40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Paula Rose

Oh please!!!

2. Thepnr

I’ve been pushing this conversation business everyday. Talk to them all, the yessers, the no’s and the undecided. Talk each day maybe more than once. Talk Talk ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zbZ9uCQW1Hk

3. Paula Rose

I think it was on the mums for independence facebook page.

4. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Cheers dearest.

I don’t know what to do with myself not having any baccy. I’m looking at the large Hydrangea in the back garden. I’ve heard it’s possible to smoke the leaves, but I don’t know how long it would take to dry them. If I place a chosen leaf between my thighs and jog on the spot for a half hour or so, maybe I’ll have something puffable.

Then again, I might just end up with muckle blisters on me thighs.

Ach, decisions, decisions…

5. Michael McCabe

HAPPY BIRTHDAY IAN.

6. Thepnr

Hey I got post number 2000 in the Off Topic page. Chuffed to bits me LOL.

7. Paula Rose

Memaw darling – the pic is at 31st May 12:25 ^^ in that direction.

8. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I can tell you gasping, but I think your strong enough to fight that urge. The craving will go away, first few days are the hardest.

I might join you in giving up definitely want too but I’d end up biting my fingers off to the knuckles in desperation right now.

9. Paula Rose

oh dear I’ve messed up the page – the Rev will not be pleased.

10. Paula Rose

Ian dear – just jog.

11. Ian Brotherhood

Cheers Michael.

12. memaw

Thanks for the link, Paula Rose, I have now passed it on. I’ll see what she comes up with.

I must confess, I haven’t read all the comments on here recently–so many. If anyone plans to come near Tarbert, Loch Fyne let us know. There is a Viking raid due at the end of June (not sure about the rape and pillage bit),so if anyone intends to visit come and see us, coffee always available, no charge, and we live within walking distance of the harbour. I know we are all saving our pennies for the various fundraising efforts.

Has anyone heard from Dalriata since he returned to Argyll? I haven’t seen anything from him for ages.
    It was great to put faces to names at the CH, can’t believe it was 2 weeks ago. Hope to see you all again soon.x

13. Tom Platt

A touch of class:-

Theme for the Early Days of a Better Nation

Tom

14. gerry parker

@ Ian, keep it up sir, I gave up in my 50’s as well after having smoked like a lum since I was 15. No easy though. I’m 64 now and can still recognise the whiff of an Embassy Regal at 50 paces.
    ๐Ÿ™

@ Thepnr,
    Only recipe you’ll need for the Seafest is one fur a big pot o’ Cullen Skink.

๐Ÿ™‚

15. Chic McGregor

The post times seem to have gotten out of sequence.

Just heard Stuart on John Beattie prog. Good perfoprmance from him, but will be misused I suspect.

Hamish Macdonell admitted the MSM were biased against indy but claimed he was a neutral. Aye right! “Wisnae me mister, a big media done it and stayed exactly where it wis.”

16. Chic McGregor

The post times seem to have gotten out of sequence.

Just heard Stuart on John Beattie prog. Good performance from him, but will be misused I suspect.

Hamish Macdonell admitted the MSM were biased against indy but claimed he was a neutral. Aye right! “Wisnae me mister, a big media done it and stayed exactly where it wis.”

17. Chic McGregor

Sorry for double post, it didn’t appear so I though I hadn’t hit send properly.

18. Cal

Right folks, My wife has just sprung this on me and I’m about to head out canvassing this evening. Her Chinese friend who writes for a free Chinese newspaper available all over UK and she’s looking for answers to the following questions for her article:

How will you vote and why?
    What do you think will be the positives and negatives on your life of an independent Scotland? (obviously all +ve from us!)
    How are you going to plan personally for life in an independent Scotland.
    Answers to these questions will form the basis of her article.
    This is our chance to shine to the Chinese community. Answers needed by tomorrow. Go for it!

19. Ian Brotherhood

@Cal –

Answers pretty brief, but I hope they can be used.

Q: How will you vote and why?

A: I’m going to vote Yes because Scotland is a nation and nations should look after themselves.

Q: What do you think will be the positives and negatives on your life of an independent Scotland?

A: Positives: Self-confidence; determination; hope for the future; increased chance that my children won’t go abroad to make a living as they’ll be able to prosper just as well here in Scotland.

Negatives: Hard to think of any negatives – the British State will surely do everything it can to prevent Scotland being a success, especially in the early years of idependence, but hopefully they’ll let us be when they realise that we’re not worth making an enemy of.

Q: How are you going to plan personally for life in an independent Scotland.

A: I’ll go back to what I love most, and that’s writing fiction. The whole cultural scene will be reborn after a Yes vote. As things stand I don’t bother submitting work to publishers as the whole scene is so Londoncentric. Post-Yes? that will change.

20. Thepnr

Q: How will you vote and why?

A: I will vote Yes, this country needs a shake up politically, all the main parties are very similar in their immediate outlook. This outlook is not positive for the ordinary person. I want change.

Q: What do you think will be the positives and negatives on your life of an independent Scotland?

A: Positives:

1. A government that puts Scotland and it’s electorate first no matter the party in power.

2. We are a very rich country and this is an opportunity to use our wealth to reinvest in manufacturing and industry.

3. A more equal society that provides a route for all to better themselves.

4. Free education and health care. Not according to how rich you are.

Negatives: The Westminster parliament being surly for years after a Yes vote.

Q: How are you going to plan personally for life in an independent Scotland.

A: We haven’t got it yet and until the 18th of September I am fully focused on winning the referendum first. In an Independent Scotland though I believe we will all work hard to make it a success and prove the doubters wrong.

21. Thepnr

Don’t know if you watched Ruth Davidson on Scotland 2014 but she really pissed me off with her lies. This truly ws the first time ever that I shouted at the telly. LOL didn’t know that was part of my psyche.

I usually calm down pretty quickly though which is just as well. This whole thing is an emotional roller coaster ride so hold on tight!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkekqVPIc2M

22. Michael McCabe

I Love this site I love the comments. this site and the people give me hope for the future. I Love clicking on the links for the music. can anyone tell me how to put a link up from youtube. Cheers. Keep up the good work.

23. Thepnr

Michael just cut and paste the whole link then delete everything behind the www, the http stuff.

24. Michael McCabe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTrsB4t_Avs&feature=player_detailpage Tried to put this up for Ian for his Birthday last night. did not work. hope it works this time. this isfor all the wingers. Keep up the good work.

25. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Thank You for the tips on how to put the link up. think I did it right. Cheers.

26. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Soo-perb!!

Cheers a million, that’s a belter – never saw it before. One of the faves too, the Waterboys man, me better half will lap it up!

Top man. Thanks again.

27. TJenny

And here’s one of my favouritest tunes ever – The Waterboys ‘Whole of the Moon’, maybe with ‘I’ changed to ‘they’ and ‘you’ to ‘we’ for indy? Or another one for Yew Choob?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pu7AR0-FRro&feature=kp

28. Michael McCabe

Had a hard day? Need cheering up? Well have a wee listen to my favourite Scottish boy band. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90Bj68y9NfE&feature=player_detailpage

29. Cal

Thanks Ian and Thepnr.
    My wife spent most of last night writing the article for the Chinese paper and it’s going to be on the front page this Friday. If I can I’ll post a link and if not I’ll photograph it and post the photo although I’m not 100% sure how to do that.

30. Tam Jardine

That elusive Wings Edinburgh night is on.

4th July. The anniversary of the USA making the risky, foolish and ultimately disastrous declaration of their independence.

The venue: The Newsroom, Leith Street, Edinburgh. 7.30-8pm kickoff.

Do me a wee favour and post a bit of support before I shell out the booking fee.

Cheers

31. gerry parker

@Tam, Have it in my diary, should make it along for an hour or so.

32. Tam Jardine

Great Gerry- should be a guid night. It’s long overdue.

Have a great day!

33. Thepnr

@Tam Jardine

Well done, think I’ll pop along with the missus, might try and bring one or two others with me.

34. Jim Thomson

@Tam mind and post it as O/T in the main threads that Stu opens up (heed the O/T posting rule though!) ๐Ÿ™‚

Posting it in the main threads will reach far more people than just across here the quiet of the business lounge ๐Ÿ˜‰

35. Jim Thomson

@Paula & @meemaw

a bit late to the party with this link (don’t ask how I found it, I just did. OK?)

http://www.shoedesignstudio.com/

So, fill yer boots (as someone once said, somewhere, I think).

You’re welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

36. Tam Jardine

Jim Thomson

Posted it there also Will keep bringing it up on the main threads to get the message out there.

Hopefully we can get a decent turn out. Was worried about clash with the quarters but the bar upstairs has a telly I think so folk who have to watch every game have an option.

37. Jim Thomson

@Tam just anither thocht. Mrs Queen and The Chook are in Embra over the 4th (naming some wee boat at Rosyth it seems). Maybe they’d like an invite. She might have some casual wear up wi’ her, or you could just say “come as you are”.

Mischief maker, moi? Naw. ๐Ÿ˜‰

38. Tam Jardine

Aye Jim… nae dress code except the obligatory Yes badge. Would love to see that!

39. Oneironaut

Belated Happy Birthday Ian! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Sorry I missed it. Haven’t been in here for a few days, been preoccupied with offline stuff.

Would love to go to the Edinburgh night, but that’s way out of my travel range ๐Ÿ™

Hope you all have a great night though! ๐Ÿ˜€

40. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Tam Jardine
    Count Mrs Calgacus and myself in for the Newsroom on 4th July.

Thanks for organising this.

41. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

Please count me in mister. Cheers.

42. Tam Jardine

Calgacus MacAndrews and Ian Brotherhood

Fantastic – great you can make it. Is this momentum building? May be a different vibe to the CH. And as its a private function room we can all relax, take our human masks off and laze about in our true evil cybernat forms.

Oneironaut

Thanks – shame you canny make it. It’s a big ol’ country so whether you’re up north or further south it wouldn’t hurt to tout a wings night further afield. Plenty wingers all over the shop canny make it to the central belt.

43. rab_the_doubter

Tam Jardine
    Not entirely sure what i’m doing holiday wise but is say 95% certain I’ll be there.

44. David Wardrope

Might as well get my choice of Indy relevance tune on here, promoting my favourite band in the process…and, if you were so inclined, a wee search would show that a few more of this bands songs could fit nicely in to the yes drive

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEjM_wF1VBA

45. TJenny

Tam Jardine – count me in too for the Newsroom on 4th July. Really glad you grabbed the thistle to organise this. As it’s in Edinburgh, I might get some others to come along too, albeit it’s the start of the Edinburgh trades fortnight, although I don’t know if that has much relevance nowadays.

Do we need to shell out money to keep the room until after 10.30, or should we just sashay forth and mingle with Edinburgh’s jollers?

46. Cactus

@Tam Jardine ~ Kindly add myself, Cactus of Caucus, plus X guests for Edinburgh’s gig and a jig, at The Newsroom on the 4th July.

Yeah, I think having our own private room is now necessary for comfort and expression factors.. but that doesn’t stop us bumping into the curious reveller upstairs and welcoming them doon the stairs to talk about Scotland, with ordinary Scottish people.

Any recommendations on local hotels / accommodation?
    Cheers.

47. Flower of Scotland

Hi Tam , This time I’m planning to be there! At the Wings night in Edinburgh. With my son.

48. Oneironaut

@Tam Jardine
    I’m more to the west. All the way on the opposite side of the country in fact, a bit further than my currently-limited finances can take me ๐Ÿ™

Dunno if I’m the best person to arrange another gig though, but I’d be happy to help out if anyone else is planning to ๐Ÿ™‚

49. scaredy cat

Someone keep me a seat. I’ll be there although I might be on my own this time.

50. Bugger (the Panda)

bisous

51. TJenny

scaredy cat – is that ’cause the philosophers, astrophysicists, theatre techs and binmen for indy are having their own night out on Fri 4th? I do hope so and that they all have a great time.

52. Bugger (the Panda)

TJ

You are a card.

53. TJenny

BtP – thanks, I think. ๐Ÿ™‚

54. Bugger (the Panda)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RrD1GKeGcgc

Original for fun

Dance the night away

55. Bugger (the Panda)

I move in strange circle, into which you would be quite normal, TJ.

56. Paula Rose

Now darlings, I’d love to go to the Edinburgh meet-up so if anyone who lives there would like to sleep on the sofa I’d be more than happy to come.

57. Tam Jardine

TJenny

Great you can make it – my round I think. The room downstairs becomes their wee nightclub which is fine if that is your bag. Their website calls it “the definitive subterranean house music venue”. Looks weirdly futuristic – but then the venue is not really important.

Edinburgh has boozers aplenty so scope for stravaigin after we get kicked out/kicked upstairs.

58. TJenny

Tam – I agree re the stravaigin – btw, have you heard from CameronB at all?

59. Tam Jardine

Cactus

I had written your name down already… will be great to see you there. If I had more space I would put you up… maybe some generous winger has a spare room? What Geordie Osborne doesn’t get is that a spare room is a really handy thing to have regardless of whether you are rich or poor.

Failing that – last minute dot com probably be the way I would do it.

Flower of Scotland

Will be great meeting you and your son. I’m going to have to stop responding to everyone who has posted they’re coming – just missed Brazil’s equaliser.

Scaredycat

Nice one girl. Shame if vikings for Yes or whatever they were called canny make it – should be a guid crowd regardless

60. Paula Rose

Actually dears re my post at 9:21, I’ve had a better idea-

Considering Thepnr’s generosity (and the rafflers) if at least 30 of us committed to paying ยฃ20 I’m sure he would organise a bus (I’m sure I can persuade him).

Then him and some guests could come for free!

Any takers from Arbroath, Montrose, Brechin, Forfar, Kirriemuir, Dundee?

61. scaredy cat

@TJenny & Tam
    One of them is going to be in the USA. Who knows about the others. They don’t like to plan too far ahead.

62. TJenny

scaredy cat – so long as they can plan ahead to Sept 18th. ๐Ÿ™‚

63. Tam Jardine

TJenny

Not heard from CameronB – I know he was dead keen and it was not my intention to take over and organise this without his involvement. It is most unlike me. Am sure Cameron will be able to make it – I need someone with some musical taste to put together a playlist and thought he da man.

