This is what Scottish business looks like

Posted on August 13, 2015 by

According to the Telegraph.

scotbiz

We’re not sure which one’s Michelle Mone.

It looks like our appeal last year for someone to buy the Telegraph a new all-purpose picture to denote “Scottish people” has fallen on deaf ears.

telegraphjimmyhats

1. 13 08 15 17:44

This is what Scottish business looks like | Speymouth

112 to “This is what Scottish business looks like”

1. Itchybiscuit

Michelle who?

As for the Torygraph, they must think we’re all tartan-wearing, woad-painted barbarians.

The message I take from their choice of picture is this: ‘Oh, there’s a couple of Scottish lassies who have the confidence and humour to take the piss out of THEMSELVES by wearing a ‘jimmy hat’.

A wee bit more humour south of the border wouldn’t go amiss, eh? :o)

2. Brian Powell

They’ve already got Mone’s and J McTernan’s company is there somewhere.

3. The Man in the Jar

Probably because we Scots all look the same to them! 🙁

4. jimnarlene

Jingoistic, lazy journalism; as much as we all expect, these days.

I’m away to put on my woad, and shout “Freedom”.

5. billy

great this means auld geordie boy is giving us independence
    nice wee chappie

6. proudscot

This sounds like the usual manic anti-Scottish rant of the Torygraph’s favourite ("Quizmaster" - Ed) cringer Alan Cochrane.

7. AndyH

Arseholes.

Plain and simple.

8. G H Graham

Stu,

They used this very same picture last year;

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-headline-ferret/

9. The Man in the Jar

According to Ms Mone all SNP supporters are Tattooed, Cider swilling dole junkies or words to that effect. It is therefore essential that we look the part.

10. Lesley-Anne

A ban on genetically modified crops, despite its importance to Scotland’s large food and drink industry; the introduction of costly, politically correct gimmicks such as a business pledge that includes scrapping zero hours contracts and a more diverse workforce; state-directed research that even Jeremy Corbyn might regard as a bit old-fashioned; and, of course, the political instability that comes from the constant threat of a fresh independence vote.

Oh dearie me … someone has rattled the Torygraph’s cage … AGAIN!

I’m sorry for my ignorance here but as far as I can recall Scotland’s food and drink industry does NOT rely on Genetically Modified crops at the moment and, thanks to the Scottish government, they will not have to in future.

Isn’t it nice to see the Torygraph standing side by side with Cameron and co. and getting all upset about the Scottish government’s plans to scrap zero hours contracts. I’ll bet I.D.S. and co. are foaming at the mouth over this one! 😀

Oh look folks we’re heading for political instability … AGAIN! …*YAWN!*

This will of course be the same political instability that NEVER appeared during last year’s indy ref then. 😉

The only political instability that will appear as a result of indy ref2 will be the implosion seen at Westminster as Cameron and co. run around like heidless chickens trying to find a NEW set of LIES to spread across Scotland.

Funny though that a second indy ref will cause, according to the Torygraph, political instability yet absolutely NO mention of the political instability that will undoubtedly occur as a result of Cameron’s wee shottie of running a referendum next year!

11. heedtracker

Its only toryboy triumphalism. They won, The Vow is historic fraud, EVEL will take it all down.

12. G H Graham

Stu, here’s another old favourite used by The Telegraph to show people in England what Scots really look like …

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scottish-independence/11073574/Scottish-independence-means-new-wave-of-painful-austerity.html

The Daily Mail’s photographer of choice was probably at the bar which may explain this …

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2451611/Scottish-independence-dossier-warns-financial-realities.html

Meanwhile, The Telegraph seems stuck in a rut with this …

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/economics/11086633/Scottish-independence-Pound-slides-to-new-low-as-investors-brace-for-horrific-consequences.html

13. Lesley-Anne

The Man in the Jar says:

According to Ms Mone all SNP supporters are Tattooed, Cider swilling dole junkies or words to that effect. It is therefore essential that we look the part.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news to Moaning Minnie then TMitJ. I am an SNP supporter but do NOT have any tattos …YET! 😉 Further more, for her information I do NOT swill cider … I do however enjoy the occasional wee nip or two! 😀

14. John McCall

The woad to wecovewy?

