The wages of sin

Posted on July 06, 2016 by

img220

155 to “The wages of sin”

1. donald anderson

I ad am email previously, asking me to travel down to Queen Lizzie stadium to protesteth along with very British left at yet another waste of time inquiry. I doubt if they will ever learn their lesson. No matter if “our boys had the correct equipment and training” they were still the British Army doing what British Armies do.

I also had one asking me to travel to Durham for a Miner’s Brass Band Gala. I reminded them that Tony Benn, as Min of Tech closed most of the Scottish Pits and built more Nuclear plants than the Tories. I do hope they enjoyed themselves.

2. jimnarlene

That about sums the bastard up.

3. defo

He will however, shake hands with murderous dictators, even render their opponents to them, if it sweetens oil deals.

4. Brian Powell

BBC News starts with, ‘The Chilcot report. Mistakes were made. Tony Blair accepts mistakes were made’.

It wasn’t mistakes: deliberate, calculated decisions were made.

5. Kenny

There is something I do not understand.

Why was the police not given advance copies of the Chilcott Report, so that Blair could have been arrested at 11 pm and flown in handcuffs to The Hague?

How many people do you have to murder before the forces of the law in this country get going? Or is Tony “too big to jail”?

Sure, he is uncomfortable today. Do you seriously think he does not think this is worth it for all his millions of $$$$$$$$$$$ ???

An independent Scotland must pass legislation to allow for trials for war crimes either in Scotland itself or permitting people on Scottish soil to be handed over to The Hague.

With any luck, that might mean we never again have to suffer the revolting Broon on our soil as well (a lying coward who only takes on pensioners and sick women and children).

It is very important for Scotland to prove itself as a peaceful nation of genuinely European values, do right by the murdered millions in the Middle East, and purge Scotland of these two war criminals who taint Scotland by association.

By doing so, we would be doing our English friends and neighbours a favour as well.

6. Bob Mack

Shameful.Quite, quite, shameful.

7. Auld Rock

Now here’s a first for me, I’m totally lost for words to express my disgust. I whole-heartdly agree with all above especially about how an Independent Scotland should behave and all we really require is a Defence Force, especially Naval forces to protect our vast economic zone, fish and oil. As for Army and Airforce it should be of sufficent size to allow us to undertake any peace keeping or humanitarian undertaking that the UN might ask us to contribute our forces too. We require an Airfoce to be able to assist the Navy in patrolling our economic zone and for all types of search and rescue work, maritime and mountain, there would in my view be a need for one perhaps two squadrons of Fast Jets.

Auld Rock

8. Famous15

Lest we forget,Gordon Brown stood shoulder to shoulder with Blair, war criminals together.

Having been involved with many military war games training sessions I know that after going in and winning the battle a positive exit strategy is viewed as essential . No wonder senior military figures are unhappy in retirement as their advice was ignored. The advice on intelligence ,tactics ,equipment and post war civil order was ignored. Blair deferred to Bush. OMG.

That bastard Jack Straw talking about hind sight on the news. Straw was told and the whole Blair Labour government was told weeks before the decision. They are LIARS.

9. Croompenstein

He has blood on his hands and I hope he burns in hell

10. Capella

Oscar winning performance from Blair today. Oscar Pistorius that is. At least Pistorius was charged with murder, while Blair swans around like a sociopath at large. Lucrative contracts await him.

11. Sandy MacPhail

Blair wasn’t the only one, the whole of his cabinet apart from Cook and Short have blood on their hands.

Today we are getting the same old lies as back in 2003, the country’s divided, evidence pointed to MWD and Sadam needed to go, etc, etc.

Send Blair, Brown and Straw to The Hague and make an example of them!

For all the labour supporters who have been in permanent denial, I do not blame you, but I do ask you to open your eyes to what your party did and what the Blarites are doing to Corbyn now, there is a correlation between these two events, understand that and you’ll never vote labour again!

12. G H Graham

A few years ago, I thought of, created, planned and executed a major bank robbery in Glasgow.

I know. It was a mistake & lessons were learned.

Though thankfully I wasn’t caught, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to learn from my mistakes.

13. manandboy

So we have the EU Referendum, the Chilcott report and the Labour rebellion, all happening just before the 2 month Summer Recess for Westminster. I’m sure it’s just coincidence. Like it’s a coincidence that No.10 has an army of public relations and marketing advisors on the Government payroll. All carefully orchestrated and finely tuned to meet the current propaganda agenda of the Establishment.

I hope you’ll forgive me if I don’t take any of this too seriously.

14. carjamtic

The absolute Epitome of Westminster and of their Love of the Filthy Lucre.

15. Robert Graham

g.h .graham @ 7.04 eh you trying to give the clan a bad name ? eh how much did you get away with and need any help in distributing it ? just asking ha ha

16. Jack Collatin

Famous 15 @6.37. I urge you to read Andrew Rawnsley’s ‘The Party’s Over’.
    Blair Brown, Mandelson, and Campbell made up the Sofa Cabinet. The others did as they were told.
    They made all the decisions, about everything.
    Brown didn’t even consult Department Heads when compiling his budget every year.
    He bankrolled the Iraq war to an estimated £30 billion of our tax pounds.
    Campbell and his team of spin doctors took the Intelligence reports, such as they were, and sexed them up to include the 45 minute nonsense.
    They ignored Hans Blix, and Doctor Kelly’s reports that there were no signs of WMD or chemical weapons.
    Blair followed Bush like the tame poodle he is.
    In 9 years after his retirement he has amassed a £70 million fortune reportedly. So he couldn’t have been spending that much time anguishing over his surge to war ‘every day’.
    He has made more money than Paul McCartney, for what?
    The man should be indicted, and Brown, Mandelson, and Campbell should be hauled across the coals too.

17. schrodingers cat

brutal stuff chris lol

18. Jack Collatin

PS: Brilliant observation, Cairns.

19. schrodingers cat

what about your plan b?
    what about eu blocking access for scotland?

ahem… all slab and tory mps and msps who voted for the invasion of iraq will get their day in court to explain, and 15 of your peers will decide your guilt or otherwise. not the bbc

once you have cleared yer name, come back and then we will discuss

next!

20. James Barr Gardner

Blair authorized build up of munitions in 2002. Usually UK would have borrowed from EU stocks but after Belgium stopped supporting the UK in it’s adventures, so overtime for Ardeer.

Shortage of intelligence, who the feck is kidding who, CIA, MI5, MI6, not forgetting Mossad. Nae it was a fit up and it was all about oil, the Iraqis viewed as subhuman, so the 10th crusade was set by Bliar the Zealot!

Bliar and Bliarites totally and utterly discredited in Scotland for sure and soon in Merry Olde England too!

As for soft skinned land rovers in war situation, should never have happened. MOD scrapped a joint venture with the US DOD in the eighties on an armoured troop carrier.

Liars like Bliar and arseholes like Carbunkle are okay to prosper as political lies don’t count, well the news is these devious barstewards don’t count and never will.

SNP had it spot on in 2003 and still have it spot on today!
    Scotland let the the Lion and the Unicorn have their freedom from this Westminster cesspit. IndyRef2 VOTE YES!!!!

21. ahundredthidiot

TB should take the only honourable option.

Roman style.

Quite literally.

22. potter

Lots of spouting re “lessons will be learned”. They learnt them alright with Libya, bombed the shit out the place then f****d off, no boots on the ground, no reconstruction just bombs.

23. MajorBloodnok

I never thought the day would come when I felt sorry for Tony Blair.

Today is not that day.

24. mike cassidy

Not hearing much today from George Osborne about Britain having its “bomb the fuck out of them” mojo back

25. Luigi

What does the leader of the Chicken Coup, Hillary “Let’s Bomb Syria” Benn have to say about it all, I wonder?

26. galamcennalath

My life experience has been that religious people often make bad decisions.

Instead of being guided by facts, evidence and logic they allow belief and emotion to overly influence them.

As Blair himself says, it was done in “good faith”. That is not enough. It should have been done based on sound and exhaustive reasoning. Then, of course, it would never have happened. Available facts and information was ignored or twisted to suit his belief that he was making a wise move.

