Outbreak 2016

Posted on June 27, 2014 by

We think this is how Ed actually sees it.

Because remember, readers, nationalism is a virus.

1. 27 06 14 21:08

Outbreak 2016 | Scottish Independence News

88 to “Outbreak 2016”

1. Lesley-Anne

Well if THAT is what he sees I don’t see what the problem is. Nothing untoward there, is there? That’s just a normal Saturday night out in Scotland, at least as how the Daily Mail sees Saturday night in Scotland! πŸ˜›

2. macart763m

Just Ed? πŸ˜€

Makes you wonder what May and Darling see. (shudders)

3. cynicalHighlander

Like the still at 2.01.

4. Croompenstein

Aye I’d take the young Wattie frae the Exploited as oor leader.. πŸ™‚

5. heedtracker

It’s funny because it’s true

6. Lesley-Anne

macart763m says:

Just Ed? πŸ˜€

Makes you wonder what May and Darling see. (shudders)

Each other perhaps? πŸ˜›

7. scottish_skier

George Robertson predicted this.

Only El Gordo can save the world.

8. Stoops

Is there a Barbarian Cannibal Virus Survivors for Independence group?

9. Neil Mackenzie

Must be that Nationalism virus I’ve heard tell of.

10. AnneDon

Wow, Rev, when you said on Twitter you were going to nick this, I didn’t realise you’d be so quick off the mark!

11. heedtracker

I’d retitle this movie, What New labour and George W Bush did to Iraq.

12. DougtheDug

If Ed’s going to put up border posts regardless we should just join Schengen.

It’ll mean less disruption when the rUK finally pulls out of the EU.

13. HandandShrimp

They really have developed a foreigner obsession in Westminster politics.

When did foreign become code for evil?

14. macart763m

@Lesley-Anne

Aaarrgghhh! No this close to nap time. πŸ˜›

15. Lesley-Anne

macart763m says:

@Lesley-Anne

Aaarrgghhh! No this close to nap time. πŸ˜›

Sorree! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

16. galamcennalath

Scotland, to see oorselves ar ithers see us !

Don’t know why it came to mind. But the pub scene in Cloud Atlas …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7PPbVCfAu5E

17. joe kane

The only known cure for the deadly Jock Virus (aka Salmondella) is the liberal deployment of British upper class twits at Edinburgh press conferences on a regular basis. OK it hasn’t worked until now but give it time.

Seriously though, even the hardline Unionist BBC Scotland can’t bring itself to publish a respectful and sober image of Miliband –
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28053031

18. Leo Foyle

Ah, great movie!

On the up side, if he sees Scotland like that, at least he sees a united Ireland (25 sec)…

19. Patrick Roden

Anyone up for starting a Cannibals for Independence Group?

We can say that after all the scare stories, we realise we will have to eat each other.

The group can decide what Labour politicians we will eat first…Johann? Mags Curran? Jackie Bailley? Gordon Brown?

Licking my lips at the thought of it!!!

Please note: I’m only jesting if your from the Daily Mail.

20. Another Union Dividend

Croompenstein says:
    27 June, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Aye I’d take the young Wattie frae the Exploited as oor leader.

That takes me back used to stand near Wattie at Tynecastle many moons ago and was a really nice guy.

21. Croompenstein

@AUD – I thought Wattie was a Hibee good to know he’s a Jambo. The boy in the film is a bit thinner than Wattie but one of his songs would be a good soundtrack for the film.. Dead Cities

22. Peter

Lovely bit of Grauniad sub-editing.

Ed Miliband to woo Scots with low pay pledge.

Those words. I do not think they mean what you think they mean. He’s going to offer us low pay? It’s certainly a novel approach but may be an idea who’s time had yet to come.

Not helped by the deranged serial killer illustration.

23. Tattie-bogle

WM “right lads cancel Hs2 we will build a wall around good old london and call it MEGA-LONDON 1”

24. Grouse Beater

A kickass heroine against Armageddon. Love it! I’ll buy it!

(I see my old protege, David O’Hara, man from the Gorbals, has a starring role – the mad Irishman from Braveheart.)

