A lucky escape

Posted on December 04, 2014 by

Phew, eh?

espensions

(April 2014 on the left, December 2014 on the right.)

1. 04 12 14 17:00

A lucky escape | FreeScotland

103 to “A lucky escape”

1. Wee Jonny

Arse. Holes.

2. Dave Hunter

two words sum it up: Perfidious Albion

3. gillie

Institute for Fiscal Studies confirms “colossal cuts” of £55+ billion to UK public services.

The welfare budget will be slashed and you probably can kiss goodbye to those frigates being built on the Clyde.

I wonder how the 55% feel now?

We could have escaped all that pain.

4. heedtracker

Each day in teamGB is like page after page of their “Bumper Book of Our War Against Scottish Democracy.” All’s fair in love and war but Gordon Brown in particular used pensions to really frighten Scotland.

5. Juteman

I’m going to have to stop reading Wings.
    My anger is reaching dangerous levels!

6. handclapping

There is a pension problem.

In the UK we have no way to start or have a discussion of it

In an iScotland we could have

7. Eric

Better Together, I think not, never has been. Osbourne is a complete and utter idiot and how he’s never been sacked is beyond me. Starting with a horrific deficit left by the Red Tories who were completely and utterly justly vilified the real Nasty Tory Party has inflicted a deficit the likes of which will never be paid.Between Red Tories & Tories they have completely and utterly screwed this country over time and time and we let them. I hope that the no voters really don’t start complaing about the collapse of the UK when they could have been in a position to make their own decisions instead of relying on this shower of Westminster ponces.’Perfidious Albion’ never heard of it before, so learn something new everyday. It’s a perfect description for this kleptocracy

8. liz

@heedtracker – that’s one of the reasons why he has done a runner.

He knew these headlines were coming and he can leave instead of being kicked out so he can pretend to himself he would have been voted in in 2015.

The more you hear about Broon the more you realise what a complete coward he is.
    Too feart to go for a snap general election in 2007 in case he got voted out

9. john ferguson

I fear for Westminster’s future and those who sail in her.

10. Grizzle McPuss

Just tug your forelocks Scotland…it’s what you do best, well 55% of you at least.

11. ronnie anderson

Ghetto Scotland wie nae escape route other than May elections.

12. Marco McGinty

I realise I’ve not posted in a while, but I do recall a good friend in the Largs Yes Shop showing that very page of the Express, along with its corresponding, scaremongering Scottish edition, to No voters and the undecided, throughout the closing stages of the campaign.

Despite the valiant attempts to persuade them to vote Yes, I’m quite sure many of them will have toddled off to the polling stations, with nonsensical thoughts about the wonderful union, and put their cross in the No box.

I wonder how they feel now?

13. Findlay Farquaharson

its what the majority of pensioners voted for, london rule, i dont want to appear cruel or even vengeful but im finding sympathy difficult.

14. Les Wilson

Well,this restates that you cannot, under any circumstances trust ANY part of Westminster, nor of its parts, Slab/Labour, Condems/Tories.
    IT’S A FACT OF LIFE, and it could have been sooo different.
    Are YOU listening 55%?

15. msean

Pension klaxon again.

16. galamcennalath

Sickening, but no surprises.

We all need to work to make Westminster May 2015 the election to end all Westminster elections, as far is Scotland is concerned. If as many people as possible are as active as possible over the next few years, Scotland may never need to take part in another UK election.

17. No no no...Yes

The 55% were all warned about voting NO in the referendum, but some of them chose to give Westminster one last chance.

My message to the 55% is this:

If this headline and the Smith Commission is the limit to your ambitions for yourself, family and Scotland then I wish you well in voting for Labour, Tory or Libdem at the General Election. If you really wanted Devo-Max, near federalism or just a better future for Scotland, Vote for the SNP at the General Election. Only they will truly represent our best interests because the others have a track record of failure.

