Don’t vote in ignorance

Posted on September 17, 2014 by

Scottish Labour and “Better Together” have clearly decided to go out all guns blazing with their pitiable last-ditch desperation slogan “If you don’t know, vote No”.

Blair McDougall faithfully recited it on “Good Morning Scotland”, and the leaflet on the left-hand side of the image below was being shoved through people’s doors last night. (Complete with the English, not Scottish, NHS logo. Classy touch.)

dontvotestupid

That the once-proud party of the people (and its Tory funders) have reached such a low point as to be telling voters to vote in ignorance rather than finding out the facts speaks for itself. We have a different view.

There are still almost 36 hours left before the deadline by which Scots must cast their vote. That’s plenty of time to get informed. We’ve laid out our case in the Wee Blue Book, which takes roughly an hour to read. It’s available in print and digital formats, in Gaelic, as an audiobook, and as a narrated video on YouTube.

And because we’re fair-minded, we’ve collated the No case for you too.

If you study both cases and feel you still have to vote No, fair enough. But please, for the sake of this generation and those to come, don’t do it out of cluelessness.

1. 17 09 14 13:07

Don’t vote in ignorance | FreeScotland

728 to “Don’t vote in ignorance”

1. John Sellars

Thanks for everything Stuart. Labour finished here in Scotland.
    And so to the final push – WBB is working wonders.

2. Capella

Brilliant speech from David Hayman in “The Pitiless Storm”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1V_jCbTq-c

3. misteralz

I have five to get rid of today. Best head out on the bike for an hour…

P.S. Thanks for everything, Rev. Stu. This site has been an inspiration. 😀

4. George

I havent actually read the the wee blue book i dont think i have to in the days of the internet i went out and got all the information myself gotta love the web but any undecided’s should definatley read this been lurking for a while and reading wings and many other indy sites.

Well i aint gonna waste my vote im voting YES!!!!!

5. Murray McCallum

Well done to everyone involved in the WBB – funding, writing, editing and the phenomenal distribution effort.

This site and its contributors have certainly saved me going for professional therapy over the last 18 months.

One last push.

6. G H Graham

The ultimate elitist smack down;

“Plebs. No need to be informed. Remain subservent. Trust us. London knows best.”

7. Lanarkist

Taking wee blue book to list of undecideds!
    Radio Scotland is a disgrace this morning so walked and talked and handed out info to anyone who expressed confusion or indecision!

Quebec tactics to flood the Country with No voters has been moved onto Main Stream Media!

Yes is happening!

8. Liquid Lenny

Yeah echo comments on Stu. I rarely read anything but WOS these days,an inspiration. But we need you to continue to guide us those the steps of making our Nation the best it can be. That’s if you have any time to spare from your new day job as Head of Communications for the SG. 🙂

9. Tamson

Huge respect to Stuart for his role in revitalizing democracy in Scotland. Yes or No, things will never be the same again. Yes or No, the Establishment will realise that forever more, we are watching…

10. Katherine hamilton

Thanks for everything.

11. DMcNeil

If you don’t know, don’t “NO”. If you are truly undecided, please leave the decision to those who have made up their minds (for either side) and don’t let Scotland’s future be swayed by such a pathetic plea.

12. rigmac7

It is sad that “serious” political parties can lower themselves to such a degree, with the eyes of the world watching on, that they advise people to remain in ignorance and vote the way they are told to vote.
    A sad day for the whole political system that it has come to this.
    People will remember this for a long long time and it will have ramifications for the persons/parties involved – and what is even sadder is these people/parties must know it, but are yet still continuing to spout it. Shows how much they need Scotland, how desperate they are, how much they have sold out their dignity and beliefs to maintain a corrupt establishment. This is not a proud time for politics overall, but it can be the proudest time for our country and it can send a message far and wide that people power can overcome the manipulation of media by those (for a short time at least) pulling the strings.
    Free Scotland/Hail Alba and soar. Time for a wee greet to myself.

13. thewaterbeastie

Is there a meet up or party after polls close tomorrow night for Wingers? Or are there many, spread as far and wide as the WBBs?

14. galamcennalath

I reckon half of those who say they are No voters will be genuine – BritNats, they want to stay part of the Union. It’s who they are.

Worryingly, though, another half of potential NO voters have got it wrong! Some think the NHS is a UK wide institution which they think they might lose. Some think it’s party political and don’t like Alicsammon. Some think their pension is under threat. Some think they’ll lose their personal number plates. The list is long and sad.

The WBB would set them on the right path armed with knowledge. Time is running out though.

15. Macart

Three years of being told you can’t from every media and state orifice on a daily basis.

Three years of being told how helpless and insignificant you are.

We’re done with the politics of fear Stu. Tomorrow its our turn to make ourselves heard loud and long. YES WE CAN!

Great respects for the effort you’ve put in.

16. Tam Jardine

Fantastic work Stu. This country owes you a debt of gratitude. The juggernaut cannot be stopped. Labour, the tories and lib dems totally ignorant to what is happening on the ground here. George Monbiot put it well in his latest fantastic article – the journalists are often the last to figure out what’s happening.

I never got one of those leaflets through the door last night – you need manpower to get them out there across the country and that has been a significant difference between our campaign and theirs. Can’t imagine folk who haven’t succumbed to labour’s tactics by now will be taken in at 5 to midnight.

Let’s enjoy the next couple of days.

Freedom Friday has a bit of a ring to it.

17. Victor

I’d like to reiterate the sentiments expressed by others. Thankyou Stu and to all who have helped. I don’t believe we would have been giving the establishment a run for their money if it wasn’t for you and others who have also fought the good fight on Scotland’s behalf.

18. Triskelion

The link leads to yesterdays newspaper article

19. bookie from hell

No campaign praising George Galloway

@rorybremner
    .@georgegalloway knows a thing or two about Scottish politics. And he wears a cool hat.

Why wasn’t GGs signature on the VOW pledge

walofs

glad your in Scotland Rev,its nearly the 2nd coming of Christ

20. Triskelion

I mean the image link.

21. Patrician

We will do this. There is still work to be done and we have time left to still convert undecideds.

I don’t want to just squeak over the winning line, I want us to go roaring over that line.

22. Marco McGinty

Aye, that would be the leaflet I mentioned yesterday – the one printed in England!

Scottish Labour voted against using the entire Scottish print industry to print their propaganda.

23. Proud Cybernat

And, after all of that and you still haven’t a Scoobie McDoo, don’t forget the ‘F*#k it factor’.

24. stewart bc

I thought I had moved beyond being shocked. But this ….

25. rigmac7

http://www.hindustantimes.com/world-news/great-scot-independence-vote-may-up-scotch-prices/article1-1264894.aspx

Mercy me, the EBC is now reporting stories from the Hindustan Times about Whisky price increases, who’d have thunk it?

26. Chic McGregor

@Capella
    “Brilliant speech from David Hayman in “The Pitiless Storm””

Absolutely. And another here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBOj1xAu2NQ

What a star.

27. Bob Chocolate

I hope my wee donation from here in Sydney helped. I want my family in Scotland to have the opportunities I had to emigrate for. It broke my heart to go. Good on you all!! Scotland belongs to all of us.

28. Ann

One thing worrying me if we vote YES is a backlash from the English. I have read many posts were they say they will not buy Scottish produce, come here on holiday etc. this will have an impact on lots of our businesses.

I don’t recognise the Scotland that’s being portrayed in the media – that we are turning into a violent and intolerant country. Surely the No side can see through this. What is wrong with healthy debate.

I can’t wait to vote tomorrow! Is there any plans for a celebration on Friday in Edinburgh if we win?

29. highseastim

The establishment team are throwing the kitchen sink at us now, but I’m convinced they are fighting a losing battle, as joe public isn’t stupid and will have noted the sudden alleged new powers and ask why now. I would still imagine some underhand tricks to come and there needs to be a close eye kept at polling stations to ensure YES votes do not mysteriously disappear!!

30. scotsbob

If every person who has been following this web site could persuade just one more person in the next 24 hours we can do this.

31. TYRAN

How many re-branding and phrases have this No lot had? It’s turned into a Labour election rerun of Holyrood 2011 all but in name. And that worked out well.

Of course they’ve only came out with this catchphrase at the last moment as all the data shows the undecided are voting yes.

32. Chic McGregor

@thewaterbeastie

“Is there a meet up or party after polls close tomorrow night for Wingers? Or are there many, spread as far and wide as the WBBs?”

TBH, by now, nearly everyone in our local group of Yessers reads Wings. I guess its the same story throughout.

33. haud on the noo

Ann,

There may be a short and pitiful decision by a few Mail readers to boycott Scottish produce but that’ll last a few weeks then back to normal. Nothing compared to the boycott in Scotland of the BBC and all those who have tried to kill democracy with ridiculous scare stories.

34. WantonWampum.

Just watched Flipper on tv. He says ,and I quote :-

“Under the new promised powers NHS Scotland can be Funded by BORROWING more money from the money markets”.

We scots will be burdened with our share of UK Debt – AND – lumbered with extra borrowing because WM will not supply enough money to fund our right to health.?

WHO is buying this load of garbage.

35. No no no...Yes

Rev, The next 48 hours will pass in a blur, so I would like to thank you now for all your efforts, in the face of great adversity. Although I only found out about Wings earlier this year, it has been an invaluable source of research, support, laughter, tears and so much more. The WBB is a game changer. I am heading out to give every ounce of energy I can muster to help YES Perth and Kinross between now and the result being announced. I have a spring in my step and it does not matter what the MSM try and throw at us, we the people of Scotland now have the power to take that step to change our country for the better.

Tomorrow is the momentous day. As I stand in the privacy of the polling booth my heart will be pounding very fast. I will think about late father and how much he too wanted Scotland to become independent. This is the time! I will savour the moment that I put my cross in the box to vote YES. The whole experience of being involved with such a positive upbeat campaign will be locked in and live with me forever.

36. Silverytay

Stu , many thanks for your hard work and dedication over the last few years , we would never have got so far if it had not been for you .

Win or lose I am looking forward to a wingers party to end all parties , see you all on the far side .

37. Graham

300 years of union, an undemocratic decision taken by an elite minority, and the BT campaign message is that even after 300 years we’re still too poor, too stupid to stand on our own.

So if you don’t know, forget democracy just vote to stay with an undemocratic Westminster parliament where most of the residents have been captured by the rich, the powerful, big-business and the media and where your voice will be lost amongst the majority from our bigger neighbour, where many are already rebelling against the “promises” from the 3 stooges, and where an undemocratic second chamber stuffed with appointees can still put a block on reform.

A “Yes” vote is a vote for a new Scotland and the democratic process.

38. Capella

@ Chic McGregor
    Thanks for that. A powerful speaker. Hope lots of people get the chance to hear him today and tomorrow!
    And thanks Stu for your hard work – sorry I went off topic so early int he the read. Got carried away by David Hayman’s speech.

39. Chris Baxter

Labour is finished at the very least until independence. If it is a No, then within a year or two, loads of those voters will regret their decision.

The appalling tactics displayed by the BBC and the UK Government in particular will be conveyed to the country. We will remember. The SNP will get an even bigger landslide at the next election than in 2010.

When the Barnett Formula is cut; when it becomes totally clear that Scotland is not better as part of the UK, and when the empty promises come home to roost, then the calls for independence will not be able to be silenced.

Independence is inevitable. Save the wasted years and struggles that will definitely result from a No vote.

40. Chris Baxter

And I’d like to echo the sentiments regarding your hard work, Mr Campbell.

You are one very, very clever and astute person. If we do lose this vote, then you should play a prominent part in continuing the fight.

41. Embradon

People like Keir Hardy and Jimmy Reid must be turning in their graves. I’m sure they’d say. ‘If you don’t know, bloody well find out’

42. gillie

It raises an interesting aspect that the NO campaign are viewing those who don’t vote as supporting the union.

That takes us back to 1979 with the infamous 40% rule.

If there is a narrow Yes victory will Westminster cry foul?

43. Les Wilson

david Hayman’s speech is really heart rendering it needs a wide audience. The cabable here should put this out as far as they possibly can. Simply great.

( Capella, thanks for the link!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1V_jCbTq-c

44. Grizzle McPuss

I’m still working really hard here in Central Scotland industrial-land.

I’m up against entrenched No’s of the professional class, degree qualified and constantly whinging on “I’ve got too much to lose taking a gamble”.

The WBB is doing it’s rounds and I/we can only hope.

Thanks Stu for giving us this focal point.

45. Finnz

Darling appears to be confirming the idea that the NHS in Scotland is actually funded from Westminster. A fact that the YES campaign has been shouting for months.

46. Graeme Doig

O/T but may help an undecided.

A guy called Keith has posted on ‘New readers start here’ this morning with a question regarding WBB statement about the bbc. May or may not be genuine.

Any of you intellectual heavyweights got an answer ?

47. Robert Peffers

I also say thank you Stu but make the plea that you, and the rest of the Wingers stay together while Scotland regroups and, win, draw or lose, Scotland is never going to return to what it had become under Westminster rule.

There is going to be a time of much upheaval whatever the referendum vote throws up and it will be a time for clear minds and open minds. Scotland needs Wings.
    Check out my wee funny YouTube video at:-
    //youtu.be/TC_r_zFH4Ws

It very much looks like someone was upset at my free advertising of YES by the busy Great North Road. If nothing else it will show my flags flying YES Van.

48. msean

I have handed one on to a friend inclined to a no vote,they accepted it,but it’s up to them to read it,they should as it is very relevant.

Great work Rev,whatever the outcome,a wee blue book product will be a part of the strategy for future referendums everywhere,it would be lacking for it not to be.

49. David Campbell

We will all wake up tomorrow with something in our hands that no custodian of our great wee nation has held for more than 300 years, the power of Scotland.

What will we do with that power?. Will we treat it like a hot potato?, timidly say we do not want that responsibility? and meekly hand the future of Scotland back to Westminster?

Or will we grasp that power, cherish it, put it in our pockets and confidently stride out into the world as a new dynamic, forward thinking democracy. Keen to support, cooperate and trade with all our good neighbours across the globe. Always secure in the knowledge that we have Scotland’s future safely tucked away in our pockets, ready to hand over to the next generation of custodians?

When I think of what’s possible tomorrow it makes my heart swell with pride and sends a tingle up my spine, to know that we are the people that can deliver freedom and self determination, not only for ourselves but for every Scot that comes after us!

Lets make history together tomorrow and lets vote YES for Scotland!

50. Greannach

It’s not over yet and the really dirty tricks may not have started in earnest. I hope I’m wrong.

51. Macnakamura

It is counter intuitive for me but I persuaded some one not to vote !

He was unhappy with status quo but did not see that his grievances would be redressed in an an independent Scotland, either.
    He was going to vote No on the basis of the devil you know etc…….

Not entirely happy convincing someone to opt out of the democratic process but I will live with it.

52. Peter G

Funny how the BritNats keep quoting Orwell to attack the evil of Nationalism. Then they really do use 1984 as an instruction manual.

Eric Blair was attacking the ideas ingrained in English superiority while being a self loathing member of the Scottish Diaspora. Sounds like some people who’ve been in the news recently.

Then their entire campaign comes down to Ignorance is Strength, Freedom is Slavery and War is Peace.

If you don’t know vote no, vote Yes and be a colony, we need WMD and total war for clout and jobs. The sickest and most revolting politicians outside of the USA.

It also features the dread Memory Hole where any document showing their contrary position that was being held absolute truth just 10 minutes before gets destroyed. Known as BBC Glasgow.

53. Macart

Derek on form with his final post before the vote.

Spread it far.

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/09/17/its-time/#comment-26881

54. gillie

Regarding the three stooges pledge on retaining the Barnett formula it seems that Wales is being offered more money by changes or top-ups to Barnett.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-29217832

So it appears the Barnett formula will be subject to change.

55. Tackety Beets

Posted before , a No Vote is supporting WM . We can be certain if sadly No were to win . DC etc will crawwww and crawww for weeks and months . If you DON’T KNOW , Dont VOTE . Despite the occasional spat ( like yesterdays but they very nicely made up ) this site has been addictive . Fab contributions from everyone. Hopefully we can continue this journey together with a YES .

56. Flower of Scotland

@Ann 11.21

If there is a YES vote I’m going to the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh! That’s what people are saying to do. I live in N.E Fife, but I need to go and be with like minded people that are celebrating!

I live in Strathmiglo and the NOs have been wee busy bees! There are red,green and blue balloons on every lamppost on the high street and the road running to Falkland and they’ve done 2 drops of propaganda rubbish since yesterday!

However our BIG YES signs on the High Street remain intact!

It’s like a physical assault listening to anti Scottish propaganda on all channels of TV.

We have to stand up and be counted now and vote for the best decision for Scotland and that is YES!

57. Kathleen Budge

If you are over 55 and still undecided, be guided by the younger members of your family…the future is theirs to do with what they can. The short term implications are far less important than the long term future.

58. Chic McGregor

“Of course they’ve only came out with this catchphrase at the last moment as all the data shows the undecided are voting yes.”

That ubiquitous pundit, Professor Curtice, the only psephologist in the known Universe, claims the opposite.

How he can make that claim of a group of which by definition little is known, I do not know. It cannot be data based when there is no data.

One can of course, surmise, based on premises which may or may not be correct.

The two main ones, I suspect, are:

The Unionist Hope
    That most of those who have not voted in recent times have simply done so because of a complacency factor. i.e. that their vote was not needed.

The Yes Voters Hope
    That most of those who have not voted in recent times have done so because they felt effectively disenfranchised by a lack of any real choice from the Westminster club. i.e. that they are voting for something actually different or for the opportunity to reinstate real choice in the future. i.e. the creation of a new state along more normal European democratic lines where there remains an element of choice and therefore potential for ultimate directional control by the collectively much more intelligent electorate rather than by a club/cabal of privilege obsessed and dehumanised elitists.

I think choosing the former over the latter requires not just the fingers in the ear, eyes screwed shut, la la la which characterises many Unionists, but a large bucket of sand to stich their head in as well.

59. Derick fae Yell

Down to my last 2 WBBs. It has been such a help.

In my desk group at work, three have been WBB’d. One definite Yes out of that – who said ‘why haven’t we heard this information before?’.

The other two were undecided – pretty sure they’ll vote Yes. One other apart from muggins was a Yes anyway.

I call my workgroup likely to be 5 Yes; 2 No, 2 not spoken to (professional environment).

60. TYRAN

Wow! David Hayman’s The Great Dictator video. Would have been great as a TV political broadcast on behalf of WOS.

– “Don’t give yourselves to these unnatural men, machine men with machine minds and machine hearts.”

He’s on about Brown, Darling & Co.

61. kininvie

Thinking ahead:

Once we have voted Yes, we move instantly into the 18 month negotiation period.

Naturally enough, both sides will wish to maintain a degree of secrecy about what is actually being negotiated and where things stand at any given time. It will be frustrating, but it is inevitable. You can’t negotiate in a blaze of publicity.

But you can bet that media will jump on every leak or rumour and blow it up into a story (probably both hostile and untrue). So we’ll need to keep the rational, good-humoured stuff going and continue to pick the media to pieces.

62. Craig P

Slogans work both ways:

If ye dinnae ken,
    say ‘feck aye then’!

63. CameronB Brodie

@ Gordon Brown
    Why have you decided to end a thourouly disastrous political carrier, by trying to mislead your fellow Scots? I thought you might have wanted to be remembered for helping empower your kin.

@ Johann Lamont
    That would be ASTONISHING, eh, especially for a virus?

@ Alistair Darling
    (inaudible mumble)

@ Douglss Alexander
    Imagine if you had principles. You could have displayed them to the Scottish public, instead of using the last TV debate to spread misinformation.

