We are legion

Posted on October 01, 2013 by

This seems to count as a pretty big landmark.

legion

In July we had just under 56,000 unique readers. In August the figure was fractionally below 76,000. At the end of last September, our readership was just 12,086. Total pageviews for 2013 so far now stand at 10,451,345 from 418,216 unique visitors.

Looks like we’re doing something right.

122 to “We are legion”

1. Eddie

Just keep doing what you do, exposing the lies of the ‘no’ camp.

2. Shanghai Scot

Found you via NNS, also noted Scottish Skier et al are on this forum. Enjoying the chat and interaction. Very difficult where I am presently to try and find real information.

3. Pilar

Congratulations! keep going! 😀

4. Midgehunter

100000 unique visitors to the Wings site – that’s a helluva lot of Indy info being sent out. Over 3300 folk per day and an average of nearly 140 persons per hour.
    You’re certainly doing something right and we know why we come here.
    Congrats all round 😉

5. Macart

With those numbers you know, you just absolutely have to know, that the word is getting around. That your opinions, our opinions are being seen, read and thought about.

No pressure then. 😀

6. Gray

Good news that the message is geting out. I’ll pat myself on the back that I’m one of the unique viewers from September 🙂

7. Gav Bain

Jings, your going to need help handing out the badges next year.

8. Red squirrel

Definitely doing something right – that’s why we all keep coming back.
    Pretty impressive number – that’s going to be some party next September.

Keep up the good work.

9. An Duine Gruamach

Hing on – I thought you were a pariah/ liability etc. etc. that nobody wanted to associate with?  More harm than good and all that.  That must be a *lot* of disgusted people who keep coming back for more to feel shocked about. 

10. Roddy Macdonald

Congratulations, Stuart and well done on providing one of the few non-unionist biased news sites on the web. Today is my first day of non-TV Licence paying and catch-up service only TV watching, largely due to the crap the BBC puts out.  And there was me amazed that my article What on Earth was the Brass Thinking had gone ‘viral’ (in my wee blog’s terms) with over 5,800 hits since 4:15 yesterday.

11. Xaracen

Looks like we’re doing something right.

I’ll say!

12. Caroline Corfield

I believe the phrase is ‘wee smiley face’ I like the fact that the pages per view is more than one too, the people who come here are obviously getting engaged and finding out the real information. Thank you. 

13. themadmurph

Considering I’m 22 stone and nearly got crushed waiting patiently for the Rev Stu badge carousel to come back round to my hand, I think we need a system!
    Now while I think you are doing a fantastic job, I read at work and at home, so you need to take one of your unique visitors! 😉
    Keep up the great work Stu, I feel we are slowly building momentum, aided and abetted by a heinous Tory Government!

14. Iain Hamilton

Go you  (and us)!!
    If the unique visitors count is done by IP address then that could be households instead of visitors. So….. 2 or 3 times the count potentially.

Less than a year, the excitement is building. The champagne and the Speyside malt is at the ready. The invites are sent out and the party is set to happen. got the rest of the week booked as annual leave. Bring it on!

15. .Tattiehowker

Exposing liars will always get an audience more so if they are politicians.

16. Hammyson

Nice work, great to hear that people are researching the truth, keep up the good work and this time next year we will be free.

17. The Water Beastie

@Gav Bain “We’re gonna need a bigger badge bag…”
    Although most of the population may well still be turned off by the Referendum, it seems that a lot are starting to “turn on and tune in” (possibly even starting to tune out the MSM….).  Even if we are attracting more of the opposition as lurkersor wanna-be trolls, there will be a percentage (albeit small) that will be given pause for thought.
    Don’t know how you manage to keep doing this, but its so great that you do.  Keep on talking, Stu – they’re starting to listen, and they are not going to stop.

18. Murray McCallum

I think the 5+ pages viewed per visit reflects the good quality that Wings are producing. Great stuff.

19. Tom tomney

It is great keep up the good work next target must be 2 million!

20. blunttrauma

More power to your elbow Rev “Bitter thegither” must be bricking it at those stats.

21. Susan

Well done, you are doing a fantastic job!

22. Calgacus

Congratulations Rev.Stu, This site is now a real alternative to the propoganda that the MSM try to stuff down our throats. We’ve got them on the run! 

