The Peacemaker
Regular readers of Wings won’t need any reminding that Dani Garavelli of the Herald is, among some very stiff competition, one of the most contemptible pieces of nightsoil currently operating in the Scottish media.
But if you’re new here, we can give you a quick illustration.
If the sneering piety of that opening paragraph made you feel a little revolted, a bit angry and somewhat nauseous, then congratulations, because that means you’re still something minimally approximating to a decent human being. But unfortunately it gets a lot worse from there.
First, Garavelli makes sure to point out that SHE’s the real victim here – a “hardened commentator” too afraid of a debate to actually do her job and talk about it.
But hey, even if you’ve sat out the war with your hands over your eyes and your mouth shut while (mostly) women have been forced through a monstrous, vicious campaign of persecution, that doesn’t mean you can’t still lecture them on how they must react in a proper and seemly ladylike way when they finally get a measure of justice, right?
She doesn’t, of course, manage to identify any corresponding wrongs suffered by trans people during this great “besiegement” of, um, being endlessly and abjectly pandered to and celebrated by governments, political parties, police and every public authority in the UK for the last decade.
We’re not aware of any trans people who’ve lost their jobs at the hands of cancel-culture lynch mobs, been subjected to physical assaults, terrorised by gangs of masked screaming thugs at public events, spat on when trying to screen a film, nor been forced through traumatic police invasions and prosecutions or years-long court cases and tribunals like those endured by Maya Forstater and an endless list of other gender-critical voices.
But nevertheless, Garavelli is clear who’s really to blame.
Come on, women – why couldn’t you just have put yourselves in the place of “a trans woman having to walk into a toilet full of jeering men”?
And never mind that that’s something that has never, ever actually happened, not even once, in the entirety of human history – men go into toilets to have a piss, not gather round the door waiting in the hope of a transwoman coming in so they can all jeer at him. The fact that you didn’t empathise harder with this wholly imaginary victim means that you basically asked for all the violence and hatred that’s come at you ever since.
(Of course, it’s important to note that both sides say and do this sort of stuff all the time. Well, except for one of the sides.)
Remarkably for a “hardened commentator”, Garavelli seems to have a very poor ability to accurately detail even the most basic account of events.
The Scottish Government’s lawyers were the “trans advocates” in the Supreme Court hearing. They literally advocated the trans position (along with Amnesty, who were granted permission to intervene). And the Scottish Government was also perfectly at liberty to hire trans barristers like Robin Barry White, a specialist in discrimination law, to put their case if they felt that no “cis” lawyer was appropriate to do so.
And in fact it’s the gender-critical side that IS certain of the existence of the mental disorder of gender dysphoria. But when they correctly describe “transgender identity” as the mental illness that it is, all of Dani Garavelli’s pals in the Scottish media clutch their pearls and furiously condemn them as hateful, vile, toxic bigots for simply telling the truth.
When Dani Garavelli says that gender dysphoria is a mental illness she’s a brave, kind, impartial voice seeking consensus and mutual understanding, but when Murdo Fraser says it it’s an inhuman stigmatising smear.
(Hassan is right about one thing, in fairness – the snivelling two-faced weasel, who’d have to man up by about 500% just to be a beta male, hasn’t taken a position on ANYTHING since about 1979, he just sits on the fence whining that everyone else is doing debate wrong. Although it doesn’t take Sherlock Holmes to ascertain his actual view on the trans debate, he’s so courage-averse he still tries pathetically to deny it.)
There’s also only one winner in a battle between For Women Scotland (a handful of ordinary women who had to crowdfund every penny of their expenditure) and the Scottish Government over who has the bigger “purse” to deploy in a Supreme Court case, and it sure ain’t FWS.
If Dani Garavelli had been around in the time of David and Goliath, she’d have bleated that it was unfair that David was allowed to have a slingshot.
(In very much the same way that she indignantly fulminated at Alex Salmond daring to fundraise money to defend himself against accusations of sexual assault, whining that his refusal to admit to the false allegations was “intimidatory” to the government-funded liars conspiring to imprison an innocent man.)
Similarly, mention of “intersex people”, who have precisely nothing to do with the debate, starkly demonstrates her utter cluelessness.
All “intersex” people – more correctly, “people with Differences in Sexual Development” – are either male or female, and should already have been using gendered spaces accordingly. And DSDs are covered under neither the Equality Act nor the Gender Recognition Act, and so have absolutely no relevance to a court case which was solely about how those two acts related to each other. There is no issue here to resolve.
But what really matters now, says Garavelli, is kindness and reconciliation.
