Then and now

Posted on January 04, 2015 by

Labour 2014:

nawhs1

Labour 2015:

nawhs2

The cry, of course, is that privatisation of the English NHS wouldn’t affect Scotland, because health is devolved. (And that somehow there’d be no danger of massive cuts to the Scottish budget under Barnett were it to be privatised.) But Labour’s shadow Health Secretary doesn’t seem too sure he wants that state of affairs to continue:

“That is why I am talking quite passionately about getting English Labour MPs back up the road and for me, sitting down with Neil [Findlay] and Richard [Simpson] and Rhoda [Grant] and others and saying, let’s get health policies that can be consistent across England, Scotland and Wales.

Wouldn’t that be a good thing, pulling in the same direction as opposed to pulling our separate ways?

Devolution, in its early days, was about doing something different and it needs to enter a different phase where we start talking again more about a UK-wide policy because in the end, that helps everybody.”

The cracks between what Labour tells Scots and what it tells the rest of Britain are already enormous. Between now and May we expect to see them became chasms.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 04 01 15 12:21

Then and now | Politics Scotland | Scoop.it

2. 04 01 15 12:59

Then and now | FreeScotland

163 to “Then and now”

1. Lewy Tee Bee

I’m confused by the penultimate statement, how can the levels of spending be the same if there was no NHS at the time?

2. handclapping

Believe nothing ’til you see the “Scottish Labour” manifesto and even then do not believe it either. LibDem tuition fees anyone?

3. Tackety Beets

Don’t shoot the messenger

Who is going to impart the above to the NAW voters ?

100,000 SNP Memebers on doorsteps is the best option

4. Martin

Of course, the worrying aspect is their relating nhs Scotland to devolution, even though it was always a separate entity. This is how they will try and steal it, pretend they’re simply revising devolution. They’re not, they’re trying to steal an independent entity. Any time these utter fuckwits speak their lies must be cast open immediately and vociferously, lest they be believed. I now believe there is no tactic too low for liebour. They must die so we may live

5. jimnarlene

I hope the chasms are deep enough, to bury the lying shysters, once and for all.
    These gits really think, we are; too wee/poor and stupid.

6. crisiscult

how many of the Scottish electorate will be aware? A new WBB for the election?

7. Joemcg

Is that bird with the glasses a no righter holding up that banner? Must be as she has not got a scooby.

8. Murray McCallum

Andy Burnham MP setting out the classic Westminster view that decentralisation is a good thing up to the point where different communities make different choices.

9. muttley79

Who on earth does Andy Burnham think he is kidding with that statement he made?

I see from Wings Twitter that the US government was keeping tabs on American citizens who spoke out in favour of what they call separation! It was called independence when they did it. 😀

I read in a Sunday Herald article that Tom Gordon thinks that the SNP demonised SLAB during the referendum campaign. Does anyone know what he is talking about? I can remember the `virus` speech by Lamont, and Darling saying the SNP were blood and soil nationalists, which really is code for Nazis/fascists. Apparently to Tom Gordon this is not demonisation, no sir.

10. Lanarkist

Labour definitely are pushing the point of Devolution that Donald Dewar ‘delivered’ Devolution and that this enabled the creation of NHS Scotland.

I thought Europe pushed Westminster for Devolution to be brought forward to address demographic deficit and the people delivered the votes that created the Scottish Parliament and that NHS Scotland had always been a separate and Independent organisation since its inception!

Labour rewriting continues apace.

11. wingman 2020

Any move in the direction of unification is preferred by the Labour party. Its the only way they imagine they can have support in Scotland again.

Devolution is the awakening of the Scottish electorate and the dimming of the Labour flame.

12. Brian Powell

Oddd, I wonder why he never mentions Northern Ireland?

13. galamcennalath

“The cracks between what Labour tells Scots and what it tells the rest of Britain are already enormous”

Two possibilities…..

They are only lying to the Scots. Saying anything to save their Union.

They no longer have any grasp on reality so lying, truth, facts … have no meaning now.

14. Taranaich

I cannot fathom how devolved communities doing something different “then” was good, but devolved communities doing something different “now” is not. It is the stupidest thing. It is so patently, blatantly absurd that I cannot truly explain just how stupid it is.

It’s like saying “This car was designed to go fast. And in the beginning, it was good for the car to go fast. But now we should have the car’s speed reduced so other cars can keep up, even though the car was explicitly designed to go faster than other cars.”

IT MAKES NO SENSE

15. donald anderson

Today’s Sunday Mail has a free copy of its Boss paper, the Sunday Mirror. Tories bogey man in Engerland and SNP bogey man in Scotland. Both full of utter drivel amid lies. The only thing worse is listening to English politicians chatting and debating about nothing on TV. Why of why would anyone in theior right mind want to be rule by this lot?

16. Ken500

The only Party protecting Education, NHS, free personal care, bus passes for the elderly, mitigating the ‘room tax’ and protecting the vulnerable in Scotland is the SNP. The Unionists Parties are funded by Hedge Funds, and use the Official Secrets Act to cover up their lies and criminal behaviour. SNP is funded by it’s members.

17. Sinky

Not just the NHS that is then and now.

Sunday Times reports that plans for a fleet of new warships have been hit by spiralling costs and delays, casting doubt over how many of the vessels will be built.

The Ministry of Defence was due to place an order for 13 Type 26 frigates by the end of last year. The contract was a big issue during the Scottish independence debate, with coalition ministers promising the vessels would be built in yards on the Clyde.

Industry sources said the MoD had missed the deadline because of wrangles over the Type 26’s growing sophistication and weight, which had driven up the cost.

The situation has echoes of the aircraft carrier and Type 45 destroyer programmes, which both ended up costing much more than expected. A more expensive specification could leave Britain with a smaller number of highly capable frigates, with the sources suggesting the total order could drop to eight.

18. gerry parker

@crisiscult.

WBB 2.

Definitely one for a crowdfund.

19. Ken500

Westminster is giving people £20 a week tax breaks, and privatising the NHS, to line their pockets. People will have to pay £25+ a week for Health Care insurance. More for families and the elderly. Scotland has to pay more for Healthcare because Holyrood can’t put a tax on ‘loss leading’ alcohol.

20. gerry parker

@ Ken 500.
    Also –

All the excise duties from alcohol and tobacco raised in Scotland go to Westminster, yet the cost of treating illnesses associated with these 2 products falls on the Scottish Health Service.

21. JLT

Words cannot describe the two-faced deceit that Labour, and especially Scottish Labour, trotted out on a daily basis on the run-up to the Referendum.

We need to remind people of the two positions that they held last year when it comes to the NHS; the one before, and the one after.

I really hope come May, that they pay the price in Scotland for that deceit.

22. boris

Powers devolved to Scotland will only be financed and sustained where there is no detriment to the same powers held in Westminster.

The varying health provision needs of individuals throughout the nation are not to be considered in the future calculation of financial allocations so the balance between healthy and sickness levels will be distorted favouring the healthy. This will result in a recurring reduction in Scotlands health services allocation. And this is before any revision of Barnett.

In England the much healthier Midlands and South will be over resourced, in comparison with the North allowing a transfer of recurring finance to private healthcare increasing benefits to the population residing in those areas more inclined to voting Conservative.

23. Bob Mack

Think my last post disappeared. Will try again.
    Firstly I think we all may be concerned without good reason. After all, Jim Murphy states that he is now in charge of Scotland not Westminster, and that things will be done his way.So Jim will veto this nonsense.Wont you Jim.? Jim? Are you there Jim? Apparently Jim as left the building, but I am sure we can expect a statement shortly to put Westminster back in line with Jims claims of autonomy!!!!!!!