64. TJenny

Tam – I’m just glad somebody got it together. ๐Ÿ™‚

65. Ian Brotherhood

For all Wingers, for no particular reason.

Fleetwood Mac, ‘Oh Well’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8RhZDGLEXM

66. scaredy cat

@T Jenny
    Don’t worry. I’ll escort each and every one of them if necessary!

67. Thepnr

Paula

I think ยฃ15 would be enough if we got 30 with 8 or so seats free. Please stick an invite up on the main thread when appropriate. It’s difficult for me to post during the day. Cheers.

68. TJenny

Ian – pure lurve ‘Oh Well’ reminds me of the Casa Blanca (known as the Casa Boo Boo, as older Edinburghers may remember).

Posted this at the end of last night’s chat, so if missed. here it is again:

And hereโ€™s one of my favouritest tunes ever โ€“ The Waterboys โ€˜Whole of the Moonโ€™, maybe with โ€˜Iโ€™ changed to โ€˜theyโ€™ and โ€˜youโ€™ to โ€˜weโ€™ for indy? Or another one for Yew Choob?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pu7AR0-FRro&feature=kp

69. Chic McGregor

Fitba.

The pen. wasn’t even an Old Firm pen.

The Croation equalizer was a good goal.

Questions over the refereeing, and FIFA.

World football is starting to smell.

70. Chipmonkey

Sorry to say I’ll miss the get together on the 4th (and the singing on the bus). DocFin and I will be in rUK that weekend:-) Hope there’ll be another…

71. TheWeeSteev

4th of July meetup – Forgive me for being dense/naive but do I just turn up on the night with a big Yes sticker or wings badge?

It’s literally on my work doorstep so I’ve no excuse not to come, just not sure on the procedure ๐Ÿ™‚

72. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic –

Is there anything good that ‘the love of money’ hasn’t ruined?

73. Jock Scot

Brilliant re the 4th July in Edinburgh as maybe I’ll get to hear ‘last orders at the bar’ at one of these wonderful thingy’s.
    @T Jenny
    Hope you like what we did with your Danny Boy suggestion.x

youtu.be/Ahg3RmzAU60

74. gerry parker

@Jock Scot.

Pure dead brilliant.

๐Ÿ™‚

75. TJenny

Jock Scot + Ninja Penguin + Yew Choobers all – fantastic – you are all so very, very clever. And I’m thrilled as wee pink mice to be on the credits. I now have a claim to fame! (weeburstingwithpridefacedthingy)

76. Thepnr

Jock and Ninja.

Ta.

77. Thepnr

Not a song, just about ran out of them but well worth watching.

“OMFG!!! 100 days until Scottish Independence”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLK627renKg

78. Tam Jardine

TheWeeSteev

Forgive me for being dense/naive but do I just turn up on the night with a big Yes sticker or wings badge?

Aye – just turn up – will be great to see you. Slightly confused by your question though -(puts on matron voice) all wingers wear their Yes badge 24/7 don’t they?

79. Juteman

Obviously I don’t have any Wings posters, but if I did, what is the best fly-posters gloop for sticking them to things in the middle of the night?
    Theoretically of course.

80. Paula Rose

@ Juteman – I find that that stuff you eat for breakfast works very well.

81. TJenny

Juteman – Flypaper?

82. Paula Rose

Do I really have to mention wall-paper paste? I thought we had a bit of rough on this site.

83. TJenny

Paula Rose – or flypaper paste (it’s a version of papier mache suitable for fly posting) ๐Ÿ™‚

84. Paula Rose

twiddle thumbs – put the kettle on…

85. TJenny

OK – if you’re now all here – let’s try to fund Wee Ginger Dug’s hoose sale as a Chill station for all WOSer. How do we do this? Ian Brotherhood I’m looking at you or anyone who can help us to set up a crowdfunder for WGD’s hoose as a WOS playhoose! ๐Ÿ™‚

86. Paula Rose

Be rather fun to buy a house by crowd funding – presumably all the indy stuff is now sorted, let’s work out how to do this. A tenner each- how many do we need?

87. Archie [not Erchie]

Kin I come into this hallowed place pleez?

88. ronnie anderson

@ cactus get practiceing Danny Boy fur the 4th July,guitar man.

89. Paula Rose

@ Archie[not Erchie] – it’s for us doll xx

90. Archie [not Erchie]

I have 1/2 a banana loaf, 4 cheesy scones with chilli flakes and the apple pie will be made tomorrow. An offering so to speak.

91. Paula Rose

No millionaire shortcake?

92. TJenny

Archie [not Erchie] – of course, you are, as are all WOSers, very, very welcome here, it is our chat room/playpen, as it were. ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you also want to contribute to buying a WOS hoose in Spain? (Am I correct in thinking it is not, unfortunately, in Catalonia?)

93. Archie [not Erchie]

This is like goin back to the auld AOL Instant Messenger days, apart from the delay and refresh.

94. Paula Rose

Galicia?

95. Archie [not Erchie]

Paula – Am just learning [late in life] how to crumble mah mix so geeza break but a hoose in Tuscany would be awesome.

96. David

Off Topic: Bloody BBC! I left a comment on this story and it got removed! All I said was “Vote NO for foodbanks and nuclear weapons.”

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-27656628#p119622925 (Scottish independence: Tories back Scots income tax power)

Their email says – “This post has been removed because special House Rules are in effect during election periods.”

I’m #astounded that they think my comment was #outofcontrol. Also, since when is a referendum an election? They really are trying to shut down the debate.

97. Archie [not Erchie]

Blue hills and lavender fumes – pizza ovens with vineyards in every yard. Men folk singing Panini? and buxom goats ready for milking…..aaaaaaaahhhhh

98. Paula Rose

Anyways by my reckoning it needs 8500 of us to put in a tenner each – will look further, but… as a thank you to the wee ginger dug let’s buy him his kennel.

99. ronnie anderson

Now a word of warning flyposting is illegal, but Ive found

out P V A glue is the best adhesive.

Method.

Washing up bottle

one small brush

mix PVA with water,couple teas spoons in volume makes 1 pint close cap & shake

Squirt on said surface spread with brush apply whatever

squirt again on whatever & brush for weatherproofing

PVA available from any builders merchant or if you know

a plasterer,

Wallpaper paste is so 70s PVA sets harder a bugger to get

aff.

Now in the best traditions of Hill Street Blues

You’s be carefull out there.

100. Archie [not Erchie]

Sorry havent met you guys and gals but Aberdeen is just that wee bit too far to make it to the get togethers.

101. Paula Rose

Archie darling – we can come in, oops sorry, come to Aberdeen – many of us are there already.

102. Archie [not Erchie]

mmmm ok playpen is empty. Honestly Aberdeen is not full of sheep. Just as an aside someone mentioned Rev’s full set like Orson Welles. I see him like Clement Freud or the image on the old cigarette packet Full Capstan. Any comments?

103. Paula Rose

Archie dear – hopefully our friendly cybernats will be here soon – they’re still clogging up the main threads.

104. Archie [not Erchie]

Ha ha off to make millionaires shortbread. Back soon.:-)

105. Paula Rose

Let’s buy the wee ginger dug’s place so that he can go there –

106. heraldnomore

I’m in for the wgd too

107. Paula Rose

Why we revere the wee ginger dug –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqapeLIGI90

108. JGedd

Paula Rose

When do we start crowdfunding? Once we get going perhaps people could come up with ideas but it would have to fit with WGD’s preferences, of course.

109. ronnie anderson

@Archie [not Erchie] its that Capstan full strenght thats mair like the Rev.

110. TJenny

Ian Brotherhood – re JGedd + PR + my wanting to set up an Indiego crowdfund for WGD, how do we do this? You know ’cause you’ve done it already. A cry for help. ๐Ÿ™‚

111. Paula Rose

Darlings – beddie byes time cos I’ve got to be nice to farmers at the Angus Show tomorrow – where’s my lovely CameronB? – if you can be there I’m the one wearing wellies.

112. Schrodinger's Cat

i’d love to buy wgd’s hoose, but more realistically,
    it would be good to crowd fund a weekend break for him

i noticed that he has not responded to many offers on his blog. i wonder if he is worried about his carer allowance

if raised money ourselves and gave it to him on the qt or directly hired carers to give him a rest. any thoughts anyone?

113. TJenny

Paula Rose – you go and get your beauty sleep in preparation for dazzling those farmers with your loveliness.

Sweet dreams. ๐Ÿ™‚

114. scaredy cat

@T Jenny

I absolutely LOVE the idea of a wee Spanish But n Ben.

@Ronnie & Cactus

Danny Boy is one of my favourites. It was my Grandpa’s party piece.

115. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Wish I could help but I’ve done no crowdfunding, and truth be told I’ve contributed very little, even to Wings.

First time I met Paul (same night I met you – CH1) he outlined his situation and it troubled me for days, but there’s no obvious ‘solution’. It’s so obvious that he dotes on his partner and is determined to do ‘the right thing’. It’s just a total scunner that we’re living in a society which makes doing ‘the right thing’ so fucking difficult for the folk who need the most support.

I hope he’s reading all of these comments and drawing strength from them – in a very real sense, we’ve already ‘won’ this referendum because we’ve now created a huge network of contacts and friendships based on trust and respect, and they’ll never be broken, no matter what filthy tactics the British State uses to get their own way.

116. TJenny

Scaredy cat – Daniel, or my wee Danny Boy as I call him (even though he’s in his 30s), makes me think of my son, and I can’t usually singalong to Danny Boy for the lump in my throat, however……. Yew Choob’s version manages to get me over the maudlin and singalong wi’ the tune – hooray. ๐Ÿ™‚

117. TJenny

Ian – didn’t you have some sort of fundraiser recently, or was it a ‘signatories’ on a petition? Must admit as I type, recollection brings to mind that it was a a petition signing and not a fundraiser. I’m sure I’ve seen on fundraising sites a button to use to ‘create your own fundraiser’. but I might have imagined that. With my Miss Marple hat on, I’ll investigate.

118. Thepnr

A wee slow tune for the mood and something we all have to do.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2zcg9GyR2k

119. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Juteman.
    Many years ago (late 70s) I was involved in publicising a gig featuring ‘The Jags’ at the local Students’ Union in Dundee – not the Uni; the other one.
    We used a flour/water paste, in a bucket. See, we were being environmentally friendly. The flour mix is water soluble so is easily removed.

120. kininvie

@Tam Jardine

If you’re still compiling lists for July 4th – count me in!

121. Thepnr

Hey Brain I was at that gig, the bowling alley! LOL

122. Thepnr

Not Brain Brian, feck done it again ๐Ÿ™‚

123. scaredy cat

@T Jenny
    My very own Scaredy Kitten, whom you met at CH 1 & 2 is also a Daniel. I get a similar feeling listening to Elton John’s ‘Daniel’.

124. TJenny

Thepnr – jut played your link to The Eagles ‘Take It To The Limit’ and I think we could ask Ninja Penguin to write a Yew Choob version. Got the words up on pc and sang my heart out along with the Eagles – we can easily do his at oor nicht on the 4th – Cactus, Paula Rose, me and of course the divine Nod + Jock, and others, YES? ๐Ÿ™‚

125. JGedd

@TJenny

Have you been over to WGD’s site? A commenter over there has already suggested to Paul a wish to start a crowdfunding enterprise. Paul’ s wish would be to be able to attend some Yes events and is going to get some advice from the Carer’s Centre on Monday to see how this could be managed. However, it might be an idea to get people involved from WGD’s site who might not know about the proposal on WoS.

126. Thepnr

Jock Scot get your My Way karaoke version to the Newsroom and we can record it then. Should be good for a laugh.

127. Brian Doonthetoon

Yes Thepnr, that was the place!
    You must know about this?
    http://www.retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/2009/02/bowling-alley-marketgait.html

128. Brian Doonthetoon

And, to be more expansive, this:-
    http://www.retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/search?q=bowling+alley

129. rab_the_doubter

Levellers ‘The Game’ choon and a half from one of the best bands of the 90s.

m.youtube.com/watch?v=03EjQ3grWHI

And, on the topic of WGD, an honest decent man, expressing what we all feel, what more could we ask for, and in our new country, what more do we need.

130. Ian Brotherhood

WGD is a carer. His situation doesn’t receive quite as much concern as Clare Lally’s because it doesn’t tick the right boxes to qualify for MSM/SLab attention.

Let’s be very careful about the crowdfunding stuff – WGD has to give the lead on this, because he’s already in Kafka-land and doesn’t need any complications.

You there WGD? Bit of guidance required here methinks…

131. Tam Jardine

Kininvie

Great – will be guid to see you again. Am not bothering to compile a list as I reached the point yesterday where enough folk had committed. Venue booked so we are on!

132. Thepnr

@Briandoonthetoon

Vince Piggot need I say more? ๐Ÿ™‚

133. Thepnr

This is for scaredy cat.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0f0TMfQNRk8

134. Macart

@Ian Brotherhood

Paul’s looking into it and will let folks know. I’m sure if there’s any way we can help an orderly queue will be formed. ๐Ÿ™‚

135. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

Received and understood – cheers, hoots, and fondest proverbials to the man.

136. TJenny

Macart, WGD + IB – message received and understood. Await Cybernat HQ action update. ๐Ÿ™‚

137. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

“The old pigeon will skite down the slates, as per normal.”

Stand by!

Maximum alterness!

138. TJenny

IB – nostrils flared and ears pricked.

โ€œThe old pigeon will skite down the slates, as per normal”, but her wings will ensure she soars to safety. ๐Ÿ™‚

139. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Precisely so.

(I will be wearing Paula Rose’s ‘Yes’ heels. Please be there on time, as I can’t do it for long.)

140. TJenny

IB – that’s not what I’ve heard. ๐Ÿ™‚

141. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Ooh, you are awful, but…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97aB71F-430

142. TJenny

IB – How very dare you! Now wounded to the very marrow of my being. Let it be known that us girlies can do things in high heels, that you boys can only dream of! (and frequently dream of methinks:-) )

143. WeeGingerDug

Hi everyone,

I’ve been a bit overwhelmed by the response to Friday’s blog post. I don’t normally like to talk about caring issues. The blog (and the trams of course) is my escape from it, a wee island where I don’t have to be defined by a carer’s role – because caring for a dementia sufferer takes over your whole life. Anyway, my mammy and a couple of friends had said to me that I needed to write something about PatLallyInlawGate, because I’m a carer too. So I did.

