Helping out Murdo

Posted on November 23, 2018 by

Because we know the poor lad’s not very bright.

Yes, Murdo. Yes it has.

Of course, it’s only good for 40 years or so. It’s volatile, and now that they’ve started extracting it it’s running out (again).

Which will probably happen even faster, since it’s all imaginary.

Tell you what, though, we can’t wait until Scotland’s media finds out that those mad paranoid tinfoil-hatted Nats were right all along and there WAS a massive oil field that nobody was told about before the referendum, in exactly the place they all said it was. We expect our bold commentariat will mercilessly expose and shred all those sneering Unionists and oh wait yeah now we remember.

Still, just imagine, eh?

1. 23 11 18 09:56

Helping out Murdo | speymouth

249 to “Helping out Murdo”

1. Clootie

…you spoiled it!
    It was a secret.

2. ronnie anderson

Discovered in 1977 & only drilled in 2005 ! , we might get to know how much Oil is in the Firth of Clyde & the West coast when we get shot of Trident .

3. bobajock

Shhhhhh.

Dont let the Murdo know, his head will explode.

4. Truth

What we often forget is there’s a significant portion of the population don’t mind being lied to, because “it’s better than they bloody nats”.

It’s depressing to be right so often, yet be on the wrong side of the referendum result.

5. Wulls

It’s sad people have to be reminded how pig ignorant Murdois

6. mountain shadow

No doubt Sir Ian Wood will be dressed in sackcloth and ashes today.

Unfortunately, this news will make little difference to the many Yoons who don’t think Scots have the intellect to manage this resource.

7. Tartan Tory

Brexit wasn’t a ‘Scotland vote’ it was a UK-wide vote….

This isn’t Scotland’s oil, it’s UK oil……

Westminster – Suiting themselves and raping resources since before any of us can remember. 🙁

8. Geordie

This lot make Lord Haw-haw look like a fine up-standing patriot of impeccable morals and principles. Beyond contempt.

9. mountain shadow

There is a potential of 7.6 billion barrells of oil from this field.

Compare that to Brent Field of 5.6 billion and Forties of 5 billion and who knows what else is lying under the Minch for example.

10. SOG

You have to ask why it was a Secret for so long, right until the oil started to flow.

11. yesindyref2

That’s 4 people to whom their own brain is a secret.

#BrainInHiding

12. Athanasius

It’ll disappear again come the next Indy ref.

13. Street Andrew

And an Independent Scotland would be perfectly viable without it.

Which is more than can be said for a post Brexit South Britain which hasn’t been solvent for four decades without North Sea oil and gas.

Fast approaching time for a sharp exit.

I think we have all the clarity we need on Brexit. It’s clearly a complete clusterfuck.

Next week the UK parliament (after a weekend of stitching us all up in a ‘deal’.) will vote for being shafted up a dark alley or going over a cliff edge.

14. Scot Finlayson

The establishment shysters have been telling us that it is running out for the last 40 years,

helped by complicit uncle tams and the perfidious BBC news and the cesspool of Scottish journalism,

it`s our own people that are acting against their countries best interests,

treachery , pure and simple.

15. Paul D

My now ex is one of those that are quite happy to be knowingly lied to by the likes of the Daily Mail and Scotsman as they support her view and whilst she’s being lied to, she can stick her head in the sand.

Occasionally though there is the odd moment of lucidity when she stumbles across something that supports what I’ve said and for a few brief moments realises that I am telling the truth. Then she opens the Daily Mail and we’re back to head in the sand.

16. Smeddum

The potential of this oil field was suggested around 1970. The problem then was the technology to retrieve it (deep waters) and the cost. These two issues had to balance. That wasn’t political it was practical. Lots of oil information was kept under wraps (see McCrone report). Now they’ve found it and technology is developed. But if the field is as wide as it might be, some of the oil might be in Northern Ireland waters? This is, UK waters. Unless of course Northern Ireland wasn’t part of the UK….. ?

17. John Walsh

I remember being ridiculed when suggesting Cameron’s visit with 100 or so oil industry’s head honchos to Shetland.(If memory serves somebody had drone footage.) was to establish just how much hydrocarbons were in the area and how many years of production were left. So they could suppress the news until after the Indy ref. Just in case we won the indyref vote. McCrone mark 11

WM aren’t going to give up their “Cash Cow” willingly, so strap in for a hard battle ahead.
    I honestly can’t fathom why anybody (Yoon) looks at our offshore potential and thinks.
    Yeah GERS and WM will look after that resource better than we could.
    Bye the way Aberdeen voted Tory ! Jockholm Syndrome

18. Golfnut

@ mountain shadow.
    If I remember reading this somewhere correctly, not always sure about that, Brent, even after 30/40 years is still half full.

19. Welsh Sion

Massie and Leask topping the yoon polls, I see. Quoi de neuf ?

Can we expect an apology from either of these honourable men? For indeed, they are honourable men.

I won’t hold my breath.

20. Jack collatin

nd we should be concerned about hacks in the Dead Tree Scrolls losing their propaganda jobs?
    This is a scandal, a cover up, the persistent rape of Scotland’s resources by a colonial power aided and abetted by the Leaskster.
    Fourth Estate, Fifth Column.
    Serial political failure Fraser gets Judas gold for lying to the Scots electorate.
    Proud to be a Brit no doubt.
    The shame of Scotland, the lot of them.
    It’s Scotland’s oil, not England’s.
    When we leave their precious Union, it will be in no doubt.

21. Robert Peffers

@mountain shadow says: 23 November, 2018 at 9:23 am:

” … There is a potential of 7.6 billion barrells of oil from this field.
    Compare that to Brent Field of 5.6 billion and Forties of 5 billion and who knows what else is lying under the Minch for example

There are massive confirmed fields of Methane Hydrates west of Shetland. This could be the fuel of the future but there are still dome scientific problems to be solved in storing and handling the stuff.

“Methane clathrate also called methane hydrate, hydromethane, methane ice, fire ice, natural gas hydrate, or gas hydrate, is a solid clathrate compound in which a large amount of methane is trapped within a crystal structure of water, forming a solid similar to ice.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Methane_clathrate.

22. MJC

Murdur and his ilk are basic fraudsters,lining their pockets with tax payers money to do anything but look at Scotland in a positive manner. They are so out of touch with real Scottish people its got to be meant! False profits of doom that make the majority of Scots feel physically sick. I for one would delight in these leeches being turfed out of any pubic role as they just sap positive energy from all.

23. John Wood

Here everyone is, delighted to find a massive oil field while climate scientists and biologists tell us that we have to leave it in the ground. It is too late. Oil is going out of style and these fields that might have been worth billions in the past will shortly be worthless. The story here is the lies and treachery used to prevent Scotland benefitting when it could. Westminster has ripped us off. But now, let them have the bloody stuff, and make sure we don’t want it or need it anymore. The only alternative is extinction

24. Scott

Oil from BP’s major Clair Ridge development which is expected to produce for the next four decades – has begun to flow.

The Clair field, west of Shetland, was discovered in the 1970s.

Two new bridge-linked platforms and export pipelines will be used to recover an estimated 640 million barrels of oil at Clair Ridge.

Sorry folks the above story is all FAKE news and would be a burden on Scotland so says the above mentioned MSPs and so called journalists its just a fairy tale.

I hope someone asks Murdo and Tompkins about this secret.

25. Terence callachan

On and on and on and on , Englands Westminster takes Scotlands resources and gives none of it to Scotland .
    This is why Brexit is being played out the way it is, Englands Westminster is not just dealing to leave the EU it is also playing poker with Scotlands SNP government ,they want to get all those people who currently vote SNP and want Scottish independence back supporting one of the English nationalist political parties Conservative Labour Lib Dems any of the three will satisfy Englands Westminster right now because all three of them really are in it together in their bid to keep control of Scotland and its resources.
    We have already seen recent reports saying Scottish oil is worth £40billion a year at least until 2050 on top of that we have seen reports that Scotland produces more wind energy than it can use and that the biggest U.K. Exports are actually Scottish fish and Scottish whisky.
    Englands Westminster is using the BBC and other tv stations as well as the British press to continually tell Scottish people that they are too poor too small too stupid to be an independent country.
    Within Scotland we have a huge number of English people who nearly all vote against Scottish independence I’m sure they are laughing up their sleeve at us given that they made sure EU citizens would not be allowed to vote in Brexit a matter that England believes is purely an English matter ,they are also quite okay about the fact that Scotland voted to stay in the EU but is being told quite rudely by Englands Westminster that it must leave because England wants Scotland Wales Gibralter cyprus and Northern Ireland out of the EU too and what England wants is more important than what any of the rest of us want.
    How dare English people tell us that they have a right to vote on Scottish independence and tell EU citizens they do not have a right to vote in the Brexit referendum and then Scottish people that even though they voted overwhelmingly to stay in the EU they will be leaving at the same time as England because England decides what happens in Scotland, how dare they, I tell you I am so angry about that , it’s always nice to have people come and live in your country but when they start telling you that their country will decide what you do and how you live its time to tell them to join us or go back home, if you want to be out of the EU go back and live in England .

26. Breeks

Ah but it’s bad oil.

It’s Scottish Oil, if you put it in your engine it gums up the bits that move. When you refine it you don’t get petrol you get snow that melts and disappears in a puff of ozone depleting toxin.

It’s worthless to us. Best thing we can do with the stuff is hand the lot over to Westminster so we don’t lose sleep at night worrying that the volatility of our oil will turn Scotland into a post apocalyptic wasteland.

Jesus H. Scotland. We’re we REALLY so fecking dumb we fell for this???

27. winifred mccartney

Imagine being paid to lie constantly – anyone can be fooled but any self-respecting person realising they were taken in would at least acknowledge the lie.

The media (print and broadcasters esp BBC) and the WM establishment tory and labour have a lot to answer for, remember Cameron and his deal with Sony not to show Outlander before indyref1, the secret oil field many of us knew about but according to WM oil was running out, the McCrone papers kept secret for 40 years by all parties – Mgt Thatcher and her secret dossier – it would be an embarrassment how rich Scotland is, so she used the oil money for the Falklands War etc.

The next secret oil field is where Trident is now situated and was never allowed to be developed because of the proximity to the Trident base. Can someone inform JB that there would be real jobs if this was developed not the dangerous unnecessary jobs for people who fly up and down from London for 3/4 days at a time and give the crumbs to the people of Helensburgh and Dunoon as well as all the risks to them and everyone else in Scotland.

As for tory ross he is just after the main chance when eventually Mundell is of no use to WM tories and goes and is replaced by someone who can say ‘he stood up for Scotland’ even though it made no difference, because giving away fishing rights was for the good of the whole of the UK.

28. Fred

A Liar needs a good memory eh!

29. Bill

I had a run in with Murdo in 2014, on Twitter, regarding that oil field. I even posted a picture of the Anchor Handler I was on at the time setting up a Rig. Awkward for him and he blocked me.

30. Robert Peffers

@John Wood says: 23 November, 2018 at 9:55 am:

” … Here everyone is, delighted to find a massive oil field while climate scientists and biologists tell us that we have to leave it in the ground.”

Oil is not, per se, the problem, John. Burning it is what is killing the Planet Earth. However, that doesn’t mean that oil should be left underground for oil is still a very valuable mineral resource with many non-burning uses.

Have you any idea of just how manyvaluable by-products there are in mineral oil?

