scotland | speymouth

141 to “Now featuring Scotland”

1. Street Andrew

Do people actually watch this garbage ?

Why ?

2. Lollysmum

Video unavailable

3. Capella

Well that was fun. I’m glad they’re back. Lightens the general gloom and I did think the depiction of Reporting Scotland was eerily accurate.

4. Fred

Coz it’s good! 🙂

5. Dr Jim

A pair of funny guys still managing to be funny on a tiny funny money budget who if they had real funny money could be even funnier than the funny they are now and if you don’t get it you need an operation on your funny bone which’ll cost more money than is funny

6. Frank Gillougley

Yes. Satire and parody, the most accurate representation of the way things are. It’s meant to be painful,just as a mirror is.

7. Artyhetty

Brilliant, thanks guys for a laugh because I think we all need one right now. Crazy, and mad, like the world. I think there was about the right amount of seconds goven to the North British region. ‘Witch water’, ha ha perfect!

All in all, very balanced. 🙂

8. Welsh Sion

Blwyddyn Newydd Dda / Happy New Year to all my readers.

9. Flower of Scotland

So much better than Reporting Scotland! I needed that after all the crap on twitter. Thank you!

10. geeo

Love these guys, comedy gold !

11. grahamlive

Can’t believe they missed the obvious “housing ladder” joke there.

Shape up lads.

12. mogabee

So welcome back guys and well done. Definitely laugh out loud at quite a few bits there!!

The Halloween skit at the end made me especially guffaw as it’s always a bone of contention between adults of a ‘certain’ age, turnips or pumpkins! 😀 😀

13. starlaw

I watched and enjoyed this much better than Mis-Reporting Scotland which I gave up on long time ago.

14. Dr Jim

It’s amazing how many people who read the Telegraph in England seem to desperately feel the need to comment on Scotland

Are they lonely? or has Alan Cochrane run out of Scottish people to fund his worn down shoe leather from pounding the Holyrood lobby trying to catch up with the folk avoiding the embarrassment of being seen near him

15. Petra

Thanks for the laughs guys.

Here’s another one. The dictatorial Tories don’t want to be ”barred” from Edinburgh but want to ban people from saying so. I wonder what they’ll ban us from saying next? Independence?

‘Edinburgh’s ideal future will be ‘Tory free’ according to 2050 campaign word cloud.’

…”However the Conservative group on the council did not see the funny side of the offending wish, and wrote to the Lord Provost Frank Ross to say that it was “unacceptable”. Ross then spoke with Marketing Edinburgh, who oversee the campaign, and it was added to a list of banned words and phrases.”..

http://www.thenational.scot/news/17191485.edinburghs-ideal-future-will-be-tory-free-according-to-2050-campaign-word-cloud/?ref=mr&lp=3

16. Cactus

Be ye well and a top of the afternoon to ye Dateline 2018.

Here’s the extended plays frae the movie…

Wiggle yer probes, hey hey hey:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvjLgjtJKsc

Do you remember…?:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQ4oaLUilBc

WARNING! If you watch BBC news tonight, this will happen:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2D0kDFKaxE
    Silver Shamrock Novelties.

Watch out for the scary people in the street, trick or treat.

Cheers midweek Dateline 2018.

17. jfngw

Read Pete Wishart’s blog regarding the dangers of the second EU Referendum and the SNP supporting it. I’ve posted my opinion previously but I’m going to repeat it.

If this is a UK vote agreed by the SNP without any clause on Scotland’s result then we can wave goodbye to any second indyref since the SNP would have backed a UK vote.

Under this scenario I will probably waste my vote, just write something about independence on it, doesn’t really matter unless it was consistent across Scotland. 1.6 million wasted votes demanding independence would be more telling than 1.6 million ignored Remain votes.

18. Aled Gwyn Job

Hi Wingers

Cyfarchion o Gymru!

Hope you don’t mind me taking this off at a tangent- but perhaps you would be interested in my new book “Gwlad!Gwlad? An Invitation To A Party” which has just been released on Amazon Kindle.

The book takes a personal look at one of the most eventful and exciting years in Welsh politics in many years. It also charts the attempt to set up a new Independence Party for Wales, Ein Gwlad( our land) over the course of the year.

There’s an article about it on the nation.cymru website today.

Scotland’s heroic struggle for Independence against all the might of the British state and its media lackeys- which is a template for our own Independence movement in Wales, also features in the book.

We are so grateful to you guys for doing so much of the heavy lifting against Westminster. Hopefully, by the time you get your Independence(2019?)- Westminster will be in no fit state to resist our own historic right to Independence.

Hopefully, some of you might want to check it out!

Diolch yn fawr

Aled Gwyn Job

19. msdidi

jfngw I agree with your view on the “Peoples vote”. It is my opinion that the SNP should not consider taking part in a HofC vote unless a caveat is agreed that would allow Scotland to remain in the EU if that was how the people of Scotland voted again. If no such agreement is reached beforehand then the SNP (and the Scottish people) should treat it as the EVEL it so obviously represents and boycott the whole sorry affair. I do not think it will happen though.

20. yesindyref2

“Your browser does not currently recognise any of the video formats available. “

21. Cactus

A top of the evenin’ everybuddy, what’s yer craic?

Hey Liz g, how you doin’? Xx

22. yesindyref2

Mmm, from Rev’#s twotter thing: “Tory Free”.

Is that something Santa brings you if you’re naughty not nice?

Or is it with a jumbo 2Kg pack of washing deterrent?

23. Liz g

Cactus @ 5.00pm
    Hey Cactus
    I’m behaving myself,nowadays..LOL
    How about you?

24. Cactus

Dans le maintenant:

Budget Hammond IS the Frankenstein:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTjtX5MTYYA

Hallowe’en 2018 is very on topic.

Schpooky!