24. ClanDonald

Remember Gordon Brown’s speech last year when he said Scots wanted a single UK wide education system too? (I know!). So yes, there’s no doubt what Labour’s “One Nation” agenda is all about; clawing back our devolved powers to make services across the UK the same (I like your car analogy, Taranaich).

http://www.scotsman.com/news/education/gordon-brown-scots-want-uk-wide-school-system-1-3445973

Also, Forbes magazine did an article recently that said the average US family now spends $22,000 a year on healthcare insurance, equivalent to well over £1,000 a month. No wonder these American healthcare companies are desperate to get their feet in the door over here, the profits to be made are eye wateringly colossal:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/danmunro/2013/05/22/annual-healthcare-costs-surpasses-22000/

(An advert will appear, click continue to site).

25. T222Deracha

O/T The Libs, Cons and Labour are still in partnership in Scotland. It appears they have united to bombard the Scottish Government with a barrage of FOI requests about everything to do with the NHS. Precious resources are diverted to deal with the constant stream from these parasites.

26. msean

They do this stuff because they know it works when the mainstream media is London based and London controlled and London compliant. At least it did until the internet arrived.

27. Alastair Wright

Any Wee blue book to be published should focus on what was promised v what is actually happen
    Ing in my humble opinion – just to help underline the reality of being ‘better together’

28. Capella

@ Gerry Parker
    All the excise duties from alcohol and tobacco raised in Scotland go to Westminster, yet the cost of treating illnesses associated with these 2 products falls on the Scottish Health Service.
    In 1988 I was taken on a tour of Royal Lochnagar distillery (owned I think by Diageo) on the Balmoral estate. The guide held up a bottle of their premium malt priced at £16 per bottle. Of that, £15 was tax which went, as you say, to Westminster.

29. tombee

@ Ken500,
    I agree entirely. You are spot on. SNP are the only option to get rid of the lot of them. The only party of government working for Scotland.

30. Effijy

Typical Labour!

In Tory Governed NHS England, we constantly hear of regional health boards and local hospitals failings leading to lack of treatment, malpractice, and indeed avoidable fatalities.

In Labour controlled NHS Wales, they have been nominated as the UK’s worst health service by a distance.

In SNP Controlled NHS Scotland, we still find life very tough, however our Health Service has been protected from Westminster cuts through reductions to other less vital services.

So in summary, Labour would like to stop the protection and additional funds given to NHS Scotland, which of course must increase waiting times, reduce drug and theatre budgets, and inevitably an increase in preventable deaths.

We too can have access to an inadequate Labour or Tory maladministered NHS.
    Vote Labour, Tory, or don’t vote at all and pain, suffering and death -through neglect, can be yours at a one off special rate and for one election only!

Please have a look at the link below as there is an incredible list of Lords who have invested in Health Related companies.
    Companies who could profit from taking over a variety of NHS services before becoming the only option in town-for a very large fee. http://socialinvestigations.blogspot.co.uk/2014/03/compilation-of-parliamentary-financial.html

31. john ferguson

what is WBB?

32. fred blogger

it can never be said enough labour have always been united with the tories in profitising the nhs in fact since the days of thatcher.
    this is the purpose of the 2012 health and social care act.
    which labour now say that they will repeal, but then it will be superseded by TTIP, in any case!

33. Capella

@ John ferguson
    The Wee Blue Book, produced and distributed by Stu during the campaign. See link at top centre of the page.

34. Chic McGregor

The trouble with the Corrupta Club elite (HQ plaque in Westminster, controlling board in The City) is that they have run out of faux ‘people’s champions’ to use. LibDems and Labour have long since shown their true hands and can no longer carry off that trick.

Ironically, Cameron’s “We’re all in it together” may well have been factually correct depending on how you interpret the ‘We’ and ‘it’. 😉

35. Alan McHarg

When government doesn’t listen to the people you get revolution . When your nation is threatened (foreign or domestic) you get war! History is never wrong and lessons should be learned.

36. heedtracker

He’s just another sneaky sh_t from Westminster. “Opposed to pulling our separate ways” just means stopping Scottish democracy, degrade Holyrood as long as it takes to make it powerless again, vote Labour for ever and ever Scotland and he’s pretending he doesn’t know he’s too late. Sept 18 was way too close for job lifers like our 50+ Labour in Scotland MP’s.

37. Dr Jim

Surely the more members we can get in the SNP the stronger the noise we make the more important we become the better financed we become imagine 2.5 million join the party wouldn’t need a referendum then… too much?…Mmmm

38. Lesley-Anne

Devolution, in its early days, was about doing something different and it needs to enter a different phase where we start talking again more about a UK-wide policy because in the end, that helps everybody.”

Hmm … my reading of this from Andy Burnham is:

“Yes we gave those upity Scots devolution but now they have gone too far with their upity ideas of independence, which we won by way of lies and false claims, so now WE, the Labour party, must take back full control. By this I mean of course shutting down completely the Scottish Government. Of course we can not do this in one go otherwise those upity Scots will figure out what is going on so we plan to do it bit by bit. We therefore plan to grab hold of the Scottish N.H.S. and drag it into the English N.H.S. thereby ensuring that the whole of the U.K. suffers the same rate of government health policy incompetence.”

39. Brian S

They know NHS Scotland puts the southern equivalent to shame, hence the desire to harmonise the services. Only problem is, here in Scotland this will lead to a deterioration in the service provided (as there is no chance of sufficient funds being invested down south to bring it up to the level we currently enjoy). So we lose significant investment and watch as our NHS services become more business orientated as is the case with more & more of our near neighbours, with only short term objectives being given any import.
    One example, due to the forward thinking and investment from the SG, we are generally viewed as world leaders in hepatitis c treatment and the “Scottish Government HCV Action plan” is being duplicated in US (while still not being implemented in rUK). This investment from SG to every health authority in Scotland – used to increase treatment numbers is likely to reduce onward transmission, reduce extensive liver disease progression in addition to a reduction in liver cancer – with huge projected savings as a consequence.

40. Macart

Well?

If you voted no based on the varied ‘worries’ and ‘uncertainties’ fired at you during the referendum campaign, just how do you square this circle?

Yeah, they lied to you. Get over it and vote a bit more positively in May. Vote to put as many SNP MPs in the commons as possible. It really is your only defence against all of the Tory parties.

41. r esquierdo

Dr Jim @ Whit ur u drinking the day? 2.5 million members

42. Dr Jim

I know it’s wrong but the girl holding the NO poster is really…NO..it’s definitely wrong..BUT..Must be the specs..god save me i’m finding a labour activist no Voter attractive…. I’m done for…I need an intervention…

43. Chic McGregor

OT
    The attached tube is an excerpt from Charlie Brooker’s 2014 retro, and was, IMO, the serious message stand out in the programme.

I found it very interesting because I have in the past perhaps misinterpreted the apparently conflicting messages from different politicians in the BT camp. Indeed, often made by the same politician to different audiences and in some cases, e.g. Margaret Curran, even sometimes making logically or factually conflicting statements in the same sentence.

Remember Alex’s classic “The trouble with Labour, is they say one thing in public and another thing in public.”?

I had interpreted it simply as a ‘scatter gun’ approach. The strategy being that it doesn’t really matter which scary story ‘converts’ a voter since each voter will only remember the one which scared them the most and disregard conflicting ones, or not even notice those conflicts.

However the idea presented here proposes an altogether more sinister new political propaganda strategy. (At least new in terms of designed scale).

A quick metaphor – Making loud noises to start a stampede and then more to guide it to the cliff edge. Probably obscuring the cliff edge with a smoke screen for good measure. (A method apparently used by Native Americans to hunt buffalo once.)

Anyway, whatever Charlie’s viewing figures are, I think this deserves further exposure on line.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcy8uLjRHPM&feature=youtu.be

44. Ken500

Scotland was promised a separate legal system, church (education) the same monarch that had to be Protestant under the terms of the Act of Union forever. Empty Promises just like the VOW, by the liar Brown, protected by the Official Secrets Act. Masons & Monarchy collude in secrecy and lies, protected by the Official Secrets Act. Their criminality is protected by the Official Secrets Act. Thatcher’s secrecy and lies to cover up criminality, protected by the Official Secrets Act.

The Balfour Agreement 1917.