25. Tattie-bogle

Patrick Rodden
    Don’t know about that but maybe a valium or darkened room for yes

26. Democracy Reborn

So, where would we all like to be in 2020?

A. Independent ‘doomsday’ Scotland, or

B. ‘Permanent austerity’ UK : foodbanks, gross inequality, zero hours contracts, low wages, privatised NHS, further welfare cuts for the poorest, tax cuts for millionaires, pissing away oil wealth, Trident nuclear weapons, being nasty to ‘foreigners’ & immigrants, leaving the EU…

Answers on a postcard, please

27. Clootie

Com’n, this is serious…I think!

A democratic vote could end civilisation as we know it. A world without Lords or nuclear weapons. This is the image that keeps Labour MP’s awake at night.

28. Lesley-Anne

Tattie-bogle says:

Patrick Rodden
    Don’t know about that but maybe a valium or darkened room for yes

Don’t worry about the “Darkened Room” Tb it already exists. πŸ˜‰

When both Macart and I, under my Arbroath 1320 guise, were posting over on Newsnet we designed, built, stocked and enlarged the “Darkened Room” It is open 24/7 to all who follow the righteous path to independence and has the obligatory free bar! πŸ˜›

29. hetty

It certainly resembled a tenement street in a Scottish town or city, so must be a portend of things to come but my guess is it is much more a likelihood if it is by some dreadful chance, a no vote!

30. Ian Brotherhood

Just turned on RS News, and the first voice I hear is that of Nigel Farage, closely followed by total shite about Islamic terrorism spawned in Aberdeen.

That’s made my mind up – I’m going to Pacific Quay on Sunday. Futile as it may be, it’s a chance to see some of you again, and meet new folk.

The BBC is totally bang out of order, no matter which way anyone cuts or spins it.

I wrote this piece for BellaCaledonia in October, 2012 – if anything, the situation has worsened:

http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2012/10/30/that-was-then-this-is-now-then/

31. Bugger (the Panda)

Grousebeater

and

The District?

32. bookie from hell

David Coburn MEP @DavidCoburnUKip twitter

Best speech by far I have yet heard to preserve Union #Scotland – @georgegalloway

33. macart763m

@Lesley-Anne

The extension to the free form disco area is coming along well too. πŸ™‚

34. Lesley-Anne

macart763m says:

@Lesley-Anne

The extension to the free form disco area is coming along well too. πŸ™‚

Damn I’d forgotten about that thanks for reminding me Macart. πŸ˜‰

As far as winning the referendum folks don’t worry we have it in the bag. Here’s the proof. πŸ˜›

http://tinyurl.com/pmsx3gk

35. Grouse Beater

Panda: The District?

Yes, a better comparison!

36. Illy

“A. Independent β€˜doomsday’ Scotland, or

B. β€˜Permanent austerity’ UK : foodbanks, gross inequality, zero hours contracts, low wages, privatised NHS, further welfare cuts for the poorest, tax cuts for millionaires, pissing away oil wealth, Trident nuclear weapons, being nasty to β€˜foreigners’ & immigrants, leaving the EU…”

I think I’d do quite well personally in doomsday land, but I’d prefer option A πŸ˜‰

37. Clootie

@Macart

That darkened room seems a long time ago!

38. Lesley-Anne

Sorry I’m O/T here but just had to post this tweet over here. You really have to give it a go. πŸ˜›

Here is a wee game my daughter’s history teacher got them to play today. This will tickle all you Yessers.

http://games.usvsth3m.com/super-tory-boy/

#indyref

39. Kev

Well well, what do you get when you try to mix Escape from New York with 28 Days Later and some Mad Max? Total shite by the looks of it.

40. Lesley-Anne

Clootie says:

@Macart

That darkened room seems a long time ago!

It must be a good couple of years at least since Macart and I started building the infamous “Darkened Room.” Clootie πŸ™‚

41. Croompenstein

@Lesley-Anne – That is f*cking brilliant… I am loving the wee MIDI tune of Land of Hope and Glory I think they should play this version at the Proms….sooooperb πŸ˜€

42. Nana Smith

@Lesley Anne

Just fantastic!

