In poker we call this a rubdown

Posted on October 14, 2014 by

The much-awaited and hastily-extended Westminster debate on Scottish devolution is just about to start in the House of Commons. We’ll be watching it on the Parliament website rather than the BBC, for the obvious reasons.

rubdown

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 14 10 14 13:59

In poker we call this a rubdown | FreeScotland

2. 14 10 14 14:48

In poker we call this a rubdown - Speymouth

145 to “In poker we call this a rubdown”

1. Murray McCallum

Ah just the “main” parties pictured there then. Scotland is a truly odd political scene.

2. Drew McMorrin

No Cameron Clegg or Milliband

3. Ally

The picture that says a 100 words!

If SNP arent granted to appear at the UK ones, then, it would be hypocritical to attend a Scottish only one!

4. Cuilean

We’ll see whose ‘rubbing salt in the wounds’ come 7 May 2015, BBC. Plus those lost millions in revenue has gotta hurt…

5. David McCann

Aye. I put this up on my FB page with the caption. “Every picture tells a story BBC bias? Surely not!”

6. Doug Daniel

The “leaders” of the main Holyrood parties are Alex Salmond, Patrick Harvie, David Cameron, Ed Miliband and Nick Clegg. Somehow I suspect the BBC’s letters only went to one of these people (since they’ll have ignored the Greens as usual).

Why are they showing us a picture of three regional managers? (That’s perhaps a promotion in Lamont’s case.)

7. Elaine Colliar

((SIGH))

I thought this was a debate about Scottish Devolution … all I have heard so far is “English Votes for English Laws”

As if I thought it would be any different.

8. Thomas William Dunlop

The B team of the opposition in the Scottish parliament invited to debate an election campaign for which none of them are personally standing for election.

Double slap in the face. You don’t get to play a part on the big boys debate but we will let you have your say with the numpties, like we think you are.

Shheesh. Makes me want to go to Blackhill transmitter and blow it up!

9. Thomas William Dunlop

BTW. Where are the Greens and the SNP in this picture? Reminds me of North Korea or the Soviet Union when undesirable people were just editted out.

10. desimond

Devolution debate turns into “lets make jokes about Tandem bikes”.

You expected nothing?. well youre getting even less folks!

11. Calum Craig

Just when I thought the BBC couldn’t surprise me, that picture just took my breath away. And not in the good way.

12. Sinky

Where is Ed Miliband this afternoon… answers to the Daily Record?

13. AllyPally

… And what exactly is a rubdown?

Yes, I did Google it before asking.

14. desimond

The best thing about that picture is how can NO voters look at it and think “Yip, theyre the best people for us!”

I asked yesterday, who will represent Scottish Labour at the Debates?…i can see Jimbo, Dougie and Gordy looming large with Darlings hand up in the background.

Jola is the 100/1 outsider for that gig. Wee Ruthie is already practicising her “The Bedroom tax reminds me of our brave beloved armed forces” style replies and Childcare Wullie will be replaced by Danny Alexander or Flubbalub Carmichael.

15. bookie from hell

westminster not taking debate seriously

16. Macart

OFFS!

The main Holyrood political parties is it?

Since when?

17. Ken500

A man who can’t pronounce Scottish place names is congradulating No.

The English Nats in full flow.

18. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Blue tory Red tory Yellow tory.

I think that sums them up nicely.

19. muttley79

I was just readin this article in the Guardian:

Britain’s main political parties are heading for a pre-election clash over the introduction of English votes for English laws after the Labour party announced that it would boycott a “Westminster stitch-up” on the issue.

As a Commons debate opened on the consequences of the no vote in the Scottish referendum, the Labour party announced that it would refuse an invitation from William Hague to contribute to the work of a cabinet committee.

A Labour spokesperson said: “We will not be participating in a Westminster stitch-up. We think we need a constitutional convention so we can hear from all voices in England.”

Who said satire in politics is dead….

20. Breastplate

There should be a caption that reads “we’re going to need a smaller boat”

21. Scot Finlayson

The whole parliament debate is pure filibuster.

Blah Blah Blah until it goes away.

22. gillie

So far it is “ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND”

23. Elaine Colliar

HELP!!
    Losing the will to live ……….

24. gillie

Update on debate, “ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND”

I hope I haven’t missed anything. Will keep you posted.

25. Kenny Campbell

Lol, never mind new powers. We can’t even get a debate about new powers. If you are a NO voter this is what you deserve

26. Macart

@gillie

You missed an ENGLAND. 😉

27. Grizzle McPuss

There is that infamous put-down…

“I see your lips moving, but all I hear is blah, blah, blah”

Kind of apt when watching the debate from WM.

28. Ken500

If they wanted English votes for English people they should have supported Independence.

Sadiq Khan is a disgrace.

29. K1

Labour hijacking the entire debate…England, England, England. Pete trying to intervene…getting nowhere. Now Micey Moore…sigh…here we go…

30. muttley79

What time is the Scotland game on tonight?

31. Smith

If (when) Tory and Lib Dems are wiped out, I bet they’d still put the one Labour on that photo.

32. Swami Backverandah

Sadiq Khan obviously takes counsel from Lord Broon of Traytour, as he hones his technique of how to hammer nails in the coffins of British Labour Party (nthn div) seats, come the 2015 election.

33. Now's the Hour

Even by the Biased Bullsh*t Corporation’s standards, that is incredible. Complaint duly lodged. Not that it’ll make any difference. Please, people. share it with/show it to any Nos that you know and show them the way in which this rancid organisation treats us.

34. gillie

I wonder where Ed Miliband has disappeared to?

Has he been struck down with the same mystery illness as Kim Jong Un?

35. K1

This is a complete whitewash we are witnessing. There is no intention to take these vows foward in any meaningful or serious way.

Here they go circling the wagons…

Oh how grateful we should be…they LET US have a parliament, they have been so good to us. SNP bad, unreasonalbe…and now they are all rounding on SNP.

Can’t believe anyone fell for this vow, or any of thier blackmailing crap.

They wish to kneecap the SNP. It’s all about retaining the status quo of the establishment.

36. gillie

What a shambles this debate has turned into. This should obligatory watching for those who voted No.

37. yesindyref2

The trick of course is to turn your opponent’s advantage to your own advantage. The fact that a debate supposed to be about the VOW, the more powers for Scotland, is obviously turning into a purely English EVEL debate is something that can be used to advantage.

I say let them have their EVEL, and we get Devo-Max in compensation. It’s only fair, after all.

38. Bugger (the Panda)

The BBC and Westminster are just taking the piss now.

They think they have won and we are all going to disappear like snaw aff a dyke.

Long may the continue to believe their own spin.

See that light down the tunnel, is getting bigger and bigger, hammering down the line at full speed towards you.

It us and get out of the way or be wiley cayote’d.

39. JackPranker

Absolutely f’ing appalling “debate”. A marvellous example of why independence is required, namely a debate on Scottish devolution being changed to a debate on devolution where Scotland is only mentioned to deride how unfair it is.

And Wishart gets cuffed for daring to mention why the debate is being held at all? Jesus.

40. Les Wilson

Listening to “call Kay” this morning, a caller made a good point which no one repeated. This was that if the Unionist debates exclude Scotland, but then have a debate with the Scottish leaders it in effects allows the Unionists to address the population TWICE!

This has to be undemocratic, who would have guessed.

41. Swami Backverandah

Lord Broon’s on his feet in the Chamber.

What’s that noise?
    Hello.
    It’s the sound of thousands of betrayed No voters booing along with the Yes Brigade.

Booooo, Brown, Boooooooooooo.

42. jackie g

unbelievable even by their standards.

These people are not representing the Scotttish Govt they are the opposition!

Johan Lamont is the MSP for Glasgow Pollock, i had lunch on Sat with a friend who guess what lives in Pollock Ms lamont wont be smiling come the scottish elections when the residents of that impoverished place get rid of her i for one cannot wait.

Wullie Rennie pleease he could’na fight sleep..

Ruth Davidson Tory&GAY whit is that all about?

i will be waiting come elction night when you are wiped oot,been debating with myself for weeks but after that photo am now off to join the SNP.

43. Sinky

Les Wilson

It is not just twice but FIVE times compared to One appearance by the SNP or Scottish Green spokesperson.

Gordon Brown has been sighted at Westminster and still complaining about English votes for English laws but no apology for backtracking on “Home Rule” almost Federal Status or “Devo MAX”

44. A.N.Surgent

Photo looks like a still from an action movie,the bit before the bomb goes off in the background. Heroes of the empire and capitalists everywhere.

Good that your back Stu.

45. Swami Backverandah

“Should not the people of Scotland have been told prior to the referendum” says Lord Brown, “that I was a complete sucker?”

Yes. Gordon, Yes.

46. yesindyref2

I forgot to say. The Herald has its “view” about the format of the TV debates “Logic lacking on TV debate formats”. Settle covers it in a main article “SNP anger as Farage takes fourth place in pre-election TV debates”, and the Scotsman reported it as well.

A cynic would say that the SNP membership has more than trebled, as has the Green and SSP, and polls show the Labour slumping, with articles showing it disintegrating.

47. steviecosmic

Between the Mags Curran twitter rubbish in the Record and now this from the beeb, it’s obvious that the powers that be are still in all out referendum attack mode; the nats haven’t gone away, let’s continue with Plan A. Of course, the upside to this is that we should now know exactly what to expect. We should, with a little thought, be able to predict exactly what’s coming next, having just suffered two years of this juvenile, intellectually insulting pish.

48. manandboy

October 13, 2014 at 2:18 pm

dcanmore

The referendum didn’t split the UK but it cracked it, and the crack is too big to fix at Westminster.

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/10/13/carve-up/#comments

And many would say I’m sure, that the crack is widening by the day as more and more elderly No voters come to realise they bought a pig in a poke.

It has to be said however that many more No voters are simply too superior to ever admit that they made a very bad mistake. After all, what would the members at the Club say?

49. Kenny

“The creatures looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”
    George Orwell, Animal Farm

Nice pic, be sure to take a colour print-out when you’re out canvassing in Labour areas.

50. Ken500

Gordon Brown gives a good argument for Independence. Scots, Welsh, Irish outvoted in Westminster. No taxation without representation.

51. desimond

Work is showing BBC News24 in here and I noticed on subtitles
    “Share with us your thoughts on this debate on English votes for English people…”

52. Jimbo

Ah, yes – the BBC trying to promote the misapprehension that the SNP is not a mainstream political party. Who’d ‘ave thought it?

53. Sianna MacDonald

Just as a matter of interest..if they do not come through with the powers..and I don’t expect them to, just like I never expected anything of worth from anyone out of Westminster…what then?
    Will Scotland DO anything if they break the vow?
    Or will we keep on debating, signing petitions and hoping for the best?
    I know I’m in the minority here, but sometimes, direct action is a good thing, instead of the “wait and see” mentality.
    Go on, ye’s can shout me doon now…;)

54. A.N.Surgents

We had better propaganda, better presentation and better music but
    we had better arguements. Patronising pish. davidson on yes campaign. What a d*ckhead.

55. Luigi

Jimbo says:

14 October, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Ah, yes – the BBC trying to promote the misapprehension that the SNP is not a mainstream political party. Who’d ‘ave thought it?

“Aye, dinna go and waste yer vote next May, mind!”

56. K1

Davidson trying to save his bacon…why even mention NED railways…there colours always show through, creep.

57. Ken500

Ian Davidson

Enough

7/5/15

58. gillie

Honestly the level of debate is utter pish.

Any sign of the three stooges, Cameron, Miliband and Clegg?

Are they out signing something else, there expense claims by any chance?

59. Luigi

The referendum didn’t split the UK but it cracked it, and the crack is too big to fix at Westminster.

Indeed. Back in March, Darling wanted NO to win convincingly for a reason. Anything more than 40% YES was going to be seriously bad for the union. In the end they disposed of the kitchen sink and managed to hang on, just. 45% and it’s all over (give it time). Devolution was already inherently unstable, and 45% support for independence is just too big to recover from. No wonder they did not want a referendum.

60. K1

AYE…but it’s okay for the SNP to be left out in every democratic sense of that word, from participation in the lead up to the GE, even though by membership it is now the THIRD largest party on the British Isles.

It’s okay for MEP’s to be left outside the room when the rUK are discussing farming and fishing issues that are totally relevant to Scotland…that’s okay is it Davidson? W***er.

61. bookie from hell

2 hours into debate,no snp asked to speak yet

62. Luigi

“Democracy” appears to mean whatever our Lords and masters deem it to mean.

Joseph Stalin would be proud of them.

63. Tattie-bogle

Just tuned in just like Gillie says ENGLAND ENGLAND ARROGANCE ENGLAND debate on scottish devolution who’d a thunk it give me an E gimme an N give me a G oh ffs gimme a break what a lot of pish

64. manandboy

BBC Scotland has written to the leaders of the main Holyrood political parties inviting them to discuss setting up general election debates.

In the photo accompanying, Ruth Davidson looks as if she may be only looking forward to her next meal.

The other two are not worth a mention.

65. Elaine Colliar

Well 2 hours in – cleaned fridge, defrosted freezer, made a pot of stovies, a tray of tablet and a dozen rolls.

I think all things considered I have had a much more productive afternoon than they have had in Westminster this afternoon.

Tablet anyone …?

66. bald eagle

since when have the ships started cutting their own steel
    davidson the mad slasher must have got a deal with B&Q

67. desimond

Just a thought but

If the SNP isnt allowed into a UK wide debate, why is Labour allowed into a Scotland only debate when no such party as Scottish Labour exists.

Also,playing Devils Advocate, will all those shouting for Green and SSP Party representation at a Scottish Debate support a UKIP person being present given their vote is likely to be bigger than many parties in Scotland at next GE and they have a MEP already in Scotland.

68. gillie

It must be less than 50 MPs left in the chamber. All the others must be propping up the Westminster bars.

69. Lochside

That picture at the top reminds that three villages are missing their idiots.

70. seanair

Davidson–twat!
    “Separation”, “grievance mentality”, “no vote 55% to 60%”. My wife advised me to turn off the TV before I exploded.

71. Tattie-bogle

test

72. Robert Louis

Wow, they keep talking about taking forward the proposals of the three parties (Lab, Libdem, Tory). So what is the Smith commission for?

Someone needs to call Lord Smith, and let him know he’s wasting his own and the people of Scotland’s time.

I think our chance for independence is heading our way much quicker than expected.

Oh, and for the benefit of Lord Young, the solution to the ‘West Lothian Question’ is quite easy – SCOTTISH INDEPENDENCE.

73. Swami Backverandah

Brown beginning to realise he was duped by the Tories?

We could have told him that.

We did!

But would he listed.

It was the ermine collar, blocking his ears.

74. gillie

Must be less than 40 MPs now.

75. gillie

No more than 30 MPs now.

76. manandboy

The way things are going

Independence is going to have to be a DIY job.

Westminster & the City of Greed

are NEVER going to let go of the oil revenues.

Well, let’s face it,

no one jumps ship from a life raft.

77. Luigi

Brown beginning to realise he was duped by the Tories?

Gordon Brown is currently running around, squealing as if he had a bayonet stuck up his backside. Ian Davidson was right, sort of.

78. Valerie

Don’t watch the alleged debate if you have high blood pressure, complete pile o steamin keech

79. Valerie

I think when people start paying attention to the fire sale of the Eurostar to raise a paltry £3M, they will wake up as to why WM wouldn’t let us go. It’s like raking tthrough your jewellery box for some broken chains to take to cash for gold.

80. desimond

Theres more people on Wings than there are in Westminster debate.

81. Elaine Colliar

Sorry Ming – you ARE less of a Scot due to your actions in the referendum.

You stood mute whilst Jim Murphy told one of our Old Dears that she would lose her pension if she voted yes.

Your silence condemns you – you have not only forever lost my vote but have forever lost my respect!

82. gillie

Anas Sarwar having trouble talking. Stringing words into sentences seems to be beyond him.

83. desimond

@Valerie

Nice image but imagine when the brooch marked “Scottish Water” is found down the back of the couch

84. K1

Sarwar…mealy mouthed words…again trying to safe his bacon…tick tock Sarwar…tick tock.

85. K1

Nah…we are sick and tired of you Sarwar…propagandist extrodinaire…thinks it’s business as usual. Fool.

86. gillie

Anas Sarwar argues for no more powers for Scotland.

87. gillie

Anas Sarwar now arguing for more powers for Scotland.

Yes, Sarwar is arguing for both no powers and more powers.

88. Macart

Wonder how many ‘proud Scots but’ are watching this stitch up? How proud are they really feeling about now?

89. RenateJ

I wonder if the no voters are even aware of how they have been mislead even now. I fear they will continue to get their news and views from the BBC and MSM, head in the sand, business as usual…they have demonstrated how gullible they are, what’s going to change that now?

90. Luigi

The SNP and Greens are being excluded from the televised debates on the basis that they could not possibly elect a prime minister.

Does that mean there is no need for the Tories and Lib Dems to participate in any “leaders” debates for Holyrood in 2016?

91. Dougie Bee

In the photo Davidson looks like the Incredible Hulk before his jacket starts to split..Lament looks like she’s trying to get away from Wullie..and Wullie looks like he’s having multiple orgasms being in the company of two gorgeous gils..not…xxx

92. Luigi

they have demonstrated how gullible they are, what’s going to change that now?

When it hits their pockets (and it will).

93. desimond

The news tonight will report “Westminster today discussed more powers for Scotland”. No hard examination, just a quick mention and a round up of “It is a long process” from Mr Curtice or “another expert”.

Scotland Tonight will then have 2 people in studio talking nonsense and BBC will simply squash the story much the same way English MPs have today squashed any chance of actual powers ever being granted ( as EVERYONE knew beforehand so no blame on them at all)

94. Papadox

Devolution within the UK. Debate House of Commons.

This must be the best advert you can get for getting out of this cesspool called the UK. If this is the
    the mother of parliaments its father must have been from outer space. This is a total insult to anyone’s intelligence and is just taking the piss. As they have told us for years we are to poor, TO STUPID and to wee, and as Johan reminded us we are not genetically programmed for running our own wee country.

If anybody with half a brain doesn’t get the WESTMINSTER and labour’s message now then they are either on the make or require the help of a psychiatrist.

They are paying these MP’s (plenty) to belittle them and treat them with utter contempt.

95. CameronB Brodie

Kind of OT, but a bit of fun and it might take you’re mind from the WM debate. Why did anyone expect more? How up-to-speed are you?

Play ‘UKIP or Fascist?’ Guess the quotes and find out

http://www.remarkably.com/ukip-fascist/

96. heraldnomore

Three months filing done; mountain of paper shredded; four loaves proving for the oven.

Did I miss anything?

97. bookie from hell

Will george Galloway be speaking in this debate or has he done a runner?

98. Valerie

Agree with Papadox, the level of debate is woeful, lots of back slapping, me, me, me, and England, England etc. Also obvious many ran out out of the chamber after an hour, and at 4.30 we are looking at the dross, with the exception of a frustrated Angus Macneil. They have no idea we would gladly hand them EVEL, in exchange for Home Rule- for now anyway

99. Elaine Colliar

@heraldnomore

Beggar all hon – beggar all!!

100. K1

Labour really did fall for the Conservative trap. They screwed themselves by aligning with them against independence.

Cameron told them that on the 19th; it’s all about the EVEL now; your services are no longer required. They are now fighting for thier careers.

As for the Scottish branch, they’re toast and are now in appeasement mode to thier Scottish constituents. They must now see this. The fake concillatory tones toward the yes voters who previously they referred to, amongst other things as a ‘virus’ is sickening in its obviousness.

Let’s make sure they never forget and at all times whenever any discussion arises relating to the GE and keeping out the Tories; we remind everyone of thier short termism, lack of vision and more importantly, thier divisive, ugly methodology, including frightening our elderly folk, by telling them that thier pensions would cease if they voted yes.

For this alone all of the Labour party’s Scottish branch should be stripped of office.

101. gillie

It is EVEL this, EVEL that.

Time is running out.

I wonder when MPs will actually start talking about Scotland?

102. Oneironaut

@Sianna MacDonald
    “Just as a matter of interest..if they do not come through with the powers..and I don’t expect them to, just like I never expected anything of worth from anyone out of Westminster…what then?
    Will Scotland DO anything if they break the vow?
    Or will we keep on debating, signing petitions and hoping for the best?”

You’re not alone. I’ve been wondering about this myself…

103. K1

I see Stewart Hosie has arrived in parliament. Hopefully he’ll make a comment or two.

104. K1

Who is this guy speaking now?

105. Robert Louis

So now we know the harsh reality of the so- called ‘solemn Vow’. Two Tories in the debate have pointed out, that the vow was made by party leaders, but was NOT made by the Parliament.

Just as expected. There will be no new powers for Scotland.

The only way Scotland will get more powers will be by taking them ourselves. We tried the ballot box route and this is what we get, nothing.

It is time for the Scottish Parliament to just start legislating regardless of what Westminster says. Yes, of course London will object, but this will force them to do something.

London will give Scotland no new powers, when they do not have a metaphorical gun to their head. They promised lots when there was the threat of a YES vote, but now the threat has gone, they will do nothing.

Anyway, like the indy campaigners pointed out, ‘VOTE NO, GET NOTHING’.

106. bookie from hell

hosie has been sitting thru whole debate,taking notes

107. JGedd

Thanks Cameron Brodie. Your linked quiz was more entertaining than the turgid parliamentary debate.

108. gordoz

Tonight on Media Scotchland

Westminster MP’s (Labour of course are the highlight) – Pwoud, vewy, vewy pwoud) involved in heated debate on Scotchlands future ! Blah, blah, blah and then Sweet FA happens (again).

Welcome to the recurring historical ‘trap’ that was and is NO voting Scotchlanders. Deja vu ??

Utter bollox as always from the corrupt house that will be Ukips soon !

109. EphemeralDeception

Things are playing out much as expected.

Westminster has a veneer of a commission, but what happens will be decided by Westminster and that is looking like Scotland act 2012 + Devo Nano Minus.

This will be published by WM, BBC and journos as meeting the vow while Securing Scotland in the UK.

The SNP and greens will take what is put on the table even if it will be a poisoned chalice and amount to a heap of nothing. The will however complain to deaf ears that this is not the change that the people of Scotland demanded.

Then it will all come down to public opinion over time and that depends on what the public are asked and by whom. An active YES crowd is not going to demonstrate a surge towards YES more than already exists. The most likely scenario is that polling shows unsatisfaction with the lack of transfer of responsibilities that leads the SNP or SNP/YES group to hold another referendum in the next Scottish election.

The SNP need to get some kind of mandate for another referendum and I do not think they will get it before the next Scottish election. If however the public are very pissed of with lack of progress, the SNP/YES alliance could make this part of the UK GE campaign. That is not looking likely at this time to me but depends on events I suppose.

110. gerry parker

@Sianna MacDonald.

Direct action – Way to go.
    Gandhi style – but chunkier!

111. Alan of Neilston

Listening now to Gregg Mc Clymont Labour. What an embarrasment as an Scottish M.P. Grovelling to try and say Further powers of Devolution will work for Scotland and not to have a reduction of Scottish M.P’s . This is because the whole debate has been a total ambush for the Labour Party and in particular Gordon Brown who has been Set Up. We have to vote these Scottish Labour Clowns out of office in the 2015 G.E.

112. Dougie Bee

Going by the comments ( not watching the debate thingy )its as you were and as you always will be..tied to WM’s apron strings..did anyone expect anything else?..I didn’t..when cameron mentioned EVEL hours after the indyref result..then brown and darling did a runner..I knew we were in for a long hard slog..anyway thats what we voted for..thats what we’re getting..thank you no voters…xxx

113. YESGUY

I must admit i am delighted with the debate.

None of the issues that matter to Scotland are the focal point of the debate. They will waffle away and we will get nowt.

More Ammo folks.

What can we do ??

First thing is let them trip over themselves giving us excuses. I expect the SNP will have plenty of say and they will be heard. In Scotland anyway and that’s what matters most. We can show their excuses for what they are.

It’s not our job to bring the politicians to heal. That;s what SNP/Greens/SSP can do much better.

Our job is to show the lies and promises for what they are. get people involved in chatter about these failures . Keep reminding folk that they are getting nothing. No voters will see for themselves they have been duped and many will be angry.

Lets not forget how close the ref was. A 6% swing could have given us victory , SIX %

Showing the failure will convince more than that. Then we show our strength by voting as many SNP in the GE.

Destroying Labour to boot.

So get out there and tell folk we are not getting anything promised and can only get what we want through supporting Indi parties .

We don’t need to convince them all , and many are already swithering.

Before now it was a simple YES or NO vote, Now it’s parties. A wee bit more difficult but not impossible . And the SE could see the end of unionist parties if we play our card right.

Roll on the GE.

114. Bugger (the Panda)

K1 says:
    14 October, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Sarwar…mealy mouthed words…again trying to safe his bacon…tick tock Sarwar…tick tock.

That’s a Fatwa on you K1

115. fred blogger

can mp’s still get a free meal after 7.30pm?

116. Sandra Wilson

A big thank you to all my countrymen who voted “No”. Shafted twice, first by the naysayers and now by Westminster. UDI is looking like a good option.

117. SwamiBackverandah

Watching the attrition of members from the House as they head off to the bars.

Are there more pandas in Scotland than MP’s on benches etc? 🙂

118. Bugger (the Panda)

@ fred blogger

Yes and very cheap bevvy, all on expenses too.

119. yesindyref2

Didn’t watch the debate, but great comments!

