Points Into Prongs
You might think you’ve heard this tired old song before.
But wait! This one’s streamlined! Come back!
Where there were once 11 points, now there are three prongs. Here they are.
Need it even shorter?
(1) “Build support for independence!” Because you’re so good at that.
(2) Whine that it’s all so unfair. Another proven-success tactic.
(3) “Please vote for the same people who’ve failed for the last decade again. Maybe they’ll somehow magically get better very suddenly, even though they’re just going to keep doing the same stuff we already know doesn’t work.”
(Or in the First Minister’s case, two decades.)
But good news! 10 years after the indyref, we’re almost at the starting line!
We’ve already treated it with more respect than it deserves. Let’s leave it there.
All this for the hard of thinking.
It’s any other Indy party for me in John Swinneys constituency and Alba vote 2. It’s the only way to reduce the unionist vote in the list.
Ian I’m in Swinney’s constituency too and this latest announcement confirming no Independence convention and not making it a plebiscite election in 26 has made me decide the same as you.
I’ll do Alba 2 – do you know if we are likely to get a liberate candidate because I’ll go down that track too. Greens are snowflakes who also have no plans for independence.
He should be reported to the Electoral Commission for (on-going) voter fraud.
#VoteSwindler
Give me strength!
Jesus suffering Christ, just *how stupid do they think people are?
“Just *how stupid do they think people are?”
Since they’ve won elections for the last two decades using the same claims, 1) they think people are very stupid, and 2) they may be correct in their assessment of voters.
Begone Unionist foul sprite; your lot are just as bad, just trailing behind a little, but the rot and deviancy is well set in all the same, just hiding behind better funded PR.
BTW; Did you hear about the £9m £6m House of Lords door that doesn’t work?
Crazy eh?
Maybe tomorrow we can chat about WMs announced (heavily truncated) HS2s “annual” £6bn UNFORSEEN overspend for years ahead?
Wow eh?!?
Anyway; Can’t blame people for wanting to escape from a sinking tub, they can’t be blamed for the lies and ulterior motives of the “false prophets” as I believe religions refer to suchlike..
Very
Christ on a bike. Accusing the UK parties of ’empty words’ is the most hypocritical thing I will read for a long time.
The strategy for achieving independence is for me to carry on in my cushy job as first minister and we’ll worry about that other thing later. Nobody saw that coming did they!
So swinney the ninny and the hapless health minister have confidence in Fife health board
who engaged a woman as Equalities lead who is not sure if she is a woman as “she has not had her chromosomes tested” and signs off her emails as LGBT ally
So Fife health board are in tune with ms sturgeon’s crap
This is why snp gov will never get indeyref2 -the gender woo woo stuff infuriates a large portion of the population
Scotland will be free when the last SNP minister is strangled by the last copy of The National.
Haha!! Very good, Cuphook!
Cuphook
The late Tom Nairn Would surely approve your update of his famous comment, “Scotland will never be free until the last minister is strangled by the last copy of the Sunday Post.”
Although Nairn was talking about ministers not of the Crown but of the Kirk, since Holy Swinney’s prayer hasn’t a hope, your version works too.
Thanks for this, Cynicus – I thought Cup hook was updating Diderot. It is even better to know of the more recent version. Long may it be remembered for such apposite use as today.
Swinney is just a rotten figurehead riddled with woodworm.
The SNP”s direction changed away from Independence under Sturgeon, but you have to understand something… Sturgeon was rotten, but her ascension to leadership wasn’t the damage, but actually success for the betrayers determined to undermine Scotland. Getting one of these useless dunces elected is a symptom, not the actual affliction itself. Those old enough to remember will note that “dunces” are not specific to any party.
Scotland was breaking loose under the exceptional Mr Salmond, but with Sturgeon installed, control was reinstated, and the Establishment put Scotland back in its box. Isn’t that the definition of a coup? A type of coup anyway…
It’s the “Western” way. If events in a country are moving against the Establishment, then affect Regime Change via coup, electoral interference or indoctrinating media, and install a docile idiot of choice who is reliably obedient. Crisis averted.
The curiosity for me is the nature of that malignant Establishment. Is it “just” a UK Establishment? A Western conglomerate Establishment? The Zionist Establishment which apparently owns Washington? Or is Scotland’s subjugation just a trinket in wider geopolitical horse trading? What is the nature of the Establishment which requires Scotland tamed?