25. Cactus

Hey Liz, forever up to mischief… to bed, bath and beyond! 😉

26. Essexexile

Good stuff. A giant Tesco next to a giant Asda! ‘Tis the same all across the country.

27. Elmac

I know this is off topic but it has been festering since yesterday. I have just emailed the following to SNP HQ:

“I read today with disbelief that the party had suspended the membership of Gareth Wardell aka Grouse Beater as a result of an article he posted on his website on 28 October. I have read the article several times and can find no suggestion of Anti-Semitism, quite the contrary. I can only assume that the decision to suspend was a knee jerk reaction to the fear of anticipated twisted and perverse publicity rather than based on the actual content. The article itself was an articulate exposure of the chicanery of the GMB, former GCC councillors and certain labour politicians with regard to the recent contrived strike over equal pay for women. Whether or not Ms Woolfson is Jewish is totally irrelevant. I have to ask whether those taking this decision have read the full text properly.

What is relevant is that Gareth Wardell has put his head over the parapet to highlight the lies and disgraceful antics of the GMB and its acolytes. He has done what the SNP frequently fail to do in standing up in public against the corruption of the media and the Westminster government. Instead of being castigated Gareth Wardell should have had the full support of the SNP. You should also have followed up his allegation that agitators were bussed in from elsewhere to swell the numbers of the strikers. I will most certainly encourage all I know to read the article in full and make up their own mind before accepting the media lies and I will provide links if necessary. You should have done the same.

My wife and I are currently considering whether to cancel our SNP membership. We will be contributing to Mr Wardell’s suit for defamation against the Record if he needs help and in addition he may well end up with the subscriptions which would otherwise have gone to the SNP coffers. My membership number is (redacted). If you wish to pre-empt our decision on whether or not to continue our membership please feel free.”

No doubt it is farting against thunder and many will disagree with me but it is something I had to get off my chest.

28. Brian Powell

The First Minister already said any support for a ‘People’s vote’ would have caveats attached.

29. Cactus

All across the lands of this here ‘current’ European island that we share… tens of thousands of innocent citizens peoples heads are turning into a mush of beasties and serpents!

That’s what happens to you when you watch the BBC news.

Ye were warn’ed, feel their pessimistic pain.

Santa says… Stop here Satan!

30. Ian McCubbin

I ain’t even going to watch it. All the comments here tell me it will just make me angry.
    My meditation group today discussed Equanimity. So I am practicing mine by not watching. Off to yoga now too.

31. shagpile

I can remember Gala before it had a big ASDA and a big TESCO. Who needs trains anyway, it’s progress!

Lanterns at Halloween always confused me as a kid, the big question in life was why a pumpkin and not a neep? Wasn’t until I realised in later life the answer was 42.

32. North chiel

Halloween party political broadcast on “ the Jackie Bird show” with “ toddle-oo-the-noo “ and “ Richard the Britheart” “ acting in unison” , apparently “ Scottish Britnat Labour “ is completely “ separate” from John Macdonnell and his BritLab tax cuts for the rich party. Just another “ Halloween guise “from the propaganda Quay ghouls.

33. Bob Mack

@Shagpile,

Ever tried hollowing out a neep? Pumpkin easier

34. Dr Jim

Support and the truth for Grousebeaters case seems to have caused the hate brigade to withdraw support from the Labour *story* tellers

I say *story* but I should have said big fat Labour liars

35. Cactus

42 equals to learn.

Yes to 42.

To teach.

Aye2.

36. yesindyref2

@Dr Jim
    It wouldn’t be the first time the Record has backed off from a story confronted with reality, if that’s what they’re going to do.

37. Muscleguy

@essexexile
    Nae here in Dundee, the Tescos and the Asdas are some distance apart. Not even the Stack has that.

38. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Bob Mack at 7:04 pm.

You typed,

“Ever tried hollowing out a neep? Pumpkin easier…”

The secret of creating a lantern from a neep is to use the old traditional methods.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dq13Y2iU4AEtMHt.jpg:large

39. Cactus

One went furra walkies earliers this fine Scottish evening, curious to see if the peoples still celebrated the hallowed-be-thy-eve… et one was not disappointed…

Some dude had the lit lanterns outside, with two big speakers playing Part One of Mike Oldfields… Tubular bells, quality.

He, the Mike, composed it 11 years before the REAL reality.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYmRA45BZmc
    (Circa 1973)

You may look, but one may not stare.

Dedication to evil 😉 :

40. shagpile

@ Bob Mack

“Ever tried hollowing out a neep? Pumpkin easier”

Only had neeps as a kid. We did it. I grow pumpkins in my garden now. Not my favourite fruit. Some types of melon would be even easier 😉

Yet, why not get yer own homegrown English dictionary and search “irony”… then view my post in that context.

Fcuk off Bob Mack-the-knife you utter pr!ck.

41. Cactus

Hey Rev, what is our present readership count a thank you, please…

Aye gauge things by Following @WingsScotland sur Twitter…

Not long till WOS hits Heinz Variety, Kilo.

Work that one out good Wingers. 🙂

It is on the move.

42. Bob Mack

@Shagpile,

Your comedy is good ,but your manners leave something to be desired. Don’t trip over your petted lip bud .

43. Bob Mack

@Dr Jim,

That’s what happens when you face them down. Doing nothing plays right into their hands.

44. frogesque

@Brian Doonthetoon @ Bob Mac

3/4 inch sharp wood chisel is better, less chance of a visit to A&E with a drill bit though your hand.

45. Bob Mack

@Frogesque,

My implement is a spoon. I ain’t gonna get far on a turnip with a spoon. Well, at least for a while!!

46. Cactus

Might aye add, et + one may suggest…

Why need you say “fcuk” or other, when U can say… FUCK!