45. De Valera

Growing up in a Labour household, I was always being told of how the Tories were destroying our country. I remember being taken by my father to a meeting of the local Labour party in 1992 and listening to George Foulkes telling us that the Tories had ripped the heart out of Scotland (althoigh he blamed the SNP for letting Thatcher in).

George Galloway also spent many years ranting about the Tories ruining the country so I was amused to see him dressed as Herr Flick sharing a platform (and looking very comfortable) with Ruth Davidson, basically saying that we would be hunky dory with a Tory government.

The Labour “opposition” to the Tories is all bullshit, the referendum showed us this.

If they want the same policies across the UK, what is the point odf devolution? They may as well take powers back to London or scrap the devolved Parliaments (but not Stormont). Maybe after the GE?

46. Ken500

The secret Balfour agreement 1917 – unelected Lord Balfour and Lord Rothchild

Thatcher’s policy maker unelected Rothchild. Wedtminster secrecy and lies. Protected by the Official Secrets Act.

47. Ken500

Prevention is better than cure.

Free personal care allows people to stay in their own home. £60+ a week. Residential Home care £600 a week, hospital care £600 a day. Free prescriptions prevents hospital care. Cost affective.

Proper ‘one chance’ total abstinence alcoholic/drug policy. Prevents liver damage.

48. Dr Jim

Lord Hennesy of Nympdale in his address to Mr Speakers assembled guests on Parliament and the State advised that the British do not like CCLW and that is the reason they do not like Europe EU because the British did not think of it first and for those of you including me who have not heard of CCLW It means..now wait for it…Catholic Clever and Left Wing and later in this same speech uses this same reference to Scotland inasmuch pretty well as the state would prefer to be kept Presbyterianised if that’s a word, and everyone titters, the more learned of you may advise on the word as long as you’re not Catholic that is..Isn’t Politics a Joy..So uplifting..

49. wee jock poo-pong mcplop

@ Dr Jim, 2:47 – I know what you mean. BUT hover your mouse over her picture; the Rev Stu has done the research for us!

50. steveasaneilean

First things first. The NHS was “invented” in Scotland in the form of the Highlands and Islands Medical Service launched in 1913.
    Secondly the NHS in Scotland has satisfaction levels which are the envy of the rest of the UK and provides the best care in the UK IMHO.
    Thirdly any attempt to merge NHS Scotland with NHS England would and should be fiercely opposed as it would simply turn into a race to the bottom (which of course Labour are always so anxious to avoid).
    Jim Murphy must be pressed on this – does he support Birnham’s push for effective amalgamation or does he believe that NHS Scotland should remain the fully independent entity it has always been, free to choose its own direction and free to tailor its resources in a way that best meets the unique health demands of Scotland?

51. wingman 2020

If there is a cartel at Holyrood generating FOI requests to the Scottish Government… You can be sure they are doing…

NHS
    Education
    Centralised Services eg Police

…in an attempt to discover ‘issues’ to use against the SNP before May.

There is ONLY one Scottish Political Party. The rest are London controlled and have the responsibility to look after 91.5% of the UK electorate over the 8.5% north of the border.

So there should be no surprise that everyone is trying to bring Scotland ‘back into line’
    The referendum always was a Westminster – Scotland struggle. And so we will continue until something changes.

In many respects, the Referendum was a class war. Poor versus Rich. Think about it. (That’s not to say that only poor people voted YES) But the establishment has its heart and soul in London, and only tentacles reach out to the regions.

Generally it was about a poorer country fighting a richer country for the freedom to manage their own economy and destiny in order to avoid further impoverishment and to have the best opportunities to regenerate.

52. IAB

Please please – crowdfund another Wee Blue Book and get it out by March

53. UncleBob

Wait a minute.
    No way are they getting their grubby hands on our NHS, our schools or our anything else. We were promised MORE for us.
    This will lead to the inevitable.

54. TJenny

Weird, but when I open a new WOS page, with link that takes me automatically to the front page, Chris Cairns’ latest toon article ‘Time for a rest’, doesn’t appear!

So far though there are 15 comments with the last comment I can see being mine @ 3.33 – is it the same for others?

55. alexicon

You only need to look at what the Labour party has done to the Welsh NHS to see how hypocritical and damaging the Labour party are to anything they run.

56. Les Wilson

We can never believe anything coming out of Slab or UK labour either ( I know, I know, they are the same beast, but with two tongues!)

We must understand how desperate they are, there is no bottom to how low they will sink.

57. VikingsDottir

I get fed up with the double speak. Devolution is great and Labour thought of it, apparently, and now it’s not so great and we need to become ‘united’ again, if we ever were. I also get fed up with the stereotypical phrases like ‘ spread the risks and share the benefits’ and the one about ‘converting’ people to ‘our cause.’ The Labour Party has lost it’s way in Scotland and I don’t think they’ll ever get back on the path again.

58. Bill Dale

@Wingman 2020

I have to disagree that Scotland is a poor country, its citizens are kept poor by its riches being diverted to a country that is essentially in hock to the tune of around £1.5 trillion (that is 1.5 with 12 zeros after it!)

Of course Scotland is presented as poor by the MSM and the Establishment Imperialists, but we must do everything we can at every opportunity to expose their lies. We need to refute their presentation of Scotland as dependent on “the UK” – it is more the other way around, certainly for the imperialists.

59. Capella

@ TJenny
    Same here. you can only access it through the link at the bottom of this page.

60. alexicon

Sorry for O/T.

More allegations of historic paedophilia at Westminster.

https://archive.today/DjiMX

61. Lollysmum

TJenny & Stu
    Its now 3 hours or so since the toon appeared on Twitter but I still can’t see it in my web browser. Page is now at 58 comments.

62. Capella

@ Jim Dale
    I agree that Scotland is not poor. We are in the position of a householder who has handed over all our assets and revenue to our neighbour who gives us back some meagre pocket money to pay for our expenses.
    We watch in awe as our neighbour builds extensions, completely renovates his house (not the servant quarters in the North wing), new driveways, swimming pools etc etc while we can afford little.
    Let’s at least be aware of the amount being handed over.

63. Dr Ew

@Dr Jim –
    Fantasies about attractive women holding ‘No’ placards, 2.5 million SNP members and a Catholic conspiracy (or possibly Presbyterian, it was difficult to understand what you were on about) sound like symptoms of a fevered mind.

From one doc to another, take a powder then go for a lie down.

64. Dr Jim

Just noticed my email form Nicola Sturgeon it’s a picture of Westminster benches turned Tartan and will appear in tomorrows papers, no doubt Stu will have a wee photy if we ask nice…pretty please..for those not in the party

65. TJenny

Lollysmum et al -58 comments, I can only see 17, weirder and weirder. (wee quizzical faced thingy).

I’ve notified Stu via contact form.

66. muttley79

@Wingman 2020

There is more than one political party in Scotland. They are the SNP, the SSP and the Scottish Greens. The unionist parties just have branch organisations in Scotland, as Lamont pointed out about SLAB.

67. Dr Jim

@Dr Ew
    Not my words Doc, those were the words of the Noble Lord Hennesy of Dympdale at a house of commons lecture to the faithful,the chair of the lecture was John Bercow and i am merely reporting said words.
    The other posting about the young lady was an observation which was noted by other posters also whilst making the point this particular young lady was popping up all over the place during the referendum.
    If you want to behave like an Arse i certainly can’t stop you but be advised your sense of self importance is only important to you and that kind of post has no humour or worth, at least make an attempt to either inform or amuse

68. wingman 2020

@Bill Dale
    @Capella

In some respects you are correct. Today Scotland generates wealth that doesn’t benefit its citizens the way that it should.

Some economic indicators for Scotland are not bad compared to rUK. For example, unemployment figures.

However, over the past 60 years, I’d argue strongly that Scotland has been impoverished compared to the South. The infrastructure and economy have always been 2nd class to the south. There is a massive difference in living standards.

