The Tumbleweed Files

Posted on March 27, 2014 by

Readers probably won’t be astonished to learn that we’ve still heard nothing from anyone in Scottish Labour in response to our six simple questions about their “Devo Nano” proposals. We’ve waited three full days now and haven’t had so much as an acknowledgement of receipt or a reply to any of our tweets, so it seems safe to say we’re not going to get one.

tumbleweed

So now it’s up to you.

Had they the courage to answer at all, doubtless Labour’s Don’t Tell Anyone The Truth Team would say that none of them are obliged to deal with enquiries from someone who isn’t one of their constituents, especially if they’re an evil separatist webste.

But tens of thousands of you are. Between Holyrood and Westminster, Labour MPs and MSPs cover almost every inch of Scotland. Nearly everyone reading this article will have either a Labour MP, a Labour MSP or both, and they ARE answerable to you.

So we’d very much appreciate if you could fire off the email below (tweak or amend it as you see fit, but please don’t be abusive) to your representative or representatives. They can’t just blank all of you – or if they do, it’ll be a scandal even the mainstream media won’t be able to ignore.

Dear [name]

I wonder if you could give me some answers to these questions about your proposals to partially devolve taxation to the Scottish Parliament in the event of a No vote in the independence referendum. I’ve been unable to discern the answers from the full version of the Devolution Commission’s report and would appreciate if you could clarify your position.

1. Johann Lamont told Gordon Brewer this month that Scotland would not be allowed to have a top rate of tax which was lower than the UK’s top rate. Under your proposals, would Scotland be allowed to undercut the UK on the basic rate (or the 10p rate which UK Labour is committed to introducing if elected in 2015)?

2. Ms Lamont made plain, however, that it would be possible for Scotland to have a higher top rate than the UK. Would Scotland also have the ability to increase the basic rate above the UK level, or only the higher rates?

3. If the answer to Q1 is “No”, then if Scotland ever chose to unilaterally raise the upper rate it would be impossible to ever lower it again – because the proposals only allow the upper rate to be decreased if all other rates are decreased along with it, and doing so would result in Scotland having a lower basic rate than the UK, which would be illegal.

Are the proposals deliberately intended to create a situation where irrespective of what government was elected to Holyrood in the future and what its policies/mandate were, it could only ever increase the top rates of tax, never lower them?

4. If, on the other hand, the answer to Q1 is “Yes”, lowering the top rate after a previous increase – so that it was the same as the UK’s but the basic rate was now below the UK’s – could reasonably be expected to cause damaging competition, as workers from the rest of the UK flooded into Scotland looking for jobs on which they’d have to pay lower taxes. Do your proposals contain measures to counter this problem?

5. Meanwhile, if the UK raised the top tax rate – as Ed Miliband proposes – we know from Ms Lamont’s public comments that Scotland would be forced to follow suit. But if the UK then restored it to its original level (perhaps as a result of a different government being elected), would Scotland be unable to do so for the reasons outlined in Q1, and be forced to keep an upper tax rate higher than that of the UK?

6. If the answer to Q5 is “Yes”, does that mean that a UK government could, if it chose to for any reason, deliberately engineer a situation whereby it had a permanently lower top rate of tax than Scotland, putting Scotland at a locked-in disadvantage by incentivising the wealthy to move out of Scotland to enjoy the lower top rate in the rest of the UK?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

[your name]

Below are direct email links for all the members of the Devolution Commission. Addresses for other Scottish Labour MPs and MSPs can be found here. If any of these people represent you at either Holyrood or Westminster, please take two minutes out of your day to contact them and ask these polite and entirely reasonable questions.

DEVOLUTION COMMISSION MEMBERS

Johann Lamont (MSP, Glasgow Pollok)

Anas Sarwar (MP, Glasgow Central)

Margaret Curran (MP, Glasgow East)

Sarah Boyack (MSP, Lothian)

Jackson Cullinane (Chair, Scottish Labour)

Gregg McClymont (MP, Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)

Duncan McNeil (MSP, Greenock and Inverclyde)

Catherine Stihler (MEP)

Willie Young (Councillor, Aberdeen City Council)

OTHER SCOTTISH PARLIAMENT MSPs and UK PARLIAMENT MPs

They’re asking you to vote No on the basis of what powers they’ll deliver to the Scottish Parliament in return (assuming they can also persuade the people of England to elect a Labour government in 2015). A basic explanation of how those powers will or won’t work seems the absolute bare minimum you’re entitled to ask them for.

(We’d appreciate it if you could post in the comments when you’ve sent the mail, noting which MP and/or MSP you contacted. Please contact your own representative even if someone else has already done so – the more mail they get the greater the pressure – but that’ll enable us to see who has and hasn’t been covered, and assist the media with covering the story.)

APPENDIX – REPRESENTATIVES CONTACTED TO DATE

Douglas Alexander (MP, Paisley and Renfrewshire South)
Jackie Baillie (MSP, Dumbarton)
William Bain (MP, Glasgow North East)
Claire Baker (MSP, Mid Scotland and Fife)
Richard Baker (MSP, North East Scotland)
Gordon Banks (MP, Ochil and South Perthshire)
Jayne Baxter (MSP, Mid Scotland and Fife)
Claudia Beamish (MSP, South of Scotland)
Anne Begg (MP, Aberdeen South)
Neil Bibby (MSP, West of Scotland)
Sarah Boyack (MSP, Lothian)
Gordon Brown (MP, Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath)
Katy Clark (MP, North Ayrshire)
Jackson Cullinane (party chair)
Alistair Darling (MP, Edinburgh South West)
Iain Davidson (MP, Glasgow South West)
Thomas Docherty (MP, Dunfermline and West Fife)
Brian Donohoe (MP, Central Ayrshire)
Frank Doran (MP, Aberdeen North)
Gemma Doyle (MP, West Dunbartonshire)
Kezia Dugdale (MSP, Lothian)
Mary Fee (MSP, West of Scotland)
Patricia Ferguson (MSP, Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn)
Neil Findlay (MSP, Lothian)
Rhoda Grant (MSP, Highlands and Islands)
Iain Gray (MSP, East Lothian)
Tom Greatrex (MP, Rutherglen and Hamilton West)
Mark Griffin (MSP, Central Scotland)
Tom Harris (MP, Glasgow South)
David Hamilton (MP, Midlothian)
Hugh Henry (MSP, Renfrewshire South)
Cara Hilton (MSP, Dunfermline)
Jim Hood (MP, Lanark and Hamilton East)
Cathy Jamieson (MP, Kilmarnock and Loudoun)
James Kelly (MSP, Rutherglen)
Johann Lamont (MSP, Glasgow Pollok)
Mark Lazarowicz (MP, Edinburgh North and Leith)
Lewis Macdonald (MSP, North East Scotland)
Hanzala Malik (MSP, Glasgow)
Jenny Marra (MSP, North East Scotland)
David Martin (MEP)
Michael McCann (MP, East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow)
Gregg McClymont (MP, Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)
Margaret McCulloch (MSP, Central Scotland)
Margaret McDougal (MSP, West of Scotland)
Jim McGovern (MP, Dundee West)
Anne McGuire (MP, Stirling)
Ann McKechin (MP, Glasgow North)
Siobhan McMahon (MSP, Central Scotland)
Anne McTaggart (MSP, Glasgow)
Graeme Morrice (MP, Livingston)
Jim Murphy (MP, East Renfrewshire)
Ian Murray (MP, Edinburgh South)
Pamela Nash (MP, Airdrie and Shotts)
Fiona O’Donnell (MP, East Lothian)
Graeme Pearson (MSP, South of Scotland)
John Pentland (MSP, Motherwell and Wishaw)
John Robertson (MP, Glasgow North West)
Alex Rowley (MSP, Cowdenbeath)
Frank Roy (MP, Motherwell and Wishaw)
Lindsay Roy (MP, Glenrothes)
Anas Sarwar (MP, Glasgow Central)
Richard Simpson (MSP, Mid Scotland and Fife)
Drew Smith (MSP, Glasgow)
Elaine Smith (MSP, Coatbridge and Chryston)
David Stewart (MSP, Highlands and Islands)
Catherine Stihler (MEP)
Willie Young (Aberdeen City Council)

528 to “The Tumbleweed Files”

1. Bugger (the Panda)

They gave you their response, in code, when they had you chucked aff the Glasgow Underground.

That photo needs a Ry Cooder track. As I am not called Cameron B, I will refrain. He really has become the Night Jock on this website (wee smiley thingy)

2. Calum

Anas Sarwar contacted.

3. yerkitbreeks

Can’t copy without all the other stuff on the RHS of the page

4. KillieBoab

E-mail sent to Cathy Jamieson, MP Kilmarnock and Loudoun.

5. Grouse Beater

Since Labour in Scotland are generally held in low regard by the population, their opinions and policies set only to keep the people of Scotland compliant, one wonders what use reason is in the face of determined bigotry.

6. John Russell

I have just sent an email off to my MP Pamela Nash. I doubt very much she will respond as I have wrtten to her before about other matters and there has been a deathly silence. Maybe this time eh?

7. One of the Hundred

Sent with a couple of other queries to Gregg McClymont. I hold my breath

8. Dave Murchison

Here we go, visit here and copy/paste (doesn’t include all formatting unfortunately)

http://pastebin.com/d02sPdND

9. Lorna Sutton

Sent to Sarah Boyak 9.23am on 27th March.

10. Simone

Just sent an email to Tom Harris (and included my disgust at the Welfare cap passing)

11. heraldnomore

Copied to Michael McCann MP

12. Neeeko

Jenny Marra, Lewis Macdonald and Richard Baker, all regional MSPs for the North East – just emailed them all.

13. goldenayr

There was a telling interview on radio yesterday about a meeting of Northern England MPs in Scotland debating the devolution settlement and the effect on them.
    One commentator opined that come 2015 it won’t matter as all regions in England will receive the same powers as Scotland after the next election.
    What price their greater powers now?

14. You and My Comb

email to Jackie Baillie

15. G Walker

Done, with slight modifications to your text. Jim McGovern MP is the man in question

16. Fiona

E-mail sent to Ann McKechin, MP Glasgow North (hope I managed to copy/paste properly: no preview available on her site)

17. Susan

Email sent to Jackson Cullinane.

18. bobdog collie

I really don’t think your average Labour MP/MSP would be able to understand the Questions just like their leader isn’t able to comprehend taxation questions or respond to them .

Perhaps worded in primary 2 reading parlance ,man,cat, vat,tax etc might get something answered but really you are on a losing one here rev

19. pictishbeastie

Sent emails to Richard Simpson, Jayne Baxter and Claire Baker!

20. Holebender

e-mail sent to Richard Baker. I might also try Lewis Macdonald and Jenny Marra if I can be ersed.

21. CameronB

Meant to apologies for quick OT.

22. CameronB

Bugger (the Panda)

23. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Can’t copy without all the other stuff on the RHS of the page”

It’ll highlight all of it, but you should find that when you paste, it’s only actually copied the letter text.

24. gerry parker

@ Dave Murchison,
    That was very handy Dave many thanks.

Stu, I have e mailled Elaine Smith (Labour) MSP Coatbridge and Chryston.

25. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Meant to apologies for quick OT.”

And, perhaps, for the fact that it’s a story from 2010.

26. misteralz

Copied, pasted and sent to Lewis MacDonald MSP. 09:39, 27th of March.

27. heedtracker

Just emailed landlord millionaire and deep thinker Willie Young here in ABZ with subject heading http://wingsoverscotland.com/ Hopefully he’ll have me banned from all cooncil premises.

28. M Mackintosh

E-mail sent to Rhoda Grant and David Stewart, list MSPs for the Highlands and Islands who cover Argyll and Bute.

29. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I really don’t think your average Labour MP/MSP would be able to understand the Questions just like their leader isn’t able to comprehend taxation questions or respond to them.”

Then their responsibility is to get someone in the Devo Commission to answer it for you.

30. CameronB

Re. Sarah Boyak. I got the impression she is someone of good intent, who knows very little of the history of British Labour.

31. G L S

mail sent.

Ann Begg, Frank Doran, Richard Baker,, Lewis MAcDonald & Jenny Marra.

I await a response with bated breath

32. Dinnatouch

Emails sent to Frank Roy and John Pentland, MP and MSP for Motherwell and Wishaw.

I’ve received an automated reply from Frank Roy saying emails may take a while to be answered due to a high volume being received. It also states that only emails from constituents are replied to, so an address should be included. Bit late telling you that after you’ve sent the email.

33. Seasick Dave

Is this the debate with the hard working people of Scotland that we keep hearing about, again and again?

Its not a good start.

34. yerkitbreeks

Thanks Dave Murchison and Rev – two South Scotland bods lettered.

35. Dave Sharp

Email sent to Ian Murray Edinburgh South

36. misteralz

Holy shit, a reply!

Dear Mr Name Redacted,

Lewis Macdonald has asked me to thank you for your email.

In order to comply with the protocol of the Scottish Parliament and ensure you are a constituent in North East Scotland, I would be grateful if you would send me your address and postcode.

Yours sincerely

Dianne Drysdale

37. John

Cara Hilton and Thomas Docherty both emailed.

38. Sora Lochiel

Email sent to to Catherine Stihler (MEP), Anne McGuire (MP), and Siobhan McMahon, Margaret McCulloch and Mark Griffin (MSPs).

39. cadgers

Done, to Gordon Banks (labour) South Perthshire

40. Grahame

Stu, Sarah Boyack emailed I won’t hold my breath

41. Colin

Jenny Marra, Lewis Macdonald, Frank Doran, Anne Begg and Alistair Darling.

42. Cavalier

Sarah Boyak mail sent at 09:40!

43. goldenayr

Dinnatouch
    Re the address req for Frank Roy.Careful you don’t give yours or you might get a “visit”.Give a neighbours you don’t like.

44. James Kay

Every voter in Scotland has two Labour MEPs. Should they not be included on the mailing-list?

Bonus: it’s the MEPs who are next up for election!

45. DoggyG

Email sent to Graeme Pearson, regional MSP for South Scotland.

46. bookie from hell

Time to concentrate which way Scottish Labour MPs voted London,on welfare

FMQ today,you might see labour hung,drawn,quartered

47. gerry parker

If you use “write to them ” website, you get the opportunity to put in your e mail and snail mail address.

48. brodev

Email sent to Katy Clark MP North Ayrshire

49. Charlie

Stu! Just popped an request off to Johann Lamonts office.
    I fully expect an answer without delay.
    I’ll give it till Monday then if still no reply I’ll ask personally at her surgery!!

50. Bigbricks

Email sent to Willie Young, as I have the good fortune to live in the Stalinist Republic. I’m not holding my breath for an enlightening reply, as we had a short and unproductive correspondence on the FM ban and I don’t imagine his heart will leap with joy at another email from me.

51. ShredderIsAlive

Reading the comments this is like a really s**t game of Top Trumps to see who can contact the worst Labour representative possible.

I just e-mailed Lindsay Roy, Gordon Brown, Cara Hilton, Alex Rowley, Richard Simpson, Jayne Baxter and Claire Baker. Basically everyone in Fife.

So far I’ve had an automated response from Labour automaton Cara Hilton informing me that she can only respond to people in her constituency. So I won’t hold my breath on her answering a question about Labour’s policies for the whole country.

52. Jimbo

Three Labour list MSPs for my area contacted.

Just received this response:

You may be aware that parliamentary protocol dictates that Ms McMahon is only permitted to take forward issues or concerns from those constituents who reside within the Central Scotland region. It would be helpful if you could provide us with your full home address, including postcode, in order to confirm that you are a constituent of Ms McMahon’s.

53. The Dog

Gregg McClymont contacted.

54. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Every voter in Scotland has two Labour MEPs. Should they not be included on the mailing-list?”

Their addresses are on the same Scottish Labour page as the MPs and MSPs.

55. Jimbo

Posted too quickly.

Meant to add to above post: To save time include your name and address

56. Ghabhain

Well that’s Ann McKechin emailed. Not holding my breath either.

57. misteralz

Kames Kay says:
    27 March, 2014 at 9:48 am

Every voter in Scotland has two Labour MEPs. Should they not be included on the mailing-list?

