132 to “Her Majesty’s Champions”

1. jimnarlene

Superb.

2. Robert Louis

Hamish on his mighty horse (I bet it’s a clydesdale (which are simply splendid, btw)), whilst Tory leaders around him scatter.

With recent events it has become clear that it is we, the people of Scotland, and not the disgraced and corrupt ‘SNP’, that must win our freedom from England’s colonial yoke.

As an aside, would it not be quite interesting if a certain Alex Salmond stood in the Edinburgh MSP seat, as an independent??? Just a thought. He’d have the support of most indy supporters, and Angus would be out on his ear.

3. Marie Clark

Doffs bunnet Mr Cairns. Class pure class. Oor Hamish will give him the fight of his life, cause there’s hunners o us ahint him. John Bull jist cannae see us, yet.

4. MaggieC

Spot on Chris , All the knights in not so shining armour dropping like flies .

5. defo

Alex Harvey screamed …
    Fab work CC. Ta.

6. Clapper57

Next indeed….

Douglas Ross interviewed yesterday trying ..and failing…to deceive the public into thinking that his decision to stand for new Tory leadership in branch office was a decision only made within hours of Carlaw resigning….so when was it discussed that Ruth Davidson would be the “interim leader” at FM’s questions until the ( to quote Michelle Ballantyne) “Stitch up” was completed ?….

Do they honestly think we, in Scotland, are as gullible as those who bought into the slogans of Brexit that we would believe it credible that this decision was spontaneous by Douglas Ross and that a wee phone call to Ruth to iron out her role was also a spontaneous idea…

This is a planned and ‘well thought’ out decision….but you know I read someone on Twitter stating ” Tis not the Captain but the Ship that is the problem”….and as Chris’s cartoon displays the succession of continuous leaders shows that to be true.

BTW no sooner had Carlaw resigned I read on Twitter via Joe Pike a political correspondent from Sky that Douglas Ross may stand…in other words the paint had barely dried when his name came into the mix…..

A coronation….where he will be uncontested or up against duffers….meanwhile branch office Tory members see THEIR selection for Tory branch office manager Jackson Carlaw ousted but allowed to resign with dignity…..NOT…

Mind you it does follow the pattern of Tory democracy not being something applied in practice……God help any other political party closer to home who venture down this path also…cause if we don’t accept this from the Tories we cannot accept it from the party who we thought would get us our independence…after all if we did accept it from an Indy party while chastising a Unionist party… well to do so would surely be hypocrisy on our part would it not…..

Great cartoon Chris………

7. Effijy

Excellent Chris.

The scrap heap challenge!

How many unionist opposition leaders have come and gone
    For being pathetic over the last 10 years?

Lamont
    Murphy
    Dugdale
    Goldie
    Davidson
    Carlaw
    Cameron
    May
    Menzies
    Fallon
    Swinson

Is Nicola to be next?
    Swinson

8. Kevin Cargill

The chamber of losers, shysters, hypocrites, liars, the corrupt, the nearly deid and the inbreds are most surely welcome to this latest parcel o rogues dispatched by Hamid!!!

9. Effijy

The World Civid Stats through up some interesting facts today.

Absolutely exactly the UK has 5 times the death rate of Germany
    46,120 against 9,224.

The 2 countries had their first Covid cases within 24 hours of each other.

And they still try to call Food Bank Britain Great?

Colombia and the UK have around 300,000 Covid Cases but there
    Have only been 10,000 deaths there against 46,000 here.

No doubt Boris would say they can’t be reporting them all.
    Yes Boris, just like you don’t.

10. Breeks

I can think of no other time when Scotland has been stronger, and yet at the same time, weaker.

The Brexit saga and the conduct of the British Establishment led by Tory cretins as ignorant as they are arrogant, has presented Scotland with a plethora of legitimate grievances and injustices that even English commentators concede Scotland should stand firm and save itself… and yet Scotland does nothing but whimper and concede.

That knight in the cartoon by way is Joanna Cherry; the only champion Scotland has, who secured a “get-out” for the whole UK by confirming Article 50 could be revoked and Brexit stopped. And scored an even bigger victory over the British Establishment by challenging their abuse of the UK’s unwritten Constitutional convention and binding the most powerful politician and leader of the UK to respect the authority of Scots Law and the Scottish doctrine that Parliament exists to serve the people.

Both judgements represented victories secured by elements of Scotland’s National Constitution and popular sovereignty. Of course it’s to be expected the BritNat Propagandist media would underplay the significance of such events, but for Scotland’s political leadership to make nothing of these exquisite victories for Scots Law and sovereign principle is inexcusable and unfathomable. Joanna Cherry was showing us how to defeat the British Establishment, yet Sturgeon demands we forfeit those principles and adopt the foetal position beneath Westminster’s Section 30 veto of the colonial Scotland Act.

Her thanks? To be attacked by twisted misogynists who want access for men to women’s safe places, and see nothing wrong with the deconstruction of all the leaps and bounds that women have achieved from sporting achievements to sexual equality. What does the leadership do? Protect it’s champion? No chance. Throw her to the wolves. Just like all the rest. Alex Salmond. Mark Hirst. Grousebeater. James Dornan. Neil Hanvey. Mark MacDonald… the faces who don’t fit in Sturgeon’s cabal.

Just imagine what else Joanna Cherry might have achieved for Scottish Independence had she been in charge, rather than Nicola Sturgeon, who’s abiding contribution to Brexit was to abdicate the principle of Scottish popular sovereignty, squander Scotland’s emphatic democratic rejection of Brexit, twiddle her thumbs while Northern Ireland was defended by its backstop, and mark Brexit day on 31st January with abject, gutless capitulation.

Scotland’s desire of Independence is evolving into a demand for Independence, and the SNP is doing itself no favours by claiming credit for the rise in support when their inaction, structural stupidity, and thoroughly bizarre agenda has left the Independence community bewildered and alarmed by what the SNP has become. They look like petty, spoiled brat amateurs who are simply out of their depth.

Nicola’s popularity is extremely dangerous, because her manner is a pleasant taste which masks a debilitating poison that perniciously destroys the central nervous system of Scotland’s Constitution. Some fools are so addicted to the taste their powers of deduction and reason have been bypassed.

Scotland has a big strategic decision to make, and it has to make it soon. It must either reclaim the SNP and purge it of this vindictive spoiled brat mafia, or it must find another home for the healthy parts of what the SNP stands for before the corruption of this failing leadership destroys everything.

The SNP think themselves indispensable to Scottish Independence, and for a long time, that has probably been true. They are intoxicated by their own hubris, but the stagnation of five depressing years under Sturgeon has taught some of us that Scotland would be very wise indeed to wean itself off this dependence.

11. deerhill

defo says:
    1 August, 2020 at 7:54 am

Alex Harvey screamed …

First thought that went through my mind too!

12. And spouse

Hey Chris, luv it!
    Purely out of curiosity? How big are the original sketches?

13. winifred mccartney

Excellent cartoon – I’ve said before I don’t know how you do it.

