The killer blow

Posted on April 13, 2018 by

Yes, we know the Express announces a “killer blow” to independence every couple of weeks. But otherwise we can think of nothing to add to this story, so just click the pic to read and enjoy.

[EDIT 6.50pm: Duh! We’ve just noticed the article is in fact from exactly a year ago. Beamer for us! But we didn’t notice it then either, because the Express is such a joke that we rarely bother to look at it, so it’s about as relevant now as it was last year. And, y’know, we very much doubt the mad old sod has changed his mind.]

1. 13 04 18 20:56

The killer blow | speymouth

86 to “The killer blow”

1. Ian McCubbin

Sorry what a duck to think we will believe this nonsense. I need to go for a lie down laughing too much.

After bravado of War with Syria threat we are next!
    Wow what a week!

2. Ian McCubbin

Sorry what a dick to think we will believe this nonsense. I need to go for a lie down laughing too much.

After bravado of War with Syria threat we are next!
    Wow what a week!

3. Andy smith

Maybe someone should tell bill there won’t be an UK when we leave with our our oil, and take back the territorial waters signed away by labour lap dogs, any more lip bill,we’ll cut off your water supply too!

4. Xaracen

That story is a year old.

5. yesindyref2

They used to say that the US had Steve Jobs, Bob Hope and Johnny Cash, but that the UK had no Jobs, no Hope and no Cash. Well it’s not true, the UK DOES have Bill cash.

Whooppee-dooppee-dogs-doo.

6. Davy

A Tory MP, the Daily Express, a kick in the heed , pick any option and get the same effect.

A sare heed.

Honestly have you every seen such shite in the unionist papers just lately.

7. Jockanese Wind Talker

Aye, there is a palpable panic in the air amongst the BritNat Ruling Class.

They know that they are well and truly fucked when Scotland becomes independent.

An unserviceable National Debt of £1.9 Trillion due to Brexit and no longer having control of Scottish natural resources.

The Kingdom of EWNI has no real national Industry and will struggle to feed, clothe and heat their population with cutting standards across imported goods.

They also know when the people South of the Border see beyond their tame BBC/MSM bullshit they won’t be too safe even in their gated communities.

8. heedtracker

It is the last heavy industry in their Brexit UK now. So its no wonder they wont give it up to anyone, let alone the nation state that does own it all.

9. handclapping

At least they know about the Scottish climate “Autumn next week” with an April byline

10. Scot Finlayson

“You`re no gettin it,

and if yi did get it there`s nane left onyway,

an if there wiz some left and yi did get it it`s no worth anythin onyway,

tongs ya bas ”

said Sir Bill Cash.

11. Still Positive

Ha Ha Ha!

12. Breeks

Xaracen says:
    13 April, 2018 at 6:46 pm
    That story is a year old….

No it isn’t. I heard it in the 70’s.

13. Corrado Mella

As I was saying…

https://oboporopob.wordpress.com/2018/01/28/final-chapter/

It would be nice to have it all and we would be “embarrassingly” rich (that’s what the buried McCrone report said).

But I know it wouldn’t be right, from a cold headed economic perspective. I wouldn’t like the inevitable onslaught of deep social consequences such a move would cause.

When we will start afresh, we cannot leave a trail of misery behind. That’s not the Scots thing to do. Leave that to the BritNazis.

14. louis.b.argyll

Maybe the nuclear option can be resisted by the Superpowers, allowing endless conventional war, with Scotland’s oil and strategic usefulness buffering England’s elitist stupidity.

15. Karen

Surely it kinda shoots unionism in the foot a bit. Telling Scots that their oil isn’t their oil doesn’t do the union’s case any favours, even if it is a regurgitation from over a year ago. They’ll never learn. UK ceases to be UK after Scotland leaves anyhow so they can call it what they like but it will be not be the United Kingdom any longer and Scotland will have her oil and a wealth fund If the oil’s extracted. If not, Scotland has sufficient renewable energy potential to create a wealth fund from its proceeds. Doesn’t really matter how daft the lie is for unionists,if you shout it long enough and loud enough, some buggers will believe it.

Another good one Stu.

16. Marcia

The Tories have been saying that since 1970.

17. Iain

They must think we are a bunch of fannys.
    Maybe they are the fannys.
    Maybe they can arrange for us to be nuked.
    They must be absolutely desperate.
    Poor fannys, and they have Brexit looming.

18. louis.b.argyll

If England’s nice to us, who knows, we might even share the oil with them for a transitional period of five or ten years, to underwrite any new currency policy.

19. Brian Powell

Tories say it is theirs, Labour says the voters are theirs, both bitterly spitting their venom over the country. Empty, dead, soulless, tied together in their little Brit empire.

Noticing too in his diatribe, Scotland is no part of the UK.

So, yes, it is entirely relevant.

20. dakk

Worth highlighting the story again anyway.

If only to illustrate yet again the grasping,theiving parasitic nature of an English/British Nationalist.