Bonus: it’s the MEPs who are next up for election!

I’ve just emailed them, too. Got an automatic reply from Ms. Stihler straight away.

58. PRJ

Just sent:
    David Hamilton MP Midlothian
    Kezia Dugdale MSP Lothian
    Sarah Boyack MSP Lothian
    Neil Findlay MSP Lothian

59. Alba-eddie

mail sent to Neil Bibby

60. brodev

email sent to Margaret McDougal MSP Scotland West

61. The Man in the Jar

Sorry about the OT but “The Wee giger dug has been photoshopping a Glasgow Underground train.

I think you will all enjoy this.

http://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/catching-the-independence-train/

62. Alt Clut

Jackie Baillie contacted – very politely !

63. Iain

Wullie Bain e-mailed.

64. Brian Powell

Email sent to Richard Simpson MSP, Mid Scotland & Fife. 9.40am 27/3/14

65. Proud Cybernat

Sent to Tom Harris, MP (Glasgow South).

66. Smith

Kezia Dugdale, Regional MSP.
    Mark Lazarowicz, MP.

67. Craig

You can also access

https://www.writetothem.com/

This website identifies your MPs and MSPs simply by entering your postcode and then allows you to send your email to them via this page. You will however need to address it (Dear xxxxx) just to the Labour MPs/MSPs.

68. hammett96

Just sent one off to Jim Hood (MP Lanark and Hamilton East), no changes made to the original email text from you Rev.

69. robroy

Devo Nano, Questions sent to Curran

70. Gavin Barrie (Jammach)

Email sent to Sarah Boyack MSP, clearly stated I was one of her constituents.

71. GrahamB

I tried the ‘others’ link but it took me to something called ‘Scottish’ Labour who claimed to be democratic socialists! I persevered to find they are the Scottish branch of the Labour Party and populated by a crowd whose faces and names were largely unknown to me. I regard myself as reasonably au fait with current Scottish politics but most of these seat warmers were a mystery.
    Anyway, before my stomach heaved I came away from that site and tracked down all the relevant contacts on the BBC’s Democracy Live page at http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/scotland/scotland_politics/
    Enter your postcode in the ‘Find a representative’ search box at the bottom of the page and all your local relevant names and contacts will appear.
    I used Dave Murchison’s link and fired off emails to Anne McTaggart (never heard of her before), Drew Smith (recognised his face but unaware he represented me), Hanzala Malik (thought he was still my local councillor), Ann McKechin, Catherine Stihler and David Martin. So far I’ve had an automatic reply from Catherine Stihler but I’m not holding my breath for much more illumination.

72. Roboscot

Copies to Sarah Boyack MSP, Iain Gray MSP and Fiona O’Donnell MP.

73. ronnie anderson

How comes you,s fae further afield get a reply tae yer

Emails fae SPT, an ah hiv tae wait 5 days, ah could crawl

to the their office faster, ah must be on the ta Doo list.

Morning all

74. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I’ve just emailed them, too. Got an automatic reply from Ms. Stihler straight away.”

Weird. More than I got. Maybe all Labour types have an auto-block on anything with “Wings Over Scotland” in it 😀

75. heedtracker

No reply from Willie Young. I don’t think he will as that’s not how local democracy in Aberdeen works so emailed Ms Anne Begg instead, who’s maybe resting today after voting to cap all teamGB benefits, not tax City banksters properly.

76. mr big knod

emailed Richard Baker MSP

77. goldenayr

I’m feeling both smug and a bit left out.
    I don’t have any labour representatives in my constituency,not even a councillor.
    Maybe I’ll email the organ grinder Milliband instead.

78. Grant_M

Emails sent to:
    Anne Begg
    Jenny Marra
    Richard Baker
    Lewis Macdonald

79. Brian Powell

Email sent to Catherine Stihler MEP, 10.20am 27/3/14

80. LewMac86

Emailed David Stewart, MSP for Highlands & Islands.

81. brodev

email sent to Neil Bibby MSP West Scotland

82. JC

Jimmy Hood contacted…

83. Dave Smith

Email sent to Willie Young 10.25am 27/03/2014.

First time commenting on this site so just want to say a big thanks to all involved for the great work you put in!

84. scaredy cat

emails sent to

Margaret McCulloch MSP Central Scotland
    Siobhan McMahon MSP Central Scotland
    Mark Griffing MSP Central Scotland
    Anne McGuire MP, Stirling

85. caz-m

Have just sent questions to Hugh Henry MSP and Douglas Alexander MP.

Will let you know of any replies.

86. colin mccartney

Sarwar emailed (again)
    Don’t expect an answer (again), as he will be too busy lecturing on being an entrepreneur in Pakistan, or instructing them on how to vote with your sworn enemies, keep your head down and avoid the flak.

87. John

Catherine Stihler (MEP) emailed.

88. Desimond

I these lyrics sum Scotland and Labour up

‘I could see in the distance, all the dreams that were clear to me
    Every choice that I had to make, left you on your own
    Somehow the road we started down had split asunder
    Too late to realise how far apart we’d grown..

“Shoulda woulda coulda” are the last words of a fool’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bug-hnPxFaY

89. Craig

Margaret McDougall, Neil Bibby and Mary Fee politely contacted.

90. The Tree of Liberty

Emailed Katy Clark.MP

91. AnneDon

Sent it to Alastair Darling, Neil Findlay and Kezia Dugdale. I’ll let you know if I get any response.

92. jingly jangly

Sent to Katy Clark, who I don’t see on your list!!!

93. Albert Herring

Emails duly sent to Johann Lamont and Iain Davidson (cringe)

94. Heather

I have contacted Tom Greatrex and James Kelly. The only amendment I made was to beging the email with the following: ‘With regards to the recently produced Powers for a purpose document I am aware that a list of questions was sent to the Scottish Labour’s Devolution Commission (Scottish Labour, Johann Lamont, Anas Sarwar, Margaret Curran, Sarah Boyack, Jackson Cullinane, Gregg McClymont, Duncan McNeil, Catherine Stihler, Willie Young) earlier this week that unfortunatly has received no responce nor even an agnowledgement that it was recieved.

The questions did come from someone whom is not a residing in Scotland and therefore it may have been deemed that the people who recieved the email are perhaps not answerable to this person. I do understand this view point. However I am a constituent and I do share the concerns below. In view of this I would be greatly obliged if you could provide assistance with this.’

The rest of my email was a copy and paste of yours.

Thanks Stu for making it easy for us to challenge these people 🙂

95. Tonia Wight

I’ve just emailed:
    Graeme Pearson MSP
    Claudia Beamish MSP
    Both Scottish Labour list MSPs for the Scottish Borders.

96. Tommy

Hi Rhoda Grant Highlands contacted by e-mail

97. James Kay

Goldenayr

Well done as regards Councillors MPs and MSPs.

But, as noted above, you do still have two Labour MEPs.

98. ronnie anderson

Rev, You did it tae Me again,ah went into MP/MSPs

( can be found here ) whit happens am face tae face wie a

Pict- ture of Johann ( ave no evem hud ma breakfast yet )

AVE BLIDDY TELT YOU FUR WEEKS,CHUST GONNIE NO DEY THAT.

But I will obey our great Squadron Leaders command & Wing

a Email to Pamela Nash ( Airdrie Shotts )

99. CameronB

Desimond
    FH 🙂

100. Scott

done for all the appropriate people for Glasgow Kelvin…

101. dodecostanza

Jim McGovern (Dundee West MP) contacted this morning.

(An abstainer in the Welfare Cap vote last night)

102. Sonja Cameron

Emailed Jayne Baxter, Claire Baker, Richard Simpson (MSPs for Mid-Scotland and Fife)

103. caz-m

Have emailed questions to Hugh Henry MSP and Doulas Alexander MP.

Will let you know of any replies.

104. The Bishop

Gordon Banks and Clair Baker contacted by e-mail

105. Iain

Can we have a sweepstake on which MP/MSP/Councillor is the first to send something other than an automated reply? Would also have to have an option on SLAB slinging us a massive, collective deafie!

106. Robertson4Yes

Sent to –
    Gordon Banks (MP, Ochil and South Perthshire)
    Jayne Baxter (MSP, Mid Scotland and Fife)
    Claire Baker (MSP, Mid Scotland and Fife)

107. Desimond

Hello Tom Harris…sent

What should I do if my MP (or other representative) doesn’t reply?

There are lots of things you can do to follow up your enquiry if you get no reply, or an unsatisfactory reply, from your representative.

•See your MP or other representative in person, raise your issue with them at their local “surgery”. Call your MP’s local constituency office or your representative’s party office to arrange this. You can find the number in your local phone book, or on your MP’s website.

•Make sure you have taken all other courses of action to raise your issue, or to get your problem solved. For example, contact the relevant central Government department, and relevant officers at your local councils. Ask your local Citizens Advice Bureau for advice.

•Write a letter to your local newspaper about your issue, and your dissatisfaction with your MP, MEP or councillor.

•Write a letter to your other representatives, such as your MP, your local councillors, MEPs or regional representatives, if appropriate. You can do this for free using WriteToThem.

•Complain about your representative to their local party. Contact the local party office. The local party has the power not to select your MP as a candidate for the next General Election.

•Use PledgeBank (made by the same charity that makes WriteToThem) to gather a group of people with the same issue as you, and solve the problem together.

108. Scott

sorry you wanted names…. I emailed the following for Glasgow Kelvin

Anas Sarwar, Hanzala Malik, Drew Smith, Jackson Cullinane, Anne McTaggart

109. edulis

I will fire a simple question off to Duncan McNeil to ask him whether Devo Plus (he was on Ben Thompson’s group) or Devo Nano best suits him.It will no doubt be a maybes aye maybes naw answer no doubt.

I could also ask Catherine Stilher what her next move is to exclude an independent Scotland from Europe now that the European Parliament has rejected her and David Martin’s devious ploy to create more uncertainty. Sheesh. What does an honest politico have to do to keep the gravy train running!

110. Garry Henderson

Richard Baker, Lewis MacDonald and Jenny Marra just e-mailed Rev.

111. goldenayr

James Kay
    Aye..but it’ll be more fun letting him know they’ve utterly failed.I’ll remind him the EU elections are coming up,mibees he’ll get the message.Won’t hold my breath though.

112. faolie

Rev, sorry if I’m being thick here, but in Q5, “..would Scotland be unable to do so for the reasons outlined in Q1, and be forced to keep an upper tax rate higher than that of the UK?”

Shouldn’t the reference in Q5 be to Q3? In that “..because the proposals only allow the upper rate to be decreased if all other rates are decreased along with it..”.

113. David McCann

OT.
    There is an interesting petition from the Electoral Reform Society, which I have edited and sent off to the BBC.

http://action.electoral-reform.org.uk/ea-action/action?ea.client.id=1754&ea.campaign.id=26899

114. Andrew Morton

Have emailed my MP, Fiona O’Donnell. According to her automatic response, she’s in the Middle East on Parliamentary business until 28 March. SLAB MP on a jolly.

115. Desimond

@ronnie Anderson

Ronnie, best send that Pamela Nash letter to the Space Station. Plucky Pamela is probably up there now given how much interest she showed in attending a “Job Opportunities in Outer Space” convention in Vienna a while back.

You may recall that was her ‘important’ excuse for missing the Bedroom tax vote despite the convention schedule still allowing Pamela ample time to drag herself away from “the lovely Xmas markets” and get back to the House of Commons.

116. gerry parker

“Dear Mr Parker.

Thank you for taking the time to email Elaine.

Elaine will send you a full reply to your queries in due course.

Kind regards,

Louise”

117. Loveme2times

That’s both Mr Young & Mr Baker emailed in Aberdeen and North East, if they do not reply I will maybe contact my MSP Mark McDonald who as it happens will be on Brian’s Big Debate today at lunchtime.

118. Ian Brotherhood

For Johann, Anas, Mags et al, with much love:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7xrxrEEGVdM

119. scaredy cat

I have just received an email from someone at Siobhan McMahon’s office telling me that as she (MSP for Central Scotland)does not cover Stirling, she cannot answer my questions.

Fortunately I was given three alternative contacts, so I have now also contacted;

Claire Baker MSP, Richard Simpson MSP and Jayne Baxter MSP, who all cover Mid Scotland and Fife. Apparently I have no idea where I live, but never mind, that’s 6 people contacted in total.

One has to ask why, when the policies will affect everyone in Scotland, it matters where I live or who I contact. It would also have been nice if the message had been forwarded on my behalf with me copied in. That is what I do if someone contacts me by mistake.

120. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Rev, sorry if I’m being thick here, but in Q5, “..would Scotland be unable to do so for the reasons outlined in Q1, and be forced to keep an upper tax rate higher than that of the UK?”

Shouldn’t the reference in Q5 be to Q3? In that “..because the proposals only allow the upper rate to be decreased if all other rates are decreased along with it..”.”

It’s the same thing, so either works. In Q5, the reason Scotland wouldn’t be able to cut the upper rate would be that doing so would mean undercutting the UK basic rate, as addressed in Q1.

MISTER THICKY THICKSTON.

121. Gillie

So what happens if Labour politician don’t respond?

All elected representatives and political appointees must comply with parliamentary and ministerial codes of conduct.

So who do constituents contact to complain that they are being ignored by their elected representative or a by a member of the House of Lords?

1. House of Commons

2. House of Lords

3. Scottish parliament

4. European parliament.

Can we have a list for future reference?

122. Flower of Scotland

thanks @dave

Emailed Claire Baker .

123. nelliejean

I’ve emailed Thomas Docherty, Cara Hilton, David Martin and Catherine Stihler – got immediate automated replies from everyone but Mr Martin.

124. Derek Morison

I have just emailed my Scots Parl and Westminster MPs
    Hanzala Malik
    Anne McTaggart
    Drew Smith

Tom Harris

125. The Man in the Jar

Rev I will get around to the email later when I have more time without interruptions.

Just to say that as a supporter of The Dogs Trust they occasionally send me an email usually regarding compulsory microchipping or similar.

The email I receive contains a template letter and some software that automatically emails all of the relevant MPs and MSPs. All I have to do is enter my postcode.

A bit late for this occasion but something like this could come in very handy indeed.

126. James Kay

Contacted the two Labour MSPs (Mr Martin, Ms Stihler) with an automatic reply from the latter.

I noticed that there are also 4 other named MEP candidates for the forthcoming elections. I will email them later today.

127. albaman

Rev, I know I am somewhat late to this request, but I think you may as well take Cara Hilton out of your list,might as well email a brick in a wall!!.

128. Alasdair Stirling

Requested answers from: Rhoda Grant & David Stewart (Regional members for Scottish Parliament Highlands & Islands constituency).

129. Shady Lady

Just emailed Michael Connarty, Labour MP for Linlithgow and East Falkirk. 🙂

130. Stuart Black

Lib MP and SNP MSP. 🙁

131. George Elliott

Graeme Pearson, cathy Jamieson and Claudia Beamish, done 1100 on the 27th won’t hold my breath! Though I think they will have very full email boxes.

132. ecruden

Sarah Boyack contacted.

133. cyril mitchell

s
    Sent article to Elaine Murray Msp Dumfries with a few extra comments

134. Garry Henderson

Catherine Stihler MEP? – tick

135. Desimond

I fear all this is going to do is result in some

SPAD
    MPs Wife/Husband/Child/Relation/Friend
    Secretary

Setting up an Outlook Rule to send any such mails into the Junk pile and the MP will be oblivious.

Any follow-up visits to a surgery will be met with a heavy sigh and a “leave with me and someone will get back to you”.

Labour…”We’re all about accountability, except our own”

136. GillyM

e-mailed Anne McGuire – MP Stirling. Have asked her to get back to me ASAP with alternative Labour Party contact details, if she is unable to answer any/all of the questions

137. gerry parker

@David McCann.
    I gave them a flea in their ear about a democratic defect that exists in their own country, never mind Europe. While I was at it I took the opportunity of pointing them at Prof Robertson’s report on BBC Bias too, and the complete irrelevance of Nick Clegg and Nigel Farage with respect to Scottish politics.