Let yer passion evolve. Dinnae haud back now like, time.

There’s new words yet tae come.

Wur aye brainstorming.

Get wae the beat.

As always.

Love the.

Fuck.

47. frogesque

Is it just me or are those agin us are begining to realise that not only does the wider YES movement have feet but we also have balls and teeth?

48. shagpile

@ Mack-the-knife

Always there to put your ego in perspective 😉 My lip needs less attention, thanks anyway.

49. frogesque

@Bob Mack: 8.52

Lol!

50. Cactus

Hey Hey and with that beat frogesque bud 😉

Aye give you and y’all da bop:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYF8sO1BPeI

NB last time aye played this was on the Independence Live fundraiser… and don’t you know it “fuckers” 😉 😉 😉

WOW, check out the schpooky next song after the above on the playlist…

Was it the same for you?

51. Robert J. Sutherland

Bob Mack @ 20:38,

Well of course, Bob. It’s not like everyone is doing nothing. Thanks to many Yessers, the true message is getting through, and paradoxically this wee stooshie may even have helped.

It’s just that the SNP isn’t going to get pulled into pig-wrestling with the MSM over it. (You know the meme, I’m sure.)

Thus do we all get through.

52. Cactus

Everybuddy fucks:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rOiW_xY-kc

Sometimes.

This life.

Hang on.

“Endorphins”

53. Bob Mack

@Shagpile,

I would love a battle of wits, but I fear you are unarmed.

54. Thepnr

There are up days and there are down days. I only need to read Wings to get an idea of how those that support Independence feel. Every post says something about that individual. Anger or joy are both there often so not too difficult to gauge “the mood” at any point.

I’m exactly the same as everyone else, sometimes I feel great about things and on others I can just as easily be on a downer. It’s pretty hard to remain positive 24 hours a day seven days a week, well not pretty hard more likely impossible for most normal people.

On a down day I don’t like the feeling but eventually I’ll realise again that this is just par for the course. The entire MSM narrative at all times is to depress everyone that wants Independence in the hope that they will eventually just give up trying.

Thankfully I can see that, as it’s all too obvious. It means I can put my positive head back on eventually because I know that Independence is a good thing for the vast majority of the population of our country. That much is certain and I’ll never waver from that belief.

The rhetoric now from the MSM is being ratcheted up and is not yet at its peak. Be prepared for more “down” days but never lose sight of the goal that is Scotland becoming and Independent country.

I think we’re winning and if anyone should be having a “down” day everyday then it’s the opponents of Independence. They have most to lose and much to worry about.

55. Rock

I hope they have enough funding for the next 622 years.

Mark my words – Nicola is not going to call an independence referendum before Brexit has been completed and Scotland is at the mercy of Westminster.

yesindyref2 is “still sticking” with 14th March 2019 for Indy Ref 2.

That leaves four and a half months and it hasn’t even been called yet.

Anyone brave enough to predict when it will be called?

56. Rock

Thepnr says:
    31 October, 2018 at 9:15 pm

“I think we’re winning and if anyone should be having a “down” day everyday then it’s the opponents of Independence. They have most to lose and much to worry about.”

The opponents of independence are having a field day as the gutless Nicola and SNP give in to their every demand without any resistance.

Rock (27th August 2017 – “Underneath the Goodyear blimp”):

“Scotland was on the verge of independence immediately after the Brexit vote.

The unionist parties were without leaders and completely lost, the SNP had 56 out of 59 MPs and 50% of the vote, the EU’s eyes were (favourably) on Scotland.

But Nicola squandered a once in a 1000 years golden opportunity by wasting more than a year flogging a dead horse – a separate deal for Scotland which was never going to happen.

The result: Nicola outsmarted by the collusion between Saints Theresa and Ruth on one hand, and Corbyn on the other, fall in SNP support from 50% to 37%.

It is my prediction that there will be a “snap” Brexit and the SNP will be caught napping and unable to hold a second independence referendum.

Or another “snap” Westminster election with the SNP again losing support.

Despite the pretendy “sovereignty” and boasting of the clueless pompous armchair pundits posting here, Scotland is again as far away from independence as ever.

If they succeed in neutralising the Rev. Stuart Campbell and WOS, independence will be “stone dead” for at least 620 years.”

57. Cactus

Here’s a timely reminder fur ye brothers and sisters of Scotland:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zApQRWFNo_k

Check out the time-signal. 🙂

The re-beginning…

Our Scotland.

HAME.

X.

58. Ian Mackay

Couldn’t tell the difference between the George Deary ‘News where you are’ piece and Reporting Scotland.

Except of course the George Deary segment had higher production values.

59. sandy

OT.
    Listening to Hearts v Hibs.

There has been talk of alcohol being available at Scottish football grounds. If this game is anything to go by, NO WAY.

At the expense of genuine supporters, this must not be allowed. Unfortunately, football attracts the shit of the day. The real supporters must be protected.

What now, James “I will not sit down” Kelly.

60. Bob Mack

@ Robert J Sutherland,

Well to be fair, everybody bar the SNP are doing something.

61. Thepnr

Just smell the fear hahahaha.

62. theturnipman

wooooowoooohoooowoooo

63. Robert J. Sutherland

Rock @ 21:17,

Take your stupid wee hoops, pretendy ringmeister, and stick them where the sun don’t shine.

You’re so miserable and predictable, the day before we get our independence, you’ll still be whinging on about your “622 years”, quoting some of your past inane commments and making pathetic demands.

Oh, and you will probably still be grumbling the day after as well, saddo, while the rest of us are together celebrating.

64. yesindyref2

@RJS
    There’ll be nobody there to read him for days, he can quote himself silly and fill the forum with his hollow hollow hollow bollo

65. frogesque

@ The prickly one!