Bush was tarred with the same brush. No doubt when the two of them were together the reinforced each other’s flawed decision processes.

Blair still connects 9/11, Al Qaeda, and Saddam Hussain. There was no logical relationship.

Behind all this were dark US influences who saw a big fast buck. Didn’t Blair appreciate this? I have no idea how his brain works! Today he still rejects reality.

27. Thepnr

After waiting 7 years for this report, no doubt it will no longer be talked about or in the headlines by Friday.

There will be fallout though. Plenty, just wait and see.

28. heedtracker

http://www.reuters.com/article/us-iraq-war-anniversary-idUSBRE92D0PG20130314

The U.S. war in Iraq has cost $1.7 trillion with an additional $490 billion in benefits owed to war veterans, expenses that could grow to more than $6 trillion over the next four decades counting interest, a study released on Thursday said.”

It’s harder to get an exact UK costing of it’s invasions but

“The British army’s invasion of Afghanistan and Iraq alongside America has been a complete military failure and has cost British taxpayers in excess of £30 billion—more than a third of the entire government budget deficit for 2014, new figures have revealed.”

The sheer scale of their warfare costs, must have made Project Fearing UKOK lying at Scotland easy peasy, especially for a maniac like Crash Gordon

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PwfvL4jQVDA

29. call me dave

Guardian:

Veterans’ families push for Blair to face trial over Iraq – but is it possible?

In a related legal development, John Cooper QC, who represented the family of Dr David Kelly – the government scientist who died after he was exposed as the source of a BBC story about the Iraq intelligence – said he would be considering whether the inquest into his death should be reopened in the light of the Chilcot report.

https://archive.is/238Oc

30. Robert Peffers

@Brian Powell says: 6 July, 2016 at 6:10 pm:

” … It wasn’t mistakes: deliberate, calculated decisions were made”

Ain’t that the truth, Brian?

31. Bob Mack

If nothing else,I think time will be called on Blairite Labour. The English electorate seem to be waking up to the reality of that branch of politics. Austin and others are taking dogs abuse on social media.
    The Labour coup will now fail for sure ,and I would be very surprised if there are not demands for resignations. It will become a hornets nest.

32. ScottishPsyche

@galamcennalath

In making faith based decisions, it seems the individual is often relieved of the full responsibility of that decision having wrestled with their conscience or prayed or done all sorts of illogical things in order to say the decision was essentially out of their hands.

I’m sure for many it is a source of great comfort in times of need. However, there do seem to be a more than expected number of senior politicians who appear devout. Blair always seemed as if he was giving the impression of being a ‘chosen one’. That he kept his faith ‘secret’ until after he left Office was bizarre as if something to be ashamed of.

I would not be surprised if he felt he had been guided to act the way he did.

33. Ealasaid

Love the differing eyes in the cartoon Chris. One showing the inner self and the other the open eyed innocence he puts on show, completing the shifty look. You catch it perfectly yet again.

34. Ken500

The Speech Hillary Benn made supporting the Syria bombing cheered by the Tories. Trying to undermine Corbyn. Benn should join the Tories He is one. Parachuted in by the PLP against the local members wishes. Supporting the brutal Apartheid State of Israel, who disobey every UN resolution to try and bring peace in the region. Herding people into camps with no proper water supply. Dishing out the minimum ration of food and depriving people of their basic rights. Destroying their local communities

They are disgusting. Arming Israel with 122 nuclear warhead based all around the area. Funding Hilary Benn the disgusting parasite. His father Tony Benn, the socialist left £5Million. He buried the McCrone Report for 30years and claimed Scotland was subsidised. Two appalling individuals.All they care about is themselves. Like father, like son. Corbyn is twice the man that these low lives will ever be.

Supporting Saudia Arabia an absolute despot Monachy where the people have no rights but they pay Westminster parasites to use British troops and taxpayers money to act as mercenaries for them. For secret funding and favours to the Tory non impartial Royals and the Westminster parasites.

Blair, Straw and the rest of the lying parasites can’t admit their guilt or apologise. They are lawyers. They are going to be sued. Bankrupted. If they admit their guilt they will be found guilty. They will be found guilty because of all the evidence against them. They are insulting everyone trying to save their skins.

Son of Straw, Son of Benn, Son of Kinnock are parasites still milking the system. Trying to back up and justify what Blair had done to try and save their own families lying troughing skins. Conducting a smear campaign against Corbyn funded by Blair’s blood money. They should all resign. A cabel of crooks who should be in prison.

35. Ian Brotherhood

Have just seen Charlie Falconer, on CH4, assuring Rose Gentle that Blair will agree to meet her.

Ooh-er! Looks like his old flatmate (who is disguised these days a la Mundell, with unconvincing beard) has landed Blair right in it…

One thing about not watching telly for years – it’s often quite shocking to see how people have changed. Saw Clare Short on the box as well, earlier this afternoon – she looks haunted, grey, and sounded broken. Jack Straw, being instructed to speak directly to camera by Jon Snow, looked ghastly and most terribly annoyed at not being permitted to deliver his prepared spiel.

36. heedtracker

SLab thinks we’re a mob. Shut up, vote SLab, we’re not the most awful clusterfuck imaginable.

Duncan Hothersall ?@dhothersall 2h2 hours ago
    Stark difference between @jeremycorbyn & @CarolineLucas today on #Chilcot. Jeremy honest & measured, Caroline dishonest & played to the mob.

37. Ian Brotherhood

We must all have ‘favourite’ politicians whose thoughts on Chilcot will be forthcoming in due course i.e. whenever they’re forced to break cover.

Gordzilla’s an obvious one, but what about John ‘Bruiser’ Reid? Or Adam Ingram, who verbally assaulted Rose Gentle at a poll count in E.K., loudly calling her ‘Saddam’s little helper!’?

Has Foulkes appeared in public yet? What about Prof Jim Wylie, the ‘terrorism expert’ from Aberdeen University? And what of Eric Joyce?

They all did a lot of drum-beating as and when required.

Not so noisy now…

38. ScottishPsyche

I’ve just reread my last post. I apologise to anyone who is religious as it comes across as quite patronising and that wasn’t my intention. It was really just to comment on Blair’s odd grandiosity which seemed at odds with the humble devout persona he tried to convey.

39. HandandShrimp

Blair has an open door to the US where he is highly regarded. I think any attempt to take legal action would ultimately prove fruitless and a waste of time and effort.

What we need is to ensure that the war mongers have their wings clipped and this sort of railroading can never happen again. The French and Germans had no difficulty in determining that the evidence against Saddam was weak. There were no shortage of alternative opinions back then.

It would also be nice to see some effort going into improving the lot of the Iraqis displaced and impoverished by the ongoing chaos of that war.

40. Ian Brotherhood

There’s so many armchair generals we still have to hear from.

Oh aye, Geoff Hoon…

‘In a 2003 interview on the BBC’s Breakfast with Frost, Hoon asserted that the UK was willing to use nuclear weapons against Iraqi forces “in the right circumstances, namely in extreme self defence.’ (Wikipedia)

41. heedtracker

When these guys are all waiting at the gates of hell with say Ratko Mladi? and Slobodan Miloševi?, what’s the eternal punishment graded by?

Actually being near the slaughter in uniform maybe, not seated in No.10 and No.11 with spin docs like the Campbell, actual numbers of dead and wounded? religion of the victims maybe? Excuses given, better PR…

42. Alan Mackintosh

Ian B, The Baron was on this luchtime on Radio shortbread with John Beattie, offering all sorts of platitudes to smooth the way for Blair. What a nasty wee shite he is.

43. Macart

That about sums that creature up.

And those who supported him.

44. Dr Jim

Wells of mass production
    Did I say that right?

45. ahundredthidiot

and let’s not let his cabinet of the hook either!

criminals all.

46. Ian Brotherhood

@Alan Mackintosh –

Bummer, I missed that.

He’ll be tucked-up in his wee bed now, with his big nightcap on.

He did his duty when required, and has been duly rewarded. Hundreds of thousands of entirely innocent civilians have been reduced to ashes, humiliated, terrorised, displaced, tortured and abused in ways we can’t begin to imagine.