31. robertknight

Hundreds of capped wells in the Atlantic just waiting for the price to be right to come on stream.

Dunce cap for Murdo, once again…”Stand in the corner boy and face the wall for the remainder of the period”.

32. Wullie B

If folk think the Claire ridge is a big field, wait until the Rockall Basin is drilled, one of the reasons why Iceland, Ireland and Denmark all had claims on The Rock, the Darwin Mounds ENE of the Rock is the largest cold water reef in the North Atlantic, and it survives due to the geothermal heat produced by that black liquid under the seabed, and I have known about that one since 2001 when they were talking about fishermen being banned from the Mounds

33. Scot Finlayson

Scottish patriots see the oil fields as half full,

Brutish nationalists see Scotland`s oil fields as half empty.

34. Tom Busza

“The start of production is seen as a significant moment for the UK’s oil and gas sector.” (BBC Scotland website)

Tardis forward 4 decades:-
    “Scotland’s Clair Ridge oilfield running out of oil”

Andy Murray syndrome I think

35. Harry mcaye

A nice wee set up question for the First Minister at next week’s FMQs about Clair Ridge would be nice, then she would have the opportunity to bash the naysayers who ridiculed this pre-indyref. Maybe even give Murdo a mention, would be good to see him squirm!

36. Muscleguy

@ronnieanderson

The geological structure was discovered in 1977. It was not targeted because there is no oil above the basement rock. But one man whose name escapes me was sure the oil that was there had permeated down through cracks in the basement rocks. Eventually he managed to get exploratory drilling to go down through the basement rocks.

This has put the cat amongst the pigeons in terms of climate change though. There are other structures around the world which will not get drilled through the basement rock.

I’m not decrying it just sounding a note of caution. There’s a debate to be had post Indy on how fast we allow the extraction of this to be for eg. We could decide to leave a lot of it in the ground for future generations when an ultra low carbon world has been created to use as a feedstock rather than as fuels. Who knows what technologies will come along.

37. Ken500

Some Tories/unionists should not even be in the Scottish Parliament. The unionists changed the electoral system without a mandate. Now voters can’t vote out people they can’t stand the sight off. The 3rd rate losers win. Trolling and laughing at the public. A total load of lying spin.

38. John Thomson

We are not too poor or too small but by god are wee stupid

39. cath

I recall being told the oil was running out in the 1970s, then again in the 1990s when I was just coming out of high school. In the late ’90s I was in Aberdeen studying and all the Norwegians and Germans and people from Arab countries were bemused about why there were so few Scottish people on the oil courses they’d come over to do.

The reason, of course, was that kids in Scotland were brought up to believe there was no future career in our biggest industy; an industry where there is so much scope for some of the best jobs. Utterly criminal of those running our country. They have literally robbed a generation of high skilled, high paid, international jobs which should have been full of Scottish kids going into them, and who would now have the skills to diversify into green energy, renewables etc.

40. Ken500

Scotland is changing to renewables. A bigger source of fuel and energy and much cheaper. It would still be better to be producing instead of importing Oil & Gas. Higher oil prices puts up the price of goods and transportation etc.

41. Socrates MacSporran

That Financial Times story about the Iraqui oil man who was so-important to Norway in how it handled the discovery of oil – highlighted on the Rev’s twitter feed – should be required reading ny everyone, not least the Scottish government.

A wonderful tale, and so-different to how Westminster (mis)handled things on the Scottish side of the North Sea.

42. Ian

Clearly the UK has a thing about hiding information that blows their arguments apart. It baffles me that after McCrone came to light, that anyone would trust the UK’s self serving bs. Always good to see them stumble when the truth is shown and their spin falls apart. But how much more of this will it take for the key 20% to question the validity of yet more UK lies when so many of them have proven to be just that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eQzm0FXXerM

43. Dr Jim

Arab oil is much better oil than non Scottish oil
    Scottish oil has bits of Kilt and peat and cow muck in it making it impossible to refine into good oil so it’s only good for making grease and porridge syrup, Sir Ian Wood will be along shortly on Scotland tonight to tell us all that because he’s an expert in informing us less educated numpties and morons how stupid we are, which is just as well or we might get over excited at the thought of there being any fair and proper redistribution of wealth in these benighted Isles or God forbid we might start demanding this bad oil belongs to Scotland and we can’t have that because without the expertise and broad shoulders of the UK Scotland would be stuck with all this bad oil not knowing what to do with it and being too poor to refine it into something anyway

Hurry up Sir Ian Wood and save us from a fate worse than wealth

44. Les Wilson

Just waiting for the negative spin by the EBC and the media, and how bad more oil is for Scotland.
    Yet clinking of champagne glasses in Westminster.

45. Proud Cybernat

I remember that poster in 2014:

https://i.imgur.com/rmlukJh.jpg

Seems appropriate to give this a wee rerun:

Gallas – The 40 Year Fleecing of Scotland’s Oil Wealth by Westminster

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hP2LnW2vsdw

Why is it that everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) that the NO campaign said in 2014 has turned out to be complete and utter LIES?

NO voters, if you believe that lot again during IndyRef2 then you totally deserve every god-awful thing that they will bring upon you.

46. auld highlander

Don’t tell anyone but we have billions of ££’s worth of the stuff and we give it all away to the English government because it’s the wrong kind of oil.

47. Black Donald

Taking the potential figure of 7.6B barrels, today’s oil price of $61.95 and assuming recovery costs at $25 per barrel then we get a value of :

7600 x (61.95 – 25) = $280,820 million.

with population of Scotland = 5.4 million the the value per head is :

280820 / 5.4 = $52003.7 per head.

I think everyone in Scotland was potentially defrauded of $50k by the deceptions of the individuals above. No doubt the same people will soon be blaming the SNP for poverty in Scotland. I don’t know what they get out the their glorious union that makes them behave like this.

Thing I always notice about SNP Yes types is that they think in terms of what is good for Scotland and never what is good for themselves. Unionists tend to be preoccupied with how things affect them personally. Why should I risk a good home and a good job on a crazy dream, they say.

The Unionists need to learn from the Yessers. It would make them better people.

48. Iain Hamilton

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

I just knew you’d find it in you to do another piece on this.

49. starlaw

The oil in Scotland is second grade … Its not as slippery as the Eels in Westminster who handle its cash flow.

50. Giving Goose

Part of the issue with the oil which I have experienced in talking with British Nationalists is that some believe that Scotland squandered the oil wealth!
    When I have challenged that and pointed out that London misused the revenues I have been met with disbelief, with comments such as “well you don’t know who to believe” or “there are two sides to every story”.

That some people do not accept that London would misuse the revenues or that the revenues go to London instead of direct to Scotland is baffling.

There is a mindset that still gives trust to London. It must be a master/servant thing. Or it shows itself in blatant denial, while secretly, in the recesses of their minds the BritNats know fine well that Scotland is being screwed over.

Which brings me to Brexit.

It obvious from comments on all media that there is a stunned disbelief on the part of British Nationalists regarding the UK’s lack of clout in the Brexit negotiations. BritNats simply believe that the UK should be calling the shots. The fact that this is not happening is causing huge emotional turmoil; it appears to be a mix of anger, grief and resentment – a potent combination.

Certainly it must be apparent to many traditionalist and loyal BritNats that the UK is not the mighty, swaggering beast that they once believed it to be. There is only so much sand kicked in the face that people will endure before something goes bang!
    I can well imagine BritNats having personal crisis and attacks of self doubt associated with the process of watching their beloved UK being shown up for the weak, toothless state that it actually is. People tend to cling to and associate themselves with strong institutions. When that institution starts to fade and the myth evaporates then people start to walk away and disassociate themselves. Who wants to be a loser? The UK is now a loser and BritNats are, by association, now losers.

This could be channelled in many ways and it will be interesting watching how this pans out over the coming weeks and months.
    BritNats will either rally round the Union Jack in some rerun of WW2 or they will simply walk away from the weak, empty, pathetic loser that is the UK.

51. cath

What’s particularly telling about this whole story is that these oil fields were clerly know about, because those on the indy side knew about them, those working in oil knew about them, there was published information. So all the ‘jounrnalists’ and unionists denigrating indy supporters as tin foil hat conspiracy theorists also must have known. Hence they knew they were lying, and knew they were abusing opponents with smears and lies. That is not a good look for politicians seeking to run a country, and an even worse one for journalists.

52. Donald Urquhart

Not sure “poor lad” is the best way to describe the Murdo – given the taxpayers’ money he’s pocketed.

“Not very bright” though. is bang on.

53. Donald Urquhart

This is a hoax or ‘fake news’. Why, only four years ago that nice Lord Darling said the oil would run out in 2017 – and we all know he’s never wrong!

54. Scott

I don’t do twitter but I am temped-ed and use the name Clair Ridge and have a conversation with Murdo and Tompkins and see how long it would take them to block me.

55. jfngw

Is that the BBC Douglas Fraser in 2016 calling all independence supporters delusional for believing in a ‘secret oil field’ which has now started to produce oil. What they will do for their Queen and country (not Scotland by the way).

How can this man remain in his position at the BBC, basically caught out with an outright lie, either that or he is so imcompetent he shouldn’t be there in the first place.

56. Ian Mccubbin

Murdo will never ever forgive you lol.
    Now we have it oil and let’s just go.
    So glad Angus B McNeil had the balls to write that letter to T May.
    She now knows we mean business and a referendum is not only we may go. (Pun fully intended.)

57. jfngw

I see there is now a ‘Richard Leonard for FM’ twitter account, I’ve worked out the M stands for Morons, just can’t seem to get the F word that goes with it is.

58. alexicon

Clair ridge is a job I was supposed to work on, but pulled out for personal reasons.
    I was recently on the Clair which is only a few miles away from the Clair ridge and it is well known that they’re, bp, are already planning Clair ridge II.

59. Breeks

… There seems to be no reason for these Scottish Geological upsets. Only Dr. Hans Zarkov Zoomer Murdo Fraser, former space cadet of NASA, provided any explanation.

Do, do, do, do….

This morning’s unprecedented Solar Eclipse of the news is no cause for alarm….

Do, do, do……

What do you mean? Flash Gordon Brown approaching? FFS not again. Open fire! All weapons.

Dispatch loose cannon Thomson to bring back Fluffy’s backbone….

Brexit’s a lie, a lie, a lie….

Do, do, do, do, do…..

Flushed! Boof! Again!

Sold out by the Wannabes!

60. Jock McDonnell

#DontPumpClairRidge

Is that a thing ?

61. Robin

Just mentioned on Radio Shortbread that Eilish McColgan has suggested that SportScotland may be too poor to support Scottish international athletes compete for Scotland! Obviously she’s not looking at this page today!

62. Lenny Hartley

Robert Peffers re Fire Ice, big problems getting the stuff up without it disapearing, guy I know was doing research into this at a University in London, they were looking at trying to change it at a molecule level to extract it and then convert back again when they had it captured. He says it will not work and cant see any way of getting it to the surface in a usuable form. That was a couple of years ago, maybe things have changed, will need to ask him next time I see him.

63. Nana

A wee video

A major new landmark, and source of energy, for the UK. The story behind #ClairRidge, our 6th new upstream major project to come on stream this year
    https://twitter.com/BP_plc/status/1065935933835341824

64. galamcennalath

BritNats in Scottish politics.

