Inaudible mumble amplified
The New Statesman has been doggedly ignoring all our polite requests to release the audio of its controversial interview with Alistair Darling for several days now, but today it very quietly released the full text of it on its website.
Where previously it had reported the “Better Together” leader as having made an “inaudible mumble” in response to a question about whether the SNP were guilty of “blood-and-soil nationalism”, apparently the mag had given its ears a good swabbing out with a cotton-bud and concluded that it HAD been able to hear him after all.
This was what it heard at 1pm:
Click on the page now, though, and what you’ll get is slightly different:
Alert readers will note that the second version contains a link in red. That leads, finally, to the audio, in which it’s clear that the second “at heart” is spoken by NS editor Jason Cowley, not Darling, hence the correction to the 1pm version. But what’s even clearer is that the words aren’t even SLIGHTLY “inaudible”.
There’s simply no mistaking what Darling says, or the fact that he’s agreeing with the proposition (although he tries to scurry away from it as quickly as possible). And we know that for sure, because Cowley manages to accurately repeat it back to him.
We’re not sure why it’s taken several days to arrive at this point and clarify exactly what was said, because it was demonstrably understood from the off. Had the audio been released at the time there’d have been no way for Darling to duck out of the allegation that he was accusing the SNP of being nasty racist ethnic nationalists.
Oh, wait, we may have just answered our own question.
Cannot hear anything on the audio. 29 seconds of silence. Or is that the joke?
I really admire your tenacity Stuart. Many thanks for that.
I’ll have a listen to the audio later (tea-time calling). My worry was that they would have time to fiddle with it using some decent sound editing software and would have deliberately made it an inaudible mumble.
Once again – kudos
Jeez, just listened (I know, I told a wee fib). What a stammering imbecile.
Tea-time (honest :-))
“Cannot hear anything on the audio. 29 seconds of silence. Or is that the joke?”
Works fine for me. Are your speakers switched on?
No inaudible mumbles there.
Very clear audio of a witless buffoon happy to play along and smear 45% of the voting Scottish public as Nazis.
Very clear.
Alistair Darling is crystal clear – no inaudible mumble at all. He clarified things suitably well. I bet the New Statesman are quite pissed off at Labour for trying to hush this up.
Alistair Darling (Dear Heart): I will utter the vilest insults, hurl the most egregious smears, slurs and slanders, dissemble disinformation and just downright lie through my gold-capped teeth only because… at heart, at heart…
I love Scotland.
Yes, despite ducking and diving style answers. This guy does not work well under any pressure.
I feel the need of a quote from a great Scottish writer:
“Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive.”
That’s all
I’m a Nationalist and a Socialist but, I ain’t no Nazi. Darling and his ilk are more the domineering, totalitarian, egotistical, megalomaniacal bunch of ("Tractor" - Ed)s since HawHaw, we have seen. I maybe over stating but, this really gets my goat.
Not that there was much doubt before, but I don’t think Darling could have been any clearer in his implication. Politics is a dirty and rough old game, no question, but Darling has crossed a line.
The man is clearly a living breathing testament to the power of incompetence. How he has managed a career in politics this long is a mystery. Any rational human being when co fronted with the ‘blood and soil’ question from an interviewer would have said somthing along the lines of ‘those are not the words I’d use’ so therefore it is quite clear what he meant.
Headphones were plugged in, silly me :s
He definitely averred on the question of whether it was blood and soil nationalism. How it sounds, to me at least, is that the interviewer said AS states they are civic nationalists and AD says it isn’t. The interviewer then goes on to ask ‘well what is it?’ and tries to lead AD in defining explicitly what the SNP are, if they aren’t civic nationalists. It’s almost like he’s goading Darling into his response. The interviewer seems to know that he has AD flustered and it’s a great opportunity for the interviewer to back someone into a corner and get their gut reaction and his gut reaction was that the SNP, and by corollary, voters of the SNP, are blood and soil nationalists. There can be no doubt. I don’t there was a ‘Ye’ really, as in a yes. I think he was all over the place and the Ye was merely stuttering.
What recourse does one have a utube video, now that would go viral!
And I’m certain I heard the beginnings of a “Yes …” which was in the first amended NS piece and omitted for the latest version. I saw MacDougal on Twitter trying to state that Darling had said no such thing, but then unable (or unwilling) to respond to those challenging him.
Rev. Stu, this is a seriously intended question. i.e. not rhetorical. Now we are in the formal period, what IS the role of the Electoral Commission? Should they not be monitoring this stuff and issuing PUBLIC warnings?
What is the point of their monitoring the situation if in fact the MSM and politicians can lie, lie and lie again with complete impunity?
I am beginning to feel slight unease at the silence of the YES campaign after all the lies and smears and innuendoes of the last week alone going unchallenged. Am I panicking too soon?
We will no doubt see the truth seekers in the MSM going on about this for a week like they did with Samond’s altogether more anodyne remarks on Putin. 😀
Just listened to that audio clip again and I’m pretty sure it’s been edited. Or perhaps the “inaudible mumble” has been amplified to identify it, hence the fractional glitch just before he utters “At heart…”
Or something was cut out.
This could be important. What we appear to have now is a slightly muddled cross talk emerging after the story has gone cold. Will Scotland 2014 ask him about it next time he pops up for a chat on the sofa? Will Scotland Tonight?
Perhaps a sound recordist or editor could listen
I’m not a sound recordist or editor but perhaps someone with expertise in that field could help? A trained ear with some decent equipment might be able to slow it down to track a splice.
Any takers out there?
I said: ANY TAKERS OUT THERE!?!
The audio is actually a gift. It brings home the idea that AD is a blithering idiot.
The crux of the matter is that they still thing the YES campaign is a 19th century nation state nationalism..and therein lies the reason for their demise.
Trouble brewing at No Borders Broadcasting Corporation.
link to nuj.org.uk
Alistair Darling caught out, and the New Statesman degrades its reputation.
I’m not one to defend AD but it really seems to me that he was already flustered and purposely backed into a corner to agree with that strategically worded loaded statement. The ye/yeah also sounds like it was just part of his stuttering to my ear.
Then again I haven’t read what he said prior to that, I cant stomach the weasel words of that man ever since he Royally messed up being the chancellor. It may have been something he said earlier. *shurgs* I don’t think anyone really listens to him anyway undecided, Yes or No.
“I don’t there was a ‘Ye’ really, as in a yes. I think he was all over the place and the Ye was merely stuttering.”
The “Ye” isn’t the important bit. He answers, clearly, “At heart”. As in “At heart they’re blood-and-soil nationalists”.
Listening to that audio it’s also obvious that Darling sounds like a nutjob.
BT gone and now we have the ‘NO THANKS’ campaign.
Palace of Westminster – No Thanks
Trident – No Thanks
Eton Tories – No Thanks
Bedroom Tax – No Thanks
vs
Edinburgh Castle – No thanks
Holyrood – No thanks
Scottish School system – No thanks
Scottish Law – No thanks
Did nobody think of this?
They can’t put that slogan against anything other than maybe a picture of the very popular Alex Salmond.
This is a gift to Yes for both that and the fun you can have with the first type.
Were it not for the fact he is doing such a cack-handed job, a train wreck in the making, I’d make a public call for his immediate sacking from the No campaign.
His comments are outrageous, despicable.
But that’s how many Labour Nos see the entire plebiscite.
They absoluteluy detest the democratic process.
In the meantime, everybody who has any dignity and any respect for Scotland and its legitimate ambitions should demand his apology.
That sounds to me like it’s been edited. You can hear what sounds like an edit pretty clearly.
“That sounds to me like it’s been edited. You can hear what sounds like an edit pretty clearly.”
I can’t.
@Scottish Skier
“Better Together – No Thanks”
What’s not to like ?
when journalist asks if nationalists are blood soil,darling confirms it saying ,at heart they are
NO MUMBLES OR DISTORTION ANYWHERE
He must have been really flustered because in the audio he refers to ‘sep ..er.. independence’ and then corrects himself back to ‘separation’. The gems a bogey AD.
