Another blow for Sturgeon

Posted on December 22, 2015 by

As SNP forecasting incompetence sees Forth Road Bridge re-open two weeks ahead of schedule, throwing holiday travel plans into chaos for thousands.

forthopen

Many questions to answer.

331 to “Another blow for Sturgeon”

1. Anne Bruce

Shock! Horror!

Well, that doesn’t I’m not voting SNP x 2 in May now ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Jim Mitchell

They do it deliberately!

3. Anne Bruce

Correction:

“That does it”

4. Dan Huil

That’s the bbc’s Christmas ruined. Ha ha ha.

5. heedtracker

SNP polls boost, FRB opening! Merry Xmas from Scotland, to the great British meeja:D

6. Holebender

Is there no end to the SNP Government’s incompetence?

Oh wait… the other thing… competence.

7. Free Scotland

Think of all that lost revenue for the rail companies and petrol stations. Newspaper headlines and auto-cue scripts will have to be re-written. We’re doomed, I tell you, doomed.

8. galamcennalath

Dastardly Nats!

Yet again they show competence and efficiency.

They only do it to make the Yoons look bad in comparison, you know!

9. Kenzie

Cue large helpings of humble pie all round. Or, maybe not. ๐Ÿ™‚

10. jimnarlene

Spantastic!

All the best everyone for 2016 and beyond.

11. Brian Powell

I feel justified in repeating on this thread:

In other shocking news the Forth road Bridge will open tomorrow, Wednesday, from 6am for all vehicles except HGVs.

Well done all the guys working day and night in this weather to get it in back in operation 2 weeks before scheduled.

Since LabConsLibs tried to lay all the blame on the SNP SG then only fair to say well done SNP SG for taking bold decisive action to get it working again.

12. Bob Mack

Many thanks to the brave men and women who dangled on harnesses and scaffolding below the bridge whilst welding this new structure.
    Remarkable skill and courage.

As for that damned SNP,I am going to vote for them so their incompetence can be exposed for many years to come.

SNP X 2.

13. Karmanaut

You just know that Scottish Labour will now be on their knees, praying for something to go wrong with the new bridge.

14. Auld Rock

Let’s not forget to thank all the Engineers who have worked round the clock to get traffic rolling again. A job that could have avoided if SLAB hadn’t cancelled the building of the new bridge back in ’97 and then again doing nothing during their 8yrs in coalition with the Fib/Dems.

Auld Rock

15. nodrog

No doubt there will now be an excessive amount of pollution now from the MSM,BBC and the Unionists. You just cannot please everybody.

16. Arabs for Independence

Can’t the Scottish Government get anything right?

SNP X 2

17. Ravelin

Well that’s just the last straw! My SNP membership card is getting cut up and I’ll be applying to join Scottish Labour in the New Year. Can’t continue to be a member of a party that is this competent.

18. Macart

AND THEY DID IT DELIBERATELY! ๐Ÿ˜€

Kudos to the engineers and workmen who braved our recent weather to get this done.

Cracking effort.

19. Hamish100

This is ridiculous news. The Lothians and Fife are also to get a brand new bridge despite Labour. The Tories and labour were gearing up to keep complaining. The Labour Chief Whip Kelly had a point of order all ready.

What will the Unionists now complain about now. The fact that Scotland no l get votes for them!

When the new bridge opens I would love to see Dugdale and the others invited to the opening ceremony and made to walk over the new bridge. Their false grins would be fantastic to see.

20. Capella

Surely an inquiry is now inescapable, however much Sturgeon, Mackay and Swinney dither.
    Christmas is coming after all! Hope you’re enjoying your “break” everyone, including Stu (I knew it wouldn’t last).

21. gordoz

Too Early to Celebrate; James cook has been recalled to report on latest Whitehall leak for BBC

I think we are all jumping the gun here ! Too early to pat Scot Gov on the back.

There’s a rumour going round the BBC of an email regarding comments heard at recent meeting in London where the most dangerous woman in Britain clearly states that she herself had caused the crack in the Forth Road bridge.

They are still trying to translate ‘Pure Glesga’ into the queens english. But they’ll make the words fir somehow.

So no smoke without fire as they BUM say

22. Clapper57

Quite shocked by this news….my brother was working on it and told me that since it has been shut …. …………….every night……….. ……without fail…….Jackie Baillie has been seen ‘Break’ dancing on bridge….

Hence no HGV’s allowed yet…Thanks Jackie….feckin Thanks.

23. Morgatron

Drat and double drat. How dare they resolve another problem so quickly. Thank god for the beeb and their impartial , reasoned reporting. I for one will just have to vote SNP X 2 in May. Thanks BBC , bet its sticking right in yer craw.

24. Peter McCulloch

Give Jackie Baillie time she’ll come up with some sort of criticism to attack the Scottish Government over the early completion of repairs to the Forth Road Bridge.

25. Rob

Yes, well done the danglers of welding torches and assorted hangers-on.

I’m still kinda new here; best ‘find’ of the year WOS. Season’s best everyone, especially the Rev. Keep up the good work.

26. Hoss Mackintosh

Yeee Haaw!

I knew they would open it early but not That Early!!!

Derek Mackay and the Bridge Engineers and crews deserve our thanks.

Great – no detours for me and family at the New Year.

27. katherine hamilton

Well done the engineering teams. Sterling work in difficult and dangerous conditions. Up the Welders!

28. Proud Cybernat

“…officials have confirmed…”

Funny how in just about every report the Idiot Press and the State Sponsored Broadcaster published about the bridge closing, the words “Transport Minister, Derek McKay” or “SNP” or “Scottish Governemnt” were highly prominent in the articles.

Now when the bridge is repaired and well ahead of schedule, it’s just “…officials…” I suppose “SNP GOOOOD” doesn’t quite have the same appeal to our corrupt media.

That’s just one small example of how they operate people. It is insidious, cowardly and corrupt media.

29. Peter Clive

Utter shambles

30. Tony Little

Thanks to the several hundred engineers and others who have been working non-stop to resolve this problem. Good to know they will all be able to enjoy a more restful Christmas with their families.

Good news for the Scottish Government and what a smack in the face for the anti, anti anti brigade. I know it’s Christmas, but frankly, Hell mend them!

31. sydthesnake

quite shocking, “ONLY 2 WEEKS EARLY” will probably be the BBC/MSM header

definitely SNP X 2 for me, I need more of this incompetence,

“MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR” to all Wingers

Syd

32. David

They’ve only done this to often critiism in my opinion.

33. Donald MacKenzie

It’s not incompetence. It’s not corruption. It’s not greed.

It’s just BAD. Bad, bad, bad. Naughty SNP. Bad SNP.

34. frogesque

Damn, just damn that SNP!

It’s getting so boring, I’ll have to vote for them twice in May now!

(Not that there was any doubt lol)

Wee song for Kez, sombody may love you!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fC5Yf9rmKto

35. thomaspotter2014

The merriest of Christmases to all you lucky lucky people.

And a major THANKYOU to Rev. Stu and all the wonderful wingers and peeps who will make Scotland free very soon.

I’m gonna be voting SNP 24/7 till I can’t vote no more.

Also wishing all a super duper New Year.

So glad we’re all still here.

Onwards and upwards to Independence.

36. David MacGille-Mhuire

By Goad
    Can these vile splittist SNP separatists get nothing wrong?

The knuntz.

Am aff tae tell ma JaBa Mammy oan the fcukers:(

37. Dan Huil

Meanwhile, the latest figures for Westminster government borrowing are even worse than expected – Scotland’s media blames SNP!

38. Dr Jim

The SNPs Secret Plan for Scotland

Damn them! with their building things and fixing things and

running the country, this is not how politicians are supposed to behave we’ll never get used to this

Bring back Labour, they would have painted it and called it done without all this efficiency stuff that SNP keep doing

Now cars will be travelling over the bridge spoiling the natural beauty of Scotland and polluting the sky leading to the dumbing down of schoolchildren which is what the mind controlling SNPs long term plan is

Oooh BTW Thanks for the help with the Ginger Cordial quest folks I have been successful in procuring the very item

The Power of Wings to save Christmas
    A lot less Grumpy Grandad of Bishopbriggs wishing everyone loads of Yules and Noels and a Feliz Navidad from me and mine

39. Greg Drysdale

“LYING SNP HID REAL REOPENING DATE TO INDUCE FAVOUR” ๐Ÿ˜€ PMSL!

40. mogabee

That’s utterly abysmal news, MSM are gutted…(some more than others)

But never fret, the SNP bad will be returning after Hogmanay!

Merry Christmas to all… ๐Ÿ˜€

41. Quentin Quale

BBC – but how can we take the shine off this story?
    R2 newsreader – ‘The Forth Bridge in the South-east of Scotland will open tomorrow’.
    Unbelievable, but just heard it at 11am.

42. bobajock

Hmm, thanks SNP, but really, thanks to the engineers – not an easy one was this, as a metallurgist I was more aware then most of the problem.

43. tom anderson

well done to the government that cares .

44. msean

Great effort by the workers,they deserve a bonus for that.

45. Fran

Not good enough SNP, no HGVs allowed will be the onionist cries, doesn’t matter if its 2wks ahead of schedule.

BUM will always find a rain cloud in a clear blue sky.

46. gus1940

Great news – if Jackie Turd is doing Reporting SNPbad tonight it will be interesting to see her beaming smiles over this good news.

I know it would be too much to hope for but wouldn’t it be great to have Jackie Bailie, Murdo Fraser and wee Willie interviewed as to how they view the news.

Can I suggest that, once the repairs are finished and the bridge reopened to HGVs,
    Nicola and Derek McKay host a drinks reception at Bute House or Holyrood for all the engineers and others involved in the work completed nearly 2 weeks ahead of schedule in spite of terrible weather conditions

47. K1

Tom Gordon tweets the breaking news about the FRB re opening, from Rev’s twitter feed:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CW03rNuXAAA6r1y.jpg:small

Wanker.

48. Stuart

Of course, had the maintenance budget not been cut by 65% in the first place….

This would never have happened.

But hey lets not mention that!

Much…

Maybe now the SNP will have learned a lesson as a result!

There’s a first time for everything.

49. Dave Beveridge

“Heartless SNP bstrds sack loyal bridge workers 3 days before Christmas. Has Scrooge Sturgeon no shame?”

50. Luigi

Credit to our amazing engineers, and a feather in Derek McKay’s cap.

GIRUY, unionist whingers!

51. Proud Cybernat

I wonder though – if the FRB has been repaired, when will HGV traffic be allowed to go over it? Are there additional repairs still on-going to strengthen it further so allow the HGV traffic?

Of course, these are question the Corrupt Scottish Media (CSM) will be demanding answers to. You can bet your life on it. Anything to continue the SNP Bad meme and to take the gloss off this great effort by the engineers.

52. Wills

has anyone seen the STV news feed on FB ???????
    It is absolutely hilarious. The SNP bad mob are foaming at the mouth.
    I think I’ll pull up a chair and enjoy the show.

53. Bob Mack

@Stuart,

Merry Christmas.

54. Robert Peffers

There can be only one thing to say in regard to this news item :-

SNP GOOOOD!

Hae a guid ain Wingers.

55. Luigi

It’s not actual problems that make or break senior politicians, it’s how effectively (or ineffectively, as in the case of Labour) that they deal with big problems that makes all the difference in the eyes of Joe Public.

Oh Dear. Another black Christmas for the union whingers. My heart bleeds. ๐Ÿ™‚

56. Iain

That’s great news, shame all the unionist trolls and the union have got severe metal fatigue and will soon fragment!

57. Luigi

All we need now is a transparent, public enquiry early next year, showing up the real (Labour) culprits in this entire FRB/replacement fiasco.

58. mealer

Thanks and congratulations to everyone involved.

59. Marcia

Iain @ 12.10,

I think you mean mental fatigue for the trolls.

60. Robert Kerr

@K1

Tom Gordon really has a serious problem.

Therapy needed.

61. The Rough Bounds.

Flippin’ SNP Government. They never stick to a plan. Opening that bridge to car traffic a fortnight early is just the height of nonsense. Why oh why can’t they just do the right thing and screw everything up like used to happen in the good old days when Labour was in charge?