In 2016, General Wesley Clarke revealed the plan for Zionist America to overthrow 7 Arab Governments in five years. They’re behind schedule, but their record is 6/7 so far, and they’re at war with No7. I wonder, is there a General, or maybe a clerk at the Pentagon with a book of contingencies for Scotland in the event of ahem, “instability”? Are we Scots “diffused” and regime changed before we ever get going?
Who benefits from Scottish Independence versus who loses out from Scottish Independence is a much more important exercise to be done than checking Swinney’s teeth. He’s a dud, and we all know it. So was Yousaf. So was Sturgeon. So was Kate Forbes. Ooops, jumping the gun there.
Who, specifically, profits from Scotland’s oil? Who sits at the other end of the seesaw which fails whenever Scotland thrives? We need names…. We need talks.
If our enemy is only Westminster, then how do we go above Westminster’s head and to the International Community? Or, more likely, I think the Westminster Establishment is just a “chapter” in the greater Western Establishment, which is a subsidiary of the stateless Establishment who covet control over all things. Do I give them too much credit? Maybe, but can’t lie, it’s nice to see BRICS making them sweat.
It would pay Scotland to discover the precise nature of the parasite afflicting us. Know the companies getting rich on Scotlands resources, know who owns what real estate in Scotland, be able to name the gate keepers and physically “see” the matrix which so reliably delivers Scotlands subjugation and stymies Scotland’s self interest.
If Scotland is a pawn in the scheme of things, then who has the power to reposition us?
Awkward questions I know, yet here we go again, an election coming, and we’re trying to warm up Independence with the seemingly perennial problem of dull non-entity firmly ensconced in Scotland’s driving seat… No plan, no co-ordination, no engagement with Independentists; As seems like forever, Scotland doomed to exist, not as the uppity Regime that needs to be changed, but the regime that just was changed, and newest crop of useful idiots and Gauleiters successfully installed.
Never was a nation so thoroughly subdued. What factory produces this endless supply of ("Tractor" - Ed)s? What teaches people to be Unionists and crave the subjugation of their kind? Why are we so collectively dumb?
Spot on Breeks! Swinney the SNP and its snivelling apologists believe we are all as moribund as that organisation has become.
With you on BRICS, that is THE gamechanger coming up on the inside.
“Many people still do not have a clear understanding of what the SNP stands for.”
I would have to respectfully disagree with Mr Swiney on this one, I fear. It seems crystal clear to many of us that the SNP since 2014 has stood for obfuscation, weasel words, self privilege and entitlement combined with an absolutely staggering degree of detatchment from the needs and views of the electorate who have afforded them their enviable salaries, expense accounts and heavily subsidised wining and dining.
@sven
You missed out the hated gender woo woo stuff
Andrew scott @ 12.00.
I was just lumping that particular eccentricity under their degree of detachment from both the electorate and reality, Andrew.
However, I’m delighted to add it to the ever growing list of shortcomings so enthusiastically embraced by our proven failure as SNP Leader and First Minister, ably supported by a group of MSPs whom I’m sure could be viewed as being as at home in the Monster Raving Loony Part as the SNP, if they were only a wee bit more sensible.
From the makers of ‘We lie for money’ ‘Give us your kids’ and ‘Men in dresses’ comes the amazing…
“New! improved! Triple action super carrot!
But wait, there’s more!
For just two votes you get…USED ABUSED and even LIED TO!
This offer will always be repeated, so SEND MONEY NOW!
IT DOESN’T GET BETTER THAN THIS!”
Yeah right…can’t wait. Thanks
Nations that become independent always have a movement or party acting as a government-in-waiting, which knows (and articulates) exactly what it wants. It also has overwhelming popular support in its aims. When I look at Scotland in this regard I am frankly puzzled.
FFS Swinney, just go.
Forks are supposed to have 4 prongs.
We’re still forked, though.
Meanwhile over on the Herald…
John Swinney to ‘turn heat up’ on UK to force IndyRef2
John Swinney has pledged to “turn the heat up” on the UK Government to allow a second independence referendum as part of his latest strategy to achieve separation.
