Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ll try this again. I posted it around half an hour ago but it seems to have got lost so I’ve added this extra text to see what will happen. What I originally posted is next…

Only another 15 to go. If I can manage two a week, I should be watching Series 2 by the summer.

BTW: my boss from the 80s is in Series 2, as “Punter 13” in a scene in a house of ill-repute. They used burlesque dancers from Glasgow as “the gerrrrls”…

8=)

2. Brian Doonthetoon

Now that’s interesting. That posted immediately. All I did was add the extra text in the preamble – but I also substituted “house of ill-repute” for b-o-r-d-e-l-l-o. Looks like my hyphenated word is on the list…

3. Brian Doonthetoon

At 2.18am, on 15th April 2012, 104 years ago, Titanic disappeared under the waves. I offer this, remembering…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uiIxAUmPMA

Forty years and six hours later, a being landed on Earth, entering through the Maryfield Portal. Planet Earth was never to be the same again. I offer this for that being, who is still among us, spreading whatever willy-nilly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAzaOZfgf0M

4. K1

Can I ask if anyone has clicked on neoconnat’s avatar:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-limits-of-science/comment-page-1/#comment-2133822

What you find is his other ‘moniker’

http://en.gravatar.com/angramainyu2015

It would seem there is some form:

https://twitter.com/search?q=angramainyu2015&src=typd

Though the twitter handle is no longer active. You can see they set the hay on fire.

Was this moniker ‘angramainyu’ or approximate, not a poster on wings before? Where they too were a bit of a ‘handful’?

This wasn’t some attempt to ‘uncover’, I accidentally clicked on their avatar and this moniker ‘angramainyu’ came up. Recognised the moniker and put it into twitter search.

Don’t want to ‘jump’ to anything here. Had others clicked on his avatar and seen this?

If only I had clicked on it before, I would not have responded in any way to him, from the go get. šŸ™

5. castle hills chavie

Folks.

Just noticed on the Revā€™s twitter feed, that there is a petition to try and re-open the Maryhill food bank.

I canā€™t put a link up, on the wifeā€™s laptop and not tech savvy.

Could somebody, possibly, put a link onto the new article thread, only needs a few more signatures to get over the line.

Cheers.

6. Clapper57

K1 says:
    15 April, 2016 at 1:53 pm

“Can I ask if anyone has clicked on neoconnatā€™s avatar “:

Hey K1 , If we don’t feed him and let him piss in the wind he is going to look a right arse posting and no one acknowledging him.

No matter how offensive , personal or off the Troll Richter scale he gets it has to be DO NOT FEED TROLLS.

I’m with you I will NOT respond to him or react to any of his shit . Cause if you feed them they keep coming back for more and destroy the debate and general thread and to new readers of this site it looks as if it is a very hostile place to visit….then for him it’s job done .

7. K1

Agreed Clapper…very much regret my engagement. And haven’t responded since smallaxe šŸ˜‰ gently encouraged me to take stock…unfortunately I thought I was ‘debating’ someone, it came to pass that this was not the case. Fool me once…shame on you, fool me twice shame on me…live and learn. šŸ™‚

People will still respond though…as there can be no agreed consensus that people are ‘trolls’, only the Rev can decide if they are or not.

8. Paula Rose

@ K1 1:53 – I wondered when someone would notice xx

9. K1

Took me long enough PR šŸ™ xx

10. Ian Brotherhood

One for horsey fan Paula Rose –

Knock-knock!
    Who’s there?
    Maybe it’s a big horse!
    Maybe-it’s-a-big-horse-who?
    *SINGS* Maybe it’s a big horse I’m a Londoner…

11. Paula Rose

Where’s the “I love you button thingie”?

12. Michael McCabe

Horse youtu.be/t5c2SUQyRRM

13. Oneironaut

@Clapper57
    “Hey K1 , If we donā€™t feed him and let him piss in the wind he is going to look a right arse posting and no one acknowledging him.

No matter how offensive , personal or off the Troll Richter scale he gets it has to be DO NOT FEED TROLLS.

Iā€™m with you I will NOT respond to him or react to any of his shit . Cause if you feed them they keep coming back for more and destroy the debate and general thread and to new readers of this site it looks as if it is a very hostile place to visitā€¦.then for him itā€™s job done .”

FINALLY, someone who knows how to play the internet game here! šŸ˜€

Nothing more frustrating than watching others freely turn themselves into troll bait.

Anyways, music link of the day!

Always wishing for something more…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTDYa7-6dRY

14. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Nice pick there mister.

‘Wishing for something more’ indeed, and maybe, who knows, it could develop after ‘our’ elections and the Eurobollox is done and dusted?

Only time will tell…in the meantime, we in Scotland must endure another fortnight of 24/7 MSM shite, most of which will feature Willie Rennie displaying his natural slapstick skills.

What a time to be alive, eh?

15. Paula Rose

Shall I put the kettle on Dears?

16. yesindyref2

@K1
    Duh-oh. I clicked.

I’m making a strange connection here between Angra Mainyu and Loki.

17. Clapper57

Oneironaut says:

“Nothing more frustrating than watching others freely turn themselves into troll bait “.

Spot on Oneironaut , Unfortunately I too have seen this time and time again , absofeckinlutely these arses only come on here to bait people into reacting to their shit…usually with a contentious smug attitude .

Nothing wrong with healthy debate with someone who has an opposing view however that is NOT how a Troll operates as I am sure many on WOS know.

I appreciate people sometimes get lulled into thinking they are debating with genuine person , then before they know it they are ripped apart and feel they have to defend themselves ! Or worse still people get angry and react to the abuse ….big big mistake..Trolls feckin love that …because then your just a feckin target.

Never feel you have to defend what you say or justify how you say it on here , true wingers never resort to insulting your intelligence , style of writing or resort to personal slights or rather I hope they never do this.

My advice is read their comments ,digest their modus operandi and bide your time and when you know for definite that they are indeed a Troll …and you will ….then to get it right up them….ignore them.

K1 : You know now and forewarned is feckin forearmed. I read your posts and your posts are far superior to Troll with shit name. You have my support….just not via my posting any response to shit face Troll’s abuse…he and his like are feckin nothing to me. Shit on my shoe…oh yeh .

18. CameronB Brodie

Who or whatever neoconnat/angramainyu is, it doesn’t appear to have the slightest inkling as to how things work, nor have a consistent outlook. As such, best ignored as a trouble maker, IMHO.

19. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    I don’t think I’m even going to bother voting in the EU ref at all.

If we stay in Europe, then we’ll end up living in a corporate-ruled dystopia once TTIP is forced through, and our lives and those of our descendants will become just yet more fuel for the Gravy Train Express…

If we leave Europe, then the Human Rights Act and all other remaining protection for the working class goes bye-bye and we end up back in the Victorian Era…

As far as I can see, the only difference the outcome of the EU referendum will make is deciding who is in charge of giving us the shafting.

Didn’t actually expect Cameron to want to stay in Europe though. Maybe he wants a piece of that TTIP pie for himself by sticking around… (Someone must have told him there’s pork in it!)

Ah well, music link of the day.

We’re just standing at the end of the final masquerade…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8q8fFs3kTM

20. Paula Rose

@Oneironaut we leave the EU we will be signed up to full on TTIP as quick as can be.

21. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    Aren’t the EU the ones behind TTIP?
    Would have thought getting out of their control was the only way to avoid it…

22. Paula Rose

USA trade deal – opt outs by most EU signatories, the UK has not taken up any such option.

23. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

“Dusty Springfield at the BBC” is just about to start on DAVE. (9pm.)

24. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Sorry – YESTERDAY, not DAVE.

25. Dave McEwan Hill

Absolutely fabulous. To Nicola

Rory Gallacher and Phil Coulter
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wpsn39FB_BA&list=RDWpsn39FB_BA

26. Thepnr

@K1

Oh dear, I fell for NeoconNats baiting never realising that it was Angramainyu.

I remember before he boasted more twitter followers than the Rev, over 90% of accounts were bogus and discovered by a Wings sleuth.

Live and learn, totally ignore. Shame though that decent Wings posters defend these characters whose sole objective is simply disruption.

27. Thepnr

That Angrymainyu2015 could also be bogus and just another wind up from NeoconNat, meant to be found?

No matter, will still ignore.

28. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Yeah, I hear you mister.

It’s a serr fecht sometimes, trying to work out what folk are up to, and why.

You would imagine that simply wanting to be in charge of your own affairs is a no-brainer, but it seems not.

Never mind – as Ronnie A said over on a main thread, we’ve had plenty of these people in the past and we’ll get more for sure…it just gets a bit wearing at times.

BTW, one of yer favourites, Amy MacDonald, was a guest on Off The Ball this afternoon, just in case you didn’t hear it – should be on i-player. She was very good.

Marvin Gaye, ‘Trouble Man’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbHeNkqRWtI

29. K1

Both angry mainyu’s avatar moniker from Tam’s link last night and ncn’s avatar moniker are the same Thpnr…

Aye, best ignored…

30. Thepnr

Thanks K1, my mistake was not clicking on Tams link.

31. Thepnr

Sorry! LOL

Couldn’t let any more shit past.

32. Ken500

@ BBC 4 – Dusty

33. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, I’m just gonna type “PARP!” to those who sneak into off-topic and don’t read all the posts that have happened since their last visit.

Usually, I manage to sneak my birthday past the Facebook crew but, this year, I thought I would test out Wings. FB passed (coz they picked it up through my niece) but Wings failed. The only Wingers who picked up on my birthday were the ones who are on FB.

Feeling hurt, I refer to you this link, from 2.18am on Thursday morning… and I will now retire, having partaken of a number of whisky and Lidl diet Iron-Brews this evening.
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-34/#comment-2133724

Birthdays? Who needzem? Certainly no’ moi…

34. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Aw mannnn, bummer, sorry, didn’t pick-up on the hint.

FWIW, many happy returns an aw that jazz…

Hey brother, you know you don’t need that from us here. We love ye, whatever day it is.

Big ciderey-kisses and hugs aplenty from Ayrshire…

Mwaa! Mwaa! Mwaa!

šŸ™‚

35. Thepnr

Happy Birthday BDTT sorry I missed the party!

I played this for Mr B so why not for you šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=co5Ar8PIFak

36. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B and Thepnr.

Thanx to yooz. E-VENT-UL-ALEE.

8=)

BTW: been playing that ‘Flash & The Pan” track since it was first released in 1978. Titanic means something to me…

37. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    Ahh ok. Yeah, I knew the USA were up to their necks in it at least.

I’ve heard the folks behind TTIP are hoping to get it all signed and done with before the presidential election out there, since Obama is considered to be their best option for pushing it through compared to any of the candidates who could replace him.

You know something must be bad when even a right-wing raving psychotic lunatic like Trump doesn’t care for it.

@Brian Doonthetoon
    “Well, Iā€™m just gonna type ā€œPARP!ā€ to those who sneak into off-topic and donā€™t read all the posts that have happened since their last visit.”

I’ll just leave this here:
    4.bp.blogspot.com/_D_Z-D2tzi14/TI_ux69DOmI/AAAAAAAADxo/zhN-LFQNVS4/s1600/anesthesia24.png

@Ian Brotherhood
    I think I’m more of a KT Tunstall kind of guy really. But can never resist a bit of Amy either… šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oL4iDuzOCUM

38. yesindyref2

OT
    Fffffing l.

Phew, thanks, I needed that.

39. Stoker

@ Jim Thomson: How do i type in black bold to emphasise something? Until now i’ve been using caps whilst also aware that is interpreted as shouting in type/internet speak. Trying to improve my skills here.

40. Paula Rose

For bold use
    to end do

41. Stoker

Elaborate please Paula!
    Work on the ‘KISS’ principle – Keep It Simple for Stupid!

42. Paula Rose

oops loads of what I put hasn’t appeared. If you know how to do italics it’s the same but use b instead of i.
    Start with the arrow that points to the left then b then the arrow that points to the right.
    To end do the same with an / before the b.

43. Stoker

“If you know how to do italics itā€™s the same but use b instead of i”

Sorry, i don’t! But going on what you’ve said i’ll try this:b thank you /b

44. Paula Rose

The arrows won’t appear if you type them as they are used as instructions.

45. Stoker

try

Thank you very much Paula!

46. Paula Rose

You’re welcome Honey!

47. Stoker

Now i’m just blabbering anything to see if i can do it within a sentence. Yes, i’ve got it now, what a teacher. šŸ™‚

48. Jim Thomson

@Stoker @Paula

Glad to see you have overcome the language barrier folks. Next thing you know you’ll be pen-pals.

šŸ˜›

The other good one is replacing b or i with the string “blockquote” without the quotes obv.

Use that when cutting and pasting text from someone else so that it stands out like this:

Now iā€™m just blabbering anything to see if i can do it within a sentence. Yes, iā€™ve got it now, what a teacher. šŸ™‚

and that’s all there is to it.

I think there’s also one that does strikethough – trying this making the text have a line through it

Use the word “strike”

There ya go.

Sorry about delay in responding to request on main thread, too busy twitter reading and responding to others on that.

49. Jim Thomson

just noticed that the blockquote didn’t carry over the bold text.

So, looks like you nee to reinforce that within the block quote by adding in the leftarrow b rightarrow and the end bold thing with /b in it. Trying again, I give you:

Now iā€™m just blabbering anything to see if i can do it within a sentence. Yes, iā€™ve got it now, what a teacher. šŸ™‚

Ta-dah (as they say, someplace)

50. CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    Glad to see your still fighting he good fight and haven’t been dissuaded by my musical ‘peccadilloes’. šŸ˜‰

51. Stoker

Jim Thomson wrote:
    “Sorry about delay in responding to request on main thread, too busy twitter reading and responding to others on that.”

No worries Jim, i sort of guessed i was late to the party and had missed you. Thanks all the same!

BTW, i’ve got a new teacher now, you’re surplus to requirements, you’re fired. šŸ™‚

52. Jim Thomson

@Stoker – no probs bud. I now have a new mentor (they always take up a LOT of time). @CameronB is about to teach me about pedaloes (not sure why) but I do like the odd bit of maritime splish-splosh.

šŸ˜‰

@Paula, you and I have to talk about poaching valuable pupils. I thought I could trust you too šŸ™

Not telling you about my latest catch (she like wearing tartan high heels). Need to teach her about HTML stuff so her leafleting looks a bit more professional.

@CameronB, if you want a challenging musical pedalo, try this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_AoKaFDBWsE

Once you’ve recovered, here’s how they made it:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ttGgIQpAUc

Catchy little ditty too. Listen to the lyrics – could apply to almost any manipulative government.

53. Jim Thomson

Just a quick question, anyone seen or heard from Robert Peffers recently?

Hope he’s OK.

54. K1

Have wanted to use the strike through thing… for telling people to piss off, I mean for expressing a different view on a subject. šŸ˜€

55. Jim Thomson

Ha! @Stoker – eat yer hert oot!