But wee Foulkes, belly full of good grub and whisky, is conked-out. All is well with the world…

47. Rock

heedtracker,

“http://www.reuters.com/article/us-iraq-war-anniversary-idUSBRE92D0PG20130314

The U.S. war in Iraq has cost $1.7 trillion with an additional $490 billion in benefits owed to war veterans, expenses that could grow to more than $6 trillion over the next four decades counting interest, a study released on Thursday said.”

They don’t give a damn about the human cost of the war in Iraq and throughout the region.

It is all about money.

48. SOG

Only a few days ago TB was offering himself as an intermediary in the Brexit fuss with the EU. He’d had plenty of time to study his copy of the Report, must have known the likely outcome and timing but still had the chutzpah to sell himself.

49. Simon Curran

It wasn’t just Blair though, let’s remember all those Conservative MPS including members of the Cabinet and potential Tory party leaders who were also well up for it.

50. Ian Brotherhood

Oh FFS, Jeremy Greenstock on R4 right now…

Doesn’t matter what he’s actually saying…just that plummy voice, the gravitas, soothing assurances…

*your eyelids are feeling heavy…very very heavy…*

It’s like falling down a worm-hole and popping-out in 2002.

(And Charlie Falconer’s there too…)

51. heedtracker

Rock says:
    6 July, 2016 at 10:15 pm
    heedtracker,

You’re a bit muted tonight Rock, thought you’d calling for armed insurrection turning the place into a Terminator style battle ground, by now.

I wanted to be Schwarzenegger, vote SNP if you want to live.

52. Liz g

OT sorry
    The house of lords EU referendum debate is worth watching on catch up.
    One suggests”we need to talk to Wale’s” when talking about the neuks.
    Another called for Nicola Sturgeon to “stop this nonsense”.
    But the Foreign Office Minister reckons she spoke to the Prime Minister and he assures her there will be no second referendum,because there is no absolutely no grounds for one.
    Best one though was…. one noble lord explained that the EU was unelected,and there is no way to get rid of them, that’s why quite rightly people don’t like it and needed to get it gone….. I shit you not.

53. Thepnr

Pathetic. Pathetic and I really meant to say Pathetic.

That is the UK. grab that lifebelt Hamish has and start paddling.

54. Grouse Beater

“Mistakes were made”

The government’s media outlet carefully diminishes the act from an international war crime to a domestic accident – the place where most accidents happen, the home.

Now that has been identified, we can all go sleep safe in the knowledge that the democratic process has made its judgment, our taxes well spent, and the UK is a wonderful place in which to live.

55. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve posted this, re WMD, on the previous main page:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-chilcot-report-in-full/comment-page-1/#comment-2163510

56. Edward

Completely O/T, so apologies
    But I’m not on twitter so couldn’t respond to a tweet on the WOS twitter feed

Theres a tweet from someone in the US, who heard a David Leask being interviewed on NPR this morning, in which the David Leask, a journalist in Scotland, claimed there would not be a second referendum

The person who heard the broadcast, tweeted David Leask of the Herald, who denied all knowledge

Perhaps there are two David Leask’s as NPR have an excerpt
    online confirming what David Leask stated

“I don’t think there’ll be another Scottish referendum,” says David Leask, who works for the local newspaper. “Scotland originally voted to stay a part of the U.K. and I don’t see it changing now.”

http://www.npr.org/sections/parallels/2016/07/06/484888250/ripple-effects-will-the-brexit-vote-lead-to-the-break-up-of-the-u-k

So IS there another Scottish journalist called ‘David Leask’?

57. Tam Jardine

The crux to me is Chilcot’s insistence that the war was not prosecuted after all other avenues were explored. It holds up the UK in the worst possible light – what is this country? Warmongers. Arms producers. Xenophobic. Anti European. Isolationist.

This is not DNA – these attributes are no more in the DNA in England than they are up here.

It has been eye opening for some… to understand what WE knew already. Maybe the leave vote will force change in public life in England and end the tories and the blairites.

WE need to show the English people the way. Westminster is dead. The union is dead. But life must carry on and find a way. Scotland is forging forward and our best days are ahead of us.

As for Blair- he should be sectioned. He will be fortunate in the afterlife if he find his conversion to Roman catholicism to be flawed and there is nothing. If he meets his maker I reckon it will be hot for him.

And if he meets Allah then it will be hotter still.

58. Smallaxe

O/T.Did anyone notice that Hunt has forced the Junior Doctors
    contract on them under cover of Chilcot report!

59. Cadogan Enright

RT quoting Austrian finance minister as saying Scotland and the North or Ireland could stay in EU

List of Countries and Ministers getting longer and longer, but State and Corporate media still only mis-quoting Spanish gobshite

60. Lenny Hartley

Armed Forces minister at time of Iraq war Adam Ingram in serious car crash tonight on STV.

What a dick.

61. Graeme Doig

Adam Ingram on Scotland tonight. What an arrogant prick of a man.

Some of these people shouldn’t be allowed out on their own never mind running a country.

Astonishing state of affairs we’re in.

62. Cadogan Enright

If you have not already got Peter Bell and GA Ponsonby in your ‘favourites’ at this website –

then get it done now

http://indyref2.scot/reporting-scotland-still-manipulating-the-news#comment-11950

63. call me dave

Chilcot: STV Scotland tonight: Summary of day for 6minutes then

Stephen Gethins SNP
    Adam Ingram Labour: 6mins in.

Quite fiesty:

http://player.stv.tv/episode/3b3g/scotland-tonight/wed-06-jul-11-10-pm/

64. Valerie

@smallaxe

Yes but I think the jar doctors will press their case. They rejected the deal. Hunt says it will be applied 1st August.

Also, get this. George Kerevan tweeted a link stating RAF Tornados had taken out 5 Da’esh vehicles.

FFS, they think we are idiots.

I tweeted back – well what a coincidence, no word for months, then today of all days

They make me fcking sick. There is no way, that’s not a put up job.

65. jockmcx

Alex Salmond on lbc.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xgssAMJTxgk

66. Cadogan Enright

And the Prof Roberson , still exposing the EBC and corp media here

http://newsnet.scot/archive/like-greece-without-socrates-thinkers-philosophers/#comment-623194 Under the citizen column

When someone finally faces the EBC in court , Robertson and GA Ponsonby will have all the evidence needed to prove their appaling bias http://indyref2.scot/reporting-scotland-still-manipulating-the-news

We are privileged to have such talent on our side

67. Petra

Well it would seem that the ICC can’t do anything about this situation. The only body that has the power to do something about it is the UN Security Council, however as the US and UK are members that rules that out.

What a hellish, corrupt, utterly evil World we’re living in and it’s no wonder Daesh has reared it’s ugly head.

I’m beginning to think that ‘ignorance is bliss’ right enough. An understanding of what’s going on in this country / on this planet, and we’re probably just skimming the surface, is enough to drive you off your head.

68. call me dave

Tony Blair is now facing the prospect of legal action over his decision to go to war in Iraq

http://archive.is/GhcdB

A country ruined, trust shattered, a reputation trashed

http://archive.is/rWTE9

UK’s secret deal with Iraqi militia was ‘humiliating’

http://archive.is/y62Wn

69. call me dave

@Cadogan Enright

Excellent article thanks for posting.

70. Lanarkist

Petra,
    ” Ignorance is bliss”!
    Chilcott Report.

71. Lanarkist

Bliss!

72. Ghillie

Smallaxe @ 11.27pm

Yes, I did hear that on the radio at 10pm. Sneaky move, but the Rev has Alert Readers like you ready to pick em up! I wonder if the BUM will publish the young doctors’ responses?

BTW Hope you are doing well = )

73. Swami Backverandah

Blair’s got a Messiah complex.
    He wants to lead.
    He’s always right.
    Just do what he says, dammit!

If we are used to thinking that megalomaniacs usually come mustached, we’ve now had that misconception put to rights.

74. Swami Backverandah

I wonder if Tony’s millions have all been stashed in his wife’s name, Phillip Green style.

That’ll get him a knighthood.

75. Sandy

If an independent Scotland were to accuse B-liar & co of abetting mass murder, would Engerland refuse to hand them over. Just imagine, there wouldn’t be any other country but Engerland in which they could reside.