So let’s hear from some of the transactivists who protested across the UK yesterday.
It sure sounds like they’re keen to engage.
They seem to want to reflect and apologise for the excesses of the past.
And they’ve clearly accepted the reality of the Supreme Court’s ruling.
So come on, ladies. Be kind, be good sports and reconcile!
Reconcile or they’ll kill you, while Dani Garavelli berates you for resisting.
I think she misses the point, but to be fair, she has always done that. I personally don’t give a monkeys if the dress up and call themselves what ever they want, we know their not real woman and simply shouldn’t have any access to womans only areas.
Quite funny how she blames MEN for amplifying the trans hate . Deary me. She just will never be a journalist that one.
No clue, evil witch Garavellie fucking with women for men is truly despicable.
“But surely trying to find a way out of this mess is everyone’s responsibility.”
— the conflict between the EA and GRA was the mess, now resolved!
“The question is: can empathy be rekindled as everyone struggles to move forward?”
— empathy was always there, but I’m certainly not struggling to move forward; in fact, now the EA-GRA conflict has been resolved, I’m not struggling at all!
Sounds like this “Diversity viewpoint” I had mentioned on previous article although it’s just a new made up word for fence sitting and agreeing with who can shout the largest on the street.
Not very bright boys are they. All on record for future reference. Have these arseholes considered that they are being monitored and tracked.
Given that due to the Supreme Court ruling they will be sent to a men’s prison, it’s very doubtful that any judge will give any Trans individual a prison sentence unless the establishment wants to make an example like the riots last years.
Looking at the protests down in London which is featured in the article and the polis didn’t make any arrests as they ‘never saw anything’, it’s doubtful anything will happen to them for the foreseeable future, unless of course it gets brought up by Trump, Vance or Musk?
‘Semper ego specto’
That haven’t made arrests yet!
Hans Christian Anderson paralytic drunk couldn’t write guff like this !
I reckon we are about half way through this madness, the tables have been turned, but the deniers of reality will fight on for another few years before resigning themselves to the inevitable and the social media clicks taper off, but the SNP will no doubt continue to devote themselves to the cause as a great distraction from actually having to do anything about independence.
I don’t know how to break this to you
BUT
The SNP aren’t Yoon plants
the SNP aren’t enemy agents
the SNP actually truly believe in this gender woo woo
It’s interesting that she mentions the DSM in the same breath as science, as the way that the DSM is constructed is usually more to do with the biases of those who write the document then with any empirical observations.
Dysphoria is a state of low mood which is often a symptom of a wider disorder, it is not a condition in and of itself; and ‘gender dysphoria’ is only listed as a condition in the DSM because of political lobbying by trans activists, not any shift in the scientific consensus. If only Garavelli knew what she was talking about.
Excellent article Stuart. Madam Defarge excoriated along with the other TQ+ apologists. Now, police Scotland, do your job. Track down the hate mailers, the hate sign holders, the piss “artists”, the vile rhetoric agitators and get them prosecuted.
Martin Amis on journalists other than the “crème de la crème” –
“as for the others, all those toiling smallholders of the Fourth Estate: to their world-famous attributes of intrusiveness, negligence, vulgarity, and dipsomania we may add what Kingsley called their ‘non-committal superiority of manner’, their habit of ‘pervasive unspecific irony’, and their ‘cruising hostility’. “ (Experience, 2000)
So….if, and a really big IF, if For Women Scotland had marched with signs declaring a requirement of all ‘Trans’ to be hung, and had vandalised statues with degrading slogans, and then urinated on said monuments….could we expect Starmer to ensure that FWS were all rounded up immediately and prosecuted and jailed?
I guess it only works from the other side…what’s the technical term for it? ‘Two-tier’?
As of this time, Starmer is still maintaining his silence, head-in-the-sand, and allowing newspaper reports to fill up with his party apparently now contriving to find a ‘work-around’ of the law of the land.
…and then we have up here (unfortunately) got Swinney declaring his ‘concern’ about the ‘anxious Trans’….but not a peep at all about how biological women have felt anxious / concerned / scared / etc, for all these years, brought about by his championed policy of continually pushing their / they / call-me-a-‘blank’ fallacy.
It must really, really spoil his narrative that For Women Scotland won…as in, SCOTTISH women that stood up and defied his plans.
Seems like I would no longer simply be on the ‘right’ of politics…apparently I am firmly in the ‘FAR-right’ category…..for daring to believe in biological women.
Oh well. A badge I will have to endure.
Is it your intention to imply that you, with your views, are part of or indicative of a majority of the population of Scotland? If so, what evidence will you provide?