23. john king

Err hello everyone,
    wee shy face wae red cheeks

24. les wilson

Great results for all your efforts, just get bigger and better who knows where it may lead! Exciting times eh !

25. heraldnomore

and only 100 of us have a badge….

26. john king

the water beastie says @8.27
    ” Even if we are attracting more of the opposition as lurkersor wanna-be trolls”
    But the small amount of nae sayers who appear on this site either dissapear or are absorbed into the yes camp, thier are very few people who are not persuaded by the huge amount of positive evidence from this site,
    and thats down to Stus laser like analysis of any given situation ,he seems to get to the nub of an issue, and then makes a very powerful argument for his/our case
    just consider the risible attempts from people like Joanne, Anas, Jackie their arguments are countered by stu and soundly trashed in short order ! 🙂

27. Mosstrooper

Great work Rev. !00,000 readers eh, (waves excitedly to the crowd). Here I get my boost to get me through the day of crap from the British and my antidote to the torrent of lies and dissembling from what passes for the MSM here in Scotland.
    Happy October everyone and Forward Scotland’s future in Scotland’s hands.
    Suas Alba

28. DonDeefLugs

Good job 🙂 

29. Horacesaysyes

Wait a minute – so you are saying that its not just half a dozen of us posting under twenty different names each? 😮

Well done, Rev. I believe the cliched term to use is ‘Keep up the good work’. 🙂

30. Bunter

Well done Rev and keep it up. Any interesting poll results pending in the near future????

31. wee jamie

Great news ! your page is a real eye opener, i have personally recommended you to dozens of undecided’s ,and think you have converted quite a few of them,given enough time , I think ye could make Cameron and darling see sense ……… EVENTUALLY !

32. Bunter

Oh and I have to say, that when I was at a family gathering at the weekend, I took time to ask if anyone bothered to read the stuff from this site which I have been sharing around, as I have been getting very little feedback via Facebook. There  are indeed some, reading away and visiting the site by themselves now. The messages will slowly get out and still lots of time to go. Salmond knew what he was doing when he decided to have a long run in to the vote. Its like a slow burn, and we will get there.

33. Lanarkist

Rev, Congratulations, great stats. “Whilst there are 100,000 of us” Here’s to enjoying the good fight in technically the last October under Westminster rule. We can start the countdown on the months now! More power to your elbow.
    Cheers,
    Lanarkist.

34. Doug Daniel

A great milestone, Stu. But I reckon an even more important statistic – one which unfortunately can’t be kept track of by WordPress – is the number of people being influenced by the arguments made on this site indirectly, through friends and work colleagues. A bit like how the impact Wings has had on the general tone of the independence debate is hard to quantify – we know that it’s read by members of the MSM, even though they’d deny it. See also: how the polls suddenly started asking more interesting questions after the Wings poll, despite the near-absolute non-reporting of it in the MSM.

35. Gizzit

Expect increased wrath from the media as newspaper circulation figures continue to plummet and you begin to challenge their online audience.

Stwike them wuffly Centuwion

36. kendomacaroonbar

Please feel free to send this WoS pomo link to anyone you can think of
    On and Upwards Wingslanders !
    http://tinyurl.com/pvrg7vv

37. sionnach

Congratulations, Stu! Been a reader (and very occasional commenter) for some time now. I keep coming back because I love your forensic dissection of news items that often appear quite plausible. Love the excellent occasional articles from other contributors. And the site attracts comments from many knowledgeable people. So all round, a fantastic and very useful site. Keep up the good work!

I see another landmark approaching: getting close to 100,000 comments now…

Hope the cold dissipates soon.
    Hail Alba!

38. David Smith

I include a link at the foot if my emails and link Wings from my own blog.
     If you haven’t already, I recommend doing the same. Let’s get the truth out there!

39. MajorBloodnok

Outstanding.  Pink gins all round. }:8)

40. HandandShrimp

It is a remarkable achievement and one that is all the sweeter because a fair few of those readers are our erstwhile buddies over on the Better Together bleak and barren shores 🙂  

41. Paul Kirkwood

Well done Wings!When’s your opinion poll out??:-)

42. heraldnomore

Old Russian cold remedy – heavily peppered vodka, shot style.