76. mr thms

According to BBC Scotland this Audit Scotland report is bad news?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-36727294

A new report has found it has become “more difficult” for Scots students to get a place at a university in Scotland.

Here’s why…

“The main reason for this is that applications have increased at a greater rate than increases in the number of funded places available for Scottish and EU students,” the report said.

“Applications have increased by 23% since 2010, yet the number of offers made by universities has increased by only 9%.”

Got that?

77. Breeks

One of the sad and cynical things about Gulf War 2 was killing off the optimism which bloomed all too briefly after Gulf War 1. The mighty Americans had done the right thing, taken care to show respect and ally themselves with Middle Eastern states, and ultimately shown restraint in respecting the limit of their UN mandate. The job was done efficienty and with clear purpose.

Gulf War 2 was a much grubbier affair in nearly all respects; contrived arguments for going to war, dubious and unsubstantiated hysteria about WMD’s. No patience to martial allies or await appropriate UN resolutions. Far from making allies, weren’t the French maligned as cheese eating surrender monkeys? It was all about get Saddam. It was an assassination dressed up to look like a legitmate war, and wasn’t very convincing.

So instead of entering a period of greater harmony between the West and Muslim states in the Middle East, (a cause of great concern to the Israelis), Bush and Blair bungled the whole deal and unleashed an unprovoked war built upon lies they didn’t even bother to make convincing, steam rollered through the UN, global opinion and Muslim outrage, and fought a dirty war which was more about aggression, getting Saddam, and scaring the bejesus out of anybody who had a problem with Big Macs and Coca Cola.

Their combined adventure has been widely acknowledged as outright aggression, and set the world on its detour away from better harmony and stability, and set it on its path for rampant extremism, global terrorism, and the visceral threat of global jihad made real.

On top of all the pointless deaths and wanton destruction, Blair and Bush should stand up and take a bow for selling out the integrity of the generations of people in the West who have for generations sought to restrain the worst excesses of their warmongers and resource vultures. It is now very difficult to envisage any point in the foreseeable future where the world is not going to be forever perched on a powder keg. Mistrust is rife, between super powers, between governments, between governments and their peoples, and sometimes it feels like our very society is hanging together by a thread.

Sorry Tony Blair. The shit you have caused is way too big to be a “Whoops! but hey! I tried” misadventure. The only restraint I feel towards your pillory, humiliation and conviction is the belief it would to nothing to alleviate the out of control chain of events you started, and would constitute my own act of petty retribution.

78. Craig P

Everyone blames Blair but I distinctly remember there was a general election in 2005. The Lib Dems (and SNP) stood on an anti war platform. I thought everyone would vote Lib Dem and we would get the war mongers out. But no, the economy was doing well and compared to that nobody gave a shit about Iraq.

I don’t blame Blair nearly as much as I blame every Labour and Conservative voter in 2005. Blair is a scapegoat – and he knew the British public could be manipulated – but the electorate are the real culprits. It’s a democracy, we were given a choice soon after the war started, so we should bear responsibility too.

79. Smallaxe

@Ghillie & Petra, I am fine Ghillie thanks.Petra have a look at going round in circles.Peace 🙂

80. Smallaxe

@ Valerie, as they say there is no such thing as coincidences.

81. cearc

smallaxe,

Well we’ve already had a 25% increase in foundation level doctors applying for places in Scotland, at this rate we’re going to be overrun by them!

You can almost see the headlines, ‘Too many doctors, what will the government do to stop this tide of talent flowing in? SNP baaad!

Godd luck with your treatment. Hang on in there.

82. Ken500

Some of the people who voted for Blair still believed the crap, or did not care. The LibDems are dangerous liars just like the rest of them. They are nothing but a bunch of useless liars. They kept the Cameron and the Tories in power so they could rain more illegal bombs on the Middle East and sanction and starve vulnerable people, and cause mass migration.

The LibDems are despicable enablers.They could have brought the Tories down. They would rather lie about student fees and impoverish more people. To line their own pockets. The Tory shafted them. The Tories went on to commit electoral fraud and bring down the world economy.Trying to take Scotland with them. The LibDems are the most disgusting liars. People in the UK and the rest of the world are starving because of them. The GE should have been a hung Parliament with the SNP holding the balance of power. Then none of this mess would have happened.

The LibDem enabled the mess to happen instead of taking down the Tories. The voters in England have no choice. It is either blue, red or yellow Tories. The LibDem are cowards and went into coalition with the Tories to ‘save the economy’. Instead they wasted £Billions of public money, ingratiating themselves. They destroyed the economy. Just another bunch of lying, despicable enablers. More interested in their own privilege and back pocket than caring about the people who elected them.

The only ones who can save Scotland from Westminster treachery, secrets and lies is the SNP and another IndyRef2 , which will be won. The LibDem liars promised Home Rule. Independence in (or out of) the EU is the only solution to protect from Westminster criminal liars. The LibDems are ‘psycho lying bastards’ as well. They should apologise as well for the people who have died in the Middle East, the Mediterranean, crossing borders and for bringing down the world economy. Causing havoc in the world and innocent people starving and dying. At home and abroad.

Westminster Scottish Question Time is a hypocritical disgrace. The lying Unionists are out in force trying to talk Scotland down. It just makes people really, really annoyed and angry. The disgusting Westminster Unionist lying criminals

83. Dorothy Devine

Craig P , you bear responsibility for voting the bastards in if you want to – I didn’t vote them in and I’m not particularly inclined to support the spurious arguments put up by the self interested ” let’s share the blame “brigade.

I didn’t want a war in Iraq , Afghanistan, Libya ,Syria, Yemen or any other country – but “Our leaders” of whatever hue did. Millions of people took to the streets to stop these oil wars but were ignored by certain politicians and the media.

The one thing that Harold Wilson did for which we should all be grateful was tell our war mongering friends across the Atlantic that they were on their own when it came to Vietnam.

I am not responsible for the evils that our politicians wreak on countries that have no thought to attack us and I am aghast at the ” Putin bad ” ” Russia bad ” drivel I read and hear in the media – manipulating towards another unjust and illegal war where millions could die and the West of Scotland could well be first target.

Now , the politicians I have voted for have never been interested in attacking another country , so I’ll leave it up to hand wringing others to take the blame.

84. Smallaxe

@ cearc, you’re absolutely right,we will have our pick of the
    best of them.Thanks for your kind regards.Peace. 🙂

85. manandboy

http://watson.brown.edu/costsofwar/costs/human/military

Let’s be clear – Iraq was an American war. 95% of troops and equipment were American. The rest of the coalition forces included those from the UK.

Parliament’s decision was to keep the ‘special relationship’ intact by supporting the US. WMD’s were ‘created’ as motivation for the British public because the ‘special relationship’ wasn’t special enough for the UK electorate to go to war with.

Going to war – anywhere – shows to the world that Britain is still a global power and a military force to be reckoned with. This is supremely important to the British Establishment. Backing out of the war in Iraq was unthinkable to that way of thinking. Trident is another example of it.

That’s my understanding of it.

86. Ken500

The American Administration allows the American people to cull each other. 30,000 people are killed in US each year from gun crime. The people have a right to bear arms against their own Gov. They take up Arms because they do not trust their own government. There seems to be something wrong with their education system and their Federal Gov. An Independent Senator stopped the Health Care Bill going through financed with a limited amount of public money. Though each State does provide means tested assisted Medi care for those who need it.

Obama was a lame duck President who lost the support of Congress/Senate after two years. The US administration would rather bomb and kill innocent people in the Middle East than provide proper assistance and support for the American people. Bringing down the world economy. The US has the biggest gap between rich and poorer and the biggest debt in the world. They sent people to illegal Wars.

If Blair and his cronies get the punishment they deserve. It might make other War criminals think again. Especially in the Westminster Gov who are still killing and maiming innocent people, stealing their rightful resources and not providing the proper assistance for the people. They are embezzling and misappropriating public funds on illegal wars, and redundant weaponry. Instead of aiding and supporting vulnerable people. Reconstructing destroy economies They are despicable, lying criminals. Most of them should be in jail. They hide their crimes under the Officals Secrets Act to deceive the people. This is a bad day for democracy.