18. fred blogger

everyone will be delighted to learn that WM has protected it’s self from any pension cuts pain, and in fact enhanced their pensions.
    whilst the outlook for those relying on future state pension’s is; what ever word fits.
    readers should research all recent changes in state pension’s entitlements, from changes in retirement ages from 60 for women and PGC for men from 60 up til when state pension age becomes 66, with single tier pensions, for all, very soon.

19. Stoker

You’ve done it again Rev.

Another perfect leaflet idea to get the message across.

Minimal wording and letting the evidence speak for itself.

All we need is a punchy title to top a series of these leaflets.

The best i can come up with so far is:

THE LIES THEY SOLD YOU

20. Lesley-Anne

Well what can I say?

To be honest not very much other than I’m just glad I voted NO to independence in September. How else could it have turned out that my future pension was to be saved. We all knew the YES side were lying about the pensions didn’t we? 😉

Oops!

Sorry about that, it appears I’ve just re-materialised from an alternate universe and my solitary brain cell was still in the alternate universe for a few extra seconds there. 😛

21. YESGUY

Spot on Stoker.

The picture speaks volumes and i have copied the pic to post to all i can. The poor pensioners were targeted by the BT lot for special treatment it’s no wonder they mostly voted No.

Lesson learned . Get the truth out to them and keep them involved. Slagging off won’t do much good.

Bet theres a few who just needed a nudge and they always vote. I will be on the look out for them in the spring for the GE.

Labour must die for Scotland to live.

22. Rory

Not being overly familiar with the inner workings of the political system and how to read the tea leaves, I’d like to know everyones take on by elections that labour seem to be winning.

What do they mean now and going into 2015 GE?

23. Ken500

Scotland raises £53Billion in tax revenues. The UK gov pension in Scotland costs £6Billion, which is pay by Scottish taxpayers from Scottish tax revenues. Pro rata, less than the rest of the UK. The rest of the UK raises £437Billion in tax revenues. The rest of the UK Gov pension bill is £66Billion.

More Unionist lies.

24. Bugger (the Panda)

Osborne may be a bastard, but he is a cunning bastard.

How else can he, as a proven idiotbut, a swine could have resisted any reaction from Cameron. He must know where some skeletons are buried

like this one for example

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pmXpU0_Cs4

Anybody note the exchange between Ed Balls and Osborne regarding a slip of the tongue about sado-masochism.

25. Bugger (the Panda)

-and this————WOW

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ieuSlFE_rI

26. Nana Smith

Another reason they want to drop the human rights act and take us out of the EU.

The EU would force them to pay pensions[I would hope]

27. Ken500

Westminster MP’s are standing down, so they receive a final salary pension.

28. Ken500

The Oil tax lies

The ConDem put it up 11% (£2Billion) a year, in the 2011 Budget. They are reducing it 2% and calling it a tax break.

29. Bugger (the Panda)

Natalie Rowe’s book, “The Chief Whip” is out of stack at Amazon.co.uk and not available as a kindle download.

Funny that?

30. Croompenstein

Is it the same front page on the Englandshire edition or is this a put the shiters up the Jocks for having a referendum ?

31. BJ

Watching A Carmichael on 504. He hasn’t got a cue,.

32. Bill McLean

BJ – do you mean he’s snookered?

33. Iain

Unaffordable? If numbers are rising, numbers of contributors are also rising. Who has stolen our money, and for what purpose?

34. tartanfever

Iain says,

‘Unaffordable? If numbers are rising, numbers of contributors are also rising.’

You would think so Iain, but unquestioned by so many media outlets yesterday was the quote from Osbourne when he claimed that the tories have ‘created 500,000 jobs’ yet tax receipts are not increasing.

How can that be you might well ask ?

Because of zero hours contracts, part time jobs, extreme low pay and the fiddling of certain criteria that sees some previously classed as unemployed shifted into different categories by Whitehall.

The TUC published a report recently in which they claim only 1 in 40 new jobs are full time. You can read more here:

http://www.theguardian.com/business/2014/nov/12/one-40-jobs-created-recession-full-time-employee-tuc-employment

35. Balaaargh

Rev, you forgot the other big story across the ferald, hootsmon and daily fail – the out of control housing rush caused by the evil SNP tax grab on stamp duty!

http://tinypic.com/r/zn4l82/8

The irony they led with that story as Osborne implemented his equivalent with immediate effect.

