Beyond endurance

Posted on August 13, 2015 by

The papers these days are full of horrendous stories. For some reason this one just tripped a nerve, and we wanted to do something. Click here for details.

1. 13 08 15 22:43

Beyond endurance | Speymouth

178 to “Beyond endurance”

1. Lesley-Anne

I have just donated a tenner.

I just wish my numbers had come in recently cause I’d have done what you will undoubtedly do with this fund raiser Stu.

Congratulations on showing the London centric MSM, yet again, that there are people out here in the REAL world who see sanctions as injust, immoral but just down right WRONG!

Moreover, how the hell can ANY sensible, if not just plain reasonable, judge see a glassing assault not fit for a jail term is beyond me!

2. jimnarlene

Donation made.
    What a shithole this country is, where the poor can starve and wealthy tossers can glass people….shocking, just shocking.

3. Lesley-Anne

BLOODY HELL!

Sorry for the wee sweary there folks.

I’ve just had a wee peek into the fund raiser created by Stu to help out the poor sanctioned woman in Kiddiminster.

£1,017 in 25 minutes. (Stu was only looking to raise the minimum allowed £500. 😉 )

I think we are looking at another EXCELLENT example of the fund raising pulling power of the Rev. 😀

4. James Forrest

Was happy to contribute mate. A magnificent gesture.

You’re a good man fella.

5. Brian Powell

Hope it gets to the woman quickly.

6. Ian Brotherhood

This is, quite clearly, a CyberNat cover story to raise funds for balaclavas and Kalashnikovs.

7. donald anderson

Try this story from the Suffolk Gazette about a brawl between Morris Dancers and a blind football team.

http://www.suffolkgazette.com/news/morris-dancers-blind-footballers-brawl/

8. CameronB Brodie

Gladly donated, as someone who has found themselves in a similar position and had to resort to a bit of thoughtful chorying so as to survive.

Better Together UKOK?

9. James Westland

Contribution made

Lets show this heartless corrupt failed state.

10. Marie Clark

Dear God, what kind of country is this we have been shackled to.

Poor woman, to be that desperate. It doesn’t bear thinking about.

Pleased to contribute Rev. Your a good and decent soul.

11. Sunniva

£1500 when I looked. Surely this lady needs more than just her fines paying though, like her rent, and food until her benefits start again?

Well done Stu.

12. Brian Doonthetoon

I guess this is ‘on topic’.

On Saturday, between 11am and 2pm, Team YES Bus will be hosting a foodbank collection in Dundee’s Murraygate, outside Tesco Metro.

We’ll also be discussing the ongoing campaign for Scottish Independence, with anyone who wants to join the debate.

The guys and gals from ‘Taught by Muhammad’ will be there as well, as that’s where the food and donations go – not the more media-savvy organisation which shall remain nameless.

For info, click the link and see ‘FOOD BANK’ under ‘Our Projects’.

http://www.taughtbymuhammad.com/

13. Midgehunter

Bloody dust everywhere here at the moment, doesn’t half make the eyes water.

14. frogesque

Now at 2,464. Gobsmacked! No just by the generosity of Wingers but also at the crass legal system that protects the rich and humiliates the poor.

It’s truely Dickensian!

15. Graeme Doig

She might have been better glassing someone. I’m sure she would have been given custodial then at least she would eat.
    What a disgrace when all the colluders in the establishment work together to punish the poor. IDS has much to answer for.
    You know, it’s almost as if they get a perverse pleasure from watching people suffer.

16. Graeme Doig

Apologies Rev. Hope your generosity extends to sparing the hammer.

17. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Hope it gets to the woman quickly.”

I’ll make sure it does. Will pay it out of Wings funds in advance and recoup it from IG when the fundraiser ends (we can’t make it less than 14 days).

18. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Apologies Rev. Hope your generosity extends to sparing the hammer.”

Just this once 🙂

19. Nor

Glad to contribute.

I was in the terrible sanctioned situation for 3 months last year. It was the worst thing ever. Completely inhuman treatment.

Well over £3000 now, well done.

20. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Rev.

GET THE PRESS RELEASE OUT ON THE WIRES!

8=)

21. Sinclair Macleod

Donated with tears in my eyes. What kind of person prosecutes a case like this? What kind of person finds her guilt? The kind with absolutely no humanity nor empathy. It’s truly disgusting.

22. Legerwood

Was at £3448 a few moments ago

23. ronnie anderson

Rev don’t broadcast it to wildly HMRC will want their cut.bastward that convicted the woman in the 1st place.

24. galamcennalath

Dear David Cameron,

You couldn’t run a bath far less a country.

Yours, but not for long,
    Scotland

25. Paula Rose

I think a group of us should go down with a wings banner and pay this in person with one penny coins.

26. dramfineday

Small donation made and if you can help the lass out a little more I’m sure you will.

Anent the magistrate, I wonder what their breaking point would be without money, food or support? Daft question I know but I was reflecting on the fates and cruelty of the situation.

27. Mealer

A shocking story but a great response.O/T….I just saw Jeremy Corbyn on Scotland 2015 say Westminster will decide if there’s to be another referendum.Will he arrest the Scottish Cabinet? Will he put tanks in? Will he lock Scottish soldiers in their barracks?

28. David Smith

Just stuck something in the pot too. I had just the story about the thug banker avoiding jail and was already disgusted when I came across your latest, Stu. I cannot understand the mindset of an establishment that permits this.

To be honest, I struggling to find any respect for a society that tolerates it as well.

29. mogabee

What a contrast between the have and the have-not.

And to listen to the “Labourtory three” trying to persuade their voters that “austerity” is the way forward while people are literally starving…

And amongst it all are good people doing good with no big fanfare or photo oppotunity such as Mark Frankland.

There’s just not many Rev’s around like you Stu and that’s a fact. 😀

30. David

Over 750% funded in just two hours. This just a small example of the power of the Yes movement in Scotland. A undoubted force for good in the world.

31. Brian Doonthetoon

O/T – but ‘Scotland 2015’ tonight has been mentioned.

That was a decent interview with Ronnie Brown of The Corries.

32. Macandroid

Sent a few quid just now.

No equality or consistency in the legal system or was the classing judge just an arse?

33. Meindevon

There is something really disgusting, nasty and despicable about glassing someone. It’s so cold bloodied. Anyone who can do that should be put away for a long time IMO because if they are capable of that cruelty what else could they be capable of?

34. galamcennalath

Paula Rose says:
    “I think a group of us should go down with a wings banner and pay this in person with one penny coins.”

Apparently RBS still issue Scottish one pound notes 😉

35. Betsy

Now up at £4014. I know it’s maybe a bit ambitious but it would be great if we could get the total up to say £21,000 which would cover the £15,000 for First Base and leave £6000 (maximum savings allowed before it starts to affect benefits) to give to this woman, giving her enough to cover her legal costs and help her get on her feet.