Felt good.

138. TD

Just sent the e-mail to Rhoda Grant MSP and David Stewart MSP. Auto-acknowledgement from Rhoda Grant.

139. Grouse Beater

Yesterday, Labour, creater of the Welfare State, sided with the Tories and placed a permanent cap on the UK welfare bill, passing the bill by 522 votes against 22.

The electorate of England can if they so wish show their anger though they are so brainwashed into see their people enemies of the state it’s debateable they will do anything.

Labour knows full well a cap affects the poor and the disenfranchised in Scotland adversely too, but there’s nothing we can do about it outside regaining independence.

Once more New Labour proves it is little different from the Tories, the party of big business, and Scotland is of secondary concern.

140. Porty Tam

Contacted….

Claire Baker MSP
    Richard Simpson MSP
    Jayne Baxter MSP
    Gordon Banks MP
    David Martin MEP
    Catherine Stihler MEP

141. Bigbricks

No reply or acknowledgement from Willie Young yet (nor, for that matter SPT) but since Mr Young is on the “Devolution Commission” as well as holding office in my local council, I don’t see how he can do any other than at least acknowledge and fudge – I think on that basis heedtracker should get some sort of response as well.

142. seanair

See blogsite Order-Order for full list of MPs who voted against the welfare cap. In fairness quite a few of them represent Scottish constituencies.
    Closing jibe, “the member for Kikcaldy and Cowdenbeath was absent”.
    Couldn’t see Flipper on the list.

143. Grant_M

I really wanted to put those questions to Willie Young, but he won’t communicate with me directly, so I’ve sent an email to the local Labour councillor in Aberdeen, Neil Cooney, asking him to ask WY.

144. Macandroid

Ian Murray, Edinburgh South

145. Donald

David Stewart done.

146. Flower of Scotland

Jayne Baxter , Richard Simpson , North East Fife

147. Hersel

Emailed jenny Marra

148. Craig

Jim Sheridan politely emailed.

149. K1

Email sent to Ann McKechin.

150. bookie from hell

Gordon Brown failed to vote last night on welfare cap?

he always seems to miss the crucial votes,bizzare

151. CameronB

Ian Brotherhood
    FH 🙂

152. faolie

Sent to Malcolm Chisholm MSP and Mark Lazarowicz MP.

153. Xaracen

Just sent emails to Jenny Marra, Lewis Macdonald and Richard Baker, who apparently represent me as a Broughty Ferry constituent.

The writetothem site mentions that copy’n’pasted emails will be blocked, and that only one relevant MP/MSP can help with a problem. I just used the site to get the correct contact details, and sent the emails from my own email program.

154. Alasdair Galloway

Emails sent to Gemma Doyle MP and Jackie Baillie MSP. Not holding my breath

155. John

Jackson Cullinane Chair of Scottish Labour emailed. I think everyone should contact him to get him to explain this dog’s breakfast.

156. Steve B

That’s Gordon Brown mailed via WriteToThem. I await his clunking fist of a reply with trepidation 🙂

I’ll write to his side-kicks (aka MSPs) when I get more time later.

157. TD

Auto-acknowledgement from Rhoda Grant says she can only deal with her own constituents and for that reason requests full name and postal address. Suggest that everyone includes this in order to remove that as an excuse for not replying and if e-mail already sent I suggest a follow up with name and address.

158. boglestone

Margaret Curran (Glasgow East) has been contacted.

159. Elizabeth

I see Gordon Broon was absent from the debate. Gives him the chance to say he didnae vote for it. He’s such a chancer.

160. Highlander

Emailed Rhoda Grant and David Stewart, list MSPs for Highlands and Islands.

161. william pirrie

Just e-mailed Michael Connarty

162. john king

Copied and pasted and sent to Gordon Brown ,and if I know him he’ll respond, just not necessarily in English. 🙂

163. Rob Reid

I emailed Claire Baker, Jayne Baxter, David Martin and Catherine Stihler. I received an automated reply from Stihler

164. Heather

I had to resend my email to include my full postal address (as was requested in the automated response from Tom Greatrex). Maybe it was me being a silly billy but I thought I would pass this on form anyone who has yet to send their emails.

Quote ‘Parlimentary protocol also dictates that a member of Parliament can only deal with issues on behalf of their own constituents. I would therefore be greatful if you could ensure you include your name and full postal address…’

165. Brian McCulloch

I have just e-mailed: Bibby, Cullinane, Fee and McDonald.

166. Inbhir Anainn

Have posed the necessary questions to the following Labour MSPs who represent my area.

Elaine Murray – Constituency MSP
    Claudia Beamish – Regional MSP
    Graeme Pearson – Regional MSP

167. The Man in the Jar

Done!

Great pleasure in emailing Jimmy Hood, Siobhan McMahon and Michael McMahon. 🙂

168. Doonfooter

E-mail sent to Sandra Osborne MP (Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock).

Already got an automated reply advising that she could only respond to constituents and to include a full address and postcode. Thanks to the posts above I’d already done that so I await the response!

169. Bill Dunblane

Central Scotland MSPs Mark Griffin, Margaret McCulloch and Siobhan McMahon all emailed.

Tried Anne McGuire MP, but not sure if it went through – kept saying fill in all fields, which I had.

170. caz-m

Wee Bit O/T but relevant,

How about this from lowlife John McTernan after Labour sided with the Tories yesterday on their Welfare cap.

“We are the Labour Party not the Dole Party.

Surely any right minded Scottish Labour activist will end any association they have with this shower of Red Tories.

Read this x-rated trash that was on his twitter account.

http://bellacaledonia.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/bjqg24zccaae2at.jpg

171. Desimond

@Brian McCulloch

‘Bibby, Cullinane, Fee and McDonald’

Was that no the cast of Fraggle Rock alongside Fulton McKay?

172. galamcennalath

Carwyn Jones, Welsh First Minister, has gone on record as saying he expects Barnett to be killed off (as he wishes) in complete contradiction to Johann Lamont who says it’s part of DevoNano.

We need to be clear what LondonLabour’s policy actually is. And ASAP.

173. velofello

Gee, I’ve just learned that I have a Labour MSP called Claudia Beamish, I’ve never heard of her.

The web site – writetothem.com (credit to Craig above) advises not to just copy and paste, and to provide contact details. So to head off any excuses I’ll mildly amend the Rev’s text above.

174. Betsy

I’ve just emailed Hanzala Malik (MSP), Anne McTaggart(MSP), Drew Smith(MSP), Anas Sarwar (MP), David Martin (MEP) and Catherine Stihler (MEP).

175. Stuart Insh

I’ve contacted the 3 North-East MSPs + Anne Begg, copying in my own SNP MSP Kevin Stewart.

176. jake

What’s all this stuff about needing names and address to verify that you’re a constituent? Since when did our elected representatives start refusing to answer questions on party policy…they seem happy enough to blog, tweet, write articles for the press, appear on telly, respond to pollsters and lobbyists, so why the reticence when contacted by mere member of the voting public?

177. jim arnott

just emailed, Sarah Boyack msp, Kezia Dugdale msp, Neil Findlay msp, Graeme Morrice mp, David Martin mep, Catherine Stihler mep

I await their responses with baited breath.

If I just happen to get answers from some of them I wonder if there will be any variations/inconsistencies in the responses.

178. Doonfooter

E-mail also sent to South Scotland list Labour list MSP’s Graeme Pearson and Claudia Beamish.

179. Alfresco Dent

That’s one sent to Jim McGovern. I know he’s already been covered but hey, this might be his busiest day. On that note, I wonder how proud he is that I pay his wages and yet have never heard of him. What a great job that must be.

180. K1

Also just sent email to Drew Smith.

181. caz-m

Got auto reply from Dougie Alexander. Says he is very busy and he might reply and then again he might not.

He did send me a picture of a gate that I could download.

I think it’s because he is one of those Shadow minister guys.

Nothing from Hugh Henry yet.

182. Jamie Arriere

I’ve emailed Jayne Baxter, Claire Baker & Richard Simpson.

183. Cassandra Lee

Sarah Boyack emailed.

184. Alfresco Dent

I’ve also emailed my regional list MSP’s below…

Richard Baker

Lewis MacDonald

Jenny Marra.

185. john king

“I don’t have any labour representatives in my constituency,not even a councillor.”

Mr la de da

186. lorna cruickshank

HI all,Never posted before and only been reading Wings for a couple of months although I did manage a wee donation.I just want to say thanks to you all ,in my heart I have always been in favour of an independent Scotland and you have all helped me to formulate rebuttals to all the scaremongering
    and plain stupid stories which circulate on MSM.Thanks Dave Murchison for the cut’n’paste option and I have sent e-mails to Richard Baker and Jenny Marra although I wont be holding my breath Keep up the good work all of us and we will be free.

187. Bill Dunblane

MSPs Jayne Baxter, Richard Simpson and Claire Baker all sent slightly amended emails.

Silly earlier error thinking Dunblane was in Central Scotland! Duhhhhh…

Shows how much effect some Labour list MSPs have that I don’t know most of them!

188. George Kerr

Question sent to Graeme Morrice

189. Dinnatouch

… and a less automated reply from John Pentland, also requesting my address.

190. Kitty

Gemma Doyle for West Dunbartonshire has been emailed.

191. caz-m

“We are the Labour Party not the Dole Party”.

Quote from John McTernan, 26th March 2014.

Surely the day Scottish Labour died.

I had to re-post this because I find it so sickening that it has to be told to a wider audience.

192. Luke

Email sent to good, honest, hard working Anas Sarwar from a humble constituent!
    What a plamf he is.

193. James

I’ve sent the questions to Margaret McCulloch and I’ve started holding my breath in anticipation of a speedy response.

194. heedtracker

Still nothing frae oor Wullie. How about this overhead Scotland’s stadiums Saturday? Can unionists ban WoS from the sky? Severin Carrell 13 o’clock high, “attack outrage on Scottish journalists,” Tally ho chaps… http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/mar/27/manchester-united-plane-message-david-moyes-sacked

195. Davie Hay

Didn’t see Jim Murphy mentioned.
    Fixed that.

196. Morag

Surely every region has at least one Labour list MSP? So I think everybody must have someone they can contact.

My MP is Paddington Mundell (Con) and my constituency MSP is Christine Grahame (SNP) but I suspect that Beamish woman may be answerable to me at some level.

197. K1

I don’t expect the point of us sending the emails to our MP’s is to seriously expect a response from them. The point is they will be bombarded with overwhelming correspondence from the Scottish electorate. Who, Johann Lamont repeatedly tells us they want a conversation with. This will be an excersise in revealing the disingenuous crap that they are touting as real devolvement of power to the Scottish Parliament.

When the emails are not responded to in any intelligent manner by any of them, it will make the lie of their entire position, and at the same time expose how they truly regard the electorate. This is an excerscise in exposure.

198. Mat

Individually sent to:

Jayne Baxter
    Richard Simpson
    Claire Baker
    David Martin
    Catherine Stihler

199. Ronnie

Sent to Anne Begg and Willie Young.

Incidentally, I attempted to leaflet Willie Young at the Yes Aberdeen stall on Sunday, prior to The Dons’ parade.

However, he was protecting himself from the Aiberdeen hail, (or should that be ‘the hail o’ Aiberdeen’?)

So he pretended not to notice.

200. Helena Brown

Jackson Cullinane contacted, I like going to the top (haha). Off to write to Johann now, Hope she has a secretary cause I doubt she does much reading herself.

201. caz-m

@Ronnie

Is that correct Ronnie that there has to be NO saltires flown in Aberdeen.

202. Desimond

O/T but worth reading this from Nigel Farage and read his arguments in context of Scotland and the Union instead of UK and EU…

Accusing Clegg of being part of a tired status quo, Farage started the debate saying that if Britain was voting now on whether to join the EU, it would be presented with the offer “to join a club that will cost £55m a day as a membership fee, and there will be thousands of new laws over which our own parliament and you the electorate can make no difference, and mean an open border, unconditionally, to 485 million people from across the whole of Europe – many of them from very poor countries – who can come here to work and live and settle and bring their families”.

203. Karen

I’ve emailed Rhoda Grant & David Stewart MSPs.

204. Andrew Brown

Hi Stu, I’ve emailed both my MP and MSP for an answer and I’ll let you know what their response is – though I’m not hopeful as I have Mr T Docherty MP and Ms C Hilton MSP as my “representatives” (for my sins I’m a Dunfermline resident). Keep up the good work.

205. Desimond

O/T again but I cant let these crackers from Mr Sell-Out himself slide!!

Danny Alexander, the Liberal Democrat chief secretary to the Treasury, said after the debate: “I think a lot of people watching Nigel Farage, maybe before they thought he was a guy you’d want to go down the pub with, but by the end he was more like the pub bore you don’t want to be stuck in the corner with at the end of the evening.

“I’m not going to comment on the poll … But one else is standing up for Europe in British politics like the Lib Dems are doing.”

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/mar/26/clegg-farage-snap-poll-suggests-ukip-win-debate-europe

206. ian foulds

MSPs Central Scotland contacted:

Mr. M. Griffin

Ms. M. McCulloch

Ms. S. McMahon

207. turnbull drier

David Hamilton MP
    David Martin MEP
    Catherine Stihler (MEP
    Sarah Boyack MSP
    Neil Findlay MSP
    Kezia Dugdale MSP

Thats all my representatives done… and now I wait..

208. Jimbo

Re APPENDIX – REPRESENTATIVES CONTACTED TO DATE:

It would have been simpler for the Labour Party to have sent a response to Stuart’s original request which could in turn have been passed on to the rest of us.

Instead they now have hundreds of requests sent to dozens of their politicians, some of whom (the conscientious among them) will have to respond to multiple requests from numerous constituents.

Maybe in future they’ll see the sense in dealing with questions from any member of the public in a grown-up, responsible manner.

Also; This nonsense about only being able to respond to constituents: Do they ask the likes of Gardham, Taylor, Carrell et al. if they are a constituent before answering any questions?

209. Grouse Beater

Stuart

I notice one post creator touches upon the thought that the lack of response to your justified enquiry might be because you’re not domiciled in Scotland.

How can that be when the same Scottish Labour poly-tishuns are encouraging their kind in the north of England to tell Scotland it should sacrifice its rights by remaining quiet and subservient so it can serve the needs of the poor and disenfranchised subsisting in their patch?

210. Helena Brown

Sorry misunderstood, now written to Cara Hilton, and Thomas Docherty. Cara has my message I have received the usual automatic answer.

211. CameronB

Right, finally off to Dundee, so you get tonight picks early, again.

I have said before that my PTSD act to undermine my potential in the same way a ball and chain would. Pity me people, that’s PTSD and the British state. 🙂

2 Badcard – Pure Illusion (Extended Version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Rkpjhk7Azo

Annie Anxiety – Waiting For The Fun
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Vq2E6vuGsk

Afro Celt Sound System – Release
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xuGqoB9gG4

Just for the submission and a bit of fun.

Shenanigans – All the small things
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5peCq-VZSY

212. Elaine Black

Patricia Ferguson, Hanzala Malik, Anne McTaggart, Drew Smith

213. Luke

Willie Bain, Margaret Curran, Ian Davidson, Tom Harris, Anne McKechin, John Robertson, Anas Sarwar all sent an email. Got a reply from one of Tom Harris’ lackeys telling me he doesnt have to talk to me since I’m not his constituent so go away! XD

214. Morag

I can’t describe how sick and tired I am of scrolling past posts with links to random YouTube clips which have nothing to do with the debate. And this from a poster who has criticised me for including even a small piece of personal information in a post, or posting frequently on a topic I felt strongly about.

Could we limit the YouTube links to items of genuine relevance to the debate I wonder? Sorry but this has been building for a while and I’m getting seriously fed up with it.

215. HandandShrimp

I find it particularly ironic that despite all these attempts at communication Johann never fails to say that she wants to have a conversation. A word I believe she tinks is spelt “tell”.

It is all just so astonishing.