Or you can stick with the over the counter stuff.  Or you can ride it out, like a man.

Whatever option it sill takes a week.  But with the Russian medicine you get a great sleep.  Personally I think a large dram is much better, a peatier one for times of pestilence.  Ardbeg, or Talisker perhaps.  Still never had a cold bad enough for Laphroig.

43. Dcanmore

Congratulations Stuart! Quite an achievement for what is still essentially a personal blog. Breaking through the 100,000 barrier must be a great feeling, however it reflects the quality of writing and debate that’s presented here and the success is well deserved. I wonder how many of those visits come from the Secret Services and Better Together LOL!

44. joe kane

Some icing on the cake. Blair McDougall getting shredded in the comments section of a right-wing Labour website, explaining his refusal to take part in a public debate is because he doesn’t like WOS –
    Bloodless revolution
    by Blair McDougall
    Progressonline
    30 Sept 2013
    http://www.progressonline.org.uk/2013/09/30/bloodless-revolution/

45. Marion

This is the best site bar none to get analysis of indyref issues. At this rate the entire electorate will be readers!  Great work Stu 🙂

46. heraldnomore

O/T  Bateman, on Labour and BBC – it’s another must-read from the man

http://drderekbateman.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/ive-just-stopped-laughing/

47. kendomacaroonbar

aarrgh, of course my earlier post should say Promo and not pomo ( which on my screen font looks like something from the top shelf of …I’ll stop there )

48. uilleam_beag

Excellent news. Mair pouer tae yir elbuk (& hope you shake the lurghi sharpish)!

49. Marion

Comments are great too by the way, really does feel like a (very large) community!

50. Morag

Congratulations, Stu!

I just came by to post this, but I see someone got here first.

O/T  Bateman, on Labour and BBC – it’s another must-read from the man

This is serious dynamite.

51. faolie

You’re doing more than just something right. You’re helping people (me at least) understand and articulate the positive argument for independence. With your other contributors and thoosands of commenters, it’s a brilliant site for information and inspiration (and not a little humour too) about why we should vote yes. I point everyone here.

52. velofello

All power to you Rev.I found Wings early in its infancy and it is heartening to witness the growth. And now “aided and abetted” by many data providers. Scot Minto and Scottish Skier deserve special mention yet many have contributed good reasoned viewpoints to help the independence cause on its way. 
    The flurry of polls following the Wings panelbase poll was amusing.Had they been kept in storage catalogued as, when needed?

53. CameronB

Congrats. on the audience figures and to the readers (most of them anyway though perhaps premature for some). 🙂

54. Training Day

Excellent.  And a special thanks to Tom Gordon, Severin Carrell, Euan McColm and the BBC/STV for making more and more of us even more determined to support the Rev and his site.

55. Nation Libre

Well done Rev, great stuff.  Have to say though that I got some stick from my 15 year old daughter who I continually wind up about her excitement for One Direction.  She couldn’t believe the state of me looking out for you at the rally and jostling for my wee badge.  Took some pelters.  Felt it was a bit of a, drawing back the curtain on the Wizard of Oz moment though, no offence like 

56. Captain Caveman

Yup, congrats Stu – outstanding.

57. GrutsForTea

Yeah, keep on keeping on.

58. Bobby Mckail

Well done mate, a nice barrier to break with 1year2go. Well done to everyone who spread the message. 200,000+ between you and Newsnet Scotland. Wonder if anyone could collate the unique visitors to all pro-independence sites for an overall figure. To see just how far their reach is in Scotland? Last time I heard the Scotsman had 160,000 uniques but most of that is out with Scotland if you look at Alexa.

59. faolie

O/T, but stop press, I just caught AD articulating the positive case for the Union on Politics Sunday!

The big economic case is that for jobs and business we have a market of 60m not 5m

Take our universities, some of which are world class, we punch well above our weight but only because they have access to UK research funds, which they’ll lose of course

The NHS might be administered here (eh?) but it’s part of an organisation with vast resources that stretches across the UK

We spread the risks of an ageing population across the shoulders of 60m, not 5m

We have one of the oldest economic and social unions that’s worked because of ties that bind

That’s the verbose version of too wee, too poor and too daft, isn’t it?