Before coming to the Wings do at the Counting House the other week, a friend mentioned to me in an email that I really had no idea just what effect the WeeGingerDug is having. And he was right. I don’t. I don’t get out much. If Andy (my partner) is settled, he can be left for a short while, but not more than a hour. As his condition progresses even that is getting more difficult.

So I got quite emotional today reading the comments and emails in response to my blog post, especially the messages from other full time carers. You made me cry, you basterts. But in a good way.

Anyway, we all know what the UK media and political parties are like. I don’t want to give anyone the excuse to run to the Daily Mail saying – evil cybernat claims carers allowance while living luxury crowd funded lifestyle. Because they really are that petty. So on Monday I’m going to call Kaye (no not that one), she’s one of the advice workers at the local carers centre. She knows Andy and me and our situation and will be able to give me the advice I need.

However if you decide on the mad (seriously, mad) idea to crowdfund to buy oor hoose in Spain, you’d be crowdfunding to raise money for something for yourselves. How you choose to spend the money is your own concern. So that’s entirely up to you. Although I still think it’s mad.

Anyway, thanks again for all the messages of support. They’ve really moved me.

144. Chipmonkey

Thanks for putting me back on track this week WGD. I was really disheartened about ‘Lallygate’ and all the implications (real or in my head), but reading your blog last night gave me perspective again. The bigger picture is that all the carers out there in our beautiful country exemplify why it is so important for us to be strong and keep working for that YES vote. That one woman in the news this week is backing the wrong horse. I tried for a long time to post a reply on your blog,but could not – I presume because it was so popular. You are important.Another thank-you and kiss and hug from one of those ‘straight women’ you met at CH2! Keep strong. xx Fiona

145. ronnie anderson

@ Tam Jardine, I will be donating a nice Malt for the Raffle

I’ll tell you where I would like the Raffle Money to go to

on the nite.

146. scaredy cat

@thepnr
    Aaw thanks! ????

147. scaredy cat

@thepnr.
    Sorry about that. I don’t know where all those question marks came from.

148. gerry parker

@ Tam Jarding, Ronnie.
    I’ll chip in a bottle of champaign for the raffle. Will agree with Ronnie’s choice of who the money goes to.

@ Scardy cat. Sometimes if you do a wee smiley thats not standard, it shows up as question marks.
    ๐Ÿ™‚ is ok

๐Ÿ˜Ž

that may have produced ? marks

149. gerry parker

Doh! just when you think you have got it worked out.

(@)

150. Nana Smith

I think getting Paul a bed should be the first step. Can’t be easy for him coping each day after a bad night on a camp bed.

151. DocFin

Won’t be long now until Cameron gets to the end of his contacts list – Pope, Queen, Reid, Swedish Foreign Minister, United States (twice – that’ll cost you, Dave).
    @JohnKing – good luck on the paper round. Remember the show must go on. Ah, excuse for this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_n8cbEuJwE

152. james sinclair

We MUST fund WGD and unleash him on those oppose our independence,

153. scaredy cat

@ gerry parker

Yes that must have been what happened.
    ?????????

154. Wilma Watts

Ian,T Jenny, Paula Rose and everyone else who is interested.

With regard to Crowdfunding WGD: Can I make an alternative suggestion? If it receives the thumbs down put me down for a contribution for the Villa.

Here goes. How about we crowdfund to get the WGD Blog printed into a book or Booklet? He could add a little background about his inspiration for each post. That way: we spread the word, he receives a wider audience, he gets an income, he could keep the villa and rent it out through an agency to Wingers (more income),he would earn enough, I’m sure, to become independent and be able to afford a retained carer ( and a new bed!). Then you don’t have the issue of how so many people own? a house in Spain. I am absolutely sure we could raise more for WGD this way because if each book was about ยฃ5, I for one would buy loads to pass to family and friends. I must be spending that on ink to print them out to give to people who are not Internet savvy. This all came to me in the night so if anyone can add to the suggestion the more the merrier.

For Paul, We met very briefly at the CH when you just arrived with all your maps and papers. I was sitting with the lovely family from Galloway. Then we all had to move to another part of the pub. Michael and I were so sorry we didn’t get a chance to tell you how inspirational we find your blog and it is getting better and better. The last few have had me in tears.
    I know for sure you have many friends on this site even the semi lurkers like me.

155. JGedd

Hello, Wilma,

We were that family from Galloway and funnily enough we too had had the idea of having WGD’s writings made into a book. To be honest that was principally why my husband was there to find out from someone, who might have the knowledge, how to go about this.

However, as you know, that night was so successful(!) that it was very difficult to mingle in The Counting House and in fact, we all got split up and because we live in darkest Galloway we had to leave comparatively early, mission unfulfilled. It was also very difficult to have a conversation in a very noisy location.

If we had had longer to talk together, this subject could have come up and our mission could have been passed to you and your husband. ( I like train buffs, they are usually endearingly calm. Though Paul says that they can quite hysterical about correct detailing on locomotives.) I am assuming that you didn’t have to leave as early as we did. (8.45!)

I’ll go along with whatever idea is decided, with Paul’s approval of course. But, I agree also with you that Paul’s writings deserve a wider audience than even we enthusiasts can give it. Perhaps there could be twin projects?

156. Wilma Watts

Hello JGedd,
    It was lovely to meet you. As you say whichever plan, one, other or both, we will go along with Paul’s decision.

We were actually staying in Glasgow that night but it did get so noisy our throats were raw, we left at about 9.30 but caught up with X sticks and Calcagus (?) outside which was lovely because we didn’t need to shout. Not as young and immune as we used to be. I think your husband gave Michael a card so I may contact you if that is alright?. I wouldn’t mind you and the others having my email address to take this project further. Let me know what you think.

157. JGedd

Contact would be very welcome, Wilma.

158. Silverytay

I am a bit late for this topic but I am more than willing to contribute towards an appeal for the W.G.D . I don’t mind if is towards a book or if it is a fund to make life easier for Paul and his partner .

I am also willing to contribute towards a fighting fund for the Rev to take on the biased media , lets keep them tied up in court until the 18th September .

159. The Man in the Jar

Announcement!

Two upcoming events in Uddingston.

Monday 16th of June @7:30pm.
    Park Church 89 Main St. Uddingston http://www.park-church.com

A hustings chaired by the Minister.

Speakers John Mason SNP and Murdo Fraser Conservative.
    ………………………………………………..

Yes meeting in Uddingston Grammar School 19th of August.(Time to be confirmed but hall booked for three hours.)

Speakers Jim Sillars, Robin McAlpine, Graeme Sneddon (Generation Yes)
    Other speakers requested but not yet confirmed from. Business for Scotland, Labour for Independence, Radical Independence and Women for Independence.

160. WeeGingerDug

I’ve been putting a bit of thought to everyone’s kind and generous offers of help. Perhaps what would be most beneficial would be if someone (or some people) could help me get a wee collection of blog articles published, and also help me to get my Gaelic maps published.

It would be helpful if some of you could go through previous blog posts and let me know which ones you’d like to see in a book.

I’ve already had a Gaelic map of Scotland was published by Newsnet, but I’ve also been working on a series of regional maps in Gaelic which are far more detailed. I’ve got a number of them more or less ready for publication. All are at a scale of 1:100,000 (1cm to 1km).

So far, ready to go or almost ready to go, are maps of Glasgow (published on my blog here – http://weegingerdug.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/glaschunuadh1.png ) , Mull, Islay & Jura, Kintyre & Arran, and Fife. Maps of Ayrshire, Dundee, and Aberdeen are at an advanced stage of completion, and I’ve also made a start on maps of Central Scotland and Galloway. The eventual goal is to cover the entire country.

If I can get the maps published they could provide me with a regular income, and hopefully I wouldn’t need to claim Carers Allowance at all.

I used to publish a magazine in Spain, so know a wee bit about publishing, but the problem with self publishing is the distribution and making the original investment to print off X number of copies. These are no things I’m able to manage by myself just now, and help would be greatly appreciated.

161. Ian Brotherhood

Some choice language in this, not for the faint of heart – an Irn Bru ad some may not have seen yet:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3DVlaqlMiI

162. Thepnr

@wee ginger dug

I think you have to not be shy and set up the fund raiser by yourself. I’m sure the Rev could offer advise. I think it’s a great idea to get some of your best articles published.

Although the fund raising would allow you to do that I think they should be offered through your website at say a couple of quid. You should be paid for your work and relentless effort. At least that is how I see it.

Another idea, you could offer them on Kindle through Amazon at ยฃ1 a pop. I think thousands would be downloaded.

However it’s done I wish you well.

163. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

LOL. So much for Satchi and Satchi, should have employed these fowk if they want to get into the Scottish psyche.

164. Paula Rose

I made the mistake of wearing my high heels to the Angus show, so fortunate that the darling Thepnr appeared out of the haar with a couple of plastic bags, darling thank you.

165. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Have you ever considered writing a Mills & Boon type novel?

‘…the darling Thepnr appeared out of the haar with a couple of plastic bags…’

Michty me. I know what Thepnr looks like. I know what haar looks like. And I know what plastic bags look like…

But the way you combined them? Superb. Visionary, and profoundly erotic. Made the hairs at the back of my knees stand up – that hasn’t happened since 1986, so, thanks.

166. Nana Smith

After the last couple dyas,this evenings piece in the guardian by McKenna and the Newsnet article re the Scotsman’s disgusting lies about Stu I think we deserve a little feel good…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzlpTRNIAvc

167. Paula Rose

Ian honey – I read your book, and learned so much, word of caution – shave more often, we hate roughness.

168. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Whit? Shave the back of my knees?

That’s a new one.

169. Thepnr

Hehehehe. Behave you two. LOL

@Nana Smith
    Great stuff, Ta.

170. Paula Rose

Ian honey – you are the epitome of masculinity, we know that – next time you are out in public don’t be forgetful like the Rev – a wee bit embarrassing all that facial fuzziness.

171. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I’ve tried growing a beard, but I just end up looking like this dude:

http://www.nndb.com/people/315/000232616/av-1-sized.jpg

172. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You’re being a bit harsh on the Rev – he’d shaved that morning, but the BBC kept him waiting so long…

173. Thepnr

OK we’re all falling asleep and running out of our favourite songs. I think though this is a wee happy tune worth hearing again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uq-gYOrU8bA

174. Lesley-Anne

What’s worse Ian not only did they keep him waiting but then didn’t even use his interview, instead they went with some obscure interview with Tom Conti.;)

175. Paula Rose

Is that the man who has an ice cream van?

176. Lesley-Anne

Quite possibly Paula ๐Ÿ˜›

177. Ian Brotherhood

Tom Conti does good beard.

178. chipmonkey

Hello vile misogynistic cybernats (they must be out there somewhere). What a day. The main topic is extremely busy. What are the no contingent getting away with during the smoke screen? Would I be banned for saying keep calm and carry on? On the plus side glad to hear Paula Rose and Thepnr have been out speaking to people in Angus (hope that went well, haar and high heels and all); DocFin had another letter in ‘The Herald’; and beating all of us his old Mum has been out to the shops wearing her yes badge and politely converting at least one don’t know to yes. She has never used a computer in her life, but tells people who do that they should look for ‘Wings’. Let’s give them easily accessible facts to read ๐Ÿ™‚

179. Lesley-Anne

Aye he does that Ian, wonder if he uses the same beard barber as our very on Stu. ๐Ÿ˜‰

180. Lesley-Anne

Can’t help it just have to put the Italy game on. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve just seen one player with one red boot and one green boot on. Is this a new way for football players to recognise their left foot and right foot I wonder. ๐Ÿ˜›

181. Paula Rose

Lesley-Anne, would you like some help come october in your garden? I’m happy to do so, bit of a buslady’s holiday xx

182. Ian Brotherhood

One for Paula Rose, and all beard lovers;

ZZ Top, ‘Legs’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUDcTLaWJuo

183. Lesley-Anne

Well if you’re up for it, mind you I’m down in the borders in Eastriggs. Nice wee village but not exactly the centre of the universe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

184. Lesley-Anne

Oh you’ve played an absolute BLINDER there Ian! ๐Ÿ˜›

185. Lesley-Anne

For my tuppence worth ladies sand gentlemen I give you…

the one…

the only…

AC/DC…

Highway to hell!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gEPmA3USJdI

186. Paula Rose

My darlings i give you the one and only-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqdeoxwyvKk

187. Lesley-Anne

GOALISIMO!

188. Lesley-Anne

Oh well they’ve equalised. Back to square one folks! ๐Ÿ™‚

189. Lesley-Anne

I don’t know who one of the commentators are on BBC but he is so monotonal he’s putting me to sleep! *YAWN!*

190. Thepnr

This song represents the Off Topic room.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HeBMHnJqAvM

191. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

The Nipple Erectors?

Outstanding.

192. Paula Rose

And it gets even better…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fASRDQ6QQA

193. Lesley-Anne

GOALISIMO number 2!

194. Paula Rose

And for us punks – here is a classic xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wKztxnvLiE

195. Paula Rose

what’s a goal?

196. Thepnr

This is for you Paula. Doubt we will win any over to the Yes side with this classic, but hey! You never know.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogypBUCb7DA

197. Paula Rose

We will dear we will – my point is-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqdeoxwyvKk

198. Lesley-Anne

Paula Rose says:

whatโ€™s a goal?

Remember you asked this over on the other thread Paula?

Whatโ€™s going on? Turn on the TV and there are grown men chasing balls, !tโ€™s a wee bit silly.

Well apparently a goal is what they call it when one of those funny wee men kicks that wee round ball between the sticks at either end of the grass where the fishing nets are. ๐Ÿ˜›

199. Thepnr

One for the Geordies amongst us.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MYPBF4s8m_Y

200. Thepnr

My (anti) hero. A must watch!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okHGCz6xxiw

201. Lesley-Anne

Phew, thank goodness for the RED button. That Gary Neville is such a monotonal drone I was falling asleep. ๐Ÿ˜›

202. Thepnr

Don’t know about you lot but I’m in a GREAT mood. I just know that things are swinging our way. Loads and loads of wee smiley things Ya Bass. LOL

203. Lesley-Anne

Seconded here Thepnr. ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

204. Thepnr

@Lesley-Anne

Nothing to do with Indy but a wee song to make you happy to go to bed with.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UrIiLvg58SY

205. Lesley-Anne

Ta very much for that Thepnr you have a good night too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

206. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee song. It usually puts a smile on my face. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2eNhIcnRxM0&feature=player_detailpage

207. rab_the_doubter

In the same manner as ‘it wisnie me that broke the windae, it wis the brick i chucked’

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-27852832

208. Cal

HELP!