I wonder if Jackie Burd will give her oily smile when she points out that this is yet another example of the SNP breaking a promise.

62. dakk

Ye see I told that new Queensferry bridge was a total waste a money.

Effin vanity project ๐Ÿ™‚

63. Cadogan Enright

disgraceful – what will the Scottish government do next? Maybe build a second bridge? What a waste of money.

TELL ME – has anyone seen ANY headlines either on STV or BBC Scotland about the Scottish NHS outperforming the English, NI and Welsh NHS’s this winter and the only on to be on or nearly on target?

If not – would this be an easy post for the Rev?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-35028372 Pretty relevant I would have thought given the negative headlines and FoI requests all year long to the Scottish NHS from BBC Scotland

64. Andrew Fernie

It’s good to see the Forth Road Bridge Engineers are familiar with a certain Chief Engineer’s rules for under-promising and over-delivering:

“Kirk: Mr. Scott. Have you always multiplied your repair estimates by a factor of four?
    Scotty: Certainly, sir. How else can I keep my reputation as a miracle worker?”

65. mealer

Does anyone remember a comedy sketch where a Rangers fan is sitting in his bedroom listening on the radio to Henrik Larsen running rings round everyone?

66. Tony Little

Stuart

Wrong and wrong. Of course, had the maintenance budget not been cut by 65% in the first placeโ€ฆ.

The convener of the FETA (a LibDem Councillor) has stated quite clearly that the funding WAS there if the repairs had been deemed necessary – FETA did NOT think they were the priority.

He went on to say thyat ANY government faced with the decision at that time woudl ALSO have deferred the repairs, as they were NOT a priority. Sometime sh1t happens. Nop one’s fault, just what is.

Perhaps in the spirit of the season you could try to be objective?

Well done to all the engineers and others who have managed to resolve this problem as speedily as they have.

67. Macart

@Luigi 12.12

Aye, they should always be careful what wish for at this time of year right enough. The meeja and their chain tuggers were awfy loud on their demands. Problem with that is sometimes you get exactly what you wish for, just not necessarily on your terms or timetable. ๐Ÿ˜‰

68. Cadogan Enright

@Luigi

better write to the Scottish Government, as the only point they seem not to be investigating is WHY the second bridge took so long to build

69. Liz White

Read the article and not one quote from liebour spokespersons….not one. Maybe they were out doing their Christmas shopping.

70. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Of course, had the maintenance budget not been cut by 65% in the first placeโ€ฆ.

This would never have happened.”

You’re right. The bridge would have been closed for much longer. Now fuck off. Trolls belong under bridges, not talking pish about them.

71. Les Wilson

Well done SNP and all the workers involved. Hope they all have a happy Xmas.
    Same to all wingers, who really help this site to be the what it has become, a beacon among the dross.

Just a wee thought, is it not an occassion for a new Hitlers bunker spoof. I can just imagine it with the BBC and Slab participents at this time.

72. Steven Stewart

Coming soon to a headline near you:

The SNP lied about FRB fix time.

They said that it would take a month in order to look good when the work was completed 2 weeks early.

73. Quinie frae Angus

@Rob, 11.25 am

Hi Rob, welcome the good ship Wings. It’s a mine of information – and not just for the Rev’s excellent journalism.

The commenters are also a fine and motley collection of knowledgeable folk, all combining together to unpeel the myriad layers of obfuscation, corruption, lies and spin.

Occasionally we have our little spats and disagreements, but 99% of the time it’s just an incredibly enlightening sharing of information, insight, and laughs.

Merry Christmas to you and all the Wingers.

74. ArtyHetty

Looking forwards to the front pages tomorrow! Well done the engineers, amazing job done.

I went to buy my National at a well known store yesterday and the self checkout (hate them with a vengeance but was a bit quicker than the big queue) did not ‘recognise’ the National, so the guys had to use another 60p paper to put in into the till if you see what I mean, and that was the fcg Daily Heil!

So it falsely appears on their sales that the DH sells more and the National sells less, will try again today.

Having said that it’s getting harder to get hold of the N, suddenly seems to be more popular around my way.

75. Tam Jardine

Surely the attack angle will now morph into Minister Derek Mackay deliberately pushed out the date of the expected reopening in order to open ahead of schedule. Simply another SNP tactic to make them APPEAR to be efficient. Surely there ate questions to be answered, documents released, bla bla bla.

Nothing would surprise me now.

76. BigMac

BBC News on Radio. Listened to it despite a personal ban on doing so.
    The Forth Bridge will be open to all vehicles except HGV’s, it will be another six weeks before the bridge will be ready for them. Notice they managed to put in the but. The BBC cannae announce good news in Scotland without putting in a ‘but’.

77. rongorongo

O/T – but interesting Telegraph article on the decision by Ofcom to back the claim that the cash-for-access claims made about Jack Straw and Malcolm Rifkind – in contradiction to an earlier exoneration by Kathryn Hudson, the Parliamentary Standards Commissioner.

78. Janet

Shocking that the reopening date was so wrong. Had Derek Mackay mis-spoken?

I’m definitely going to vote SLAB from now on!

79. Christian Schmidt

Note this wasn’t a big job (otherwise it would have taken many months). I remember the initial estimate was very rushed, and as is Transport Scotland’s modus operandi, quite conservative.

The only thing that I find intriguing is that they must have know for weeks that it is likely that they reopen about this time, but decided to keep quiet and surprise us…

80. peekay

“SNP puts bridge workers on dole 3 days before Christmas”

81. donald anderson

Is it safe for Jackie Baillie tae cross noo?

82. Les Wilson

Did not take the CorpMedia long to bring out supposed negative eh.
    They ain’t ever, going to praise anything good in Scotland.

I wonder hoe the BBC are going to spin with the help of E Bradford that the SNHS is the best performing across the UK this year at this winter period. They will, they will, they will……

83. Robert Peffers

May I point out that the absence of HGVs, over the bridge, during the Winter Celebrations period, is in fact very good news for over 90% of bridge users.

The usual congestion in normal working days is mainly down to HGVs obstruction. It may even affect users of the main northern non-duel carriageway roads where the traffic flow is badly impeded by HGVs.

It will hardly affect business users. A few extra miles is of little consequence to, for example, an HGV hauling freight from South Britain to somewhere in the Highlands and Islands, (which should in fact best be delivered by rail).

Not to mention thay many of them already heavily overcharge for deliveries to the Highlands and Islands. Some even not delivering to the more northern areas at all.

SNP Goood!

84. Cadogan Enright

@ ArtyHetty 12.26

this means that all stores in this company will be the same as ‘PLU’s are always downloaded from a central source

pass the shops details onto the National here customerservices@thenational.scot or call 0141 302 7300

especially if they are part of a chain of shops

85. Lollysmum

It’s no good Rev-I’m going to have to stop your emails going to my phone. Was browsing the laptops in Curry’s this morning, thinking of treating myself for Christmas when this email came in. My reaction-I roared with laughter & then realised I was getting strange looks from people around me.

Someone even told me to shush-they made a mistake there ๐Ÿ™‚
    Smiled sweetly & said ‘Happy Christmas to you you old scrooge’ & walked away laughing even more.

Didn’t get a laptop but enjoyed the non-shopping visit. They must have thought I was crackers.

Well done the FRB workers getting it finished in time for the Christmas break. I bet your families will be pleased.

Well done too to the SNP govt for getting it all sorted with the minimum of disruption to bridge users. Times like this when you realise just what a competent govt looks like.

Shame some people can’t handle competence because it makes them look bad but hey its Christmas & unionists are allowed to use the bridge too ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Christmas to the Rev & all wingers wherever you may be. Peace & love to one & all. Enjoy the break Rev you deserve it.

86. Proud Cybernat

Scottish broadcast and print media – we view you with nothing but contempt. You, more than anyone else, are a blight on Scotland, forever talking us down, forever holding us back.

SNP x 2 SE2016

87. Andrew McLean

You know the enemy is within when good news stories like this are twisted and corrupted by sad little bigoted nonentities into SNP bad!

But may I wish you wingers all a Happy Christmas, or seasons greetings whatever your faith or none. And may whatever God you bow to look favourably on you and yours.

To the union, that bitter little effrontery to my Nation I hope your demise is swift and timely!

Rev you shine light into the darkness, you truly are a Scotsman, and is there no higher honour that that!

88. gordoz

Best post by a mile !!! – Cheers Rev

“Youโ€™re right. The bridge would have been closed for much longer. Now fuck off. Trolls belong under bridges, not talking pish about them ” ๐Ÿ™‚

Was getting well tired of that wee ‘Mundellite’ prick Stuart and his several yoonie whining post.

Good riddance.

89. scott

I wonder if the Sunday Post rag will have a big spread and quotes from all the moaners and congratulate the Bridge Engineers for getting the bridge open before Xmas,I bet they will complain that HGV have to wait.
    Jackie Baillie better stay off the bridge as there is a weight limit

90. Robert Peffers

@Quinie frae Angus says: 22 December, 2015 at 12:25 pm:

“Occasionally we have our little spats and disagreements, but 99% of the time itโ€™s just an incredibly enlightening sharing of information, insight, and laughs”.

As I pointed out already, Quinie frae Angus, My old hoolet like school Dominie used to say that if you just asked politely for information from someone you would most likely get it but if you disagreed with the informant they would bust a gut to convince you they were right.

Disagreement and argument lead to healthy debate. It would be a very dull blog if we actually all agreed with each other on everything.

91. orri

I suspect that the 65% cut was to the annual income with the removal of tolls. They were expected to dip in to the reserves they’d built up over the years from said tolls. The ones that, it’s insisted, were meant to go to maintaining the bridge. Read recently that even with that cut in funding they still managed to underspend by ยฃ2 million.

92. uno mas

ALL TOGETHER NOW….

“Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells jingle all the way..

Oh what fun it is to cross the bridge on Years Day -:)

93. Taranaich

More likely it’ll be something along the lines of “pressure from the Other Party forces SNP to get work done in timely fashion.”

Because if there’s one thing we know about The Other Party, it’s their timeliness in building things…

94. Robert Peffers

@donald anderson says: 22 December, 2015 at 12:39 pm:

” … Is it safe for Jackie Baillie tae cross noo?”

Oh! Jings!, Donald. Jackie Baillie is nae doot, “Heavy”, bit, “Goods”? Naw!

95. The Man in the Jar

I understand that the FM will be hosting the annual xmas party for the press at Bute House (see Bateman). Wouldn’t it be wonderful if She also invited the team of engineers that repaired the bridge along as a thank you. After all how could the press complain about meeting the heroes of the hour.

I can imagine that the conversation would be somewhat “lively” (Visions of some hairy arsed welder pinning some of our press corp`s finest against a wall). ๐Ÿ™‚

96. Suzanne

This is what a competent government looks like. And big thanks to Derek and to the fantastic engineers who worked so hard to get the bridge open before Christmas. A huge thanks, in fact, and lots of appreciation and admiration.

Just heard on the radio that they are putting the early completion date down to the good weather. Must say, for that we should be grateful. Hanging from a bridge is no place to be in severe weather conditions.

Cue the mealy-mouthed aspersions from the opposition. Go on, spoil yourselves. Crack a smile and a bit of praise. ๐Ÿ™‚

97. galamcennalath

When did the BBC last run a ‘the SNP/SG did well there’ story?

Can’t remember? Me neither.

98. Craig P

Does this mean there will be no bonus to the repair team for working over Christmas Day and Ne’erday? No doubt the corporate media can find a Scrooge nats angle to it.

99. Graham MacLure

OT
    Next headlines?

“SNP incompetence loses North Britain a White Christmas”

100. ArtyHetty

Cadogan Enright@12.52

Will do that CE. Good idea. Thanks.

101. ArtyHetty

Cadogan, yes it was a major chain shop where the self serve machines (tills) did not ‘recognise’ the National.

102. HandandShrimp

We will now have Onionists saying that the work was rushed, botched and used sellotape.

