For Sadiq Khan

Posted on February 25, 2017 by

What does racism and separatism actually look like? How would we know it if we saw it? What are its defining characteristics? Who are its advocates?

miliforeign

Let’s see if we can find out.

Racists definitely don’t like immigration. That’s a basic.

labpressim

immigrationmug

brownimmigration

britishjobs

britjobs1

They’ll try to terrify people with wildly exaggerated dog-whistle “warnings” about their country and their culture being “swamped” by foreigners.

mcclymontim

They can’t bear the idea of their own family or friends being “foreign”, using the word (and “immigrant”) as a pejorative indicating something axiomatically undesirable.

curranforeign

(Good Morning Scotland, BBC Radio Scotland, May 2013)

bennforeign

nobforeign

foulkesforeign

killunion

roadtocameron6a

darlingforeign

They want foreigners kept away by any means necessary, up to and including building borders and patrolling them with guards, or putting foreigners on lists and trying to frighten them into leaving.

miliborder1

foreignworkers

immivan2

They’ll even refuse to represent foreigners in Parliament.

alanreid1

They don’t mind teaming up with any and all sorts of bigots in support of those goals, even if that risks burning your partnerships with the rest of the planet. Even if it means you isolate yourself from a community of 27 nations and 500 million people in the name of “internationalism” and “solidarity”.

browntories

smartpoles

loonybloom

labfront1

labfront2

joanhenry1

joanhenry2

joanhenry5

gs4

gsv48

gsv42

britannica

yhbt1a

hamadarling

yhama3

yhama1

britfirst

wilesanas

wilesracist

johnmontgomery0

They bitterly decry “nationalism”, while draped from head to toe in flags.

orangemail

orange4

orange11

orange5

orange6

orange7

orange8

ukdl

orange9

orange10

invicta

(They really love a flag. It’s not nationalist when they have one.)

khanflag

nashmurray

camflag

ujproj1

theresamay1

They have no problem with blurring the lines between politics and sectarian religious hatred if it’s expedient to do so.

morriceorange

proddyboys

orange1

toryhooseorange

orange2

They go on about blood a lot, and how their country is better than others.

cameronblood

cameronblood2

blairnat2

The thing is, Sadiq – whose side of the independence debate are all of those people on? Are they on our side, or are they on your side?

No rush. Take all the time you need.

3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 25 02 17 13:56

For Sadiq Khan | speymouth

2. 26 02 17 15:05

All gone – Mewsing Out Loud

3. 01 03 17 13:17

Calling Scottish independence supporters ‘racist’ is depressing and pathetic | My Little Underground

213 to “For Sadiq Khan”

1. Ian McCubbin

Well exampled and makes a very clear case of the Unionists as bigots and racists at worst and at best stirring up projectfear 2.
    Put this out on Twitter over the last hour.
    Well add your evidence as well Stu.

2. Marcia

Good you have this wonderful archive of material to rebut but also depressing that you have to being it out from time to time. What cheered me up was knowing that nearly all of the Westminster Labour lot mentioned above lost their seats and won’t get them back.

3. Grouse Beater

Recent thoughts on racism of the English supremacist kind: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-dEN

4. Ian McCubbin

Good for exemplifying all the true racists being unionists. I have put the pónt on Twitter. Happy to add all your points.

5. Croompenstein

Don’t worry – Federalism will save us 🙂

6. Winifred McCartney

I did once admire Sadiq not any more – you can tell the calibre of anyone by what they do when in a crisis and I think the Unionists are now in crisis mode – the Union is more important than morality, justice, fairness, a welcome for all and everything else the once proud labour party stood for but now they have sold their souls to the devil to keep the last bastion of Imperial UK.

7. Welsh Sion

Open letter to Sadiq Khan

Dear Sadiq Khan,

You have referred to both me and my friends, in both Scotland and Wales, as “narrow nationalists.”

Are you happy to consider yourself a “broad nationalist” in supporting this dystopian Disunited Kingdumb, in being a proud Londoner and by the playing of the race card yourself, prior to being elected Mayor of London?

We have a right to know.

Yours etc.,

8. Bob MACK

Transference. Accuse everybody of the traits you have yourself. They have been doing it for years.

I find unionism ugly and repellant, glued together by hatred of anything which is not fitting exactly into their narrowly defined perameters of “Britishness”
    It is intolerant, self centered, and supremacist. In order to fit and become acceptable people like Khan pay it lip service. I would love him to come and meet those in George Sq that night and tell them he was British to see the reaction he got.

There is blindness to facts and there is stupidity.

9. bugsbunny

Anne and Dave. The Socialist and the National Socialist. There is little to no difference between the Orange Order in 2017 and the S.A in 1931. Both are/were thugs.

10. Arbroath1320

So the RED Tory mayor of London comes to Perth to tell Scots that the SNP are racist. Unfortunately I can not say what I want to say because I do not believe he ever had the plot in the first place!

When they get to so low in the sewer that they start spouting this pish then you know they are so FEART they cannae stop running tae the loo tae shite themselves!

11. Shona

Oh please add that photo of Ian Murray in his Union Jack suit 🙂

12. Robert Graham

Brilliant but definitely a depressing response to Labours racist propaganda lableling half of Scots racist .
    Dan Hull keep posting the Gandhi Quote it needs to out there , it’s the perfect response to this smear

13. Richardinho

There’s probably few better arguments in favour of independence than whenever a Londoner opens his mouth and shows just how utterly clueless he is about Scotland.

14. bugsbunny

Those two “Scottish” soldiers doing fascist salutes are an utter disgrace. Imagine for one moment they were German soldiers? They would be arrested, charged, courted marshaled, jailed then dishonourably discharged. Then shunned by neighbours, friends and relatives. Only in blighty can a serving soldier do Hitler salutes with impunity. God save the Queen my arse.

15. gus1940

‘A cry Of Pish!! rang out and echoed round the half empty hall.

16. jfngw

I wait with baited breadth the statement that Mr Khan will be attempting to move the Labour party to stop any Brexit nationalism and promise to rejoin the EU at the soonest opportunity.

He must stand up against the narrow nationalism that is Brexit. Just saying you voted remain isn’t good enough, will he follow up his beliefs with deeds.

Anything else could look like pure hypocrisy.

17. Brian Powell

There is a book in all of this: The Wit and Banter of the UKoks,A social and political history of Scotland, lavishly illustrated.

18. Smallaxe

BILLY HAS NO ORANGES!

It’s quite clear that he has lost his marbles also.I hope that when he leaves he takes his Billy Boys with him.

https://videosenglish.telesurtv.net/video/646745/social-movements-galvanized-under-trump/

Peace Always

19. Scot Finlayson

wonder if Khan has been getting fed this bull by the scum of the Scottish Labour party,

would surprise me if he has any first hand knowledge about politics in Scotland,

this whole thing has the stench of Murray,Sarwar,Baillie and their right wing hack Roden,

even if misinformed he should know better than to call all Scots racist.

20. shane fraser

Men who suffer this terrible ’emotional disease called Hate, Would find courage and growth to understand this .. Cognitive Dissonance.

21. dakk

Excellent and accurate portrayal of Great British values and culture Stuart.

What type of person would want to part of that?

Glad you didn’t let fake socialist British Nationalists Tony Benn and Gordon Brown away with it this time 🙂

22. Socrates MacSporran

Every time a Unionist politician speaks on the “dangers” as they see it of Scottish Nationalism, I find myself shaking my head.

This was my reaction to Sadiq Khan’s comments. I repeat my well-worn mantra, to many English people, Scotland is a small, far-away country, of which they know nothing.

I might be wrong in this, but, my opinion, verified by a lengthy period living and working in England, and by an even-longer period dealing with the English on a daily basis, is that this is the case.

Nothing against them, I have met many very nice English people, plus one or two unauthorised oxygen consumers – just as I have met many very nice Scottish people, plus one or two unaughorised oxygen consumers – we’re awe Jock Tamson’s bairns efter a’.

What I have found over my 69-years,362 days on this earth is, to a greater or lesser degree, most English cannot differentiate between “England” and “The UK/Great Britain” etc.

I recall, for instance, the disbelief I caused during a quiz session while on a cruise, when I pulled-up the quizmaster for asking: “Who won the gold medal for England in the women’s heptathlon at the 2012 Olympics?”

That “England” was different from “Team GB” was impossible for the quiz master to compute. That one caused a wee stooshie.

So, we have to fight this ignorance.

What, however, can we do about a more-insidious ignorance, evident among those we lovingly tag: “Proud Scots but”?

I am amazed at the pro-Khan posts from readers in today’s Scotman and Herald btl comments on the Khan story.

What planet are these people on. We Wingers all know, Mr Khan, in this instance, is clearly wrong, but, we have these “Proud Scots but” falling over themselves to insist Mr Khan is correct and, it is all the fault of “that Alicsammin and yon Sturgeon wummin” and their brain-washed cult followers.

That’s us folks – the tide is running in our favour, but, we still have a long way to go in winning our Independence, after which, we will either have mass emigration out of Scotland, or an unhappy, bitter fifth column inside.

Just a wee aside as regards the Orange Order. Their principal and main aim, is to ensure the continuation of a Protestant Monarchy. Now, as I understand it; assuming we win the referendum when Indyref2 is called, in the again Independent Scotland – Elizabeth Queen of Scots, the current monarch, will continue to occupy the throne.

There will be no change, except, her English/Welsh/Northern Ireland title will change, she will no longer be Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, since that United Kingdom will cease to exist.

23. galamcennalath

Why oh why do British Nationalists never see their own nationalism?

