Mr Lenin, awaken the boy

Posted on November 30, 2020 by

Ridiculously, more than eight hours after voting closed in an all-electronic election in which “counting” should have taken a maximum of one second, and at 11.30pm, the SNP have released the results of this year’s NEC elections.

There are some big stories.

Alyn Smith is OUT as Policy Development Convener, replaced by Chris Hanlon.

Rhiannon Spear is OUT as Women’s Convener, replaced by Caroline McAllister.

Fiona Robertson is OUT as Equalities Convener, replaced by Lynne Anderson.

All of these are dramatic changes for the better.

Joanna Cherry is IN. Neale Hanvey is IN. Roger Mullin is IN. Dorothy Jessiman is IN. Catriona McDonald is IN. Douglas Chapman is IN. All ditto.

There are still a few Twitler Youth cowering in some of the danker corners of the NEC, but they’ll be feeling lonely because basically it’s been a rout. There’s a small chance the SNP might yet be saveable. More analysis to come later (and potentially a very significant day in the Holyrood committee rooms tomorrow too). For now:

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 01 12 20 00:17

Mr Lenin, awaken the boy | The New York Press News Agency

2. 01 12 20 01:56

Mr Lenin, awaken the boy | speymouth

160 to “Mr Lenin, awaken the boy”

1. Alan Mackintosh

Fantastic, wunderbar, magnifique, well done to the new office holders and to those who voted them in. Time for change.

2. Cod

And this is why many of us remained in the SNP. Because the only way to divert it back to the path it should be on is from the inside.

3. Matt Seattle

I may even rejoin

4. Scott

I haven’t felt positive about The SNP’s future for a long time. This has finally given me a glimmer of hope!

5. Gordon Gekko

LOL!

Hilarious….

Damn you guys are stupid. This whole thing is a sideshow. Your brains have been turned to papermashe. After all these years you guys have created your own GROUPTHINK.

Andrew Wilson is the Tony Blair of the SNP

Joanna Cherry is the Kier Starmer of the SNP

They won’t deliver independence they will deliver Brussels.

Well “maybe” not stupid because you can’t see what’s happening in financial sector Scotland. I see it every day.

I work in the FIRE sector.

There’s new banks popping up all over Glasgow on both sides of the Clyde. They are all sitting and waiting on the Green light to asset strip the place. I’ve seen the plans for it. That’s what Andrew Wilson who wrote the growth Commission is there to do. He is the Green cross code man and provides the Green light. An ex banker himself. That’s his mission his job description.

Stop govt spending call for balanced budgets via the EU convergence programs and excessive debt procedures and the corrective arm. All given full support by the Scottish media whilst preaching export your way to growth. The neoliberal globalist blueprint sitting ready to go as we speak.

Then Give out £billions in loans to the capitalists and asset strip the country. There won’t be a thing you loons can do about it. The Indy movement are cheering the financial sector on from the side lines as you don’t know what you are voting for. Nobody is warning you and your quite happy to debate a squirrel.

Once Scotland ‘s name appears on the EU fiscal surveillance program for Scotland it’s over. Years later the Scottish public will realise what it all means realise how ignorant they were to be duped so easily fighting over “look over there, there is a squirrel”

Then the liberals in the Guardian and Bella Caledonia and the national can start calling Scottish voters right wing populists as they all start voting Tory. The Scottish public can start wearing yellow jackets and March into George Square getting tear gassed fighting for their grand parents and parents and their own pensions as they are decimated to meet the EU financial sector 60% debt rule.

Ex SNP ministers are all now loaded and each have holiday homes abroad live in the most expensive areas of Scotland oh how they will laugh. Ex SNP ministers who turn up every now and then for a photo opportunity in Glasgow and Edinburgh to cut a ribbon for a new food bank opening or soup kitchen for the ever growing numbers of poor people. The ones who couldn’t afford to leave the country and get a job somewhere else where Brussels didn’t rule. Who have been decimated by balanced budgets And privatisations as every public service becomes more expensive.

And don’t say you weren’t warned about it. Then try and blame someone else after the reality of living under financial capitalism eventually bites. You were warned about it 100’s of times. You just kept on ignoring it. Thinking you were special and the EU rules wouldn’t apply to you. Mugs…

All you had to do was look at Greece, Irealand, Italy, Portugal and Spain. Catalonia still wants to keep the Euro LOL !

Stupid as a stupid does…….

Some in the SNP will make a fortune just in legal and management fees. They’ll make an absolute fortune and that’s off of the interest holding the bonds. Never mind the capital gains they are all going to make.

Look, look,look over there a squirrel

PMSL..

6. Daisy Walker

Dear Craig Murray – sorry you didn’t get in. If I’d had a vote, you would have got it.

Best wishes to you.

7. Stan Broadwood

What about our man Craig?

8. Lenny Hartley

Just binned my resignation letter ? well done to Ellen Mcmaster and Colin Milne of the Isle of Arran Branch on being elected, knowing both i can assure you they are also dramatic changes for the better.

9. Bill Hume

I just hope it’s not too late.
    That said, well done Rev for illuminating the darkness of the inner workings of the SNP.
    Oh, and a big thank you to ‘Friends of Wings over Scotland’ for keeping Twitter…er …twittering.

10. Cath

Now might be a good time to stop calling the remaining kids “Twitler youth” and give them a chance, to see if they’re up to working with others cooperatively. If the new NEC can work together and come to an understanding of each other’s positions, we have a much better chance of good things happening.

11. Big Jock

Too late for Indy ref 2021, I fear. We may have to wait until 2022 because Nicola screwed up the mechanics for us.

12. ClanDonald

The good guys got the majority of seats on the conduct committee and appeals committee- time to clear out the abusive dross from the party, like the sexist, racist Sleeze and his equally sexist, racist chum Jordon. So long, lads.

13. WeeCrabbitBas

Definitely worth staying up for. A resurrection to come, Inshallah.

14. James

Game on? 😀

15. Sarah

Thank Geoff Bush and the Rev for attracting enough Members for Independence to get a list of good people sorted out. The result is no’ bad at all.