And in the meantime they will be on bended knee praying for a disaster….and possibly doing strange things with pigs to ingratiate themselves with their deities of the dark. ๐Ÿ˜‰

103. Robert Peffers

@Suzanne says: 22 December, 2015 at 1:13 pm:

” … Just heard on the radio that they are putting the early completion date down to the good weather.”

Good Weather? Whaur aboot!

We have had, here in Fife, squally winds and very heavy rains almost unbroken during the entire Bridge crisis.

I worked with some of the UK’s top welders on the old Nuclear powered HMS Dreadnought that had steel design structural problems on the outer hull from the outset.

So thus open to weather during the remedial work. The worst was without doubt wet and windy weather.

Welding creates heat and often requires pre-heating and post-heating to prevent fractures caused by localised expansion and contraction caused by heat or cold.

So let’s not have this, “due to good weather”, guff. The only, “Good”, thing about our present Winter Weather is the average temperature is higher than normal and welding creates its own heat and often needs extra venting for welders in more enclosed areas.

We were often working in extreme heat conditions. Provided with extra fluids and cooler air and I still ended up in the sick bay on occasions with overheating problems.

“Due to good weather”, Pish!

104. Capella

As for the 10% of traffic which is of the HGV kind, I agree with Robert that they would be better on the railways – as they used to be when we had freight rail. (pre Beeching)

The Swiss got fed up of giant EU HGVs churning up their roads on transit between Germany and Italy, so decided to build a rail route which the HGVs must use and pay the fees for it.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AlpTransit

They have a CHF 30bn fund for transport infrastructure.

Of course, Switzerland doesn’t have a coast! If they did there would no doubt be a healthy trade in water transport, just as there is on the lakes, but for the fact that our ports have been privatised and are too expensive to use.

See comments on Bella article:
    http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2015/12/07/the-bridge/#comments

105. K1

Arthetty is it Tesco’s?

If it is we have to ask how a till can’t register a bar code, I assume when any new produce comes on line in a big store, the tills can handle the new bar code?

Why can’t The National be recognised by tills in Scotland’s shops?

Does The National have a Saltire barcode that the Unionist shops can’t compute?

106. Grizzle McPuss

All I can add is the words of Tricia Marwick to all SLab & assorted trolls who may be tuning inโ€ฆ

โ€œSit doon!!โ€

107. Training Day

It’s no fun when the Unionist media deliver beyond your wildest expectations of how they can malign this news.

Tom Gordon really is an absolute erse.

108. gordoz

That engineer John Carson (Fave of Media); will be along any minute ti praise the speed of the repairs – just wait and see ๐Ÿ™‚

109. Jack Murphy

The BBC in Scotland Online,reports on the Forth Road Bridge with the following addendum:

“How has the closure of the Forth Bridge affected you?
    Will you be travelling on the bridge once it reopens on Wednesday? Let us know about your experiences.”

Contact numbers etc. are provided.

110. Loveme2times

I await the “so called BBC” to run some sort of SNPBAD story about this in the near future, did anyone else notice that at the end of the story on the “so called BBC” website they are asking:

How has the closure of the Forth Bridge affected you? Will you be travelling on the bridge once it reopens on Wednesday? Let us know about your experiences. Email ?haveyoursay@bbc.co.uk with your stories.

Please include a contact number if you are willing to speak to a BBC journalist. You can also contact us in the following ways:
    ?WhatsApp: +44 7525 900971
    ?Send pictures/video to ?yourpics@bbc.co.uk
    ?Upload your pictures / video here
    ?Tweet: @BBC_HaveYourSay
    ?Send an SMS or MMS to 61124 or +44 7624 800 100

Or use the form below

111. bookie from hell

Iain Martin

Will the SNP ever get round to fixing Scotland?

http://www.capx.co/will-the-snp-eixing-scotland/

112. Proud Cybernat

Check the Bar Code on ‘The National’. If someone has ran a pen through it (added an extra line or otherwise defaced it) then the checkout scanner won’t be able to recognise it. Could be some bitter Unionist ‘at it’.

Of course, the same applies to any newspaper (if you catch my drift).

113. Neil Ralley

All so that members of the House of Lords, leading members of the london Establishment and their house guests can get to their estates in time for the Holidays.

114. K1

Hmmm Proud Cybernatโ€ฆ

***takes pen ootโ€ฆfor shopping list***

115. Bob Mack

No doubt that perennial Slab Unionist Dr Scott Arthur will contact the BBC with his own horror story,even if he never used the bridge in the first place.

116. Charles McGregor

“How has the closure of the Forth Bridge affected you?”

The silver lining during the closure was that I now see clearly that Scottish Labour and the BBC are psychotically anti-SNP and I will as a consequence be voting SNP rather than Labour for Holyrood. ๐Ÿ™„

117. liz

The guardian has this story and unbelievably some CiF comments are claiming the bridge has been opened early due to political pressure and is still unsafe.

This is mainly from’ I am an engineer and a yes voter but……….’

https://archive.is/Gv2fx

118. jimnarlene

@bookie from hell

Wow, that article is exemplary zoomery.

119. arthur thomson

Well done the engineers and a proper Scottish Government. Hard work and competence might catch on yet.

We are clearly working against warped minds in the unionist camp. Any normal person would understand by now that normal people are seeing through their bizarre smearing of everything good that is happening in Scotland. It is mystifying but then so is any notion that Scotland does anything other than wither and die in the union.

But ‘For as long as one hundred of us remain alive ………’ And to that end we will repair and build our bridges to a better, independent future.

120. Free Scotland

BBC: How has the closure of the Forth Bridge affected you?

Me: It was a very sensible measure which was taken for the safety of road users. As such, it may well have saved my life.

BBC: Will you be travelling on the bridge once it reopens on Wednesday?

Me: Yes, I intend to cycle back and forth over the bridge for the whole day with a huge placard strapped to my back with the words THANK YOU SNP – EAT YOUR HEART OUT BBC painted on it.

BBC: Do you have any other comments, preferably of a non-controversial nature?

Me: Yes. Vote SNP X2 in May – you know it makes sense.

121. Proud Cybernat

“We’re Doomed” BBC2 9pm tonight. (The making of Dad’s Army).

“The Songs & Shows of Word War I”, tonight, 10pm, Radio 2.

Oh how the sabernats will be having UKOK orgasms tonight. (Just watch it doesn’t slip and cause you an injury).

BBC war hungry gits.

122. starlaw

Just travelled from Dunfermline to Livingston on the 51 bus Journey was quicker by ten minutes than going over the bridge. Daughter drives to work in Glenrothes she has enjoyed the drive and quaint place names like Rumbling bridge.
    Well done to the engineers and the scaffolders for the effort put in to this repair.

123. ronnie anderson

I would like to share this little special offer with You,s,on visiting Gartnavel Hosp today W H Smiths are selling 20 Luggage Labels at ยฃ1.99 (reduced) from ยฃ2.04 FFS ,remember folks dont show your Boarding Pass at their tills if your going for a wee break over Christmas/New Year.

124. Socrates MacSporran

Mnageress of Scotmid store in village tells me the problem with the National and tills is, the rise in price from 50p to 60p has not yet been changed on the main computer.

Once that is fixed, no problem.

125. Proud Cybernat

BBC News (Radio 2).

“50% of Scotland’s electricity needs now met from renewables. Target to 100% is by the end of the decade is a year ahead of schedule. Could be impacted by Westminster removing renewable subsidy.”

The Scottish (SNP) Government just keep on keeping on. Incredible what they have achieved since their time in office and especially so given that they have had both hands tied behind their backs and had their neighbour pickpocket their wallet.

Give the Yoons BOTH SNP barrels SE2016

126. K1

Aye Socrates, which takes approximately 2 minutes to fix, think of all the produce 2 for 1 offers et al and they manage them on a daily basisโ€ฆnae excuse fur it imv. And it’s not just Scotmid it’s Tescos tooโ€ฆare all the shops unable to update their computers co ordinating their inability to adjust a price change?

127. John Moss

It’s this kind of efficiency and competent behaviour that has me thinking that the BBC are right to be suspicious of the SNP. They’re just trying to make everyone else look bad by being so good.

128. Davy

“Ho Ho Ho Ha Ha Ha He He He”, just working on Nicolas reply to Kezia, Ruthie & Willie at the next First Minsters question time.

Well to all the teams working on the Forth Road Bridge, you have done Scotland proud. MERRY XMAS.

129. robert graham

well thats it ,yet another bloody political move ,they just do these things when they know fine well the wee parly is in recess, kezia well ,there just acting like they are ,well governing its just not fair , not at all fair ,it’s bloody well competent , that’s what it is competent , we need an inquiry

130. bugsbunny

Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP this year have not been naughty, but very nice. So Nicola, expect something extra special in your stocking this year. I hope Alex, I mean Santa doesn’t get stuck sliding down the lum at Bute Street like he did two years ago, ho, ho, ho.

I hope you’ve all wrote your letters to Santa and shoved them up your lum. Apparently as well as Scotland, that’s what the weans/bairns in Scandinavia believe as well. That once burnt, the smoke goes up the lum and all the way to the North Pole.

I wonder if they believe that elsewhere, or did believe that elsewhere in the “Celtic Isles?”

Stephen.

131. Rob James

A pat on the back to all concerned in getting the bridge reopened.

Best comment of the year award goes to Stu himself- “Trolls belong under bridges. Not talking pish about them”.

132. Ian Brotherhood

So, the countdown to the half-millionth WOS comment begins…

Anyone care to guess when it will be reached, and what the latest news will be about?

I’m plumping for Saturday lunchtime, and the ‘news’ will be…er, let’s see…it’ll be Jackie Baillie and/or Willie Rennie swearing blind that they’ve been told about a ‘secret’ Scot Gov memo which proves that the FRB was always expected to be open to ‘normal’ traffic commuter traffic before Christmas, and demanding an inquiry as to why we’ve all been so horribly misled.

133. Paula Rose

The worse thing is the SNP are being competent on purpose!

134. Capella

@ rongorongo 12.28
    Just read the Telegraph article you linked to on the Parliamentary Standards Commissioner, Kathryn Hudson, finding nothing wrong with Jack Straw and Malcolm Rifkind offering access for cash:
    https://archive.is/PSxGI

“Kathryn Hudson, the Parliamentary Standards Commissioner โ€“ appointed by MPs to police their affairs โ€“ exonerated Mr Straw and Sir Malcolm and criticised the conduct of the media in investigating their affairs.
    Channel 4 was so incensed by the criticism that it referred the investigation to Ofcom “

OFCOM, also headed by an Establishment insider, Sharon White “a breath of fresh air” says The Guardian https://archive.is/GAh1g, vindicated the Ch4 investigation.

Now what?
    And what can we expect from Ms Hudson’s inquiry into Alistair Carmichael?

135. Breeks

Whenever I think about damage to the Forth Road Bridge, for some reason I always recall the near miss when Ark Royal’s steering failed, and she needed towed by a tug so she didn’t collide with the bridge. Now that would have been a story…
    As I recall, I heard the tug captain wanted to claim salvage rights on Ark Royal for averting a catastrophe, but perhaps that was tongue in cheek.. Pretty funny all the same.

136. Capella

@ Paula Rose
    No, I think they’ve moved to “unconscious competence” having traversed the unknown unknowns to the known knowns, expertly explained by Donald Rumsfeld.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GiPe1OiKQuk

137. Almannysbunnet

Shameful if the SNP try to take the credit for this! If it hadn’t been for slabour highlighting the problem this would never have come to light never mind been fixed. They got lucky with the weather which brings up the more serious problem, Global warming. We now have irrefutable proof that global warming has been engineered by the SNP to make Scotland warmer. The warm front wasn’t supposed to come through until May in a pathetic attempt to sway the voters but they had to bring it forward in a panic move to allow the bridge to be fixed. This is what happens when you have a one party state. Haaarumph!

138. Fireproofjim

Re National.
    My local Tesco’s computer has no problem with the new price. Also always sells out by 3 pm. Excellent but should get more in.
    Great news on FRB and well done the engineers. It must have been very difficult in le last couple of windy weeks.