60. Silverytay

Congratulations Stu and keep up the good work .
    p.s if you are still feeling poorly OVD with Crabbies Green Ginger used to work a treat for me or you could try Echinacea .

61. Patrick Roden

104,000 !!! fantastic news, well done Rev.
    I’ve always thought that 100,000 unique visitors per moth, was going to be the tipping point for Wings,  so ‘you aint seen nothing yet’ !!!

Just watch wings grow and grow. from this point on.  🙂

62. The Tree of Liberty

Weel done, Cutty Sark.
    To the rest of us I would say, The Rev is doing what he does best, analyzing, debunking and correcting what B.T is putting out, it’s up to us to make sure the info gets out there, so highlight the site at every opportunity. Get the fliers printed, get the site’s address on everything you send, mention it is passing conversation, make this site the place where anybody with a query comes to find out the truth. 

63. Edward

Joe Kane
    Thanks for the link Joe. It really is a ‘must read’ Blair MacDougall is getting an absolute pasting. MacDougall has even replied a couple of times and each time he just gets shot down as the stuff that he puts out as fact is just clearly and stupidly a load of rubbish

64. Boorach

Congrats on your continuing success Rev.

O/t … and so it begins
    very, very interesting

65. DonDeefLugs

o/t I’ll second that Joe, great link. I wonder how long it’ll stay up?
    http://www.progressonline.org.uk/2013/09/30/bloodless-revolution/

66. msean

well done.

67. Keef

Rev. I’d say you are very, very close to reaching critical mass.
    Any thoughts on how you will ‘expand’ once the YES vote is secured?
    I’m sure there will be a chasm sized niche to fill after Independence and the hootsmon and the like drown in their own bile. Something along the lines of a Private eye keeping the Scottish pollies in check would be superb.
    I’d love to see Wings continue after Independence as an independent magazine with an online presence.

68. The Man in the Jar

Just to add my congratulations.
    Just read McDougals rubbish on “Progressonline” Not one single pro union comment anywhere to be seen. Well done those who are commenting many of them weel kent faces here on Wings.

69. Doug Daniel

That Derek Bateman article is absolutely sensational. And he says he’ll be making a blog in the future giving his thoughts about whether or not there’s an actual pro-Labour bias at the BBC.

Retiring was possibly the greatest thing Derek ever did! He’s become essential even quicker than Stu did 😛

70. Ronnie

“For as long as one hundred of us

retain the ‘wee shiney baj’……………………….

For that alone, which no honest man

gives up but with life itself.”

71. castle hills chavie

Thanks joe kane
    What a load of pish he writes, but wonderful to see blurmac get the booting he richly deserves.

GO REV….!!!!

72. Oneironaut

I think I first stumbled onto this site last year.

And this year I was encouraged by Ian Brotherhood to check it out again.

Since I was setting up a blog of my own (that I never seem to get around to posting anything on!) I already had a WordPress login and everything, so thought I’d start posting too.

Besides, this is about the only place you can find out what’s really going on in the country these days.  Not like the news can be trusted!

73. DougieDouglas

Great news indeed – 25% + month on month growth.
    Looks like you need some more fabricated pish made up about you Stu and circulated in the MSM.
    You ate my hamster you bass and now you are going to pay…..

74. pmcrek

I thought we were all sockpuppets for that mad guy that comments in the Scotsman?

75. HandandShrimp

Derek’s piece on Sinclair is fascinating and not a little troubling. Malcolm Tucker is supposed to be satire not reality. It is time that Labour lost its influence in this area. It is a malign and ultimately politically destructive weed that has been allowed to flower and seed in our society. Quite how we restore balance is moot though. Thank goodness for the internet and sites like Wings where we can pool information and spread it abroad, like the contactus memo from the police confirming munbers at the Rally. It cuts the feet from under people in the BBC and other media outlets and shows them for what they are…out and outpropagand merchants. The perennial Rider was on the Guardian peddling the 8,000 number until the weight evidence resulted in him simply dropping the topic. I mentioned the other day that the Human Rights chappie Kelly had fallen on the 8,000 number and blogged about it with glee. I haven’t checked to see whether he has pulled it or corrected it… can’t say I much care it just amused me he loved a lie so much he couldn’t wait to blog rather than check the details first. The more their lack of credibility and inaccuracy comes to the fore the easier it is to kick their arguments into touch. 