“The most commonly accepted method of determining the wealth of countries and comparing generalized differences in living standards on a whole between nations is to use GDP per capita on a purchasing power parity basis in current international dollars. By that measure it is estimated that in 2013 the richest nation in the world is Qatar, with a per capita GDP (PPP) of over 105 thousand dollars, while the poorest is the Democratic Republic of Congo, with less than 400 dollars.

Richest and poorest countries are here.
    https://www.gfmag.com/global-data/economic-data/worlds-richest-and-poorest-countries

Take for broad examples, the housing stock, average wages, cost of fuel and the amount of motorways and dual carriage way.

Overall Scotland is poorer than England as a country. Its the reason that Scotland has been traditionally a Labour Colony.

And if you don’t believe me… Go live in Surrey, Hampshire, Dorset or Sussex for a month.

69. yesindyref2

Muttley “I read in a Sunday Herald article that Tom Gordon thinks that the SNP demonised SLAB during the referendum campaign. Does anyone know what he is talking about?”

Demonised is maybe a little strong, but there’s no doubt the SNP and YES attacked Labour during the Ref, as did we all, as the only way to achieve an increase in support for Indy, and it worked to 45%.

When the Sunday Herald came out for YES I remember it saying it would still cover the news fairly, with articles covering aspects against Indy as well. Otherwise it would just be seen as a YES organ, same as now it would appear to be an SNP mouthpiece. Personally I think Tom Gordon does a good job, he hits a balance while covering the SNP more than other media does (though in fairness the SoS and even Scotsman do cover it too).

Perhaps one of the best things the SH – and The National – can do, is to cover news the other MSM conveniently ignores, hence forcing them to actually cover it at times. To do that neither can show too much bias.

70. Macart

Now there’s the follow up to the WBB.

Then and Now – the WBB of political soundbites/expediency/bullshit

It’d make an instructive and illuminating read to compare one campaign’s statements and releases against another. What was said to dissuade the Scots from voting for self governance against what the parties will say to get their hands on the big chair in May.

I’m betting you’d have enough to fill a few chapters already. 🙂

71. wingman 2020

@Bill Dale
    @Capella

Further to above post.

There are three measures of Scotland’s wealth

1. What it is as part of the UK overall. (in other words a figure for the UK that includes Scotland) That puts us around the mid twenties on the rich country charts)

2. What it is as part of the UK but worked out distinct from England. In other words the the ‘real current figure’. That will put England up to 20 and Scotland down to the high twenties.

3. Independent. Where our resources are ours and our GDP is all counted towards our prosperity and not funnelled south. This is the real Scotland and would put us up around 10th position depending on which economist did the figures.

So Scotland is arguably a rich country but disproportionately sharing and pooling southwards for 60 years.

72. wingman 2020

The Barnett formula was ‘increased pocket money’ to prevent Scotland noticing the garnishing of their wages by Westminster.

Think about it.

73. Fearchar

It looks to me as if the young lady pictured is wearing outsize glasses with plain glass lenses and has had her hair tied back, both presumably to avoid recognition. (AFAIK, glasses with large lenses are only in fashion with dark ones, except among the Chinese population.) I wonder who she is, and what her connection with the No campaign is/was.

74. muttley79

@yesindyref2

Where are the quotes from SNP figures demonising SLAB? Even on here they were not demonised. I cannot remember hearing anyone from the Yes campaign saying Labour were fascists/Nazis and viruses. It did not happen, and Tom Gordon will know this very well indeed. He made no mention of Labour’s elected members inciting hatred against Yes figures. That is why I have such a low opinion of the MSM.

75. Nana Smith

O/T re the filth in Westminster…

Further questions now need to be asked of Lord Tebbit, Teresa Gorman, Edwina Currie, William Hague and other senior Tories, not to mention Christine Russell and others in Chester Labour Party, of what was known and apparently covered-up about Morrison.

http://ianpace.wordpress.com/2014/10/06/peter-morrison-and-the-cover-up-in-the-tory-party-fully-updated/

76. steveasaneilean

@muttley79 – and not forgetting threats to “bayonet”, “fundamentaliss”, “extremists”. “Hitler Youth” (photo).

77. alexicon

@fearchar.

I don’t think she was trying to evade recognition.
    Her name is Vicki Greig, she is a dental student at Glasgow dental hospital and she is married to a YES man

78. muttley79

Thanks Steve, I forgot about Kathy Wiles and her hate filled venom against indy supporting kids. The other ones are valid as well. Over to you yesindyref2… 😀

79. Capella

@ Wingman
    I think we are basically agreeing. I believe if we managed our economy we would create the infrastructure which generates jobs and wealth as the SE England has been doing for decades. Difference is that Scotland generates enough wealth but our neighbour siphons it off. Westminster borrows massive amounts using oil revenue as collateral and charges us for the interest payments.

80. HandandShrimp

Was Brown not incandescent with rage (well not an unusual state for Gordon by all accounts) over Yes claims that the English NHS was in danger and by dint the block grant for the Scottish NHS. It was a lie he thundered, so if some Labour Herbert knocks at my door and tries to tell me we have to save the NHS I shall refer him to Gordon and warn him to wear asbestos pants because Gordon will smite him with the toe of his boot for spreading such lies.

81. yesindyref2

Mutttley
    No idea who Kathy Wiles is I’m afraid. As for “the quotes from SNP figures demonising SLAB” – do you really want the SH to peddle the Unionist line? I don’t!

But if you want examples of demonising SLAB, look no further to what is, at times, excessively anti-Murphy. And I don’t mean the Rev’s halo article – that was great, and well spotted.

82. muttley79

@yesindyref2

Kathy Wiles was the Labour Westminster candidate for Angus, who had to resign during the referendum for calling children holding a Wings flag at an independence rally “Hitler Youth.”. Taken with the dictator jibes at Salmond, Lamont`s viruses remark, Darling`s blood and soil nationalists comment, could you please quote similar demonisation by SNP elected figures agaisnt SLAB? Even on here, yes there is abuse of unionists such as Murphy, but it is not even in the same league as calling them or him, Nazis and fascists. Also, this site has no connection to the SNP. I have no idea why you defend people like Tom Gordon, when they come out with obviously untruthful statements like this.

83. Rock

What they will say:

‘Vote Labour to keep the Tories out.’

What they will not say:

‘Although they are not too different from us and we stood shoulder to shoulder with them so that they continue to rule Scotland more times then we do.’

Anyone got a Plan B for Scotland in case their eternal mantra works yet again and 40+ Scottish Labour MPs are elected in May?

84. Lollysmum

@ Nana Smith

Don’t make the mistake of just blaming the tories Nana. These cover ups extend across all 3 WM parties spread over many years. By not saying anything then all are complicit.

85. yesindyref2

Muttley
    I re-read the article, and as Gordon says “she stressed the SNP would never support a Tory administration”. He also quotes her “”They will trot out the same old mantra about voting Labour to keep the Tories out,” she said. “That argument is an insult to the intelligence of the Scottish people.”

He then quotes Murphy: “.. that any seat they take off Labour in the General Election makes it less likely that Labour will be the biggest party, and more likely that David Cameron will get to form the next government.”

He has managed to completely negate Murphy, while being completely unbiased in a journalistic sense. That’s class.

86. Rock

Alan McHarg,

“When government doesn’t listen to the people you get revolution .”

We don’t do revolution in Great Britain. We are the mother of democracy. We abide by democracy, the rule of law and fair play, as we proved during the referendum campaign.

Our people are clever and brave, they are not easily conned, bullied or intimidated. We are the envy of the world.

87. Joemcg

Hmm…so miss greig the NHS is not being privatised in across the Uk? It appears you are the liar liar pants on fire,need new glasses hen?

88. Joemcg

The husband is “very supportive” of her campaigning for no and he is in the yes camp? Aye right.