16. ScotsRenewables

Great news. Good to see most of the people I voted for get in, shame about Craig.

Onwards and upwards

17. Kenny

Yowza! Yowza! Yowza!

18. Brian Copland

Tommy Sheppard out in a backlash against him after going to the Times and blading Ash Denham and her kids. The King of the Woke has gone along with Andy Diack and Roz Currie! Hopefully they will all head off to Labour where they truly belong.

19. susanXX

A glimmer of hope on the horizon. Looking forward to your analysis Stu.

20. FiferJP

The St Andrews Day Mascara.

21. Stu hutch

It is with a happy heart I say to mr alyn smith .get used to this whenever the opportunity arises on a democratic vote it will read alyn smith snp out .

22. Famous15

When I see Stu’s final analysis, I may rejoin the SNP.

I do not want to fund the staffer chancers. What is the minimum membership for an OAP?

23. Roger

I do hope Wokus Dei won’t do anything drastic like leave…
    (the door’s the rectangular thing in the wall, btw. Just saying…)

24. Confused

is this night of the long claymores?

25. TheeForsakenOne

@Famous15: Minimum membership is £1 a month. I’m not a OAP and I’m a full member paying that little.

26. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Now might be a good time to stop calling the remaining kids “Twitler youth” and give them a chance, to see if they’re up to working with others cooperatively.”

They aren’t. They’re already making dire threats.

https://twitter.com/CailynMcMahon/status/1333559658292850688

27. Kat

Wonder how many recounts were demanded by Smith, Spears and Robertson before they conceded? Going by the length of time it took the computer to say No I’d say quite a few.

28. Paul K

So happy for Joanna Cherry. Flawless timing with the smear tweet. Beautifully simple and effective – took Smith right out the game. Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha. I doff my cap to her. Awesome.

29. Roddy MacLeod

Yes not a total victory but certainly this offers a glimmer of hope. Its been a great weekend all round.

30. Bill Hume

Re..Rev @ 12:20
    https://twitter.com/CailynMcMahon/status/1333559658292850688

That link is great……everyone, have a good look at the replies…..lol lol lol…etc.

31. Bill Cowan

@Famous15:I’m a pensioner. £5 per annum.

32. Dave Llewellyn

Don’t waste anytime getting on to Doug Chapman the new treasurer and ask what really happened to the ring fenced money and whether the SNP are in a financial state to fight the May election far less a 2021 referendum. Doug is one of the good guys. The previous treasurer should be locked up for creative accounting. Woven through yer arse.

33. Famous15

Bill Cowan thanks for the info.

The reason I mistrust the SNP staffers is that they appear to be gatekeepers and act above democracy. In fact I am now sureI know at least two conspirators in a recent court case. Better change the subject.

I really only want to rejoin to get independence in my lifetime and locally eject the Libdem liars.

34. Betty Boop

This has been, to a considerable extent, a restorative evening. The conference was fairly awful, but, that was expected. I thank the sensible members.

35. Grantrs4

Thoughts on the new secretary?

36. Cath

They aren’t. They’re already making dire threats

Oh. OK, fuck ‘em

37. Paul K

Special shout out to Jordon Henderson for his admirable low-key work behind the scenes. Not to mention his impressive access to Alyn Smith’s private tweets.

38. Stu hutch

Hopefully IF with a new nec auob with the new yes alba groups .the indie bloggers and wings The return of the rightful king . A list party .A rocket could be put up the a*** of the snp hierarchy to do what we put them there to do.

39. Polly

Everyone seems happy with the outcome but I’ve become so disillusioned I’m not so sure. In the first place folk worried about delay in results and suggestions were going around about manipulating the results – I’m so cynical these days I wonder if even these good results were manipulated just to give us hope things could change to ensure we vote for them in sufficient numbers next year.

After all, good as it is to have this change how much change will they really be able to effect before January and brexit or before the elections next year? How possible will it be to pressure the leadership into any change in policy when we have so little time? But I’m glad to see Mike Russell, Caroline McAllister, Neal, Joanna, etc., and glad to see the back of quite a few others.

40. Bob Mack

Do I detect an outbreak of sanity? Thanks to all who voted.

I,’ll wait on Stu’s assessment but I may rejoin if things are going the right way. I did not have high hopes for these selections, but glad if proved wrong.

My commiserations to the losers. Aye right !!.

41. Polly

FiferJP says:
    1 December, 2020 at 12:15 am

Ha ha. Thanks for the laugh.

42. Facundo T Savala

Will this successful night GUARANTEE either a change of leadership and/or Indyref2 before the end of 2021?

If not, it appears to be a fairly minor victory. Independence remains a while off still.

43. Bob Mack

I’m still giving my list vote to another party for Indy regardless of the events of tonight Insurance.

44. Graf Midgehunter

If only they’d announced the results 6 hours ago I could have cracked open the Malt and really enjoyed the evening.. 🙂

Now I’ll just have to enjoy the dreams of sleep, sweet bliss!

45. Hatuey

Joanna Cherry on Twitter: “There’s a clear mandate for change in
    @theSNP & the leadership would do well to listen to the voice of the grassroots #SNPConference2020 #NEC results”

Brilliant. And it’s great to be wrong – I assumed they’d block her (again).

46. A Person

Wonderful news.

Much of this thanks to the contributions of this site.

47. msdidi

Famous15
    OAP membership is only £5 a year

48. Hatuey

This needs to be the beginning, not the end. We need to turn up the pressure.

Everybody who cares about independence and the SNP needs understand that getting rid of this toxic leadership is imperative.

The SNP is walking into a disaster in May and if that happens the drive for independence is over.

And it looks like people are realising that. The payroll works both ways. If you’re an MSP or some other party official, you’re job is on the line.

Without a change of leadership and strategy, everything is on the line.

49. A. Bruce

Brilliant result. This is the reason I rejoined 3 weeks ago.

50. susanXX

I don’t always agree with you but well said Hatuey@1:22am

51. MaggieC

I’m so pleased for Joanna Cherry regaining her rightful place on the NEC after the way that she’s been treated by certain members of the Snp and also to Caroline McAllister on becoming Women’s Convener after the way she was treated in the vetting process for the constituency candidate and last but not least to Lynne Anderson on becoming Equalities Convener .