43. Lesley-Anne

Croompenstein says:

@Lesley-Anne – That is f*cking brilliant… I am loving the wee MIDI tune of Land of Hope and Glory I think they should play this version at the Proms….sooooperb πŸ˜€

Nana Smith says:

@Lesley Anne

Just fantastic!

Thanks folks I’d like to take the compliments but unfortunately I only found it on Twitter it was actually someone else who was told about it by their daughter who’s teacher had shown them it. As you all say though it is *ahem* pure dead brilliant! πŸ˜›

44. Clootie

@Lesley-Anne

It is a game right? No one actually gets hurt, needs to use a food bank. The hospitals don’t actually close. It is all pretend?

πŸ™

45. caz-m

I thought the funniest quote of the day came from Tory luvvin Sky presenter Adam Bolton, when after hearing of the PMs massive defeat in Europe, Bolton called Cameron,

“Davey nea Mates”

That’s funny.

46. caz-m

Lesley-Anne

Are you still coming on Sunday?

47. macart763m

@Clootie

Architects and planning permission. Takes forever to get anything done. πŸ˜€

Yeah, know what you mean. Back when NNS had a sense of humour. Had some cracking laughs and arguments then on those threads.

48. Lesley-Anne

Clootie says:

@Lesley-Anne

It is a game right? No one actually gets hurt, needs to use a food bank. The hospitals don’t actually close. It is all pretend?

πŸ™

I bloody well hope so!

I’d hate to think this was some internetty thingy way of getting others to do Cameron’s work for him while he is away getting well and truly shafted by the E.U. πŸ˜›

49. Lesley-Anne

caz-m says:

Lesley-Anne

Are you still coming on Sunday?

Hi caz.

At the moment we are still thinking about coming up but tomorrow is quite busy for us. We’re at YES South Annandale stall in Annan in the morning and helping a friend out later so it will really be down to how we both feel on the Sunday. πŸ˜›

We both want to get to the protest but as neither of us are in the best of health for various reasons we really will have to leave it till Sunday morning before making a final decision. Sorry I can’t be more optimistic than this caz.

50. Defo

Touche. Anything PF can do… SG to publish ‘short guide’ to indy.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28068555

51. caz-m

Lesley-Anne

I hope the two of you can make it up,

I have attached a wee video that should help you oot with a bit of the Glasgow parly lingo, “Nea Bother Pal!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8pVnj11nk4

52. Lesley-Anne

Nae bother pal! πŸ˜›

Thanks for that caz πŸ˜‰

53. Tam Jardine

The Yes message going viral… is that really the message these principle sacrificers want to punt? Oh, okay – they just want to peddle the fear thing one more time. I tell you whit isnae a virus – support for either Ed Or JoLa’s leadership. Everyone seems to be immune.

If we are on the subject of post apocalyptic movies, one of my favourites is Mad Max 2- you know the one where a group of naive good looking idealists fend off the rampaging horde of crazies hell bent on stealing their precious gasoline. Sound familiar anyone?

m.youtube.com/watch?v=kBrAh3OyYnI

54. Tam Jardine

Not sure what I’ve done there.

Just a wee reminder for anyone not already planning to attend next Friday night – Wings Edinburgh night out will kick off at 7.30 Pm Friday 4th July downstairs at the Newsroom. If we have anyone driving through from a far do make yourselves known off topic if you can offer a lift.

Should be a guid night out amongst friends in our bonnie capital. As I said in a previous post’ don’t wake up on Saturday 5th regretting no going!

55. Liquid Lenny

0/T Been to Bateman tonight, excellent what an asset to our cause. Asked him why his blog is sometimes difficult to access, he said it had recently been upgraded and should be ok , when I said that folks were complaining that they could not get on, he just shrugged his shoulders and said he wasn’t a computer expert.