139. Bzzzz

Why not Tuesday? #snpbad

140. Kenny

I can’t believe there is not an “SNP bad” story to be found here! After all, everybody knows the SNP provides good government purely out of spite and to be “popular”.

It’s easy when we Jocks are such benefit subsidies and so Westminster will heave a sigh of relief when we are gone… oh, wait, let’s not go there…. anyway it was probably someone “furrin” who fixed the bridge anyway, as everyone knows (particularly that daughter of the Scottish Englightenment, JoLa) that we Scots are not genetically preprogrammed to govern ourselves or to do anything that remotely involves engineering, science or invention.*

* Yes, Wee Willie Rennie, you can chip in here, like Tiny Tim: “Aye, an’ we’re too wee, too poor and too stupid anyway! And God bless the UKOK!”

141. peter

Wonder if Dr Scott will still go over the Kincardine Bridge just to spite us when he visits his family in Kirkcaldy? and maybe he can put wee Stuart in the boot beside all the rest of his crackers!

142. John

Now now people , lets not get carried away here .Gary Robinson will be right in there tomorrow morning on Good Morning Scotland demanding that Derek McKay comes into the studio to explain why the bridge is opening so soon . Then we will have Jackie Baillie on to say what a mismanagement this was by the SNP and she wants an enquiry into the fiasco

143. seanair

gordoz
    Tend to think that Carson can’t give any praise to anyone sorting a bridge since his favoured tunnel was never built. The second bridge must be really hurting him. The BBC keep him in the cupboard for occasions like now, but he’s yesterday’s man.

144. gordoz

@seanair – Agreed

Just like a dig.

145. yesindyref2

Oh dear, I daresay Dugdale, Davidson and Rennie will be calling for an enquiry about how the dreadful Scottish Government could allow their quango contracting out to a contractor to finish the job early and therefore under budget.

The only problem being for those incredibly common over 150 tonnes abnormal loads requireing special permission and 5 days notice to police, bridge and other authorities that happen regularly once every 1 or 2 years that might be forced to take another route in 2017 or so. Oh, the FRC should be open then, ah well, never mind.

146. Mosstrooper

This bridge thing is all well and good but what is plan B?

Another bridge do you say, being built as I write and on time and below budget? Well fluck me, OK, SNP x 2 it is…. but I’m not happy with all this good news.

147. Iain More

I did enjoy having a peek at Disreporting Jackie who could barely contain her disgust at this news. The face of a skelpit arse as my mither would keep saying.

Have they strapped up Bradford in a strecht jacket?

148. Kenny

Eleanor Bradford has just tweeted that Jackie Bird was rushed to the Death Star Hospital this afternoon! Apparently all day she’s been “spitting blood”…

149. yesindyref2

“Bridge to reopen to all vehicles bar HGVs and abnormal loads from 6am tomorrow (Weds)
    Installation of steel splint to repair the cracked member is complete
    Detailed load testing of the bridge is complete
    HGVs account for 32 per cent of the weight the bridge normally carries despite making up approx 9 per cent of overall traffic
    Splints continue to be installed at other seven truss end links as a precautionary measure โ€“ this work can be safely completed with the bridge open
    Full inspection of FRB is 90% complete with no material defects detected โ€“ remaining inspection will continue until early January and can be safely completed with the bridge open “

Full details:

https://www.forthroadbridge.org/news/forth-road-bridge-given-green-light-to-reopen/

150. Thepnr

Great to hear that the bridge will open again tomorrow morning. Admittedly only to 91% of traffic, the HGV’s will have to wait until mid February.

This is what all the bleating will be about tomorrow, we can ignore it. It is obvious that the tests conducted in the last day or two with HGV’s revealed that the risk of allowing then to use the bridge now was just too high. It may have resulted in a much longer closure for 91% of users.

The intent obviously was to fully open the bridge including to HGV’s, conducting the stress tests prove this, restricting their access but allowing the much lighter vehicles and they are the majority of users was the right thing to do.

As far as finishing two weeks earlier than originally forecast is concerned, all users of the bridge should be happy as it will reduce congestion on the detour routes also, even for the HGV’s.

I can easily imaging the outcry if it was two weeks late. Making predictions such as these, especially in December when the weather will be a major factor could go either way. Managing the expectations of the public is a big part of that. I’m not even thinking of politics at all when saying that.

Just common sense.

151. gus1940

Jackie Turd has just been on trailing tonight’s Reporting SNPbad.

Apparently there are lots of people unhappy about the FRB situation and we shall be hearing from them at 6.30.

Quelle surprise.

The bastards just can’t help their pre-programmed selves.

Now that the FRB is re-opening and all has gone quiet on the alleged scandals surrounding our 3 MPs the BT lot must be frantically scrabbling around trying to conjure up their next doomed attempt at a smear.

152. Capella

And for the anoraks, 3 min video of Swiss trucks-on-trains RAlpin.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dO9Gz53r7qg

153. galamcennalath

OT

“Salmond has headed a surprise SNP-led delegation to Tehran aimed at โ€œbuilding a partnershipโ€ to further economic and cultural links between Iran and Scotland.”

“…. political opponents to suggest Mr Salmond is beginning the process of trying to create a distinctive Scottish foreign policy, separate from the UK Governmentโ€™s.”

… well, we have a barrow load of evidence that the so called UK Gov will not look after the interests of Scotland neither at home nor abroad. So, Yes, let’s get on with building partnerships and trading links for ourselves,

Would SLab have the balls or gumption to get on with it? Nae chance.

Look and learn, SLab, this is what we expect of our politicians!

https://archive.is/RbwGB

154. yesindyref2

@Thepnr
    This was interesting from that report:

“Since completion of the interim repair, the member in question has been thoroughly load tested, monitored, and results gathered through the use of strain gauges. These sophisticated devices have been installed for the first time on the bridge and provide live and accurate data on strains, stresses and rotations within this area of the bridge.”

Definitely an improvement, presumably there’s a cost involved. Ooops, that’s give the SNP Bad crowd some ammo …

155. Helena Brown

Blooming hell there I was getting the shotgun out so I could charge all the cars a ยฃ1 toll for using the bridge over the Carnock Burn, I mean we may need to repair that as well. Those SNP folk, well 2 votes for them in May I suppose.

156. Sassenach

Capella @ 3-42

“And what can we expect from Ms Hudsonโ€™s inquiry into Alistair Carmichael?”

Hopefully, now having been severely criticised by Ofcom, for accepting that the two MPs were ‘innocent’, she may not be quite so quick to whitewash Carbuncle. I live in hope!!

Mind you, after her trashing by Ofcom, she may want to spend more time with her family, I suppose.

157. archie (not Erchie)

You guys n gaals warm my heart with your pithy comments.
    @ lollysmum – I did the same, hooted with laughter, which didn’t go down too well in a dour Canadian supermarket. Christmas in Calgary, still waiting for + temperatures. Great Christmas to all wingers, lurkers and to Rob for his first? Post.

158. velofello

Well done the design and construction repair team delivering in difficult circumstances. And well done the SNP for acting with logic, and dealing calmly with a difficult media.Difficult media? Should that read as a dysfunctional media?

159. Thepnr

@yesindyref2

Strain gauges are surprisingly cheap, there are no more than a piece of foil with some very thin copper wire running through it.

Very cheap to install also as they are literally just glued on to the item you want to measure the strain in. They have their limitations though as you can’t measure the actual strain and hence the stress, you can only measure the change in stress.

This would be fine for the new steelwork on the bridge if the gauges were fitted to the piece before putting them under any load, assumed stress would be zero in that case.

Easy to do nowadays, so makes sense to fit them to the repairs which I’m assuming will be expected to carry all the load where they are fitted and not sharing load with the original connections.

Overall the cost for peace of mind would have been very small, and even if not, it’s a price well worth paying for the information and additional safety this monitoring system will bring to the engineers.

160. robertknight

Damn these pesky Nats.

Now, about Sturgeon’s abject failure to deliver a white Christmas…

161. Calum McKay

Poor wee Jackie and Sally’ s faces will be fizzng and tripping with disgust at this dreadful news,

Can they sour it with a bad NHS or Police story, sadly not as the problems with Sottish police or NHS pale into insignificance compared with elsewhere in uk.

Coupled with latest polling for May 2016, a bad news day for the bbc in Scotland!

162. Free Scotland

BBC journalists are already wittering on about the inconvenience to HGV truckers. They don’t seem capable of speaking positively about anything: it’s as if they’ve been given a chip and told what to think.

163. Iain More

Sassenach says:
    22 December, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Capella @ 3-42

โ€œAnd what can we expect from Ms Hudsonโ€™s inquiry into Alistair Carmichael?โ€

Hopefully, now having been severely criticised by Ofcom, for accepting that the two MPs were โ€˜innocentโ€™, she may not be quite so quick to whitewash Carbuncle. I live in hope!!

Mind you, after her trashing by Ofcom, she may want to spend more time with her family, I suppose.”

I think the expression you are looking is now called “Gardening Leave” in the Brit Nat Press or maybe only Fitba managers get the heave in that manner. I expect some kind of peerage will be offered to her quite soon. Maybe I am just being cynical.

164. yesindyref2

Sad to see some of the anti-SNP brigade are still frothing at the mouth, I thought there wasn’t a current rabies outbreak? Anyway, I found this by chance and it’s interesting:

http://www.transportscotland.gov.uk/project/forth-replacement-crossing/frc-faqs

Web archive show it to have been published on or before 9th May 2015.

165. Lesley-Anne

What are they playing at? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Don’t the S.N.P. know everyone has made alternative plans to get across the river Forth and then they go and do THIS??? ๐Ÿ™‚

What are Labour going to do now? ๐Ÿ˜‰

I mean all their boxes of Christmas crackers have been dispatched. They will now have to recall all the boxes so that all the Forth bridge jokes can be removed and replaced with … erm … hold that thought! ๐Ÿ˜›

Don’t the S.N.P. know that this early opening of the bridge will make Labour branch office just look like a crowd of numpties who have no idea as to what is going on in the real world? ๐Ÿ˜€

Oh wait a minute THAT is normal for the branch office isn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜€

166. garles

Kenny says:
    22 December, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Eleanor Bradford has just tweeted that Jackie Bird was rushed to the Death Star Hospital this afternoon! Apparently all day sheโ€™s been โ€œspitting bloodโ€โ€ฆ

Priceles!!!!!!!!

167. Andy-B

How dare they open the bridge ahead of schedule, that’s not very Labour like, is it now.

168. Robert Peffers

@HandandShrimp says: 22 December, 2015 at 1:46 pm:

” … We will now have Onionists saying that the work was rushed, botched and used sellotape.”

Naw! Handand shrimp, A’boady kens they yaised, “Scotch”, Tape. Whit Else wad thay yaise?

169. yesindyref2

@Thepnr
    Thanks for that. I did wonder myself, as it didn’t seem they’d be that expensive in themselves, but perhaps there’s more cost in the data transmission and evaluation to the control room? Capacity, that sort of thing? Mind you, wireless internet / transmission – used I think for weather stations.

170. msean

Re that delegation,good to see something being done for future trade in Scotland without waiting on tories,and good to see all that experience as a First Minister isn’t going to waste. Some think we should wait on the uk government,if we did,we would wait forever.

171. Cadogan Enright

Watching RT on the IPad last night and they had an exposรช of mad Thatcherite Liam Fox – they had his words said on His behalf by a reader with a strong Glasgow accent.

Haven’t seen anything more funny since the BBC used a clipped Home Counties accent to speak the words of Gerry Adams after the UK government banned the MP from being heard on TV

172. Scot Finlayson

Nicola and Derek Mackay should be first across the Bridge in an open car,so us citizens can go along and show our appreciation to our amazing,competent SNP Government.

173. Brian Doonthetoon

Jackie Bird wound up ‘Reporting Scotland’ tonight in a rather “oh well, we tried” tone of voice, as she said,

“And the Forth road Bridge will reopen to all vehicles except heavy trucks at 6am tomorrow morning” – her voice then took on a more poignant quality as she continued,

“Almost a fortnight earlier than expected”, with a downward inflection to finish the sentence. Ah, bless her cotton socks…

BTW: here is the quoted burd as a ‘pop singer’, back in the day…
    http://retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/2011/09/street-level-sample-track-1981.html

174. thomaspotter2014

Forth Road Bridge to open on Wednesday…..