216. James Guild

Sent two emails, one to Labour Party Chair – Jackson Cullilane and also MEP – Catherine Stihler at 1230……doubt I will receive reply either, but got to try eh

217. Desimond

Morag

Hows the view out your big window?

The fact that we are so diverse is what makes us so strong. Just skip passed Youtube links or certain style if you dont like them, will only take a devo-nano second.

218. wee e

Have you seen the poster on the Scotsman calling themself “wingsoverscotland com” ? Starts off as apparently pro-independence and ends:
    “The RUK electorate are happy to bail Scotland out, pay for free university tuition in Scotland, free prescriptions, free personal care for the elderly, etc while people in England have to pay for all these things.”

Doesn’t sound like you. And not nearly as good a writer, LOL

219. Andrew Sinclair

I’m late coming to this idea. http://www.writetothem.com might be helpful. They track messages sent to representatives too.

220. albaman

Ha, Ha,
    So my question the other day “who takes over from Joann Lamont`s deputy, at F.M.Q.s” well that was answered today,
    bloody hell it`s Wacky Bailey!!, Labour in Scotland is just a pantomime.

221. Jimmy The Pict

Email sent to Thomas Docherty and Cara Hilton
    MP 1-2 week response promise
    MSP response 1-3 promise

Will put reminder in diary

222. gerry parker

@Andrew Sinclair.
    They also follow up to see if you receive a reply too. I use the site all the time to contact representatives.

223. Forrest

Sarah Boyack msp, Kezia Dugdale msp, Neil Findlay msp, Graeme Morrice mp all contacted

224. ShredderIsAlive

Got a reply from Richard Simpson about 10 minutes ago. He’s asked for my address as apparently Parliamentary rules state that he can’t reply unless I’m from the constituency.

Is that actually a rule for a question on national policy?

225. bobby mcpherson

Email sent to Ian murray MP for Edinburgh South details : ian@ianmurraymp.co.uk

226. albaman

Morag,
    Ditto from me.

227. Kirst

“Thanks for your email.

Can you provide me with your address please.

Have these questions come from a formal body as I’ve received about a dozen today that are identical.

The reason I ask is if they are from a lobbying body I would like to respond directly to them too in order for duplication to be removed.

Best wishes,

Ian Murray MP
    Labour Member of Parliament for Edinburgh South
    0131 662 4520”

228. SimonD

Thats Sarah Boyack contacted. Definitely recommend using the writetothem website (I can email from work).

It’s shameful that they are not replying back to us.
    Nearly as shameful as Labour siding with the Tories.

229. CameronB

Sorry, but as I’ve said before, “I don’t do subtlety”. Is Morag referring to me?

230. Morag

The fact that we are so diverse is what makes us so strong. Just skip passed Youtube links or certain style if you dont like them, will only take a devo-nano second.

The occasional one doesn’t bother me at all. But this is now flooding the comments pages. The posts assume that everybody shares Cameron’s tastes in music and is waiting for him to provide a playlist for the day. He’s trying to take over the threads and make himself some sort of compere.

He’s attacked me in the past, quite viciously, for saying anything personal, or even for in his opinion posting too often in a thread. I actually stopped posting for a while because of his attacks. So maybe you can understand my irritation with his attitude that we’re all here to listen to him and be entertained by him.

231. Morag

Sorry, but as I’ve said before, “I don’t do subtlety”. Is Morag referring to me?

Sorry, I didn’t realise I was being subtle. Yes.

232. CameronB

He’s attacked me in the past

Let’s re-write history, eh?

233. Steve B

I think the most interesting view about a lot of the posts so far is how many people don’t actually know who represents them.

Given that Wings contributors are, by their very nature, more politically aware than average, this is a shocking condemnation the uselessness of some of the representatives we have today.

Any semi-decent politician would be deluging their constituents with information in the media and elsewhere about how they are doing this or doing that in their area – and generally getting their face and name well known.

Good “constituency” politicians are known about by word of mouth and for many of them it can add vital votes at election time.

However, for list MSPs or those representing “safe” constituencies, it is far to easy to get lazy and retreat to the bubble of parliament rather than get their hands dirty interacting with normal people.

234. HandandShrimp

wee e

I had a look on the Scotsman the other night and saw the Wings poster and Dr Cuddles who appears to be some sort of personal vendetta against Stu and has no interest in the actual topic of the news articles.

The Scotsman is a bit of a joke really. I have never felt any inclination to comment there.

235. ronnie anderson

@ Morag 12.36, Your hitting what Runners describe as the Wall

sit doon, wee cup of tae, Woo Sah, Woo Sah,press F5,

How do you feel noo, better.

236. albaman

Rev Stew
    Time for you to step in here me thinks.

237. Mat

+1 on YouTube (music) links. That’s not why I’m here and scrolling over the fully-embedded ones on my mobile is a PITA.

I actually emailed with a suggested way of disabling the auto-embed feature and got a kind reply. Guess it (a) didn’t work or (b) his coder is even slower than mine.

238. Ronnie

@ caz-m

So heedtracker says, but I have no info myself. Maybe it’s just on council buildings?

I intend to have a saltire oot the front o’ the hoose once the ‘official’ campaign starts, so if ye get an email fae the new jile at Peterheid ye’ll ken it’s nae allowed on hooses either!

239. CameronB

albaman
    I’m out of here. Off to Dundee, where I meant to be days ago to console my mother who’s sister passed away at the end of last week.

It would be nice to get some protection from the ref. though.

Peace!

240. BIll McLean

Have I missed something? Why was Jola not at FMQ’s today – not that I missed her Jackba was much more fun!

241. stramash

Morag, Albaman,
    Ditto. I understand these links are meant to be a bit of fun. Fair enough. But too many are a distraction. Think of new readers.

242. Doug

Have just emailed David Stewart and Rhoda Grant with a different but related set of questions.

243. Helena Brown

@Jimmy the Pict, wrote to Thomas Docherty previously and he had to be reminded to reply, so I would not hold out too much hope he will get back that soon.

244. Jamie Arriere

@Andrew

Yep, good call, WritetoThem.co.uk asks you for your postcode, and then lists all the representatives for you to contact & includes your address in the letter – so you don’t get them coming back asking whether they’re in your constituency

245. bobby mcpherson

Got this from Ian Murry MP Edinburgh South. Dear Bobby. Can i have your address please? Also, is this coming from an organisation?   If it is I would like to contact them with my response as I am receiving dozens of these and I think ti would be better if they asked then distributed the responses so we were not duplicating effort.

246. Nick

Well I have emailed my MSP Rhoda Grant and received an automated reply stating only registered voters in her area of responsibility will be responded to, so seeing that I sent another email with my full address under my full name. NO EXCUSES ACCEPTED HERE FOLKS. received an automated response acknowledging receipt. Oh look! a Sqirr . . yup that is getting old

247. Grouse Beater

My political representative is Marco Biagi MSP.

I have a feeling he’s convinced already of Labour in Scotland’s gross inadequacy, and Glasgow Labour’s flaky integrity.

248. Findlay Farquaharson

anne mcguire emailed.

249. wee e

handandshrimp
    Me neither! I wouldn’t touch the Hootsmon with a bargepole. My father used to buy it years ago when it was quite a good heavyweight paper whether you agreed with its editorial line or not. I didn’t think of checking it out online till a few months ago. It’s a sair sicht! I don’t know why I do, but I look in on it every few days when the headlines change. Looking at the bit where people post is like picking a scab.
    It’s below the level of debate in the Daily Record, a paper its readers used to scorn.

250. bookie from hell

Lamont at tony benns funeral service Westminster.paying respect,that why no FMQ

Westminster will say goodbye to Tony Benn today at a funeral service yards from the House of Commons where he spent a career spanning more than 50 years.

The former Labour cabinet minister’s body lay in rest before the funeral service in the Palace of Westminster’s Chapel of St Mary Undercroft, only the second politician to be granted the honour after Baroness Thatcher.

The service will take place in St Margaret’s, which is known as “the parish church of the House of Commons”, after his body makes the short journey by hearse from Parliament, with family members following on foot.

251. Patrick Roden

Blooming Nora!!!

The Revs even got the enemy advertising for him 🙂

252. CameronB

P.S. I have expedience social exclusion to the extent that I doubt any of you could imagine. Try walking around the street with a partially paralyzed left side and a pronounced aphasia.

I never thought I would experience the same lack of tolerance here. Or maybe I have already?

I may have gone a bit OTT with Chumbawamba, for which I apologise. I just though they had a very relevant and powerful message.

253. dan

ironic how they keep telling us tax will go up in an independent Scotland where in fact they could go up OR down, yet under further ‘devolution’ planned by Labour taxes can ONLY go up.

254. Mo Penman

John Robertson, Anas Sarwar, Willie Bain, Margaret Curran, Anne Mckechin, Ian Davidson, Tom Harris all have been sent an email.

255. Desimond

I was working on making this Downfall video when Morag posted her piece so it is in no way a response to her. Just an attempt at making us all smile…

WINGS TAKES THE SUBWAY

256. Alex Taylor

Sent to Jimmy Hood

257. Helena Brown

The two MEP’s contacted as well, hate to leave any one out. Oh and have to say all us Wingers on the e-mails caused mine and Hubby’s to fall over.

258. G H Graham

Might it be possible to minimise the quantity of links to YouTube videos of bands/songs etc?

Unless the video is of someone expressing a relevant political point, it’s hard to accept that videos of songs being played are of any relevance at all since they add nothing to our knowledge or understanding whatsoever.

259. tartanfever

Desimond,

that’s brilliant.

260. antmcg

I emailed the above letter to all my MSP’s and then realised I had accidenetally included some who are not Labour 🙁

So Neil Findlay, Alison Johnstone, Sarah Boyack, Margo MacDonald, Gavin Brown, Kezia Dugdale and Cameron Buchanan,
    all receved the letter.

261. Jenni Stewart

Sarah Boyack emailed 27/03 13:30

262. Adrian B

@CameronB

Relax man. Don’t take the comments to heart – you are seeing things to literally today. 😉

263. Chris Darroch

If folk want to get to the end of the commentary quickly then simply press the key on your keyboard marked “End”.

To quickly jump to the start of the page/article then press the key marked “Home”.

This will work on any webpage…….

264. wee_monsieur

Desimond 1.22pm – absolutely brilliant. You’re on sparkling form!

Questions sent to Jimmy Hood, Siobhan and Michael McMahon

265. Morag

Desimond, that’s fall-down funny! (One wee quibble. You have Stu raising $100,000. £100,000 is a lot more than that!)

Look, I wasn’t moaning about relevant YouTube clips, only aboutthe constant spamming of the threads with one person’s playlist.

266. Pat Brown

1 off to Gemma Doyle MP for Dumbarton.

267. call me dave

O/T EU:

Pensions, cross border schemes to remain unchanged. Dramatic about turn, strange. Not helpful for SG BBC radio.
    Details will emerge later no doubt.

PS.
    Hope to be posting again soon, off to Hospital. Do they have WIFI? 🙁

268. Andrew Brown

I’ve now emailed all six Labour European Parliament Candidates but I’m not holding my breath waiting on an answer. They’ll probably have to have a conversation/debate first or perhaps just wait and tell me in 2016.
    Seriously, why do they keep calling themselves the “Scottish” Labour Party ? There’s nae such beastie.

269. James Kay

I have now emailled Kirsty O’Brien, Asim Khan, Derek Munn and Kartina Murray.

All are Labour candidates at the fortcoming European elections.

270. turnbull drier

Desimond,

brilliant 😀

271. Desimond

Morag…yeah typo with the $/£ but one that Im sure Severin would approve of lol.

I for one will refrain from the youtube song postings ( usually where lyrics relevant IMO) but its also a community of making points through fun, laughs and interest as well as heavy political fact at times.

Lets not all forget that and allow some leeway at times. Jock Tamsons bairns etc. Fighting amongst ourselves only weakens us.

I think any personality clashes are expected in any family. We argue, sleep, awake, move on. I cant wait to fall out with someone in the Counting House…lol!

272. Flooplepoop

@Desmond
    Brilliant.. thanks 🙂

273. kininvie

@desimond

Tweeted & shared

274. Helena Brown

Yes Desmond, we are family and like many a family we fall out, so Morag and Cameron B, peace.

275. Jimsie

I”m also for the ban on totally irrelevant music videos. These spotty youths jumping around with guitars gie me a sore heid.

Salmond dealt Jackie Baillie a sore one at FM questions. If you haven”t seen it go to the SP website and have a laugh.

276. antmcg

“Dear

I am writing to acknowledge your e-mail on behalf of Mr Buchanan.

I note that your questions are regarding the Labour Party’s Devolution Commission, and as such I presume that your e-mail was just copied to Mr Buchanan for information. Please let me know if this is not the case and I have misunderstood.

Kind regards”

Anyone care to advise what to follow up with please?

277. heedtracker

Still no reply frae oor Wullie Young. But Wullie was just on BetterTogetherBBC local Aberdeen lunchtime radio sounding all statesmanly like and he says that he “always tells new execs that they are not just responsible to the cooncil executive but all 37 Aeberdeen cooncilors too!” So there. Hows that for saying absolutely bugger all.

278. Desimond

@Helena Brown

Hey, Who you calling Desmond?

279. Turnip_ghost

Just a suggestion (and apologies if anyone else has already suggested it, I’ve not had a chance to look through all the comments because I’m on my break at work) but would an actual letter from every person be effective? Imagine a deluge on actual letters rocking up on their doorstep? I know emails are an easier way for many and quicker too, but it’s just a thought….?

280. Robert McDonald

Just had a reply from Michael McCann saying, “Is this a standard draft? If so who drafted it?
    The reason I ask is that I’ve received five identically worded emails.”

Sent a very reasonable confirmation without the source (like he doesn’t know yet stating that a standard drafted reply to all of us constituents would be just fine.

Awaiting reply.

281. s4ge

questions sent to Anas Sarwar

282. CameronB

Apart from the silly horror clips, I try to make sure that lyrics are relevant. Queen Majesty, for example. Anyhoo.

Peace.

283. Brian Powell

Looking at a couple of the replies people have had from MPs, I think the MPs would like to push some kind of admission that this is a lobbying body, or even create the perception that this is a lobbying body.

If this happened they could limit what is done during the remaining time of the campaign. There are constrains on lobbying bodies.

To me Wings is a discussion and information forum, giving analysis of events around Independence, we happen to agree on Independence.

284. Helena Brown

Desmond, the Video is brilliant, still laughing.

285. Jonnie

Have e-mailed Jim Hood 🙂

286. Helena Brown

Sorry Desimond, I should have checked the spelling. So sorry.

287. heedtracker

“I may have gone a bit OTT with Chumbawamba, for which I apologise.” They’re all great Cameron. Keep em coming!

288. Andrew Brown

Desimond, great video, many a true word spoken in jest.

289. pictishbeastie

Only got one response so far, from Richard Simpson asking that I confirm that I’m in his constituency.

290. Desimond

@Helena

Just to be clear, I was only joking ( in the context of ‘families do fight’ etc)

Theres no I in Wings..( now theres a campaign slogan!)

291. tartanpigsy

Email sent to Michael McCann MP,

btw Rev also emailed your good self earlier. I know you’re feet are avoiding contact with any bit of ground at the moment but kinda need a couple of answers on that one.

thanks

292. Morag

Desimond, it’s not about the occasional clip. Though I personally don’t want to click on a link like that no matter what the “lyrics” might be. It’s about what has escalated to become spam. My God, if half a dozen people were doing what Cameron has been doing, there would be no room for discussion at all. But he seems to think we all want to know what music he likes.

Sorry, but it’s been getting on my wick for a while. I’ve seen other people mention it, but it never seems to have any effect.

293. Betty Boop

Claudia Beamish MSP
    Graeme Pearson MSP

Catherine Stihler MEP (Devolution Commission Member)
    David Martin MEP

Brian Donohoe MP

294. CameronB

Just to put the cat amongst the pigeons. 🙂

Bob Marley & the Wailers – Simmer Down
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VhGqWCKv83Y

295. Andrew Brown

Just realised I’m now an official Cybernat having posted here today for the first time (although I’ve been a long time lurker) so I can now wear one of the “Proud Cybernat” badges that my wife bought.
    Who do I report to for instructions ? Or will I get messages through the ether when I take my tinfoil hat off ? Anyone got George Foulkes address, he might know.