Will you provide your definition of “FAR-right”, please?
Your point concerning Police partiality is agreed.
Great piece, Rev. The article was dire and totally one-sided. Most of the comments below the piece described it as a disgrace. Gutless, I would have said. So few of the journalists have guts anymore. When something is so detrimental to the well-being of the vast majority of society, you have to oppose it and stand up to it, call it out and draw its teeth. No other way. The only reason they get away with terrorizing people is because most of the government, much of the media, almost every public institution is headed up by these people. They are backed up every day by cowards. If everyone stood up to them – the police, the courts, all institutions, none of it would even be heard.
Garavelli’s piece on Mr Salmond was excruciating, but this was beyond virtue-signalling. It’s way past time when these scrotes were arrested for the things they say and do; the police were quick off the mark when it was women saying very mild things about the removal of the rights. Those judges showed they had cojones although they must have known what would happen. I hear that they have been receiving threatening messages, too. For justice to be done, it needs to be seen to be done. The newest facial recognition techniques can identify people through masks, and these aggressive thugs need to know that.
Every Glasgow boy knows that if you brandish a weapon in public you had better know how to use it.
Are you one of those middle class neds from Bearsden or Milngavie?
No. that’s where Milton boys stole the cars.
I hope all these signs and poster are being reported as HATE CRIMES.
As a Yoon
I firmly associate these crazy people with the SNP and Scottish nationalism
You may want to try and fix this in the future
As no chance am I voting Yes to handing my future over to those loonies
PS
Deeply disappointed there was no link to the loony with “her” zimmer screaming witch at people
That was like something from little Britain
Just actually funny
‘The only gay in the village’. Great stuff.
She states:
“What the SNP failed to factor in is that the very nature of intersectionality means occasionally two sets of rights will collide. This was true of self-ID, some biological women warned, in a handful of specific areas: prisons, Rape Crisis centres, Women’s Aid refuges and sport. “
But then goes on to quote:
“ Yet last week, the Equality and Human Rights Commission said there was a swathe of single-sex spaces such as swimming sessions and hospital wards, from which trans people would now be legally excluded.
I suggest “swathe” is much more accurate than a “handful”
How does Mrs Swinney feel knowing that her husband has spent his day denying women.
“Yet last week, the Equality and Human Rights Commission said there was a swathe of single-sex spaces such as swimming sessions and hospital wards, from which trans people would now be legally excluded.”
Maybe it would be better to say that Trans people are not being excluded, it’s biological men are being excluded.
Trans people still have the same rights as always, and that’s based on their biological sex, not their delusion.
Exactly. They could have fought for the right to separate spaces for themselves and would have got support but by trying to diminish woman’s rights in pursuit of some conceived lack of rights they have damaged their own cause.
There’s a very good reason why they want access to female spaces and nothing else, Wee chid. It is because this movement is driven wholly by sexual feelz. The females have got to be in the spaces so that the men can get their laydee feelz. No one wants to talk about the truth of this. I’d bet that both Swinney and Starmer had victory speeches all ready for the ruling when they thought that the men would win. The ruling has been one almighty shock to all the chancers.
The Rev has been subjected to more abuse than Scotland’s entire trans community.
He has constantly had the entire U.K. media vilifying him for presenting the true, threats from all sorts of twisted morons including those above and of course from every party’s political leaders.
I would suggest Garavelli studies the Rev’s consistently high level of investigative journalism and expose her as a more suitable candidate for graffiti writing.
So sad to see the Scottish press still hiring imbeciles detached from reality.
You used ‘Garavelli’ and ‘studies’ in the same sentence.
He has.
He has.
She should, but won’t.
It is.
Slightly O/T perhaps, but anyone interested in lodging a formal compliant against the behaviour of the odious piece of work Maggie Chapman MSP for her comments yesterday (20/04/2025) that she sees “bigotry, prejudice and hatred” coming from the @UKSupremeCourt can do so here:
link to ethicalstandards.org.uk
On the face of it her comments would appear to be a clear breach of the statutory obligation MSPs have under the Judiciary and Courts (Scotland) Act 2008, Part 1, Section 1 to uphold the independence of the judiciary
Not at all O/T.
In my not so humble opinion.
After all she was also instrumental in appointing, and keeping in position, that bloke at the ERCC . . . is Brindley still in a job I wonder?
Where’s Brindley’s pal, Mridul Wadwha of Rape Crisis Scotland? S/he’s always been pretty outspoken – until now. They’re all pals of wee Nicky too. Their silence is deafening.
