Weekend papers roundup

Posted on November 14, 2011 by

Lots of stuff going on in the papers on Saturday and Sunday which we didn't have time to feature individually. The Daily Record covers Lord Forsyth's latest bright idea, namely that SNP MSPs should be forced to pay for the referendum should it be judged unlawful, a bizarre notion given that if the referendum were to be so judged it's hard to see how it could go ahead at all.

Conversely, the New Statesman runs a balanced and realistic piece on "Who owns the Scottish independence referendum?", identifying some of the possible legal implications but also coming to a practical conclusion about what will actually happen. Meanwhile – in fact from earlier last week but having hitherto escaped our attention – Aidan O'Neill QC pens a rather less balanced and less realistic view for The Guardian on the same subject, which ends up insisting that not only would any referendum have to be run by Westminster but that it would have to be conducted across the UK. The article is strikingly detached from the real world, but is notable for some excellent and highly-informed reader comments. (After the first one.)

The Scottish Left Review has a somewhat daunting but detailed account of the conduct of Labour-led Glasgow City Council, in the light of Newsnet Scotland's revelation that the head of the City Building ALEO (arm's-length external organisation), set up by the disgraced former council leader Steven Purcell and the subject of allegations of cronyism and patronage, is set to receive a £615,000 payoff funded by the taxpayer after just five years' service to the company.

Scotland On Sunday features the story that Labour flak-magnet Tom Harris (of whom more shortly) is trying to push a so-called "Clarity Act" through Westminster in order to grant the UK Parliament de facto control over the referendum, based on Harris' erroneous claim that "The Scottish Government has a mandate but it is for a specific question on independence."

The same paper also details Michael Portillo's advocation of full fiscal autonomy for Scotland, the first time (so far as we're aware) that a significant Tory figure has called for a version of "devo max" as their preferred option for Scotland's constitutional future. These are interesting times.

Subscribe
Notify of

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rusty Shackleford

Do you see any parallels between Scotland and Quebec? When I was younger I recall there being a referendum there. What's interesting is that when the secessionists there lost there wasn't another referendum a few years later, it sort of killed off Quebecois nationalism.
I bring this up for a few reasons; firstly the narrative from the Scottish nationalists is that support for Scottish independence will grow and grow, where as Quebec shows that support for secession can ebb or remain static.
Secondly I think that much of the dispute about whether Westminster or Holyrood 'owns' the referendum stems from that precedent: presumably the unionist parties hope that if they can call a referendum right now then they can similarly kill Scottish nationalism, or at least delay Scottish independence for 20 years or so.

Stats: 6,678 Posts, 1,205,021 Comments

• Geri on The Wage Thief: “He’s alright now tho. He’s had a shit & a shave & mended his wicked ways. All is forgiven. No…Dec 13, 12:23
    • Robert Hughes on The Wage Thief: “Contempt for the Public is the common currency amongst the Political Class now , Mia . They take us for…Dec 13, 11:09
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Never a response to the actual post. Just yer usual dribbling instead & stalking certain posters like RoS & desperately…Dec 13, 11:04
    • Gerry Parker on Keeping the fire burning: “Subscription renewed Stu.Dec 13, 09:56
    • Mac on The Wage Thief: “Galloway is scathing here, Sadly I agree with everything he says. www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPDW8crwCRA&ab_channel=GeorgeGalloway Something very strange happened (or rather didn’t happen)…Dec 13, 09:28
    • Mia on The Wage Thief: “““Scotland’s former chief medical officer Dr Catherine Calderwood has been excused indefinitely from giving evidence at the UK Covid-19 Inquiry” Oh dear.…Dec 13, 09:27
    • Robert Pollock on Keeping the fire burning: “I’d buy you a pint any day. Keep up the greatest work.Dec 13, 09:24
    • Mac on Keeping the fire burning: “Removed, meant to post on previous BTL.Dec 13, 09:23
    • gregor on The Wage Thief: “Fake BBC News: ‘I wish he’d lived to see new Syria’ – Crowds bury anti-Assad activist: “We gave our blood…Dec 13, 07:44
    • gregor on The Wage Thief: “WEF is starting Great Reset initiative: …determining: “future state of global relations” “direction of national economies” “priorities of societies” “nature…Dec 13, 07:40
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “There’s an interesting online article on Unherd today, discussing the rise of Independent MPs south of the border. Independents for…Dec 13, 07:28
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “I’ve read your post twice. My advice is to seek a refund from the organisers of your ‘learn creative writing…Dec 13, 07:14
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “Cut her some slack, CC. She’s been to Yale! She yust got out 🙂Dec 13, 06:57
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “Women’s prison, was it? Not that that means much these days in Sturgeon’s Scotland 🙂 Ye dinna hae tae answer,…Dec 13, 06:53
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “Just picking you up on your “those you cannot comment on” comment, and showing you exactly how you can indeed…Dec 13, 06:50
    • Captain Caveman on The Wage Thief: “Hasn’t Stu made it repeatedly and abundantly clear that he doesn’t want any of the stuff that you’ve been banging…Dec 13, 06:11
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “That’s never going to happen unless they exterminate the Royal Family & it’s life decree = No Palestinian state? No…Dec 13, 04:19
    • Geri on Keeping the fire burning: “Have you seen his walk in larder? I’m well jel. It’s like his very own tuck shop so it is!…Dec 13, 03:36
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Aye – Renditions Act back in full force. USA luring in R citizens & detaining or transporting them for no…Dec 13, 03:20
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Aye, Cunty MacCuntface even changed his name fae John Main. Shat it incase the hate monster paid him a visit.…Dec 13, 03:11
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “That’s brilliant lol Trouble is we can’t Google or Wikipedia either as it’s owned & censored by guess who -…Dec 13, 03:01
    • Jay on Keeping the fire burning: “Oh dear, what a disappointment, me and my big mouth, wonder what irritated you. Please do tell. I had been…Dec 13, 02:57
    • twathater on The Wage Thief: “My goodness Cunty MacCuntface you are the perfect example of why people avoid calling a spade a spade , you…Dec 13, 01:46
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Don’t be like hatey. Don’t be a perpetual dumbass. Neocons bat both sides, ya eejit. Doesn’t matter which serf wins…Dec 13, 00:39
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “1. It’s garden leave. Her work in the parly is done. She’s to go enjoy herself on full pay. It’s…Dec 13, 00:11
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Where are those F16s? That pomp & ceremony was a bit of a damp Squibb eh? There was me thinking…Dec 12, 23:41
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Thanks Robert. I had some timeout for a bit. Hope you are keeping well?Dec 12, 23:25
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Oh & as Orban has found out & explains -;If you don’t do as yer told by NATO they withhold…Dec 12, 23:21
    • Jay on The Wage Thief: “Gregor, why did you not point out to Mr Hatespeech that the way he thinks is so tightly circumscrisbed that…Dec 12, 23:21
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Complete bollox. You propagandists really need new material. Yer Russophobia is indoctrinated bullshit. Those children are all accounted for. Removed…Dec 12, 23:04

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()