89. Ken500

Scotland raises £53Billion+ (not including taxes from economic activity in Scotland going through London HQ’s + the £Billion tax evaded through the City of London. Oi, taxes were increased 11% (£2Billion) in the 2011Budget losing Scotland £4Billion a year because Oil Co stopped exploration, Scotland raises enough and would be in surplus by not spending according to Westminster policies ie Trident/illegal wars (causing migration etc)

The UK raises £490Billion in tax revenues Westminster spends £600Billion. Borrows £110Billion. Westminster borrow and spends (pro rata) £10Billion more than Scotland, then gives Scotland the £4Billion interest repayment bill.

Google (Or whatever) UK Gov official website – search ‘statistic’ – three documents will appear. Search the pages of the second one – a table will appear of all taxes raised in the UK – £490Billion.

Google (Or whatever) Scottish Gov official website – search GERS – a document will appear – search the pages for the table of all taxes raised in Scotland. £53Billion.

Scotland as always been a richer country (pro rata) but Westminster has secretly taken the wealth from Scotland to unequally spend on London S/E. All UK Gov documents confirm how Westminster secretly underfunded and took from Scotland and still do. The funds are squander and wasted, without any justification. The McCrone Report, (secret for thirty years) Thatcher’s paper, with ‘This must be kep secret’. Etc. Thatcher Minister’s resigned because of what she secretly did on Scottish affairs and the way she underfunded Scotland. Without the SNP Gov at Holyrood, no one would know what Westminster were doing because the Unionist Parties collude in secrecy and lies.

Without the Scottish Gov getting control of spending and taxes, this will continue. Full fiscal autonomy/Independence is what the majority, 70% of the electorate want in Scotland.

When the ConDems can to power the UK was raising £600Billion in taxes and spending £720Billion. (Borrowing and spending £120Billion) The ConDems elected to protect NHS/Education have cut spending on both. The deficit has only been cut £10Billion and because of tax cuts etc they are not raising enough to protect vital services and the vulnerable.

Scotland has always been a wealthier country but it’s wealth has been taken(secretly) to make London S/E wealthier. 1 in 39 people in London are $millionaires. The figures, facts and documents prove it.

90. thomaspotter2014

yesindyref2
    Maybe we should be all pro-Murphy?

91. Ken500

Wealthy, White, middle- class, ignorant ‘journalists’ defend the status quo. Quell surpris. They should be affronted at what they have done.

92. muttley79

@yesindyref2

I never mentioned those parts of his article, so I am not sure why you have mentioned those. I will quote the bit I have talked about here:

`Despite the SNP demonising Labour throughout the referendum’…

Tom Gordon says in this article that the SNP constantly demonising Labour all through the referendum. I asked you where are the remarks from SNP politicians demonising Labour in the referendum? It did not happen imo and Gordon will know this fine well.

93. Ken500

Hague knew about the abuse report and buried (destroyed ?) it. Is that why he is standing down before the truth comes out? Hague has the cheek to parade against abuse with Joli. Hypocrites.

The Westminster crooks cover their tracks. Thatcher is reported to have said, ‘Boys will be boys’, when she was told of the abuse of children. Boys were reported to be abuse at the Grand Hotel, where the Tory conference was held. The IRA bombed the Hotel.

94. steveasaneilean

@ Bookie From Hell – the story maybe true but the premise is rubbish. Scottish banknotes are not “legal tender” but legal tender is technicality of little relevance to the day to day use of banknotes.
    In fact no banknotes are legal tender in Scotland.
    Foreign banks are quite entitled not to accept or change Scottish notes and my experience abroad over the last 30 years is that I have never been able to exchange them.
    There is no obligation to accept them in the rest of the UK either – or, paradoxically, even in Scotland – it’s just an accepted means of transaction.
    As no banknotes have legal tender status in Scotland it is quite legitimate to decline payment in any currency including Bank of England notes, Euros, Dollar,, etc.

95. Ken500

Vicky Greig is extremely ignorant she doesn’t even seem to know who is paying her wages ie Scottish taxpayers. How ignorant are some people? She certainly doesn’t follow events or check out information. Must be too busy pulling teeth, while the wool is being pulled over her eyes. Take off the blinkers.

96. Ken500

It’s not just about the wealth of a country. It is a question of how the wealth is distributed. More equal countries are happier countries with resources benefiting the welfare of the people.

97. Dorothy Devine

Bookie , I posted a reference to it on a previous thread and Cynical and others said there was no proof anywhere to uncover and it was most likely a wind up.

I have no doubt there will be someone ferreting away trying to ascertain the truth – meanwhile ignore it.

98. badgerboydarling

I think Vicky Greig is atypical of the im alright jock mentality that infests certain sections of Scottish society. None so blind as those who refuse to see. Hell mend em!

99. yesindyref2

Muttley
    As we say to the Unionists, is there something about Demonised is maybe a little strong, but there’s no doubt the SNP and YES attacked Labour during the Ref” you don’t understand?

100. yesindyref2

thomaspotter2014
    Tough one. Murphy is probably the best choice for us for the General Election, but he does seem to be a chameleon, has a certain charm, and might pull it off. Findlay would have been the best for Labour and the worst for us, as long as he could get psychotherapy sessions administering an electric shock every time he said “SNP”.

101. badgerboydarling

Sorry that should have said typical not atypical. Doh.

102. Dr Jim

Well everything’s OK then we must not say anything unpleasant about the Labour Party they did nothing wrong did they, they said nothing wrong did they, JEEEZ get real how many time were they caught out by this site and others lying flat out constantly through the whole referendum campaign NO ORGAN TRANSPLANTS, POORER THAN PAKISTAN, excuse the shouting but that’s just a small example but lets do name calling NAZI, KIM JONG IL, STALIN, HITLER all aimed at Alex Salmond and that was just the Telegraph bloody newspaper of course we could burn some effigy’s Oh they did that down south but that was just a sense of humour eh? even Alistair Darling was at it, can we not take a joke? The state broadcaster allowed the lies and misrepresentations to go unchallenged on a more than daily basis to gain their ends. NO not me i will have no part of any lightening up on the Labour Party RED or BLUE i’m 66 years old and i’ve heard it and understood it since i was about 14, Westminster will crush Scotland any way they can it’s what they do like in their DNA our people are an irrelevance to them, power position and money they believe it’s their birthright. I would like to really be the envy of the world and put them back in their box, and this year, now, is our best chance, let’s do it to them before they do it to us
    I’ll stop shouting now…PHEW…

103. Kev

Meanwhile tmrws National quoting the Dugdale as saying her party are prepared do a deal with the snp…have you ever seen a party in such a f*cking shambles? Loving every minute!!

http://thenational.scot/

104. muttley79

@yesindyref2

What do you mean by attacked? Do you mean criticised? If that is what you mean then, yes, the SNP and the wider Yes campaign robustly criticised Labour. It was a political contest, and they engaged in normal political activity.

I asked you to quote comments from the SNP which demonised Labour? To demonise your opponents you need to go much further than the usual rhetoric of a major political campaign. Say for instance you likened your major opponent to murderous dictators, Hitler, Mussolini, Mugabe etc. You may even use code phrases meaning Nazis/fascists to describe your opponents, or liken them to a virus. These are clearly done to demonise your opponents. This is what Labour did, and since you did not quote any SNP figures saying comparable things about Labour, then I am unsure why you are defending Tom Gordon’s words in his article.

105. Tackety Beets

@ Bookie From Hell

It was all over FB yesterday. If WM did act this way it shows them in a poor light .
    B*8****s that they are .

@steveasaneilean

Thank you for the info .
    Altho I have had Scottish 20’s accepted in Swiss banks in the past .

Can you shed any more on my question raised previously ( pre Ref as I thought it may be significant) probably not ?

BOE notes state POUNDS whereas ALL Scottish notes state POUNDS STERLING

Thanks
    I

106. john king

Badgerboydarling eh? says
    “I think Vicky Greig is atypical of the im alright jock mentality that infests certain sections of Scottish society. None so blind as those who refuse to see. Hell mend em!”

Maybe if she had a pair o these it would help?
    http://tinyurl.com/np4xjla

No not the bars,
    but then again?