Ken500 – 7/5/15
    I like it. Much better than my mysterious 70515.

Won’t be long now.

7/5/15

120. desimond

David Cameron positively purred down the microphone giving his “England must be heard” speech on the Devolution Debate Press conference outside 10 Downing Street.

121. Swami Backverandah

The way the Tory/ Lab spat is shaping up is most interesting.
    It’s like watching two over-blown pugilists slugging it out.
    It doesn’t really matter to them what is actually devolved to Scotland, that will all be worked out to some degree anyway, it’s a matter of who managed to outwit the other and make their opponent a laughing stock.
    It seems, and I’m sure the Tories would agree, that they think they have the whip-hand with their proposals, and it’s Lab who will be painted as ‘reneging on the Vow’.
    What I find even more interesting is how Labour is shaping this ‘loss’ of their face, by attempting to scapegoat the SNP.
    They are doing this by attempting to paint the SNP as somehow now (post ref) colluding with the Tories in wanting maximum powers.
    Of course the SNP always set out their stall for absolute powers – ie independence- and are rightly pushing at the moment for as much control as they can get,but it will be interesting to see how much traction the Labour Party can gain in attempting these smear tactics.
    They really have no shame.

122. K1

BtP…eek…didn’t really think before I wrote that! Turn of phrase etc, but yeah…that’s me gettin’ it noo 🙁

123. Bobby

anyone watching bbc could be forgiven for thinking that it was the English the voted for independence cause all they been talking bout is fuckin England

124. yesindyref2

Mmm, playing with electoral calculus. Put the ref YES 44.6% as SNP (could be some Sheridan / Green / SSP), adjust the others to leave 10% other:

SNP 46 seats
    Lab 11
    Lib 1
    Con 1

Get some angry disappointed Devo-Max NO voters to just get that up to 50%:

SNP 55 seats
    Lab 3
    Lib 1
    Con 0

7/05/15

125. fred blogger

Bugger (the Panda)
    no prizes for guessing why they drag these things on then.
    btw any clarity yet on wtf they are talking about, not that i’ve been watching mind.
    i mean, the bottom line is will their gassing and gossip end poverty, and create much needed mass decent(pay) quality employment or not? rhetorical?

126. seanair

The Labour MPs from Scotland are pressing for more devolution to Councils, while being reluctant to give more powers to the SP.
    The SG is being attacked for centralisation, but no acknowledgement that reduced money from WM has forced this on us e.g. Police Scotland.
    The English votes issue is being attacked.
    Nothing positive from the Labour troughers as usual.

127. Bugger (the Panda)

fred blogger

SFA

It is what the call a fillibuster.

Treat the SNP as shite, shovel more shite on them and then switch off the light and heating.

They hope we will go away.

That is the beauty of having the MSM in Scotland lying so well. They have not a ferkin idea what is happening in Scotland and why their tactics just encourage and embloden us more.

Not long ’till we bite them on their erskine ferries.

128. Bugger (the Panda)

fred blogger

Labour’s job is to manage downwards the expectations of the poor and so without them the have no reason to live.

Labour needs the poor to be poor so they can pillage the Nation’s wealth and fill up their pockets.

They don’t have the peoples’ wellbeing at heart, just their own avorice.

Fuck the Peasants.

129. desimond

@yesindyref2

Sadly I think the Tory vote will actually increase as Tory voters are happy with referendum and theyre partys involvement and indeed may feel more proud, however UKIP will also creep onto horizon, hopefully allowing SNP to sneak through a broken Labour \ UKIP \ Tory vote

The Lib Dems…well there will be a million Lightbulb jokes awaiting their performance

130. K1

Labour voices all singing from the same hymn sheet…devolve to council level; thereby neutering the scottish parliament. Transparent pish.

131. Doug McG

Labour Scotland trying to divide and conquer by suggesting much more power for councils , vote SLAB and get big enhanced powers for your local council . To coin a phrase “no thanks”

132. wingman 2020

@Sianna MacDonald
    @Oneironaut

Confucius say, One who hesitates before taking a step, spends whole life standing on one leg, like flamingo.

It is time to do something different.

133. Graeme Doig

Yesguy

Tend to agree re the debate. I was starting to wonder why Pete Wishart bothered getting the debate extended but i now realise it provides us with 6 hours of evidence that they think we are padlocked back in our box after being zipped up the front and back.