Causes fear and loathing in the Better Together camp??? LOLOLOL

———————————————————————————————————————

Wee bit O/T folks but I gotta get this off my chest before the New Year comes in–

A few weeks ago I put the National Newspaper in with a rant about The Sunday Herald going all unionist in it’s direction.

I must have been rippin wi the para at the time but that don’t mean they’re not out to get me.

So now I gotta say that the new improved version is and already was far too good for the Indy crew to lose and put my hand up for being too severe with my put down.

I still get the National everyday and am grateful for all the goodness therein.

Fess up over and I’m feeling less troubled already.

The National-Scotland’s National Paper.

175. heedtracker

Lord Darling ?@A_LordDarling 7 hrs7 hours ago
    Been informed that around 75% of the brave, proud workers who fixed the Forth Road bridge are Labour voters. SNP – not working for Scotland.

We should now have moments respectful silence and give thanks to the brave and victorious Forth Bridge protest by Lord Darling of SLabour at the Trough.

None of this FRB tragedy would have happened if Lord Darling was still in charge of his Scotland region. Special mention of thanks to the board of Morgan Stanley, who so selflessly sacrificed, albeit it temporarily, Lord Darling’s seat at the board for such a valiant protest. Frankly.

Lord Darling’s well deserved expenses refunded in brown envelopes, unmarked bills, nothing under a monkey.

176. desimond

“Derek Mackay and the Bridge Engineers”

‘Cracking first album…big hopes for the follow up’…says Kezia

177. Cadogan Enright

@Kenny says:22 December, 2015 at 5:08 pm
    Eleanor Bradford has just tweeted that Jackie Bird was rushed to the Death Star Hospital this afternoon! Apparently all day sheโ€™s been โ€œspitting bloodโ€โ€ฆ

Not at all, she was just anxious to get down there to be the first on BBC Scotland or STV to headline the outstanding performance of Scotland’s NHS compared to rest of UK.

She will spend an hour on Reporting Scotland gushing over this and the bridge http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-35028372

178. Thepnr

@thomaspotter2014

Getting things off your chest is the right thing to do. Well said you ๐Ÿ™‚

179. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

That wasn’t as painful listening to the Bird back then as it is now!

180. David Hynds

Bridge Watch!! – Renting oxy acetylene cutting gear has been high on SLab expense claims this month :/ – BEWARE :O

181. Now's the Hour

Has anyone seen Wee Wullie since the news broke? Given that he’s the BBC’s go-to guy for an instant comment, and that Fife is his patch, I’d have thought he’d be only too glad to come on and publicly thank all the engineers and workmen for their hard work and the Transport Minister for his handling of the situation.

No?

SNP x2

182. Iain More

Just had a mate from Inverkeithing off the phone cursing the SNP for everything under the sun as it will cost him arm and a leg and deny him a long lay in tomorrow morning. His wife has heard the bridge is open to cars and she wants to do some shopping for her Xmas wants in Edinbra and his last remaining excuse for not driving her has gone.

SNP BAD!

183. Robert Peffers

@velofello says: 22 December, 2015 at 5:59 pm:

” … well done the SNP for acting with logic, and dealing calmly with a difficult media.”

Thing is, velofollo, The SNP, both as a party and as a government, have never known and other situation than a difficult and antagonistic media.

They have thus had a great deal of practice in such dealings.

184. Skooshcase

Sung to the tune of a sectarian ditty from those of a Unionist persuation back in the day:

‘Two trolls gone, and WOS lives on, doo-da, doo-da!’

Good work, Rev Stu! The place is sparkling like new again!

185. Robert Peffers

@garles says: 22 December, 2015 at 6:56 pm:

” … Eleanor Bradford has just tweeted that Jackie Bird was rushed to the Death Star Hospital this afternoon! Apparently all day sheโ€™s been โ€œspitting bloodโ€โ€ฆ”

Hold the front page – It has just been revealed that the spitting blood story is incorrect. It seems it was a BBC attempt to hide the real story.

– apparently the lady had only revealed to the BBC that she had gone into Labour.

186. Gary45%

Santa blames SNP for getting his timings all to cock.
    I thouct ah wis goin tae huv tae travul roond the centrul belt tae get tae the kingdom oan christmus eve.
    Noo the bridge is open whit am ah tae dae?
    Jaba and Dipity call for a public enquiry into the distress to Santa and all his elves (who were promised overtime due to the bridge being shut.

“That Nicla Sturgin isnae getting any pressies fae me,” says Fluffy the elf.
    Wullie Rennie “who is he???????”

187. Drsteinberg

FFS Nicola. My wife went down to Edinburgh today on the Xmas pressie run and the bridge opens tomorrow? That is far too late for her! She’s livid and rightly so. I’m ashamed of you ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Happy Xmas all!

188. Robert Peffers

@Gary45% says: 22 December, 2015 at 8:22 pm:

” … Wullie Rennie โ€œwho is he???????โ€”

A wee nyaff, henceforth to be known as Wullie Nocome-Backagin.

189. onelessday

It was obvious the burd had to report bad news she was dressed in black.

190. Saltire

Stuart, who continually refers to a maintenance budget cut being the root cause of the truss end link crack, I’d be interested to hear how you arrived at that conclusion. I’m a chartered engineer with 26 years experience and looking at the truss structure (there’s a clue) I’ m surprised to see the defect in that location rather than the other end of that member. It would perhaps be more predictable at that location in a moment frame don’t you think?

It will be interesting to see the metallurgical analysis when the end link is eventually removed to give an indication of the failure mode. In your opinion what would be the likely cause of the failure, low cycle fatigue, a pre-existing crack which propagated over time? I’d be interested in the maintenance regime you’d recommend other than condition monitoring and inspection which judging by the papers published on the forthroadbridge.org website appears to be in place.

191. schrodingers cat

Staurt says:
    Of course, had the maintenance budget not been cut by 65% in the first place

#bridgetrolls4bridgetolls

192. Skooshcase

From yesterday’s Guardian editorial:

“Yet events in the past month contain some intimations of nationalist political mortality. The closure of the Forth Road Bridge until at least the new year because of structural cracks is the kind of embarrassment that can happen to any government. But it has happened on the SNPโ€™s watch, not on anyone elseโ€™s. The closure is high-profile, bad for the Scottish economy, cannot be blamed on the Tories, and inconveniences a lot of people.

What is more, having at first insisted the fault was unforeseeable, it soon became clear that the SNP government had slashed a repair programme in 2010 that would have replaced the cracked section that caused the closure. Holyrood is to mount an inquiry. But the transport minister Derek Mackay is not out of the woods, and if the closure overruns, his position will be at risk and the SNPโ€™s reputation will have been damaged.”

Lies, misinformation and Unionist shit. But what now, ‘left-leaning Guardian hypocrites? What of the news of the Forth Road Bridge mostly re-opening just one day after your failed fucking smear-attempt, huh?

Oh, what’s this you have your ‘Scotland Editor’, Severin Carrell writing in an article this very day about the bridge’s re-opening? Okay, what’s he got to say…

“Funding cuts led to the delay five years ago of upgrades that would have replaced the affected part, Scottish Labour has alleged. Derek Mackay, the Scottish transport minister, has furiously denied the claims, insisting the split was very recent and unforeseen.”

Ah! “Scottish Labour has alleged”.. um.. something about whining pish or other… so put that into the article fer chissake! Can’t have the SNP gaining any credit for this whatsoever!

Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! The hopelessly fucked up and clueless Guardian and its hacks making complete arseholes of themselves… yet again with regards to all things Scottish. So GIRFUYAFAIWG!

193. Thepnr

@Skooshcase

I think that just about sums up the media roll in all of this.

They will lie if it suits their agenda, then they will lie again on being found out and exposed.

Severin Carrell is not the worst, though bad eneogh, mainly he’s just typical of the BUMs. Well the 58% of Scots who will be voting SNP in the constituency vote come May don’t appear to be listening.

The Guardian sells less than 9000 copies a day in Scotland according to the most recent survey by the Audit Bureau of Circulation. His wittering is therefore irrelevant.

194. Bill McLean

No wonder the British press was recently described as the worst in the developed world I think the phrase was. Whatever it was, it was damning and don’t we damn well know it. It’s progaganda pure and simple – and not very good at that!

195. frogesque

@Scot Finlayson 7.14.

Have you SEEN the weather forecast fer ra morraa? Lol.

Bloody freezing here in Fife and blowin a hoolie at the minute! Open top my earse!

196. Giving Goose

Re Robert Peffers

Regarding the Burd;
    I think you’ll find that Labour have been getting into her for years!

197. smithie

Lets no get ahead o oorsells here. With the benefit o hindsight should we no be planning building FRB 3? jist incase?

198. broonpot

I heard a rumour the dastardly SNP made the engineers use Scottish girders to fix the bridge which will result in a bru shortage for Hogmanay.

199. Clydebuilt

Remember the previous bridge enginee Cauldfield saying it could take till April……. Just keeping my fingeres crossed that the Engineers have got their sums right, and there are no mistakes in fabricating the repair…….

Engineers 1 Unionist Parties and Media 0

200. Clydebuilt

Should’ve been Colford

201. smithie

Have we heard yet where the steel to repair it came from?
    Wullie Rennie could still strike a point, Pfft

202. Tackety Beets

Brian DTT @ 7.20

That link is a nugget !

Her Wkipedia has no mention of it.

FRB will be closed due to high winds ramorra ! Shurely Shum Mishtake.

203. Scot Finlayson

@frogesque

How are things in Fife after being cut of from civilisation for a month,has law and order broken down and have you started eating the cats and dogs yet?

just joshing,my ancestors were from Pittenweem.

204. velofello

It is no longer that the trouble is with the BBC, and its distorted reported. The trouble is now with the BBC. We are laughing at them.

205. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tackety Beets.

I think she was at college in Dundee at the time – but don’t quote me!

206. heedtracker

Severin Carrell is not the worst,

Its a huge UKOK line up/freak show though. Its not his real name either, its Rupert, but rancid Graun thought, Rupert hammer of the Scots, wasn’t hard enough.

That ghastly Nic Robinson’s leads the UKOK propaganda attack pack and we all have to pay his wages too. yay!

Hope Nick comes up to kick some SNP arse again next May. Actually that awful creep that said visiting Cleveland made him embarrassed to be Scottish last week, is he a Heil dude, but then there’s all the sniveling creeps in the hootsman, the neo fascist Voice of the North P&J’s got more than its fair share, christ once you start…these are all meant to be serious newspapers too!

207. Almannysbunnet

A true stress test will be if Jackie Baillie gave Ruthie tank commander a coalie bag across the bridge, or is that just me being fatuous?

208. Thepnr

@heedtracker

Rupert not Severin? Is he trying to hide something?

Please tell me it’s not so.

209. Almannysbunnet

It’s heartening to see that we are not the only one’s getting their eyes opened to corporate media bias. This from the Huff n Puff post today,
    John Cleese has branded the Daily Telegraph a Tory propaganda sheet, after it was fined ยฃ30,000 for breaking marketing rules by emailing readers urging them to vote Conservative. He then tweeted,
    If you wanted to get an informed,balanced and accurate picture of the UK,you’d have to buy a proper newspaper

If you could find one……..

210. smithie

Almannysbunnet says:
    22 December, 2015 at 10:22 pm

A true stress test will be if Jackie Baillie gave Ruthie tank commander a coalie bag across the bridge, or is that just me being fatuous?
    What’s a coalie bag?, never heard that one

211. Free Scotland

@Almannysbunnet at 10:22

Yes, but it’s not your fault. Jackie Baillie and Ruthie Tank Commander are the source of your FATuous thoughts.

212. Free Scotland

@smithie

Almannysbunnet was just being polite. He didn’t want to say piggy-back in case one of these two sumo babes took offence.

