A deliberate vagueness

Posted on November 14, 2015 by

This one rather speaks for itself.

dugdalemurphy

(Data below from our latest Panelbase poll.)

Last month the UK Labour conference passed a motion committing the party to renewing the Trident nuclear weapons system. However, this month the Scottish Labour Party conference passed a motion committing the party to opposing the renewal.

Scottish leader Kezia Dugdale and most of UK Labour’s shadow cabinet support renewal, while UK leader Jeremy Corbyn and shadow Scottish Secretary Ian Murray oppose it.

Do you feel that you personally understand Labour’s position on Trident?

ALL VOTERS
Yes, I understand – they OPPOSE renewing it: 12%
Yes, I understand – they SUPPORT renewing it: 18%
No, I don’t understand what their position is: 70%

LABOUR VOTERS ONLY
Yes, I understand – they OPPOSE renewing it: 18%
Yes, I understand – they SUPPORT renewing it: 21%
No, I don’t understand what their position is: 61%

Good job, everyone.

91 to “A deliberate vagueness”

1. handclapping

This needs Chris’ Push-me-Pull-you to illustrate it

2. mogabee

So everyone is vague!

Next instalment.. 😀

3. Walter Scott

Well Rev, all that sounds bad enough for that hapless party but it could get worse. Do you think Kezia could be out on her ear if her party take a serious pasting come May? I see Paddy Power are offering 1/66 for an outright SNP majority. Ladbrokes 1/66, Bet 365 & Betfair are both offering 1/50. The bookies are convinced that they are basically selling money at such short odds. I’m looking for £66,000 to win a grand. So far I have £13.73

4. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi mogabee.

Don’t be vague – ask for Haig!

I’m sure he could explain the western world’s defence situation…

“Haig caused some alarm with his suggestion that a “nuclear warning shot” in Europe might be effective in deterring the Soviet Union”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexander_Haig

5. Cadogan Enright

I don’t think that the vast majority of people, outside those with a real interest in politics, care what Labourr actually thinks, either because they are SNP or Other party, or are Labour die-hards..

The Corporate media will not expose Labour

These contradictory positions (and I assume tax credits are next) simply afford the Corporate Media to push Labour in which ever way they think it will play best to the electorate to reduce SNP and Yes support.

I”d love to know what would be the support for Devo Max and FFA.

6. Itchybiscuit

Their much heralded foray into the town and city centres of Scotland was a bit of a bust. Some Labour in Scotland stalls were out but here in Govan, nothing. I was looking forward to quizzing them on their ahem, policies.

I see their stance on Trident is also going quite well.

7. joe macfarlane

The important thing is do they ?
    Absolutley not, when uk party supports and Scottish is against and bot leaders have opposing views to each other and to the party thay supposedly lead , new leadership contests in the new year for both, AGAIN.
    Will be interesting to see which ex-mps are on the lists for labour , new contenders needed desperately

8. joe macfarlane

handclapping says:

14 November, 2015 at 9:12 pm

This needs Chris’ Push-me-Pull-you to illustrate it

With Jeremy leading the Slab end out and Kezia leading the UK end in , hahaha

9. Doug Daniel

LOLZ.

By the way, my band is playing a gig at the Hug & Pint on Great Western Road in Glasgow tomorrow. HAHAHAHA! Check My abusing WoS for promotional purposes.

10. galamcennalath

This is a highly significant result.

What it shows is that a lot of people, supporters of all parties, are unaware that there is only one Labour Party.

THE Labour Party has voted for renewal. Fact!

The Labour Scottish accounting unit has said it opposes renewal, which is completely irrelevant to party policy.

The implication is that many people believe the ‘Scottish Labour Party’ actually exists and can hold independent policy on reserved matters. This is a potential problem because some voters will make seriously ill informed choices.

11. Macart

Bwahahahahahaha 😀

Oh Jeez, that’s outstanding!