36. Ellie

Wee donation made, PLEASE can she keep more than just enough to cover her fine/court fees?

Truly appalling story, my heart goes out to her, and the countless others pushed to having to resort to this.

37. ArtyHetty

I really have no words to describe what I think of that judge.

Made a small contribution, couldn’t afford much, but the amount raised so far is fantastic. It has crossed my mind in recent months, that this is the sort of thing we could do to try to alleviate the deliberate poverty and destitution created by ukok. Well done.

38. Stoker

Ooft, now flying at well over 4-grand.
    WOS gives you wings and a Mars a day helps you work, rest and play.

39. Lesley-Anne

I like your thinking there Betsy. It would certainly put Fluffy in his place … AGAIN! 😀

40. Paula Rose

Actually I was being serious – think about the publicity.

41. G H Graham

I saved some money on my Lyme disease treatment today by purchasing some of the drugs from a Walmart store in Lexington Park, Maryland.

So I’ve donated the saving to Stuart Campbell’s fundraiser to help Ms. Sewell.

Upon reading the newspaper article, I noticed that Magistrate Maurice Lashford chose to add to Ms. Sewell’s fines, a victim surcharge. Am I the first person to suggest that he might also qualify as a nasty wee shite?

42. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I think most if not all of the “surcharges” and whatnot are mandatory now.

43. DerekM

£4133 now

Surly the shop in question would have needed to press charges for her to end up in court,all over 75 pence absolutely shocking as is the judicial system that allowed this to even go to court which lets not forget as tax payers we will have paid for

If anybody involved in this had a conscience they would have paid the 75 pence for her,shame on all of them.

Can we direct her to a food bank where she lives or get in touch with them to help her as she really needs it and a little act of kindness will let her know there are still people in this UK who care.

Its enough to break your heart.

44. D Neill

My first contribution to the site and a wee donation towards your cause.

Keep up the good work Stu. Love this site and the regular contributors.

45. mr thms

What a great idea. Since there is one law for the rich and one law for the poor, how about treating her to a meal fit for a Queen, in one of Kidderminster’s Michelin Guide restaurants?

46. ArtyHetty

6k is the total amount anyone on benefits can have in the bank before it affects the amount they are paid, all that cash from the DWP eh, wow 70 quid a week I mean why would anyone need more to pay for the basics, nevermind if they need any other necessities, at any stage, that’s just tough ain’t it Mr judge.

Please let Karma visit that judge, soon.

47. Morag

Remembering the case in Detroit where the fundraiser for the man who was walking miles to work went viral and he ended up with enough money to buy a house, I think Stu’s right that we should just be aiming to pay off all the liabilities from the shoplifting incident and give the lady a cushion of maybe £100 to £200 on top.

The walking-to-work case was pretty unique, and was characterised by the man’s extreme dedication to get to work even after his car died on him. Many many people are desperate due to sanctions from the Job Centre. Some steal and some don’t. But it wouldn’t be good to single out one person for disproportionate largesse. Especially someone who seems to have a wee bit of a criminal record in addition to this (though no suggestion as far as I know that that wasn’t also a reaction to having no other recourse in destitution).

Get her out of this hole, give her a wee bit extra to help her on her feet, and work on funding First Base to keep it open, as well as any other similar deserving cause that will benefit the many rather than just a favoured individual.

48. GallusEffie

This totally reminds me of the horrible story of the woman walking to Maryhill food bank and selecting a tin of beans with a ring pull just so she could open and eat them right away with her bare hands in the same week that the HoL were in uproar about the drop in quality of their subsidised in house cappuccino.

If we’re all in it together, why are we all treated so differently? Put in a wee donation. Thoughts are with Louisa and First Base and everyone going hungry cos of austerity or sanctions.

49. AuldGranny

Am sitting bubbling. How could that magistrate be so cruel as to do that to a hungry woman?

Thanks for caring and paying out early to the lady, Rev (probably from your own pocket). As if things weren’t bad enough, she has had this worry on top of it hanging over her all this time.

I’m sure no-one would worry if she was given a bit more to help tide her over, whenever that is feasible.

50. Trinityschild

Makes me proud to be a cybernat and Scottish to my core.

Makes me completely ashamed I currently have to live with the stain of being British.

I am currently on long-term sick with MS (unlikely to ever work again),without my wife having a good job I might be this lady.

51. Lesley-Anne

Paula Rose says:

Actually I was being serious – think about the publicity.

I like your thinking there Paula. As they say “no publicity is bad publicity.” 😉

On a wee side issue.

I see the SNP have won both the Wishaw and Denny & Banknock council by elections tonight. 😛

North Lanarkshire (Wishaw) result:
    SNP – 51.1% (+16.6)
    LAB – 32.8% (-24.9)
    CON – 10.3% (+2.4)
    SSP – 3.1% (+3.1)
    UKIP – 1.8%
    LDEM – 1.0%

Denny & Banknock by-election result:
    LAB 549
    GRN 170
    SNP 2576
    CON 431

52. donald

O/T – apols. Saw Corbyn’s interview. Good guy…except when it comes to Scotland where he is a total tit. Very disappointing on a human level.

53. Stoker

DerekM wrote:
    “Can we direct her to a food bank where she lives or get in touch with them to help her as she really needs it..”

Yes, like getting the foodbank mentioned in the appeal to knock up a decent hamper for her and, to combine it with PR’ idea, get a team of WOS reps to deliver it or get the Rev to personally do it.

Sorted! Job done and swivel finger directed at the system!

54. Rev. Stuart Campbell

On the comments about what to do with all the extra money:

Stuff like this is why I run a Scottish politics site, not a charity, because I’m in no way qualified to play God and decide who’s deserving of what. I don’t know Louisa Sewell from Adam, I haven’t a clue if she’s a nice person or not. She could be some awful UKIP-voting racist or Earth’s greatest living saint. I don’t know and I have no intention of trying to find out.

It’s also perhaps a bit dodgy to send a message that if you’re poor and you steal, you might get rewarded with thousands of pounds. Then again, how can you judge someone who hasn’t eaten for days for doing that in desperation? Like I say, well above my pay grade.

So all we can do is stick to what it says in the fundraiser – the £500 will pay the fines and court charges and a wee bit more on top. I found out after the campaign was live that someone else had started one for her on gofund.me, which had only raised £125.

http://www.gofundme.com/xgxqhxae

But between that and what’ll be left from our £500 after the fines etc, Louisa will have at least a few hundred quid extra in her pocket to do what she wants with. I don’t think it’s our place to decide to use it on a slap-up feed in a restaurant or whatever when she might be able to make that money last two or three weeks instead, or pay a bill with it or whatever.

As for the rest, First Base has been running a long time and we know it helps lots of people. When we know how much money we have in total, we can decide exactly what we want to do with it.