Writing in the National newspaper on Friday, the Scottish First Minister pledged to increase support for Scotland leaving the UK and stressed the importance of supporters of independence backing the SNP at next year’s Holyrood election.“
Swinney could not turn up the heat on his thermostat, let alone under Starmer who has a large majority.
The idea of Swinney setting the heather on fire amused me no end.
I suspect Swinney be told to go away in no uncertain terms, especially as his own strategy of gaining a mandate with a majority of MP’s in Scotland crashed and burned at the last General election.
So we will be back to treading water for a while to come, which will be the reality as Salvo/Liberation Scotland quixotic appeal to the UN will fail.
As under the current SNP leadership the Union will be safe for a while to come.
The only way out of this is to get rid of Swinney and his cabal, but that won’t be happening anytime soon.
Time to set the snooze button ready for 2026 and the Hollywood elections, as nothing will happen before then.
The saying goes that one cannot polish a turd. Nonsense! The National and Skanky Sturgeon’s Nonce Party have been polishing that same turd since she took over. That must be some sort of record. Anyone got the contact details for The Guinness Book of Records?
Professional politicians of all estlished parties continue to separate themselves from their traditional support base.
I can see Swinney greetin on the phone to Starmer today:
They jist dinnae unnerstan, Keirie baby. We’re the anes born tae rule. Why can’t they jist accept that?
Jesus-suffering-fuck (and I’m an atheist), even the Grifter-in-Chief, MacIntyre-Kemp has poured some cold water on this latest diatribe.
When even the usual cheerleaders like Ruth Wishart and Lesley Riddoch are decrying this absolute nonsense, its time to take the SNP ba awa and tell them they’re nae gettin to play ony mare!
Bumba Bumba bumbadee doo.
We’ve got another Indy for you.
A new day, week, month, year, it’s forever the same stale, regurgitated Section 30 blarney that we hear from the professional impostors in the Party of Independence. Expect an abysmally low turn-out next May. Scottish politics is on life-support.
Provost Swinney is “Ready to turn up the heat on Westminster” on Independence.
Anyone would think there must be a parish cooncil election looming.
Carrots, carrots, get your manky past their sell by date carrots!!
Does Swinney’s cunning plan involve a box of Scottish Bluebell Matches?
Aye, he’s a real firebrand of a political leader..
Even if, by some miracle, we managed to get independence through the SNP – or by anyone else, for that matter – the same embedded woke ordure will still be there, ready to infect everyone in an independent Scotland. Love a duck! It will not just be women and girls – which, let’s face it, for many would be an acceptable sacrifice to the woke gods. If these people are allowed to hang in there, in every public institution, in the Scottish civil service, in the police, in the law, and so on, the country will be run into the dust because they are useless with a capital ‘U’, as in U-bend (over). Everyone will be adversely affected – men, women, boys and girls. THIS is why they must be ousted BEFORE independence.
Kate Forbes will have to get herself a new wardrobe for the big day.
The BBC is falling over itself to tell us how Upset Upton cried and cried till he was sick.
“Dr Pitt outlined what happened on that night when she came across Dr Upton, saying she “looked very shaken, distressed and unsettled and visibly upset”. She added that “her demeanour was different from what it had been earlier on, looked quite pale and hyper aware, startled.”
She claimed that her colleague felt “very upset, felt fearful and cornered” with the conversation she had with Ms Peggie neing “very unpleasant and painful for her.” Dr Upton was also “sobbing” so Dr Pitt comforted him as he wouldn’t stop crying.
Dr Pitt also suggested that they leave the hospital together so the medic could get to his car as “she was feeling quite threatened at this stage.” Ms Peggie’s junior counsel Charlotte Elves grilled the consultant and pointed out the size discrepancy between Dr Upton and Ms Peggie and the fact she thought the incident was “serious” but didn’t report it to her higher-ups straight away.”
—————————————————–
link to scottishdailyexpress.co.uk
I am no supporter of the BBC but I believe they are just reporting what was said at Tribunal as also quoted in the Express.
The BbC used to be known as Aunty until it was revealed as a perverted old Uncle who the rest of the family don’t talk about.
He was SOBBING
big girls blouse(that’s the problem) -he is a six foot man +peggie much smaller
I suspect the whole thing was a sting/ set up and that he (Upton) was the chosen but willing stalking horse.