15. Lesley-Anne

Just a wee side issue here regarding the Torygraph *ahem* article.

Is it just me or does anyone else think that the graph in the article kind of blows any argument from the London centric media about Scotland NOT being able to afford to go it alone completely out of the water?

I mean that from what I see their wee graphy thingy shows Scotland to be RICHER than the UK as a whole in terms of GDP per capita so therefore under THEIR graphical understanding we CAN go it alone. Thanks Torygraph. 😀

16. Bob Sinclair

Can you imagine an article about, say, the Notting Hill Carnival, accompanied by a pic of people in full B & W Minstrel kit. This is racist stereotyping. That’s all.

17. Dandy Dons 1903

They know the union is practically over only a matter of time before it goes bye bye! So they are resorting to the sulking troll act, pathetic! Sad torygraph tosspots!

18. galamcennalath

There are many arguments by which No voters can be persuaded to become Yes voters.

The Telegraph in particular seems a highly skill advocate of switching to independence!

Grist to the mill.

19. Kenny

Shame the Telegraph never backs up the claim that Nicola Sturgeon wants to treat England as a foreign country. She does not. She wants to make the life of the English better through her SNP MPs and looks forward to the day when England and Scotland can be good friends as two equal, independent partners.

Unlike the trouble-stirring MSM.

I do not mind the tartan, ginger, kilt, Braveheart stereotypes, because they are looked upon with fondness by the rest of the world and helps to give us a separate identity. It gives people further afield something to pinpoint.

It is most unfortunate that the identity that is most commonly associated with England worldwide is the “soccer hooligan”. Perhaps the MSM should be addressing that problem… oh, I forgot, the world stops at La Manche!

20. desimond

As I sit here in Glasgow in this large busy modern Investment banking office in Glasgow, I ponder what happened to those scottish jobs..

Jutes gone ( even 50 shades of Muriel Gray couldnt help)
    Jams gone ( no Baxters thank you very much!)
    Journalism…we exported our star man to Bath!

Dont hurt us Gideon…please!

21. Fraser McColl

It panders to disgusted from Tunbridge Wells.

Appears this rag and its other unionist “organs” have still to learn the lesson that if you insult people and at the same time insult their intelligence, they will act accordingly.

I am of two minds if this is intentional or not.

That said long may they continue and when a referendum is sprung on them, they will have little to fight back with apart from the 77th anniversary of this, a team they think I should support that I don’t support doing that and something else doing whatever!

Imagine if a Scottish paper had run the same story about England?

22. The Laird

Still “Better Together”?

23. Legerwood

I thought it was Better Together people who kept saying Scotland would be a foreign country if we voted for Independence. And as a result we would no longer be allowed to build the RN’s warships – sorry should have said ‘complex warships’.

24. Muscleguy

I’m all out of woad at the moment and my usual supplier has gone bust. Where does a self respecting Scotsman get his woad from these days?

25. Jamie Arriere

This ‘better together’ stuff is just getting ‘better’ and ‘better’

“George Osborne could throw in some tax break for any business moving from Scotland to the rest of the UK”

That last nail in the coffin of the Union? I think we might have found it. Go on, you know you want to

26. Ken500

Thatcher illegally and secretly took all the Oil revenues. Left over 3 million unemployed and interest rates at 15%. Thatcher and the Gov of the Bank of England supported centralist economic policies believed unemployment in the North and Scotland was a price worth paying for prosperity in London S/E.

The £Billions lost on illegal wars, tax evasion and banking fraud by Westminster.

Toal taxes raised in Scotland £54Billion. Total taxes raised in the UK £466Billion. Total taxes raised in the rest of the UK (pro rata) £39Billion. Westminster borrows £90Billion more and put £9Billion of the debt on Scotland. Scotland spends £30Billion? block Grant £16Billion (UK) pensions/benefits, £4Billion Defence. Remainder £4Billion.

Scotland would be £10Billion a year better off Independent. The Tories have ruined the Oil sector. Taxed at 55% while (foreign) multinationals, making vast profits tax evade through the City of London.

The Telegraph is a disgrace. Major called the Tories ‘Bastards’.