Seriously, they must never be let outside without a minder.

12. annie

Never mind Labour’s policy on Trident I don’t understand their policy on tax credits.

13. Ian Brotherhood

Brilliant question.

Come on Rev, spill – was it from an alert reader, or did you come up with it?

(In any event, pretty sobering stuff for that wummin with the post-it on her foreheid…)

14. Bill Fraser

It would appear to be a spin of the coin for Labor Party depending on which way the wind is blowing on that particular day.

15. David McCann

Hang on a minute!

There is a logic, just as there is a logic to Tax Credits.

First elect an SNP government in 2016.

Once elected they oppose spending £167 Billion on Trident, and reduce APD.

In 2020, Elect Labour Scottish Government, oppose SNP Trident policy, and APD, thus have £167 billion, PLUS what the SNP would have spent on APD, and hey presto spend, spend, spend!

Bags of money!!

16. Macart

@David McCann

You realise of course David, that JB WILL be taking notes. 😀 LOL

17. heraldnomore

Meanwhile, suggestion of irregularities at Maryhill Foodbank…

18. Wulls

the only thing they are clear on is Scottish labour does not count in the grand scheme of things.
    Pity they didn’t tell them that before the referendum.

19. Gary45%

Say to Fud or Dipity,
    I have in my hand a coin with double heads on it.
    I am going to toss the coin, which side will it land on Duggers?
    Mmmm Tails. SNP Baaaad
    What about you FUD?
    Mmmm Fundilymundilytails. SNP Baaaad

Nuf said

20. Kev

I cant believe its not butter or is it i cant believe it is butter?

21. Wuffing Dug

Fuck sake, that picture!

No need, no need.

What has been seen cannot be unseen.

Get me the men in black neuraliser thing….

22. Inverclyder

We really need this to be in a graph in terms Labour Branch Office Gang Hut understands. Crayons should get the message across nicely.

23. John Hamill

You should ask if they understand they’re position on tax credits

24. Lesley-Anne

I think this wee fella makes more sense than ANYTHING coming out of Labour, branch office of HQ, these days. 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDJmRQ6LbZA

25. Croompenstein

But but we need Trident to keep us safe from terrorists…

But but we need Trident as a bargaining chip for multilateral disarmament..

Stick Trident up your union jacksie…

26. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi David McCann.

You typed,

“Bags of money!!”

Didn’t you actually mean,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ON-7v4qnHP8

?

27. cynicalHighlander

Labour have policies? Hold the front pages.

28. robertknight

God, these people must be complete idiots. Labour’s policy is perfectly clear. Read for yourselves…

Nitop ahierela venef! Nesifi se eni ridan. Mo amo se pan fokon sano ti irienepif basi het. Tarero eponi merien: Ciehate to awolalu ratoted ini piroviem ta te liti: Poseye ga iho eloti tehore tolie puhasog vegar bikusa.

a)Equso rifif fasonut tit tobe tecol ocetu su losolec. Wa duto otebatok osarag naniete eye, ho harof her. Yi buhonic nu iyov ve ecodahi ecoyupe efen ucelan.

b)Otu yites samipi. Nubazit geca dur dieno ga tasahe cetor las. Haku le etora ti vepape etie! Nerena ihowor pi! Boliesa sumi ofomigel tileles meseret tetor cilo pesemay qoseto te!

Tayeti xusut cepar tibieti sori tecosa garoh eraneh. Biriec rie simeso onemehat itaw winoru ni anepe! Sut ron tetasol hag.

Now, what is it about the above that is so hard to understand?

29. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi heraldnomore.

Watch out, over the next couple of days, for the exposure of the ‘inaccuracies’ contained within the Herald story, which was lifted from The Sun…

30. Croompenstein

In that photie is Skull saying to Kezia “I’m amazed by how easy it has been to outwit the SNP”….