Aye pilgrim, the one word they fear almost as much as ‘independence’ is ‘crowdfunder’ Much was learnt from the Frenchgate Carmichael affair.

Just like shout of hunners and a pile on.

66. Cactus

That be true Yes and here be for ye, a wee shanty frae the Gutt:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhXGjWRMz5M

An alternative kind of ship of fools.

Monkey magic!

Be Winged.

Fly.

67. Brian Doonthetoon

HI Robert J. Sutherland at 9:42 pm.

You typed,

“Rock @ 21:17,

Take your stupid wee hoops, pretendy ringmeister, and stick them where the sun don’t shine.”

I gave up on Rock mumfs an’ mumfs ago. Scroll past. You won’t miss anything of any importance. She or he is a nonentity, seeking exposure. The same stuff being pasted daily. Why bother reading vomit?

68. yesindyref2

@allyeindyhopefulsupporters
    Don’t forget the SNP ring-fenced their last Indy fundraiser, I think there’s about £450,000 sitting in it ready and raring to go, and Indy Ref 2 is likely to be fast and furious. SIC at over £51,000 now: thisisit.scot/

Speaking of which (fast and furious), we came back from Aberdeen on the Citylink Gold (bus passes), wow. Comfy seats, sat in the singles on either side the table rather than the 2. Free hot or soft drinks and nibbles. Lovely attendant. On Sunday. Didn’t care in the slightest it was busy from Aberdeen, there was a queue in Dundee, another one at the Broxden and we were a half-hour late, thought it was just the good weather until I thought “ah, fussball”. Mmm. Then the free bus from Buchanan Street to Central wasn’t running because of the filming. Oh well. Got to see some cars, buses (one saying Hyde Park Corner), lorries parked in random places.

Onwards and upwards – fastly and furiously 🙂

69. Robert J. Sutherland

Rock @ 21:22,

OMG, have you learnt nothing? Liking the YooKay Union to the 1000-year Reich will get you in all kinds of desperate trouble. =laugh=

70. Rock

Robert J. Sutherland says:
    31 October, 2018 at 9:42 pm

“the day before we get our independence, you’ll still be whinging on about your “622 years”,”

Give a date before 622 years when you think the next independence referendum will be held.

That is before 2640 AD.

71. Robert J. Sutherland

Bob Mack @ 21:25,

To make a boxing analogy, you don’t judge a fight by one swing. And nobody throws punches with both arms at the same time.

And nobody complains it’s a poor show.

To quote an old Aberdeenshire saying (and no offence intended) “nivver let feels and bairns see a job hauf-deen”.

72. Reluctant Nationalist

“If they can’t run, they rap.”

Lmao

73. Robert J. Sutherland

Brian Doonthetoon @ 21:52,

Hi Brian. You are perfectly right of course, and normally I do just that. Sometimes though I just can’t resist a poke or two. I’m only human. =grin=

74. frogesque

Rock, been on the sauce tonight, feeling mellow, so do fuck off dear boy.

You don’t like SNP, The National or any rational move for Indy.

Stop being negative, get out with your flag, find a bridge or roundabout or any place where there is good visibility with passing folk and go play with the traffic.

If it’s a Saltire I garantee a great reception, if a butchers apron expect a very lonely time.

That is all.

75. Elmac

Posted a comment at 5.45 which is still showing as being in moderation. Repeated this at 10.20 with alterations to any possible sensitive words and again it is held in moderation. No feedback at all. Seems to be a total waste of time. Don’t think I’ll bother for a while.

76. Reluctant Nationalist

Elmac, it might be because you misspelled your username or email.

77. Jim

O/T The Call Kay with an E show, the one on tuesday about the higher rate of tax, they actually had someone on about self employed people and how they could avoid paying tax in Scotland with something to do with dividends so they could pay tax at the UK rate instead of the Scottish rate.

So, does the BBC now advocate people avoiding paying Their tax tax in Scotland which in turn harms the country they actually live in.

Also, they were talking about high earners leaving Scotland because of the difference, I mean, where would they go?

They would have to leave the job they have in Scotland, get another job in England paying the same money, get housing, a place in School for their kids if they have any.

They would have to pay for those childrens higher education, prescription charges, the list goes on, is it really worth it just to get one over the SNP.

No, nobody is going to leave.

78. shagpile

@ Mack-the-knife…

You can debate with me here:

https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/ourscotland/index.php

You would not be the first vegetable I have encountered.

When you register, you will see that.

Oh, your ego. I know you were telling porkies right away.

I am fully for independence. You? Not sure. Why would you attack a well known Independentista otherwise?

A vegetable is just another plant.

79. Bob Mack

@Shagpile,

I’m sure you are somebody who will make your Mark in life—-probably an X where it says signature.

80. Elmac

Re Reluctant Nationalist @ 10.34pm

Thanks for suggestion but the fields are auto fill and my post at 10.24 showed up OK. Must be something I said but it’s a mystery.

81. Robert J. Sutherland

shagpile @ 22:42,

Try re-reading the rules of engagement here, please. This isn’t meant to be a personal slag-fest. Otherwise we might start questioning your motives.

Bob is just feeling sore and needing a (virtual) hug, not a slug.

82. Bob Mack

@Robert J Sutherland,

I’m feeling all “rockabye baby on the tree top” now. Thanks.

83. Hamish100

I think the revs alter ego is rock.

Or Ruth Davidson !

84. Brian Forrest

Sorry…I love Wings… but these videos just don’t cut it for me. trying too hard, maybe..?
    I just don’t know. Not for me.

85. Robert Peffers

@Bob Mack says: 31 October, 2018 at 7:04 pm:

” … Ever tried hollowing out a neep? Pumpkin easier.

Are you kidding? I’m well into my 80s. The trick with the neep is to cut the top of then take out the first bit in the centre top with a very, very sharp knife. Then get to work with a desert spoon but don’t try to take out too big a slice at a time. The slice being taken needs to be thin enough to curl from the big spoon.

simples.