All MSP swear an oath (or alternative and similar affirmative) …

” I (Member’s Name), do swear that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, Her Heirs and Successors, according to Law. So help me God. “

Why? That’s not what I send my MSP there for.

Things could be different. Take the affirmation the police in Scotland make …

” I, do solemnly, sincerely and truly declare and affirm that I will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of constable with fairness, integrity, diligence and impartiality,and that I will uphold fundamental human rights and accord equal respect to all people, according to law. “

… now something along those lines would be far more appropriate for Holyrood!

MPs are constitutionally representatives of the people, not servants of the Crown.

May seem all a minor point, but swearing to serve Scotland and her people is what should happen. An oath to the monarch is pure BritNattery.

65. galamcennalath

Above, I meant MSPs are representatives of the Scottish people.

66. liz

Lying bastards. The contempt shown in those tweets is for the people of Scotland.
    They have some kind of self hatred going on there which I really don’t understand.

67. Les Wilson

So once more Scottish oil will save the UK, ironic is it not.

68. Artyhetty

It takes years to prospect for oil, and years to figure out how to get it out of ( in this case Scotland’s )the ground depending on the depth and geology etc. Of course the Britnats knew it was there they have known for many years.

Scotland has been stolen from to the tune of hundreds of billions probably trillions in fact, of mega bucks, £’s and $’s have slid into the pockets of the scheming lying cheats, while they have continuously told Scotland, and the world in fact, ‘you are too small, too stupid and definitely too poor!’ Ha ha ha ha!!!

The worst thing is they have kept Scotland poor and begging with little if any investment in infrastructure in Scotland. Hell even the roads to the ‘oil capital’ of Europe were kept like dirt tracks! There’s a reason for that. ( of course the oil thieves all fly in and out by helicoptor, so they don’t need decent roads).

Scotland, you have been taken for fools, made to feel pathetically useless, ridiculed and kept poor. It’s also not an accident that so many drugs have been imported into Scotland and distributed around Scotland’s communities. Keep the population divided, and if you can’t do that, keep them numbed to your deception. How very clever the way the Britnats have played Scotland.

With such massive fields in Scottish waters now on tap, the thieves will be circling like vultures, to keep taking Scotland’s oil away until there really is not a drop left.
    Labour have colluded to keep Scotland shackled to an abusive neighbour they are after all, an English based party, and my are they all having a party. No wonder they have the champers out at HOL’s and the HOC’s so much! Utter lying, scheming cheating criminals.

Expect power cuts after Brexit, espcially in Scotland. Oh, and don’t for one moment think that the food lorries will be sent up the road to Scotland when Brexit kicks in. Start stocking up now folks.

69. HandandShrimp

Of course it will be the totally wrong sort of oil and gas for an independent Scotland.

They haven’t finished with finding fields either but it is moot whether we can risk exploiting it all. Over the next generation we will move away from carbon fuels.

70. Robert Louis

And of course people in other parts of the world would look at this and say, ‘why on earth do Scots not demand independence, FFS??’ But what they do not know is that Scotland is served by a complicit England owned lying media, that is quite happy to continue the subsidy myth about Scotland, and tell Scots the oil in Scotland is ‘rubbish and ‘running out’. Of course the jewel in the English crown is the blatant deception, omission and propaganda by the state (England) controlled lying conniving BBC.

So, in any other country, where the media is actually from that country, the fact that Scotland’s massive oil reserves are being stolen by England, would make headline news. In Scotland, nothing.

What I simply cannot fathom is how so-called scottish ‘journalists’ can look themselves in the mirror, knowing full well, that are quite intentionally lying in order to prevent their own family share in the wealth from Scotland’s resources.

It is a disgrace, and if ALL Scots knew the truth, they would have the likes of Numdell and other British Nationalistsrun out of the country.

Never mind though, for selling out his own country, Mundell will no doubt soon be getting his ermine robes, and guaranteed 300 pounds per day and gold plated pension, to do SFA.

Robert Burns was quite right, for London’s gold they are bought and sold, such a parcel of rogues in a nation.

71. Proud Cybernat

Oh Rev – that’s last one from Jamie Ross is an absolute beaut:

“…what if the secret oil fields are real too? I’d feel like a right clown.”

You said it Jamie Ross!!

72. Robert

Completely OT, but could Ms Sturgeon’s strategy be to reverse Brexit, be declared a hero as a consequence, and bring in independence on the credibility and momentum built there? Sounds good to me, if high risk.

73. jfngw

Next time the BBC roll out Sir Ian Wood to talk about oil and label him ‘an oil expert’, remember to have a good laugh and question his veracity. In my book he is either no expert or an expert liar, there is no other option.

74. Proud Cybernat

Thing is, how could most folks on YES side have known the reality/truth of this back in 2014 and yet every single journo in the MSM in Scotland somehow didn’t and implied we were all conspiracy theory roasters?

How does that come about?

75. Sinky

BBC Radio Scotland at 12.15 had Jimmy Trawlerman Buchan on supporting Theresa May over fishing sell out without mentioning that he was previously a Tory parliamentary candidate.

Buchan prattled on about having control and conserving fish, funny he was never asked for his views when one of the companies he represented on the programme and owned by his extended family was fined for landing “black fish”.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-17153085

One of the processing companies, Alexander Buchan Limited, which operated a factory in the Aberdeenshire fishing town of Peterhead, was fined £240,000.

76. Muzzy182uk

I have been on the Clair platform a few times in my offshore life and BP had a 3 phase program for the Clair and Claire Ridge Field. this platform (Clair Ridge) is the 2nd out of three platforms to be put into the area or at least it was 6 years ago. There is still more oil and gas fields out there on the west coast that will get subsea tie-backs to the Clair and Clair ridge that’s why both platforms have been over-engineered from design so they are all ready to take on new oil fields without major modification now why would an oil company like BP pay millions to over-engineering a new asset from the start????

77. Auld Rock

Aye John Walsh, Cameron did try and sneak into Shetland early one morning but he was photographed by a ‘YES’ supporter who works at Sumburgh Airport. Cameron didn’t see much activity as the mainly American drilling team had been sent home on full pay and told that they would never work in the oil industry ever again if they opened their mouths about the true extent of Clair Ridge.

All these reserves were brilliantly highlighted by Bill (Big Mac) McLoughlin in several comprehensive papers in 2013/14. And to answer another Winger, yes it is possible that N.Ireland might have small reserves between N.I. and Scottish coast and for a short distance in the Irish Sea.

It should also be remembered that the world’s largest oil/gas field lies west of the island of Lewis and potentially is larger than Saudi reserves. Like Clair Ridge this field was a difficult field to develop until technology advanced like in the case of Clair Ridge.

The Scottish Economic Zone including the Firth of Clyde is awash with oil/gas, don’t be taken-in AGAIN.

78. mike cassidy

I shit you not.

Murdo is looking for a communications manager!

http://archive.is/NFxfK

79. Denys Partington

I fucking hate yoons.

80. Welsh Sion

My “oil parable” aka “The Scott Family Trunk” is number 37 (of 60) in Parables for the New Politics”.

81. Iain

Gawd, this is stuff of the school playground.

82. alasdair galloway

You might want to have a look at this https://www.shetnews.co.uk/2014/08/05/cameron-conspiracy-rumours-dispelled/ which includes this “RUMOURS that David Cameron became the first prime minister in 34 years to visit Shetland last month because of a massive new oil find to the west of the isles have been branded as “ridiculous”.

Pro-independence website Yes International said on Friday that Cameron’s visit was shrouded in secrecy and linked this to an unnamed source reportedly saying that test drilling in BP’s Clair Ridge project (phase three) had “far exceeded expectations”.
    Looks as if Yes International were right all along. Not that anyone will admit this.

83. Jim Bo

How much more embarrassment is it humanly possible to take? Truly.
    It really bothers me that they can look the viewers in the eye and lie, obfuscate, back-pedal, deny truths, deliberately distort facts etc. without seemingly any hint of embarrassment or awkwardness. It’s just not normal human behaviour.

If my 4 year old daughter is caught in a lie she feels embarrassment and will apologise. She has a million times more virtue in her little finger than these charlatans combined.

84. Gfaetheblock

So is the accusation that BP has deliberately surpressed this for UK Political purposes since they discovered it in 1977?

Are they on the boycott list?

85. Ottomanboi

Used to imagine MI5 and GCHQ posed a threat to Scotland, now I think these BritState spies, snoopers and black/grey/white propagandists may be an asset. The Manchester ‘bomber’ affair displays MI5 in all its complacency and incompetence. As for the Skripal saga….???

86. call me dave

I recall a short conversation with my Oban, proud Scot, NO voting in-laws in 2012 when I stated “Scotland is floating in oil”

They looked at me in astonishment and disbelief the knew nothing about Scotland or how it is getting fleeced.

The McCrone Report was not in their lexicon as was the infamous ‘Extra-Regio Territories’

However he has the full highland kilt dress etc etc. A proud Scot

As Cliff would say ‘We don’t talk anymore’ Plonker!

PS: Old thread.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-sunshine-underground/

PPS:
    Liz McColgan reported on shortbread as saying (paraphrasing)

“The new rules for participating in EU championships with a Scottish team under a Saltire is …er…not an idea that’s be thought through as there wont be enough money to fund a team”.

🙁

87. Cubby

Its simple really British Nationalists lie and they lie all the time about just about everything.

88. Ghillie

What fun you have with the archives Rev Stu 🙂

Bit of lateral thinking here…

What Scotland really needs is for riches to be found well within English waters, a marvelous new skill and talent to be birthed in the South, a major innovative industry or resource nurtured and developed in England’s fair and pleasant land that the rest of the World are desperate to buy.

Anything! Anything to help our neighbour to stand on its own two feet without having to look to other peoples’ belongings to pinch.

These good folk deserve to find a way to be resourceful and independent in their own right.

89. wull2

I feel I have been there before, I was told the weather is fine and there is no storm coming.

Vote SNP, SNP/SNP or YES, nothing else.

90. David Mills

The big question were all these na saying voices part of a huge conspiracy or just ignorant of the fact and so arrogant that they assume if they didn’t know about it couldn’t be real.

Worryingly these are the voices that make or lobby and comment on legislation if they can be bother to keep themself informed should they be in those rolls.

91. Effijy

Its a constant Tsunami of lies coming from All Britnat sources
    toward Scotland.

We all knew the field was a fact before Indy Ref 1 as the Global Oil Industry reported the finding.

It was just a case of No UK media outlet was willing to present it.

If the UK oil resource could run out in 5.2 years, that is with a population of around 66.5 million then an Independent Scotland with a population of 5.5 million can look forward to being self sufficient for the next 60 years plus.

Wonderful news for Scotland, but England can of course run completely out next year!

After 60 years Scotland may then need to develop the Irish Sea
    fields where Westminster blocking any exploratory drilling,
    or perhaps we can drill our seas around Rockall.

Good Grief even Labour Leaders would know where the money for an oil fund would come from.

Can I also give a shout out to Sir Ian Wood who has plundered a fund of over £2 Billion by robbing Scotland’s oil in partnership with Westminster.

He of course came up with the same pack of lies regarding Scotland’s oil reserves during Indy Ref 1.

Alex Salmon reported stats from Wood’s own report that was compiled before Indy Ref was agreed, only for the UK Media and Wood to shoot down his own statistics?

A couple of years back I could buy Diesel at 99p per litre, today
    1 paid £1.33.7.

How delightful for an independent Scotland to know that fuel prices are going up around 35% in such a short space of time.