Got a new pupil … Welcome @K1

@Paula … ye snooze, ye lose šŸ˜›

56. Paula Rose

*giggle*

57. K1

šŸ˜†

58. CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    I think that’s called ‘mental’, in CGI parlance. I see now that large men in spandex would be no cause for anxiety to the like of yourself. šŸ˜‰

59. Jim Thomson

Eldest lad (into music in a semi-professional kind of way) pointed me at that vid a couple of months ago. I keep going back to it (and nothing to do with half naked spandex clad CGI blokes) because it’s a bit “ear-wormy”.

There’s another song, to whom it should be dedicated, I’m not sure but, if that shower of vote splitting arseholes (any party considered) cause us to have a less than effective pro-indy government in Holyrood they need to have this played at them incessantly

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzF79xzEfsg

60. CameronB Brodie

Giggle.

61. Ian Brotherhood

We’ve not had this before…

Yehudi Menuhin ‘jamming’ with Ravi Shankar and Alla Rakha –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hg6nTQFHf78

62. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone ever seen a band having such a good time as this?

Van Morrison, Caravan, ‘The Last Waltz’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44wDwMQVqCc&ebc=ANyPxKqeUCL5makHgSOpr_z-2cSnsRCz1HvTz5TW6V3FMSyjtDiDP3-tvy2GoQojxsM–mDB597DJYThuGS4fDGdJAZfoCD_fQ

63. Stoker

Hi Troops!

Just stumbled across this radio show tonight, sounds good so far:

On Absolute Radio, Mon-Thu 9pm-1am, Pete Donaldson’s Evening Show.
    Covering the Album of The Week and listeners choices for ‘I Haven’t Heard It For Ages’. Worth a listen!

64. Macart

No word from Robert Peffers for a while.

Hoping Robert is simply under the weather, but still reading.

65. Jim Thomson

@Macart the last posting I can find from him was around 5th March, which is why I was asking.

66. Paula Rose

John King is the nearest regular Winger to Robert – perhaps he could check up on him.

67. Macart

@Jim & Paula

That’s about what I thought. A wee bit worried is all. I know Robert takes wee breaks when he’s feeling poorly, but like I say its been a while this time.

68. Paula Rose

Have e-mailed John to see if he can help.

69. Macart

Many thanks.

70. yesindyref2

@Macart
    I remember Dorice used to disappear off the Grun for a time, told not to go near a keyboard by his doctor. Posted rarely on the Herald though, obvious style, and then he stopped – but I saw his name a few times on my upvotes. So hope it’s just like that, maybe reading but not posting.

71. Macart

Yeah, remember that dads and that’s what I’m hoping is the case here.

72. yesindyref2

A bit of banter with a Labour / Unionist in the Herald today with the theme being nautical and captain, where the word “lauded” came up, and it made me think of this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbM86eiczAg

Looking at the last 3 or 4 days Sturgeon is playing a blinder, and I’m interested to see what might be coming tomorrow. She’s the captain, the Captain’s guiding star is bright, and we’re nearly at the top of the hill.

I can’t make up my mind what the star is though, perhaps it’s us, the People of Scotland?

73. Paula Rose

Stars – all of us.

74. yesindyref2

Interesting comment I just saw in that Harry Lauder page (I know I;m sad, I read them sometimes):

“My dad who fought in World War 2 sang this song to me when I was wee. The words are beautiful and I think the SNP should jive it up and use it as the Scottish National Anthem . Proud to be Scottish.?”

I am thinking we need an anthem for Indy Ref 2. Something upbeat, confident, not over-confident, hopeful, happy, modern I guess, sing-along even, suitable for old and young, rhythm. Strangely I’m thinking walk 500 miles, different tune and lyrics but! Maybe same writers and singers though …

75. Betty Boop

Paula dear, you are always twinkling šŸ˜‰

76. Paula Rose

I can’t help it – it’s the reflection from all the glitteratti!

77. Jim Thomson

@Paula … you’re always “tinkling”? Hmmm, I can recommend a really good urologist, m’dear.

78. Paula Rose

If I didn’t know you better Jim dear…

79. Stoker

Highly recommended by The Doc over on newsnet.scot

The Broken BBC – From Public Service to Corporate Power
    http://archive.is/9FLDM

80. yesindyref2

Mmm, anyone for toast and NeoconJam?

81. Jim Thomson

For a few smirks, here’s a preview of Gary, Tank Commander, & Nicola. It will be broadcast on BBC Monday night.

I think the full programme has the other “leaders” in it too (including UKIP’s finest).

Enjoy (and off to bed for me)

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/14440858.Watch_as_Gary__Tank_Commander_meets_First_Minister_Nicola_Sturgeon/

82. Brian Doonthetoon

Picked this up from the Rev’s Twitter page earlier on.
    ……………………………………………..

Laird 8 Badge ?@delboy1978uk 1h1 hour ago

Most computer’s browsers suggest www when you type a w in (strangely enough). Mine auto suggests @WingsScotland
    ……………………………………………..

So I tried that in Firefox. As soon as I typed the first ‘w’, this is what appeared:-

http://i.imgur.com/NXb3yp7.jpg

83. Jim Thomson

@BDtT

ah think ah must be a total saddo. Ah get wsprnet.org/drupal/wsprnet/map

Pete’ll empathise (ah hope)

84. yesindyref2

@Jim Thomson
    Good God, they’ve let Kevin Hague go global!

85. Thepnr

Here’s one specially for Neojobby xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpuwILAUgoc

86. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim T.

RE: your ‘wsprnet.org’ link. ‘KL7L’ seems to be rather lonely. I scrolled down to see who was in the British Antarctic Territory – nobody!
    Obviously, nobody else from my family feels the lure of Antarctica – including me. (Can’t remember my call sign – Pete knows it…)

http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/the-balaena-t9.html

BTW: your other link,
    http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/14440858.Watch_as_Gary__Tank_Commander_meets_First_Minister_Nicola_Sturgeon/

Looks like it could be fun. Be interesting to see how the other high heid yins handle the interviews.

87. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

http://archive.is/9FLDM

It’s not just Prof Robertson and GA Ponsonby then…

88. yesindyref2

Hope that didn’t come across as taking the p by the way. I started taking an interest in similar many moons ago. Seem to remember you had to have something like a Wireless Telegraphy Operator Licence or something like that. Learnt morse code, but never got around to making / getting a key to practice.

Weird lot Indy supporters, fingers in many pies. I like pie!

89. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

You typed,

“Good God, theyā€™ve let Kevin Hague go global!”

You know, I read your original comment three times while updating this page and just got it after your last comment!

(Still feel for ā€˜KL7Lā€™…)

90. Jim Thomson

@yesindyref2 I sat my morse test in the GPO HQ near St Paul’s in Londinium. Hunners o’ years ago right enough. Two of us there that day (we escaped a civil service sports day somewhere in the London area to take the test).

I’ve had the odd go on the key, and (steady now Paula) the paddle, in the intervening 40 odd years but my speed has plummeted towards useless. Keep promising myself that I’ll spend time getting the competence level back up but never seem to have the time.

First go on the key was for part of a Seamanship “O” level where we had to send and receive at 5 words per minute using a lamp.

@Brian You need to register with OfCom website http://licensing.ofcom.org.uk/radiocommunication-licences/amateur-radio/amend-validate-apply/ now to make sure your licence doesn’t lapse. Need to “tick the box” every seven years or so now. At least it’s free (at last).

@Pete – gie him a nudge and get it sorted!

91. Dave McEwan Hill

Andy Anderson, down the mines at 15, piper, trade union official and graduate of Oxford University who took part in the Skye Bridge campaign and wrote “The Skye Bridge Story” and (as joint author with Ronnie Morrison)”Moving On”, a book on economics and finance has written an interesting book “Currency in an Independent Scotland”

These are available from the Forward Shop,186 Argyll Street Dunoon PA23 7HA for Ā£7 which will cover P&P

*Andy was also was co-author of the Dunoon report on the peculiarities exposed on the postal voting at the Referendum.

92. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim.

I believe it’s 2019 I have to renew. I think it’s every 5 years.

93. yesindyref2

@Jim Thomson
    I vaguely remember making a short and very rude posting on the Herald in morse, and getting away with it. Had to look up some of the letters though!

94. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt, 20/04/2106, 11.29pm

Just read through the article you linked about those propagandists extraordinaire, BBC.

Long, detailed read; worth it though. There wasn’t a single thing there that I haven’t incessantly railed about. Thank goodness we can watch a range of foreign stations for news if we want to hear anything that might vaguely reflect some truth, otherwise there wouldn’t be a screen in the telly.

95. Jim Thomson

You do realise they don’t make screens that small any more? If it gets damaged well have to get a 60″ curved one (smallest available, I’ve been told)

96. Betty Boop

@ Jim Thomson, 2:22pm

NO!

97. Wee Jonny

Hello hello there fellow Wings acolytes.
    I’m lookin for a wee bit o advice.

On both sides of my car I have –
    Wings Over Scotland. National Collective.
    Grousebeater. Bella Caledonia.
    Common Weal. Wee Ginger Dug.
    (In bold white writing.)

I’m gona change the Bella, National Collective and Common Weal ones for something else.
    But what do I change them for?

Advice needed as I only read Wings, Grousebeater and WGD but thought you may ken what other pro Indy sites are deserving of a wee bit o free publicity.

Any help would be great ta.

Wee Jonny.

98. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wee Jonny.

How about,

http://newsnet.scot/

and

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/

and

http://iscot.scot/

99. Jim Thomson

@Wee Jonny

Have a look at Wilderness of Peace (Taranaich’s blog)
    https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/

and Derek Bateman has some fairly balanced material on his site too.
    http://derekbateman.scot/

If you think folks might be interested in statistical analysis, Scot Goes Pop is worth a look. http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/

100. Andrew McLean

What, there is a Wings car sticker!!!!

101. Wee Jonny

Woops, I forgot it’s also got –

Newsnet Scotland. Derek Bateman.
    on both sides too.

Funny how yi can drev a car everyday and no hay a clue what’s on it.

I thought aboot i.scot Brian. Will hay a wee look at scotgoespop.

Lallands Peat Worrier?

102. Wee Jonny

Good shout Jim we Wilderness of Peace. Especially as I’ve met Taranaich at a couple o Wings nights.

Andrew – there was gona be a Wings car, no just a Wings car sticker but I thought other pro Indy sites deserved an outing to let some fuwk ken what’s oot there.

I thought aboot it again over the last couple o days we a that Bella split votes pish but again I think I’ll just change a couple o signs for others.

103. Andrew McLean

The things you find, apparently there is a store on this site that sells stuff, what next a pub and hotel complex!
    but why American, I want a car sticker!

104. cearc

Wee Jonny,

How about http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/

Good stuff there and potentially for a different audience.

105. Oneironaut

@yesindyref2
    “I am thinking we need an anthem for Indy Ref 2. Something upbeat, confident, not over-confident, hopeful, happy, modern I guess, sing-along even, suitable for old and young, rhythm.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTvAiMkj4QU

Possible contender?

106. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Nick pick there.

(Did you get Colin T’s latest e-mail? If so, you’ll have recognised a familiar face, eh?)

šŸ™‚

107. Ian Brotherhood

P.S.

Should’ve been ‘nice’ pick…mind you, if I was going to make a typo it could’ve been worse…

šŸ™‚

108. K1

Getting put right aff reading btl, life’s too short, if this indicates the direction of travel btl from here on in…I’m oot, nae loss I know, nevertheless just want to express how scunnered I am by every thread for the last few weeks being infused wi that stench.

All this still on going efter he’s been ‘fun oot’, seriously?

A big part of our movement was as many frequently mention, all parties and none, but an even bigger aspect for me was the commonality of world view that was essentially the connecting fibre at the heart level.

Where kindness and respect are valued and above all a real understanding about the causes of poverty that have blighted our communities, the true source being some of the most deliberate acts of economic vandalism ever visited upon a so called equal partner in this Union. Why ah would go so far to suggest this is why we want our independence? To redress this inequality and inequity and bring about a more fairer and just society.

We have in our midst a moniker bereft of kindness or respect, re writing history, insistent on some vague assertions of the right and left and manipulating the debate to what end I no longer care enough tae speculate. That’s the real ‘disturbance’ that’s underway, not thread disruption.

If I wanted tae witness the madness of such a mind I’d read the Scotsman’s btl or the DM…not Wings.

Thoroughly despondent, Glasgow. šŸ™

109. yesindyref2

@K1
    Yeah, I’m the most guilty, mea culpa. I’ll leave it slither back under the bridge. Not just disruption I think, encouraging to extremes, division, anything that comes along.

But here, if these 3 (?) guys can totally upstage a supposed 100 Labour MPs on their Imperial Mission, and keep it up for 10 minutes solid, surely we can keep it going for under 2 weeks?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMXuEmqAHA

110. Wee Jonny

cearc
    I had BfS, Yes Dundee, Yes Scotland and BBC Scotlandshire on my car but changed it for Wee Ginger Dug, Common Weal, National Collective and Grousebeater.

Scotgoespop and Wilderness of Peace are two I’ll have made up and put on though.

Ta.

111. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wee Jonny.

National Collective was wound up last year.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Collective

112. Wee Jonny

Brian Doonthetoon

Ha, shows how much eh piy attention.

Will get that aff as well.
    I’ll maybe just get huge Wings signs on both sides o mi car coz oor Stu’s goin naywarr.

113. Andrew Mclean

Saw my first ever wings car sign today, forth road bridge at 5 pm today, ,! I am Easy pleased!
    šŸ˜‰

114. Kishorn Commando

Wings Inverness

Apologies for the delay in replying, busy with work.
    BDTT. Wetherspoons don’t do functions.
    Hootenannys have just converted their function room to a cocktail bar.
    The rest of the Town of Centre bars can’t cater. There are other hotels out of the centre which would do but after the summer.
    There is one in the centre under refurbishment that will be taking bookings soon and would be ideal so I’ll try that.
    Anyhow looks like end of the tourist season in August/September is the best bet.

115. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Kishorn Commando.

As far as I know, none of the Wetherspoon venues cater for functions. That hasn’t stopped around half a dozen Wings get-togethers at the Counting House on the corner of George Square.

The way it works is that SOMEBODY identifies a particular corner of the venue, makes it known, then we know where to look for a table if we’re ordering food.

Those that don’t get into that particular location initially, move in, as ‘the normal people’ move out, so we end up with everyone at adjacent tables.

It worked in Edinburgh and Aberdeen as well.

116. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh, and it also worked in Jolly’s in Broughty Ferry, back in May 2014.

117. Thepnr

Well since we haven’t had a tribute to Prince yet here’s mine.

It’s not what you’d expect and I have posted this before here on Off Topic, to see Prince at his VERY best you need to stay with this song but that’s easy until the last couple of minutes.