This is good

76. Mosstrooper

Just came from the shower after reading Bliar McDougal. If what he says is accurate, which I doubt, that YES Scotland are going to distance themselves from this site then whoever made that decision needs a severe kick up the arse.

However I suspect that after reading Bateman’s blog and knowing the paucity of any argument presented by the Record this was simply the same excrement from a different orifice.

77. Dave McEwan Hill

Brilliant news – and we must have a Wings convention sometime -surely in Glasgow.
    I’m sure you could get the best panel ever dreamt of into a venue in Glasgow for a sell out rally.

I’m enraged and have just sent this to the Herald who have given about two thirds of their report on the Ibrox disaster on Saturday to trying to turn it into problem for Alex Salmond

“It takes a special sort of determination to reduce a report on some appalling sectarian behaviour by some our troops at Ibrox to a puff for the political vaudeville act that is George Galloway. Is the Herald a serious newspaper?”

78. G. Campbell

O/T. Blair McDoughnut’s influence reaches far and wide.

“In a controversial new book, Diane Francis sets out five models for merging Canada and the United States into the same country”

“A merger between Canada and the U.S. could take years, or could happen quickly, depending upon circumstances, public opinion and what type of deal was proposed. Would it be like the reunification of Germany, or would it be a targeted economic arrangement?”

http://archive.is/LAyK5

Jonathan Kay: Diane Francis’ plan to merge Canada and the United States has many, many problems

“to ensure continuity with our hallowed universal-health-care ideals, we Canadians would be provided with ‘fraud-proof health cards, valid anywhere in the 50 states, 10 provinces or three territories. Americans would not be entitled to this benefit.’ (The notion that U.S.-born citizens would tolerate living in a society in which they have fewer government-given rights than their Canadian-born neighbours* is just one of the many eyebrow-raising assumptions contained in this book.)”  

“America is now an increasingly isolationist, inward-looking country where the mere act of raising the debt ceiling casts Washington into a state of paralysis, where state governors can’t scratch together the money to provide mental-health services to dangerous psychotics, and where universal health care is deemed (by much of the country, at least) to be an unaffordable luxury**.”

http://archive.is/e5N8R

* Labour’s Andy Burnham would agree, which is why he wants to make the Scottish NHS a mirror image of the English one.

** What country does that remind you of?

79. Macart

@Handandshrimp

That post by Derek Bateman will leave a mark (ouch).

@Dave McEwan Hill
    Is the Herald a serious newspaper?

Only on a Sunday. Monday through Saturday not so much. 🙂

80. scaredy cat.

Well done Stu. You have finally identified the virus that we all have. Legionnaires disease! Must be something in the water!

81. The Flamster

Yeah well done Stuart from me too – I’m on here every day reading.

Hope Dee reads the Derek Bateman article 🙂

82. Yesitis

“Don`t push it, don`t force it, let it happen naturally” – Leon Haywood (1980)

83. CameronB

Jonathan Kay: Diane Francis’ plan to merge Canada and the United States has many, many problems

Is this that old chestnut, Imperial Federation? When do we become Oceania?

The postwar reconstruction administration was presided over by Lord Milner and his largely Oxford trained Milner’s Kindergarten. This small group of civil servants had a profound effect on the region, eventually leading to the Union of South Africa. “In the aftermath of the war, an imperial administration freed from accountability to a domestic electorate set about reconstructing an economy that was by then predicated unambiguously on gold. At the same time, British civil servants, municipal officials, and their cultural adjuncts were hard at work in the heartland of the former Boer Republics helping to forge new identities – first as ‘British South Africans’ and then, later still, as ‘white South Africans’.” Some scholars, for good reasons, identify these new identities as partly underpinning the act of union that followed in 1910. Although challenged by a Boer rebellion only four years later, they did much to shape South African politics between the two world wars and right up to the present day.”[59]
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Second_Boer_War

84. Brian

A must rewarding visit everyday, at least once.

85. Craig P

Derek Bateman is what we have been crying out for in the indy campaign, an insider view of the BBC Scotland political unit. I suspect his article on Labour bias will surprise us, and we will end up sympathising with the BBC presenters more than we do at present. Time will tell…

86. CameronB

Missed the edit window.