Congratulations to them all and “ come on the girls “ .

52. Molly's Mum

Happy days, there were two things needed tonight to stop me melting my membership card over the fire :

Alyn Smith out
    Joanna Cherry in

And lo! It came to pass, so my card remains intact, for now

But there is still the matter of the invisible thread of woven through £500,000 plus let’s not forget the Harrassment of Alex Salmond Inquiry

They are not off the hook yet – and I didn’t hear anything resembling a date from NS in her speech, but I did hear a lot of waffle

53. susanXX

Work still needs to be done to dislodge the wokoharam from all levels of power. We can’t rest on our laurels.

54. Hatuey

Ty Susan. I don’t always agree with me myself. As long as we all agree on the things that matter most though, eh…

It would have been great to see Craig Murray elected too.

We march at dawn, people… let’s take our country back.

55. Graham

Great news, this! Better than I had dared hope for. And I have never even been an SNP member. But soundness matters to me.

56. twathater

Genuine question , as a non SNP member but independence supporter how does this supposed taking back control affect the intransigence of Sturgeon to accept anything other than a sect30 request being granted as the ONLY route to indy

Even today she is STILL coming out with the illegal referendum terminology so how are the NEC and membership going to alter her view , or is everyone now accepting that she is right and are willing to capitulate to her demands for another mandate and another 5 years of power in the vain HOPE that she will convince bozo to accede a sect30 agreement

An apt phrase at the moment would be “we have won a battle but it still looks like we will LOSE the war”

57. William McCarron

Nice Manics reference by the way!

Also, great news regarding the NEC.

58. ScottieDog

So happy for chris Hanlon. Lovely chap.

59. Kangaroo

I’ll just leave this here. This story has been embargoed by a US Judge so is not on US news channels.

https://www.conservativebeaver.com/2020/11/28/former-president-barack-obama-arrested-for-espionage/

60. Graeme

What about David Henry did he win ?

61. David Holden

Well after that it looks like I am still in the SNP. A lot of thanks to Stu and also Denise who put in a hell of a shift on social media with her good guy lists. I see the children are taking the result well with a few of them locking their accounts. A lot of work still to be done and a clear out required a bit higher up the food chain.

62. AYRSHIRE ROB

Kangaroo

Have you had your medication yet.
    Seriously,wtf?

63. Astonished

Woko Haramageddon !

I’ll get my coat.

First things :

Stop yusuf’s thought crime bill.( And get him to stop pushing his family for SNP posts).

Suspend stewart mcdonald mp’s membership until it is determined whether he did sign the vile trans misogyny letter. ( And expel all those members who did sign it).

Throw out the Genderwoowoo nonsense and expel anyone who wants it back on the agenda.

Accept that “TERF” is a misogynistic slur and expel anyone who uses the term.

Hope this helps.

64. Graeme

Astonished says:
    1 December, 2020 at 6:33 am

Woko Haramageddon !

—————————————————————–

I’d call it Woko Karmageddon

65. Tannadice Boy

I got up early to start a busy day and immediately a wonderful pick me up courtesy of democracy and the Rev Stu. I have had my Weetabix. This is going to be a good day.

66. Contrary

A relief to see Alyn Smith OUT.

Good to see Chris Hanlon, Tim Rdeout and Kairin Van Sweeden IN into policy position – those guys will give real economic reform policies.

67. Mighty S

This news fair cheered me up. Hopefully the 30+ turn-around will keep the Self ID faction (about 8 of them left) in check and we can finally progress towards independence.

Thing is though, they’ll need to be quick in the face of the Brexit train that’s thundering its way towards Scotland.

Big thanks to Denise Findlay for collating and publishing the Good Guy list on Twitter. Ah mind her being publicly suspended with no hope of being reinstated for supporting women’s rights. What a catastrophic mistake for the self ID promoting, gradualist, toxic NEC that turnt oot tae be eh…lol.

68. Iain More

Happier today that I was yesterday but that wasn’t difficult.

69. Fairliered

Bye Bye Smith, Spear and Robertson. Don’t let the door hit your arses on the way out. First steps in getting my country back.

70. Iain More

Oh and it was Athelstaneford 2020.

71. Chris Hall

Cynthia Guthrie, IN. Ditto

72. Intractable Potsherd

@Kangaroo: check your facts before posting: https://www.reuters.com/article/uk-factcheck-obama-not-arrested-idUSKBN28A2TU

73. The Isolator

Small steps but we now need to clear a lot of the debris with a top down revamp.

74. Willie

Good result. Delighted at the odious lush of Alyn Smith has been ousted. Certainly sends a message that the current track is not the way things are to be.

Unfortunately we still have people like the FM and the Justice Minister still in position. But between candidate selection and party administration selection they’ve been sent a message.

Desperately sorry that Craig Murray did not make President. Well done Craig. You’d have made a great President. They’ll be opportunity again, but at least for the present, yourself, the auld Rev and all the others who played their part in helping the party get back on track can take comfort in these results.

Much still to do, but we’re moving forward.

75. Mark Harper

This is the xmas prezzie I wanted. Superb news! Now as Sherlock says “The games afoot!

76. WhoRattledYourCage

Mr Stalin bisexual epoch

77. Karmanaut

@Cod 11:57pm
    Yep. I was the same. It’s my experience that the membership are strongly opposed to Smith’s cabal. I’m pleased to see this reflected (for the most part) in this vote. I suspect that if all members could vote we’d see an even more dramatic shift.

78. Margaret E

I feel as if I can breathe more freely. It’s a pity about Craig, but he did get almost 25% of the votes cast. And some of the most loathsome individuals have been voted out. Victory for women fighting against deep-rooted misogyny.
    And to be clear for Mr Gordon Gekko above (interesting nomenclature!), Irealand(sic) is doing very well within the EU after the economic disaster caused by the bankers whom he seems very close to. They didn’t all suffer the consequences of their greed.