@ No Better Together Thanks
    2 + 2 = 4

P.S. I’m just grateful that George Orwell warned me about you guys, as being forewarned is to be forearmed.

64. Nan

Yesterday, I gave away my last wee blue book to a carpet fitter, he came to lay a stair carpet. He was an undecided and his wife a soft no. By the time he left, he had the wee blue book, two yes badges and a car sticker, full of determination to convince his wife to vote yes. Thanks Stuart and everyone in this place, let’s hope that on Friday, we are celebrating an Independent Scotland.

65. G H Graham

My top 7 expectations after a vote for independence tomorrow are …

1. a wholesale rejection of the elitist, top down, style of government at Westminster that relies on patronage, titles & privelege to protect its own interests, above the interests of the people

2. a preference for Scotland’s institutions of governance to reside across the cities & towns of Scotland, not all in London

3. an instruction to the Scottish government to negotiate the terms of what assets & liabilities we should inherit

4. to rebalance the social & political relationship with the remainder of the UK

5. to establish a free, democratic, national news agency that fairly reflects the aspirations of the people of Scotland, its politics, social norms & culture, instead of the financial & political interests of the British Establishment

6. to get rid of Trident & fund more productive activity that positively serves a much broader section of society rather than the small number of financial benefactors in the defence industry

7. to electronically block BBC transmissions of “Eastenders” since it probably causes even some psychologically balanced people to harm themselves

66. desimond

I ask once again

Gordon Brown?

If he is your answer then you clearly dont understand the Question.

67. Flower of Scotland

Under DOS attacks Stu?

Just posted a longish post and it disappeared!!

If it’s a YES, we will be meeting at the Scottish parliament on Friday to celebrate with like minded people! ANN.

68. D_Hamilton

Without WOS and others who’s imagination, creativity and commitment has been an inspiration to us all (far and wide) we wouldn’t be on the cusp of getting off our knees and taking control of our own destiny.

Daughter trained it up to Glasgow last night – she can’t vote but her granny can, and she will vote YES for her children and grandchildren and for all future generations.

Our time has come, close ranks and take the damaged flame of democracy from those who would extinguish it and let it shine as a beacon of hope and peace in this weary world.

69. Jim

Let’s hope this is not just the end of the Labour party in Scotland but indeed the end of party politics.

70. WantonWampum.

Do Scots stand-up in this world or do we cower beneath the lies and scaremongering elicited via tory funds from the Proven Liars of SLAB scab politicians who should be held to account for WAR CRIMES at the International Court in the Hague.?

They are in the process of desecrating the WAR GRAVES of our children who gave their young lives for the lies, the DODGY DOSSIER, that stole their youth and stole our future.

Lest we forget.

ATOS – instigated by Krash and Flipper to Punish the poor and the infirm – murdered an ex-soldier only last month by stopping his benefits – resulting in a Coroner`s Judgement that our hero – “DIED of STARVATION”.

BamCam and Clegg`s Military Covenant also died that day.

Scotland can do better.

We cannot allow these warmongers to Rob us of our dignity – when the whole world is watching and hoping for Scots to throw off the english yoke of WM.

Freedom is only hours away.

BTW
    Buy your own INDELIBLE PENCIL to make your historic mark for Freedom tomorrow.

71. James Dow

A thought for all no and undecided voters, a pertinent line from Braveheart. Dying on your bed many years from now would you be willing to trade all those days, from that day to this, for one chance, just one chance, to go back to change your mind and not be on the wrong side of history in a Sovereign Scotland your nation.

Let it be known that Scotland is a nation of warrior poets

72. Jim

If you don’t know, don’t vote would be an easier option.

73. bookie from hell

SKY said brown & Cameron on the phone hourly

74. highseastim

A former leader of the labour party Ramsay MacDonald who came from Lossiemouth will be turning in his grave at his party’s support for illegal wars and nuclear weapons, as even when he was prime minister he was “black balled” from Moray golf club in Lossiemouth for his pacifist views!!

75. geeo

Good grief !
    Broon has lost the plot.

“No graveyard in europe dies not have scots english welsh and irish laying side by side”

76. GrahamB

Haud on the noo, Ann
    The English/unionist reaction throughout has been spiteful so it will be no surprise if there is some form of orchestrated boycott. But will they be clever enough to know that if they boycott whisky and drink vodka or brandy instead they will be drinking foreign stuff? Even if they turn to London Gin will they realise that it is distilled in Scotland and shipped to London to get the juniper berries added? Will they buy Norwegian salmon instead of Scottish …
    I’m in angry mode today, shocked by the negativity of ‘if you don’t know, vote no’. Alan Taylor summed up the MSM beautifully ‘you would think it was the North Korean press’.
    Need to get out among the positive people again, afternnoon shift on the streets, George Square in the evening.
    Grrrr.

77. turnbul drier

Wow.. The polis urnae holding back.. putting the scaremongers back in their box.

http://www.spf.org.uk/2014/09/spf-media-release-independence-referendum-2/

78. Chic McGregor

Craig P
    “If ye dinnae ken,
    say ‘feck aye then’!”

The rejoinder I came up with “If your not sure of you can smell keech or not, best to say yes to an underpant change, just to be on the safe side.”

79. geeo

Does*.

Jingoism might not be the best way to go.

“The immediate risk of scots economy going down the pan”..

Duh ya nugget!

80. Macnakamura

Bbc not just broadcasting this no rally but apparently taking part in it !

81. memaw

I actually had a well known shopkeeper and Conservative voter tell me that he agreed totally with Labour on the “If you don’t know, vote No” stance. I was really shocked and told him so. I also had: a man tell me I was an arsehole, that we would have no defence,he wants to feel safe knowing that TRIDENT was there ;a young woman who said she wanted private healthcare introduced as policy and another resident told me we were stupid as we are far too small. This is Tarbert, Argyll.
    I then came home a bit down. My niece phoned to tell me what was going on in George Square, Glasgow. I watched it on Live stream and it really cheered me up. I was also told by a friend that if it is a No vote the Island of Islay will declare UDI, the feeling for Yes is so strong. So let’s hope the unofficial stats from people like RIC are correct. We need an overwhelming majority.
    The WBB has been fantastic and so has Wings over Scotland, from Rev Stuart to all the other commenters and contributors. I would have been in total despair without you all. Much love.

82. galamcennalath

@Chic McGregor

My feeling is that people who haven’t been voting feel disenfranchised. They are registering and will vote this time. Will they do what the conlablibs want? Or, will they take this opportunity to give the establishment a good kicking by voting Yes!

83. muttley79

@Murray McCallum

This site and its contributors have certainly saved me going for professional therapy over the last 18 months.

Same here.

84. Les Wilson

Lest we all forget, we are already convinced, we need some more votes and we need to keep trying to convert and secure the KN’s. We need to apply a last push.

85. Toxicfish

I’m a lurker, first time poster and will vote ‘YES’ tomorrow. I don’t think everything on this site is perfect but it’s a lot better than anything else out there.

Having started as a complete undecided –preferring Devo-Max (whatever that is, I was never sure but it avoided the ‘all or nothing’ crunch we now have) – I researched the case for and against in as much depth as I could; and considered my hopes and aspirations for my toddler’s future and the future of all the other tods in Scotland. I believe it’s about potential and the arguments have been made positively for all people in Scotland (Scottish or not) to vote yes.

The clichéd Scottish psyche is alive and well. It has been very convenient for Scots or people living in Scotland to blame successive UK governments they didn’t vote for everything that is wrong. If ‘Yes’ tomorrow, our votes in a smaller nation will be worth more and we will no longer be able to complain that it isnae our fault when things go wrong. That’s maturity.

Regardless of the truly awful BT campaign, I also can see why there is a strong emotional movement for NO. It would be wrong not to consider the impact that uncertainty has on people. I also appreciate the British thing: we do share common history and values (some good and some less so) but we will continue to even if Scotland is independent. We’re just next door after all. But, for me, the potential benefits outweigh the negatives and I think YES will also be good for democracy in the rUK.

My scariest experience has been anticipating the reaction of friends and family to my choice: some are in agreement; some vehemently opposed. I dread my email inbox in case I have more loathing thrown at me. But it hasn’t stopped me from communicating, often clumsily. I could never be a politician. Their skin must be made of brass, like their necks.

Lastly, I’ve reconnected with friends out campaigning joyously for yes and loving the connections they have made and the opportunity to explore ideas and hopes. But I’ve also had English friends who have been subject to racist attacks in Scotland and are fretful about the course the country is headed as they believe it divisive and nationalistic. I’ve tried to reassure them but their worries and those of others are real none the less and should be respected.

Thank for you helping me reconnect with politics. It has been exhilarating.

86. piggy

Emptiness, thoughtlessness, hopelessness.

That is what is being left behind.

87. galamcennalath

@Chic McGregor

My feeling is that people who haven’t been voting feel disenfranchised. They are registering and will vote this time. Will they do what the conlablibs want? Or, will they take this opportunity to give the establishment a good kicking by voting Yes!?

88. Ananurhing

My 17 year old daughter was approached last night by a woman neither of us know. She asked my daughter to thank me for the WBB. She and her husband have switched from NO/DK to Yes after reading it. We live in a presumed No area. I’m not so sure of that.

The WBBs have been like wee thought grenades. I didn’t have many, so they’ve all been strategically deployed with remarkable success.

Brilliantly well done Stu and everyone else. I’m sure the WBB will be studied by campaigners all over the world after this, as will the entire YES movement.

One sleep to go.

89. todayinscotland

Final post, please share
    It Must Be Yes, Scotland | todayinscotland
    https://todayinscotland.wordpress.com/it-must-be-yes-scotland/

90. highseastim

The former Labour leader Ramsay MacDonald from Lossiemouth will be turning in his grave at his party’s support of nuclear weapons, illegal wars, and the Tory party,after all the afore mentioned gentleman was “blackballed” from Moray golf club in Lossiemouth for his pacifist views!!

91. James Dow

Flower of Scotland. That would be MI5 again
    As you write they read.
    As you speak they listen
    You must be a confirmed enemy of the state, how exotic.
    Have you checked for bug’s

92. Wee McBaffie

Thanks for everything Rev. Stu.
    I really think you might have made a difference.

93. desimond

@James Dow

This isnt Braveheart, this is The Matrix and we are all Neo. We see the sysatem for what it truly is and we will brig it down with one swipe of our hand.

94. D_Hamilton

The abusive partner.

As the door beckons they are on their kness begging us to stay and screaming that they will ‘change’. ABUSERS DO NOT CHANGE and they will never stop lying, cheating and abusing!

People of Scotland – fly through that door amd never, never look back.

95. Carol Jardine

I second all of the above comments thanking you, Rev Campbell for showing us a better road to independence.
    It would be great if you felt able to hang around for a while, a long while.
    Cheers.

96. Phil Robertson

In the “collation of the No case”, would you care to clarify how many of these are source from Better Together and how many are fanciful stories gleaned from the press? I suspect the numbers are none and all respectively.

By the same token we would need to identify the Yes campaign with some of the personal abuse and anglophobia that appears on this site.

Ironic considering how often WoS complains about misleading stories in the media.

97. Coolheads Prevail

Loving Pravda Quay’s extended No campaign broadcast. Not a second spared for rebuttal since midday…

98. Dr Jim

It’s a very stressful time for us all
    I just hope i don’t die before the vote and be counted as a “NO”
    Any undecideds? look it up…

99. Kaspar

Watching the Daily Politics show discussing the polls(usual bias) one of the pollsters said that it was difficult to get a representative sample in Scotland as there were so few people in Scotland registered with the companies so that it is the same people who are repeatedly being asked to complete the surveys.
    Enjoyed the part where it was stated that nowadays the pollsters were usually correct seemingly forgetting about the Scottish parliament elections in 2011.However the same person making this statement was not prepared to put any money on the outcome.

100. Marydoll

I just met an American university lecturer of Scottish History who said it would be bad for the world if Scotland voted no.

I replied it would be bad for Scotland!

101. highseastim

Macart that is an absolutely inspirational piece from Derek Bateman!!

102. torquil houghmagandy ffflufington smythe

Good morning plebs This is a message from the heart from a worried man, Sir Ian Wood, some of you may be wondering why a man of my sterling qualities recently rubbished my own published report on the oil experts estimate of oil reserves.
    Let me explain, the opportunity recently arose which will allow me to add greatly to my massive fortune, we are here talking of millions if not billions, and in fairness to my children and grand children I could not let this opportunity pass, this involved the purchase of Fracking technology rights from America and if you good people vote YES a Scottish Goverment may overtun the current legislation being rushed through at Westminster allowing we entrepreneurs to conduct these operations under your property without your consent.
    Do not vote YES and a few crumbs may fall from the table of your greatfull servant.
    Ian.

103. James Dow

I’m really sick of all the talk about the massive cost’s to relocate Trident sub’s and their warheads. They are leased from America, cancel the lease, wish them a good voyage home, happy sailing, no problem, simple.

104. desimond

@Phil Robertson

You do know the NUJ statement want actually because of Nick Robinson dont you, it was because of very serious threats given from followers of BT to journalists covering referendum.

Now move along and go play with your own pals.

105. paul

So if you do know, you should vote yes?

106. desimond

BBC News 24

it seemed like an hour of Gordon Browns speech there, now its Lord Reid in studio. Does the B in BBC stand for Balanced?

107. call me dave

@emaw

Remember there are 1.3 million folk registered who have not voted before. 80% probably wont bother at the end of the day so that leaves 1.04 million.

No-one really knows which way they will break but the majority are YES according to experts and RIC.

If they split 2:1 yes then that’s 300,000 votes more for YES.

In addition word is that labour switchers to YES are at least 25% and up to 30% That’s 150,000 at least for YES from their 600,000 in the 2011 election.

High turnout expected too all to the good.

Game on! All to play for, the fat lady hasn’t even reached for the mouthwash to gargle yet. 🙂

We need just over 1.6 million votes to be OK and greater than 1,000,000 (granted not all eligible to vote) have signed up for Scotland. It’s almost within our grasp. Don’t despair.

108. Peter

Well, this is my first & probably last comment on wings, been following u for a while, glad I have kept me sane over these past 9 months, stu we owe u so much I can’t put it into words, but I’ll try, thank u from the bottom of my heart, u helped us get here & we’ll remember u forever for this, I hope u come stay in Scotland some time after all this so we can show u around & by u a drink as a thanks.

109. CameronB Brodie

@ No Better Together Thanks

It was inevitable that the closer we came to the 18th of September passions would increase but that does not justify the exaggerated rhetoric that is being deployed with increased frequency. Any neutral observer could be led to believe Scotland is on the verge of societal disintegration yet nothing could be further from the truth. – Brian Docherty, Chairman of the Scottish Police Federation

http://www.spf.org.uk/2014/09/spf-media-release-independence-referendum-2/

110. desimond

@call me dave

Remember there are 1.3 million folk registered who have not voted before. 80% probably wont bother at the end of the day so that leaves 1.04 million.

In the words of Manuel…Que?

111. Macart

@highseastim

Its a beezer isn’t it?

It sums up our butterfly rebellion beautifully. By the time I’d finished reading it my heart was fit to burst.

We must never forget what this is all about.

112. Robert Kerr

The “Don’t knows” are to be counted as “Nos” if this advice is thought through.

A variant on the 40% rule of infamy which had the dead voting no.

Of all the verbiage and verbal dysentery offered by the Noes this is to my mind the most despicable abnegation of democracy ever!

Shame on them! Shame on anyone who takes that advice!

113. goulashman

The BBC/MSM truly rancid today. The sheer bias of NO propaganda and hateful ugliness enough to show the absolutely vital need to vote YES. The Daily Mail ……. reminiscent of supporting papers in the worst dictatorships. For Scotland’s sake, for decency’s sake – VOTE YES.

114. Now's the Hour

I see that the Project Fear outlet in Cumbernauld town centre has shut up shop. I presume that either they have run out of lies to peddle or are booking their flights to Alpha Centauri before the asteroid strikes on Friday. I was having a chuckle at some of the propaganda in their window when an old boy came along, clocked my badge, and shouted, ‘Yeeess!’.
    Good times a-comin’, people.

115. goulashman

Those truly disturbing heart-shaped NO posters – like something out of George Orwelll ….

116. Now's the Hour

I see that the Project Fear outlet in Cumbernauld town centre has shut up shop. I presume that either they have run out of lies to peddle or are booking their flights to Alpha Centauri before the asteroid strikes on Friday. I was having a chuckle at some of the propaganda in their window when an old boy came along, clocked my badge, and shouted, ‘Yeeess!’.

Good times a-comin’, people.

117. pennapely

Young guy at work who’s never voted before and was openly disdainful of all things political at the start of this campaign, yesterday showed me a poem he’d written in support of independence. It mentioned the WBB and when I asked him how he knew about it, he replied that everyone knows about it.

118. Bty

I can undersand the Nos being frightened

I can understand a Tory they believe in their values and are transparent

But I can’t forgive Murohy Current Alexander and the likes who simply are conning the electorate to keep the gravy in the boat flowing……..Traitors gate a beckons

119. call me dave

@desimond

Thanks for that. 20% not expected to vote 80% expected to vote.

Sorry.

120. desimond

@Robert Kerr

Or is this a leader up to a post 1979 scam
    “Well 20% didnt vote…I dont think we can accept this after all”

Remember, scotland, only place to see a change in the rules of a vote count and never see it again ( until now?)

121. Grizzle McPuss

BBC News

12:40 MP ‘won’t back more powers’
    Philip Davies, the Conservative MP for Shipley in Yorkshire, has said he would not support further devolution plans for Scotland pledged by the leaders of the three Westminster parties should Scotland vote “No” in the referendum.

Mr Davies said on Twitter: “For the record I will not be voting to maintain an unfair funding settlement for Scotland, whatever Messrs Cameron, Miliband and Clegg say.

“In the event of a a No vote I will be doing all I can to stop MPs from Scotland voting on issues in Parliament which don’t relate to Scotland.”

122. Macca73

Wings has been an amazing read and each one of you have been a part of that too, not just the articles but the sharing of your hope and visions for the future! It’s been said many times “Oh well, Tomorrow’s a new day” but this time tomorrow really is a fresh dawn if we want it enough and we wish to keep it!

Keep positive and keep pushing till those polling stations open folks. Thank you Wings and thank each of you for doing your bit, no matter how big or small!

123. Phil

Can someone link me the facts about the myth that England subsidies Scotland. Having a online debate with a soft NO.

124. Macart

The last twenty four hours of campaigning and are the opposition out there trying to win hearts and minds?

No, they are out there trying to spread unbridled terror, indecision, smear and personalised insult.

They really don’t think much of the people of Scotland do they?

Well, anybody feeling terrified yet? 😀

125. Elizabeth

O/t

Interesting tweet

@Lairdship: Private Eye – “Telegraph Scottish editor on £20K commission if it’s a No vote!”

#Scotland #indyref #yes http://t.co/8BuPeR68mj

126. X_Sticks

Ann says:

“One thing worrying me if we vote YES is a backlash from the English”

As many and more will support us Ann. A minority may take the hump, but I believe the majority will accept the will of the Scottish people and get on with it.

127. Now's the Hour

Radio Scotland was interviewing a young No activist in Edinburgh this morning. He spouted the usual nonsense, then said that they’d be putting in a big final push, advising DKs, ‘If you don’t know, vote No’. The correct advice, of course, would have been, if you don’t know, there’s still time to do some research and formulate your own opinion.