107. Nana Smith

@Lollysmum

I did say filth in Westminster, meaning all three parties.

The paragraph naming the tories is from the article.

108. john king

Totally with you on that Dr Jim,
    I cant think of a group of people LESS deserving of our concern or consideration for the disgraceful way they behaved for the benefit of themselves at whatever cost to the people they were supposed to represent,

No amount of opprobrium is too much for those people!

109. john king

Btw you forgot
    Robert Mugabe,(ludicrous)

Pol Pot,(FUCKING DISGUSTING)

Hugo Chavez? (maybe they might have asked the Venezuelans what they thought of him before using that one)

Mandela (Thatchers cabinet treated him as a terrorist)
    Not meant as a complement

We on the other hand were variously called
    The Tartan Taliban,(there simply are no depths)

Cybernats (that was a mistake FFFFFFFFOOUKES EH?)

Insurgents(Jesus Christ)

110. john king

Btw you forgot
    Robert Mugabe,(ludicrous)

Pol Pot,(FUCKING DISGUSTING)

Hugo Chavez? (maybe they might have asked the Venezuelans what they thought of him before using that one)

Mandela (Thatchers cabinet treated him as a terrorist)
    Not meant as a complement

We on the other hand were variously called
    The Tartan Taliban,(there simply are no depths)

Cybernats (that was a mistake FFFFFFFFOOUKES EH?)

Insurgents(Jesus Christ)

Feel free to add to the list because I know there are plenty more where those little (affectations) came from
    please dont try and tell US indyref2 just how nasty we have been to poor wee SLAB
    BECAUSE IT WONT WASH

111. Dr Ew

@Dr Jim
    Regardless of the source of the quote, you chose to repeat it and, by implication, to promote the idea. If you haven’t the balls to stand by it don’t take it out on me.

As regards your comments about the young woman, I tried to make light of it and wouldn’t even have bothered to post if it hadn’t been for your subsquent posting(s) of garbled conspiracy theories and the ludicrous proposal that 2.5 million SNP members is a serious or even desirable goal.

If you can perhaps explain some kind of coherent rationale to your thinking I’m all ear;, if you’re just going to throw personal insults… well, you know where you can stick ’em.

112. Dr Jim

@ John King
    Thanks John, I was getting myself slightly miffed at the idea of some people giving our opponents any kind of a break after their behaviour in the Indyref and in general, usually i,m a little less excitable and more humorous, like a lot of folk my age i would like Independence before i snuff it, the day after’s not much to look forward to..Little death humour there..

113. Ken500

Fifi doing a deal with anyone? That’s hysterical. Now they really are taking the P

114. Ken500

The ‘Royals’ are at the under age abuse. The Official Secret Act will cover it up.

115. john king

well that’s annoying, I had a blip but didn’t know that my post had gone on!

116. Alex Clark

Boris is looking for £27 Billion for Crossrail 2 don’t worry though it will be partly funded by London itself by the treasury providing directly a proportion of the stamp duty raised in London specifically for the Crossrail 2 project.

How stupid does this buffoon think we are? Any money spent there cannot be spent elsewhere, in Scotland for example. I’m sick of this crap.

Of course it will be expensive – £27 billion in today’s prices – and we must acknowledge the strong feeling in the rest of the country that London has had it pretty good lately.

https://archive.today/UVURG

117. john king

yesindyref2 says
    “no idea who Kathy Wiles is Im afraid”

Let me enlighten you
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28106688

Lest we forget!

118. Alex Clark

£27 Billion on Crossrail 2, £25 Billion of cuts in he next parliament. So that’s where the money will come from?

119. muttley79

@Alex Clark

I see you are on Guardian Cif, good man!

120. Alex Clark

@muttley79

Yeah quite bored tonight and Wings seems to be playing up. 🙂

121. Natasha

Dr Ew and Dr Jim – please shake hands and bury the hatchet (preferably not in each others’ heads).

I honestly think Dr Ew was just being lighthearted, Dr Jim, it certainly didn’t come across to me as meant nastily, and Dr Ew I think Dr Jim just flew off the handle a bit in his response to you. Be nice to each other and put the testosterone away – it’s the New Year and we’ve got real battles to fight in the next four months! 🙂

If you’re not careful, I’ll call in Paula Rose. . .

122. Big Jock

Mutley the no side don’t need to demonize the Yes side or the SNP. BBC do their propaganda publicity for them. UKIP are an extreme right wing party, Tories are right wing,Labour are middle right and SNP soft left. But how often do we hear BBC talking of UKIP and SNP together as nationalist parties in the same breath. Its a deliberate association to demonise the SNP. It’s disgraceful given that the voting public are supporting the SNP by nearly 50%, and its because they are a soft left party or partly.

The media in Scotland are disgusting. The politicions are just chancers and careerists. We lost the referendum because of the BBC,Daily Record,Scotsman and ITV,not because of Darling or Brown. Rather it was their take on what the politicions were saying that demonised the Yes campaign.

If we are going to win the next referendum we need to challenge the BBC and the media. We cannot allow them to behave the way they are and keep doing it. BBC Scotland are still on their anti SNP campaign. This is continuing as they achieved what they wanted and now don’t know how to be impartial.

123. yesindyref2

Jesus, I’m outta here.

124. Dr Jim

@Dr Ew
    Because i’m reporting on what someone else said you consider that to be promotion? So i’ll, as you say stand by anything i say, but this time i’ll just say “Idjit” and now you can once again be full of bravery and self importance and insult me yet again, and you’ll still be an “Idjit”

125. Natasha

🙁

126. Dr Jim

@ Natasha
    If you look back at the posts Natasha you’ll notice all i did was to report on something on the Parliament channel and a little lighthearted stuff and it seems to have become an issue, i never have had this kind of nonsense before have a look back, i’m not at all the type of person who insults anyone especially over the internet normally i’m the one saying ignore unpleasantness,i do however apologise to you if spoiled your mood…

127. Natasha

Dear Dr Jim
    I wasn’t getting at you, I was just trying to pour oil on troubled waters. I genuinely don’t think Dr Ew was meaning to have a go at you, but maybe I was wrong. Anyway, I hope you two can make peace. I’ve always liked your posts. I’ll butt out now.
    All the best! 🙂

128. Robert Peffers

@jimnarlene says: 4 January, 2015 at 12:27 pm:

” … These gits really think, we are; too wee/poor and stupid.”
    Aye! Jimnarlene, but most of all they think we are far too stupid. I contend that by doing so they prove to all that it is they who are far too stupid.

Aiblins wi micht bi a puckle puir an even a puckle wee, bit by goad wir afu bonnie fechters.

129. Robert Peffers

@john ferguson says:4 January, 2015 at 1:55 pm:

“what is WBB”John, and look at the top middle of the page

Scroll to the top of this page, John.
    At the top-middle you will find a link to the WBB, (Wee Blue Book).

130. liz g

Oh Natasha at least you tried. Pack it in doctors or I too will call for Paula Rose. Rember who the real enemy combatants are. !!!!Well if we are INSURGENTS!!!!!!!!!!

131. ronnie anderson

@ yesindyref2 The photo that Kathy Wiles took offence to

Pacific Quay 2 (29th June),
    courtesy of caz m & partician.

Note no children were holding the Wings Banner.

132. Robert Peffers

@wingman 2020 says: 4 January, 2015 at 3:57 pm:

“There is ONLY one Scottish Political Party. The rest are London controlled and have the responsibility to look after 91.5% of the UK electorate over the 8.5% north of the border.”

Not true. The Greens are indeed the Scottish Greens, there are the SSP and Solidarity just for starters.

133. Robert Peffers

@steveasaneilean says: 4 January, 2015 at 8:26 pm:

” … the story maybe true but the premise is rubbish. Scottish banknotes are not “legal tender” …

I just cut & pasted this from the Bank of England’s webpages, “All that legal tender means is that if debtors pay in legal tender the exact amount they owe under the terms of a contract, they have good defence in law if they are subsequently sued for non-payment of the debt. In ordinary day to day transactions, the term ‘legal tender’ has very little practical application.