36. Capella

An interesting talk by Noam Chomsky on why Capitalism and Democracy can’t co-exist. Good comment on Adam Smith being the opposite of how right wing think tankers say he is. Also on South American countries pursuing national policies opposed fiercely by the corporations and investors (remind you of anywhere?) who want to exploit the resources for themselves. 17 mins
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mxp_wgFWQo

37. Valerie

To think the Indy plan was to retire at 60, thereby increasing jobs available, get your pension, be healthier, less pressure on NHS.

Better Together – die in harness.

38. BJ

I hope he is snookered.

39. JLT

What saddens me is that there are still a helluva lot of people out there – even after the whole saga of the Referendum debate – that still can’t see the light. They just point blank refuse, and the worst of it is, that these people are not stupid. I work in a certain Financial House where people frown or even growl if they hear the word independence …and yet, the redundancies have started in preparation for austerity next year! And still, they can’t see it!!!

Jeez …we really need to take Westminster in May …or I really do fear the worst…

40. fred blogger

the only thing that will prevent capital flooding out of scotland is indyscot, and don’t we know this now.

41. Bob Mack

All I can say to the Conservative Party iS bring it on. In your attempts to surpress the people of Scotland you are trying old and tested techniques in population control usually seen in dictatorships.Let me tell you this .You are dealing with Scots,and we are one tough and unbreakable people with wills of iron .You do not know us well enough to understand our courage, ferocity, and pride.Every day that passes adds to our number,and rather than attack you with an army as in olden times,we will attack you with a cross in a box,and put an end to your class driven agenda.We will also free ourselves from the camellion that is Scottish Labour ,purporting to represent those for whom they secretly hold contempt in private. The day and the hour is coming to you all,and my country, and my brother and sister Scots will be rid of you.

42. jimnarlene

Perfidious bastards.

43. Stoker

The Labour Party = Champagne Socialists.

The Labour Deception Party
    https://archive.today/vpQ6G

44. McDuff

Should the National not be exposing this kind of story on their front pages, it seems that WOS is still the only one doing this.
    I`m afraid this“ independence“ newspaper has yet to convince me of its commitment.

45. Paula Rose

@ BtP 5:59 and others – the boots are on and the bullwhip is cracking, May 2015 is going to be a right cracker.

46. One_Scot

You can say what you want about Scottish people, but never let it be said that they are gullible, thick as shit and very easy to take the piss out of. Wait a minute…

47. Yesemite Sam

This brings back a memory I have of a pensioner I encountered whilst I was helping at a YES street stall during the campaign. He would not, just not, entertain the possibility that the Westminster Government might do something like this. He was convinced that his pension would always be completely safe and spent 10 minutes finger-wagging me on how naïve I was.
    If only I could derive some pleasure from saying “I told you so” but the poor bugger still probably thinks it’ll never happen.

48. Fiona

http://thosebigwords.forumcommunity.net/?t=57002487&p=401420653

This perhaps goes some way to explaining why the facts are not enough, in countering arguments nor in persuading. It also seems to me to provide an answer to those who suggest that positive campaigning was detrimental to the chances of success.

Before the vote it was obvious that all that was threatened had already happened or was already certain to happen if the vote was No: but BT managed to tap the pre-existing framework which has been built over decades and to use it to their advantage and our detriment.

This is where we need to address our effort, IMO: facts, certainly: but facts contained in a coherent moral narrative. It can be done, I believe, particularly if we can gain some media allies. But they must recognise the need for a story, as those who built our welfare state did after the war.

49. Ericmac

@Eric

“’Perfidious Albion’ never heard of it before, so learn something new everyday. It’s a perfect description for this kleptocracy”

Until your last post, I always thought you were Eric Joyce. 🙂

50. Faltdubh

We all kent this. We all warned them about this.