27. Ian

Enough of the Scotland is subsidised by England, would be poorer if independent, etc etc. If there was even a scrap of truth in any of these claims then Westminster would be looking to help make Scotland independent. But there are no parties or movements pushing for England to cast off the heavy financial burden that is Scotland. Until there is, just blow all your MSM and Westminster gibberish out your backsides.

28. Richard Taylor

Hang on a minute, I thought George Osbourne was supposed to be Chancellor for the whole country and not one region of it?

Also wouldn’t a tax cut for relocating businesses provoke a ‘race to the bottom’, and wouldn’t that be bad?

29. Kennedy

So, if we voted YES to independence business would leave.

But, if we voted no to independence business will leave.

Im confused. Are we not better together???

30. Lesley-Anne

Here’s something for all those members who have a wee bit of a problem in the morning finding something positive. 😉

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1026252184066271&set=a.290157967675700.76605.100000444973374&type=1

31. Craig P

The Telegraph urging Osbourne to work against Scottish interests – what’s new there? It’s been Conservative policy since at least the 1970s.

32. Alex McArthur

She’s the one with the really fake looking brassy hair, surely?

33. Brian Doonthetoon

To me, it looks like the Torygraph is first off the line in the race to start fighting the ‘better together’ corner in IndyRef2.

Do they know something that SNP members don’t?

34. heedtracker

Where does a self respecting Scotsman get his woad from these days?

Well there you go Muscleguy!

Contact Lady Mone of BetterTogether.com and she will show you how to do it, start up a woad.com business, from nothing, like what Lady Mone did, business tsar to all loyal Brits, only. Not the disgraceful and vile separatists under the mind control of Nicola Sturgeon lot.

35. Luigi

For those interested in the real meaning and consequences of EVEL, check out this excellent piece by Michael Granados:

http://tinyurl.com/possqa4

One killer line stands out:

“Scots who consider themselves to be British have not come to terms with the fact that the British do not consider Scots to be British”

That says it all really, eh? The soft/Labour NO voters are still in denial, but one day they will have to face this awful truth. BBC Call KayE this morning discussed Jeremy Crobyn and the future for Labour. For a start, there were very few callers younger than 70, and most of them seemed a bit lost, unable to comprehend or adapt to the new political landscape in Scotland. One uninspired chap said he didn’t know what to do, as he was Labour and could never vote for the tories or the SNP (what else is there?).

The stubborn old Labour supporters must realise by now that many of them will never see another Labour government. And yet they refuse to change, unable to adapt. How sad is that? Perhaps the penny will drop one day, but many seem to be dragging their feet and they don’t have much time.

They are completely lost, wandering in the wilderness. My heart would bleed for them, were it not for the fact that they probably secured a NO vote last year

36. msean

A family of nations,better together etc. Ye right 🙂

37. msean

* Aye right

38. morgatron

Well dont let them be too squemish either of luring the nuclear obsenity from Scotland at the same time ! Honestly – they are a bunch of fucks.

39. ArtyHetty

It’s what then no lot voted for, after all, they won.

Haven’t had time to read comments yet.

What a disgrace though. First things that spring to mind are war and sanctions. Are we at war with our broad shouldered neighbours?

Mind you, I do go out of my way to buy Scottish produce if available, not always able to get locally.

Scottish ales and beers and now ciders are just the best, no question, plus much more of course. Ok off to the shops!

40. Croompenstein

Good article from Michael Granados..

Scots who consider themselves to be British have not come to terms with the fact that the British do not consider Scots to be British

http://tinyurl.com/possqa4

41. Macart

From the publication which brought you the journalistic clusterfuck that was memogate, we now have how win friends and influence people the better together way.

Well done Torygraph, better togetherness has never looked so appealing. 🙂

42. Davy

Well I wonder if the Telegrath will want to question the tories new business tsar Michelle Mone about her TAX fiddles, or is she giving Ian Duncan Smith some insider hints.

43. Kelpie

Muscleguy,

I couldn’t resist a quick Google. England seems to be the place to get your woad these days!

Teresinha at Woad.org.uk
    Studio I-135, The Custard Factory
    Gibb St, Birmingham B9 4AA, UK

Email Us: info@woad-inc.co.uk
    Woad Barn, Rawhall Lane
    Beetley, Dereham
    Norfolk NR20 4HH (UK)

44. john king

Lesley-Anne says
    “I mean that from what I see their wee graphy thingy shows Scotland to be RICHER than the UK as a whole in terms of GDP per capita so therefore under THEIR graphical understanding we CAN go it alone. Thanks Torygraph. :D”

Dont say that!
    next the torygraph will be saying their weans go without breakfast so our weans can get new Nike trainers every week!

