historywomanslut

issmhairi

hhtmhairi

njgmhairi

cpmmhairi

armmhairi

pcbmhairi

hedmhairi

But that says rather more about them than it does about Mhairi Black.

1. 14 07 15 17:17

What a champion of Scotland looks like | Speymouth

203 to “What a champion of Scotland looks like”

1. brobb

Can you forward this to J K Rowling? might put her complaints into perspective

Mhairi made a fantastic speech – makes you proud to have this calibre of elected representatives and we can already see many of their ideas being copied by labour mps. Better together begged us to stay and lead and that’s certainly what the SNP is doing.

2. muttley79

Mhairi Black is brilliant. You can feel the class hatred and the crankiest elements of British nationalism positively oozing out of some of her political opponents, directing all the bile we see in the tweets above. Only the MSM in the UK could have somehow missed all this hatred and venom. Mind you it is on the wrong side as far as they concerned….

Excellent maiden speech from Mhairi. More please! D:

3. Tony Little

The one thing I have learnt about people like this is that Haters just gotta hate.

Great speech and another credit to the SNP. We have been well and truly blessed with the quality of #SNP56

4. James Forrest

Articulate, passionate, spirited, brilliant.

What a credit she is to this country.

5. Bill Steele

I am so proud of Mhairi! I’m proud of the SNP whose leadership have the wisdom to have chosen her to be candidate. I’m proud of the voters of Paisley and Renfrewshire who had the acumen to elect her.

6. Croompenstein

Looking at Mhairi in those surroundings and listening to her deliver that awesome maiden speech it really is hard to believe she is only 20 years old and has many years ahead of her in her political career.

Yet the tories would deny the young folk of the UK the right to vote I’m thinking it may be because of young folk like Mhairi who wear there heart on their sleeve.

Very proud to be a Scot watching Mhairi today.. some say we are a pathetic people but today a young lassie helps us puff out our chests a little bit more.

7. Camz

Carbolic soap for the mouths of the unionists please.

8. Fiona

So all of those comments are from independence supporters, are they? Cos we all know that unionists are NEVER insulting; NEVER use “foul” language like “targetting”, or “scrounger” or even “cunt”

That was a great speech, and it was not alone. This is certainly the voice that those disenfranchised by the neoliberal conversion of the labour party have been looking for. Not just in Scotland, but across the UK.

9. Martin

Someone should show these to Michelle Mone and J.K.Rowling and say “This is what vile and abusive tweets actually look like.” Absolutely disgusting, someone should compile a dossier or something.

10. muttley79

This is what an elected political representative should sound like. Integrity, heart, passion, commitment. Mhairi really reminds me of Margo Macdonald. Her family should be very proud of her. I know I am.

11. Tamson

It is SO frustrating that Hothersall’s surname is one letter away from containing the word ‘arsehole’.

12. Heather McLean

Spot on Stu – Mhairi Black is indeed a true champion of Scotland. What an absolutely fantastic maiden speech – stunning! The best one I’ve heard yet! I have so much respect and admiration for this young lady! She speaks with 100% conviction from the heart and only periodically glancing at her speech. Just wonderful!

13. lumilumi

I wish I could’ve been as passionate and articulate at 20 – or even now.

And then to be called a harridan and a foul-mouthed slut by Jill Stephenson. Maybe historywoman Jill Stephenson should take a wee peek in the mirror to see what those words mean?

Now, Jill Stephenson is entitled to her opinion but I just wonder if it’s wise for an academic to be quite so foul-mouthed and bigoted in public. She’s bringing her institution into disrepute.

I wonder about her students. Do they feel comfortable about being taught/tutored/supervised by her? Maybe she has a pure research role and doesn’t come into contact with students.

14. Brian Forrest

And her round of applause was weel deserved…Aye!

15. Kevin Evans

Loved her speech – I am a grown man and I will admit I welled up listening to her speech.

Simple and hit right to the mark of what this whole country needs. Once Scotland breaks free from this union I hope for our neighbours sakes they can find

16. Kevin Evans

Someone like her

17. Iain Hamilton

Damn. I knew her maiden speech would be worth waiting for. Mr Daisley speaks truth. That was unbeatable.

There’s a few points in there we’ll hear repeated and surfacing as memes in social media.

18. T.C.

What a BRILLIANT speaker and fantastic speach she did herself proud, well done definitely one to watch in the future.

19. No no no...Yes

Mhairi Black is a uniquely gifted person.

Apart from the idiots listed above, Mhairi is attracting positive comments on Twitter from people who have set aside party political views and recognise a true talent in action.

These pesky 56 SNP MPs are certainly stirring up the Establishment. I wonder how Reporting Scotland will spin the day’s events?

20. Nana Smith

Mhairi Black is an absolute star.

The others are a sorry bunch of losers. Jealousy is such an ugly trait.

21. Luigi

The SNP has certainly been blessed with a fair number of awesome political leaders over the years, whether big personalities, and/or master strategists (Salmond, Sturgeon, Swinney, Hosie, Robertson etc). I did wonder if they had any of the young members were talented enough to replace these giants, when this current generation eventually retires. After hearing a few of the “rookie” maiden speeches at WM, I needn’t have worried. Mhairi Black, what a star!

I bet the Labour party would give anything for just one of these bright, new talents to lead their dying party. Too bad eh! 🙂

22. mogabee

O.M.G

What an emotionally charged speech. Will the “opposition” listen? We wait with bated breath!

23. annie

Guido Fawkes and Jon Snow are just some of the Journos on twitter linking to Mhairi’s maiden speech but hey what do they know Duncan?

24. Linda McFarlane

Oh my! Inspiring. She brought a tear to my eye. She echoed my feelings over Labour. Thank the stars for people like Mhairi Black.

25. muttley79

@lumilumi

Stephenson has retired.

26. liz

To those saying show these tweets to JKR and MM, you’re wasting your time.

JKR criticised one tweet which was insulting to Serena Williams but ignored numerous tweets, which she was shown, saying vile things about Andy Murray and his family.

She is a dyed in the wool Brit Nat and nothing will change that

27. Doug Daniel

I’ve been looking forward to Mhairi’s maiden speech a lot. I knew she was capable of brilliance, because her speech at the SNP conference after the referendum was outstanding, and she was obviously impressive during the election campaign. But I wondered if she’d live up to expectations here.

Boy did she ever.

No one will be asking if 20 is too young after that complete barnstormer of a speech.

28. walter scott

Who is Jill Stephenson?