The OAPs – were the ones we should have done more about,but again, I don’t know how many would believe our PDFs etc over shite like this that they’ve been reading for years and believed.

Next time though. We’ll just have to learn the hard way through austerity and stuff.

51. Grouse Beater

And don’t forget Beaker announcing massive funds to invest in North Sea oil, yes, the same oil reserves supposedly dwindling, hadly worth the trouble of pouring in a barrel.

52. ronald russell

Totally agree with Bob Mack, they have tried to bluff us one time too many and I hope they are tossed out of Scotland forever, along with their new pals with no red flag flying high.

53. Clootie

I wonder how many of those who actually voted NO on the basis of the VOW consider the powers to have been delivered.

I wonder how many of the loyal Labour voters who voted NO are satisfied with the future austerity cuts they placed on their fellow Scots.

I wonder how many LibDem voters continue to belief that their party mitigated the worst of the Tory excesses. Have they looked at the impact of those being hit by the welafare cuts…and spare me the repeat play of raising the basic tax thresh hold…it is nothing in comparison to the damage your party did to Scotland.

Above all I wonder why we voted NO! 🙁

54. Dave McEwan Hill

Newspapers never attack other newspapers, though describing the Daily Express as a “newspaper” is stretching things a bit.

I certainly wouldn’t like the National to waste its front page carrying attacks on infantile rubbish from the Express.

Today’s National is first class and its editorial deserves very wide distribution .

I can only imagine that McDuff is confusing it with some other publication

55. Ericmac

Well, well, well. Lots of people getting angry in Scotland. Hardly surprising.
    This was predicted.

The Referendum, Propaganda, Media bias, Vow, Smith Charade, are the blue touch paper. Austerity the likes of which Scotland has never seen might well be the spark.

The reality is that Osborne’s measures are going to hit Scotland disproportionately, in the sense that it will be worst felt in the poorer sections of the UK. And while Surrey and London say ‘What austerity?” … Westminster will continue fleecing Scotland of revenue.

I guesstimate that there are only around 25% of the Scottish electorate that are hardened ‘NO’ voters. People who would vote NO regardless of absolutely anything.

As our economy takes a further nose dive (2015 / 16 / 17), just watch the pendulum come quickly to 75 / 25 in favour of YES.

NO voters are going to be harder to find than Lord Lucan, White Truffles or a gram of Astatine.

Get your “Don’t Blame Me. I voted YES’ T-shirts ready.

56. Luigi

As we all on here seem to agree – this was to be expected.

I have to admit though, it’s happening much, much quicker than I expected. The dust has barely settled and they are going for it, hammer and tongs, full speed ahead. The poor old NO voters can hardly keep up!

It’s the nightmare before Christmas, folks.

57. Davy

In nine to ten years I will be a pensioner, we had better be f-ing independent by then, I have not worked my erse aff for the past forty years which will be nearer fifty years by the time I retire, just so some scumbucket of a multi coloured westminster tory can tell me, ah forget it your not entitled to a decent pension, but we are.

I will not stand for it AND NOR SHOULD ANYONE ELSE, our pensions are not just playthings for the politians to throw around to suit themselves. We know what the fear of losing your pension can do, it probably cost us the referendum and our independence.

And its time to let those unionist MP bastards know in MAY 2015 that mucking about with peoples pensions is out, and vote them out of our own country at least.

Not all of us can afford to have a super-duper private pension, if we do have an additional pension its usually a works one which only gives a very limited return. Our state pension is our right, most of us spend our working lifes paying in to it, and its about time politians were stopped from putting it up for auction to the bidder with the highest number of votes.

I sincerly hope one day, with scottish independence our own government will place the provision of state pensions outwith the reach of party politics, and that the peoples right to a decent pension is written into our constitution and become untouchable for all time.

58. Marie clark

Aye better thegither right enough, sheesh. Thank you proud scot buts, nae brain, nae pain eh!

59. Macart

The ‘Better Together’ bit will be along any day now…

… aaaannny day now! Or not.

Surely the man who saved the world from economic oblivion wouldn’t lie to all those pensioners would he?