Don’t these clowns realise that this desperate ‘advice’ boils down to ‘we’ve no coherent arguments left’? Don’t they realise that the electorate isn’t stupid and will see through their pathetic entreaties? Don’t they realise it is a complete abdication of all that democracy stands for? Doesn’t he realise that that was how voting was carried out in the old corrupt regimes of Eastern Europe? (Do as we say!)

The young’s man’s name was Tom Masters. Tom, you’re only 21, you’re still young and naïve. Maybe you’ll learn. And when the DKs vote YES, be ready to enjoy the better society you’ll be living in.

128. Sonas

Labour are making it worse for themselves with every move they make in this campaign.

“If you don’t know, Vote No” – betrays so much about their attitude to their supporters. For every election for the past 50 years plus in places like Glasgow and Lanarkshire the hidden slogan has been “If you don’t know, Vote Labour”.

To cling on to any power, they need voters to be kept ignorant. Vote Labour unthinkingly, uncritically, or do not vote at all. Low turnouts in constituencies like Pollok are a disgrace, an affront to democracy. But for Labour that’ll do just fine because Ian Davidson and Johann Lamont and the like keep on winning.

But now, they are held in the bright beam of light shone on them by many, many newly engaged voters. An uncomfortable place to be, I’m sure. And that won’t change whether the outcome is Yes or No. We will not forget how they have campaigned.

129. Colin

@Ann says:

“One thing worrying me if we vote YES is a backlash from the English”

All the more reason to vote Yes, an independent Scotland could then build a strong agriculture and manufacturing base, which will make us less dependent on imports and give us more to export.

130. Peter G

Lovely Guardian article comparing Scotland with Kosovo and South Sudan. Just below the mad rantings of the Heir to Franco and next to Michael “bash the Jocks” White’s supercilious London Uber Alles drivel.

And I’m banned from commenting again. Took 5 days this time. Comment is FREE and FACTS are sacred. Except for viewers in Scotland.

131. Stevie boy

Phil

Scotland does receive around £1200 per person more than rUK but we pay in around £1700 more per head so you win your debate mate. 🙂

132. tombee

When we win this, it will be, in no small way, due to the efforts and dedication to the social media sites. Without their contribution the Yes campaign would have been “stuffed”.

Without a medium to offset the pure bias of the BBC and their like, who knows how this would have turned out.

We will always be indebted to Wings over Scotland, News Net and Face book, who have backed the ground campaign to the hilt.

THANK YOU ALL.

133. Kenny

Michelle Thomson starts at 5:40 on how Scottish economy is far richer than the UK as a whole.

In list of nations rated according to GDP per capita, UK is rated No. 18. But Scotland would be No. 14 — before taking into account other factors which would accrue to an independent nation, meaning Scotland could even be couple of points higher post-independence.

134. Haggis Hunter

Got every last one of the 750 WBBs I received delivered, firstly did all the known undecideds in Montrose, then went round the Yes houses asking if they would help, which every one did

135. gillie

The Tories are revolting. Another Tory MP comes out and says he will not vote for more powers for Scotland.

136. Stevie boy

Phil

Other thing mate. If we were ‘subsidised’ by England does your soft No friend really believe that they would be almost on their knees begging us to stay?

No chance!!

137. a2

In the dentists this morning, found myself shocked at the Telegraph’s front page story, Apparently we are rioting in the street. I know it’s not surprising but seeing it in Black and white was still a shock.

Still when I came out of a right good drilling, the wbb was sitting on the receptionists desk rather than the bin.

138. Free Scotland

Right, that’s it, I’m now a “No” voter.

I’m voting “No” to weapons of mass destruction on the Clyde.
    I’m voting “No” to Scottish involvement in Westminster’s illegal wars.
    I’m voting “No” to Westminster’s plundering of Scottish resources.
    I’m voting “No” to any propaganda which suggests that Scotland is not capable of being a successful independent country.

Ooops! Nearly forgot to stay positive. As it says on my carton of Del Monte apple juice, “Say Yes to the Best.”

139. Phil

Thanks Stevie Boy!

140. Kenny

My posts not appearing on economic issues! Just “Google Michelle Thomson of Business for Scotland”!

141. desimond

@Phil

The WBB link at top of the site tells you all you or your friend would need to know regards the truth and spun subsidy lies.

142. James Dow

Dear Scotland this is my last post. Although removed from Scotland as a boy my awareness and love for my people and land has always been with me.
    Culminating in returning HOME as a piper in the Rat’s of Tobruk Memorial Pipes and Drums to perform in the 2005 Tattoo.
    It is difficult to describe my emotions on being reunited with both the city of my birth and my homeland. My vision was distorted often by salty tears that overwhelmed me on occasions, the soulful emotional attachment all too powerful.
    Although half a world away, and sixty years since emigrating I sill remain deeply. passionately, in love with my ancient homeland, I pay homage to the air that first gave me life, fortunately for me it was Scottish air.

Every cell of my being cries out for Sovereignty
    Where the Saltire fly’s free, in the free air, of a free Scotland
    For that I would give my life’s blood.

143. gordoz

Maybe, just maybe 11th hr ‘undecided’ Socialists & Labour voters should have a watch of this impassioned speech by David Hayman before they vote.

(‘Homage’ to the ‘great dictator’ speech within the Paolo Nutini song Iron sky)

(Paolos song is not bad either – should say if your looking fro inspiration)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBOj1xAu2NQ

144. Chic McGregor

galamcennalath

I’m sure that is what all of us here believe, and I suspect the majority of Unionists too.

145. Phil

Stevie Boy, How do i answer this?
    Nope u pay the same % as the rest of us! The figures suggest the “average” Scottish house pays £800 more than the average English house, but this is not additional percentage this is because of the earnings per person. You have to balance the “extra” (it’s not really extra!) £800 income with the £1200 addition spending in Scotland compared to the English. So £800 in £1200 back your £600 a year better off! To put it another way Scotland is running a 12billion deficit. This is with stacking all the figures in the best possible way ie including the maximum oil revenue etc. so when you go independent where will the £600 deficit come from? More taxes or less spending? Which will lead to a “fairer society” than the one you currently have? The only other problem is because the Scottish economy small and you will have a different currency, will you be able to borrow money on the open market t the same rates as you have now? Probably not. So you will probably see the Bank of England lending you money as we would not want to see our lost family struggling but England will carry the Scottish loan liability. Not very fair on the north east?

146. bjsalba

That leaflet didn’t come through my door. However I did get a test screening kit which has the proper Scottish logo on it.

147. Greannach

Paul Mason (C4) being interviewed on Ireland’s Newstalk 106 ‘Lunchtime’ programme. I’m so used to the likes of the BBC, that he came across as being on the Yes side. Then I remembered he was being, clear, factual and unbiased: a bit like journalists used to be.

148. Peter G

And today The Herald has managed to get us down to only 13 Billion barrels of oil. 24 Billion when Cameron was in Aberdeen preaching to the UK media about the glorious future for the British Oil industry. Now we’ve halved that figure and are well on our way to that mad Londoner Ali Darling’s 2 Billion reserve.

What a lovely country in which we live. Vote No and enjoy being laughed at for the rest of your lives.

149. desimond

@Greannach

Paul Mason tweeted “Im so glad im out of all that” the other night in response to BBC biased reporting and selective editing

His Northern Soul documentary was also excellent, highly recommended

150. Nana Smith

On the day when record high employment figures in Scotland are released, the spectator publish guff…

http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/coffeehouse/2014/09/scotland-could-never-prosper-under-the-snp-because-they-dont-understand-business/

151. Robert Peffers

haud on the noo says: 17 September, 2014 at 11:28 am:

“There may be a short and pitiful decision by a few Mail readers to boycott Scottish produce but that’ll last a few weeks then back to normal.”

Aye! Haud on, Like the rich Tory MPS and Lords who were urging the great United Kingdom public to not buy French goods when General De Gaul was saying Non! to the UK getting into the Common Market. Many doing so with a glass of Champpers in their hands.

152. BillH

I was Labour all my life up until Blair/Mandelson. I’d always thought that Independence would see a return of a strong, decent, peoples Labour party in Scotland. Alas the self interested performance of Lamont, Darling, Alexander, all of ‘Scottish’ Labour, has been nothing short of treacherous. Now Brown can only be described as disgusting. On his £150,000+ Ex.PM allowance jolleying round the world on his Private Charity jet and telling us to vote to keep the Food Banks, Child Poverty et al. Now telling us the NHS is safe when his pal Cameron has already sold it out to the Americans. I’m certain the only Social Democratic Party left in these Islands is the SNP.

153. Onwards

This “Don’t know – vote No” slogan is as patronising as the ‘Shut up and eat your cereal’ advert.

The NO campaign are treating the voters of Scotland like idiots, and I suspect it will backfire on them.

If anyone is still undecided, then the logical advice is to read both campaign websites, read the wee blue book etc, ask questions, consult friends etc – then make a final decision on what you think the best way to move forward.

It is the biggest decision in the history of Scotland, and people deserve better than Gordon Brown treating them like sheep.

154. WantonWampum.

The DODGY DOSSIER at least made an attempt to supply some info, however many lies it supplied.

“THE VOW” has the simple distinction of more lies and far less detail than the original dodgy dossier that took our weans into illegal war.

After hundreds of thousands of people have Registered their Postal Vote – they come up with their umpteenth dodgy dossier – a mish-mash proposal that is NOT ON THE INDYREF BALLOT.?

Once again the Electoral Commission has been proven to be – not worthy of the title, not worth the candle, as they comply solely with BT and MSM.

We must rid Scotland of these uselass bastids on Friday.

The bell has rung for the last round of this bout and thanks to “Wingers” today we are are still throwing KO Punches – right to the final bell.

We are within touching distance of a victory for Common sense – where RIGHT defies might.

Keep yer eye on the EC Referee – muddafutta.

BTW – to G H GRAHAM above – I would add a new system of Electoral Reform whereby – Ballot Boxes can be Tracked from Polling Station to destination at every count.
    see Glenrothes.

155. benarmine

No voters are being asked by Brown to make a patriotic decision for Scotland but they should be under no illusion – the choice they are making is the UK and not Scotland. They are being fooled.

156. godoz

Sorry – Forgot to say to the No Voters and No swithering undecideds.

Please make sure you go out and find a good vantage point to look over & survey this wonderful country (I’ll remind you which one – Scotland) and also take a right good look into the eyes of your fellow country men / women.

Please understand what you will be putting at risk by buying a last minute meaningless fudge / bribe from the UK.

Remember there is form here; they will let you down if you vote NO and let the residents of Scotland down.

157. Brotyboy

@Nana Smith 1.04pm

Great link Nana, thank you.

158. Robert Peffers

The Local (newest),Labour MSP set up a table in our Main Street. (His home village). One of our vans made a pass of his stall with speakers going. I was on my way there too. but was rather disappointed on arriving in the Main Street and turning on my speakers to find a single pass by a YES van had driven the MSP away.

May be Mr Rowley, who obviously doesn’t need a food Bank, just needed his lunch. Now I’ve had my lunch I’ll away and see if he needs to hear the YES side of things again. Then again, he may have been under the impression he owned the exclusive right to campaign in the Main Street.

I suppose that’ll just make me a nasty separatist though.

159. Findlay Farquaharson

Woman along the road from me and her sister terrified of voting yes due to the naw propoganda, gave her and her sister a wee blue book last week. Her sister is now a hard yes while the frightened woman told me today she will prob vote yes now.

160. Colin Church

It’s the Gordon Brown show. He comes across as the sociopath we all knew he was in the labour party. (even according to Blair and Darling). His interview with Dimbleby was revealing. HE has looked at the issues and has decided the best course of action. It is not about Scottish powers it is about his, not the people’s intellect but his, not the people’s interest but his, for his ego and his party and the Westminster machine. A failed politician, a clunking fist, our imperial master and a Lord in waiting.

161. bookie from hell

private eye

alan Cochrane

10k bonus NO vote
    20k bonus 60/40 NO

162. John Lyons

Don’t know vote no is the most abhorrent political campaign I’ve ever seen. We’d rather keep you ignorant than give you a reason to support us. Disgraceful.

163. Craig P

O/T – I’ve been reading the Daily Record in the last week. To my surprise it has distinguished itself by giving space to both sides of the argument. For a brief period, even though it is officially unionist, the Daily Record might be the most balanced MSM outlet available at this crucial time. I never in my whole life thought I would ever write that.

164. Indy_Scot

Anyone elses comments disappearing.

165. manandboy

http://www.opendemocracy.net/ourkingdom/mika-miniopaluello/what%27s-missing-from-oil-debate-around-scotland%27s-referendum

Oppressed and robbed by idiots

Britain only receives a fraction of the oil revenues that Norway receives. In 2010, the state revenue per barrel in Norway was $48.50; in Britain it was only $21.50 – less than half.

The value of Scotland’s proven reserves per UK resident under the current fiscal regime is $1,020. If an independent Scotland mirrored Norway’s tax & ownership structure over oil, the value would be $27,479 per Scottish resident.

166. Kevin Evans

Just heard the “NO” campaign were outside the post offices informing pensioners this might be the last time they get there pension. Disgusting lies – ask retired people in Spain or Australia if they still get there uk pension and the answer is “yes of course i do”.

167. manandboy

Duplicate comment detected; it looks as though you’ve already said that!

http://www.opendemocracy.net/ourkingdom/mika-miniopaluello/what%27s-missing-from-oil-debate-around-scotland%27s-referendum

Oppressed and robbed by idiots

Britain only receives a fraction of the oil revenues that Norway receives. In 2010, the state revenue per barrel in Norway was $48.50; in Britain it was only $21.50 – less than half.

The value of Scotland’s proven reserves per UK resident under the current fiscal regime is $1,020. If an independent Scotland mirrored Norway’s tax & ownership structure over oil, the value would be $27,479 per Scottish resident.

168. Martin Wood

Nice to see there is an official body willing to report the truth for a change…….

The Police Federation have made an official statement regarding the accusations of violence and bullying by YES supporters..

They have repeated that Scots are law abiding citizens and that Scotland is not on the brink of social disintegration.

to quote the best bit

“Police officers must be kept free from the distractions of rhetoric better suited to the playground that the political stump. If crime has been committed it will be investigated and dealt with appropriately but quite simply police officers have better things to do than officiate in spats on social media and respond to baseless speculation of the potential for disorder on and following polling day”

a bit of honesty for once

169. GodsCountry

Just off the phone to my mum who had a one of us chapping on her door last night. She told him she didn’t want a window sticker for fear of getting it bricked. I told her she was being daft!! She went on to tell the campaigner that she and almost all of her close family were voting YES. He asked how many that was. She said 23 out of 25. He went away a happy man. I pray he is just as happy on the morning of the 19th. In God we trust!!!

170. NOT Exempt

“UK Government Confirms NHS is NOT Exempt from Controversial Trade Deal (TTIP)”

http://saveournhshull.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/uk-government-confirms-nhs-is-not-exempt-from-controversial-trade-deal-ttip/

171. boris

It is time to start reading. TTIP is a massive treaty. Scotland needs to be sure the NHS is exempt otherwise we go down the same road as England

http://ttip2014.eu/qa.html

172. Kid Spotlight

Brown is poisonous. His legacy is a litany of lies, wasteful policies, misguided thinking and (above all) political cowardice. As a final chance to salvage his reputation he is working for the Tories to undermine free speech and democracy by denying the right of self determination for his own country.

As nervous about the future as non-decided folks might be about voting YES, they’ll be a lot more nervous about the future next week if they vote NO – and Scotland is doomed to another generation (at least) of penury under Boris, Nigel et al.

173. manandboy

If I could give you a present Stu as a way of saying ‘Thank you’ I’d give you a gold mine.

174. Lesley-Anne

I’m not long in from doing a wee stint at the YES South Annandale stall in Annan today. What a magnificent atmosphere. It may just be me, it usually is, but there is definitively something in the air and it definitely is NO fear!

We had the usual small quota of NO supporters, boy are they in for one hell of a shock on Friday 😉 , but the vast, VAST majority of people passing by were FOR YES as were a significant number of vehicles. 😛

The word here in Dumfries and Galloway, from a friend of a friend of a friend is that the figures look like being around 42% for YES down here. I know folks will be disappointed but remember guys this is Tory heartland! To be honest if we DO reach 42% or possibly even higher then we’ll well and truly have given the Better whatsits a damned good bloody nose. By the way, the word from on high that I inferred to a week or so back was that if we, down here in D&G, hit 30% then YES will have won in Scotland!

In my view though the Better whatsits have lost their place down here. I believe they are actually quite complacent of winning and to that end it may very well work to OUR advantage. Due to, in my opinion, their over complacency then I think we may very well see a load of NO supporters not bothering to vote which could result in a YES win. I know, I know I’m talking pish, but remember as the village idiot on here I am allowed to talk pish!

Damn. NO Whatsits have just been round the doors. He didn’t knock MY door. Why not? I would have talked to him politely, HONEST! I guess it must have been the TWO wee YES stickers on the letter box that scared him away. That’s what it was, after all we are all infectious according to one woman the other day! 😛

It was great meeting up with David today as well. Hope you enjoy the rest of today David. Oh and try and keep your celebrations on Friday down to a DULL roar please, some of us may have a sore head! 😎

175. Kevin Evans

Just remember we have already won – there struggling to keep the lid on there lies and come Friday it will come bursting out across the media for everyone to see.

People will be looking at each other saying “we’ve been scammed”. The no campaign and westminster will have to answer to there lies and every one of them will face a mass public outcry.

It will be 1979 all over again but this time a lot more angry people.

Just remember vote yes and be able to look yourself in the mirror for the rest of your lives.

176. manandboy

Duplicate comment detected; it looks as though you’ve already said that!

If I could give you a present Stu

as a way of saying ‘Thank you’

Id give you a gold mine.

177. Nana Smith

just received from Broon and my reply is at the bottom,even though he probably won’t see it. Felt bloody good writing it.

From: Gordon Brown [mailto:onenationpolitics@labour.org.uk]
    Sent: 17 September 2014 1:20 PM
    To: Nana Smith
    Subject: This could swing the referendum

Nana Smith,

News broke yesterday that could swing the outcome of the referendum: the SNP have been hiding plans to make £500 million of cuts to our NHS if there’s a Yes vote.

The NHS lie of Alex Salmond has been exposed. People need to know the truth about what he will do to Scotland if they vote Yes.
    Can you share this on Facebook now?

SHARE ON FACEBOOK

Tomorrow we will cast the most important vote of our lives, a decision we can never go back on. It’s vital that people can vote based on the facts — not Alex Salmond’s falsehoods.

Click here to share the graphic now.

Thank you.

Gordon

My reply….

You are the liar! Labour party is dead in Scotland and hopefully in England as well. Treacherous scurrilous desperation from a failure of a man and a party.

178. stewart bc

DON’T KNOW how he sleeps at night!

179. Colin

@ stewart bc

“DON’T KNOW how he sleeps at night!”

With at least one eye shut.

180. Macart

@Lesley-Anne

Got your party hat ready?

Over here in the west of the region we’re looking at a good turn out. 😉

181. Joma

Stu and all Wingers.

I am a 78 year old grandfather with four grand kids. The three youngest don’t have a vote so it is for them that I am voting YES tomorrow. I don’t want them to grow up , as Prof. Tom Devine says, in a failed state. There will be difficulties and mistakes made in the early years of our Independent Scotland but I am certain they will grow up in a fairer and more just society.
    To all who are still uncertain I say -Do Not Be Afraid . It is about EMPOWERMENT. Vote Yes.
    To you Stu and all Wingers my heartfelt thanks for all your hard work and inspiration.