296. Soda

Email sent to Gregg McClymont…. should i hold my breath waiting for a response?

297. Soda

Could some one here with a better grasp of economics and monetary conditions tell me how accurate this reply i received from a gentleman in Nottingham is? I thank you in advance…

“To clarify the economic point
    1) no one is saying Scotland cannot continue to use Scottish currency notes
    2) all economies are underpinned by a central bank. In the EU it’s the ECB. In the UK it’s the BOE. In the US it’s the Federal Reserve
    3) an independent Scotland would have to have a central bank
    4) a central bank sets interest rates and underpins the financial establishments in it’s sphere of influence.
    5) by suggesting currency union you are abrogating responsibility for setting interest rates to a country you have just said you wish to separate from. Illogical?
    6) the BOE answers to the the UK government so why would you wish to allow it effective monetary control?”

298. GrahamB

Had another reply from Catherine Stihler’s office, less automated this time, asking for my address details. Similarly got reply from Ann McKechin (have to be careful not to put an extra ‘e’ in her name) also asking for my address. I’ve nothing to hide and would even welcome a doorstep debate with any of them or their lackeys, so no problem providing requested details.
    I’m sure by now their blog-monitoring/research interns will have worked out where the impetus for all these requests is coming from so everything will probably go quiet again.

299. Willie, Glasgow

First time poster. Keep up the great work.
    That’s Jim Murphy MP e-mailed.

300. Aye Vote

Remember list MSPs cover whole region. Rhoda Grant and Dave Stewart (Highlands & Islands) contacted by email today 27 March 2014

301. Awkwardboy

Russell Brown mp,
    and
    Elaine Murray msp
    for
    Dumfries and Galloway

302. ronnie anderson

Cmon noo childer,some wunt tae Rock n Roll, ithers wunt tae

Sway n Swing, some wunt the Hokey Dokey, sometimes the Hoose

moves wie Vibration, but THE FOUNDATIONS STAY STEADY.

LOVE PEOPLE LOVE.

303. Arbroath 1320

Copied, pasted, donedid! 😛

Elaine Murray Labour M.S.P. for Dumfriesshire should now be in receipt of my wee e-mail. 🙂

I’d have loved to send an e-mail to my Labour M.P. as well but unfortunately my M.P. is of the wrong colour, he is a BLUE Labour instead of being a RED Labour. 🙁

Come to think about it I think I was wrong there, my M.P. is a BLUE Tory whereas I needed him to be a RED Tory to send the e-mail. 🙂

304. Colin

300 posters times, let’s say on average four Labour MPs emailed, that’s around 1200 emails. They must be getting pissed off by now.
    You will hear them squealing about denial of service attack soon.

305. tartanfever

Welcome along Andrew.

As for receiving instructions, don’t worry, we’ll be contacting you ! 😉

306. Betty Boop

bobby mcpherson says:
    27 March, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Got this from Ian Murry MP Edinburgh South. Dear Bobby. Can i have your address please? Also, is this coming from an organisation? If it is I would like to contact them with my response as I am receiving dozens of these and I think ti would be better if they asked then distributed the responses so we were not duplicating effort.

LOL – It’s tough being in politics, eh? These folk just keep asking questions. Can Rev Stu help pass messages from the Labour Party, interpret for Johann Lamont…? 🙂

307. Morag

I think they’re already squealing, from something Stu said on Twitter.

I’m not getting work done, waiting for the other shoe to drop here!

308. Brian Powell

It is standard with all Parliamentarians to ask for full address, nothing sinister in that. They are supposed to deal with their own constituents not those from other constituencies.

It is an automated request.

309. john king

” I cant wait to fall out with someone in the Counting House…lol!”

310. tartanfever

Soda,

The first question I would ask would be for a precise meaning of what ‘underpins’ means to him.

Thats a very vague term.

311. Morag

I don’t quite know if this link will work, but it’s about Labour MPs and MSPs squealing about this.

https://mobile.twitter.com/WingsScotland/status/449182707227295744?p=v

312. Fiona

Well done, Desimond. That really made me laugh 😀

313. Oneironaut

YouTube links don’t bother me too much.

I can’t actually play them on this pile of junk I’m using as a computer anyway, so no matter. At least if it’s a song I’ve heard before, I can whistle it to myself or something.

314. GrahamB

Soda:
    The gentleman is basically correct except on points 5 and 6 where he seems to think the current UK central bank, BoE, has interest rates solely ‘controlled’ by England. That effectively happens now through Westminster but under a currency union the central bank would be influenced by all the partners in the CU. He’s not quite right in point 4 either as there are global trading conditions to be taken into consideration when setting interest rates.
    Additionally, a CU does not imply the central bank has any control over taxation except inasmuch as the interest rate would affect taxation revenue. This has a minimum effect since interest rates used to vary on a short term basis without affecting taxation policy.

315. john king

Desimond says
    “Theres no I in Wings..( now theres a campaign slogan!)”

Yes there is, here it is wIngs 🙂

316. caz-m

Douglas Fraser (spit), on BBC Scotland lunchtime news again “warning” us of “uncertainties” regarding money after independence.

The guy is a Fuckwit who doesn’t realise how forceful and desperate he sounds while spreading unionist fear stories.

So expect the teatime news stories to be of the “Too Poor”
    type tonight. And the papers will follow up tomorrow with the same “warnings”.

Fraser tries to make you feel sick with worry.

He just makes me feel sick.

He’s the kind of guy Adolf Hitler would have been proud of.

After Independence, when we are getting rid of all the dead wood out of places like BBC Scotland, then please leave Douglas Fraser alone.

Because I personally want to boot him and his space age specs right oot the door, never to return.

317. Dougie

Email to Claire Baker, Jayne Baxter and a Mr. G. Brown @ 1430 27th march

318. HandandShrimp

Soda

Your response has at least two separate things going on there.

If there is a currency union (whether the writer thinks it is illogical or not) then 2, 3 and 4 are not applicable.

If there is not a currency union then 5 and 6 are irrelevant. Scotland could choose to either peg its currency to Sterling which would negate the need for a Central Bank to set interest rates and money supply. The clearing banks could act as a cooperative to cover Lender of Last Resort should it be necessary. Scotland could float its own currency in which case a Central Bank of some description would be set up.

The 6 statements are not a logical flow chart of options but rather stand alone statements some of which are mutually exclusive. 5 is not a financial satement but an emotional one.

319. Robert McDonald

Latest from Michael McCann:”I’m afraid the who is important. Where did you get the draft Robert?
    Michael”
    No point in hiding it so I asked if I had to redraft the questions myself to get answers.

320. Fiona

@ Soda.

As it happens I agree with the points made by your correspondent.

A currency union does two things: it means that Scotland uses sterling in the same way as it does now and that it has some influence on monetary policy because it has a share of the central bank. That is the situation now, more or less

“Sterlingisation” is not like that because it is use of a foreign currency without any influence on monetary policy at all. More importantly there is no source of sterling except through exports or through borrowing, and that renders any country vulnerable. Indeed mainstream economists refer to an inability to issue debt in your own currency as “original sin” (though to be fair that is not really directly related to “sterlingisation”

I do not want a currency union at all: but I am absolutely against “sterlingisation” and I think it essential we have our own currency and our own central bank.

I am frankly puzzled by the apparent consensus that Scotland will not have a central bank and I wonder if anyone here can explain why that seems to be taken for granted. I will be very grateful for an explanation of that

Of course the minimal influence Scotland currently exerts means there is not much effective difference between the two, you may argue. But “not much” is not “none”.

321. kininvie

@Soda

Pick you answers from the following:

The SG’s fiscal commission outlined several currency options for an independent Scotland. The recommended currency union. Why?

1) Because it would make the transition to independence smoother for both countries, diminishing uncertainty, not just for Scotland but for rUK (which crucially needs to avoid its borrowing rates rising)

2) Because it would save an estimated £500m of transaction costs – affecting English businesses as much as Scottish ones

3) Because the two economies are very similar at present (Scotland’s GDP/pc = +90% of rUK’s). So this is not the Eurozone. This point was also made in the CBI’srecent report, which pointed out that the UK/Scotland was an ideal currency union.

4) Continuing to follow BoE fiscal and monetary restraints would, indeed, mean ceding some degree of sovereignty (on both sides) The Fiscal commission judged this to be worthwile for the sake of maintaining stability & ease of trade.

The main point of disagreement between the fc & the Treasury is over the length of time such a currency union should last. The two economies may well diverge in future over a timescale of – say – 15 to 20 years, at which point the options should be reviewed. The Treasury’s line seems to be that it must be permanent, and if not, it can’t work.

As usual, the UK govt is taking an ‘all or nothing’ approach. The rational and common sense response is one of gradual change, which is why AS suggests the all-or-nothing ultimatum is pure politics.

HTH

322. chalks

Tell them it’s the people.

323. DaveR

Contacted Glasgow South MP Tom Harris and Glasgow Regional MSP’s Hanzala Malik, Anne McTaggart and Drew Smith.

324. Wp

I’m sure Stu would say if he thinks any posts,you tube clips etc are OTT. I just scroll past most, but I’m sure they are posted in good faith. I’m just delighted to be with like minded people,you all sound like nice folk,lets move on together towards independence.

325. Murray McCallum

Desimond @ 1.22pm

The Downfall clip parody is excellent. Some really good lines in there. “New New Labour” – might just be true?

326. Grouse Beater

@ Soda

Others will answer in detail your Nottingham man’s blinkered assertions,; here’s my answer posted in haste:

1 & 2 Correct
    3. An independent Scotland does not need a central bank if it is in monetary union with a neighbour state. There are a good few examples of that working for other small nation states, and successfully for decdes, with Canada and the USA a fine example of large states sharing a currency.
    4. Correct.
    5. It is not full separation when a currency union is involved. (Evidence of which is keeping the Queen and open borders – hence, “separist” is grossly misleading. We seek reinstatment of all other democratic powers.) Nottingham man omits to mention, or does not know, sharing a currency still allows Scotland to set its own tax rates and to decide on how it spends and invests its accrued wealth.

That includes in spending on armaments, wars, as well as welfare and infrastructure, the initial two categories a serious concern for England’s ambitions and coattail hugging of USA foreign policy.
    6. First, Scotland would have genuine representation on the Board of Governors of the BofE, and you can be sure the BofE will avoid doing anything to injure the interests of its trade routes to Scotland, or its precious financial institution, especially when Scottish institutions are allied to their counterparts in England, and over 400,000 English live and work in Scotland.

Notts man should stop believing the BofE is exclusively English. It isn’t. It never was.

Nor will it be after independence because it is ingrievous hock to the USA. Having Scotland on its team is benficial to its long-term good health, and especially to the people of England. Isn’t that what Westminster’s minions claim now under the union?

And if the three political parties gang up again to block Scotland’s development, the BofE will be hobbled by rUK’s massive, crippling debts, currently £1.3 billion and counting.

Happily that choice is not his alone.

327. Robert McDonald

McCann is rattled and stalling me. Very busy, answer in the fullness of time kinda thing. Bet he’s here right now. Hello Mikey!

328. Desimond

@Soda
    Someone else here will be able to give you exact details you nee…

“To clarify the economic point
    1) no one is saying Scotland cannot continue to use Scottish currency notes – anyone can use sterling currency

2) all economies are underpinned by a central bank. In the EU it’s the ECB. In the UK it’s the BOE. In the US it’s the Federal Reserve – Almost ALL if we are being picky

3) an independent Scotland would have to have a central bank – who says exactly..ROTHSCHILD?

4) A central bank sets interest rates and underpins the financial establishments in it’s sphere of influence. By suggesting currency union you are abrogating responsibility for setting interest rates to a country you have just said you wish to separate from. Illogical?

Its simply the easiest way into the transition. For both Scotland and rUK.
    Ireland kept the pound for 40 years, Lots of African countries tie to Euro, some countries tie to Dollar..not end of world
    Our initial concerns will be stability, confidence, and where our actual money spent.
    Precise Economic management will come..if rUK dare dismiss us, they will get a major wake up call market wise.

6) the BOE answers to the the UK government so why would you wish to allow it effective monetary control?”
    See 5

329. Grouse Beater

£1.3 trillion ….

330. Luke

Rev Stu I need my comment at 27 March, 2014 at 12:31 pm Deleted since some berk is talking about defamatory posts or something. I have no idea how to delete it myself. Sorry about the trouble!

331. Alfresco Dent

I have a reply! It comes from the office of Lewis MacDonald. Don’t get too excited though…

Dear Mr BLANK,

Lewis Macdonald has asked me to thank you for your email.

The protocol of the Scottish Parliament prevents MSPs from taking up a case on behalf of another MSPs constituents. To ensure you are a constituent in North East Scotland I would be grateful if you would send me your address and postcode.

Yours sincerely,

Iain Daniels

Iain Daniels | Office of Lewis Macdonald MSP (North East Scotland)

Needless to say, although my request is legitimate, I just don’t trust them with knowing who I am. I would be looking for the Long lens of the Daily Heil everywhere. What does that say about the State of the Nation? That I can no longer trust the people I pay to represent me.

332. Betty Boop

“@ Steve B
    12.55pm

I think the most interesting view about a lot of the posts so far is how many people don’t actually know who represents them.”

You are right, I found I didn’t have a clue who my Labour MSPs and MEPs are! Then again, I suppose we never hear from them because they still think they have a God given right to hold their position. I remember the days when politicians turned up on doorsteps and at hustings and took the ear bashing. Too full of themselves these days and forgetful that they are there to serve the public.

333. Garry Henderson

The way I see it on the currency thing, is the Lender of Last resort is because the casino banks failed to be regulated, the assumption is thus iScotland’s banks would indulge in self same casino banking thus the need for safety net – Lender of last resort.

If an iScotland put regulation ahead of bankers bonuses we would then have no need for a lender of last resort as the banks would be in he business of lending money not making it.

Am I being too simplistic here?

334. SquareHaggis

Anyone know the answer to this one?

In a currency union, is it true (or false) that the scottish parliament would have a certain amount of control over & ability tocurb westminsters mad borrowing/spending sprees?

Having this discussion with colleagues at work and wanted to clarify, if there’s any legal/financial boffs about would be much appreciated.

Morag & CameronB peace out you’s 2

335. A Greater Stage

James Kelly MSP and Tom Greatrex MP. Not holding my breath.

336. Soda

Many thanks to tartanfever, GrahamB and HandandShrimp. I’ll see what he has to say and get back to you.

337. ronnie anderson

@andrew Brown 2.05< Welcome Andrew but there,s nae need fur

the Tin Foil Hat the noo, Wingers are cruising at altitude

in clear sky,s,nae turbulence.

338. heraldnomore

McCann? Nope, no reply at this end. Keep plugging away Robert, you must have his ear…

339. SquareHaggis

P.S. Wee Wullie Young has my inquiry but he’s out and about on the T.V. today living the celebrity lifestyle rather than representing his constituents.

Desimond, cracking viddy 😀

340. David McKeever

I wrote to Tom Greatrex and James Kelly.

341. heedtracker

@ SquareHaggis, check out the European Central Bank for possible sterling BoE share comparison.

342. Desimond

@Soda

Thinking on tone of your discussion with ‘Nottingham’ and the image of a Divorcing couple comes to mind.

Scottish Govt is the sensible parent, wanting to shake hands and say “hey we tried eh? Its over. Best of luck, lets discuss the legal and money matters like adults eh?”

The Westminster Govt are so angry and frustrated about being rejected that all it can think about is killing the family dog.

343. Willie, Glasgow

Hi This is my first time posting. Great work here by all.
    Just e-mailed Jim Murphy MP.

Willie

344. Craig P

Alfresco – it is standard stuff – you’d get the same response from any MSP, whatever their party. Tinfoil hat not required to correspond with Lewis Macdonald. 🙂

345. Jill P

I’ve emailed Graeme Morrice, David Martin and Catherine Stihler. Automated reply from Ms Stihler.