60. Croompenstein

What about the ‘pension pot’ I thought Flipper told us there was a magic pension pot or is this the pot they wouldn’t leave us to piss in ?

61. Croompenstein

btw the Englandshire front page is trumpeting a cash boost for ‘Middle Britain’ wherever the fuck that is !

http://www.express.co.uk/ourpaper/view/2014-12-04

62. john king

BJ says
    “Watching A Carmichael on 504. He hasn’t got a cue,.”

That wasn’t a spelling mistake
    was it?

63. Paula Rose

Have we all kissed and made up now? We will be sending an awfy lot of our own folk to WM in May. So may we all work towards that?

64. tartanfever

Why you can’t trust the IFS and the BBC.

Here’s an interesting snippet from the BBC website today quoting Paul Johnson, Director of the IFS:

‘The “disappointing” outcome on the deficit – which fell just £6bn to more than £90bn this year – was “because the economy performed so poorly in the first half of the Parliament, hitting revenues very hard”, said Mr Johnson.’

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-30327717

It’s the use of ‘this year’ we should be worried about.

As the UK govt. financial year runs from March to March, Mr Johnson must be talking about 2013-2014 because we are only 8 months into the current year, and not even the ‘astute’ IFS could surely be so skilled as to predict what this years full deficit will be only 8 months into it.

However, a quick google search for ‘UK2013-2014 deficit’ comes up with a number of media sites, all telling us the same thing, the UK deficit for that time period was £107bn.

Even the BBC reported that back in April this year:

‘The UK government borrowed £107.7bn in the financial year to April 2014, lower than the £115.1bn amount it borrowed the previous year.’

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-27125024

and this figure was also reported in:

This is money –

‘The Office for Budget Responsibility had forecast the 2013/2014 deficit to be £107.8billion,’

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/news/article-2611169/Chancellor-meets-annual-deficit-target-public-sector-spending-falls-March.html

or by The Guardian:

‘Government borrowing fell to £107.7bn in the fiscal year to the end of March 2014’

http://www.theguardian.com/business/2014/apr/23/uk-deficit-lowest-financial-crisis-osborne-budget

Whats going on ?

Well, what George said yesterday was:

‘Government borrowing is forecast at £91.3bn this year’

Right, this seems to be the only figure thats reasonably close to Mr Johnson’s ‘more than £90bn’ claim, so it seems logical that this is what he’s talking about because it would be embarrassing if he didn’t know the £107bn figure from 2013-14 that has been widely reported for some 7 months now.

What can we deduce from this hashed report ?

A BBC economics reporter doesn’t know

a) that the UK govt financial year is March to March

or

b) they aren’t aware that there are 12 months in a year

because if they did, they would surely have asked Paul Johnson how he could tell what this year’s deficit is when the year still has four months to go.

Or, Paul Johnson, Director of the IFS has the ability to time travel into the future.

Just in case it’s the latter, I suggest we should ask him the euromillions draw numbers for tomorrow night.

Ultimately, what you are currently reading in the press about deficit figures, impending cuts, debt, economy etc should be taken with a large pinch of salt. They are, most likely, far worse than we are being told.

65. muttley79

I can see massive civil disobedience building up at these Tory sociopaths. The ******* know exactly what they are doing as well, evil beyond words. They know fine well they are destroying many life’s.

66. john king

Yesimite sam says
    “If only I could derive some pleasure from saying “I told you so” but the poor bugger still probably thinks it’ll never happen.”

The point is Sam he’ll probably be dead before that happens,
    He couldn’t give a shit!

67. galamcennalath

Better Together will go into the history books as the biggest lie ever!

If they hadn’t offered DevoMax/Home Rule etc etc then there would have been a Yes win an independence negotiations would currently be underway.

Having offered it, if they had been honest and delivered, then at least we’d have the consolation prize of FFA and full control over our economy about to be delivered.

They lied, lied, lied … And what did we get … FA!

Bitterness doesn’t describe it! No anger, just an overriding desire to get even!