182. Macart

@Nana

*BIG CHEER* 🙂

183. manandboy

Indy_Scot says:
    17 September, 2014 at 1:41 pm
    Anyone elses comments disappearing.

Repeatedly – I suspect it’s a login issue with WordPress

184. Kevin Evans

My comments are fine – guess am not on MI5’s radar yet … Lol

185. Nana Smith

Hip Hip Hooray Macart!!!!!!!!

186. Dorothy Bruce

Interesting that this says, “News broke yesterday that could swing the outcome of the referendum…”

Suggests to me that he (or rather the writer) knows No is losing and Yes is winning, or that No only has a very slight lead that could be lost tomorrow, and they are desperately looking for something to swing this.

A response to this needs to be shared widely to counteract and rubbish the scare, and emphasis what AS has done in his letter – that this is not about Brown, or Labour or the SNP, or indeed the NHS. This is about the better governance of Scotland and all those who live here.

187. Andrew Paterson

I heard about the woman in the hairdresser who is going to vote NO because she does not want to lose Coronation Street.
    Oh dear.

188. manandboy

If I could give you a present Stu

as a way of saying ‘Thank you’

I’d give you a gold mine.

189. John

Well guys we all head off tomorrow to vote YES
    Thanks to every one on the site- you have made me change my mind and I am eternally thankfull for that. Hopefully we will all meet up in Glasgow or Edinburgh on Friday. In a free, peaceful and independent Scotland. A cry of freedom shall go out to the world and a new start for our beautiful wee land that promises hope for everyone.

190. TD

So, to sum it all up:

BTNT want us to vote to keep sending our money to Westminster.
    They want to use our money to pay for Trident, HS2, aircraft carriers and tax cuts for millionaires.
    They want us to keep looking after their toys at Faslane.
    They want us to accept that, more often than not, we will get a government imposed on us that we don’t want.
    They want us to be OK with the cuts that will inevitably be imposed on our health service.
    They want us to accept privatisation of our health service.
    They want us to believe that something (not defined) will be done to give us more powers (even when their own back-benchers are openly saying they will not pass the legislation in the House of Commons).
    They want us to vote No so that we don’t break David Cameron’s heart.

And all of the above is summed up with the content free messages “I just believe that we’re better together” and “we can have the best of both worlds”. The bit I don’t understand is how can anyone who has thought about it for even a nano-second still contemplate voting No? But I suppose that brings us full circle to GB’s plea – don’t think or inform yourself, just vote No.

191. Kevin Evans

By the way – I’ve loved this site – yes there’s been moments lately where frustration has appeared by I can understand why – but like someone else commented this site has been a form of therapy – positive message and hope that a sense of humanity is strong. Thanks to everyone who posts comments and articles.

This is just the beginning.

192. Lesley-Anne

Macart says:

@Lesley-Anne

Got your party hat ready?

Over here in the west of the region we’re looking at a good turn out. 😉

that’s a big HELL YEAH from me Macart! 😛

I’m hoping it’s a big turnout on our side as well. The down side being as we’re right at the border we’re where there will be a significant number of NOES. That said, the YESSERS are here as well. I won’t be chewing my finger nails over our result but the higher it is for YES then obviously the louder my cheer will be. 😉

193. matthewe

Huge Thanks to Stuart.

Sat in the Scottish Parliament cafe. Apart from the media ‘village’ it is quieter today than it was last month.

I joked with the security guards in the airport style security check that they would be out of a job after the terrorist threat had disappeared. Apparently there are stil a ot of nutters out there anyhow. ; )

194. Paul Murphy

More oddity from the Beeb. Just now they were quoting Cameron’s last ditch speech and he himself made a reference to the latest jobs figures which show unemployment in Scotland now lower than the UK then mysteriously that part of the quote disappears…..

How peculiar?

195. Paul Murphy

Wish I had taken a screen grab of it first 🙁

196. Macart

@Nana

Well said in that reply Nana.

We know what they’ve been up to for the past three years and most especially the past fortnight. They’re ramping the volume up to eleven and still trying to frighten and cow people into a jelly of fear and apathy.

Now I’m just an average fella. Average from my socks to ma wooly hat and I can tell you what I think of people who constantly try to intimidate me. I get angry.

Angry at the insults, angry at the tone, angry at the repetition, but most of all angry that people we entrusted with our future upon a time have turned on us in the fashion they have. Well, they’ve got less than a day to get their CVs in order. 🙂

197. A.N.Surgent

RT doing vote on bias of media coverage on Independence. 74% yes

http://rt.com/uk/

A vote for no means

Stay wee
    Stay poor
    Stay stupid

198. manandboy

Commenting has become like tying your boot laces

with ski mitts on.

199. bookie from hell

if NO scrapes thru—Gordon brown will be trashed again by London media for devo +

200. Macart

@Lesley-Anne

Just like you said darlin’, we return better than 40% from this region, then we’ll have done right well.

I know we can. 🙂

201. A.N.Surgent

Also RT doing social media trend on YES or no

http://rt.com/uk/188404-scottish-referendum-live-updates/

202. manandboy

Commenting is now a lottery

203. bookie from hell

307 years – how long the union has been in existence

•703 days – how long the referendum campaign has been up and running

•4,285,323 – the number of registered voters

•£1,033,475 – how much more money Better Together has received in major campaign donations than Yes Scotland over the past year

•79% – the probability of a No vote based on gambling patterns, according to Betfair

•95,600 – the number of Twitter followers of Yes Scotland

•275,000 Facebook interactions a day

•357767 317879 – the grid reference of the new centre of the UK if Scotland leaves

•6am – the estimated time of the last result to be called in the referendum

204. Flower of Scotland

My previous post about NO balloons in Strathmiglo is INCORRECT! Because I couldn’t see the writing on one lamppost I assumed they were NOs. But they are YES balloons!YESSSSSSSSSSSS!

They have made me smile and made my day!

Thanks Stu again for your great journalism!

205. Roughian

Lucy Adams on BBC Scotland has clearly nailed her colours to the mast. She’s had the same Red, White and Blue outfit on for the last 3 Days.
    One more negative for BT. We won’t be able to buy HP sauce after Friday, it’ll be Broon sauce for us.
    Thank you all the Wingers who have kept me educated and informed on so many things during this referendum period.

206. bookie from hell

Pass the sick bucket

Piers Morgan ? @piersmorgan
    Follow
    The new Braveheart > Gordon Brown.

207. laukat

@lesley anne

I was sure I heard the editor of the local paper in Dumfries being interviewed yesterday morning in GMS. Unless I was imagining things he said that in the 79 and 99 the area had been 60N/40Y however he was insisting this time around it would be much closer. When I heard it I was slightly surprised hence I query if I heard the correct thing

208. Squaresausage

Hi folks …. writing to you from Sydney, Australia. Very positive piece on SBS Evening News tonight. Can’t believe it’s finally about to happen. Can’t eat, can’t sleep. I’m a total mess! lol Wondering if any of the bars here are hosting post-referendum celebrations for expats like myself. Quite a large Scottish diaspora here, especially over in the Eastern Suburbs. On my way home from work today passed a shop with a huge Saltire flag in the window next to an equally large Scottish Royal Standard. All my Aussie friends think independence is a no-brainer with a widely held view that the press are “at it” and definitely not to be trusted. Murdoch controls the Australian media with an iron fist and orchestrated a virulent anti-Labor campaign which saw Tony Abbott rise to power. And we all know Mr Abbott’s views on Scottish independence, don’t we? Anyway, it’s been a pleasure to share this journey with you all over the past few months, even if from afar. Whatever the outcome (and I do think it will go our way) Scotland will be changed forever. Let’s make history tomorrow!

209. desimond

@manandboy

If youre throwing aw these gold mines about, i’ll take one of your hands fella!

210. Cactus

Whoever wins tomorrows vote is going to be screaming YES! So we might as all well get it right the first time.

A massive YES YES exclamation mark is going to beam from Scotland, out into space.. they’ll probably hear us on the space-station 🙂

Undecided voters, make sure you’re on the right side of the vote, because when this goes through, there’s gonna be a minority of people in need of post independence therapy.. unfortunate but necessary for our people.

211. kalmar

I saw a mention that G Broon was to be giving a speech in Dalgety Bay this evening. Anyone have more info on that, and how an ordinary Labour-voting member of the public might get themselves invited?

212. Nana Smith

@Macart

Anger at labour for me started when Blair and Campbell fabricated lies to assist the US with arms sales and their unquenchable thirst for oil. Since then they piled on the pressure with atos, PFI and all the other tory policies.

But my anger towards them in the last year has turned to loathing because of the reasons you give.

213. Colin

There is a nice wee artice in the Guardian explaining how the tory and labour backbenchers are going to veto and new powers and any new funding offers to Scotland.

There will be no new powers or money, people should take to the social media sites and tell everyone.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/16/politicians-scottish-funding-pledge-anger-daily-record

214. muttley79

Gordon Brown is only interested in himself. He completely destabilised the last Labour government, all because he was desperate to be PM. When he did become PM, he dithered and delayed calling a general election. He had his infamous Mansion House speech were he spewed forth the most neoliberal shit imaginable. Brown was PM when the largest financial crash since the 1930s occurred in 2007-2008. He welcomed and fawned over Thatcher. Crash Gordon threw mobile phones at people, and generally acted like a maniac and arsehole. When he was Chancellor he sold gold off at a scandalously low price, and put his great clunking fist into pensions.

Brown does not give a fuck about Scotland, social justice, or his own constituents. He is looking to get into the House of Lords. Crash Gordon is a massive fraud and charlatan.

215. Gary

Knowledge is power…ignorance is bliss.

216. Indy_Scot

Not sure who said it, but it’s a moon landing quote,

“Let’s make Scottish history, not Scotland history.“

217. Clootie

Phil says:
    17 September, 2014 at 12:52 pm
    Can someone link me the facts about the myth that England subsidies Scotland. Having a online debate with a soft NO.

Get on to businessforscotland

Several articles destroy that myth.

218. Les Wilson

All the Unionist TV stations hard at it today, around 80% unionist propagandists and 20% (if) YES.

If we win this and we CAN, we can walk tall on Friday morning.

219. Macart

@Nana

Not long now and frankly I’m champing at the bit to head for that polling station.

Let’s make it loud. 🙂

220. Lesley-Anne

Macart says:

@Lesley-Anne

Just like you said darlin’, we return better than 40% from this region, then we’ll have done right well.

I know we can. 🙂

I think we will be doing just that Macart. Better whatsits are in for a right bloody nose on Friday morning. 😉

I don’t listen to the radio much Laukat so unfortunately I can’t confirm it. That said the word from those in the D&G YES campaign who look into voting intentions etc do seem to be pretty sure that we will be hitting at least 42% if not higher. As I said earlier, I believe the Better whatsits down here have been rather lackadaisical in their performance and therefore the NO vote may not be so eager to get out tomorrow whereas the YES vote will and we could, fingers, toes, legs and every thing else crossed, just about sneak it down here.

Win or lose in D&G we WILL be celebrating though because on Friday Scotland will have WON. Scotland will have voted overwhelmingly for YES! 😛

221. Colin Church

Brown’s real message – If you don’t know… I and all my pals in the Westminster machine have done a great job, we’ve frightened the pensioners on a thing that is not disputed, blitzed the media with misinformation from business and organisations a paper width from the tory establishment, held the pound hostage to create a never ending circular conversation that wasted hours of debate because we could. We have convinced you you are too wee, too poor and too stupid. Now you are also too feart so do as your imperial master says and in your state of confusion save the westminster machine. Well F* off Brown. I will relish their comeuppance. Let it be YES. let’s do this.

222. Peter G

Scotland Yard called in after Respect MP sent mystery substance in threat apparently linked to his views on Israel.

Strange that Galloway manages to blame evil Yes voters for all of his ills.
    Attacked by pro Israeli unionist in London. Blame Salmond. Ridiculed by young Scottish voters. Blame Salmond.
    Lose your deposit in Scottish election and scuttle away to Bradford. Blame Salmond.

And given the amount of female staff members he’s been caught interfering with over his career it’d be a miracle he’s not already got some sort of virus, deadly or otherwise.

223. Nana Smith

Aye folks their desperation is ramping up,second email today so far and my reply is at the bottom.

Nana Smith,

Tomorrow is going to be an historic occasion — and it’s the tireless work of our volunteers up and down the country that’s going to help us deliver a No vote, and a stronger Scotland in the UK.

Our work doesn’t end when the polls open tomorrow morning. It’s up to us to get out the vote, by ensuring that every one of our supporters is able to cast their ballot.

While there are no campaign centres in your area, there are still ways for you to get involved. Please get in touch with your local organiser to find out how:

Contact name: Leia Farnan
    Contact number: 07875 314077

Any amount of time you can lend is so greatly appreciated and even an hour or two will make a real difference.

I know I can count on you to do your part, and I can’t wait for us to bring home a victory for Scotland and for all the UK.

Thanks for your support,

Johann

Johann Lamont
    Leader of the Scottish Labour Party

P.S. There are polling day events going on all over Scotland. Click here to search for an event near you.

My reply….

Wow how very astonishing, yet another begging letter from SLAB which is so terribly undignified. Volunteers must be very thin on the ground. Never mind you’ll have plenty time on your hands real soon and maybe you can get yourself down to volunteering at a foodbank near you as there are plenty of them. Labour’s record in power for 30 years has been dismal to say the least!

224. Clarinda

Clarinda says:

17 September, 2014 at 2:38 pm

When I was 16 I was assistant editor of our school magazine and carried out a totally unscientific survey on the thoughts of 30 local citizens chosen at random on their views on Home Rule – as it was then. The result was positive even then.

My grandfather when he came to Edinburgh in 1905 from the far highlands set up its first Gaelic society – it is still in business – as he wished to sustain his culture, literature and language, such was his determination to promote his love of this country. You will realise when I say I was 16 that was in the 60s – so my whole life I have been made more than aware of the road to Independence.

My late father (a Seaforth POW following capture – he never used the term ‘surrender’ at St Valery en Caux)was a passionate promoter of Independence and our house was frequently full of remarkable people who shared that same desire. I still see their names referred to when reading the Scottish and political history of Independence movements. Surrender has never been part of my family’s behaviour or ethos.

So you will understand my emotions – in exhilarating sympathy with so many here and elsewhere – as I respect the privilege I have tomorrow in acting not just on my and my children’s behalf but Scotland’s potential when I vote.

Thank you so much for providing this unique resource of information and debate. I suspect the real work is just about to start. Thank you Rev. Stuart Campbell and all Wingers.

225. Macart

Oh this is weird.

I’m getting an uncanny urge to photograph my bum and post a moon shot to Gordon Brown.

Naw, I’ll just settle for voting YES and watching him and Darling retreat back to W1 with their tails tucked between their legs.

226. Lesley-Anne

Squaresausage says:

Hi folks …. writing to you from Sydney, Australia. Very positive piece on SBS Evening News tonight. Can’t believe it’s finally about to happen. Can’t eat, can’t sleep. I’m a total mess! lol

If YOU are in the situation where you can’t eat, sleep etc and are a total mess SS how the hell do you think WE feel? 😛

It’s all right for you, you live thousands of miles away, we’re living it every second. Have NO FEAR though. We are on our way. There is NO stopping us now. YES WILL WIN! The only question mark is by how much. Believe! That is all it takes … BELIEF! 😉

227. Derick fae Yell

Phil
    See Scotland’s Balance Sheet. The relative net fiscal balance between Scotland and rUK in 2011/12 was +£4.4bn. Scotland subsidised rUK by £4.4bn in that year. For comparision: the new Queensferry Crossing (Forth Bridge) is one of the largest engineering projects in Europe at the moment. It will cost £1.45bn. We could have built three new Forth Bridges for the money sent south in just that one year.

Professor Dunleavy estimated the set up costs for the Scottish State as £0.2bn. The payback time, compared to the annual subsidy we send south, is about three weeks.
    http://www.scotland.gov.uk/Resource/0041/00418420.pdf

Scotland’s Balance Sheet is prepared from GERS (Government Expenditure and Revenue for Scotland) – and those are basically UK Treasury figures.

228. Chic McGregor

Stuart you are a hero. That is not a platitude, you are an honest to goodness hero. You have lead wisely, your effort workrate and ability to get to the nub of things and demolish the agendised crap from the Dependency brigade has been totally exceptional. But above all the courage you have shown in the face of vilification, abuse ‘legal’ threats and attempts at coercion has been quite, quite, astonishing.

If there is a Yes vote, I will, with much relief (all round 🙂 ) it has to be said, no longer contribute to any of the forums I currently do. If there is a No vote, sadly the fight must go on – a little longer.

But one last thing I would dearly like to do as a personal tribute if we win our way to normal levels of self-government, would be to sculpt a bust of you, free of charge of course. I suspect, commissioning a bust of yourself, even the smallish desktop version I envisage, would be the very last thing you would do or want. But I do hope you may consider allowing me that honour.

229. The Rough Bounds

A nincompoop had a letter in the Courier the other day telling us that if we vote Yes then the English wouldn’t join us in singing ‘Auld Lang Syne’ any more.

This, folks, is the kind of thing we are fighting against. Sheer, unadulterated, stupidity.

230. X_Sticks

Macart says:

“I’ll just settle for voting YES and watching him and Darling retreat back to W1 with their tails tucked between their legs.”

Apart from the one little fact that they’re going to find that they suddenly don’t have any friends there and that W1 doesn’t want them any more.

lol

231. Macandroid

Chic

Where’s the ‘boom’ to go with the ‘bust’?

Lovely idea BTW 🙂

232. John H.

To echo what others have been saying Stuart, if we achieve independence it will be largely due to your site and the Wee Blue Book.No wonder the unionists hate you so much.

When this is over I hope you will keep Wings going.There will always be incompetent or corrupt politicians needing to be exposed.I’ve a feeling you will have a job for life…if you want it.

Thanks again for everything.We are indebted to you.

233. Macart

@X_Sticks

Aye, they might find it hard to meet a friendly face in the commons restaurant right enough. 😉

234. Ja Stoddart

When history is written, you, Rev, will be given a place when the list of patriots is made. Thank You.

235. Colin

@ Macart

“I’m getting an uncanny urge to photograph my bum and post a moon shot to Gordon Brown.”

We could all do it, and call it “Multi moons to broon”.

I’ll get my coat.

236. Les Wilson

Unabated Bias abounds, actually think Sky tv is worse than BBC, briefly anyway. Brown talking er no shouting PISH as usual, but getting the MSM audience.

237. Cactus

All the no people singling out and insulting Alex Salmond and Scotlands National Party is just plain wrong.

Instead they should be venting their anger at Westminster and its descendants for letting our countries get into the state that they’re in.. that’s the crux of the matter.

For many YES voters, politics makes no difference, some just want to get rid of Trident.. and that’s the way to do it.

238. Nana Smith

@Dorothy Bruce

I see the P&J are peddling the NHS labour lies this afternoon.

239. Ananurhing

Colin

You do a moon, and I’ll do a star. I may even write BR on one buttock, and ON on the other.

Did I really hear Broon say earlier, “It’s a trap.”

240. john king

The wife says the BBC news say “better together” were out in force in Livingstone today and they even had a convoy of, wiat for it—— are you ready for this—–4 cars, yes you heard right FOUR CARS, and only one car showing a no thanks thing on a stick.
    bwahahahahahaha
    thats not a convoy
    ala crocodile Dundee
    Now this is a convoy 🙂
    https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152783348348060&set=vb.672073059&type=2&theater

241. Craig P

Can we vote yet??

