Triumph Of The Won’t

Posted on December 02, 2022 by

You can’t move on social media today without tripping over effusive tweets from SNP MPs and MSPs singing the praises of departed Westminster leader Ian Blackford and admiring all his achievements in the position over the last five years, although weirdly nobody has actually listed any of them.

Wings Over Scotland would like to pay its own tribute by remembering this line in the sand drawn by Blackford in August 2019 and on many other occasions.

Thank goodness he didn’t allow that to happen, eh readers?

We’ll just double-check that quickly to be sure, though.

Oh.

48 to “Triumph Of The Won’t”

1. turnbulldrier

It seems that lines in the sand are easily washed away by the tide of apathy…

2. Scott

He’s like Basil Fawlty in A Touch of Class…

“Sybil, I forbid you to open the safe”

“Sybil, I forbid you to take that case out”

“Sybil, do not open that case, I forbid it”

3. Socrates MacSporran

Come on, what did we expect from somebody happy to be described as A Merchant Banker.

4. Astonished

Wonder why the buffoon decided to resign ?

Especially as he still wanted the job two weeks ago.

5. Confused

this is the trouble with catch-phrase based comedy, it gets stale

fat, useless, cunt

he deserves no more witty eloquence than that

6. Graeme Hampton

I saw somewhere that Alex sacked him as party treasurer back in 2000. Might explain a few things.

7. Vivian O’Blivion

Straight oot a Gilbert & Sullivan comic opera. The splayed foot penguin waddle to support his enormous girth. The bloviating self regard. A figure of ridicule. I’d feel sorry for him if we weren’t paying him £84k pa to dae fuck all.

8. Willie

So why has Iain Blackford suddenly resigned. What brought his going. He says, ever loyal, that he is going to sit at the side of the Mistress. Well he would say that wouldn’t he. But Who will replace him.

Reports suggest that SNP deputy Westminster leader Kirsten Oswald, the party’s foreign affairs spokesperson Alyn Smith and Joanna Cherry QC will be among the leading contenders to replace Mr Blackford.

Ms Cherry – who has regularly been at odds with the SNP’s leadership in Edinburgh and London on a range of issues in recent years – openly welcomed Mr Blackford’s exit.

Commenting on Twitter she said – “I’m pleased to hear this. It’s time for fresh leadership and tolerance of debate and diverse viewpoints,” – before warning Ms Sturgeon and her team not to interfere in selecting the new Commons chief. “I hope the SNP Westminster group will be now be left to choose our new leader without outside interference and in accordance with our standing orders”

Outside interference.. that’s right,outside interference from Sturgeon. Now that’s an interesting thing to be said as Sturgeon’s lackey in Westminster departs!

Certainly appears that there may be change afoot with this sudden departure and that the writ of the Holy See of Saint Nicola may be on the wane.

Skids, Nicola, Under. Or a Reformation perchance. Could well be so. We shall have to wait and see.

Me I think Sturgeon’s kassock is on a shoogly peg, a very shoogly peg, and that changes are in the air.

9. Geri

You knew when the speaker shouted Blackfords name you could go take yer own commercial break.

The boy who constantly cried wolf.

10. Effijy

More old repeats than the BBC.

You can say it once and then you go off to formulate a plan that can deliver.

A parrot could have spouted that line while action plans were laid

11. Patricia Spencer

It’s all meaningless, puerile drivel he and the rest of them have spoken and continue to speak.

12. Cath

I honestly despise the current SNP now. They took a united, energetic movement which pinned all its hopes on them and trashed it. Along with unionists, they went after the best leaders, they enabled Brexit, they’ve been enabling power roll backs. Now they’ve handed our sovereignty directly to London. And an apathetic, cult-like electorate has allowed it, in the same way they allowed Labour to get away with screwing Scotland over for decades (mostly the same people, to be fair – the SNP stalwarts saw what was happening and tried,. But those Labour vote-for-a-red-rosette-on-a-donkey types who shifted in late 2014 simply shifted that attitude to yellow rosettes. Now the’ll switch back to whatever seems most trendy and needs least thought.

The best time ever for independence was 2017-2021: the SNP went all out to make sure it didn’t and couldn’t happen. And they’ll keep on making sure it can’t happen as the UK erase Scotland as a nation entirely.

13. dandydons1903

Bozo Blackford couldnt give a toss about indy just like his boss.

14. Geoff Anderson

A much more accurate account of his record.