I am so ashamed of the way the SNP has been behaving lately but I do wish Carlaw’s deputy could have taken over at PMQ’s at least then we might have some comedy to look forward to instead all we can look forward to is Ruthie lying and shouting her head off in payment for her red coat.

14. Terry

@Breeks.

100% on the money. The treatment of our best parliamentarian and the strongest elected campaigner for independence is beyond despicable. Incidentally that was the reason why I dumped the SNP in the first place – the bullying of Joanna. I couldn’t stand funding an organisation who treated their own like that.

31 January was another watershed. Yesterday was literally the Cherry on the cake.

There are some glimmers of hope. Those who are newly supportive of independence may be impressed by Nicola but it’s independence they support – in their minds they’ve made that transition. They might be surprised to discover the truth which is emerging but I cant see them going back on it. And as they said in the Godfather – “If you go after the King, you better kill the King”. They failed dismally. I’m sure Alex might soon be back to clear out the stables. Here’s hoping!

15. Juteman

There is no doubt in my mind that all this chaos has been well planned in advance. The young brat pack seem to be infiltrators that are working to a plan to destabilise the SNP and the solidarity for indy that has been there up to now. I think some of them don’t give a shit about the issues they are pushing into law, ditto selection for Holyrood seats. Its all designed to cause discord, and it has worked. Social media unionists are also on indy blogs working to a plan to cause infighting on the blogs. The aim is to fragment indy support, and it is working.
    We indy supporters have to find a way through this minefield.

16. Scot Finlayson

Art work reminds me of the book , `A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court` by Mark Twain.

Mark Twain accused Sir Walter Scott of being responsible for the American Civil War,

`Sir Walter had so large a hand in making Southern character, as it existed before the war, that he is in great measure responsible for the war.`

don`t think Mark was a fan of Walter`s writing style but to blame him for 600,000 American deaths is a bit far fetched.

17. Walter Jones

Winifred

The Ruth Davidson frown is world famous.

And the table thumping faux outrage is so fake looking, I doubt if there is anyone left in Scotland to fool.

And do we have to address her as “Dame Ruthie of Bullshitville’ from now on,,,or have we a reprieve?

We are truly not worthy.

18. ahundredthidiot

I think London might be deploying two strategies here. One, where thy fight Scottish Independence every step of the way – and we see that play itself out all too readily, in public.

The other (could be) an understanding that this damn will not hold forever and therefore England has Her terms – She cannot be made to look inept in the eyes of the World with the wee (EU leaning) Country right on Her doorstep.

If we explore the second (unseen) option – it could entail Independence being seen to be granted (when the time comes), Londons man/woman in Bute House (to keep us in check) and a stitch up of a separation agreement by ensuring the Scottish negotiating Committee is made up of young, woke fools (but not stitched up so much as too make England look mean and risk their stooge in Bute) the type of idiots who buy into the green economy so much that they would gift the evil of oil to London so as to ensure their virtue signalling persona remains nourished.

If the second option is, in fact, an unseen reality – I would have to say that London are doing a pretty good job at it. Credit where it’s due and all that, but we should be having none of it.

19. Chris Cairns

Thanks as always for the appreciation. To answer the question – A4 usually but occasionally A3 if I’m feeling lush and have plenty of time.
    Yesterday, I was desperate to get out into the sunshine so A4 it was!

20. Papko

“Social media unionists are also on indy blogs working to a plan to cause infighting on the blogs.”

Very hard to work out who is who on here. Anyone who is ardently supportive of Indy – like some caricature, is usually a Yoon.

21. Walter Jones

The Scottish Tories trying to get back to the heady days when the Scottish/english media made Ruthie the darling of Scottish Politics.

That is the ONLY reason Ruthie has been re appointed as Tory leader at Holyrood from now until next year’s election.

She is there to try and lift support for her irrelevant Party.

They see their precious Union slipping away,,, absolutely no thanks to Sturgeon.

22. dakk

“Very hard to work out who is who on here. Anyone who is ardently supportive of Indy – like some caricature, is usually a Yoon.”

Then you have the conditionally pro indy ones who are hinting and now encouraging not to vote SNP on constituency vote.

Nice one Chris.

23. kapelmeister

A man who wants to crack down on gypsies and travellers (his public climbdown on that was very unconvincing) is poised to lead the second largest party in Scotland. Chilling.

24. Polly

Great cartoon, as always. You are always on the monkey and one of the best drauhtsmen I’ve seen.

‘don`t think Mark was a fan of Walter`s writing style but to blame him for 600,000 American deaths is a bit far fetched.’

Not sure about that since I think Twain meant more the pernicious effect reading Scott had on the antebellum South and their ideas of ‘chivalry’ and there might be a bit of thruth in that. Scott was tremendously popular in those states before the war. Of course their own ‘lost cause’ like our Jacobite lost cause followed suit. Twain always seemed to me a sardonic realist, Scott a romantic idealist.

25. Walter Jones

All we are wanting from the SNP is for them to blow the whistle and get indyRef2 underway.

Then let the people of Scotland do the rest.

We don’t need Sturgeon and her coven to win our Independence,,,we can do that on our own.

26. robertknight

Lovin’ your work Mr Cairns.

27. Bob Mack

Great cartoon Chris.

The problem within the SNP stems from the groups who joined from other parties. They are trying to make the SNP into an image of what they failed to do in Labour. They failed because what Labour was doing was unpopular.

I am used to political infighting. I remember Alex Salmond being booted out of the SNP for being too socialist.

I cannot however accept the recent events.
    You really have to ask why they have tried to suppress not one but two of the politicians who have fought for Scotland’s rights far more than the party they belong to.

They even changed their rulebook on these occasions to defeat them. Why?

To whose detriment would it be to have these two at the forefront of the Indy movement?

Instead, they tried to give one a life sentence in prison and the other exiled in Westminster where she could cause no problems for the leadership in Holyrood. Had Joanna Cherry not recently warned the SNP that they were delaying the fight on Independence ? Instead the have chosen Angus Robertson. A 17 year parliamentarian with not one notable achievement to his name, apart from being a friend of the Murrells. That’s his qualification.

That’s where we are folks.

28. Pete

Kapellmeister
    Anyone trying to clamp down on gypsies and travellers is a hero in my book.
    They cause lots of mayhem and break all the rules that the rest of us have to abide by.

29. Rm

Scottish politics are starting to fracture into many pieces, all the Independence hubs should join together if not together they have to vote as one for the list vote as this makes no sense not to, lots of people who are not SNP members still want independence and would like another not so rigid party or group of independents to support, there’s always more than one way forward, but the end result will be independence, Scotland has to be different from england and westminster, we should do things totally different go into the future with new ideas, Scotland has contributed a vast amount to the world we have to hold our heads higher and tell everybody round the world this is Scotland your speaking about not the UK but Scotland.