The question was whether Britain would be the centre of a world empire or whether it would lose its colonies and end up as just two islands in the North Atlantic. It expressed support for Britain in the Boer War because small nations, such as the Boers, were anachronisms in the age of empires.[12] In order to hold onto the Empire, the British needed to fully exploit the trade opportunities secured by war; maintain the British armed forces in a high state of readiness to defend the Empire; the creation of a citizen army to replace the professional army; the Factory Acts would be amended to extend to 21 the age for half-time employment, so that the thirty hours gained would be used in “a combination of physical exercises, technical education, education in civil citizenship…and field training in the use of modern weapons”.[13]
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fabian_Society

Apoligies for continuing the OT, I sign off now.

87. Seasick Dave

I suspect his article on Labour bias will end up surprising us, and we will end up sympathising with the BBC presenters more than we do at present. Time will tell…

That may well be the case but I doubt that Sally Magnusson will fall into that category. 🙂

88. JLT

Congratulations Rev.
    If you’ve had half a million folk, then that’s about a ninth of the folk who will vote in the Referendum. Of a nation of 5 million people, that’s brilliant …and there is still 3 months to go for the year. Get it to half a million. That’s down to 1 in 8.
    And with a year to go …who knows …it could eventually go down to 1 in 4 or 1 in 3. Who knows …maybe even 1 in 2!

Bloody impressive in my book. Well done again!

89. dee

@heraldnomore

Regarding the Derek Bateman debate I had with a few of you on Friday 27th sept. I was suggesting that Mr Bateman should come clean with what he knows regarding the links in “Project Fear” between BBC Scotland and Scottish Labour.  Now I don’t know if Mr Bateman got word about our heated discussion, but by coincidence, he has blogged today on this very subject.

Now he hasn’t exactly “spilled the bean,”  but he is gradually opening the door into enlightening us of the goings on at Pacific Quay.  We all know that the link between BBC Scotland and Scottish Labour exists, we just don’t have the proof in black and white. As I said on Friday and I repeat again to you today, “Mr Bateman, cleanse yourself of this burden that you must have on your shoulders and tell the people of Scotland the truth”.

YOU ARE ALMOST THERE.

90. Craig Stewart

Jings, one down-side to all these readers is that I’d need to dedicate half my day to the reading of comments if I wanted to get through them all…
    With that in mind, apologies if this has already been suggested but…
    Could we do some sort of chart/graph plotting the increase in readership?
    And then extrapolate that forward to Sept 2014 to see how many folks might be reading by then?
    It might show that your readership alone, assuming they all voted yes, would be able to win the referendum for us! 😀
    I’d love to whip up some graphs and stats if you could send me some raw data to work with Stu? 🙂

91. Marker Post

100,000 unique visitors? There’s nothing unique about us, we’re all raving cybernats enthralled by Mel Gibson and shortbread.

And in another few days, you will pass another landmark of 100,000 comments.

Brilliant stuff Rev, many congratulations.

92. Jimmy

Brilliant, great blog ! Derek Bateman too 🙂

93. Luigi

A big thank you of course to the good Rev, but sincere thanks are also due to all you ladies and gentlemen out there, including regular posters offering their varied skills as reporters, analysists, strategists, encouragers and comedians, and people who may just like to visit the WoS site on occasion.  You are all appreciated.  The images of the 2013 independence rally demonstrated to the world modern Scotland, a wonderful, diverse group of positive, forward-looking people people, united by a common cause.  I am sure the same description applies to Scotland’s largest party, WoS.  Many thanks (but keep going)!

94. Jeannie

Well done, Stu.  You’ve not only created a great blog, you’ve created a great community.  Here’s tae ye and here’s tae all of the posters, lurkers and readers.  Please don’t anybody be shy about posting comments – just do it.  We’ve all been told we cannae do things for far too long.  We CAN do this!  C’mon the first time posters!

95. handclapping

Not much use at curing the Revflu but I hope they make you feel better Stu.

That’ll be 34 Nos trying to find out what is really happening as they cant trust their own propaganda in the MSM and 100,000 Yess looking for further ammunition to slay the dragon of BT.