Simple. Elitism, superiority, exceptionalism, and entitlement. Nationalism is something they honestly believe lesser people have, but not them.

24. Proud Cybernat

Filleted.

25. heedtracker

Divide, conquer. Labour scraped it in Stoke Central but they did it by out UKIPing UKIPers, anti-immigration, British jobs for British people, we know the drill.

And its all disappeared online. A lot like their vote tory Alex Salmond’s a pickpocket thief billboards, what disappeared the morn after the tories won 2015. UK politics is just really really dirty.

https://politicaladvertising.co.uk/2015/04/27/conservative-party-embarrassed-by-latest-poster/

26. jfngw

The Kezia battle cry, better a vassal state and no Labour MP’s than self determination. She no doubts looks forward to a Scottish Secretary of State from anywhere except Scotland in the future.

I must look out my John Redwood sings the Anthems of the UK CD.

27. Robert Graham

When even the BBCs website are running this story and Khan is having to back track and defend his comments, you can almost smell the panic from Labours Scottish branch, it’s out there and they have lost control of the attempted smear, Yet another own goal by Kezia and Co , well done .

28. Dr Jim

Anybody noticed all these folk against deciding your own country’s future have the same thing in common

They’re all really angry at the very idea we should even get a choice
    And in many cases they’d like to do us harm for thinking about having a choice
    And if you happen to be a colour they don’t like or have an accent they dont’t like they don’t want you to even be allowed to speak at all

Maybe they misunderstand the meaning of the word racist and haven’t looked it up
    See you can say I prefer black cars to blue cars that’s a preference of choice but it doesn’t mean you want all blue cars destroyed or not built or folk not allowed to have one

Perhaps if some of these folk were to miss the odd football match every now and again maybe the constant screaming and demanding of other folks blood might begin to temper their judgement a little
    If you were to stand in the centre of any town and scream at passers by you wanted to kill them, the polis would be right along and you would be off to the pokey, yet in these folks minds they’re allowed to do that at a football match and it’s OK

29. bugsbunny

Now Sadiq Khan is denying that when he talked about “Narrow Nationalist Parties”, he didn’t mean the SNP. Well, well. I wonder what made him change his mind so quickly?

30. Kat hamilton

Stomach churning stuff. Good to see this compilation of bile, hatred and contempt spewing from the orange adherents…mindless morons with knuckle dragging mind sets..how they shame Scotland and its efforts to rid ourselves of this toxic baggage…..time civic Scotland, councils etc did the decent thing and said no public disorder and hate filled marches, it would lessen sectarianism within a decade or less if this scourge was removed from public viewing…

31. ScottishPsyche

In desperation Khan has had to create a London-Scotland divide now. Probably helped by the ‘End London Rule’ demo outside which of course will be taken literally by Slab.

Roden really is a piece of work – how Slab must rue the day they brought him on board. He has tried every filthy Daily Mail trick in the book and it is backfiring spectacularly.

The apoplectic hate fest from Daisley and Torrance on Monday is writing itself.

32. Macart

Neatly done Rev and well deserved.

Oh and if anyone is looking for motive as to why the Labour Mayor of London would stick his oar into Scotland’s dabate? The job description should tell you everything you need to know.

I very much doubt that worries over societal division come into it. More likely capital flight, jobs, business, corporate lobbying and the threat of competition.

Shallow and transparent opportunism married to arrogant ignorance and a callous disregard for collateral damage in Scotland’s society and body politic.

Pretty much what you come to expect from Labour in general and the London political class in particular. Politics as it is practised etc.

33. bugsbunny

Interesting to note, that although in the article he say’s he doesn’t mean the SNP, he still said, “There is no difference between those that try to divide us on the basis of whether we are English or Scottish and those who try to divide us on the basis of our background race or religion”.

So he is calling the SNP, and YES supporters racist. He’s comparing us to the BNP, the NF, the OO and Neo Nazis. Funny then he should be holding their flag then, eh?

34. Peter

You know what disturbs me the most about this? And I speak as an SNP member/activist
    Labour , the party of the vow , trident , a million innocents dead in Iraq , who now label us racists , and yet on the 5th of may we will jump into bed with them in any council area necessary to seize control.
    That will be many councils , as overall control is very difficult to achieve. And the argument will be that ‘it’s better than the Tories’ is that a good enough reason any more? They are equally despicable

35. Jack Collatin

Stu, simply magnificent. You are indeed a ‘less deserving website’, as Fraser of the Beeb observed.
    I am quite simply disgusted by this evil outpouring from ProudScotsButs.
    It is of course designed to terrify us, to threaten violence and mayhem. To sack workers, to punish Scotland, to promote the Iron Heel as Avenger should we enter a ballot box and not do as we are told.
    Why are our religious leaders not condemning this hatred and racist bile from their ornate pulpits?
    It’s all gone quiet the manses and chapel house up there on the heady moral high ground.
    I am heartened that despite all this naked racism and imperialism, we calmly go about our business, patiently watching the fatal coup de grace to the English Empire as it unfolds around the EU Negotiating Table in March 2017.
    Merrie England, you’re going to need a bigger fence.
    Independence is inevitable now.
    My stomach churns at such hatred and evil intent.

36. ScottishPsyche

There are genuinely London based commentators, e.g. Adam Bienkov, who believe Scotland and London should have an equivalence within the UK and that London should have the same ‘powers’ as Scotland!

https://twitter.com/AdamBienkov/status/835504271797940224

The failure to understand is mind blowing

37. ScottishPsyche

Which leads me to think that this Federalism wheeze is a way for London labour to assert its own independence and has been a manufactured vehicle for London all along.

38. justin F.N. minty

ERR wasnt william of orange an immigrant

39. Famous15

Kezia at conference boasting how Nicola pinched all her policies from her speec last yeaR.

Theaudience cracking jokes behind their hands and reluctantly applauding.

The standing ovation served only to show the gaps in the audience.

40. heedtracker

Do hard core Cons of London like or loath Major Kahn, and his YES Scots are racists stuff. Evening Standard,

http://archive.is/uj17w

“The antidote to Brexit and the rise of right-wing populist parties is not to run away, break away or push our neighbours away. It’s to lead in a different direction – the right direction.

41. Proud Cybernat

Some ‘advice’ from the fratricidal maniac…

http://imgur.com/earhwAE

42. Robert Graham

Some guy apparently from the BBC , Called Philip Sim has been giving a running commentary on the Labour hate fest , reading his Tweets it looks like he is employed by Labour, now it’s either Labour or The BBC who employs him, it can’t be both, OH f/k I forgot it was Labour & The BBC it’s the same thing, how silly of me .,

43. Proud Cybernat

Mr Khan,

This is what it means to be a Scottish nationalist – they are all welcome in our country:

http://imgur.com/5fQHSy3

http://imgur.com/6sQ2JWL

http://imgur.com/ykUTBAr

Can any of your BritNats say the same?

44. hamish e budge

Labour categorising/grouping/labeling and collectively calling Scots “racist”.
    Oh the irony, bravo (slow hand clap)

45. Az

Apologies – O/T

I’ve been succesfully destroying some social media arguments lately, and now find a thread I’m on (a very public forum) has descended into accusations of SNP/Yes people being nasty etc. I have a fairly expansive retort in mind, one that will silence such nonsense. However, I require some help.

I hope someone can direct me to an image of a particular tweet that was made in around September 2014, where some or other Labour or former Labour person said something about the threats which were made to vulnerable pensions – the vote Yes on Thursday, lose pension on Friday wheeze – the scam always unconvincingly denied by the tuba enthusiast.

I’ve been searching for it for over an hour now, and I hope one of the sharp Wingers can recall it, or better still, point me to it.

Appreciate any help you can give 🙂

Keep up the good work

46. Jamie

In relation to Shove your independence up your arse video. Had to laugh at “see the Queen, without her 20 million everybody in this country would be on the dole”

Another good one was ” see over in Dublin they are all sleeping on the streets”

These geniuses who voted no, I have to say to them your argument is brilliant I am converted how did I never see it like that before.

Not.

47. bugsbunny

Az,

i don’t know if this will help. I found it on google in 2 seconds. Type in Vote yes to independence on Thursday and lose your pension on Friday and it will come up with a whole host of stories. The one from the Telegraph comes up at the beginning.

48. heedtracker

Am I racist or not Major Kahn? BBC Scotland says no, well you are, but you’re not you see, but you could be,

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-39089604

London Mayor Sadiq Khan ‘not accusing SNP of being racists’
    49 minutes ago
    From the section Scotland politics

49. ScottishPsyche

@Az

I’m not on Twitter but I remember @MrMalky had a screenshot of a SLab councillor resigning because he had to phone pensioners and threaten them. I can’t remember his name sorry, something Baillie?

Maybe ask MrMalky?

50. Effijy

I’ll just vote for independence and remove myself and my country from the most corrupt bigoted fascist nation on earth, England.

Land of No Pope and Tory” You can go and get–educated.

51. Proud Cybernat

@ Az

Found this:

https://www.opendemocracy.net/ourkingdom/adam-ramsay/referendum-has-transformed-scotland-labour-should-be-afraid

It’s not a primary source and is from 23rd September. It says that Labour MPs etc were saying this to pensioners on the doorstep: “if you vote yes on Thursday, your pension will be cancelled on Friday”

52. Simon Curran

Is there any truth that the Mayor of London will now be supporting West Chelsarse Spurs Rangers?
    Funny that he decided that he would run as Mayor given that elections can be divisive. Maybe Labour shouldn’t contest the next election either because that would be divisive as well.