LOL.. One of the best quotes from big Dim Jim

31. Luathmac

I can’t be the only person who reads “Labour passed a motion” getting a mental I mage of Labour shitting on the eggs, again, like the hapless & brainless chickens they are?

32. caz-m

Brian DTT

What have you done with Ronnie Anderson? lol.

I haven’t heard from him for a while.

I hope big man is OK.

33. Ananurhing

How refreshing.
    A couple of old school left wing Labour fundillymundillyists.

34. Grouse Beater

The Labour party is in ruins, or perhaps not, it’s only uncertain of policy, a policy in progress, or maybe has yet to make up its mind, or it’s all a typing error.

To be truthful, I’m not sure myself, or at least, half-sure, if only I had all the information at hand to make an informed guess, I’d be be decisive … I think.

I hope that’s clear.

35. blackhack

Sometimes I wonder who ties their shoelaces for them…….

36. Dr Jim

I know exactly what the Labour party are up to with this
    They’re saying to their core voters ” We are the party of free and stupid speech join us and say whatever you want, you will be listened to”

“We don’t care what race creed colour or religion you are, as long as you’re thick you’re welcome in the Scottish accounting unit of the UK Britain first Death to the SNP Labour Party”

Tory Affiliated and defenders of the Yoonion God Save the Queen

37. Croompenstein

I haven’t seen Marcia post it but this a powerful front page

https://mobile.twitter.com/newsundayherald/status/665667080176410624/photo/1

38. cynicalHighlander

@blackhack says:

Sometimes I wonder who ties their shoelaces for them…….

The Slipons failing that they ask a Tory their grown up parents

39. Jim Finlayson

Handclapping’s comment at the top of this page is a perfect summary of the situation, ie., “push me – pull you”. Labour’s UK leader is against Trident renewal but his UK Parliamentary party is for it. Meanwhile, the Scottish Labour Parliamentary party is against it but their leader is for it. As an SNP member I have trouble in getting my head around Labour’a position. Heaven only knows what Scottish Labour members make of it. (I am being polite in my use of language).

40. Ian Brotherhood

BBC Radio Scotland News at midnight finished with a nice wee tribute to Warren Mitchell, the actor best known as ‘Alf Garnett’ in the hugely popular ‘Till Death Do Us Part’ sit-com.

For younger readers, here’s a wee chunk of what us 50-somethings were exposed to as children, when TDDUP was a major must-see BBC production:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HB1XzdwjaLo

41. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s an Alf Garnett clip which includes Cherie Blair’s dad – he’s the guy wearing the blue shirt.

And Jimmy Saville gets a mention too.

Come on FFS, what more can you ask for in 35 seconds?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yv4Nmrwtg4

42. Angra Mainyu

“There are no facts, only interpretations.” (Nietzsche)

Sometimes it’s better to send out a confused message and let some people think you are bastards, rather than be clear and let everybody know.

Labour policy on trident is now a matter of opinion, not fact. And it’s the same with tax credits, austerity, and other stuff.

In a sea of competing narratives, the truth is hidden.

43. Petra

The recent poll showing that very few people, including SLab supporters, actually know who Kezia Dugdale is combined with this ‘Trident renewal’ data is worrying not just for SLab but for us. It’s a clear indication? that fewer Scots, than we may have previously thought, are actually interested in politics (based of course, only, on the number of people involved in the research, political persuasion, their location, age group and so on).

On the otherhand it may have helped make sense, offered more clarity, if the poll had also targetted SNP and / or Independence supporters only. How politically aware / knowledgeable are they? And what about Tory voters are they actually aware of what’s going on say in relation to Labour / SNP voters? I reckon that’s important as they, unbelievably, may become the real opposition to the SNP in Holyrood rather than Labour.

What about getting back to the basics and finding out how many people (and who they vote for) can actually name the leader of all political parties in Scotland? If the outcome is interesting, shows a pattern, it could be elaborated upon by breaking down in relation to age, location and so on.