87. heedtracker

Tony Blair chatting with BBC r4 Today show, devil in the detail’s, 9/11, after 9/11, why the fuck was a British Labour Party cuddling up to the hard core conservative Bush war mongering? Snatcher Thatcher/Regan made logical fellow travellers of the madasfuck right but Labour UK with neo fascist GOP US, all explains BBC/Lab/tory Project Fear terrorising Scotland 2014. We’ll do really well to shake off the lot but its not impossible.

88. bjsalba

@ken500
    President Dwight Eisenhower famously warned the U.S. about the “military–industrial complex” in his farewell address.

I would suggest that they have expanded their remit – “military–industrial-financial complex” – and now have full control.

89. cearc

Excellent comment at the end of ths piece,

http://www.euractiv.com/section/uk-europe/news/what-should-happen-to-british-meps/

‘Verhofstad said, “Nigel Farage wants to have more time for himself, to spend his European salary.”

90. Smallaxe

Evidence regarding Dr David Kelly’s death to be kept secret
    for 70years according to the Telegraph! Bas-turds.

91. Dr Jim

It’s funny when news reporting get’s to such a ridiculously poor level as to be making the focus on million pound high tech jets with their million pound missiles and their expensively trained pilots risking their lives to blow up a Mitsubishi land rover with a gun stuck on the back

It would seem in order to cover up actual news they regard this as a good diversion, or is it “Look how good we are at war” because if it is I’d just like to point out there are areas in every city in the country where kids can do that for a bottle of ginger

We need to upgrade Trident because that deters them nasty terrorist types and nobody will dare to make a move against us, except the UK government who will punish us if we don’t like it

Does anybody know if there are any other countries in the world who park their Nuclear arsenal 30 miles from their largest population centre, have over 100 radiation leaks per year, actively try to prevent the testing of the water by the country’s elected representatives, transport Nuclear warheads and other materials right through the centre of that city by truck on a regular basis, then extend their operational area so much so it will cost that country hundreds of thousands of pounds to their fishing industry and the jobs that go with it and then say

We don’t care if you don’t want it, it’s happening, because we’re better together and our bigger country has more votes than you so shut up and die, or don’t, we don’t care

Signed: Your Great British Overlords and long may we reign

92. Valerie

That terminally odious Iain Martin, Capx and raging Brexiteer, posted his blog comment, saying things financially aren’t that bad, rallying blah, blah…

I helpfully posted a recent article from the FT, about capital flight from London.

Things could be really good for us, if we make a move sooner rather than later, because at this point, it’s other EU cities being talked about, Frankfurt, Paris etc.

You can understand companies not hanging around.

On the Chilcot debacle, USA announces they will not be ‘re examining Bush role in Iraq.

People still won’t make the connection, that the ruling elite are obsessed with what the U.S. does for oil, or imperialism, greed etc. That its good for UK arms trade, and US fuels this phoney war on terrorism.

The most powerful country on earth just somehow can’t get rid of a small % of violent nutters? Please!!!

I want out of this monumental bullshit show.

93. Ken500

Stop blaming Muslims for the West’s criminal behaviour, it is inappropriate. The West US/UK (France) have been illegally bombing the Middle East and taking their resources (Oil) killing and betraying the people for over 100 years. The UK and France carved up the Middle East. The American ‘Sun Oil’ Company 1913. The Balfour Agreement 1917. Gave the right to a State of Israel on Palestinian lands. Gladstone and the HoL. Lord Balfour and Lord Rothschild. No Universal suffrage. (1928)

Arabs were displaced and killed all over the region. Genocide was committed against the people because of the Balfour Agreement. No universal suffrage or the Vote that they were promised. The promise was reneged upon by the HoL. Lawrence of Arabia was campaigning to give the Arabs the vote for fighting with the Allies. He was killed in a motorcycle accident. After the 1WW and 11WW migrants from Europe flooded into the Region causing conflict, displacement and terror among the population.

1WW 1914-18. The German threat in the Dardanelles needed Ottoman support. Once the threat subsided. The German submarine blockade was lifted. The relevantly secret Balfour Agreement was instigated. 1917. The Russia Revolution took Russia out of the 1WW 1917. The 1WW caused by the British/European Royal family, interdependant treaties. The ‘Divine Right to rule’ Autocratic. The Czar and the Kaiser did not survive. The British Royals did. Millions of people died in the 1WW. Even more died of sickness and the Spanish flu epidemic, all over Europe. Many people were starving and undernourished. Recruits were too unfit and undernourished to be employed in the War they did not pass the medical. Many soldier were maimed with terrible disabilitating injuries but did not receive a War pension. Their families, friends or communities had to support them causing more hardship. Or children were orphaned and had to be taken in.

Many people in Britain/Ireland and other parts of Europe emigrated to the new world – America or the Commonwealth counties, Australia, Canada and New Zealand, SA. Migration shaped the modern world. Scotland has a 40million disaporia. Now a minority at Westminster and in Britain wants to turn their back on migrants needing help. Not take a share. Abandon them.

Westminster have been supporting non democratic, illegitimate Apartheid States and absolute despot Monarchies ever since. Killing and maiming million of innocent people and wasting £Billions of public money, that could be better spent. The non impartial Tory Royals have joined it to reap the spoils, fighting in illegal Wars. Britain/NI is not a democracy. Ignoring the majority wishes of the people and the public interest.

94. Nana

@cearc

The video of Mr Verhofstadt telling off ukip is available here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mTyPtEAqGxk

Chunky Mark on Blair
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVMea23Jenk&feature=youtu.be

95. galamcennalath

Nana says:

“Tasmina has been subjected to dreadful abuse and this is Mundel’s suggestion. Loathsome creep that he is”

Loathsome indeed.

There just has to be something in the water of Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale. I can think of no other reason why this moron would gets votes.

96. Ken500

The WMD comprised ‘threat’ to Britain/NI. A rocket that could hit Cyprus in 45mins. It turned out to be paint pots driven about in a lorry. CIA and M15 knew therevwas no threat. The informant was a fantasist with a grudge against Saddam. They informed Bush and Blair. The other witness to the WMD’s told them they had been destroyed in previous years. The West had sanction Iraq for ten years previously adding to their problems.

The West had supplied Saddam with weapons and support to invade Iran in another senseless, stupid War causing destruction in the region for seven? years. Saddam was a dictator but run a secular administration and upheld equal rights for women. He tried to modernise Iraq and support education and health care.

Iraq is now a failed State with no assistance for reconstructing the damage that was done. The West supported a puppet Gov that caused more trouble not a unity government, which would have united conflicting factions and militia.They couldn’t even get that right.

97. Ken500

Thanks for the links Nana. Brilliant as usual.

Thanks Rev Stu and wings for all you do. Where would we be without you. Thanks

Thanks to Nicola, Alex and Co. The SNP and all the members. Thanks to everyone who supports Independence in the EU. Thanks again for keeping Scotland strong. After all the abuse.

98. Ruby

A good day to bury bad news: what you might have missed

With all the attention on Chilcot, you might have missed some other important announcements that I’m sure the government will not have wanted you to miss.

Like Jeremy Hunt announcing he will impose the junior doctors’ contract. Or news that patients might no longer be able to stop their medical records being sent to a central database.

Or details of 1 per cent pay rises for teachers. Or the cost of staging a Nato summit in 2014.

Sterling falls to its lowest level since miners’ strike
    Universities already feeling Brexit pain
    Boris is back with thigh-slapping show of support for EU nationals

https://archive.is/hQxu6

The full £81.2m cost of the 2014 Nato summit which brought world leaders to Newport has finally been revealed by the Ministry of Defence.

https://archive.is/kUZAZ

Pound plumbs 31-year low as Brexit impact bites

Tax cuts will make Brexit work for Britain

99. Ruby

Farage wants more time to spend with his family in Frankfurt?

Would anyone be surprised if Farage decided to quit to UK?

100. cearc

This very disturbing, well that’s an understatement!

https://www.neweurope.eu/article/migrants-cant-pay-sold-organ-harvesters/

There was an american novel, I think early 70’s, predicated on illegal immigrants to USA being held in detention centres and used for spare parts. I think it was classified as ‘science fiction’.