I’m a bit uncomfortable even writing all this. There but for the grace of God go any of us, and there are professional people much better qualified than I am to handle these horrible decisions about who gets what out of a finite resource.

Just be proud of what you’ve all done tonight, know that we’ve done a little bit of good somewhere, and keep on trying to make a better world where this shit doesn’t have to happen.

55. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s another link for the Mark Steel article on Corbyn etc (easier to access than annoying/slow Independent):

http://www.stopwar.org.uk/news/tony-blair-watch/the-last-thing-labour-needs-is-a-leader-like-jeremy-corbyn-who-people-want-to-vote-for

56. Morag

Stu, you’re spot on. Getting her out of a hole and giving her a wee cushion is fine. Four-figure sums isn’t, really, because there are many others in her position who haven’t hit the headlines.

First Base is helping the many, not the few. Whether we send it all there or find some other places to spread the largesse probably depends on how much the appeal raises. We know Mark needs £15,000, but he may have covered some of it by now.

I hoped my donation to the “Get Carmichael” fundraiser would end up going to a food bank, but so far it looks as if the entire £60,000 raised may be needed for the court case as that scumbag isn’t giving in any time soon.

57. Indigo

The Wings community is just wonderful
    Thanks Stu for creating this little corner of sanity in a mad world

58. NN

Magnificent move. Great to see some genuine help. Bless you all.

How can anyone have respect for the legal system and authorities at this point? The manager, police, judge and prosecution services involved with this are all scum. Cannot be trusted at all. They knowingly and pettily damn this woman for 75p. The disgusting attached story about the banker only highlights how little they all deserve respect.

59. DerekM

@ Stoker

Great idea mate 🙂

Mark Frankland are you on we have a little job for you how would you like a trip down to England 😉

60. Paula Rose

I feel like writing a long post without paragraph breaks just so that I can look at the Rev.

61. NN

I agree with the idea of paying the fine and no more as it only has an impact on the part people truly object to – the clear imbalance and unfairness of the application of law here. Much like the stealing and cheating MPs (or the child raping and murdering) getting away with it entirely or a slap on the wrists while the usual poor person scapegoat is set up for having their life destroyed for the same or far less.

By donating the money to a charity food bank beyond the fine or court costs it avoids the rewarding aspect and actually helps prevent any future true crimes of desperation, while also not needing to make any personal judgements beyond that. I don’t think much better could be done without it taking forever to enact. First Base is a good cause. Some people will be able to eat (without crime) thanks to this fundraiser. A happy and sad thought at the same time.

62. HandandShrimp

I think the proposal to assist First Base is sound.

The £500 will ensure the lady does not go to jail for non-payment of fines or end up in the hands of loan sharks. That restores justice where it is seen to have failed.

The Denny by-election result is mental. 69%? Just when you think the numbers can’t get any better….

63. ronnie anderson

As the Rev said the extra would go to Dumfries Foodbank & other Charities, the Woman will be more than happy having her fine payed & a couple of hundred quid in her pocket.

Once again Wingers have shown the meaning of Caring for our fellow Man/Woman.

64. ArtyHetty

Yes makes sense to help people and also share wisely. I know from experience that when you have nothing, anything helps pay the bills and relieve some of the stress.

If only the ones in such misplaced but powerful positions, who are making crucial decisions about peoples lives had a conscience, but that is not how things work, sadly.

65. Wee aLex

Can anyone tell me which court and who the judge was.

I’d happily write to them to express outrage and ask why this abomination was allowed to happen.

Probably not get an answer but nothing ventured……..

66. DerekM

@ HandandShrimp

Yea mate we gave them a right doing tonight and the sectarian nonsense that came out earlier during the week forcing labour to pull the plug on their candidate didnt make any difference they were getting a doing either way 🙂

So proud to be a bairn today 🙂

67. ags_1888

They let lords away with paedophilia drug abuse and everything else but a hungry woman is the one in the wrong?brulliant ye couldnae make this shit up,sorry Stu but I’m no gonnae watch my language here,fuck yer establishment fuck yer MI5 fuck yer britnats that voted naw ye can aw suck ma boaby we(me n ma mates)are getn sick of this double standards pish,we are biting our tongue and biding our time FYU #raging

68. Stoker

Rev,
    Your first 2 paragraphs in your 12.12am post were genuine concerns of mine but when you, as you did, compare the situation with the glassing case then it’s a no-brainer, if only to make a one-off point and help someone into the bargain.

I’d never want to reward criminality but this is about a whole lot more. Others who would normally struggle are also going to benefit out of this and that can only be a good thing.

Shit state of affairs that we even have to do this but hey-ho, sign of the times sadly.

69. ronnie anderson

@ CameronB your not the only one to have posts not appearing.

70. Morag

Never mind the bloody Denny result, that’s not really representative after Labour withdrew support for their candidate.

I was born and brought up in a village just outside Wishaw and lived in the town itself for several years. I never thought I’d see the day when the SNP got over 50% in a council by-election. I think I’m off for a wee greet. (Especially as I got about 13% in a council by-election here less than two years ago, heigh-ho.)

71. G H Graham

The GDP per capita in the UK is around $41,000. No one living within its borders should find themselves in circumstances so bad, that they are left bloody hungry.

72. CameronB Brodie

Do these two cases highlight the primacy of property rights in English law?

73. Morag

I think it’s more likely that they highlight the fact that professional judges are quite often sympathetic to the circumstances of the malefactor, but that JPs can be smug, judgemental gits.

74. K1

You’re a good man Stu.

Just tears of rage about this…

75. Lesley-Anne

Wee aLex says:

Can anyone tell me which court and who the judge was.

The crime, if an act carried out by someone who is penniless and starving can ever be called a crime, occured in Kiddiminster WA. I’d therefore assume that her court case would be in the Kiddiminster Magistrates court.

http://www.thelawpages.com/legal-directory/Kidderminster-Magistrates-Court-249-1.pgs

76. Jim Arnott

Saw this when I awoke this morning. Contributed immediately. This is what is wrong with this sick society that we live in. I think the total is now over £5,500.

77. Jim Arnott

Looked at the total less than 1hr later and it is just shy of £5,800. Remarkable generosity.

78. Capella

@ CameronB Brodie
    The sanctity of property as you say, a mars bar is sacred whereas a human face – well, who cares?

But justice is blind. It is as illegal for a rich man to sleep under a bridge, beg in the street or steal a loaf of bread as for a poor man.

Off to chip in.

79. Mealer

Morag 12.59
    Thanks for the info.I was wondering why there should be such a huge difference between the two results.

80. Macart

Wee contribution made.