This is like Christmas Eve…

242. Tom Foyle

L-A

If the worst happens tomorrow, you’ll be ok – I think I see a very promising career ahead of you as a TV evangelist! Shouldn’t have a problem getting airtime, either, given the shite the BBC already broadcasts…

Stu, many thanks for all your hard work, whatever the result, Scotland will still need you after friday – perhaps more than ever. We’ll need SOMETHING to ease the hangovers…

243. Macart

@Colin

Oh the temptation. 😀 LOL

244. Andy-B

Labour really are at a desperate stage, today the London owned Daily Record, had a plea in it, from Donald Dewar’s son, asking people to vote no.

245. Andy-B

George Robertson has been designated by the Labour Party to lead a campaign to have a Yes vote nullified, on the grounds of campaign irregularities, intimidation and overspending. This has been agreed by Miliband’s office.

One of the great advantages of being a small country like Scotland is that you very easily discover what is happening through family and social connections.

From Craig Murrays blog.

http://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2014/09/police-rebut-unionist-smears/#comment-480165

246. Kevin evans

Vote yes

247. Famous15

Sitting in the Tesco car park getting nice smiles and waves! My big YES sign is making me think I am popular.

I think the SLAB and Tories and their “friends” in the media have taken their fearmongering and lies a wee bit too far and even those slow on the uptake have sussed them.

248. Peter G

Donald Dewar’s Millionaire son ordering us to vote no. Inherited his share of Daddies £3,000,000 worth of shares in privatised utilities.

And never, ever, ever forget that Saint Dewar told us that an independent Scotland would be the new Bangladesh. A racist and a ("Tractor" - Ed). Great two for one offer there.

249. liz

Hi just back from George Sq, lots of different activities going on but same comment as yesterday, one of the guys organising the event keeps ranting thro a megaphone.

He looks like the Yes version of Bob Geldof, even Yes folk next to me were saying – he needs to calm down, he’s converting no-one.

But as I say mixed events and generally good.

Also the English press are trying to cause trouble with their – divided Scotland, trouble, hate messages etc etc

But it’s what the Brits are best at – divide and rule.

250. goulashman

Another poll to ignore: Panelbase : the groundswell appears far too deep and unique for current polling to fathom it. Vote Yes – with hope. With confidence

251. liz

If George Robertson even attempts to have a Yes vote nullified – then we would have to campaign directly to the EU.

This would break international law and would cause a huge amount of trouble – probably what they want.

252. YESGUY

Rev Stu.

Big thanks for Wings and even bigger thanks for Wingers.

Final sprint folks. A time for cool heads and patience. We change the world tomorrow and if anyone is a little nervous , that ok .

I walked to shops and even the drizzle couldn’t mask the air of anticipation. It’s everywhere.

Keep the head, Keep talking and keep smiling . Almost there.

YES SCOTLAND. Our time is NOW.

253. ben madigan

O/T re polls and discrepancies with what people are seeing on the ground:
    This is an interesting comment from Scot goes Pop

“There are now 4,285,323 registered voters in Scotland. That represents 300,000 brand new registered voters as part of GOTV.

We know turnout was 63.8% in 2010 and 50.4% in 2011 with a voting roll of 3,985,323.

Tomorrow lets assume we have 80% turnout.

80% turnout is 3,428,258 which is an increase from 2,542,636 in 2010. Difference = 885,622
    Guess what, there is the so called missing million!! We have found thee………..

If everyone who voted in 2010 votes in 2014, we have 885,622 fresh voters who have never voted before or were chronic non voters.

For the benefit of the doubt, lets assume that the pollsters are accurate in that the split is in fact going to be 48/52 on the first 2,542,636 which I think is the pool they are correctly forcasting.

If the vote goes that way, the question becomes what percentage of the missing 885,622 does YES need to get in order to be at 53% which is the lower number of the YES internal forcast.

The answer is that YES would need to get 67% in order to have 53% of the total vote.

But what percentage do they need to get just to get 50% plus one vote? 60%.

Is that doable? At a glance it appears so

Have simplified it somewhat to pick out key points
    Read what george says here http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/extraordinary-icm-still-arent-weighting.html

Interestingly George ends with strong encouragement to make sure everyone is got out to vote – as I myself and other posters here have been insisting on – there will be an awful lot of work to do tomorrow on all fronts – inside and outside the polling stations – but it can be done and YES will win!!

254. Macca73

I’ve had a look but I don’t think anyone has mentioned the Decleration for Independence which has over 1.4 million signatures on there. If that’s the case then we really have a shorter number to start looking at! We can do it!

255. Big Jock

Can someone answer the odds on 4 polls now showing 48% to yes. It seems fishy to me.

256. Andy-B

Richard Branson, on SKY news urging Scots to vote no, Branson says vote no, and wait for the new powers. No Richard we’ll vote YES and get all the powers.

257. Craig Evans

Stuart,

Many thanks for all your efforts; you are an inspiration.

I have voted already as I’m offshore at present so tomorrow is going to be a long day for me. I just hope we do it as the alternative is too horrible to contemplate.

Best wishes,

Craig

258. Tommy Kane

Stu has been on twitter saying he is having IT issues getting into site, posts might be a bit disrupted

259. WantonWampum.

Every voter in Scotland should track-back and re-read Scott Minto`s article on Trident – under the banner headline :-
    “The Chocolate Teapot”.

It will serve to remind everyone in Scotland that we are in REAL DANGER if we are lunatic enough to rely on abject INCOMPETENTS like Krash, Skeletor, Flipper etc. who are bought and sold wi` Tory gold.

My Glasgow flat is 23.6 Miles from Faslane.

The ONLY WAY to rid Scotland of Trident is to vote an overwhelming – “YES” tomorrow.

Scotland`s future lies in our hands.

260. Dezcore

Discovered this site almost by accident maybe 3 weeks ago. I have found the community around it and the articles themselves to be a breath of fresh air. Leading me to other sites such as Newsnet, Bella Caledonia and others.

I have passed some of it through facebook as well as links included in the comments and would like to thank Stu and everyone else that has been involved in brightening my understanding.

It has brought to my attention how little I actually know about whats going on in Holyrood and WM and will want to be keeping a closer eye in future. Getting more involved in future.

It’s led me to getting involved in the BBC PQ5 protest something I would never even considered doing. I have always been a “water off a duck’s back” kinda person and I think that is part of the wider issue. Sitting back and hoping things will improve, even though it’s having faith in someone that has no desire, no reason to make changes that are badly needed. I have faith that we, the people of Scotland will do it tomorrow.

First Time Voter,

Derek.

261. Roboscot

Folks, if you’ve ever wanted to get on the telly now’s your chance. Just tell them you want to urge the Scots to vote No and you’ll be fast-tracked to the nearest camera or studio. (No knowledge of, or previous interest in, Scotland required. Offer ends 19/09/2014).

262. Andy-B

3 new polls this morning for the Telegraph, Daily Mail and the Scotsman, all showing no ahead, 48% YES 52% NO.

Do I believe, any of the above unionist newspaper polls, NO WAY!

263. bookie from hell

I’m having a good drink tonight or I wont manage to get to sleep

264. Jamscot

Sky News totally biased 80% coverage No/Brown/Cameron

265. Sinky

Several Labour MPs offices are plastered with NO Thanks posters.

I that not contrary to House of Commons rules on political campaigning on parliamentary financed premises.

If you see it report it to the press and House of Commons authorities as MSPs are strictly forbidden to use their premises in such a manner.

266. heraldnomore

Final Yes stall done. Final blog post done. Added some of our favourite tunes as posted on Wings.

Remember Amy with It’s Time.

And Andre Rieu, with his pipers.

Someone better than me can post the links. Dancing time soon.

Stu, You are a star.

Oh yes, the emotions are building. Out early tomorrow to get the posters up at the polling stations. Shall we run a book on many visitors and views on Wings tomorrow, and through the night? I’ll open with – Lots!

267. Golfnut

I can just imagine Robertson trying to argue that at the UN. The British state completely ignored the UN charter for children re voting info. They really are in a state of funk.

268. fred blogger

just think by 10pm 18 9 14 we will sovereign, of course we’re nervous no one has ever done anything like this before.
    well i’m nervous anyway.
    i’ve already voted yes, i hesitated for 5 secs, before i crossed YES on that sacred ballot paper, just to savour the moment.
    then a me and a friend drove to the post office and handed it in.
    daft, eh!
    but i had to get it in and i wanted it to count there and then.
    i wish now i had waited, and did the full sacred ceremony @ the polling station and put it into the actual ballot box.
    we have already won in so many ways, all we need to do is carry on and win a little bit more there is NEVER too much democracy.

269. donald mac

I’m having a debate with some guys on a car forum and one of the yessers posted this great analogy. I don’t do Facebook so please share it on FB etc:

I have a weird arrangement with my neighbour.
    I give him all of my wages, he pays the bills for me and gives me back what’s left.
    He says we’re both better off that way, economies of scale and all that, I’ve seen its cheaper to buy in bulk so he must be right.
    Except recently I’ve started questioning the arrangement. It’s hard to tell but I don’t seem to be getting the best deal, (even harder to tell because he has all the receipts and doesn’t share the info with me).
    He’s got the bigger house and car, fair enough he earns a bit more than me, but people with the same wage as I have (who don’t have this arrangement) all seem to be much better off.
    From what I can gather, I’m getting a fair bit less back than what I’m giving out. He says I’m wrong, and keeps telling me I’m a scrounger living off his handouts.
    He’s taken control of most of the official stuff, last year he “reassigned” a fair part of my back garden to become his back garden now, and tried to keep quiet about it.

He’s also decided that his gas boiler is a bit dangerous, so that gets kept outside my bedroom window, where it would destroy the majority of my house should there be an accident, but leave his intact. I did ask him to move it back since I don’t even want gas heating, but he said it would be too dangerous keeping it next to his house.
    He’s also putting in a new high speed driveway, and says I get to share in the cost, even though it doesn’t actually touch my land at all, and it’s bloody expensive!

We share a common budget, so any major works that are done are shared, fair enough, but all the major work gets done on his house, which ain’t so fair. Even if improving his house devalues mine, I still get to contribute to improving his house.

So I’ve been thinking about scrapping this arrangement and going it alone. It’s a little scary to be honest, exciting but scary. Going out and being my own man, doing my own thing with my own money, I’m a little worried I won’t always get it right, but I’m hopeful things will improve. I’ll be able to start spending my money on what I need, rather than ask him and hope he needs it too, or won’t mind giving me some of my money back for it.

But now he’s started scaring me even more. For example, he told me my shopping would get more expensive if I went to Asda myself, but I asked the manager there and she said he’s talking nonsense again.
    He’s being going round the other neighbours trying to get them to convince me it’s a bad idea, even using some of my money to bribe some of them into saying so! (Boris across the road has been getting stuck in).

He says I won’t be allowed back on the neighbourhood committee either. I’ve been to every meeting since it started, albeit as a partnership, I was there before all the other neighbours, and they all like me and want me there, but he says they won’t let me back. They’re not allowed to officially declare anything yet, the committee is kinda bureaucratic that way, since it’s currently his name on my paperwork, he’s the only one allowed to ask, but won’t.

He never usually comes to visit, but this last week I can’t get rid of him, he’s all over my house telling me it’s gonna be too expensive to redecorate, that the plants in the garden will all wither and die, and the burglars will all suddenly flock to Rob me. It all sounds a bit ridiculous to be honest, and it’s not the first time I’ve caught him lying to me.

On the bright side, after telling me for years it’s just a stupid idea, this past week he’s decided I might be onto something, and has offered a “mystery prize” if I decide to stay. Ooh mystery prize! Exciting! He won’t hint how big a prize though…

So I’ve got until the end of tomorrow to decide.

What do you think?
    Yes or No?

270. Marie clark

@AndyB 3.22. It is my understanding that both sides would accept the result whichever way it goes. If George Robertson and the Labour Party think they can overturn a yes with underhand tricks, I think that it would be a very unwise and dangerous move. Has Miliband no brain cells at all to okay this? Desperation indeed.

Pathetic bunch of charlatans and out and out rogues.

271. donald mac

Oh and there’s a poll on the thread, 36 Yes’s to 16 No’s 😉

272. Helena Brown

I have a suggestion regarding the polls, they are asking those they know will give them the answer they want, after all the polling they have been doing don’t you think they know where to go, to the correct socio economic groups, the right age. One thing they have not done they have not gone into the vast social housing estates, they have not asked anyone who may be dodgy, I am sure of that.
    Do not worry Scotland will come through that I am sure.
    If we don’t it will be not be any YES voters fault so we can hold our heads up. The Liars in the Media and the crooks we call politicians, and we know who we mean. they will have done great harm to their own support and the chances of re-election will be slim to nothing.

273. a2

Just had a wander round town, will go back in a bit, It’s buzzing. Badges ahoy. all indi celebed out, Bateman with his bike in George sq Patrick Harvie and Robin Mcalpine in Buchanan st, Jim Murphy round the corner in Sauchiehall street, all perfectly civil.

Popping back to George sq for 5.30 ish, Queen victoria is going to be there, anybody else coming?

274. Golfnut.

Millipede and co could also be trying to score some brownie points for the next GE. They are going to lose and the know it.

275. Fiona

OT. Today, my mum, who has been a staunch no from the outset and has not been willing to discuss it, told me that as the vote gets nearer she is becoming a bit doubtful.

There is no certainty she will change her mind, and I will be surprised if she votes yes, I must say. But if she is wavering then yes is doing something right because my mum is one of the hardest people to persuade even if you look at what the polls tell us about demographics. She is a woman, she is over pension age, she was born in England.

276. Fiona

@ Helena Brown

I am not convinced the polling agencies are manipulating their results to support a no outcome. I do not think it is in their interest to do that because if they are spectacularly wrong it will harm their business, at least to some extent.

I heard some discussion by them on “More or Less” on r4 recently and they were acknowledging that there is no precedent and they have no way of knowing if they are anywhere near accurate for reasons which included those you give

What is in their interest is “convergence”, however. If they are all wrong in the same way and to the same extent they can preserve their credibility better than if they are all over the shop. They can continue to claim some skills and objectivity and point to the fact that this situation was uniquely difficult but they have “learned lessons”

If their is fiddling then it may be to make them more similar for that reason: they ALL find 48:62 now? Hmmmm

277. Graeme Doig

I’d like to add my sincere thanks to Stu and his team and to all the wingers who have kept me sane over the last 6 months.

They’ve thrown everything at us and we’re still standing strong! Things will never be the same whatever the result tomorrow.

Just bumped into an old and undecided acquaintance (leaning Yes). After a chat he headed off with a my last WBB to seal the deal. Hopefully not my last ‘one a day’ today as i’m out for last canvass tonight.

Best wishes to all.

YES!!!!

278. Barontorc

Fiona – ‘….If their is fiddling then it may be to make them more similar for that reason: they ALL find 48:62 now? Hmmmm’

Strength in numbers?!!!

Too bad they didn’t factor in the untouched million isn’t it?

But, no matter, none of them did – so that’s their playing field sorted. All, together now! It’s a fiddler’s rally!

279. Big Jock

This is our moment people!

280. Colin

@Fiona

“If their is fiddling then it may be to make them more similar for that reason: they ALL find 48:62 now? Hmmmm”

Danny Alexander must own the polling companies 😉

281. Big Jock

Yes I suppose if you were a pollster you are going to follow the herd so close to the actual vote. There is a sheep instinct. Safety in numbers all wrong together. Now where is that Ipsos poll?

282. HandandShrimp

48:62?

Are you trying to give me heart failure!

48:52 🙂

283. Harry McAye

In an independent Scotland, everyone on tv will be able to pronounce Scotland properly. No more Lucy Adams’ “Sco’land” or Alistair Darling’s “Schcott-land”. Cannae wait!

284. Helena Brown

Fiona, if not manipulating then they are still getting it wrong, why because of whom they are asking. Why do you think that one pollster said this could be an earthquake for the polling companies. I still say that they have deliberately avoided asking too many of the “wrong sort” of people. Surely after all this time they would have got a different result more than once.

285. Andy-B

Alex Salmond just arrived in Largs to a huge welcome from YES supporters.

286. gillie

If there is a narrow No victory then there will be a lot of anger directed at the BBC,

287. Luigi

Let me get this right:

Her majesty recently advised people to “think carefully” before casting a vote (much shouted by BT MSM).

And now, BT MSM tells undecideds to just vote NO (don’t even think about it).

Something doesn’t quite add up.

If you really want independence, vote YES

Simple.

288. Tam Jardine

Amazing how this campaign has awakened political awareness-just spoke to my very junior colleague who a month ago had no idea who to vote for and zero interest in politics.

She just told me ‘all the shite about Salmond doing this and Salmond doing that… they (the press) just dinnae get that Salmond winna be dain nothing in an independent Scotland unless we vote him in’!!

Great point. I could not be more proud.

289. bald eagle

Tam Jardine

give that lassie a crackerjack pencil

290. heedtracker

BBC 24 ticker tape’s just endless Crash says a million jobs lost, and there is no going back if and from hell’s heart I strike at thee. Its Project FearBBC wot won it for YES, the ridiculous, patronsing, lying, fear mongering, dreary geniouses:D

291. Robert Louis

Hi folks,

,b>IMPORTANT Can I make one more appeal, like others have done today, the YES campaign can use all volunteers tomorrow to get out the vote (GOTV). If you have not volunteered before do not worry, the ground work has been done.

This is your chance to reclaim sovereignty for Scotland and put right three hundred and seven years of wrongs.

Don’t assume others will do it, if you are able, get in touch with local yes group, or via website

http://events.yesscotland.net/gotv

Now is your chance to help make global history. Be a part of it. 🙂 🙂 Tomorrow/Friday will be one helluva day.

292. JWil

I must have blotted my copybook Why are you not accepting my comment?

293. Robert Louis

Hi folks,

,b>IMPORTANT Can I make one more appeal, like others have done today, the YES campaign can use all volunteers tomorrow to get out the vote (GOTV). If you have not volunteered before do not worry, the ground work has been done.

This is your chance to reclaim sovereignty for Scotland and put right three hundred and seven years of wrongs.

Don’t assume others will do it, if you are able, get in touch with local yes group, or via website

http://events.yesscotland.net/gotv

Now is your chance to help make global history. Be a part of it. 🙂 🙂 Tomorrow/Friday will be one helluva day. Thanks.

294. heraldnomore

Any sign of Doug Daniel these days? Out canvassing and manning stalls I’d guess, but there’s another who deserves a round of applause.

295. a2

“If you don’t know – find out”

296. Helena Brown

JWil Stu said he was having problems getting in, probably nothing wrong with your comment.

297. one less day

Wi Scottish Hauns

As summer turns tae autumn, an the nichts are drawing in

Wan chance ye’ll hae tae richt the wrangs, that Scottish haunds hae din

For thaim nae longer wi’ us, when the days wir dark and drear

They kept the caunle burning bricht, so oor wey wid be clear

Oan Scotias sile by Scottish haunds these wrangs must noo be richted

As ye climb upon the shooders o’ thae giants o’ Scottish men

When ye gang tae pit yer cross doon as ye staun an’ haud yer pen

Think o the’ pygmies we noo bear, thae couldnae lick the bits

O’ thae men o’ steel fae Clydeside or thaim fae Ayrshire pits

Tae leave oor land a better place this is the debt we owe

An’ rid us o’ the cannydaes an’ thaim that jist say no

Nae man wha luvs his country could ever staun and say

Lets haun the poo’er tae ithers for that’s a better way

The thocht o’ weiring ermine and a title tae their name

Must really be enticing that they’d gie awa their hame

So noo ye hiv been haunded oan, the caunle that wis lichted

Oan Scotias sile by Scottish haunds mak a’ these wrangs be richted

298. JackPranker

Good luck all. And thank you, Stu for your tireless dedication to bringing truth into a campaign of lies. Whatever the result you’ve helped bring the word politics back into common usage as something other than a big sweary word.