Nurse Peggie was clearly identified in advance as one to possibly react; so the strategy was to deliberately create the issue then go blubbering and greetin to them and those, some who, just may, mibbe, perhaps might even have known in advance the sort of thing that was going to go down at some point.
Twat Upton was and allowed himself to be used as bait.
Who’s behind and funding this?
Depersonalise this, our system is being played and sad characters like Upton are the willing martyrs. He knew what he was doing, to whom and clearly had been and still is being coached to create a legal “test case”, nothing less.
Pink dollars will be forthcoming to ensure he doesn’t lose out financially.
Peggie was pre-identified as the sacrificial lamb without a seconds thought, remorse, or care or to use their own blab talk “hurt feelings”.
They really are narcissistic c***s way beyond redemption.
I predict we’ll see more test cases as more acoloytes pile in to make normality “bad” until Swinney grows a pair and stops funding them.
Until that happens the SNPs majority at any election will be hamstrung.
Clowns, total clowns..
I just want to take a minute and have a little giggle. For me I left the SNP in 2015 after what Sturgeon said on her grand tour, when she was asked about another referendum, she said “we’ve just had a referendum and we lost, it wouldn’t be fair on the other side if we had another”. I realized then Sturgeon wasn’t going to give us Independence and have spent 11yrs trying to educate people to that fact. Today I had a look on the National to see what the faithful had been saying, sorry I meant to say deluded, reading to what people are saying its pitiful how grown people and educated ones at best have had the light turn on for the first time and there world has just come crashing down.
The question in the back of my mind will these who have just realized the SNP has been using them for the last 11yrs do anything about it, answer no.
On the day the votes come in form next year Holyrood election will be the best yet, something to look forward to.
One thing will be certain Scotland will still be in the Union until 2031 its a dead cert.
I’ve had my point at blaming the SNP and to be honest yes the SNP leadership has to take some of the blame, but if it was for these so called faithful Sturgeon supporters and those advocating two votes SNP, Scotland problems and the leadership failing are all down to you.
If the National was truly an Independence paper which it isn’t but if it was it would have a front page spread calling for John Swinney to resign and it isn’t, the national in union makes money without the union what would be the point in the national.
Exactly.
If Scotland ever achieves independence there will be no need for the National cheerleaders, nor for the SNP, who are only elected because the gullible believe they want independence, and will work to achieve it. The day after independence, there is no point in SNP, and their elected members will be kicked off the gravy train.
If people commenting in The National about Swinney being useless and lets remember these are the Sturgeon loyalist so It begs the question what does the general public think of him. The SNP might just be on course to mirror there Westminster election result in next years Holyrood election.
Swinney isn’t useless. Useless was the other one.
Swinney and previous SNP leaders since 2015 have been very effective at delaying independence, which is clearly their main purpose, as the Rev well illustrates, and as postcolonial theory confirms:
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
Could you be more precise?
There have been several useless other ones.
That’s 10 minutes I won’t ever see again.
“But I will also be urging people who were not persuaded of the merits of independence in 2014 to see the state of Britain today and take a different view.”
I believe those that were not persuaded of the merits of independence in 2014 will have seen the state of the SNP since 2014.
It’s a valid point, x. The state of Britain today should be all the evidence a competent Indy movement needs to drive Indy support to new highs.
The only reason this isn’t happening is the state of Indy today.
Compared one against the other, there’s nothing between them. Both Britain and Indy are in terminal decline under the current management teams.
If politics is fundamentally about people and personalities, as I believe, then it’s obvious that what Indy needs is a completely new set of people. Quite frankly, anybody still around who was around in the “good old days” aught to sling their hook for the good of the country and for Indy.
They are all discredited, yesterday’s men and women. Every last one. And that includes such semi-mythical figures as JC, etc.
They all had a shot. They all, in the final analysis, failed. Dump them and get in some fresh faces with new ideas.
“Nicola Sturgeon compared to Barack Obama in ‘sycophantic’ review of new book
Nicola Sturgeon was mocked after she was compared to Barack Obama in a review of her autobiography, Frankly. Despite her political career being littered with examples of her failing to remember key incidents, she has promised that her book will “candidly recount her interactions” as a politician.
It is set for release in August, and will be partnered with the former First Minister touring Scotland to tout it to her fans and supporters. She signed a lucrative deal with Pan Macmillan which included a £300,000 advance for her to write her memoirs.