In fact all bank notes are, “Promissory Notes”. In effect not any kind of legal tender whatsoever, because they are all IOUs.

Each one carries a promise to, “Pay the bearer on demand”, at a legal head office address the stated sum in pounds sterling. i.e. the note itself is NOT pounds sterling. Thus even BofE banknotes are NOT legal tender.

134. boris

Mainstream media in support of “Better Together” spread the lie Vicky was raising the Spectre of Privatisation but this was not the case. She was referring to a maliciously mis-reported release, by a so called “whistleblower” of plans by Mr Salmond to DRASTICALLY cut NHS funding which would result in a reduction in the quality of exisiting service provision in Scotland.

See Vicky Relaxing

http://caltonjock.com/2015/01/05/vicki-greig-abuse-of-impressionable-young-woman-through-use-of-lies-about-nhs-funding/

135. Ken500

Some dentists need a crash course in economics. Hope their dental research is more affective than their political/economic research or are they all in it together. The Dcottsh Gov spends more on Healthcare pro rata than the rest of the UK and are putting another £1/2Billion into the NHS. (Some saved from the estimated costs of Forth Road Bridge). Add in the free personal care spending (which cuts NHS care costs). Extra NHS Grampian spending, because of historical underfunding by Labour/Unionist for over thirty years. Clearing up the mess. Barney Crooked on the Board. Wicked Young as understudy. Wasting £Millions of taxpayers money. Along with the Green, elected to stop the essential road, running the Council. The campaign secretly funded by feudal landowners. You couldn’t make it up. Oh yes they can.

Scottish budget cut by £1.3Billion a year by Westminster, Oil tax revenues increased 11% (£2Billion) a year since 2011 Budget. Oil companies cut production. Losing Scotland £5.3Billion+ a year. – over £20Billion since 2011Budget. Westminster secrecy and lies.

136. Stoker

BBC Slabber (Morning Call) questioning free school meals for primary (1-3) kids.

Its an SNP policy so the scummy BBC Slabber would question it, wouldn’t they.

Tell you what, Slabber scum, i’d rather feed a child than kill one.

Bairns not bombs.

137. Ken500

Unionists have already partially privatised the Dental system. Vicky seems rather confused.

138. Alex Beveridge

Just an observation on Andy Burnam, M.P, the present Labour Shadow Secretary of State for Health at Westminster, the same person to whom the article refers. As far as I am aware he was the Health Secretary, who, in the last Labour Government, was the first to privatise a hospital in England, that being, Hinchingbrooke Hospital in Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire. And this is where my comment takes on a personal note because last month my brother-in-law, who stays in the area, had the misfortune to suffer a stroke, and despite Hichingbrooke being a major hospital, it didn’t possess a unit where he could be treated, and so he had to be taken to Addenbrookes Hospital in Cambridge, a somewhat tortuous road journey. Now whether this has anything to do with the fact that it has been privatised I know not, but even although he had suffered a life-threatening event he was still dicharged from the Cambridge hospital less than 24hrs later, sent home, and told to self-medicate. I’m glad to say he now seems to be recovering, but this one event should serve as a warning to all of us, not that we probably need one, of the dangers of more lies being spouted from the Labour Party, who are as much to blame for the state of the N.H.S in England, as are the co-alition. Andy Burnam, the same person who only last year, pleaded with the tories, not to stop privatisation of health service, just to slow it down. Despicable, but then he fits the bill of most now permeating this once socialist party.

139. Big Jock

Stoker I haven’t heard it as on holiday today. However if they are criticising for the sake of criticising. Then Murphy is following the same road that Lamont and the rest went down. He said he wanted to agree with the good things and question the bad things the government did. So how can feeding kids be anything but good regardless of funding and party policy. Its more of the same from Slab. Murphy will lose votes not bring more back. Like I said in my post before. My straw poll indicates he is detested amongst all voters. I think the most common word for him is creepy!

140. Stoker

I’m willing to bet that the “American” bint in the picture at the top of this article is named “Kimberly” and claims to live in Glasgow with one child of primary school age.

Listen to today’s Morning Call on BBC Slabber on the iplayer,
    (re – free school meals), and hear for your self.

141. Lollysmum

It seems that SNP members have adopted two new Twitter hashtags in celebration at being renamed by WM

#Insturgeoncy and #Insturgents

Great sense of humour there 😉 Think I might just use them myself.

142. Stoker

BJ,
    It was definitely another attack piece by BBC Slabber with the vast majority of “opinion”, calls, text messages etc against the policy.

Those in favour were routinely and constantly interrupted by ignorant UKOK Kay. With those against largely getting away with making statements that should have been questioned.

Not only that but some of the tripe was repeated and reinforced by UKOK Kay without question. The mantra of how it was a waste of money which could be spent elsewhere within the education system was a particular favourite of UKOK Kay and her “callers.”

But as soon as one caller came on and rhymed off a few money saving ideas which would be better off invested in education, House of Lords & Trident etc, it was a case of “Oh, OK, thanks for that, next caller please.”

One of the callers against the free meals was, apparently, an American woman who lives in Glasgow and has one child of primary school age. She repeatedly got away with making points which should have been questioned. She was even allowed to interrupt another caller, or guest.

btw, your “creepy” description of Skeletor, in my experience so far, is bang-on!

143. bjsalba

Why is it that the UKOK Westminster crew can never do any honest campaigning using pictures of real British people ?

How many times have they been caught photo-shopping pictures and portraying people as what they are not?

Fakes from start to finish.

144. Stoker

@ Lollysmum,

If it wasn’t for the fact that the media are using these terms in an insulting derogatory manner i would be very tempted to change my username to ‘Taliban Tam’.

145. Big Jock

So BBC Scotland continue their official opposition to Scotland and Holyrood campaign. Later on on call UKay. They had loads of farmers on bleating about cuts and how hard it was farming nowadays in the UK. So they moaned about independence before the vote. They vote no and are now complaining about how bad farming is in the UK! They only have themselves to blame for voting no if they did so. No point in staying in a club then moaning about it when you had the chance to leave it!

146. snode1965

Radio Scotland has around 830,000 weekly listeners. That’s 120,000 per day, which is 3.5% of the electoral population. Most of its listeners are OAP Unionists, who will never see the light. So why do we let these shows ramp up our blood pressure? I didn’t listen to its propaganda before 2014 and will never again, don’t feed the BBC Labour trolls!

147. Gary

So devolution was GREAT when Labour controlled Holyrood. But since they don’t control it, its now a BAD idea. Power, that’s all they care about.

148. Big Jock

True Snode but the 45% also fund the BBC. So there is a cost for this guff. Whereas the Record et al are optional purchases. Why can’t our national broadcaster just report the news like we pay them for.

149. snode1965

@ Big Jock, If only! Unfortunately the majority of people in the UK still believe that the BBC is impartial and beyond reproach. State funded propaganda as is TASS in Russia, IRIB in Iran, FOX in USA etc. We sit in our living rooms and question how foreigners can be so gullible! HaHa! At least we folks in the Independence Movement ken better. British state control via Royalty, Westminster, Whitehall and BBC, Britain set the template for Totalitarian control for the rest of the criminal states to copy!

150. Stoker

@ Snode1965.

I disagree with one or two points you make in your post @ 12.05pm.

Firstly, you mention listening figures, which i neither trust or believe in their accuracy, especially when it’s associated with the BBC and regardless of the source from which they came.

The figures, in the way you have presented them, are very misleading in many ways and are not broken down to reflect the audiences for individual programmes.

Falling audience figures for certain BBC political programmes are absorbed into, and hidden within, the greater total, and deliberately so.

Secondly, you state as fact that most of Radio Scotland’s listeners are Unionist OAP’s “who will never see the light.” You may very well be correct, but i’m talking about one political programme here and i certainly have no way of knowing who or what its listeners are.