30. CameronB Brodie

Polly
    Thanks for your appreciation and support, and yes, my sense of humour does tend towards the wicked. 😉

31. Famous15

The constituency branch in Edinburgh Central has a couple of members much more electable than Angus. Would the party be daft enough to dare bar them from standing. Ach,stupid question.

32. Socrates MacSporran

Another cracking illustration from The Holidaymaker, and, above, yet another brilliant analysis from an on-fire Breeks – if I am allowed to use that expression.

And, while I have never been a Kevin McKenna fan, he is on the money with his piece this morning.

To use my sporting interests, I see the current situation as being a change of the guard. The SNP are Queen’s Park – they have taken us as far as they are able, but, are no longer attracting the best players.

A new club is about to rise and supplant them at the top – so long as they are not a sectarian outfit, we should be ok for a while, taking us forward, while the old club stagnates in its own supposed superiority.

33. Michael Laing

@Papko at 9.21am: What utter bollecques.

@dakk at 9.29am: What is the point in voting for the SNP if they have no intention of bringing about Scotland’s independence, and every intention of enacting laws that we don’t support? You are conflating support for the SNP with support for independence. It’s become blindingly obvious that these are two entirely different things.

34. schrodingers cat

@breeks
    That knight in the cartoon by way is Joanna Cherry; the only champion Scotland has.
    —————
    except it isnt. what the rest of the world sees is a bin full of leaders that nicola has seen off

35. schrodingers cat

lol

James Kelly@JamesKelly·14m
    Quite right. I can’t foresee any conceivable problems in the leader of the Scottish Conservative Party running the line in an Old Firm match.

36. CameronB Brodie

I was struggling to find a way of commenting, but here’s a peek into the nature of the Conservatives, and their direction of travel.

Snobs v. Herbivores
    https://www.lrb.co.uk/the-paper/v42/n09/colin-kidd/snobs-v.-herbivores

37. Republicofscotland

Excellent Chris, and very true.

On the so called knights, along with Ruth Davidson, Boris Johnsons brother Jo, billionaire Tory donor Michael Spencer, Ken Clarke, Phil Hammond, and Theresa May’s billionaire husband Philip, and a newspaper owner, are all to receive honours, or bumped up to the House of Lords.

British nationalist cronyism at work.

38. schrodingers cat

from an on-fire Breeks

snigger 🙂

39. kapelmeister

The SNP’s treatment of Joanna Cherry is akin to a football club needlessly sidelining it’s star player.

Sturgeon is like a once good manager who has lost it by gradually becoming self-righteous, believing their own publicity, not respecting the opinions of others and not paying heed to developments in the game.

40. Republicofscotland

A Tory MSP has claimed that failed car salesman and now failed politician, Jackson Carlaw, who had the shortest tenure of any Tory branch manager in Scotland, was pushed out of the position by his boss in London Boris Johnson.

We already know that the British nationalist parties at Holyrood, the Greens and the SNP aside, are just extensions of their London head offices, and that their party leaders can be defenstrated at anytime by the real leaders of their parties.

Carlaw was a particularly poor branch office manager, as is Rennie and Leonard, the latter of the two might find himself in the crosshairs of his millionaire Knight of the Realm boss Sir Keir Starmer, sooner than later, and probably like Carlaw he’ll be pushed out.

Rennie and his tiny band of British nationalists at Holyrood are insignificant, and badly damaged by the David Steel affair, and are mostly obsessed by the new Forth bridge crossing.

41. CameronB Brodie

schrodingers cat
    For someone who claims a degree in philosophy and lived experience of political strife in exotic locations, you do strike me as being rather narrow minded and parochial.

Parochialism, Cosmopolitanism, and the Foundations of International Law
    https://www.cambridge.org/core/books/parochialism-cosmopolitanism-and-the-foundations-of-international-law/introduction/3DCAAEF4BA436E0CFEA192A9F50A19AC

42. Bob Mack

@SC,

You chastised me just the other day for failing to explain to somebody why I was wrong and get you do the same thing with Breeks.

Just the inane ,desirory comment.

Your Superman pants are beginning to look just a little threadbare.

43. Republicofscotland

Kevin McKenna’s very good article on the takedown of Joanna Cherry and the rot that’s corrupted the SNP from within.

McKenna points out that the Tories will be raising a glass to those within the SNP who put up the obstacles to stop Cherry from running for Edinburgh South, and of seeing a fresh face at Holyrood who could’ve gotten independence back on track.

https://www.thenational.scot/news/18621688.kevin-mckenna-vendetta-joanna-cherry/

44. schrodingers cat

distinct lack of a sense of humour

nothin’ worse 🙂

45. Republicofscotland

A Stalinist purge,(without the violence I might add) is happening within the SNP, on those who oppose or don’t quite agree with the GRA bill or Self-ID or the proposed Hate Crime bill.

Watch out Joan McAlpine, James Doran, and other who oppose this madness.

46. CameronB Brodie

My sense of humour is fine bud.

47. schrodingers cat

@bob

if you look back, i was quoting socrates??

48. Socrates MacSporran

schrodingers cat

I “blew-up” the cartoon, and in its larger form, the Scottish knight looks to me, certainly from the mane, like oor ain beloved “Rory” the lion.

49. Polly

@ Cameron

You’re welcome. 🙂 my keyboard seem to have a sense of humour of its own, just noticed a typo saying Chris was always on the monkey. Doh money of course

50. Bob Mack

@SC,

Yes I know who you were quoting ,but you failed to give an explanation of why the quite was ridiculous. I know from previous postings you are no can of Breeks. Fair enough.

However like a good teacher he makes very relevant points whilst you scoff at the back of the class.

51. Walter Jones

I see another one of the arse cheeks has appeared.

Here pussy pussy pussy…

Will somebody open the cat flap and let that feline fanny out.

52. callmedave

Ruthie is plain Ruthie still, she’s only taking the ermine after the Holyrood elections.

I detected a faint whiff of a ‘Jim Murphy type’ campaign from the gallus Dougie yesterday…I do hope that’s the way he goes. 🙂

I saw Effigy’s list further up impressive!

PS:
    Lots of price rises on my normal stuff today.

+20p Scottish brambles
    +49p Red berry cereal
    +79p on my crisps (been £1 for months)
    +17p on blue berries
    +18p on cherries

🙁

PPS
    Scottish fitba…today 🙂 Have to tune into my internet streams.

53. Bob Mack

@Dave,

I’ll be lucky. Try typing with your granddaughters cake mix all over your hands. That’s a trial.

54. schrodingers cat

Socrates MacSporran says:
    I “blew-up” the cartoon

————–

did ye, aye?

55. Bob Mack

@Socrates,

Hamish surely?