86. Dr Jim

It takes skill time and muscle to hollow out a Neep and if you start work about 4 days beforehand you can have a fine example of a failure completed by Halloween, of course we didnae buy them then we went over the fields and stole them fae the sheep, same wae rhubart for yer puddins wae custard, nom nom nom

We used to get really big Neeps then, now they’re all toty wee miserable yins, ah whatever happened to the good old days of the cut fingers and sair knuckles but oh the pride in the finished article as you tried to light the conle while burnin yer fingers

87. Cubby

It is very sad and disappointing to see ” the cringe” on display by SNP members and supporters of independence.

If it is still there in Independence supporters just think how strong it is in no voters.

More independence supporters need to behave as belonging to an independent nation and recognise when they are cringing.

88. Ghillie

Good to see the boys back doing what they do best =)

Robert Peffers, and then you’re all set for the haggis, neeps and tatties – the neeps being the hardest part to prepare! You’re so right about that Bob Mack! 🙂

Thepnr @ 9.15 pm Thanks! Fair cheered me up 🙂

The more the mighty establishment in its many guises hurl porkies and false propaganda at Scotland the stronger I have to stand. Unwittingly, they are training me for what lies ahead. And the lies that lie ahead.

And it is Wings and Wingers, you know who you are =), who keep the down days to a tiny minimum 🙂

Hey Cactus! Fun links 🙂

Onwards and upwards folks =)

89. Thepnr

@Ghillie

Cheers, pop over to Off Topic anytime you need uplifting 🙂

90. Nana

Links

https://www.gov.scot/news/gdp-growth-confirmed/

http://www.barrheadboy.com/loyalty-is-a-two-way-thing/

https://news.gov.scot/news/embargoed-until-2000-on-31-oct-getting-the-best-possible-outcome-for-scottish-fishermen

Deidre Brock questioning the UK’s farming minister where he admits that the UK kept EU money that was meant for Scottish farmers and used it to top up cash for England because their money was cut
    So basically stealing from Scots as usual
    Video here
    https://twitter.com/DeidreBrock/status/1057677932733313026

91. Nana

Well it is out there now, tory MP Andrew Bowie expresses regret for the existence of two Governments in Scotland. Which one do you think he would like to abolish?
    https://twitter.com/broadcastscot/status/1057683418266460161

https://stv.tv/news/scotland/1432391-scottish-school-pupils-overwhelmed-by-nazi-death-camp/

So November 21st Scotland will start to formulate timing on #indyref2 – regardless of the timing the campaign and arguments for Independence are for now.
    https://twitter.com/AngusMacNeilSNP/status/1057679274340216833

https://www.pharmacy.biz/uk-faces-drugs-shortage-post-brexit-unless-mhra-takes-responsibility-for-licensing-committee-warned/

92. Nana

He should name them!
    http://archive.is/uQyqL

I live among the neo-Nazis in eastern Germany. And it’s terrifying
    http://archive.is/187tn

Theresa May out-hawks ‘Mad Dog’ Mattis, refuses to back US calls for Saudi Arabia-Yemen ceasefire
    https://www.rt.com/uk/442777-yemen-may-trump-saudi/

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/france-underlines-support-for-ireland-on-border-issue-1.3681946

93. Dr Jim

A poll to execute all Scots eh

The Scottish British nationalists would probably welcome that because they’d think it doesn’t include them because they’re only proudly Scottish but *Fiercely British* so they’ll not be included in the executing it’ll just be us *Real Scots* who can’t really be real because we’re not *Fierce* enough but murdery stuff should apply anyway because we’re not them

I need a lawyer to work out who I am to avoid the murdering

94. Breeks

Nana says:
    1 November, 2018 at 7:22 am

So November 21st Scotland will start to formulate timing on #indyref2 – regardless of the timing the campaign and arguments for Independence are for now.
    https://twitter.com/AngusMacNeilSNP/status/1057679274340216833

Start to formulate timing?

My head is in my hands. We have 148 days left to save our Nation from Brexit. Start formulating that.

95. Breeks

Next election I’m going to vote for a lettuce. It’ll put more bite into Holyrood.

96. Stravaiger

@Nana,

Yes, that poll is really there.

97. Hamish100

So London financial sector may have a deal.
    Dup deal
    Gibraltar deal
    Cyprus deal

Scotland get stuffed. Tories in Scotland celebrate.

98. Nana

Thought I should look elsewhere for details on the so called financial deal

Deal or no deal on financial services? Pound up on reports of a deal, conmen in government and conmen in the media!

see here
    https://twitter.com/SamuelMarcLowe/status/1057896958512259073

99. Ottomanboi

The SNP should be careful re socalled People’s Vote. It is essentially an English proposition. Wishart and Neil are correct in that it might be used to delay and frustrate independence. Too much time has been wasted as a result of bad strategies. PV looks like another one.
    The SNP is not there to prop up the British Unionist state or its political agencies. Their ‘mess’ ought to be our opportunity.

100. Nana

@Stravaiger

I didn’t want to believe such a poll existed.
    I’m struggling to get my thoughts together.

101. Ken500

No matter how frustrating and annoying, if Scotland is not including in another EU Ref it is denying people in Scotland their democratic right. It also legitimising even further another Indy Ref. After all the lies, deceit and broken promises. If there can be another EU Ref, there can be another Indy Ref. There are reports of support for Remain in Scotland being even higher. 83%? The vote could be even higher for Remain. Legitimising Scotland’s right to remain in the EU and another Indy Ref. With EU support.