213. Almannysbunnet

smithie says:
    22 December, 2015 at 10:34 pm
    “what’s a coalie bag”

In the “old days” we used to have coalie bag fights in the school playground. You carry someone on your back charge around knocking each other down. More dangerous was the “cocksie coosie” fight (not sure of the spelling) when you carried someone on your shoulders and did the same thing. Health and safety wouldn’t allow it now ๐Ÿ™‚

214. frogesque

@ smithie

Coalie bag – otherwise known as a piggy back.

OK, I had to look it up lol

215. nodrog

Is it possible Jacky has not figured out yet that they were possibly lied to and the SNP always new the bridge would be ready two weeks early? No doubt that will be tomorrow’s claim.

216. Ian Brotherhood

@Almannysbunnet –

‘Coalie bag’?!

I haven’t heard that expression for, er, forty years?

You don’t happen to hail from the south side of Glasgow, or have people from there? Gorbals?

I’ve no idea where it comes from, but it was common weans’ language in the late sixties and seventies for sure, in Govanhill, Battlefield, in the Victoria Road bits close to both at any rate.

๐Ÿ™‚

217. Almannysbunnet

@Ian Brotherhood says:
    22 December, 2015 at 10:50 pm

You donโ€™t happen to hail from the south side of Glasgow, or have people from there? Gorbals?

Nah, Aybrrrdeen born and bread. Just an old prefab loon.

218. Gary45%

smithie@10.22
    A coalie bag is a coalie bag.
    Some people would call it a piggy back.
    I think the term came from the old coal men who used to carry the coal on their backs in large sacks.( We still get them up in the northern territories)
    Hence Coalie Bag

219. heedtracker

Rupert not Severin? Is he trying to hide something?

Please tell me itโ€™s not so.

Tis the truth. Rupert Carrell, hammer of the Scots! Inside gen, first thing you have to about cybernats, we’re everywhere.

Also, very bitter BBC vote SLab Scotland thing on FRB 10.30 tv news tonight, text book BBC attack propaganda ending, with “and tonight, the bridge stands empty” with classic horror movie shot of empty bridge. They really don’t want to give up that BBC Scotland lifestyle of the rich and famous.

If polls do hold next May, that whole UKOK outfit in Pacific Quay cant possibly stay in place.

220. Bob Mack

We called it a Co cerry.

221. Kenny

I am from the south side also and can confirm what is said about “coalie bag”. I thought everyone used it!

222. Socrates MacSporran

Coalie Bag

To us in Ayrshire, that and a piggy-back were known as a “Cuddy-back”; same thing, different dialect.

223. stephen

@Almanneysbunnet says
    I never heard John Cleese criticise the pro -union lies and propaganda coming from the msm and BBC ,during the referendum.An “informed,balanced and accurate picture of the UK”was never on the agenda of the Better together/project fear campaign ,which John Cleese was part of .

224. bugsbunny

Is Willie Rennie so called, because just like his surname, he is small, white and fizzing looking for a pain that might not exist, turns the stomach and is usually thrown out past their use by date? Oh, and they both leave a nasty taste in your mouth.

225. smithie

Thanks folks, got it lol makes perfect sense.

226. thomaspotter2014

Well here in Broxburn the coalie bag was called the cally coad(also not sure of correct spelling).or what it actually meant.

A wee while ago I went to check oot the BITTER TOGETHER love bombers and cunts who threatened to leave if Scotland voted YES.

Had to gie up the list wiz that fucking long.

No hearing much fae the bastards noo right enough.

Tick Tock.

227. Ian Brotherhood

Thinking on it now, we understood ‘coalie-bag’, but we used ‘coal-carry’.

If you’d been out for a long walk with the wee brothers and sisters during the summer holidays and they were tiring on the way home, they might say ‘can I get a coal-carry?’.

228. K1

North end of Glasgow, wis a coalbagโ€ฆaw pronouced as one wordโ€ฆsame as chesterdrawers ๐Ÿ™‚ (took me till I wis 18 tae break that into chest of drawers)

229. Bill Hume

In Falkirk it was called a ‘cully coad’…..no idea why.

On the subject of the Forth Road Bridge….
    Designed and built by engineers
    Maintained by engineers.
    Fault found by engineers.
    Closed by engineers.
    Fatalities prevented by engineers.
    Investigated by engineers.
    Repaired by engineers.
    Yes, I’m an engineer (retired).

Seriously though….let’s not credit the Scottish government with this one……it was engineers wot’ done it.

That said, consider what might have happened WITHOUT an SNP administration.

230. K1

Aye and coalcarry too..Ian

231. K1

And by ‘break that into’ I mean, before I realised it was three separate wordsโ€ฆeek! ๐Ÿ˜‰

232. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood And here in deepest darkest Nth Lanarkshire it was called a carrycoad.

233. smithie

Lol, shows to go you that Fife is a region all to its self

234. Lanarkist

Interesting cultural references discussion.

I liked Ian’s expression “wean speak”.

Piggy back or Cully Bucky!

Must have grown up in a cultural wash tide, a bit like Chinese whispers!

Language and childhood like Nationhood evolve and merge almost imperceptibly sometimes.

Looks like it’s political equivalent is now underway!

Fab Festive Frolics to one and all!

235. Bill Hume

Skooshcase………GIRFUYAFAIWG?????
    OK I got the GIRFUY…….AFAIWG beats me.
    Enlightenment anyone?

236. Brian Doonthetoon

‘Cuddy-back’ in Dundee.

237. K1

I knew cuddy back tooโ€ฆcause I stayed in Dundee all through ma teenage years Brian, particularly Lochee ๐Ÿ™‚ (I’ve seen ye mention the place, always brings back memoriesโ€ฆgood yins)

238. bugsbunny

I wonder what wee Willie Rennie, Ruth Davidson and Kezia Dugdale will have to make up now that the bridge is open for service? Maybe the weans not getting what they wanted from Santa, folks running out of Food and Drink, the Fairy Lights going on the blink again? What can they possibly make up next?

Stephen.

239. smithie

Ah, now i am with you, cuddy back, eg,give you a “backie” on bike, Them were the days,looking forward to puberty,nuff said lol. Merry Xmas folks

240. CmonIndy

AFAIWG I assume to be ‘as far as I would get’?

241. Cherry

I’m from Garrowhill/Baillieston and we called it coalcarry.
    My Mum was from Govan but told everyone it was Drumoyne,think it sounded posher! She said piggy back.

I now live in Blantyre and it’s “coalcarry” here too,and hubby came from East Kilbride and he says coalcarry.

East Kilbride was the “overflow” from Glasgow housing when they were ripping the heart out the city building high towerblocks. So kids brought their street language to the sleepy hamlet EK. ๐Ÿ˜‰

242. dramfineday

Closing line of the opening sentence……ha,ha ha. Had a good chortle at that Stuart. Like many others here, my first reaction to the news was that the unionist types would be choking on their porridge. I hope they enjoyed it.

Stuart’s swift retort to Stuart was also enjoyable ?

Here in the pretendy capital “collie buckie” is the term my old in-law uses to describe his adventures as Tom Mix on his brothers back. In God’s own country, Stranraer schemies like me referred to it as a “cuddy back”.

Finally, well done all the guys that helped get the bridge repair delivered. May you all a peaceful and restful Christmas.

243. TJenny

AFAIWG = as far as it will go. ๐Ÿ™‚

244. Naina Tal

Nawbags in the pub saying the SNP deliberately said it would take longer so they could look great when it was opened afore Christmas. Tell’t them it wis an SNP crack and the SNP sorted it so whit were they moaning aboot? End of conversation. They’re jist…….Nawbags. ‘cksake!
    Cullycoad

245. Molly

Bugs bunny you didn’t have long to wait – apparently SNP have reduced the number of folk dancing since 2007!

Unlike the Tories who’ve reduced the number of folk able to eat

246. Paula Rose

O/T just a wee heads up – Wings night out in Aberdeen on the 30th of January – details in the social club xx

247. Skooshcase

@TJenny at 12:12 am

“AFAIWG = as far as it will go.”

Correct!

You can also add another ‘F’ (the seven-letter one!) in there before the final ‘G’… Just for the shits and giggles ‘n’ stuff!

248. K1

This cannot be serious from the scottish conservative’s homepage:

https://archive.is/ikd7l

Really?

‘Scottish Conservative health spokesman Jackson Carlaw said:

โ€œIf ever proof was needed that the SNP has sapped the energy from peopleโ€™s feet, this is it.
    โ€œItโ€™s clear thousands of people right across Scotland are worn out by the nationalistsโ€™ narrow-minded constitutional wrangling and grievance agenda.
    โ€œYou could say the Scottish Government has been doing a Charleston all this time.’

Are they seriously smokin’ crack?

249. Eddie Munster

Really loved A Darlings protest about the FRB at the Kessock bridge.

Maybe the smell of raw sewage being pumped into the water, as he sat at the shore of the firth at Inverness, reminded him of Westminster.

250. Macart

@K1

Only thousands?

His problem is that hundreds of thousands believe he’s talkin’ pish.

251. wee folding bike

Radio 4 at 0630 managed to link the bridge fault to a decrease in spending without actually saying it was the cause.

252. jdman

K1
    “Are they seriously smokinโ€™ crack?”

I thought it was just a gag,
    like this
    http://tinyurl.com/hgoarjk

Jesus!
    they even managed to get Beaker to model it. ๐Ÿ™‚

253. jdman

Eddie Munster @6.21
    It’s a spoof.

254. jdman

Scot Finlayson
    “just joshing,my ancestors were from Pittenweem.”

And?
    awbodies ancestors came fae Pittenweem, its where Jock Tampson came fae. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oh and the whole isolation thing? well it was close to anarchy, a bit o looting, some (not a lot more than normal though) cannibalism, pretty much just another day in Cowdenbeath, people are still gettin a heat fae the ashes o Amazon, What? if we wurnie havin turkey you wurnie havin hoverboards.

255. Ghillie

If anyone has time to have a wee keek at STV Player News, I’ve been trying to redress the negative reporting of the repairing of the Forth Road Bridge.

All of the articles where I’ve left positve and encouraging comments for the folk putting things right have been taken down pretty quickly. It’s somewhere between a game and a mission for me now!

SO! I can say it here: WELL DONE to ALL the workers of many professions who have been so incredibly brave and worked way above and beyond the call of duty to get our link between Edinburgh and the Kingdom of Fife and Beyond back into a safe aand servicable condition for most of those who need it!

Thank you to all the patient folk whos’ lives were disrupted but were still grateful that the fault was found and that the Scottish Government acted so quickly in putting everyone’s safety first!

AND THANK YOU DEREK MACKAY, TRANSPORT SCOTLAND TEAM AND OUR SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT for quietly getting on with the job we trusted you to do = )

jackie bailie : away and boil your heid.

256. North chiel

Ref k1 at 0314. Perhaps Jackson Carlaw might consider the fact that people
    have less disposable income due to the Westminster Tory government’s unrelenting
    “austerity attack” on the people of Scotland could explain the “downturn ” in social/ recreational
    activities such as dancing ,golf etc.

257. marydoll

Silly me. I deliberately listened to news on RS to hear what was said about FRB. All it said was that HGV vehicles not allowed on bridge until February and comments from Road Hauliers. Funnily enough the travel report says its running smoothly and recently added that its quiet. At least it won’t be closed to high-sided vehicles.
    They are worse than despicable.

258. jdman

Wow, Im moved to tears here, the sign on the bridge is saying “Its working John” they sent me a personal message,

I…I…dont know what to say…
    oh aye,
    fuck off Aa’ve done aw the Christmas shoapin Aa goannie dae,
    http://tinyurl.com/ofqbdxc
    Christmas tree
    http://tinyurl.com/o9lsjze
    santa’s sleigh
    http://tinyurl.com/hgkadxp
    Christmas wreath burp
    my favourite
    http://tinyurl.com/nc3xwcj
    Vitt…victu…eh grub
    http://tinyurl.com/jz28emz

We’ll be fine, dinnie you lot worry aboot us!

259. Grouse Beater

There is no disinfectant strong enough to clean up Westminster.