56. schrodingers cat

oor ain beloved “Rory” the lion.

ha ha ha ha ha

try blowing it up a bit bigger next time

ha ha ha ha ha

57. Ottomanboi

Scottish Tories believe they were and are equal partners in the Union project. The historical, cultural and political facts more than suggest otherwise. Scots have had to bow to the reality of the English ascendancy and present themselves before Britannia as supplicants, imitators, cultural vassals or sycophants. Many were happy to be called ‘English’, for imperialists the equivalent of Roman and carrying the same civilizing mission among the barbarians theme.
    These days we have the proud Scot type in comedic ‘intellectual’ Scottish garb rabbiting on about the wonders of Britishness and how the peoples of the world ought to be grateful for having had contact with such benignity.
    The ghost of Britishness still haunts the minds of many who as nationalists ought to have exorcised that demon. The seeming lack of any energetic, all out promotion of independence or the steady, systematic evisceration of the myths of Unionism in SNP ranks suggests that such a stance may be perceived as rather vulgar, foreign, extremist and rather ‘un-British’. In my view thr task of slipping Britannia’s psychological chain remains a Munro yet to be scaled, but then I’m foreign, extremist, unBritish and rather vulgar.

58. Andy Ellis

A lot of pro-indy people on here (and elsewhere) recently have obviously decided to make the break and abandon their membership of or support for SNP. The next few weeks and months promise to be “interesting times” in the old Chinese saying kinda way.

I’d urge those who are as horrified as I am by the SNP’s descent into the slough of woke despond to start thinking of what the alternative options are. If like me you believe the SNP as currently formulated is a busted flush, we need to figure out whether the currently formed list-only parties are viable alternatives, or only good for short term purposes in the Holyrood 2021 vote.

If, as seems entirely probable to me, the prospect of indyref2 are fading by the day, it may be as well to accept the fact and concentrate on building a real alternative capable of fighting not only list but constituency seats.

As for those remaining inside the SNP in hope of trying to force change, I wish them luck. I fear they are going to need it.

59. Willie

I thought the toon was a representation of the SNP.

The recent decision by the NEC to require potential candidates to give up their job may have been expedient in trying to derail Joanna Cherry but it has huge consequences.

Firstly it for the first time introduces into the SNP a restriction on individuals coming forward as candidates.

Secondly, if a candidate does give up their elected seat, be it MP or even Councillor to go for an MSP seat and they lose, the party is now down not just the seat not gained but th3csest previously held.

Thirdly, with policies like this restricting and not enhancing opportunity for all, the leadership may jus5 have hastened the creation of a new party, and not just a list party.

So here is a prediction. The bumptious ,supercilious and manipulating Angus Robertson will NOT be the next MSP for Edinburgh Central. That is a guaranteed certainty.

60. Bob Mack

The major problem we have is now to keep the SNP vote on life support whilst we simultaneously try to make them obsolete.
    Only to keep Independence from dying a slow death.

That is our problem, and it’s a biggie, because no one else at this time has the funding to create a new Indy party for constituencies. Only the list vote.

Still, we have to start somewhere. I have some ideas to bounce around. Anything from anybody would be welcome.

61. Polly

‘However like a good teacher he makes very relevant points whilst you scoff at the back of the class.’

Yes, though he can make some good points and is capable of more, overall he’s like the snot nosed urchin at the back shouting ‘naw he wisnae, naw they arenae’. C minus most times.

62. schrodingers cat

@bob

maybe we could adopt oor ain beloved “Rory” the lion.

lol

63. gus1940

It didn’t take long for our wonderful MSM to embark on a full blast with re-heat deification of Ross as the latest Saviour Of The Union together with a welcome for the return of Baroness Ruth who will ‘once again tear strips off Nicola’ at FMQs.

64. Doug Buchannan

This blog has now moved from attacking the SNP, Scottish Government and FM on a possible policy on how people define themselves to attacking the SNP, Scottish Government or FM on everything they do.

Ask yourselves, why do the Scottish people trust the FM, SNP and Scottish Government and why independence is sailing towards 60% support from the people? Is it because of the debate on this blog? No, this blog, once feared by the unionist establishment due to its shining a light on the uk press, bbc and politicians is now seen as an ally of unionism. Hence a whole bunch of weirdos have appeared and are helping to exacerbate trans issues, issues the majority of people care little about!

When was the last time this blog actually attacked unionism?

Also ask why yourself (“If” you believe in independence, a big “if” for some on here) why we should support, trust or follow someone actively undermining The SNP, Scottish Government and FM. Someone who judgement is proven to be woefully lacking on numerous occasions and is unable to acknowledge this whilst throwing good money after bad?

Finally do you wish to live in a free Scotland or a Scotland ruled by the tories from London? If the former, reflect on what this blog has now morphed into!

65. Willie

Bob Mack.

The SNP leadership is pulling the plugs on its life support. Unless things change that is an absolute given. The membership will migrate in its droves to an alternative party and the gravity defying popular support for the SNP will end.

The similarities with new Labour in Scotland are uncanny. The SNP do not have a God given right to be elected. The Irish Home Rule Party a century ago was replaced and replaced utterly by a new party that took all of the seats and the country to independence.

The arrogance of the current leadership may just have hastened that. And one need only think how the arrogant, supercilious and scheming Angus Robertson will now have absolutely no chance of taking the Edinburgh seat that he thinks is his entitlement.

66. schrodingers cat

@Doug Buchannan

hear hear

bunch of tory toadies, the lot of ’em

67. dakk

Until there is another party which may be even remotely able to deliver independence I will be voting SNP.

Johnny come lately JK Rowling groupies and latent bearded lady fetishers will do otherwise as prompted.

68. Andy Ellis

@Bob Mack

I know a week is a long time in politics and the Holyrood elections are still none months away, but I’m losing hope that we can expect any significant progress in building alternatives that will have much impact on the result. If, as seems likely, the SNP win a majority we can kiss goodbye to indyref2 until 2029 at the earliest. That would leave the next Westminster election in 2024 as the next chance to push for a plebiscitary vote.

Of course, given the current political trajectory of the SNP I have zero confidence they can be weaned off their insistence that a “Gold Standard” referendum is the sol route to independence. So….unless SNP members and activists wake up and force change, we need a viable alternative that will make plebiscitary elections central to their platform and make it a price of any support for the SNP in Holyrood or Westminster.

In the first instance a list only party makes sense. Whether it’s the ISP, Alliance, Wings over Scotland, Alex Salmond, or something else remains to be seen. I’m unconvinced the ISP or Alliance have the political “legs”, recognition or charismatic leadership required.

There is a gap there, but history shows us that minor parties like SSP/RISE, Greens or others have a hard furrow to plough. Ensuring change won’t be easy, but it may be the only route to keeping the SNP honest and ensuring we make any progress in the next decade.

69. Bob Mack

@Doug Buchanan,

“When did this blog last attack Unionism?”

I assume therefore you don’t look at the titles of the page before posting on it.? Very good.

Why are people attacking the SNP? Well,it’s a pretty long list but can be summed up fairly succinctly.

Do I want to live in a country in which operates under the latest pet foibles of the politicians in charge rather than what the people want? The answer is no.

70. The Dissident

@Doug Buchannan

Somewhat ironic you ask when this blog last attacked Unionism on a thread relating to a cartoon parodying the utter fecklessness of Unionism.