My Chinese wife has written a smashing 4 page article in Chinese complete with graphs, maps and lots of links to articles on line and websites arguing the case for independence. Our idea is to make this available to Wingers up and down the land by posting a link to it in a btl comment. We would then invite everyone to print it out and pass on to their Chinese speaking friends, neighbours ,the local restaurant/carry out/cash and carry, the parents of their children’s Chinese friends etc, etc.

The file was written in Word and I have converted it to a pdf. However, I cannot upload it to Facebook without first converting it to a jpeg file. This results in a significant loss of quality. Searching around online, it would appear that the only way I can make the pdf available to all is to have it uploaded to a website. I have no clue how to do this so would one of you kind Wingers with a website allow me to e-mail the pdf to you so that you can upload it there and thereby solve my problem?

209. Thepnr

@cal

Try using Google Docs. It’s easy enough to upload then share.

210. Chic McGregor

Thep[nr
    “One for the Geordies amongst us.”

A cover of a song written by Fifer Rab Noakes, who I was a big fan of back in the day.

211. Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

I never knew that! Well I mentioned in the past, we come here to be educated. Thanks Chic.

212. Jim Thomson

@Cal have a look at DropBox. That also allows you to share files.

http://www.dropbox.com

213. Cactus

Re Ronnie, I dinny ken that ‘Daniel Son’ song on the 6-string, ye may have tay day it acapella, but I’ll back you on the harmony..

Glad to see an eager response for The Newsroom. It’ll be interesting to see Edinburgh’s show of hands on the night, with only 19 days now to go.

Also, there appears to have been another lift in the campaign and further surge towards YES. At this rate we’re home and dry!

214. cal

Thanks Thepnr and John Thomson will check out those ideas.

215. Silverytay

Up until now I have not been fazed about a written constitution one way or another but after the last week one of the first things an Independent Scotland needs is a written constitution that hold politicians and the media to account for deliberately lying .

I believe there is a draft constitution due out in the next few weeks so it will be interesting to see what is in it .

216. Tam Jardine

@Ronnie Anderson, Gerry Parker

Well done kicking off the raffle – will need to find a buik and some stickers. Am sure I can find a wee something to add myself.

One question: is music appropriate? If so do we have anyone that can put a mix tape “ipod” together? I keep looking for the legendary CameronB – hope he is ok.

217. scaredy cat

@Cactus
    Shame you can’t do Danny Boy, I would definitely have joined in. However, given that you play harmonica, perhaps you could do this. Great intro. For some reason reminds me of Paula Rose, and my favourite Aerosmith song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycnVWTvnfpE

218. Thepnr

Wow scaredy cat.
    You are one weird lady lol ๐Ÿ™‚

219. scaredy cat

@ Cactus

And if you’re into harmonies they don’t come much better than this wee Glasgow band. Sound of summer or what? The Glaswegian beachboys, I say!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUN_xzUZasQ

220. Paula Rose

Did someone suggest I do it right?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7OzOCGKxbBg

221. scaredy cat

@thepnr
    You don’t know the half of it!

222. Nana Smith

The baton is on the way to the Forth road bridge so here’s an appropriate tune.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9-etJ3KmaA&feature=youtu.be

223. scaredy cat

@ Cactus

Do you know this? Melancholy but uplifting at the same time. I have loved this song for so long (always thought he was better than his more famous sister).
    Anyway, with the referendum in sight, it seems apt somehow. My son plays it, but I don’t think he can make it on 4th.

“Wild and free we’ll roam,
    Only a mile to go,
    it’s beautiful just over the wild mountainside”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSuL9JB-Uy4

we’re nearly there

224. rab_the_doubter

99.9% sure I’m coming along.
    If theres wifi access my Spotify account will be available. Can also do an offline playlist on it if necessary.

225. Chic McGregor

@thepnr

Aye, I had a lot of hope for Rab back then, had a signed copy of his ‘Do You See The Lights?’ debut album. But, with a pretty young wife and child it is all too understandable that he should seek a more lucrative career outside the Scottish folk circuit. First in the pop direction where he teamed up with Gerry Rafferty, another Scottish folk circuit generated talent, and then to Country in the US.

I think he was (is actually)so much better than that as a composer.

Here is one of the best tracks (IMHO) frop ‘DYSTL?’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMGUjdSb-tE

226. Paula Rose

Spread your wings dollies –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_guDC57qa4

227. scaredy cat

@ Nana Smith

Is that Eric Bogle?

228. scaredy cat

@ Paula Rose

I can listen to just about anything, but apart from one or two songs, I still struggle with country music.

229. Nana Smith

@scaredy cat

No. Its Robin Laing

230. Ian Brotherhood

@scaredy cat –

‘Melancholy but uplifting’. Nice theme.

Moby, ‘Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9h2_P8bFUyA

231. Paula Rose

@ scaredy cat – country and western, the white person’s blues ๐Ÿ˜‰

232. scaredy cat

@Ian Brotherhood

Oh yeah!

233. scaredy cat

youtu.be/D8axAKaObDo

One of my only country favourites. Also melancholy but uplifting

234. Liquid Lenny

scaredy cat
    Same with me and music, hated C+W with a vengeance until I went with a crowd from work to see the Highwaymen in Aberdeen about 20 years ago, Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson and Kris Kristopherson, talk about a supergroup. Anyway started off with Gram Parsons and still think that Streets of Baltimore is one of the best songs ever written, mind you Gram didn’t write it but performs it perfectly. Have a listen its brill

235. scaredy cat

youtube/D8axAKaObDo

Hmm. Using smartphone instead of laptop now and links don’t seem to work. Last attempt

236. Paula Rose

scaredy cat doll – this one?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D8axAKaObDo

237. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi to all the Thepnr bussers.
    Is there a charabanc at ยฃ15 a head being organised for the Edinburgh meet on 4th July?
    If so, book two seats for me and Pete the Camera, otherwise we’ll have to use our bus passes.

238. scaredy cat

#Paula Rose
    Yes. That’s the one. Now that guy can hold a note!

239. Clootie

The Rolling Stones – Sympathy For The Devil -HQ – YouTube
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vBecM3CQVD8

My favourite

240. Paula Rose

Footage of the Thepnr charabanc on its last outing to Glasgow…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ksvm7fovhJQ

241. Paula Rose

@Brian Doonthetoon – If enough people (30) declare their interest here Thepnr will give the bus company a ring.

242. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I know that was you on the roof, but where was that shot? Looks a wee bit like Motherwell.

243. Paula Rose

We did a wee detour through Cambuslang.

244. Paula Rose

THAT WAS NOT ME ON THE ROOF AND WELL YOU KNOW IT!

245. CameronB Brodie

Blush.

little things mean a lot – Kitty Kallen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2C7SzKv2uLU

246. Paula Rose

By my reckoning it must be time for No Tanks to roll this one out this week…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgmbfXld3z8

night night honeys.

247. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Bummer you’re off to bed. I wanted to remind you what famous chanter Paul Young was up to before rabid free-marketeers forced him to start singing ‘Soul Music’ and making bold claims regarding the whereabouts of his hat.

It’s now a useful valedictory for ‘The Labour Party in Scotland’:

Streetband, ‘Toast’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJmKStqugMc

248. squarego

@scaredycat 10.07
    I happen to know that some of those sunshiny musicians have been in about Wings since the early days.

249. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Hope you had sweet dreams, and this is for you pal, to get your new day off to a flier:

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WGVgfjnLqc

250. kininvie

How about – just uplifting?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WfM6nRVBvGs

251. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee tune that caresses my Soul,www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mwxga8udIio&feature=player_detailpage

252. gerry parker

@ Silvertay.
    I’m reading a good book just now on the constitution. Worth exploring further, there is a lot of work being done at the moment.
    I think it’s vitally important to get a constitution established before the first elections to an independent Scottish Government. A constitution is the best way to limit the power of those we hand it over to.

253. Thistle

Hi people

loads of new events planned and looking for help (sorry) with crowd funding which ends on June 23rd at midnight. If you cant contribute perhaps you could promote.

Got a cool we thing planned that may happen on 18th (no fixed time – live stream from Paris)… checkout Dr Mark McNaught. Will not know till that day and will post twitter, WoS and live stream channel etc.

Yes!!!

Crowd funding here:
    http://goo.gl/140ASi

254. Thistle

@gerry parker
    Gerry you should def checkout Dr Mark McNaught about constitution. We will be live streaming an event from Edinburgh covering this plus sneeky possible live stream as mentioned above – if happens ๐Ÿ™‚

255. gerry parker

@ Thistle, thanks for that. I see the draft bill has been published.

https://consult.scotland.gov.uk/elections-and-constitutional-development-division/scottish-independence-bill/supporting_documents/00452762.pdf

I’m still keeping an eye out for that Just Say Naw event locally.

256. Cal

Not sure if this will work but it’s a link to a pdf of a leaflet in Polish for campaigners to hand out

http://yesscotland.net/sites/default/files/resources/documents/przyszlosc_szkocji_w_naszych_rekach.pdf

If the above doesn’t work try

yesscotland.net/sites/default/files/resources/documents/przyszlosc_szkocji_w_naszych_rekach.pdf

257. semus

@ianbrotherhood. I came from Darkest Galloway to the last CH night in the hope of discussing with you, how to go about setting up crowd funding for WeeGingerDugs partner Andy(see WDG today)And also how to get WGD blogs printed as say like “The Patter”, but it was such a boorach we didn’t meet. I have been working on Paul’s tram project, and have many contacts in Czech Republic, where I have found a good inexpensiive printer in Jind?ich?v Hrรกdec for his Gaelic Maps, as well as an haulier ?SAD to SCotland. I noticed your email last night and now cannot find it.My e mail address is tir.nanog(at)seznam.cz Semus

258. JGedd

@TJenny @ Paula Rose

Paul has a piece today about the advice he has received regarding a crowd-funding exercise. Do you have any further info? There are people who read WGD regularly but might not know about this idea being raised on Wings. Several have expressed an interest in contributing but don’t know what to do yet.

259. rab_the_doubter

Looks like theres a nice wee limited edition Wings badge heading my way courtesy of kendomacaroonbar’s indiegogo fundraiser. Just in time as I idiotically managed to break the pin on the one he gave me at CH2.

260. Cal

Just found this cached article (the original has disappeared from the web) from the website of a Chinese Exhibition company. Not sure exactly what it is-perhaps a copy of a speech given at a conference?

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:http://www.ciptc-top.com/_d274430679.htm

Looks like prospects for N.Sea oil are pretty good. Who would have known?

261. TJenny

JGedd – I’ve read WGD’s blog and the advice he has given is that we can, more or less, raise funds as we want, as long as it’s in his partner’s name.

Sooooo, why don’t we get WGD to start up a charity in his partner’s name, (or a front name but registered to his partner to minimise unwanted publicity) and crowdfund to buy his house in Spain. This could be made available for other carers of those with the same type of medical diagnosis as WGD’s partner, as a respite house. That gives WGD and partner the sale price, outwith the Charity, of their property to use as they require.

Given we all know how much The Great Gordo makes from his charity, why can we not do the same for WGD and others in his position?

262. macart763m

@T Jenny

Just read it and sounds like a great idea.

Once set up, I’m sure an orderly queue will be formed to contribute. ๐Ÿ™‚

263. CameronB Brodie

@ HMG Better Together
    Re. your contrived outrage at coordinated abuse from barbarous hoards of cybernats (a pejorative akin to untermenschen). Well I think it’s time I got all Tarantino on your ass.

Dick Dale – Surfin’ Rebel
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00eO_OxGE9U

The Ventures – The Rat
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tU5V4iLyfHk

The Trashmen – King of the surf
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YTxFfpRYg3M

264. Kenny

@TJenny – sounds like a pretty good idea. Call it the Wee Ginger Dughoose.

265. Maybolebuddie

Is someone in the process of arranging a crowd funding link for WGD? Would like to make a contribution

266. Steve Bowers

“Maybolebuddie” me an’a thought it was already set up, love the idea of buying the Spanish property….Tjenny. anybody got a scoodydoo as to what’s happening ?

267. TJenny

Kenny, Maybolebuddie, Steve Bowers et al – I think we may need to get WGD, with authority from his partner, to set up a paypal or somesuch vehicle for crowdfunding, saying the cost of the house raised will ensure house donated to charity and monies used from sale for continued caring of WGD’s spouse with a donation to the charity fund – maybe?

268. Dick Gaughan

Re WGD crowdfund. I presume whoever is coordinating this will keep us posted on here as to how to contribute etc. If anyone deserves a wee hand it’s Paul and good on yez for thinking of doing this. You make me proud to be a cybernat ๐Ÿ™‚

269. Steve Bowers

Good idea, so we wait for Paul to set that up, once done perhaps the REV can do it on the “big screen” for them !

270. Helena Brown

Will you let us know what is happening with Paul’s/Andy’s crowdfunder as we would like to contribute something. The Broons of Fife, naw not them.

271. Vlad (not that one)

O/T: Help wanted:

A group of Croatian friends of Scotland will meet the President of Croatia this week on Saturday, the 21st June, to put in a good word for Scotland. I volunteered to assist if I can.

Now, when one tries to elicit support for the Scottish independence cause in Croatia, one finds that most people are mildly sympathetic, but a few will respond with something like โ€œbut what have the Scots ever done for us?โ€ In that case I tell them that I remember how in the autumn of 1991, at the time of Croatiaโ€™s war for independence, the SNP annual conference in Inverness passed a motion of support for Croatia.

This would be a good point to make to the President. Regrettably I cannot find any evidence to support my recollection. I have tried the SNP, but received no reply to my emails. Some record of the 1991 Conference must exist somewhere. Can anyone help in the next couple of days? Time is running out.

272. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    I’d love to help in any way, though like yourself, wouldn’t want folk to think I’m pushy. ๐Ÿ™‚

273. Bugger (the Panda)

you pushy?

Heaven forefend!

274. Bugger (the Panda)

missed out

๐Ÿ™‚

275. WeeGingerDug

Hi everyone,

I’ve passed Andy’s bank details to JGedd, she and her husband are good personal friends. But the truth is I have no idea how to go about setting up crowd funding or anything like that and I’ve already got my hands full as things are. I would prefer to leave it to you good people to sort out how you want to do this.

I love the idea of a Wee Ginger Dughoose as a respite holiday home for carers. It’s a marvellous idea especially because a lot of carers struggle to afford a holiday even if they can get respite care – but perhaps if you want to go ahead with that it may be an idea to liaise with a carer’s charity or dementia support group? I really am in no position to manage what’s effectively a rental house in another country.

I’d just like to say again how moved and touched I am by you all. I’m sitting here greeting as I type. With folk like you in it, Scotland has a beautiful future – a caring future.

276. CameronB Brodie

Bugger (the Panda)
    Wanna see me really put my expanding and not inconsiderable weight about? ๐Ÿ™‚

277. CameronB Brodie

OMG, am I finally attracting mass appeal? ๐Ÿ™‚

278. TJenny

WGD – Hi, posted a comment (well 2) on your website – being moderated as it’s my first postings there.

Anyway, googled a few articles on registering as a charity and they seem to be hog-tied by legal obligations (providing annual reports etc).

I think therefore just a paypal type page for WGD crowdfund would be the thing to do, but would need input by yourself Paul, as you’d need to set up a bank acct to receive all the payments.

Maybe Stuey can advise you on this, via his contact page?

Stay wonderful. ๐Ÿ™‚

TJ

279. eezy

JGedd says:

Paul could have a link on the WGD blog which leads to whatever type off account is deemed fitting.
    I’m sure Stuart at WoS could advise….

280. TJenny

eezy – that would do it, but WGD needs to set up an account under his name or his partner’s or both, depending on whether he has power of attorney for his partner, joint accounts and what their inheritance rights as a couple are, I suppose.

281. cal

Vlad (not that one)

Is this any use?

http://www.parliament.uk/edm/1991-92/138

282. Rosa Alba Macdonald

@wee ginger dug – what might also help (says one stuck 24/7 with a 10 year old who became virtually non-communicating and when he did violent.agressive) is if people you know in real life (and people they know) organise regular drop-ins at your house.
    The isolation of caring is hard. The isolation of being on-call through the night and with someone who struggles to communicate harder yet.
    Online interaction is great, but regular visitors are better. Especially if they drop in with a curry and some (beverage of choice)…or even sit long enough with the cared-for person to allow you to nip out to get a curry – then share it with you.
    People are scared off by ill-ness or dependence and do not see the social needs of the carer. Even a phone call can help.

283. Kenny

Find a suitable charity. WGD may have a recommendation. Talk to them and see if they can afford to manage a respite house. If they can, we raise the cash then donate it with that provision. My suspicion is that such an appeal could attract more than is needed, in which case the extra could go towards’s a bit of respite for WGD himself or to respite services generally.

284. TJenny

Kenny – or, as I’d prefer all monies to go WGD as opposed to an organised charity, once WGD has set up a bank account for the crowdfunding to be paid into, he can use the money to pay for some respite care for his partner, a bed for himself, and any costs incurred on having the house on the market (local taxes etc), until it sells. It’s bound to sell eventually, as it looks a lovely house, and things in the Eurozone are apparently on the up.

There doesn’t seem to be any tax consequences on gifted money (otherwise the ยฃmillions donated by the Weirs and JRK would be affected, no?).

I will of course go by whatever WGD suggests. ๐Ÿ™‚

285. Kenny

Fair play. There could conceivably be a tax advantage in donating the value of the house to WGD’s partner then they donate the house to a charity. I’m not as up to date on charitable donation laws as I’d like, but that might be a way to solve several problems at once. And it would give Yes supporters a really nice thing to coalesce around – a chance to show that Scotland cares. WGD could even offer the first stay to that nice Lally family…

286. TJenny

Kenny – Hee, hee, now that’d definitely be sublime irony. ๐Ÿ™‚

287. Paula Rose

I was going to make a comment about the neighbours and possible ramps, but that would be abusive so I won’t (slaps own wrist).

288. ronnie anderson

Setting up a Registered Charity ( Wee Ginger Dug) is easy

Set up a Committee ( minuted ) aims/objectives/benifits/

envirions/funding.

Chairperson / Sectetary / Committee formed (minuted)

bank Account can be opened ( 3 Signitories )

O S C R are very helpfull forms can be a bit of a pain.

I had a Registered Charity for my Football Club ( the only one in Scotland ) as I was intending to accuire land
    to build a football field ,so if yous need any help,
    yous have my number.

289. CameronB Brodie

@ HMG Better Together
    Tarantino on your ass, part 2.

The Champs-Experiment In Terror
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLtlY573XdA

Marianne Faithfull – This Little Bird
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyfPiKoypxQ

Tomahawk – God Hates a Coward
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jt856_nRxQk

290. TJenny

ronnie – if WGD thinks the charity route is the way to go, so be it, but, not knowing where he lives, would there not need to be people near him to be on the committee and deal with the admin etc, as he clearly wouldn’t have any time to do it himself.

Still think crowdfunding’s probably easiest as money would just go straight into his bank account, with no admin required.

291. X_Sticks

Finally catching up with the O/T.

4th July Newsroom, I’ll be working towards that ๐Ÿ˜€

A Wee Ginger Dug crowdfund? Count me in. What a braw bunch yous all are. Big X for TJenny.

292. TJenny

X_Sticks – thank you and xxs right back at you. ๐Ÿ™‚

293. JGedd

@TJenny

I’m tending to go with your idea. Thank you, Ronnie, for your offer of help but as TJenny is saying it would still involve a certain amount of maintenance and admin which WGD hasn’t time for at the moment. I also think that he would rather stay out of the crowdfunding himself.

294. heraldnomore

Charitable Trust deed is relatively straightforward, with drafts available from SRCVS which can be adjusted to suit. Firstly three trustees needed, perhaps WGD plus two others, ideally one with professional input. Send documents to OSCR for approval. Annual returns thereafter, with accounts signed off independently.

However ownership of property in Spain may be another matter, and would need local agent to deal with Spanish title etc.

Ultimately though, Yes We Can

295. heraldnomore

Sod it, SCVS

296. Vlad (not that one)

@cal at 6:32

Thanks Cal. I shall use the info, but would still like to get hold of a record of the 1991 SNP Conference in Inverness.

297. TJenny

Jgedd – how will WGD stay out of the crowdfunding when he’ll need to be the one to set it up with bank details etc.

298. TJenny

JGedd – how will WGD be able to stay out of the crowdfunding when he’ll need to be the one to set it up with bank details etc. True, he wont have to do anything after that though (except, hopefully, relax a wee bitty). ๐Ÿ™‚

299. TJenny

Didn’t mean to post that twice.darnit.

300. Paula Rose

Something to discuss on the 4th – which gives me the chance to point out that the Wings over Angus bus will roll again if there’s enough demand.

301. TJenny

OK, update. WGD has posted on his blog that he’s contacted Stu for advice – so things starting to move along. ๐Ÿ™‚

302. JGedd

TJenny

Well as you can tell, I don’t know much about this kind of thing. Do you know any way of doing this? He has given bank details to us but I would prefer someone with expertise to deal with this properly. We also live quite a distance away from WGD though in touch by phone.
    If you or anyone else has a fairly simple way of setting this up then any help or suggestions would be welcome.

303. heraldnomore

Ronnie have you tried opening a bank account lately? It’s one of those rather-stick-needles-in-your-eyes things these days. Passports, leccy bills, three of you going together.

Latest experience was a change of signatories and office bearers – that took six weeks by the time local branch sent it all off to processing centre to do whatever it was they did which doesn’t involve telling the customer anything.

And if it’s a trust account, sheesh. Trust of course is not a word that features in banking handbooks. And charitable…

Hell for that sort of account a certain banking venture owned between the Co-op, the unions and the red rosette party are easier to deal with; but we ain’t going there for WGD

304. JGedd

TJenny

Just saw your comment above. So WGD has been in touch with Stu. He will be able to advise.

305. Paula Rose

Let’s have a dance then… a repeat, one of my faves…

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=026_1392052338#eVDdhwsoRejQcKoY.01

306. TJenny

JGedd – yes, I think now we have to wait for WGD’s instructions after he’s heard Stu’s advice. The way the WOS crowdfund was set up seems easiest all round, at least from the user end and can’ see it not being straightforward at the other end either.

WGD clearly has enough to do without faffing fruitlessly about in banks trying to set up an account – just ask the Panda.

307. X_Sticks

After all that jumping around to Laurel and Hardy how about this one from the vaults to slow it down. 3-1/2 minutes dedicated to Wings and the whole Yes movement.

Enjoy.

youtube.com/watch?v=LOi_wxypeGc

308. X_Sticks

@TJenny

Saw you post on WGD but Paul had already replied. Stu’s on the case so it’ll be fine ๐Ÿ˜€

309. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a new theme folks – songs that are almost impossible to ‘hum’ from memory:

No Doubt, ‘It’s My Life’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubvV498pyIM

310. TJenny

X_Sticks – yeah a couple of posts crossed but we know now to wait for the update on action from WGD.

311. Michael McCabe

I Used to think that this day would never come. But now it is nearly here and I have Faith, True Faith. And there will be a new order.www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_rhnHpRSXQ&list=PLTwjlcWjllHuXBMHxqm6tVy7_eEfgoBF1&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

312. TJenny

Michael McCabe – er, that link doesn’t seem to be opening. You need to take everything out before the www before posting.

313. Michael McCabe

Sorry I hope this works. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfI1S0PKJR8&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

314. TJenny

Michael McCabe – perfick. ๐Ÿ™‚

315. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

!!!

Fantastic video. Only ever saw small snatches of that, many many moons ago – a total delight to see the whole thing. Wonderful. Cheers aplenty.

316. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Here is one you can definitely hum along with. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoweGN8cm5g&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

317. Cactus

Cool tunes Scaredy Cat, on the theme of Aerosmith, here’s another cracker..

Don’t Get Mad, Get Even
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TdsUY7rNStI

Also thought I’d share this.. I was out driving today and none other than Scotland’s Deputy FM was crossing the road in front of me.. I gave a toot and a big thumbs up, Nicola smiled back and gave a wave. It was refreshing to make a connection with one of Independent Scotland’s future leaders. Looking good Nicola ๐Ÿ™‚

318. Macart

Right guys WGD has his contribution site set.

http://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2014/06/17/wee-ginger-care-needs/comment-page-1/#comment-5920

Let’s be on the side of angels. ๐Ÿ™‚

319. TJenny

Macart – wee donation made to WGD, please let’s make this happen for him. ๐Ÿ™‚

320. Jim Thomson

direct link to the WGD Indiegogo page

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/wee-ginger-care-needs/#pledges

Doing well already ๐Ÿ™‚

321. Jim Thomson

OK – what have I done? “awaiting moderation” I even stripped off the https:// bit

Confused of Troon

322. Steve Bowers

Done and posted on FB, got a very good feeling about this, I love seeing people power in action, let’s all get on it folks

323. Macart

TJenny

Getting paid Thursday and WGD will have Paypal up and running tomorrow.

Timing couldn’t be better. ๐Ÿ™‚

324. TJenny

Macart – it seems to be up and running now, as I managed to make a donation, and he’s already raised ยฃ2956.00 – hurrah. ๐Ÿ™‚

325. CameronB Brodie

@ HMG Better Together
    Some tunes that sprang to mind when thinking of you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Staggers – Book of the Dead
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TkDQKE5DIFs

The Subways – Rock`N`Roll Queen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rr6qBaLu7rI&list=PL1DAA68EC14CFC46E&index=1

The Blue Bloods – The Ties That Bind
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTjRg7juQC0

326. Paula Rose

Just been out watching swifts mating – they do it on the wing, yep whilst flying.

327. Conan_the_Librarian

@Paula Rose

Have you tried throwing doughnuts at them…?

328. Paula Rose

Conan dear you are very, very naughty and if you show up in Edinburgh I will not be responsible for my actions.

329. Paula Rose

I always like to provide an alternative view of history – an English one…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EoXHgBhWbyw

330. Ian Brotherhood

Just spent a sweaty two hours leafleting in Kincaidstone, Ayr. Lovely setting, and very peaceful, but whoever is responsible for the street-naming and numbering needs a good kick up the hole. What appear to be entrances are actually back gardens…40 foot long paths ascend 15-degrees, multiple flights of stairs, then back down to do the next one, and the door’s only a few feet away from the previous one…

It must be a postie’s nightmare. In one of the bushes roadside lies an old Domino’s Pizza car-roof-sign, abandoned by some poor demented sowel who simply gave up trying to find such-and-such a street, and eventually just ditched the sign, then made off home with the pizza.

Anyone know where I’m on about? One of the SSP pals took some kind of heatstroke and had to go home early. I hope to god we get a decent turnout for this meeting after all this – next Monday. I’ll post details nearer the time. (And BTW Rev, your leaflet was in there.)

331. Paula Rose

@ Ian – we will win my friend, with the likes of yourself, how can we fail?

332. Oneironaut

Wow, looks like I missed a lot while I was away.
    (phone company pulled the plug on me for a few days, but you can’t keep a good Cybernat down!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Just caught up on the WGD situation.
    Have to say this makes a nice counter-point to the couple of No voters I had the misfortune to encounter at a street stall in Ayr on Monday, and in the attempt to engage in a short debate with them, their general attitude could be best described as: “I’m doing ok, who gives a s*** about anyone else?”

This proves that they are in the minority though. Forget Braveheart and all that, THIS is what being a proud Scot is all about. Unlike the over-privileged fat cats at Westminster, we actually care for our fellow man (or woman or anything else, not playing any favourites there!)

I like TJenny’s idea there, and I’ll try and chuck a few quid into the mix if that Crowdfunding idea goes ahead. Also if you need any free tech support, just give me a shout ๐Ÿ™‚

On a similar note, does anyone know what happened with that “10,000 Flags for Yes” thing that was running a few months back? Haven’t heard anything about it recently…

333. Paula Rose

We will get it cos we really want…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18EAqHx2lMk

334. TJenny

Oneironaut – on ye go – here’s the link to WGD’s crowdfunding page.