81. Conan_the_Librarian

It seems to me these days, whenever I learn of a Wings fundraiser it’s already shattered its target 🙂

82. john king

Transportations too good for em,
    and once we’ve stuffed Gruinard with bankers we should export that heartless bastard of a judge,
    Ian Duncan Smith and any other fucker that thinks its a jolly good idea to see the plebs starve,
    good for the moral fibre dontcha know?

I wonder how much moral fibre those arses would display when their ribs are sticking to their spines?
    galamcennalath says: at 11:15 pm

Apparently RBS still issue Scottish one pound notes 😉

REALLY?
    Are they still legal tender?

Why dont you apply to become a regular contributor mr/mrs/miss/ms Niell
    you need to be of unsound mind,
    have a little dog called Toto,
    have a letter from your mum,
    and not be TOO concerned about a little joshing now and again. 🙂
    oh and…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vt0Y39eMvpI

83. Tinto Chiel

This story reminds me of judges in the nineteenth century, who would transport the poor to Australia for stealing a loaf of bread. The judge should be ashamed of him/herself for this disproportionate and vindictive sentence. I’m sure, however, that not a wink of sleep will be lost. Wee contribution made.

What a country the UK is becoming. I’ve said it before but shall repeat: oh, how I long to be foreign.

Good luck to the lady and well done Rev.

84. starlaw

Wee Mary a child from the High Street Edinburgh, appeared in the dock for stealing a loaf of bread the Magistrate Lord Braxfield. “Mary whit wie did ye steal yon breed” .. “tae feed my wee brother , he wis hungry” .. “wis he awfu hungry” .. “aye he wis yer Lord” .. “then ye did the richt thing, go away hame wi ye and tak yur wee brother wi ye” Lord Braxfield then lambasted the baker for bringing the charges. This shop needs to learn the same lesson

85. Tinto Chiel

This story reminds me of judges in the nineteenth century, who would transport the poor to Australia for stealing a loaf of bread. The judge should be ashamed of him/herself for this disproportionate and vindictive sentence. I’m sure, however, that not a wink of sleep will be lost. Wee contribution made.

What a place the UK is becoming. I’ve said it before but shall repeat: oh, how I long to be foreign.

Good luck to the lady and well done Rev.

86. heedtracker

Well done WoS!

The fact that she’s now got a criminal conviction record for life is what will really punish her for the rest of her life. Its not an issue to trouble our noble legal profession though.

87. Lesley-Anne

THEY have no heart.

THEY have no soul.

THEY do NOT care about others.

THEY are driven by greed.

THEY are driven by self interest.

THEY are a bunch of LOSERS.

WE have a heart.

WE have a soul.

WE care about others.

WE are NOT driven by greed.

WE are NOT driven by self interest.

WE are a bunch of WINNERS.

WE are the WOS Cybernats! 😀

p.s. The total is now standing at £6,326 at 08:45.

WELL DONE everyone. I knew we could scrape over the finishing line this morning. 😀

88. donnywho

Re, the glassing of two, I think you can safely assume they were oiks, maybe even working class or even scroungers. They certainly could not have been quite our type and hence the lenient sentence.

My proof is simple… what would the sentence have been if the victims had been the sons of peers or cabinet ministers.

I think you all know the answer, which begs the question, do we still live in a basiclly feudal society?

89. john king

Oh ps D Neill

the letter fae yer mither hus tae say yer allood oot efter the street lichts ur oan. 🙂

90. MajorBloodnok

Empathetic comprehension of the phrase “there but for the grace of God go I” is precisely the thing that distinguishes these smug bastards tories (of all colours) from the rest of humanity.

91. galamcennalath

@john king

http://www.scotbanks.org.uk/banknote_denominations.php

Must admit that I haven’t actually seen a one pound note for years.

92. Conan_the_Librarian

@starlaw

You mean the Lord Braxfield who said:

‘Hang a thief when he’s young, and he’ll no steal when he’s auld’.

That one?

93. Conan_the_Librarian

@galamcennalath

John’s wallet is stuffed full o them. 🙂

94. Noel Masson

Happy to help! A truly magnificant gesture Stu.

95. Rosemary Champion

Just grateful to be in a position to give some money to help. The response restores my faith in human nature. Magic.

96. Lesley-Anne

Just remember folks.

The man in overall charge of the Department that has caused this outrage, allegedly a human being although I have my doubts, claims to be a Roman Catholic.

Now excuse me for my ignorance here but are Roman Catholics, like protestants, allegedly supposed to be from a religion that CARES about other people and the LESS well off. If my supposition is right, and I apologise if I am wrong here 😉 , then HE should be utterly ashamed of himself.

I propose he be arrested found guilty of inhuman treatment of others and deported to some far off land … failing that Rockall will do!

97. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, all, about the double post. I wasn’t sure the first had gone off and then I realised I had called the UK a country…..

I’m going to get Peffered, ain’t I?

98. ronnie anderson

@ D Neill as mean as Scots are lol,(noo I wunner who tagged us with that missconception) it gets easier tae part with ah few bawbees for neady causes.

Weil done aw you,s Wingers.

99. john king

Conan The Librarian says
    “John’s wallet is stuffed full o them. :)”

Eh naw,
    but I did have a wee silent weep when I found three half crowns a two bob bit and a ten bob note down the back of the couch. 🙁
    oh and a tanner and two thruppenny bits (no Im not talking about Lady Moan)

100. asklair

75p “crime” and the mass killing in Gulf War II, shame on all of us for letting this happen. This campaign may be small but its a start, it helps a single person, sends a clear message to the judge the figurehead of the corrupt Westminster government and gives support to a grassroots group in Dumfries. Glad that I can be a part of this campaign.

101. Lesley-Anne

Hmm my last but one post from an hour ago hasn’t come up. Looks like I’ve been nobbled by GCHQ this morning folks. 😀

It wasn’t anything important just my usual level of village idiot nonsense. 😀

102. Dorothy Devine

OT It appears the Herald has decided to haunt us with the witterings of dyed blondes – not content with Ms Rowling ,Lady Mone we now have the ridiculous Mrs Cochrane pontificating.

When do these people get over themselves?

103. Sinky

O/T but is this the Corbyn effect at play in yesterday’s by election results?

Denny & Banknock (Falkirk) result: SNP – 69.1% (+30.2) LAB – 14.7% (-15.9) CON – 11.6% (+7.9) GRN – 4.6% (+4.6)

North Lanarkshire (Wishaw) vote result: SNP – 1915 LAB – 1230 CON – 385 SSP – 117 UKIP – 67 LDEM – 37

Pinhoe (Exeter): Conservative GAIN from Labour.

Labour dump candidate with 24 hours to go but too late to influence result.

http://www.falkirkherald.co.uk/news/local-news/labour-dump-denny-by-election-candidate-hours-before-vote-over-sectarian-facebook-messages-1-3856137

104. John H.

We’re heading back through Dickensian times now, and here come the middle ages. That’s obviously what the establishment want. Then they try to tell us that there’s no need for trades unions anymore.