And then you could go on (and on with this)! Carry out research to find out who (political persuasion, age etc) agrees with the statement that England subsidises Scotland, who’s aware of the Scotland Bill and so on.

Research commencing from such a baseline (s) could help us to identify who (age, location, etc) to target in the coming months / years ahead.

44. call me dave

@Ian Brotherhood

TDDUP pretty shocking stuff then and horrifying stuff now.
    I hadn’t seen that particular one before. 🙁

PS:
    Here’s a story to go with it from today’s Herald.
    Somethings never change.

https://archive.is/IE1xk

45. Karmanaut

This just seems like standard Labour tactics to me. They oppose something AND support it, thereby ensuring they get votes from both sides. They just need to make sure the Daily Record prints the required lie to get the whistle and flute brigade onside.

It’s like when they vote to keep tax credit cuts in Tory hands and then oppose them. The people voting for labour nowadays don’t really have a Scooby.

46. call me dave

Abandon ship! ‘lifebelt for Rowley’

Herald.
    However, he is considering a u-turn for two reasons: he is unlikely to hold his Cowdenbeath seat; and there is no guarantee he would secure Labour’s top spot on the List if he took his chances in an open ranking process.

https://archive.is/WEPyk

47. Rob James

@Petra

I would imagine the vast majority of those who were oblivious to the identities of Dippity and Ruthie Tank Commander, were more than likely No voters. It was the Yes movement which became politically aware and were responsible for the enthusiasm throughout the referendum campaign.

48. heedtracker

JC says he wont fire nukes anyway so that’s nice. They’ll all be fighting each other to see who can push the button. Iraq might not have been invaded by us, if they actually did have nukes so it maybe depends on what you think gives you a Great British moral world authority to float around the sea threatening the planet with teamGB nukes

This is nice too, but it all depends on your mentality. If you think the UK is a super power, buy Trident 2. If you think that the UK should give up Trident, you want to exit the world.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/blog/2015/nov/03/trident-opposition-syria-retreat-symptoms-global-brexit

“Put one way: “Do you want the nuclear defence of a post-Nato Europe to be left to France?” Put another, did you notice that Vladimir Putin, a nationalist who is upgrading Russia’s military, hinted that he might have used battlefield nukes – the kind that can take care of a Ukrainian tank battalion – to protect his seizure of Crimea last year.”

So it looks like Russia’s still the nuke target for all rule Britannia types, who also want to stash their nukes as far away from English cities as geographically possible.

Lovely bunch of maniacs.

49. Ian Brotherhood

@call me dave –

Nice one.

On a linked story, came across this:

‘Under electoral law, all parties must pay £25 to file an annual statement with the watchdog confirming their name, office bearers, address and other details.

Any party which fails to do so is automatically removed from the official register of parties, meaning Solidarity is currently unable to stand candidates under a party banner.

It also means anyone else can now register a party called Solidarity, or register the name Hope Over Fear, which Solidarity had also protected for its sole use.’

Aye.

So:

‘Dear Electoral Commission,
    I’m writing to inform you that tonight, after discussion with colleagues, we are starting a political party called ‘Solidarity Scotland’.
    Yours sincerely…

Anyone else fancy starting a party called ‘Hope Over Fear’?

Will let you know as and when I get any response.

50. Proud Cybernat

The 2015 B4FTA AWARDS

http://tinyurl.com/prg39re

Spread it far ‘n’ wide folks.

Thanks to ClanDonald for the list. Hope you like the result.

51. David

LABOUR VOTERS ONLY
    Yes, I understand – they OPPOSE renewing Kezia Dugdale: 17%
    Yes, I understand – they SUPPORT renewing Kezia Dugdale: 21%
    No, exactly who is this Kezia Dugdale of whom you speak?: 61%
    No, I thought Duncan Hothersall was Scottish Labour leader: 1%

52. Capella

@ call me dave
    TDDUP is supreme irony. Warren Mitchell was very honest about his support for the Labour party. At that time, the Labour party was standing for the poor and disenfranchised. Or so we thought.