The BritNats say it is almost worthless and run out anyway,so why are they so afraid of losing it?

Because they are theiving liars is the truth.

21. Shinty

We all know Scottish Independence is not about the OIL, but to our colonial masters it is very much about the oil – they won’t bomb us back to the stone age like they do in the middle east and beyond.

They don’t need to, they have a helpful band of forelock tuggers right here in Scotland, only too happy to do their bidding.

Wakey, Wakey Scotland, time to get off your knees.

22. Dr Jim

There’s oil there’s no oil, it’ll run out on Tuesday, multi squillionaire Ian Wood puts strawberries in his and drinks it with a straw it’s so scarce

If Scotland wins Independence has it not dawned on these divs
    going to court to claim it’s still theirs just won’t work because it’ll be within Scotlands international waters and borders then and not UK national waters they’ll have their own wee border with thousands of guards employed to keep out the not English people till they’re broke then they’ll have a change of government and ask them all to come back again

But they still won’t have the oil they keep telling us Scotland doesn’t have

23. Rock

He is right.

A majority of Scots democratically handed over to Westminster 3 years ago what the parcel of rogues had undemocratically handed over 311 years ago.

THEY are laughing all the way to the bank.

The most stupid people on earth are in Scotland.

24. Socrates MacSporran

Shinty @ 7.55pm

I wish I could share your confidence about the three nations country of England (although they will be down to two by then) looking to bomb the shite out of Scotland following Independence.

We will have the oil, but, we will also have a hard core of dissident religious zealots, still worshipping the King or Queen of England, in our midst.

We could well be back more than half a millennium in having to fight-off English aggression and territorial demands.

25. yesindyref2

Curious how Rowat of the Herald lauds Billy Connolly and damns Still Game. Couldn’t be anything to do with the allegiance of at least one of the actors I guess, nor lines like “Prescriptions are free in Scotland, this whisky is medicinal”.

26. Mike

It might actually be that the Tories don’t understand the fact that there is no UK without Scotland. When Scotland becomes Independent the Act of Union 1707 is abolished and the treaty that created the UK ends leaving behind the Parliament of England Wales which wont have any claims to anything that don’t belong to England or Wales.
    That’s without taking International Maritime law at face value which is very clear about who owns what waters in terms of geographical territorial claims.
    Cash is just another fucked up wee fascist bastard who wont see or acknowledge any reality that doesn’t fit in with his own needs and wants.

27. Joe of the Coutts

Not a lot about administrative error Jeremy Hunt on the EBC. Although he is in charge of the NHS. Funny that.

28. manandboy

The each-way bet is for the US-FR-UK bombing of Syria to be called off in an act of pragmatic compassion, as a step toward Trump, May & Macron being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Propaganda Rules.

29. ronnie anderson

Well the Express isnae Cash ing in wie that pish

30. HandandShrimp

LOL

Bill Cash and the Express. Two ridiculous old anachronisms together. A marriage made in hell.

“The oil fields are worthless, they’re ours you can’t have them!”

The good old “everything that is ours is ours and everything that is yours is ours too”. Silly old duffer.

31. Artyhetty

One year, makes little difference, it’s the sort of thing we need to keep sharing.

If you pop over to the National Library of Scotland’s image archive you will find loads of films about Scotland’s wealth of industries, including oil, and that was way back in the 1950s. They built a pipeline from the West coast to Grangemouth to take the shale oil away on boats, to er, England no doubt. Lots of the really controversial films are not available online, but many are,

Scotland has been had, big time! Meanwhile the Britnats, on both sides the Tweed, kept Scotland poor and begging.

Just before indy ref 2014, I was on a bus reading a paper, 2 young lassies were interested that I was wearing a yes badge, Westerhailes, Edinburgh. They asked, but ‘whose oil is it?’ I said well it’s Scotland’s oil, the whole bus was listening. Loved it, you could feel the atmosphere, people were interested and wanted conversation.

So as many shares about the oil, the McCrone report, Scotland’s resources today, it all get’s through much to the absolute annoyance of the Britnats.

If the rUK was a teensy bit willing to share, we could share as well. As Gordon Indy car guy says,
    let’s discuss that. They would ‘t deserve any share in our oil, but it might get us independence. Anyone? Btw, it takes years to prospect for oil and such stuff, so any fabrication of the companies and UKGov back in 2010 onwards about it all drying up is, well, total, utter fabrication. Hate the dirty stuff, but Scotland, and in fact UK, could have been so much more OK, if the Britnats had!’t had their mucky paws all over it!

Let’s not mention the massive gold mine about to tear up the hills at Tyndrum, for the Scotgold company, an Australian company! I wonder where the loads of cash will go, hmmm….Gold, black or yellow, it’s there for the stealing, if we let them.

32. ian murray

When Scotland introduces its own currency I am quite sure that the Scottish Pound will very quickly be worth than the English pound
    and the sooner the better.

33. Bobp

Rock 8.14pm. