Instructions on sex and travel

Posted on March 12, 2014 by

We don’t mind telling you, folks, we’re struggling on this one.

“If Scotland was independent today we would have no option but to cut spending on services like schools and hospitals or put up taxes – or probably both. Today as part of the UK we don’t have to do that.” (Alistair Darling)

But… don’t…

“Whatever the Scottish government says now, the government of an independent Scotland would be forced to raise taxes and cut public services. We are better off together.” (Danny Alexander, chief secretary to the Treasury)

Aren’t… haven’t you…

Readers, you’re going to have to help us out here. Can you give us directions to the Britain that Alistair and Danny apparently live in, where it seems we’re not savagely cutting public services right now, with tens of billions of pounds of further savage cuts still to come for at least the best part of another decade, if not forever?

Because it sounds like a much nicer place to live than this one.

97 to “Instructions on sex and travel”

1. cumiskey

Mebe Alister Darlng and Co live in a parallel uninverse than anyone else and everyone looks through rose coloured glasses otherwise …

2. Alfresco Dent

As we say in my workplace when asked an unreasonable demand… F. R. O.

3. Alisdair

I see what you did there with the headline 🙂

Seriously though, they really do think we button up the back, and that is why they are going to lose.

I look foreard to a country where individuals such as these never, ever, ever again attain public office.

4. Dt

Yes, if an independent scotland had run up debt (£4bn interest payment) and spends £3bn on defence. Would we?!

5. Geoff Huijer

Just blatant lies to scare people – disgusting given
    the state of society ‘nurtured’ by Westminster.

6. Juteman

The lunatics have taken over the asylum.

7. X_Sticks

“Can you give us directions to the Britain that Alistair and Danny apparently live in”

It’s called Westminster. Subsidised to the hilt by taxpayers money. It is probably a much nicer place to live if you’re in the club.

8. David Agnew

In the UK austerity is here to stay – In an Independent Scotland, it’d have to be the same, so why leave?

One nation united in misery – Scaring Scots into staying British since 1707, quite simply Better Together.

9. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

They’re liars.

10. Barry Blust

These people are just not up to snuff… not even close. If you believe we are being governed by gentlemen and ladies or knowledge, Have a listen to any session of Prime Minister’s Question Time!! So embarassing!!

11. Vincent McDee

You said it yourself in Sympathy for the Devil: “We don’t envy them in having to maintain two faces and lie about their true feelings, no matter how practiced at it they are. The constant vigilance must be incredibly wearing, because dishonesty is exhausting.

The only way to never be caught out, after all, is to never have to remember which lies you told yesterday and to whom”

The Britain that Alistair and Danny apparently live in is an exhausted Britain, thus the confusion.

Very much in line with the BBC Scotland (Peter Piper version):

A statement from the BBC said:

“We have reported with total neutrality the obsession of Alex Salmond with his silly vanity plan for separation from the UK, the behaviour of the cybernats compared to the cool calm and collected behaviour of the right people, those who support the union, we have taken a totally neutral viewpoint on the false claims of the nats regarding a currency union which our own Osborne Balls and Alexander have quite rightly rejected totally and unequivocally.

We shall continue to report neutrally on this total waste of time while Scotland stands still, we will bring you programs about the smug Alex Salmond, the ridiculous Nicola Sturgeon and the financially illiterate John Swinney in the best traditions of the BBC. When any company even mentions independence we will report them as definitely leaving Scotland and sacking all the workers.

We will continue to bring you debates where we agree totally with the unionist guests and allow them to get away with murder, while interrupting the nats the moment they open their mouths, contradict them at every opportunity and finish the program with a statement that they are wrong and thick with it.

We are the BBC. We are neutral on this waste of time neverendum. And David Bowie wants you to stay with us because he thinks you’re all thick as mince.”.

12. ronnie anderson

Awe naw theres been a decline in Oil revenue

ah think its time tae show Scottish ingenueity

tae get us back in the black,

Start saving they MILK BOTTLE TOPS,

job sorted.

13. fairiefromtheearth

Of course the only people that will agree with them are their cocaine sniffing pals 😉

14. The Rough Bounds

I’m pretty sure it isn’t Britain they’re talking about, but Brittany.

15. Croompenstein

FFS Flipper and Naughty Jim it’s gonnae be like bitter together porn! big Bliar better stock up oan paper hankies

16. ronnie anderson

Vincen Mc Dee, that thick as Mince part, I doupt very

much if Bowie,s ever heard aboot Galloway,s mince

his heids shrunk, but I doupt he,s ever visited the

STEAMIE.

17. ronnie anderson

fairyfromtheearth,the ba’tards better no be touching ma

Talcum powder,ah,ll set CameronB loos.

18. G H Graham

Gordon (End of boom & bust) Brown ran a combined deficit from 1997 to 2007 of £144 billion.

In just three years Alistair (Flipper) Darling ran a combined deficit of £261 billion from 2007 to 2010.

George (Towel folder) Osborne ran a combined deficit from 2010 to 2013 of no less than £470 billion.

That’s £875 billion that the UK didn’t have then & we don’t have now.

Furthermore, the enlightened Anglo-Irish towel folder from Paddington, is on track to borrow another £100 billion before this year is over.

These three “financial gurus” then will have racked up nearly £1 trillion of debt between them & there’s little sign of this borrowing frenzy coming to an end any time soon.

The towel folder has admitted in his own autumn statement that he is unlikely to eliminate the deficit much before 2018/2019 & that assumes all sorts of growth targets & cost reductions that are typically never met.

The result is that the net public debt will likely exceed £1.5 trillion by the next general election. That’s well over 90% of the UK’s GDP & almost identical to the Eurozone’s average.

Perhaps Alexander or Darling can explain why they think we are better together with this unsustainable level of debt.

And if the Eurozone is so broken as they love to remind us, how comfortable are they with the UK having the same debt to GDP ratio as our European cousins?

19. Murray McCallum

Time Darling Alexander had a pay cut and no expense gravy train.

Something to burst their bubble.

20. west_lothian_questioner

Both of these gentlemen are in need of new specs and a wee walk in pretty much any town or city anywhere in the whole UK. Alternatively a good shake might help.

21. jon esquierdo

Two fuckwits fighting to keep their lucrative wages

22. msean

These two chaps give out economic advice.Neither have faced the electorate successfully with the electorate accepting them as good enough to work in the treasury.One was appointed Chancellor and one got a treasury job as the result of a deal.The last guy to be elected with a party majority on the understanding that he was to be chancellor was one Gordon Brown in 2005,almost ten years ago.

23. ronnie anderson

ma pin’thils woren doon tae a stub, wie awe these

adjustments tae the financial ups & downs.

24. HandandShrimp

It is absolutely incredible, one year’s figures where Scotland is not in pole position and they are falling over themselves to return to the too wee, too poor, too stupid mantra.

Darling and Carmichael are basically saying “Scotland is shit and is going to get shittier the only way it can survive is if it holds its begging bowl up to the people in the rest of the UK. So shut your mouths you ingrates and say please”

What possible level of pride can they take as Scots (being proud Scots) in being beggars. What possible reason can they give that the rest of the UK would countenance such a state of affairs should we vote No?

25. msean

I think an independent Scotland should make it law that in the case of a change at Prime Minister level,the electorate must be faced within 3 months or so,like what Mr Brown and Mr Major failed to do.Otherwise you get the likes of Mr Brown inviting former PMs that his core voters despised to number 10 or Mr Major struggling with the ‘bas£&*ds’ in his party,proving he didn’t even have the support of his party,never mind the voters.Even the present incumbents didn’t actually win their election properly.

26. Breeks

Independence will cut other public services.
    I heard a rumour there were plans to electrify the East Coast gravy train, but that might not happen because the MacQuis keep threatening to blow up the line after receiving coded messages from the BBC. It’s already disrupting commerce and creating uncertainty. Ermine pelts might not get through the border blockades and have to be rationed.

27. Papadox

Liars liars pants on fire!
    Yesterday we had the three stooges from EBC at Holyrood.
    Carmichael, Alexander, Ming the mindless, Big Gordy, Osbourne, Hammond, IDS, Balls,up
    Cameron, Clegg, Jola, Curran, Bailey, stab Davidson, Ian Gray, muddlband, ad infinitum.
    EBC + STV + MSM
    They are worthless, selfish, self serving cretins. THE ESTABLISHMENT, or some of it, what a crew and some proud pseudo middle class Sots look up to that bunch, shows you where they are in the food chain, and iq league.

Westminster: a gang hut where the scams are thought up and the scammers think, drink and make merry, O and collect their expenses.

Pathetic an absolute disgrace, disgusting. The system should be eradicated along with its inhabitants, it’s a sewer.

28. twenty14

As YES Scotland would be saying –
    ” Its Life Jim ….. but not as we know it ! “

29. liz

I made the mistake of going on the guardian web site – I knew I shouldn’t because of todays GERS.

My blood pressure was rising as a lot of the comments are not just commenting on the GERS but are actually offensive.

I placed a few replies using BfS but I had to stop because sneekyboy had also left a lot of comments with sources but they were just being contradicted.

30. msean

Mr Darling and Mr Carmichaels’ parties have been in charge or in a position of influence, since 1997,and the Scottish Government has only limited powers. So if Scotland is s**t,we know exactly who to blame.

31. ronnie anderson

@Ianbrotherhood, is it still the intention for meeting up

at the Counting House this Frid nite.

I,ll get back to the paper folding will have a lookin

later on.

32. muttley79

HandandShrimp: They are not proud Scots at all. If you talk to a Brit Nat in Scotland you will soon discover that they think Scotland is an insignificant, piss poor place. They have the most enormous Scottish cringe imaginable. They have brought into being British (and I mean in the sense of exclusively wanting to be governed from London) on a massive scale. I think it makes them feel more significant as individuals. The unionist politicians themselves really are just careerists, and are there for their own self advancement.

33. muttley79

@Liz

I have no idea what has happened to the Guardian over the issue of independence, and the comments below articles. Many lot of them are very, very angry at Scotland and the people who live here. They are taking it very personally.

I am afraid to say Severin Carroll’s articles are only inflaming the right winger UKIP types, and the Yes supporters on Cif, because they are out and out propaganda pieces and disgraceful journalism. A lot of them appear to lack the basics on Scottish politics, and mostly are vile attacks on Salmond, sometimes Sturgeon as well. They are getting very, very angry. Carroll has no intention of providing impartial information or informing people who may not be that well versed on the referendum.

34. SquareHaggis

Rev, will you be covering the details from the News and Current Affairs Committee yesterday, just watched it over on NNS.

Absolute dynamite IMO, readers here would have a field day 🙂

35. John grant

If there was scientific proof that Scotland will be hit by a massive earthquake on sept 19 if we vote yes and we slip under the waves of the Atlantic well folks Atlantis here we come because I’m voting yes under any circumstance

36. muttley79

A lot of them appear to lack the basics on Scottish politics, and mostly are vile attacks on Salmond, sometimes Sturgeon as well.

My last post maybe was not clear. The above was a reference to unionist posters not Carroll.

37. Clootie

I can only think of one logical explanation – they do think we all button up the back.

PMQ’s today – A Tory MP asking that the beeb broadcast propaganda into North Korea (it must be their turn).
    OR
    It could be a dry run for phase 3.

38. Mary Bruce

@Papadox, enough of the middle class stuff please, most of your posts contain a pop at them. Plenty of the good folks on this site are middle class and we want to attract more of them, not make them feel unwelcome.

39. Bunter

Scotland is 14th in the OECD and rUK is 18th. We create the wealth, we just need to keep it in Scotland for the benefit of Scotland.

Just remember, that is with a 40% hit on the oil & gas due to Gideons mismanagement. We have a strong and resilient economy and the future is bright if we vote YES.

Lets stuff em!

40. Alex Beveridge

No no, G H Graham. He was a towel re-folder. And what about our native financial genius, oor Gordon. In New York today the price of an ounce of gold rose to almost €1,400 an ounce. Yet between 1999, and 2002, he, G B, sold off half our reserves for about €250 an ounce. At todays figures that equates to about £10 billion lost to the Treasury. And yet the M.S.M treat him like some sort of latter-day messiah. No wonder we face an uphill battle.

41. liz

@muttley79 – I think Severin is a disgrace – I used to think he might be OK although he is a BritNat – he was at the Edinburgh march – but now he has nailed his colours firmly to the BT mast.

I am going to avoid him in future as most of the Cifers will not even have a vote so it’s a waste of time and effort.

@Bunter – completely agree we are still in a better postion than rUK.