45. Vince

OT

Having lived at my address for 30 years along with 2 other members of my household, why do none of our names appear on the AVJB Voters Household Enquiry Form but four other names appear of people about whom I have no knowledge.

There has never been an error on the voters register for our family in those 30 years.

What is going on here?

46. heedtracker

Seriously daft BBC vote SLab Scotland tea news thing just there, Sally Magnuson pretending she didn’t know why Lady Mone is going to sue every cybernat that dares to even mention the words “tax” “avoid” and “Lady Mone” in same sentence, “and what does #die die cybernats die mean?”

That Pacific Quay news crew should be at the fridge for all the stupid UKOK comedy crap they fart out night after night.

See you all in court:D

47. Brian Powell

UK Labour Party busy fightingtheTories in Westminster I see, this tweet:

stellacreasy
    Labour & Co-op MP for Walthamstow

“Next campaign to strengthen local power 4 Scottish councils to fight centralising tendencies of SNP”.

48. Brian Powell

These are the people we are going to co-operate with?

49. rongorongo

To be fair the Getty Images available for the search term “Scottish People” are a pretty poor and clicked show. If you complain they’ll probably just switch to this one!

50. galamcennalath

Luigi says

” “Scots who consider themselves to be British have not come to terms with the fact that the British do not consider Scots to be British”

That says it all really, eh? ”

Excellent. Spot on appraisal of the situation. And those who do ‘think British’ need to come to their senses soon.

51. frogesque

Seems there’s a potential business op for producing real woad.

I wonder if Ms None can give me some start up advice.

52. Lesley-Anne

OOPS!

Sorry John.

Dear all, please disregard my last post on the understanding that I under no circumstances whatsoever wish to upset the Torygraph. 😉

There, that’s that sort John and I think I managed it without anyone realising to boot! 😀

53. ronnie anderson

@ Muscleguy Woad is a invasive plant like Mone.

54. CameronB Brodie

IMO, any traditionalist society attempting to modernise from the Classical European Humanist tradition, is bound to employ a bit of Aristotle’s ‘racial’ and ‘class’ prejudices. We are not the problem, its the fault of them ‘others’.

A “stereotype” is a generalization about a person or group of persons. We develop stereotypes when we are unable or unwilling to obtain all of the information we would need to make fair judgments about people or situations. In the absence of the “total picture,” stereotypes in many cases allow us to “fill in the blanks.” Our society often innocently creates and perpetuates stereotypes, but these stereotypes often lead to unfair discrimination and persecution when the stereotype is unfavorable.

http://remember.org/guide/history-root-stereotypes

55. David Agnew

oh of course – i’d almost forgotten – when I said in an earlier post that the greatest achievement of bettertogether was a stronger SNP – I left out a second. Making it impossible for Scotland to remain in the Union if they won.

Another triumph for John “Itsy Bitsy Spider” McTernan

56. a supporter

Are you sure the two in the picture are Female?

57. heedtracker

frogesque says:
    13 August, 2015 at 7:07 pm
    Seems there’s a potential business op for producing real woad.

I wonder if Ms None can give me some start up advice.

Woad bra and knickers, sponsored by Lady Mone?

58. Tam Jardine

Kelpie

If you think that’s weird, there is one lonely outpost of Morris Dancing up in Banchory aparently. That’s just an official club- who knows how many similar underground organisations exist.

How many muffled tinkly wee bells are ringing out in basements or under cover of darkness across Scotland in spite of the SNP? We may never know…

59. CameronB Brodie

A ban on genetically modified crops, despite its importance to Scotland’s large food and drink industry;

My brother mentioned this to me the other day. He was suggesting the crops being ‘banned’ had not actually been approved for cultivation in Scotland as they are not suited to our topography, climate, etc., or have not been proven to be safe. Something like that.

60. Henry McLaughlin

We have an old saying in Scotland (Good riddance to bad rubbish

61. orri

I really don’t see what’s wrong with treating the rUK as a foreign country? Unless you assume that it’s impossible to treat foreigners in anything other a civil manner.