Just heard BBC and Reporting Scotland lie yet again about the tory, labour and lib dem proposals as being DevoMax.
That lie will have to tackled head on by the Yes campaign very soon or it will simply continue from now until september.
Oooh Betty
Im a Nazi
Im a real Nazi.
This is a gift to Yes for both that and the fun you can have with the first type.
Agreed.
While I used to be pretty indifferent towards this clown, I have moved steadily through a healthy dislike for the man, on to outright contempt. I really hope the general public can see this man for what he is.
Sorry but that “Ye..” is clearly the beginnings of a “Yes” but as Stu points out the “At heart” is clearly affirmation of “Are they Blood & Soil Nationalists”. And there is no “Inaudible Mumble”.
[…] « Inaudible mumble amplified […]
The man is babbling incoherently, that much is clear.
I would flip his statement round and ask, “is there any circumstance in which you would vote to dissolve the union?”
How bad does it have to get before they see there are NO benefits to being in this union? All good things come to an end and so do the bad things…
Just occurred to me that the only thing in Scotland that is ‘too wee, too poor, too stupid’ is our media. Wee as in wee minded, poor as in quality, stupid as in do they think we are stupid.
We will never know, but, if this audio had been available yesterday, would the subject have been broached in Sarah Smiths interview.
I wonder if The NO THANKS campaign will show a big union flag behind their logo or a saltire.
Decisions, decisions…
Privatised Health system? No Thanks.
Access to EU markets? No Thanks.
Billions wasted on HS2? No Thanks.
This stuff just writes itself! 🙂
JimnArlene says
” I maybe over stating but, this really gets my goat.”
That says it all really,
the people of this country should be proud of themselves in their resolve and single mindedness, and our restraint is encapsulated in that one sentence “this really gets my goat”
This is why we will win folks, because the worst they can throw at us “really gets our goat”
no hanging from lampposts, no car bombing, no kneecapping.
we just get mildly annoyed and he thinks he may be “overstating this”
RESPEC. 🙂
@Rev
I think I can hear some sort of tampering – an edit, possibly just an amplification – but if someone out there has the gear and the experience there might be more to discover.
Btw – Can we refer to this as Mumblegate? Statesmengate? Heartgate? Or maybe “Brandenburggate”? You know the media – they need a “gate” suffix before they raise their jaded heads from the desk.
O/T EBS SCOTLAND NEWS:
Jackie Burd making big issue that Scotland could make a Geordie family of 4 £200 pounds cheaper for a flight to their hols.
DOES THAT MAKE US BAD OR GOOD.
O by the way it’ll cost the daft jocks £200 cheaper as well so that confirms it it’s gotta be naw.
UKOK? No Thanks.
Darling sounds completely unhinged, breathless and incoherent at that point. Is he drunk?
Hud on hud on, did Jason Cowley check if it really wiz
Alistair Darling , an no a Animated Muppet, they chinese £1
battery,s dont last long.
The whole episode is a disaster for Darling AND the New Statesman.
The last paragraph on the NS link says: “This report first appeared in the print edition of the New Statesman dated 13 June 2014. The original report wrongly attributed comments about “blood-and-soil nationalism” directly to Alistair Darling; this has since been corrected.”
Having listened to the audio clip numerous times I agree that Darling did not actually say the words concerned. Also, I did not hear Darling say anything like Yes, Yeah, or similar, as per 1pm version. Whoever transcribed the audio screwed up and worse still, whatever editorial supervision were meant to be in place, failed, until today. What is fact is that Darling DID agree with the interviewer’s suggestion of Blood and Soil Nationalism, by saying “At heart”. Darling also had the chance to clarify or deny when the interviewer repeats Darling’s words back to him, but HE DIDN’T. Why?
In my opinion, Darling was enraged at the suggestion of “Civic nationalism”, his retort is full of venom and after that lost control of himself, he couldn’t speak properly and stutters on. He isn’t listening after that and the damage is done. I am surprised that the story broke too late to stop the printed version though. It is now out there and the words are in black and white. Any retraction in the next issue is too late.
Is the New Statesman reputation damaged? Poor editorial control, open to allegations of cover up with Darling to protect him and the BT campaign? But why then was the print run not stopped?
Darling’s true colours shone when he was under pressure from the interviewer. He should continue in his current position as he will make more blunders in the coming weeks and YES will prosper further.
How was this tape released?
@Iain Gray’s Subway Lament
Just heard BBC and Reporting Scotland lie yet again about the tory, labour and lib dem proposals as being DevoMax.
A BBC presenter made the same claim on their news channel yesterday while interviewing a guy from the SSP, I was quite surprised that he didn’t correct him.
Devo max,they turn it down,then try to revive it when they are on a losing trend.We’re not falling for that again.We’ll end up with less than what we started with lol.
If the tape was edited in an attempt to get Darling out of a difficulty of his own making, the editor should be sacked as he failed totally in his task. Darling is clearly agreeing with the suggestion that “at heart” the cause of Scottish independence is one promoted by “blood and soil” (blot und boden) nationalists.
Where can I order my black shirt, peaked cap, death’s head badge, and lightening flashes for my shirt collars? Come on, you’re all Nazis, someone on this site must know the supplier.
A well timed and delivered series of questions by the interviewer. AD just defaulted into autoplay knee-jerk reaction answer mode.. any mumble made by any politician put on the spot during a live interview, should draw curious suspicion from Scottish voters.
I was thinking there about all of our ‘proud’ Scottish politicians and.. if they all love Scotland so much.. when was the last time you saw the likes of Alistair Darling, Johann Lamont, Ruth Davidson or even (crash) Gordon Brown, hold and fly Scotland’s flag PROUDLY above their heads..? It appears they prefer our home-flag to be seen from a distance, but never heard.
Cue, us.
“Yeah, at heart, at heart”
What a stupid man he is but he’s done well though, fame, lots of money and houses, a teamGB knighthood soon, if he can save the union.
When the interviewer suggests that it is “a civic nationalism of a kind that…” Darling very abruptly interrupts him to insist “which it isn’t”… so really it isn’t the interviewer loading the issue there so much as Darling himself. Pretty disturbing stuff.
The charitable reading (listening) of that clip says that AD wasn’t offering “at heart” as the answer to “blood and soil”, but was offering “at heart…” as the start of a whole answer to a totally different question that he wasn’t ever asked (because he’s a politician and that’s how he answes questions – with whatever point he wants to make, not what he was actually asked to respond to).
Except the interviewer interrupted him before he could go on to make clear that “at heart” referred to his sentence about nationalists having no circumstances for voting No, instead of the “blood and soil” description.
Of course, as we all know, the correct response is “No, of course not. At heart…” Etc. so he still fails.
“The news where you are” They lie to you
BBC Scotland lunchtime news we were told by Mr Porter -our man in London -that Gordon Brown’s remarks about the withholding of a Common Currency option and his support for a Salmond/Cameron debate had so incensed SLAB colleagues to the extent that many of the reactions could not be accurately reported. Strangely none of those rebellious souls could be named. Still the story would surely be expanded in the evening bulletin, eh?
Whoops the story has disappeared completely. That will relieve our friends in the South.
OT Business for Scotland meeting in Ellon just about to kick off.
bitter together – No Thanks
Independence – YES PLEASE
Re editing of the audio
I’m no expert but I have ‘cleaned up’ the audio of lots of sermons to remove hesitations, coughs etc. I have used Audacity to look at the audio and slowed it down. What is most noticeable at normal speed is Darling’s incoherence.
I can’t see any edit at about 19secs – sounds like his normal hesitations until he finds the words ‘at heart’.
There is an edit between 55.8 and 57.2 secs into the NS audio – audioboo.fm/boos/1038352-how-to-download-boo-files-as-mp3s-fb
The text shows ‘The only redistributive measure in the white paper was to cut corporation tax. Salmond has marketed their enterprise as being something more civic-minded, if you like. But what holds them together is that they define themselves by identity. Their argument is that Scotland is ….’