79. Ross

There are too many office bearers.

Too many cooks spoil the broth .

80. Denise

The NEC still has reps for the affiliated groups on it which includes for example Josh Mennie who apparently is the rep from the Disabled group and from YSI, OFI, the students and BAME who are all woke. So unless the NEC reform happened there is still a problem. Most of the woke that were elected are on the NEC – Glasgow and H&I particularly bad with Hobson choice on both women’s lists.

The National Secretary is the most powerful position, it’s a pity David Henry didn’t win. Stewart Stevenson is a bit of an unknown. He has just stood down as an Msp so he’ll have time to do the job. An incredibly woke woman is running for his constituency so that’s a worry.

Chris Hanlon’s position is very powerful. It was the position Daddy Smith carved out for himself. He needs to be tough.

The committees are great dominated by the sane and women from the women’s pledge.

It was a battle between the Daddy faction and the Cherry faction and Cherry triumphed. The writing is on the wall for woke political careers, hopefully we’ll see the careerists peel off and Humza get worried that he’ll go the way of Daddy if he doesn’t sort out (ditch) the hate crimes bill.

It doesn’t change NS and I can’t see an indyref soon. But the policy committee can come up with plan b and the conference committee can allow it to be debated. But they will have to be tough…who knows how Stevenson will turn out and the dead hand of Keith Brown will still be running things, his partner and step son are fully signed up woke and Keith is probably one of the main people responsible for the mess of the last couple of years.

81. Neil Burns

Should the song not be Glasvegas, Daddy’s gone?

82. Grouser

The official SNP site is still showing the old NEC. I had to turn to Wings to get the good news. Sadly I did not see David Henry mentioned. However, overall a good result. I am waiting to see what the new NEC can do.
    Anyone wanting to reduce payments to SNP until accounts are presented clearly can do so online at My SNP; My membership; amend my direct debit.

83. Muscleguy

A bonfire of the vanities.

84. Bob Costello

This is a good start and gives a good base for necessary change,the necessary change being the removal of Sturgeon and murrel

85. SOG

So, to those thinking of rejoining, would there be any point in co-ordinated action? Might it be worth waiting for some triggering event?

86. Graeme

I suppose I should be ecstatic about the result yesterday, but i’ve become so scunnered and disillusioned with the SNP and politicians in general I find it hard to raise myself above the “mildly pleased”

But overall a great result for common sense and hopefully we can get the party re-focused on independence and put an end to the gender politics that’s infested the party lately.

Disappointed Craig Murray & David Henry didn’t win that would have made me extremely happy.

87. Sharny Dubs

A great move in the right direction it would seem, happy to see positive change.

Now we have some sensible folk in they need to roll the shirt sleeves up and get to work, there is still plenty to be done and time is short.

Well done all, and many thanks Stu.

88. robertknight

What Graeme says @8:40

89. Johnny Martin

Will look to see Stu’s more in-depth analysis later but I assume what most folk who aren’t au fait with how the party machine works will want to know is “can the new NEC members exert much influence over Indy timelines and, if so, how quickly?”.

A personal important other issue is “can they tell right wing economic pushers to bog off with their Growth Commission and, again, how quickly given that conference previously voted for a Scottish currency ASAP after independence?”

90. David F

There is a rather important session in the Harassment Committee today. John Somers, former Principal Private Secretary to Sturgeon, will be giving evidence. If the Committee has any brains it will be asking him the following:

1. How did you come to be in contact with Complainant A? Who put you in touch with her?
    2. Given that you had no responsibility for investigating such complaints, and no involvement in the work on the new procedure, why did you have two formal meetings on 20th and 21st Novembber 2017 with Complainant A?
    3. Given that you were the PPS to the First Minister, and she was legally responsible for investigating such complaints, why did you say nothing to your boss about these meetings when they were set up?
    4. Given that you were the PPS to the First Minister, and she was legally responsible for investigating such complaints, why did you say nothing to your boss about the outcome of these meetings?
    5. Given that you were the PPS to the First Minister, why did you say nothing at all to your boss about these meetings during the four months between the end of November 2017, and the end of March 2018, which is when she claims she first heard of the allegations against AS?
    6. Who did you discuss the set-up and outcome of the meetings with?

91. Karmanaut

The UK press will really go on the attack against Joanna now. They’ll have plenty of help from you-know-who.

92. Harry mcaye

I hope the new treasurer will get to the bottom of the missing £600,000. I won’t hold my breath. Still, a good outcome. Went to my bed fearing the stitch up of all stitch ups so great news to wake up to, especially Daddy Bear’s comeuppance.

93. Black Joan

The Daddy Bear’s behaviour prompted a discussion on Twitter yesterday, which included references to the Wings post at the end of October re SNP accounts.

Notable that this was the first many had heard about the (alleged?) settling of Smith’s defamation bill by SNP high command.

Now, many more people are asking questions about this, writing to Beattie, asking where his missing e-mail is, and wanting to know how, exactly, such a payment on behalf of Smith was authorised.

Good to see such interest, but also disappointing that so many missed the story at the time — part of the effect of the Rev’s unreasonable ban by the Twitter thought police.

Perhaps the new NEC will examine the circumstances of the SNP’s (alleged) bailing out of the Daddy Bear for a personal and unwise act of defamation?

94. Cuilean

Wait.

It’s good news.

Who are you and what have you done with our Stu?

95. Lorna Campbell

Wow, Santa’s been and I never even noticed. Thank you, Rev, for all you have done. You, and your fellow bloggers, filled Santa’s sack for him and sent him on his way – early.

96. Johnny

FiferJP says:
    1 December, 2020 at 12:15 am

Excellent!

97. Keith fae Leith

Agree with others that Fifer JP wins & the results should be forthwith referred to as the St Andrew’s day Mascara

98. James

Lebensraum
    Kulturkampf
    Raus raus
    Fila fila

99. Muscleguy

@Johnny Martin
    What the NEC can do is prevent conference motions from the branches being squashed. It can also ensure more party conferences. That could for eg cause an endorsement of Chris McEleney’s proposals re PlanB for eg. Time is short but it is still doable if the new NEC can get its skates on and flex some muscle.

