Drawing the battle lines

Posted on December 14, 2011 by

There's some fairly predictable outrage from Nationalists bouncing around the blogosphere today at the news that control of the Crown Estates will not be devolved to the Scottish Parliament. This anger seems to us to be misplaced.

A pair of recent polls have reinforced what we've known for years – the constitutional settlement preferred by the large majority of the Scottish electorate is so-called "devo max", or Full Fiscal Autonomy, under which the Crown Estate would pass to Holyrood along with all other powers of revenue raising and expenditure. However, the three Unionist parties (or as we should more correctly put it, those who variously prefer to dub themselves Federalists, Unionists and Devolutionists, or FUDs) are all bitterly opposed to offering voters this option in the independence referendum.

With the status quo by some distance the least popular of the three possible arrangements for Scotland's governance, the opposition appears to be hell-bent on forcing Scots to make a straight choice between that and independence. It seems clear to this blog that such a stance can only be good news for supporters of the latter.

Were the UK Government to concede issues like the Crown Estate and Corporation Tax, plainly those who favour greater devolution would see progress being made, and in all likelihood be more content to reject full independence and continue down the gradualist path. But by going all out to signify that the UK will not grant the Scottish Parliament even fairly modest further powers, the Unionist parties can only succeed in driving more and more of those who want devo-max into the independence camp.

For our money, the starker the choice in the referendum is, the better.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,901 Posts, 1,240,890 Comments

• James on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “Do they buy it in Oldham do you think?May 6, 10:47
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Went sea fishing. For English jobbies.May 6, 10:44
    • Highland Wifie on Seven Days Too Long: “Lorncal says “Perhaps it is time for women here to stand up for themselves and set up ‘The Party of…May 6, 10:44
    • agentx on Anas Sarwar is a winner: ““A former SNP council leader has been jailed for 18 months for sexually assaulting five young men. Jordan Linden, who…May 6, 10:43
    • James Che on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “It is difficult to vote for change in Scotland if we persist in voting for Colonial political parties, the submission…May 6, 09:30
    • 100%Yes on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “Please have a look at this and post your thoughts please? https://www.thenational.scot/news/26076591.poll-voting-scottish-parliament-election/ it states “How will you be voting in…May 6, 09:25
    • 100%Yes on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “All the parties including SNP saying vote for us to keep reform out when its the SNP who’s going to…May 6, 09:14
    • ALANM on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “Which has fallen most over the last twenty years – the Labour vote or the Record’s circulation?May 6, 08:57
    • Morgatron on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “Anas, as thick as two short planks.May 6, 08:26
    • 100%Yes on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “Labour promoting Change, I’m just wondering what is it Scottish Labour can do that British Labour can’t? I would agree…May 6, 08:13
    • Captain Caveman on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Oh. My. Word…. Who knew that my whole life was a lie, I’m a failed “lifestyle influencer” and I couldn’t…May 6, 07:40
    • Effijy on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “I wonder how much the whopping lie the Vow proved to be and bias Lame duck Labour has seen the…May 6, 07:02
    • ScottieDog on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “One of AS’ (Alex Salmond) few flaws – he supported the wrong Edinburgh team 😉May 6, 06:59
    • Karen on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “That would be the Glasgow banter. And The Heart of Midlothian.May 6, 04:38
    • Al-Stuart on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “. When Sarwar gets the Order of The Boot, please can we have the promiscuous political party hopping tart, James…May 6, 03:40
    • twathater on Anas Sarwar is a winner: “Anas desperate to be considered relevant, poor wee arsehole naebody likes or listens toMay 6, 03:31
    • Geri on Binfire Of The Vanities: “No foreigners.. I’d agree with that too. They’ve been nothing but bad news at Holyrood. I’d also extend that to…May 6, 03:08
    • Angus on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““Whether people have the balls for it nowadays is the unfortunate question..” YL, that is indeed the question and we…May 6, 02:49
    • Geri on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Shiteface, Indy is already in the bag. It has been since September 19th 2014. “Scottish” Tories put a neverending *pinned*…May 6, 02:36
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “HMcH @ 10.19 C’mon Hatey “old boy”, just between us- no one else would know. How much did your (ahem)…May 6, 00:39
    • Geri on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Yes, that 90 billion is already earmarked to Zs inner friends & one who has a factory. €1 billions to…May 6, 00:21
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Beggars Aye very good bumpkin.. An issue that grips you? Talking from experience Adolf? To hear a Unionist bleating about…May 6, 00:18
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Fat Slag Wilma Flintstone @ 7.20 Whit? Are you for real? Honestly! Business not going so well so you’re now…May 6, 00:14
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Binfire Of The Vanities: “The Italian political philosopher GIORGIO AGAMBEN (1942-) addresses the contentious issue of the State’s exercise of emergency powers, whether over…May 6, 00:03
    • Mark Beggan on Binfire Of The Vanities: “I take when you come to visit people hide the spoons.May 5, 23:54
    • Geri on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““he was a mossad stooge from way back, an agent of a foreign fucking power, which is I think, still…May 5, 23:50
    • Jamie on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Hatey, I was trying to talk to you but I realise now you are either German or English, and I…May 5, 22:50
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Here you go, James, have a fish. Three days since it was landed. Been in the sun quite a bit.…May 5, 22:42
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “I kind of skimmed your steaming piles, Confused, but glad I stuck it out to the end. Great news about…May 5, 22:36
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “You talking to me? Jeezo, and you were the one complaining about “flat earth level of trolling pish”! But seeing…May 5, 22:19