JackP

299. Kevin evans

In all honesty even tho I hate sky news it is a uk broadcast so if 85% live in england I get there bias but bbc scotland has no excuse.

300. Greannach

Another blow for Salmond as intimidating vile nasty cybernats (especially the thugs in the front row) as unmasked.

https://www.facebook.com/YesElgin/photos/pb.154434718059699.-2207520000.1410969826./332415416928294/?type=3&theater

301. Les Wilson

Here is a link from Jeff Seigal who is an american resource expert. About Scotland, worth a read.

http://www.energyandcapital.com/articles/investing-in-scotland-energy-independence/4595

302. EdinScot

I managed to shift a fair whack of wee blue books to 4 tower blocks in Pilrig heights Leith last weekend. My mate has been inserting them inside metros on his bus to work all this week as well as converting people in an office building he does security for, he told me of the converts and its quite some achievment. My other friend gave my last 6 wee blue books to fellow workers. One has never voted..she is now and its a yes! The two other work colleauges were unsure and they too will vote yes. The three remaining were for relations and word back so far is 2 more converts. The other one is sadly in hospital having an op. The scales are falling from Scottish eyes!

I love this site and so indebted to the rev stu for keeping me sane (well some of the time lol). I hope this site continues after the vote as it will play a pivotal role in hopefully an independent Scoltand.

I beleive. I have also shut out the media after i got home from work and went out to complete the leafletting. They wont and cant crush my hope, God willing. At work we are all voting yes and today we shared news,videos via mobile phones of oil finds, empire strikes back vid etc. We all gave support to each other and bolstered each others morale just like when i read all the great comments here. Reading the Welsh guys emotive message of support to us last evening had tears running down my face.

Despite the lies, i have faith we will win.

303. Thepnr

Tommy Sheridan will be speaking in Glasgow Square any minute. Watch on Indy Live.

http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/YesInfoRally?logged_in=1410964637

304. Macandroid

Wings must continue…

There is so much to love about the humour, the spirit, but most of the extensive knowledge and wisdom brought here by the vast numbers of Wingers.

If Wingers are involved in shaping the future of Scotland we will have the best wee country in the world – nae bother!

305. Stephen Armstrong

Time to find the confidence Scotland! Time to VOTE YES!

306. Fiona

@ HandandShrimp

Sorry about that typo. Didnae mean to upset you

307. Robert Peffers

I’m bloody well knackered. I’ve been driving around Fife, Mainly Kelty, Cowdenbeath, Hill o Beath, Halbeath, and the towns and villages between Cowdenbeath and Ballingry. Showing the flag and playing the official YES audio through the Tannoy. I’ve got the usual vehicle fans and the added fans of the caravan side of the vehicle but it was still like an oven and I had to keep the windows shut to support the smaller Saltires on the sides of the van.

Then I was parked by a couple of different YES stalls with the Tannoy system going. I’m finished for the day now but will be up early tomorrow to get parked as near as I can to the polling area and perhaps getting people with mobility difficulty to the poll. I’m looking forward to a rest after that. Phew! I really need a shower and a lie down.

308. the great elbe

I think George Robertson should be arrested and detained for conspiring against Scotland.

309. EdinScot

I managed to shift a fair whack of wee blue books to 4 tower blocks in Pilrig heights Leith last weekend. My mate has been inserting them inside metros on his bus to work all this week as well as converting people in an office building he does security for, he told me of the converts and its quite some achievment. My other friend gave my last 6 wee blue books to fellow workers. One has never voted..she is now and its a yes! The two other work colleauges were unsure and they too will vote yes. The three remaining were for relations and word back so far is 2 more converts. The other one is sadly in hospital having an op. The scales are falling from Scottish eyes!

I love this site and so indebted to the rev stu for keeping me sane (well some of the time lol). I hope this site continues after the vote as it will play a pivotal role in hopefully an independent Scoltand.

I believe. I have also shut out the media after i got home from work and went out to complete the leafletting. They wont and cant crush my hope, God willing. At work we are all voting yes and today we shared news,videos via mobile phones of oil finds, empire strikes back vid etc. We all gave support to each other and bolstered each others morale just like when i read all the great comments here. Reading the Welsh guys emotive message of support to us last evening had tears running down my face.

Despite the lies, i have faith we will win.

310. Chris

I just wanted to say Thank You to the Rev. Stuart Campbell and all other contributors. It would be great to see Wings transform to a pro-Scottish newspaper after the referendum. Please continue to campaign with everything you’ve got until the polling stations close tomorrow. The whole Yes campaign should be very proud.

311. Macandroid

Er ‘ but most of the’ should have been ‘but most of all the’

312. katsoft

I fervently hope for a yes win and by Saturday that the reconciliation will have begun, by monday we’ll all be talking again. But there is one thing I don’t think I could stomach. The readmittance of the terrible trio Brownie [the faker], Darling [the Badger] and Lamont [the unintellegable] cannot be allowed along with wee Danny Alexander. For some strange reason Ruth Davidson seems awfully quiet recently, perhaps she knows something and is keeping an eye out for a wee job with Alex after vote count.

313. TJenny

Well, I’m feeling quite buoyed up today. My 84 year old ex Tory voting Margaret Thatcher loving mum, appeared to be turning to Yes but still made the odd snidey remarks along the lines of I hate that Alicsammin and Nicola Sturgeon as well. So mibbes aye, mibbes naw?

Posted a few days ago that a long time well-off friend who was vehemently NO, who one time actually said ‘ but what if we get independence and that Alicsammin runs away with all our money’, (?) emailed me at start of week to say that she’ll be out of the country tomorrow but voting YES by proxy and thanked me for helping her see through all the fog! All I’d done was post WOS, WGD and other indy links to my FB page – so again a huge thanks to WOS and Wingers.

Then today, my gardener and his 16 yr old first time voting son came round to assess the Autumn garden tidy up. Last saw them 2 months ago and son seemed quite keen on Yes but deferred to his dad who was worried about currency. Had a wee discussion with him at the time on the currency issue, and he said aye well, mibbe and sent them off with an Aye right card. As they are more salt of the earth types and don’t use social media, I didn’t hold out much hope of conversion. However, amazed that today they appeared both wearing Yes badges, with Yes stickers on their truck too – totally converted to Yes and excited for tomorrow and the future.

As I still had 6 Aye Right cards and one WBB which I was wondering who I’d give them to, I gave them to the gardeners to pass on to any undecideds that they came across today – they will have a much wider area of access and distribution than I.

So relating all this to my mum and saying that I had managed to achieve Margo’s challenge of converting just one other person, then we would win, I’d managed to convert 3 others. Oh no, she’s said, you converted me too and I’ll also be voting Yes tomorrow.

I know here are those f you, with winning ways, who have converted thousands, but ‘every little’ helps’ eh. 🙂

I really think we WILL do this folks.

Do any of you expect to sleep tonight? If not see you on here. I’m hanging up my stocking tomorrow night and expect a huge Yes vote to be in it on Friday morning, 🙂

314. Lesley-Anne

Tom Foyle says:

L-A

If the worst happens tomorrow, you’ll be ok – I think I see a very promising career ahead of you as a TV evangelist! Shouldn’t have a problem getting airtime, either, given the shite the BBC already broadcasts…

Ooh! Thanks for your belief in my powers of evangelism there Tom. All I need now is some form of gawd to start evangelicising about, now if only there were someone out there who we could convince to become a gawd? … GOT IT! … Stu are you busy for the next few thousand years? 😛

Liz, I think the guy with the megaphone was the same guy who was at the BBC protest on Sunday and went off on one cause the pergola where all the acts and speeches were taking place was not actually right up in front of the BBC. Everyone then thought he was a wee bit of a picnic short of a sandwich. It was his antics yesterday that turned me OFF watching too much of the livestreaming of yesterday’s event. Some folks just do not understand that a lot of the time LESS gains a lot MORE than all their shouting and stuff. 😉

315. Robert Kerr

My view is the convergence of the polls is orchestrated.

Cui Bono?

No is always ahead and there is no momentum for yes!

Do not believe for one moment that if the pollsters get it spectacularly wrong they will suffer commercially. The paymasters don’t care about good accurate polling. They only care about the result. Defeat YES! At all costs.

There is a PhD for analysing this referendum’s polling.

Friday morning shall be fun. Psephology sucks!

316. Democracy Reborn

Just reported by James Kelly on ‘Scot Goes Pop’

Ipsos-Mori Poll (one of the most No-friendly pollsters):-

Yes 49 (+7)
    No 51 (-7)

We’re almost there, folks

317. kendomacaroonbar

Some talented people (me included) trying to create a new Scottish News Magazine. If you can help spread the word or even drop in a few coins of support we’d be eternally grateful.

http://www.indiegogo.com/campaigns/iscot-a-free-fearless-news-service-4-scotland

318. Lesley-Anne

Macca73 says:

I’ve had a look but I don’t think anyone has mentioned the Decleration for Independence which has over 1.4 million signatures on there. If that’s the case then we really have a shorter number to start looking at! We can do it!

I did a calculation on numbers required a few days ago Macca and based on the button crunching of the Village idiot calculator, mine, these are the figures I came up with:

Total number of eligible voters 4385323

80% of eligible voters 3508258

50% of the 80% eligible voters 1754129

50% +1 of the 80% eligible voters 1754130

Working off the figure of 1.4 MILLION signatories, assuming they do all go out and vote, a HUGE ask I know but hey ho! 😉

voters required ABOVE Declaration of Independence number 354130

This is 354130 ADDITIONAL voters required across the WHOLE of Scotland to cross the 50% +1 voters finishing line! So can we do this people? You bet your sweet lives we can! 😛

319. Blair paterson

I know you must be fed up with me going on about the comfort polls for the no side ,but as I have said before they are only the opinions of the the small number of people that they ask ,they in no way represent the opinion of the whole of Scotland though they would like you to think that it did that is their ploy do not be taken in by them I am sure that yes is well ahead and they know it that is why Cameron would not publish the results of his poll ,but as never been away from Scotland since it speaks for its selfe . , tommorow night after polling i will be thinking of the last verses of a poem I once heard .,as I thought of the joy that the morn would bring me thought I heard the angels sing VoteYes

320. Les Wilson

Huge crowd in George Square via livestream

new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/YesInfoRally

321. nigel

For gawds sake-get rid of that piccy of broon and his “beard.”

I have to look at the buffoon everytime I log on……

322. Juteman

I don’t think my nerves can take much more. Thankfully the referendum is tomorrow, as i’m actually feeling ill with the stress of it all.

323. Lesley-Anne

You know I’m just watching the event from Glasgow Square that Thepnr has linked to and you know what I don’t think I’ve EVER seen a NO thanks event that can match it. 😛

Tommy Sherridan due on imminently, once his mass selfie has been done! 😉

324. Molly

Ken , your donation page asks where did it go? Can you repost it please? I’ll certainly subscribe to your Scottish news magazine – just let us know

325. highseastim

Please Scotland lets have independence tomorrow, if for nothing else to see the “coupons” on that sneering Labour lot, thew ex-people’s party!!

326. SquareHaggis

Found this on Bella some time ago and it’s just braw.

By Dinna_fash

Ah’ll be votin Aye
    Why?
    ‘Coz ah’m shaire ah wid die
    If ah couldnae see by
    Aw thae lie, lie, lie…

See, wi ma ain twa ‘ee
    Fitanniver wid a bein or cuild be
    Wi clear sicht
    An guid aim
    Ah’ll vote Aye’ an cam hame.

327. Robert Louis

Tommy Sheridan,

‘we may only in Scotland have 40 years of oil left, but Westminster only has 40 HOURS of oil left.

Brilliant.

328. liz

@manandboy – if you’re using Google chrome, posts are taking time to appear – be patient.

I’ve changed to using ‘e’ – ?firefox – and posts are appearing quickly.

Just listened to Rock Radio – Brown is really popular??

Also my eldest is voting for the 1st time ever and she is a Yes!!

329. fred blogger

just found this, dr brown- across the border single 1992.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXOjJTBYt3c
    i hope you like it.
    i feel like a kid waiting to open my christmas presents.

330. Flower of Scotland

Well done Robert Peffers! It can be hard work in Fife, but your doing sterling work down there in the south of Fife. I had a fab time in Perth today! So many YESSERS about wearing stickers and badges all talking to one another! Bunch of poor looking people in Poundland all jolly and laughing all wearing YES stickers and saying that a YES vote is their only hope! It made me really emotional!

A wee secret! A pair of very good friends who are English and ardent NO voters have a son who has texted me and said that he and his girlfriend are voting YES!!!

331. thegooseking

O/T probably (maybe) my last post on independence before the referendum:-

“There is nothing to stop an independent Scotland and the remainder of the UK agreeing to work together – it’s not like we’re going to war. Those agreements are, in fact, very likely to happen. It’s just that those agreements will have far more mutuality and reciprocity than the paternalistic, trickle-down way the Union works with England as the dominant authority.

“You can vote No if you think we’re better together. I’m going to vote Yes because I think we can do ‘together’ better.”

I’m not normally inclined to share my social media drivel here, but I’m particularly proud of that slogan at the end. I just wish I’d come up with it sooner!

332. Scot Finlayson

Do not let your children and grandchildren in years to come despise you for being to scared to give them the chance to live in a moral,wealthy and just free Scotland.

333. fred blogger

thegooseking
    after 35 yrs of thatcherite neoliberalism i know we can do, much, much, much, better.

334. Footsoldier

Any chance of a post on the eve of polling day showing something more joyous than the great clunking fist?

335. Nana Smith

New poll 49Yes 51 No

336. one less day

The most touching moment in this whole campaign.

A young man who appeared to have learning disabilities
    meeting the FM said that he was voting no and he asked what was going to be done for people with disabilities The FM clasping this young mans hand in his said” as much as we possibly can, and it’s so nice to see you here”

I must admit the tears are running down my cheeks, the tenderness shown by the FM to this young man could not be surpassed

337. Muscleguy

@the water beastie

I’ve just volunteered to pull a double shift as the Yes person at our local polling station: the last 5 hours. All I will want will be a sit down, a strong coffee to keep me awake and my bottle of Talisker to see me through the count on the telly. I’m getting too old to pull an all nighter but this one is far too special not to. It’ll be like a long haul flight really, only without steward service.

338. Aufie

I’ve been reading Wings for a year or so, never commented up until now (absurd to feel shy on an anonymous forum but there we go). I just wanted to speak up to say a colossal thank you to Stu, and everyone else here who has contributed so much and worked so hard. You’ve remained an incredible beacon of integrity and good humour throughout, in the face of all the endless distortions and negativity from Westminster and the mainstream media.

Hold your heads up high, you have so much to be proud of and I am deeply proud of you. I believe in my heart we will win, and that a better future is only waiting for us to build it together. A tired cynic before the age of 30, whatever happens you’ve in no small measure restored my faith. Love and thanks to you all.

339. ticktock

Are we there yet are we there yet are we there yet…

340. Helena Brown

Meant to say this morning walking the dog in the Public Park in Dunfermline, met a man pushing his bike wearing a YES sweatshirt who smiled and said “We can do it” we said we surely can. Made us both happy.

341. heraldnomore

Muscleguy, if you’re like the rest of us, and the last few days are anything to go by, sleep won’t come anyway. Relax and enjoy.

Our time has come.

342. Helena Brown

Tick Tock,I feel like a kid at Christmas, trouble is my stomach is in knots. Alcohol isn’t working very well either though after a small libation I did sleep last night after two horrible nights.

343. EdinScot

Very inspiring to hear T Jenny. Lets keep our fingers crossed. All we can do is our best and it seems like loads of us has converted at least one and indeed several people to the yes side. There is something in the air and there is has been a surge to yes even the unionist msm have admitted this. Only time will tell if its enough but Margos words echo in my ears from the rally in Princes Street Gardens. We CAN do this.

344. Robert Louis

Meanwhile, SHELL is going to invest billions in the North sea;

Quote “There is of course uncertainty that would flow from a Scottish independence outcome, but then having said that we would of course deal with Scottish independence in the way that we would have to. I don’t think there is in that sense anything that we are deeply concerned about.”

http://www.heraldscotland.com/business/company-news/shell-vows-to-invest-billions-in-north-sea.24925660

345. Calgacus

FREEDOM COME ALL YE

346. Socrates MacSporran

I get the impression, from the way the BBC is almost playing that Crash Gordon rant on a loop, the No side are shitting themselves.

From long experience, I still feat we will do it the Scottish way and snatch defeat from the jaws of victory – enough of us will crap-out at the end and vote NO.

Hopefully, I am wrong and, this time, we will get it right and vote Yes.

Hopefully, the polling companies have failed to catch-on to the grass roots Yes campaign.

Hopefully, these “new” voters do get out ther and vote Yes.

Because, if we do, we will have given the Westminster Establishment and their lies and deceits the biggest bloody nose they have ever had.

We must win this. If we lose, the City of London, Westminster and the Establishment will extract a heavy price.

There is NOW WAY ON THIS EARTH, the Westminster back benchers will allow us anything like DEvo Maqx.

We have to vote Yes, or we are screwed.

347. Famous15

Gordon Brown striding in like a meenister hands aloft to get the congregation on their feet “they give no answers.Lord forgive them for they know not what they do”

Well Gordon we know exactly what we are doing,unlike you,you sound a if you are too damned evangelical for your own sanity .

Gordy take a rest in a darkened room before the devil steals your soul.

PS Vote YES

348. gfaetheblock

Nigel,

are you saying that Gordon Brown is gay? If so, is that a problem?

349. Indy_Scot

It does not matter how badly we have been treated by Westminster and the unionist media, it will be a Yes vote, because that is the only outcome that is right.

350. Lesley-Anne

He can take a rest in a darkened room if he want Famous but I tell you ONE thing it will certainly NOT be our “DARKENED ROOM!” Our “Darkened Room” is for the patriots of a new and forward thinking FREE Scotland NOT for an old has been of a LOSER former Chancellor and P.M.! 😛

351. Ian Mor

A final quick word on the NHS in England

“2015/16 will be the most difficult spending round ever for the NHS. It could be the year the NHS runs out of money.”

Tim Kelsey NHS England Patient & Information officer, whilst discussing I.T issues.

http://tinyurl.com/nzqo73l

352. Forbes

The People of Scotland are Willing and Strong
    The Stag and the Oil run Free
    So gather together and greet the storm
    For Scotland Belongs To ME.

The Glens and the Mountains are Leafy and Green
    The Wind and the Waves Fuel our Sea
    But somewhere a Glory awaits unseen
    For Scotland Belongs to ME

The Babe in the cradle has opened his eyes
    The Blossom Embraces the Free
    But soon says a whisper Arise, Arise
    For Scotland Belongs to ME.

OH Scotland, Oh Scotland, Please show us the sign your people have waited to see
    The morning has come when the world is mine
    And Scotland once more is Free

OH Scotland, Oh Scotland, Please show us the sign your people have waited to see
    The morning has come when the world is mine
    And Scotland once more is Free
    And Scotland Belongs, And Scotland Belongs, For Scotland Belongs to ME

353. Grizzle McPuss

Jim Murphy on BBC…OH GOD…WHAT A DISGRACE!!