It’s the DKs they are trying to frighten

42. BBC Scotlandshire

“Today as part of the UK we don’t have to do that.” because the Westminster government is already doing it on our behalf.

43. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie Anderson –

NB: NOT THIS FRIDAY!

Counting House, Glasgow, Friday April 4th.

44. MajorBloodnok

@Mary Bruce

I agree with your comments regarding Papadox.

I am obviously officer class, though disgraced: that regretable incident in Mumbai in ’57 was never corroborated (no thanks to Kenny!), and therefore I can only hope to join the respectable middle class one day and consequently posts denigrating them and pointing out their bourgoise foibles rather spoil my wistful aspirations.

45. HandandShrimp

Muttley

I agree but it is not only Severin. The comments by Alexander, Carmichael and Darling regarding Scotland being a subsidy junky and how we are all doomed and will require even more subsidies in the future is hardly going to endear us to the right wing types. In their desperation to paint Scotland as an utter basket case they seem to forget that the rest of the world is listening. Who would want to invest here, holiday here, plan a future life here listening to these Jeremiahs? Why would Westminster even want to countenance for one second spending money here once we have voted No? It will be fixed in their minds by these doom mongers that we are unworthy beggars, the undeserving poor. We will be by-passed and forgotten and they will egged on by the Mail and Severin in the Guardian it would seem.

It will not be possible to turn around after the event and say that it was just politics, that they accentuated the negative, The damage is done. There is only one way forward and that is to wrest control of our own affairs.

46. boglestone

These lies just alienate me further and further from the idea of Britain and Britishness. I hope I’m not the only one. Six months ago I would still have said I was relaxed about being under the British umbrella. Not any more. I’ll never be British again, regardless of the referendum result.

Better Together’s approach might scare some into voting No. But how many like me are alienated into a “hard” Yes vote? There is no turning back for me. I want this to happen with every fibre of my being. One way or another Scotland will be independent.

47. Ian Brotherhood

Important heads-up for anyone in or around Kilwinning/Irvine who has received a leaflet from Yes Scotland about a meeting in Nethermains Community Centre, Kilwinning.

The leaflet is advertising a public meeting with speakers Alex Neil (SG Health Secretary), Jeane Freeman (Former advisor to FM Jack McConnell) and Richie Venton, SSP.

The leaflet states the meeting is on March 3rd.

It wasn’t!

It’s tomorrow evening at 7.30. Please alert anyone who thinks this meeting has already been and gone.

48. muttley79

Is there a demo against the Tories in Edinburgh on Saturday?

49. Iain

Darling has become one of the most dangerous enemies of democracy our country has seen in modern history. His blind hatred of the progressive and democratic aspirations of our people has driven the poor creature completely insane. You can see the confused, dead look in his eyes. It is tragic to witness him falling apart at the seams. Somewhere deep inside he surely must realise that his attempts to thwart democracy in Scotland and the bare-faced, Tory-led deception he is the public face of will destroy him both as a politician and as a human being. He will eventually end up being sectioned for his own safety. What a pathetic end to a career that at one time looked so bright.

50. Croompenstein

@muttley79 – Are we burning any effigies gonnae fucking need a few!

51. Bill McLean

Boglestone – I worked for Britain home and abroad for 32 years – I believed all the bull – something happened when I was abroad one time and listening to some locals talking about what Britain had done to them. Didn’t want to believe at first but decided to read what I could about British behaviour abroad. Now 25 years on I’m ashamed ever to have been part of it and sick of how they are treating us. This union has only ever benefitted England – and they talk about us as if we are lesser beings – of course they apply the same to any nationality except maybe the Yanks. But then of course, the Yanks are like them, bullies! Agree with you totally – i’ll never forgive them and will never acknowledge being British again!

52. Mary Bruce

O/T A wee bit of good news: Glasgow City Council hosted a student debate, results, only 15% voted no (lolz). 64% yes. There were only 70 in the audience, but still, an excellent result and again proves that the positive message is getting through.

http://www.yesscotland.net/news/yes-scotland-chalks-student-vote-win-heart-glasgow

53. muttley79

I think it is their party conference on Saturday in Edinburgh. I presume it is the Scottish branch one and not the Westminster main branch?