Go Rev!

96. Elizabeth Sutherland

Well done Rev, great to see the numbers increasing so that folk’s get the info they need to inform the people that are not yet listening. Keep up the good work everybody.

97. TJenny

Well done the Rev and all of us by association.
    Weeflushedwithpridefacedthingy.
    Is there any way to fnd out how many of the site visitors are in Scotland, and therefore able to vote next year?
    Oh, and hope your cold’s improving, by your writings, it seems to be, but if not, try a wee bottle of Fernet Branca, it’s even good for flu (man or otherwise).

98. Robert Craig

Great news and well done to the Rev and all contributors.

I’m a regular reader and off-shore supporter with limited up to date political knowledge of events.  But I have always (from around 1978 at the age of 22; a serving soldier) been convinced that Scotland for many reasons and more should be fully independent.  

Westminster, it’s environs (MOD and other govt Ministry Departments there) and all the self serving dysfunctionaries that turn up day to day, year to year are for the most part well past their sell by dates.   All places are and have been beyond economical repair for many, many years.  
    I really enjoy reading the FACTS which are alway laid out in a positive fashion here with no little humour.  I don’t rely on any single source and make a point of reading the other sides point of view and argument.  There not impressive or convincing.

Frankly, the No Campaign with the ‘help’ of an almost entirely ‘hostile-to-yes’ media strike me as a group led by people intent on subjecting the main body to succession of long lasting self inflicted wounds.  Surely they must realise the games a bogie with all thats went before and is now ahead of them?  

I sincerely hope for a ‘Yes’ next year but if not then for sure 5 – 6 or 7 seven years later.  It will happen I’m convinced. 

99. a supporter

Stu
    Best medicine for colds and flu is 500 mg Co-dydramol tablets (prescription only unless …). The paracetamol kills the pain and the codeine variation kills all coughing. Codeine is a very effective antitussive ie cough suppressant. 

100. David Milligan - a very Sovereign Scot

Absolutely brilliant.  I have a theory that people will actively seek out the truth. Well done for supplying it.
    Now put one hand behind your back Rev and pat (gently) twice.  Then get on with the rest of this campaign. lol
    I cannot wait for a yes vote.  I can feel it in the pit of my stomach like a happy (flock?) of butterflies doing a fly past of my duodenum.
    K E E P  U P  T H E  A M A Z I N G  W O R K ! ! !
    Kindest regards,

David Milligan Lvss

101. Michael

Excellent, Stuart, every reason to be proud of what you’e achieved. Keep up the good work.

102. Xander

Per ardua ad astra, Wings Over Scotland.

(Clenches paw in mid air as a sign of…) RESPECT! 🙂

103. liz

Just to add my congratulations. I was starting to despair before I found this blog – cant remember where I found out from but I have been visiting for a long while now and couldn’t do without it.

It’s like staring with small pebbles rolling down a hill and has encouraged other people to come forward.

Without sites like these maybe Derek Bateman wouldn’t now be spilling the beans.
    Disgraceful about Labour and the Beeb – but we all knew it was true. Just wait for a personal attack on DB

104. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Could we do some sort of chart/graph plotting the increase in readership?”

Last 12 months:

(December, June and July are very quiet months for politics, Parliaments in recess and politicians/public alike off on holiday or just out in the snow/sunshine.)

105. mogabee

It’s true that no-one reads this site, isn’t that what some at BT say? 😉

Goan yourself Stu, you’ve given the establishment a bloody nose with the forensic posts and don’t they despise that. 
    I’m addicted to wings and try never to miss a day…. sad isn’t it!!

106. Jamie Arriere

Well done Stu, another landmark and box ticked on the way to YESland. I’ve now been lurking with occasional comments since August last year – my first online Referendum experience was reading Paul Kavanagh’s excellent deconstruction of the BT launch speech by Alastair Darling, which reduced me to tears of laughter and punching the air at the same time. I still have the link

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/5261-better-together-the-ve-case#comment-162806

After a forlorn wait for something of that quality to appear again there, I noticed on some of the few comments allowed, referring to Wings – that there were more regular articles, more deconstruction of BT (and the media) and more lively comments. The rest is history.

Better keep coming here every day – don’t want to let that number drop!