Your question shows that you only see what you want to see and hear what you want to hear. Seems you are the perfect SNP member / supporter.

71. schrodingers cat

and yet, people here calling for angus robertson to be assassinated for the crime of

…….. putting his name forward as a PPC for edin central ???

the swine ………

72. Willie

Doug Buchanan.

I cannot agree with your conclusions. Independence is stalled. Party manipulation is at an all time high. The sense of entitlement by some of the sitting elected is palpable. Much of the membership and indeed the wider yes movement is aghast at how the SNP operate.

Electoral success can disappear like sniw off a dyke. Labour found that out and look where they are now.

And yes, the publicity godsend of the Coronavirus crisis which the FM has spun very well will not last for ever. The Salmond enquiry is still to come. That is a filthy murky affair. The restriction of access to being a candidate has still to play out – and its not just Joanna Cherry who will be impacted.

A previous blogger opined that it was important to keep the SNP on the life support system and I think he is right. Believing that the ( SNP ?) is sailing to a 60% for independence is both an arrogance and wrong. It is the arrogance that destroyed Labour and it will destroy the SNP if not checked.

As I said before, I now predict that Angus Robertson will have no chance of winning the Edinburgh seat for Hollyrood.

Sailing is best left to people in boats.

73. Andy Ellis

@Doug Buchanan

Since you’re obviously fully on-message with the SNP leadership, perhaps you can enlighten us on exactly how the party plans to ensure indyref2 any time soon?

Many of us have tried and failed to get other SNP ultras like SC, Bungo & a few others to enlighten, but to no avail. It’s almost as if they don’t actually HAVE any plan other than fanciful Wishartesque magical thinking that somehow Boris will allow us to exercise our self-determination if only we give the party just one more mandate.

You see, from where many of us are sitting, it isn’t Wings and other critics who are posing any danger to the chances of achieving a vote (still less achieving actual independence), it’s the gradualists in the SNP who have no Plan B and no stomach for a fight.

So, on you go….explain it to us. How does this vote happen in 2022 as Schrodinger’s Cat keeps telling us that going to happen.

74. schrodingers cat

Andy Ellis says:
    How does this vote happen in 2022 as Schrodinger’s Cat keeps telling us that going to happen.
    ——————–

um…..i dont remember ever mentioning 2022 andy, feel free to please link to my post about this?

75. Bob Mack

Here is my dilemma. When somebody votes Tory there is a high degree of chance they want to stop Independence. The same goes for many other Unionist party’s voters whose partys sworn stated mission is to keep Scotland in the Union.I

When I vote SNP the opposite is true. Their stated mission is to gain Independence. That’s why I vote for them.

In order to keep me in board I have to witness some degree of movement towards that goal. The only one I have heard prioritising it thus fracture year is Joanna Cherry. It may well be shrewd politics on her part but at least it gives me hope that something is happening. Her court cases against Westminster reaffirmed that hope because she won.

Contrast that with the leadership here in Scotland.enlighten me. What have they done to further Independence by one inch?

Then we have the polls. Surgeon is loved. Sturgeon is admired.Surgeon is competent in a crisis. Great.

How has she utilised that popularity. She used it to tell everybody she was unconcerned about politics and Independence. Probably right.

She gives no hope. She drains it from your soul and leaves you wondering why the hell she seems so detached from the very basic objective of the party.

76. Andy Ellis

@SC

Oh apologies; perhaps it was one of the the other unreasoning SNP ultras. I’m pretty sure 1 of them definitely mentioned 2022 as the target date, but happy to disassociate your name from at least that particular idiocy.

Fell free to answer the general point tho’!

We’ll wait………

77. Bob Mack

@SC,

It seems Angus Robertson didn’t fancy his chances in an open competition for Edinbiurgh Central.Somebody, somewhere had to help him by moving the selection goalposts didn’t they?

78. John Jones

Several suggestions for Ruthie’s title on here, can I suggest,
    Lady Davidson of Methildyke!.

79. Colin Alexander

Write to the SNP and ask for the return of your Indyref fund donation.

You could also ask for evidence that it was ring fenced and not spent.

80. Socrates MacSporran

schrodingers cat

OK, I got Rory the lion from the 1978 World Cup mixed-up with Hamish the lion from Chris’s cartoons. Shite happens.

But, given the comparisons between that ill-fated World Cup campaign and the SNP NEC’s impression of the SFA, with Peter Murrell apparently doing his Ally MacLeod impression – maybe I wasn’t that far-out.

But, the Scottish knight still looks more like Hamish than Joanna Cherry.

81. Colin Alexander

I apologise for saying this Chris Cairns and hope your feelings are not hurt, as I’m an admirer of your work:

This is probably the worst cartoon you’ve published on Wings.

Your cartoon is false; it is wishful thinking. The SNP and ALL Scottish politicians bend the knee to the un-elected House of Lords.

The House of Lords which assumes its “sovereign” power over the people of Scotland and Scotland’s democratically elected parliament because of the “sovereignty” of the English Crown in Parliament.

Even Tommy Sheridan and his Scottish Socialist Party MSPs bent the knee by taking the oath to Empress Elizabeth.

82. schrodingers cat

@andy

i’m not sure what yer waiting for?? care to try and make some sense?

fell free to continue gibbering tho’

83. schrodingers cat

@SoranusMcSporran

given the comparisons between that ill-fated World Cup campaign…… actually, it isnt given, keep sneezing mon ami

oor ain much beloved and dearly departed “Rory” the lion will be spinning in his grave 🙂

84. Contrary

Heh, brilliant cartoon Chris, sums it up far better than any words could.

85. schrodingers cat

somewhere had to help him by moving the selection goalposts didn’t they?

did they?

and yet his only crime as far as i can see is he put himself forward as a PPC for edin central??

86. SilverDarling

It is a wonderful depiction of where we are now but the SNP heid yins seem content that is as far as it goes.

Another reason for Joanna Cherry’s move to Holyrood be that her Westminster seat will no longer exist in the next boundary move. So if we are not out by then we may lose her altogether. I wonder if that is what the NEC want?

87. Bob Mack

@SC,

Good try. No cigar. Keep playing.

88. Bob Mack

@Silver Darling,

You betcha.

89. Robert Louis

Doug Buchanan at 1139

The only person actively undermining the SNP and independence, is one Nicola Sturgeon. Mandate after mandate, yet stil after six years with massive electoral support, she has done not a single thing to advance independence. The current poll showing in support of indy, is down to London’s incompetence and arrogance. It certainly is not down to something the FM has done.

90. Intractable Potsherd

Yesterday, I posted a copy of my email resigning membership of the SNP. I’m going to repost it now, because I’ll follow up with the reply I got from my branch secretary quickly afterwards. Sorry for the long post, but it is all relevant.

My email:

To all concerned,

I have today resigned my membership and support for the Scottish National Party. It is with some regret that I do this, but a number of issues have come to a head today. I hope that someone will read this email and realise that the Party has taken several wrong steps, and so does not represent me, or many other previous supporters.