15. Scott

“Is it too much to hope that the FM’s acknowledgment that self-ID laws could be abused by men acting in bad faith (not trans people) will stop the institutional bullying of feminist activists & lesbians who have argued this for years?” – Joanna Cherry KC MP

http://twitter.com/joannaccherry/status/1598636012422545410?s=20&t=5qhuBxG0bo5aAUZ1c2genA

The tweet links to Newsquest, who are giving away £20 M&S gift cards if you subscribe to their plamflets

16. Dave S

playing at being a politician was only ever a secondment for investment banker blackford tbh

17. Chas

Honest question.

How many people would vote for Independence in the full knowledge that the SNP/Greens would be in COMPLETE charge of EVERYTHING for the foreseeable future?

I simply do not see it happening, nor do I want it! The current incompetents have made a mess of nearly everything they have touched for 8 years and counting. With the exception of pardoning 500 year old witches and baby boxes, of course.

18. Stuart MacKay

Willie,

Well, The Telegraph, wants Stephen Flynn to take over, https://archive.ph/xKY8H ostensibly as he is pro oil and gas and likely to stand up against Sturgeon. The only question is why are they taking that line – it seems rather shallow.

I can’t see Cherry taking over – the Twitler Youth would blow several gaskets at the mere hint of it.

My bet is on Alyn Smith to cement the woke agenda and so be in a position to stage a coup to get rid of Robertson as the anointed one.

So, if you think Sturgeon has been on a slash and burn campaign with regards to independence, it’s likely you ain’t seen nothing yet.

19. Iain mhor

With the Supreme Court judgement MSP’s are not our representative voice.
    Not that they ever were; MP’s were, and always have been our elected representatives for Scotland within the UK Govt at Westminster.

(Hey, them’s the rules, I didn’t make them)

Ms Cherry just echoing the Supreme Court there, and reminding Holyrood and it’s denizens, that it is officially nothing more than a cooncil administration building.

Of course, that means the spotlight swivels from Edinburgh, directly on our London MP’s (including Ms Cherry) and the question “So what are you going to do about it”?

The tail is obviously wagging the dog now.
    The SNP at Holyrood should be the administrative arm of the SNP Westminster contingent.
    Holyrood is an administrative arm of
    the UK Gov at Westminster – always has been.

So who should logically be the heid of the SNP? An MP, or an MSP (answers on a postcard)

Anyway, looks like a power struggle for the SNP is on the cards first, before anyone in London, or Edinburgh will turn their attention to their entire raison d’etre.

I won’t hold my breath.

We know that for MP’s to back any Claims of Right, or anything of that nature, they are arguing that MP’s are not Scotland’s representatives, MSP’s are, and therefore MP’s are merely errr…
    Give them a minute to work it out. Or a few years – a decade tops.

Oh, what a tangled web they all weave.

20. Linda McFarlane

@ Stuart McKay

I would personally love to see Joanna Cherry get it just so we could watch the twitler youth blow their gaskets (and fuses).

21. Scott

Iain mhor says:
    2 December, 2022 at 3:08 pm

With the Supreme Court judgement MSP’s [sic] are not our representative voice.

Not that they ever were; MP’s [sic] were, and always have been our elected representatives for Scotland within the UK Govt at Westminster.

—-

The hierarchy point is correct.

But, MSPs are representative of our voice, in a very specific and limited way.

FM, as ‘Keeper of the Seal’ (with limited authority to use it) and leader of SNP (whose rules dictate that its leader must be FM nomination if elected) seems to think she can dictate to MPs who sit where the real legislative power lies. Malignant narcissism and ‘absolute power’ make exceedingly good cakes, said nobody ever.

She fundimundilly won’t allow herself to be dragged out of Bute House, against Scotland’s will. She’ll need to be drugged out or ‘jugged’ out, it seems, although she’d accept a seat in HoL quite happily.

22. Doug

By staying in Westminster all pro independence MPs are tacitly supporting the union and the british nationalist establishment. Walk out and stay out; I believe the majority of Scots would support them.

The longer they stay; the more the electorate will despise them.

23. Ruby

I hope it’s OK to express myself in a foreign language to the ‘dragged queen’s retirement. Some forums ban foreign words.

I’ll take a chance.

Bof!

It’s a great French expression.

Who is the guy with his tongue hanging out in the ‘being prepared’ video?

Is that the possible new guy. the new branch manager?

Is Sturgeon the overall leader with guys like Blackford just the branch manager of SNP branch office in Westminster.

24. Republicofscotland

Yip, Blackford was and still is a useless trougher and according to the media he is a close ally of Sturgeon. She strung the indy masses along at Holyrood and Blackford did the exact same in the HoC.