The italicised words are missing from the audio.
What appears instead in the audio is, ‘The only redistributive measure in the white paper was to cut corporation tax. so yet he has (1 word inaudible) Their argument is that Scotland is ….’
@Pentland Firth
Where can I order my black shirt, peaked cap, death’s head badge, and lightening flashes for my shirt collars? Come on, you’re all Nazis, someone on this site must know the supplier.
I think there’s a chap in Woking. All hush, hush.
Like all Westminster drop kicks, Brown is using our referendum to hit back at Cameron and the Flipper. Cameron even blocked Brown’s bid for the IMF World Bank job. Enmity runs very deep between our masters in merry old London.
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/pm–smallminded-over-browns-bid-for-imf-job-2288166.html
NO THANKS?
Oh!
can we?
might we?
could we?
should we?
FUCK IT
lets screw them into the ground with this.
yeah a clear cut 55.8
but not sure why
Re: audio editing/splicing of the interview segment. I’ve cut a slice of 8 seconds of audio on either side of the “blood & soil,” section and opened it in a pro sound editing programme. I’ve stretched it out to the maximum to see if I can identify any obvious interference on the waveforms. Thus far, I’ve seen nothing that looks wrong. Happy to look again if anyone cares to narrow the search area down to where the suspected edit point is.
I’m lagging behind the times here. remove that last post of mine if you like, Stuart.
Tony Little says
“I think there’s a chap in Woking. All hush, hush.”
Och no , there’s a wee man doon Leith walk dis a nice line in SS regalia,made to measure. provenance guaranteed. 🙂
Cowley is a complete New Labour stooge and vicious with it. A nasty careerist absolutely in the pockets of the Westminster establishment.
I was invited to represent Juian Assange and my fellow whistleblowers at a debate jointly hosted by the New Statesman. My invite was abruptly withdrawn
link to craigmurray.org.uk
I later found out that this was because Cowley insisted I could not appear as I would give evidence of involvement in complicity with torture by Jack Straw.
New Labour rats – don’t let’em bother you.
Livestream from Paisley with Jim Sillars and others.
PUBLIC MEETING Tuesday 10th June 7pm ST MARY’S PRIMARY SCHOOL Maxwelltown Rd,PAISLEY speakers: SANDRA WEBSTER & Councillor LORRAINE CAMERON (Women for Independence) RICHIE VENTON (SSP organiser) JIM SILLARS (former MP)
link to new.livestream.com
What is scary is that I think the No people actually believe their propaganda. In their eyes, we ARE blood and soil nationalists, we are bent on wrecking Britain, we are all abusive cybernats,we are all mad and deluded, Alex Salmond really is a dictator…etc
Personally, I don’t for one second believe all the Yes versions of a happy clappy future Scotland. It’s going to be a hard grind, and, since we are disputatious bunch, I anticipate a lot of robust argument about the direction we should go in. I also think all this ‘everything will come down to common sense’ in post-indy negotiations is pie in the sky.
But I like to think I am clear-eyed in my committment to Yes. I vote Yes despite these things, because, ultimately, I believe my country should rule itself.
When I look at No, however, – I see only evidence of fear and loathing. They put out what we see as outrageous untruths – but for them, these are not untruths: they are their fears dressed up as ‘facts’.
It’s ironic that Yes – accused of blood and soil nationalism – has, from the word go, argued from first principles with appeal to reason. Whereas No has lost its head to passion.
We are the children of John Knox. They are Davie Hume’s. We are Jeykll; they are Hyde. We are Rebus; they are Cafferty.
It’s that old Scottish dualism playing itself out again. Make of it what you will.
Everyone reading this article MUST email BBC Scotland and the editor of every daily newspaper sold in Scotland and demand they cover this story. The press went mental for days over Salmond’s “gaffe”, but for this slur to go unreported would be a higher level of incompetence and hypocrisy than the MSM in Scotland is usually capable of.
This from the same Alistair Darling who accuses the Yes side of nasty remarks etc? Same old Darling “do as I say, not as I do”
THANKS TO ALL THE CLEVER AUDIO ANORAKS!!!
THAT WAS REALLY HELPFUL!!!
OVER AND OUT!!!
Kininvie says
“Personally, I don’t for one second believe all the Yes versions of a happy clappy future Scotland. It’s going to be a hard grind, ”
What, like this?
Yes it will be a lot of work to create the country we want to live in, let us not pretend otherwise – let us rise to the challenge and enthuse our people to make a country fit for all of us.
Test
Jim Sillars
awesome speaker
Paula Rose
R u better together tonight ? 🙂
If these BT/VNB/BBC/MSM lying scumbags actually win on the 18th September then there is absolutely no justice in this world!
We are Fran; they are Anna.
Sorry – I’ve taken that too far.
We are tatties, they are mince
@Ken MacColl 7:25 pm
BBC lunchtime- David Porter.
The Labour MP’s will be raging at Gordon Brown but would not go on the record or on camera, but at least Porter highlighted the matter.
The BBC News staff at UK level are institutionally pro-Union biased, but the BBC Scotland News staff are pro-Union biased AND obsessively anti-SNP. This is a toxic combination and they simply cannot help themselves. When was the last time they ran a purely positive Scottish Government story, without some sneering negativity or imagery slipped in along the way?
The world’s press and visitors will be watching BBC Scotland and its news output during the Commonwealth Games. The referendum campaign will continue during this time and that will be a real test for the BBC. I don’t think they will be able to behave normally. The same goes for the British Press pack and I can’t wait for the foreign journalists reaction to the guff spewed out by the Scotsman, Express, Telegraph, etc.
O/T – Lock up your daughters, Skeletor’s on Tour..
link to archive.today
It just doesn’t seem to occur to Darling and his ilk that it’s not being Nazis that stops us thinking of any reason to vote in favour of the union. It’s just that we’ve seen enough evidence of the harm it’s doing to us all to believe that even with substantial reform it will still never be better than taking responsibility for our own affairs.
If we are being labelled ”blood and soil”, I think with Darling’s delivery we are perfectly entitled to say they are “sturm und drang”!
Not sure how to archive,this is worth a read
link to scotsman.com
Over weekend.
I was handing out free YES badges and wristbands on my Aberdeen street.
Gang of youths happily accepted and asked WHAT IS YES!!!
Once explained, one handed back saying she would vote NO if had the vote.
This staunch negativity can only come from SCHOOL, BBC or PARENTS, from someone so young!
YES desperately need a Scottish YES Boy Band to get onboard fast, to capture young and youth interest.
I’ve just been active for 2months, and very annoyed. I was logging on to YES Scotland for a year. Nothing happening, no great links.
Stumbled on Wings/Bella/NewsNet somehow, perhaps via DerekBateman/IsobelFraser/KenMacdonald’s BBCSco Radio Sunday morning ‘HeadLines’ program( now suspiciously defunct)
But of course “the unknown is unknown”!
I asked myself how to get YES reported in households. thought of ‘CLYDE’ the Commonwealth Games mascot. YES needs a YES YETI monster to capture the imagination and pester power of every household’s children, and stir up a YES noise.
ITS BIT LATE IN THE CAMPAIGN, may have run out of time for this once in a lifetime opportunity.
I’m a neanderthal metal basher, YES needs creative arty artists to get onboard fast.
Thanks to BBC/MSM silence and secrecy conspiracy, Scotland’s households are blissfully unaware of the Referendum and the issues.
YES is not getting into mainstream.
ps. I’m doing my bit.
Investing thousands of my scarce savings.
YES should be selling YES shares to YES supporters.
YES needs to energise fast.
pps.
YES should have a live online radio with 24/7 music and facts!
YES should have live online tv broadcasting, showing our big hitters interviews and broadcasts 24/7.
IT could be too late in the day.
I’m going at it 100% till I-Day.
…so when I discuss getting rid of trident or Scotland being run by the government we vote for, and reducing inequality, improving infrastructure and all these wonderful concepts with my Yes leaning friends (not another card carrying SNP member amongst them) what is my motivation ‘at heart’ Alistair?