62. dakk

Don’t tell me the London Chancellor is planning to expropriate the Auchtermuchty Jimmy wig manufacturing plant to England as well.

The No voters will be punching the balmy air in Scotland this evening.

63. Paula Rose

Oi lay off the Morris dancers – they are a minor interest.

64. Dr Jim

In about 50 years from now some wee lassie will be doing a Royal Documentary talking to the camera about how…….. When the 56 Scots came to Westminster to the house of Commons the plot had begun to take shape in the minds of the Scottish MPs led by the Infamous Sir Alex Salmond who had been Knighted by “Queen Nicola the Kind” as she had been dubbed by her slavishly devoted followers

But the Speaker of the House at that time “Lord Bercow the Just” knew there was something afoot as soon as he learned that the “Maid Mhairi Black” was a part of the contingent
    For it was she that had been long rumoured to be able to live soley on a diet of Chips and Haggis for long periods thus giving her the ability to fight through the night

The English Nobles had to be informed, a message was quickly sent to the House of Lords but they were asleep
    Alarms rang out across the Kingdom and Her Majesty was awakened

Something must be done, but what, became the cry
    The Periodicals of the time led by the Telegraph, (A hated publication by the Scots) suggested “It must be War” others Punitive action was the only way

A solution was arrived at by the young King William to give the Scots Balmoral Castle in perpetuity, in exchange for their release and Freedom plus several tons of fish every year as a Tribute to English Superiority

And thus a bargain was reached and England was saved

65. CameronB Brodue

Morris dancers – a cover for anti-democratic stay-behind armies?

66. Roll_On_2015

OT – Breaking news

Whoops… that’s not what’s meant to happen!

Greece economy in surprise return to growth

67. CameronB Brodie

Muscleguy
    I asked if you have come into contact with Biosemiotics, on the previous thread? In case you missed it, got an opinion?

Chuck any complex reply here please:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/sticks-and-stones/comment-page-1/

68. Socrates MacSporran

Michty Me! A Morris Dancing club in Banchory – why that’s almost as big a shock as discovering there is a Rangers Supporters Club in Croy.

69. Hoss Mackintosh

Nice one Luigi and Crompenstein,

I think that sums it up perfectly. Scots are no longer British whether they voted Yes or No.

The No voters are going to find out the hard way before they realise they were duped all along.

The Telegraph article displays this fully – Scotland is going to go independent sooner or later – best if Westminster can rape Scotland while it can.

70. cynicalHighlander

OT:

Kevin Gore and Bobby Nicolson Live from Yes cafe in Edinburgh.

http://livestream.com/ianrussell/events/4243228?logged_in=1439494398

71. Kevin Evans

I’ve been watching for a while and the way England (and when i say England I mean Westminster and the way it’s building up assets south of the boarder) is stripping anything they thing is of value in Scotland and it fills me with despair.

What a horrid lot they are.

There are still steal works in England but they ruined Scotland’s steal industry. Just one example of the way things are in this better together union and I for one am fuckin sick of it.

What a complete mess this situation is. NO voters must be moronic do-balls. Crooks and shysters the lot of them.

72. Lollysmum

Kevin Gore & Bobby Nicholson playing live from Edinburgh YES Cafe right now

http://livestream.com/ianrussell/events/4243228?logged_in=1439494657

73. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Mebbes the National and scottish bloggers should print a picture of Ted Heath to represent the tory party any time they are mentioned.

I’m sure the westminster bubble Torygraph would be chuffed to bits about that. 😉

74. woosie

Plenty of lovely “british”programmes on telly tonight, including at 8pm on stv. The Wonder of Britain discusses “1000 years of Britain’s royal heritage”.

Not mine mate.

They never seem to tire spewing out twee, soporific ukok misinformation. Britain, I understand, wasn’t around 1000 years ago. If we’re lucky, they MAY mention the time in 1707 when the great british – bringlish? dragged us in from the cold with a warm smile and saved us from ourselves.

Is it me? I increasingly doubt anything I hear on tv now. I even seem to remember a news story suggesting morris dancing originated in Scotland.

75. CameronB Brodie

I posted a joke about Morris dancers, which has not appeared.

Rev. Stuart Campbell
    It’s cool if you didn’t think it appropriate, otherwise, I think I may be on to something deep and dark. I need to know or I’ll no sleep tonight. 🙂

Waves to GCHQ.

76. Lesley-Anne

Paula Rose says:

Oi lay off the Morris dancers – they are a minor interest.

Would that be the *ahem* Morris Minor Dancers, to give them their FULL and CORRECT title, by any chance Paula? 😉

I’ll get ma coat on the way oot! 😀

77. Big Jock

Jees under the Union just about every big Scottish firm has already moved south. How many companies started in England then moved to Scotland when they grew. Ferk all.

Every major bank,building society,insurance firm in Scotland is mo more under the Union. Brown authorised the Bank Of Scotland merger with Halifax. The Bank was older than the Union. He made sure it was screwed up.

If this is an equal union then why do no international brands like Coca Cola or Nescafe or Peugeot set up in Scotland.

The answer is they go to mother England and Scotland’s economy stagnates. Protecting British jobs protects means protecting English jobs!

78. Effijy

here is my idea on this theme.

Scottish Government advertises in all Educational and Health media outlets in England to have them relocate to Scotland.

What do you get lower costs housing, possibly a financial windfall for buying a like for like property up here.

Would you like to have Skiing facilities on your door step, great hill walking and cycle trails, cleaner air, and they could rid themselves of their draconian masters in Westminster.

No more bully boy tactics grinding you down at work.

There are no harm in offering individuals an opportunity to relocate in this UK, where we are all united?

79. HandandShrimp

If the Telegraph didn’t exist we would probably have to get Greg Moodie to invent one.

The Telegraph and Mail are gifts to the Yes cause.

80. gillie

Corbyn today has been telling Scots, “Westminster knows best” and “he knows all the answers” That’s us felt then.

81. orri

One thing that adds to the frothing at the mouthness of that article is the suggestion that somehow the whisky industry can somehow be persuaded to relocate to Wales partly on the basis that Johnny Foreigner won’t be able to tell the difference in taste.

82. Big Jock

Gillie even the cuddly ones want to tell Scots what to do and think. A sheeps a sheep they’re all alike in lambing.

83. thomaspotter2014

gille@9.23
    I hope you meant ‘telt’- felt seems a tad creepy.

84. robertknight

Ah yes, those ever so tangible benefits of the Union.

Oh how I just love being British.

85. jaytee

wasnt it the torygraph owners [ the brocoly brothers ] that bought the scotsman, asset striped it run it into the ground with the aid of andrew[brillo pad] neil

86. Robert Louis

I read that article in the Telegraph this morning, and was pretty shocked. It is a nasty, anti Scottish, racist rant by a person who is clearly pig ignorant of not only economics, but also Scotland itself.

As others above have pointed out, articles such as that from the Telegraph above, are gifts to those in Scotland who seek an end to undemocratic London colonial rule of Scotland.

The next indy referendum gets closer with each passing day. It would seem the British nationalists, such as the author of this tawdry racist, anti Scottish article in the Telegraph, learnt nothing last year.

Seems the only lesson they will ever understand is Scottish independence. It cannot come too soon.

Oh, and by the way, Scotland (famous for its high quality fresh produce around the world) needs GM crops, like a proverbial hole in the head.

87. CameronB Brodie

Sorry, I don’t mean to detract from the serious point of this post, but back to Morris dancers.

Rev. Stuart Campbell
    I wasn’t joking. I really must know if you blocked my joke earlier. My anxiety is already become difficult to manage and lack of sleep is stretching already taut nerves beyond endurance.

88. CameronB Brodie

I need this resolved…..so second attempt.

Morris dancers – a thinly disguised cover for anti-democratic stay-behind armies? 😉

89. CameronB Brodie

Phew, might be a crap joke but what a relief. Honest to God. 🙂

90. James Caithness

On scotland2015 Corbyn says that SNP leaders said Referendum was once in a generation. If Ref in the future it will be discussed by UK and Holyrood parliaments.

Holyrood has been given welfare powers and should use them to combat tory policies.

Corbyn is Labour he’s no friend of Scotlands.

91. Tinto Chiel

@ woosie, 9.00.

Dinna fash, laddie.