So I guess he must be getting attacked by the same folk who target WOS. Just have to get used to it folks…

56. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Great post you made on Bella back in 2012. I’m surprised your not behind bars yet. Ah, plenty time yet πŸ™‚

57. macart763m

You guys are going to love this. Take a wild guess at what is specifically not mentioned in the article.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/jun/27/snp-scottish-independence-ed-miliband?commentpage=1

58. Nana Smith

@macart763m

Could it possibly be putting up borders??

59. Thepnr

This has to be here, not on Off Topic. Posted bt ian Brotherhood. Fantastic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-GD-5mRyaJw

60. Lesley-Anne

I love this bit.

The Labour leader claimed the Scottish National party had no real commitment to social justice,

This from the man whose party INTRODUCED the bedroom tax and invited ATOS to find the ill, sick, disabled and the dead fit for work!

61. macart763m

@Nana and Lesley Anne

Got it in one, but the killer quote from our Ed was this:

“You don’t tackle social justice by putting up borders”

Hypocrite.

62. Lesley-Anne

I agree Thepnr absolutely fantastic. Mind you I would say that I just love everything that involves the playing of the pipes. πŸ˜‰

63. Thepnr

Here’s Jock Scot and Ninja’s latest. It’s great.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RU3zN-ExcM8

64. Grouse Beater

Does anybody really believe Miliband, an immature nerd, a swot, is fit to lead a major political party?

65. Lesley-Anne

Oh jeez Thepnr you should have put up a warning with that one. My sides are killing me! πŸ˜›

66. macart763m

πŸ˜€ That’s a cracker Thepnr.

67. Thepnr

@macart763m

Thanks buddy but don’t thank me, thank the genius that is Yew Choob πŸ™‚

68. Lesley-Anne

It may be their brilliance in creating them but it is your brilliance in linking to them Thepnr. πŸ˜‰

69. TJenny

Posted this in OT and worth saying twice – Jock Scot, Ninja Penguin and the man they call Ronnie Anderson – hope I’m not letting any cats out of bags here, but eat your heart out Paul Jones and Manfred Mann – superb. πŸ™‚

70. TJenny

And yes, I did google it for myself. πŸ˜‰

71. macart763m

Well its been a long day of laughing at Mr Ed. Time for a wee nap in the darkened room.

Nite all.

72. Michael McCabe

@Thepnr At the start of Amazing Grace is that a young Herman Van Rompuy Playing the Whistle ? The Pipes were Class.

73. Ian Brotherhood

@Yew Choob/Jock Scot/Ronnie –

FFS!

Awesome, and then some.

74. Colin

Building borders must be the scare topic of the week, milliballs have been churning it out all week. I can’t wait until Monday and the next scare story comes out.

75. Horseboy

Good news.

18.9IndyScotRadio pro-Independence youth online radio seems to be back.

http://www.indyscotradio.org

76. Thepnr

I’m only posting this because it is absolutely brilliant. Michael McCabe posted it over in Off Topic but I think it deserves a wider audience. Just my opinion πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-CuoPHc1B1M&feature=player_detailpage

77. Gray

O/T Jean-Claude Juncker

I do wonder if Cameron said to Juncker, we’re quite happy to support you but in return we’ll need you to say something about how awfully difficult it will be for Scotland to get into the EU.

And Juncker said “Fuck off, we’d rather have the Scots than you bunch of xenophobic bastards”

78. john king

Stoops says
    “Is there a Barbarian Cannibal Virus Survivors for Independence group?”

No but there’s a

Handandshrimp says
    “When did foreign become code for evil?”

In that picture Joe it looks like he saying
    you and who’s army Alex?

The minute it looked likely would win!

Joe Kane says
    “The only known cure for the deadly Jock Virus (aka Salmondella) is the liberal deployment of British upper class twits at Edinburgh press conferences on a regular basis. OK it hasn’t worked until now but give it time.”

What?
    Like this you mean?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uw15MsGlxuc

Patrick Roden says
    “Please note: I’m only jesting if your from the Daily Mail.”

Ha do you really think that’ll stop them?
    they’ll have the cops digging your garden for you before tea time,
    iiiiifffffffififif.

There’s always a bright side though, they might find some tatties to go with that piece of liver and that nice chianti!