The Scottish Gov can once again appeal to ECHR and the UN about the lack of democracy in Scotland and self determination. Especially if Westminster tries to take away Scotland’s limited powers, Holyrood was only set up, with as limited powers as possible, because of pressured by people in Scotland, the EU and UN authorities because of the total lack of Democracy and self determination of Scotland within the UK.That still exists today.

Scotland has only become more successful because of Devolution 2000 and a SNP majority Government. That has changed Scotland’s fortunes and future. Independence will make Scotland more prosperous. If Scotland gets better off so does the rest of the UK. The population of Scotland has only increased since Devolution 2000. It stagnant since 1928, and before, because of lack of economic development under Westminster secret and illegal misappropriation and mismanagement of Scottish resources. Kept secret under the Official Secrets Act for years.

Iraq, Dunblane and Lockerbie kept secret for 100 years.

Scotland still loses £Billions from Westminster mismanagement and useless incompetence. Illegal wars, tax evasion and financial fraud. Scotland would be £Billions better off. Not making repayments on loans not borrowed or spent in Scotland. Oil & Gas not taxed at 40% (when the price is lower). Higher Oil prices puts up the price of fuel and energy. Scotland loses £3Billion in tax evasion. Whisky companies tax evade and pay no tax on vast profits from Scottish resources.

Westminster took CAP payments intended for Scottish farmers. As part of the UK Scotland receives the lowest CAP payments, The Tories think it is funny. Westminster mismanagement has ruined the fishing industry. Fisherman have over fished the sea and thrown dead fish back for years Instead of using biggger nets with better terms and conditions, like Norway. The Scottish sector need foreign Labour. Multimillionaires destroying their own industry and telling lies. It is not the EU who caused the decline of stocks. It was their actions, Fishing, farming, whisky, Oil & Gas sector have been mismanaged by Westminster ignorant incompetence for years.

EU menbership costs Scotland nothing and just brings benefits. Largest nearst market etc. Better social Laws. EU grants and investment for renewables etc. Bringing in £Billions. The Wave companies are leaving Scotland because of Westminster ignorant policies of not investing in renewables. Another initiative lost. Yet Scottish funds will be used for Hinkley Point snd HS2. The worst PPI scheme on the planet. The Tory/unionist slush fund of no value. £Billions times more costly of other alternatives. With massive unafforable running costs. They will be subsidised for years.

Shared EU Defence costs and agreements saves £Billions on Defence. Brexit will be a complete and utter disaster and the Tory unionists know it. Cameron, Clegg and Osbourne knew they were ruining the economy when they agree to an EU Ref to pacify the Tories, An Act of self destruction, Now troughing elsewhere multimillionaires while vunerable people are being sanctioned and starved because of their total and utter greed andincompetence.

There will be another GE soon. Labour certainly do not want the poison chalice always voting with the Tories, A totally useless shower of ignorant incompetents. The lot of them, Thank goodness for the SNP standing up for Scotland.

102. Macart

@Nana

Thanks Nana. Fair old selection, but standout is the fishing piece and for all the obvious reasons. The possibility of the FS deal also brings Ms May’s blind Brexit deal a wee bit closer. Now all she has to do is get it past the DUP, her own brexiters and parliament. Not necessarily in that order. 😎

103. galamcennalath

Nana says

https://petewishart.wordpress.com/2018/10/31/why-we-should-be-wary-of-this-peoples-vote/

I mostly agree with what Pete says. Nicola has already said, I believe, that we need caveats respecting Scotland’s view, which will be Remain.

I’m more concerned about the idea that we normalise second confirmatory votes.

Also, Alyn Smith also pointed out that a hard border between an England out of the single market and a Scotland within will be the big BritNat argument next time. Still, a solution for Ireland must be found and that should/could apply to Scotland.

His caught my attention, though ….

” there are the celebrities like Bob Geldof …. who couldn’t be more strident in their opposition to independence.”

Surely not! Geldof is IRISH.

104. Robert Peffers

@Cubby says: 1 November, 2018 at 2:17 am:

” … It is very sad and disappointing to see ” the cringe” on display by SNP members and supporters of independence.

Have you any scientific evidence for such a claim, Cubby?

Can you cite some evidence your claim is anything more than your own personal opinion that this actually exists?

Can you, perhaps, cite some examples of this, “disappointing Cringe”, and how it is exhibiter, so we unscientific supporters of independence may be able to recognise it in the victims?

How can we deal with it if we cannot recognise it in the hapless victims of this dreadful syndrome?

Personally I am far more worried by those who claim to support independence but who never stop criticising the only political party with the faintest hope of ever achieving independence and who seem to me to be either anti-SNP, anti-SG and urging people to make the greatest form of tactical errors that have historically lost more battles, both political and miliarial, than that advised by the World’s greatest acknowledged tacticians.

The advice to, “Hold your fire until you see the whites of their eyes”, is a proven winning strategy. The accounts of a far superior force being defeated by a smaller, but better drilled and better disciplined force, are legion.

Ever read an account of the Robert Bruce victory of, Old Byland?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Old_Byland

Accounts of this battle are hard to find because, “They don’t want you to know that”, attitudes by the British/English nationalist establishment.

Accounts usually go under several different names to make searches difficult and many fail to state that the Scots force was tiny and those of England very large. However, Byland was just one of many such encounters in the Scottish Wars of Independence. The point that Scotland’s population was always a fraction of the that of the three country Kingdom of England is always glossed over.

Yet the entire Wars of Independence were won by the Scots with vastly inferior numbers but much better discipline. The very worst thing that could happen to defeat Scottish independence is to attempt, by any means, to prematurely gain independence but to have the attempt fail.

The YES movement would be totally destroyed and might never recover. I say that as one who has spent just under 70 years of indy activity. We will fail if we do not heed the dedication of our leadership and I have grave doubts about the motives of those who are over critical of the very people who have brought us so close now to independence. Just what do such detractors hope to achieve if not premature action?