107. G H Graham

Stairheid (Candidate for First Minister of Scotland) says …
    “Aye, right Rev, we knows whit yer daein. Yer exposin a’ these fibs fae me an’ ma Unionist mates just tae attract attention. An’ yer daein it deliberately.”

108. Richard Bruce

Impressive Stu. This site is like an oasis compared to the dry odious unionist places, I mean all MSM and TV sites. And some of the recent comments on those other sites, regarding the “Ibrox Event”, left me feeling somewhat in despair of my fellow Scots. There is a lot of work to do, if those people represent the general opinion of independence in the Glasgow/West Scotland area.

109. David McEwan Hill

Richard Bruce. They do not. they come from far and wide. I would wager a very large bet that the majority of fans at an Old firm game do not come from Glasgow on either side.

That is why there is so poor attendances at our other clubs. Fans who generation ago will have been supporting Motherwell and Airdrie and Ayr United and Kilmarnock have been sucked into the Old Firm embrace and travel up to Glasgow for their football.

This process has all but destroyed Scottish Football

110. twenty14

Rev Stu – Think our First Minister owes you a strong malt. This site alone must be heading on its way to achieving the goal of “just converting one more person each ”
    Remember  -we’ve got your back

Hail Alba

111. cath

Great stuff Stu! Hope you’re feeling a bit better

There is a lot of work to do, if those people represent the general opinion of independence in the Glasgow/West Scotland area.  

It’s not something I come across in daily life in Glasgow, nor is it reflected on the doorsteps. There’s far too much of it, but I don’t think they represent anything but themselves and knuckle-dragging morons.

People are generally divided on the doorsteps but most of the no voters seem fairly soft.

112. Bill W

Brilliant work Rev.
    How about polling the visitors to see how many have changed to Yes from No and Undecided. How long did it take for them to change, and what finally did it for them?

113. Richard Bruce

David McEwan Hill 

Agreed, there are a lot in Dundee too. I was thinking more of the dinosaur labour ‘cooncils in the west. I just hope they are converted to SNP/Green/SSP anything but SLAB placemen.

114. muttley79

@liz
    It’s like staring with small pebbles rolling down a hill and has encouraged other people to come forward.

I read the Hollow Drum by Arnold Kemp fairly recently (very good book on Scottish politics btw).  Your comment reminded me of one of Margo MacDonald’s quotes about independence in the book.  She said her and Jim Sillars used to ask each other if the independence cause was in vein, saying if was like trying to push water up a hill (or something like that).

115. EphemeralDeception

Wow.  To paraphrase a well known beverage slogan. No Bull gives you wings.

116. DonDeefLugs

@EphemeralDeception
    Good one 🙂 

117. Midgehunter

“Wow.  To paraphrase a well known beverage slogan. No Bull gives you wings.”

Shouldn’t that be – NO bull gives you the sh*ts”    more appropriate methinks.

118. TopCat

I have been visiting this site and reading the articles for months but have never posted before. I use the information I get here in any discussions I have in support of the YES campaign. A great site, well appreciated and needed, SO WELL DONE Rev. I went to the rally, great it was. 

119. ScotsCanuck

Rev, first class achievement and I predict that bar chart will go Ballistic on the run up to the vote.
    As they say “the truth is out there” ………….. well, actually it’s here & NNS & Bella & YES etc. (hope I’m O.K. to plug ?).
    We CAN do it & we WILL do it. 

120. Turnbull Drier

Playing catch up from yesterday…

Fantastic numbers Rev!

Keep up the great work (oh, and I hope your snotters have dried up 😛 )

121. Bill B

We are Legion, we do not forget what Thatcher done, we do not forgive what Cameron is doing, Expect us to vote Yes in 2014.

122. The Water Beastie

An interesting examination of society ‘tipping points’, in the context of ‘firmly held beliefs’.  Given the widely-held belief on the softness of the ‘No’ vote (I’m not sure that there is much mileage in the idea of ‘soft Yes’ – most people once decided are surely very difficult to ‘redissuade’?), do we constitute more than 10%?  
    http://phys.org/news/2011-07-minority-scientists-ideas.html
    I think we just might be.  Especially if we can get the unique monthly visitors up to 2-250K by spring….  🙂

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.