101. Capella

Chunky Mark spot on as usual. He says the Chilcot Report doesn’t comment on oil. If so that’s a major flaw. Invaders are supposed to protect assets, not plunder them.

I recall that the invaders posted guards at the Iraqi Oil Ministry but left the Museum, with its priceless collection of ancient artefacts from the cradle of human civilisation, open to be looted and trashed. Iraqi oil and our priceless heritage plundered. The people murdered in their hundreds of thousands.

What is a war crime? Only British troops are liable to be prosecuted for individual acts of torture. But the architects roam free

102. Almannysbunnet

Damn! it looks like we won’t be getting rid of the tank commander from Scotland anytime soon. Looks like she’s been rumbled by the English.
    A small taster: “Ms Davidson’s unmerited reputation as a plain-speaking political scrapper.” “For all of her shallow affability,” Ouch!
    Professor Kidd wrote, “that the biggest problem we confronted was not the SNP’s case for independence, but the words and needs of our supposed friends in England.” Ouch ouch.

https://archive.is/nL01O

103. Tinto Chiel

Nana, that was a bit much letting us see Peerie Mun’ell at this time in the morning!

What a shifty little weasel he is. Instead of answering Tasmina’s question, he deflects with an asinine and insulting remark. Then he looks around to his Tory masters with his pathetic “Did I do well there?” spaniel look.

Trouble is, as the heckler at the Glasgow Empire said on seeing the second Winters brother come on to the stage, “Oh, no, there’s two of them!”

His throwback plank of a son makes Jacob Rees-Mogg look like a rapper.

And all paid for by you and me.

“I’m a Scot, get me out of here!”

Hope the op. at the end of the month goes well, Nana.

104. Ruby

https://archive.is/7sLeE

Labour motion on EU migrants ‘right to remain’ passes Commons vote

BUT
    the vote is non-binding and has no effect on government policy

May has previously said the status of EU migrants was an issue for Brexit negotiations, and rights of UK citizens living in Europe also needed to be guaranteed first.

From Twitter:
    NeilMackay ?@NeilMackay 14h14 hours ago

Don’t let Blair take your eye off what’s happening in Parliament: Tories abstain from vote supporting right of EU nationals to stay in UK

105. Ruby

For goodness sake I have been warned several times that I am posting too quickly and I need to Slow Down! I really should pay attention. I have to repost the following due to typo in earlier post the UK and not to UK.

Farage wants more time to spend with his family in Frankfurt?

Would anyone be surprised if Farage decided to quit the UK?

106. call me dave

There he was this morning on the car radio extolling Tony, the last global statesman / leader since Thatcher.

A trusted leader in the middle East even today.

J McTernan on radio 5 🙁

I thought I could avoid the likes of him on shortbread radio ‘your call’ but so it goes, some days you just can’t win!

‘Lions sent by donkeys’…headline on my ‘left behind’ Scottish Chumpion in the cafe.

107. Ken500

All this havoc and hardship for people do that criminals at Westminster and their cronies can tax evade £Billions, keep on doing it and get away with it. The EU Parliament is going to clamp down on tax evasion and banking fraud in the EU. The greater consolidation of financial fiscal power. That is why the EU Ref was mooted by unelected, crooked Farage. So his £Millionaire backers could flaunt Democracy.

Faradage and his cronies have been doing it for years. Faragre lost their backing when he couldn’t deliver candidates in the GE. Arron Banks the corrupt Brexit funder has now withdrawn funds from Farague to other lying Brexit woman candidate. Who is caught out now. The offshore manager that receives £Millions of funding from tax evading offshore funding but doesn’t ‘like tax evading £Millionaires’. She is one. Lie after lie after lie. A canel of crooks decision the British public. Along with all the rest of the candidates.

UKIP is bankrupt, that is why Frague has resigned. Fradge is a crook who has been funding a Political Party with public money illegally for years. Without which he and his Party would not exist. Neither would Brexit. Electoral fraud, punishable by prison. He should be in jail. Nasty little crooked alcoholic. Alcoholics make poor decisions without proper, total abstinence’ counselling and proper rehab.

Cameron, is an alcoholic. He sees the world through ‘rose coloured spectacles’ not reality. Worrying about where his next drink/fix is coming. Cameron has just bought a Scottish estate with public money after 10 years of ruining the economy. Rewarded for failure. He lied to Parliament about his income, along with every other lies he tells. Every word he utters is a lie. Breaking the Ministerial Code with impunity, time after time. He should be impeached and sanctioned along with the rest of the candidates, after what they have done to the world economy.

108. Glamaig

Blair took a hammering on Call Kaye. Kaye sounding rather subdued. A few texts came in supportive of Blair. Sometimes I wonder if they make up the texts. Just for balance, of course.

One of the callers made a good point – if Gordon Brown had used his moral compass and walked out along with Robin Cook, that might have been the end of it.

109. heedtracker

Valerie says:
    7 July, 2016 at 9:14 am
    That terminally odious Iain Martin, Capx and raging Brexiteer, posted his blog comment,

Also very tory, his total silence on Chilcot, with an extra i, for toryboy luck. Even Micheal Howard repented on BBC r4 Today, regletable, so regletable, thousands of dead. Hundred’s of thousands maybe less regletable.

http://reaction.life/author/iain/

Iain is a former editor of The Scotsman and a former senior executive at the Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph

Strange blog photo too, the view from his favourite glory hole no doubt.

110. drew sword

talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk

When does the action start?

Abolish British Empire
    Abolish House of Lords
    Abolish monarchy
    Independence for Scotland, Ireland, Gibralter and all the wee dependencies.

111. Glamaig

I now understand why the Labour MPs were so desperate to get rid of Corbyn before Chilcot was released. Nothing to do with fear of Corbyn calling for Blair to go on trial or be impeached – its because Corbyn comes out of this well and is now strengthened.

112. Macnakamura

New chocolate bar …… the Brexit bar.
    Unfortunately, it crumbles when unwrapped, is hard to swallow and leaves a bad taste in the mouth.
    All for £ sterling or an ever increasing number of € $

113. ronnie anderson

Paul Flynn MP {respect for HOC & Politicians is now Subterranean} well said that Man.

114. cearc

macnakamura,

… and it’s going up!

‘#Brexit is making chocolate more expensive as pound’s collapse drives cocoa to 39-yr high http://on.ft.com/29yPpaM

115. heedtracker

BBC Newsnight rounded off a very light weight Chilcot hour debate thing, with Robert Cook’s Iraq war house of commons resignation speech. Strange crew of Labour oddballs and weirdos around Cook but right behind him, there’s a young Corbyn, in total agreement.

On balance JC didn’t look that young back them and he’s pretty ancient know, which makes this whole red tory Lab power struggle pretty pointless for starters.

BBC Newsnight’s Chilcot debate had at least 2 of our greatest political commentators, Will Self and Rory the Tory, chuntering away but not saying anything at all. Funny that.

Rory the Tory went to Iraq you see and he’s rory the tory, ergo, he’s important, not the archetypal bumptious tory twit you want to stick with a large hat pin.

116. bjsalba

@Nana

Insults to Tasmina by Mundel: An Answer.

The reason for her many memberships?

She had to go through that many till she found one where what was in the box matched what was shown on the lid.

117. Cuilean

Watched ‘Scotland Tonight’ last night. The main ‘guest’ was nasty piece of work, from Slab’s Old Guard, Adam Ingram, Ex slab East Kilbride MP for 23 years.(1987-2010).

Ingram reeks of Establishment entitlement & arrogance. He was Blair’s righthand man, during the Iraq invasion, as Minister of Armed Forces. He refused any apology or regret for the invasion & all responsibility for the aftermath. Ingram’s defence was that when an aggressor is attacking your country, you can’t wait for the right uniform or weapons or vehicles. SNP’s Stephen Gethins pointed out that the British army was the aggressor and the invader! We attacked with sub-standard uniforms, arms & vehicles. Ingram fell back on the 9:11 trope. Gethins reminded Ingram that Saddam Hussein was not involved in 9:11 & Saddam was an implacable foe of Al Queda. Ingram could care less.

Alarmingly, this bitter, twisted old duffer is a member of the Privy Council, which advises the Queen.As an ex Orange Order member he’ll like that!