At heart I believe in the inherent genetic superiority of Scots? That we need the bit between the border and Hadrian’s wall that Rory has written off as our lebensraum to expand?
That my English friends (never mind the people from foreign climes I thought were my friends) are actually inferior races that must be purged from our sacred soil?
That Berwick needs invaded and purified?
We’re I to express these opinions, my mates would think I was joking. If I persisted, they would think I was was on something.
I don’t think I am an ethnic nationalist… I think the reason I have become what could be termed a civic nationalist is that Scotland, for many years has needed people to stand up for this nation in the face of Westminster draining our resources and robbing us blind with zero interest in our past, present or future.
I want to see our country transformed into a modern, successful small European country like Norway, Sweden and Denmark. I suppose once we have achieved that we could expand our armed forces, in order to invade these other small European countries and subjugate their inferior people. Is that ‘at heart’ what I want Alistair? Is that ‘at heart’ what you think?
And who else are you calling blood and soil nationalists? Your allies in UKIP? And in the Conservatives? Do tell.
Mr Darling should apologise for insulting every SNP member and voter and resign. Simple as.
(kendomacaroonbar 8:13 no dear and my OH has flown back to St Kilda on business, so we shouldn’t have that interregnum for some time xx)
Oh btw OH gave me an ALERT READER badge from the Yes Shop in Montrose before they departed!
Alistair darling interview on Scotland Tonight last night.
The only mention of the New Statesman’s comments start at 6.58mins in. Ads at start.
Followed by Alex Salmond from dark Aberdeen and John Mackay in brilliant sunshine at Holyrood. Work that one out.
link to player.stv.tv
OT but Indie front page carried interesting/unfortunate juxtapositioning of white supremacist tragedy and the Camerons
link to calumcarr.blogspot.co.uk
Re Gordon Brown please click on Order-Order to see him at his speech in the LSE this evening. Something missing!
OT but Indie front page carried interesting/unfortunate juxtapositioning of white supremacist tragedy and the Camerons
calumcarr.blogspot.co.uk/
Janet Street Porter BBC2 Borders
Janet Porter BBC Borders – Why?????????
Hows this for a bit of ‘blood and soil’ nationalism.
PM backs drive for ‘British values’ link to bbc.co.uk
scottish_skier 6:48
#bettertogethernothanks, looks like the place to go with your
suggestions.
This could be a runner
How do you make a link?
It’s quite low depths the Labour Party are now sinking too.
Scottish Labour MPs in the pay of dodgy tory buisnessness men, such as Ian Taylor, are now openly referring to rival liberal democratic political parties that support and protect public services from privatisation as no better than Nazis.
Thatcher’s work is done here.
@seanair
Only the lonely…know why I cry
Shock horror!
Janet SP talks to no voters in the borders.
Whit a divot that woman is.
Janet Street – Porter on the beeb. No voter is a sensible farmer concerned about the currency.
Juxtapose with Yes voter- a guy in full battle regalia Inc broadsword who not only wants Independence but also wants Independence for the Borders. An army of 1.
Next 2 ordinary tory voting well off country types voting no.
Braveheart Claxton keeps sounding. Fuck me is this the best we can expect from the BBC? Propaganda, endless propaganda.
@ john king at 7.09pm
+1
Yay ! My bud Johnny at the Clyde Bar Helensburgh telling it as it is to Janet Street Porter !
Saw the Janet thing so turned over and am watching a program about ancient Roman jobby. So, turned over shit to watch shit 🙂
@ronnie anderson.
I only managed a couple of minutes viewing, then had to turn over.
I thought this was amusing;
link to twitter.com
Tam Jardine said: Is this the best we can expect from the BBC?
No indie produced programme gets financed unless fronted by a celeb or stand-up comic – the “commercial element” – so it has sale value. Result: vacuous and peurile.
The presenter must be English.
A Scots presenter limits transmission to … Scotland only.
Soon as I saw her striding across the Borders and looking wistfully to the hills I turned off and back to my work.
It would be quite easy for the matter to be clarified.
When Darling next appears on UKIP TV, he can be asked to clarify if he believes that the SNP represents ‘blood and soil’ nationalism.
Gerry/Ronnie
I decided to skip JSP as I knew it would annoy me no end.
You would have been better watching Celebrity Masterchef where Scottish langoustines were mentioned as part of the lunch-time menu of a top London restaurant.
Actually, the JsP prog is fairly even handed IMHO..
Re JSP: now we’ve had Alan Bissett on am warming to this programme. Hopefully on the third time of asking she understands that it is not because we hate the English. We shall see.
All credit to the inverviewer though, he did manage to get two thirds of a Yes out of the head of NO TA.
JSP on BBC2, someone needs to get a hold of the wind farmer as defo soft NO.
JSP prog very good, if only for dispelling the anti English theme parroted by the Unionists.
She came across well I thought.
Thanks bunter,
May catch it on iplayer.
I thought the JSP programme was not too bad. Ordinary folk were allowed their chance to speak, gave their reasons for voting yes or no.
JSP reiterated several times that she had thought that the referendum was ‘anti-English’ and that she’d she’d found that not to be the case, she spoke to an English resident of the NE who was leaning toward yes and stated that she had never had any problem with prejudice, even tho she had been warned that she would face it. Other contributers, including Alan Bissett and Jonny in the Clyde bar were excellent.
I thought, that most of the no voters seemed worried and very misinformed, so there is a lot of work to do, but that several of them seemed like soft nos and if they had their worries addressed might well change their votes.
Imho JSP missed several points and her conclusions were very superficial, but the programme allowed ordinary Scots a voice and that was very refreshing, even if i did not agree with much of what the no voters especially had to say. If you get the chance, I would recommend to watch it, even if it does make you want to throw something at the screen at times
O/T if anyone needs a wee boost before turning in, there have been a few very good results in debates over the past few days.
A public debate in Dingwall yesterday saw Yes win 63-25.
Gracemount High debate saw Yes going from 28% pre-debate to 56% post.
At St Mungo’s, No lead pre-debate and post it was 59-23 to Yes.
The Courier’s continuing East Coast roadshow keeps turning up Yes wins from admittedly small samples. Luncarty 54-46, Bankfoot 53-47, Cowdenbeath 56-44. Going back a couple of weeks and a but further inland we had Lochgelly 64-31 and Cardenden 71-29. Stirling was 59-41 to Yes.
And tonight I see that a Generation Yes member defeated the local MSP at Garnock Academy in North Ayrshire 54-46.
All very encouraging.
Bunter
Aye – by the end I thought it was fairly well balanced. The wind farmer farmer made me want to scream though. That guy needs to know that Scotland has the lowest farm subsidies in Europe thanks to Westminster and a thriving renewables Industry thanks to the current Scottish Government.
There is naught as strange as folk as they say. Fishing guy needed to read my favourite wings post ever (a must for any new readers): link to wingsoverscotland.com
The first 20 minutes were awful but by the end I felt JSP had a better understanding. And the lady who moved up from England despite being warned that she would be subjected to terrible abuses fair made my night when she said she was leaning towards a Yes.
What they don’t show on the bbc in Scotland
link to archive.today
@ Tam Jardine
Aye if you can get past the Jesse Rae and Braveheart bit then its worth a watch.
I also don’t get the NO voting farmer in the borders, given the rotten EU settlement Scottish farmers receive, though he did look minted!
We ALL know what Al said!!!
Henry McLeish pushes the knife a little further in to Flipper on Scotland Tonight 🙂
sheep on fire , if you are looking for a band to ramp up the rhetoric , then do check out” amber road tiree music festival”on u tube
When John Mackay on Scotland Tonight asked Alistair Darling about it last night he replied it has come to something when you cant poke fun at your opponents, is this what we can expect in Salmond’s Scotland. Not an exact quote.
Sarah Smith on BBC thingy just started ” Scotland has failed its greenhouse targets again, what kind of example is that”
Click, time for bed.