1. Lack of progress in the fight for independence. With Brexit and Westminster’s dire handling of the Covid-19 situation, you could have made serious inroads into the Unionist position. However, you have completely wasted this, even with a growing majority for Scottish independence. It seems that the fire for an independent Scotland no longer burns in the SNP leadership.

2. The GRA Bill, which serves no purpose other than to persuade ordinary people that the SNP leadership have lost grip of reality. A person with a penis is not, and never will be, a woman. To state otherwise denies biology and puts women at risk.

3. The Hate Speech Bill is utterly illiberal. Free speech should be encouraged, not penalised. The over-broad definitions will stifle ordinary opinions from being aired, for no good reason. The fact that a very broad range of organisations have publicly spoken out against it should be a serious point for the Party to take, but, once again, the leadership prefers to deny reality.

4. The treatment of Alex Salmond and Craig Murray is beyond despicable. Huge amounts of money have been, and continue to be, wasted on what appear to be punishment of people who do not agree with the the SNP leadership.

5. The final straw came today with the treatment of Joanna Cherry. This seems to be a case of moving goalposts to achieve the aim of wrongly protecting the current leadership.

I do not know how I will vote in the future. If a credible party that supports independence beyond all else is on the ballot paper, it is likely to be them. I hope that this will be the SNP, but, at the moment, I am closely following the new ISP. If a party is formed that includes Alex Salmond, Craig Murray, Joanna Cherry, and/or supporters of Wings Over Scotland, I will almost certainly vote for that party, regardless if the SNP being in the ballot.

Yours sincerely,

[Intractable Potsherd]

The reply (no names, no pack drill) is as follows:

Dear [Intractable]

Thank you for your email.

I am very sorry you have cancelled your SNP membership, but completely understand your reasons. A number of the branch executive committee, including myself, are considering our positions and indeed, also our SNP membership, over exactly the same issues you reference in your email.

We also, are very upset at the apparent removal of focus on what we see as the core purpose of the SNP – achieving Scottish Independence, in favour of GRA reforms & the Hate Speech Bill,both of which we think are badly thought out and not what should be taking priority.

We also agree that the recent NEC rulings which impacts on Joanna Cherry & yesterday, James Dornan too, are ill thought out also and an absolute disgrace.

We hope that over this weekend, those at the top of the party, will be taking some time to reflect on these deeply unfair and unpopular decisions a d quickly have them reversed. The strength of the SNP comes from its members and tireless activists and the leadership would do well to remember this.

Meantime, thank you for the support both the branch and the party have received from you and we all hope that policies change very soon, which would make you wish to become a member again.

With kindest regards

Branch Secretary.

This is looking very serious for the SNP. We supporters of Scottish independence need to work out what comes next.

91. Bob Mack

@Intractable Potsherd,

Not surprising. I met two members of the SNP this morning who think exactly the same. The only way to bring them to heel is to withdraw financial support in the first instance. That will! make them think.

A political party needs funds as much as it needs supporters.

We have that clout.

92. Clapper57

@ Intractable Potsherd @ 12.51pm

Wow that response !!!

BTW your email to them was very good….mine was just a request to cancel my membership….no response…fair enough…. I just need confirmation I have been removed as a member.

Have a nice day

93. Bob Mack

@IP,

I hope that Rev Stu makes your letters a feature article.

We must let the wider movement know they are not alone.

94. dakk

.” It certainly is not down to something the FM has done.”

That’s not what some former unionist customers are telling me since reopening on 15th July,including one half an hour ago telling me she is now a ‘nationalist’.

Was shocked to say the least.

95. Bob Mack

@Dakk,

The SNP mutation is now complete. Of course they losing as many from the other side as they are gaining. No?

96. schrodingers cat

@bob

no

snp on 55%

97. Clapper57

@ Bob Mack @ 1.03pm

Hi Bob exactly….and they also need peeps to go out to canvass and to volunteer to put leaflets in envelopes etc….to increase and sustain their vote. I did that in the last Holyrood election. I was a volunteer Co-ordinator who was tasked with recruiting volunteers for the campaign to get this person elected….candidate was new and was up against a Labour MSP who was trying to be re-elected….will not mention names as would not want to embarrass the SNP MSP.

I worked in one of their offices every day including weekends…the MSP I did this for was elected as a Constituency MSP so won the seat….and all of the volunteers I recruited to help were all SNP members who had helped on previous campaigns ……will some of them, like me, have cancelled their membership thus not be there to volunteer for next years election……

98. Bob Mack

@Sc,

Great. Let’s assume it’s over 60%. It means? Nothing to be precise, because the only thing that makes those figures of any significance is if we get to use them, according to Nicola in a Section 30 sanctioned referendum from Westminster,which you yourself has said is unlikely.

99. Intractable Potsherd

Thanks for the supportive comments, @Bob Mack and @Clapper57! It feels as if this is a cusp for the SNP, and the leadership have very little room for manoeuvre. However, those of us who want independence really need to decide how we go about it. I’d like to see a new Party with one essential aim – getting Scotland out of the Union – but with a rounded set of policies on other issues, because single-issue Parties rarely get far. My impression is that regular commenters on WOS are some of the right people for the job. However, I have no idea how to set up a political party, but I’m willing to learn!

100. schrodingers cat

Bob Mack says:
    Great. Let’s assume it’s over 60%. It means? Nothing to be precise,
    ———–

it means support for the snp is 55%?

101. Bob Mack

@iP,

Yes I think your very right. It is a watershed moment.

People seem to think that Nicola is winning over Unionist voters and get it we check back there are plenty of voters of a Unionist persuasion who must be voting for an SNP administration here in Scotland.

Referendums on Independence is a horse of an entirely different colour. My neighbour votes SNP because of al! the mitigations put in place to help , but he would never ,ever, vote to end the Union. We argue often.

102. Bob Mack

@SC,

To what end?

103. Bob Mack

There is nothing to be gained by simply beings onlooker to what they SNP are doing. Cancel your membership. Bring them to heel but not down. We ultimately need them till We can make other choices

We can save of this party and movement ,but it requires some serious surgery. You the members are the surgeons. Starve the illness within the party of financial oxygen. Do it today.

They will have to listen, believe you me.

104. Bob Mack

Do you all remember CUBBY who regularly posted here?

Hes getting an absolute kicking on Wee Ginger Dug blog for guess what? Wanting a referendum commitment in the SNP manifesto!!!

Amazingly the people mauling him are former posters on here who regularly wanted another referendum.

That is how disjointed we have become.

105. Dan

Netflix and Amazon Prime share prices drop as folk realise that they don’t have to pay to watch endless thrilling episodes of crazy, comedy, skipfire action, they just tune in to what the mad faction of the SNP are up to instead!

I’m quite the masochist though, and still pushing the limits of my endurance. My lockdown hairstyle is no longer an issue as been pulling my hair out watching this shit unfold. #McKojak
    Scienz is benefiting too as molecular engineers study the incredible strength of the ever thinning thread that my SNP membership is hanging by.