@ Andy Ellis do you have a link to her uttering those words that could be included in a complaint to the authority
It’s reported in several papers including:
link to scottishdailyexpress.co.uk
link to x.com
The same DG who, when politely pointed out that I could identify Woman A from her article and supporting information, blocked me.
Praise the lord the Supreme Court has sense.
The fact is this madness should never have got to any court.
The question was is this bunch of aggressive mentally disturbed males and fetishised types ladies.
Answer was always NO.
Now apologies from politicians and sackings of NHS manager’s Senior Education officials and any other clowns who supported this nonsense would be in order.
I may be wrong, but the photo of the guy with the long fair hair, carrying the placard advocating witch burning and suggesting ‘J.K.’ should be a recipient, looks very similar to the high profile, transgender, West Midlands police officer who liked to promote himself posing with a taser.
If correct, is this behaviour unbecoming of a police officer and possibly a disciplinary offence ?
Have only read one article by her before, it was about the Salmond Trial, if she is reading this, thanks Dani for spilling the beans on the identity of some of the Alphabetties.
Good Job!
As Calgacus said before the battle of Mons Graupius, AD 83,
`They make a desert and call it peace`,
sums up our woke white uni educated middle class virtue signaling misogynistic journalists.
She’s as horrible and poisonous as every aphabettie in Scotland, that deserves Corton Vale!
I wouldn’t wipe my arse with a Garavelli publication. Sturgeon propaganda!
Garavelli: a destroyer of women’s rights. When she backed perjurer Woman H even though she heard all the facts!
The Edinburgh elite. Horrible people and Scotland hates birkie gutter press scum like her.
Lock her up for the Kirsty Wark demented smear retrial because she didn’t like the fact an innocent man was innocent.
Deep state bullshit to keep Scotland in chains
Fuck Garavelli she should be in jail with the perjurers
The earlier comment about the whereabouts Mridul Whadwa is a timely one.
There can be no more of a woman’s space than that of a Rape Crisis Centre and yet here you had a centre with a biological man masquerading as a woman at the heart of it.
And a man who freely admitted on video that if he’d told the truth at his job selection he’d not have got the job.
But despite this and despite the truth coming out thanks in huge part to the investigative journalism this man was protected and indeed supported by Sturgeon a d her coterie of biology deniers.
In any other universe this would be a crime. Holding oneself out to be someone you are not, and especially so in an organisation providing protective support and space to traumatised women raped by men is utterly unbelievable.
But that exactly is what was done, was promoted by our people in power.
And Police Scotland,our rotten sectarian, politically biased police force, they stood by whilst they politically stuck the proverbial boot into others at the behest of their political handlers.
So where is Mridul now? Why is he not being pursued for his behavikur. And how many abuse action from traumatised individuals may be in the legal wings.
A Rape Crisis Centre with a biological man masquerading as a woman. Where indeed is he now.
I think that law suits are coming for these people. Let them sweat a bit, as they intimidated women who were asking only for the law to be applied properly. The Scottish government itself may be sued if it does not implement the UKSC ruling properly now, throughout its many institutions – which, incidentally, it is still throwing money at, at the taxpayers’ expense. Mridul was a liar and a cheat on his application form, but the high heid yins (one being Maggie Chapman) allowed him to be appointed. These people are twisted.
That MSP (Green) creature, Chapman – is calling for the law not to be implemented. She denies, allegedly, in her profile, that she is a member of the Justice Committee, but, as such, she is trying every dirty trick in the book to subvert the ruling and thwart the law. Calls are going out for her removal. Joanna Cherry has stated that, as an MSP, she cannot call for the breaching of the law without also breaching Parliamentary Standards.
Well said, Willie (and the poster up thread too).
I wonder if he’s sashayed off to ‘reframe his trauma’ in a darkened room somewhere.
Oh hang on, stupid me, that advice was dished out by him to women at their lowest ebb in life, there would never be any intention to follow it himself.
He’s no doubt far too busy running his business in EV charging stations and winning lucrative SG contracts to do so.
Scotland is truly blessed with a huge number of complete prats masquerading as mainstream media journalists – thank goodness we have Stu.
Mediocre Sycophantic Morons.
Once upon a time there were folk like John Pilger.
She really is a piece of work.
To frame this writing that she’s presumably been paid for (bogus workman activity) as a transgender ruling and not a defining women ruling tells you all you need to know about what will follow.
An article that mentions standards and Maggie Chapman a sentence you don’t expect.
“Reconcile or they’ll kill you”.
Very Israeli-like.
Don’t know how Garavelli looks in a mirror, without cringing with embarrassment that, yes, indeed, she is that dreadful idiot.