Warren was one of the good guys. RIP

53. Grouse Beater

Labour: Vote for us and we will abstain!

Your Sunday reading here: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-2oL

54. ronnie anderson

heraldnomore says:
    14 November, 2015 at 10:32 pm

Meanwhile, suggestion of irregularities at Maryhill Foodbank…

Thank You heraldnomore. If one thing this WOS site has taught us is beware of CorpMedia the SUN & Herald articles, they are as illinformed as the people who informed them. Whistelblower my arse.

As a Trustee of Maryhill foodbank I/We will be issueing a statement (to busy at the moment with Toy appeal & feeding People) in Cronological Order to rebute those alligations. I will post the Statement on here & Maryhill F/B & Twitter.

Many alligations had been made against Maryhill volunteers & Julie Webster & were addressed (Maryhill CID on the breakin in Feb)CLEARED, as were the complaints to OSCR ( I dealt personaly with those) CLEARED,.

I wont say any more until our statement is cleared for release, watch this space.

Ronnie Anderson
    On Behalf of Maryhill Foodbank.

55. ronnie anderson

@ caz m Cmon Pal am always aroon, an when am no, am in ah widden box.

As you can see with my post at 3.11 Im busy with the Foodbank ( early till late) two loads of Toys today from Wicked at Candleriggs ( posted on Maryhill F/B & Twitter) I will be in M/Hill 9am until whenever all week if you want to pop up for coffee.

56. yesindyref2

@ronnie anderson
    Glad to hear that Ronnie. The first story in the Herald didn’t sound right, didn’t bother with the second one.

57. Lenny Hartley

I tool part in the poll, put I know , maybe the 12% of those claiming to know what lab policy on Trident is are all Wings readers. WOS has global reach u know, I’m at 36 ,000 ft over Gander in Canada and reading Wings, brilliant stuff technology 🙂

58. skooshcase

The patter leading up to that photograph (above):

Jim Murphy: Hiyah, Kezzy! Guess what? I’ve gone and got myself a new job!

Kezia Dugdale: Have ye now?

JM: Aye, and a nice wee earner it is too!

KD: Zat right? What is it then?

JM: Wait till ye hear this one…. I’m now a conflict resolution expert in the Caucasus and Central Asia!!

KD: A whit?! Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! Yer kidding, aren’t ye?

JM: Naw, not kidding. And it’s legit ‘n’ all!

KD: Zat right? Who’s it wi’?

JM: They’re called CMI, Crisis Management Initiative ah think it means.

KD: And what do they do?

JM: Mediation and dialogue, conflict prevention and resolution support and other stuff like that – ah think.

KD: So your going to be preventing conflicts and mediating and stuff like that…?

JM: Aye!

KD: In the Caucusus and Central Asia…?

JM: Aye!

KD: But Jim, you know eff-all about the Caucusus and Central Asia, how can ye….

JM: (Shhh!) Yeah, I know, I know… but they don’t know that… let’s just keep it between you ‘n’ me, eh? I’ll waffle it. Nae bother!

KD: Christ almighty! How did ye manage tae wangle that one?

JM: Ach, ye know… contacts, and all that!

KD: And wait a wee minute. The Henry Jackson Society; you’re still a member…?

JM: Oh Christ aye! I sure am!

KD: Ehhh… does that not go against the principles of the Henry Jackson Society, you being a (snigger) ‘conflict resolution’ guy?

JM: Ach, aye, but needs must, and all that. Know what I’m saying?

KD: Oh, shit, don’t ah just! But still, you know,… ‘Jim Murphy, conflict resolution expert for the Caucasus and Central Asia’…. Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!

JM: I know, pure dead brilliant, intit no!… Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!

KD and JM: Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!