Dynamite from former FM Henry McLeish on ScotNight 😀
Bunter, same old I’m afraid. Any excuse. To be fair the SNP guy was calm and reasonable. I trully don’t know how or indeed why YES are still being so mild mannered.
Time to go for the jugular..
Henry reiterates Crash Gordon’s call for FM-Cameron debate, states that Better Together are finished and the No vote is haemorrhaging. Goes on to say Crash is the man to save the union.. belter.. 🙂
See’s awe you’s Lert,s canny stay tae the end of the J.S.
Porter an the best bit, Prof Irvine in Aberdeen OIL £22bil
to the UK gov. ah’l no hud it agin you’s, ah nearly turned
aff at the Jesse Rae piece ( he never left the 80s ). I hope
plenty people watched the proggramme. Janets a bit gobby
(she exspected to be abused,as she was English (as is the
thoughts of English people, she now has a differant
perspective ).
@ Croompenstein – WOW!
All we need is for Henry to come out for yes and it’s in the bag.
Croompenstein
“Dynamite from former FM Henry McLeish on ScotNight”.
Totally agree with you. Worth a watch if you haven’t seen it.
Unsure of how to take Henry Mcleish. One minute he sounds as if he is ready to come over to YES, then he starts on about saving the Union.
But he doesn’t miss the “BetterTogetherNoThanks” mob.
Marcia the comments underneath the tweet were so funny they brought tears to my eyes…thanks for that! This one: “my name’s Willie Rennie I drop rhymes like a brick, put me in the chamber and I sound like a prick.”…Lol
Is Alistair Darling still the biggest “No Thanker” in the Better Together campaign?
There’s your dinner right there. Darling is guilty as charged.
I can’t quite get my head around the “you will get no thanks” name change.
How many re-launches are they going to do?
Pentland Firth says:
“Where can I order my black shirt, peaked cap, death’s head badge, and lightening flashes for my shirt collars? Come on, you’re all Nazis, someone on this site must know the supplier.”
When they roll out The Firm,(will they still do Balmoral, post Yes ?) you could always ask yon wee scamp Harry.
BTW I’m claiming “Flipper”, coined it as ‘FlyingScott’ on the Hootsmon circa 2011. Got banned, for rising to the bait once too often 🙂
Scotland 2014 is so banal,and that’s the 1st 5 secs
don’t watch the rest
murraymint
“Is Alistair Darling still the biggest “No Thanker” in the Better Together campaign?”
Is “No Thanker”, cockney rhyming slang for W*nk*r?
Crash Gordon knows the game is up,most likely he has seen the secret poll and decided to take unilateral action. Project Fear has failed, SLAB detest the SNP and have decided to go it alone.
Henry Mcleish says Crash is an Asset to the campaign!
DON’T trust Henry McLeish.
bookie from hell
Scotland 2014 must be close to reaching our target audience of 20,000. C’mon lads, we can do this.
Ta for that Nana. I keep thinking that we are in a sort of ‘Perfect Storm’ as to the timing, players, and current state of the UK.
The stars are almost all aligned, and if it wasn’t for the unremitting support PF have in their undermining our democratic rights, from what sometimes seems like the entire planets media, we’d be so far in front the infighting would start over the details.
The audio is frantic, as should be expected from AD – given his blinking and stuttering, responsible broadcasters should be issuing the same warnings that come when flash photography’s involved.
A split-second transcription (which manages to separate the two voices) would be fascinating.
If, Darling’s reasons for describing Yes voters as blood & soil nationalists is because he believes we wouldn’t vote No in any circumstances, then I’d like to hear an interviewer ask him under which circumstances he’d vote Yes. And if his answer is “none” (as I suspect), then to ask him what sort of Nationalism he’d describe his as.
SkyNews discussing England and the World Cup.
Which made me think of the Rev stuck down their in Engerland.
Rev please don’t go all “Alan Hansen” on us.
Hansen used to give it the royal “WE” when talking about Engerland in the BBC England sports studio.
It must be near time for the Rev to “come home”. Soon maybe?
pele the piranna predicting England will beat Italy
he must work for mori ( : > )
OT
Bit of coordinated fiddling going on with the betting. A £200,000 (or £400,000 from one source) is reported in the papers to have gone on at William Hills on NAW and all the prices on all the bookmakers go out in unison.
Had Hills actually received a £200,000 (or £400,000)bet I can assure you the price wouldn’t have been shaved from 1/4 to 1/5 but to something like 1/9 or “book closed”
5/1 again at Ladbrokes for more than 55%
We must anticipate the MSM myth, then work back the way – that’s how they construct these things.
For example – a huge front-page picture of a tiny, snivelling, huge-eyed puppy, covered in filth and clearly emaciated:
‘Podgy was abandoned after his owner allegedly fell under the spell of rabid Cybernats and was forced to do non-stop door-to-door leafleting of SNP propaganda for up to TWELVE HOURS at a time.’
So much for the “inaudible mumble”.
The New Statesman cannot be trusted. A source poisoned with lies and deception as they spin and hide the truth to support unionist cause.
@Dave Mc Hill Graham Sharpe ( William Hills ) confirmed that £400,000 bet was placed.
So the nice people at no thanks get a tame stooge to place a £400,00 bet. Using their own money? Maybe not. This gets massive headlines about how a no vote is certain. More money well spent. Peerages in the pipeline for the lucky gambler?
On the actual thread about the betting… this one you know…
link to wingsoverscotland.com
… the consensus is that it’s either a small bookie from a very No-optimistic area who wants to lay off some of his risk (would explain how he actually has the money to do this), or someone acting for a syndicate hedging an earlier bet on Yes so as to be assured of a profit either way.
I bet once the YES vote is in all the nay sayers like AD and his ilk will all be sceaming. Vote for me give me a job I was thinking Yes all along.
Russians target Scotland in Cyber Attacks… link to bbc.co.uk
…Funny that, but on the wee embedded clip in the article, I never heard the guy mention Scotland once!
Just what are the BBC really implying in this story?
The Bookies are lying. There is no way they would accept a large bet from a punter, off the street no questions. One Bookies would not accept a £500 brt on YES, after phonig their risk managers. It was refused. Another bookies did take it 9/2. Later (2 months) another Bookie would not accept £500 on YES over 55%. They would only accept £100 bet on a daily basis. Ie they would only accept £100 every day for five days.
Yet William Hills is claiming, an unknown person went in several times a day putting on consecutive large bets. Why did they not just put it on in one go, in that case. It never happened. William Hill are looking for cheap publicity, trying to drum up customers to put money on a NO vote. To counteract the money placed on YES? To spread the risk?, because their risk managers calculate YES will win? It’s a scam and it’s illegal. Bookies trying to manipulate the Vote so they can make more money.
I’m almost certain this faux-stushie with Claire/Clare Lally is chaff to distract us from the LEADER OF THE NO CAMPAIGN being irrefutably proven to have agreed with the assessment that the SNP are “blood and soil nationalists,” and so maligning not only them, but everyone who voted for them – after making great pains to say that he didn’t, in fact, say anything of the sort.
Proven (again) to have made despicable claims about Scotland’s most popular party, then proven (again) to have cravenly lied about it. MacDougall’s no better, with his emphasis on Darling not using those words – as if that matters when the context is seen – as an attempt to absolve him.
While the media is creating a fuss about some people on the internet calling out BT about misrepresenting a member of the LABOUR SHADOW CABINET as an “ordinary mum”, Alistair Darling has called the SNP, and by proxy their voters, blood and soil nationalists. “At heart.” And he’s gotten away with it.
All very convenient, wouldn’t you say? Much like when the entire media was talking about Miley Cyrus’ twerking escapades juuust about the same time the US government invaded Syria. Ho hum.
Tax evader Brown ‘One million Scottish jobs linked to the Union’. £10Billion+ Scottish pounds disappearing from Scotland into UK Excheqer. £4Billion repayment on monues borrowed and spent in the rest of the UK (on rubbish), £3Billion over payment, £1.5Billion spent on Trident/redundant weapons, £1. 5Billion could be saved/raised on a tax on ‘loss leading’ drink. £10Billion and the rest.