346. Soda

Ah, thankfully i read on after my last post. It seems it would be prudent to wait awhile before answering the gentleman just so i can digest all of your answers and opinions. Big thanks to all who have responded. Cheers 🙂

347. tartanfever

Fiona,

I think the public has a misguided idea of central banks.

Many automatically presume they are some vast organisation, with a piggy bank of reserves that can dole out money as and when. They are vital to running a country. They are full of learned old men with massive brains. The country would fall apart if it wasn’t for their intellect.

In reality, most central banks are a few economists sitting round a table deciding what to set interest rates at (if they even have that power) and occasionally ‘magicking’ money out of thin air with Quantitive Easing. They may advise the government of the day on economic policy and currency issues. Thats it, it really is not that difficult

You don’t necessarily need a central bank. If you need to borrow money, go to the IMF. Interest rates can be set by government, as Westminster used to do. Currency issues could be dealt with via a few economists employed in a currency unit as part of the civil service.

The entire world has been sold the lie that bankers, economists and so on are so talented, so intelligent, that without them the world would fall apart. It’s a myth.

348. Jimbo

@ Robert McDonald

Latest from Michael McCann:”I’m afraid the who is important. Where did you get the draft Robert?
    Michael”

Labour like to tell us how much they want to debate/have a conversation.

You can bet your boots they’re having a conversation right now – among themselves on how, or if at all, they should respond to these requests for information.

I don’t see why the ‘who’ should be important. I read the questions posed by Stu and was genuinely interested in knowing the answers. If (for whatever reasons) they are not prepared to respond to Stu, I am completely within my rights to ask my constituency Labour MSP to supply me with the answers to those questions. I should not have to justify my request.

349. Jist me

Emails sent to Jackie Baillie MSP & Gemma Doyle MP.

350. kininvie

@Square Haggis

The answer is that it would depend on what was negotiated. One thing is for certain though: if there was to be a currency union, the Scottish Government would be highly unlikely to accept anything which meant being denied representation on the relevant committees.

Whether that would mean being able to curb Westminster’s ‘madness’ would depend on the situation. In the worst case Scotland could walk out.

351. donnymac

Emails off to Ian Murray MP, Sarah Boyack MSP, Kezia Dugdale MSP and Neil Findlay MSP.

352. tartanfever

Welcome along Willie, good luck getting a response from Jim Murphy, be interested to see what he comes up with.

353. Nicol Hands

Email sent to Jim McGovern, Dundee West, beginning the letter by informing him that he is my MP.

354. Garry Henderson

@SquareHaggis

This is where I think the Ceding of Sovereignty point comes from, rUK and iScotland would have to agree borrowing levels, with rUKs borrowing through the roof I guess they don’t want iScotland suggesting to them they curb their spending…

iScotland on the other hand would likely not have or need high levels of borrowing from the outset.

This I believe is the main reason rUK have stated no currency union

355. Garry Henderson

Welcome to all new posters!

356. WallaceBruce

Emails sent to my East Lothian representatives Ian Gray MSP and Fiona O’ Donnell MP. Think I might go on a long holiday now while I wait for a reply!

357. Willie, Glasgow

@Tartanfever
    “Welcome along Willie, good luck getting a response from Jim Murphy, be interested to see what he comes up with.”

Got automated response so far. I have included home address so no reason for him not to respond.

358. Barontorc

Sent to local MP and requested timely response.

359. James Davidson

I have just e-mailed the following:

Fiona O’Donnell – LMP East Lothian
    Iain Gray-Constituency MSP East Lothian
    Claudia Beamish -Regional MSP South Scotland
    Graeme Pearson – SLAB South Scotland
    Sarah Boyack- MSP Lothian
    Willie Young- Councillor Aberdeen City Council
    Lamont
    Sarwar

360. chalks

They have principally said No to a currency union for political reasons, the only other issue I can see from their point of view, is that they want it to be a long term thing.

Whereas we want it to be for 7 – 10 years, if that.

They know fine well the hit the pound would take if we jettisoned it after 7 years of independence, when our non neo liberal policies are really beginning to take hold, not to mention the bounce from the west coast, new ships etc etc.

I don’t know if Salmond and co would be up for longer than 10 years…

361. CameronB

Craig P
    Just noticed your Momus clip. The “Art of Motorcycle Maintenance” certainly helped me on the path towards focus, though that was when my eyes were still spinning. So did “Johnathan Livingston Seagull”. Two books I never imagined ever reading. I also thought Kafka’s “Metamorphosis” had a HAPPY ending, after a rather odd girlfriend gave me it to read in the recuperation ward. It’s only thin but it still took the rest of the month to read before I signed myself out 🙂

362. ronnie anderson

@CameronB, Could ah put in a request fur Desimond

( Desimond Decker , Oh Israelite ) still laughfin at that

vid.

363. Tamson

@Grouse Beater, 2:42pm:

“3. An independent Scotland does not need a central bank if it is in monetary union with a neighbour state. There are a good few examples of that working for other small nation states, and successfully for decdes, with Canada and the USA a fine example of large states sharing a currency.”

Canada and the USA are a terrible example of large states sharing a currency. Because they have never shared a currency.

364. SquareHaggis

Kininvie & Garry Henderson,

Thanks guys, your messages are appreciated and have been relayed to the relevant dunder-heids (including myself) cheers.

365. CameronB

tartanfever says:

The entire world has been sold the lie that bankers, economists and so on are so talented, so intelligent, that without them the world would fall apart. It’s a myth.

Inside Job (2010)
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1645089/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsjeObJMDQQ

366. Ian Brotherhood

HoC and Holyrood will be devoid of all these Labour characters while they sit crash courses on the Devo-Nano and Red Paper bumph.

‘You! Yes, you at the back lassie! Baillie? Put those buns away and concentrate!’

367. faolie

@desimond

Just brilliant. “dinnae worry hen, your council expenses are safe”. Total hoot

368. Les Wilson

I certainly like the “Wings” train, over on the “Wee Ginger Dug!”

369. john king

Can we come up with a stock answer when they ask who’s pulling the strings?
    for maximum annoyance ye ken?

370. CameronB

ronnie anderson
    I’d love to but this time I’m definitely making Dundee. 🙂

371. john king

I need new glasses I’m seeing triple
    how the hell did that happen?

372. Grouse Beater

@ Tamson

I understand your point, mine in haste to show how well the two neighbour states co-exist even in times they differ on foreign policy. (The Canadian dollar has dropped a few cents lately against the US dollar.) Mind you, Canadians are invariably annoyed if called American, and are quick to state the difference.

Osborne’s attitude that England can tame Scotland by blocking or withdrawing sensible co-existence unless Westminster continues to exercise its dominance gives the lie to the love bombs claiming Scotland safer with Westminster dictating terms.

373. Harry

Sent to:
    Margaret McCulloch MSP
    Siobhan McMahon MSP
    Mark Griffin MSP
    Tom Greatrex MP

374. heraldnomore

Here’s another proud Scot in exile doing his journalistic and economist best to guide us to the light of the London bubble

http://www.forbes.com/sites/davidnicholson/2014/03/05/5-reasons-why-scottish-independence-would-be-an-economic-disaster/

375. Les Wilson

John, your getting too excited, your stuttering! Ha

376. Joe Mullaney

Emailed Tom Harris, just got a reply back. Needless to say, he had no answer to any of the questions; but he did promise `an extended debate’ on the future of devolution if there is a No vote, so that’s something to look forward to.

377. lumilumi

I don’t live in Scotland ATM so can’t write to “my” MSP/MP/MEP but what a cracking campaign initiative again, Rev Stu! 😀

Also, congrats on the WoS ads on Glasgow subway and all it led to (SPT, twitterstorm, STV, BBC, Gruniard…) I showed it all to a media research friend here in Finland and he was impressed and grinned like a Cheshire cat!

378. john king

It wisnae me,:(
    I saw another post appear twice further up ,
    I hope its not another DDOS attack!

379. Capella

@Morag Yep link worked. Message spreading!
    Richard Baker, MSP, emailed.

380. Jane

Have written to

Jayne Baxter
    Richard Simpson
    Claire Baker
    David Martin
    Catherine Stihler

Great work on WoS by the way, it inspires me to hope..

381. Ian Brotherhood

Don’t know if this is still the case, but I remember someone telling me that the reason sites like ‘Write to Them’ are so popular is because MPs are not allowed to receive e-mails directly from constituents. The most modern channel in use which ‘counts’ is the fax machine.

So, when you send a message via ‘Write to Them’, they forward it in the form of a fax.

Anyone else heard that one, and/or know if it’s true? If so, some of these people will be coming back to their office to find big snakes of paper undulating across the floor.

382. CameronB

As it appears that some folk are avoiding my posts as a matter of course, I suspect they will not have seen Figure 2 on page 10.

That’s my homework in Dundee, to figure out what that is all about.

Please, at least read the Abstract.

http://isites.harvard.edu/fs/docs/icb.topic1298573.files/Parliaments.pdf

383. Grouse Beater

Stuart

Has Wings had a reply about the outrageous Metro full page demeaning Scotland’s attempts at equality, “A Different View” – or are you keeping that information for a follow-up topic?

The amusing “A different view” reminds me of current spoof cinema ads for VW cars in which audiences are asked to take a radically different interpretation of famous moments in memorable movies.

384. Soda

I have let the gentleman from Nottingham know i have posted his comment here and invited him over to discuss it. I feel this is, obviously, an important issue and one that deserves to be fully examined and debated in a mature and adult way as it’s implications are of paramount importance to both Scotland and the rUK. In all sincerity i hope he takes up the offer and joins us for an open and frank discussion.

385. Joe Hutchison

Email sent to Brian Donohoe. Received a reply asking for my home address.

386. Gray

Sent to Graeme Morrice.

387. donna

Sent it to Rhoda Grant 3.15pm today. will inform you of her response.

388. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Emailed Tom Harris, just got a reply back. Needless to say, he had no answer to any of the questions; but he did promise `an extended debate’ on the future of devolution if there is a No vote, so that’s something to look forward to.”

Can you fire us his reply over via the Contact page?

(Same goes for anyone who’s had a reply.)

389. srt9969

“Thank you for contacting Ian Davidson, MP for Glasgow South West.
    We aim to respond to your email as quickly as possible”

390. StevieMcB

Johann Lamont e-mailed.

391. ronnie anderson

@johnKing, you,ve asked the question ( wha,s pulling the strings ) 3 times, you povided the answer yerself

Ye Ken,as if they did,nt know.

392. Doug

Grousebeater:

“The amusing “A different view” reminds me of current spoof cinema ads for VW cars in which audiences are asked to take a radically different interpretation of famous moments in memorable movies.”

Reminds me of ‘An Alternative Voice’ with Dave Spart (albeit right rather than left wing)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_Eye#Satirical_columns

393. Andrew Morton

Morag,

I agree with you 100%. I rarely look at any of the video clips except those related to indy (e.g. videos of interviews and meetings, etc.) and never listen to any of the music clips posted. The odd one I can live with but when it gets to post after post consisting of nothing but links to irrelevant pieces of music, I’ve had it up to here. I’m not suggesting the Rev. should ban them but if anyone wants to post dozens of these things can I suggest they start their own blog for music lovers.

394. EdinScot

Ive emailed both my msp for Edin north/leith Malcolm Chisholm and mp Mark Lazarowicz. Will i get a response this side of the referendum, tick tock.

395. Craig P

Soda @ 2:08pm & 2:59:
    It was common in the 19th century for Scottish banks to issue their own notes, the value of which was entirely down to the reputation of the issuing bank (and *not* the BoE). It is harder then for the taxpayer to pick up the tab from a bust bank, and there would be no guarantees your ‘Bank of Spiv’ money would be protected. Witness bitcoin as a contemporary example. For this reason, though you don’t *have* to have a central bank, most countries nowadays do.

Alternatively, you can piggy-back on someone else’s central bank. Montenegro, for instance, uses Euros despite not being in the EU (previously they used DMs). They have no say in setting interest rates or money supply for Euros, but it is a widely used and relatively stable currency, and so long as Montenegro’s economy is well-run, the risks are small.

Provided the BoE didn’t mess about with the pound too much, and iScotland isn’t run by New Labour-style fiscal illiterates, the situation for Scotland using the pound would be similar. We certainly wouldn’t be worse off – it is not like there is any Scottish input into setting interest rates or deciding on quantative easing at the moment!

PS: just read kininvie’s comment @ 2:35pm – think he answers it better than I have 🙂

396. Schrodingers cat

“john king says:
    27 March, 2014 at 3:30 pmCan we come up with a stock answer when they ask who’s pulling the strings?”

Dont get annoyed, get technical

Dear sir, as you are a member of the labour party who recenty published its proposals for further devolution in scotland, I believe that, after reviewing your proposals, the questions I asked in my previous letter were, sensible, thought out, relevent and important for the people of scotland to recieve clarification. They will be voting in the referendum this year and deserve to be as informed as it is possible to be. the biggist complaint i hear from both sides of the debate is the lack of information concerning the options being proposed and since it is the stated wish of the labour party to enter into a proper and enlightening debate, I believe that you should sieze upon the chance here being offered.

ps, improvements and suggested changes will always be welcomed. let’s get this right, we have time.

397. Desimond

Rev…Tom Harris reply posted via Contact page.

Its truly cringe material including some lovely digs..

“Thank you for the letter, the text of which you copied from wingsoverscotland.com.”

“While I understand why some are fixated on tax raising powers”( then a dig at current SNP Government of course)

“The sad fact is that those of a nationalist bent”

Fill your boots…Enjoy!

398. Andy-B

Here’s George Galloway on his Jist say naw tour in Fife tearing into the SNP and anything and anyone who favours independence.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/video/2014/mar/26/george-galloway-scotland-say-naw-video

399. DaveR

My first attempt at copy pasting this so fingers crossed I haven’t befouled myself in a formatting sense.

My response from Tom Harris after a terse address request from a minion.

Dear Mr Russell

Thank you for the letter, the text of which you copied from wingsoverscotland.com.

I should point out that September’s vote is not a choice between independence and Labour’s vision of increased devolution of powers: it is about whether or not Scotland would be better off separate from the UK and the EU.

In the event of Scottish voters rejecting independence, there will no doubt be an extended debate about the future of devolution. While I understand why some are fixated on tax raising powers the SNP Government, at least, seems to consider such matters as irrelevant, since it has declined to use the tax varying powers Holyrood has had since 1999.

The sad fact is that those of a nationalist bent will view any devolution settlement short of full independence as unsatisfactory. It is of absolute no surprise therefore that some supporters of the Yes campaign are unhappy with the devolution commission’s proposals.

Best wishes.
    Tom Harris MP

My Response after picking up jaw.

Thanks for copied standard text response.

Yes it was from Wings. Well done, but irrelevant.

The point is that the devolution commission members for this matters did not respond to the website, hence my constituent requests to my representatives. This request would not have been forthcoming if the commission members had had the courage of their convictions to respond to Wings.

This is Labours proposal, I agree with the issues and questions raised by Wings, as I would have done if I had read/seen/heard them in any newspaper or on other MSM, they however seem strangely reluctant to ask them.

So I come to you. You are my Labour Westminster representative and to date your response is dissembling about Nationalist/SNP and some nonsense about the referendum being a vote for Scotland being better off in or out of the UK, it is not, it is specifically and solely regarding independence, yes or no.

It is of note that you do not even remotely respond, in any way, to any of the substantive points raised. As a constituent I deserve some kind of answer to those substantive points. I would have thought as a Labour representative you would have been more than keen to have a conversation on such an important set of proposals that your parties commission has been carefully working on for 2 years.

Or perhaps you do not agree with the content or recommendations of the Commission. That would at least explain your hesitancy in responding or engaging constructively and the cryptic comment regarding tax powers being irrelevant when what Labour offers is an expansion of said powers. Labour and Liberals were in power in Scotland and never utilised them, so are the commissions recommendations regarding tax therefore also irrelevant?

David Russell, Constituent.

400. lumilumi

After 390+ comments I might be allowed to go O/T. And sorry if this has been addressed above, I haven’t had time to read all the comments!