335. Oneironaut

@TJenny

That was quick. Thanks for the link ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll need to put some cash back in the bank tomorrow before I can use my card on there, but I’ll definitely chip in something then.

Wishing you all luck in reaching (and passing) that target figure! ๐Ÿ˜€

336. Quinie frae Angus

Good evening my Lovely Wingers

Waving in the distance from the Land-of-Cannae-Get-A–Comment-Tae-Stick-For-Love-Nor-Money!

So testing to see if it works before I write any more…….

337. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.
    After meeting you on the Wings Over Angus charabanc coming home from Glasgow, I couldn’t get this song out of my mind.
    It has now reached the point where I am no longer able to hold back.
    So, this is for you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxcbstXqGcU

338. Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmmm…
    That one worked. I’ll try the couple from the other night that just wouldn’t take.

Here’s the first:
    A wee bit of music to end my internet activity for tonight.
    Countries are always female, iye? So this is for Scotland, from a Scottish group…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-p_0EIJ2bfA

339. Brian Doonthetoon

That one worked as well.

Strange. WordPress or whatever still doesn’t like the second one I tried to post the other night. One last attempt…
    Nope – just doesn’t like it.

WordPress must have some sort of ‘novelty-crap music’ filter in operation.

340. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

Blimey, you do get about the place. Furryboots you noo?

341. Paula Rose

@ Quinie frae Angus – HIYA doll!

342. Paula Rose

One for you Brian –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WUSYb3igXzI

343. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee reggae song for all the people we miss.www.youtube.com/watch?v=-CuoPHc1B1M&feature=player_detailpage btw Vote Yes.

344. TJenny

Quinie frae Angus – Hi – do you know if you will be coming along to The Newsroom in Edin on Fri 4th July, and are you somewhere that will allow the use of modern trickcity to tell us?

345. TJenny

? why’s my post gone into moderation? Haven’t changed my details?

346. TJenny

posted OK I see – weird.

347. ronnie anderson

Hiya Quinie hope you can make Emburgh nite oot.

348. Thepnr

Hello all.

While you are on just want to say that I am considering running a bus again from Dundee and Angus. I’d like to get the same bus again as we have some friends that a toilet is good. Including me!

Ok to make this viable, I need 30 names at ยฃ15/each, got Paula Rose, Briandoonthetoon, Pete the Camera, myself. So 26 needed, tall order. Come on you wingers from our our area give me a shout and I’ll get it done.

If the bus doesn’t take off I’ll be going by train so I’m sure we could meet up for that.

Chic what about you and the missus and ny friends? I would guess I need need to know by a week on Friday as that only leaves a week to book the bus.

349. Quinie frae Angus

Oh, whoop-de-doo! At last!

Well, the following is of no import and offers no enlightenment whatsoever but I just had to get something off my chest – and this is the only place I can do it among freens’ who will truly understand what I’m on aboot!

I’ve been away working abroad all of last week, with no internet access whatsoever. Then came back at the weekend to find (to my horror) that the Mother of All Cybernattery Scandals had broken out all over the MSM – with our cherished Rev Stu getting pelters from all and sundry. I’m sure you can imagine how sick at heart I felt. I was emotional and exhausted as it was. Had missed every day of the twists and turns too, so had to catch up on things pretty fast. Every page brought new waves of heart-sickness.

Worst of all, having only weeks beforehand written a post praising Rev Stu’s site and the quality of his journalism being streets ahead of an increasingly untrustworthy MSM, on my Facebook page (sharing his last big stats article), I now had a pal – who I believe is an indy supporter – suggesting (on FB) that I might regret having been so complimentary about him now…..and criticising the quality and accountability of his journalism.

I then spent the weekend writing a long and detailed tome of a thread on my original FB share of his stats article, explaining; justifying, and backing to the hilt my support of and belief in Stuart’s outstanding journalism and utter credibility. The thread took various twists and turns and sapped my entire weekend. (Not quite as long as our Off-topic thread, but near enough!) I did, to be honest, mention the caveat that I am not a fan of Stu’s, shall we say, fruitier language on the Twitter thread etc etc, because I’m not. But as I acknowledged, he’s his own man, and it’s his own site, and Twitter thread, and he can write whatever he likes. Personally I am not a fan of the tone on the Twitter thing sometimes, but I made it clear that this is a distinct style from his actual site articles. And that in any bloomin’ case, this DOES NOT TAKE AWAY from my wholesale belief in the body and substance of his work, and his tenacious commitment to factual accuracy, corroborated evidence, and the unprecedented provision of links to everything he writes about.

Anyway, the friend and I eventually reached a mutual understanding, and the thread has now wound down. Heck, it’s hard work, is it not, this struggle for our self-determination?! Jeezo! We’ve got a bunch of corrupt thieving liars ruling over us to deal with – why are we wasting precious hours of our lives dealing with this petty, manufactured media crap? Anyway, hey-ho. It had to be done.

Anyway, the upshot is that during all of this time-consuming, brain-meltingly carefully-executed prose crafting, (and acutely aware that other FB friends of mine include journos and former colleagues who still work for a certain well-known broadcaster or two) I realised something about myself.

Which is this:

I have, until now, been wary of sharing posts and articles on FB (Wingy or otherwise) that appear too critical of a certain well-known broadcaster or two. Partially because I am conscious that I cannot afford to bite the hand of the dog that still (from time to time, but indirectly) feeds me; but mostly, because I didn’t want to cause offence, hurt, or friendship-killing insults to those who are in there beavering away, utterly sincerely, under the conditions that Derek Bateman can describe so much more eloquently and bravely than I can. Indeed, my long years of experience there were not, on the whole, spent in the news/current affairs/politics departments, so I cannot begin to pretend I know what Derek knows about the inner workings of that particular department. So in short, the thought of being de-friended (Aaargh!) by someone I knew, and liked, but who felt personally insulted or wronged, by a careless “Biased!” post on my part, was a step I strategically avoided making. Oh, don’t get me wrong – I’ve been sharing Wings, Newsnet, WGD and other articles like a crazy woman for the past four years! Just not the specific ones that directly criticised my erstwhile and now indirectly occasional employer. I’ve been a skint freelancer once too often to wish to go back down that road again if I can help it. But luckily things are good again on the work front so I have my confidence back and can put food on the table again, thankfully.

Anyway: so pissed off was I, at having to work so hard to justify my support of Wings, and my wee contribution to the Wingy crowdfunds, in the face of such utter bawbaggery of a rubbish, poorly-researched and cynical MSM trying to bring him down, and demonise him the way they have over the last few days …..well, some sort of light bulb went off in my heart.

There he is, working morning, noon and night, grafting away to bring us the kind of investigative journalism we’re starved of from the MSM. Heck, we don’t even know if he’s getting enough fruit, vegetables, sleep and exercise to keep him healthy and well. (I sincerely hope you are, Rev!!) This site has grown beyond his wildest imaginings and it must be so hard for him to keep up the momentum and fulfil all these expectations we have built up of him – as well as deal with all this bitter enmity, maligning and yes, defamation he’s getting from all quarters. (Including some Yessers!) It must take a physical and emotional toll on him and I – like everyone here – am so grateful for this tenacity, and don’t know where the indy movement would be without him.

If Rev Stu can do all of THAT, then I’m damned sure that I can put up with the odd “de-friending” or two, if it happens. I don’t care any more. Time is short. We all need to “man up” and do everything that we can do to grasp this historic opportunity and not hide our wee light under bushels any longer.

So, in short – I’m “out of the closet” now. It’s there on my FB for all to see: my continued endorsement of Wings; my disappointment and lack of faith in the journalistic standards of a certain broadcaster or two; and my determination to bring about a Yes vote by ensuring that none of MY friends and family – FB or otherwise – are kept any longer in the dark about the powerful forces that are actively and stealthily operating to keep us in the dark and bring about the failure of the Scottish Independence Movement.

Two more things: I know that friends of mine who still work in there DO read my posts, and whether they agree with them or not, they haven’t de-friended me yet…..and I’ve decided that even if they do, well, so what? If I can’t speak freely about the media manipulation then what is the purpose of being a committed Winger in the first place? In fact, I am definitely detecting a growing sense of mutiny and unrest in there as journos and programme-makers become increasingly uncomfortable at the public’s lack of trust in the output, and even further appalled at the antics of the management (and believe me – it DOES all – pretty much -boil down to the appalling and dysfunctional management).

Anyway, I really did not post this to invite a slew of questions as to “what I know” etc etc. Believe me, I don’t know a great deal, and it’s years since I worked there. Please let’s leave that to Derek B, who I rate up there with Rev Stu in the rankings of “brave Scots with stomachs of iron, hides of rhinos and balls of steel”.

Just thought I’d share my recent thoughts and feelings with my Wingy friends in the private (Ha ha!!) Off-Topic thread, as I knew you would understand where I am coming from!

These are desperate times, and desperate times call for desperate measures!

Oh, and one final thing – yes please, I DEFINITELY wish to help crowdfund the Wee Ginger Dughoose for Carers!

And I do hope to be able to make it to the Edinburgh Wings Nicht Oot! Will be able to tell you definitely nearer the time.

Thanks for reading, anyone who may still be awake at this late hour.

350. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    Alpha Blondy – Wish You Were Here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-CuoPHc1B1M&feature=player_detailpage

There you go. You shouldn’t have problems posting, if you remove everything that precedes the www in the address. ๐Ÿ˜‰

351. Quinie frae Angus

Phew! So pleased it actually stuck that time! Couldnae go through all that again!

352. Thepnr

@Quinie frae Angus

Astonishing post. No, really that was a true coming out. Well done you. Don’t regret it now tomorrow, what’s done is done. Look to the future, I for one was very pleased to read your heartfelt comment and also proud.

I know how difficult it can be to drop the shackles and just go for it. Well done, your a fighter and make me pleased to have met you. Onwards and upwards. See you in Edinburgh :0)

353. Quinie frae Angus

Ian Brotherhood, TJenny, Paula Rose, Thepnr et al

Hi again, all!

Yes, would love to come to Edinburgh on 4th July but can’t say for definite yet. Would probably just be coming straight from Glasgow though, Thepnr, and may well stay overnight in Edinburgh with an old friend. If not though, I may see if there is a wee spot on the Dundee Bus Party, as I did last time? Will have to play it by ear for the moment.

354. CameronB Brodie

Quinie frae Angus
    Wow. I’ll no try an get in your way then. ๐Ÿ™‚

355. Michael McCabe

@ CameronB Brodie Cheers.

356. Thepnr

Q You’ve been very brave for all the right reasons. This proves it> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtK-QCiD-FE

357. Quinie frae Angus

@Cameron Brodie

Ha ha, I am in no way as fierce as my post would have you believe!! (Ask Paula Rose….;-)

@Thepnr

Thank you for your reassuring words. No regrets whatsoever. It’s been a long time coming. I’ve been following Wings ever since he started the blog. We need to show some solidarity when the chips are down.

By the way, I must emphasise – the friend I was describing with whom I was having this FB dialogue is not the bawbag!! It’s the media bawbaggery I was meaning! (Think in my tiredness I didn’t express myself well and that may have come across a bit ambiguously.) The friend is a great person with whom I go back a long way. Just the usual story really: someone whose only knowledge of the site, I suspect, was what they read in the papers or saw on the telly. Or maybe only read one or two posts rather than truly understanding what the Rev is managing to pull off here – i.e. eye-popping enlightenment!!

However, this friend is a person who I imagine will now, in the light of the light I hope I was able to shed, do a bit more reading in order to see whether or not there is any merit in what I was saying, or whether in fact I was talking a load of boll****, ha ha!

We have made a commitment to meet up again soon in person – I’ll ask him and let you know if there has been any “movement”!

358. Thepnr

Let’s hope there has not been too much movement other than towards Yes. I should have added a small warning to that video I posted earlier it is brutal and only for those with some gumption.

359. Quinie frae Angus

@Thepnr

I’ve got plenty gumption and that video summarises the sickening reality of what we are up against. I’m sitting here greetin’, now. But for all the right reasons.

Thanks so much for posting that video – brutal yes, but a timely and essential reminder of EXACTLY why we all have to absolutely pull together, and pull this off. You’ve made me remember what it’s all about, and indeed what I’m all about.

Scottish independence will be a game-changer – we must make it so. I truly believe that regaining our country’s autonomy will be the start – a small start, but a very important start – of a dynamic new focus on healing rather than destroying. This astonishing, vibrant grass-roots movement of so many airts and pairts that we have managed to grow isn’t going to go away! And that’s what the dark forces are so panicked about.

We MUST make a concerted effort to expose and remove the polluting, corrupt neo-con power bases which rule this planet and threaten the lives and happiness of future generations.

I’m going to stop now as there are tears spilling on to my dilapidated old laptop and I need to go to my bed.

Night, Thepnr, and thank you.

Night Stu, and thank you.

Night everyone.

(Feel like I’m in the Waltons, here!!)

Oh no, wish I hadn’t mentioned the Waltons. I’m going to start greetin’ again…..

360. Thepnr

That Johnny Cash song was only written in 2002 juat before he died. So he had seen probably all of the things that were in the video, though that was some other sole put that together.

My old man liked him, he wasn’t a fool, but a believer in justice.

361. Cactus

@Quinie frae Angus ~ Cracking posts, hopefully thistle inspire and move a few others to YES ๐Ÿ™‚

Regarding Edinburgh y’all, I was thinking about getting the train across from Glasgow.. sooooo, who all fancies getting on that home-bound train?

Today is the 18th of June, we’re now into the last quarter, in 3 months we all vote for Scotland. Time to get Scotland more visible people.. get your tartans out!

362. Thepnr

@Cactus

I had you down as an Edinburgh man. Don’y ask why, summit to do with organising one in Edinburgh, must have fucked up there.

363. Jim Thomson

WGD update

the tally is ยฃ24 short of half way as I type.

364. Oneironaut

@Quinie frae Angus
    Just woke up here and loaded up this page to find your incredibly awesome post!