I’ve sent this story to “no” voters I know, to try to get through to them what they’ve done. I can only hope.

God help all those in need, for they’ll get no sympathy from those in power in today’s Britain.

Roll on an independent Scotland. £10 donated.

105. Matt McCallum

£20 on its way. Shocking state of affairs in this day and age.

I think we can expect things to get worse under this tory goverment

106. K1

Tinto, your mean you’ll be getting ‘Peffer sprayed’…

Coat oan, headin’ fur door…

107. GallusEffie

There’s a wee shop in either Callendar or Crieff where the shopkeep specially sends to RBS for new £1 notes. I don’t remember if he always gives them out in change, or just to folks who ask for them. It costs him a fee to do so. We’ve got one up on the wall, we got it about a year or so ago.

Re- the fundraiser, if we got a (more) massive amount than we have, we should pay £10k for a private WoS consultation with Michelle.

I’d pay to be in *that* audience!!

108. gillie

Corbyn comes out against another referendum. I thought it was up to the Scottish people to decide. It seems we were wrong.

109. call me dave

Just catching up from Wednesday… contribution made.

Wonderful folk on this site! Well done all.

110. cearc

I’ve got a one pound note. Got it a few years ago from someone who had ordered a supply.

111. R-type Grunt

Sadly I’m unable to contribute this time around as I find myself in a similar position to the subject of the post. Unemployed for 15 months now. Still, Tories need not writhe in horror on my behalf as I do not claim any benefits (even although I’ve more than paid-in for them). I wouldn’t put myself through the stress of the Jobcentre.

Good on those who are able to contribute though. This is a shite State of affairs.

In other news, just in case anyone missed the BBC’s wall-to-wall coverage..

http://www.falkirk.gov.uk/services/council-democracy/elections-voting/election-results/by-election/denny-banknock-2015.aspx

112. Grouse Beater

Corbyn comes out against another referendum. I thought it was up to the Scottish people to decide.

Ah, well, win a few old Labour votes, lose a few again.

113. cearc

Whilst people are feeling generous don’t forget Boorach.

Boorach is one of the longest serving posters here. Currently dealing with cancer and the loss of his wee canine companion.

His friends launched a crowdfunder to try to upgrade his van (that he lives in, as well as using for campaigning and ferrying people to vote in Indyref) to be better suited to his convalescence needs ie. insulation and hopefully to try to replace it (250,000 mls and rust).

Unfortunately, they used Crowdfunder who aren’t accepting Paypal and are a pain to contribute through. So it hasn’t gone too well, it closed yesterday.

They set up an email to receive payments direct by paypal kevin.kane@talktalk.net because of this.

Full details of the appeal are there at:

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/billsbattlebus

Crowdfunder show,’Successfully overfunded August 13th, 2015′ This a blatant lie as the total, through them is 1,462 and the target was 7,000!

Currently, they have 2.5K including the direct paypal payments.

https://www.facebook.com/billsbattlebus

They are thinking of launching another appeal by Indiegogo but meanwhile folks, this is one of our own. Make a direct paypal contribution.

114. Grouse Beater

R-Type Grunt: I find myself in a similar position to the subject of the post. Unemployed for 15 months now. I won’t put myself through the stress of the Jobcentre.

Do you live in Edinburgh?
    https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2015/05/28/the-despair-of-unemployment/

115. donnywho

On the subject of one law for us one for our peers… Lord Jenner failed to appear at court today despite an injunction. Arrest warrent… not a chance. The man has altzhiemers and cannot attend and incapable of speech unless he happens to be passing GO and collecting £300 in the magical house of Lords, where he still chairs a commitee. How stupid do they think the public is.

116. Grouse Beater

The man has Alzheimer’s

Does he? If so, at what stage is it?

117. Captain Caveman

Donated. Great cause, well done, good call.

118. Lesley-Anne

I think it is rather eerie that we have Stu’s fundraiser going like a bat out of hell towards £10,000 and I find this on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/GreaterMaryhillFoodbank/photos/a.540990255988621.1073741828.459327187488262/862379607183016/?type=1&theater

119. ronnie anderson

@ Sinky 9.52 How long did it take for the voters to be notified of a candadates withdrawl, people will have wasted their votes, there should be fines imposed on the parties involved.

120. Lesley-Anne

donnywho says:

On the subject of one law for us one for our peers… Lord Jenner failed to appear at court today despite an injunction. Arrest warrent… not a chance. The man has altzhiemers and cannot attend and incapable of speech unless he happens to be passing GO and collecting £300 in the magical house of Lords, where he still chairs a commitee. How stupid do they think the public is.

Well who saw that one coming down the track … I mean who knew? 😀

They must really think WE are all stupid! I wonder who organised his NON appearance …

press 1 for his solicitors …

press 2 for his family …

press 3 for I don’t care …

press 4 for arrest the git NOW!

Oops I forgot I’m not talking on the phone am I … silly me … oh well looks like the Establishment think they have got away with it … AGAIN!

Dear Establishment … you are f****d!

121. Independence Live

Just amazing and as somebody said above what a brilliant site.

On a different topic we are livestreaming Mark Thomas from Edinburgh and Jeremy Corbyn in Glasgow later at 7:30pm.

There will be NO video saved after the Mark Thomas event for watching later as Mark has requested we remove after livestream.

122. donnywho

grouse… cynic that I am, I think he has the Ernest Saunders verity, one that falls into remission after legal proceedings terminate.

123. Scunterbunnet

Well done Stu and all us Wingnuts! £7910 raised now.

Absolute shameful disgrace that anybody is without food in a supposed 1st world country. How many mars bars can you buy for the price of Trident?

124. themadmurph

I’ve added a little to the pot. While I’m happy to help, it is a tax on those with a social conscience! Which excludes most Tories!

I really wish the NO voters realised what they have allowed to happen in this country (Scotland). As well as what Tory voters allow to happen in the rUK with their I’m alright Jack attitude, fostered by the media since the 80’s!

Makes me sick.

125. louis.b.argyll

Not just a terrible state of affairs,

Just a terrible state.

The terror of poverty is pushing people into desperate measures.

Whole swathes of the good old USA have been dragged down just like this, UK POOR ARE NEXT..

Get a grip folks… Please.

126. DavyB

perhaps they will bring back transportation for this crime… or the stocks…

127. themadmurph

Over £8k. Amazing effort everyone. If Rev. Stu wasn’t a horrible cybernat, this sort of humanitarian effort and good news might make the papers or the local news!

128. heedtracker

Its too lat now but she should have joined the impartial and non politcal UKOK civil service comedy show, with perks like

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-12224602

“How much is Sir John Chilcot paid?
    He is paid £790 per day. His committee members are on £565 per day, according to the Iraq inquiry website.”

mmmm, ukok tasty.