Ingram famously tried to stop George Galloway, then Respect MP, publishing a book which stated Ingram, “played the flute in a sectarian, anti-Catholic, Protestant-supremacist Orange Order band”. Ingram’s case fell apart when his lawyer had to admit in court that Ingram had been a member of the Orange Order & had attended Orange Order walks.The judge (obviously a man of wisdom and some humour) in throwing out Ingram’s case, mused that Galloway’s description of the OO as a ‘sectarian, anti-Catholic, Protestant-supremacist’ was an accurate description and fair comment! Ingram made a bigger idiot of himself by persisting that it was still defamation as he never played the flute! Again the judge ruled that being able to play a flute, was not a lewd or criminal activity! Belligerent Ingram had to pay all court costs plus George Galloway laughed all the way from the court to the bank, as his book sales increased thanks to the publicity!

In 2009 Ingram declared outside earnings of £170,000, the largest of any Scottish MP. It was shown that letters in the local press, defending these earnings, were forged.

In June 2010 at the public inquiry into the beating to death of Baha Mousa in custody Ingram conceded he misled MPs, when Armed Forces Minister, over British troops’ hooding Iraqi prisoners. He assured MPs prisoners were only hooded during transportation but Ingram received documents which stated Mousa had been hooded for nearly 24 of 36 hours that he spent in British Army custody. Lying is in their DNA. He was found not guilty by Westminster Standards Authority of any wrong doing but showed ‘bad judgement’. A wrist slap only! Quelle surprise!

Ingram was embroiled in another scandal in 2010; the cash for influence sting operation, ‘Dispatches’ film. Ker-ching!

His Slab successor Michael McCann MP was embroiled in all sorts of jiggery pokery until ousted by the SNP in 2015 General Election. Local Labour councillors have resigned citing Ingram being the real power broker still in the local Slab party although deeply resented bu current labour members in the area. Possibly because Ingram was the last of the Old Guard to be able to take the local votes for granted. Notably McCann was reported to the PF by police for a hostile incident involving the then Labour MP and two young boys leafletting during Indyref1. It was of course all hushed up by MSM. Of course if an SNP MP had had a similar altercation with two young ‘Better Together’ leafleteers, and been reported by police to the PF’s office, we would never have heard the end of it.

What a rank sewer of self-interest is SLAB. Why, why do the BBC give this discredited, third placed, dying party of the past, any airtime at all?

118. Luigi

Banks too big to fail.

Politicians too big to jail.

What a sad world we live in.

119. galamcennalath

Glamaig says:

“Corbyn comes out of this well and is now strengthened.”

Yes. The contrast between his principles and moral stature when compared to Blairites stands out for everyone to see. I thought the man did well! (For a Labour politician)

Blairites are, after all, followers of Blair whose name is now like the scrapings from the bottom of the WM sewer.

120. Macandroid

With Blair now ahem “cleared” of war crimes does this leave the way for Brenda to give him the title Lord Bastard of Bush?

121. Dan Huil

Good day to bury bad britnat news.

122. cearc

Interesting from The Record, ‘EU diplomats won over by Sturgeon as they tell her ‘We would welcome Scotland back to Europe’

http://archive.is/Xy7z7

Interesting (you’ll have already seen the statements unless you get all your news from Wings) because it ends with a tail comment from Mundell. Surely, it should have been Mundell says can’t, with with a tailing comment from the SNP or are they realising (at last) which side of the Indyref debate any future readers will be?

123. mike cassidy

Almannysbunnet 10.05am

Davidson has gone from claiming Scottish Tories will go independent if Boris Johnson becomes PM –

to mourning the withdrawal of her soulmate from the Tory leadership race.

So its desert the floating ship of Scotland or bite the bullet and support indyref2.

Loved this from the article.

” all she can now say is: “I know my Westminster colleagues are ghastly. Vote Tory.” This isn’t a winning line. No wonder Brexit has robbed Scottish Conservatism’s happy warrior of her joie de vivre. The European referendum is Ms Davidson’s albatross. The weight of it may yet drive her political career into the dirt. “

124. Lenny Hartley

How about we set up a fundraiser to have Blair and his cronies Extraordinary renditioned to Abu Ghraib. Think they would look fetching in Orange boiler suits 🙂 There are risks, Bliar might be welcomed by Daesh with open arms as founder in chief of that Organisation.

125. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Hahaha I knew that would catch you out. I like to keep you on your toes, even if its over the sink!
    I guess I really ought to put health warnings before some of the links, but where’s the fun in that?

As to Muddle’s spaniel look, I see he had his rottweiler sour soubry sitting beside him, is she working him like a puppet. Seems she is often there goading him on with her pocket likely full of treats for a ” good boy”

126. Jack Murphy

Cadogan Enright said at 1:18am today”…………………………..When someone finally faces the EBC in court , Robertson and GA Ponsonby will have all the evidence needed to prove their appalling bias

http://indyref2.scot/reporting-scotland-still-manipulating-the-news

We are privileged to have such talent on our side”.

The ordinary hardworking employees at BBC Scotland,when viewing these clips must be sick to the back teeth. 🙁

127. Socrates MacSporran

macandroid

“The Court”, if we can use that all-embracing term for the self-serving bunch of brown-nosers who surround and advise the Monarch, may be many things and have miriad faults, but, I do not think even they would be stupid enough to enoble Tony B Liar – that would be a step too far.

B Liar supposedly turned down a knighthood because he was: “Just an ordinary guy”. After Chilcot, with his reputation trashed, he will not even have the fall back of being Lord Blair, far less The Earl of St James’ Park (as a former PM, he is still “entitled” to an earldom) – a wee title which banks and other finance houses who care not a jot what the public thinks of them, think looks good on the directors’ roll.

I don’t suppose the Wicked Witch will be too pleased. Bang goes her chance of ever being Lady Blair, and she will find it a bit harder to brown nose her own way to the top of the legal tree too, I would surmise.

A wee aside – “The Midge” in the Herald likened Angela Eagle to “Eddie the Eagle”. Eddie might be seen as a great British eccentric and a figure of fun, but, he had the balls to jump. He wasn’t very good at ski jumping, but, he is still the British record holder, perhaps because, no other Briton has been brave/daft enough to try ski jumping at elite level.

128. heedtracker

I’ve not heard or seen anything 3rd party SNP on any UK tv or radio thing om Chilcot, especially the BBC creep show but even so, anything SNP gets the rule Britnat treatment in his scotland region.

Scott Arthur ?@DrScottThinks 17h Edinburgh, Scotland
    Salmond, the man who was Trump’s poodle, is now suggesting that he’d have stood up to Bush where Blair didn’t. Simply not credible.

129. Nana

Some of Blair’s letters to Bush.

http://archive.is/3uQLe

130. heedtracker

BBC Politics, toryboy says Blair didn’t lie, he “convinced” himself. Any more of this extraordinary rule Britannia toryboy shite and it would become of comedy if it wasn’t so tragic. That was Mathew Paris, ex tory MP, Times ligger, just like the actual Ligger.

131. laukat

Might just be me but the unionist argument now looks to be down to one question, Why would Scotland prioritise a Union with the EU over a union with rUK when we export more to rUK than to the EU and also run the risk of a hard border between Scotland and England?

Well I’m not sure this stacks up to any close passing scrutiny. Even the hard core Brexiteers such as Farage want access to the common market. If Scotland is in Europe then its in the common market. So if rUK gets access to the common market it can’t restrict Scotland’s trade to rUK. Is that correct?

Also if rUK doesn’t want a hard border between N Ireland and the republic of Ireland and risk either re-unification or the restart of the troubles it will have to come up with a way of having a soft border and common travel between a EU and non-EU state. If that’s correct then surely that model would be standard and apply to Scotland?

If the above is correct then rUK will itself have to answer and defeat the last arguments of unionism in Scotland?

132. Breeks

I’m angry and sad for Iraq, and deeply resentful of all the things done in our name, but you know what? The best remedy I can think of is to throw ourselves behind this campaign for Scotland’s independence. Aye, you keep your Union jack and Tomahawk missiles and just get yersells tae fk.