Or just skip to the last 2 min. Plenty other famous faces in there too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6SFNW5F8K9Y

118. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

“Oh, and it also worked in Jollyā€™s in Broughty Ferry, back in May 2014.”

Here is that event in all it’s full glory šŸ™‚

http://independencelive.net/event/12

119. Brian Doonthetoon

Re: Prince.

A pal of mine, with whom ( and others) I partook of Indian cuisine at Bombay Joe’s last night, bought a black Chevrolet Corvette in 1983. 7.5 litres V8. I had a memorable ride in it, to St Andrew’s, Summer of ’84.

Onnyhoo, on the back of Prince’s ‘Little Red Corvette’, he had it resprayed – at ENORMOUS expense – in a fetching shade of red. It is still that colour. Garaged just now, due to rustworm in the exhaust headers. But a remedy is under active consideration…

/www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEHCNMuX-64

120. Macart

@K1

No need for despondency that card was marked very early doors. The game is to sow division by association. I suspect we have seen the like before, but the answer as always is simple.

Do not engage in any way shape or form.

Move on and read the wealth of other informed and still very much engaged posts. There’s lots of friendly folk just hanging out looking for a laugh and a chat.

Its hard right now because folk are wearing their party election campaign hats. They naturally want their parties of choice to do well and make progress. The opposition are encouraging division to limit an SNP majority and foster ill feeling between independence minded partners further down the line. Their strategy a steady drip drip of the green monster in everyones ear, chinese whispers, dog whistle headlines. The usual bollox of play your opponents off against each other.

So long as folk rein in their language when promoting their party of choice and be mindful that the only beneficiaries of division in the wider movement are the unionist establishment, then they can consider themselves both forewarned and forearmed.

You stick with it. šŸ˜‰

121. Thepnr

@K1

Exactly what Macart said and Macart I try to keep my bad language to an absolute minimum. Shit happens šŸ™‚

122. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s that link from my previous post corrected.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEHCNMuX-64

123. Macart

@Thepnr

No such thing as bad language from Thepnr. šŸ™„

Although I sometimes wix me mucking fords up.

124. Thepnr

Just want to say Macart, that you are always a voice of reason. It’s voices like yours that keep this site alive, there are others though at the end of the day all are like yours.

Sensible, we want some of that, thoughtful, yeh I’ll have that too.

Your not very funny though, others do that better šŸ™‚

125. Brian Doonthetoon

See you Thepnr.

Getta fuh, yabassa! Yi’d crud yir Dahd firra crumbold! Dinnae gie me yir “I try to keep my bad language to an absolute minimum” – yirra canute! Yi dinnae ken, iye? Eh’ve heard yir kerrap – wir you no’ the guy wha telt Ronnie Anderson ti git on eez bike an’ PI-55 on the “Bitter Together” stall at Arbroath Seafest, 2014?

An’ yi come over a’ ‘holier than thou’…

Friockheim deserves better…

8=)

126. Thepnr

LOL Brian

Out of the hundreds of posts I’ve made I’ll guarantee you less than 1% have a wee sweary word. Have a look, you know how to do that.

127. K1

Thanks for the pep type Macart šŸ™‚ Yeah I know it’s all a bit fractious on the lead up, was just gettin’ pissed off wi that card’s relentless pish…feels a lot better tonight though, can’t wait for the election to be done with, then we know where we are and can move forward from there…EU then councils…onwards…

Thpnr šŸ˜‰

128. Macart

The dug’s in good form tonight. šŸ™‚

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2016/04/22/the-healthy-majority/

129. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

In defence of thepnr, Ronnie needed no encouragement in Arbroath; targets everywhere and naebody was safe.

@ K1
    Heed the wise words of Macart! These chancers come and go and any exchange is best kept to a minimum, generally none at all. They tire eventually if ignored. I admit to poking one a wee while back just for the heck of it, but, never let them get under the skin. Keep the faith.

130. harry mcaye

I would love a Wings car sticker, where do I go about purchasing one? Nothing on the Wings megastore link.

131. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi harry mcaye.

For stickers, check out ‘Yes Rutherglen’.

http://www.yesrutherglen.com/merchandise/

132. Andrew Mclean

Harry yes there is.

133. Ian Brotherhood

Why so quiet in here?

Come on FFS, it’s Saturday night, eh?

Stevie Wonder, Prince and Sheila E, ‘Superstition’ (Live, Paris, 2010) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUKA7usm4C0&list=PL8Fb3xw2ZYCUFk5eJr5urvUk0YijrB4uI

134. Quentin Quale

Ian, some classic Philly Soul. This’ll get you leapin aroon’ the lobby.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8UELBthTX8

135. Ian Brotherhood

@QQ –

šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

Fabulous.

What a voice that dude had. That’s precisely what Thepnr sounds like after he’s had seven pints of Guinness.

Strange, but true.

136. Ian Brotherhood

This was almost 30 years ago…

Wet Wet Wet, ‘Sweet Little Mystery’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgEqJUcUKNw

137. Thepnr

@
    Ian Brotherhood
    30 years ago Naw dinnae be telling me that!

Sometimes the old ones are the best šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POvLaziUsTo

138. harry mcaye

Andrew – I can only see various t-shirt slogans, no window stickers.

139. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr (10.41) –

Ha!

šŸ™‚

I’m sure you posted that clip ages ago, eh?

It’s totally brilliant – the man looks so free…

It’s Zen material.

Soo-perb.

140. yesindyref2

FWIW by the way, we didn’t have a TV in those days so it was quite a pleasant surprise shock when I first saw that last one. It was the times right enough, fair to quicken the pulse of a young lad.

Same era: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6ykUgrG0eA

141. yesindyref2

Well, back to work, but first for the one piano player in the whole world who hasn’t done some version of this, whoever you are come out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfdPNMaBWI0

142. Roughian

Just watched Sir Ian McKellen on Shakespeare Live making a speech from a play about Sir Thomas Moore appealing to the mobs in a race riot asking them to consider the plight of the foreign immigrants.

Could have been written today!!

143. Andrew Mclean

Harry it’s America they call them bumper stickers, take some green from your fanny pad, šŸ™‚

144. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi harry mcaye.

I already gave you the link for ‘Yes Rutherglen’.

They do ‘made to measure’ – they produced ‘Wings Over Scotland’ beer mats for both the Helensburgh and latest Glasgow Wings get-togethers.

Contact them and tell them what you want!

145. Wee Jonny

Harry
    My friend has done my stickers/signs on my car for years.

His name Is John. You can get in touch we what yi want and he should be able to soart yi oot.

Here’s his email address – gilpin1@live.com

Tell him Wee Jonny Campbell sent yi.

146. Ian Brotherhood

This was just played on ‘Pipeline’ – the type of programme Radio North Britain happens to be very good at.

Blair Douglas, ‘Nelson Mandela’s Welcome To The City Of Glasgow’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oqwZrVtZva8

147. Macart

I thought it best to jump ship to O/T currently. I have a deathly fear of hammers.

Anyroads

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbyAZQ45uww&list=RDVbg7YoXiKn0&index=10

šŸ™„

148. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

šŸ™‚

Aye, it’s getting a bit mental ower there, eh?

That video will surely draw comment from Miss Paula Rose…

149. Brian Doonthetoon

This is a rather decent version of a song that someone and me were trading lyrics of, on one of the main pages, in the past week or so.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bk7RVw3I8eg

150. Brian Doonthetoon

RE: the Nancy Sinatra video. I’m, mostly, into blondes but I must admit a soft spot for Elvira, “Mistress of the dark”…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9mRCPOIWrU

151. Ian Brotherhood

Anything to get away from the main thread right now…

This is properly weird, but strangely enjoyable, and was waiting for me on YT after the last link…

The Mediaeval Babes, ‘Adam Lay Ibounden’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juUNs3vcPNk

152. Andrew Mclean

Brian,
    Thank you for posting this link, it was fantastic!

153. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andrew.

Which one – Disturbed or Elvira?

8=)

154. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT (9.58) –

That’s great stuff, never heard it before, and I know someone who will love it, so hoots aplenty and thanks amuch!

155. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

That dude singing ‘Sound of Silence’ reminds me of this clip from one of the Batman movies. I’ve never watched any of them right-through, but my son has been driving me properly mental over the past week or so by constantly doing (impressively accurate) repetitions of this particular speech, often from concealed spaces, the more to frighten me:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F157geaXp_w

156. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Whens the wean getting oot the cupboard? Jist asking like, jist in case, ken šŸ™‚

157. Andrew Mclean

Brian,
    Disturbed, I remember going into what was west Germany, and stopped to buy bridge over troubled water. First time I heard sound of silence.
    Funny mentioning the old Germany, I will also never forget once leaving the east siting in the station drinking something they pretended was coffee and thinking, and I really did believe this, the arse holes would have really done it, half the old red guard were milling about the countryside. And a girl and boy sat on the ground outside the ticket office and playing an acoustic guitar sung “life on Mars”. It was the most beautiful song I ever heard.

158. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

šŸ™‚

I couldn’t possibly say…

You’ll know what I’m on about.

The lad has chosen to pursue a ‘love’ which, the longer he’s involved in it, forces him to confront liars and cheats as a matter of course.

Whit’s a responsible ‘Dad’ to do?

He’ll find his own way of dealing with them. I just hope that he doesn’t resort to using their methods to ‘win’. If he does, he knows he’ll lose any respect his ‘nearest and dearest’ have for him, insofar as the whole concept of ‘sport’ is relevant.

It’s his shout.

159. Andrew Mclean

Thepnr
    Classic:-)

160. Andrew Mclean

http://www.youtu.be/GgeJsR7iugA

Two cultures.

161. Andrew Mclean

Some idiot said there is no such thing as Scottish culture, it’s a mark of the strength of our cultural identity and heritage that it blends so well with others.
    A gift for our wingers of Scottish Indian descent.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GgeJsR7iugA

162. Brian Doonthetoon

Found out this morning that Disturb’s “Sound of Silence” is Ken Bruce’s ‘Record of the Week’.

Wings ahead of the curve – as usual…

163. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andrew McLean.

Cross cultural fertilisation…

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/AlastairMacDonald-Lets-Foot-It-Out-64kbps.mp3

You’ll probably have to download, then play, this example of Scottish cross country reggae, as it is an MP3 file.

164. Cactus

Hey folks, how do’s, not long to go now.. hopefully it’s gonna be a massive pro-Scotland turnout to vote for the SNP on the fifth.

Scotland deserves something special for celebrating on the sixth.

165. Thepnr

@Andrew Mclean

Your link at 10:35pm didn’t work, t’other wasn’t bed though šŸ™‚

166. Thepnr

Wasn’t bad though, subconscious thoughts won lol.

167. Brian Doonthetoon

I don’t think I’ve shared this here before.

A wee compilation of Gaelic culture from “Chewin’ The Fat”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlWR96LMyHY

168. Thepnr

This is worth watching. Prince and others 10 minutes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4UkSIcm_y7Y

169. Alex Waugh

I just found this comment, I presume from an English poster, on an Independent story about the Brexit campaign. Oh, the irony!

“All this bull about we get this much for this and that much for that insults our intelligence. The bottom line is that we pay in more than we get out and the decision on how that money is spent is made by others. Better to keep it and allocate it ourselves, if we dont like the way its done then we can vote the bastards out, its called democracy something we used to find worth fighting nay dieing for and yet the IN campaign seem to not want to even talk about. Shame on all of them and I bet there forefathers are turning in their graves.”

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.

170. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Sorry it took so long to get back to you. Been taking a few days out of the mainstream again.

I think I saw the picture with the familiar face you meant though.
    Now that’s a face that should always stay on the OTHER side of the camera! hehe. šŸ˜‰

Anyways, posting up another music link.
    If any of the newspapers or BBC lackeys are reading this, then the title of this one totally isn’t a thinly-veiled reference to our undemocratic pork-loving PM. Not at all. Honest. Don’t know how you could even think such a slanderous thing!

The lyrics are good though šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0K8FUo4wcMc

Peace, Love and Oreos to all… (Oh, wait, will we still be allowed to have Oreos if we leave the EU?) šŸ˜‰

171. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

šŸ™‚

Yes, you’ll still be able to get them, but they’ll be called Eureos.

172. Andrew McLean

Off Topic completely,

As the rev can fight his own battles, though if he wants to borrow my chib?

Hillsbourgh was the result of the most common cause of death in crowd related accidents, compressive asphyxiation, that is, the force of the crowd becomes so high that individuals in the crowd cannot expand their torso to breathe. When the crowd density is high enough this can happen when people are standing upright, but it can also happen from the resulting force when people fall to the ground, end up on top of each other and cannot get up from the ground.

Poor crowd management by say allowing the amount of people into an area to suddenly increase creates a living mass that behaves as one object not as individual actors. At no time is it suggested that any force is used other than normal jostling, this results in crowd surges that, especially when the crowd is constrained by a solid object packs the front of the group to tight to allow chest expansion.

The following are representative of that phenomena

The Who-concert USA 1979 11 dead 23 injured
    Heysel Stadium Belgium 1985 39 dead 600 injured
    Kathmandu Stadium Nepal 1988 93 dead 100 injured
    Hillsborough Stadium England 1989 96 dead 766 injured
    Mateo Flores Stadium Guatemala 1996 83 dead 147 injured
    Troitsa Festival Belarus 1999 53 dead –
    Hultsfred Festival Sweden 1999 1 dead –
    Roskilde Festival Denmark 2000 9 dead 26 injured
    Lantern Festival China 2004 37 dead 15 injured
    The Love Parade Germany 2010 21 dead 510 injured
    Khmer Water Festival Cambodia 2010 347-456 dead 755 injured
    New Yearā€™s celebration Ivory Coast 2013 60 dead 200 injured

As you can see even recently you see the same outcome, also note the potential poor understanding of crowd management by those in charge.

Stampede is a closely related phenomena usually associated by reaction to an outside threat, fire being the classic example.
    If you have the stomach for it, about 4 minutes into the video of the Station Nightclub fire in New York is a classic example of asphyxiation caused by stampeding, the crown running from a fire being bottlenecked at the exit door, when one person falls within a second there is an immovable mass of trapped and trampled bodies.

173. Song42

@ cynicalHighlander

Thanks for the link to Outlander series2. Unusually easy access compared to last time.
    Cheers?

174. Song42

That question mark (after cheers) was a smile. No idea how came out as a question mark!

175. Thepnr

I promise you will love this.

It’t One Step Beyond played by Dundee band the Cundeez.

On the bagpipes šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BwuDnSd1jS4

176. Thepnr

This is just great, looks a wee bi like what the BBC don’t give us. Do you know the word Oary? This is Oary, pure Dundonian lol.

I loved this, same guys from above they are smart.

Well done Gary and the band šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KX2mSNh5MFY

177. Thepnr

A Poem, sombre.

