Pack up, don’t stray

Posted on March 26, 2016 by

We were mucking about doing some other stuff today when we came across these. We thought they looked quite striking all put together.

scottishelectionmaps

No other reason than that, really.

90 to “Pack up, don’t stray”

1. Uncle Bob

Yellow is my favourite colour

2. Giesabrek

As happened before, resistance and uprising started in the Highlands! And I’m a Central Lowlander.

3. heedtracker

2015 blue bit looks like Scotland’s large colon.

4. Bugger (the Panda)

Works for me.

“move to the top of the class”

5. pic

No idea how that happened…but long may it continue.

6. call me dave

I love that wee Scottie dug (Fife) in yellow.

I take it the light blue bits were the ‘Nation Liberals/Conservatives’

and the dark blue bits were’Unionists’

7. The Knome

I dont suppose we can have a legend of who the colours represent?
    I can understand the later ones but the purple and lights blues have me at a loss without actually looking through the voting history.

Interesting to see how the boundaries of representation have changed too.

8. bugger (the Panda)

Inevitable evolution?

9. mealer

I think it’s quaint how they still use different colours to depict the different branches of London Tory.Are the light blues of 55 and 59 independents ?

10. call me dave

Little teaser of a Sunday Post poll sounds dire for labour ‘in Scotland’ and I thought ’20 was plenty’ for them too. 🙂

I can think of two Donovan hits with yellow in the title.

11. David

Due to “First past the post” voting system and the high vote for SNP/Indy, we have 56 out of 59 Westminster seats.

This is a clear mandate for independence, and will be reinforced by the upcoming Holyrood vote.

I would ‘like’ to see the map go 100% SNP, but I would LOVE to see the same map become irrelevant to Scotland. This will happen when we rule ourselves from Holyrood alone, and do not take any more part in the UK parliament at Westminster.

I hope and expect Scotland will achieve independence within the next 5 to 10 years.

12. Gerry

A good few thousand words painted there.

13. Jas

Maps that describe the story of a gradual, patient, resolute, democratic and peaceful Revolution.

14. Iain More

Mellow Yellow for the Donovan fan above! I cant remember the other one. The memory is going.

re the Sunday Post. Ceased taking the Sunday Post into the house years ago after it turned into a rotten Brit Nat mouthpiece and Scot hating rag. The deil tak them as well.

15. Clootie

…now that would make a great wall poster!
    :-O

16. Marcia

Call me Dave is correct in that the light blue on the 1955 map is Conservative & National Liberal a hangover from the 1931 coalition government, just like Labour & Co-operative party. The 1974 map refers to the October Election of that and looks right to me.

17. Croompenstein

Bright Yellow like the sun dawning that the best people to govern Scotland are the people who live and work in Scotland.

18. Iain More

Well Off topic!

I love that Ingerland beat Germany and came from 2-0 I hear. They will be braying about it for weeks and this following on from their Grand Slam win! We will have weeks of their braying arrogance! Another electoral gift for the Indy Parties!

19. Ghillie

‘Bright yellow like the sun dawning…’

I like that! Thank you Croompenstein = )

Morning Has Broken = )

20. Graf Midgehunter

With the appropriate text that would make a good poster. It’s like Evolution in motion. 🙂

Apart from a brief interlude in 1974, my hometown in the North East has been SNP since 1987.

Took a while for the Weegies to catch up…! (Only joking!)

21. louis.b.argyll

Message to unionists..

..To (eventually) return to a political map of mixed colour, we will need independence.

Anything less and we (continue to) democratically scupper your pathetic patronising excuse for a political system.

So long as a hundred…

22. Craig Sheridan

Magic, I was after a new desktop background. This will do nicely. As soon as we are independent, I’ll be quite up for all the colours of the rainbow to feature in our independent proportionally represented democratically elected country.

23. Gill

Map reading?