29. K1

Thank you Stu. She is an absolute credit to Scotland, utterly engaging, utterly human and utterly genuine.

Since I first heard her speak way back last summer, I knew, just knew here was someone exceptional; articulate and honest with truth running through her veins, this woman is literally going to change the world.

So happy…a true warrior with integrity in our midst.

30. frogesque

No bad fer a wee lassie frae the chippy!

You gave them bold, you gave it them straight. Go Mhairi!

31. DerekM

Did we just witness a future first minister of an independent Scotland ?

As for all the haters above they can go fuck themselves petty minded trolls with zero charisma,go on bow down to your tory masters and lick their boots clean you pathetic worms.

32. Jim

lumilumi says:
    14 July, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Now, Jill Stephenson is entitled to her opinion but I just wonder if it’s wise for an academic to be quite so foul-mouthed and bigoted in public. She’s bringing her institution into disrepute.

33. Now's the Hour

Hothersall’s comment tells us more about Hothersall than Mhairi’s speech. What a bitter man he must be.

34. Jim

P.S

Duncan Hotarsehole can fuck right off!

35. David McCann

Watched it with a lump in my throat, a tear in my eye, and a heart bursting with pride.

36. Dorothy Devine

Cracking speech – brilliant young woman.

As for the disgusting comments I think they should be forwarded to the speaker at Westminster , the BBBC and STV and the Prime Ministers Office.

No point in sending them to the deluded Mone and Rowling – perhaps a lawyer like Ms Calman should deal with them??

37. Stoker

The SNP, shaming others since 1934. Good one Mhairi!

38. Scott Borthwick

Applause? APPLAUSE? How dare they.

Well done Mhairi. Now we know that the tweets above are not motivated only by hatred, but also by jealousy and fear.

39. mr thms

she dreamed a dream for the have-nots and everyone should watch it

40. Sandra

What a bitter shower they are. Truly pitiful.

41. Johnny

Even Guido Fawkes says ‘a star is born’.

Some sourpusses have remarked on social media that it ‘was good but hardly the Gettysburg Address’. I wonder how good their oratory (far less their political sophistication) was when they were 20? She’s only going to get better and I don’t mind admitting a few tears watching her. Go Mhairi.

42. Ferryman

Belter! The first of many………

43. KenC

Well worth the wait. A real person, talking real politics, with conviction borne from a desire to better her constituents’ lives.

An alien concept to the majority sitting in that so-called mother of all parliaments.

The future’s bright, the future’s Black. Well done Mhairi.

44. Henri on Gigha

This speech is a game-changer…… To quote Tony Benn was genius.
    First class Honours material right enough. Proud
    (Give that woman a round of applause)

45. Rmac

Superb stuff, would that Slab could muster such talent, sincerity and commitment.

The trolls are obviously jealous that they can’t and rather than try and match this talent and sincerity choose to denigrate the person rather than use reason to persuade.

46. Velofello

@croompenstein: please no more of ” some say we are a pathetic people”. Who says?

What we lack is a bullying grasping instinct. I’m happy to one of an intelligent caring nation.

47. Scott Borthwick

Tamson says:
    14 July, 2015 at 4:45 pm

It is SO frustrating that Hothersall’s surname is one letter away from containing the word ‘arsehole’.

True, but it does spell ‘He’s a troll’.

48. msean

It was a great speech,unionists telt.

49. Juteman

I think Dunc is jealous.
    He wishes he was a foul mouthed slut.

50. heedtracker

Well done Mhairi! Over 700 years after they got Wallace, he’d be a proud Scot once again.

51. Stoker

That, by a mile, is the best speech yet and will remain unrivalled.
    I would also like to add that i believe i’ve just sat and listened to a future leader.

52. Still Positive.

Saw Mhairi at the hustings in January and she spoke with the same passion then as did Martin Docherty.

I knew then that she has a very bright future ahead of her and I fully expect her to be a future FM of an independent Scotland.

53. Mosstrooper

If I didn’t hate Unionists before by Fuck I hate them now.
    Well done Mhairi.

54. walter scott

It’s the speech no Labour MP would dare make. She is brilliant. What troubled people those twitterers are. Some insist she is an Nazi, common, a slut? Will Labour/Tory/Liberals/ Daily Mail/Telegraph denounce these Cyberabusers? Has Ian Smart been spoken to by Kezia yet? Is the Nazi jibe now the weapon that will be used again & again until SNP haters see the mud stick? They obviously have serious character flaws. She was magnanimous in praising Douglas Alexander but no Scottish Labour MP would have been quite so generous to a losing SNP member.

55. YESGUY

Brilliant Speech from the young lass.

We cannot lose with representatives like Mhairi. What an honest and enjoyable speech.

britnat trolls….. Your parties are has beens. No voices left other than vile rants on a keyboard. You fucking cowards.

Go SNP

56. MrObycyek

It was a great maiden speech and it was not alone as the other SNP maiden speeches today, and those made previously, were all great. The 56 truly are amongst some of the best and brightest we could have hoped for.

To contrast that though, some of the vile and utterly repugnant views expressed by those on social media and shown above are one of the many reasons I avoid social media. What kind of people have views such as this and perhaps even more disturbingly are then stupid enough to post said views and show them for others to read? They have stamped their character for all to see and should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves.

57. Joemcg

Makes me embarrassed to be scottish seeing our fellow country people typing utter hatred like that bollocks above. Scotland is truly fucked with people like that in our midst.

58. STEVE CAMERON

Mhairi. Kezia. Compare and contrast …..

59. liz

Should also have mentioned Mairi Black is a star.

60. Andrew McLean

She brought a tear to my eye, one of the best maiden speeches I have ever heard! Fantastic delivery, passionate about her constituents, witty, hardly needed her notes, and utterly damned the tories! No wonder she got a first!
    If she spoke like that on the doorsteps it explains how she got elected, if she represented Labour it would have been a landslide for them! Thank God she was SNP!

61. Croompenstein

@Velofello –

croompenstein: please no more of ” some say we are a pathetic people”. Who says?

If you keep up and read posts on wings you will know who I am referring to..

62. Dal Riata

Absolutely phenomenal!

An eight-minute speech by a 20 year-old Scot that should be watched and admired by anyone – anyone – who has an ounce of humanity in their heart.

Proud to be represented by the likes of Mhairi Black. If that is the voice of the youth of my country then Scotland’s future is secure and very bright indeed.

63. anne

When Scots look at Greece, they must thank their lucky stars they didn’t vote for independence . In The Spectator.