You’re quite normal.

But set UKOKery filter to the max if you ever watch Pravdavision. I have an alternative version for the title known as The Great British Bake-Off but don’t wish the Rev’s wrath.

92. Tam Jardine

CameronB Brodie

Careful Cameron. Listen out for the tinkle of tiny silver bells at night. They come for you at night.

Honestly mate, there are villages in the Cotswolds that the army won’t even set foot in. It’s some heavy, heavy shit.

93. Big Jock

I know Tinto. What’s this obsession with having British in every title.Why not just bake off.

Latest was “very British problems” c4. As if The English annoyances were unique to Blighty. Why not just annoying things.

94. Tinto Chiel

@ Big Jock.

The supreme example being the BBC, the British Brainwashing Corporation, of course.

They seem to be about a million licences down.

Dearie, dearie me.

95. Lesley-Anne

Anyone wondering where their T.V. tax goes then this may enlighten you a wee bit. 😉

http://theukdatabase.com/councillorspolitical-party-affiliated/cover-ups/bbc-spent-more-than-22million-on-staff-gagging-pay-offs/

96. notallusenglishareeejits

Don’t worry compadres, the only people who read the Torygraph down here are geriatric cobweb-gatherers who think Ted Heath is still PM.

97. Robert Peffers

@Itchybiscuit says:13 August, 2015 at 4:40 pm:

” … A wee bit more humour south of the border wouldn’t go amiss, eh? :o)”

Most of the English, particularly from the more south eastern areas, just don’t get Scottish humour. I Joined Rosyth Dockyard’s workforce when there must have been well over 10,000 civilian workers. The workforce had mainly been imported from the English yards at the start of WWII so it was around 99.99% English.

Believe me it was really comical. We were ripping the pish out of them and they never knew when we were kidding or serious. Irony flew over their heads and the Scottish underestimation just was not understood.

If we said something like, “Och! It jist needs a wee puckle persuasion”, about a component that was very much over large to fit into place they would spend time trying to fit the damned thing. Conversely, “It’s jist a wee bittie ower wee”, had them dropping a component through the much over sized place it should have fitted.

Now you would expect they would not get it wrong the next time – but no. Such expressions as, “Aye Ah Kent his faither”, flew way over their heads too. They generally thought we were jealous of whoever we said it about, instead of we thought them full of their own pish and importance. They genuinely looked up to the person we were indicating was no more than the average. But that’s the English class system for you. Burns described such folks as, “we kent thir faither”, as, “Just a coof”.

“Ye see yon birkie, ca’d a lord,
    Wha struts, an’ stares, an’ a’ that;
    Tho’ hundreds worship at his word,
    He’s but a coof for a’ that:
    For a’ that, an’ a’ that,
    His ribband, star, an’ a’ that:
    The man o’ independent mind
    He looks an’ laughs at a’ that.”

98. Robert Peffers

@Richard Taylor says: 13 August, 2015 at 5:51 pm::

“Hang on a minute, I thought George Osbourne was supposed to be Chancellor for the whole country and not one region of it?”“.

Yeah! He is Chancellor for the whole country of England. He is also Chancellor for the whole countries of Wales, N. Ireland and Scotland. That’s because he is the Chancellor for the whole United Kingdom.

If you don’t mind I DO NOT want to be any part of any other country than Scotland and the United Kingdom is a Kingdom – it is not a country, it never has been and it never will be. Please stop playing the Establishment’s propaganda game for them.

99. Dal Riata

The Telegraph is a piece of racist filth. Oh, they’re not as stupid as to be overt about it, but if you read behind the lines, so to speak, on any article involving non-English people, it’s there, bubbling away like a pot of racism-laced botulinum toxin kept on simmer so as not to actually overflow onto the pages of the newspaper or website.

And yet. When Scotland – its people, culture, politics, hopes and aspirations – is the subject, that racist poison *is* allowed to bubble over and flow onto the Telegraph’s pages. The derogatory terms, the abuse, the offense, smears and lies are allowed to be printed, seemingly with abandon. Why? Well, because they can!

Those deemed to be the arbiters of press regulations in the UK do not view what is produced by the Telegraph regarding Scotland and the Scots as being racist, or offensive, or abusive… The Telegraph is the voice of deepest UK conservatism ( both ‘c’ and ‘C’), of the British Establishment, of what is termed ‘Middle England’, and its voice must be heard.