53. Ken500

The Mayor of the separate State of London. Scottish Oil revenues were illegally and secretly funding. The McCrone Report. Khan should be apologising.

54. Vestas

I look forward to the return of Pakistan (Khan’s parents came from there) and India (grandparents came from there) to direct rule by England as both gained independence via “nationalism”.

Surely that’s the logical extrapolation of his speech?

No?

55. frogesque

O/t fair play to Scotland!

29 -13 Excellent result

56. Jack Collatin

Christ, I just caught Sadiq K’s interview with Toodle Oo The Noo on the Beeb. In the space of less than three minutes he refused to reply to Taylor’s question:
    Are you saying that the SNP was one of the ‘narrow populist Nationalist Parties’ he was condemning?
    Three times he repeated VERBATIM his Trump Narrow Populist Nationalist crap, like a brainwashed Manchurian Candidate, with the haughty superior indifferent air employed by the occasional visitor from the SE Establishment, with the usual mind-blowingly ignorant dismissiveness of Scotland and its people.
    Ignorant little Red Tory.

57. heedtracker

Graun,
    Scottish independence
    Sadiq Khan: nationalism can be as divisive as bigotry and racism

Daily Record,
    London’s Labour Mayor Sadiq Khan says Scottish nationalism is the same as racism

Independent,
    Sadiq Khan sparks row with SNP after claiming there is ‘no difference’ between Scottish nationalism and racism

BBC vote anyone but SNP Scotland,
    London Mayor Sadiq Khan ‘not accusing SNP of being racists’

58. ScottishPsyche

Really looking forward to Jezza’s ‘unifying’ speech tomorrow at the SLab festival of destruction.

59. Nana

Sadiq Kahn’s nightmare: Who are the real divisive nationalists?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEMUOpBFXCU&feature=youtu.be

Sadiq Khan Comments On Nationalism Prompt Nicola Sturgeon To Retaliate
    http://archive.is/YxPgd

60. Breeks

Must be frustrating for all these Unionists chuntering on about divisive nationalism being about fratricide, where one nation loathes and detests another, wants to demean and expel the “outsiders”, agitate hate against the English, and all the rest of their crap… then actually come to Scotland, meet the people, and discover we don’t care a jot for any of that malarkey, we just want to govern ourselves, run our own wee country, and make lots of friends with other folks running their countries; some wee, and just like us, and other maybe not so wee.

You’d think by the sound of the Unionists that here in Scotland the air a fume, where we are cross breeding Scots and Orcs to build and army of Uruk-Aye soldiers to pull down our trees at the roots and scar our landscape with fire and metal, as we hammer out swords and helmets to militarise our people for great big battle to come of Good verses Evile, preordained and foretold in the ancient Scriptures passed down from father to son for centuries…

But no. We just want to elect our own wee government. And frankly that’s kinda it. That’s as far as we’ve got with the old World domination thing…

And whether your an old Scot or a brand spanking new one, as long as you’re not here to talk shite or make a mess of the place, then you’re more than welcome to join in and quite literally make yourselves at home.

61. Capella

My favourite from Stu’s twitter feed this afternoon – which has been on fire with the Rugby and the Racism:

https://twitter.com/CeeGraham1/status/835433893444612097

62. Macart

Well done the Scottish rugby team. A good win.

Commiserations to our Welsh friends.

63. Jock McDonnell

Lets just be clear Sadiq Khan, Scotland isn’t part of your London, we are not a region, we are not part of xenophobic #brexit England.
    We are a modern, outward looking European nation.
    Westminster’s greedy, bloated, arrogant imperial dream has crumbled. The people of Scotland want what other self respecting nations have gained for themselves, to be a self-confident, independent country. Just like Australia, Canada, Cyprus, Ireland, Malta, and India, perhaps the biggest ‘separatists’ of all time.
    We will soon take our rightful place at the table among the family of peaceful nations, Westminster’s bitter, xenophobic brexit agenda, a thing of our past & your future.
    Jog on.

64. jfngw

Sadiq Khan makes plea for dictatorship, democracy causes divisions based on background, race and religion.

65. Dr Jim

How does Kezia Dugdale feel about her father being called a divisive racist by Sadiq Khan then!

66. mike cassidy

The Establishment Yoons are really bricking it now.

They can see an independent Scotland will become the West Germany of this island.

A constant condemnation of the path they are now pursuing.

They’ll need to build a wall to keep their population in.

67. Craig P

Yes what is Sadiq Khan on? Scotland isn’t perfect but every person less wired to the moon than Tom Gallagher knows that the UK is more racist than Scotland.

68. Jim Finlayson

If that is genuinely Sadiq Khan’s opinion of what is happening in Scotland then he is not as well educated or informed as I thought he was.

69. HandandShrimp

I hope the long litany above of exactly what the message of Better Together (or British Together more correctly) actually was and who is siding with will prove educational.

I am not holding my breath. Labour have one message only SNPbaaaad Scotlandbaaaaad and any they will jump straight back into bed with all the people above the instant we are full indyref campaign mode (and they know it is coming).

70. Ken500

England/Wales voted for Brexit. Labour Party supports it. Scotland voted Remain.

71. Dorothy Devine

Jings! Rev I will have nightmares tonight – what a collection.

OT It is kicking off in Paris and Nantes , riots in the streets over le Pen visit to Nantes and police brutality in Paris.

Yahoo ! Scotland beat Wales! ( Sorry Wales , I love you much and your flag is one of the best in the world ‘but your boys took a helluva beating!’)

72. Glamaig

Watched 30 seconds of Kezia whining lies about the SNP, couldnt take any more. Hopefully those who watched it so we dont have to, can tell us if the Tories were mentioned at all at the Slab conference, or was it just a mindless anti-SNP hate fest?

I’d like to see it subtitled with a simultaneous translation to the truth.

73. Giving Goose

In reply to Sadiq Khan’s comments regarding Scottish Nationalism and racism, here is a link to an admired SNP politician;
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humza_Yousaf

74. R-type Grunt

I’d love to know who the wean in the second video clip is.

75. Capella

O/T A semi-submersible ship carrying an oil platform is travelling from China’s Zhejiang Province to the North Sea Oil Field in the UK. I see the Chinese have called it “Western Isles”!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-china-39089587

76. Az

Wow!!! THanks for the fast responses people!! Superb!!

Have to pop out for a couple of hours, I’m sure at least one of those is PERFECT 🙂

BugsBunny – haha oh yes THAT search engine, lately I’ve been avoiding Google – it makes me paranoid! No rephrase that, I AM paranoid so therefore avoid Google if possible.

Thanks all, Wingers are the best and most “alert”.

Peace and love to all xx

77. jfngw

Tom Watson ruling out ever entering a coalition of any type with another party. Although I think he just really is referring to the SNP, they have been in coalition with the Liberals/LibDems before.

This is good news as it would infer they will never be in power at Holyrood again as it is pretty damn difficult to win a majority (well from a 15% vote share it is anyway). Maybe Mr Watson doesn’t know Holyrood isn’t FPTP, I certainly could believe it.

78. Capella

And this is also my favourite tweet from Stu’s twitter feed – map of all the countries which have become independent with dates.

Craig Murray has pointed put that most of them achieved independence in his lifetime and most did not require a referendum. Recognition by the UN is the only criterion.

https://twitter.com/Zarkwan/status/835414378413445121

BTW just listening to a BBC news item with Lord Grade saying that 9 o’clock news is not a natural break whereas 10 o’clock is. Not talking about our shiny new Scottish channel but ITV “News at Ten”. Around 17:10 on R4 PM.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08fdbrp

79. call me dave

Labour cards on table in constitutional debate, says Auntie.

Jokers maybe. 🙂
    Anyhoo!

Big Brian concludes his rambling piece on the Auntie web -site thus:

In an interview with me, Mr Khan repeatedly insisted that he had not intended to insult the SNP but was merely stressing the need for unity.

At conference, delegates defended him – but, privately, some wished he had found another form of words.

https://archive.is/aVESA

80. Marcia

These Unionist seem to be a tad obsessed about an Independence referendum. Dugdale is to do a petition against it. That will bankrupt them as they are skint.

81. Robert Graham

I know it’s a busy day but has anyone else had their post disappear off into the Either ? .Today .

82. heedtracker

In an interview with me, Mr Khan repeatedly insisted that he had not intended to insult the SNP but was merely stressing the need for unity.”

He’s probably one of the UK’s most influential Muslim leaders though. This is probably one of the most serious attacks on the SNP and YESers, today:D

83. Thepnr

@Capella

That ship is carrying the FPSO for Dana Oils Western Isles field in the North Sea.

http://www.dana-petroleum.com/major-projects/western-isles/overview/

84. yesindyref2

OT
    It would be very naughty if people were to sign up labour or tory supporters to this with email addresses from the other party and put their voting intention on the second screen as SNP. I wouldn’t recommend it at all, oh no.

85. yesindyref2

OT
    It would be very naughty if people were to sign up labour or tory supporters to this with email addresses from the other party and put their voting intention on the second screen as SNP. I wouldn’t recommend it at all, oh no.

https://www.togetherstronger.scot/

86. Calum McKay

English politicians like Khan are blind to the often displayed and disturbing side of british / English nationalism, yet they see danger in others nationalism, be it German, French, Irish, Belgian or indeed Scottish.

I have never seen anyone holding a Scottish Saltire or Rampant Lion flag giving a facist salute or abusing a black person, could I say the same for anyone holding a union jack or st george’s flag ……………….. over to you Sadiq and Scottish labour.

Do Khan and labour not remember bnp / nf marches of the 80s?