That would create more than1 million jobs in Scotland,. Westminster has defrauded Scotland of the equivalent of £200Billion and depopulated Scotland.
Brown is a liar and a cheat. Brown should pay his taxes and stop starving and killing children.. The appalling hypocrite who bankrupted Britain/the world. Brown caused death/destruction and mass unemployment all over the world. Brown is a greedy lying hypocrite. Still no apology.
I note in the media this morn that Merkel was asked by someone (I wonder who) about an iScotlands position regards EU membership.
She reportedly said that she wont comment on a hypothetical question.
Well done to Merkel, no sign of a special relationship there lol.
Rock on Tommy. A true working class hero. Stitched up by Bliar to save the criminal Murdoch reptile.
Squash the illegal conviction. ‘A perjurer (Coulson) giving evidence at a perjury case?’ ‘Scottish justice’? A £5million in House stitch up on behalf off the corrupt Labour/Unionist Party.
The illegal conviction quashed and compensation for the Sheridan family is the only justice.
Blair is manipulating the Chilcott verdict. Another ‘cover up’. Blair should be on trial at the Hague.
I have noticed on my timeline that there is an increase in foreign media attending and filming indy meetings and reckon it may be an idea, if any of us are in attendance, to ask a question about BBC propaganda and media lies, if only to highlight the issue to the worlds press.
The BBC must not escape this campaign undamaged and allowed to carry on as before.
Merkel can’t stand Cameron. That is obvious, Merkel is pulling the strings and imposing austerity in Europe. They are all multi millionaires courtesy of public monies, protecting their vast personal fortunes, against the public interest. They are only interested in themselves.
The countries most affected by the US/UK banking crisis did not want money, they wanted time (to pay back). That would have lessened the austerity hardship. Vote YES to protect the vulnerable.
Thanks for this Rev. Enabled me to reply to Ben Carroll of BT who replied on Darling’s behalf to my email. See what he says now.
Pentland Firth.
There is a firm in Leeds that will sort out your clothing requirements. I think they have taken over from Hugo Boss.
jacksolane2013 says
“we are perfectly entitled to say they are “sturm und drang”!”
Taxi for Jean-Jacques Rousseau?
Tam Jardine says
“Mr Darling should apologise for insulting every SNP member and voter and resign. Simple as.”
I agree with every word Tam, well said.
Rock sats
“DON’T trust Henry McLeish.”
Not as far as I could throw him!
Meant to add to the Jacksloane2013 comment that
Some people could start an argument in an empty room. 🙂
Vambomarbeleye says
“There is a firm in Leeds that will sort out your clothing requirements. I think they have taken over from Hugo Boss.”
Dae ye dae it in a tank top? 🙂
They should be in jail. Brown/Blair, Goodwin etc.
Meghafi was in jail. He was innocent. The one’s who were guilty put him in jail. Labour/Unionists manipulated the Scottish ‘Justice’ system. Illegal lawyers acted against International Law. They should all be in jail. The corrupt lot of them, all in Westminster.
The Bookies are lying
That will be Hill. Only been in three to check a bet and none accepted unlimited bets on the Referendum result. In fact, they were all strict in keeping to a low figure.
@John King at 7.06
I really like that song. Another one of the good ones.
@ John King 11 June 2014 at 7.06am
LOL
Boris has just spent over £200,000 on water cannon, “in case of disorder in London this summer.”
Lovely place to live, London.
How thoughtful. How considerate.
Water cannon to keep Londoners cool.
Vote No for more water cannon.
The man’s and eejjitt. The words denial, hatred and deceit come to mind
Boris lining his pockets with public monies, wastes £200,000 of public monies, on water cannons to protect himself. Dope on a rope.
Janet Street Porter:
“That’s me told then!”
Aye, ye were.
A pint for Jonny in the Clyde Bar.
Janet Street Porter:
“That’s me told then!”
Aye, ye were.
A pint for Jonny in the Clyde Bar.
Janet Street Porter:
She has no vote so who was the programme for?
Why cover ground covered by others only days before?
Why a documentary to help her achieve understanding?
By what test are we to tell she approached the subject objectively?
By what test are we to judge she edited the programme fairly?
Was she aiming for fairness or bolstering prejudices?
Did she plan to make it as entertaining as possible?
Did she plan to make it as enlightening as possible?
By what criteria did she choose people to interview?
What was the reason for the programme?
Keeps her in fees and residuals?
Keeps her in the public eye?
Why her and not an historian?
Why her and not a philosopher?
Why her and not a social scientist?
Why her but not a political scientist?
Where was the erudition?
Did she conclude Scotland has too few democratic rights?
Did she conclude Scotland is a land flowing with milk and honey?
Do we care what Janet Street Porter thinks?
And if we do, will it alter our vote?
In which case…
… who was the programme aimed at?
I see that all our years in Iraq, promoting democracy, are starting to pay dividends. NOT!
The place is ready to erupt.
And there are some politicians who are actually wanting us to go back in with the Yanks to “sort it out”.
My point being that Scotland could be back in Iraq again, without Scots having any say on the decision.
Vote YES, so Scotland can avoid anymore illegal wars.
@caz-m
Yes watching this one with interest. I work in the oil industry and engineers get paid a big premium (danger money) to work there. I would never work there as it could erupt anytime as we are seeing now.
Grouce Beaters
Surely you know that ever since Dr Grierson Scots are genetically programmed incapable of producing TV documentaries.
Another lie from Brown. Ships will not be built in the Clyde. ‘Murrison?’ UK gov advisor said Navy vessels would be built on the Clyde if Scotland voted YES. If Scotland was Independent ships (turbines) could be build on the Clyde (No Faslane) and the West Oil fields could be developed. The Scottish Gov could invest in ship building on the Clyde. Norway builds over 100 ships every year.
Robert Goodwill UK transport minister ‘I have been on a helicopter once’. Helicopters falling from the sky in the North Sea because of (lack of) UK gov health and safety guide lines, and safety guide lines not being followed. Helicopters over thirty years old. No Inquiry to apportion responsibility. £1Billion (of Oil revenues?) spend by Hammond, upgrading Naval helicopters.
Co incidence. ‘Robert Goodwill has been a farmer (since 1979) of 250 acres of land near Malton which has been in his family since 1850. He has been the managing director of Mowthorpe Ltd since 1995, which offers environmentally friendly burials in North Yorkshire countryside.’
Line them up to chop them down.
Boris, ‘let them eat cake’, could send some water cannons to Iraq. They need some (food/oil) water. They are rioting because of lack of water and Westminster foreign policy.
Just thought I’d mention that when a Telegraph article about YES supporters is posted to Facebook it publishes a hitherto hidden image of what looks like the entrance to a stripper club.
I’m sure the Dowager Duchess of Hamilton, a featured YES supporter, won’t be too impressed at this ignoble juxtaposition.
Scotland: the Yes Voters
link to s.telegraph.co.uk
link to businessforscotland.co.uk
Scotland’s future just got even better.
Another winning ‘lottery’ ticket – which the Unionist parties, Labour & Tory, will undoubtedly try to take from Scotland.
Here’s a snippet.
“In Scotland there is growing interest in how we can participate in the Arctic region. Scottish officials have visited Norway and Iceland exploring how an independent Scotland could contribute, especially in Defence.
Just last week a group of Strathclyde University architecture graduates called Lateral North published an ‘Atlas of productivity‘ setting out Scotland’s geographical position on a new northern frontier.
It explores how Scotland can transform its economy through focusing on the growing trade and shipping links that are set to expand in the Arctic gap.
Inaudible mumble from BBC and UK press over Darling’s outrageous slur on one million SNP supporters.
Meanwhile the BBC continues its attack on Scottish Government and NHS. Call Louise White at BBC RADIO SCOTLAND MORNING CALL
Call 0500 92 95 00. Text 80295.
Email morningcallscotland [at] bbc [dot] co [dot] uk
It’s time folk stood up for the separate Scottish NHS and contrast the position in Scotland with that in England which will become the norm if we vote No in September.