Seriously, very well said! ๐Ÿ˜€

That’s exactly the sort of climate that Westminster wants to create, making people afraid to speak out against them, for fear of losing their jobs, losing their friends and losing pretty much everything else they can take.

Whether we’re concealed behind the comforting veil of anonymity or right out there in people’s faces on street stalls (I’ve always done the former, but it was only my rage at the bedroom tax that finally drove me to do the latter), we all have to be able to speak our minds. Otherwise, we just let them win.

So congrats to you for “coming out of the closet” so to speak! ๐Ÿ˜€

This shall be the theme of today’s music link from me…

Silence can destroy. Get up and raise your voice… Make some noise!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVnS1t6N5ew

365. gerry parker

@HandandShrimp.
    British Bulldog.

Rectangular playground, one person stands in the centre with everyone lined up at the far side.

One in the centre shouts BRITISH, the rest holler BULLDOG and proceed to rush to the other side of the playground and safety. British tries to catch as many as he can on the way over.
    Anyone caught then helps the BRITISH caller to catch the others on the next call of British, and the reply of Bulldog with the rush to the other side of the playground. As more and more are caught the catchers start to outnumber the runners till everyone is caught.

We had an ideal playground for it, bounded on the top side by the toilet blocks, and on the bottom side by the School building itself, so no out of bounds.
    Doubt if it’s played anymore.

366. HandandShrimp

Gerry

Ah I remember! – The object was to avoid being British

๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

367. Silverytay

Gerry , I can assure you that it is still played in schools , we banned it due to the fights it caused but as fast as you ban it the kids start it up again under a new name .

You can’t beat kids ingenuity .

368. gerry parker

@Silvertay, thanks for that, good to hear the old games still survive.

369. Silverytay

Gerry
    We will have to catch up sometime but with it coming up to the end of term things are a bit chaotic in the school just now .

I am still willing to stick my hand in my back pocket if you think it is feasible .

370. CameronB Brodie

If ‘the feecjie touch’ was about social exclusion, was British Bulldogs a lesson in the grasping ambitions of empire? ๐Ÿ™‚

371. CameronB Brodie

Feechie yah numptie.

372. gerry parker

@Silvertay.
    Many thanks. Have been out of circulation. Grandchildren, Gout. etc.

๐Ÿ™‚

373. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

Wonderful posts above. More power to ye.

374. CameronB Brodie

As some of us are talking primary school ‘culture’, I would be grateful if someone could upload “Woodwork Woodwork” and “This Is The Game” from the Saint Andrew album “The Word on the Pavey”. A big TA, if possible.

Just ane aye they days I suppose…
    when you’re perfectly glad wi’ th’ size if yer nose.

Feechie touch Saint Andrew – “This Is The Game”

(done in a rumba beat I think) ๐Ÿ™‚

375. Oneironaut

Finally managed to donate 25 quid to the WGD fund.

Been hindered by the inept coding of whatever monkey-with-a-keyboard set up the Bank of Scotland secure site, but hopefully it worked ok.

Over halfway to the target now I see ๐Ÿ˜€

376. ronnie anderson

@Quinie Fae Angus 1.20am,Quinie if theres no movement from

friend I would recommend Sennakot extra,an stand at a safe

distance 1 mile should keep you safe.

377. Thepnr

@Quinie frae Angus

Another day closer to the referendum and what you wrote last night was the most powerful argument for Independence I’ve saw yet.

We need to shake off the fear and stand on our own two feet. The most important thing though is to persuade our fellow Scots that this is true.

As you say time is short, very short indeed. If you belive the polls we are still behind but the gap is closing. I know that with a concerted effort from the grassroots campaign in this final three months we will win.

I spoke to a stranger today sitting at the tables and chairs outside the pub in the beautiful sunshine. I exchanged pleasantry’s then asked his opinion on the referendum.

“I’m a No” says he. I smiled well “I’m a Yes”. He returned my smile and we left it at that for a bit. I got to know his job, his family and his reasons for voting No.

Left it a bit.

Then brought it up again, Labour man through and through and always had been, I told him I was the same. Showed him my Labour for Independence card, he had never heard of them. Doesn’t have or use the Internet.

However by the time we went our separate ways he had a heap to think of, and in my view had become an undecided, never forget this was a gentleman around 60 years old, they have voting family that he could persuade and with my words ringing in his ear about “seeking the truth”.

We could do this.

378. CameronB Brodie

Just because I’ve run out of Beta blockers again. ๐Ÿ™‚

Cellos – Under Your Spell
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BA1y3mo7QBw

LaVern Baker – How Can You Leave A Man Like This
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpQunLr94oM

The Fabulous Wailers with Little Gail Harris – I Idolize You
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=inDtseqVqLE&list=PLcfrmgDOI6OHAADyRfSLGbcOARTZTmJz2
    (a 17 year old lass)

379. CameronB Brodie

correction, 15 year old lass.

380. CameronB Brodie

I thought this could come in handy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Analysis of Nazi Propaganda
    A Behavioral Study
    Karthik Narayanaswami
    HIST E 1572: Holocaust in History, Literature, and Film
    Harvard University

http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/karthik/files/2011/04/HIST-1572-Analysis-of-Nazi-Propaganda-KNarayanaswami.pdf

381. WeeGingerDug

We got a visit from Ronnie this afternoon, and the Dug made a new best friend.

http://weegingerdug.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/dscf0245.jpg

382. Thepnr

WGD

That’s brilliant, big ronnie is a man I admire, but that’s no a wee dug. Mine is a wee dug will stick up apicture is I can.

383. Tam Jardine

@Quinie frae Angus

Thanks for the wonderful, inspirational posts – hope you can make it on the 4th. That fair made my evening!

@CameronB

Good stuff – will be guid meeting you. A little light bedtime reading on nazi propaganda? There will be papers written on the BT efforts in the future – some poor academic is going to have a miserable job documenting it and analysing it if they don’t find this site first!

384. WeeGingerDug

No he’s not that wee a dug. But “Bigger Than A Spaniel But Smaller Than A Labrador Sized Ginger Dug” wasn’t such a snappy blog title.

385. scaredy cat

@Quinie Fae Angus
    Nice to have you back among us. I know it took a lot for you to make that post but I’m so glad you did. Hope to see you in Edinburgh on 4th.

386. Thepnr

Here you go, stuck it on the main thread by mistake ๐Ÿ™‚

http://i804.photobucket.com/albums/yy321/Thepnr/MacAgility1_zps2d08104e.jpg

This dog has Wings!

387. WeeGingerDug

@Thepnr

Awwwww the cute wee dug.

That’s a lovely photie.

388. WeeGingerDug

Off to write a blog post now. About the very intriguing fact that the Spanish Foreign Ministry refused to do an interview with the BBC’s Scotland 2014. That’s hugely revealing that is.

389. Quinie frae Angus

@ Everybody

Thanks so much for the kind comments re my outpourings….am feeling a great sense of relief.

Really looking forward to the 4th in Edinburgh, if I can make it!

390. Thepnr

Good man Paul. More power to your keyboard.

391. Bob Sinclair

The Cybernat formerly known as rab_the_doubter has decided that seeing as GCHQ are openly spying on the interweb thingy it is only right that I should make their job just that wee bit easier, save some of the taxes and all that.
    Thepnr, your wee dug would make a great independent airforce.

392. Thepnr

Bedtime, but something for those staying up late. A blast for the past.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaZpZQG2z10

393. TJenny

Thepnr – that looks a magic wee dug you’ve got there. Have you Photoshopped out his jet pack? ๐Ÿ™‚

394. liz g

hi already sent this message to the wee ginger dug

but not sure if it was in the right place

cant do much for him and andy moneywise

but can dog sit if he needs to be out and about for the campaign

i can prove i am an ex puppy walker/border for guide dogs
    so i do know what i am doing when looking after dogs

i live in a glasgow post code and have a car

if i can help
    please let me know

395. Thepnr

Wee dugs don’t know their wee dugs, they think they are as big as any other dug. So when a big dug picks on them usually the wee dug come off second best.

Some wee dugs though have a trick up their sleeve, what they do is run right under the big dug and bite it in the balls before the big dug has a chance.

Wee dugs can beat big dugs.

396. TJenny

Thepnr – I used ‘wee’ more as a term of endearment than a sizeist term.

397. Thepnr

Ah you missed it. Too abstract lol

398. Oneironaut

Awww, so cute! ๐Ÿ˜€

I don’t have any pets myself (unless you count the concentrated spider invasion that happens every summer!)
    My dad has a couple of collies, one of which likes to jump up on the sofa beside me and cuddle me ๐Ÿ™‚ (Well, she kind of “slumps” sideways onto me, but I’m sure it’s meant to be a cuddle!)

She also howls along to the theme music from TV soaps, and there is video out there somewhere of that performance.

Fairly certain she’d vote Yes too, if she was on the voter’s register. She’s smarter than she looks! ๐Ÿ˜€

399. TJenny

Thepnr – Aha, but I did think you might just be alluding to bonny wee Scotland against the union. ๐Ÿ™‚

400. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

The posh intonation – but I’ve always had a soft spot for Pet Clark. This songage is the earliest manifesty of the lady in my memorybockers.
    Deep joy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=080BrVWY7Bk

401. ronnie anderson

Wee Ginger Dug, the only bi lingual dug I,ve ever met.

402. Brian Doonthetoon

So, the software on the site doesn’t like my explanation of WHY I posted that link.

403. Cactus

@Thepnr ~ Aye, a Glasgow guy aye am (but I do move around) ๐Ÿ™‚

I received the latest mailshot from BetTog today, here’s the text from their front cover..

“What are the benefits of staying in the UK – and what are the risks of independence?”
    “Your FREE guide to the referendum”
    “The facts you need”
    “Thursday Referendum 18 SEPT”
    “Need a postal vote form? See back page.”

Anybuddy else received this?

For a start, the first passage should read more like:
    “What are the benefits of independence – and what are the risks of staying in the UK?”

Looks like it’s time for another dissection.. over to you Stu.

404. Thistle

Not long till our crowd funding runs out on 23rd and not half way people. If you can help please do or share if you cannot.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scottish-independence-live-events

405. Oneironaut

@Cactus
    “โ€œNeed a postal vote form? See back page.โ€”

There it is again. Noticed a few examples of BT trying to encourage people towards postal voting by offering forms, etc.

I’m definitely smelling something fishy there, and for once it ain’t the sea breeze…

406. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Ha, ha. We live in the digital age. Sorry for not being original. ๐Ÿ˜‰

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ./ยดยฏ/)
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..,/ยฏ../
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ./โ€ฆ./
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ./ยดยฏ/โ€™โ€ฆโ€™/ยดยฏยฏ`ยทยธ
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ./โ€™/โ€ฆ/โ€ฆ./โ€ฆโ€ฆ./ยจยฏ\
    โ€ฆโ€ฆ..(โ€˜(โ€ฆยดโ€ฆยดโ€ฆ. ยฏ~/โ€™โ€ฆโ€™)
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ\โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..โ€™โ€ฆ../
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.โ€โ€ฆ\โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. _.ยทยด
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ\โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..(
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..\โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.\โ€ฆ

407. CameronB Brodie

Suppose I should make an effort now.

Tokens – Dry Your Eyes
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMq2QUlRSuE

Ruth Brown – Love Contest
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFj2Wcu8Rik

Slim Harpo – I’m Gonna Keep What I’ve Got
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbAVnDjwy0k

408. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    I almost forgot to say I make every effort to come along. Let me know if you need a hand with anything, or a spot of dosh (within reason ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

409. gerry parker

@ bugger.
    The Comet of Deliverance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIoBrob3bjI&feature=kp

410. Bugger (the Panda)

We’ll all go together when we go.

I have told a very special person to take my ashes to Iceland and scatter then into the Eyjafjallajรถkull’s ashbed and say my final words

“The bastards will never find me here”

411. Ian Brotherhood

It’s about time some of us here pooled the various skills we have and set about envisaging/planning the kind of programmes we’d like to see and hear in the new ‘SBC’ or whatever it’ll be called.

BBC Scotland is a zombie. We can’t wait until it’s been put out of its misery, and some replacement constructed – the very least we should do is start discussing it here. There’s a lot of fire-fighting going on in the main threads, and it doesn’t take dozens of us to do that.

412. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood

Do you know anyone with an old boat?

Maybe we could create our own offshore broadcast station ๐Ÿ˜‰

Definitely agree though. We have plenty of talent in this country that has never been given a chance (probably because they’re too honest for the BBC!)

413. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Here’s a wee example of the type of thing I’m on about.

We all have our own areas of interest which are more or less relevant to the indy-debate. Given that Scotland has NEVER had its own broadcaster, we would, in effect, be covering a lot of material for the first time, or with a fresh viewpoint.

Glasgow 1990 was a massive event, and caused all sorts of friction in the city and beyond, but it’s never been properly documented. Even now there’s a lot of bad feeling between the various players – Rush Wishart, Elspeth King, Jim Kelman, Tom Leonard, Julian Spalding, Alan Taylor, those involved in publishing The Glasgow Keelie, prominent art/cultural critics like Joyce McMillan, Clare Henry etc.

A similar story (involving many of the same characters) has yet to be documented about Kelman winning the Booker prize in ’94.

It’s obvious where I’m coming from here – any socialist wants to see the radical element in their community celebrated and strengthened. The two examples above were used by MSM to denigrate and marginalise so-called ‘working-class’ culture. Just one tiny example of work which could be done. Some might decry it as a form of revisionism, but others would argue that the history was never accurately recorded in the first place.

I’m sure that each and every regular contributor to WOS could offer ideas on topics they would like to see given due attention by a new, responsible, unfettered ‘SBC’.

414. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Not sure what I could contribute, if anything. I do agree though that Scottish media could and should promote more Scittish history and literature.

I read James Kelmans book “A Chancer” when I was aged 22 or so, a guy from Cumbernauld gave me a copy. The book captured much of my life (till then) perfectly. A good read, not enough have read it though.

415. Thepnr

Scittish? I’ll get ma coat.

416. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    I hope you understood where I was coming from. I wouldn’t want to be faced with ‘sorting out’ any misunderstanding, on the 4th. ๐Ÿ™‚

417. Thepnr

Mr CameronB Brodie

xxx ๐Ÿ™‚

418. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Is that like being skittish, but north of the border? ๐Ÿ˜‰

@Ian Brotherhood
    I know what you mean. I don’t even know much about what happened over in Glasgow back in 1990. All I got was a lousy T-shirt (literally, think I still have it somewhere, doesn’t fit me now though).