There’s nae carbolic wid clense yon mucky hoose.

260. Ronnie

Derek MacKay to Gary Robertson..

‘No, you’re wrong, you’re not listening to what I’m telling you’.

Need to hear more of this kind of response to the shit interviewers from our wonderful state broadcaster.

261. starlaw

Thank you Derek Mackay for putting G Robertson in his place this morning Well Done That Man

262. Another Union Dividend

On GMS just now Derek Mackay putting Gary Robertson in his place as BBC Radio Scotland still blaming SNP for lack of maintenance on Forth Road Bridge. Signs off with a sarcastic “Merry Christmas Gary” LoL

Road hauliers should reminded that diesel prices are at a six year low.

263. Brian McHugh

To anyone in construction like myself, Gary Robertson was sounding like an idiot.

264. jdman

Wow, Im moved to tears here, the sign on the bridge is saying “Its working John” they sent me a personal message,

I…I…dont know what to say…
    oh aye,
    fuck off Aa’ve done aw the Christmas shoapin Aa goannie dae,
    http://tinyurl.com/ofqbdxc

We’ll be fine, dinnie you lot worry aboot us!

265. Callum

So that’s two Conservative ex-leaders (Lord Hague and John Major) say that they will vote to stay in the EU – giving their primary reason for doing so that Scotland would vote out of the Union if rUK voted out of the EU. Bear in mind that Hague is a well known Eurosceptic too.

This places the SNP in quite a lot of power because David Cameron knows that if there is one thing that will split his party; it will be the subject of the EU. Right now, the SNP are not entirely powerless and it does make me wonder why David Cameron isn’t allowing the SNP amendments on the Scotland Bill so that the SNP will go a bit easier on him during the EU Ref.

266. jdman

My next door neighbours a real smartass!
    http://tinyurl.com/has7ww7

267. skintybroko

Great journey over the bridge this morning, knocked over an hour off – fantastic work by the Engineers and kudos to them doing a full inspection and adding in the additional monitoring equipment – as for those moaning hauliers get a fkng grip, its your lives and the lives of many other motorists that they are saving by preventing a catastrophic failure of the road deck and a potential pile up of tens if not hundreds of cars depending on the time of day. Give credit where its due. A very Merry Christmas to all who have worked to open the bridge early and to keep us all as safe as they can.

268. jdman

Christmas tree
    http://tinyurl.com/o9lsjze

269. jdman

Skintibroko ‘8.42

Aye an aw that,
    but why can’t I get this out of my head?
    http://tinyurl.com/gls72cf

270. gus1940

Oh so predictably on this morning’s GMS that lower alimentary sphincter Gary Robertson in full SNPbad assault mode on Derek McKay ove the Great SNP FRB Scandal.

McKay wasn’t taking any nonsense from Robertson and behaved with admirable restraint while dealing calmly with a constant stream of aggresive interruptions.

271. heedtracker

Tis the season to be borrowing, if you’re a toryboy, economic whizz

Fears were heightened on Tuesday that George Osborne will miss his deficit reduction targets after the latest official figures showed that the governmentโ€™s budget deficit was 10% higher last month than in November 2014.

The City said the chancellor now faced an uphill struggle to cut the deficit to ยฃ68.9bn in the 2015-16 financial year after figures for the first eight months showed borrowing already at ยฃ66.9bn.

The red tories must be birling on their seats on bankster boards. Blue toryboy’s fix the UKOK roof when the sun shines, by borrowing even more than red tory lunatics, Crash Gordon and Lord Flipper

Osborne’s OBR crew says its still bettertogether for you Scotland, under red or blue toryboy rule, there is no oil left and we spent in it our country anyway, and gave you lot your fair share too.

272. louis.b.argyll

Re road haulage association and such groups..
    THESE ARE THE PEOPLE WHOS PRESSURE HAS LITERALLY INCREASED LOADS ON OUR ROADS…LOBBYING AGAINST MOVING FREIGHT ONTO RAILWAYS, LOOK AT THE S.EAST, A CARBON BASED NIGHTMARE.

273. Andrew Mclean

I have read that some have claimed the decision to build a new bridge was made by the Labour Party, no it wasn’t all that happened was they didn’t kill the idea, at the fag end of their administration, they hadn’t made any decision. And as no administration can bind their successors the desist ion to build the bridge and where to build it ant how to fund it was purely that made by the SNP. http://www.gov.scot/News/Releases/2007/02/14104506

274. Grouse Beater

While Stuart puts his feet up for a well deserved rest, and one half of the world forgets it’s bombing the other half, here’s a wee quiz for those of us who need a daily fix of the internet:

A Festive Quiz – Yer Granny’s Sayin’s

http://wp.me/p4fd9j-2X4

275. jdman

santa’s sleigh
    http://tinyurl.com/hgkadxp

276. gus1940

In Edinburgh it was usually piggy back but sometimes colly back.

The other day we were treated to pictures of the blowing up of the last bit of Cockenzie Power Station.

These immediately conjured up in my mind pictures of a similar fate for a building of similar shape not a million miles from the South Bank of The Clyde in Glasgow.

Wishful thinking is a terrible thing.

277. call me dave

Minimum pricing by the Scottish Government has been ruled out by European Court. ๐Ÿ™

278. galamcennalath

Just seen on WoS Twitter ….

https://archive.is/8rxcV

” … calls to challenge the US over its refusal to allow a British Muslim family to board a flight from Gatwick to Los Angeles, to visit Disneyland.”

No reason given by US officials, just told they couldn’t go.

Sounds like we are witnessing a rerun of 1930s Germany !

279. heedtracker

Look what my Slovene girlfriend’s got me for Xmas

Adam Tomkins Retweeted
    Tom Gallagher ?@cultfree54 Dec 22
    cover of new book and information,
    Scotland Now: A Warning to the World

Scottish democracy’s a warning to the world, so stop it, now!

Its a bit weird that my girlfriend is now standing for list slot Holyrood MSP tory greatness, without which he’d never get anywhere near, but Holyrood is now a warning to the world. Maybe if Prof T can just get inside Holyrood, she can then shut it down, before it’s too UKOK late.

280. Robert Peffers

@Almannysbunnet says: 22 December, 2015 at 10:47 pm:

In the โ€œold daysโ€, we used to have coalie bag fights in the school playground.”

In what is probably the even older days it was a, “coalie Back”, or, “Coalie Backie”, a reference to the, then common everyday practice, of coal merchants delivering coal.

Thus carrying bags of coal on their backs to dump in their customers coal cellars.

It applied just to a, “Piggyback”. There were other Scots terms for the more robust games of attempting to, “coup”, opponents while giving, “Coalie Backies”, but I’m damned if I can remember the Scottish terms for them ATM.

281. Fireproofjim

The road haulage companies should bear in mind that the FRB was built when the maximum truck weight was 35 tonnes. It is now 45 tonnes, with all the additional stresses which that causes on the bridges of this country.
    The costs of bridge damage caused by the increased loads are met by the taxpayer, not the road haulage industry, and the cracks on the FRB are without doubt caused by the heavier trucks, not cars.
    As for 150 tonne loads. These should always go by sea. No exceptions.

282. nodrog

JACKSON : Ur ye dancin’?
    JACKY : Ur ye askin’?
    JACKSON : Mibies aye mibies naw?
    JACKY : Weel am no’se shur, thon SNP have danced me aff ma feet!!
    JACKSON : Me too!!
    JACKY : Let’s no bother then?
    JACKSON : Agree let’s jist go for a walk o’er the bridge!

283. Grouse Beater

‘Scotland Now: A Warning to the World’ By Prof Adam Tomkins

Aye, that’s what can happen when a nation agitates for real rights and real liberty, a plain man can think himself important to the planet, driven to madness and scribble drivel.

I’m thinking of writing an autobiography, myself:
    Scotland and Heidbangers – Jottings From an Active Life’

284. Grouse Beater

For those who missed it and badly need a laugh: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-2Ha

285. HandandShrimp

Loved the Tory SNPbad thing about dancing.

It was particularly funny in that participation in all activity (the first line) had risen 5% from 73% to 78% since 2007.

286. Les Wilson

Nana says:
    Nana, you are doing a great service to Wings by finding and posting excellent links. They are becoming a must read!
    Keep it up, you are doing great.

287. Brian Powell

Scotland: A warning to the World, or What Happens when Mad Bastards write books by Tam Golloch n Dame Profkins (former Princess of Slovenia).

288. James Caithness

As if Sturgeon could take another blow, we get this

http://www.scottishconservatives.com/2015/12/7905/

289. Robert Peffers

@K1 says: 23 December, 2015 at 3:14 am:

” … โ€˜Scottish Conservative health spokesman Jackson Carlaw said:

โ€œIf ever proof was needed that the SNP has sapped the energy from peopleโ€™s feet, this is it.
    โ€œItโ€™s clear thousands of people right across Scotland are worn out by the nationalistsโ€™ narrow-minded constitutional wrangling and grievance agenda.”

It’s also very clear Jackson Carlaw is a prize earse and is so bloody stupid that he could not see this obvious retort winging his way:-

“It has become rather hard to dance, sing, play golf or the many other happy pastimes Scottish people used to indulge in while the Blue & Red Tory Unionists of Westminster are starving them, often to death.

Particularly so for the young, the old, the sick, disabled and poor suffering Tory austerity, cutbacks and sanctions”.

This while statistics show the very rich have not only continued to be very rich but have actually more than doubled their riches. In essence they are getting richer by starving people to death

290. heedtracker

Iโ€™m thinking of writing an autobiography, myself:
    โ€˜Scotland and Heidbangers โ€“ Jottings From an Active Lifeโ€™

And I will look forward to it.

Future Lord Tomkins/MSP Prof Smirky, likes Prof Gallagher very much and it is an interesting example of the clear blue water between toryboy UKOK rule Britannia world in their Scotland region and what’s actually happening, out there, underneath their ivory towers of great britishness, if only vile separatists would just shut up and let UKOK toryboy world reign over you, for ever…

http://www.thecommentator.com/article/5954/snp_s_sturgeon_finds_kindred_spirits_in_3rd_rate_greek_populists

“Authentic nationalists, serious about self-reliant nations thriving, would be urging Greece to cut a velvet deal with the EU so that it can break free from the Euro straitjacket and revive its economic fortunes, free of long-range diktats.

Instead, in a superficial and self-serving intervention, Scotlandโ€™s separatist-in-chief, Nicola Sturgeon has pleaded for an 11th hour deal. A compromise to keep Greece in the Euro is, apparently, imperative:”

Hows austerity Creece getting on?

Hows toryboy UKOK borrowing/debt mountain getting on?

maybe the BBC vote SLab Scotland crew could tell us, but no, its only SNP bad:-(

291. Ian Brotherhood

re ‘coal-carries’, can’t decide which would be more entertaining – Willie Rennie giving Jackie Baillie one up Calton Hill, or her giving him one back down. ๐Ÿ˜‰

292. Almannysbunnet

Robert Peffers says:
    23 December, 2015 at 9:43 am
    Definitely coalie bug in the doric. I’d be more worried about the origins of piggy back, probably something to do with carrying a Tory on your back.
    What about Cocksie couzie? Am I the only one who remembers that from school?
    I’ve seen a few lassies sitting on their lad’s shoulders at T in the park. I’ll bet they didn’t know they were getting a cocksie couzie. I don’t know what their mother would think if they told them their boyfriend gave them a cocksie couzie at T in the park. ๐Ÿ™‚

293. Alan Mackintosh

Ian B! Some things just shouldn’t be discussed!

“Willie Rennie giving Jackie Baillie one up Calton Hill”

Mind bleach needed…

294. mealer

People suffering from diabetes,cancer,heart disease,obesity,arthritis,blindness,deafness etc should not be laughed at.

295. Ghillie

STV Player News. ‘Forth Road Bridge re opens after 18 days closure’

Just two hours later, positive comments re FRB opening early Ghillie @ 7.59am (countering three negative trollish comments on STV Player News site), the article was rehashed again (maybe it was due but seems pretty quick in comparison to others) and back to zero comments.