Given that the majority of the Scottish population is supposedly on the wrong side of 50, and the largest group to vote No was apparently the over 55′, there is a very good chance that your statement could be very close to the truth, or at least part of it.

However, even if you are correct about most of their listeners being OAP’s i disagree with you on them not seeing the light. I believe that sort of thinking is mildly insulting and slightly defeatist. If we’re to just brush off a certain group with an assumption, a very important group of the electorate, we are doomed to failure.

Thirdly, i also rarely listen to its political propaganda programmes but maybe that’s one of the ways where we have been going wrong. It’s important to know and understand the enemy or you will be defeated every single time. If we don’t know the lies they are peddling how do we counter them? Know your enemy.

To listen to radio or watch iplayer costs you nothing more than the price of a bit of electricity – no fancy tv licence fee required – and its extremely important that BBC Slabber is monitored and not just left to spout lies and deceit via its news and political programming. Scotland’s future is far to valuable to be turning a blind eye on the media, including the BBC.

As i said, Snode, i rarely watch or listen to BBC Slabber political programmes but the stakes are now too high for us to be turning a blind eye. I now intend on tuning in far more often and raising complaints when necessary.

I don’t pay the BBC Tax Fee and i don’t help them make money by participating in their shows by texting or calling the show in question.

In fact, if i had the ability and know-how, i would set up a blog site almost identical to the Rev’s and focus solely on monitoring the BBC, with the main focus on BBC Slabber and its news & political programming etc.
    https://archive.today/YgvPQ

151. snode1965

@ Stoker, I hear what your saying, though I can only judge the audience from the callers. When an alleged neutral broadcaster either shouts down or cuts off any dissenting voices, I personally can no longer listen. I agree on the listening figures, we have discussed this in work, I have no idea how a state broadcaster knows who is listening. More power to you if you can handle listening to every politically biased show on the beeb, afraid my BP canny take it!

152. Hobbit

Wingman2020 – the gaps between Scotland and the south-east are well-understood, as is the relationship between poverty and higher demands on the health system. But the other issue, as I see it, are the gaps *within* Scotland: male life expectancy in an area like Bearsden is at least 80. In the Glasgow area of Calton it is much less than 60, which is less than the mean for India.

It seems to me that this could be a good avenue for the SNP to explore in its advocacy – that independence would allow these internal gaps to be tackled as well.

153. Stoker

@ Snode,

Not sure my BP will hold out either.
    I have no intention of listening to every show for that very reason.
    Nah, eff that, i’d be hospitalised before the days oot!

154. Brian Fleming

Taranaich: “I cannot fathom how devolved communities doing something different “then” was good, but devolved communities doing something different “now” is not. It is the stupidest thing. It is so patently, blatantly absurd that I cannot truly explain just how stupid it is.”

Taranaich, it’s just “4 legs good, 2 legs bad” becoming “4 legs good, 2 legs better”.

155. North chiel

Agree with snide 1965 in fact I note tonight that “the Jackie Bird”
    Show is back with a bang , with surprise surprise “star billing” for
    Jim Murphy with supporting acts Ruth Davidson and “the secretary
    Of state for Portsmouth” Of course Nicola was “relegated ” to domestic
    Matters re school meals .
    “Bitter together ” “top of the bill” .A forerunner of what’s to come ?

156. Bobnugent

Having read all the comments, it makes me more than desperate to get the Same activity we achieved during the referendum to make sure we get out and around all voters whether they voted yes or no.

We need to make sure the media(Scottish) gets THE MAXIM AMOUNT OF E MAILS ,TWEETS FACEBOOK AND ANY OTHER SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS INTO THEIR SYSTEMS.

We have started to get the same MISINFORMATION as before, we cannot let these people beat us we have the right to get the goverment we want NOT take second Best.

Please lets get all likeminded people to pull together and get rid of a truly outdated labour quango who have let Scotland down for years.

157. Dr Jim

Given the NHS in Scotland is devolved what’s St James of the holy Murphy on about, maybe it’s just me but i’m not sure i get this..If Labour win the GE he will put 1000 more nurses in our hospitals, Labour may well win the GE but i still don’t get it HOW? Cash in a wee envelope is it? Ask Ed at head office to put extra in the block grant with a wee label on (For nurses only) I can only think if lt’s true then there’s a fifty fifty evens bet either way, but no, i still don’t get it? Maybe somebody smarter than me’s worked this out.

School dinners bad, Eh? I used to love my school dinners but when i was at school the payment system was bad, at that time the very poor kids were free and then if your folks had a bit more cash or a job you paid a sliding scale depending on how many kids you had at school, this led to finger pointing at the worse off kids for getting the so called free meals and then they’d stop coming and so defeating the whole point of school meals in the first place. SLAB seem to be complaining about better off kids going free and don’t seem to get that a means tested approach actually costs more money in administration plus whether people like it or not the better off folks are paying their taxes the same as with free prescriptions, just always seems to me SLAB want to discriminate against somebody, anybody, or just be disagreeable for the sake of opposing something good, apart from all the obvious nutritional value that adds to academic improvement it’s got to help Mums on every level surely.

I think the smokers out there, including me, need to keep their empty fag packets handy for SLABS next policy documents… I am an Insturgeont…

158. Lochside

@Chic McGregor re. Charlie Brooker video has gone unremarked unfortunately. Chic, I watched this and it is a timely reminder of what we have been experiencing in reality here in UKOK LAND.

The deliberate State funded, msm executed project fear and now Project fear and confusion is with us right now. Orwell described it in ‘1984’ how no-one really knew who the ‘enemy’ was at any time; how alliances between ‘Oceania’ and other power blocks were never clear and wars and rumours of wars were the norm.

Even Party workers were uncertain, whilst the ‘proles’ were fed computer generated pap and ‘mass hates’. In the past the Romans had Bread and circuses to confuse the masses. Today, we have ‘Quantitative easing’ and ‘The Daily Mail’.

Referring back to the previous thread ‘Union of Snakes’ we are seeing the strategy of Murphy being showcased stating gibberish e.g.’1000 more nurses’ as serious political strategy.It is nothing of the sort..it is the ongoing obfuscation of political reality by the msm to confuse and divide.

We all know that no matter what this dupe says or does not say that it doesn’t matter anyway. No-one will question him seriously. Instead we will get show trials of SNP politicians and simultaneous character assassinations of the SNP leadership.

Another sinister development is the new three hour ‘Call UKAYE’ programme. The same distorted narrative of every SNP initiative being dissected and rubbished by vetted callers..(I can verify this, as I have been blocked since the Referendum, despite being allowed on in previous years).

Make no mistake, despite Prof. Robertson and others erudite and unassailable evidence of BBC bias during the Referendum, the BBC has actually stepped up its assault on the forces of democracy and freedom in this country.
    Murphy is the unlikely but highly dangerous main actor in this charade being enacted in front of our eyes.

Will the SNP try to win playing the Westminster game?
    I hope not…the game is seriously fixed.

159. Chic McGregor

@Lochside

Exactly.

Unless transparency and integrity is restored very quickly,
    there will be revolution. Not tomorrow or the next day but sooner rather than later.

Probably many of the piggies already realize that but simply cannot wean themselves off that trough.

160. Big Jock

I think people are now questioning why the government of Scotland. Are not given the same air time as the opposition. The BBC hate, and I mean hate the SNP. That’s all of us on the Yes side by default they hate. So don’t expect anything from a state media thats main aim is to destroy the government of the nation. Things are getting worse on BBC Scotland not better. They might as well change their name to SLBC.

161. North chiel

Just heard northbound radio “announce” that Jim Murphy
    “Is locked in talks” with “oil bosses” over “job losses” in the
    Industry.What a joke! As if he can do anything over world oil prices
    Or cut oil taxes.Come to think of it he is probably trying to solicit campaign
    Donations
    You couldn’t make this up! Naturally he will receive “Headline billing”
    On the “Jackie show again”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.