68. Paula Rose

Get even? They’re odd.

69. bookie from hell

hearing express will be declaring for UKIP general election

70. polscot

O/T but may be interesting for some when considering the lack of a sovereign wealth fund for Scotland. A broadcast on Radio 4 tonight, In Business, is presented by Peter Day and concerns sovereign wealth funds.
    He is talking of the benefits to Shetland of the Shetland Charitable Trust, stating that the “windfall” of the fund may be about to be repeated in the “North East” (not Aberdeen or Wick, I guess) with a shale gas fund.
    Some choice quotes, for example Nigeria (pop around 150m) now having set up a fund and using Norway (pop 5m) as the role model. Other countries setting up sovereign wealth funds include Gabon and Equatorial Guinea. I bet these countries wish they now had a colonial presence to manage their expectations.

71. john king

Croompenstein says
    “btw the Englandshire front page is trumpeting a cash boost for ‘Middle Britain’ wherever the fuck that is !”

Eh, this?
    http://tinyurl.com/nxcb47d

72. john king

Luigi says
    ” have to admit though, it’s happening much, much quicker than I expected. The dust has barely settled and they are going for it, hammer and tongs, full speed ahead. The poor old NO voters can hardly keep up!

It’s the nightmare before Christmas, folks.”

And the Answer they’ll give us is
    Well think how much worse it would have been had you gone it alone without the (ahem) broad shoulders of the UK to support you,

And the idiots will continue to believe it as well.

73. castle hills chavie

O/T apalogies.

Great piece on Wee Ginger Dug, defending Wings, but not wee wullie winkie.

http://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2014/12/04/wullie-rennies-letter-to-santa/

74. caz-m

Osborne Defends Plans Amid Fears Over Cuts:

“George Osborne has defended his economic plans amid claims he is set to plunge Britain into a period of austerity not seen since the 1930s.”

https://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/osborne-defends-plans-amid-fears-090658972.html

Oh what have you NO voters done? You can just see those NO voters starting to slip under the blanket, racked with guilt, never to be heard of again.

Honest No voters need to start speaking out and tell us of how they were lied to and that they would vote YES if they had the chance to do so again.

75. ben madigan

@eric at 4.56 who had never heard of ’Perfidious Albion’,

Speed updating in your knowledge area, Eric – now the forthcoming issue is “Precarious Albion”

https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2014/11/02/perfidious-or-precarious-albion/

76. alloasnp

Stoker @ 5:27 pm

“You’ve done it again Rev.

Another perfect leaflet idea to get the message across.

Minimal wording and letting the evidence speak for itself.

All we need is a punchy title to top a series of these leaflets.

The best i can come up with so far is:

THE LIES THEY SOLD YOU”

How about: ARE YOU ‘YES’ YET?

77. Ericmac

O/T What I would really like to know is how many people dumped their TV licence in Scotland pre and post referendum?

It would be a good indicator of the level of angst and militancy people were feeling.

By the way… there is a lot of these devices coming on the Market… stream your PC content remotely to your TV, no need for HDMI cable etc.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/airtame-wireless-hdmi-for-everyone–2

I use Apple TV but these would do a similar job. Dump the aerial and propaganda TV.

78. Stoker

@ YESGUY.
    Well said mate, hope you’re sending the pic to the ‘No voters’ –
    i wouldn’t like to think you’re preaching to the converted.
    Mind and add the wingsoverscotland.com link.
    Get them over here to complete their transformation.

@ alloasnp.
    Yip, that’s another good yin.
    If i could i’d give you one of those wee smiley thumbs-up thingys.

79. Natasha

@Ericmac
    O/T What I would really like to know is how many people dumped their TV licence in Scotland pre and post referendum?

Funnily enough, I put in a FOI request about that very subject about a month after the referendum and I did actually get a reply of sorts. They didn’t give me exactly what I asked for, but basically they said that between 19th and 30th September, 2,399 licences were cancelled in Scotland (I had asked for the number cancelling during the 5 weeks leading up to 27th September).