Well, had to rectify that didn’t I, given the need for all those who did all the hard work to hear their efforts are appreciated = )

Wonder how long before another angle pops up! This is almost fun!

296. Eddie Munster

jdman @ 7.40am

I know, keep forgetting sarcasm doesn’t translate well over the internet.

297. bugsbunny

Ian Brotherhood@10.19,

Thanks for that mental image Ian, lol. Willie Rennie giving Jackie Ballie ONE up Calton Hill.

Is Calton Hill a euphemism for something else? And like George Whitebread in this link, does he need lard to put it in, or coffee to keep it up? I think I need settlers,(a Rennie perhaps?) to stop me being sick at the very thought lol.

Stephen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jY4tD2Hbg_A

298. Skooshcase

@Ian Brotherhood at 10:19 am

“Willie Rennie giving Jackie Baillie one up Calton Hill…”

:-O :-O :-O :-O :-O

… Just imagine the scene: wee Willie [Gulp!] Rennie , um, sticking up for the Union, and.. um.. Jackie Baillie gasping, ” Ooooooh, we’re better thegether right enough, eh, Willie…!”

The mind boggles!

299. call me dave

My younger sister was always getting a ‘carry caud’ while my brother and I had to walk. Early 50s

Hill o Beath Fife (sorry can’t remember spelling for it)

300. Grouse Beater

Oh Brother: “Willie Rennie giving Jackie Baillie one”

Suction kills!

301. John

Thank you DEREK MCKAY for putting Gary Robertson back in his box this morning , please keep it up .

302. The Man in the Jar

Regarding the bridge being closed to HGVs. Its not like the haulage industry has to cope with diversions all the time is it? And considering that a lot of the road haulage goes north and south on the M74 the current diversion (via M80/M73) as opposed to (M8/A725) only adds three and a half miles to the total journey.

The Yooyoonists must have a “Great Book of the Disgruntled” that they can refer to when it comes to finding greetin faced girners that will complain about anything.

303. caz-m

BBC Scotland GMS Derek Mackay interview.

With Gary Robertson trying his best to put his negative slant on the Forth Road Bridge re-opening.

Arse.

Starts 2.12.00

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b06s2b2y

304. Grouse Beater

A Parable for Christmas: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-2Ha

305. Ken500

Nae dancing + – as a % of the pop – demographic changes – increasingly older pop. Tory boys, statistics and damn lies. Same as most EU/world pops.

306. Fran

@ John

I listened to it on way to work. Gary just kept going back to the cuts to maintenance, Derek “you’re not listening to wait I’m saying Gary!”

The sign off was good “Merry Christmas to you Gary” but the tone of the voice said , your a knob.

307. caz-m

“Heedy”

I see you are still giving us a minute by minute account of the life and times of some prick called Prof Tompkins.

WHY?????????

What about the Gaurdian? You usually keep us up to date on the latest shit that is printed on that Unionist rag.

WHY?????????

308. Luigi

TBH the road haulage companies are lucky they are not being sued for damaging the FRB, which was not designed to take the stupendously heavy trucks now tearing up our roads. The damage caused by these monsters to every road in Scotland is huge (I’m no engineer but I have heard that the damage increases exponentially with weight, so a truck is hundreds of times more damaging than a car). And don’t get me started on the diesel pollution!

Big dirty trucks may well provide u with cheap commodities and food, but there is a price. Think road repairs, think potholes, think bridge closures. Electric trains for heavy goods – you know it makes sense.

Rant over. ๐Ÿ™‚

309. Grouse Beater

With Gary Robertson trying his best to put his negative slant on the Forth Road Bridge re-opening.

Considering much of the wear and tear on the bridge is down to the Road haulage lobby getting big rigs to 50 tons, I think they should be bloody humble.

Threats by a haulage spokesperson that companies might move down south is disreputable.

310. heedtracker

caz-m says:
    23 December, 2015 at 11:00 am
    โ€œHeedyโ€

I see you are still giving us a minute by minute account of the life and times of some prick called Prof Tompkins.

WHY?????????

Because he’s my girlfriend. Also, Prof T’s a perspective MSP next May, actually he will be an MSP, making his Slovenia says BetterTogether case in Holyrood and so on.

Just don’t read it caz-m, if its bugging you. It is what’s happening though.

311. K1

Gary Robertson repeatedly attempting to convey this as some sort of disastrous fault that was not attended to in 2010 is quite despicable, all the information from Tony Martin is in the public domain, why isn’t Gary Robertson referring to this factual source?

Makes me sick.

312. Dr Jim

Co-Kerry up ma street when ah wiz wee

These Tories don’t know what they’re talking about anyway
    every time the SNP wins anything there’s plenty of dancing goes on in my house

Ahm pure Pasar Doble’d oot wi it aw

313. Skooshcase

The BBC are such scamps!

“Traffic returns to Forth Road Bridge”

“Traffic has returned to the Forth Road Bridge after the completion of temporary repairs.”

Hurray! That’s good. But, come come, BBC, there must be something of SNP-bad-ness value…

“The partial re-opening is ahead of schedule, with officials having previously estimated that the temporary repairs would not be completed until after the Christmas holidays.”

Yahoo! And that’s good, too! But, you’re the BBC, come on, you know you want to…

“But the ban on HGVs is longer than expected. Road Haulage Association chief executive Richard Burnett said it would have a “massive impact”.”

Ah-ha! There it is! The ‘But’ we’ve been waiting for! Knew you wouldn’t let us down!

“”Blah, blah, blah… and we have had many reports from members who are already struggling to keep to their pre-Christmas delivery schedules,” he said.”

And there’s more…

“”Chris MacRae from the Freight Transport Association said: “A lot of our members are going to be very upset to put it mildly, that they were planning for a fourth of January return and now it’s an unspecified date in the middle of February.
    “That cannot be allowed to slip again. It has to reopen to HGVs in the middle of February and we have to have a date for that as soon as possible.””

Good work there, BBC! Never, ever, let an even mildly good news story about the SNP go unpunished – SNP-bad! You naughty, naughty scamps you!

314. The Man in the Jar

@Luigi and others.

May I stick up for the transport industry. Modern trucks (Maximum weight in UK 44ton.) are much less harmful than they were say 20 years ago. Multi axles and airbag suspension is much kinder to road surfaces than the old leaf springs which had not changed since the horse and cart. And harmful emissions have been reduced by a huge amount. It is unbelievable the amount of regulations concerning road haulage nowadays. Folk shouldn’t be so quick to criticise.

This simplified guide to HGV weights in the UK and a guide to overloading will give you a very small taster of some of the regulations.

http://preview.tinyurl.com/qh5tyvo

315. Capella

@ caz-m thanks for the link.

Derek Mackay handled Gary Robertson’s hectoring very well. In fact, Gary sounded a bit thick. Maybe that is the tone the SNP need to adopt in radio interviews. Patiently explain the facts to the ill-informed interviewers. Send them some press releases in advance so that they can find out what is going on.

316. Grouse Beater

BBC Robertson’s vexatious questions largely appear to have been based on misnomer, ill information, and rumour.

317. Skooshcase

@caz-m

Give heedtracker a break, FFS!

I mind seeing heedtracker on the Guardian’s CiF not that long ago back in the day. He used to give the likes of Rider000 the runaround – and funny, too.

If you’ve been naughty-stepped/banned from the Guardian’s CiF, like I am myself, as well as a host of other pro-Scottish independence/SNP ex-posters, you’d know where heedtracker is coming from with his Slovenian girlfriend and exposรฉs of the Guardian’s lying hypocrisy.

As an ex-every-day-reader myself of the Guardian, having seen the change in it from being, as it still says, “left-leaning”, to what is now, an Establishment propaganda sheet which was exposed during IndyRef1, its hypocricy needs to be shouted out loud and often. Heedtracker does that. So give him a break, eh.

318. galamcennalath

Capella says:

“Maybe that is the tone the SNP need to adopt in radio interviews. Patiently explain the facts to the ill-informed interviewers.”

Yes. Care would have to be taken, because patronising the interviewer could be interpretated as patronising the general public. Challenging, correcting and informing in a polite calm way, should be the standard approach.

Interviewers don’t necessarily state facts, they imply facts inside questions. If you disagree with facts, they should be challenged. And, only then the question answered given corrections of the facts.

Andrew Neil is one who should be dealt with like that. His questions are based on dodgy facts, or opinions even. Anyone going straight onto answering the question will come unstuck. They often do!

“I can’t agree with the premise which lies behind your question”, is a good place to start!

319. Petra

I donโ€™t have much faith in Kathryn Hudson, the Parliamentary Standards Commissioner, dealing appropriately with Alistair Carmichael at all when sheโ€™s let Rifkind and Straw off so easily.

http://www.thenational.scot/politics/brass-neck-carmichael-faces-fresh-calls-to-resign-after-claiming-he-didnt-read-leaked-memo.3369

‘Ofcom clears Channel 4 of misconduct over cash-for-access stings targeting Sir Malcolm Rifkind and Jack Straw.’

http://www.thenational.scot/news/ofcom-clears-channel-4-of-misconduct-over-cash-for-access-stings-targeting-sir-malcolm-rifkind-and-jack-straw.11534

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5wYiPeLlsE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpNm8FjbbcA

Meanwhile the Thomson and McGarry cases drag on.

320. Papadox

The Dundee Dumplin & Brillo ran a Training class for the EBC foot soldiers to understand the “Scotch problem” in north Briain. Otherwise known as the tribal territoties, under the command of colonial Governor Duffer Muddle.

Listened to Garry “motormouth” Robertson on GMS badgering Derek McKay, truly embarrassing BUT a credit to EBC TRAINING and trainers. However a total Embarresment to mankind.

Had no intention of a rant but I am only human.

More to the point the rising feeling I have of pride in the government of my wee country and the new found confidence that grows stronger every day. Thank you all especially Rev, ginger dug and all the wingers. Merry Christmas one and all and thanks for being there for each other.

Onwards and upwards FREEDOM!

Ian l. Awrabest.

321. KenC

Jackson Carlaw, dancing on a pin as usual. “I hope we are somehow able to turn this around in future years.”

Perhaps he’s referring to Scotland’s independence, when we’ll all be dancing in the streets.

Merry Christmas everyone!

322. Ghillie

Would the BUM prefer to see us fishing lorries from the bottom of the Forth or accept that this is a serious safety issue that will take as long as need be to be sorted?

Do they realise how spiteful and resentful towards the folk who can take lighter vehicles over the bridge they sound?

Jings.

Ach well folks, wishing you all a lovely Christmas and a joyful and peaceful New Year = )

323. Scot Finlayson

Severn Bridge`s Tolls

Any Goods vehicles up to 3,500KG ( Transit Van size) ยฃ13.10

Any Goods vehicles from 3,500KG ยฃ19.60

All money from the Tolls on both Severn Bridge`s goes to the consortium that built the newer one.

324. Thepnr

@Scot Finlayson

Thank you for that very useful information, kinda puts things in perspective for the smaller business and in fact the larger ones too that need to cross that bridge twice a day.

No doubt if the commuters crossing from Fife into Edinburgh and vise versa were still paying tolls it would be costing them in excess of ยฃ49/week now. Even though, I’d lay money on it that many of these commuters would be blaming the Scottish Government for the bridge closure and would likely still vote NO.

325. Fred

NE Glasgow = a coaxie!

326. Petra

And a ‘coakie back’ in parts of Glasgow and Renfrewshire. Remember the bogie or bogey too? A plank of wood with four wheels? Skate and a book? Forerunner to the skateboard.

Let’s not let our everyday Scottish terminology, songs, playground and street games and songs ever be forgotten.

327. K1

Oh good one Petra, I remember the bogiesโ€ฆwe were always looking for wheels oot the ‘backs’. Do folks remember gettin’ a hudgie oan the back of the midgie lorry? Loved thatโ€ฆcan you imagine weans doin’ that now? Never.

328. Fred

Ah the nostalgia! a hudgie and a bogie which we in our ignorance called a “Guide-ey”. When’s the dyke-dreepin startin?

Jackie Baillie, yer teas oot!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.