Our day is coming and with a vengeance

92. call me dave

Ooops! 🙁

Wee correction heard the voice earlier on radio and it’s Eilish McColgan daughter of Liz.

But the message is the same we have to think again, too poor.

93. One_Scot

It really does beg the question, if Scotland does not vote Yes in the upcoming Independence referendum, then one of two things will be true.

Either we really are that stupid, or they have somehow managed to F’ck us over again.

If you had to press me, my money would be on the latter.

94. Footsoldier

Time for SNP to start banging the oil drum and stop minimising its potential because Unionist say it is a bad resource.

95. Cactus

When the story is told… our future history will look upon these times and the britnat politicians of England/UK in a very grim way.

Yes, our future history will paint quite a picture, as will Cairnstoon ra morra.

Still, we’ll be a normal independent international country by then.

Awe the Blue Bonnets and bunnets.

Wear a hat.

96. Welsh Sion

Ghillie @ 1.33 pm.

I don’t know about English waters, but I’m reliably informed that the English will become rich (well, some of ’em, anyway) via fracking of their green and pleasant land.

It’s the way to go. You know it makes sense – and all in their backyard, too – as you say, they needn’t have to exploit us any more that way …

97. Fireproofjim

Muscleguy is right. The basement rocks below the normal sedimentary basins have been recently shown to contain billions of barrels of oil.
    Almost adjacent to Clair Ridge is the huge discovery by Hurricane Energy of the Lancaster and Halifax fields in the basement rocks. These alone contain as much oil as the Brent field.
    Again this has been subject to a near news black-out.
    How many people on Wings have heard of this field? How many know that during the last eighteen months the field infrastructure has been set up for production?
    How many know that a Floating production vessel, the “Aoki Maru” is now at Rotterdam having its flare tower fitted prior to connecting to the subsea wells to start oil production on the Lancaster Field in February?
    It is absolutely true that all the potential of the west of Shetland oilfields has been kept secret. Just as the MacCrone Report on Scottish wealth was kept secret. I understand Margaret Thatcher wrote on her copy, “This must never be released”.
    By the way, Muscleguy, the basement oil expert whose name you forgot was Dr Robert Trice, who is now MD of Hurricane Energy.

98. Valerie

I can’t find a shred of humour in the article, or feel we are vindicated etc.

I feel burning anger at the sneering disdain of paid public officials treating the electorate like shit, and it’s why I have no respect for Davidson. Running her team of sneery bigots with impunity.

I expect the Press to debase themselves always, and I’m pleased everyone has just moved away from Leask these days. He can’t even get valid news retweeted. His TL is a sight to behold, as everyone has backed away, embarrassed by his struggle with realty.

If the public don’t start paying attention, we will end up with the 90% dross that the South has for politicians.

99. Daisy Walker

Enjoyed the above, but will our ‘no’ voters see and believe it.

Easy numbers – Scotland has 93% of the oil in its territorial waters and gets ZILCH, ZERO, NADA for it.

Scotland’s renewable energy potential is 4 Times as big as our Oil and Gas industry.

Do we let this bunch of idiots in London piss it all away again.

I do hope our Scottish Government is making all the right noises with the EU about how they can do business with us when we’re Indy.

Best wishes to all. How is Lollysmum and her leg, any update?

100. Artyhetty

No wonder the BP ‘Portrait award’ has such massive prizes, it’s up for grabs right now. They can well afford it on the back of Scotland’s priceless oil. I wouldn’t touch it with a bargepole.

The arts in Scotland is way underfunded, yet these troughers are removing our hugely abundant resources and taking credit, and getting publicity for these arts awards. Get lost BP, and artists should boycott BP.

101. Cubby

Hey, anyone out there still buying the British Nationalist newspapers. If yes, have they not taken enough of your money. They are liars and thieves.

I would give up every barrel of oil if we could tell Westminster and all the Britnat media to just f….. off. They are disgusting human beings.

102. Jack Murphy

alasdair galloway,speaking in his post at 11:57pm mentioned Prime Minister David Cameron’s visit to Shetland in 2014.

Here is The Truth Seeker article with photos on that surprise visit:

http://archive.is/GIs5J

103. Cactus

Afternoon Chris Cairns, do you do oil paintings? Enjoy awe that jazz. 🙂

Hey Murdo, now is the time to switch seats with Annie Wells.

Yes, you’ll get yer D hat too.

Face away.

104. Ottomanboi

Scotland may not have the population but it has the territory, land and sea. BritState will fight tooth and nail to keep it and exploit Scots Unionism in its media and sentiment.
    Sentimental Unionism may be the hardest nut to crack. Fear of the new freaks some people out and makes prisoners of all into the bargain.

105. Cactus

D for deceivers of the unlearn’ed.

106. galamcennalath

Alyn Smith’s weekly EU update

https://www.alynsmith.eu/scotland_in_europe_update_21st_november_2018

“….can Article 50 be revoked unilaterally? Or, if not, what are the conditions to revocation? There has been an industrial-scale spin operation from Westminster to give the impression that no, it cannot. “

107. yesindyref2

Okey doke, checked back through my records. For various reasons I knew for absolute certain something was going on before August 2015, and following the business news as I do usually, the indications were well before that, including some time before the Indy Ref. Even stories in the business section of the Herald.

Yet some of the tweets in this article are from 2016 and 2017 from people who really should know better, if they’re any good at their job.

108. yesindyref2

Oh jings, that’s funny. To check out Leask’s timeline I typed in “david leask witter”.

Freudian slip, honest guv.

109. Artyhetty

Re:FireproofJIm@1.54

Note the names of the massive oil fields in Scottish waters. They are given Britnat names, whether named after places or planes, or whatever, they are not given Scottish names. Funny that!

Re: Foot Soldier@1.48pm

You are correct in that. The problem we have is that a) the Britnats claim that Scotland’s oil is theirs, and people believe them, and b) it’s ‘dirty’.

The SNP need to shout about it, definitely that it is down there, and being tapped into by the Britnats with bells on, but that it’s a resource that could and should be funding investment in renewables. I remember in 2014, when someone I knew, a floating voter, who had nothing good at all to say about their own country, said, ‘aye, but the oil’s dirty’.

In other words, if it was a bonus to Scotland it was ‘dirty’. It’s the only time they ever mentioned it being ‘dirty’ though!

110. Jason Smoothpiece

Scotland has an embarrassing surplus of wealth.

The huge wealth is being stolen from the Scottish people openly and under their noses.

Increasing numbers of Scottish people are being impoverished by a right wing government which is in meltdown and was not voted for by the majority of Scottish people.

The right wing government is intentionally making poor people poorer.

The UN have looked at the situation and confirmed the shameful treatment of our poor.

Scottish people do not have to be impoverished as they reside in a very wealthy country.

Just over half of Scottish people choose to live in poverty with their families as they decline to support independence.

The large minority of Scots who do not wish to live in poverty and support independence cannot easily understand why their fellow Scots wish to live like this.

The right wing Regime however uses newspapers and television and other outlets including trade unions to lie to the lesser well informed Scots to ensure very wealthy individuals and large companies can continue to steal from Scotland.

Simply explained, very sad, what a terrible pity that just because many of our people are not clever enough to understand what is going on. They and their family’s are being stolen from we are all poorer as a result and not just financially.

111. ScottieDog

@yesindyref
    Only a matter of time before Leask, Farquharson, Hutcheon etc become all environmental. “Needs to stay in the ground”. “Scots will see their children suffer the effects of burning all that oil” ; “a stranded asset”

It’s coming soon. For the record I actually agree with the above sentiments but the journos will be useing it as a political weapon. Of course there is absolutely no way the tories aren’t going to burn that oil.

112. K1

Shower of lying utterly corrupt spineless greedy jobsworth bastards the lot of them.

They can all take a flying fuck to themselves…fucking impoverishing our country for hundreds of years and sold their fucking souls down the river along with the people of Scotland.

How can we have such fucking arseholes calling themselves ‘journalists’ in Scotland and no marks like Turdo in our parliament wilfully lying to the electorate and if anyone thinks this is ‘the’ big lie, I’ve a fucking unicorn in my basement tae sell you? These bastards have covered for the establishment since ever there was one…they need weak and obsequious wankers to lie for them in every tier of society and that list alone atl is just the so called ‘cream of the crop’…what a bunch of fucking ("Tractor" - Ed)ous arse licking lackeys they all are.

So sick of it all!!

113. Proud Cybernat

Dinnae haud back, K1.

Lovin’ yer work!

114. Weechid

What use is the oil to us? According to a particularly dim-witted Britnat to whom I spoke during Idyref 1 “It took Thatcher to come and get the oil out for us”. So it appears we need the Tories to actually drill for the oil.

115. gullaneno4

Unfortunately I have lately had some close up and personal interactions with SNHS and NHS hospitals and care systems north and south of Gretna.

Scottish folk who complain about SNHS seriously need to see what is happening south of Gretna.
    They are in meltdown and living at home elderly care costs, you know the stuff we mainly get for free, are sky high.

116. Cubby

K1@3.16pm

and so say all of us. All down the centuries there have been “proud Scots” who have sold out their country for personal gain. They are rightly called treacherous barstewards. A bunch of lying thieving tractors.

117. Greannach

I detest Tories but I am prepared to admit there were some half decent ones like Alick Buchanan-Smith and George Younger. But do they have anyone in their ranks nowadays who isn’t a halfwit or a creepy self-promoter (or both). I am asking because some Tory MSPs, MEPs and MPs are so low-flying that they don’t register on my radar, so I might well be missing some decent – if misguided – Tories.

118. Dorothy Devine

wechid , oooh! let’s do that , I can’t wait to see May , Davis , Johnson , Fox, Gove , Mundell , IDS and our own fair Davidson lowered down off a rig into the North Sea.

119. Dan Huil

Britnat hatred for Scotland never fails to astonish.

120. Shug

I want those who conspired to minimise the oil wealth in court to justify their lies and to ensure they understand their part in supporting poverty in scotland

121. Breeks

I’m conflicted.

No not only about the environmental aspect of oil, but the fact that coming on stream now means the Scottish Cash register is yet again open for Westminster to dip its hand in the til and take the lot with absolute impunity.

What benefit for Scotland is there in Claire coming online now? Terrific news for Westminster, but fk all benefit for our wee country. Or am I missing something?

Can we approach the UN on the grounds that one Nations resource being plundered by another for no benefit to the original nation represents colonial exploitation of the highest order? A Nations resources are for the benefit of a Nations population. Scotland’s oil should mean Scotland’s wealth.

122. Capella

OT brilliant animation short doing the rounds on twitter. “Happiness” by Steve Cutts – the rat race summarised 4 mins 32 secs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlMAKpxN8N0

123. Confused

So – something happens that surprised NO ONE.

Sometimes people – things are exactly what they look like, exactly what you thought of to begin with. Satellite images of Europe at night show immense lights in the North Sea, nothing west of Shetland, and you think – “what’s over here? – has anyone looked at this?”