Twa Pints Meh Erse. Just saying, brilliant. Dundee 4 Salford 0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVdzBRR3raY

178. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

Good stuff mister – they look like they’d go down a storm at Wings social…

šŸ˜‰

179. K1

Song42, if you’re using a mac, including ipad, of any description the smiley’s don’t work, they come out as question marks. To make a smiley on Wings… use : then – then ) but no spaces between them: šŸ™‚

Here’s a handy wee wordpress doc to help you make different types of smileys:

https://en.support.wordpress.com/emoji/

180. Thepnr

OK Guess Dundee 4 Salford 0 might cryptic? Never mind Salford is where John Cooper Clarke came from and I reckon Gary Robertson of the CunDeez hammered him. Just my opinion.

Also Hull 4 London 0 is a memory. Here it is. Let’s play it again Alex LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_TMUJIWwyI

181. Brian Doonthetoon

A CLASSIC Dundee band for Thepnr…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fybwkm7ivQc

182. Brian Doonthetoon

Then, of course, we can sample the delights of the West Coast historical folk genre with this ballad, telling the story of the men who drove the cattle down to the markets in Glasgow.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IWMDuRZBnnw

(Turn the volume up a wee bit.)

183. Song42

Thanks very much K1. Very helpful and much appreciated šŸ™‚

184. Andrew Mclean

One for the BBC in Scotland , ps they are the DJ.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMykYSQaG_c

185. K1

Cameron, I meant generally not specifically you.

How can someone so desperate to be noticed, so obnoxiously eager for attention on Wings, that they have come back on to Wings from a failed attempt under another moniker, then having been found out to be the same ‘person’ and still comment so profusely, state:

‘Lastly, do you really think anybody is going to be daft enough to A) read this junk, and B) let it influence their vote? Seriously? I know a lot of people visit Wings but I find it hard to believe they come to read the comments.’

Can I just remind everyone this guy has never voted in any Scottish elections including the Indyref. There’s nothing to ‘find out’ here. There is ‘no’ coherence. It ‘is’ ‘interference’ and the broadcast frequency is 100%HeidFuckFM.

Tune out.

186. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Yep.

We should be grateful he hasn’t turned-up here.

Yet.

187. K1

Ah know Ian, It’s in the back of ma mind that he will. šŸ™

(I’m movin’ tae quarantine of he does:-) )

188. Clapper57

@ K1

Re your following quote from our current resident Troll :

“ā€˜Lastly, do you really think anybody is going to be daft enough to A) read this junk, and B) let it influence their vote? Seriously? I know a lot of people visit Wings but I find it hard to believe they come to read the comments.”ā€™

Hi K1 , Troll is destroying his own argument “I know a lot of people visit Wings but I find it hard to believe they come to read the comments.”ā€™…Duh ! Eh is that no exactly what he is doing ! He obviously spends most of his piggin time on this site reading other people’s comments in order to ‘correct’ them with his deluded superior ( lack of ) wisdom .

Uses exact same method as (In)Sensible Dave & Will…Pod…More ( a reject from Invasion of the Body Snatchers)….pick pick pick and more piggin pick..pick..pick …gets monotonous doesn’t it…same old same old just different mantle same mould ….BORING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

189. Ian Brotherhood

Friday night, few cans in, too much running about this week, and too much mental stuff on the main threads…good to settle down in a quiet place, nae hassle.

Stone Roses, ‘Fools Gold’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BBsazIACpYM

190. Ian Brotherhood

Rick Astley, ‘Highway To Hell’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfK1qQ_3W48

191. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, Ian B. If you’re gonna be culturally divisive, try this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QS9aU0ONgA

192. Macart

@Ian Brotherhood

Ah hear that fella. Sitting here with a cheeky wee Merlot right now and listening to some classic Orbison and some Van the man.

OK its been a bad day, but I’m mellowing out nicely.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DSjB3XmW30w

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-126K1EfroA&list=RD-126K1EfroA#t=1

Munchies coming on.

193. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

šŸ™‚

Have you posted that before? I’ve definitely heard it somewhere. Rerr voice on him.

194. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

Slainte!

Vinegar Joe, ‘Proud To Be A Honky Woman’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPED5-u_i88

195. Ian Brotherhood

Blondie, ‘Dreaming’ (Glasgow Apollo, 1979)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_sDYyHub8A

196. Ian Brotherhood

Where the hell is Paula Rose?

This may tempt her out…

Wilko Johnson, ‘Back In The Night/She Does It Right’ (Glasgow, 2015) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQQzUwy7KVw

197. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Rev –

Don’t let that dream die mister…

Clare Grogan’s Altered Images, ‘Don’t Talk To Me About Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQG4QsxLzh0

198. yesindyref2

Catchin up wouldn’t be complete withart an orf-topic

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZX06inW2hK4

199. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Good stuff mister ā€“ they look like theyā€™d go down a storm at Wings socialā€¦

How about getting these guys for a Wings social? šŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnSNfxjrwck

200. Chic McGregor

Kirrie jumpin today with Bonfest and the unvailing of Bon Scott’s statue.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgVScdkUtWI

201. carjamtic

Need some help,

Buffy Sainte Marie – The Big Ones Get Away Video

You tube tells me not available šŸ™

202. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi carjamtic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b5o8gwt26To

203. carjamtic

Thanks Brian

Wouldn’t play on iPad

Got it on the laptop

Class

šŸ™‚

204. yesindyref2

OT Oh, this IS off-topic.

Well, managed it seems to have got myself banned from Bella (Hillsborough thread), and it wasn’t me doing the insults. First battle award, but strangely I didn’t manage to get banned from Grun or Herald in 4 years of posting there. Yet. Even the Rev hasn’t banned me. Yet.

There’s a kind of intrinsic dishonesty in replying to you – then rejecting replies, including the irony of “BCE” complaining about 2 posters being anonymous including me. One way of getting the last word I guess.

Onywhy, some muzack, thinking back about the 70s, indirectly responsible for me going to Indy. Strange for an English woman though she had a Scots grandmother.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28zG4ZVgsQM

205. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

šŸ™‚

That was totally soo-perb, never seen them before.

(PS Did you see Allan Grogan’s now left the SSP?)

206. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

For some reason (don’t know “Why?”) the Sandy Denny track reminded me of this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLufwtSZiIs

PS: got your email. Mum’s still ‘the word on the street’.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7udsYPVhl6Y

207. yesindyref2

Strange how music means victorian prejudicecs just seem so silly. I remember when there was all sorts of shocked jeering stuff about her being a lesbian thinking “who cares?”. Anyway this was boringly enough my fave of hers of the time

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp4339EbVn8

208. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Aha!

You have returned…

Nice timing. I wanted you to see this video, on the occasion of Robbie Shepherd’s 80th birthday.

It may interest you because, as he describes it, the task of the leading lady is ‘working her way down the line of men, and turning her partner in-between’.

šŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vboU2A59POs

209. yesindyref2

BDTT For some reason or other that just makes so much sense (police squad) word on the street

Music is associative and travels in strange directions, as the wind blows. Which gives this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy3ihk205ew

and this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=przjwqhZkeE&list=RDprzjwqhZkeE#t=25

Back to HMRC, nearly there now and over an hour to go!

210. Paula Rose

I love stripping willow xx

211. Ian Brotherhood

Skipinnish, ‘Walking On The Waves’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNn2UdI-kvA

212. yesindyref2

Ian if you insist

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvSMVHH_P70

I stayed a couple of times at the Clanranald on my trips, and had a drink or two in the Bothan, with music.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvSMVHH_P70

213. Cactus

Hey and have a great next weekend off after Thursday’s result everyone. Be sure to take the Monday off, there’s a party brewing!

Bbs šŸ™‚

214. Michael McCabe

youtube/SHlhJL3IlsQ Don’t Mess

215. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Nope, didn’t know that about Alan. Not too surprised though.
    I don’t think anything surprises me any more.

Anyways yep, previous music link was “Clanadonia”. They show up in Glasgow’s Buchanan Street sometimes. Fun crowd šŸ™‚

Anyway, if you want to stick with a similar theme, but prefer something more mellow and chilled out, try this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKwVGqXM8u4

216. Thepnr

We’re winning, I sense it.

There comes a point where everyone get’s tired and are ready to quit. We heard it from Derek Bateman last week but also from Brian Wilson this week.

Bateman got the fillip he needed from the Independence supporters on his blog and will keep going at least until the election. Good for him.

Nobody though encouraged Wilson when said he was off.

For this election at least their goose is cooked, keep the pressure on, we need ALL of them to fold. They will do too, they hate and despise ridicule, so give them some. They live only for adulation, so laugh at them. They should be ridiculed for their reporting is ridiculous in terms of reality.

I hope you do realise that it YOU who read Wings and comment that have them running. Their is no hiding place for them now. All their lies are exposed here for all to see.

These sycophants for Unionist parties have no problem in hunting down ordinary people like you and me and “exposing” them in the likes of the right wing rag Daily Mail in an attempt to lose them their jobs or ridicule them.

Bite back, give them a taste of their own medicine.

The Unionist media needs to be destroyed, after this election let’s make that certain. We might not beat the BBC yet but we can definitely defeat these Unionist placemen first.

One at a time, BBC next.

217. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – me on my unicorn with my crossbow is giving the yoons nightmares!

218. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Well welcome back šŸ™‚ Where the fuck you been?

as for the above, sorry, started off as for here on Off Topic but thought it should be “promoted” to the main thread.

219. Paula Rose

Somerset, Wiltshire, Devon and all bits in between!

220. Thepnr

Good for you, hope you had a great time and avoided the snow šŸ™‚

Something special?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ctxoApD5x2w

221. Paula Rose

Nae snow in the SW of England – plenty of spring. Specials yippee!

222. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose-

Crumpets, scrumpy…and a wee bit of strumpet…

Soo-perb!

223. Paula Rose

Ian honey – I told the whole of the West Country about you xx

224. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

šŸ™‚

I am indebted.

225. Thepnr

Glad you back. West country can be dangerous.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2dOo5Z9dsk

226. Oneironaut

Slight musical rant to myself here in response to something I read on another site recently that added to a bad feeling that I kinda want to get off my chest before it does too much damage.

I suppose if enough folks know the meaning of the song and have enough insight to divine the strange ways that the inner circuitry of my mind works, they may be able to deduce my meaning in a roundabout Sherlock Holmes kind of way.
    At which point I might get a few nasty messages from at least two or three different factions in the great media conflict for the hearts and minds of Scottish voters, but I’m well past caring by now…

Alternatively, just sit back and relax and enjoy the music šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_L4Rixya64

Peace out! (And don’t get peaced-off!)

227. Robert Sneddon

Hi Rev, I wondered when your ETA for the perks from the latest fundraiser would be starting to be sent out woudl be?

Atb to you all

228. Brian Doonthetoon

I feel sorry for the Arabs tonight. Their team has gone ‘doon’, through no fault of the fans. Mismanagement at the highest level, over a year ago, and one, maybe two managers will have to carry the can.

Never mind – if they bring back the Forfarshire Cup, we could get a derby out of that.

229. Stoker

New order – Blue Monday
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYH8DsU2WCk

Well done Leicster!

Hi Brian (BDTT),
    Why feel sorry for any “Arabs” – big sarcastic smiley thing. šŸ™‚
    Do you know the Morrisons fae Dundee? I used to work for them!

230. Brian Doonthetoon

Och Stoker, if you worked in Dundee, you’ll know that football tribalism in this city spreads across families. Not just families; look at Frew’s – one Saturday it’s a Dundee pub, the next Saturday it’s a United pub. And on Hogmanay, you couldn’t meet a friendlier crowd, of both persuasions.

You typin’ about the ‘Old Bank Bar’, “Mercantile’, ‘Trades House’ Morrisons? The brothers who were able to milk the big brewers for all they could?

231. Stoker

Las Ketchup – The Ketchup Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMT698ArSfQ

232. Stoker

No, Brian, i worked for them when they ventured out to Stirling.
    šŸ˜‰

233. Stoker

Brian, Yes, the very same brothers!

Missing my old caz-m, this is for him:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOChUwC2onQ

Come in pal, your time is up!
    šŸ™‚

234. Stoker

Making no apologies for putting these ladies back on šŸ™‚

Rodeo Girls – Say Hello
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wJyVPhVwMv4

235. Stoker

The Clash – I Fought The Law
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tR3XY6wfSBw

236. Stoker

Del Amitri – Driving With The Brakes On
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GD_wDWuh5w

237. Stoker

Jason Mraz – I’m Yours
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EkHTsc9PU2A

238. Stoker

Elvis Costello – Oliver’s Army
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrjHz5hrupA

239. Stoker

Madness – Uncle Sam
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MyvDw4dgBs

240. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    Happy memories of a family holiday when the kids were younger. And they were happy to do the Ketchup with us. Mind you, we were goooood šŸ™‚

241. yesindyref2

OT
    A job taking 3 times as long as expected means I’ll be in the Lakes Thurs / Fri, so won’t be home to do the usual all-nighter watching election results.

Will have internet but might be slow / shared, so anyone got links for both a live results show, and perhaps one that’s covering it in text as it goes along, and/or one with a summary so far?

Thanks!

242. Betty Boop

@ Thepnr, 1st May, 9:49pm

What have I missed? Knew about Bateman’s little wobble, but, please tell me Wilson has left the planet… err, country for somewhere he will be “appreciated”.’

@ Paula Rose

Hope you had a lovely time, no doubt stirring up the south westies with you prancin’ n dancin’ šŸ˜‰

243. CameronB Brodie

OK, I lied when I suggested I wouldn’t post any more techno. Here’s one inspired by Chic and all those Yoons out there who think democracy is theirs to define and control.

Psychosis – Just Another Freak
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YTcvjVQjuKk

244. Andrew McLean

harry mcaye are you still looking for that wings car sticker?

245. Ian Brotherhood

Aaah, the days when you could wear a Christmas jumper and get away with it…

Spandau Ballet, ‘To Cut A Long Story Short’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JE2sCISQmpE

246. Oneironaut

No real meaning behind my choice of music tonight.
    Just found this one on a search for something else and felt like posting it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D42QJGKc-ek

247. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Don’t worry abut it man, this is O/T, where meaning means nothing…

Mind you, this will certainly mean something to Cearc, although others may be tempted to click.

It’s a short video featuring Buff Rock Chicks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GngI4vokwWg

248. Thepnr

Chicks Hah!

Here’s the idiot egg woman.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6w_LfIgvU8

249. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

You may be able to find a channel under “UK Live TV” in the menu at the left hand side.

http://www.filmon.tv/tv/live

Here’s the link for BBC Scotland:-

http://www.filmon.tv/tv/bbc-1-scotland

250. yesindyref2

BDTT – brilliant thanks, that looks just the DK.