@Another Union Dividend
On the subject of the genetically incapable stuff, I find it most humourous that wee Lamont goes on TV to say that Scots are genetically incapable of understanding politics, then day after day huge numbers of Labour members proclaim that they are ‘proud Scots’. Are they trying to tell us something?
Could a common or garden SNP member sue Darling and the New Statesman for libel? I’m not sure. It’s not quite directly accusing them of being Nazis but the implication is incredibly strong and I’m sure the man on the Clapham omnibus already thinks it, given the amount of times you hear such things BTL on the Mail and Telegraph sites. I firmly believe that just launching the action would be a fantastic campaign tactic. It would keep Darling terribly busy and it would be virtually impossible to keep the story out of the news…
Boring BBC Scotland, chasing Alex Neil again. This is getting ridiculous. That’s about four weeks in a row they have hounded him and just in time for tomorrow’s FMQs.
They are even doing ANOTHER phone-in regarding NHS Scotland and GPs.
They don’t care who you are, just as long as you can think of a shit, negative story about you GP, then phone in.
The more the merrier.
Johann Lamont or Jackie Baillie will be all over this at FMQs.
A pathetic BBC Scotland and Scottish Labour joint venture.
They really don’t have anything else to talk about.
Henry McLeish slaughtering “BetterTogetherNoThanks” mob on Scotland Tonight last night.
Well worth a watch, Ads at start.
link to player.stv.tv
C’mon Henry, join the YES campaign, you know it makes sense.
Listening to BBC R4 news and as Iraq collapses even more, David Milliband says ofcourse he would voted against war with Iraq now “we” know they had no WMD’s and that kicks off another day of betterTogether Labour/unionist lies here in Aberdeen.
@caz-m
I see no signs that the Scottish Government are either going to withdraw co-operation or take on the BBC. Once again this pantomime about the NHS is enacted, and once again a defensive sounding Alex Neil is edited into a corner.
We’re three months away from a make or break decision for Scotland. If the SNP aren’t going to fight the BBC now, when will they?
BBC is too powerful for Scots.gov to take on, so they have no choice but to do as they are bid. Its what we’re voting to change, the power structure of teamGB, or not.
Iraq about to kick off again. A reminder of Westminster disasterous policy.
World cup about to kick off. Thousands of BBC football replays, from over fifty years ago. Even more YES votes over the line. Can’t wait to get rid of Brown/Blair, Cameron/Osbourne/Alexander etc. Yesterday’s men. Never to be viewed on the SBC again. Alex Neil is more than able to stand up to them. Scottish Budget cut £1.3Billion a year, since 2011Budget. More cuts from Wedtminster on the way. Oil revenues manipulated down by Westminster interference.
Vote YES.
The Scottish Gov will be complaining about the BBC. It will not get reported. Censorship. Westminster controls the BBC.
No taxation without representation
No free and balanced Press
No democracy
The BBC is betting it’s house on a No vote – literally.
The BBC in Scotland will not survive a Yes vote.
The building at PQ will eventually be demolished
for the same reason that the statue of Saddam Hussain was pulled down in Iraq.
I would have no hesitation in doing it.
Everyone knows the BBC/MSM are biased. People are raging. Viewers nos are falling. No one believes the MSM. Be selective, don’t watch it. No viewers no programmes. There is an alternative media now, like Wings, Bateman/Bella etc. Giving the full facts.
Training Day
TV stations from all over the world will soon be on Scottish soil.
Let them know of BBC Scotland and MSM bias against Scottish Independence.
They need to be told of the lies that the state broadcaster tells the Scottish people daily, they need to be shown the food banks that are on the increase because of UK government policy and all the other sides of inequality that is happening in Scotland.
They need to be told the truth. Not a BBC fluff story.
As I have been saying for the last couple of years, the people of North Korea have a more fair and balanced news media than we do in Scotland.
If they keep on crying Wolf attacking the NHS. People will get sick of that, as the NHS has massive, majority support.
Nasty Westminster,how low can they go?
link to newstatesman.com
I have posted before on the BBC.
BBC overseas service is the real Achilles Heel of the system. It’s competitors for World audience are many including Al Jezera and Russian TV. They shall highlight the BBC treatment of Scotland. It’s in their interest to do so. The BBC in Scotland shall be exposed without the SG doing anything about it.
Everyone is watching this referendum and the BBC shall be exposed.
Be of good cheer. YES shall triumph in spite of them.
Another The Guardian so funny it’s sad day, with them all very excited about Crash Gordon back in the saddle for not the first time because, “it’s great that he’s back” and “it’s great that he’s now being positive in this his first first untervention too”
Do the teamGB twerps that write this guff pretend we’re all a bunch of morons just to get through their work day?
“This greater positivity is not all down to Mr Brown. He is one part of the more positive anti-independence approach, not the sole incarnation of it.” And
” But the way that all the Better Together parties – including the Scottish Tories – have recently rallied behind further devolution proposals has probably done more than anything else to instil the welcome new positive tone to the pro-union campaign.”
KEEP HOLD OF SCOTLAND, COME ON ENGLAND
@heedtracker
‘BBC is too powerful for Scots.gov to take on, so they have no choice but to do as they are bid.’
Jeez, if that’s the case we’re as well chucking it now!
The SG has to take the fight directly to the BBC in each and every interview, and not allow themselves to be hectored into contrition on a daily basis by Pacific Quay. That’s what’s happening, and the BBC don’t give a shit how biased or undemocratic it looks as long as it achieves their ends. Remember how the BBC was recently emboldened enough to berate a SG Minister (Swinney) in one of their Tuesday debates on the question of the organisation’s bias, knowing full well that he would fudge the answer and look weak because the approach of the SG to the BBC is too timid?
What I wouldn’t give to see one – just one – SG Minister call out the BBC.
Training Day, it’s frustrating but it’s merely life here in this nonsense union. I think SNP Scots.gov are tactically right to simply do what they’re doing, grinning and bearing it. BBC is as nearly as powerful as Westminster and all SNP Scots.gov can do is state the case for change, keep their dignity and let us decide.
The BBC come over as hectoring bullies and clearly treat the pro-Independence camp unfairly. Neutrals and undecided do notice that: as I did when the SNP formed its first government and it changed me.
Good point raised at Ivan McKee talk in Ellon last night regarding the Crown Estates.
Apart from large swathes of it’s land, Scotland apparently has NO CONTROL over 12 nautical miles of it’s own coastline, including beaches as the tide ebbs..
The Crown Estate could effectively and at any time put a blockade upon Scotlands’ exit and entry from it’s own shores.
Some info here on the CEC;
link to scotland.gov.uk
Also, if Faslane is on Crown Estate land/sea then who has control over it? The Crown? The Treasury?
John Swinney did not look weak. John Swinney looked astute in not answering a loaded question. The BBC/Media biased scumbag low life ‘reporters’, feeding their faces on Public monies, against the Public interest would have used for perpetuate to knock the SNP and the Scottish Gov. The biased BBC/MSM protecting their own privileged position against the public interest. It is not astute to let the MSM divide and rule.
The BBC/MSM are a disgrace. The ‘liberal?’ Guardian is even promoting Gordon Brown, the tax evading, greedy, lying mass murderer who has caused poverty worldwide, to ensure his own vast personal fortune. The collision is beyond contempt. The wealthy editor is on £1/2Million a year. The White, male, wealth middle class Press/MSM, ‘ all in it together’. The Editor was threatened with jail by Cameron and Clegg and their thugs smashed up the Press room. That soon brought the Editorial on line, under Westminster control. There are other outlets for News.
Excellent. One thing Badger Brows cannot deny is the actual audio.
He could always squirm around a transcript claiming it wasn’t accurate, but audio is a lot less simple to alter.
Entirely o/t… yesterday I found a Wings article that my work firewall wouldn’t entertain. Nothing dodgy in that, the firewall is a blunt instrument and I can get on pretty much every other article as I wish.