The rUK is bleeding talent right now as Euro jobs reposition themselves for access to Europe post Brexit. That’s potential investment that could be coming to Scotland if we get a shift on. I dare say there are Scottish businesses too who perhaps cannot take our Independence for granted but have to plan ahead. They need to know what the script says.

I just get a bad feeling about the “Special Relationship” that gives us rotten, chiselling, back stabbing low life, cheating, lying, fly-by-night politicians here, and Donald Trump or Hillary Clinton over the pond. What is wrong with the pile that, that is what gets to the top?

The window of opportunity to make things better seems smaller than ever. Sooner or later, there’s a rogue state somewhere going to do a deal, some religious extremist is going to get hold of something really nasty, and they are going to get through the net. It will be too late to do anything about it, and we’ll all sit about pointing fingers at the hawks in office whom we should have removed, and the moral principles we should have adhered to.

I want a better world than this. I want a choice beside my mince and tatties.I want to drink French wine, compare the merits of chorizo, bratwurst, and salami on a crispy bagette; to munch into one of those Spanish tomatoes from the greenhouses you can see from space. Belgian chocolate with Italian ice cream for desert. I want to get it all fresh from an open air marketplace without running the risk that some crazy jihadist blowing everything to shit because he grew up in world of blood spattered rubble where the West blew everything of his to shit, and then the bogey men with sharp knives came out of peoples nightmares and into their everyday lives.

What did you do in the war Daddy? I stopped it happening kid. I stopped it all happening.

133. schrodingers cat

with brexit
    the britnat wing of the tories lost out to the engnat wing. ruthie and tomkins left feeling isolated and unloved

tomkins says, nicola must be at the heart of the yookay negotiations with the eu

except the eu has banned any negotiations with the uk until it presses the article 50 button.

… um, perhaps tomkins can have a word with his engnat mates down south and ask them when they propose to do this?

that way nicola can arrange, flights and stuff?

134. Almannysbunnet

@laukat says:11:56 am
    “the unionist argument now looks to be down to one question, Why would Scotland prioritise a Union with the EU over a union with rUK when we export more to rUK than to the EU”

The repost should be, why is it that we export more to a country of only 50 million when we have access to a market of 700 million? Set us free and our export figures will soar.

135. galamcennalath

Keep seeing stories like this from around Europe, but not reported in UK press

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/france-woos-business-from-uk-with-tax-breaks-34862406.html

Clearly everyone sees Brexit as an opportunity to poach companies and jobs out of an isolationist UK.

If things turn out well for Scotland, we might be the most attractive destination for ‘fleeing’ businesses.

136. John Russell

When does the Dr David Kelly investigation start? Did his death by whatever means, not come about around the same time as the Iraq war?

137. Brian McHugh

Dunno if Stu is aware, but if you try to access the main page on Android, this appears on a fully white background…

“It works!

This is the default web page for this server.

The web server software is running but no content has been added, yet.”

I can get access to the rest of the site, but not the main page.

The Main Page works fine on PC.

138. Connor McEwen

But perhaps most importantly, we’ve been here before. In 1999 the SNP stood on its most left of centre manifesto, promising to raise ‘a penny for Scotland’ through tax. It gained its second highest vote share in history in that election. But the right of the party promised that if the party dropped the pledge and instead made common cause with the banking sector in the model of New Labour, it would get the electoral success of New Labour.

It failed to deliver – in bucketloads. The SNP vote slumped very substantially and those votes went to the Greens and the SSP. It was only as the SNP moved back to the social democratic side of the spectrum in 2007 that progress was made.

Robin McAlpine ,political strategist. in Commonspace.com MMM

139. Effijy

Complete and utter “Blairstatd”!
    Tony’ s acting debut in Julius Ceaser at
    Fettes College has stood him in good stead

His first and only priority was to back Bush,
    No matter what. For me, the only reason could
    Be to access their wealth and rich “job” opportunities

He sold the lives of our soldiers and the innocents
    In Iraq for his own personal gain.

His bloody money must be arrested under the
    Proceeds of Crime. He must also face the courts of the Hague

140. laukat

@Almannysbunnet totally agree with you point, I was just looking to check that my thinking was correct and that the Unionist argument is now self defeating

141. Bob Mack

@Breeks,

Loved your post. Brings back memories of Italy on warm summer nights,and sea breezes from the Med whilst lying on a Majorcan beach. I truly am a European.

142. Nana

The bbc are corrupt and the presenters full of crap. I wonder if anyone will confront Marr with his lies

https://twitter.com/novaramedia/status/750731458378100736?lang=en-gb

There is a link to a documentary here by Bill Moyers Buying the war

143. Dr Jim

Robin McAlpine Political whit now?

I like a good laugh as well but **shudders**

144. Effijy

RE Almanbysbubnet above!

We, Scotland, do not export, as such, to England,
    For every bit of profit made from such transactions
    Go straight to Westminster.

Westminster then squander it on English Infrastructure
    For English Conpanies and English people.

This certainly won’t be happening when Englabd leaves
    The EU, and Scotland remains.

They can pay for their own Trisent, High Speed
    Railway, Crossrail, New London Sewers, HoL
    Refurbishment, etc,etc.

145. Grouse Beater

Some thoughts on Blair and brotherhood: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-7HY

146. carjamtic

Chilcot,Brexit, Better Together,the unloved children of their UKOK neo-liberal parents,the Red/Blue Tories and the BBC/MSM,they have a lot to answer for.

The DNA results are in,there can be no more denials,no more attempts at illegitimising,akin to adulterous adults who never took any precautions in all the ‘excitement’ of some affair,this however,was no ‘one night stand’,this has been and still is a long term,ongoing,meaningful (sleazy) relationship.

What now ? Regret ? Sorry? Shame ?

No

Running away or denying everything is not good enough,does’nt even come close to being good enough and it really does’nt matter which one of them will be the ‘New Face of the Relationship’ they are all involved,all tainted.

The people of Scotland can decide for themselves,at the ballot box,but IMO they will be disowned (the parents that is)every last one of them,we all,have had enough,we have been damaged,our children have been damaged,we need to undo this,we need to repair ourselves,rebuild our future,we need to protect and keep our young ones safe and to do that,we need to leave this immoral,corrupted union.

#itistime

147. Alan Mackintosh

So papers on David Kelly’s death to be locked away for 70 years. Might have something to do with the South African nukes that he(as a weapons specialist) and David Cameron were involved with.

http://www.veteranstoday.com/2015/02/08/the-color-of-david-camerons-underwear/

Something else to note though. The papers about Dunblane and Thomas Hamilton have been locked away for 100 years. So what exactly is it they’re trying to hide if its more sensitive than David Kelly?

148. Craig P

Dorothy Devine – if you didn’t vote Labour or Conservative in 2005, please feel as righteous as you like.

By 2005 though, yours and mine Labour voting friends knew fine what they were condoning.

It was a big lesson to me at the time, that most people don’t really care about terrible things happening to others so long as they are not personally affected.

I just naively assumed that as it was obvious the war was wrong, and that wrongly declaring war on someone was the biggest thing a government would do, that everyone would vote to change the government.

149. Tinto Chiel

“Something else to note though. The papers about Dunblane and Thomas Hamilton have been locked away for 100 years. So what exactly is it they’re trying to hide.”

Lots of speculation on the net, Alan M, which you can Google easily, involving at least two senior and famous MPs and their alleged links with Hamilton. I believe the only other 100 year ban was for some atrocity in the Sudan involving Kitchener, so the Establishment must have been worried.

Westminster is a sump and we need to get away from it pronto.

Nana: got caught by your bait again. I’m so predictable…. If I were a fish I’d be stuffed and mounted on the lounge bar wall.

😎

150. ronnie anderson

http://www.businessinsider.com.au/chilcot-inquiry-blairs-2003-memo-on-un-resolution-to-trick-public-and-europe-into-b

Just in case its not been posted before.

(A,ll bloody slow down ye lol)

151. Alan Mackintosh

Tinto, aye I have seen the stuff about the Seer of Doom(Robertson) and the speculative society etc. I mentioned it as a comparison so that others would be informed.

152. Tinto Chiel

Alan, and he used to be my MP but now we’ve got a real one.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.