251. pete the camera

If you like cars and racing here is something to waste an hour usefully and take your mind off today’s events

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00jw9cw/jim-clark-the-quiet-champion

Jim was born a Fifer no mater how they tried to label him in this film

252. cearc

Cheers, Ian,

I’ve only a couple chicks so far but lots on the way.

Thepnr,

Phew, I thought for a moment that you had found a video of me!

253. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

This should help take yer mind off it all for at least four minutes…

ZZ Top, ‘Gimme All Your Lovin” –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ae829mFAGGE

254. Ian Brotherhood

Following the phenomenal outpouring of requests for something similar to the wee ‘break’ yours truly provided at a similar juncture in the tortuous unfolding of last year’s GE results, here’s a mellow half-hour of whale music and other marine sounds…

Roll a big doobie, neck some Buckie, kick off yer toofles and savour this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nImKoUyHgTI

255. Ian Brotherhood

Okay then, if you don’t like whales, how about Prince doing ‘Alphabet Street’ live, in 1988?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvLqJ1tKQzo

256. Ian Brotherhood

Okay then, if you don’t like whale-music, or Prince, how about viewing this as a likely source of Brian Spanner’s gravatar?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2mU6USTBRE&index=3&list=RDEMVipGsy3wVwcf_KORCbD2Mg

257. Ian Brotherhood

If you missed it t’other day on WOS Twitter, here’s a scary kangaroo –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0Q9FyyqL4g

258. Ian Brotherhood

Thank fuck for O/T…

The Selecter, ‘Too Much Pressure’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETTKzcIQTjU

259. Paula Rose

Oi Ian stop rifling through my records.

260. Ian Brotherhood

Question – did the orchestra get paid extra for having to put up with this?

Barbara Dickson, ‘Run Like The Wind’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCl6c2nl8lg

261. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Bazza making dreams come true, plucking a fan (Amy) from the audience to sing ‘I Can’t Smile Without You’.

He’s had so much much ‘work’ that the song’s now called ‘I Can’t Smile At All’, but this is great stuff…I defy you not to weep with pleasure…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAfcxGoV3jo

262. Brian Doonthetoon

“Run Like The Wind”?

So middle of the road and old hat. This is what you need – a different windy track…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJLOSuz147I

263. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

šŸ™‚

Never seen that before…soo-perb.

264. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

That was unwatchably sad.

Whatever possessed you?

265. Paula Rose

Ian Honey – i don’t know – sitting here deciding to run the world, all your lefty stuff is out of date, time for a bit of whipping need some angelic delight.

266. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Well, it seem’s you’re right.

The ‘lefty’dream has died, at least as far as the SSP goes, for me.

It’s the only party I ever joined or wholeheartdely supported. And now it’s invisible.

We survived ‘Sheridan’, but ‘RISE’ did for us in the end.

Hubris and celebrity-fetish. A fatal combination.

šŸ™ šŸ™ šŸ™

267. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    My thoughts exactly…

Trying to think of something more to say here, but… Nah, not coming to me.

Music link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiNdFkuKX1o

268. Andrew Mclean

Paula, rose, you’re link took me to “where have all the flowers gone” I heard that in the star folk club 35 years ago, I can’t remember last time I heard it, it still speaks of the anguish of a country lost in a war few could comprehend, playthings for a global elite, the spawn of whom rules over us today, to the 45 minutes to Iraq bombing, shock and awe, labour sucking off the neoconservative liberal elite in Washington. Right down to Kezia and her stupid incompetence.

I wrote a lot more then, but it was too depressing, all I can say is ” funny old world”

269. Paula Rose

Ian Dear , there there – come here and let me make it better.

270. K1

*enters room…finds a wee corner, sits doon…counts tae ten…sighs…gets up, goes over tae the record collection rifles through…och this’ll dae nicely*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7h_VKaoITio

271. Grouse Beater

Ian Brotherhood offers some painful wisdom:

“The ā€˜leftyā€™dream has died, at least as far as the SSP goes, for me. The only party I ever joined or wholeheartdely supported. Now itā€™s invisible. We survived ā€˜Sheridanā€™, but ā€˜RISEā€™ did for us in the end. Hubris and celebrity-fetish. A fatal combination.

272. Betty Boop

@K1 1.12am

Lovely song, but, I thought that was what you were doing already – pacing the cage. Hope it soothed you šŸ™‚

273. K1

šŸ™‚ Betty.

274. Oneironaut

I really should know better than to try reading the main articles and their accompanying “comments” on here.

Palm met face so fast I almost knocked myself unconscious…

*sigh*

Music link…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMI-6LL83uU

275. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

As it happens, I was right in the mood for a funky oddity and that fitted the bill perfectly.

Do you have any tunes which may bring harmony to the ongoing main thread?!

šŸ™‚

276. K1

Wee bit of Tina…Let’s Stay Together šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9FK-Ny5fuc

277. yesindyref2

This reminds me of sooking red wine through chocolate fingers with the ends bitten off while supposedly studying for resits.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7goifK_2qY

It has absolutely nothing to do with elections.

278. K1

Off one of ma favourite albums Deja Vu Indyr2:

http://www.youtube/HiDOMuhpqUo

Not sure that link will work from this phone…anyways takes me back to ma wild Dundee youth…happy times šŸ™‚

279. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “Do you have any tunes which may bring harmony to the ongoing main thread?!”

Not sure, if I had the power to counteract human stupidity, I’d have used it on the day of the referendum vote.

Luckily the same artist I posted earlier has something suitable.

*elbow-bumps the jukebox*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOGFxfcSTmk

280. yesindyref2

Mmm. CSNY.

A long lean back or lie on the ground one from Pink Floyd

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yusGUGTVAyw

Looking at the comments on it, have they no soul?

281. CameronB Brodie

Are non-ethical holiday suggestions appropriate, or is that just stirring? šŸ™‚

Jack Johnson – Gone (Going)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rItHumCNNQ&index=8&list=PLj7-znskdzWa-kR5STYcfIJ4Z8uV0Vd2q

282. Wee Jonny

Hello fellow Wingnuts.

Re- car stickers.

I’m taking Bella Caledonia, National Collective & Common Weal signs off my car.
    I’ll replace them with Wilderness of Peace, SCOT goes POP and either Lallands Peat Worrier or iScot Magazine.

Any thoughts on this as I only stick to Wings, WGD & Derek’s sites for my daily dose?

Ta
    WJ.

283. Paula Rose

Hi Wee Jonny I’d go with iScot as it would appeal more to the “ordinary punter”, Peat Worrier is rather technical and not as inviting for a new reader.

284. Wee Jonny

That’s a 10 4 there Paula Rose.

285. Almannysbunnet

Fit’s happened?

286. Dave McEwan Hill

The door’s open, Ian

On an other theme I have decided that this is the best ever rock’n’roll record. As I drive about a lot I always have CDs playing and after a while you get a bit tired of some great stuff – except this one. It always gives me a lift……

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuqI7yid3ew

287. Brian Doonthetoon

Typin’ about Rock ‘n’ Roll…

In the late 50s, we used to visit my Mum’s cousin, who lived in Provanmill, Glasgow, having, as a Forfar quine, married one of them thaar worldly-wise characters from that Glasgow.

One of the regular treats she took us on was a wee walk down Cumbernauld Road, to a cafe in Alexandra Parade, which had a juke box.

This was my favourite, at the time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQ-imheBEhk

288. Brian Doonthetoon

And typin’ about Glasgow…

The first time I saw this wee, 35 second clip, the lump of pride in my throat was almost fatal.

Never mind what was going on in the stadium – this was what was going on in the tunnel, before the Scotland team’s entrance at the 2014 Commonwealth games.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BiGV1QuBvc

289. Dave McEwan Hill

Brian Doonthetoon at 8.33

Ah. The voice of the 20th century. Just found out his mother was native American (which might explain the lustrous long black hair) and his father used to knock him about because he was gay.

290. Dave McEwan Hill

A nightcap

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KfZBc-8MEVA

Actually Barbara Dickson’s version of this (with Archie Scott) makes the hairs stand up on the back of your neck but I can’t find it online. I wonder of Barbara’s with us. She used to be.

291. yesindyref2

Van new MOT and front tyres šŸ™‚ Mmmmmmm.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIY4OEAd6Yk

292. Thepnr

This is a beautiful song that I dedicate to Angra Mainyu, NeoconNat and Ahuru Mazda all 4 of them.

It’s also for you my friends in Off Topic too šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66YCiJHNIAQ

293. Lollysmum

Don’t know how you all feel but I’m getting tired of the bickering on the main threads. Some folks just don’t know when to stop šŸ™

Dave Mc H-thanks for the Steeleye Span track-still have the cassette tapes of their stuff & saw them in concert 6 times. Carefree days of youth eh šŸ™‚

294. Paula Rose

Seems to be a Scottish pastime – I’ll take a wonder over later and spank some botties.

295. David

Choir of 1999 voices sings Prince’s ‘When Doves Cry”.
    Recorded live in Toronto at Massey Hall on Monday, May 2nd, 2016.
    An amazing tribute to the man, just beautiful.

Big thanks to my (step) daughter for finding this song last night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTcQdiNlGG8

296. Thepnr

@David

Enjoyed that, say ta to your daughter.

297. Brian Doonthetoon

Now, here’s an interesting story, about how YouTube’s copyright identification can go awry.

Around a month ago, I decided to post a link to a video in ‘off-topic’. I searched YouTube for it but it wouldn’t turn up in the searches.

As I had downloaded the video a year or three ago, I copied the exact file name and tried that. To cut a long story short, I found the page but there was a message saying that the video could not be shown – because BBC Worldwide claimed copyright infringement.

This was strange, as the video was the original promotional video from the 80s, produced by the ‘artiste’ himself. It was featured a number of times on Channel 4 back in the day. I can’t recall ever seeing it on the BBC.

Onnyhoo, I have kept the tab active in Firefox ever since. I was intending to email the artiste to ask him why the BBC was claiming copyright. I have restarted my Mac weekly since then and, after each restart, the YouTube page appeared with the BBC Worldwide claim – until tonight!

I had closed down Firefox earlier on, as I had updated Flash Player. When I launched Firefox just now, the music from the “banned” video came blasting through the speakers.

Obviously, BBC Worldwide’s claim was found to be malicious/erroneous. So I can offer the link to a classic Scottish video – filmed in Scotland and the US, at ENORMOUS expense, including obtaining permission to film on the top of Brooklyn Bridge.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOad0FU9zF8

298. Thepnr

Maybe not one of your best ever links BDTT but I’ll forgive you šŸ™‚

299. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Underappreciated in his homeland…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jesse_Rae

“As a songwriter, Rae is best known for the 1982 song, “Inside Out”, a hit single by the band Odyssey. Rae’s own version was included on his debut album, The Thistle. Rae dedicated the album to “Luzuli and Senkrah and Scotland.””

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s41fhNaJDCE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fw91zI9OScY

300. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill –

If you see this, apologies for not responding to your message t’other day. Have been busy with this and that, mainly that, and haven’t been around here much.

Hoots to you mister.

301. Brian Doonthetoon

Continuing… a wee clip from the summer of 2014.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2LqoOUCy7U

302. Thepnr

For some reason I seem to like songs about revolution. Must be my upbringing. I played the Tracy Chapman one on here of course though I don’t think anyone has played this more obvious one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hn5TYqrxAvs

303. yesindyref2

For some reason I thought of this one on the way home today, couldn’t get it out of my mind. So yrtis

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MtTst8EG2s

304. K1

For no reason at all…huv a wee dance… šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKB9JqLAHNY

305. Dave McEwan Hill

Two days ago was the 100th anniversary of the murder of Edinburgh’s James Connolly, a surrendered combatant, sitting in his own blood and tied upright in chair to be shot in a Dublin Jail. I hope in the better days we can see ahead Scotland can honour the man from the Cowgate, a founder member of Keir Hardie’s Independent Labour Party and an inspiration to John Mclean.

Here is a little piece in his memory – and why am I so angry sometimes to be a Scot.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2iG313FBhZs

306. Ian Brotherhood

Gil Scott-Heron, ‘New York Is Killing Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiuorrXsngM&list=RDOET8SVAGELA&index=3

307. Paula Rose

Oi stop jumping on the furniture.

308. Brian Doonthetoon

I saw this Liverpool band four times at the ‘Bowlin’ Alley’ (Dundee College of Technology Union) in Dundee, in the late 70s and early 80s. They went down a storm. I actually have a recording of one of their Bowlin’ Alley gigs, where they sorta localised this song by replacing ‘lemon sherbet’ with ‘pie’.

Paula Rose’s crotchless earflaps also get a mention.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_Kz0e3Tq30

309. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

‘Crotchless earflaps’???

Was that a band, or what?

P.S. I’m not sure I want to know…

310. Ian Brotherhood

The dude in this video has moves which are very nearly as good as Thepnr’s. Seriously.

Flume & Chet Faker, ‘Drop The Game’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vopR3ys8Kw&index=18&list=RDOET8SVAGELA

311. Paula Rose

Oi – behave.

312. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You’ll have to click on the link and listen to the story, to get the ‘crotchless earflaps’ reference.

313. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Okay, will do…with no little measure of trepidation.

314. Brian Doonthetoon

A rare video of Thepnr and Paula Rose on stage at the Friockheim International Conference Centre Official Fotoshoot (FICKOF), some years ago.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bq7DGvfnr3U

315. Ian Brotherhood

@BDDT –

šŸ™

Nul points from Stevenston…

316. Brian Doonthetoon

Och, Supercharge were BRILLIANT!

Must be a west/east coast cultural thing…
    8=)

317. Ian Brotherhood

Awww, totally made-up I just stumbled across this. Posted it months ago, then completely forgot the band’s name.

The Black Keys, ‘Lonely Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_426RiwST8

318. frogesque

Anyone know when the Flying Scotsman will leave Edinburgh for its trip over the Forth Bridge and round the Fife Circular. Hoping to catch sight of it passing through Thornton.

They seem to be being very cagy about times because of idiots trespassing on the lines down south. But it’s a bloody great steam train going over the Forth, not exactly something you can hide!

319. yesindyref2

All this talk about the Green party, then there’s this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOmB8CMasdo

320. yesindyref2

Main thread’s getting daft so on that theme. Apparently Angela Constance is being moved from Educashun and I suspect Patrick Harvie will be offered the job in person, so we’ll be expecting this pretty soon:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Oo8QzDHimQ

Meanwhile Angela Constance is to be appointed as YES Minister and she’s thinking of this for the theme tune to include the Borders if anyone knows where they are, hence this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zf53Pg2AkdY

With all that going on Ruth is like a rabbit caught in the headlights

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcWVL4B-4pI

which leaves John Swinney in charge of the finances

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7miRCLeFSJo

Time I got back to work!