24. schrodingerscat

i had a badge with the holyrood election result from 2011

you missed that one stu

indeed, salmond had the map framed and hung in bute house
    it still hangs there

i would love to see the blue bit disappear in a few weeks time. maybe we should send aid and help to morag to help her achieve it.

morag has the toughest nut to crack after all

25. call me dave

No news of poll yet… unless someone has a linky thing?

PS:
    Donovan:

Yellow is the colour:
    Mellow Yellow:

Morning has Broken:

Marvelous song: Sang it at a funeral for an old journeyman of mine last month.

Lots of good versions…Yusuf Islam former stage name Cat Stevens always in my CD player in the car. Calming the road rage! 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXWI6ISkzlI

26. schrodingerscat

you know, the despondency of sept 14 is slowly giving way to a light at the end of the tunnel

the maps are all turning yellow, supoort for the snp is at an all time high, the last remaining obstacle to indy, slab, is imploding on all fronts and the polls only ever move on one direction, ours.

on top of this, the enthusiasim the snp gained from the ref, seems to be re manifesting itself again in yes2, the gears maybe grinding but there is defo a spring in the air

in the early hour of eoster 2016, the animosity i felt for the scots who voted no is being replaced by the ray of sunshine of those determined to imagine another scotland.
    we are winning

happy easter folks

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation-now/2016/03/26/watch-small-bird-lands-bernie-sanders-podium/82289730/

27. Ghillie

Happy Happy Easter folks = )

28. Croompenstein

Happy Easter. my inlaws are in Dublin for centenary celebrations. It must be remembered that it wasn’t a popular rising and that there followed a bloody civil war.

It’s worth bearing in mind that the way we felt on 19th Sept is the way our unionists will feel when we finally achieve independence. They will react like a cornered animal and lash out but we will have to reach out to them and not react to them.

We will have a peaceful, bloodless path to independence and must take lesson from the Irish journey.

29. Vambomarbeleye

Yellows the colour of my true love.

30. Ghillie

call me dave@12.22am

Thank you for the links to Cat/Yushaf! It is great to hear his voice again! Loved Donovan too!

I too sang Morning has Broken at a clansman’s funeral recently. It was so joyful, not sad. He said himself he was going home 🙂

Happy Easter to you too Shrodingerscat!

Scotland has woken = )

31. Proud Cybernat

When the O & S Isles turn yellow then we will finally know it is curtains for the Union. They’re the indy bellwether. When they turn then it really will be time for Nicola to call IndyRef2.

32. INDEPENDENT

Call me Dave.
    Cat Stevens was always playing on my car.
    But it was on a 8 track!!!!
    OOPS! Showing my age. Vynil roof Vauxhall Ventora 3.3 litre. Probably be illegal now for the emissions. Memories!!

33. Ghillie

Happy Easter Croompenstein = )

It has been on my mind too that Unionists could feel very bad about the changes that are coming. Rejected and desolate.

Yes, we all need to find a way to reach out and comfort them in their grief. And above all reasure that they belong and that Scotland’s Independence will work well for everyone.

Our joy will be for sharing.

34. Peter Mirtitsch

Can’t you do an animation of that?

35. Jimmy

Interesting. Red has never covered the map as much as golden yellow.

36. galamcennalath

Attitudes change through time. The collapse of each Unionist party is starkly shown here.

My big concern is that the SNP’s dominance too will recede at some point. No SNP majority means no possibility whatsoever of IndyRef2. If a second majority is achieved in May, IMO we must have IndyRef2 before the next election. The risk of doing otherwise is far too high.

37. Macart

Changing attitudes through the decades in living colour. You can see the establishment losing its grip one finger at a time.

Nice. 🙂

38. Shane

The Obvious Comes To Only One Conclusion…
    Cognitive Dissonance.

39. Richardinho

When you’re young you think things will never change. One of the good things about being older is you appreciate the fact that they can and do!