Unfortunately, they couldn’t (or wouldn’t) break down the figures into which licences were cancelled by individuals and which were cancelled by TV Licensing due to non-payment. Also, the most recent figures they had for the overall number of licences in Scotland was from March 2014 (2,221,960). So without that extra information, the number of cancelled licences was not very useful.

I have never got round to asking for more information about cancellations during other months since March 2014 (life gets in the way). Having said that, getting any kind of figure was a minor achievement. Usually they just fob you off.

80. Meindevon

@alloasnp

‘Are you Yes yet?’

Love it! Hopefully it won’t be long before they are. Just hope it’s not too late for Scotland. Also hope that, as with the ref, they don’t chicken out of a pro Indy vote at the GE at the last minute.

81. Onwards

From the Peston article on the BBC.

“..if a new Tory government delivered on its pledge to protect spending on schools and hospitals, the cuts for other public services – such as the police, courts, social services, local government and so on – would be so big as perhaps to defy credibility.

The OBR calculates that spending per head in real terms in 2019/20 on the public sector minus health and schools would be £1,290, or 57% less than in 2009/10.

The cuts coming are HUGE.
    You can see why devolution of income tax is being granted to allow some of that pressure to land on the SNP.

The best hope is that people start to realize we should devolve far more powers in order to do things a different way.

Publicly owned utilities for a start.
    That Whitelee wind farm for example – It can power the whole of Glasgow. Why shouldn’t that have been owned and operated by the Scottish Government, or the City of Glasgow?

You would think now, with falling oil prices.. Instead of criticising price estimates, NO voters could see that Norway got it right by keeping their strategic industries in public hands, and investing for the future.

http://www.nbim.no/en/
    £550 BILLION current valuation.

“We work to safeguard and build financial wealth for future generations”

How nice would it be if we had that attitude?

Even if oil dried up tomorrow, they can live of the interest and dividends from owning almost 2% of the world’s stocks and shares.

When you have a country with a relatively small population and large natural resources, we should be able to use these resources to keep costs down for the people of that country.

Just seems like common sense surely.

82. Stoker

@ Ericmac.

Click on this link below.
    Once you get there type “BBC” into the search facility and you might find your answers there.
    If not, sign up and make your own FOI request.
    As far as i know they don’t break the figures down into “regions” and they only ever, due to demand, provided “regional” figures for Scotland once, covering the remainder of September immediately AFTER the referendum. Have a look:
    http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/

83. Tam Jardine

Nana Smith 

Amazing – Westminster’s policy agenda is governed by how to undermine the powers and policy decisions by our devolved government. Crazy stuff – we really have gone down the rabbit hole in this lunatic state.

How people in England view this is anyone’s guess – I am pretty sure they are miles behind us in terms of political interest and engagement. England needs it’s own SNP more than ever but they are even more zapped than our no-voting countrymen are up here.

Do they have a scooby that their British Nationalist government, whilst standing up to the ‘beurocrats’ in Brussels are setting policy based on undercutting the devolved administration in this country of 5 million souls up north?

I just realised what devo-max means and why it HAS been delivered. The weak as piss Smith proposals, filleted by the cabinet, undermined by changes to APD, stamp duty etc and soon to be filleted further by the Commons and the Lords: that malnourished, skeletal set of tweaks is Devo-Max. The Maximum amount of Devolution Westminster will grant us.

84. Nana Smith

@Tam Jardine

There’s a good few Mad Hatters running around in Westminster for sure.

Sadly not a lot of English people seem to grasp what is actually going on and I sometimes wonder if they even care.

Going by comments on the guardian and telegraph ukippers are leading the political donkeys by their tails.

85. thomaspotter2014

Croompenstein says:
    If we’re North Britain then Middle Britain must be south of here.

86. tombee

@ Stoker,

Spot on Stoker. Clear and simple. With a comprehensive list of the lies they told attached.
    All cross referenced to factual links for verification.
    Good idea.

87. Croompenstein

@johnking – LOL aye john unionism is a hard hobbit to break 🙂

88. Craig P

Cognitive dissonance.