We’ve had to put up with, and continue to suffer, EVSL and now have to endure them bleating on about EVEL.

They are now feasting off the platter we delivered back to them and each other.

I just hope the people of Scotland wake up soon.

134. wingman 2020

I suggest we declare a form of UDI … Lets call it Unilateral Declaration of Enough (is enough)

We start by a membership (Trust, Party or Organisation) of all of us who have cancelled our BBC licences and we use the annual fee to encourage others to Opt-out of the UK Media stranglehold, the Westminster political grip and the Labour Party support.

Out of the BBC influence
    Reject Westminster hegemonic initiatives and controls
    Destroy Scottish Labour

Now these are three aims I could easily subscribe to and encourage others to follow, without doing anything illegal.

135. Capella

Posted on previous thread by mistake.
    Wasted an hour and half watching the parliament debate on Scottish devolution which was actually a debate on EVEL.
    The Speaker had decreed that 4 speakers were to have unlimited time for their remarks. These were, William Hague, Sadiq Khan, Gordon Brown and Michael Moore. Everyone else was limited to 6 minutes. David Cameron, Ed Miliband and Nick Clegg, the signatories of “The Vow”, were unaccountably absent.
    There was much sneering and jeering aimed at the SNP MPs, including obnoxious sneers from the Speaker. Viewers from Scotland witnessed a tawdry apology for democracy carried out with the arrogance and contempt we have come to expect.
    After many speakers had waffled on about England’s problems, Pete Wishart got his 6 minutes. He was, as usual, sharp and to the point. But a more unsatisfactory forum for debating Scottish affairs could hardly be devised.
    I hope we are out of that circus soon.
    Btw you don’t have to go to the BBC to watch either parliament. Go direct to:
    http://www.parliamentlive.tv/Main/Home.aspx
    http://www.scottishparliament.tv/

136. yesindyref2

desimond
    Yes, the Tory vote would hold except for UKIP targetting them and Labour heartlands. I dropped the Tory vote a couple of points to “simulate” that.

7/5/15

137. fred blogger

Bugger (the Panda)
    yep!
    one of thatchers contemporary’s named this as managed decline.
    there has never been any recent (last 35yrs) UK govt intention to create jobs or eradicate poverty.
    only asset strip.

138. CameronB Brodie

On the subject of devolving SG powers to local authorities, it sounds like a bag of washing to me. Apparently David Harvey thinks such horizontalism has it’s natural limits. But of course, Johann Lamont and her merry band of Tory stooges, don’t appear to care much about Scotland’s well-being. After all, don’t actions speak louder than words?

http://www.newleftproject.org/index.php/site/article_comments/urban_revolution_an_interview_with_david_harvey_part_2

139. CameronB Brodie

P.S. I thought Labour were dead against encouraging competition within a Union. Are all local authorities equal in political influence? More neoliberal beggar your neighbour pish, if you ask me.

140. Jimbo

@ Luigi

“Aye, dinna go and waste yer vote next May, mind!”

Yep, that’s what they’re gonna be telling us, Luigi – that a vote for the SNP in a Westminster general election is a wasted vote as they can’t form a government.

When, oh when, are the people of Scotland going to realise that the only way to protect Scotland’s interests is not to send Unionist career MPs to Westminster?

141. K1

Aye CameronB, I thought that too about tax raising powers and competition in relation to ‘sepurashon’. I mean wasn’t there something about this back in March when labour (scottish branch) were revealing thier devonano crap…and didn’t Ms Lamont articulate this…articulately…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vMnWUkW9kBY

142. CameronB Brodie

Hi, K1, thanks for that. I’d forgotten JL had already cleared things up around the distribution of powers, and all that jazz. 😉

143. liz

It was always SLABs idea to get more powers for the cconcils cos this is where they wield power.

They can then backstab, bully, intimidate, and spend spend spend but not on their constituents.

Folk saying what are the SNP going to do about it -well they have to wait for the Smith commission report but I don’t know if there is a deadline for his proposals cos we cant wait too long.

I have just joined the SNP and will get my views across that if these ‘federalism’ promises are not kept then we need to push for independence as soon as possible.
    AS has already said independence can be achieved in different ways.
    https://archive.today/ZlUW6

144. hetty

Suspect part if their plan to try to get rid of the Scottish parliament…who? SNP? Who? Scotland? Never heard of it.

145. Chic McGregor

“Here they go circling the wagons…”

The Laager of Lamont.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.