The book is for sale on Amazon for £21.35 and has been accompanied with early reviews from some of her celebrity friends and political allies. Author and former neighbour Andrew O’Hagan supplied the most “sycophantic” of these by comparing Sturgeon to former US President Obama, who led the most powerful country in the world for two terms and helped to bring in health reforms while being credited with boosting the American economy.”
In comparison, Sturgeon led a devolved executive for nine years and failed to achieve much at all. She has previously said her biggest accomplishments were a baby box, an idea borrowed from Finland, and the Scottish Child Payment, which has failed to bring down child poverty as much as she promised.”
link to scottishdailyexpress.co.uk
—————————————————-
link to amazon.co.uk
The previews are all bullshit.
That’s a touch mean spirited, x.
You’re forgetting that for many years she held up half the sky (admittedly with some help).
And what decent country would ever turn against its national mammie anyway?
“the way to deliver independence is only with an emphatic SNP win in 2026”.
Goodbye indy. They never learn ?
Mark Beggan @ 4.33pm You posted: “Swinney isn’t useless.
You are quite correct, Swinney isn’t even competent enough to pass for useless.
As I have said on here before, re-appointing Swinney as Leader after the shambles of his first term was a clear sign of the collective madness within the ranks of the SNP’s ruling clique.
Alf Baird,
I would have thought you would have been the best person placed to continue Iain Lawsons blog, Welcome to Yours For Scotland. I did hope someone would have continued his site. He was a great man and I never thought I’d miss a Tory, he’s such a loss to our cause.
Sheesh… I only got halfway through the first paragraph and haz concerns Robin is morphing into Kelly Given…
link to robinmcalpine.org
link to wingsoverscotland.com
He was on holiday last year too… Back then I eagerly awaited a blog describing the family’s epic voyage to far-flung lands on a responsibly and sustainably sourced wooden boat powered through responsibly and sustainably sourced hemp sails tapping in to the earth’s natural winds.
It’s surely the only way to travel for a pusher of Net Zero / climate Armageddon bollox.
I mean, c’mon tae fuck, you surely wouldn’t take a fucking plane anywhere unless its engines were powered by all the flatulence you emitted from munching responsibly and sustainably sourced lentils.
It just shows the level of contempt this arsehole Swinney and his fellow lying scum noncers have for the people of Scotland when they feel able to regurgitate this excretion at every election
The denial suffered by the clown membership of his cult and voters who still elect these nonentities is immeasurable but unfortunately the damage they have done to Scotland and Scots is
Did you press the button too soon, TH, or are the “assistance” boys on a really tight schedule?
What is it about the above post that offends you? Maybe you’re just being abusive because you can, is that it?
Dave L;
yep, they don’t call he/she/it the Site Prick for nothing….
Frankly: The revelatory memoir from Scotland’s first female and longest-serving First Minister
the greatest living englishmen provides us with much material for synchronicitious satire
a one, a one a 1 2 3 4 … bum … bum .. bum …
Frankly, Mrs Dykely, this position I’ve held (FM)
IT PAYS MY WAY AND IT CORRODES MY SOUL
I WANT TO LEAVE, YOU WILL NOT MISS ME
I want to go down in criminal history
Frankly, Mrs Dykely, I’m a sickening wreck
I’ve got the kwallity polis scot squad breathing down my neck
I must move fast, you understand me
I want to go down in lit’rary history
Mrs Dykely
FAME, FAME, FATAL FAME
IT CAN PLAY HIDEOUS TRICKS ON THE BRAIN
BUT STILL I’D RATHER BE FAMOUS
THAN RIGHTEOUS OR HOLY, ANY DAY, ANY DAY, ANY DAY
But sometimes I’d feel more fulfilled
Making Christmas cards in the CORNTON VALE
I want to live and I want to love (big fat wimmin)
I want to catch something that I might be ashamed of (chlamydia?)
Frankly, Mrs Dykely, this position I’ve held (FM)
IT PAYS MY WAY AND IT CORRODES MY SOUL
Oh I didn’t realise that you wrote poetry
I didn’t realise you wrote such bloody awful poetry, Mrs Dykely
Frankly, Mrs Dykely, since you ask
You are a flatulent pain in the arse
I do not mean to be so rude
Still I must speak frankly, Mrs. Dykely
OH GIVE US YER MONEY!