105. Ken500

Best wishes Grouse beater. One of the best writers ever, especially on Scottish Affairs. An encyclopaedia of knowledge and experience. Extremely entertaining and witty. Keep on, keep on blogging and commenting. Don’t let the bastards get you down.Still winning on a wing and a pray, If you need any donations for anything, especially legal action. Just set up the fund asap.

Keep on blogging and commenting, always, Freedom of speech will not be defeated by lying sychophants or the ignorant ‘Press’. Trying to destroy democracy.

Thanks Rev Stu and Nanna etc for all you do and everyone else. Thanks a Billion.

106. Dave McEwan Hill

So the UK goes to a “Peoples Vote”. And the SNP opposes it?
    Get real.

A “Peoples Vote” (I have no idea what other form of vote there is) may indeed present unintended and not reliably useful consequence for the SNP. The possibility however is potentially creating political havoc down south. In the balance there is no way we can say no to one.

Nicola has already indicated we would support one – with serious caveats.

I am more concerned however waiting for us to start a full on independence campaign.

107. mike cassidy

Michel Barnier on 6th December 2016.

Well worth a hindsight-influenced read.

108. mike cassidy

And here’s the link!

http://archive.is/N5aDW

109. Cubby

Robert Peffers@8.55am

Mr Peffers, thank you very much for your comments. I will of course give them the respect they deserve. I commend you for your near 70 years of supporting Scottish independence. Thanks also for all your historical information over the years. Very enlightening and informative.

With regards to your comments about the need to hold fast and not go prematurely does this mean Alex Salmond was wrong to hold indyref in 2014? I would be interested in your opinion on this. I have always been content to let the SNP leadership decide when to call any referendum. That is their job and their responsibility.

110. jfngw

Looks likely the Record may be having to finance two cases against independence bloggers, the owners will be wondering what type of cretin the editor is. Most of the MSM keep the accusations at the innuendo level so they can’t be sued, the Record seems to have problems recruiting someone with those abilities.

It is telling that it is only independence supporters that are having to sue, I’m sure someone on here was telling us it was now more balanced on indy, doesn’t look like it from my viewpoint. It is the print version of Reporting Scotland, although the BBC being the BBC they probably see themselves as more Scotsman.

Although the Rev is reporting the Record story has been obliterated from it’s site, not checked as I will not tarnish my cookie cache with their site, but indicates, I suspect, they know they are screwed. Too late of course, it is all over the internet, they can’t actually remove it.

111. Fred

@ Nana, superb contribution by the Barrhead Boy, many thanks!

112. Nana

Tory MSP @AnnieWellsMSP to be suspended from the Scottish Parliament for 5 days for leaking Equalities Committee report on prisoner voting. Unanimous recommendation of Standards Committee
    https://twitter.com/STVColin/status/1057931910469615616

There have been revolutions for less

The Sovereign Grant – the money paid by the government to support the Queen in her royal duties is going up. Again.
    Last year the figure was 76.1m – this year it’ll go up to an eye-watering £82.4 million.
    The size of the grant is usually 15% of the government’s income from Crown Estates.
    But last year she got a 10 year boost to 25% to pay for essential refurbishment of Buckingham Palace.

England’s schools
    https://edition.independent.co.uk/editions/uk.co.independent.issue.011118/data/8611131/index.html

113. Nana

Morning Macart, I thought you might be resting today 🙂

114. Valerie

Re the People’s Vote debate.

It’s just another diversion from the main event. You notice Tories of all shades are pretty quiet about it? That’s because they know it’s not happening, so let the Remoaners march etc.

I posted a good article from the Constitutional Unit recently. Very well written, but basically there is no time to implement a 2nd referendum. At least not without extending A50.

Think about it from the Tory position, they must all be agreed by now Brexit has to get over the line, regardless of a Deal or not.

We are coming out, the only question is whether they take fright over NI, and food supplies, and soften on SM for a while. The Tories look pretty perky these days.

There is now £4billion earmarked for Brexit prep. We are hearing of a flotilla of ferries just awaiting purchase, Raab even spoke of refrigerated warehouses for the live medicines. Work has started on the Kent lorry park. The evidence being given at Commons committees is all about how much on target they are etc.

As usual, you will notice Corbyn has not backed the People’s Vote, so the Tories must be pleased with their lap dog.

115. auld highlander

£82.4 million for old lizzie to rattle around doing her ever diminishing trips eh? That could feed a fair few of her starving subjects.

116. Gaelstorm

If they sent this clip to Fox News, they’d be hired on the spot at vast salaries :-))

117. Nana

Standing room only for launch of Scotland for a #peoplesvote in #Edinburgh this morning with @KirstyS_Hughes @Scotland4pv #Brexit. #FBPE I’m proud to support this initiative as an @theSNP MP for reasons set out in thread below

https://twitter.com/joannaccherry/status/1057943395606372354

118. Nana

As Joanna Cherry mentions the Scottish case which seeks to establish that article 50 can be unilaterally revoked

Documents are now online
    see here

http://curia.europa.eu/juris/document/document.jsf

https://twitter.com/StevePeers/status/1057782552658874368

119. galamcennalath

I find myself waiting near a TV tuned to BBC news channel. This is something I rarely see these days.

What stands out soooo much is the way they keep saying “UK” when they should be saying “England and Wales”. No surprise, that’s among the reasons I gave up on it. However, I feel it’s actually worse than I recall.

A not-so-savvy Scot will listen to this stuff and think it means them.