That labour in Scotland would prefer to see a hundred years of torybrule rather than Cots running their own affairs needs to be told again, and again and again …………………budding Indy ref 2!

87. yesindyref2

On second thoughts, maybe better putting voting intention as conservative or ukip?

88. frogesque

Sadiq Khan knows exactly what he said and why he said it.

No amount of backpedaling and obfuscation will change what he meant. He is despicable.

89. Thepnr

I think what we are witnessing is the final weapon in the Better Together armory. They are at the bottom of the barrel now and both Tory and Labour are talking of the Ulsterisation of Scottish Politics, the racism of the Nationalists.

It means there losing, they have very little else now to say and having ran out of ideas and desperately attempting to stir up trouble so as they can all point fingers and say “Look, Look I told you what these Nats were like!”.

Unfortunately for them this tactic like others is doomed to fail, Independence supporters are in the main the complete opposite of what they are trying to paint us as. For this reason alone, this attempt to create division and even aggression in Scotland is doomed to failure.

I find it very strange though that both the Tories and Labour are using exactly the same ultimately useless tactic. Who pulls the puppets strings I wonder?

90. DerekM

Well Sadiq i seem to recall you getting some real nasty racist crap from certain elements of England,so now you think you can play that card on us Scots.

You can take your Labour party,which i might add i was in a long time before you,turn it sideways and cram it right up your candy ass.

Yes i pinched that from WWF and the Rock(no not that one)

91. Iain More

Not so much Project Fear 2 as Project Hate.

Thepnr says:
    25 February, 2017 at 5:53 pm
    @Capella

“That ship is carrying the FPSO for Dana Oils Western Isles field in the North Sea.”

Ironic that Dana was taken over by the South Korean State Oil Company.

92. JLT

So many, many photos and articles.

Seriously! …Where does one begin?!?

93. Reluctant Nationalist

Quel collage, Mr Rev. None of these people deserve to have an input into Scotland’s future. We will be a rainbow nation with unicorns galloping free on the glens. Fuck the haters!

94. Robert Graham

As Labour delegates voted to back the motion for on federalism, Alex Rowley Labours deputy dug for now, commented, This is a truly Hysterical vote, oops Historical, nah I was right the first time , it really is Hysterical if they believe their bosses down south will ever allow this, anyway we already have the most powerful devolved Parliament in the known universe so we don’t need it do we ? .

95. Croompenstein

We will be a rainbow nation with unicorns galloping free on the glens

You can gallop in the glens all you want the rest of us will be trying to build a better nation.. 🙂

96. Tam The Bam (There is more than 1 of us)

Things have definitely moved up a level or two recently.

I’d love to see what the private Yoon polls are showing now – it cannot be good reading for them if this is reaction!

97. Cal

Mr Khan says ridiculous inflamatory things about nearly half the population and refuses to apologise. Indeed he seems to revel in it using it as a political tactic to rally support. “I can say and do whatever the hell I like and don’t have to be responsible for people’s reaction or any consequences”. Isn’t that exactly what Mr Trump does? Mr Khan is clearly a reactionary racist out to divide society. Khan = Trump. In fact, Mr Khan is a Labour politician so Labour = Reactionary Racists. You see any fool can llie and make nonsence connections and accusations. This is school playground stuff. What is this guy, 5 years old?

Federalism? Gordon Brown, The Vow, The Smith Commission.
    Federalism my arse!

98. bobajock

Utterly depressing that this is what is holding us inside the UK.

Can’t wait to escape.

99. Giving Goose

The British Establishment pull the strings.
    Overwhelmingly Tory, they allow the lie of British multi party politics to confuse the public.

The Labour party of Khan is Tory in outlook.

Even Corbyn is a British Imperialist at heart, with a London centric view. He talks the talk but doesn’t convince because he doesn’t mean it.

Khan betrays himself with his comments.
    He’s another Labour Tory. London is his world. Just another puppet of the Establishment.

100. robertknight

What an utterly depressing collage!

Thanks Rev. You’ve just put me off my tea.

101. Rock

As the child of Pakistani immigrants, Sadiq Khan has first hand experience of English racism.

I wonder how it compares with Mohammed Sarwar’s experience of racism in Scotland.

102. meg merrilees

Thepnr

Wonder if this group has any involvement in the seeming co-ordination of attack agin Scottish indy values?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-39075502

Sadiq Khan should be ashamed of himself.

There is right wing Nationalism of the likes of Farage, Geert Wilders and Marin Le Pen ( see how placidly that is accepted in France – NOT!) and then there is our national argument for self determination which is completely against the hatred and oppression spouted by THeresa May and her bunch of Tory, English Nationalists.

See their disrespect on TV daily as relayed live from the Mother of all Parliaments and the seat of democracy in the UK. The utter contempt they show to our elected MP’s is a direct show of contempt against the people of Scotland and our values of inclusivity and tolerance.

Ours is not a violent, divisive belief but a peaceful, inclusive, outward looking political movement which seeks to build bridges and equality.

If the SNP is racist then it is only racist because it puts The Human Race and humanity first.

We’re a’ jock Tomson’s bairns!

103. Rock

Tony Benn, the biggest Labour hypocrite of all.

Wasn’t his wife a “foreigner”?

And his chameleon of a son Hillary Benn a half “foreigner”?

104. Rock

This article could fill half of the “independence supporting” The National on Monday.

Dave McEwan Hill, please inform your masters to make a decent offer to the Rev. Stuart Campbell to reproduce this article as top headline news on Monday.

105. bugsbunny

Rock,

You can add Tam Dalyell to that list. And Brian “United Ireland” Wilson to that list as well. Hell, you’ll be all day writing down a long list of two faced back stabbing Labour/Tory/Liberal bastards. And that’s not counting the kiddie fiddlers.

106. meg merrilees

Was driving this afternoon, there was a discussion about ITV moving it’s news from 10pm, followed by the BBC moved it’s news from 9pm to 10pm, ( in 1990’s).

The reporter interviewed Lord Grade who said:

‘News is the identity of the channel, it is economic programming and ‘fills the hole’ in the schedule.’

‘…10pm is a natural slot for news, votes in Parliament, stories have developed/resolved;
    there is more news at 10pm than at 9pm!!!’

So much for the new BBC Scotland channel with a slot for news at 9pm!!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08fdbrp#play 15 mins 21 seconds in.

107. Golfnut

Whatever else Khan is, we know now for certain that he is a hypocrite. He now stands shoulder to shoulder with the Tories, ukip, bnp and every other xenophobic Britnat fanatic against Scotland returning to an Independent State.
    Not so nice guy.

108. Capella

@ Thepnr @ Iain More – mer ile!

What a pity that we in Scotland haven’t developed the capacity to build platforms and run wells over the last 40 years. We really must be too stupid.

109. CameronB Brodie

If no one has done so yet, someone please do the decent thing and put the BLiS___d nag down. I recommend burying it deep along with the corporate media.

Communicating Racism
    ETHNIC PREJUDICE in THOUGHT and TALK

http://www.discourses.org/OldBooks/Teun%20A%20van%20Dijk%20-%20Communicating%20Racism.pdf

110. Robert J. Sutherland

What we really need is:

a) Someone to ask Corbyn when he shows up in Glasgow tomorrow if “federalism” is or is not official Labour Party policy. So far the “autonomous” =ahem= “Scottish” =cough= Labour party has been getting away with a fair degree of estrangement from the truth in that regard.

They seem to be seriously contemplating heading into indyref2 on a platform of “federalism”, which, just like the notorious “Vow”, will not even be on the ballot, and knowing full well that the English arm of the party regards the notion as an irrelevant sideshow. Labour UK doesn’t have the slightest intention of implementing this thing, even in the very unlikely event they get into power sometime before the end of the century.

b) Someone should conduct a poll in England on the question “Would you support a fully-federal UK, with England divided into 10* devolved regions + Wales + Scotland, in order to keep Scotland in the UK?”.

*(Based on similar population size to that of Scotland.)

I am willing to bet that the result of such a poll would sink SLab’s “federal” pipedream in an instant.

111. Rock

bugsbunny,

“Rock,

You can add Tam Dalyell to that list. And Brian “United Ireland” Wilson to that list as well. Hell, you’ll be all day writing down a long list of two faced back stabbing Labour/Tory/Liberal bastards. And that’s not counting the kiddie fiddlers.”

Yes, the list would be very long.

But Tony Benn was the biggest hypocrite of all.

His son Hillary Benn is even worse. He should have been expelled from the Labour party by Corbyn.

He is the bastard preventing Corbyn from moving Labour away from the right.

112. Jon Drummond

Jeez…

a depressing but such a representative article of where we are and what we have (had) to tolerate in our own wee space.

Kudos to the Yes Pentlands Activists; their patience, tolerance and attempts at understanding through relentless bullying typify the unrelenting positivity and inclusivity that characterised the YES campaign Scotland-wide.

Two to three years on, the UK offers us nothing but more lies, abuse and disrespect.

Retires despondently to bed…

113. Mac

Sadly there is absolutely no substitute for education. Unfortunately. Mr Khan badly needs not only to educate himself in ‘civic nationalism’, but he should also mind his own business.

114. sarah

The National’s circulation is dropping whilst Yes support is steady [or growing, fingers crossed]. Why?

Could some of the Wings BTL contributors who are familiar with newspaper production from the inside explain why the National doesn’t have horseracing on the sports pages. I remember someone raising this as a weakness since a lot of people buy a paper largely for the racing.

Perhaps we should all write to the National with this suggestion [if it is a sensible one].