REV YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE A FIELD DAY WITH THIS SHAMBLES IN FIFE
SNP – stronger for Rapists. Misogynists. Sexual predators and child groomers. That’s what the SNP stand for. They stand with Beth. And the other Beth Upton. Another hater of women.
I stand with Sandie Peggie. Sack the board of NHS Fife. I support the nurses. It’s time to bring down the Scottish Goverment.
Dear Stuart. I cannot wait for your investigative journalism in NHS Fife. You’ve been instrumental in ensuring that Nicola Sturgeon’s woke ideology failed. You’ve set the truth free over gender self ID. Thank you.
I know that what you will write will help save the NHS in Scotland from this handmaidens tale and total and utter corruption and hated of an innocent woman who’s given her life to caring for other people.
Defend Sandie Peggie. I stand with Sandie Peggie. Leave the nurses alone Dr Upton No good.
Get intae them!!’
Having just read all this political bollocks above, the simple thought occurred to me that to compare and contrast what that one incredibly brave woman, Sandie Peggie is enduring (and has endured for over a year) in Fife against all those bureaucratic monsters is what we should think about when reading that tosh. And conclude that they really all, the whole fucking lot of them, (politicians and bureaucrats alike) ought to hang their heads in collective shame. But I guess thats not in their job descriptions either, along with having an ounce of common sense, or being truthful, or having any human decency, or having a central nervous system for that matter. Sandie Peggie is deserving of a Nobel Prize. Thats what the SNP should be proposing, first and foremost, but what do we get? Literally, buckets of crap heaped upon buckets of crap, without end.
Well put. Couldn’t agree more.
Meantime NHS Fifes DEI “expert”(sic) Ms Bumba replied when asked to comment on the £9m £6m new (non working) House of Lords door that she couldn’t be certain to define it as a door as it had not been XRF scanned..
It could be anything she added; a carpet, a ceiling tile, a jam donut, anything really..
BBC News excerpt (acknowledged)
“But his predecessors have been stung by offering too much on this issue.
Nicola Sturgeon previously set a date for a second referendum. She also pledged a general election could be a “de-facto” vote on independence.
Neither of those promises came to fruition.”
Who did the stinging? (Police/men in grey kilts)
There’s no doubt Yousaf’s tenure ended when he considered an agreement with Ash Regan.
Was Sturgeon’s ‘media darling’ status and tenure terminated for the de facto announcement?
Is this a rare public shot across Swinney bow?
I read that Bill Clinton (allegedly) said that Hillary had “eaten more pussy than he had”.
Sturgeon had her famous photo shoot with HC in 2017.
2018 saw the instigation of the infamous failed attempt to stitch up Salmond.
Now I’m not suggesting Hillary munched on Dreghorn sticky carpet but the timing and speed with which Salmond thereafter was to be aced is quite interesting..
The American trip is at the core of Crankys philosophy.
Her dyke chums and the arse bandit Cummings.
And Brian Cox sucker.
Perhaps the SNP, old version and new pretended they had never heard of the right to Self Determination and have only just realised that the people whom are restless and fed up with hollow money grabbing politicians have started taking matters into their own hands by approaching the UN on the peoples behalf. Cutting out the middle man so to speak,
Regardless of wether the people’s direct approach to the UN is successful or not on this subject, it has to be said the people are starting to bypass hollow, DEI politicians whom are over spending peoples hard earned cash and funnelling the money untracable to else where.
People are not just fed up with the Snp, they have had enough of all the political parties across Britain.
There will come a point when all the people will bypass all politicians that are known to be lying dithering self promoting payed puppets.
I watch as many or all posts, bloggers and government or approved governments information , and peoples opinion from around the world,
Very few people believe their empty politicians or the unelected sitting trying to bring in one world order government to bring peace after they have instigated and disrupted peaceful nations with their wokisms and net zero policies, and control under social engineering equity and equality laws.
For the people see how it is destroying their nations, their people, their Countries, and monopolising their resources.
The people living here with appalling politicians are no different than than the rest of humanity,
The are all fed up of being crushed, restricted and lied too.
Here is another excellent example of a published lie. Being taught to children.
Quote from ,
Kids Britanica .Com.
Scotland has been ruled by an English Monarch since 1603,
It was formally joined to England Wales in 1707 to form the United Kingdom.