120. Nana

Last links for today

https://peterabell.blog/2018/11/01/the-big-wolf-in-little-wolfs-clothing/

Edinburgh and Aberdeen ranked among top UK cities to live and work
    http://archive.is/lRqRa

121. galamcennalath

Nana says:

https://peterabell.blog/2018/11/01/the-big-wolf-in-little-wolfs-clothing/

” A vote for British Labour in Scotland is not a vote for ‘something different’. It is not a vote for change. It is not a vote for progress. It is a vote for the British state. It is a vote for British rule. It is a vote for the British Nationalist ‘One Nation’ project “

… and there are voters in Scotland who actually want that. Fair enough, that’s democracy.

But as Peter points out BLiS go to great lengths to hide what they really are, and what they really stand for. They pretend to be ‘Scottish’ and pretend to act for Scotland.

Of all the current notions floating around, is the idea that Corbyn’s Labour is any different. Those lefty pundits who fall for it are being completely duped. Or are really closet BritNats.

122. jfngw

@galamcennalath

The UK brand was something that was signalled by Theresa May in a speech, which unfortunately I cannot find, from 2016/17. She effectively made a play for a single united country. From that date of this speech we had BBC Oneness, Union Flags plastered on everything and the rebranding of Scottish produce.

There is no doubt that this is a government initiative to denigrate the devolved Nations and remove their identity. The longer term plan is to reduce, possibly close, the devolve assemblies. I suspect they will keep them but make them effectively powerless, as they were supposed to be.

123. Ken500

Politicians are actually being prosecuted for illegal funding of campaigns. If they are convicted. It might be a warning to others. Not be so easily swept under the carpet. Electoral Laws being broken with impunity. From where did the illegal ‘dark’ money come? Still not answered.

More football violence and abuse. More disgrace. Racist, misogynists, bigots and paedos running the Clubs. No wonder the terraces are empty. Illegal sectarianism. Condoned by some political Parties. When is action going to be taken by those involved?

124. Dr Jim

Annie Wells Tory MSP faces possible suspension for leaking information

Miss Wells has pleaded learning difficulties in her defence

That’s bound to work!

125. galamcennalath

Almost boked over my dashboard!

A Mini with butcher’s apron patterned tail lights!

What next? UKOK branded red, white, and blue stripy traffic lights?

126. Albert Herring

@galamcennalath

That’s the Germans taking the piss!

127. Giving Goose

OT

Here’s a link to a piece in the Huffington Post from 2012.
    It’s titled “What Would British Fascism Look Like?”

https://tinyurl.com/ya3xuhal

Although a work of fiction, some of it is very recognisable and currently in place and a familiar part of UK society.

Interesting to note that the GMB, Labour and others in Scotland appear to be completely comfortable with Scotland being immersed in this hell.

128. Baldeagle58

galamcennalath says:

1 November, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Almost boked over my dashboard!

A Mini with butcher’s apron patterned tail lights!

What next? UKOK branded red, white, and blue stripy traffic lights?

Yep, I saw one of these several weeks ago, and couldn’t quite believe it either…..
    Ironic, considering that the ‘British’ Mini is now made by BMW!! 🙂

129. Valerie

@ galamcennalath

That constant UK bombardment is getting worse, it complements the rebranding of Scottish goods and food.

There is no question the broadcasters have their orders to step up the “One Nation” project.

As an aside, met a guy I’ve chatted to for years (fellow dogowner). Short story – he was moaning about “London” rule. I of course trotted out the solution.

He actually came out with “too wee, not enough money etc” I think my mouth was hanging open, but I managed to reel off some facts, told him to check etc.

I know for a fact, I have delivered, over the years, and just two weeks ago, all the SNP literature to this guy.

This guy is an amputee, aged around 60, who has to work shifts, to pay his mortgage.

Our message is not cutting through, this guy was stuck way back in time.

130. heraldnomore

Here’s Neil Findlay, on GB’s blog…

131. jfngw

Neil Findlay demanding people be suspended for retweeting. This from a party that won’t suspend those elected party members that actually utter bigoted and racist remark, not just retweet links to blogs.

They are not interested in justice it’s just a party political move. They hope to cover up their woeful manipulation of union members by one of their own trade union party member.

It won’t work, we see their game.

132. Robert Peffers

@Cubby says: 1 November, 2018 at 9:57 am:

” … With regards to your comments about the need to hold fast and not go prematurely does this mean Alex Salmond was wrong to hold indyref in 2014? I would be interested in your opinion on this.”

Indeed he was wrong, Cubby, as the failure to win proves. However, hindsight is a wonderful thing as is learning from your mistakes. On the face of it, and going by opinion polls, Alex honestly thought the time was right. It wasn’t as hindsight proves.

Lessons have been learned however and there are several of those lessons – not least the lesson that opinion polls are not to be trusted and are misused by Westminster, not to judge the public’s opinion but to manipulate it.

That particular function of opinion polls has very much increased since Indy1. However, there were several other lessons learned and one of them is to never trust Westminster.

Also, these things are a two way leaning process and Westminster has been learning also. We already see much evidence of that today. Which is why the SG/SNP are far more careful and will take far fewer chances now.

Like everything else it is counter productive to actively campaign against your own leadership as is evidenced by the decline in the unionist parties in Scotland or the Tory party in the United Kingdom. I expect we are soon to see a new Tory leader if not a general election.

133. Fred

@ Galam, ditto with the tail-lights!

Pete Wishart makes a good case against supporting the Peoples Vote & Lesley Riddoch in the National puts a persuasive case for backing it. If (big if!) Scotland backs this & thwart the Brexiteers by a narrow vote, Scots interference could be responsible for keeping the English majority in the EU against their wishes while wanting to leave the UK anyhow . We’ve already voted so is this now our business? All hell will doubtless break-oot but possibly that will be running on a loop for the next 20 years in any case when the Land of Hope & Glory generation have gone up the lum & commonsense prevails.

134. Thepnr

“Scots interference could be responsible for keeping the English majority in the EU against their wishes”

I think then they’d throw us out of the UK LOL

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.