106. Bob Mack

@Dan,

I have surgical scissors if you require.

107. Dan

@Bob Mack

Aye, pretty sure Cubby altered their position after January’s capitulation. I had the odd skirmish with them on a couple of occasions but fair play to them as they held their previous stated position and beliefs of what the ythought would happen and that changed once their deadline on events expired.
    As Ian Brotherhood mentioned last night, and as a relative newbie I also have previously stated that tensions ran high with many folk blowing gaskets over the past two years or so, but we are where we are now so it’d be grand if folk can accept the reality we are now in and consider adding their input again.
    It might be too much of an ask for some though as clearly the occasional digs on other sites are still being typed…

108. Intractable Potsherd

Further to my earlier posts, I have received a reply from Central Office;

Dear [Intractable Potsherd]

Thank you for letting us know that you wish to leave the SNP.

We’re sorry to see you go. In meantime, please accept my thanks for your contribution to the party.

Peter Murrell

Chief Executive

Should I feel honoured, since so many others have had no response at all?!

109. HandandShrimp

While Douglas “red card, red card” Ross, might tickle the fancy of voters of an orange hue he is hardly a unifying figure even within those who might Conservative. An odd choice but they are hardly blessed with many options. Who next Annie Wells? 🙂

Indeed there is so little effective opposition I’m beginning to think the SNP are fulfilling the role themselves with the idiotic GRA nonsense just for the hell of it.

110. Republicofscotland

Well I went onto Wee Ginger Dugs blog and posted a comment giving my opinion on Sturgeon and her clique. It went straight into moderation, and then it disappeared completely.

The Dugs in denial, or worse, I used to read his articles in the National now I’ll skip by his efforts, and his blog.

111. Breeks

Bob Mack says:
    1 August, 2020 at 11:31 am
    The major problem we have is now to keep the SNP vote on life support….

…Still, we have to start somewhere. I have some ideas to bounce around. Anything from anybody would be welcome.

I know I keep banging on about Joanna Cherry compelling Boris Johnson to un-prorogue Westminster, but the reason I keeping banging on about it is that it cuts to heart of everything we are trying to achieve.

The essence of Joanna Cherry’s victory lay in the fact Boris Johnson was proroguing Parliament to avoid scrutiny. “IF” the UK Parliament of Westminster was sovereign, as they claim, then Boris Johnson could have prorogued Parliament whenever he liked, and done it with impunity. Don’t forget too, the UK Supreme Court, the highest UK Court in the Land had already run out of jurisdiction… but Scots Law kept going.

But Joanna Cherry won her case. And the reason she won was because Scotland’s Constitution declares that the Scottish people are sovereign, and thus, Parliament is there to serve their interests, not it’s own interests, and thus, the Westminster Parliament could not arbitrarily prorogue itself to avoid scrutiny. Scrutiny was not it’s prerogative when Parliament served a sovereign electorate. Victory to Joanna Cherry, affirmation and vindication for the constitutional principle of Scotland’s popular sovereignty.

And don’t forget, we have all heard the affirmation from the 1953 McCormack vs Lord Advocate case, the Lord President (Lord Cooper) who stated that “the principle of the unlimited sovereignty of Parliament is a distinctively English principle which has no counterpart in Scottish Constitutional Law”….

Thus, where Joanna Cherry’s case was concerned, if it had been an English legal principle in the ascendancy, the sovereignty of Westminster would be unlimited. But it was limited. It was so limited in fact it was defeated! The U.K. Government and Palace of Westminster was bound to concede that Boris Johnson and the “Parliamentary Sovereignty” of Westminster was NOT the sovereign superior above the Scottish principle of popular sovereignty… a distinctly Scottish principle which has no counterpart in English Constitutional Law.

Do you still not grasp what that means? Joanna Cherry took on the might of the Westminster Establishment and won a landmark Constitutional test case confirming that the Westminster Government and their “Convention” of unlimited sovereignty was a fallacy.

Joanna Cherry has already won the argument. She has affirmed in a Court of Law that Scottish popular Sovereignty as defined 700 years ago in the 1320 Declaration of Arbroath, where the people of Scotland can properly depose their monarch, remains an extant Constitutional reality which cannot be overruled by Westminster, but better yet, it can itself “overrule” Westminster.

If Scotland chooses to defend it’s Constitutional Sovereignty, and decides to defend Scotland’s Remain mandate from 2016, then Westminster’s Brexit argument crumbles. The 1707 Treaty of Union DID NOT invalidate Scotland’s Constitutional Sovereignty.

And I’m going to tell you what Lord Cooper went on to say in the same breath”…and that legislation contrary to the Act of Union would not necessarily be regarded as constitutionally valid.

Thus, Scotland’s subjugation and involuntarily Brexit should not be regarded as constitutionally valid.

Now you tell me why every one of us is familiar with the words of Lord Cooper from 1953, and yet the constitutional ramifications of Joanna Cherry’s legal case are being abandoned and left forgotten in obscurity.

She didn’t just overturn a minor academic decision by the UK Prime Minister as the BritNat Establishment would maintain. She rolled up Scotland’s Constitutional Sovereignty and clubbed them into submission with it.

This Joanna Cherry phenomenon is the most potent Scottish defender of the Constitution which we’ve got, and the cretins in the SNP would deny a seat in Holyrood. She is the only one since 2014 to bring Scotland to within a whisker of sovereign Independence, and it’s this Wokus-Dei mafia which isn’t fit to sit in Holyrood.

I repeat it again. Joanna Cherry knows how to defeat the British Establishment. She has shown us. She has proved it. She has tested the bridge and it will take our weight.

We can trust the lawful legitimacy of our Sovereign Scottish Constitution. Scotland’s Independence is there for the taking if we can now address the issue of International Recognition…. and get this,.. Top tip…..by losing to a principle of Scots Law which has no counterpart in English law, my friends, we have already secured Westminster’s ‘inadvertent’ recognition of Scottish Sovereignty.

Well played Joanna Cherry. For those of us paying attention, you’re an absolute star and a mighty powerhouse. Scotland urgently needs you in command.

112. sog

Meanwhile ScotGov is failing in its day job. Rather than acting to outlaw Mountain Hare shooting, Roseanna C has asked land managers to act responsibly and with restraint. Forgetting the way they poison and shoot eagles, etc. (Details raptor persecution Scotland blog)

113. Bob Mack

@Breeks,

I understand that completely. The problem we have is that people in the SNP are desperately trying to avoid her going to Holyrood as an MSP and probably in case she overshadows the leader. Me Cherry has the presence to do so. Mr Murrell would not want that.

Many will have to look beyond the veil to see why rules were changed and last minute meetings arranged to reduce members present when the future of Edinburgh Central was decided.

We already know why don’t we?

114. Beaker

Like the cartoons, hope to hell they don’t end up subject to a law that says “possibly inciting a riot” or whatever. Cartoons are good for the soul.

I have my own take on the current Tory leadership:

“Rollerskates. Steep hill. Busy junction. No brakes.”