64. call me dave

Well done Ms Black. Thanks for not straying too far into levity, politics is a serious business and the government benches, although sparsely,occupied as usual, got the message loud and clear and there was much squirming in their seats.

Our labour friends in the opposition were listening,a labour trait, nowadays but will they act on her plea? Excellent start for her debute.

PS:
    BBC Scottish report…could …should do better.

https://archive.is/JcAST

65. Colin

Ok, Daily Mail………….we are waiting !!

66. Mealer

Thanks for posting that excellent speech.Stirling SNP have many more on their excellent website.

67. shiregirl

A belting maiden speech by Mhairi.

Ignore the haters, Mhairi, they are full of vitriol. Just you keep on doing your thing and wind them up even more 😀

All the haters’ tweets were vile, however the post by Jill Stephenson caught my eye – is that Prof Jill Stephenson, Professor Emeritus and Honorary Fellow at University of Edinburgh?

Is she still post?

I bet her employers are very proud of these comments – they should be brought to their attention. Disgusting, vile comments by a professional woman who needs a carbolic mouth wash.

68. Dal Riata

It’s moments (and speeches) like that that brings light into the dark, dark UKOK world of neverending negativity against Scotland and the Scots – my country and my people.

That a maiden speech from a 20 year-old extolling socialist values from within the corrupt cesspit of upper-class privilege-by-right brought a swelling of the heart is just pure class. Superb!

Mhairi Black is Scotland’s First Minister-in-waiting.

69. Garry Henderson

Magic Mhairi!

70. Wilma Watts

What a speech – such passion and, I think, contained rage. Outstanding achievement.

71. DerekM

Eck you were late tut tut.

But i will let you off as i know you have been busy poking the bear with your stick to make it angry lol

72. heedtracker

The hardest to listen to was that there are children going to bed tonight hungry. In a rich country like Scotland, its just fcuking appalling. And the fact that Labour are backing the stinking rich tory boys, just makes it even worse.

70 years of SLabour red tory right to reign over Scotland, is over for good.

So welcome to Scotland 2015 but this farce union cant go on much longer.

As our imperial masters smirk, snear, point score…

https://twitter.com/proftomkins

73. JCS

I must be missing something here. It is legal and acceptable to publicly defame, berate and bully an individual, nevermind elected politician, without recourse?
    I am almost certain that if I were t stand outside 10 Downing st and publicly declare the PM to be a C*nt, I would elicit a response from the metropolitan police. I think that “pleb” is less offensive and look how that turned out!!!
    What happened to the “Cyber bullying” enforcements in legislation? Shocking and disturbing example of how we are not only being represented in a 2 tier Parliament, but the fact that we are being governed by a double standards legal system should be rocking everyone to the very core!!!!!!!

74. mac an sealgair

Oops did I hear clapping after that tremendous speech

75. John Campbell

Well said , Mhairi, the whole of the uk’s schools should be invited to hear your maiden speach. You would inspire a great many of today’s youth. You did , not just Scotland , but the uk, proud.

76. Stoker

So Mhairi delivers one helluva speech and the UKOK denizens from the gulag of academia erupt into displays of inferior intelligence.

Och well, that’s swell, bye bye Warminster!

77. Valerie

Another Angry Voice, a Yorkshire Left Wing blogger, has posted the speech too, saying how impressed he is. Lots of lovely comments too!

People wishing they lived in Scotland, they are very taken with her.

78. scottieDog

Outstanding speech.

79. Dal Riata

That speech was like one you may have heard from a Labour politician from days of yore. And just listen to what Labour has to offer now…!

All those disenfranchised voters in England and Wales have my sympathy. How much they must wish that Nicola Sturgeon and Mhairi Black would speak for them (though they do, just not in an official capacity).

Hothersal and crew – ‘Shit. Why, oh why, is she not one of ours…’

Those people calling Mhairi Black a “slut” and a “cunt” on Twitter and elsewhere are a fucking disgrace.

Jill Stephenson, “Professor Emeritus and Honorary Fellow at the University of Edinburgh” should be very publicly reprimanded, at the very least, by her employers.

Where are your dossiers of internet abuse now, Scottish Labour and the Daily Mail?

80. Effijy

Magnificent, Mature, Magnanimous, Masterful, Mhairi !

Black is this years Black!

So very proud of such a young Scottish politician.

Just what I expected of the Britnat cyber rats.

Of course this terrible attack and slur on our duly elected
    member of parliament will be on the front page of every newspaper, and feature on TV and Radio Channels across the UK???

81. tunedtothemoon

A wonderful dose of reality for Westminster. As for the people posting vile comments; let’s not waste a second on them and their ignorant trolling. We have fantastic content from people who are able to make a real difference and that’s what we need to concentrate on – making their voices heard! Well done, Mhairi Black!

82. Kev

First heard Mhari speak at the SNP spring conference last year and after hearing her again today can safely predict that she will be the leader of this country in the not too distant future.

83. Macart

Just getting packed for a few days break when I caught that speech today.

I think Margo would have approved. 🙂

As for the raving twatting loons. Hatred is all they have, its all they know and its all they will are fit for.

Oh and the pick of the bunch is that Hothersall fella. Wasn’t he the chap that wanted to break into party politics? Now only to be outstripped by a far younger and greater talent.

That’s got to leave a mark. 😉

84. Legerwood

It looks as if Reporting Scotland tonight will be leading with ‘Tories outfox the SNP’

Ms Black may get a mention but then again maybe not.

Great speech.

Note that some of the tweets in the article are old ones. The first two are about the speech and sour grapes drip from each one. The others are a disgrace.

85. heedtracker

Speaking of the SNP’s landslide in Scotland in May’s general election, in which Labour was reduced to one MP, she said:

“The SNP did not triumph on a wave of nationalism; in fact nationalism has nothing to do with what happened in Scotland. We triumphed on a wave of hope – hope that there is something better than the Thatcherite neoliberal policies that come from this chamber.”

Cut n paste from rancid hypocrites and liars of the Guardian. Graun editor that savaged the living day lights out of Scottish democracy and everyone like Mhairi here, is now top man at Oxford or Cambridge and he joyfully crapped out unionist thugs like the brilliant mind that gave us this sort of attack?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/bellend2.jpg

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/salmondbell.jpg

We wonder why Edinburgh uni alumni like Prof Stephenson can call any 20 year old woman a foul mouthed slut and we’re meant to just take it.

86. Suzanne

One of the most moving and powerful maiden speeches I’ve heard. I agree: Mhairi is destined for greatness. So very proud of her, and so very proud of all our 56.

Thrilled to hear some rebellious clapping. 😀

87. Chic McGregor

And then everyone saw that the Emperor was indeed not wearing any clothes.

88. Geoff Huijer

Excellent.

89. Awayanbileyerheed

That’s my Member of Parliament…, So. PROUD. 🙂

90. Colin

Carlsberg don’t do Maiden Speeches…….but if they did !!

91. JaMur

Great stuff. They don’t like it richt up em.

Gan oan yersel hen.

We have yer back.

92. JLT

Well done, Mhairi …well done! Brilliant maiden speech. You’ve not only done yourself proud …you did us all proud. Well done.

93. Lorraine Mackenzie

Very very proud of Mhairi…..LEGEND at 20!!!

94. Bugger (the Panda)

@Lumilumi says:
    14 July, 2015 at 4:47 pm

They only foul mouthed slut I detect when Prof Jill Stephenson is around is her retired self.

Something serious is wrong with her and coincidentally with Ian Smart, who may be related somehow.

95. John H.

Slowly, with speeches like this, and by standing up for those who need help from all over Britain, the SNP MP’s will change the public’s opinion of not only the SNP, but of Scots in general.

God help the MSM and Unionist politicians when the people down there finally realize how they’ve been duped for so long.

A brilliant speech from a very talented and compassionate young lady.

96. Robert Peffers

What a bunch of sour faced numpties! The young lassie had the good grace to praise the wee, shilpit nyaff she humiliated by getting elected and, let’s face it, the people of her constituency showed far better judgment than he ever did. It certainly merited the round of applause she got at the end of her great maiden speech.

I just love it when the speaker gets all bossy and upset at applause while exposing the backwardness of the Establishment’s crumbling ancient edifice and its equally ancient and crumbling, idiotic traditions and proclivity for dressing up in idiotic fancy dress.

97. One_Scot

‘No, no, no, order, we will have no clapping, that is outrageous, that kind of nonsense is for a civilised society, not our ‘Old School Boy’ knuckle dragging chamber.

By all means get your wacker out and wave it about like you just don’t care, but don’t you dare try and clap like a normal person.’

An absolute shower of Neanderthals doesn’t even come close.

98. Veteran Squaddie

How about this abuse directed at myself and my SE Asian wife and children!!! Because I had a ’45’ label on my avatar!!! He was removed from our group and I got mailed ……..

Sunday 09:25

Big mistake cunt hahahaha ask around who the IB are see you real soon you gook whore loving cunt

Hope your mrs runs off with the local chinky owner you ugly 11 chinned remf cunt

99. gus1940

I didn’t see any of Mhairi’s speech on Misreporting Scotland or should it be Nonreporting.

I wonder if it will receive any coverage on Scotland 2015 or Scotland Tonight.

I think that we have got the buggers on the run and that Cameron may be starting to think that it might have been a good thing if YES had won on 18/9 as he contemplates another 4 years and 10 months of our little group of 56 nipping at his heels like terriers.

100. heedtracker

That Ian Smart “miserable wee nazi candidate” one has got to ensure this guy’s never seen on BBC tv again.

Talk about naive eh? But Smart’s conduct is not fit for public broadcasting. STV etc can do what they like but BBC are meant to have at least some kind of standards.

Again, talk about naivety but its only fair to hope that trash like Smart dont get a BetterTogether BBC soap box.

Or, get over it UKOK creep show, you won.

101. chris kilby

Jill Stephenson isn’t entitled to her opinion. She’s welcome to it. “Historywoman” is right. She IS history. They all are. Mhairi’s generation is the future. It’s in safe(r) hands.

102. StevieMcB

Weathercocks and signposts,Mhairi Black is the new Black.
    Trending on twitter
    https://twitter.com/search?q=%22Mhairi%20Black%22&src=tren&data_id=tweet%3A621005469444886529

103. chris kilby

A political star (and future FM?) is born.

104. Truth

Absolute belter!

Well done Mhairi. I’m glad you’re on our side.

And good on the rest of the formidable 56 for clapping.

105. tombee

I waited patiently for Mhairi Black to make her maiden speech, as I was convinced it would be worth listening to. I did not for a second think that while listening, I would be reduced to tears. Tears of pride in a fellow Scot speaking so candidly from the heart about the plight of one man she knew, in particular, and all of her constituents, in general. Who are no doubt, going to be well served by this amazing young woman.
    The content was amazingly coherent, and so direct. Especially when she referred to the anomaly of her being supported in accommodation funding, while young people of her age group, would not be.
    The point where she held the hand of friendship out to others of the opposition benches, was particularly poignant, and I hope for the sake of the people of these entire Islands it will be accepted in the manner intended.

106. Robert Peffers

@DerekM says: 14 July, 2015 at 5:03 pm:

“Did we just witness a future first minister of an independent Scotland ?”

You very well may have, DerekM, but she sure has great competition and that’s wonderful to behold.

“As for all the haters above they can go fuck themselves petty minded trolls with zero charisma,go on bow down to your tory masters and lick their boots clean you pathetic worms.”

If I needed any further proof that young Mhairi was indeed putting the fear of God into these particularly utterly inept and loathsome, toadying unionist it is their very transparent insults that the Rev Stu has posted above.

107. June Maxwell

Been looking forward to this one for a while. Mhairi shooting from the hip and telling it straight. Her honesty and directness shine through all she does and is. I suspect we have much to look forward to as she matures. So, I’m with others who predict we’re listening to a future FM.

108. Brian Powell

Apparently BBC Scotchland showed only the Speaker saying the MPs shouldn’t clap in response, not any of the speech.

Disapponted to find I was right about what the lumps would do.

109. heedtracker

Sturgeon got a doing there from C4 news guy, its hard to know what she was saying he kept talking over her. Usual imperial masters attack stuff but why do they attack Scotland running Scotland so hard and so nastily, if my Westminster MP cant vote on anything teamGB?

Naive Tuesday trundles along.

C4 detests Scotland and Scottish democracy with real UKOK passion and they’re currently fighting being sold off by Cammers and co too.

Funny that.

110. Craig

Jings almitchy help ma boab, that has to go down as one of the finest speeches ever spoken in the HOC

I will confess that my tear ducts started to overflow, this has to be shared far and wide

Well done Mhairi, you have done your folks proud, your family proud, your friends proud, your consituents proud and most of all, you have done Scotland proud.

111. HandandShrimp

So will the Daily Hate be rounding up all these abusive Tweets

🙂 Of course not because they are lying hypocrites.