89. Clootie

I’m old enough to remember Jeremy Thorpe and considered him a good man. His downfall was probably more to do with the bigotry of that era than actual fact.

I pay tribute to a good man. Remembering him only highlights to me how far the LibDems have fallen.

90. David Agnew

this paper runs a headline like this frequently.

Pensions crisis!
    Cheaper Mortgages on the way!
    Cash Crisis for NHS
    Pensions bonanza
    Mortgage woes on the Way!
    More funding for NHS
    Chocolate reduces heart disease
    Chocolate causes cancer

etc etc and so on. Not entirely sure what story they run – I wouldn’t waste spare change on a paper like that.

91. thomaspotter2014

What I think we’re seeing is the beginning of the end days of Westminster’s monopoly on power.
    Can’t come soon enough for me but it is all going completely bonkers.
    lol

92. drawdeaddave

I just want to take this opportunity to say thanks to my 78 year old mother, whom reads the record and watches the BBC, and was very confused and swaying towards a no vote, thanks for listening to your son and believing him, rather than the daily unionist BT propaganda you was subjected to as a pensioner, i only explained our side of the argument, on the day of the ref i collected her to take her to the polling station, and she explained to me she has decided to vote YES not for herself, but for me and the grand kids, proud of you maw, wished there was more like you.. (don’t think she subscribes to wings tho)

93. Nana Smith

@drawdeaddave

That’s a super post. I know if my mum and dad were alive they would have voted Yes, sadly they passed away before any talk of an indyref came about.

94. Early Ball

@clootie

Not a particular dogs’ fan but did Norman Scott’s dog not get shot?

95. Stoker

@ tombee.

Cheers mucker.

96. Lenny Hartley

O/T Don’t know if anybody has mentioned this?

SNP MSP John Mason saying that anybody wearing a YES Badge at a Football Match should be susceptible to Police action.

What planet does he live on, he also says that somebody wearing a Free Palestine t-shirt at a Football match should not have been wearing it.

The problem with football is not politically motivated actions but religious nutters like him who believe in the Superstitions of Iron Age Goat Herders.

Never mind suspending a couple of Councillors who took part in an ill-judged prank, he should be suspended forthwith for bringing the party into disrepute.

https://archive.today/CZw0g

97. Lesley-Anne

Sorry for going O/T but I’ve just seen this on Facebook. I’m thinking this is an early Birthday present for Alex Salmond! 😛

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1525249011083482&set=a.1387741598167558.1073741829.100007951932686&type=1

Meanwhile over on Twitter I’ve found these two brilliant tweets 😉

The SNP membership form has been shared 124,000 times on FB In Scotland. Labour’s form has been shared 3,000 times in the whole of the UK

Facebook Has Driven SNP http://www.buzzfeed.com/jamieross/how-facebook-has-driven-the-rise-of-the-green-party-and-the … SNP party membership form shared 124,000+ times on social media; LibDem form 309 times… 🙂

Methinks that the LOSING side is doing just ever so much BETTER than the winners. 😛

98. McDuff

Dave McEwan Hill
    I beg to disagree.
    The Guardian`s Libby Brooks did a piece on 24/11/14 under the headline “a McPravda for Scotland`s separatists“. As we read on, the quote is attributed to Lord Foulkes but its the headline that counts and that’s what catches the eye.
    At the launch of the National its editor Richard Walker was sarcastically described as addressing the “giddy throng`, so with all due respect if you think that a very unsubtle attack was not being made against this newspaper by another newspaper I must be missing something.
    If the National is to make any real impact it must do some hard hitting in depth stories exposing the lies and hypocrisy being fed to the Scottish people accompanied with eye catching headlines .

99. ENTERNAMEHERE

The reality is that a lot of people are unable or unwilling to consider the evidence above.

100. desimond

Gideon we need a solution to pension crisis

Err, hows about there will be no pension until your 75.

Sorted!

101. Tamson

This needs to go on a leaflet and through the letterboxrs of as many pensioners as possible. No value if it just appears online.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.