59. john king

David says
    “LABOUR VOTERS ONLY
    Yes, I understand – they OPPOSE renewing Kezia Dugdale: 17%
    Yes, I understand – they SUPPORT renewing Kezia Dugdale: 21%
    No, exactly who is this Kezia Dugdale of whom you speak?: 61%
    No, I thought Duncan Hothersall was Scottish Labour leader: 1%”

1%…
    Duncans mum?

60. woosie

The fun never ends.

Some abstainer minion approached me in the High Street yesterday, pushing a red leaflet with the headline ” FIGHT TAX CREDIT CUTS “. Kid ye not! A quick assessment of the chap’s intellectual profile deterred me from trying to explain that his imperial masters ( red branch ) were complicit in said cuts.

That, and the wife was with me; after all, politics is behind Xmas shopping in the great scheme of things!

Labour, I believe, only get so much attention on WOS as there isn’t anything else out there to talk about, in terms of Scottish politics. Their imminent destruction at Holyrood will be another step towards indy.

Babe Ruth and Dumbell, de fault sos for Scotland, are simply a drain on some misguided peoples’ pocket money.

Carbunkle will be shopping for new Velcro slippers soon, and ukip are run by a Roy Hudd impersonator.

61. Kennedy

Labour have a Position. Renew!

Branch office are lying. Lying to Scotland. Like they always have done.

62. Robert Peffers

@galamcennalath says: 14 November, 2015 at 10:02 pm

” … This is a potential problem because some voters will make seriously ill informed choices.”

Och! That’s nothing new, galamcennalath, the Scottish Labour Accounting Unit voters have been doing just that for at least 30 years.

63. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

Good to hear from you.

It looks like somebody has it in for Maryhill Foodbank.

Keep us posted.

64. caz-m

Robert Peffer

“…the Scottish Labour Accounting Unit, voters have been doing just that for at least 30 years.”

When you think about it Robert, the Labour Party really had Scotland stitched up. They ran the Unions in every major Industry, where you HAD to pay union fees. That operation was ran by a select few, your union reps.

Where was all that money going to?

The Labour Party also controlled the majority of councils as well. They gave out contracts to their mates. The corruption was rife. They were legalised gangsters.

Then the SNP came along and turned their world upside down.

No wonder they detest all this democracy that is going on around them.

65. frogesque

No confusion here, SNP/SNP in May then onwards wi’ the besom tae clean oot ra council!

Re food banks, is there a plan to chip away at non Westminster approved food banks? Can’t have places outwith the reach of IDS and his merry gang of ‘advisors’ can we?

66. Ken500

The will lose even more at the next election. May 2010
    When will the next’leader’ emerge

The SNP are reining in Cameron saving £Billions. Doing what it says on the tin.

67. schrodingers cat

bun fight starting over who gets onto the top of the lists for labour.

kezia is just holding fort at the moment, the dross who won list seats in 2011 will get the hoof, and constituency msps like baillie and rowley may get over looked for the likes of murphy and dougie alexander.

i can hear the squeals from here.

68. Robert Peffers

@Petra says: 15 November, 2015 at 12:37 am:

” … And then you could go on (and on with this)! Carry out research to find out who (political persuasion, age etc) agrees with the statement that England subsidises Scotland, who’s aware of the Scotland Bill and so on.

Research commencing from such a baseline (s) could help us to identify who (age, location, etc) to target in the coming months / years ahead.”

One thing the SNP has done for many, many years, Petra, is canvasing on the doorstep. There are activists out in all weathers most days of the year.

They thus have a fairly good grasp of the demographics of political knowledge right across the whole spectrum of politics in Scotland.

This has been a major factor in their success throughout the years.