112. heedtracker

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/scotland/scotland_politics

Still nothing on such a historic speech today from this lot. C4 news thing on BBC bias but they’re safe in Scotland for all the work they do monstering Scottish democracy.

One tory boy says the BBC is too left wing! So sell BBC news sector for a quid, let them compete with the rest of the UKOK freak show like SKY, then they can all go ProjectFear ape shit on Scotland til they’re tory blue in their saggy old royals grovelling pooches.

Come on, its naive wishful thinking Tuesday.

113. Dr Ew

Lump in throat – truly moving and utterly inspiring.

I think we may have witnessed the maiden speech of a future Prime Minister – of an independent Scotland.

114. Robert Peffers

@Dorothy Devine says: 14 July, 2015 at 5:13 pm:

>i>”No point in sending them to the deluded Mone and Rowling – perhaps a lawyer like Ms Calman should deal with them??”

Dorothy, Young Mhairi Black has just been awarded a first class honours degree in politics from Glasgow University and I’m sure she has given the matter of legal action due consideration. The young lady, who had the ability to unseat the former cabinet minister’s 16,000 vote majority lead, and then had the good grace to pay him tribute in her maiden speech.

The young lady is now filling the shoes of Douglas Alexander who held the following offices – Minister of State for Europe; appointed to the Cabinet by Tony Blair as Secretary of State for Scotland; Secretary of State for Transport; and under Gordon Brown, Secretary of State for International Development. Then, while in opposition, as Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions; Shadow Foreign Secretary and, under Miliband, the Labour Party’s Chair of General Election Strategy. Yep! He was in charge of Labour strategy that was so good they lost all but one seat, (and that one was won by cheating).

115. nodrog

Stuart retain these last two posts and every time any complaint is made about Cybernat abuse send copies to those who make the complaints. Send copies now to Cameron,Harmon,Clegg and Farage and ask them what they are going to do about it. Many thanks.

116. Albaman

Like many others, I was waiting for Mhirih maiden speach, with the feeling it would be a powerful one, for I, and thousands of others, it did not disappoint .
    Since when have those walls heared such a speech, from one so young , (25yrs and under),

117. Training Day

The weekend before the GE I was in a well known Glasgow restaurant. It became apparent that a gaggle of Proud Scots were at the table next to us. They were busily engaged in strangulating their vowels around debating the merits of the Royal Scot versus the Flying Scot (I understand this is a common pastime amongst Proud Scots).

The conversation turned to politics. One particularly Proud Scot loudly opined ‘have you seen thet Mhairi Bleck? She ken’t even speak properly!’

It would be nice if these Proud Scots had some dawning inkling of how bigoted and foolish they are. Alas, Mhairi’s beloved PTFC will win the Champions League before that happens.

118. Petra

I see that Jill Stephenson has retired now but seems to have taken up a new career as a libellous, bully.

She has apologised to Mhairi but with a condition attached.

?@ Historywoman Jul 9 Edinburgh, Scotland ”OK. Here’s the deal: I apologise to Mhairi Black when the SNP breaks all ties with Wings over Scotland. No MP or MSP following, recommending ..”

It’s clear that our SNP MPs are ruffling a lot of feathers …. jealousy, fear, insecurity?

I can’t wait for the day when the 56 troop out of the Commons and head for home. That place will be totally dead without them as they’ve contributed greatly to debate and are witty to boot. It just makes one wonder what the 50 plus Labour politicians were doing there over many years: Sitting twiddling their thumbs followed by filling in their claims forms no doubt.

119. Brian Doonthetoon

Yep, that was a beezer of a speech!

Slightly O/T…

I’ve just sent a message to my MP.
    ——————————————-
    Dear Chris Law,

First time I’ve used this web site – I was actually looking for your new email address at ‘that London’.

Onnyhoo… You guys got your wrists slapped for clapping again today (Mhairi Black’s speech). The deputy speaker, or whatever, said that you could be as vociferous as you liked – but no clapping!

So, this went through my mind. You lot could demonstrate how silly some of Westminster’s rules are by, instead of shouting out “Hyea, hyea!” when you approve of someone’s utterings, you could make a wildly over exuberant physical display of clapping, but without your hands making any noise, and accompany these actions with loud exclamations of “CLAP!, CLAP!, CLAP!, CLAP!”, for as long as you carry out the ‘mute’ applause.

Would be newsworthy, if nothing else!

Keep up the good work!

Yours sincerely,

Brian Doonthetoon

120. Dan Huil

A good day for all of Scotland.

121. Croompenstein

Another two wonderful maiden speeches today…

Neil Gray

http://goo.gl/UYFuAs

Martyn Day

http://goo.gl/a4UFbR

122. osakisushi

What I don’t get (which is a lot, usually) was a southern university fired someone who’d said something humorous about female scientists in an obscure after dinner speech.

Yet we apparently have a venomous person at EdUni who is free to spout truly vile comments without any crit from the media.

This is wrong on so many levels.

123. Mealer

Mhairi Black.Hope over fear.

124. Robert Peffers

@Andrew McLean says: 14 July, 2015 at 5:39 pm:

” … If she spoke like that on the doorsteps it explains how she got elected”

Think on this, Andrew, It is not just what Mhairi says that carries her listeners with her it is her inherent honesty and conviction. I’ve heard many speakers who spoke eloquently enough and who said all the right things. Thing is few have the same conviction and inherent honesty of young Mhairi.

It shines out of her and a hope she never loses that gift. It does, though, require a little something else to make it possible. The gifted orator requires that the cause they espouse is honestly held and believed in by the orator. Without that vital ingredient the orator will come across just as insincere as a Scottish Labour unionist candidate talking of socialism.

125. heedtracker

https://commonspace.scot/articles/1891/bbc-coverage-of-scotland-should-be-reviewed-to-avoid-inadequate-and-anglified-reporting

inadequate-
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/scotland

inadequate-
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/scotland/scotland_politics

Maybe youngest ever MP isn’t Scottish news but if they sold off this lot and they actually paid their greatest broadcast on earth way, with Cilit Bang and new Macvities oaty breaks ads, half way through their UKOK propaganda lie fests, would Scotland really notice/care?

126. Chitterinlicht

She was great.

Felt some hope watching that.

And pride.

Glad I voted yes

127. Jim Finlayson

At least Duncan Hothersall didn’t use the “c” word.

128. Iain Ferguson

What a speach, so graceful, thoughtful and witty.
    As for the trolls when is the law of the land going to act on this sickening illegal bile?
    Will the MSM ?BBC etc report on tis…..ever?