115. Robert J. Sutherland

Oh, and while I’m on that SLab federalism thing, note that in the SLab UK-wide scheme, with England being divided into something like 10 federal states (on the basis of roughly equal state population counts), wee Scotland would be permanently outnumbered and outvoted in exactly the same way as currently in the HoC, the numbers involved being merely devalued by a factor of 50-odd. Some reform that, then!

Not to forget the additional expense of a “federal” layer on top of it all, and – most importantly of all – Scotland’s continued total impotence in foreign affairs and defence.

Nah, the whole half-baked notion is just bloated-Vow-on-steroids, a cynical distraction designed to hook the (hopefully few) gullible in indyref2, then rapidly binned thereafter, just like the last time.

Hopefully this time SLab are deluding no-one but themselves.

116. call me dave

Sadiq Khan tones down attack on Scottish nationalism

The Guardian’s take on it.

https://archive.is/yvstt

117. Thepnr

So sadiq Khans speech today wasn’t actually the speech that he released yesterday and was plastered all over the papers this morning before he had even made a speech.

He now denies associating the SNP and Independence supporters as being racist. “I never ever said that” is his defence. Bit late though for that now. How can a speech be news anyway if it’s released in advance of it actually taking place? A bit weird that is.

Anyway I don’t think it matters too much, any damage they hoped to do has backfired and once again it is the labour party that has been damaged as far as I can see. I say let them carry on until they can dig no further and run out of hole.

Meantime let’s enjoy the sight of their vote figures dropping into single figures before the self combust completely.

Nice one Mr Khan 🙂

118. robertknight

Just had a glance at the Britnat Brainwashing Channel’s online nooze site for North Britain, in the hope that SLab’s stage play of Two Thousand Maniacs would be open to Have Your Say reviews.

Silly me! They’re daft, but no that daft! HYS reserved for SNP-bad where the politics of North Britain is concerned.

119. Brian Powell

Severin Carrell is a toadying apologist for the Brit establishment and slants all news accordingly.

Khan spoke as ignorant fool.

Then there are all the Unionists who constantly try to divide up Scotland into the Borders, the Northern Isles, Aberdeenshire.

We listen to them as if they are relevant, they’re not.

120. heedtracker

Ex SLab highflyer Dougie’ s waxing hard for, you’re not a racist but you are really says Mayor Kahn, but he’s also a big fan of a certain permanently angry tory roaster too. Its a red and blue UKOK tory world, until we get to the ballot box.

Douglas AlexanderVerified account?@D_G_Alexander Feb 23
    More
    Douglas Alexander Retweeted Kevin Hague
    This single tweet from @kevverage packs in more insights than many a long speech (& I’ve made a few of those in the past…)

121. Robert J. Sutherland

How idiotic can Labour still get? If you followed the anti-logic of Sadiq Khan, the British Empire would still be in its full glory, since all those unfortunates around the world wanting self-determination would be nothing more than vile racist seps, and how dare they?

Calling us dirty names merely because we want our rightful autonomy just shows how duplicitous and hypocritical Labour have become.

122. Lochside

Something Jack Collatin mentioned has bothered me for a while…..where are the Churches in Scotland while we are being villified by scum like Sadiq?….where is the rage at the attacks on the poor and disabled by the UK government?….the beggars forced on to our streets…the food banks?….where is civic Scotland in all this?…..where is Scottish Law’s voice now that it has been diminished and efffectively sidelined the Supreme Court and so-called ‘UK Law’.?

The answer is nowhere…if not for the SNP….we would continue to be racially abused by the English establishment and its media without any defence….as it is we are now being insulted and denigrated in a way unseen since the way the Irish were back in the ’70s.

123. heedtracker

Lochside

Scots aren’t a race, any more than the English are. Its bigotry not racism but its also why Mayor Khan has been selected to come to Scotland and call us racists. It just wouldn’t work from a caucasian tory, red and blue. This is as bad it can get from Labour, other than say the queen telling Scotland to be very careful, from one of her Scottish palace’s church car park.

124. James Westland

Meg Merrileess

That link you gave is interesting – Hadnt heard of the CRC – that DUP business stinks to high heaven.

A bit of googling around found this article. This is it folks, this is what we are up against:

“Comment: A campaign should already be in place to defeat Scottish independence”

http://archive.is/QZ3wQ

Read it and weep…

And then re-double the Indy effort!

125. Clapper57

Where do you start …..well on a positive note we will get rid of some of the extras from Planet of The Apes if we vote for Indy ( No offence to Apes).

I managed to translate what a couple of the Huns were saying :

“UGG UGG UGG ….UGG UGG….. UGG UGG UGG UGG…UGG is =

“Oi see me am gonna England if there’s independence..so I am” .…………………..And I say that’s bad BECAUSE ?

Somewhere over a Rainbow
    Blue TURDS fly
    And the dreams that you dreamed of
    Dreams really do come true

Someday I’ll wish upon a Star
    Wake up where the HUNS are far behind me
    Where trouble melts like lemon drops
    High above THE BEARS tops
    That’s where you’ll find me

Personally I strongly feel that these particular apes should be transported back to their indigenous home where they belong……………………..Ibrox Stadium.

ps. No Apes were hurt in the writing of this post.

If any Apes are reading this post please do not go BANANAS .

Q – What is the difference between a Monkey and an Ape ?

A – Monkeys don’t shout…………… ‘No Surrender ‘ !!!!!

126. bookie from hell

most shocking thing was sadiq khan thought he could say it

has Scottish labours thumbprints all over it

127. BBC Scotland Tells Lies

Kezia knows exactly what she is doing. She is sacrificing Scottish Labour so she can get her seat in the House of Lords.

She saw how Darling and Alexander got rewarded with the Ermine Robes for their part in IndyRef1 and Kezia wants a piece of that.

She knows Scottish Labour are finished, so she will use them for one final task, to get her very own Ermine Robe.

This explains the visits to London and America. She thinks she has out-grown Scotland and wants to move onto pastures new.

Typical self servin’ pathetic Yoon.

128. Valerie

@James Westland

What a zoomer that guy is,ffs.

However, let him bring it. The positive case for the Union? That will be good, aye. Look at what he says, SNP=isolationist.

Also, he has crawled out of the woodwork to admit to funding DUP in a Leave campaign, how well did that work out?

Unionists are going to get very angry at the dearth of material they have to work with, and their anger works in our favour. Khans insults will be just a taster, and that’s fine, because I say the more, the better.

These people don’t know the meaning of words like honest, fair, dignified.

129. Clapper57

@BBC Scotland Tells Lies says:
    25 February, 2017 at 9:10 pm
    “Kezia knows exactly what she is doing. She is sacrificing Scottish Labour so she can get her seat in the House of Lords”.

Hey BBC Scot TL , Seat in HOUSE OF LORDS ?….wouldnae gae her a seat in MA HOOSE…… never mind SEAT in HOUSE OF LORDS.

Have good evening.

130. Glamaig

James Westland says:
    25 February, 2017 at 8:49 pm
    Meg Merrileess

‘That link you gave is interesting – Hadnt heard of the CRC – that DUP business stinks to high heaven.’

I wonder who is behind them. £425,000 is a lot of money. They have no website. Extremely shady. They must be doing a fuck of a lot of ‘research’ to attract that kind of money.

All I can find on them is recent newspaper articles.

‘“a pro-union, unionist organisation based in Great Britain” which had been involved in politics in Britain.’

‘a group of pro-Union business figures chaired by former vice chairman of the Scottish Conservative Party Richard Cook.’

‘The CRC comprises business figures and is chaired by former Scottish Conservative Party vice-chairman Richard Cook.’

‘DUP MP Sir Jeffrey Donaldson said: “The donor is the Constitutional Research Council. It is a pro-Union unionist organisation based in Great Britain.

“It has been involved in Scotland, for example supporting unionism in Scotland, and it approached the DUP to support our campaign during the referendum because it supports unionist causes in the United Kingdom.”

Why are there no names? Dont they need to name their donors? I hope we have our Indyref2 rules taped up. Problem is it is only after the vote that all the receipts are checked and by that time its too late.

131. heedtracker

These people don’t know the meaning of words like honest, fair, dignified.

Or logical, long one here from future Lord Ian of Morningside, vote SLab, who thinks youre a racist and federal Scotland in the federal UK, is the not a racist way to go, I think?

https://www.commonspace.scot/articles/10394/ian-murray-scottish-labour-ready-take-mantle-federalism

132. BBC Scotland Tells Lies

Clapper 57 9.22pm

Kezia has got what is known in the trade as “Some neck on her”.

You just couldn’t embarrass her. She wants to lead the “Better Together 2” Campaign.

She will turn into this screamin’ skull Yoon as long as she gets her seat in the Big Hoose.

133. Big Jock

The imperialists have done this to every former colony on the globe. First they ignore you, then they slander you, then they try to stop you.

If you justify your nationalism as good and every other bad. Then you are in fact a narrow minded bigot of the worst kind. You are up there with Trump and Putin. It’s very easy when you own the media to monster a nation that you control. Double speak and propaganda are the tools of the Unionist.

134. Ed t head

What’s with the Orange order, they are waving the wrong flag shouldn’t it be the Dutch flag?

135. Lochside

Heedtracker: the Scots may very well not be a race……. but perversely our legislation does recognise the English as such: ‘The term racial group has been held to include the English and our research found several prosecutions which were brought against accused using anti-English language. Our informants felt that this was an appropriate use of the racist crime provisions’ from the Scottish Government website.