54. twenty14

O/T – YES /No debate this Friday 14th March in
    St Mary’s Church Hall, Cowgate, Kirkintilloch, G66 1JT

At present numbers around 80 – would be great to have a big YES vote there

Going
    Invite Friends

55. Alan Mackintosh

Re Darling, Carmichael, etc. Words of wisdom echo down through the ages. It is to our peril if we fail to heed them.

“A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the ("Tractor" - Ed) moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself. For the ("Tractor" - Ed) appears not a ("Tractor" - Ed); he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murderer is less to fear. The ("Tractor" - Ed) is the plague.”

Marcus Tullius Cicero (Ancient Roman Lawyer, Writer, Scholar, Orator and Statesman, 106 BC-43 BC)

56. Alex Gallacher

Can’t give an explanation for that pair, I have a dog that howls at the moon, as mad as a march hare, chases his tail but he is brighter that pair they live on another planet, PS Rev Stu to run the BBC that solves the problem.

57. Giving Goose

Re the Guardian. The explanation is quite simple; the Guardian is an integral part of the British Establishment and it depends for its survival on the continuation of the UK state. If there is a Yes vote, then within the Establishment and the rUK, there will be a lot of soul searching and apportioning of blame. Scapegoats will be sought. If you are a newspaper with a commercial model that depends, simply, on popularity among the potential readership, you won’t want to find yourself in a dangerous commercial position. So the Guardian has taken sides. So much for freedom of expression and freedom of journalism. Money and sales rule. The British Establishment can absolutely depend on this.

58. HandandShrimp

The Guardian, to be fair has let loose a few pro-independence writers. It is just that Severin and a couple of their own political writers are determinedly Unionist in mien. God knows how many articles Severin has started “In a blow to Salmond” I sometimes wonder if he channels OBE.

59. FlimFlamMan

@G H Graham

The Euro isn’t broken because of the levels of government debt, it’s broken because of the combination of that debt and the loss of currency sovereignty, and the absence of joint fiscal action. No fiscal transfers.

Japanese government debt to GDP right now is around 200%. UK government debt to GDP in the 1950s was 250%. Right now it’s just under 100%.

All of which was and is fine because those countries had/have their own currencies. The Euro nations, especially those with large external deficits, got in trouble at lower levels of government debt because they gave up their currencies.

It is the combination of debt and lack of currency sovereignty that kills; literally in the case of much of the Eurozone.

In terms of deficits and debt, the rUK will be just fine if it keeps its own currency — no currency union.

Scotland will be just fine after independence, even if oil revenue collapses, provided it has its own currency.

60. SquareHaggis

Aw Muttley, hing oan, lit me get this right – you mean to say there’s to be a protest against somethin in Edingurgh that’s extinct in Scotland?

I’m all Save the Whales and that but…

I doth protest!

I struggle with the concept, I really do. However, I could be persuaded to attend such an event on the promise of a rare sighting of the elusive lesser-Scotted dodo Mundell.

61. Dal Riata

Well done to those from here and outwith who still leave comments BTL the Guardian’s no-pretences-anymore Outright Better Together Project Fear Dambusters propaganda-as-articles.

Note today’s disgrace-to-journalism effort from Severin Carrell, and the slobbering pack of flamers and trolls infesting it BTL – just horrible.

Back in the day, you could report the abusers and they would be modded off. Now, there is no point as they are left unimpeded to be as obnoxious, racist and offensive as they wish. Indeed, *you*, as the complainer are more likely to be the one modded off, or even made to sit on the naughty step of pre-moderation!

The Guardian used to be my first stop online very morning, but these days, since it became yet another member of the discredited anti-Scottish independence UK media despite it’s fake pleadings of being ‘left-leaning’, I hardly bother. Occasionally, I’ll have a look and a laugh at some Brit-goon being ripped apart by facts, figures and truths left in comments by the far-more-patient-that-me pro-independence posters who continue to fight the good fight, but the ridiculousness, bile, hatred and racism that is increasingly being shown by the haters is disgusting – why go there to read abuse against you as a person from Scotland, your country and its culture..?

No thanks. They can stick their CiF where the sun doesn’t shine. There, they can nurture the angry and pathetic less-than pond life that inhabits it as much as they like.

62. Ian Brotherhood

Is anyone planning to welcome Alistair Darling and James Naughtie at the Mitchell Theatre tomorrow evening? I wanted to go, but have a prior SSP engagement in Kilwinning.