129. Capella

Brilliant Mhairi. I have nothing really to add to all the comments above except – well- what can one say. Brilliant speech, beautifully and confidently delivered. Round of applause from Scotland!

130. john king

OH MY GOD
    I just heard the words of possibly THE most riveting politician of my entire life, this girl MUST be cherished and protected she is a
    magnificent example of our wonderful country and I AM PROUD to be a countryman of the same country as her!

131. chris kilby

Even The Guardian hails Mhairi Black’s “storming” maiden speech:

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/jul/14/mhairi-black-first-commons-speech-snp

132. Mealer

Jim Finlayson 8.33
    Duncan who?

133. Luigi

Sour Duncan Hotherstall was a bit ungracious there – how mean! I guess he still hasn’t recovered from seeing his party go over the cliff edge during the wee hours of 9th May. Maybe, after 8 painful weeks, he is still not quite ready to leave that darkened room.

134. Mealer

I’m really annoyed Danus Skene isn’t making a maiden speech.

135. Robert Peffers

@mac an sealgair says: 14 July, 2015 at 6:02 pm:

“Oops did I hear clapping after that tremendous speech”

Yes! mac an sealgair, indeed you did. I’m very glad to say. Every time it happens it highlights just how out of touch and backward looking that house of ill repute at Westminster really is.

We watch a crowd of those out of control, unruly, overgrown, immature, mainly ex-public schoolboys and girls, making fools of themselves at PMQs and contrast that with a polite and respectful sincere round of applause after a particularly excellent speech and we know that whole edifice should be pulled down, fed through a stone crusher, and used to bottom a new runway somewhere well North of the Watford Gap.

136. Croompenstein

OT – I hope she disnae pass her driving test any time soon.. as they have actually gone and fucking done it, BritNat trolling extraordinaire…

http://www.gov.uk/government/news/union-flags-now-feature-on-british-driving-licences

Transport Minister Lord Ahmad said:

“Our flag is recognised and respected around the world and is something which British people take pride in. I am delighted to see it featured on driving licences.”

“We are bringing the country together. Adding our national flag to British driving licences is a true celebration of one nation Britain.”

I can see a nice wee sideline in stick on Saltires and Red Dragon flags. Strangely not applicable in the North of Ireland 🙂

137. skozra

Incredible speech, incredible lassie ! Well done Mhairi 🙂

138. heedtracker

osakisushi says:
    14 July, 2015 at 8:22 pm
    What I don’t get (which is a lot, usually) was a southern university fired someone who’d said something humorous about female scientists in an obscure after dinner speech.

Britnats like to talk about UK hard and soft power. Last I heard was Scotch cringer Andrew Neil bashing on and on about great British world wide hard and soft, which UK power was more powerful for teamGB and why did Neil saying hard and soft British power look like it made him tingle in his special place.

But BBC love the idea of soft power as the BBC is nice soft power you see

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p027gcpc

Trident nukes can incinerate whole nations in 5 minutes, not so nice, but hard teamGB power. Which type of UKOK power gets flexed in Scottish institutions like our 5 uni’s and it is all power, flexed by our chums in the south, via people like the charming Prof Stephenson? Imagine that git made responsible for any project funding, recruitment, promotion? These horrors are not playing a game.

Or, BBC World Service savaged Scotland running Scotland in the creepiest ways imaginable, hard or soft British power and so on.

139. JTM

Ms Black MP is an intelligent , strong willed young woman and l hope she grows and develops into a STRONG FORCEFU FIRST MINISTER in an independent Scotland……SHE CERTAINLY HAS THE TALENT , INTELLIGENCE & STRENGTH TO DO SO

140. icyspark

I finally found a Tory supporting Fox:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qUNFnjmP4o

141. ee cee

Do these idiots not realise that a c–t is a useful thing not to be fu–ed around with

142. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I’m really annoyed Danus Skene isn’t making a maiden speech.”

Yet.

143. Iain More

I wonder how long it will be before they are threatening to throw her in front of a Royal nag or have they already threatened that?

144. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Note that some of the tweets in the article are old ones.”

Yes, I know. That’s why they get a separate intro line.

145. Phronesis

A wonderful maiden speech by a very gifted politician who happens to be 20 years old.Superb.

Scotland doesn’t have to stand on the kyphotic shoulders of UKOK as WM shrinks in stature, we can stand on the broad shoulders of the Fab56 and scan our future horizon. I think we all know what the end point is.

146. Kirsty

That speech was incredible. Just so deeply felt and true and showed a real decency and a passion to help and make a difference that I’ve not heard from WM for such a long time. This was the first speech from WM I’ve listened to in a long time where I wasn’t cynical or half thinking that they’d turn on us and their principles in a minute if it meant money or power or good press for them. It feels so good to have hope and to feel that someone will try their hardest for us all. I’m so glad we have her and the other 55 SNP MPs there.

147. chris kilby

Labour – what a bunch of weathercocks!

148. Thepnr

Great speech from Mhari, certainly has got a lot of attention and deservedly so. Is this a taster for what an Independent Scottish parliament might offer?

I like to think so.

149. Legerwood

Rev @ 9.06

The separate intro line may have been a bit too subtle. Some comments seemed to think they were current tweets.

150. john king

Muttley79 says
    “Stephenson has retired.”

Dammit,
    isn’t it possible to get her debarred or something for bringing the title professor into disrepute or something?

151. Grouse Beater

Quite frankly – it’s unspeakable.

The so-called academic Stephenson, sheltering under the aegis of a University that refrains from condemning her, ought to be arrested now for conducting a sustained hate campaign.

I regard their comments as symptomatic of the disregard my English cousins have for the Scots in general – and I did warn some time ago that, after Brown left, a Scots accent in Westminster would be detested.

Do we really want to be part of all that? Really?

152. ronnie anderson

@ Chris Kilby
    @ Croompenstein

They,ll no be puting a wee Onion flag oan ma driving licence,ave still goat ma paper wan ha ha.

153. Petra

@ heedtracker says at 8:50 pm ”Last I heard was Scotch cringer Andrew Neil bashing on and on about great British world wide hard and soft, which UK power was more powerful for teamGB and why did Neil saying hard and soft British power look like it made him tingle in his special place.”

Bit of irony to think that Mhairi Black is now the MP for his old constituency. Do you think he’ll bother to give her a mention?

154. john king

Jutemansays
    “I think Dunc is jealous.
    He wishes he was a foul mouthed slut.”