354. scunnered

ive just seen the wbb on the bbc yyyaaaayyyy…miracles do happen….id just like to say thanks to stu and the rest of the team for all the hard work..without this site and the wbb we would be dead in the water in my opinion…i hope all your hard work gets rewarded

355. James Caithness

Menzies Campbell and Alistair Carmichael in Cupar today with a few canvassers who were definitely the green wellie brigade. The two women who canvassed me yesterday were there too.
    Just been told that what they were saying to the people was if we vote yes we will have a fascist country.
    A lot of those people then came down to IVAN the YES caravan and asked for YES badges.

Despicable people. We must be away from Westminster.

356. Epiphyta

As said in another thread, you have friends and family outside the bubble cheering you on — don’t bottle it now!

357. Socrates MacSporran

How I wish Denis Canavan had given Murphy a Glasgow Kiss during their “debate”.

Murphy was totally out of order – again – by the way he started the talking-over and shouting.

The way Denis got tore in and fought fire with fire was impressive.

358. Grouse Beater

Gardham in Herald says, “Brown has made the most remarkable speech of his career.”

Oh yes? What career?

359. Bugger (the Panda)

Rev Stu at George Square right now

360. Nana Smith

David Cameron and the British media have been freaking out about the potential Scottish independence.

They’ve blathered on about “history”, “common defense” and other red herrings.

But it’s really all about oil …

Specifically, if Scotland becomes independent, it gets to keep 90% of the revenues from its huge oil reserves.

In addition, as Max Keiser explained:

(1) The UK can now borrow cheaply using the giant Scottish oil reserves as collateral

(2) If Scotland leaves, the collateral (oil reserves) is no longer available

(3) So the cost of borrowing money for Britain skyrockets

361. Lesley-Anne

We don’t get STV but family do Up Norff! They have just told us that apparently STV played the Better wahtsit party political broadcast THREE times in about FIVE minutes.

Also just heard a friend of my partner’s future son in law was almost assault by a NO supporter in the office where they work! I’m thinking someone is on their way OUT on a PERMANENT basis, and it is NOT the friend! 😛

362. Onwards

Looking at the live feed from George Square.

Is all leafleting done now in Glasgow?

Hopefully, there is a table with information for those who want to Sign up and help their country tomorrow !!

Plenty of work to do getting out the vote..

363. Croompenstein

Stomach is in knots, heid bursting, keep bursting oot greetin like a big wean. This is it, No Fear. For over 300 years we have been told we are too wee, too poor and too stupid to run our own affairs this has caused the Scottish cringe. Well we are not too wee, too poor or too stupid we must walk in to the polls tomorrow with our heads held high full of confidence and even with a gallus swagger and vote Yes and take our country’s future back in to all our hands. Greetin again..

364. Stewart fae stoney

Are the bbc showing Braveheart tonight by any chance, come to think of it I have more chance of winning the lottery and finding Kelly Brook in my bed in the morning

365. Diego Hernandez

It was only a matter of time before British Unionists started likening their opponents on the pro-independence side to the Confederate States of America. Witness David Miliband’s moronic comments.

Stu on Twitter thought this was an allusion to American independence. It’s far worse. It’s another in the long line of Better Together attempts to smear the pro-independence campaign by associating it with tyrannies and despots.

The Confederate States broke away from the US because their leaders were paranoid that Abraham Lincoln would outlaw slavery. The Confederacy was founded on the principles of white supremacy over black people and the supposed “natural order” of chattel slavery. After the US Civil War ended, the Confederacy was revered by generations of revanchists in the Southern US, who supported the Ku Klux Klan’s century-long terrorism campaign against the African-American population. The Confederate battle flag is considered by African-Americans to be about as offensive as the Nazi swastika.

David Miliband’s comments are grotesque, plain and simple. Not only are they likely offensive to the Africans and African/Afro-Caribbean Scots voting for independence and the Americans supporting Scottish independence, but they’re ludicrous as well.

Think of which side of the referendum debate is more rife with racism, and which side is more tolerant of zero-hour contracts and income inequality. Think of how ludicrous it is for someone on that side to claim that the other is a latter day CSA.

People in Scotland are not voting yes because they fear Honest Dave Cameron will prevent them from owning slaves. If anything, most of them seek to craft a more humane economic policy than what the UK currently offers. Whereas the Confederacy split from the US because of the greed of the Southern states’ elites, Scotland’s people seem to be on the verge of defying the greed of their country’s elites. Scotland isn’t a manufactured nation built on foundations of blood, but a confident, centuries old nation with a strong civic identity and potentially a beneficial vision for the future.

After the disgraceful conduct of Better Together, they do not deserve to win. If they win, it will be seen as a vindication of their tactics: smears, induced hysteria, appeals to anti-intellectualism, mobilisation of business and media against grassroots movements.

Coming from down here in England, I and quite a few other people (alas, not a majority) hope you guys win. Good luck tomorrow.

366. john king

The bin men have just been and emptied the Brown bins,
    the bin from two doors down has had a union flag on it for weeks, I went to get the Ipad to take a picture of it, but when it was put back by the bin men ,
    whats this?
    NO UNION FLAG!
    good on the binmen!

367. liz

Scotland is trending on twitter.

I only joined to keep in touch with updates from various indy groups but I’m not really that interested in twitter.

Anyway loads of folk who haven’t got a clue whats going on:
    Should USA intervene?
    Shetland is going to declare indy from Scotland?
    Scotland will be like Afghanistan?

Has to be said most of these are coming from the UK MSM.

368. Croompenstein

@BtP – The Rev is in Edinburgh he just tweeted a cracker of a photo from the gardens

369. Bugger (the Panda)

Stewart fae stoney

Is yer name George Best?

370. Bugger (the Panda)

Croompenstein

He is at the front left in George Square

Front left looking out from the stage; 200% certain.

371. Don

As an exile who lives in Kent I feel humbled and impotetent in equal measures, humbled by the astonishing work so far by the Rev and you Wingers, impotent, because all I can do is sit and read about your phenomenal efforts throughout Scotland…modern day patriots of Scotland, all of you.
    For my small part, thanks to WOS, Bella, WGD, etc. my village pub is pro Indy.
    No small feat, I tell you…and you think D&G is hard, 😉
    Please keep it up guys for the last few hours, we exiles are jealous but extremely proud of you making history.
    YOU GUYS ROCK!

372. heedtracker

At least Brown and Salmond have the fact that they have both savaged by the BBC etc but Brown’s their hero now and all to save a union and PM Cameron.

373. fred blogger

“This is Scotland’s velvet revolution and we should listen to the people shouting
    Ignore the strange dry-eyed weeping from the English – it’s nothing more than British imperialism. Now is the time to take a leap toward self-rule”
    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/17/scotland-velvet-revolution-english-british-independence-referendum?CMP=twt_gu

374. liz

Dr Eoin Clarke, No voter, – who is very honest and has given a lot of truthful info on the NHS privatisation in England and it’s adverse affect on NHS Scotland is now believing Ed Moribund’s promise to reverse the NHS bill and stop privatisation.

I think this is part of the problem of committed Labour voters – they always give them one more chance.

Everyone saying are you going to trust them again???? Why

375. dadsarmy

The irony is that YES have fixed on the saltire, whereas some NO have fixed on the union jack, but some have fixed on both.

So when you see both flags on a house, you don’t know whether it’s all unionist or half YES and half NO.

376. bugsbunny

Got a wbb today. Getting things done at the last kick as per usual. Already read it cover to cover. Can’t wait for tomorrow to come and to make my date with destiny. The only intimidation I have came across is from better together towards yessers, not the other way around. Most no’s I have meet are pensioners or clueless morons. We will win it. Maybe by a baw hair, but we will win it. My predictions all along have been 52% YES and 48% NO.

FREEDOM.

Fuck your Union Jack, we want our country back.

Stephen.

377. A.N.Surgent

We are bringing down the establishment and the only military hardware we have used is an egg.

378. john king

Ha ha Alex right back at ya
    your famous,
    on BBC supping a pint! 🙂

379. MeldyMan

“There is nothing more difficult to take in hand, more perilous to conduct or more uncertain in it’s success, than to take the lead in the introduction of a new order of things, because the innovator has for enemies all those that have done well under the old conditions, and lukewarm defenders in those who may do well under the new.”

N.Machiavelli: 11 Principle

Good luck Scotland. From a Scot in Canada who is jumping on a plane tomorrow night(Thursday) to join you in Georges Square on Friday. Sorry I don’t have a vote. My heart is with you.

380. Lesley-Anne

O.K. folks we really DO know that we have the other side rattled, especially that incompetent reporter Kay whatsherface!

http://tinyurl.com/o58xjnb

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152341690197666

I wonder if any of those dipsy reporters from the BBC are given something called GEOGRAPHY lessons before being sent North of Watford Gap. If they do then THIS guy obviously missed that lesson! 😛

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/09/17/scottish-independence-bbc-livingston-glasgow_n_5835112.html?1410961377

One final wee link. This is from the SNP site on Saturday. 😉

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2014/jun/ruth-davidson-backs-currency-union

381. liz

@Onwards – don’t worry indy stuff being handed out – gave out my last 4 WBBs and a women asked if I had more cos she was going to Buchanan St but all done.

Lady handing out badges, T shirts etc – so still working and having fun at the same time.

382. Tom Foyle

L-A:

Don’t think Stu will take on extra creation contracts just now, lass, although it took only six days to create the world, creating an independent Scotland has been FAR more of a challenge. But then god didn’t have an army of back-stabbing, lying, cheating, greedy, self-absorbed, (insert your own adjectives here – if there’s enough room!) parsimonious, sycophantic etc., etc., etc., humanoids opposing him.
    And you and many others are the perfect illustration of the fundamental differences between the two campaigns.
    Doom, gloom, threats and cajoling, disinformation, misinformation and total lies.
    In opposition: Verifiable facts, wit, humour, light-hearted banter and mutual support.
    Anyone with half a brain cell, even one they have to share on a rotational basis with their spouse, is going to choose what makes them feel all gooey inside, like melted chocolate and warm honey, and wrapped in cotton wool on the outside, as against feeling like they’ve swallowed a razor-studded lump of granite in a darkened, unfamiliar room full of sharp, invisible objects. Of course, there are always those few who are genuinely so far-gone in the way they regularly soap and rinse their cerebral cortices that they are somewhat hardened to wandering around whilst blindfolded. They can be readily identified by the many and varied scars, slashes and still-bleeding cuts and punctures all over exposed portions of their bodies. I strongly advise you to steer clear of such androidal constructs, as their constant mumblings of such over-worn saws as “nuurr…naw..nuurr..”, “berrertergerrer! berrertergerrer!” and “D’ye ken Sammin sacrifices wee bairns?” are likely to cause, in men, premature capitulation – to the desire for alcohol – and in women, the complete disinterest in “Eastenders.” Happily, however, there is an excellent remedy for these complaints. Need I go on?
    Fingers crossed. Toes crossed. Arms, legs, eyes, testicles – anything that can be crossed, I’ll be crossing tomorrow. But most especially, I’ll be CROSSING that YES box!

383. ewen

Jim Murphy gives me the boak.

“Don’t shout Denis” in that faux calm voice. Also , did anyone see him giving wee signals to the interviewer.

384. benarmine

Jesus, softie Jim Murphy complaining about Denis Canavan talking at him, evil, intimidating cybernat that he is. By the way I think Laura Bicker will be a grand replacement for Jackie Bird. Not a hint of bias either way in anything I’ve seen her do.

385. Rev. William Steele

Just like the slave owners who forbade their slaves to learn to read! Reading would make them too independent minded. They would learn stuff their owners were afraid they would get to know. They widnae dae whit they’re telt.

We have slave owners in government at Westminster. They don’t want Scots to learn the truth. They want Scots be like the BT lady, dont think. Jist tae dae whit y’re telt.

386. Paula Rose

Last few undecided/no now voting yes tick
    last leaflets and WBBs distributed tick
    Yes high heels brushed for action tick

Yes is in the air, yes is all around!

387. RedStarTrout

Bugger the Panda
    Stu is definitely not in George Square. I’ve just spent half an hour chatting to him in Princes St Gardens.

388. msean

Lol,there was a bit yesterday where one had Sterling(Stirling) written on screen.307 years and they don’t know your name.

389. Castle Rock

“We are bringing down the establishment and the only military hardware we have used is an egg”

Brilliant!

390. liz

@Lesley-Ann – apparently Kay Whatsherface said she called someone a knob because they were being aggressive.

Well, she had a camera there so the golden opportunity to film said ‘knob’

391. anyting for money

“5. Alistair Darling: MP for Edinburgh South-West: 7 April 2011, He received a fee of £10,200 for addressing a dinner organised by Cinven, London. Hours: approx 6 hrs. On its website it states: ‘Cinven has been involved in European healthcare over a 20-year period and invests in market-leading, cash-generative companies.’

Cinven is a leading buyout firm, who bought 25 private hospitals from Bupa. Other UK investments include. Spire Healthcare, who run private healthcare hospitals, and whose clinical director Jean-Jacques de Gorter said the use of private sector would spiral as a result of Andrew Lansley’s reform proposals. General healthcare group, which runs healthcare services, and whose group includes: BMI healthcare. The other company is Générale de Santé who are France’s leading healthcare provider.

Patricia Hewitt (see below) was an advisor to Cinven.”

http://socialinvestigations.blogspot.de/2014/03/compilation-of-parliamentary-financial.htmlva

392. i'm a fan

Heard Nick Robinson on six o’clock news commenting that 2m scots voting for Yes would be enough. And that may be of interest to outsiders looking in that just 4% of the UK population could cause so much disruption.

Isn’t this deliberately stirring it? I was furious!

393. James123

@benarmine
    By the way I think Laura Bicker will be a grand replacement for Jackie Bird

Lorna Gordon is another one I don’t have a problem with, I don’t recall shouting at the screen during one of her reports.

394. Onwards

Why did they let Dennis Canavan on at this time – letting the condescending Jim Murphy wind him up ?

It just plays right into his hands.

Putting on the creepy quiet voice – constantly talking about extremists on one side only.
    His whole manipulative agenda turns my stomach.

395. KaMate

18.09.2014 – welcome to polling day everyone 😉 good luck from NZ !

396. Bugger (the Panda)

@
    RedStarTrout

He has a doppelganger then

397. tonymac

o/t bbcscot That Jim Murphy really is Pig Ignorant
    Talking over Dennis Cannavan without Actually saying Anything.
    No fckng Respect whatsoever

398. JWil

Murphy is a disgrace trying to drown Denis Canavan out and then accusing him of shouting. I think the viewers will take note of his objectionable behaviour.

399. Robert Peffers

Well the off-line campaigning day ended in a nasty wee incident. The Yes Campaigners in the village had two stalls set up. One at a car park in the main part of Main Street and one at a shopping area in the other end of the village. I had gone to the other end of the village and used the Tannoy and showed the flag until they began to pack up to return to the main stall at Main Street.

So I drove back to the main stall taking a different way through the village. I parked in a disabled bay just by the stall. Next thing there’s a lot of loud shouting going on and a guy, obviously nothing near as disabled as I am, is shouting the odds about a YES vehicle parked in a disabled bay. He is phoning the police but has not bothered to check I have a disabled person’s permit on my dash. He’s making all sorts of daft accusations against the SNP & YES campaign and if the police had arrived he would have been lifted for breach of the peace.

Anyhow, after he raved on about having served in the armed forces and being in his seventies he decided that as I had a permit, was older than he, more disabled than he was, had also served my country and could shoot down all his false claims he decided to make an exit stage left. Far as I know the boys in blue never bothered to turn up.

It all smells of sheer desperation to me. Anyway I’ll be up in the village before the poll opens and find myself a prominent parking bit near where the YES stall is to be set up. If required I’m set-up for ferrying disabled buggies, wheelchairs and folks who struggle getting into cars to the poll. It could be a very long day.

400. woosie

I’m very concerned; I put a bet on a Yes vote last week, when most polls showed a 4 point lead for No, at 11/4. Tonight’s poll shows a 2 point lead, but my online bookmaker is offering improved odds of 3/1!

401. heedtracker

C4 news in Arbroath! Fun watching media airbrush itself out of BetterTogether as if they never existed. Mafia’s do that too. Why the two Arbroathians on C4 Naw thanks interview both middle class English says an awful lot now.

402. Golfnut

Sorry if someone has already posted this.

Boe, Carney confirms Scotlands Financial assets ” north of 1trillion sterling”

Over on Peter Bells 2014. Sorry cant do links. Needs to be shared by those a lot competent than me at this.

403. JWil

I am disappointed that no one has brought up the question of the disrespect shown to MSP’s in the Commons when they are trying to represent their constituents.

Cameron says he respects the Scots but he is guilty disrespect in the Commons, Carmichael, his deputy and their predecessors are guilty of it and the rest of the Commons raises the level of noise whenever a question is being asked. The speaker never intervenes.

It has made my blood boil many a time.

404. alistair

For any optimists out there, William Hill have 60-65% Yes vote at 28-1 (yup, that’s almost 30 times your money). I’m an optimist !
    55-60% is at 12-1. Got to be worth a flutter for any betting types.

405. galamcennalath

Weather forecast for tomorrow looking good. Hardcore voters never miss out. All those Tory Nos will be out anyway. Same for SNP Yes people.

I am convinced that all those new voters who have not voted before will be more inclined if it’s a good day. So, just guessing, I reckon a dry sunny day is worth a percent or two for Yes compared to a wet one!

406. dadsarmy

Well, for me it’s mostly over. A few last postings on the Herald tomorrow I guess and that’s my lot, my self-appointed task of educating the journalists! I stayed clear of YES so I could say – I’m not a member of YES Scotland, seemed to help. A lot of followers, some in the BT squad as I got effectively quoted even by Davidson I think (got a good result from Murrell). What I did was try to fight the lies, the spin, the abuse of figures, the bias of so called experts and thinktanks. Underlying dishonesty of the UK Gov and especialy the Treasury.

No idea if any of it helped, though in the flesh around the country I did turn some NOs including hard NOs to undecideds. A lone wolf in sheep’s clothing. Baaaa.

But tomorrow I’m off to Dundee, hopefully pick up my first YES badge, join in the fun a little, and then with son over there, off to a pub to get some of the atmosphere. And drink myself into just short of oblivion as I don’t want to miss the result!

Son probably getting info on YES pubs in Dundee, but anyone got any info, and about late licences? I hear there’s one or two in the Hill Town, any more?

407. Nana Smith

Lib dems out and about today telling their lies.

http://www.strathspey-herald.co.uk/Independence-Debate/hits-Inverness.htm

408. JWil

Sorry that should be SNP MPs.

409. Dave Beveridge

I know it’s in another topic but Betfair were trying to justify their actions today. It’s all to do with the respective cash that’s gone on each side apparently and that’s how they’re so sure of the result!

I asked them if 900,000 folk stuck £1 on Yes and one guy stuck £1m on No would they still feel as confident? No answer. Totally bizarre way to make a prediction especially when they then said most of the bets up here have been for a Yes!

Apologies if all this has already been covered.

410. Lesley-Anne

You as well Robert?

We had exactly the same scenario happen the last two Saturday’s in Gretna. The first time nothing happened but Saturday past the police did turn up. 😉

Our *ahem* friend spent ages arguing the toss with them and was backed up by his *cough* friend from one of the local shops. Unfortunately for our *ahem* friend he LOST the argument. OUR YES truck was parked in the disabled bay quite legally particularly as we had made sure the Blue badge was on the driver’s side of the dash, the side nearest the pavement. 😛

Don’t worry though cause our *ahem* friend, or was it his *cough* friend, posted on Facebook that WE had been causing CHAOS in Gretna! FAME at last and from the most unsuspecting source … a NO supporter! 😀

411. Golfnut.

Sorry third time I have tried to post this, also in case someone already has.
    Boe, Carney admitted Scotlands financial assets ” north of 1trillion sterling”

Can’t link I’m afraid. Over on Peter Bell at ref 2014.