129. Harry McAye

donnywho – That can’t be correct about Janner. BBC News reporter said a few days ago that he hadn’t been present in the HoL for two years.

130. Tartan Tory

Donation made.

At the risk of playing devils advocate, there may be ‘other reasons’ why a judge has gone down a particular route when imposing sentence, which may not be apparent (or reported in the media). Let’s face it, if the media told the truth and reported all the facts, rather than sensationalising things, we wouldn’t actually be here on Wings.

However, the general outline of this story certainly illustrates a lot of what’s wrong with society. Whether it’s blindingly apparent, or only a perceived issue, doesn’t really matter.

131. Stephen

Rancid Graun’s boosting Corbyn in Scotland to high heaven, although Graun’s vote goes red tory for Cooper.

LibbyCarrell.com back from hols, divide and conquer, double speak shill, we know the rest. Sevvy’s “SNP successfully portrayed itself” is right up there with rest of today’s usual UKOK broadsheet SNP bad show.

Ouch

“Those included 40 of the 41 seats won by Labour in 2010, after the SNP successfully portrayed itself as far more vigorous opponents of the Conservatives’ austerity programme.”

Thrilling

“series of heavily attended leadership campaign rallies in Scottish cities.”

exciting

“moved to a bigger venue after the first event rapidly sold out, and is itself now full to capacity”

SNP bad.

132. Joemcg

I myself was sanctioned for 3 months a couple of years ago and it was hell on earth. How the feck can they do that to people? Luckily my wife kept us afloat and helped me out. It is cruelty beyond belief to do that to people who don’t have any support.

133. morgatron

Hi Stu, is this the same Louise – Louisa Sewell who was convicted of credit card fraud in early December 14 ? Both share same address. Please dont get me wrong , the punishment is no reflection of the crime commited and perhaps the fine reflects the previous conviction.

134. CameronB Brodie

morgatron

perhaps the fine reflects the previous conviction

That’s what I’m beginning to think. I am still happy to contribute though, simply as an act of charity aimed at getting Ms Sewell back on her feet.

I’m not a religious person but I thought Christianity had something to do with forgiveness.

135. Grouse Beater

JoeMcg: I was sanctioned for 3 months a couple of years ago, and it was hell on earth.

The whole system has turned into one of deflecting applicants not assisting them despite us all having paid taxes to support the weak and the vulnerable.

136. Lesley-Anne

There is only one thing I can say to that Cameron.

What a double standards scheming thieving underhanded b*****d!

137. Harry McAye

CameronB Brodie – Thanks. It is outrageous but he does seem to have been absent from HoL since November 2013, a fact just stated again on the BBC News.

138. morgatron

CameronB Brodie @ 1.05
    I agree totally with your sentiment, just would be beneficial in the context of transparancy – thats all. I have donated to every previous crowd fund with no issue and dont expect my humanity to be drawn into the debate and just for the record im not a christian either.

139. CameronB Brodie

morgatron
    I’m sorry you thought I was questioning your humanity or morality, that was not my intention. I was simply expanding on my agreement with you.

140. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“who was convicted of credit card fraud in early December 14 ?”

Learn to read better.

141. Brian Doonthetoon

The crowdfunder mentioned in The Independent -and Rev Stu quoted!

https://archive.is/5oLU0

142. themadmurph

Over £9k now.

awesome work.

143. CapnAndy

Donation made.I understand you’re going to see the lady alright and leave a few quid in her pocket with the rest going to foodbanks. Well done Rev Stu.

144. R-type Grunt

@ GrouseBeater

No mate, sunny Dundee here. I’m not sure why you’re linking me to your blog, I read it all the time. I’m not rich, far from it. Stupid maybe, but not rich. I’ve actually had to contact StepChange because we just can’t pay the bills any more. I will turn things around though, have no fear.

145. CameronB Brodie

R-type Grunt
    Sign the fuck on then ya dafty. You might think it demeaning and/or defeatist but you’ve got to keep a roof over your head and your backbone away from your belly. Don’t let things get out of control. Please.

146. R-type Grunt

@ CameronB Brodie

Thanks for the concern mate but please don’t worry. There’s more than one way to skin a cat. I have a cunning plan (where’s ma nun’s outfit?).

I made a promise to myself that the first No voter I met after the referendum was getting punched. I haven’t knowingly met one as yet, something that’s only possible because I live in the sticks & only know Yes voters. The brew know me better from standing outside it protesting & I intend to keep it that way.

147. CameronB Brodie

R-type Grunt
    You’re you own boss. 😉

148. Brian Powell

Brian DoontheToon

But I knew they would make out it all happened in England, by omission.

149. Lesley-Anne

Just had a wee shifty over at the fund raiser. 😉

WOW!

Blood Hell!

I mean what the ####!

Last time I checked it was sitting at over £8,000. I see themadmurph saw it had climbed through £9,000 around 3:00 p.m. Now, just after 18:30 it sits at a glorious £10,038.

WELL DONE EVERYONE!

The power of the WOS Cybernat Army knows no bounds. If the British government and legal departments don’t give a flying #### then WE the WOS Cybernat Army will show the people of the U.K. what the WOS Cybernat Army can and WILL do when the call is received! 😀

150. Lesley-Anne

Kepp it up folks.

WE are FAMOUS!

Articles are starting to appear in the media, yes yes I know, but it IS true!

https://archive.is/5oLU0

http://news.stv.tv/scotland-decides/news/1326642-stephen-daisley-on-wings-over-scotland-shoplifting-fundraiser/

I wonder who will be the next London centric MSM source to grasp the thistle and run with this utterly amazing story? 😉

151. cearc

Boorach’s friends have set up a new fundraiser at Indigogo.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/home-straight-for-bill-s-battle-bus#/story

They reckon the amount they have 2,400 is enough for fittings and insulation but have launched this to try to get at least another 700 for another van. His is pretty ropey now and he needs a secure place whilst undergoing his cancer treatments.

Pleae try to chip in a few quid. He is one of our own Wingers and a hardy campaigner.

152. Leo Sasquatch

Looks like she’s got previous form. Same name, age and address. Previous offences might be why the magistrate was less than ready to accept her defence.

http://www.kidderminstershuttle.co.uk/news/11636884.Woman_to_appear_at_Crown_Court_for_fraud_conspiracy_in_Kidderminster/

But maybe that was to get money because she was hungry too. You’ll have to excuse me, having just been the victim of someone who cloned my bank card, I’m perhaps not as sympathetic as I might otherwise be.

153. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Looks like she’s got previous form. Same name, age and address. Previous offences might be why the magistrate was less than ready to accept her defence.”

For fuck’s sake, how many times do we have to tell people this? Have we just been totally wasting our time for the last four years?

BEING CHARGED DOESN’T MEAN YOU’RE GUILTY.