I’m not SNP, I’m ISP but the SNP should be aware that the ISP will highlight and contrast our robust party democracy vs the SNP’s lack of it. We can still provide a protest vote for SNP voters and members still disillusioned with the party.

We are watching with interest and noting potential people we can work with.

100. Rebecca

I’m happy with the results and glad I didn’t resign my membership. The only way to fight this wokerati is from within. Hopefully now we can focus on Independence and not be sidetracked. I do hope it has sent a message to those at the top. Do not ignore the members. Onwards and upwards.

101. Astonished

I think Alyn Smith better pay the party back – pronto.

And John Swinney better release ALL the documents.

I think if I was one of the nine accusers in the Alex Salmond trial, I would seriously be considering turning Queen’s evidence to save my worthless skin.

102. kapelmeister

Woke wings clipped by Wings. Rhiannon Spear given another reality check. Sturgeon and Murrell are seeing their power base melt faster than an iceberg in the Indian Ocean.

103. Republicofscotland

Looks like a bit of sanity has prevailed at last, pity Craig Murray didn’t get in though.

104. Kenny

I keep seeing parallels with the Bolshevik party. I have said all along that Sturgeon is a “bolshevik” (meaning, when they say appealing things like “all power to the soviets”, they really mean “all power to me”!).

In 1923, the rank and file were also at odds with the party and voting against them. That is when Stalin made his famous remark to his two fellow rulers about “the people who count the votes”.

The party eventually found a way around the problem…

I still believe ANY politician associated with the SNP is immoral *if* all that we have been hearing about the Salmond case is true. Such a party must be wound up.

Or we sell our souls to gain the whole world (or our wee corner of the world)? Whatever the case, surely a second indy party makes complete sense at Holyrood, both for overcoming the democratic deficit in the SNP and because of the d’Hondt system.

105. Annie 621

…Ain’t called the Rev for nothing.
    Thanks to you and your friends outstanding and heroic journalism.

106. winifred mccartney

Thank goodness – maybe just maybe sanity has been restored. My husband has voted snp since he got the vote – he is now 80 and he was about to abandon them after a lifetime of voting for them. I too was on the cusp of leaving – the GRA legislation must be abandoned. Transwomen are transwomen and women are women – that’s fact and when anyone starts to try and change the unchangeable we have a serious problem. Its the kings clothes scenario.

107. Giesabrek

@Kangaroo

It took me 10 seconds to confirm that Obama story is as fake as Sturgeon’s and the SNP wokerati’s desire for independence. You are a class 1 balloon!

108. Breeks

Graeme says:
    1 December, 2020 at 8:40 am

I suppose I should be ecstatic about the result yesterday, but i’ve become so scunnered and disillusioned with the SNP and politicians in general I find it hard to raise myself above the “mildly pleased”……
    ….Disappointed Craig Murray & David Henry didn’t win that would have made me extremely happy.

Same.

There is still nothing of Constitutional importance on the agenda.

Even if the Martin Keatings case delivers success and vindication of the argument, any progressive reaction from the SNP “feels” like it will coming from a standing start.

The NEC changes seem a step in the right direction, but without sounding like misery guts, in objective terms, all of this drama is internal drama within the House of SNP. For those of us outside the SNP, we need to wait and see how these changes impact on the SNP and Independence externally

To be blunt; we may have changed the crew on watch, but the ship has yet to alter course.

But lets not be too hasty raining on the parade. This is a positive development. Don’t forget what alternative news we might have been waking up to.

109. Bob Mack

It might be premature, but today I feel somewhat elated.

At least we are finding the right path back to the membership
    Which is after all among other factors ,a source of strength to the yes movement. They have been sidelined or oblivious for too long.

Today will be interesting given the events at Holyrood. I hope another piece of truth will emerge towards exposing the Salmond affair.

I am sure if one thing though. My second vote is most definitely going to a list party. Certainly these changes give me hope that I can once again vote SNP. Time will tell.

Sorry Craig did not get President.

Lastly I wish to thank the most influential blogger in Scotland. That’s you Rev. Quite possibly without your drive and determination to see REAL equality in action, today might have shown a very different outcome.

You are abrasive, sometimes abrupt,but above all that, you are honest . Many thanks from all the women in my circle.

Yesterday was a beginning of hope that the insanity which has gripped the party is coming to an end.

110. ScotsRenewables

If a few more here had stayed in the party and got delegated to conference this could have been a clean sweep.

Personally, I am delighted to see a clear out of the toxic dead wood, though I have to admit I was worried when the results were delayed so long. My theory is that there was a long and bitter discussion as to whether pochling was possible, but common sense prevailed.

111. Desimond

How many of the dumped have been contacted by BBC Scotland to appear this weekend…place your bets!

Expect to see many of them try and make a wee media career of turning up on Scotland Tonight and weekend shows as “former SNP executive member” etc…. no shame, seeking fame!

Next step now is the Inquiry…there will be a few sweaty brows forming and it takes just one small crack to bring down a boulder…who will crack first?

112. Scot Finlayson

Can someone succinctly explain why the misogynists use the she/her or he/him tag in their profile,

is it a code to alert others of the tribe or is it a cool fad that will die out once uni educated woke whitey liberal finds some other `cause` to corrupt then dump.

113. Graeme

ScotsRenewables says:
    1 December, 2020 at 9:52 am

I was worried when the results were delayed so long. My theory is that there was a long and bitter discussion as to whether pochling was possible, but common sense prevailed.

—————————————————————–

Most likely pochling just wasn’t possible

114. dramfineday

Denise (F), if you’ve tuned in this morning to read the article and the comments, can I just say thank you and very well done for the work you put in on this. Much, much appreciated.

Thanks are also due to Stuart for his persistence in bringing this wasps nest to our attention despite the brickbats sent his way.