321. K1

Ach…posted without taking the http aff…

So this is the Greensbad anthem:

Ray Peterson ‘What Do You Want To Make Those Eyes At Me For’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFEukYMH6S8

322. David

Re the OBFA stramash: This is for all the Yoonionists who want the freedom to sing about being up to their knees in fine young blood –

“Not Just Knee Deep” by George Clinton & Parliament

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_GOZM9PbGg

If you haven’t heard this song before, you’ll have heard samples of it in other tunes.

323. CameronB Brodie

I’m so glad I grew up in Dundee and live in Edinburgh, where there doesn’t appear to be much overt sectarianism, outside of football.

@ all Scottish churches
    Are you happy that the average Scottish household has roughly half the wealth of the average household in the south and east of England? Do you think that is the best Scotland can achieve, with our wealth of talent and resources? Have you not spotted Westminster is undermining rather than helping Scotland? Try cleaning your ears and you might hear that sucking sound from HMG. Is it not time you got behind independence, or do you think we would harm Scotland more than the Union?

Closer to home, are you happy with Labour MSP James Kelly?

Anyhoo, here’s one from an unbeliever, that will hopefully make you think.

Golden West Singers – This Wicked Race
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SyrK58BqCVA

324. CameronB Brodie

Some great quote here. Not meant to anyone of faith.

Atheism, religion, ideology and ignorance
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ov6OLV8YJsw

325. CameronB Brodie

Some great quote here. Not meant to offend anyone of faith.

Atheism, religion, ideology and ignorance
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ov6OLV8YJsw

326. JamesCaithness

Has the wee black book, been passed out yet? If not any ideas when they will be?

327. kendomacaroonbar

@JamesCaithness

James, the iScot version is available now www(dot)iscot(dot)scot/subscribe

328. yesindyref2

Warning, this is very loud. It’s in honour of James Kelly, or is it Patrick Harvie in the main thread, I’m getting very confused who’s supposed to be the enemy these days, I thought it was the Union, ah well. Curse them all!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ta-Z_psXODw&list=RDta-Z_psXODw#t=0

329. yesindyref2

Sorry, pirate metal again, but it’s for the read about Angus McFife and Dundee.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTW30Q4B3Go

330. Ian Brotherhood

Main ongoing threads are in a state of cusp, and likely to involve much more bickering, so I’ll just leave this here, being its proper place…

Whatever’s happening in the SG is small-fry compared to this.

The video below has been online for four months, and only had 7.5k views.

‘The World’s Richest 62 People Now Have As Much As Poorest 3.6 Billion’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QC2wh7x29Ow

331. Thepnr

Guilty of bickering. Won’t back down, just made that way.

Eminem sung it, made famous by Tom Petty. This is the original.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QR93m8USug

332. David

@ James Caithness, asking when the Wee Black Book will be available:
    Rev Stu was talking about it on Twitter with RogueCoder (Lindsay Bruce) tonight, saying the books are still at the printers. So:

“Will be a couple of weeks from the printers yet…”, plus “We’ll ship all of them within two days. Boxes for everyone are waiting to be filled.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHfddvbKb4w
    “Please Mr Postman” – The Carpenters (1975)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ur1qKCkY-vU
    “Delivered with care” šŸ˜‰

333. Thepnr

@David

Roguecoder has jut said he will be sending out 3 Ton of WBB on twitter.

334. Thepnr

Still a couple of weeks away though. Waiting on the printer.

335. David

3 Tons of Wee Black Book – now that’s a LOT of truth!
    Hope it works to convince No voters to vote Yes to Indy next time.

336. JamesCaithness

Cheers David.

337. Cactus

Loch Stock Rock n Row 16

Hey Wingers,

If you’re looking for something to do next weekend (27 to 29th May), there’s our annual music festival a-happenin’ within the Yes village of Dalavich (on the banks of Loch Awe.)

Indoor/outdoor live music, bbq, fireworks, bar, restaurant, cycling, fishing etc.

Entry is always FREE
    Camping is always FREE
    Fun is FREE

Yes, it’s your country and countryside, come check it out, bring your friends!

338. Ruglonian

Hello friends,

thought I’d check in as its been a while!

So, that was the election then – did everybody enjoy themselves?

If only it wasn’t so serious, maybe we could have a laugh!
    All that unnecessary sniping before the vote really pissed me off, but the fact that there’s some still fueling division, well it’s just depressing šŸ™

Why the bigger picture is being obscured by tribalism, I can’t say for sure. My conclusions really don’t bear public airing so I’ve found myself increasingly just keeping quiet, and I know I’m not alone in this.
    Many diverse voices that have been crucial to the ongoing development of the ‘movement’ are either in open despair, under attack for attempting resolution and progression, or have resorted to removing themselves from the public debate entirely.
    This is not healthy as it results in that old cliche: echo chamber politics. It is also not conducive to future action.

I am not a party member, and I not going to criticise anyone or any organization specifically, but the majority of opinions that I have garnered from both activists and ‘normal people’ about the election campaign have not been positive.

It’s my opinion that we need to bring a bit of humanity back to this rumbling beast that is ‘the Scottish constitutional question’.
    Let’s make an effort now to catchup with Indy pals. Organise a night in your local pub or seek out a social media contact that you’ve not been in touch with for a while, and most of all remember why we’re all ultimately on the same side.

Before we know it it’ll be round three (council elections) and there’ll be plenty time to bicker again, I’m sure!

Big cuddles to all the folk I haven’t seen or spoken to recently, you know who you are, and I’m proud to call you all friends and allies, Gillian x

339. Betty Boop

@ Ruglonian

Hi Gillian,

Understand your sentiments. Was at our wee Yes group meeting a few days ago. There might be something in the air re a catch up with other like minded folks trying to keep in touch with the movement.

Keep the faith.

340. Betty Boop

@ thepnr, 1.38am!!!! 18/5/16

,@David

Roguecoder has jut said he will be sending out 3 Ton of WBB on twitter.

Kinda heavy job for Twitter!

341. Thepnr

@Betty Boop

LOL slip of the tongue.

342. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Gillian.

Good to read from you! Yooz from Ruglen gonna make the next Dundee ‘Friends of Wings’ get-together? Maybe end of July/early August, if Inverness don’t get their act intae gear…

Onnyhoo, I now have two of your ‘Still YES’ window stickers on the rear windows of my wee two-seater. Still looking for an external round ‘Still YES’ sticker for the outside of my rear doors, to make three YES and a ‘Still YES’…

8=)

343. Thepnr

@Ruglonian

I echo your sentiments, I took a look tonight at the Bella site. Most articles getting very little comments. in fact 0 comments on most of the recent articles.

Recently too Derek Bateman talked of chucking the towel in but is hanging on for now it seems.

The cause is simple, it’s the in-fighting between the various groups. Sheer lunacy IMO.

There are only three types of people in Scotland as far as I can see, Yes voters, No voters and Non Voters. Scotland will only ever gain Independence by first of all hanging on to those supporters of Yes it already has and then building upon that by WINNING votes from the other two types.

It has to be inclusive and accepting of all political opinions and of those with none. It is not a vote for a political party. It a vote for freedom from Westminster. No more, no less.

344. Ian Brotherhood

@Ruglonian –

Just saw your comment above, and totally sympathise.

I resigned from the SSP on the Sunday after the election, and had been planning to do so for a while. I can’t believe what a sorry state the party’s come to, and today’s CalMac-related palaver was just a total brassneck. I’ve met so many great people in and via the SSP, and it’s the only party I’ve ever joined, but there comes a point when you just have to react honestly to what’s being asked of you as a supporter/member.

On a more positive note, I’ve just asked via the main ongoing thread whether anyone’s up for another PQ demo before this year’s out. The impetus for previous demos came from here, especially from the bold Ronnie A, and we do these things well, so why not play to our strengths, keep everyone together (as far as possible) and try to achieve something positive into the bargain.

We have to DO something. And for me, another Hope Over Fear just won’t cut it – too much Sheridan-related baggage with that one, and it’s easily ignored. A crowd of 5k (reasonable target?) outside BBC Scotland’s front door isn’t so easy to rubber-ear.

Curious for your thoughts.

345. Thepnr

Hi Ian

If something could be organised I’d be up for attending. Something different would be good and there has to be a purpose.

Something that would catch the attention of those on social media as the MSM ain’t gonna help.

Without sounding defeatist though I can’t help remembering the efforts of those trying to organise something at a park in Dunfermiline prior to the Ref which failed through lack of support.

If cash was unlimited I’d be tempted to deck out a Wee Black Book battle bus and every weekend tour all the cities, towns and villages in Scotland distributing them. Bit like the Jim Murphy caper bit distributing wisdom instead of guff.

346. kendomacaroonbar

Guys, iScot has just launched an iOS app on Apple store. They also have an android app too download from google or Amazon. If you are of a mind to download the free app i would be grateful if you would consider leaving feedback on it it helps us considerably.. thank you

347. cearc

Hi, Gillian.

348. Ian Brotherhood

@Ruglonian/Thepnr –

What makes WOS special, and feared, is that it can’t be identified with any political party. We should be grateful that WOS has never received ringing endorsements from any of them.

That’s why we have a very special target audience for anything we do – it embraces disillusioned ex-members of bickering parties who’ve yet to sort themselves out after the SG election (and let’s face it – they won’t be anywhere near doing so before the end of the year.)

We can give folk something solid to look forward to, publicise and help organise. Or, look at it another way – if we don’t exercise some initiative and at least TRY to build on what’s been done before re letting the BBC know exactly what we think of it, who else will?

349. Thepnr

Ian

We can do a lot more than demonstrate and that is hit the BBc in the pocket. A mass campaign against paying the Telly tax would be a start.

Show people there are alternatives, Netflix and Amazon Prime combined are cheaper that the license.

The BBc are already feeling the pain of the reduced revenue as revealed yesterday in that they will be discontiniuing much of their online content in order to save money. they only aim to save Ā£15 million which is nothing in the grand scheme of things yet there was a petition signed by more than 70,000 objecting to the shutdown of the Food recipe website.

That’s mental, if another 100,000 yes supporters cancelled their licence then that’s another Ā£18 million out of their pocket. What next will they cancel? Gary Linekers contract? I wish.

350. Ian Brotherhood

Sore as it is to see again, here’s a wee reminder of how it felt.

This one’s good because it’s not edited. It’s as ‘real’ a chunk of documentary as exists of what the atmosphere was like.

Looking back now, it really makes ye wonder – how the fuck did we lose?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRtjPoy-82Q

351. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I hear ye man, but if no-one in the whole of Scotland paid their telly-fee there’s no way we’d ever find out cause neither the BBC nor Whitehall would ever acknowledge such an insurrection – WM would, if need-be, make up the shortfall from the spare change of the defence budget, or levy some infinitesimal one-off tax on bankers’ bonuses.

We need to get in their faces. No ‘party’ will ever dare do that, but we know we can ’cause we’ve done it before.

šŸ™‚

352. Thepnr

Ian

Just watched the first 3 minutes and will watch the rest later, never saw that one before, excellent.

Loved seeing all the Yes flags, which started with a fund raiser here on Wings by Tartanpigsy who I met at the Wings night out in Aberdeen. Interesting guy and here was me thinking he could be a scammer back at the time. Totally wrong as the evidence shows.

Well done that man, but it was stuff like that including the WBB and it’s distribution that made the difference.

You see it’s true one man or women can make a difference and collectively a big difference.

353. Cherry

Thanks for that Ian, I filled up with tears…pride?? Or sadness not sure. I then watched another one where they all sang Caledonia…it was Pride!

As for PQ great idea however I honestly think that we need a private page coz I’m of the opinion we are being watched and we wouldn’t want to tip the buggers off!

354. chasanderson200

Definitely up for another pq protest.
    Also up for another WOS get together.
    (I need an excuse to get away from Glenrothes to a while).

355. Ghillie

Hello folks!

I would love another Wings gathering in Edinburgh = )

356. X_Sticks

@Ian et al

Count me in. As always I’ll be there if I possibly can.

@Gillie
    I’ve nearly recovered from the last one! šŸ˜‰

357. Paula Rose

How about the “Under Two Wings” tour – we ask for wingers in each locality to form a discussion group of folk from across the spectrum to hold meetings arranged with local Yes groups.

People can come and hear the positive case for Independence from local people and their vision of what it would mean. Proving that this is not about some socialist utopia but about a modern european democracy.

358. Cactus

Aye, I’m up for the next daytime demo (is also good for people to meet each other who can’t go to, or don’t do pubs.)

Should the summer weather be bonnie, mibbies a picnic in Freedom Square fur afters.. šŸ™‚

359. Thepnr

I do it often, I try to get my lovely wife to read comments on Wings. So she has just read a couple here in the last few minutes.

She was interested so I thought I had her “caught” and said just watch this video too that Ian Brotherhood posted last night. The response?

“No Alex, I don’t really care”

My wife cried when Yes failed to win a majority so she does care, all I think she means is that she doesn’t care NOW. Maybe we should keep that in mind as I’m guessing she may be representative of the public in general.

However I’ve now changed my mind regarding an earlier post. There are now four types of people in Scotland. The Yes voter, No voter, Non voter and those that just don’t care. At least for now.

The link from IB I wanted my wife to watch is below and it is well worth watching. Like Cherry gives me pride nd hope for the future.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRtjPoy-82Q

360. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a special wee Friday night quiz.

It’s the Kings Scholarship Examination Question, for entry to Eton College in 2011.

I saw it in Danny Dorling’s Inequality and the 1% (Verso, 2015, p.98)

If you want to get a wee glimpse into the mind-set of Cameron, Osborne, Johnson and the characters who prepare them for the whole ghastly business of running an empire, ‘taking care’ of The Great Unwashed etc, have a go at 1.c.

http://www.etoncollege.com/userfiles/files/KS%202011%20General%20Paper%201.pdf

361. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I noticed that the exam was for scholarship candidates. I’m sure that the question is only intended to sort the wheat for the chaff. After all it is Eton college we are talking about.

They don’t want the hard task of brainwashing you from the start, they are more than happy to accept those that are well on the road to be a fully brainwashed member of the ruling elite though.

I could never figure out why Tory policies could to me appear to be so destructive to society in general. Over the years I have figured it out.

IT DOESN’T MATTER HOW DESTRUCTIVE A POLICY IS TO SOCIETY.

IT ONLY MATTERS THAT IT IS NOT DESTRUCTIVE TO THOSE THAT RULE.

I am certain that this is the mindset that enables welfare benefits to be slahed while simaltaniously raising Capital Gains Tax allowances.

It is warped, and that exam paper you printed shows exactly the how of the choosing “of the sort”.

I guess there is a lesson to be learned here about Project Fear. It reflected their own fear of losing control. Not just of Scotland but of everything they stand for in the long run.

362. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – could you switch on your spell-checker.

363. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Done, I’ve also switched on my “missing out a complete word” checker too. No mistakes netx time. LOL

364. Chic McGregor

IanB

Revealing if not surprising other than in its blatancy.

365. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr/Chic McG –

Did either of you happen to catch ‘Call Kaye’ this morning? Steven Jardine was hosting, and he took a call from a guy claiming to have been a member of Muirfield Golf Club for, I think, 17 years or so until he moved house (and, naturally, clubs).

According to him (and he sounded plausible enough) the guys who run Muirfield are the sort who won’t be the slightest bit fazed at being excluded from ever-again hosting The Open. They regard it as a nuisance because it allows ‘oiks’ entry.

He also pointed out that these dudes are paying approx Ā£20,000 a year for membership.

The ‘1%’ may be concentrated in London, aye, but they have enclaves here and there, and many folk who aspire to join them. They’re largely anonymous because they can afford to leave the beastly business of dealing with ‘oiks’ to the likes of Cameron and sundry youngsters who don’t quite cut-it as real players, but are duty-bound to do their bit.

I can’t think of anything so tragic as a Scot who aspires to be a part of such a diabolical, inhuman culture. ‘Tractor’ doesn’t even begin to cover it.

366. Thepnr

No didn’t listen this morning, some mornings if I’m home i will put it on but generally I’ve found it just annoys me.

the guy you talked of I’m quite sure is sincere in his beliefs after all the fact that the members vote failed to allow woman into the club speaks volumes.

They are dinosaurs, and it will probably take another direct hit from a comet to wipe them out. A comet with IndyRef MkII written all over it.

Was Not Was 1987

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83nFiPoSuzU

367. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

It’s not worth going to the bother of digging out the i-player and locating the exchange, but what struck me about the dude was how straightforward he was. He sounded quite a decent guy tbh, someone we could happily have a chat with.

He said he’d have probably voted for female membership, but sounded quite surprised at how close the result was. All the same, he was adamant that there’s no way any stushie will affect what the club does – it’ll be business as normal when all the fuss has died down.

That’s what really gets to me about the ‘1%’ and their acolytes – it’s all just so fucking cosy. Nothing’s gonna change their world…

šŸ™

368. CmonIndy

We have often been subjected to the ‘most powerful devolved parliament’ meme from the Yoons. I see on BBC website that they have ‘examined’ this claim but with no conclusions that I can see.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-35716653

Is there someone knowledgable enough to check this article for accuracy and completeness?

369. Thepnr

OK, had my fill of politics and misery for the day. Party tune!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1VFuHj9_Tgw

370. tartanpigsy

I’m wondering.
    Is this summer a good time for more Yes flags or should we wait (yawn) and see how things pan out with the planned gentle conversion campaign due to begin after the EU referendum?
    I’m not gonna do a fundraiser, cos it’s not the time for that, but kinda think Yes materials in general need made, distributed, financed, to keep the pot boiling.
    Anyone with thoughts on this is welcome to contact me at
    pigsy68@hotmail.com

371. Thepnr

Hello pigsy, still reading then I see šŸ™‚

Regarding when the time may be right, well who knows.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eP2yxRgnR8Q

372. tartanpigsy

Always checking in thepnur šŸ™‚
    Keeping my powder dry as they say, just have a feeling things might start to seem awfie distant by the end of this summer for those not in the loop, in which I include myself at the moment.
    The high heid yins didn’t make a good job of visually promoting Yes the last time and nothing since makes me think things have changed.
    I’ll watch your link now

373. Ian Brotherhood

@Tartanpigsy –

As you’ll have seen, on this page, we’re thinking about stuff.

As to when the time is right?

Nae’bdy knows. Yet.

But stuff will happen. It always happens.

Could be ‘this’, could be ‘that’.

But whatever, when ‘this’ or ‘that’ happens? That’s when we’ll know what we can or should do.

All in good time!

Main thing is that we make sure we’re ready.

Hoots!

šŸ™‚

374. tartanpigsy

@Ian
    Glad we got something definitive there…. šŸ™‚

375. Paula Rose

Always one way or another – we’re gonna get you.

376. Ian Brotherhood

@tartanpigsy –

šŸ™‚

‘Be Prepared’

Dib-dib-dib an aw that…

Where’s me woggle?

377. Thepnr

Tribalism. What does it mean?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D3q6m1P2Wqo

If we all had a woggle, then we’ed all be wogglers. Just need to find my woggle.

378. Michael McCabe

https://youtube/hbDJbITFtwk?t=13 Frankie miller. After all (I live my life)

379. Michael McCabe

youtube/hbDJbITFtwk?t=13

380. Thepnr

Hi Michael

I hope you and Lynn are doing well, tried your link not reachable. Third time lucky maybe. Have another try.

381. Michael McCabe

Hi Alex Everybody is doing fine through this end. I will pass on your kind regards to Lynn. Mind if you are Ever in Edinburgh You are Guaranteed a warm welcome and a place to rest your head. I have given up trying to play music. the link always comes up and it has you tu.be and it wont play. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If I was playing a song it would be Frankie Miller. If you need me. its raw but great.

382. Ian Brotherhood

Hi Michael, hope you’re well buddy.

Here’s one we’ve not had for a while…

Gonny ask Lynn if she’s up for a virtual boogie?

Hot Chocolate, ‘Every I’s A Winner’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQsg6XXGxXQ

383. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael,

This one?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ulgrkABpec

384. Paula Rose

*furiously searches through collection of 45s – will not be outdone*

385. yesindyref2

No it isn’t. The Open is NOT male only. From the entry form:

C. ENTRIES
    (1) Entry into RQ will be accepted from any male professional
    golfer, from a male amateur golfer whose playing handicap
    does not exceed 0.4 (SCRATCH), from a male amateur golfer
    who has been within WAGRTM listing 1-2,000 (see www.
    WAGR.com) during the period WAGRTM week 2016/01 to
    date of entry and from any female golfer in
    (i) The top 5 and ties in the 2016 ANA Inspiration.
    (ii) The top 5 and ties in the 2016 KPMG Womenā€™s PGA
    Championship. Blank entries will be made on the
    behalf of competitors qualifying in this category.
    (iii) The top 5 and ties in the 2015 US Womenā€™s Open
    Championship.
    (iv) The top 5 and ties in the 2015 RICOH Womenā€™s British
    Open Championship.
    (v) The top 5 and ties in the 2015 Evian Championship

386. yesindyref2

Sorry wrong thread :blush:

387. Thepnr

@yesindyref2

Well found, get that up in the main thread hahaha.

388. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Cheers Ian that was the one. I don’t think lynn has stopped dancing since hibs beat the new rangers. anyway hope everyone is doing well.

389. Thepnr

Michael

I don’t know or care how you do it but you have the knack for digging up some gems. Hope we get the time to meet up again in the summer.

We’re getting there, here’s one I played earlier. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9EbR0ckb40

390. Ian Brotherhood

In the car today, radio on some commercial station at request of the weans, the arse presenter played Eurythmics ‘There Must Be An Angel’ and – as they always ALWAYS do – spoke right over this as soon as it started.

Thankfully, someone went to the bother of packaging it, sans-vocals.

(I used to be able to play this before my wee organ got clogged with fluff.)

Stevie Wonder playing a moothie:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6NwAoDAZt4

391. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr I have no doubt we will meet up again in the summer. Loved the Brian ferry track. I would have responded with Canned heat, Lets work together. Anyway all the best. I will keep popping into off topic to keep up to date with any socialising plans. Lynn says hello to all you lovely People.

392. Paula Rose

Look what I’ve found hidden down the back of the sofa…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPaNfYyPxXI&feature=share

393. Brian Doonthetoon

(Posted on the active page in error, because I have too many tabs open.)

One of my rare posts on Facebookā€¦
    (Picked up the YouTube link from the current active page.)

ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”-

Many Scots, particularly those of us who were on the YES side of the independence referendum, see the BBCā€™s presence in Scotland as being ā€œbrokenā€, specially when it comes to news, current affairs and sport.

Like many Scots, I watched the cup final on BBC Scotland this afternoon. (I donā€™t do Sky.)
    At 5.30pm, just as the cup had been presented to Hibs, BBC Scotland cut their coverage from Hampden, to squeeze in a 5 minute edition of ā€˜Reporting Scotlandā€™, before switching over to the preamble leading up to the English cup final.
    The lead story concerned a vote in the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland as to whether gay ministers could marry. I canā€™t even tell you how the vote went but I kinda gathered that it was now ok.

BUTā€¦ the BBC coverage from Hampden more or less ceased around a minute into the video below. I, as a Dundonian, non-Hibs supporter, had the shiver up the spine, watching the team and supporters (their visible emotion) singing ā€œSunshine On Leithā€ in the video.

Surely THAT event was of more interest to to viewers who were tuned into BBC Scotland at 5.30pm, rather than a decision in a church committee? And an English footie preamble?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=INW-cZSg5xs

394. Paula Rose

Hi Lynn *waves*

395. Paula Rose

Some of you will have met this man at the last Wings night out – enjoy…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qnQvzsmlwlg

396. Paula Rose

The wee footie game and its aftermath have shown many the shortcomings of “our” media.

397. Thepnr

Just watched all of your links. I really love this place šŸ™‚

398. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

re Preston Reed.

What WOS night? The one in Glasgow?

399. Paula Rose

Ian – he was there yes.

400. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Blimey!

*racks memory banks*

401. Ian Brotherhood

…then rakes them…

402. Paula Rose

My shyness came rattling out of the tunnel – I should have been on the ball, sorry I should have introduced you.

403. Thepnr

Goodnight friends.

404. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Ach well, so it goes…

Feeling a bit blue right now, using tweezers to pluck fluff out of my decrepit wee organ whilst wondering what might’ve been *SNIFF* so here’s another clip with some double-moothie action for folk who like that type of thing…

Crash Test Dummies, ‘Afternoons & Coffeespoons’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3UVlpbCpZw

405. Paula Rose

This will mean a lot to a lot of you who lounge about here – get up and boogie – looking at you BDTT xx
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojufSzByheE

406. Brian Doonthetoon

One for Paula Rose from me, before I turn in tonight.

I’ve always found this pair entertaining in an off-the-wall sorta way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNFpOh2seqo

407. cearc

Ian,

A bit too much information there, about your decrepit wee organ!

408. Paula Rose

Ian has a lovely organ – one of my favourites now get your hands off cearc all mine *swoon*

409. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

After I’m deid and buried, my weans can put it on E-bay. Someone, somewhere, will put it in a wee framed box and treasure it forever.

410. Paula Rose

Oi Ian Brotherhood you promised it to me ages back – it’s all that keeps me going, frankly.

411. David

Getting steamy in Off-Topic:
    Brian Doonthetoon giving Paula Rose one, and Ian Brotherhood de-fluffing his organ…feels like it’s getting hot in here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZ5L_aXU8YQ

šŸ™‚

412. Dave McEwan Hill

Ian Brotherhood at 12.14

But did we lose?

413. Brian Doonthetoon

FC Barcelona vs FC Sevilla ā€“ kick-off shortly at:-

http://neofeed.tv/54711/1/Watch-FC-Barcelona-vs-FC-Sevilla/

414. Oneironaut

No more words, just taking refuge in music now…

I used to listen to this one a lot back in that hot summer of 2014 when I actually felt real “hope” for the first time in my life.

Had a nice upbeat feel to it that fitted well with how I felt at the time.

Nowadays, it’s got more of a bittersweet feel to it. Kind of like someone listening to music that reminded them of a happier time.
    Resisted the temptation to delete it from the playlist like a few others that now feel more “bitter” than “sweet”.

Maybe it’ll mean something to someone out there…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNBFkANEd5M

415. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill –

šŸ™‚

Aye, I know where you’re coming from, or driving at.

Glass half-empty on my part perhaps, but only occasionally.

We all want change, but it just seems so horribly slow at times. I’m guessing that’s why, perhaps, Nicola S looked a bit hacked-off last week. Imagine winning a election so handsomely, but returning to ‘work’ to see faces such as Rennie, Baillie and Kelly STILL THERE?!?

She’s only human, and must get a bit down from time to time as well. She could’ve had a lucrative/rewarding career doing all sorts of other things. Instead, she gets vile personal abuse on a daily basis from supposed professionals in the media, and has to waste time and energy navigating around traps laid by selfish myopic opponents.

It’s a serr fecht…

416. Brian Doonthetoon

I guess this is O/T, even for ‘off-topic’ but I felt the need to share.

You don’t need to know why but I had reason to consult this page tonight:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Barron_Knights

From there, I was led to the band’s web site at:-
    http://www.barronknights.com/

I clicked on the “Contact” link and an email opened up in my email app. So I have sent this email.
    ——————————————

Hi there.

I’ve never been able to see the answer to my upcoming question in all the trawls I have done on the web since 1999.

In 1960, my family had moved to St Marys, a housing scheme in Dundee.
    I went to the local school – Macalpine Primary School.
    For a wee while, around 1960-62?, a bus, emblazoned with cartoon characters and the name “Duke D’Mond and the Barron Knights” was parked on the west side of Macalpine Road, just opposite the school grounds.

My question:

What was the band’s connection with Dundee?

AH! Just seen on the Wikipedia page,
    “Don Ringsell (born Donald Ringsell, 1940, Dundee, Angus, Scotland) ā€“ bassist, ballard vocalist”!

Did the band ever play in Dundee at that time?

Brian Doonthetoon.
    ——————————————

See the amount of local history that’s undocumented?

417. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Good to see ye, as ever.

Y and A said to say hello, so…’Hello!’

šŸ™‚

418. Brian Doonthetoon

Re: Preston the guitarist.

He was definitely at the March Glasgow get-together. We did a prearranged badge for him.

He was the guy wearing the crutches.

419. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Tell them I said hello back… Hello! šŸ™‚

I seem to have lost track of what music I’ve already posted from the playlists here at TechnoMagi Central, so excuse any repeated links.

Fairly sure I’ve never posted this one before:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAk6slCEuIw

420. Tam Jardine

Paula Rose

Are you there Paula? What did you think of my suggestion re trying to provoke more contributions? I feel we are getting diverted from the great task and are taking for granted The Case For Independence.

421. Kenny

Tam, I just realised that you said you were from the Queen of the South and I see your surname is Jardine. I don’t suppose you have any Grierson relatives? If so, we could be related…

422. Paula Rose

Hi Tam – email me at paulahoneyrose (put dots between the names) then the @ then gmail.com

423. Tam Jardine

Kenny

Hi Kenny. No Grierson connections as far as I know. There have been various Jardine funeral directors in the town down the years- one branch of that. My grandfather was secretary at the club and my Uncle Bill Jardine was chairman back in the day.

424. Kenny

Tam, thanks for that info. I just remembered I had some Jardine relatives down there, but a bit distant and, as I wrote, through some Griersons.

PS I too agree that the case for independence is the be all and end all! We need a push to get the figures over the 50% line.