MSM (radio Shortbread) around about lunch time today analysing who might replace Blackford, Flynn’s name did come up, and it was mentioned that it’s been said that if successful he (Flynn) will make big changes as the SNP’s Westminster leader.

One wonders if true, what these “big” changes might be, and will they be for the benefit of the indy cause or will they continue to be detrimental to it. I can’t recall whether or not it was mentioned if Flynn was a close ally of Sturgeon’s or not.

25. Ruby

It looks as if Stu’s worry that there would be nothing to write about might have been wrong.

‘James Goes Pop’ did a good thing getting him back right on time.

26. Kevin Evans

Aye a lot of talk

27. Scott

Ruby says:
    2 December, 2022 at 3:47 pm

Who is the guy with his tongue hanging out in the ‘being prepared’ video?

That be Neil Gray, former MP for Airdrie & Shotts, now MSP for Airdrie & Shotts.

28. Republicofscotland

Quick pass the sick bucket.

“I want to thank @Ianblackford_MP for his many years of leadership of @theSNP WM group, I’ve worked with Ian on many issues & always found him to be a great support. His high poll ratings amongst voters is well deserved & I’m sure his skills will be well deployed in his new role”

Shona Robison.

A more realistic approach as to why Blackford stood down.

https://twitter.com/Obanlad1970/status/1598456595737878530

29. Ruby

Sorry I’m off topic but QFMD I can’t get interested in Blackford or who the next branch manager will be.

This one’s for you ‘Scotsrenewables’

https://archive.ph/a48aj

Listening to those we don’t agree with helps us to tackle their views
    By Joanna Cherry

30. Republicofscotland

Kenny MacAskill tells it like it is.

“A “No If’s No But’s” referendum was continually promised and patsy’s such as Sturgeon’s Westminster Group Leader Ian Blackford assured all that every year it was coming, but next years was a certainty. Yet they knew that was fraudulent.”

Here Kenny rightly puts the boot into Sturgeon the betrayer’s pathetic tactics and chides her Westminster turncoat Blackford as well.

https://kennymacaskillmp.scot/supreme-folly-1st-december-2022

31. robertkknight

Blackford… nothing but a lot of talk wrapped up in a three-piece suit.

32. Mark Boyle

Dear Rev Stu,

In the probably vain hope that you even care less, Gregor has made a grand total of NINETY FOUR (and counting) on the “Snake That Ate Its Own Tail” page linking to various lunatic conspiracy theories – never mind what he’s done elsewhere across WoS for months.

This is your site, you are judged outside it by the company you keep – or more to the point tolerate. The “retirement” excuses don’t wash anymore – you’ve volunteered yourself out of that, and freedom of speech abused is no freedom of speech at all.

If you are happy to sit back and let every psycho post links to all manner of at best, dubious, at worst, sinister conspiracy theory websites, you are judged accordingly, and the likes of old Comfy Slippers and your other detractors will jump on it as proof of your unfitness to be heard by the unhinged elements you give a platform to – qui tacet consentire videtur.

(That some of these morons may well be Sturgeonista cybernats doing so on purpose as “black press” to discredit your site I’m sure must have flittered across your synapses at least once)

33. PinkFlamingosForever

I remember Blackford when he was in the YSN many years ago. He left and went to labour because he wanted to be an mp but not to fight for it at a time when the SNP had very few of them. He just wanted to be in Westminster a d didn’t much care who he represented. I’ve never trusted him. I’m just sad he got what he wanted.

34. Ruby

Mark Boyle says:
    2 December, 2022 at 4:23 pm

Dear Rev Stu,

In the probably vain hope that you even care less, Gregor has made a grand total of NINETY FOUR (and counting) on the “Snake That Ate Its Own Tail” page linking to various lunatic conspiracy theories – never mind what he’s done elsewhere across WoS for months.

Everyone now rushes to “Snake That Ate Its Own Tail” to read Gregor’s links.

I believe it’s called the Streisand effect.

35. James Che

Can anyone edit and correct the Wikipedia page/s regards kings and Queens of Scotland to kings and Queens of Scots.

As Wikipedia has false information on most of its sites with in relation to monarchs in Scotland not of Scots.

This would help Salvo.

Unable to do it with my old ipad, that was given to me a while ago.
    Much appreciated if anyone can help.