There have been several convictions of Scots for this ‘racist’ crime. Recently, one miscreant was found guilty for mocking an Englishman’s accent in a road rage case.Unfortunately, English Law does not reciprocate, thus allowing Sadiq and all the rest impunity. Although paradoxically I think he should have been warned by Police Scotland for trying to incite racial hatred while in Scotland at the SLAB conference. That would have been sweetly ironic!

136. Proud Cybernat

Here tonight in the south side of Glasgow we are having the ‘Southside Window Wonderland 2017’. This is a festival where people decorate their windows with interesting and engaging scenes. I saw this one tonight and had to share it with you all.

Just brilliant….

http://imgur.com/7GWSfQn

And closer –

http://imgur.com/PJb4twq

YESSIE!!!

Some absolutely amazing window decorations BTW!

137. Thepnr

@Proud Cybernat

Got to love the humour of the Weegies LOL.

138. Gary45%

As I can’t be arsed looking at the Halloween Party conference in Perth, has anything resembling sanity happened?

139. joannie

Anybody else seen this?

https://www.opendemocracy.net/uk/adam-ramsay-peter-geoghegan/secretive-dup-brexit-donor-links-to-saudi-intelligence-service

I never heard of this Richard Cook person before, but it sounds like he’s accepting money from the Saudis to oppose Scottish independence. Is that not illegal?

140. Artyhetty

Re;Macart@2.43

Indeed. These people are not daft, their anti Scottish independence message, by whatever means is designed to appeal to a wider audience. Most modern western countries reject nationalism that is based on race, or ethnicity. These people like S.Khan know that. They desperately want Scotland to be portrayed as an insular, racist country. In fact they are projecting the very direction in which their beloved UK, ie england, is headed, and hoping that the s***e will stick.

As has been mentioned and something I hadn’t considered, London is in fact in direct competition with Scotland regards the EU. They have a lot to lose, Scotland has much to gain, on the road to independence.
    We are being observed, the EU27 are hedging their bets. Scotland needs to take a wee risk and bet on Independence otherwise, the rUK will suck us dry, even more.

Thanks Stu, for once again alerting us to the britanatists, the images presented are actually really fckg scary.

141. heedtracker

Lochside, offences can be committed within racial groups too. Which is probably why there are convictions such as the ones you mention. Mayor Khan’s YES Scots are racists intervention, wasn’t by chance though.

142. liam

Oh – I like ‘Yessie’!

143. yesindyref2

Anyway, the good thing about this Sadiq Khan thing is that it’s got a lot of the nastier Unionists to crawl out of the woodwork agreeing with him that Indy supporters are racist, only to find that he doesn’t even agree with himself.

That’s them with their bums felt and telt.

144. meg merrilees

Call me Dave

just read your Guardian link – https://archive.is/yvstt
    re Kez’s notion of Federalism:

Scottish Labour formally adopted Dugdale’s policy of pressing for the UK to be restructured as a federation on Friday. She announced after her speech that Gordon Brown, the former prime minister, would take part in a summit of Labour leaders from across the UK to set up that convention.

I presume that’s just bad sentence structure form the journalist – if not, she’ll be affy busy on Friday!!!

And old Gordon just cannae wait to get a look in on the same tired, old idea.
    Have these people been hibernating for the last to years?

As for Khan’s speech – the damage is out there. His uncorrected speech is still being displayed on the BBC home page.

145. Dorothy Devine

Proudcybernat, that is brilliant!

146. Dr Jim

Of course Scots are a race why wouldn’t they be
    If the guys in Hawaii originally came from Africa why are they called Hawaiians and not Africans
    We all came from somewhere no matter where we end up and that’s pretty much how you define a race really like Germans or French or anybody, and if you feel like you are what’s wrong with that if you’re not hurting anybody

So it makes me an African Scotsman who came over from Africa a gazillion years ago and turned into wee white Scots me
    I’d say that’s a long race to run, but still a race
    And anyway we’re up against folk who think they’re the master race and we cannae let them win this time
    We have to divorce them and leave them racing about themselves

147. heedtracker

Dr Jim

Mayor Khan has told London, Scots are racist. So life in London just a bit more complicated for Scots living there. Imagine a Mayor of Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen doing this, in England, calling the English racist. Its a very mad world of yoon this UK.

148. Meg merrilees

James Westland

http://archive.is/QZ3wQ

That’s a nasty mind at work! Can’t believe it’s actually being published in any paper, let alone The Herald tmrw!

IMHO

It makes it all the more obvious now why (t)Ruthless is staying so silent on the matter of indy. She probably chats to this guy most evenings? Wonder if he/ the CRC was behind the “BBC Misreporting Scotland” Advan slashing in Edinburgh?

They’ve already decided that it’s going to be an unholy, cross-party alliance as per the EU ref. NOT led by any politician/party leader/(t)Ruthless and it’s gonna be all out war on the SNP.

(t)Ruthless is being lined up to be the victorious leader of North Britain in a post-SNP, (possibly federal) UK. Bow to your Imperial Masters – ( still makes me chuckle to use that phrase).

Someone higher up the thread or on the previous thread noted a Canadian IT marketing company which was used by the Leave campaign and credited with their success. They received about £3m to target specific age-groups on social media etc with specifically targeted advertising.

Maybe we’ll have to do a similar thing?

Yes – we must redouble our efforts – they’ll throw everything at us this time since the Union is in its death throes…

149. Bill Hume

It’s going to get very,very nasty….of that I have no doubt.

150. meg merrilees

Joannie @10.11

Richard Cook and the CRC are being discussed by James Westland and me on the thread tonight. see James @ 8.49 Glamaig @ 9.29 and me @ 7.26http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-39075502

Nasty sounding individual.

Yes indyref I wonder if he’s linked with the Atlantic Bridge – must be!!! Dark money!

151. jfngw

@ meg merrilees

I can hardly wait for the J.Bird interview. “let’s just call it Fedo Max”.

At least G.Brown won’t need to write a new tub thumping speech, he has one he prepared in 2014.

152. ian m

I know it is O/T but can someone explain how the UK plan to get access to the EU and get a better deal than the member countries get?
    Why would the EU encourage their members to leave by offering a better deal for outsiders?

153. Dave McEwan Hill

http://www.thenational.scot/world/15117001.Profile__First_Aid_for_Gambia/

Thanks to the National for publishing my article. Any help much appreciated

154. Thepnr

@Bill Hume

Don’t let it bother you Bill, you might be right and things do get nasty, in fact they already are but it’s not our side. No, only the nasty already can get more nasty.

We can ignore them, we can laugh at their nastiness for it will not do them any good. Only losers become nasty as it’s their last refuge when all other tactics have failed.

They are failures and the positives on the Yes side have already defeated the negatives of the No’s. The No’s whom shady business and big business support. The No’s that want to keep London rule because they are from London and it’s in their interest to do so.

Make no mistake this is David against Goliath and well we know the result of that battle. We will win and are winning now.

155. joannie

Thanks Meg, I’m just reading back through your posts now. Have to say I’m flabbergasted at the treachery of both the DUP and the CRC. I can just imagine the headlines if the SNP or the Yes Scotland campaign were found to have links to Saudi Intelligence Services.

156. Hamish100

So Dugdale has made it clear she will work with the Tories for ever to preserve the increasingly right wing brexit Union.

Social democrat in action? No just a Tory wearing red.

157. Swami Backverandah

Behold.
    Another spectacularly ill-judged candidate to lead BT2.

Labour voters for Independence are racists.

Well done Sadiq.

158. Jeff

“Arise, Sir Sadiq”….

159. meg merrilees

Joannie

I think the DUP welched on the CRC because they have been under increasing pressure since Mc Guiness resigned.
    The stench of corruption is too hard to obscure and now that there is a hint of irregularities around the funding of the campaign for a Brexit vote the DUP is on an even more shoogly peg – hence they name the CRC to deflect some of the investigation.

The CRC were legitimately feeding the money into the Brexit campaign using a loophole in N. Ireland that ensures anonymity of donors to prevent retribution attacks.

It seems an increasing number of people in N. Ireland are scunnered with the DUP and Arlene Foster ( not the staunch loyalists) and there is a feeling that Sinn fein could poll enough votes, with the extra fillip from the pro-EU remainers, to give them the First Minister position.

Add to that Enda Kenny’s remark’s to the EU that they may have to intervene to ensure a soft border between the north and south, or possibly even allow for re-unification of Ireland and things are getting very sticky over there if you’re a Unionist.

And as my grandad taught me, never corner a rat…

160. robertknight

I’d love a swimming pool in my garden. Do you think if it was tiled in red, white and blue, CRC would pay for it?

How dodgy does that crowd sound? Straight out of a fecking 007 movie. Do you think they all sit at the opera and conspire on a secure link as to how they’re going to defeat the nasty SNP in the most covert, underhand and undemocratic way possible?

Knowing how things end for the ‘bad guys’ in 007 movies, I dearly hope so.

CRC a.k.a SPECTRE.

161. joannie

Meg, I agree and I’m cynical enough to wonder if Saudi or other money is being funnelled towards NI loyalists to fund less constitutional means of preserving the Union. I wouldn’t put it past them, and I wouldn’t put it past them to try and spread it to Scotland too if all else fails in their mission to “defeat nationalism.”

162. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hear hear.

More power to ye brother.

163. One_Scot

If you only needed one reason to end this repressive corrupt union, Sadiq Khan is it.

164. sarah

@Proudcybernat, Liam and DorothyD, there is a YESSIE Facebook – a man from Glasgow has a campervan with Yessie and other Yes signs on it, and he drives around Scotland engaging folk in discussion. He says he is getting a great reception.

165. Meg merrilees

So,

Who could lead Better Together2 … or will they call it Scotland in Union?