115. Ian

If Sturgeon’s aura relating to her handling of Covid is now being exposed to some serious questions, it’ll be nothing compared to what is about to happen with Brexit. Unlike Covid, where she did have serious limitations of action due to Westminster controls and she was dealing with it just as every other nation in the world has had to, she will solely largely be responsible for Scotland being led into Brexit. Her dithering or downright avoidance of seriously driving for independence to avoid Brexit will leave her as the SNP’s biggest hindrance come January onwards.

Once out of the EU it’ll take someone capable to lead the SNP and get Scotland back in again. The longer Scotland is out of the EU the more difficult it’ll be to get back in. It’s clear to see that this the Unionist’s plan and Sturgeon is, for whatever reason, playing along with it.

Enough time has been wasted already and not much more can be afforded. I’m hopefull that the SNP have started to sort the party out and get back to their main reason for existing.

116. Ian Brotherhood

Should be kicking off in a few minutes.

‘Mon The Baillie!!

https://www.scottishparliament.tv/channel/committee-room-1

117. Ian Brotherhood

Judith Mackinnon going down the audio-only route…

118. Breeks

Ian says:
    1 December, 2020 at 10:12 am

Once out of the EU it’ll take someone capable to lead the SNP and get Scotland back in again….

I agree 100%, but the immediate opportunity presented by Brexit is not getting back in to Europe, but that it represents an explict and literal act of colonial subjugation, the actual imposition of one nations will over another, and it is my unshakeable conviction that there lies the seed of destruction for the Treaty of Union between equals.

We are FOOLS if we let such an opportunity to kill off this decrepit Union slip through our fingers, but unbelievably, that seems precisely what we are on course to do.

Success is literally right there within our grasp, and we do nothing.

The only bright light in our bleak panorama, left barren and treeless by Sturgeon’s SNP, is Martin Keating’s attempt to clarify the constitutional pecking order for holding a referendum.

By itself, I don’t it can deliver us. I don’t even think will deliver a referendum, merely the right to hold one. But if it succeeds, we might not have Scotland recognised and fully established as sovereign, but we might have ourselves a lightning conductor which can be of use to us in that greater objective.

Just to clarify opening remark too, I am ardently pro EU membership, but Brexit used effectlively can deliver Scottish Sovereign Independence AND EU membership ressurrected, and that is a prerequisite for EU membership.

119. Desimond

There’s just something about The National that always makes me think “Really?”..their take on latest NEC results….do they go with “Positive for Indy push?”angle….nope…

https://web.archive.org/web/20201201103330/https://www.thenational.scot/news/18911230.snp-nec-results-reignite-party-row-gender-recognition-act-reform/

120. Contrary

Ian B,

Aha, I was wondering if she’d appear in person or not. Take notes will you – I can’t watch live and it takes a while for the archive versions to appear. I’ve been giving background on Gordon’s blog if you want – at the bottom of his last post. Gordon emailed to say he would be back soon – family matters mainly to deal with – and I’m sure an intense round of meetings will spark his interest to get back on it. But for now he appreciates anyone keeping it all up to date, so any notes there are welcome 🙂

121. Ian Brotherhood

@Contrary –

Aye, I’ve been following your excellent btl contributions on The Dangerfield Files.

There’s a lot of Twittery updating going on!

122. Malcolm John

Glad you got to write something happy today Stuart. Hopefully this is the start of the party being refocused on its main goal.

123. Livionian

I’m never going to join the SNP in a million years but well done to all the decent, sane people who stood up for what is right in the face of intimidation. Keep fighting the good fight.

124. Karmanaut

Who’s the go-to guy nowadays for the inevitable “I’ve been hounded off Twitter by cybernats, but I don’t have any evidence” smears? Is it still Severin Carrell?

I expect we’ll see a few of those in the coming days – it’s the standard response to criticism from some of those who have been voted out.

125. Garavelli Princip

Great news, I’m glad I didn’t tear up my membership.

Now we need to see movement in the right (one and only) direction.

INDEPENDENCE.

126. Daisy Walker

Some thoughts,

There is no time to hold a Referendum between now and May. A minimum of 9 months is required.

Emphasis on a Plebiscite Election is still required and is really the only leverage that we have.

But we have bigger issues to prepare for.

We are out of Europe in 1 month – serious, serious disruption to food and medical supplies are realistically expected. Unless there is an 11th hour extension to the transition period.

The levers in the Brexit negotiations are: the Tax Haven laws. Can Britain get an exemption. By now I would say no it won’t.

If a transition period (which is the most sensible option – and there will be no EU resistance now, due to Covid) were to be extended – the Brits will be the ones dragging their heals, because when they signed the Withdrawl Agreement they did not see, that any legal disputes could be registered by any qualified lawyer, would be dealt with under EU laws by the ECJ, and from date of registering the complaint a time period of 4 years would be allowed to legally resolve it.

This part of the Withdrawl Agreement – in any extension to the Transition Period is what the Brits would be desperate to have removed/altered. I think it is unlikely that the EU will agree to that. Too much bother.

That clause – is one of the most empowering and democratically accessible ones going. Our friends in the EU really have left the door open for us. If we chose to use it. We have until 31/12/20 to lodge the complaint – but less than that really due to festive hols.

I had thought that the Internal Market Bill would need to have been formally passed into legislature at HoC before we could register its illegality with the EU, but actually, the EU itself has already began legal procedures against it – although I’m not sure where that stands at the moment.

So, I think it is highly likely that there will be a Hard Brexit, chaos on the UK side, and with 14,000 lorries entering and leaving the UK at the ports down south every day, in order to keep food on our shelves – in short there is going to be trouble. Covid will be a minor blip in comparison.

In that case, what the UK Government can, and likely will do, is impose the Civil Contingencies Act. This enables them to place their own people into areas of control – and you won’t be surprised to learn Scotland is one of those areas.

Elections can be postponed, but once invoked, the CCA own procedures mean they have to review the set up – I think once every 28 days, something like that’ with a very clear emphasis on stepping it down as soon as possible. How you Police them to do that is anyone’s guess.

Will the UK do this immediately, using Army/Police and the Scot Gov? or will they be relying on the the Civil Service Hub in Edinburgh being up and running and able to take over quickly. I don’t know.