He isnt?

155. Chris F

I first heard Mhairi Black speak at the Hope over Fear rally in George Square last October and was absolutely blown away by her speech. My first comment to my sister, standing beside me, was: we’ve just been listening to a future First Minister.

Her maiden speech today was brilliant. I believe more that ever that she is destined to go far.

Well done, Mhairi!

156. boris

Mhairi spoke for her constituents, not for her Party. The first time they have been given mention at Westminster in many a year. Well done lass. Never forget who sent you to Westminster to represent their interests.

157. T.roz

Brilliant speech, so proud of her.

158. Dal Riata

Billy Connolly: “For years I thought the club’s name was Partick Thistle Nil.”

Mhairi Black: “I am a season ticket holder for Partick Thistle and have always been an ardent fan of football since becoming one of the first girls to play on my Primary School football team.”

‘Mon the Thistle!

And GIRFUY “wee pretendy parliament” Connolly.

(Billy Connolly, interview for the BBC in February, 2014: “But you must remember that the Union saved Scotland. Scotland was bankrupt and the English opened us up to their American and Canadian markets, from which we just flowered.

“And I dislike patriots. I’m deeply suspicious of patriotism. People following the band, you know? I don’t want to be part of it… It’s paved with fools.”

“I have never been a nationalist and I have never been a patriot.”)

159. HandandShrimp

Croompenstein

If it is like the draft they showed it should be a piece of cake to superimpose a saltire over the union flag.

160. AndyH

That Hotherrshall/Horseshit/whatever is a slack jawed arsehole. Him and all these CyBritnat types can get it right effing up em!

161. chris kilby

I thought it was telling that Mhairi said she’d been sitting quietly listening to everyone the past ten weeks before making her maiden speech. A politician who listens. Do you think it’ll catch on…?

162. thedogphilosopher

Universities absolutely hate bad publicity of any kind. Very status-obsessed.

Just saying. 😉

163. Al Dossary

Expect to see the Tory hacks digging through every aspect of her twitter-sphere and teenage years AGAIN to try and find something that sticks.

Such a shame that they do not apply the same fervor to the numerous (alleged) pedophiles in the upper echelons of society. Come to think of it, it has been a while since they last threw a sacrificial B-List celeb to the lions.

164. cynicalHighlander

Wow watched it live wow again!

I hope she gives two fingers to any BBC interviewer as they are utterly disgraceful the whole lot of them.

165. john king

Jim Finlayson says
    “At least Duncan Hothersall didn’t use the “c” word.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4x7ODUKfPA
    Thats nice 🙂

166. Tinto Chiel

Vile tweets but what an inspiring young woman. The attitude to us down South is nothing new. Hearken unto the words of English radical John Wilkes on the Anglo-Scottish border on the Tweed, “North of it nothing but lying, malice, meanness and slavery. Scotland is a treeless, flowerless land, formed out of the refuse of the universe, and inhabited by the very bastards of creation.”

Nothing has changed since the 18th. century, except we are at last close to leaving this accursed Union which has been so damaging to our country.

So proud of Mhairi tonight.

167. Chic McGregor

First saw her a year ago in the following UNITE vid.
    From c 17:50 in.

http://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/UNITE

Still isn’t on youtube BTW

168. Grouse Beater

Dal Riata: “wee pretendy parliament” Connolly.

The onset of a debilitating illness with no cure is a sad end to a genuinely funny man who once made us proud, but comics generally are not adept at party politics, as Eddie Izzard, Russell Brand, and Rory Bremner’s decline attest.

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/billy-connolly/

169. dakk

That brought tears welling to my eyes.

This kind of sincerity and empathy is what is missing from unionist politicians.

I also watched Tommy Shepherd speaking on Sky News and he was similarly genuine and impressive.

I’ve never thought of myself as socialist, or anything else for that matter,but this kind of politics just sounds right to me.

170. Dal Riata

“?@ Historywoman Jul 9 Edinburgh, Scotland ”OK. Here’s the deal: I apologise to Mhairi Black when the SNP breaks all ties with Wings over Scotland. No MP or MSP following, recommending ..””

Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!

“… when the SNP breaks all ties with Wings over Scotland.”

Haw, hen, whit “ties” ur ye oan aboot? Gonnae gies evidence ae tha’? Cos if ye donae, means yer no jus’ spraffin pish, bu’ yer a pure liar ‘n’all, eh. ‘N’ you an ‘academic’ tae, and aw tha’. Sake.

Whitsa’? Ye cannae unnerstan whi’ am sayin’? Cannae unnerstan Sco’ish? Izzat ri’, aye? So whi’ ur ye daen callin’ Mhairi Black “a foul-mouthed slut” if ye cannae unnerstan Sco’ish? How tae fuck can ye say tha’ if ye dinnae even unnerstan whi’ shiz sayin? ‘Kin eejit!

171. Robert Peffers

@osakisushi says: 14 July, 2015 at 8:22 pm:

“Yet we apparently have a venomous person at EdUni who is free to spout truly vile comments without any crit from the media.”

First of all, osakisushi, the poisonous old biddy is a retired employee of the Uni.

I can only assume her bitter & obnoxious postings are a result of some form of mental breakdown, probably as a result of insecurity and jealousy of a young, vibrant and brilliant young lady.

Either that or some weird form of female hormonal imbalance. Best to just ignore such baseless and crass personal abuse. How else can it be explained that a, ( presumed), once highly respected academic stoops to such childish and vicious abuse?

172. K1

How Reporting Scotland covered Mhairi Black’s speech, earlier this evening…

Total f**kin’ disgrace, 56 MP’s and the youngest MP in hundreds of years, from Scotland…and this is how they report it. Hang yer heads in shame you shower of utter nonentities…tick tock BBC tick f**kin’ tock.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2Rt4tVxHkA

173. frazer allan whyte

Listening to someone speechify for eight minutes can be a painful chore but I had to check back to see if it had really gone on “so long” and indeed it had – I would gladly have listened to much more – long may she flourish!

174. Al-Stuart

Good grief, what a talent.

Mhari Black shows just how good a person can be when elected as an MP.

Many, many people on the opposite and adjacent benches in THAT chamber could learn a decent lesson from Mhari Black.

Well done Mhari.

More of that quality and calibre of speech please.

175. Thepnr

@Dal Riata

That IS funny 🙂

176. Grouse Beater

“Stephenson has retired.”

‘Emeritus’ means retired, but the full title conferred on her was conferred by the university, hence she is, an ‘Emeritus Professor, Edinburgh University’.