40. Donald Anderson

The original SNP colours were Gold for the prosperity of Independence and Black for British Rule.

Red was for Labour’s necks. Blue was for cold Tory Hearts and Orange for the Liberals, Lang faced Whigamores, who supported the Williamite succession. Orange came from the Dutch West Indies Orange slave plantations of Curacao.

41. Ken500

Yusuf in the car

‘Father and Son’

42. IvMoz

Cocktaillion 10:53pm

Albert MacQuarrie was not Ken MacQuarrie’s father! Albert MacQuarrie’s son is called Dermot.

43. Ken500

Yusuf concert in the Albert Hall

Gives his money to charity. Rumour he found religion after nearly drowning.

44. Craig P

Tenacious buggers, those south of Scotland Tories!

45. Robert Louis

Those images are all well and good, but the actual maps of Scotland are quite wrong. Scotland is a much smaller country than shown above, that slopes away into nothingness, squashed at the top. I know this as I have seen such maps on our highly respected, reputable and wholly honest BBC. 🙂

http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/02/27/honey-i-shrunk-the-country/

46. jdman

Ian More @ 11.21
    the other one was Yellow star, May 1974

47. jdman

Oh and Yellow is the colour of my true loves hair, there were three! 🙂

48. Grouse Beater

Yellow is not my favourite colour, but, erm, under the circumstances I think I’ll live with it.

The ‘something for nothing’ society bites back: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-5BD

49. gerry parker

The Yellow Pearl.

50. Skooshcase

I drew a (line) cross
    I drew a (line) cross for you
    Oh what a thing to do
    And it was (all) almost all yellow

(Many regards to Coldplay – Yellow)

51. Liz Rannoch

How happy was I when in 2015 Fife went sunshine coloured!?

How about Coldplay’s Yellow? And will the M74 and A1 become the ‘Yellow Brick Roads’?

Happy Easter folks – now where’s that egg?..

52. Liz Rannoch

Ah Skooshcase you beat me to it!

53. Davie Strachan

When you zoom in you can finally see a Red plook in Edinburgh.

54. Brian Powell

A print of that would be a great wall hanging. Maybe that badge and wood carving company could put one together.

55. Breeks

I’m turning into a bit of a carmugeon, but turning a map yellow, or filling a tour bus bound for Westminster are remarkable achievements, in a country where the remarkable doesn’t get remarked upon; unless of course it claps when it shouldn’t.

What does it matter if we can turn the map yellow if we can’t regulate domestic propaganda?
    What does it matter if we can turn the map yellow if we can’t manage our own oil?
    What does it matter if we can turn the map yellow if we can’t protect our renewables?
    What does it matter if we can turn the map yellow if it doesn’t deliver Independence?

I get an uneasy feeling about our complacency. We can see democracy in action; an SNP majority in Holyrood, and an SNP majority in Westminster, and yet it delivers nothing. What will a greater size of majority deliver? Add a bit more yellow to the map?

The SNP is masterfully vague, inevitably so I suppose; allowing a very broad kirk to fit their notions and ideas into the SNP’s polymorphic policy. That’s ok, the polymorphic umbrella is Independence, but for many of us it is ONLY Independence.

Our SNP government is enjoying it’s double barrelled majority, but sooner or later, we will need to see if the weapon is loaded. The SNP will have to join the dots between winning our Independence and the ever stronger democratic majority which manifestly can’t deliver it.

There is a growing need for the SNP to articulate the stepping stones which lie before us to reach our Independence.

I don’t care for a yellow map. I want to see a road map from A to B; from disenfranchised UK region to Sovereign Independent state.

And just for starters, I want to see their mechanism designed to confound the UKOK propaganda. Frankly, I think that is the most vital and defining imperative which confronts them. We might have a yellow political map, but our airwaves remain deepest BBC black.