I knew about that report before I put the fundraising page up. I went ahead because I checked and there was no evidence that she (or anyone else) had been actually found guilty of it. Indeed, with the hearing having been in January it seems quite likely that if she was guilty the only place she’d have been pinching Mars bars from in June was the prison shop, so it seems probable that she wasn’t.

If you want to link to a report of her being CONVICTED of that crime, go crazy. Until then, you and the troll who keeps posting the December link can put a sock in it.

154. David Francis

Just contributed and total was £12,510.

Great stuff.

Great idea, Stu!

155. Leo Sasquatch

Well, excuse me for not jumping on board immediately with the groupthink. I thought the whole point of this website was to examine all the data and then be allowed to make up one’s own mind like an adult. It was something no-one else had mentioned and it was the first thing that appeared when I googled her name.

Nobody should be having to steal food because they’re hungry – no question there. Facing hundreds of pounds of fines and charges for a 75p packet of chocolate is Kafka-esque insanity.

But I am rather surprised that with your usual track record of presenting all the available data on a given subject that you’d find a dissenting voice so offensive. You say you knew about the report before you put the fundraising page up – I wonder why you never thought to mention it at the time, unless you thought planting the seeds of doubt in peoples’ minds might make them just a shade less generous. You said in an earlier comment: “I haven’t a clue if she’s a nice person or not.” – if you knew about the earlier charge, then that’s not strictly true, is it?

I wish her nothing but good fortune for the future. I’ve never been quite so hungry that I had to steal, but I’ve haunted the bargain shelves in supermarkets far too many times, waiting for food to be reduced. Maybe if she’s not facing a crippling fine, she’ll be able to get herself back on track (which I’m sure is the overall intent).

I think the idea is brilliantly fair – pay her ridiculous fine, give her some money to fill her cupboards with food, and the overspill goes to foodbanks. She’s not rewarded for a criminal act, but she’s not punished brutally either.

Every day, Reverend, you prove yourself to be a skilled researcher and journalist. Now you’ve proved you’re a compassionate human being too. I’m sorry we don’t see eye-to-eye in this particular instance.

156. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I wonder why you never thought to mention it at the time, unless you thought planting the seeds of doubt in peoples’ minds might make them just a shade less generous. You said in an earlier comment: “I haven’t a clue if she’s a nice person or not.” – if you knew about the earlier charge, then that’s not strictly true, is it?”

Jesus, there you go again.

It IS true, because I don’t know, because BEING CHARGED DOESN’T MEAN YOU’RE GUILTY. Especially when there’s no subsequent report of your guilt.

How are you not getting this?

157. Flower of Scotland

Great idea to help this poor lady, Rev Stu.

The total is now £13,591. Well done wingers!

Boorach,s fundraiser is at £855. He is a great winger and has worked hard for the people of Scotland. If you could put a wee something in his fundraiser too, please.

158. ronnie anderson

@ Leo Sasquatch Read the reports of English Magistrates resigning,as they will not be implimenting the amounts of Fines/court costs the Westminster Gov tell them to.

A poor excuse ( your bank card being cloned)

And leave the discounted sell by date on the shelf for those poor People or Foodbanks ,as some supermarkets give them the nearly out of date foods.

You Trolls have no idea what WOS/Wingers are about, we work in mysterious ways.

159. ronnie anderson

Aye Rev same as Flower Of Scotlands post, keep Boorachs fundraiser in mind, he,s done his bit for WOS & Indy.

160. Peter McCulloch

That anyone in this day and age should be left destitute
    and to go hungry is an absolute disgrace.

But then is anyone really surprised by anything this Tory Government does?

It’s even been reported that the Tories are going bring back Boot (Labour) camps for young unemployed people under 24.

This is a Tory idea from the 1920s, which was taken up by the Ramsay MacDonald Labour Government of 1929.

Apparently it wasn’t a great success in getting people back into meaningful employment then, and is hardly likely to be today.

161. Midgehunter

With Ronnie on this one – Boorach needs help as well.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/home-straight-for-bill-s-battle-bus#/story

162. Capella

CEOs average salary is £5m a year says the High Pay Centre.
    Still, it’s illegal for them to steal mars bars too.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-33952393

163. Marie Clark

Ronnie & Midgehunter, just bunged £20 into Boorach fundraiser the total now seems to be £1035. Good on all the kind folk who have donated so far. I’m sorry to hear that he is not well, I wish him well in his battle.

I’ve been oot this morning enjoying this lovely day, and it”s my birthday as well. But though I’m dodding on a bit now, it makes you appreciate your own good health when you see what is happening to ither folk.

164. Mabel

Looks like any charges were dropped against this woman, but 4 others were convicted. A report in the same newspaper given as a link above to the charge episode has the reporting of details of the crime and names of the 4 – she is not one of them.

http://www.kidderminstershuttle.co.uk/news/11793654.Bank_card_thief_jailed/

So whatever charge there may have been seems to have been dropped and if dropped, then perhaps the full sympathy for her being placed under sanction and outrage at the victorian sentence imposed by that judge can be again the focus.

I hope the money helps her out of her horrible circumstances and the extra being given to a foodbank was a wonderful idea. Well done.

165. peekay

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    On the comments about what to do with all the extra money:

Stuff like this is why I run a Scottish politics site, not a charity”…”

I think by now it’s fairly reasonable to surmise if she had been convicted of any serious offence(s) your friends at the DR would have had it plastered all over the front page. Wouldn’t surprise me if they’ve had somebody down there sniffing around the woman

166. G H Graham

Hey Sasquatch,

No one is forcing you to donate any money, so next time you have a thought, let it go.

167. TD

I don’t care if this woman has previous convictions. We should not be putting people – even those who have offended in the past – in a position where they cannot eat. And if they commit the pettiest of crimes because they are hungry then we should treat them with compassion.

The punishment needs to be commensurate with the crime. For a 75p theft, I would say that admonishment would be the appropriate disposal with no costs or other charges being levied. At most a compensation order for 75p should have been applied.

The test of how civilised a society we have is how well we treat vulnerable people. A woman who is starving is vulnerable – whether she has previously committed crimes or not. The magistrate and the system (created by the government) treated her very badly so the magistrate and the government are uncivilised. Wings supporters and the others who contributed to this fundraiser treated her well and are therefore civilised.

168. Wull

Lesley-Anne says:

14 August, 2015 at 9:24 am

Just remember folks.

The man in overall charge of the Department that has caused this outrage, allegedly a human being although I have my doubts, claims to be a Roman Catholic.

Now excuse me for my ignorance here but are Roman Catholics, like protestants, allegedly supposed to be from a religion that CARES about other people and the LESS well off. If my supposition is right, and I apologise if I am wrong here 😉 , then HE should be utterly ashamed of himself.