She is not Emeritus Professor, Canal Street Sewage Academy, no matter how hard she tries to sound like it.

177. Margaret McDonald

Wow! What a wonderful maiden speech. So heartfelt and passionate. Mhairi Black’s every word struck a chord with me and, I’m sure, every other person who has heard her speak. Well done to her, on an articulate and thought-provoking speech. If the Labour members, and the other opposition members of this parliament don’t respond to her plea to join together to form an effective opposition to this Conservative government, they should be ashamed to look their constituents in the eye. She’s so right when she says that she didn’t abandon the Labour Party, but that the Labour party abandoned her (and all of us). More of the same, please!

178. ben madigan

sincere best wishes to Mhairi Black for a brilliant future.
    I thought her speech was really great – showed what life is like in the UK and what Westminster is really about.

I included it in this post to put it in an EU and UK-wide perspective https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2015/07/14/deaf-ears/

179. MJT

Mhairi Black is still trending in the UK. I’m choking up reading the comments of the people of all ages that have been moved, impressed and inspired by her speech. So many young folks too, which is great and so important for the ultimate cause.

180. heedtracker

@ Petra, Bit of irony to think that Mhairi Black is now the MP for his old constituency. Do you think he’ll bother to give her a mention?

Great spot Petra, lol.

If Neil even mentions his fellow Buddie let alone have her own his show, I’ll owe you a coke.

181. Gordon

Miss President!!

182. cearc

She’s a star.

183. Dr Jim

Young Mhairi must have done even better than I thought and I thought her speech was extraordinary and wonderful

To attract so much Unionist abuse and foul mouthed filth
    shows the fear in the hearts and “Minds?” of the Britnats

I certainly hope that once again Citizen Smart and his chums in the “Can’t believe it’s not Tory Party” are reported to their illustrious Leaderess and immediate action is undertaken against the misbehaviour of her “members”

After all Dippity is their First choice representative for new Bossyboots

184. arthur thomson

Maihri’s thoughts and from them her words were brilliant. But what impressed me equally was her body language: the steel in her eyes as she eyeballed her audience, the set of her jaw and her willingness to square her shoulders and face up people who thought they were untouchable in their place of privilege.

Another star. We are so blessed with our women.

185. Still Positive.

Arthur Thomson @ 1am.

Aye, Arthur we are indeed so blessed with our women and it will be those feisty women who will lead us to independence, including the ones on the ground.

186. Toby

It has been a long tradition in the HoC that the members do not applaud by clapping.
    It is high time that someone informed the speaker and his deputies that we are in the 21st century and that this is the beginning of a new tradition.
    From now on the SNP M.P’s will always applaud their own members by clapping…….. And greet all others with absolute silence !

187. Brian Doonthetoon

Aw, c’mon Dr Jim, don’t confuse Citizen Smart with his brother!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8C4To2I5C_A

188. Cactus

Quality.

Cheers to ye if you’re on here Mhairi.

189. highseastimc

A great maiden speech from Mhairi, who tells it as it is. Her family must be so proud of her and through her charitable work she has seen reality at first hand, how many Tories could even be bothered to get involved with that.

Then the usual tweets from the real fascists/bigots.

190. jimmy from oz

..Guan yersel hen ,makes me proud to be Scottish ,whas like us? damn few an their awe deid

191. Ghillie

Mhairi, thank you for your amazingly gracious, inspiring and humbling maiden speech = )

192. Gilly Fraser

I truly do not understand how anyone could listen to Mhairi’s speech and then feel the need to be vile about it. She was passionate yet reasoned, funny and friendly. She literally held out the hand of friendship – compare that to the brickbats usually thrown in Westminster. She’s just 20 yet she speaks far more sense and has shedloads more compassion than many MPs twice or thrice her age. Rock on Mhairi – and totally ignore those sad people who try to belittle you with their venom.

193. Peter McCulloch

What I have read in the media of Mhairi Black’s speech I believe many ordinary decent members of the public would agree with what she has said.

As for this continued Nazi jibe directed at the SNP by the unionists, they would do well to read the history of that period and they would find that many of the Nazi policies were adopted from the British.

194. George Newall

Mhairi what a maiden speech hen.Fantastic and we have a lot of parsitic unionist talking about it but i am sure you will be laughing at them.More please.Scotland is with you.

195. R H Douglas

As a Corby-born Scot in the UK Labour party, this is what I would love to hear more often. Signposts, not weathervanes!

I simply don’t understand the non-political bile emanating from the pens of the some the detractors. Disagree, certainly, but argue a political point instead of descending into the gutter.

196. Froome

Good speech, but nothing to do with nationalism? Really?

197. Brian McKinlay

And we have got her for the next 30 odd years! Wonderful space Mahri!

198. Alan Rooney

I seen Archie Gemmills goal live in 1978 and never thought the feeling would be beaten. Until I watched Mhairi Blacks maiden speech live. The lassie has class and made me so proud to be Scottish.

199. Eckle Fechan

A stirring debut. Extending the hand of friendship – to the dogs that would as soon bite it off. But time will tell.

(I thought that might have been my mate’s Uncle Brian there, heard momentarily in the background interjecting on the Wallace birthplace – “he was born in Ayrshire” – but, alas, he is no longer a member of the HoC.)

200. Almannysbunnet

Mhairi extends the hand of friendship to labour and the reply from Tom Blenkinsop labour MP for Middlesborough South and Cleveland?
    “Dear Mhairi, you’re a Nationalist, espousing Nationalism. Extend the hand of friendship? Opposed parties we are and opposed parties we shall stay.”
    Yep Tom and out of government you shall stay. Mhairi Black has had nearly 7 million hits (at last count) and is trending positively worldwide. Wake up Tom, your hatred is eating your party up!

201. Meindevon

Please Guys, please, please keep clapping. What can they do about it anyway? Ban you? Oh how delicious that would be. Can you imagine how that would look on the world stage?

202. sandycraig

Bit late in viewing Mhairi’s maiden speech. What a belter. Simplicity but powerful. She is a star.

Makes me proud such a young intelligent girl will help us achieve independence in the not too distant future.

203. Tam Laird

In fairness she’s not the only “nationalist” who wants to be an inanimate object.
    Alex Salmond wants to be a urinal in the European Parliament and Nicola Sturgeon wants to be a doormat in the same building.

http://www.satyremagazine.blogspot.co.uk/2015/07/new-mp-reveals-ambition-to-be-signpost.html

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.