What is clear is that the CCA means they take control of everything. Food, water, fuels, electricity supply, transport – including haulier businesses and depots, restrictions of movement, and most assuredly Social Media.

So, what can we do.

Firstly stock up on food and fuel, and essential meds, as much as you can. The Government will be relying on 1 month or 2 to create the panic needed to justify CCA. People don’t riot if they’ve still got food and hot and cold running water.

Second, video record incidents, if we cannot get it out on social media at this time, we will be able to do so later. If they control the narrative, they control the official response, even if it is all false.

3, we need to be able to communicate quickly, from one part of the country to the other, without use of mobiles of computers.

Anyway, that’s it for now. Some random thoughts.

Only 30 more food shopping days till Brexit.

It is worth reading EURerendum.com for more info about Brexit. Peter North is an English Nationalist – but he does not shy away from publishing evidence – even when it does not support his view.

127. WhoRattledYourCage

In context, I still don’t get the Manics quote here,to be honest. The song is a list of dictators who are meant to be failures in their sexual relations with other people…I think. Richey was always about oblique. So…is that the context? Genuinely Scoobied, and glad to show up my matchless ignorance. 🙂

128. Ian Brotherhood

CH4’s Kieran Andrews twitter feed for inquiry updates…

https://twitter.com/KieranPAndrews/status/1333722704936099840

129. Garavelli Princip

I omitted to mention the important role, you Stuart, have played (and hopefully continue to play) – along with the likes of Craig Murray and Iain Lawson, in shining light and sharing facts that keep us informed, and able to act.

We have taken our eye off the ball – we must now do our best to make (nearly mis-wrote ‘keep’ honest, the only party able to deliver independence.

One or two zoomers still to deal with!

130. Ian Brotherhood

Sorry, my mistake – he’s The Times (Scotland).

131. fillofficer

to reiterate bob mack

“You are abrasive, sometimes abrupt,but above all that, you are honest”

the only reason we are all here

result

132. Ian Brotherhood

The CH4 dude is @C4Ciaran (Ciaran Jenkins) but he doesn’t seem to be following coverage, or commenting on it, so far anyway.

133. Betsy

Just enjoying this clip Rhiannon Spear put up while she was waiting on the NEC result.

https://twitter.com/RhiannonV/status/1333463624988454922

The look on her face when she heard the result must have been an absolute picture. You’d need a heart of stone not to laugh.

134. Daisy Walker

Re Brexit – England inports large amounts of Electricity from the Netherlands – once out of the EU this trade, as with all trade falls outwith the Common Market and becomes something to negotiate.

Currently Ms Merkel is making nice noises about sorting out this electricity shortage – in return for a deal on UK (60% of which is Scottish) fishing.

But if no deal is reached.

Electrical black outs – right from the get go of Brexit – are a very realistic possibility.

If you had the possibility/likelyhood or riots in the streets of England’s cities – and electricity supply was a key part of it – how realistic is it that you would deploy the Army to Scotland to secure that supply as one of the first things to do. And once the army is in, it is very difficult to get them out.
    Obviously it will be English troups deployed in Scotland – more no votes when the elections start back up.

Time to get the forkandles stocked up.

135. J Galt

Another heave in this direction and they might even get my £2 a month back!

136. Astonished

Daisy Walker – I believe an advisory referendum can be held ( just like the brexit one) at any time. We should just stop playing by THEIR rules.

I am confident the new NEC will be on it.

PS Well done rev and Denise. You must be pleased.

137. Kev

Great results, was ready to ditch my membership of over 10 years if there wasn’t a major shakeup. Now theres hope for the party and Indy too, couldnt be happier!

138. Robert Graham

some progress at least maybe now we can get back to Prime Directive ( christ sound like a BORG instruction ha ha ) anyway all is not yet lost some more housekeeping still to be done but it’s a start , now for the Management that might take a bit longer and be a bit messy but it has to be done

139. Robert Graham

oops getting a bit confused the prime directive was Star Trek I think so much space between the lugholes this morning oops

140. Mac

Apologies posted on the wrong thread. Once again…

Pleasing… but one swallow does not a summer make.

This is a result of the slow build up of pressure (in large part from this site, especially early on). Rather than relaxing it to any degree I would advise maintaining it and increasing it.

141. Mac

Craig Murray getting 25% or so is still a pretty amazing result. Considering ‘they’ are currently trying to jail him on (IMHO) stitched up contempt of court charges for reporting on the attempted stitch up of Alex Salmond. Hmmm I am sensing a pattern there….

Even though he did not win I think they will be a little rocked by that result.

142. stonefree

I am surprised at the people who are ,or sy they are returning to the fold instantly.
    Surely the time to return is not now I would have thought more progression is needed, not just a start there are still the “aggressive tendency” within the NEC , plus Murrell & Sturgeon.
    The M & S of Scottish politics the glitterati polishing turds
    It’s a pity Craig Murray wasn’t elected he would have been good for change….Russell ? same (fill in the rest)
    Being the cynic all I see is Sturgeon has got her extension till after May and another session
    I am less than confidant

143. Margie Davidson

Thank you Rev- my hope for Independence in my lifetime may still be realised. I resigned my membership over the AS stitch up. Thinking I may renew.

More power to your pen.

144. Carole

Special shout out for Geoff Bush who did amazing work with his FB page and list.
    Suspended from the party for it by the outgoing Nat Sec too.

145. Johnny McNeill

Positive developments indeed, at a time when BOTH the principal Opposition parties find themselves ‘distracted’ from their duties and purpose; the SNP (& society!) by the ‘emergence’ of a seemingly unconnected #GenderAgenda being conflated with ‘Hate Crime’ creeping its way towards criminalising science & common sense, and kangaroo court ‘Domestic Abuse’ policies facilitating *false accusations* – just ask Alex Salmond.