Just a gentle comment: on the evidence that the lady ‘stole’ the food because she was starving, and the person she stole it from was already well fed and therefore not in any desperate need of it, this does not count as ‘theft’ in (Roman) Catholic teaching.

This is a principle that goes back to the Old Testament and is consistently repeated in Church teaching down through the ages. You will find it, for instance, in Thomas Aquinas (a very well known Catholic theologian of the 13th Century), but he is neither the first nor the last to point it out.

‘The Catechism of the Catholic Church’, which is the current most easily available compendium of Catholic doctrine, puts it this way: ‘The seventh commandment forbids theft, that is, usurping another’s property against the reasonable will of the owner. There is NO THEFT if consent can be presumed or if refusal is contrary to reason and the universal destination of goods. This is the case IN OBVIOUS AND URGENT NECESSITY WHEN THE ONLY WAY TO PROVIDE FOR IMMEDIATE ESSENTIAL NEEDS (FOOD, shelter, clothing …) is to put at one’s own disposal and use the property of others.’

That is exactly what the lady in this case did: she put a couple of Mars Bars that belonged to someone else (the shop-keeper) at her own disposal in order to eat them because she was hungry and had no money. The shop-keeper had no immediate need of them, because he wasn’t hungry, he had plenty of them and plenty of other things to eat as well, and wouldn’t suffer hardship for want of them.

In accordance with the teaching set out above, it has to be said that the lady in question acted perfectly reasonably. It was the shop-keeper who was unreasonable – totally so – by kicking up a fuss and pressing charges. In terms of (Roman) Catholic teaching, the magistrate was also totally unreasonable a) in finding the woman guilty of theft, when in fact NO THEFT had taken place; and, b)in imposing a horrendous fine which the woman had no possibility of ever paying.

In terms of the Church’s principles, you could perhaps add something more. If anyone should have been ‘charged’ for being unreasonable, and wasting the court’s time (and the public’s money – think what it costs to bring such a prosecution) it should have been the shop-keeper. To which you could also add the Police and the Department of Public Prosecutions for bringing such an unjust accusation – such an evident ‘non-case’ – to court. What total idiots … ! And if the shop-keeper insisted on getting his 75 pence, why didn’t somebody just put his hand in his pocket and pay it?

The point, by the way, is completely traditional in Catholic teaching and it was also made at the Second Vatican Council, in the 1960s. It appears in a document called ‘Gaudium et Spes’ (meaning ‘Joy and Hope’), paragraph number 69, section 1. This teaching is not unique to Catholicism: I am sure you will find the same basic principle set out as standard rabbinic teaching, in Judaism. I don’t know of any Protestant theologians who deal with this kind of issue, but I would not be surprised to find the same basic standpoint. Most folk would surely agree as well, no matter what they do or do not believe in, since common sense will tell you pretty much the same thing. We are all capable of being ‘reasonable’, surely …

With regard to the Government Minister to whom Lesley-Anne refers, it should be noted that just because someone is a Catholic it does not mean that he will automatically follow all the Catholic Church’s teaching. You could say that he should, but it doesn’t mean that he will. With regard to social, economic and political matters the Catholic Church actually has a whole body of teaching, but not all Catholics follow it.

In fact, there is no political party and probably just about no individual politician in the UK – be he Catholic or otherwise – who could claim to follow every single aspect of that teaching. But some policies and some politicians approximate to it better than others. In my view, given the political parties on offer, I would say that, overall, current SNP policies are closer to (R.) Catholic teaching on such issues than any other party on offer. That does not mean there are no differences – including some serious ones – but I would argue that the SNP is a closer approximation to R.C. social teaching than Labour, the Lib Dems or the Conservatives.

One very obvious point where that is the case is in regard to nuclear weapons. Like his predecessors, the present Pope’s explicit opposition to keeping these is well documented. During the referendum campaign I can think of at least one prominent Better Together campaigner who several times misrepresented the Pope as being opposed to Scottish independence, when in fact that was not the case. The Pope did not come out in favour of independence, true, but at no time did he come out against it. The BT campaigner, who I think is (or was?) a Catholic, skewered something the Pope had said in relation to a completely different context, and applied it to Scotland. Even in regard to its original reference point (Catalonia), he made the Pope seem to say something he had never said at all.

This game of ‘making the Pope say what you want him to say’ when in fact he never at any time had said it is something that has to be watched out for. I expect there were rebuttals – but they did not get printed. They certainly were not given the kind of oxygen that was afforded to the misrepresentations. Our main-stream media is what it is ….

169. Agaric

@Lesley-Anne
    And that is the definition of nationalism!????????

170. Wull

I don’t suppose anyone wants the reference for the quotation I gave from the ‘Catechism of the Catholic Church’ in my previous post. But just in case someone does, here it is: you will find it in paragraph no. 2408.

On armaments, let me also quote no. 2329 (which is actually a quotation from the other document I mentioned – ‘Gaudium et Spes’ / ‘Joy and Hope’ no. 81):

‘The arms race is one of the greatest curses on the human race and the harm it inflicts on the poor is more than can be endured.’

On the 70th anniversary of Hiroshima and Nagasaki the Pope was only speaking common sense when he said that these bombings should serve as a permanent warning to the human race: we should all commit ourselves to ‘repudiate war for ever’ and ‘banish nuclear arms and every weapon of mass destruction’. No one has to be a Catholic to get behind that idea, and someone has to make a start. Why not Scotland? The SNP has its defects, but, out of all of them, it alone is the Party of Common Sense.

And if some cynic wonders what the connection is between the Mars Bar Scandal and Nuclear Disarmament, that’s the answer: not just ethics, but plain common sense.

171. Wull

Final addition (though no one’s reading any more!): Even if the lady concerned did ‘have form’, as someone said, it would not make the slightest difference. She’s incredibly hungry; she’s starving: so it’s a no-brainer, and there is no question about it, she is ENTITLED to take what she needs. There is no theft. Even if, on some other count, she was the biggest criminal in the world (which of course she is not), there would still be NO THEFT in this case. The thing is startlingly clear.

172. louis.b.argyll

Wull,
    a lot of reading there, thanks.

Been saying for a while…

There’s a lowering of general human rights and common expectations underway, returning us to the middle-ages. Where the elites will feel right at home.

Accepting austerity is complicity in capitalist greed.
    Enforcing it, is barbaric.

We are less of a race now, more of a collection of corporate units. Placing value where it suits the markets.

173. scottieDog

Good piece on business for scotland regarding oil prices..
    http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/without-oil-would-scotland-already-be-independent/

174. Narrow Shoulders

The only criminality here is the sanctions legislation which was passed by the last Labour government. I was sanctioned a few years ago for no particular reason, but got the money back a year later after appealing. Basically what the legislation amounts to is giving a dole office drone the power to starve any claimant to death based on a whim.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.