Timing of the announcement is suspicious – the brexit farce has become a joke, with the full horror show becoming apparent … this is when the forex investors start “ripping” (with an a and 1 p) your currency, and all that shit from amazon gets a lot more expensive … unless … LAKES OF OIL -just online- … whew …
    – treezas hanging by a thread as it is, market crashes and a falling pound would send this govt out the door

Still, some amazing holdouts and doubling down and hamster wheel rationalisations going on from yooniots –
    – everyone knew about the clair ridge anyway
    – its very expensive to produce
    – it only makes a profit above 60 dollars
    – it makes a loss below 50 dollars
    – all the fracked stuff will come online and make it less valuable
    – its only worth $150 per person per year
    – we have to think about climate change
    – an indy Scotland currency would be too hard
    – cars are going electric anyway
    – oh look a puppy …

124. jfngw

Journalist now trying to claim they were not lying for the UK Government, it was mere irony some of them are writing. There only problem is we can still access all the lies, struggling to find the irony.

What next, they will be claiming that it wasn’t a secret, it was well known about. That the PM at the time just visited the area to admire the beautiful sunset, maybe he had watched Local Hero and thought he was Burt Lancaster. Or he went to see the historic St Magnus Cathedral and ended up on the wrong island, a ploy since borrowed by some Russians.

125. Cubby

Essexexile

As requested I have posted on two separate occasions the reference you requested.

CAT GOT YOUR TONGUE?

126. ScottieDog

@Greannach
    The only Tory I can stomach at the moment is ken Clarke. Actually his tweets are hilarious.

127. Robert Louis

K1 at 316pm,

Well said. So very well said. You are quite right. They are the utter scum of the scum, lying to Scots on a near daily basis, so they can literally steal our oil reserves, and the so-called Scottish ‘journalists’ write their copy.

I sense your anger, and I and many others share it. It is, as you rightly point out a total f****ing disgrace.

The mendacity and duplicity of British Nationalists and their puppet lying so-called ‘journalists’ in Scotland truly beggars belief. The Clair ridge is huge. 40 years of oil, say BP. 40 f***ing years. Yet wee sh*tes like Mundell tell us it is worthless and running out.

I fully expect a press release tomorrow, stating that whilst BP anticipates oil at Clair ridge, it is likely to be of very poor quality and is ‘running out’, so effectively worthless.

128. Hamish100

Cameron asked oil companies to surpress any mention one fields or discoveries

129. Referendum1707

Gfaetheblock

Do the world a favour pal and just go fuck off and die.

130. manandboy

Met a No voter recently, who said, ” I remain unconvinced.”

131. Robert Louis

So, the lying gutless ‘Massey Ferguson’ so- called ‘journalists’ of Scotland are now saying they mocked the existence of Clair ridge, during indyref1, but it was just irony.

Absolute lying ****s. The day the Herald, the Record and the laughingly titled Scotsman shut down, I will rejoice, and will doubly rejoice at the mendacious lying so-called ‘journalists’ who work for them going on the dole. The sooner the better.

Collectively, they have lied over and over again to Scots about the oil, mocking those such as the SNP who spoke up. They are beneath contempt.

Meanwhile, what would be great celebratory front page headline news in any other country, is hardly covered at all.

132. Essexexile

How much of our oil would we be prepared to give away to achieve indy?
    Somebody, somewhere at ‘Yes’ HQ must have been tasked with thinking this one through.
    Everything has its price and it’s not too much of a stretch to imagine WM privately asking this question at some point.

133. Legerwood

Welsh Sion says:
    23 November, 2018 at 1:52 pm
    Ghillie @ 1.33 pm.

“”I don’t know about English waters, but I’m reliably informed that the English will become rich (well, some of ’em, anyway) via fracking of their green and pleasant land.””
    ……

On the subject of fracking. Have things not gone a bit quiet on the fracking taking place in Lancashire?

Almost every day after they started there were stories in the papers about tremors etc and shutdowns because the tremors breached ‘safe’ limits. Now nothing. Has someone slapped a D-Notice on it, or have the media’s gnat-like attention span fitted on to something else?

134. Gary45%

Gfaetheblock@1.14
    Have a wee look at “Planet Oil” on you tube, that will give you and insight into the underhand dealings of the Shitish Empire.
    As the old Edwin Star song goes,
    TORIES what are they good for, absolutely NOTHING.
    Sonic Fud Fraser lying? NO SURPRISE there, he is a Tory after all.

135. Haggishunter

Having been an oil worker for many years I knew about the secret oil fields.
    The crews on the drilling rig were sent home and made to sign a statement saying they wouldn’t mention it on social media or talk to the press.
    Meanwhile David Cameron made a fleeting visit to Shetland to meet with BP.

At the time it made me crinch how this was hushed and idiots like Murdo Fraser, Deerin, Ian Martin, Daisley and Douglas Fraser, created the loony theory.
    Either total sycophants or just plane stupid, they each fall into one of these categories.

I know, because I’ve worked on the Clair ridge.

136. Foonurt

Ah shoourr, ah basturts.

Yoan basturt L. Flanagan anaw. Wurr Scoattish [SNP] Government pauchlin £192 Million, insteid ah geeinit tae yoan teachurrs. Basturt wiz oaffurrt, 5% tae 11%.

Cannae leev aff £25,000 tae £30,000, urr mair.

Fuck aff doon ah hole, wae ah shuvull.

137. Bob Mack

Why do we all read Wings ? The answer lies of course in all the social media posted you see above from the supposedly professional journos. They can ot and will not believe anything other than what they print.

Repeatedly they are proven wrong,but carry on regardless, because their ego won’t allow them to indulge in so called Nat conspiracy theories, which inevitably prove to be true.

Claire field is only one. Licences have been issued for further exploration.

In reply to gfaetheblock, Claire field was test drilled in 2005 and found to be viable with new technology. In other words, the oil companies and the government knew then it was coming on stream in the future.

Oil will always be required,but gas is where the real money will come from

When Faslane goes you will probably have access to more.

138. msean

SO,if those quoted above knew about said fields,they must have been lying.

If they didn’t know,then they were lied to by the UK Government.

Just wondering how they feel about being lied to by the people they campaigned for.

There again,if you lied AND knew about it and are now in the house of lords or something that won’t really matter to you. 🙁

139. Robert Louis

So, just to recap, during the 2014 referendum British Nationlaist liars told Scots;

1. The only way to stay in the EU was to stay in the UK and vote NO to independence. They lied (Scotland is now being forcibly removed from the EU by England.

2. If Scots vote No to independence, Scotland would get massive new powers, as close to federalism as possible. They lied (they’re actually removing powers).

3. Scotland’s oil is running out. They lied (BP expects to extract oil from the Clair ridge for the next forty years).

How can any sane Scot continue to support Scotland being run as a colony by England??

140. Dr Jim

Oil price plummet

Seen the news? like everything else oil is crashing because Mrs May is carrying out her threat, she’s crashing the stock market to fill the British isles with fear of Dooooom!! if we don’t do what she says which is die slowly or die even more slowly

OK turkeys wotcha gonna do?

141. John

Don’t forget the other giant scumbag fact regarding Clair Ridge. Not only is this Scottish resource now being sucked up and sold by the British state, but ll the economic activity to engineer, design and procure the materials took place in England. Same thing happened with Jasmine between 2008-14.

So not only are the English stealing the resource, the economic activity generated whilst developing it has been largely to the benefit of the English balance sheet.

I suppose you could say they are being a little bit more honest now – at least they are blatantly giving new fields Endlish names like Lancaster etc.

142. msean

I think they also claimed,I’m sure,that the oil would be finished by 2017.

143. Gary

I was sickened when I saw the news, although glad that this will mean more jobs and prosperity.

Maybe we as YES voters have longer memories than most but I am always amazed at the extent to which the UK government will go to lie to us and abuse democracy.

EVERY SINGLE THING they said during the campaign was a lie. ALL of this has now been proved beyond doubt. But we’ll never see these facts reported in our papers or on television because of the stranglehold HMG has on them.

I feel sick…

144. Cactus

Ha! Radio says BBC Radio Scotland says they’re commemorating 40 years.

Well iScotland is about ready to celebrate 40+ years of Clair’s black Friday treacle gold and well beyond witha west coast… “ha harrr” said Peter. 😉

Have a swell evening and weekend Scotland, put some extra oil on your salad tonight, we will have no shortage of the groovy stuff when we go aye, go wild!

There could be EVEN MORE to celebrate by this time next Friday.

30/11/20XX.

Always.

145. Essexexile

@Cubby
    Apologies again, I’m still not sure what you’re referring to.
    As I said, I don’t dip in here too often and it’s a fair defence to say the conversation moves on quickly. Not actually a traditional forum structure of course, and all the better for it – otherwise the same things get said over and over again.
    I don’t use the email notification thingy cos the bloody phone pings enough already and I’m sorry, but I just don’t have time to trawl through 500 posts to see if somebody has replied to me.
    Rest assured, if I see something for me from you I’ll endeavour to reply if I get a few minutes but I’m not one for sitting staring at a screen all day and night – life’s too short and I’ve always got too much to do.
    Cheers.

146. Robert Peffers

@Lenny Hartley says: 23 November, 2018 at 12:18 pm:

” … Robert Peffers re Fire Ice, big problems getting the stuff up without it disappearing”

Methane Hydrate is not as simple to melt as is water ice, Lenny.

Here is the second part of an article that explains some of it:-

http://www.killerinourmidst.com/methane%20and%20MHs2.html

I read somewhere that it could be made usable by raising the temperature locally in the sediment layers at depth and thus allowing a controlled release of the methane to be piped to the surface and stored.

We have been storing and using methane gas as a fuel for a very long time.

147. Tinto Chiel

Great to get the contributions from folk in the industry who know what’s actually going on. Our “journalists” should be ashamed of themselves.

Two days before the 2014 referendum, a frothing old Britnat spotted my Yes badges as I wandered round a supermarket. He started mouthing off about Alec Salmond being a f_____g monkey. When I asked him what he meant, he said Salmond claimed Scotland had oil. I said the FM was quite right and we had enough for many decades but I got the following answer:

“It’s no oor ile, it’s the ile companies’ ile.”

You can add that to your excellent list, Confused.

I’ve never lost my temper on the doorstep but that day I gave him The Full K1 😛

Not a vote-winner but I felt much better afterwards.

148. Clootie

Apply common sense to the propaganda.

Do you believe for one minute that a company like BP did not model the field development based on conservative oil prices. That they did not assess the lifting cost (the cost per barrel to export). Ignored the drilling outlay and the capital cost ( they plan on a return of outlay within 3 years).

I spent 40years offshore with Shell, Chevron, Enterprise and Repsolsinopec. They all Have a strong high risk aversion and BP will be the same.

All technical issues and costs will have been factored in at the business project approval gates. They will make money. Scotland will not!

149. yesindyref2

@John / @Haggishunter
    There was / is at least some economic benefit in Scotland for suppliers 🙂

150. yesindyref2

Is that what “fire ice” is, you learn something new every day.

151. Clootie

One further comment on major Oil companies.

When you put a project forward to corporate level it has to beat the alternatives. Why would a major company invest in an project in the North Sea that gave 5percent profit when one in Another country would give 20percent.
    Follow the money. Companies go for political stability, return on investment and volumes. They put their money where it will give a secure return.

152. Cactus

Did anybuddy just hear THAT on the lbc wireless radio there…

A Paxman stunt to the sound of them twin trumpets!

Subliminal merde.

153. yesindyref2

In fairness, everyone in Shetland must have known about Clair Ridge. You’d have thunk some so-called “journalist” would have made the trip and just opened their eyes for 5 minutes.

Irony my arse.