Looking forward to hearing Naughtie holding Darling’s feet to the fire:

‘Are they warm enough now, master? Please, sit back and let me attend to your hangnails. Then I’ll slip into something more comfortable, like my Radio Four accent, and ask you some penetrating questions. You’d like that, wouldn’t you, hmm?’

63. Iain

The unionists are deflecting the true debate and attempting to turn the very concept of self rule for our country into idiocy. All governments react to what is happening around them on a globalised platform and there is every reason to be convinced that a competent SNP government in an independent country would react sensibly and adapt policy to reality (and not vice versa as is the case in Westminster) in the case of changing circumstances.

64. SquareHaggis

En_guardien!
    An_observer,
    And today the Freudian finger fumble of an_OBEsrver

Finally, from the mainstream a story emerges…

65. Papadox

@Mary Bruce says:
    Apologies if I have upset you Mary certainly was not my intention. I have never taken a pop a middle class folk. I specifically state “pseudo middle class” however I do sincerely apologise.

66. Ian Brotherhood

Wednesday Night Quiz:

Who said ‘It’s all just so complicated and it doesn’t make any sense!’

A. Stephen Hawking

B. Carol Vorderman

C. Alistair Darling

And your bonus for 10: was s/he referring to –

A. How to arrive at 267 using only 3, 172, 8 and 51

B. An independent nation using the currency of it’s own choice

C. The meaning of ‘Higgs’ as in ‘Higgs Boson’

67. Findlay Farquaharson

c and b

68. SquareHaggis

Thursday Quiz Night

The briggies hotel – Free entry with complimentary pie and pint.

20 questions from the classic new best seller Scotland’s Future

Pub landlady Darcey McCann says she Hopes it catches on and can be rolled out across the country.

Winner gets an “I’m Nae Brainwashed” badge with matching cuff-links.

69. Thepnr

Last comment on an article in the Telegraph from yesterday. I expect to see more of this crap btl, never above of course. They really are stirring things up and are looking for reactions which they can discredit us with, just fight the temptation to take their bait.

RickB • 5 hours ago
    A foreign friend of mine asked me about Scottish independence and the likely outcome. I replied that the voters are basically split between two camps. Those with an average or lower than average IQ would vote Yes and the others No. This was a spontaneous answer but after thinking longer about it i came to the conclusion that my spontaneous answer was indeed representative of how i see the likely outcome. Passing by a “better together” booth the other week i asked one of the people manning the booth if he’d experienced any form of aggression and he confirmed that he was indeed grabbed around the throat by a female screaming “what about Scottish oil” and that this was just one of many threats he and his colleagues have experienced of late. Only goes to confirm the thugish idiots who mostly make up the Yes camp.

70. Alan Mackintosh

Well i was going to go for B in the first part, but then i couldnt find anything referring to “Chancellor for Dummies” in the second range of options, so now i’m not sure

71. Ian Brotherhood

Just for fun –

If you would like to see a full colour image of Alistair Darling ‘as Nature intended’, please explain how to arrive at 267 using only 3, 172, 8 and 51.

72. Calum Craig

Just had a wee “debate” with an oil naysayer on Twitter who maintained that having vast reserves of oil and gas was a bad thing for Scotland…

Every single Tweet contained some kind of negative language- “can’t”, “won’t”, “we’re not”, “going down” etc etc… What does that do to someone, spouting endless negativity about your own country?

73. Croompenstein

he was indeed grabbed around the throat by a female screaming “what about Scottish oil” LOL reminds me of when my maw used tae grab me aroon the throat and say “take yer castor oil” yeeuuchhhh!!

74. Thepnr

Link to above article. http://archive.is/KHTlM

75. ronnie anderson

@Ianbrotherhood, Ok Ian thanks,

76. Margaret Brogan

It would be interesting to have the attendance figures for the Naughtie/Darling conversation in the Mitchell on Thursday. Think they may be much less than the Alex Salmond/Naughtie event. Would have a try myself but am currently in Barcelona supporting my daughter who is running in the marathon on Sunday and checking out the number of Catalonian flags on display! Too many to count, so will be displaying the Saltire for her and hoping to meet some new friends when we do. Yes badge on display, as ever.
    On the issue of class, I consider our families to be classless, terrible system. Whatever you do, don’t subscribe to it. Our families have always worked hard.