It would be nice to see some coverage of Scottish events though. Might give us a feeling that we actually DO have a culture of our own here.
    Of course the MSM don’t want the people of Scotland to start feeling proud of their country or anything, so we’re not likely to get that from the BBC…

Maybe we’re already drawing attention to the real issues though. The BBC may have a monopoly on the whole “national broadcaster” scene (as undeserving of that title as they are!)
    But it’s sites like Wings and all the other individual blogs out there which are drawing attention to the lies and the issues that go ignored by the MSM.

You might say bloggers are already becoming the new MSM ๐Ÿ™‚

419. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Exactly.

The BBC cannot and will not produce a reliable documentary about the build-up to the referendum. They don’t even have the raw material because they’ve steadfastly refused to acknowledge that sites like this even exist, unless looking for a convenient non-MSM scapegoat.

The real history has been captured by Clan Destiny, IndependenceLive, and individual citizens who are aware of how important this is. The national broadcaster? Nae chance – until very recently they’ve approached the subject as a slightly distasteful joke, and even if they see the writing on the wall and try to play catch-up? Too late. Far too late.

420. kendomacaroonbar

I wonder if anyone is compiling a video diary leading up to the 18th September ?

What a programme that would make ?

421. Thepnr

Ken maybe you should do one. maybe all of us should then we could get an amalgamation.

In fact you must only need a wee bit of recording software, I’m going to start one for myself now. It will outlive me even if only my family ever see it.

422. Oneironaut

@kendomacaroonbar
    That idea did occur to me, but I think I’ve left it much too late to start doing that now. Would have been better at the start of the year perhaps.

Like Ian says though, between Clan Destiny, Independence Live and other sources, including Wings articles, someone with enough time and patience could probably put together an epic documentary about this some day. ๐Ÿ™‚

423. Thepnr

90 days out is still a long time, 1 minute recording each day is an hour and a half. Do it for yourself if nothing else. Great idea kendomacaroonbar.

I’ve just downloaded this. can’t vouch for it other than to say it works but a bit more testing needed, only had it 10 minutes.

http://download.cnet.com/windows/3055-13633_4-75734109.html?&tag=pdl-redir

424. Paula Rose

As long as we have Eastenders – cos I like to have a cosmopolitan outlook.

425. Oneironaut

Hmm, maybe. Not sure what I’d say though. Would have to think about that one (then I’d have even less time once I was done thinking!)

Wouldn’t use Windows for it though. Being a computer techie geek, I prefer free open-source Linux apps ๐Ÿ˜‰

426. kendomacaroonbar

@thepnr

Let me know how you get on with the bus project. I can chip in 100 from the badge sales to help out with the costs.

Drop me a line and I’ll wire it across to you when needed.

427. Thepnr

ken thanks buddy. It’s a hard hard road, I think people are generally just shy. I hope it comes off, 10 so far but I really want 30.

We’ll see.

428. kendomacaroonbar

@thepnr

there is an app on the Apple iTunes store called Video Journal ยฃ 1.49

It works on iPhone and iPad… might be worth a go ?

429. Oneironaut

Uruguay 2 – England 1…

MwaHaHaHaHaHaaa! ๐Ÿ˜€

430. kendomacaroonbar

@oneironaut

I heard the bookies had them at 3/1 to be England

431. kendomacaroonbar

BEAT

432. Paula Rose

@ Oneironaut – is that something to do with men showing their knees?

433. Bob Sinclair

Now now lets show a bit of decoru……. nah, laughing is the best medicine i’ve heard.

434. CameronB Brodie

Was it a good game? Was either side dominant? Was their any ‘world-class’ play?

I was watching a ‘Top Ten World Cup Goals’ show, the other week, and thought I detected a whiff of HMG Better Together. For most of the show, the English pundits were mentioning British as often as possible, which I thought odd as there is no British football team. Yet. Then they ranked Michael Owen’s breakaway goal against Argentina, higher than Pele’s iconic goal when he was 17 years old. The one where he controls the ball with his chest, on the six yard line. He then flips the ball over the defender before smashing it into the net, on the volley. Three examples of some of the finest skills, all in the same move.

I used to score goals like Owen’s, every week. Any forward with pace and a good ball in front of him/her, should score more often than not. Why play them as a striker, if they don’t?

435. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    Well I didn’t actually see the match, just had the laptop displaying the live feed of the match statistics from Fifa’s site while I was working on something here.

But yep, probably lots of showing of knees involved.
    Maybe even some stripping off of tops as well. I mean it gets quite hot in Brazil, doesn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚

436. WeeGingerDug

Hi everyone,

I wanted to let you all know that we’ve finally found a buyer for our house in Spain. I got a call on Thursday morning from the estate agents. It’s been bought by a Ukrainian couple. I’ve been on and off the phone most of the day, but we’ve now accepted their offer and they’ve paid a deposit, so the house is off the market – and I’m going to relax and celebrate a bit.

Unfortunately we’ve had to accept less than we were asking for, but with the Spanish housing market the way it is we really didn’t have much choice. It means there’s a significant shortfall between what we’ve got from the sale of the Spanish house, and what we need to buy the flat we currently live in. So I hope that you will think it’s an appropriate use of the money you’ve kindly donated if we use the bulk of it to make up the shortfall.

Thanks to your kindness, generosity, and humanity, we no longer need to worry about having a roof over our heads. Words alone can’t express my thanks.

437. Cactus

Congratulations to you all WeeGingerDug, enjoy your relaxation and celebration ๐Ÿ™‚

438. Robert Louis

For those who are interested, a nice wee film about Scots’ involvement in setting up Latin American football,

http://www.ed.ac.uk/news/2014/football-030614?utm_source=uoe&utm_medium=homepage&utm_content=feature-small-sq&utm_campaign=football-history

439. Oneironaut

@WeeGingerDug
    Congrats! ๐Ÿ˜€

Wishing you both all the best there.

Love the blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

440. Oneironaut

“Wishing you both all the best there.”

And the dug too!
    Can’t believe I almost forgot the dug!

441. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one with our MSM in mind. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lord Rockinghamยดs XI – Hoots Mon
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wioh5qUj7fM

The Pets – Cha Hua Hua
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPRafEIx65c

The Playmates – Beep Beep
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBfoXqt7w1M

442. heraldnomore

Yay, enamel Wings badge arrived – thanks Ken.

Still no sign of the promised No Thanks booklet, so I’ll just pin the badge on, being a proud Scot and all that…

443. Thepnr

Many thanks to our friends in Wales, Catalonia and Cornwall.

Also thanks to Rev Stu for his dedication and tenacity, you too the Wingers that make this website unique and an inspiration for us all.

We all have our part to play and every little helps, we can do more, but every effort is welcome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsiVjvN5I74

444. Thepnr

You probably won’t believe this but my link was sabotaged? I should have took a screen shot. Wiser next time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SQGJmgnEI8

445. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Your artwork has attracted muted admiration on the Guardian today. You should be chuffed, as most artists aren’t appreciated in their own lifetime. ๐Ÿ˜‰

446. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

Your such a tease. Spill the beans.

447. Quinie frae Angus

Evening, Wingers

Just wondering if anyone has any plans to go to Bannockburn tomorrow? And if so, in what capacity – i.e. as part of RIC?

May get a chance to go but don’t actually know anyone who’s going! I remember folk on here talking about this a few weeks back but have been a bit behind for work reasons.

If anyone can fill me in on what is happening; if there will be any Wingers there, etc I’d be most grateful.

448. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    http://discussion.theguardian.com/comment-permalink/37215852

Hope you don’t mind me sharing your work.

449. Thepnr

Quinie is it not next week? That’s what their website says.

http://www.bannockburnlive.com/

450. Paula Rose

Thepnr dear – our Quinie frae Angus does time travel, but we all ken that Tardii are not always on time.

451. Quinie frae Angus

Yes, I see what you mean. I got confused after reading some Facebook posts.

It seems that although the official one is next week, as you say, there is a “Bannockburn 700” march and rally of some sort being organised by RIC tomorrow.

452. Thepnr

Thanks Q, I will have to check that out. My wife and I were looking for something to do tomorrow. Ta.

453. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

Thepnr called you ‘Q’.

That is one cool handle. Would you mind if it stuck?

454. Paula Rose

Sometimes one has to point out the obvious –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hW8mY4wcns0

455. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Haha just couldn’t be arsed typing the whole name. But now you mention it it is pretty cool.

Paula Rose as Miss Moneypenny and you as 007. Alistair Darling is Dr No. The baddy always loses, we all know that.

456. Paula Rose

Naughty boys – but just for you –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3lAjyUUS1g

457. Paula Rose

I think I have Ian where I want him –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3uglN05EOk

458. Paula Rose

‘O’ levels darlings?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLUm3nZetto

459. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Who do I get to be?

Can I be Q’s assistant? I always wanted to make a living designing cool gadgets! ๐Ÿ˜€

I have this one device that when you press a button on it, it emits an extremely irritating noise that can make your enemies feel disoriented and nauseated.
    (It’s a tape machine with recordings of David Cameron’s speeches on it!)

460. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Smart, like it ๐Ÿ™‚

461. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

LOL, you can be anyone you want, once we vote Yes!

462. Quinie frae Angus

@Ian Brotherhood and Thepnr

Ha ha! No problems at all with being shortened to “Q”.

If I may make a request though, could it be shortened to “QfA” instead, as it’s kind of similar to “QfSA”, which as any self-respecting rock fan knows, is the trendy anacronym for “Queens of the Stone Age”.

I may be getting on a bit but I am still, and always will be, a rock chick.

463. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

How long is your list of happy campers for the Edinburgh bus on 4th July?
    You HAVE been compiling a list, haven’t you?

Compiling a list is just like making love to a beautiful woman. You lift the pencil gently, ensuring that it is equipped with a rubber, caress your sheet of paper with its business end, then continue to add to the list until the last possible moment.

8=)

464. Cactus

ROCK it on and out Miss QfA! ๐Ÿ˜‰

465. Paula Rose

Ooo Brian Doonthetoon – that sent shivers down my spine!

466. Quinie frae Angus

Aw, Cactus….

Somehow, I KNEW you’d understand, ha ha!

467. Les Wilson

I remember seeing on site about the Edinburgh date, time and venue, but can’t seem to find it again. I do want to come this time, and can make my own way from Livingston via train.

So if anyone could enlighten me again ( sorry have forgotten)
    and I will make sure I get there.
    Cheers all.

468. TJenny

Les Wilson – hi, the WOS night is on Fri4th July at The Newsroom (in the basement), top of Keith Walk, from @ 7ish onwards. Look forward to seeing you there. ๐Ÿ™‚

469. TJenny

Oops – that should be top of Leith Walk.

470. Les Wilson

Thanks TJenny
    Appreciated, and look forward to at last meeting all you guy’s ( and girls of course!)

471. Cactus

Here’s one of my favourite ROCK tracks (from the OGWT), which was originally performed by the magnificent Argent and NOT the later version by Kiss, as many seem to believe. Kiss are way cool too though X

GGRnRTY
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsG5V-o6uxY

472. TJenny

Cactus – I was doing a bit of weeding in my mum’s garden yesterday and the young guy next door had the radio tuned, I think, to the golden oldies channel and ‘God Gave Rock ‘n Roll To You’ came on. It was all I could do to stop myself belting out along with the chorus, ’cause, as you know, I can never remember the words of the verses. ๐Ÿ™‚

473. Oneironaut

@Quinie frae Angus
    “I may be getting on a bit but I am still, and always will be, a rock chick.”

I knew there was something about you I liked when we met in Glasgow! ๐Ÿ˜€

474. Paula Rose

Hey darlings – one for all you rock chicks!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZgdufzXvjqw

475. Quinie frae Angus

@ Paula Rose

Thanks for the wee reminder of how it all started….

@Oneironaut

Now I’m stumped – I don’t remember us meeting!! Well, that’s not true….I may indeed remember you. But don’t remember meeting the famous “oneironaut”…..were you wearing your name badge? Make sure you re-introduce yourself at the Edinburgh night out!

476. Paula Rose

Q dear – he was the one in the space suit.

477. Quinie frae Angus

Wondering where my head was at. I don’t remember anyone in a space-suit!

478. Paula Rose

Q dearest we all loved your silver foil outfit, don’t be diffident.

479. Oneironaut

@Quinie frae Angus

I won’t be at the Edinburgh night unfortunately.
    Being all the way over on the opposite coastline and usually skint, it’s way out of my travel range.

If there’s another Glasgow night sometime, I’ll probably be at that one ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t think we spoke long, but I definitely remember you from both Counting House nights.
    (I never forget a pretty face, hehe) ๐Ÿ˜‰

I was the weird scruffy-looking one in the National Geographic jacket covered in badges ๐Ÿ™‚

480. TJenny

OK Wingers – get up and shake your booty to this:
    Little Eva and The Locomotion:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5OoQadZTPk&feature=kp

481. Paula Rose

TJenny – I just fell off my heels!

482. TJenny

Paula Rose – excellent. ๐Ÿ™‚

483. CameronB Brodie

TJenny, I thought of posting The Ronettes “Baby, I Love You”, but I didn’t want you to think you’ve picked up a stalker. ๐Ÿ™‚

484. TJenny

Paula Rose – I meant ‘excellent’ in the best possible, hope no injuries incurred, sorta way.

CameronB – honey, please post the Ronettes, Baby I Love You’ as I’ll sing and dance along (while the cat takes to the hills) and feel free to stalk me anytime: D

485. Quinie frae Angus

Oneironaut

Ah yes, it’s all coming back to me now (I think). Well I look forward to you re-introducing yourself at the next Weegie Wingers’.

486. Quinie frae Angus

Oneironaut

Ah yes, it’s all coming back to me now (I think). Well I look forward to you re-introducing yourself at the next Weegie Wingers’.

487. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose (on main ongoing thread) –

They don’t eat cherries at half-time. They do this with them:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rFWZCEYxyU

488. CameronB Brodie

Perhaps a bit presumptuous. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Ronettes โ€œBaby, I Love Youโ€
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBaa-cAJRyI

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.