Just started watching FMQs online (recorded). JaBa standing in for JoLa – and just can’t hide her smug enjoyment.

Have SLAB finally realised how incoherent and truly awful JoLa is and walked her back to her bunker after the car crash “Lamont week” she’s just had?

(If JoLa’s absence is due to a health issue, I apologise for my snidey comment. As much as I loathe the woman and her “policies”, I don’t wish her ill, health or otherwise.)

While writing this, JaBa has finished her “questioning” of the FM. Same old, same old SPAD script but at least JaBa can deliver the drivel with a smile (albeit a smug one) on her face.

As to the SLAB question – SSE froze their prices to hold on to a diminishing customer base and in anticipation of the Ofcom inquiry. LAB try to jump on the bandwagon after the fact. The same LAB that in their North British Branch conference just last weekend “moved to the left” and a few short days later voted with the Tories in Westminster for the overall welfare cap. Makes me boak!

At least Tories are fairly honest about what they are, Labour is the most deceitful and hypocritical party in Scotland (and the whole UK). They say one thing in public and then another thing in public. Especially north and south of the border.

You cannot put a fag paper between the red and the blue tories. In Westminster a Lab MP says they’re the labour, not the dole party, and some Tory head yin wants to rebrand the party as the “working people’s party”…

So who looks after the people who don’t work (children, students, pensioners, disabled, unemployed, carers etc. etc.)? Neither of these parties, for sure!

Sorry for the rant, this just makes me so angry.

For an “And finally…” light relief. A few years ago, the main Finnish right-wing party (still quite left of UK Lab) tried to rebrand themselves as “the workers’ party”. They were laughed right out and the initiative was quietly dropped.

401. Desimond

@DaveR

I reckon you will win ‘Cybernat of the Week’ with that Bazinga!

402. Grouse Beater

@ Doug

Ah, well reminded of Private Eye. In my yoof that rag too was removed, that time from shelves of WH Smith, I recall, doing the honours on behalf of the ruling establishment.

403. EdinScot

Thank you for your email which will be dealt with as soon as possible. This is an automatic acknowledgement so we may not have had a chance to look at your email yet.

Under Parliamentary rules, I can only take up cases for people living in Edinburgh North & Leith constituency. I would therefore be grateful if you could send me your address in Edinburgh North & Leith, unless it was included in your original email.

If you are writing about a particular problem, it would be helpful if you could send any relevant reference numbers, if you haven’t done so already.

Many thanks

Mark Lazarowicz MP for Edinburgh North & Leith

Its a sad day for democracy when i dont even trust an elected politician with my full address. It kind of smacks of the stasi in the former GDR to me and so hence my unwillingness to give them carte blanche to do as they like with my private details.

404. Dosser Fae The Shire

Email sent to Frank Roy & John Pentland.

405. Simone

Another copied and pasted response from Tom Harris! pity he didn’t also comment on the Welfare Cap which I also raised. Or actually answer any of the questions…

Thank you for the letter, the text of which you copied from wingsoverscotland.com.

I should point out that September’s vote is not a choice between independence and Labour’s vision of increased devolution of powers: it is about whether or not Scotland would be better off separate from the UK and the EU.

In the event of Scottish voters rejecting independence, there will no doubt be an extended debate about the future of devolution. While I understand why some are fixated on tax raising powers the SNP Government, at least, seems to consider such matters as irrelevant, since it has declined to use the tax varying powers Holyrood has had since 1999.

The sad fact is that those of a nationalist bent will view any devolution settlement short of full independence as unsatisfactory. It is of absolutely no surprise therefore that some supporters of the Yes campaign are unhappy with the devolution commission’s proposals.

406. Dosser Fae The Shire

Frank Roy MP
    Motherwell & Wishaw Constituency

Owing to the extremely high volume of e-mail being currently experienced, there may be a delay in responding to you.

Thank you for your e-mail

This auto-acknowledgement has been triggered electronically so I may not have had a chance to read your message yet.

Polite reminder

Please note there is a strict Parliamentary rule within the House of Commons that MPs only act upon communications from their own constituents. Therefore, if you live (or work) within my constituency, could you please ensure that you have included your

Full name, postal address and contact telephone number(s) in your e-mail

This will help me to deal with your communication more effectively and you will receive a reply in due course. Failure to supply these details will greatly delay any response I am able to give you.

You may check that I am your MP by using this link: http://www.findyourmp.parliament.uk

407. StevieMcB

email to Johann,i keep getting postmaster delivery failure
    I pasted from the pastebin to my Hotmail, is that the problem?

408. Edek

I’ve sent an e-mail to Greg McClymont MP for Cumbernauld & Kilsyth.

409. Desimond

@John King

Whose pulling the strings?…reminds me of a Zatoichi movie from about 10 years back.

Our old Hero battles everyone in the Village and retires to the bar moaning to the barman..
    “But I still dont know who the main one is!”.
    Then he pauses…
    “Its you, isnt it?” he says, raising his head to see a smirking barman.

Going on that Bar analogy, I reckon its Ian Brotherhood 🙂

410. Schrodingers cat

David Martin MEP
    Jayne Baxter MSP
    Richard Simpson MSP
    Claire Baker MSP

all done
    :), cant wait for the lib dems proposals? we shouldnt let them off the hook either

411. StevieMcB

Oops wee mistake in address
    email sent to Johann

412. CameronnB

Andrew Morton
    I hear what you are saying but perhaps it is your lack of understanding of the message carried by the clip, rather than the clip lacking quality.

How can rebel songs expressing the anguish of a former British colony, not be appropriate?

413. Schrodingers cat

if these guys thought they were in for a quiet weekend after their conference, think again, snigger

ps, is it worth everyone sending an email to ed milliband or jo la?

should we copy this format and ask ed balls to clarify his position on the currency union?

414. john allan

Don’t worry folks all is not lost.
    John Major and 2 english constituency MPs are coming to save us.

415. Jimsie

lumilumi4.11

Salmond let her ramble on for 13 minutes and then made her a laughing stock by producing details of a Tory party lunch club she was speaking at.Great stuff!

416. john king

Schrodingers cay says
    “Dont get annoyed, get technical”

Sounds good to me Schrodinger 🙂
    I’ll take that thanks,
    I had no plans to get annoyed though, I just want them to spend their time getting annoyed with us,
    nice to see you here ,don’t be a stranger.

417. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“(If JoLa’s absence is due to a health issue, I apologise for my snidey comment.”

Well, sort of. She was at Tony Benn’s funeral.

418. john king

Desimond says
    “Going on that Bar analogy, I reckon its Ian Brotherhood :-)”

Oh no not again?
    I am Sparticus!

419. cyril mitchell

I e-mailed Elaine Murray Dumfries

420. Flower of Scotland

No replies from Jayne Baxter , Richard Simpson , Claire Baker .However that’s a great reply DaveR! Hope you don’t mind that I photographed your reply on my ipad and if I ever get a reply from these MSP,s , I’m thinking of sending your reply. Wouldn’t it be fun if they all got the same reply!!

O/t just heard something on Radio Scotland Drivetime about the EU making it more expensive to have a pension in an Independent Scotland . They also said how the Scottish Gov. have been taken aback by this announcement. Hope to hear more later .

421. TheItalianJob

@CameronB at 3.25

Your posted YouTube video on the banking inside job is only available in the original Italian as the english version appears to have been pulled

422. Tom Hogg

A complete waste of time. Write to the papers instead or better still, attend an event or deliver some leaflets.

423. Les Wilson

For a bit fun I decided to email my MSP Neil Findlay ( yes, that one !), what I wanted him to do, was to see the ” Wings ” train makeup which was on the “Wee Ginger Dug “.

To this end I said that I could not explain this “Disgrace “, and included a JPEG taken off the Wee Dug. That he would just HAVE to see,in order to understand.

Bear in mind I did not mention what it was, in order to get his curiosity working.
    Here was his reply,

“I understand all advertising has been removed from SPT trains

Neil Findlay MSP” ,

So for him to reply about the trains meant he HAD looked at the JPEG.I knew he would not answer directly,I just wanted a laugh at his expense. So as you see, it worked,as he did view it. It made me chuckle! Hope he tells his pals!

424. Kenny

Try asking if there are any circumstances in which they would or have ever communicated with a non-constituent. Also, it’s irrelevant for Devo Commission members, party office holders and shadow cabinet members, since all have national responsibility. I agree that sending your address might be scary, but think of the story if you start getting any trouble…

425. FlimFlamMan

Did someone say currency union?

@Soda

Your correspondent’s points seem to rest on the word ‘underpin’. What do they mean by that? The functions performed by central banks underpin economies, but so do high quality education, transport links, and countless other things. The institutions we call central banks aren’t magic.

@Fiona

I share some of your puzzlement over the idea that Scotland won’t have a central bank. Scotland will certainly need the functions that are usually carried out by central banks, or at least some of them.* Those functions could as easily, perhaps better, be carried out by regulatory agencies and departments of the treasury though. They don’t necessarily need an institution called the central bank.

Westminster is undoubtedly playing politics over a currency union; some of the stated reasons for refusing it are just nonsense. Most obviously the claim that rUK tax payers would be on the hook for bailing out Scottish banks.

It is still true though that refusing a union is the only sensible option for the UK/rUK government.

A union can take one of two forms:

1) Scotland would have sufficient input on currency related policy to veto any given aspect of that policy.

2) It wouldn’t.

‘2’ can be ignored since that’s really just sterlingisation by another name. ‘1’ is the problem for Westminster; it would mean loss of control over the currency that rUK uses. Why does that matter?

The recent statement by Prof. Young, like previous statements by others, includes the claim that an iScotland/rUK currency union wouldn’t have the problems of the Euro because the two economies are so similar.

This claim is complete nonsense. It ignores the most important factor to currency unions, to nations that give up control of their currency: the ability to finance external deficits.

iScotland can expect to run external surpluses thanks to oil exports. rUK will run very large external deficits. The UK already runs large external deficits, and with lost oil exports those deficits can be expected to increase.

So on the point that really matters for currency unions the iS and rUK economies are not remotely similar. An rUK government without its own currency would lose the ability to finance external deficits in the event of a shock or economic downturn. They might even lose that ability without a downturn.

But… but… some economists have said it’ll be fine, and some of them even have ‘Nobel’ prizes. Yes; economists from the same mainstream, neoclassical school that set up the conditions for the global crash, didn’t know what to do when it happened, and are continuing to fail to produce meaningful or even sustainable recovery.

The Westminster political class are shameful, that’s a given. So the operators at the ‘vampire squid’ level of the finance sector, and their enablers in mainstream economics. But sometimes they tell the truth, even though they do so for nefarious reasons – like trying to scare the Scottish people into voting No. A currency union would be damaging to the rUK economy, and Westminster would be negligent if they agreed to one.

All of which is fine, since Scotland would have greater flexibility and potential with its own currency anyway.

* I’d just let inter-bank rates settle to zero; no more nonsense fiddling with them over imagined economic effects. Financial institutions need a rate to base calculations on? It’s still there: the risk-free rate is zero. No risk, no return.

426. TheItalianJob

@Desimond at 1.22pm
    Wings take the subway

Excellent and very clever. Watched it twice and I am still in stiches.

427. Schrodingers cat

john king says:

Oh no not again?
    I am Sparticus!

Schrodingerscat says, I’m Brian and so’s my wife 🙂

thanks for your best wishes John

428. Keith Hynd

Email sent to both Alex Rowley MSP and Gordon Brown MP but I don’t intend to hold my breath waiting for an answer.

429. CameronB

FlimFlamMan
    I we while back we chatted about public banking, when I suggested that a public Bank of Scotland could multiply up the receipts generated by the economy. What I was alluding to was “fractional reserve banking. Any thoughts?

Obviously I’m talking about sensible gearing.

430. Schrodingers cat

Kenny says
    I agree that sending your address might be scary, but think of the story if you start getting any trouble…

this is why i urge everyone to be very polite

431. John D aka Nkosi

Rhoda Grant emailed, I was very tempted to put in the subject line “Pie in the Sky” but I refrained.

432. armorrison

I live only a few doors away from Michael McCann (MP for EK, Strathaven and Lesmahagow). I’m tempted to write him a letter regarding this, and invite him round for a cuppa if he wants to talk about it.

433. Alan Of Neilston

Just emailed my M.P. Jim Murphy on the Slab Proposals await his response.
    Any of you contacting M.P’S should remember their web sites only reply to Constituents and to verify this they require you to give your home address. If you are not in their constituency they will not respond.

434. DaveR

FoS, no problem, but response was of course specific to the dissembling I received from Tom Harris. Although I imagine there will soon be a standard Labour response from them all across the board or more likely we will be blanked, this will be backed up by Cybernattery based slurs and whinging to the press as per usual Labour Standing Operational Procedures.

435. FlimFlamMan

@CameronB

Fractional reserve banking doesn’t really mean anything with modern money. 100% of deposits, 10%, it doesn’t matter. Canada has no reserve requirement*, beyond the fact it should be some positive value. 1%, 0.000001%, any thing above zero is fine.

With modern fiat money reserves are the mechanism by which the payment system operates, and the manipulation** of their level is also the mechanism by which central banks determine the inter-bank rate.

The fraction doesn’t matter, because central banks always create reserves when banks need them. To refuse would crash the payment system, and therefore the economy.

I do support public banking, either full operation or regulation as public utilities. The focus on fractional or full reserves is a red herring though.

* At least they didn’t until recently, certainly well after the 2008 crash, which they weren’t dragged into. I don’t know if they’ve changed policy, but I doubt it.

** By manipulate I don’t necessarily mean something nefarious, simply that the CB buys and sells bonds to supply/drain reserves in order to hit its target rate.

436. Ian Brotherhood

@Desimond –

‘You talkin’ or drinkin’, stranger? Cause in here? You don’t get to do both…’ (fwatt-ing! = sound of baccy-laden grogger hitting spitoon.)

437. Boorach

@ Les Wilson

I think you have Neil Findlay bang to rights for lying to you in an email!

Now I’m a long way from Glasgow but I’m prepared to wager that SPT have not removed all advertising from the trains.

438. K1

@CameronB

Forgive me if this feels in any way critical of you as a person, it isn’t.

I appreciate your strong commitment to the cause of Scottish Independence, I’m fairly sure that it has been lifelong. I’m also fairly sure your references in the videos you post are a strong reflection of your passion, and they are appreciated by many who come to Wings.

It seems to me that what others are pointing out is that there is a ‘broad church’ who come onto the threads to see the comments and gain insight and information, that maybe broadens their understanding of the issues surrounding the referendum. Many will never have considered let alone challenged the lifelong viewpoints that they have been quietly conditioned to believe. Not all will have journeyed to this point of voting yes in the manner that you have.

I infer from one of the rev’s rules about not going O/T too early in a thread, that it is to ensure the debate/discussion that immediately follows the rev’s/contributor’s post, addresses the heart of what he has posted. Any new person arriving can easily see and follow the ‘logic’ of how the comments relate to the context of the article, above the line (abtl).

If it’s a particularly long thread of comments, with in depth analysis by the commenters it does help to have an ‘unbroken’ flow, without embedded videos to scroll past.

So I don’t think this point needs to be viewed as ‘personal’, in that regard. Simply because if new people come on and see that posters can just embed videos, that although very relevant to their personal way of expressing their passion and commitment, are not related to the context of the article itself (notwithstanding occasional O/T personal/emotional reference). They may not stick around long enough to get the information that aids them toward making that leap from don’t know…to Yes.

It’s not the videos themselves that are the issue or you…it’s the context. Rev’s said to conduct ourselves as if ‘dont knows’ are reading. One of the best things about Wings is the free and open comments, and the remarkable lack of nasty backbiting rhetoric. This is what has made it a ‘broad church’ in my view and why it’s essential that it remains so.

439. CameronB

K1
    I hear you as well and will stop forthwith.

440. Conan_the_Librarian

Hey Cameron, there’s always the quarantine thread.

Wee smiley thingy.