“Sex and race, because they are easy, visible differences, have been the primary ways of organizing human beings into superior and inferior groups, and into the cheap labor on which this system still depends”. Gloria Steinem

i.e. Old-fashioned divide & rule *identity politics* housed in race and *precedented* #RampantSexism propaganda (link below)

And Labour being torn apart by anti-Semitism & pro/anti Corbyn rhetoric;

“One of the great secrets of the day is to know how to take possession of popular prejudices and passions, in such a way as to introduce a confusion of principles which makes impossible all understanding between those who speak the same language and have the same interests”. Machiavelli

i.e. Again, *divide & rule* but in Labour’s case, also through creating and fomenting fresh *emotive* fault-lines (same link below)

All whilst #ToryAnalytica proceed with their failing Brexit agenda *unimpeded*, and now staging yet another internal fake fight; this time over lockdown tiers brought about by their own ‘serial incompetence’ – which isn’t incompetence but pretext *playing for time*, until they can militarise Brexit – but in doing so, blame the EU (blame everyone!) for the deployment and also guilt-trip the UK general public into compliance (still the same link below).

“Power is in tearing human minds to pieces and putting them together again in shapes of your own choosing”. Orwell.

‘The People’s Plague: Our ‘Failure’ To Comply With The Impossible – As Dictated by Gaslighting ‘Government’ by #GaslightingGilligan https://wp.me/p94Aj4-1ID

#ToryAnalytica militarisation is *inevitable*. #TickTockTroops

146. Breeks

Daisy Walker says:
    1 December, 2020 at 10:51 am

Some thoughts….

This part of the Withdrawl Agreement – in any extension to the Transition Period is what the Brits would be desperate to have removed/altered. I think it is unlikely that the EU will agree to that. Too much bother.

I agree Daisy, but IF Scotland was to challenge Westminster’s capacity to force Brexit on Scotland against the democratic will of the sovereign people, I firmly believe that such a challenge would so muddy the constitutional waters that Europe and the UK would not be able to conclude Brexit while Scotland disputed the constitutional integrity of the process.

I think the transition agreement would have to be extended indefinitely pending the conclusion of Scotland’s Constitutional interdict… In other words, a last gasp Scottish Backstop squeezed in under the wire.

We have four weeks to do it. Was there EVER a better occassion for an emergency Constitutional intervention?

147. Daisy Walker

Thanks Breeks,

A last gasp Scottish Backstop!

Now wouldn’t that be a cracker – talk about divide and conquer.

1/2 of England would be so relieved, and the other half desperate to get rid of us….

It might also see off any justification for CCA to be imposed, keep Holyrood open – with the ECJ as a potential lawful authority to answer to.

The argument against is we would not feel the full agony and pain of Brexit and therefore not learn the errors of our ways and be inspired to vote for Indy.

148. Alf Baird

Breeks

The majority of Scotland’s MP’s need to step up to the plate. They hold Scotland’s sovereignty.

149. wee monkey

Sorry to burst the bubble but this “victory” is only a small battle in your war.

And you haven’t won that yet.

Wait for the reactions, both public and behind the scenes.

Remember, A wise man once said..

“..It’s that old rule of political diversionary tactics – the less you intend to do about something, the more you need to talk about it..”

Don’t take your eyes off the ball.

150. Saffron Robe

There is an argument that the disastrous consequences of Brexit will jolt the Scottish people into realisation. However, to my mind, this is not the correct course of action (or rather inaction). One does not make things better by first causing harm.

Breeks is correct. We do not stand idly by while a tank is slowly driven over us. We have the power to throw a spanner in the works and pull the rug out from under their feet. Mount a challenge regarding the illegality of Brexit and the breaking of the Treaty of Union. Bring the constitutional crisis to international attention. Force the international community to take a side and see how many friends England has in the world.

151. lothianlad

Great News. Sad that Craig did not get the presidents job, but mike russell will be feeling more vulnerable.

Just been waging an online war with the sturgeon loyalists on facebook. Ive been using some of the less compromising used by the rev!

Boy they are feeling isolated!!

152. lothianlad

Be careful of the careerist Midlothian crowd! see they have slithered on to the list!

153. Josef Ó Luain

Well done, the SNP membership. Now for Wilson & Partners! What the fuck is the Duke of Buccleugh’s Agent doing at the very heart of the Scottish National Party, anyway?

154. Alan

The SNP going back to it’s roots. Love to see it!

155. Iain Donald

I might actually vote SNP now. Not that NS and her wee gang will actually do anything but perhaps it gives those with more teeth, a chance.

156. Robert Hughes

Very positive result/s . A deal of gratitude due Mr Campbell ( and other unblinkered bloggers and commenters ) for shining an unflinching light into the murky corners of the current SNP power structures , in particular the hijacking of Independence as the prime consideration ,and in the face of relentless vitriol and character assassination . Let’s this is the beginning of a revitalisation our movement and a renewal of our spirit .

157. Al-Stuart

Fife-JP,

Thankyou. You made this wee IndyVoter smile big time with your quote:

The St Andrew’s Day Mascara

As for Stuart Campbell and Craig Murray, you worked hard to help this outbreak of sanity happen..

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-55152472

Thank you both and all those members of the REAL SNP who have given us hope.

158. Al-Stuart

Dear Rhiannon Spears,

In your Tweet, you managed to give away your narcissistic selfishness in 280 Twitter characters. In this one Tweet you used the following words..

“Me” x 1 time.
    “I” x 3 times.
    “My” x 3 times.

@RhiannonV you are SEVEN shades of SELFISH wrapped up in sociopathic attraction to power.

Your name should be the watchword for a person that should NEVER be allowed to be near the levers of power. You are a poisonous toxic fifth columnist, who, along with your rotten snakes in the grass acted in bad faith by trying to steal 80 years of hard work by the REAL SNP.

I, I, I, me, my, my, my is no way to empathise with real people. Many of us had respect for people tormented with sexual identity; those who went through painful operations. Rhiannon I, I, I, me, my, my, my, you have done those decent people a power of harm.

You have caused great distress to the Indy movement and worse, you have destroyed much respect and empathy to those who the Wokerati say they are defending.

My, my, my, what a nightmare…

https://mobile.twitter.com/RhiannonV/status/1333463624988454922

Darling, you lost, please don’t let the door skelp yer erse on the way out.

159. David

No1 straight out of Trumps playbook

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.