412. john king

In Aldi’s today and we let a man in front of us at the checkout who only had three bottles of drink,
    He said he was buying it to celebrate when No win (saw the yes badge) I asked him why he thought it would be good for Scotland (and him) to allow someone else to govern us,

I kid you not, his response was straight from the bitter together playbook,

“Ah hate Alex Salmond”
    I said “so you like David Cameron then”
    he said “Ah widnae vote tory if ma life depended on it”

I said “so you didnt vote for them? so remind me? who rules over Scotland again”,

He said ” I didnt come in here to fall out with anyone”
    I looked around at the people behind me at the checkout, all of whom were shaking thier heads at his stupid response!

We’re gonna win people! 🙂

413. scotspine

Scotland, the future is yours, it is ours. Grasp it, embrace it, rise above the mire, shackles and pinions of the past.

Look to the future for your children, grandchildren and yourselves.

Look to a Country free of Nuclear Weapons, a Country with compassion for the poor, the weak, the less fortunate, whether at home or abroad.

Look to a Country that stands alongside others as equal and just in the world community.

This is our time, this is Scotland’s time.

We can be a beacon of hope for the world.

Vote Yes for your Country, Vote Yes for your future, Vote YES with confidence!.

414. Alex Smith

Two Sl…..wha’ am ah kiddin’? Nae sleep til Friday!!!

415. heedtracker

Naw thanks lady says no voters can’t speak for fear to Jon Snow. You can’t shut them up in Aberdeen, which is fun. She also says out loud 97% vote roll means people are not that interested because people like her can’t speak out for the naw Thanks. Crash Gordon got blanket BBC24 coverage today, blanket.

416. Juteman

Interesting post on the Guardian Live Blog.

In a clear sign they are preparing for the possibility of a yes vote and emergency recall of parliament, Commons officials have sent journalists a briefing note detailing the last times the House of Commons was recalled on a Saturday.

The last Saturday sitting was on 3 April 1982, the day after the Falklands war began.

The previous three dates were:
    •3 November 1956 – Suez Crisis

•30 July 1949 – Summer adjournment debates – last sitting of the summer

•2 September 1939 – Outbreak of World War II

That perhaps gives some sense of the scale of the constitutional crisis for the UK if Scotland does vote to leave. PO”

417. Balaaargh

@gfaetheblock

You might remember back in when Mr Brown was on Desert Island Discs back in 1996 being interviewed by Sue Lawley. She questioned his sexuality repeatedly and he was very evasive. Lo and behold, a couple of years later, our new chancellor meets the woman of his dreams and marries.

I couldn’t care if he is or not. If he is, whatever reasons he feels to hide that are his own. If he’s not, whatever reasons for his behaviour in that interview are also his own.

Regardless, he’s still a pathologically lying, demented, aggressive sociopath who thinks he is some kind of political messiah! If only he could be reminded of his signing of the Claim of Right…

“We, gathered as the Scottish Constitutional Convention, do hereby acknowledge the sovereign right of the Scottish people to determine the form of Government best suited to their needs, and do hereby declare and pledge that in all our actions and deliberations their interests shall be paramount.

We further declare and pledge that our actions and deliberations shall be directed to the following ends:

To agree a scheme for an Assembly or Parliament for Scotland;

To mobilise Scottish opinion and ensure the approval of the Scottish people for that scheme; and

To assert the right of the Scottish people to secure implementation of that scheme.”

418. Training Day

BT are in meltdown tonight. Just had a call from them from someone pretending to be in the north of Scotland, but sounded more like deepest Islington. Told him I was undecided to keep him on the phone, and amongst other gems he told me that ISIS would be on our doorsteps with a Yes vote. That nice Mr Brown is also well worth listening to. I said I was mightily concerned about a possible one pence price rise on a stamp, and he gravely said the best way to avoid that was to vote No. Comical yet also tragic.

But folks, they are desperate. If that call is anything to go by they have already lost.

419. TYRAN

A few Tory/Labour guys are seemingly getting hard over Brown’s speech. The man cannot be arsed to turn up at Westminster for a start. The man was kept out of No campaign for a good reason. But as a result of him appearing only the last few weeks – he has not felt the heat unlike Darling. Brown would have melted worse than Darling if he was part of No.

420. Peter G

Gordon Brown was told by Blair and Mandleson that he would never be PM as a 50 year old bachelor.No more Ted Heaths. He managed to find a woman, fall in love (HA!) and marry within months.

Lavender’s blue dilly dilly,Lavender’s green, when I am king dilly dilly, you will be Queen!

If somebody is capable of lying to themselves their entire life then why should the rest of us trust anything they say?

421. tonymac

ot Ipsos MORI
    Yes on 49% and No on 51%
    Adjusting for #bbcbias
    Yes on 65% and No on 35%
    We’re Winning this Aim High 75%

422. Lesley-Anne

Just been told that the daughter, who is a nurse in Carlisle, of our friend was asked to work 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. tomorrow. She told them to get stuffed. She is working till 7 p.m. at the latest!

Utterly shocking behaviour!

423. GrahamB

Well last night I posted about a lassie taking my ‘personal’ copy of the WBB to convince her ‘grannie’ who was a D/K but could be convinced if she saw things written down on paper.
    She came back past the stall this afternoon and gave it back to me – it did the trick! Her auntie, not grannie as reported, is now a definite YES.
    As I said last night, the WBB is worth its weight in votes, Rev.

424. HandandShrimp

Remarkable how all the polls agree in the few hours before the vote yet for the last two years have been all over the place. Let’s see what happens tomorrow.

Whatever, we have made a great fight of this and rattled the very foundations of the establishment. We have been the brighter, better more consistent campaign. God knows how many times No have reinvented themselves. They have never looked comfortable. The No Thanks hearts are just odd.

425. fred blogger

BoE state the scotlands assets are worth approx 10 times, GDP i think scot GDP is £130bn which is £1.3trl.

http://yes2014.net/2014/09/17/governer-boe-confirms-scottish-assets-worth-1-trillion/

426. cynicalHighlander

If anyone is despondent about the polls should be watching Livestream in Glasgow there is no way we are losing this.

427. call me dave

@Training Day

Cool, price of a stamp indeed you canny lick it! 🙂

PS

Guy came round our way with the big red T shirt with the yellow NO.

Unfortunately he had approached from behind spotted my car stickers and me with my Independence T shirt on at the gate. He rushed past me. “What about this hoose then” I muted.

In a muffled response he muttered ” Aye that’ll be right you @***** ” but the rest was lost in the ether.

Had a look round but he was a lone ranger and the way he had the leaflets organised in his hands, was an amateur, as we practised exponents with years of experience would know.

It’s a long street, his car was there for a long time. 🙂

428. Nicola Wood

Hi Stuart,

Thanks for your super Wings … will miss you and hope that you won’t disappear off the planet after tomorrow!

Nicola X

429. fred blogger

call me dave
    that’ll be the fear over hope campaign then. 🙂

430. the Penman

The young guy behind the counter at the wee shop down my road was a No, until he read the WBB at the weekend. Today he was switch wrong because he saw Gordon Brown talk about how a million jobs were at risk, until I pointed out that The MP for Kirkaldy & Cowdenbeath has been on the BBC more often this month than he’s been in parliament this session.

Mark that boy down for a Yes.

431. the Penman

He was “swithering”, not “switch wrong”. Bah, sausage fingers on my phone.

432. Harry McAye

All this praise for Crash-Gordon-Brown-the-filthy-liar in the media, but it’s only since he became involved that the polls have drastically narrowed. It was Gordon what won it…for YES!

433. Andy

Fred ,you can call me candy an do wat you like aslong as we win tomorrow lol

434. paul

Gordon Brown was told by Blair and Mandleson that he would never be PM as a 50 year old bachelor.No more Ted Heaths. He managed to find a woman, fall in love (HA!) and marry within months.
    See also Hague, William and Fox,Liam

435. john king

Handandshrimp
    good post
    your right of course,
    I said this evening watching Alex Salmond on the BBC that he has had to take so much shit over the last two years and faced it all with a smile and courtesy at all times, displaying anger only when faced with palpable lies from Darling,

That man has been a giant and we can be proud to call him our First Minister,

The grass roots movement (us) have faced abuse from people who are responsible for the most disgraceful smear campaign in the history of this country and come out the oher end with good humour and a conviction that has not been shaken,

For the first time in my life I can genuinely say

I AM A PROUD SCOT!

436. TD

The daughter of a friend of mine works for the Co-op and was a committed No voter. She got the letter from USDAW today which carried the same message that Gordon Brown is promoting – if you don’t know then vote No.

Her reaction? “That’s f*****g outrageous. I’m voting Yes!”. She went on to say that now, almost everyone at her branch was going to vote Yes.

437. Harry McAye

Meant to add, Hamilton has been amazing in the last few days for the massive number of new Yes windows appearing. Many above shops in the town centre, many of them quite large and prominent. Even a few now in some of the more affluent areas of town. I’ve been keeping a count since about March and the final scores on the doors are, clears throat,
    Yes Windows 148; No Windows 25
    Yes Cars (very rough) 123; No Cars 18

438. Joe

Rev I have to add my thanks to all the others , and if there is any justice in this world , the WBB will be placed in the Scottish National Library as possibly the defining piece that gave Scotland the strength and the knowledge to vote YES. It could be one of the most important works of literature produced in decades. Thank you for writing it .

439. one less day

The FM will be giving a final speech at 9pm

440. Golfnut.

@fred blogger.
    Thanks, takes me ages to type anything on the phone.

Carney, to my mind did not look to happy about answering this question.

441. Nicola Wood

I was canvassing near Rabbie Burns cottage tonight nearly 40% Yes in posh Alloway Tory heartlands. My friend Tony was up in Glasgow’s Maryhill, near 80% Yes from 973 doors chapped. I’m sure the missing million will come into their element on Friday morning! Keep up the good work guys and gals X

442. Ally McEwen

Mother in law got relatives up from England. As they drove through Kirkintilloch Cowgate they noticed the ‘yes’ stall was buzzing; across the road was a lonely chap with a ‘no’ placard.
    They thought it was hilarious.
    O/T wife’s nephew now ‘yes’.and think my sis. Is too now.
    Let’s not get disheartened with the relentless pressure; it’s intended to demoralise us.
    If we can hold on we can do it.

443. piggy

Rev. William Steele says:
    17 September, 2014 at 7:26 pm
    “Just like the slave owners who forbade their slaves to learn to read! Reading would make them too independent minded. They would learn stuff their owners were afraid they would get to know. They widnae dae whit they’re telt”.

“We have slave owners in government at Westminster. They don’t want Scots to learn the truth. They want Scots be like the BT lady, dont think. Jist tae dae whit y’re telt”.

GOOD POINT!

444. Justin Ross

@Peter G

In the 90s my politics lecturer at university, who was at Edinburgh Uni with Gordon Brown, did state that it was widely known that he was gay.

I do agree that if someone is capable of lying to themselves for so long about who they really are and who they love, partly to advance their career, they are in a bad place. Perhaps this torment explains Brown’s clear psycho-social problems and his obsessive careerism?

But, if he is truly gay, then it is entirely his choice if he chooses not to be open about his sexuality, for whatever reasons. As a gay man myself, I know how hard it can be.

– A raging Yes

445. fred blogger

Golfnut
    happy to post it thanks, for posting about it, it was well worth doing so.
    more facts into the mix the better, in all of our opinions, i’m sure. 🙂

446. call me dave

@Harry McAye

So what are the polls doing in Scotland? Funny old world init!

‘The moan’ on sky news predicting a depression. Who knew?

Oh the Polls are on now .

447. tonymac

Bbc news cannot Ignore us Anywhere in Scotland
    Holyrood Glasgow Saltires Everywhere
    and Jim Murphy in the Dark as Always

448. Andy

AFTER THE MORRA NAE MAIR SHITE TO LISTEN TOO HAPPY DAYS sorry for shoutin but ave had my fill of listening to peeps talking SHITE

449. anyting for money

17 September, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Sorry, link above not working in post ?, try this one

http://socialinvestigations.blogspot.de/2012/07/over-60-mps-connected-to-companies.html

450. call me dave

The polis involved regarding postal votes in Edinburgh?
    Leaking info.

Bet fair paying out on sky too!

451. tonymac

63% yes to 37% no
    sky viewers poll

452. Indy_Scot

Can you just imagine how smug the media will be for, well forever, if it goes their way.

We all know what the right thing to do is, vote YES.

453. Alex

I’m a 62 year old Scots male. I’ve not lived in Scotland for 35 years but I dearly want Scotland to vote for independence. I left Britain because I coudn’t stand Thatcher. Everything about her was obnoxious. I want to apologise to the young people of Scotland and tell you how proud you should be of yourselves. It has been rejuvenating to follow you online. Left to you Scotland would be independent on Friday. That doesn’t look likely and I blame those of my generation who will vote no. So selfish to deny you your chance.

454. call me dave

AS will be talking live in Perth on BBC news live in a wee while.

Sturgeon first then AS.

455. Oneironaut

On the train back from Glasgow now.

George Square was totally EPIC! 😀

I’ve gone from “Quietly Confident” to “We Can’t Lose This!”

To quote the guy going around there dressed as Darth Vader:
    “The Empire is in peril!” 😉

456. Robert Kerr

In years gone by before the Herald moderated comments it was suggested that wee Dougie was Gordon Brown’s “Rimmer”

I thought it was to do with “Red Dwarf” and an inept character but I googled and was educated.

457. Nicola Wood

Spoken to several Glasgow guys tonight and it’s boiling over for YES – subdued elsewhere but even in posh areas plenty of YES posters! I believe the polls, paid for by the Unionist media are Wrong. Stick £20 on YES to get your expenses back!

458. James Caithness

Like to add my thanks to REV. Big day tomorrow and more work to do. Regardless of result I I feel so humble and proud at everyone I have met on the YES movement, on here, in my group and every Yesser the length and breath of this glorious country of ours.

If its no I hope we keep going as a movement to get a written constitution for UK.

I, however, believe its a YES we will wake up to on Friday.

@Flower of Scotland – I too will be at the Scottish Parliament at 12.00 Friday, you can also have a drink from my hip flask.

YYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSS, GO SCOTLAND.

459. Kenny

It is an open secret about Broon. I thought everyone knew.

460. A.N.Surgent

Indy_Scot

I dont think they would be smug, when the no voters get free prescriptions taken away, when more and more food banks appear,when they need to pay to see their doctor, when no new powers are given, when they understand how much trident will cost.

I think they will be sh***ing themselves, probably they are praying for a YES vote.

461. Peter G

Will Carmichael enter the dictionaries alongside Quisling? Certainly deserves to after today’s last second attempt to partition Scotland to appease his beloved English overlords.

462. Kevin evans

Glasgow is amazing.

463. mr thms

Alex Salmond has to appeal to people from across the political spectrum in his speech tonight.

464. James Caithness

Where can we hear AS speech?

465. highseastim

I’m back offshore today, just been off the phone to the wife, she says Lossiemouth is a buzz of YES campaigners tonight, loudspeakers, scottish music, cars with speakers,etc. she said she had a tear in her eye!!

466. highseastim

Sky news are going to it James.

467. Andy smith

Just had latest BT leaflet through door..on it …If you’re too thick just vote for a p***k
    Nah,just made it up…or did I ?

468. Clootie

I don’t have time to read all the posts.
    I’m sorry if it has already been said
    I’m sorry if it’s childish
    BUT
    Happy Yesmas Eve everybody 😀

Guess what I want for Yesmas

469. James Caithness

@highseastim – thanks mate

470. Joe Swan

BT have denied that, in an effort to clarify the ‘Don’t Vote No More Powers Offered Soon Situation’, John Reid, Baron Reid of Cardowan, said that definite No voters, who think that more powers will be easily passed through both Houses of Parliament should put a cross in both boxes, as it is too late to put the option on the Ballot Paper.

Or something like that.

All others should put their unique and truly cherished cross in the Yes box.

Enjoy.

471. Andy-B

Alex Salmond giving his final campaign speech live from Perth just now, HOPE NOT FEAR WILL PREVAIL.

472. James Caithness

Police Scotland investigating someone in polling duties talking about the result from the postal votes.

Its at the bottom of the speech from Nicola

473. Murray McCallum

ERS Scotland ?@ERSScotland 2m
    “… legally you must have been given a ballot paper by 10pm to vote. Suspect doors will close at 10 and all inside will get to vote.”

The advice would appear to vote as early as you can.

474. Greannach

Top item on RTE News at 9pm, returning to Edinburgh live later. Also now on German N24 and n-tv.

475. David Smith

@Lesley-Anne.

Good to meet you and the gang today. Glad to have done my bit on the last day, even if it was only a tiny wee bit. It really buoyed me to see the kind of positive reception we were getting, even in The Deep South! 🙂

I’ll roar quietly, honest!

476. GrahamB

Just watched a wee bit of Livestream at George Square, his batteries were running out but managed to capture a bunch of BNP thugs trying to creep up Cochrane Street into the Square . The polis had them corralled and another cordon keeping the YES supporters from getting close to them although they were not bothered to engage.
    Will that get coverage on GBBC (Gordon Brown Broadcasting Corporation)?

477. call me dave

Perth speeches NS on now AS to follow.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/video_and_audio/

478. Socrates MacSporran

Come on guys – I don’t give a damn if Crash Gordon is gay, bi-sexual, a-sexual or (as was memorably insinuated about a dump truck driver on a civil engineering site I worked on years ago: he fucks hedgehogs and interferes with budgies).

What I do care about is, that as a politician, he does his best for his constituents and for his country. In both of these essential tasks, he has been an abject failure.

He has worked continuously to promote the idea of the Great Gordon Brown – he failed. He is just about the best asset the Yes campaign has.

He is heading for a very, very dark place when Yes’s victory is announced on Friday morning.

479. ronnie anderson

I was looking forward to finnishing the last leg of this long long journey,being a Election Agent on behalf of Wings & attending the count in NTH Lanarkshire. Sadly I wont be able to do the final leg. Gerry Parker didnt put my name forward. I wish all you lads n lasses the Best of Wishes.

480. Andy-B

James Caithness.

SKY news currently showing the live Perth rally.

481. jacksg

its on sky news live, Nicola still speaking AS due on soon

482. Mealer

Flash mob in Arbroath tonight was amazing.We all marched down to the harbour,where channel 4 had managed to dredge up a handful of No hopers for an interview.What an atmosphere.The piper was a hero!Hundreds there.

483. horacesaysyes

@clootie – Happy Yesmas Eve to you too. 🙂

I’m still nervous – butterflies in the stomach already, so goodness knows what I’ll be like tomorrow night!

Maybe I should take up drinking?

484. call me dave

@Socrates MacSporran

Wise words!

Here’s some more from Eck!

485. archieologist

In Edinburgh today. Far more YES posters in windows than NOs. Healthy numbers of people in City Centre sporting YES badges few NOs. Get the feeling that something big is in the air. YES the force is with us!

A big thanks to REV Stu for exposing the misinformation and lies of BT and their pals in MSM.

A new Scotland for the 21 century ! VOTE YES!

486. john king

I am watching a woman having takan up the torch from our fallen comrade Margo MacDonald, Nichola Sturgeon IS a wonderful politician, and retrieves the reputation of that so despised group of people, bearing in mind who the people see as unreliable, untrustworthy, dishonerable, disreputable,
    IT IS WESTMINSTER who attracted that reputation, we can be rid of these people for ever,

VOTE YES

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.