154. Confused

The most impressive software engineering company I ever came across was called PETEX – they were based in Edinburgh and produced control software for oil and gas fields – total system optimisation from end to end, for when there is money involved, no one is messing around. Only hired people with advanced degrees. Paid top whack.

– someone needs to hack their servers, look for some prospecting data – seismic_study_atlantic_margin.pdf

I once asked one of their guys “so is the oil running out then”
    – he said nothing, but just gave me a look that combined hysterical laughter and utter contempt … (the shit people come out with)

Tinto Chiel – aye, good story – sometimes the worst people to deal with are the most stupid … cuz it leaves you temporary dumbfounded …eh …what-the-f …

155. Dave McEwan Hill

Haggishunter at 4.53

You are not the guy wh o came into our YES shop in Duno0n in 2013 to tell us you had changed your position onthe referendum because you worked in the oil inustry and knew about the about the Clair ridge but you had been told to go home and tell nobody?

156. yesindyref2

@Clootie
    Corporates will often have two different teams working on something, and one wins the budget, the other loses. Which you obviously know already!

157. John

If anyone is interested in the cost of production per barrel in the North Sea (since the party line during the slump was it was too expensive etc..), one of the new kids on the block, now occupying the new Capitol building in Aberdeen, bought up the old BG and Shell assets. They state publicly their lift costs are $15 a barrel, but confirmed at their one year operational celebration aq few weeks ago that the real cost is between $12 and $13. Easy money.

158. Cubby

Essexexile

I posted the reference twice (as you requested) on the previous streams. Please do not go around making comments you cannot back up. Especially calling people gammons. If you are called out for posting rubbish then calling people gammons and incapable of reading what you really meant and then clearing off is just not on. You then wasted my time requesting the ref but say you are too busy.

Next time I will not be so polite.

159. hackalumpoff

K1 at 3:16

C’mon baby light my fire !

160. John

@yesindyref2 at 5.42

I appreciate siginificant benefit was had on the supply side, but having 1000+ high paid jobs in a building for four or five years executing a large project, the money those people pump into their local economy is massive. And that happened in London for both Jasmine and Clair Ridge. It’s called asset stripping.

161. Haggishunter

Hi Dave, no, I live in the north east of Scotland.
    When I was offshore I did reservoir surveys, and Scotland will be producing oil till the end of this century, this is for known reserves.
    The Atlantic hasn’t opened up yet, due to deeper water, but it will.
    I also worked in Norway, and I can tell you they are way ahead in technology, work ethic and development. They also have wealth beyond our imagination.
    The Norwegians aren’t wrecking their oil bearing formations by forcing water in at the rate the UK is, so they will extract about 30% more oil in time. The UK are pressuring up their formations, because they can’t get the oil out fast enough, keeping the plutocrats extremely rich and stopping the rest of the country from going bust.

Dave McEwan Hill says:
    23 November, 2018 at 6:10 pm
    Haggishunter at 4.53

You are not the guy wh o came into our YES shop in Duno0n in 2013 to tell us you had changed your position onthe referendum because you worked in the oil inustry and knew about the about the Clair ridge but you had been told to go home and tell nobody?

162. Cactus

This is as close as we get to this evening’s full moon till then:
    https://www.timeanddate.com/moon/phases/uk/lerwick

Yes, it’s what the People of America call… a beaver moon:
    https://www.timeanddate.com/astronomy/moon/beaver.html

Hmm that’s a nice beaver.

Murdoaoooowww.

163. Lenny Hartley

Robert Peffers, yes im aware of the differences between ice and fire ice, i was passing on the info a friend gave me who has a Doctorate on the area he was working in. His appraisal was that with current technology not viable to commercially extract.

164. Shinty

Essexexile says:
    23 November, 2018 at 4:42 pm
    How much of our oil would we be prepared to give away to achieve indy?

——

Hee Haw, would be my thoughts.

Scots were bribed into the Union, doubt if we will be bribing anyone to dissolve it.

Whilst I understand there will be negotiations, Scotland as a Nation is not for sale, not her land or seas.
    Scotland and her people have already paid a heavy price for over 300 years, not a penny more.

165. hackalumpoff

Another massive field, West of Shetland, which is being kept under the Radar is Rosebank, discovered in 2004.
    Equinor(Statoil) acquired it from Chevron earlier this year. It is estimated to cost $6 billion to develop.

http://www.equinor.com/en/news/2018-09-28-uk-announcement.html

The project was sanctioned and just about to start, with contracts awarded, but suddenly stopped about 3 years ago for “commercial” reasons.

Norway’s peoples gain is Scotland’s peoples loss.

166. yesindyref2

@John
    I agree, most research and HQ jobs are down south, and a lot of the logistics. Many of the high paying ones.

A slightly hard border at Gretna and Berwick will inevitably move at least some of them back where they belong, even without some other from of protectionsim.

167. Hamish100

Maybe Cairns cartoon for tomorrow is Mundell and his gang arms outstretched with bowls of oil and fish overflowing, asking a stern face May “please ma’am, take some more”

168. yesindyref2

Ouch. Maybe I shouldn’t say it, but the rUK being out of the EU but iScotland in the EU, means that while public contracts would need to be tendered in the EU, they wouldn’t of course have to be tendered outside the EU. Which means.

169. stewartb

As BBC Reporting Scotland tonight prefaced its short mention of the Claire Ridge news with a reference to an oil price fall, it’s interesting to look at just BP announcements concerning offshore Scotland over the past 12 months – and remember, there are other companies reporting good news too! See this from BP below to add to its Claire Ridge news:

Source 1: http://info.echemi.com/en-news-others/8485.html

‘In a talk he gave last week at the Society of Petroleum Engineers Offshore Europe conference in Aberdeen, BP CEO Bob Dudley said his company has cut production costs by half in the North Sea.

“This focus on standardization, simplification and discipline on cost has contributed to our average production costs in the North Sea coming down from a peak of over $30 a barrel in 2014, to less than $15 a barrel today. Heading towards 2020, with all our major new developments coming into production, we expect that to come down below $12 a barrel in the North Sea,” the BP chief executive said.’

Source 2: https://www.bp.com/en/global/corporate/media/press-releases/bp-receives-oga-approval-to-develop-alligin-field-in-north-sea.html

‘BP today (22 Oct, 2018) confirmed it has received approval from the Oil and Gas Authority (OGA) to proceed with the Alligin development west of Shetland, which will target 20 million barrels of oil equivalent, and is expected to produce 12,000 barrels gross of oil equivalent a day at peak.

Alligin is located 140 kilometres west of Shetland in a water depth of 475 metres. It forms part of the Greater Schiehallion Area.’

Source 3: https://www.bp.com/en/global/corporate/media/press-releases/bp-receives-oga-approval-to-develop-vorlich-field-in-north-sea.html

‘BP announced today (27 Sept 2018) that approval has been received from the Oil and Gas Authority (OGA) to proceed with the Vorlich development in the central North Sea, which will target 30 million barrels of oil equivalent, expected to produce 20,000 barrels gross of oil equivalent a day at peak.

The £200 million project is part of a programme of North Sea subsea tie-back developments that seek to access important new production from fields located near to established producing infrastructure.’

Source 4: https://www.bp.com/en/global/corporate/media/press-releases/north-sea-exploration-success-for-bp.html

‘BP today (31 Jan 2018) announced two new exploration discoveries in the North Sea.

The discoveries are Capercaillie, in Block 29/4e in the Central North Sea, and Achmelvich, in Block 206/9b west of Shetland. BP is 100% owner of Capercaillie and the Achmelvich well partnership comprises BP (operator, 52.6%), Shell (28%) and Chevron (19.4%).”

Putting all this and Claire Ridge plus other oil & gas announcements together and then add in recent announcements on renewable energy developments and achievements, and we in Scotland do live in a remarkably asset rich country!

170. Essexexile

@Cubby
    You’ve clearly got yourself into a lather over not much from an innocuous post I made several days ago.
    I was called a cunt, a loser and scum in my first few days on here in response to perfectly reasonable posting.
    Beginning to think some on Wings need to man up a bit more.
    Anyway, we’re done here I think.

171. Rock

Westminster will grant a Section 30 order for a legally binding independence referendum. Yes will win.

It will happen in 2640 AD.

Not a drop of oil will be left in Scottish waters.

If anyone believes Nicola is going to call a referendum before 2640 AD, please keep us informed.

172. Hamish100

Rock of ages on cue. 4 hr shift and he’s off. How boring are Tories? Zzzzzzzzzz

173. Clootie

Rock of the type we have on here is unlikely to contain anything of value. Any attempt to develop this poor quality zone would prove costly and be non-productive.

174. yesindyref2

Talking about methane it’s that time of the evening again, though it’s more like hydrogen sulphide.

Pooh.

175. Tinto Chiel

“Nostrabamus” again!

Pravdasound 4 at 6 p.m. kindly explained that there is a glut of oil at the mo (reasons, etc), the Brent Crude price is going down, and so calm down Sweaties and know your limits (subtext).

Think the BBC is reading The Rev and getting worried…..

176. sandy

What’s new about Carmichael. Once a liar, always a liar. Beware Orkney & Shetland.
    Wallace got what he wanted, whether by fair means or foul.

Jo Grimond stands out as a saint, a man of principles. I have little doubt as to where his heart would now lie.

Doesn’t WM breed, for the want of a better word for which I apologise, pure SHIT.

177. Cubby

BBC Reporting Scotland

What a scumbag of a programme produced and presented by a bunch of scumbags.

Top story tonight – people getting payments re hepatitis c. Second top story – 40 year anniversary of radio Scotland FFS. They even managed to drag out the single BSE cow in Scotland story. Douglas Fraser does a long story on Black Friday. They even do a piece on Donald Trump saving the turkey at the White House ( happens every year how is this relevant news to Scotland). Plenty of time spent on Peter Pan story and of course the rugby and athletics.

The story re Clair ridge in the middle of the programme blink and you will miss it. The story that proves they (inc Fraser) are a bunch of liars presented as nothing to be seen move on. In any other country this would be massive news – in the colony of Scotland – a wee footnote that oil will be coming out for 40 years. All prefaced by the comment the oil price is falling.

How’s the new non lying BBC Scotland coming along David Hook? Outright propaganda programme. If you work for the BBC you work for an anti Scottish organisation that is stealing the wealth from Scotland.

PROUD SCOTs work for BBC SCOTLAND – naw a bunch of scumbag tractors.

178. Cactus

BREAKING: Gibraltar says bolt Theresa!

It’s not enough.

179. Legerwood

From the Daily Telegraph online

“” ‘We must stop Gerard Batten turning Brexit into a plaything of the far Right.'””

Says Nigel Farage. Oh the irony

Gerard Batten, leader of UKIP, who has just announced Tommy Robinson will be helping him.

180. Bobp

These yoon britnats, bbc, scottish msm are nothing but f*****g parasites feeding off Scotland the host.

181. Gfaetheblock

Kevin Hague is Matt forde’s political party podcast guest this month.

Go on, you know you want to!

182. Boris

Oil Finds In the Scottish Continental Shelf – Billions of Barrels to be Recovered From Fields Off the Shetlands

Only with independence will Scotland benefit from the abundance of oil yet to be recovered from the Scottish Continental Shelf. Delays will only benefit the UK Treasury to the detriment of Scotland as was the case with the North Sea oil. It is important the the Scottish electorate does not believe the negative hype of the Westminster based and directed media outlets.Potentially more oil in these few fields than there is left in Saudi Arabia.

https://caltonjock.com/2017/03/27/potentially-more-oil-than-saudi-arabia-scottish-continental-shelf-gives-up-its-secrets-westminster-frittered-away-the-revenue-last-time-independence-is-the-answer-2/

183. Liz g

Exssexexile @ 7.11
    Cubby didn’t call you those “alleged “ things, so why can’t you answer?