It does, though, go some way to expose the true feelings of those above, and those who greatfully and without question buy into it every day.

The Scots are seen as being ‘not us’; the bastard northern savages; the inconsiderate Jocks who won’t bend the knee to their ‘betters’…

Hence, the ‘othering’, the smearing, the disparaging, and, the racism.

Let’s imagine for a moment that Scots were predominantly black. What kind of pictures would the Telegraph (and others) use to highlight their articles? Would they use racist terminology? Would the disgraceful ‘othering’ be so prevalent? Would that toxic, racist-laden pot be allowed to spill over quite so readily as it does now?

Who knows. Would they, wouldn’t they? It’s the Telegraph after all, so…? Whatever, it certainly does make you wonder.

100. Cal

I told you Jeremy Corbyn was a British Nationalist. Why can so very few people see that? We just seem to go round and round in circles. It’s all deeply depressing. Many Yes voters, it seems, still have the British provincial mindset. Did you know that only about 0.8% of the world’s population is British? That’s almost nobody.

101. Grouse Beater

Cal: told you Jeremy Corbyn was a British Nationalist.

I don’t disagree, but is he a British imperialist?

There’s no evidence to support that claim, but there’s plenty to support he’s a democrat. He could, just, offer to open talks on greater democratic powers for Scotland short of full independence. It’s only natural he would like to take votes back off the SNP to Labour. But to do so he must think politically like a Scot, an activity impossible for many Englishman. In the meantime, he’s at odds with Blair’s New Labour which has to be a good thing.

102. Macart

Something to keep in mind about Mr Corbyn. He’s been a Labour man for a very long time. Supported them through thick and thin as it were. Through the good times and the bad.

Regardless of which direction Labour took he kept that red rosette firmly in place. Through every bad decision, every scandal, every betrayal perpetrated by the state on nation partners, this man remained a loyal servant of the PARTY.

Only last night he poured cold water on even the idea that FFA could be trusted in the hands of the Scottish electorate and compounded this by beginning the near ritual obfuscation on independence with the usual bare faced lie on the misleading ‘once in a lifetime’ quote.

At the end of the day Mr Corbyn is a good ‘PARTY’ man. Let’s not forget that eh?

103. Grouse Beater

Ms Cooper a credible Labour leader?

Abstained on welfare vote, flipped home three times in two years, supported Iraq war, no authority of the personality to carry leadership, denounces fellow candidates, she has some nerve to talk about “credibility”.

104. thomaspotter2014

What Macart said@9.01
    Bang on the money Macart.

This love bombing of Corbyn/SNP is a strategic ploy for future nobbling of any Scottish endeavours.

Once a Red Tory always a Red Tory and Corbyn’s no different to the other shower of shit.

105. Ken500

Corbyn to decide about Trident, Corbyn to decide about another Referendum. Aye right?

Another disapointment

106. Jack Murphy

Oh No ,he’s coming back. 🙁 Labour Leadership—Gordon Brown to Break His Silence !!
    “Gordon Brown is expected to break his silence on the leadership contest in a major speech this weekend.” [Edinburgh,Sunday].
    I expect a CorbynScare Rant from this Bettertogether New Labour man.
    From TotalPolitics:

https://archive.is/cdiNK

107. Husker

The picture is at least a step up from the historical imagery that the British establishment has used, weather it is Sawny Bean savage the dour, trouble making Private Fraser or the happy clappy Andy Stewart kilt wearing type.

Ach well, looks like a case of psychological projection where they try to hides# their insecurities by showing it onto others.

108. gus1940

Where’s McTernan today?

Have The BBC given him the day off?

109. Blair paterson

Sorry rev. But I am a 76 year old partially sighted blogger and I use one finger to blog I am not very well versed in the use of my laptop paragraph breaks etc are beyond me but I promise to try to keep my inputs briefe

110. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Blair.

That was briefer than we expect!

8=)

111. Linda McFarlane

Oi! Hands off Banchory Morris Dancers.

I know some of these fleet of foot Happy Chiels.
    One of them insists that Morris Dancing is Celtic in origin, and supports locally brewed beer.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.