Yet britanica used to be the go to encyclopedia for historical facts. It just goes to show that the britnat propaganda never ends. Why hasn’t that been corrected? Surely the SNP should be jumping all over that. Oh wait…
I wonder if Peter Murrell’s court case will take place before the 2026 election?
It has all gone very quiet.
Yup, Noises need to be made.
Indeed it was the opposite way around as it was the Scottish Stuart dynasty that inherited Englands throne,
But were not united Countries, and the United Kingdom is not a Country, it is a created political State with only one parliament after Scotland parliament was dissolved from the union treaty.
What our next generation are being taught is a new false version of history, or gender or climate change, and how to distance and indoctrinate them from reality.
A climate change history across the world has happened continuously since the beginning of time,
Where is Doggerland?
Oh, its under the sea,
How did that happen?
I think it was because we driving cars, flying in jets and heating our mud and straw huts without changing over to solar and wind power,
The politicians appear to be idealogical cult crazy,…not the people,
What was the Ice Age?
Ehmmm, that was the time period before the Climate changed too heating up.
Did We do that too.
I don’t know, but Some government will soon tell us, because we would have to pay reparations to other Countries that were damaged or lost,
This Route, is it along the “Rest and be Thankful”?
REST AND BE THANKFUL
(Some online history)
« The making of the road, in any sense that we would now recognise it, had to wait until the 18th century. The real impetus for the road building came after the 1715 and 1719 Jacobite Uprisings. General George Wade was sent to the Highlands to examine the military situation. His report made a number of recommendations, including the construction of forts at various points and the development of a network of roads to link them.
« In 1743 it was decided to construct 44 miles of military road from Dumbarton to Inveraray, via Loch Lomond-side, Tarbet, Arrochar, Glen Croe and thus down to Loch Fyne. Major Caulfield, Wade’s Inspector of roads and successor as mastermind of the Highland roads network, was ordered to survey the route.
« Work started that summer, although the progress was interrupted by the outbreak of the 1745 Jacobite Uprising.
« However this was a rather strange military road. The Wade-Caulfield roads were built to link military bases in the highlands and to help keep down the disaffected areas by allowing the rapid movement of troops into potential trouble spots.
« A route up Loch Lomond-side leading to Crianlarich, Tyndrum and Fort William was an obvious military necessity, although the Tarbet to Crianlarich section had to wait until 1752-4 to be built.
« Argyll and Inveraray were strongly Hanoverian, pro-government, firmly under the control of the Duke of Argyll, one of the leading figures in the government of Scotland, so what military purpose was to be served by this road? It was hardly likely that a detachment from the garrison at Dumbarton would be marched to Loch Fyne to put down an insurrection in the peaceful glens of Argyll.
« Two possible reasons exist for the high priority given to this road. The first may have been to allow the pro-government forces that could be raised in Argyll (and indeed a regiment of the Argyll Militia fought in the Culloden campaign) to move swiftly from Loch Fyne to wherever they might be needed.
« The other reason was perhaps less straight forwards, but perhaps more plausible to provide a conveniently smooth road to and from the Lowlands for the Duke of Argyll. The connection between the road and the Duke was emphasised by Caulfield. When the road was nearly finished, money was running out and there was a danger that a bridge at Inveraray could not be completed, Caulfield wrote: “this will hurt a great man for the bridge is at his door” as indeed it was, being barely a mile from Inveraray Castle, the Duke’s seat.
« After Culloden work recommenced and by 1748 troops from the 24th Regiment (later the South Wales Borderers) had made the road over the summit of Glen Croe and erected a stone seat with the legend “Rest And Be Thankful”. Completion of the road to Inveraray was achieved by 1749. »
link to arrocharheritage.com
O/T “Support Legal Fees For A Scottish TV Channel” crowdfunder.
David Henry has worked for 10 years to try to get the Scottish TV licences so he could help our cause. He has had to bring a case to the Competition Appeal Tribunal in London. Initial legal costs expected to be £5000. See Grouse beater blog on 15th July for the full detail.
It has been said for years that we need a platform in MSM that a very large number of people will access in the normal way of things. This Scottish Broadcasting TV looks promising.
So far £1211 has been donated – all donations will be very welcome to David and to those of us who want every single bit of help for our cause.