Lesley-Anne says
    ” under my Arbroath 1320 guise, ”

Arbroath, what? splutter you?cough eh? damn porridge,

Your Arbroath?
    its Arbroath guys
    hey everyone Lesley-Anne is Arbroath,

I’m the only one who didn’t know that, right? πŸ™

BtP@ 10.08

I have to say I preferred it when you were wearing that rather fetching bowtie I just dont think they got your best side with the latest avatar, sorry. πŸ™

chic mcgregor says @ 10.27
    Anti Facterial?
    why am I thinking of a cork?

Gray says
    “And Juncker said β€œFuck off, we’d rather have the Scots than you bunch of xenophobic bastards”

then he says ,
    “more tea David”?

RESPEC Gray!

Thepnr@ 12.00am

The best yet from Ninja Jock and RONNIE! jeezo your a star Ronnie, and that was superb,
    Noo I think we should all get a wee shottie,
    What about Ninja writing something the wings crew can get involved with and everyone has a line to sing, (or in my case croak) we could always do the necessary on another wings night oot, and Kevin could live stream it, now that would stop the rev from falling asleep but getting some good angles of Kevin’s fissog and the hits would go through the roof!

And last but not least
    I think I owe Goldenayr an apology,
    If your comment (about me) was re an unguarded comment by me Im sorry, I took Grouse Beaters comments on board and thought about some of my observations and realised that my comments could have been construed as criticisms,
    which is never the case but I did offend you Goldenayr Im sorry,
    but my comments are usually tongue in cheek towards wingers, I save my ire for the opposition. πŸ™‚

79. john king

Right, lets fix that fluster cluck πŸ˜‰

Stoops says
    β€œIs there a Barbarian Cannibal Virus Survivors for Independence group?”

No but there’s a self help group being set up for No Campaigners suffering from shock and withdrawal symptoms
    in Kelty and they’re expecting large numbers who’ll be in need of help after a yes vote , so they’ve commandeered Mrs Euphemia Macglumphers living room,
    since she had the extension put on you could jist aboot haud a ceilidh in her hoose,
    so am telt.

Handandshrimp says
    β€œWhen did foreign become code for evil?”
    The minute it looked likely YES would win!

80. Tattie-bogle

i just watched the whole movie ,quite bizarre it must be how they see us on question time . a mad max style Glasgow and the rest of the country some Game of Thrones type thing strange thing though their was still plenty petrol to be driving about in.

81. Andrew

Hi folks,

I’m not trying to hijack this thread so apologies in advance if anyone is offended. But – any chance some of you kind people could repost this link on your Facebook or Twitter accounts to try and raise a wee bit of cash for the Yes Stirling campaign office?

http://igg.me/at/Yes-Stirling-Office/x

We’re still a wee bit short and your extraordinary generosity will make a difference as it has in the past for so many other similar worthy causes on this site.

82. Helena Brown

Crikey Lesley Anne, teachers are more fun than they used to be. Loved it in fact I am going back to see if I can better my score with Boris.

83. Morag Graham Kerr

I kept losing my deposit on my phone last night. I wonder if I can do better on my actual computer, when it’s not two in the morning?

84. Morag Graham Kerr

Hah. “Backbencher”. Needs more practice.

85. Lesley-Anne

john king says:

Lesley-Anne says
    ” under my Arbroath 1320 guise, ”

Arbroath, what? splutter you?cough eh? damn porridge,

Your Arbroath?
    its Arbroath guys
    hey everyone Lesley-Anne is Arbroath,

I’m the only one who didn’t know that, right? πŸ™

I’m sorry john I thought all the regular wingers knew. You can blame Ian for that. I reverted to my real name after a discussion some time ago and Ian, for his sins πŸ™‚ , suggested that becuase of the apparent massive influx of newbies to the site we should revert to our real names. Well I and some others did. Only one wee small insignificant itsy bitsy problem, I stuck to my real name most of the rest reverted back to their monikers. Ever get the feeling this was just a ploy to catch me out? πŸ˜‰

86. Jaime

Did I see Newcastle as part of Scotland?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.