The particular blocked one? Blocked for being a gambling site. Article? Against All Odds.
I admit, a yes vote is on one level always going to be a gamble (as is a no vote) because none of us can see the future with anything other than, at most, an educated guess. But this one gave me a chuckle just the same.
£1m. Vote no,the research bluff again lol.
Aw diddums…big industry. Please vote no or we won’t be able to drown in profit.
link to harpers.co.uk
Im sorry but is this much ado about nothing?
NO man calls YES folk bad people
hardly new news.
‘John Swinney did not look weak. John Swinney looked astute in not answering a loaded question.’
Ken, as the catcalls from the audience swirled around Swinney’s perceived dissembling on the question of BBC bias, that’s one point upon which we’ll agree to disagree.
We do agree it was a set up, we differ on the quality of the response.
The Scottish Gov ministers have called out the BBC, had them up under a Committee. Labour/Unionist Boothman and the side kick. Joan McAlpine (ex Media) etc called them up. It doesn’t get reported. The conceited ‘reporters’ try to call out the Scottish Gov. They make biased reports about the SNP/Scottish Gov. The ‘reporters’, political allegiances, which often got them the job in the first place. The ‘reporters’ are just protecting their comfortable existence on public monies, against the Public interest.
Fifty years of Labour/Unionists has left Scotland with Labour stooges in most places in public life. They is why they join the Labour/Unionist Parties for their own advancement. The don’t give a damn about anyone else, especially the poor electorate.
Labour’s Ian “Pakis” Smart at it again with his offensive outpourings. Now calling the late SNP leader, William Wolfe, “a piece of racist scum” link to ianssmart.blogspot.fi BUT it’s only us “cybernats” that say nasty things. Right?
One thing to agree on is, ‘people are raging’. Don’t get angry get even. Vote YES. Simple.
O/T Was at the bike racing at East Fortune nr Edinburgh at the weekend with my racing bike, unfortunately various technical issues ruled out it getting raced, which was a huge disappointment as three of the pit crew had travelled from Paris to be there. Anyway it was not the only Racing Yamaha to have YES logos, here are some photos
link to facebook.com
Independence mean Whisky Companies stop tax evasion. Scotland is Quids in. (£Millions).
@Ken500
Keep shouting out that good shout. The Scottish People need to wake up before they find 300 years of hitting snooze results in the end for us all.
Like the Bike.
I wish my work firewall blocked this rubbish but it’s still fun to compare and contrast right to rule Scotland, in England, as in this UKOK out of EU or “Brexit” -byline separatista Ambrose Evans Pritchard v stop the jocks unionist Simon Johnson. Odd pair but lots of vote no, then vote yes, vote Tory fun too.
link to blogs.telegraph.co.uk
Spectacular BetterTogether grot is interesting project fear UKOK outrage, but poor wee soul not only uses her disabled child for her politics but her Mum’s tears too.
link to telegraph.co.uk
What’s that mad old boozer Cockers raging about today?
Have faith in your fellow citizens. The people in Scotland are pretty astute.
It’s Wednesday on the BBC so it must be have a go at Alex Neil / Scottish NHS day, it’s becoming so predictable that it’s obviously an orchestrated campaign.
Slightly O/T, can anyone point me to the original source of this image
link to yeshighland.net
I’m looking to be able to get a printable version of it for a banner for the upcoming PQ demo.
Cockers is as irrelevant as the Telegraph, especially in Scotland. Sold his soul to the Witch. A wind up rag. .
For Celtic fans, a lovely twist on new strip:
link to etims.net
O/T The Herald and Times group own many publications, including The Scottish Farmer. They published a letter from an angry Perthshire farmer who was having a go at a Scotland on Sunday headline:
link to thescottishfarmer.co.uk
The BT mock up poster is excellent and the farmer puts forward several good points.
Breaking News on BBC.
“Author JK Rowling has made a £1m donation to help fund the campaign against Scottish independence.
The writer of the Harry Potter books, who lives in Edinburgh, has publicly backed the Better Together campaign.”
I wonder if this will get the same swarm of comments on the MSM as the Weir’s donations.
Bet not.
SquareHaggis at 9:52
Faslane may be on Crown Estates land but where does their water, electricity and gas come in from? It would be very awkward for them if they had to generate it all on site and/or import it by sea.
I see J K Rowling has donated £1 million to Better Together.
Harry Potter says “NO”.
I’ve just seen that @TheItalianJob I am absolutely disgusted at her. Scotland gave her so much support when she was a young single mum and this is what she does in return.
Appalling
One reason the SNP/Scottish Gov will not be too worried about the BBC/MSM bias. Unexpected consequences, it acts in the YES favour. Many people will vote YES because of the BBC/MSM bias, especially knocking Scotland, the place where they live. It is an indirect attack on the electorates’s integrity.
Everyone likes an underdog, especially under attack. People rally round. Even the people in the rest of the UK rally to the cause. The majority in the rest of the UK are sick of Westminster rule as well, and think it is unfair, unequal and unjust.
WOW
J K Rowling loses it.
Lord Voldemort is based on Alex Salmond, and pro-independence supporters are Death Eaters.
James Kelly’s take on the latest poll;
link to scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk
JK Rowling protects her vast fortune, courtesy of the electorate.
Latest poll news from James Kelly;
link to tinyurl.com
Jk Rowling protecting her privileged position in society and ensuring the access to the great and good stays availablel to her at the expense of the peasants. Aye the privileged classes are better together.
BBC extasy over Rowling million pound to BetterTogether and she says “I also know that there is a fringe of nationalists who like to demonise anyone who is not blindly and unquestionably pro-independence”
and vote no Guardian says
“The no campaign is now accentuating the positive. It is underscoring its Scottishness as well as its Britishness, and emphasising its Scottish patriotism as well as its belief in the UK.”
And BetterTogether boss Flipper Darling says YES Voters for Scottish democracy are “blood and soil” Nazis.
Puzzled?
Rowling certainly deeply anti Scotland as a self governing democracy but also not very clued up on Alistair Darling views about Scotland’s democracy. What the hey, it’s only a million quid so what’s that to Rowling anyway, or she’s as much a hard core politico as any BetterTogether pro at the BBC etc.
Ach well, now we know.
JK shows her support for Trident, massive military spending, poverty, Thatcherism (or red or blue variety), ermine-clad troughers and Westminster rule forever.
I’m alright (union) jack! Her choice. Not much else to add.
Ken500 says:
Fifty years of Labour/Unionists has left Scotland with Labour stooges in most places in public life. They is why they join the Labour/Unionist Parties for their own advancement. The don’t give a damn about anyone else
Agreed.
It is one teenie weenie reservation I have about Independence. Labour rot is everywhere and will take a lot of weeding out. Also, Scotland needs new cleansed left of centre parties, not vestiges of existing Labour which has done so much damage in recent decades.
Fitstly we need to get away from Tory rule from London, but then we also need to look closer to home and what Labour in our midst has become.
If you don’t kill wood worm investation completely, it just comes back again.
Remember all that shit poured over the Weirs in the Daily Record, the Daily Mail and on our TV screens?
I don’t think Rowling is going to escape criticism, do you?
Fools and their money, some people have short memories. Single grieving mothers, disabled children in Faluja, Iraq etc. Vulnerable people sanctioned and walking for food. Unimaginable.
Tax breaks and concessions for tax evading multimillionaires.
Maybe Rowling should cast her magic over Iraq. She supported the invasion.
O/T New poll released by TNS (conducted 21-28th May) showing Yes 30%, No 42%, DK’s 28%. With DK’s excluded it’s Yes 42%, No 58%.
However when only those certain to vote are calculated it becomes Yes 34%, No 44%, DK’s 22%. With DK’s excluded that would become Yes 44%, No 56%.
All broadly unchanged from the last TNS poll
However they also asked DK’s to say which way they are likely to swing, and 19% said Yes against 15% to No.
Splitting the undecided (but certain to vote) by this proportion puts Yes at 46% and No at 54%.
Getting interesting