36. Stoker

CHANGE OF VENUE FOR ALBA PARTY:

CARRIED OVER FROM PREVIOUS THREAD DUE TO ITS IMPORTANCE:

Dan says on 2 December 2022 at 12:03 pm:

“ALBA Party’s Special National Assembly will now be held in the Salutation Hotel, Perth, on Saturday 10th December.”

https://www.albaparty.org/way-forward-conference-venue

Mark Boyle says on 2 December 2022 at 4:23 pm:

“Dear Rev Stu,… Gregor has made a grand total of NINETY-FOUR (and counting) on the “Snake That Ate Its Own Tail” page linking to various lunatic conspiracy theories – never mind what he’s done elsewhere across WoS for months.

FFS! And he’s not exaggerating either, Rev. Never thought i’d see the day on WOS when the case was made for locking previous threads when a new article goes up. But if ever a case was needed then surely that’s it right there? Jeeezo! (Concerned look emoji) LOL!

37. Scott

James Che says:
    2 December, 2022 at 4:41 pm

Can anyone edit and correct the Wikipedia page/s regards kings and Queens of Scotland to kings and Queens of Scots.

No, only those not using an old apple can edit Wiki pages.

Have you tried using a potato?

38. Scott

Ruby says:
    2 December, 2022 at 4:18 pm

Sorry I’m off topic but QFMD I can’t get interested in Blackford or who the next branch manager will be.

This one’s for you ‘Scotsrenewables’

https://archive.ph/a48aj

I had a look too, and laughed like fuck at…

“The last of the four lectures will be given by Darren McGarvey, author of Poverty Safari, and will definitely be worth a listen.”

I wouldn’t listen to that dick if he was calling the bingo. It will very much be a lecture – about how wonderful he thinks he is at something.

39. Merganser

Sturgeon says she has taken the safety of women and girls more seriously than any other issue in her political career.

Her degree of seriousness can of course be judged by the legislation she is forcing through and her refusal to listen to basic common sense.

It’s a good yardstick to judge how seriously she has taken the ‘issue’ of independence.

40. Fiferjp

His most towering achievement must be getting skelped off four Tory prime ministers in a row.

41. Ruby

Merganser says:
    2 December, 2022 at 5:40 pm

Sturgeon says she has taken the safety of women and girls more seriously than any other issue in her political career.

She means trans women & trans girls.

Transwomen are women!

42. Pipinghot

Yes that is essentially the problem with listening to the drivel that comes out of her mouth. She needs asked by a journalist what she means by women and girls and I am sure it is not what most think

43. Merganser

Ruby @ 5.47.

Well, that’s as good an explanation as any I suppose, even if you do mean it tongue in cheek.

The world Sturgeon has created for herself to live in, gets more bizarre every day now. She must do a lot of parading naked in front of people who admire her choice of clothes, and who jostle for space with a large pachyderm, without complaining.

Fantasy reigns supreme in her mind. And the SNP? See No Problem.

Until the child pops up to blow the gaff. Who will that be? Has any of them read Anderson’s fable do you think

44. McDuff

My God he is so pathetic as are those who support him and the sturgeon. Rev if we could only get your stuff on television it would open thousands of eyes.

45. McDuff

Cath 2.14pm

That`s it in a nutshell.

46. Willie

The videos of this waste of space blowing on how Scotland would not accept this, would not accept that, is a measure of the man.

A blowhard, a mouth, a waste of space. And for the most part so is his team. Couldn’t but help notice a month or so back when the SNP walked out as Alba rose to speak, the absolute subservient curtsy given by Allison Thewless. Boy this was a curtsey with a deft leg movement thrown in.

These folks say one thing, then sup shite. Gratuious shite suppers for the most part. But the wind of change,to quote a phrase. is starting to blow.

The shite suppers and the piss takers up the road have been rumbled. A new movement is forming to replace them. Like Nu Labour they have been found out.

The Westminster lushes have the power to make change. But they haven’t. Will they change and pursue independence. I truly don’t know. Blackford’s going. The skids may be under Nicola. One thing for certain, Blackford has been pushed. Nicola might well be next.

We shall see. A new movement isrising, and rising fast, and the dead brigade are either going to shape up or be shipped out.

47. Wally Jumblatt

I can’t imagine what Sturgeon and her cabal say about Blackford behind his back.

48. mel

And has no-one asked why he has suddenly stood down? Completely and utterly out of character.

Never thought I would miss the News of the World but they would have uncovered a fair few nuggets about Blackford and the rest of the SNP rabble

49. 100%Yes

I like others watch sturgeon departure as FM with hope in mind, the latest from the SNP nec confirmed the reason why I left the SNP.

As watch sturgeon departure from office, she had that smirk of an aragont individual who had just got the news she had been waiting for.

1 has achieved in destroying the SNP Independence or
    2 has she been offered the job she been wanting or
    2 all of the above.

I just can’t get passed how she conducted this press conference.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.