69. Nana

O/T links

http://www.foodmanufacture.co.uk/Manufacturing/Scottish-food-and-drink-to-make-bigger-contribution-to-economy

https://scottovoce.wordpress.com/2015/11/12/british-nationalisms-big-shitter/

http://www.drewhendrymp.scot/inverness-hmrc-redundancies/

US firm George Osborne sold £13bn Northern Rock mortgages linked to deal under criminal investigation
    https://archive.is/WiMow

Tory cuts rob 46,000 OAPs of home food deliveries as lifeline of meals on wheels is dismantled
    https://archive.is/O8C7i

70. galamcennalath

Stu tweeting some more examples of very confused regional and list choices, like Green/UKIP.

The more I hear of this, the more I am convince a percentage of voters believe they are being asked to give their 1st and 2nd party choices.

The only sensible reason to spilt bites might be to give an independent like Margo a list vote.

71. schrodingers cat

galamcennalath

if the bun fights and confusion over the holyrood electoral system, on social media, are anything to go by…..

come the council elections, the entire population will go into melt down

72. heraldnomore

@Ronnie Anderson

Thanks Ronnie of surprise there is none. Leave it in your very capable hands. Keep us posted.

I see Jeff Duncan’s changed the name of his f/b group that once showed gratitiude to the SH. No More.

73. Nana

O/T links

http://www.drewhendrymp.scot/inverness-hmrc-redundancies/

http://www.foodmanufacture.co.uk/Manufacturing/Scottish-food-and-drink-to-make-bigger-contribution-to-economy#

US firm George Osborne sold £13bn Northern Rock mortgages linked to deal under criminal investigation

https://archive.is/WiMow

Tory cuts rob 46,000 OAPs of home food deliveries as lifeline of meals on wheels is dismantled

https://archive.is/O8C7i

74. TheItalianJob

@Nana

Great O/T links Nana.

I have always said Scottish Food and Drink revenues (esp Scoth Whisky) is worth more to the Scottish economy in the long term rather than oil.

75. Clootie

It is time “Scottish” Labour started thinking about the next generation instead of the next election.

Ronnie
    I am disgusted that the CorpMedia can find time to push a propaganda attack on a foodbank when they ignore the real story as to why we have the need for foodbanks.

You can make millions manipulating the Libor rate or operating Ponzi schemes and the neoliberal controlled media turns a blind eye.
    However the embarressment of a successful foodbank highlighting the disgrace of current political dogma requires our press to spring into action like a trained attack dog.

Obviously those running foodbanks are in it for the money!!!!!!!!!!

76. ronnie anderson

On 1st of Nov Julie & some of the other Volunteers attended Glasgow Central Mosque for a Fundraising event By Tariq from Crookston Community Group. Julie made a speech on Foodbanks ( well received ), next speaker Johanne Lamont [ that was a very political speech ] they dont like People who attach a political message with FOODBANKS. We at M/Hill were the 1st Foodbank to come out & say IDS,s snooper army, WONT be allowed into M/Hill foodbank.

I will keep you,s posted, but I will say this, The Twitteraty & F/B knockers Know Nothing Of The Workings Of M/Hill NEVER having been Volunteers of the Foodbank , Ledgends in their own Timelines.

77. Nana

@TheItalianJob

This is a very important message we must get through to the voters. The corpmedia is always shoving the ‘downturn gloom and doom’ oil price down our throats, rarely do they mention food & drink exports and their value to our economy. Share the link.

Did you know that 70% of gins produced in the UK are actually made north of the border? In recent years, gin has had a notable resurgence with dozens of distillers popping up throughout the length and breadth of the country. In bars and shops across Scotland, you’ll find a superb range of Scottish gins of various styles, infused with some wonderful natural botanicals.

http://www.visitscotland.com/about/food-drink/drink/gin

78. Robert Peffers

@caz-m says: 15 November, 2015 at 7:19 am:

“It looks like somebody has it in for Maryhill Foodbank.”

Aye! Glesca Cooncil.

Read what it says, “After a whistleblower complaint”, and remember the Glesca Cooncil pulled the Rev Stu’s ad from the Clockwork Orange after, “Whistleblower’s Complaints”, that turned out to be a single complainant. The first news of this came via the Glasgow Times and was picked up by Sun and Herald.