77. Croompenstein

@Ian Brotherhood – That pic of Flipper is gonnae give me nightmares! btw do you think he was in Dr Who in the seventies looks a bit like the Master(of Disaster)

78. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie –

Don’t mean to be rude, but most of us are aware that you have health problems. I don’t know if they affect your mobility, and – apologies to all – I should’ve already checked this out, but someone else (on Quarantine) mentioned that the Counting House does have disabled access. Will you be needing that? If so, please let me know.

79. muttley79

@SquareHaggis

Aw Muttley, hing oan, lit me get this right – you mean to say there’s to be a protest against somethin in Edingurgh that’s extinct in Scotland?

I’m all Save the Whales and that but…

I doth protest!

I struggle with the concept, I really do. However, I could be persuaded to attend such an event on the promise of a rare sighting of the elusive lesser-Scotted dodo Mundell.

Well, they in part govern Scotland, and only have 1 MP. I would hardly see they were extinct either.

80. Jeannie

@twenty14

I’ll be at the Kirkintilloch debate on Friday. If you’re not already part of the Yes group in the area, stop at the leaflet table and say hello to us. Everybody welcome 🙂

81. Mary Bruce

Papadox: not upset, or at least not offended or anything. And sorry if I misunderstood your meaning. I think we may have offended Major Bloodnok however, lol.

82. Ian Brotherhood

@Croompenstein –

Nightmares?

Ye jest, surely?

Those slightly too-far-apart come-to-bed eyes? That velveteen beard?

What’s not to like?

It’s all the stuff of dreams…until he opens his gub.

83. SquareHaggis

True muttley, I was only jesting.

So it’s a Party Conference eh?
    Didnae hear a thing til you mentioned it.
    Had a wee rake around, dates etc here;

http://tinyurl.com/q9g7r6y

84. Doug Daniel

I’ve been trying to make 267 out of 3, 172, 8 and 51 for about 5 minutes now, but it can’t be done. You would need to somehow make 89 out of 172, 51 and 8.

85. Ian Brotherhood

DD –

Before you waste any more time, I must confess that I don’t actually have any images of Darling in a state of undress.

But now that I know there is a potential market, I’ll see what can be done…

‘Humphrey!? Ready the horses. We depart for Londinium ‘pon the hour.’

86. Morag

Unpopular politicians in a state of undress? Been done….

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Cowen_nude_portraits_controversy

87. TJenny

Doug Daniel – been trying too, but can only get total to 247. 🙁

Maybe 267 was a typo. 🙂

88. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

!

Soo-perb.

89. TJenny

Not, I hasten to add, that I’m keen to see naked politicians, but IB’s poser will drive me nuts until I get the answer.
    (weefrazzledfacedthingy)

90. Gary

Take the truth, turn it upside down, have authority figure repeat this “new truth” ad nauseum. If we say it, it is true. Feel like I’m living in 1984.

91. Morag

OK, I give up. I’m a big fan of Stuart’s quirky titles, but for the first time, I’m stumped. Right at the top, Alisdair obviously gets it. I read the thread, I contemplated the subject, hoping for enlightenment, but nothing. The only thing that vaguely comes to mind is some sort of exhortation not to do anything you wouldn’t do at home.

So please, put me out of my misery! What the hell is the reference?

92. MajorBloodnok

@Morag

I can’t tell you directly because there are children and BT supporters reading this but I think it refers to a short phrase or interjection with the same initials as ‘Foreign and Commonwealth Office’, except without the Commonwealth bit.

93. Morag

Thanks Major. Now I feel silly. Please excuse me while I go and blush in a corner for a bit.

94. wwilmawatts

Alan Mackintosh.
    I thought your comment from last night was so apt for an article that Derek Bateman has just written today that I copied it to his comments. I do hope you don’t mind.This quote encapsulates everything that is going on in this debate and I feel it needs wider exposure. I am going to post it on Facebook,it is wonderful.

95. Dick Gaughan

Rev Stu says:
    Can you give us directions to the Britain that Alistair and Danny apparently live in

1. Take too many drugs.
    2. Get someone to pay you a huge salary for being bugger all use to the human race.
    3. Develop a deep personal self-loathing at being a Scot.
    4. Approach every question with an open mouth.
    5. Remove “north” from your compass.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.