184. Brian Powell

Sandy

Jo Grimmond was of the Grimmond Jute Mills in Dundee, and the made their money from workers stuck in dust laden mills, suffering lung disease and early deaths.

So he complained about being told what to do by trade unions but lived on the backs of those workers.

He was a rank capitalist like the others, and a hypocrite.

185. Cactus

From @WingsScotland twitter:

“What in the holy crap is she dressed as”

She looks like a football pundit (but with not enough facial make-up.)

Looks like she is impersonating Rikki Fulton…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OY2VVBeHXVg
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPSDatGhmMo

Belch!

186. Scot Finlayson

@Lenny Hartley

think the Chinese and Japanese have been making a lot of progress on extracting the natural gas from methane hydrate,

both have massive deposits,and with Japan trying to distance itself from nuclear after Fukushima,

`A drilling platform deployed off the coast of the southeastern Chinese city of Zhuhai for 60 days produced a total of 309,000 cubic metres of natural gas, a record extraction volume from gas hydrate, the Ministry of Land and Resources said.

“After nearly 20 years of unremitting efforts, China has achieved theoretical, technological, engineering and equipment innovations and has made a historical breakthrough,” the ministry said.`

187. Paul

Is there anyone more condescending and smug than a Unionist journalist? Some of those tweets!

188. Iain mhor

Coal, Hydro, Gas, Oil, Wind, Tidal – Through all of it, from my great granny, my granny, my mother and now members of my family – t’s been jaickets on the beds, happed up indoors in winter and decisions about whether to throw a wee bit more coal on, put another shilling in the meter, another bar on the fire or top up the card.
    In Scotland, generation after generation after generation.

The politicians who presided over this for decades?
    Fuck them all and a pox on their houses – may their black souls rot.

189. Essexexile

Liz g
    Oh FFS!
    If people are (and you’ve pushed me, so here goes) too dumb to digest a grammatically correct piece of syntax used to make a valid political argument, and simply don’t understand the nuances of written communication, by use of punctuation, to indicate irony / satire, then perhaps they’d be better off not engaging in debate on a written forum.
    That said, the output of some regulars here in the form of poorly constructed, typo ridden rants is evidence that some aren’t prepared to let a glaring lack of intelligence get in the way of their right to make themselves look stupid.

190. Liz g

Essexexile @ 8.30
    So you did remember then!!
    Why so shy tae say?

Have ye no been paying attention tae this theread either….
    It was the ill educated and the non articulate who were correct and the professionals who were either lazy, lunitic, or liar??
    A badly expressed truth trumps a well expressed lie… at least on Wings it will…
    and we even have a Rev who, I’ll wager will agree, it’s the bullshit and only the bullshit that vexes him, spelling and grammar not so much.
    There in lies the lesson…. Aye?
    So Cubby doesn’t even need an apology for your ill mannered diatribe… again just an will suffice!!

191. Footsoldier

Get real and wise up. The BBC is not on our side – what do you expect when they are the bastion of the establishment.

As a lifelong supporter of independence and an SNP member since a few weeks old (well OK I might have been a wee bit older), I’m afraid the SNP are just not cutting it for me right now.

What on earth are they doing with all the money from subs and Westminster. How about a billboard campaign with some decent punchy slogans.

192. Liz g

Me @ 8.51
    AN Answer…. obviously….!!!

193. Essexexile

@Liz g
    Wasn’t aware what he was talking about. Looked back. Worked it out.
    I’m not too proud to concede, you make a a strong point m’lady (with words finely chosen).
    I bid you good evening.

194. sandy

Brian Powell @ 8.05pm.

Of what you say, I stand to be corrected. I can only go on how he worked for his constituency.
    He may have been part of the Grimond “Dynasty” but was he the “white” sheep? Unlike some others, I am not in a position to comment.

195. Liz g

Essexexile @ 8.59
    Why goodnight Sir…
    One does wonder though… Why you still avoid the Cubby’s question…
    Do you normally leave Ladies so unsatisfied?

196. Cubby

Essexexile

Ah the use of the get out – some – “some regulars”. Sounds like you need to man up.

I respectfully asked you to explain how I had misunderstood your words. This was after you had suggested myself and others who had criticised your post were like a gammon. You then claimed not to remember the posts and asked me to reference them which I did twice.

“Engaging in debate” – you are the one who ran away after firing off insults.

Are you an English teacher from Essex – you seem to think this is a forum for correcting grammar.

When did correct use of grammar indicate a lack of intelligence.

“We are done” – if that worked I would have used it on all the Britnats who post on Wings.

You are demonstrating the arrogance of someone who thinks he is superior. Perhaps you have been in Essex too long.

My apologises if you do not like my grammar etc

197. Cubby

Liz g@9.05

For the avoidance of doubt I am a guy not a lady.

198. dakk

yesindyref2 says:

23 November, 2018 at 7:25 pm
    Talking about methane it’s that time of the evening again, though it’s more like hydrogen sulphide.

Pooh.

Thought for a moment there your gammon steak and cabbage water dinner was working on you !

Glad for you’re household it’s only Rock.

199. McDuff

Footsoldier
    I agree,there is no passion or strategy coming from the SNP and they don’t seem to use the ammunition the Unionists provide which is so ably highlighted by Wings.

200. jfngw

Price of oil was rising for months not a peep from the BBC Scotland. Oil price drops today, BBC Scotland are immediately on to it like a shot. What next, worthless, undependable, they are on the Indy build up.

201. Cubby

Liz g@9.05

All Essexexile had to do was say he couldn’t remember and as it was a couple of days ago can we just let the matter drop. I would have said ok. Instead he asked me to find for him the exact post – this implies he wants to continue – which I then posted for him on two occasions. I do not like getting messed about by people wasting my time.

I never asked for or wanted an apology just some basic respect will do.

Essexexile if you are reading this – try and get rid of your hang up about grammar. It’s opinions, feelings, facts, passion for independence and the truth that counts. No one on Wings thinks they are publishing a book. Although some of the posts can be quite long.

202. yesindyref2

@dakk
    It’s when the cat looks at you accusingly you realise you can’t get away with it any more.

203. Terence callachan

Iain mhor….well said
    Even to this day in Scotland we have people who have to put coats on their beds for warmth ,who can only put their electric fire on for heat when they have visitors, who never ever ever put their central heating on for fear of runaway cost.
    It’s a disgrace Scotland has so much energy we should be able to give it to people in Scotland for a low cost.
    The housing stock is a disgrace too all those ancient tenements draughty cold delapidated
    Austerity and then a one or two percent rise in benefits on occasion when one percent of sixty quid a week amounts to sixty pence god knows how we allow Englands Westminster government to treat people in Scotland like this I can tell you now if I had the power I would clap those Westminster politicians in leg irons and traipse them through town for people to throw rotten fruit at them ,they are the lowest of the low treating people so badly.

204. Liz g

Cubby @ 9.19
    Oh Cubby… I just read that the way you must have…Soo also for the avoidance of doubt…lol

I thought you had a good point worth pursuing and ….
    I wanted to read Essexexile’s answer too …when all we got were insults to other posters I felt compelled to challenge it. All the while pointing out you hadn’t yet had an actual answer. Also while wishing Essexexile a goodnight honesty compelled me to add that I found his answer unsatisfying … so the Lady in question was me…. and I mused .. Can there be only one ??

So .. sorry Bud… it’s no the first time and most likely no the last I’ll no be clear… but I’m an uneducated, pretendy tenement dweller…just the kind of person who “like you” is a fully paid up member of the awkward squad …. AKA… we question their shit!!

205. Terence callachan

To Rock….you are a sandwich short of a picnic, not the brightest button in the box, you are persistent , I understand your anger, your pain, England is turning on itself people fighting each other in the street, your hospitals are crammed you can’t get a doctors appointment unemployment is rocketing and those in work having their hours cut, your rage is understandable I do hope you get well soon.
    Keep taking your medicine.

206. cynicalHighlander

Capella liked it.

207. Terence callachan

To essexexile….
    You don’t check through 500 posts to see if someone has replied to one of your posts ? So you say in a post here where you are doing exactly what you say “you don’t do ”
    We know you check
    That’s okay
    It’s good
    Keep doing it
    All points of view required
    But not insults

208. Lenny Hartley

Scot Finlayson been thinking about when I last spoke to my Mate about extraction and it was longer ago than I thought possibily four years, so yes significant progress may have geen made but still think its a wee while before commercial extraction is possible.

209. cynicalHighlander

Oh gawd the trolls are still alive, need to stop reading for longer. Byeee

210. Terence callachan

More and more English people turning up on this site, I wonder why ?
    To contribute intelligently ?
    To agitate ?
    Interested in the conversation ?

They’re losing
    It’s a good sign for independence supporters

211. dakk

yesindyref2 says:
    23 November, 2018 at 9:40 pm
    @dakk
    It’s when the cat looks at you accusingly you realise you can’t get away with it any more.

:)Take it the canary died long since.

212. galamcennalath

Titanic Brexit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=svwslRDTyzU

It’s all moved on from that, but still lining up to be a total bloody disaster!

213. Robert Peffers

@Lenny Hartley says: 23 November, 2018 at 6:44 pm:

” … His appraisal was that with current technology not viable to commercially extract.”

Indeed but remember the oil field this thread is commenting about was not considered commercially viable to extract when Cameron paid it a visit. It is now.

214. Sinky

@ John says: 23 November, 2018 at 6:24 pm
    If anyone is interested in the cost of production per barrel in the North Sea (is now under $15 a barrel….compared to double that in 2014) ….

All wingers and SNP spokesperson need to get out George Kerevan’s
    assessment that if Indy Scotland taxed Oil at UK 2010 levels (when prices were about the same as to-day) at £10 a barrel it would produce £6 billion a year in revenues for a Scottish Government and almost HALF THE GERS DEFICIT!

The interest we are nominally charged on the UK National Debt would wipe out a further 25% of the GERS deficit and a further £1 billion would be saved on the amount the UK charges us for defence costs which is not spent in Scotland.

We need to be much more pro active in challenging the unionist mantra that Scotland is a subsidy junkie and can’t afford to be independent.

215. yesindyref2

@Sinky
    Not just that, there’s the £billions attributed to Scotland in GERS as “expenditure on behalf of Scotland”, but spent down south, like the ministries, foreign office, Dover house (a compelete wonderful savings, though it could be our main embassy to the rUK – we’d need a few consulates also in Birmingham, Manchester, Newcastle, Leeds, Cardiff, Belfast), and all the rest of that money providing jobs to the rUK economy.

These cost and I have no idea cause I haven’t checked out a recent GERS, but say £10 billion which would be spent in Scotland instead, for an economic benefit (read tax revenues) of £6 billion at an economic multiplier of 0.6.

Add to that bringing some – many – of those oil HQ and research jobs home, proper offices rather than salespeople / reps running up the M6 or flying shuttle, some HQs, emabssies in Edinburgh, a 3 to 5 year boom in tourism such as other newly independent countries had, and when Kerevan said a year or two back Scotland would have a difficult few years baring his chest so to speak, I very strongly disagreed with him.