As always this wee independent minded mannie will reserve judgement until there is actual proof brought forward.

79. Macart

@schrodingers cat 8.43am

Curious that Sarwar is holding a banquet for Labour support, yes?

80. Albaman

Skoochcase,
    As a joke that’s brilliant, but what if it’s true?, we know Murphy would try anything but hard physical or mental work, all I ask of him is to take Kezz with him, if only to save her from her Hollyrood misery, ah, but wait a minute, that would leave Alex Rowely in charge !!, kinda explains just how much of a one way trip “Scottish” Labour is in.
    And have you heard what Anas Sawar is up to , booked a 500 seater venue, so that he can invite his Labour “friends” in for a meal ( at his exspence, presumably ) so that they can listen to HIS ideas on the way forwards for “Scottish Labour, there is a popular saying “you could not make it up”, well Anas just has, all it needs is for Broon to high jack the shindig, and the farce would be complete !.

81. X_Sticks

schrodingers cat says:

“bun fight starting over who gets onto the top of the lists for labour”

Oh, how I’d like to be a fly on that wall. Brings to mind the joke about the frog in the blender..

82. K.A.Mylchreest

Are we sure that “deliberately unclear” wasn’t a typo for “deliberately nuclear” ?

83. Fred

Thanks again Nana, new whisky distilleries have taken to gin production also as the malt needs to go into storage for 5? years. They can sell gin straight away apparently while they’re waiting.

84. Wuffing Dug

So the corporate media is attacking food banks now.

We all know there are no depths those vermin shills will not plumb.

My hatred of the CM is intensifying.

85. Nana

@Fred

Aye Fred, scotgov are good at forward planning. Showing up the other lot at every turn.

Don’t care for gin myself, I find it rather perfumery. But if it furthers’ our cause I would force it down the hatch! Hic Hic

86. Westviews

Why was there no warning about that image at the top??
    My Murphy’s Tourettes has just come back.

All images of Murphy should come with a health warning to help those afflicted with this widespread ailment.

87. cirsium

@Nana, 9.16, 9.21. Thanks for the interesting links.

88. Nana

@cirsium

I try to post links almost every morning. Sometimes they are missed if a new thread goes up.

89. Petra

@ Robert Peffers says at 8:54 am ”Petra says ” … And then you could go on (and on with this)! Carry out research to find out who (political persuasion, age etc) agrees with the statement that England subsidises Scotland, who’s aware of the Scotland Bill and so on. Research commencing from such a baseline (s) could help us to identify who (age, location, etc) to target in the coming months / years ahead.”

”One thing the SNP has done for many, many years, Petra, is canvasing on the doorstep. There are activists out in all weathers most days of the year. They thus have a fairly good grasp of the demographics of political knowledge right across the whole spectrum of politics in Scotland. This has been a major factor in their success throughout the years.”

I understand that Robert as I’m one of those people, activists, who goes out in all weathers to canvas and know that most SNP supporters are on the (political) ball.

I just think that the chart outlining ‘ALL VOTERS’ understanding of what’s going on is pretty dismal too (70% state that they don’t even understand what their position is) and would have liked to have seen this section of the research broken down such as what percentage of those polled were SNP, Tory, Labour supporters and how did each section vote. You could go on with that too to identify, for example, location, knowledge / understanding of age groups within each party.

This research applied to Trident and I think it would be interesting to ascertain how many people (who they are etc) are even interested in politics in Scotland; who have any knowledge at all of the most basic of concepts. That kind of data would (may) help to identify who / where we should focus canvassing, and so on, now and in the future.

90. David

@ john king,
    Yup, I think it must have been family that voted for Duncan.
    By the way, if you check out his Twitter page, he now describes himself as…
    …wait for it…

“Duncan Hothersall – Devolutionist.”

LOL 🙂

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.