Fluffy Mundell NO
    Alastheliar Carmichael NO
    Ian Murray NO
    Gordon Brown NO
    (t)Ruthless Harrison NO
    Wee Willie Rennie NO
    Jim Murphy NO
    Anas Sarwar NO
    Kezia NO NO NO
    Lord Forsyth ha ha NO
    NO one from BT first time round
    Prof Tomkins Hmm!

Richard Cook – former Scottish Conservative and Unionist Chairman, dealings with the DUP; campaigned for Leave because it helped the union; Member of Constitutional Research Council; author of a pro-Union article in the Herald tmrw.

Hmmm!!!!!!!

166. Meg merrilees

Absolutely love the Yessie window.

Maybe that’s what we should call Indyref2…

167. Wull

The Smith Commission was supposed to deliver on the ‘Vow’.

That ‘Vow’ included Gordon Brown’s promise to the effect that after a No vote Scotland would be living in a Federal or near-Federal Britain, with the most powerful devolved parliament in the world.

It is well known that of all the political parties that participated in the Smith Commission negotiations, the Labour Party were the most reluctant of all to increase the powers of the Scottish Parliament. They were also more opposed to anything bearing the slightest resemblance to a Federal solution than even the Tories.

Now they pretend to be the Champions of Federalism. That is not a ‘change of mind’, of course. Or so they wish us to believe.

And maybe, in truth (or at least, in Post-Truth), the mind of the Party has not changed at all. For Jeremy Corbyn seems reluctant to embrace Federalism, is said to avoid the term, and would rather call it something else. Whatever ‘it’ is. Federalism to Kezia; and Not-Federalism to Jeremy.

Kezia, in any case, assures us that the Labour Party will always stand steadfast, and never change its mind.

Which mind? We may well ask. Hers? Or His?

If it’s hers, which of her many minds will never change?

The one, for instance, that allowed Labour members (including those high up in the Party’s hierarchy) to support independence, if they wanted to? Or the one that will NEVER support independence?

Is it that she has so many minds inside her head that each of them just keeps consistently on track. So that she can switch from one to the other at will? Or even randomly? Without the slightest hint of embarrassment.

Or is it that she has no mind to change anyway? Nane at a’ …

And is that the Labour Party
    Sailin’ doon the Broomielaw?

Some had bits o’ minds
    An’ some had nane at a’
    Mind-numbing ‘Scottish’ Labour
    Drownin’ i’the Broomielaw …

Glug … glug … glug … !

And no one to the rescue … Except, along chugs Broon … No’ tae tow it oot this time … But just tae keep it doon …

Bye eeee eeeeee

Glug!

You have to say, it’s got a momentum all of its own has Labour. A sad sight … but the sink-hole beckons.

168. Legerwood

Meg merrilees @ 10.58

I posted the link on another thread to the article about the Canadian IT company and its role in the Brexit campaign.

Here is the link again if anyone is interested

archive.is/2x64Y

Hope it still works.

169. Thepnr

@Legerwood

Worth reading. There you go. http://archive.is/2x64Y

170. stewartb

More on the Constitutional Research Council (CRC) and Richard Cook.

According to an article published online by The Telegraph on 6 July, 2016, written by Christopher Hope (Chief Political Correspondent), the CRC financed a Survation Poll of more than 1,000 Conservative voters on their preferences regarding the Tory party leader to succeed David Cameron.

The Telegraph piece refers to polling results which relate to the “preservation of the Union”. Extracts from the article are given below:

“The poll also found that 59 per cent of Tory voters ‘distrusted’ Mr Gove to ‘preserve the future of the United Kingdom’ and just 16 per cent trusted him.”

And:

“In contrast 69 per cent trusted Mrs May and 28 per cent supported Mrs Leadsom on keeping Scotland as part of the UK in the survey of 1,008 Conservative voters on July 4 and 5 by telephone.”

The Telegraph article notes: “The poll was funded by the Constitutional Research Council, a group of business people who support the Union between Scotland and the rest of Britain.”

But who are these ‘business people’? I can find no record of a legal entity called “Constitutional Research Council” on the Companies House online database. So what is the nature of the legal entity that was able to pass funds to the DUP in the BREXIT referendum campaign and what legal entity is proposing to fund a campaign opposed to Scottish independence?

After the case of Vote No Borders during the 2014 Indyref, exposed by Ponsonby in his book and film London Calling, we need to continue to examine as forensically as possible the backers behind this shadowy CRC organisation, and also Scotland in Union, and their motives.

171. Dave McEwan Hill

I am not sure if we want to see Kezia go as all the alternatives seem more useless (and useful to us).

Here’s the question that Kezia would be unable to answer in front of what’s left of the Labour Party in Scotland.

“Its 1919, Kezia, and you are in the Mansion House in Dublin and all the Irish MPS who had walked out of Westminster have just declared Ireland independent. What are you waving, Kezia? It is a Union Jack? Or is it a Tricolour?”
    That’s the one the Murph couldn’t answer either.

172. Wull

Hello, Wings. I sent in a Post and you didn’t put it up. I think the reason is probably because tonight I am using a different computer from the one I usually use. This is because I am travelling, so I am using my laptop, when usually I communicate to WoS from my desktop.

Fear not – it is really me (Wull), and not someone who has hacked me.

I will be travelling for the next 7 or 8 days, so if I post again during this week, through till Monday 6th March, it will be from the laptop. From the 6th March onwards, I will be back using my desktop.

Thank you for your understanding. Yours, Wull

173. Meg merrilees

Thanks Legerwood/ Thepnr – a really insightful link…

Take your money outside Britain, use it for internet adverts and circumvent the resrictions on Election funding – Hmmm!

174. yesindyref2

@meg merriless
    Possible I guess. Here’s a strange thing I just noticed. If you’re past your 6 articles in the Herald you get this: “Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.” etc. Look what you get on this page (site looks new – registered 2013, Atlantic Bridge dissolved as a charity 2011):

http://www.theatlanticbridge.com/test-2/

spooky

175. heedtracker

Sadiq Khan? @SadiqKhan

Happy Independence Day to #Pakistan for today & #India for tomorrow! 67 years #freedom
    10:36 AM · Aug 14, 2013
    102 RETWEETS
    34 LIKES

176. heedtracker

67 years #freedom

Not sure what Mayor Khan’s job was back in 2013 but no doubt he’s been wishing India and Pakistan Happy Independence Day every year since then.

http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/inpictures/2015/08/india-pakistan-celebrate-independence-day-150815085958186.html

177. Legerwood

Meg Merrilees

Yet another story of the involvement of an IT company in Brexit. This time however the help received from the company was not declared in the Leave campaign’s expenses returns.

The story is in The Guardian online version. I have archived the link but got a new tablet so not sure if it is working as it should.

http://archive.is/B9hqW

Thanks to Thepnr for sorting the last one

178. Meg merrilees

Stewart b

That IS interesting!!!
    Christopher Hope was mentioned in one of the articles linked above tonight – was he linked with the DUP money? can’t remember, sorry.

Richard Cook apparently has links with a pro-Israeli group as well.

I wouldn’t be surprised if this all feeds back to a group called The Atlantic Bridge, influential people both sides of the Atlantic who are trying to exert influence on political trends.

Many top politicians in Britain and the US have links including many of Trump’s cabinet, Liam Fox and others. They often masquerade as ‘Think Tanks’ to create more of an orthodox appearance but they are pro-Brexit, pro-Trump and now, it would seem, pro-Union too.
    Lots of money and connections…

If i’m right then this will be one helluva dirty fight!

Maybe this is a job for the Rev?

179. Dave McEwan Hill

joannie at 10.11

Yes. I was given prominent coverage in today’s National

180. crazycat

@ yesindyref2 @ 12.22

It’s not really spooky; lorem ipsum etc is a placeholder text, used to show how a design would look before inserting the actual text.

https://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lorem_ipsum

The Herald uses it to stop us from reading without paying; Atlantic Bridge is presumably using it because their website is indeed new, and unfinished (so maybe they shouldn’t have made it accessible).

181. Meg merrilees

Yes indy;Legerwood

Holy moly! This is getting spooky!

So Atlantic Bridge has folded? Renamed I guess
    Do you think they read Wings? Getting a bit worried now!!!

Outside influence from IT companies… the Guardian article mention AI as the IT company that won it for Leave – is that Aggregate IQ the company mentioned in Legerwood’s first link?

Funny we’ve all been posting at the same time!

182. Meg merrilees

Yes indy

just noticed that the link to Atlantic bridge ends …. “/test -2/”

Could confirm crazycat’s suggestion above or is it a diversion?

I’m not normally a conspiracy theorist but tonight seems to lend itself to it.

Think I’ll bolt the door and go to bed.

183. Dr Jim

We need more high profile dumplings like Khan saying stupid things about us, it works it definitely works
    These people practically get a nose bleed from being this far north, maybe the altitude affects their already weakened brains or it’s the fear of having to eat our rustic fare, y’know the rustic stuff we eat from lovely curries from India to Chinese food to Tai quisine or that Greek guk we like, Oooh, and nearly forgot about every Scottish persons favourite “The Kebab”

Aye Mr Khan might be right, we’re a really racist bunch up here that’s why most of us know the names of the folk who serve us in all our takeaway shops and restaurants, checkout staff, cafe folk and not just the doctors

I wonder if Mr Khan knows the names of any of his local people, but then again not likely if they’re the wrong kind of immigrants

Idiot man, without immigrants we’d starve at the weekends and die without medicine during the week, we like foreigners they bring us tasty goodies from afar

Scotland isn’t stupid that’s why we invented Penicillin
    Just a pity we can’t invent an anti idiot drug

Oh! we have, the SNP

184. Thepnr

There are racists in Scotland and no one can deny that. However Scotland was the only place in the UK that racist crimes dropped after the EU referendum.