Get control of our revenues and expenditure, and from Day 1 Scotland is not only totally viable but better off than with the measly pocket money we get grudgingly given.

And ironically, GERS is the key to unlocking the figures.

216. Cubby

STV at 6pm

No mention of Clair Ridge oil field. Not a word. To many other important things happening in Scotland like Black Friday and are the sales any good.

What a disgrace our media is.

217. yesindyref2

@dakk
    I’m sad to say the canary departed long ago down the coal mines.

218. yesindyref2

@Cubby
    Seems to me STV have taken over the Union flag from BBC Scotland. They used to be a bit OK, now they’re in sheer Precious Union mode.

Ah well, back to the movie about the good President Ford. I think he’s about to shoot out the controls of the garbage scow or something.

Where’s Chew Baccy when you need him?

219. mr thms

stewartb @7:09pm

BP expect the extra production from their fields on the UKCS, to bring their average production up to 200,000 barrels a day over forty years.

With the increase in production garhering pace, the UK will soon export more oil than it imports.

As a net exporters of oil, an independent Scotland can join OPEC.

The Treasury is missing out on billions because of the increase in the oil price, combined with George Osbourne’s five year tax giveaway.

In 2010 The Treasury collected £10 for every barrel produced.

In 2017 production averaged 1.63 million barrels a day.

By the end of this year the average will be nearer 2 million barrels a day.

£20 million a day in lost taxes is equivalent to over £7 billion a year.

220. mike cassidy

As a non-driver who travels this route by bus

I can’t decide whether this is an example of guinea-pig Scotland

or cutting-edge Scotland.

http://archive.is/kAQ7T

And think of all us poor passengers having to say thanks to a computer as we get off!

221. Cactus

Ahm on movie night too yesindyref2 🙂

Watching The Neverending Story (again) with French audio and subtitles.

The characters work well en francais.

C’est bien.

222. Breeks

I thought the current drop in oil price was payback, and all due to Saudi Arabia dropping the price to please Trump as a trade off for Trump agreeing to shrug his shoulders about the Khashoggi murder.

223. Cubby

Yesindyref2@11.18pm

Now that’s a post that includes a GERS reference that I like. Much better stuff.

I of course prefer the less subtle – GERS is mince.

224. manandboy

Hindsight is the man in the streets PhD.

225. Ian Brotherhood

Isn’t it remarkable how the characters fingered in WOS posts never comment here?

Have any of them, ever, written directly, in here, to defend themselves?

226. Robert Peffers

@yesindyref2 says: 23 November, 2018 at 11:18 pm:

” … Not just that, there’s the £billions attributed to Scotland in GERS as “expenditure on behalf of Scotland”, but spent down south, like the ministries, foreign office, Dover house (a compelete wonderful savings, though it could be our main embassy to the rUK – we’d need a few consulates.”

Ah! yesindyref2, you have missed a trick in that assessment of assets. As a fully sovereign partner kingdom in the United Kingdom the Kingdom of Scotland is already part owner, and that part is arguably half for who says the division is on a current population basis?

There are only two signatory kingdom in the United Kingdom – it says so in the Treaty of Union – and anyway the way Westminster has robbed Scotland through the centuries we have probably paid for well over half the costs of the many consulates and embassies of the United Kingdom throughout the World.

By the way, Scotland Yard was originally so called because it was the Scottish Embassy in the Kingdom of England and was highly likely actually built on the Royal Bruce family estate that was in that area of London.

The mindset that Scotland is leaving the United Kingdom has been a deliberate brainwashing tactic of Westminster all along. Scotland is not leaving the United Kingdom, Scotland, (the Kingdom), is ending the United Kingdom – not leaving it behind.

We own part of every UK government asset including the Mint, the Bank of England, The Houses of parliament, Whitehall Ministries and the security and armed forces.

227. Cherry

I’m so angry at this blatant attempt to once again plunder our resources. I like most on here have family living and working in England, so my venom is not aimed at English folks. There has to be a case here for us to actually put this anger to use and collectively take this to the police. Surely we have cause to report those responsible with theft, if we can prove the deliberate agenda of lies to withhold the truth of the existence of this oilfield to the Scottish people, in order for the English government to gain financially and deliberately cause confusion to the Scots as to whether we can be financially viable as an independent country. Is it not time we fired across the bow of the good ship brexit, we are the sovereign people let’s start to get off our knees and fight these bastards…Time for us to make some noise!

228. Cubby

Ian Brotherhood@12.28am

Very good point. Obviously do not have the courage to do so.

229. Cactus

Next film… ahm aff tae the start of Middle-earth (again)

With audio in Jedi and subtitles.

TFoTRing.

They say a week is a lang time in politics, let’s see…

230. Davie Oga

Whenever the media, English nationalist politicians, or their corporate proxies refer to it as British oil, they should be challenged immediately with the fact that their is no legal personality known as Britain. The oil is overwhelmingly in the internationally recognized territorial waters of Scotland. It should also be pointed out that the only reason that the benefits from the oil accrue to Westminster are because a significant minority of the Scotland population actually believe it’s worthless. I actually respect the guile and manipulation of the thieves more than the complete and utter stupidity of the “victim”.

231. Robert J. Sutherland

Liz g @ 21:05,

It’s been a very thin day on here, Liz, after a rather dismal few days*, with today the usual complaints about crucial facts that everyone should know, but somehow still don’t (thanks to the usual suspects), plus some petty bickering besides, none of which though detracts in the least from your witty riposte there, which I at least (I’m fairly sure) understood as it was intended. Consider that the comment of the day! =laugh=

*(A niggling feeling that too many are missing the plot, and we’re going to blow our current precious chance out of debilitating caution.

Not sure if the posting below has been referenced already, but it’s rather pertinent, I feel:

https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2018/11/know-your-limits

I often find I don’t agree with CM, not least when he goes off on tangents, but this observation has enough truth to it to make me feel somewhat uncomfortable.)

232. Thepnr

@Robert J. Sutherland

I can’t find much wrong with what Craig Murray says other that the obvious which he himself states.

Now is the time but ONLY if it ios confirmed that we are out of the EU and May’s deal goes ahead with labour not getting within a sniff of power.

That is not today though is it?

Yes, we’ll know soon and which if any of these options are chosen as he seems to have missed cancelling Brexit altogether which might be possible by revoking Article 50.

So what’s the rush? Let’s see how the dust settles and then we can go for it. This does get a bit tiring as this is what Nicola Sturgeon has said all along.

233. yesindyref2

@Cubby
    That’s a good approach too.

GERS is worked on year on year to make it more detailed and improve the figures. It has estimates to 95% confidence intervals which, frankly, having done stats, means diddly-squit. Bit it’s a piecoe of work in more ways than one.

What it needs though is a complementary paper which goes into the spending, the where, and who gets the benefit, including a reasonable estimate to a 95% confidence interval, such as the taxes, council tax for employees, spending in and around on food and luxury goods by them, and their work spending like coffee, papers, train tickets – and the employment associated with them. Also visitors to such as the defence ministry – buyers, suppliers, and their spending on hotels, air fares, APD, and the rest.

Since even the ScotGov spends a lot of money, and some at least like train coaches is spent outside Scotland, such a document could be usde to “guide governmental spending” and therefore fully within the remit of the devolved government.

Coincidentally also of use for Indy campaigners 🙂

I’m going to call it … (goes out for a fag) … Benefits Of Spending by Scotland (BOSS).

234. yesindyref2

@Cubby
    Yeah, I’m going to watch something else too. 3 or 4 days of getting old jobs done, going very well, not much more to do after watching the rugby tomorrow today.

@RP
    Absolutely. We’re going to need some bare-knucled negotiators to push for historical debt which would mean we’re owed billions rather than hving a £160 billion share of the debt that mostly isn’t really a debt anyway but owed by the BoE to itself. And some “Smooth Operator”s to unruffle feathers and spread confustion to the enemy other side’s negotiating team.

235. yesindyref2

Sorry, first bit to Cactus not Cubby!

236. Collie

Fuck all the No Voting bastards of Scottish Rugby.

237. Robert Louis

Robert Peffers at 1232am,

Regarding Scotland yard, are their any historical sources available giving more info on the use of Scotland yard by Scotland. It seems to be yet another piece of Scotland’s history which I never knew.

The point you make is an important one, their is no rUK, Scottish independence ends the UK as it currently exists. Of course their is no reason why the bit left over (England wales ted.. ) could not then call itself ‘the UK’, a bit like rangers did after Glasgow ranger football club was liquidated, but it won’t be the same as the UK as currently exists by viture of the treaty of union.

238. Golfnut

@ Cherry.
    A petition demanding a Judicial revue would be very effective at highlighting the mendacity of the UK establishment and there acolytes in Scotland.

It could be done on line of course but I think would be much more effective if it was taken door to door or set up stalls on the high streets.

Just a simple question.

Should Politicians, media, Civil service involved in undermining the democratic and Constitutional process to facilitate the theft of Scotland’s resources and hide Scotland’s wealth face criminal charges.

I’m sure there are charges that could be brought, the judicial revue would determine which were most appropriate.

239. Col

Westminster used to publish the accounts for Scotland but stopped doing so. I think with a majority of MP’s we should be demanding they be opened up for viewing. When they refuse we walk out of Parliament and return the majority of MP’s to Scotland. From Scotland they should make one FINAL demand that they do so stating that to not do so will be in breach of the contract which we signed up to. Game over.

240. Harry mcaye

Jfngw – Reporting Scotland DID do a report when the oil price was rising. Can you guess their angle? Motorists paying more at the pumps, oh how awful! Not a single word about how good it was for “our” oil industry.

241. Dorothy Devine

STV ‘news’ has morphed into Hello magazine meets gossip column = it is no longer of any worth unless you love fitba’ which I don’t.

242. Legerwood

Breeks says:
    23 November, 2018 at 11:59 pm
    “”I thought the current drop in oil price was payback, and all due to Saudi Arabia dropping the price to please Trump as a trade off for Trump agreeing to shrug his shoulders about the Khashoggi murder.””

You are absolutely correct. Trump will ditch any principle if he thinks there is a buck in it for him/USA. Something people should bear in mind when they sign treaties/trade pacts etc with him.

243. JLT

As other have said on here …and something many of us knew about back in 2013 …how much oil is in the Clyde firth? How much is in the West Coast?

The only reason no-one really know is because of those damned submarines. Why??? Because you can’t have pipelines and rigs in the way of a fairly blind weapon …especially when it is carrying nukes.

244. Golfnut

@ JLT.

We might not be able to say how much oil is recoverable from the Clyde basin, what we do know for certain is that Chevron thought there was sufficient to justify the expense of building a refinery. The application was refused and all exploration licences revoked by Hesiltine and the MOD. What should have been obvious to everyone at the time, was the illogical contradiction of shutting down a revenue source whilst telling Scots that oil would run out in 10 years.

245. Benhope

Most people on this site agree that if it had not been for the media in Scotland been controlled from London our country would have been independent many years ago.

How to change the status quo?

Do we take legal action against the false (lying headlines).
    Perhaps destroy the production plants?
    Occupy the TV studios and insist on fair and impartial news.

The latest revelations about the hidden oil wealth of Scotland shows how we must take control ASAP.

The softly, softly approach is not working.

246. Bobp

Quite agree with your post ben. By the way are you a Scott mariani reader as well lol.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.