441. Grouse Beater

@ Flim Flam Man

When economists advising us agreed a currency union the wisest of choices in the current financial climate, I got the impression Scotland’s current administration was obliged to offer it because it “benefitted” both sides.

But offer refused, it left Salmond in a win-win position.

He offered, it was refused. Therefore his administration can reply to expected howls of protest from England’s electorate facing tax rises and service cuts their government rejected sharing the burden of the UK’s debt, leaving Scotland free to have the rUK shoulder the lot.

442. CameronB

P.S. I hope someone else might re-post “The Diggers Song”, “Song On The Time” and “British Colonialism & the BBC”, at regular intervals. Perhaps three times a week. 🙂

443. CameronB

Conan_the_Librarian
    Sorted. 😉

444. Andrew Morton

@CameronB

As I said, I never listen to any of the music links, so I’m afraid I have absolutely no idea what’s in them. It’s no criticism of you or anyone else to say that my views on Scottish independence will not be influenced by a nano hair by a music clip.

445. lumilumi

@ Rev Stu 4.43pm
    (If JoLa’s absence is due to a health issue, I apologise for my snidey comment.”

Well, sort of. She was at Tony Benn’s funeral.

Aah, OK.

Tony Benn, no friend of Scotland. A radical in his time and now smothered into the safe Establishment family as the eccentric old uncle, wasn’t he cute, still mouthed those views at his age. [trilly laughter]

Menzies Cambell will probably get similar treatment. Oh, Ming was so great, always championing federalism [snigger] and, you know, liberal things. The old dear. [trilly laughter]

446. Inbhir Anainn

Was just researching more about this parliamentary rules malarkey.

Whichever method you choose, you should generally only contact your local MP as MPs will deal only with the problems of their own constituents and not with those of another MP’s constituents. This is because the British parliamentary system is founded on the principle that one Member represents a single constituency, and that her or his relations with constituents are very much a preserve other Members should not interfere with.

447. Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB –

FWIW, I like the fact that you post vids, even if I don’t watch them all, and I’m as guilty of it as and when the mood takes me. Some of the comments directed to you today have left a very sour taste, but ‘you can’t please all of the people’ etc, and some are much harder to please than most.

And what’s the big deal anyway? How hard is it to scroll over a vid? How big a dent does it make in the flow of conversation? This isn’t Hansard. And don’t ignore the decorative value of the occasional image popping-up, especially when you’re ploughing through a thread with hundreds of posts. Aside from anything else, there’s always the outside chance that – if you open your mind and your ears – you might find something to rock your boats.

Don’t let them get to you mister – the Crusher wouldn’t take it lying down,and neither should you.

448. MacBee

Email with quite a few tweeks sent to Anas Sarwar

449. FlimFlamMan

@Grouse Beater

Exactly. Well, mostly. It’s not the lack of a currency union that will cause cuts in England, it’s just the fundamental neoliberal bent of all Westminster parties. And UK/rUK debt isn’t a burden, provided it is denominated in a currency that that government controls.

But yeah, I think Salmond played a blinder. Again. It’s possible that they actually believe the economists but I think – I certainly hope – that Salmond and the SG understand the truth, but forced Westminster to make the move.

I still wish they’d get some economic advisers from outside the failed mainstream, neoclassical school though.

@CameronB

Just to add; when I talk about public banking I mean the full retail/commercial banking system, not just the central bank.

450. Grouse Beater

@ Andrew Morton

I still get a lump in my throat whenever I hear the Braveheart theme.

I understand my response is ajudged second-rate emotion when depicted by Anglophiles as irrational romantic sentimentalism, their Land of of Hope and Glory being truly life affirming in all regards, and created by a far superior composer.

451. CameronB

Ian Brotherhood

452. Hwanofbute

Sent to Rhoda Grant.

453. lumilumi

@ K1 5.39pm

Thanks for putting my thoughts better than I ever could’ve.

I have no issue with Friday/Saturady evenings when wingers get very O/T and in the party mood, toasting WoS and each other and sharing music – relevant or not – and just general mayhem. It’s great! One of the things that makes Wings such a great place.

However, I too feel that weekday comments should relate to the ATL article, however tenously (I know I am a repeat offender for going O/T myself ;-)).

Even on weekdays I like the odd YT link (old interview, reworked interview, parody) for information/using my own critical faculties, or for a laugh. Independence is a happy thing. I even like the odd YT music link if it has Scottish independence relevance – explaned by the poster of the link.

I don’t like lists of YT links with no explanation of how they relate to the bigger picture of the independence debate. I can easily scroll past them but I wonder what they make WoS look like to new readers – and after the SPT debacle, there are bound to be new readers.

That said, CameronB, I like your taste in music. 😉 I just don’t think WoS is the right place to push your playlist.

454. Grouse Beater

@ Flim Flam man

Your remark on globalisation:

From his latest analysis, Professor Stiglitz has a sound understanding of how Clinton over-ruled his, (and co-advisers) keenest theories and warnings, the result aided and abetted by Greenspan, a man who thought the loopy ideas of Ayn Rand laudable, (encouraging the worst in human nature – greed is good) thus laying the foundations from Reagan onwards for financial disaster – an economic theory based on thin air with a dash of pseudo-philosophy.

(I’m familiar with the extreme capitalism instigated in the form of “shock economics,” courtesy of the Chicago School of Economics, chiefly promoted by the unpleasant economist, Milton Friedman, and duly embraced with enthusiasm by Thatcher and Pinochet, among others.)

Anyhow …

Stiglitz adheres to the notion some globalisation is a good thing … but I have to ask, globalisation for whom?

455. CameronB

lumilumi
    Thank you.

I wouldn’t say I had a play list. I was just making it up as I went, ’cause it is so easy. The songs just felt appropriate. 🙂

456. K1

@lumilumi
    I appreciate your response and ditto re CameronB’s taste in music, not an issue 🙂

457. ronnie anderson

@ Lumilumi,as you,ve been informed JoLo was at Tony Benns

funerial, she was made chief mourner, every body else hud

a smile on their face bar Mrs Glum aka JoLo.

458. Grouse Beater

Should anybody think my exchange with the knowledgeable Flim Flam way off topic, Professor Stiglitz is one of the economists advising Scotland’s government on monetary choices for independence regained.

Anyhow, Rev Stuart has demonstrated admirably how one can get maximum return for minimum investment, namely your costs returned when your advert is pulled, causing it to attract priceless publicity nationally as a result!

459. Adam Davidson

Email sent to Michael McCann now, East Kilbride and Strathaven. interestingly my area is represented by Linda Fabiani MSP but McCann as Labour MP. I have never met the guy but everywhere I go I bump info Linda Fabiani. I know who I think earns their keep!

460. CameronB

So is that a regular gig then over in quarantine?

461. CameronB

Booking fee. 🙂

462. Scott Wilson

That’s another one off to Sarah Boyack.

463. Tommy Kane

Pinged Duncan Mc Neil, my local representative, although I do use the term loosely.

464. HandandShrimp

Seeing as we are doing music here is George Osborne singing to us

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gma5IUNMTn0

Maybe a bit harsh…I have a soft spot for Nomi.

465. CameronB

Or how about with a bit of Northern Soul?

Lightnin’ Strikes – Lou Christie (Live)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIu7aoC205s

466. Paula Rose

Oh flowers of Scotland

how fine to live in these times

so many who love this country

declaring their sweet love.

467. CameronB

HandandShrimp
    Is this what they call “group-thinking”? 🙂

468. HandandShrimp

Cameron

That was just a wee bit spooky

469. CameronB

Ian Brotherhood said:
    And don’t ignore the decorative value of the occasional image popping-up,

Perhaps the distorted reflection on the smiley face image was a little too subtle.

470. Peter Mirtitsch

Sent to Katy Clark, although I did add the following post script;

PS: I appreciate this is a lengthy series of questions, but I am genuinely interested in the answers, as I have tried from a number of other sources to obtain some and been unsuccessful. I have written to you before on a couple of occasions, as one of your constituents, and feel that you would be the person to clarify matters. I could attend your consituency office in Stevenston at your convenience, as I do not live too far from there, if this would facilitate matters. Thank you.

I am interested in her response, as the last time I required her assistance, I was fobbed off, and eventually offered some leaflets. (I actually wanted a class photo of my daughter)

471. Alfresco Dent

@ Craig P
    Thanks for that. Still, the hat stays.

472. CameronB

A smiley face I had left un-embeded in the hope that it might be appreciated, without needing to click the link.

473. Alfresco Dent

So, what’s happening tomorrow I wonder. Perhaps in the Aberdeen area.

474. Ian Brotherhood

@Grouse Beater –

‘Stiglitz adheres to the notion some globalisation is a good thing … but I have to ask, globalisation for whom?’

Perhaps this sounds simplistic and/or naive, but the whole neo-liberal ‘philosophy’ appears to hinge on the notion that the more wealth is hoarded by the top 1%, the more likely there is to be trickle-down, thus alleviating poverty, ergo, the top 1% are morally obliged to get even richer, thereby helping everyone else…eventually. It’s helplessly deluded nonsense based on circular reasoning – people like Milton Friedman tell powerful people what they want to hear, but sweeten it with an intellectual glossy coating to make it easier to swallow.

That’s not to say that consulting ‘experts’ is a bad thing – they will (for the correct fee, of course) expose the current thinking of the elites (if you have people clued-up enough to decipher the convoluted bollocks they trot out) and that’s always got to be worth a bob or two in the long-run.

We all know that capitalism (which I refuse to capitalise) doesn’t work. Have you ever been unfortunate enough to see a telly programme called ‘The Real Housewives of (insert large USA city)’ – I don’t know if there’s a term for that genre of thing, but it is stupendously grotesque. I did see a couple of episodes – in one of them, a ‘wife’ was showing off her new sunglasses and telling her pals that they cost $20,000. The pals, interviewed separately, and later, bemoaned her being ‘vulgar’ by mentioning the price (NB none said anything about the price being vulgar, it was her mentioning it that offended them.)

475. Jim Graham

Iain Gray contacted.

476. FlimFlamMan

@Grouse Beater

Yes, Stiglitz is one of the least awful of the New Keynesians, he’s a lot better than Krugman at least, but as a New Keynesian he is still part of the mainstream, part of the ‘try to make failed ideas workable’ school. These are people who still cling to the idea of rational expectations and Ricardian equivalence, to the loanable funds theory, to the idea that banks don’t matter because they just match borrowers and lenders.

The Bank of England of all places just came out with a paper, and even some videos aimed at the person in the street, that fully endorses endogenous money and thoroughly debunks ‘loanable funds’ and everything based on that relic of an idea. I say ‘of all places’ not because they don’t understand – as a central bank they cannot not understand – but because its hard to imagine an institution more a part of the financial and political establishment. Despite this new public position though I don’t expect the economic mainstream to change tune.

On the particular subject of Stiglitz and the commission, in addition to being part of the mainstream, he also has the disadvantage that currencies are not his specialism. If I could get any one person advising the SG, or the Yes campaign in general, it would be Prof. Bill Mitchell.

Stiglitz adheres to the notion some globalisation is a good thing … but I have to ask, globalisation for whom?

Quite. I don’t doubt that positive globalisation is possible; globalisation that protects workers and our environment. It’s just that all we’ve actually seen is globalisation that protects capital in general, and financial capital in particular.

And now of course we have the two big new Atlantic and Pacific ‘trade’ treaties, with some appalling provisions for ‘dispute settlement’, allowing trans-national corporations to sue governments for loss of expected earnings if governments, for example, decide not to allow said companies to poison the people or wreck the environment. Fortunately, both sets of treaty negotiations seem to be in trouble.

477. Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB –

It’s hard to imagine why anyone doesn’t have a smiley-face these days – we should be enjoying this for as long as it lasts, not nit-picking.

Personally, I couldn’t care less if someone took a notion to post close-ups of Alistair Darling ‘as Nature intended’ every five minutes, and Miss Baillie every ten (well, okay, maybe not that frequent, but the principle remains the same) so long as this site keeps thriving. FFS, we had a thread last week which contained multiple recipes for bats and squirrels – did anyone complain then that we might be frightening away the vegetarian constituency?

Anyway, I’m saying no more on this because I got on my high horse about Quarantine being a mess which needs updated, and I whined on and on and on about it. And where did that get me?

Eh?

478. CameronB

Quite. I don’t doubt that positive globalisation is possible; globalisation that protects workers and our environment. It’s just that all we’ve actually seen is globalisation that protects capital in general, and financial capital in particular.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trans-Pacific_Partnership

http://www.europeanvoice.com/page/european-voice-search-result/162.aspx?sText=trans+Pacific+Partnership

479. CameronB

FlimFlamMan says:

480. Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB –

Now you’re just being unacceptably cryptic…

481. CameronB

Ian Brotherhood
    2 + 2 = 5

482. CameronB

And please drop the @, if you please. I only use it on here when I am not supportive of the addressee.

483. schrodingerscat

ian brotherhood

i have a smiley face too ian

ps i wonder what the rev is up to?
    bets anyone?

will he have a full page ad in the metro tomorrow?

he is acting on twitter as if he is the cat who’s got the cream

484. Ian Brotherhood

The roots of ‘conspicuous consumption’:

485. schrodingerscat

CameronB says to Ian Brotherhood

2 + 2 = 5

…….but only for large values of 2

486. CameronB

Ian Brotherhood

Very big thumbs up.

I feel sorry for the Americans. Post-modern Katorga. Social trends used to take 20 – 30 years to jump the pond.

Just saying like.

487. FlimFlamMan

Ian Brotherhood

I think they’ve given up on the pretence that trickle-down works. The fact that the old corrupt system essentially survived the crash, that people protested a little but not for long, has emboldened those with wealth and power. They seem to imagine that they can continue as they are without consequences.

CameronB

@ectomy performed; is it not just the standard notation here? I’m too old to keep up with all the netiquette variations.

Anyway, yep, that’s one. The other is the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership:

http://www.nakedcapitalism.com/2013/11/the-global-corporatocracy-is-almost-fully-operational.html

488. memaw

Ian Brotherhood
    Completely O/T
    Is there room on the Wings night out for two oldies?
    So it is The Counting House near George Square,about 7.30 on the 4th April, is that correct?

489. CameronB

O/T Has anyone hear from Braco? Waves.

490. Grouse Beater

@ Ian Brotherhood

I can empathise with all you have had to say –

I’ve work in LA and can’t abide the conspicuous wealth. I arrive in my 143,000 thousand mile 3-door RAV4, almost 20 years old, but it has made me friends among Mexicans who drive theirs often with over 300,000 on the clock! It is great to drive, cheap to run, practical as a load carrier, and at 7.6 sec to 60 is fast enough. It cost me all of $1,500 and two new all-terrain tyres, trailered all the way from a Ford dealership in Alhabama. Toyota is proud of me even if they do prefer I buy a new one.

But that’s the USA. A land of great contrasts.

The the most powerful country in the world spends more on armaments than all other nations combined, and show us how easily some individuals lose sight of healthy, sane values.

491. Proadge

Sent to Darling

492. CameronB

I don’t know if this is relevant, and I am definitely not meaning to be anti-English, BUT the head of what used to be called the HW School of Town and Country Planning, was/is English, he claimed to be a socialist and may even have been a Fabian.

Wasn’t George Orwell concerned about the Fabians?

493. Ian Brotherhood

@memaw –

Yes, and yes.

You won’t be the only ‘oldies’ – of that be assured! I’ll stick you ‘both’ on the list, but that’s academic now, it was only ever a rough means of getting numbers.

It’ll be busy. Please keep an eye out for wee plugs via ‘Quarantine’ next week, but I’ll point to them via whatever thread’s ongoing. Barring any catastrophe, or sabotage (!?) the details are as you stated.

Looking forward to seeing you!

494. CameronB

P.S. He was top jock in the RTPI for a while. Shall we say I wasn’t his favourite?

495. CameronB

Not very supportive.

496. CameronB

Top 7 Zoidberg Scenes
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrQhv1KWAg4

497. CameronB

Ever asked yourself WHY it is easy for those with authority to exclude those who do not?

498. Des J

Hey Guys – I live in Glasgow Central so Mr Sarwar…

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.