The vote to leave the European Union triggered a 14 per cent rise in hate crimes across the UK – with tensions particularly boiling over in Vote Leave areas, where people were told they should be killed and were beaten for being from Europe.

But tellingly, Scotland – which had a higher Remain vote than any region in the UK – was the only police force area in the UK where the number of hate crimes fell.

https://archive.is/wwgUp

Sadiq Khan ignores reality in telling us we’re racist, ignoring the rise in racism in his own back yard and ignoring the drop in Scotland.

Lies have already destroyed the Labour vote in Scotland, yet they persist. How much longer do we need to put up with this? Not for much longer is my guess, May council elections will put paid to Labour and to Kezia Dugdale as leader.

185. cirsium

Atlantic Bridge was dissolved by its trustees in 2011 after the Charity Commission found that it was not acting like a charity.

186. Ian Brotherhood

@Meg et al –

If you haven’t already seen it, good place to explore transatlantic ‘think-tank’ stuff:

https://www.lobster-magazine.co.uk/

187. yesindyref2

@crazycat
    Thanks for that – placeholder text, not spooky!

@Meg merrilees
    I wouldn’t go too berserk on it, but it’s something to keep in mind with an eyebrow raised. I’m not a conspiracy theorist at all, but that doesn’t stop me reading and thinking.

@IanB
    Had a quick look and found this which is a bit of a distortion:

There can be little surprise that the SNP, heavily reliant on the editorial support of Rupert Murdoch, has been steered by leader Alex Salmond through a U-turn over nuclear weapons and NATO membership.

NATO yes, nuclear weapons no!

188. Jack Collatin

I was gonna post on here, but I’ve just come in from a tremendous night out with friends. I’m ‘merry’ as f”’.
    Khan, Scotland is a nation, a sovereign country: London is a town in England.
    You come up here, and insult us, and exhort us to back Dugdale and the Hangers On?
    The message is , Scotland you are racist shits: but not if you vote for Kezia?
    They are finished now, the Branch Office that never was.
    London pulls the strings.
    It confirms what we always knew. Scotland is a subjugated colony, and it takes a visit from the a Big New Labour Gun or two to confirm this.
    Corbyn, Khan, Watson, fuck off out of our country.
    What you think has no relevance.

189. Breeks

Re- the Lorem ipsum stuff… No conspiracy according to Wiki.

“In publishing and graphic design, lorem ipsum (or simply lipsum) is standard placeholder text used to demonstrate the graphic elements of a document or visual presentation, such as font, typography, and layout. Lipsum also serves as placeholder text in mock-ups of visual design projects before the actual words are inserted into the finished product. When used in this manner, lipsum is also called greeking.
    The text is derived from Cicero’s De finibus bonorum et malorum (On Good and Evil Ends).”

It’s essentially a blank page filled with words, a bit like “insert your text here…”

The Atlantic Bridge was wound up, and Liam Fox was discredited by his Andrew(?) Werrity goings on, but his career has been reinvigorated by May who is desperate for US support. I didn’t keep it bookmarked, but Nana posted a really good link about Fox and Atlantic Bridge and Dark Money a few weeks ago.

http://archive.is/YiKR0

190. Smallaxe

Nana: Good Morning,

Links for a lazy Sunday, Thank You. Kettle’s on!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXeRB-3nDR8

Peace Always

191. Nana

@Breeks

I think this is the article you refer to at 4.20am

http://www.monbiot.com/2017/02/04/dark-arts/

192. Jim Arnott

A wee note for Mr Sadiq Khan.

Your comments about Scots and racism both offended me and saddened me. Trying to roll back from your comments in yesterday’s Daily Record sickened me.

I am 78 and have been in favour of Scotland as an independent nation for most of my life. I am a Member of the SNP, that’s the Scottish National Party, not the Scottish Nationalist Party that you Mr Khan and your ilk are so wont to refer to.

I have been thinking of all the friends I have, or have had, outside of Scotland:

Japan, Hong Kong, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Iran, Sweden, Finland, Norway, Ireland (North and South), France, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Tanzania, Malawi, Angola, USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

I wonder if Mr Khan could guess where the vast majority of my friends outside Scotland are? Yes Mr Khan – England. These friends include two sons-in-law and their parents as well as cousins and their spouces.

When Scotland gains its Independence all these people will still be my friends.

Shame on you Mr Khan for daring to suggest that people who support an Independent Scotland are racists. You do the Labour Party in Scotland no favours with your irresponsible comments.

193. Nana

Good morning Smallaxe, looks like it is going to be a nice day.

194. Jim Arnott

A wee addendum to my above note to Mr Sadiq Khan.

Amongst all those friends listed above, are Catholics, Protestants, Jews, Muslims, Shintos and many of no faith whatsoever.

Just thought you should know.

195. Sandra Hunter

In 2015 this book was published by author Tim Ross – “Why The Tories Won: The Inside Story of the 2015 Election”.

The final two pages should be read together in context as they refer entirely to the strategy employed to win targeted seats in England by employing an anti-SNP and anti-Scotland strategy. I would like to quote the final paragraphs and hope that’s ok and doesn’t involve some copyright infringement. I know this refers to the Conservative strategy – but the last two pages relate to Better Together as well so the 3 party strategy from Indyref1 to the 2015 General Election.

“Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP stood on a platform of anti-Westminster protest. More broadly, the SNP’s raison d’etre is to campaign for Scottish independence from the United Kingdom. So, politically, the SNP has been clear and open about its ultimate wish to break up the Union. The party’s methods in 2015 matched its motives for the future. It is not clear that the same can be said about Cameron’s own approach.”

“Did the warnings about the SNP dictating terms to Ed Milliband really work with the grain of Cameron’s own political faith? When pressed, he says that his guiding creed is patriotism, and a deep belief in Britain as a country of enormous potential.”

“It is tempting to speculate that the Prime Minister who could not sleep during the Scottish independence referendum because he was so anxious for the future of the Union must at some stage have inwardly flinched at being required to stoke anti-Scottish sentiment among the English. Yet he never tried to dissuade Crosby from the campaign strategy he had designed. Perhaps a suppressed reflex of something approaching remorse was what lay behind his victory speeches, in Witney and outside No. 10, in which he declared his intention to heal the divisions, to make Britain ‘One Nation’ again. Why else promise to bring the country together”

“In his speech at the CTF Partners summer party at the Science Museum in London, Lynton Crosby was modest enough to suggest that the campaign had been David Cameron’s. In truth, it was his own leadership, not that of the Prime Minister, that was tested – and found to be more than adequate – in the intense pressure of the 2015 general election. Crosby was also candid enough to acknowledge that he may have failed if he had not found a way to animate the passions of the electorate”.

“In politics, when reason and emotion collide, emotion invariably wins,’ Crosby said. ‘Our campaign sought to persuade through reason but then motivate through emotion. When one looks at the decimation of the Liberal Democrats and the stonewalling of Labour’s advances, with many unexpected gains, one sees that reason prevailed and emotion did its work.”

That’s the end of the book. I suggest that Sadiq Khan wishes to mirror the Conservatives and Better Together’s success by continuing to adopt the same strategy because it is recognised that it works to garner the support of important English voters. It has become the m.o. of the unionist parties and we need to find the language and messengers to expose it for what it is. So far, we have not been able to do that – except amongst ourselves. The public, particularly in Scotland, are not aware enough of the chicanery.

196. Tinto Chiel

Nana: Tom Morton now a Yesser?

Astonishing: he was a pretty hard-core No in 2014.

Make more room around the campfire.

197. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

I read the article in iscot mag a while back so I was not surprised by the video above.

https://twitter.com/iscotnews/status/814099584116985856

It had better be a big campfire Tinto, there will be many more converts.

198. Hamish100

So Tom Morton thought in 2014 Labour represented the poor?

McAveety, Lamont, Milliband, Foulkes, Blair, Brown, Darling?

At least he has woken up from the delusion.

Welcome aboard.

199. Legerwood

Meg merrilees @ 12.42 am

I think they are two different companies.

Aggregate IQ mentioned in the first link is a Canadian company and the money spent by the Leave campaign to access their services is listed in the campaign’so expenses returns.

The company in the Guardian article seems to have a link to a British firm.

But since they are both in the same line of work they may be known to each other.

200. Karmanaut

To be fair, Scottish Labour haven’t just called us racists. We were also called a “virus” during indyref. And they described Scotland as a “mendicant” nation, and suggested we could not manage without handouts.

Labour also told us that Scots were “not genetically programmed to make political decisions”, and we should leave the decision-making to capable people.

So, Labour, according to you I am a virus, a beggar, and a racist, and I shouldn’t be allowed to make decisions regarding my future because I am genetically inferior.

Hey. I wonder who I’ll vote for in all upcoming elections?

201. yesindyref2

@Sandra Hunter
    Sounds about right. I think Cameron was a decent guy, unlike his successor. And I think the anti-SNP and indeed anti-Scot thing does need to be countered at source. Put the facts and though the provacateurs don’t like them, the majority are decent people and see where you’re coming from.

202. Campbell

Very us and them attitude as usual.

Will all ideas be welcome in an independent scotland or only those you approve of?

Again, you are keen to label as racist anyone with a different opinion on immigration to yourself. How very devisive

203. Seumas

They use the word “foreigner” in such a dirty and degrading manner, as if being foreign is well below being British. That is racist, 100%.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.