56. Lenny Hartley

Sunday post poll of pensioners! Ten years back would have bitten your hand off to get this sort of poll out of all voters to bebsomhighlybregarded bynPensioners is astonishing 🙂

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CeiVD6mWIAA5WaY.jpg

57. Jack Collatin

Breeks, well said. There is nothing that they’d like better than for us to implode.
    The BBC is devoting a chunk of my licence fee filming the posh and privileged rowing against each other on the Thames today.
    The dutiful will line the embankment cheering on their future Lords and Masters at play.
    History will laugh at us.
    Patience . 60-40 is at hand.
    Our day is nigh.

58. Brian McHugh

Couldn’t agree more. Well said Breeks. We need to get control of broadcasting in Scotland to stop the telentless propaganda.

59. Brian McHugh

Oops typo.

60. Muscleguy

Really needs the Holyrood constituency results intervening. Otherwise the jump from 2010 to 2015 looks too abrupt. It needs to be seen in context for the trand to show.

61. Fred

Must say I agree with Breeks’ last paragraph, the rest’s jist showin aff! 🙂

I would like to see Jackie Bird reading the news with these maps as a back-drop.

62. JET JOCKEY

Looking at the above map it reminded me of the interview Robin Day did with Prime Minister Ted Heath on national television. Mr Day asked the PM what was his thoughts were on Scotland going Independent. Mr Heath’s answer was very clear, Scotland would manage perfectly well , plenty of talented people and resources.
    Can any wingers remember that interview, and when exactly it took place, any chance some maybe recorded it, the BBC are unlikely to do a replay. I did contact the BBC some time ago about this interview but got no reply.

63. Alastair Naughton

Just a quick question, but what are the light blues?

64. Stoker

Rev, that would make one helluva large poster with Yes2snp2 in big black bold right across the bottom and stick it oan ma windaes.
    Thank you!

BTW, and Dippy Dug & Co have been trying to spout the mantra that the SNP isn’t progressive! I beg to differ! MWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

65. Fred

@ Alastair, mebbes pre Lib/Dem Liberal?

66. Foonurt

Awe yoan rid-faced, hairy-ersed Boardurrs fermurrs, need ah talkin tae. Yoan Viking plunderurrs wull come roon ivenshlae.

67. Jack Collatin

Stu, these maps cannot be accurate. I watch the BBC Scotland weather forecasts.
    Every child knows that Sussex is at least four times bigger than the isthmus of Scotland!

68. Vronsky

In that final image, Toryism looks like an invasive tumour.

69. Jack Collatin

Vronsky, David Mundell:- Scotland’s anal retention.

70. G H Graham

I think it’s safe to predict, that when a county like Perthshire, stuffed to the brim with titled aristocrats with accents from the Home Counties, has been held by the SNP (John Swinney’s turf) for almost two decades, the union has finally reached its last chapter.

Now looking forward to the epilogue. Oh, and a contrite eulogy from Downing Street.

71. steveasaneilean

Hey Stu – any chance of getting this turned into a glossy A2 poster because if so I would by one or two.

72. Not Convinced

Brian McHugh said @ 10:29:
    Couldn’t agree more. Well said Breeks. We need to get control of broadcasting in Scotland to stop the telentless propaganda.

I know it’s a typo, but did you mean “relentless” or “talentless”? 😀 Or perhaps both?

73. Brian McHugh

Not Convinced… myself, that I didn’t mean the latter 🙂

see what I did there LOL

74. old dearie

When did everything change from only needing a majority of SNP MPs to secure Independence?. That was definitely the view not so very long ago. We do allow ourselves to be out-manoeuvred over several issues. We are to have our next parliament using insufficient powers but being judged as if we had full powers. Like other posters I do worry that the electoral pendulum will swing again and it will be back to business as usual for unionist parties.

I long to hear words that are not just a repeat of everything we hear on FMQ. Come on Nicola throw in some “googlies” to test the mettle of the other leaders. Most of them do not think well on their feet and that includes the so-called moderators.