425. Thepnr

Have to say I’m disappointed with you lot šŸ™‚

Been waiting since the weekend for a good Proclaimers tune, might have to wait forever so here you go.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUE2jeSaHeM

426. Paula Rose

Oh FFS Thepnr it is your turn to fill up the jukie boxie thingie – we have been waiting.

427. Jason Michael

Evening all! First comment to be moderated and approved. So I shall make this a brief intro. I’m Jason Michael from Kilmarnock, living and working in Dublin. Accredited NUJ freelancer, and post-grad researcher at Trinity College (‘Race Ethnicity Conflict’ in the School of Sociology and Philosophy). Editor of the Butterfly Rebellion blog and social media admin. Also an ardent blogger on the Random Public Journal. Huge fan of Wings (that goes without saying, yet I said it). So – Hello.

428. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

This is a Proclaimers video which I’ve had on-screen at the Invergowrie Wings get-togethers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJuyn0WAYNI

429. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Aye! I remember. Just šŸ™‚

430. MJT

@ Paula Rose,

Hi Paula, i sent you a message on twitter.

431. Paula Rose

Darlings I’m folding my wings and retiring to bed – busy day tomorrow xx

432. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jason.

Your post was approved around lunchtime today but appears at 11.49pm last night, when you hit the ‘Submit Comment’ button.

Welcome to the wee ad hoc clubbie that is ‘off-topic’. Yilliv hud yir tea?

This is where we organise the irregular ‘Friends of Wings’ get-togethers, have blethers and play music. Worth popping in daily to keep up with events and the word on the street.

Welcome again!

8=)

433. Paula Rose

And Jason Dear – please take your muddy boots off at the door, I really can’t be doing with shampooing the carpets again.

434. Tinto Chiel

Evening, Groovers.

Had a crap day today and am chilling with a sipping malt before I retire.

Thought you might like this: love the bass line. Fair cheered me up but it shows my age.

And so to bed.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?list=PLQjyVx4mxAf7XhXfi3zvEHPNvlH4Cp9ib&v=vlQwMKnfJEs

435. Paula Rose

Might help if we could hear it Tinto Dear.

436. Paula Rose

Oops silly me still had my ear-plugs in after all that Proclaimers stuff.

437. Tinto Chiel

Paula Rose: you are awful.

Will never forget the time we touched in Freedom Square…

If you lot prefer something more “stare at the stars in a mind-altered state”, Joe still has the answer:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=CwurFiexn28

438. Ian Brotherhood

@Jason Michael –

Greetings.

šŸ™‚

439. Jason Michael

Hello and and apologies for the ungodly hour. I’m keeping pretty unholy hours for the time being. Thanks for the welcome and my boots are aff. My socks are stinking though. Hope you’re all good.

440. X_Sticks

Welcome to bedlam Jason šŸ˜‰

441. Thepnr

Bored for now with the main thread so thought I’d just see what was going on in Off Topic.

Hello Jason, glad to see you drop by šŸ™‚

Anyway I am too tired to search for other songs that I might like you to hear so just gonna play an old one.

There is method in my my madness you know and every or most songs has it’s place (in my madness).

This is a question to YOU, it was the last time I played it, always was and that’s why it was played in the first place, were you listening?.

We still have a referendum to win. So ask yourself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OygsHbM1UCw

442. Paula Rose

Just between you and me Dear – cuddle up…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HyDegTdvJHw

443. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Hey! You managed to keep that secret for long enough šŸ™‚

444. Paula Rose

Honey I was booked for the Independence party – had to sign an omertĆ  clause which is now defunckt.

445. Thepnr

I’ve only one thing to say and if you don’t heed it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JofwEB9g1zg

446. Cactus

Ahoy!

Looked up this video today of a dude playing a banjo and harmonica outside Central Station 40 years ago, as he’s playing Glasgow again in two Sundays time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5WAsx2kSKA

Then I saw the guy holding the newspaper cover at 3:40 in the video.. good timing, I wonder what it was about.

447. Thepnr

@Cactus

Ahoy! How you doing? Hope it’s good.

448. Cactus

Morning @Thepnr

Smashin’ cheers, am stepping out of the city this holiday weekend for some live in the Scottish countryside music. Looking forward to getting back to nature and basic things like building a cracking outdoor log fire.

Wingers welcome.

449. Paula Rose

Oh goody say the midges – cactus flavour!

450. Cactus

Yer right there Paula Rose, luckily the midges don’t bite me much (more of a curious nibble) it’s when they get in your face that sucks!

Maybe it’s my spikiness that keeps them at the dock of the bay šŸ™‚

451. Thepnr

@Cactus

Which reminds me of an auld yin, something to get you on the road.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Es3Vsfzdr14

452. Cactus

Cheers for the video Thepnr, good compilation. Here’s one for being on the road (or highway).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKjxNqPxg1A

Rockin’ down the highway, kick it!

453. K1

Bdtt? Could you re post the ‘instructions’ for retrieving individual Wings comments? I think it was yersel that originally posted these, could be mistaken, in that case could whoever did please re post? Ma hard drive had to be replaced a wee while back and I lost that info., much appreciated if you can find the time to do so. Cheers šŸ™‚

454. Breastplate

Sorry K1, I was away doing the school run, so there goes the peace and quiet but I’m all ears now albeit for a limited time only.

455. Breastplate

Also K1, there will always be a tardy reply as I have to wait about 20 minutes to see any new comments.

456. Breastplate

Just read the previous comments. Thanks K1 and thanks BDTT. A good weekend to you both.

457. K1

Thanks Brian šŸ™‚

458. K1

Right it’s becoming clearer that I am ‘out of the loop’. People on here ‘know’ who this guy is, and I mean who he is in ‘real’ life yeah? Or at least have a very good idea about his identity?

Is it sensibledave? Or is it someone else that some Wings techies have figured out through his IP address?

Why does the Rev ‘allow’ him to remain on Wings when he’s so obviously ‘trouble’.

(I had a dream the other night that it was a ‘means’ of keeping the site lively when there was no ‘political’ meat to get our teeth into, but that was just a dream. I’m obviously trying to unravel a puzzle wi this guy on here, it just doesn’t make sense on some level.)

Maybe I’m actually going mad.

459. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

You typed,
    “Maybe Iā€™m actually going mad.”

Hello? Welcome to ‘off-topic’!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnzHtm1jhL4

460. Brian Doonthetoon

Inspired by the programme on BBC4 at the moment…

A cracker of a single from the 70s that was never a hit. For Paula Rose…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1nlCWeK9AM

461. Paula Rose

BDTT Honey what a wonderful thingy to wake up to – the lovely Kevin Ayers!

462. K1

Hi Brian, The ‘B’ side is mair accurate:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4gbvcEkuFFI

463. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

I always found the B side a bit of an acquired taste!

Onnyhoo, you may like this. It was an early mashup I did on my Akai reel-to-reel, around 1974.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reemeYrAjus

464. K1

We just listened to that Brian and thought it was great! Way better than the original! šŸ™‚

465. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

The link below is to a mashup I’ve done in the last decade or so. I’ve added in a guest appearance from Alex Harvey, from the SAHB’s version of ‘Horses’. When I was playing “Def Con 1” in Jaspers Rock Club in Dundee when it was ‘new’ (the 90s), I tried to count the number of samples in it and lost count at 9. My son has just pointed out that there is a sample from “The Prisoner”, so that’s at least 10…

I used to do it live, segueing (sp?) PWEI into The Osmonds, which worked with the rock audience. Years later, I found that ‘other’ rock clubs in Dundee were featuring The Osmonds’ track as a legit rock track. My fault…

Onnyhoo, you’ll probably have to download the file to your machine, then play it in your audio player.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/Def%20Con%201-Crazy%20Horses-64.mp3

466. Oneironaut

On the subject of posting links to downloadable tunes, I thought I’d take the opportunity to post this one up.

Can’t recall if I posted it before or not, but it doesn’t seem to be available on yoochoob any more.
    The artist who created it once went under the name of Smiletron, but recently posted up their entire back catalogue for free download as a parting gesture before changing their stage name to something else and moving on to bigger and better things.

This song (called “Fjords”) is probably one of their best efforts in my opinion. It’s also the most chilled-out de-stressing tune I’ve ever heard.

Download this, put it on earphones and lay back somewhere comfy with your eyes closed and the sun on your face.
    If this doesn’t make you feel all relaxed, there’s probably something wrong with you (or you’re a unionist!)

http://www.noisechannel.org/downloads/nc062/08%20SMILETRON%20-%20NORTH/01%20FJORDS.mp3

Peace, Love and Oreos…

467. Chic McGregor

So where did my last post go?

468. Chic McGregor

To answer my last question myself, the post went into ‘Books on the ground’ post comments. Senior moment.

Here it is repeated here:

Enjoyable and fitting ending to RSNOā€™s season at the Royal Concert Hall in Glasgow on Saturday night.

The main programme item was Beethovenā€™s Ninth, but the ā€˜warm up gigsā€™ were also noteworthy.

The first was the inaugural recital of a new piece inspired by the demolition of the Red Road flats composed by final year student Lillie Harris. (Technically 2nd hearing since the programme was presented at the Usher Hall then the RCH).

It was competent and texturally interesting. Even the parts where the musicians all seem to be playing melodically different, repeated musical phrases, which often can sound no better than that which is produced during the pre concert warm up, was contrived in such a way that it did not jar or jangle the senses.
    It was also interspersed with many glissandi of another Worldly nature which was reminiscent of the sound track of that disturbingly enigmatic, yet fascinating movie ā€˜Under the Skinā€™.(nudity warning if you have not seen it).
    Shows a lot of promise for the future.

Next up was a recital of Richard Straussā€™s Last Songs. Music he set to four poems, three of which were written by Herman Hesse.
    The orchestra under Oundjiun were magnificent throughout this piece. The singer seemed to begin somewhat tentatively but then soon became fully immersed in the music and finished strongly.
    Really enjoyed this recital.

To the main gig. The first two movements were competent enough but with one or two issues for me, especially the second movement. For me the punctuation was overdone which may have been partly why in some other passages requiring flow they did not quite do so as they should.

More generally, while dynamic range is a bit of a USP for Beethovenā€™s work, the temptation to enhance this by over quietening the pianissimo sections can occur and for me this occurred in the first two movements. The lead flotist in particular was at times throughout, barely audible.

However the 3rd and 4th movements were magnificent. Especially the chorus which for whatever reason, seemed to have been imbued with an extra visceral quality, at times reminiscent of the kind of fervour more usually associated with that relief of stress demonstrated by a sports crowd after a long passage of sporting tension .
    End of season effect? If so they should sing every concert as if it was such.

You can see the whole thing here, but only for a few days I believe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=2&v=TMlLuPBpyWQ

469. Chic McGregor

A second post today, I did the same thing again. So also moved here:

Oops, that last post sounded way too serious.

Balance corrected by the following Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band number from ā€™68.

They had some fun hits but were always ready to take the piss out of the whole pop thing as in this classic example.

The prescience shown by wearing a Simon Cowell head was particularly impressive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3hcZ4s9cvpw

470. pete the camera

For Ian Brotherhood, reference to Chapter 111 on the main thread

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYGuIBdDg7M

471. Chic McGregor

For any Star Wars fans.

Rogue One not passing muster on the tests. Studio orders reshoots.

Edwards blamed. Reported on Page Six carried by mainstream outlets.

4 weeks of reshoots scheduled for July.

472. Thepnr

Pans People. TOTP 1974, slow song, visuals are good. The old days right enough.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVqRoH2vBmY

473. Thepnr

The words of this song are simply brilliant. No shit.

Our situation without a doubt.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQNzDlNzDp0#t=173.451625

474. starlaw

saw a cheese on sale in asda, colliers Scottish cheddar, package has a coal miner, Scottish thistle and a Saltire, I cant find where this is produced as address given is Kircaldy Royal Mail sorting office, Colliers also make a Welsh Cheese and are owned by Fayrefield from Cheshire. Anyone have any knowledge of a production plant in Scotland

475. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Starlaw.

All r?o?a?d?s? links lead to Cowdenbeath…

“Fayrefield Foods have developed a brand new patent cheese technology that they are utilising for the launch of their brand new Weight Watchers cheese. Gordon Brown gave his seal of approval to the new lower fat cheese making system when he visited Kingdom Cheese in Scotland…”
    http://wholesalemanager.co.uk/pm-gordon-watches-his-weight/

“First Milk has bought Fife-based Kingdom Cheese and Kingdom Dairies to extend its product range into new cheese and cream products…”
    http://www.foodmanufacture.co.uk/Business-News/First-Milk-extends-dairy-kingdom

“GRAHAMā€™S The Family Dairy has signalled its ambition to expand its range of products by agreeing to buy a production site from First Milk for an undisclosed sum.
    All 79 staff at Glenfield Dairy are being retained as part of the deal, which is expected to formally complete early in December.
    At the moment Glenfield in Cowdenbeath, Fife, makes cottage cheese, quark and sour cream. “

http://archive.is/nWUp5

You can Google for more info.

476. Brian Doonthetoon

That”r?o?a?d?s?” should have been strikethrough text. Won’t try that again!

477. starlaw

Brian doonthetoon
    thanks for the Info sounds like a good news story. Colliers produce Welsh Colliers Cheese in Wales. I have e-mailed them re this as their Post Code address is actually Kircaldy Royal Mail depot not a Scotish Plant

478. Ian Brotherhood

@Pete the camera –

šŸ™‚

That’s another newbie for me…

(As Toby said to the big cop…)

479. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Here’s one of my favourite Manfred Mann offerings (and Caroline Munro)…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_BL67G_7v0

And here’s the original,entitled “A ‘B’ Side”, the B side of ‘Ragamuffin Man’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQhSkRPctMQ

480. Paula Rose

Boring effing hippies – get in the sea…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmvpgAHDxrg

481. Brian Doonthetoon

Of course, Manfred Mann couldn’t leave “A ‘B’ Side” behind when Chapter 3 came along, so it was brought back to life as “Travelling Lady”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUvfbpi_1RA

I still prefer the original…

482. Paula Rose

Oi hippies get the fuck out – us punks are setting up camp here tonight.

483. Ian Brotherhood

Blimey,

Paula Rose is on the Babycham after reading one of her old Richard Allen novels…

šŸ™

484. Brian Doonthetoon

For the Brechin bitch…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7uFXdYLgn4

485. Paula Rose

Fucking back off you fucking lightweights – I am one fucking angry fucking nasty bitch now.

486. Ian Brotherhood

Gordon Bennett, ’tis worse than I thought…

Must’ve been out-of-date Babycham and uncensored Hubert Selby Jnr…

God help us all.

487. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

What’s the story with that Swinging Blue Jeans vid? Was no-one allowed to move their feet in dem days?

488. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Och, I’ve tried to do a post twice in the past hour or so and it’s just not appearing.

Tonight, I give up.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.