115. Robert Graham

Intractable at least you got a reply , it was head office i contacted as my own branch have never gave me cause for concern quite the opposite in fact a great bunch of people sadly in my opinion being let down by a ever remote management structure

116. CameronB Brodie

At best, the SNP will only ever be a paper tiger, without a respect for the rule-of-law. So I suggest the leadership needs to inform themselves with some constitutional law and international law. That way they might not feel compelled to bend to the principle of Parliamentary sovereignty, and the will of authoritarian English Torydum.

However, the simplest thing they could do to strengthen their commitment to democracy and Scottish indy, is incorporate a legal respect for the human genome into the party’s constitution. This would clear the party of TRAs and focus attention on human rights.

Somehow I don’t think this will happen under the current leadership, who clearly think their judgement superior to the jurisprudence of international law. This will not help Scotland, as this is the same view that Westminster has of international law.

117. twathater

SC no matter how many times you try to denigrate and dismiss BREEKS comments by absurd and petty childish comments , you AGREE with what he says as you have previously stated , your insistence on posting snide comments to his posts is simply because he is highlighting and illuminating the absurd stupidity of NS and the SNP FAILING MASSIVELY to take the legal route and EXPOSE the illegitimacy of WM’s illegal sovereignty proclamation ,whilst exposing publicly worldwide the strength of the Scots citizens sovereignty

Please keep on posting and exposing the SNP’S cowardice to enlighten people to what they SHOULD be doing to gain our independence

Another GREAT cartoon Chris

118. susan

Cameron: Yes, any constitution suggested for an Indy Scotland must enshrine biological reality, I don’t want to live in a woke dystopia underpinned by magical thinking and ‘feelz’. I don’t think the SNP are the vehicle to provide this.

119. twathater

And quite honestly if I were Joanna Cherry and had the false claims,attempted character assassination and rules being changed retrospectively by the hierarchy within the party I serve , I would tell them to FO and stand in Edinburgh as an independent candidate and ask for a crowdfunder to do so

The contempt and aggression being shown to this woman from inside her own party with NOTHING being done to STOP it only highlights how despicable the SNP leadership has become
    FOR EVIL TO TRIUMPH ALL IT TAKES IS FOR GOOD PEOPLE TO DO NOTHING

120. CameronB Brodie

susan
    A legal respect for the human genome is essential if you want to comply with international law. Unfortunately for Scotland, neither British constitutionalism or SNP strategy can be considered coherent or compatible with international law. Or democracy for that matter.

121. callmedave

Corona:

Scotland ………..today…00……..Total…..2491…WM Gov
    N. Ireland……….today…00……..Total……556…WM Gov
    Wales……………today…02……..Total…..1562…WM Gov
    England………….today…04..sun…Total…*41584..*WM Gov
    ==============================================================
    Uk………………today…74……..Total….46193…WM Gov

Note: N. Ireland don’t report on weekends.

122. CameronB Brodie

Here’s some political science that might interest some.

Height, Income and Voting

Abstract
    At the core of political economy theory is the claim that income drives political preferences, yet empirical estimates of income’s effect on political behavior range widely, even using the same data.

Drawing from a tradition in economic history and anthropology, we propose the use of height as a proxy for economic well-being. Using data from the British Household Panel Study, we find that taller individuals are more likely to support the Conservative party, support conservative policies, turn out to vote, and vote conservative when they do; a one-inch increase in height increases support for Conservatives by 0.6%.

As an extension, we also employ height as an instrumental variable for income, and find that each additional thousand pounds of annual income translates to a two to three percentage point increase in probability of supporting the
    Conservatives, and that income also drives political beliefs and voting in the same direction.

https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/british-journal-of-political-science/article/height-income-and-voting/2B6875BFB8B956963D1DBBD510A581CF

123. Colin Alexander

Breeks

Much as I admire and respect your arguments about Scottish sovereignty, in my opinion you are mistaken regarding your interpretation of the Cherry v Advocate General ruling being supportive of Scottish sovereignty. The case was never about that.

This was Cherry as an SNP MP doing British politics.

The case did nothing to uphold the sovereignty of the people of Scotland and was never about that. It was about UK Parliament Commons v Govt balance of power.

The Supreme Court upheld the principle of UK PARLIAMENTARY SOVEREIGNTY over the (Govt)executive, which is very different from and nothing to do with the sovereignty of the people of Scotland.

Cherry was upholding her rights as a British MP in the Imperial Parliament.

eg. from the press summary found here:

http://www.supremecourt.uk/cases/docs/uksc-2019-0192-summary.pdf

“The first is Parliamentary sovereignty -that Parliament can make laws which everyone must obey: this would be undermined if the executive could, through the use of the prerogative, prevent Parliament from exercising its power to make laws for as long as it pleased. The second fundamental principle is Parliamentary accountability…”

124. Mike d

Intractable potsherd 2.25pm exact same letter I got last week.

125. Intractable Potsherd

Robert Graham says:
    1 August, 2020 at 3:34 pm
    Intractable at least you got a reply , it was head office i contacted as my own branch have never gave me cause for concern quite the opposite in fact a great bunch of people sadly in my opinion being let down by a ever remote management structure
    —-

I also have no concerns about my branch – a fine group of people – but I felt it courteous to let them know why I was resigning. The response was a huge surprise, and I did respond with best wishes to all concerned.

126. Intractable Potsherd

@Mike d: at least there is some note being taken.

127. And spouse

Thanks for response Chris. A4 wow!

128. Muscleguy

John Bull doesn’t make a very convincing Trans Maiden.

129. schrodingers cat

nice speech breeks

now what do we do?

last week bojo passed legislation removing all the parliaments across the uk which removed their ability to scrutinise and trade deal made by the government.

thats the problem with unwritten constitutions, bojo can simply change the law.

if taking westminster to court was such a great idea, why has peatworrier dismissed the idea? and cherry has already stated the brexit ship has sailed the focus from now on is indy

i still think cherry should vacate her wm edin southern and western seat, a bye election would kick start the indy campaign (12k snp majority)

still dont know why she stepped in to face off angus robertson? she deserved to be slapped down.

holyrood wm edin south and edin west constituencies both have very slim unionist majorities. I think she could take out Alex cole hamilton in the constituency and the new indy list party would ensure he didnt get in on the list. win win

130. Muscleguy

BTW the next considers the post to be a part time one since he intends to keep up his supposed linesman ‘career’. He will doubtless turn up to the lists in his fitba kit due to lack of time to don his armour enabling our champion to skewer him good.

The next Indyref, if we are ever allowed one, will be won by the sma’ folk just like Bannockburn was. I’m sure the vast majority of those who voted Leave will put Scotland first when it comes down to it.

131. WhoRattledYourCage

Knights in shining armour? Shites in sliming harmer!

132. Mialuci

The human genome, that’s as far as I got cameron, honestly I could’nt stop laughing at your use of this weird kind of Russel Brand way of prattling on lol

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.