75. Onwards

We have to remember the first past the post system is helping the SNP when the unionists are divided. Constituencies can be won with under 40% of the vote.
    Still lots of work to do, but we are slowly getting there.

76. chasanderson200

The tide of history in a graphic – Canute couldn’t stop the tide and neither can Westminster.

OT – TOM JARDINE – The book I mentioned in Waxy’s is by Arthur Herman and is called
    “How the Scots invented the modern World”. IT is must read and should for the basis for teaching Scottish history to our schoolbairns.

77. Stoker

steveasaneilean wrote:
    “Hey Stu – any chance of getting this turned into a glossy A2 poster because if so I would buy one or two.”

Agreed, but i was thinking more along the lines of a 4ft x 2ft.
    Is that anywhere near A2 size? I suppose a range of sizes would cover the majority of windows.

I’d rather purchase one via some Independence supporting outlet.

Getting them custom made will cost that bit extra but you can get your own message printed on it above and/or below the maps.
    Obviously it’ll be a message that will work well in your own area.

Mind you, it’s also a damn site cheaper to organise in bulk.

78. crazycat

Is Orkney and Shetland the only constituency that has never changed colour in that sequence?

79. Rock

heedtracker,

“2015 blue bit looks like Scotland’s large colon.”

Or Scotland’s appendix.

Could have been surgically removed if Patrick Harvie and the Greens had not stood a candidate against the SNP.

Don’t trust the Greens (and ‘ex-Greens’) one bit.

80. Thomas Widmann

I’d love to see these maps redrawn with equal-sized constituencies (like this map).

81. dormant

So nothing changed hands between 1987 and 1992, ie the fall of Thatcher. That’s quite striking.

82. Bob Mack

I think it is a great illustration of how rapid the pace of change has been. It is very noticeable that after the SNP had a majority,that people weighed them up against the alternatives and found them not wanting.

I think it shows growing trust in our ability to govern ourselves.Long may it continue.

83. Peter McCulloch

When I look at the maps of the political landscape of Scotland, I will never allow myself to forget that the success we have achieved today.

Is down the those who came before us, including some of my colleagues, who unfortunately never lived long enough to see the success their had work, faith and dedication has achieved

84. Smallaxe

Donovan

He sung mellow yellow & colours (yellow is the colour of my true love’s hair, in the morning when I rise)

85. Frazer Allan Whyte

Looks like a visual aid as to why independence should be declared rather than asked to be “granted”.

There is probably no other government in Europe with a mandate this strong for anything at all.

The powers that be in Westminster govern with about 30% and Scotland goes – in the words of the proclaimers – “cap in hand”…

I hope that the SNP have got it right but every moment delayed allows the wreckers in London to destroy more and deny a future to more.

What good is it for Scotland to play by the rules when the game is fixed?

86. Iain MacIlleChiar

What are the light blue seats in the first two elections? Liberal Unionists?

87. The Rough Bounds.

It started well before 1955. Professor MacIntyre was elected for Motherwell in 1945. While he was making his maiden speech there were interjections about ‘kilts’ etc.
    The Unionists who were shouting off about kilts were politely reminded that the English were very glad to have the military services of the men in kilts during two world wars.

The SNP colours, incidentally, are not yellow; they are gold. Yellow is used because of the huge expense in producing leaflets etc using gold ink.

The reason I know this is that I was on the committee in the mid sixties, chaired by Provost James Braid, that discussed several other colours: purple, tartan, red etc.

We voted unanimously on gold and black and our advice was taken to the party leaders. Thankfully they listened.

A lot of the SNP’s early history is worth looking into. We didn’t arrive where we are today by waiting for Labour, Tory and Liberal clots to make mistakes. We took the battle to them.

88. Bill Fraser

They may call us yellow but we ain’t scared !!

89. RabMac

Oh Rev I do hope you sent a copy to your Pedigree chum, we all know how much he loves a good graph ?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.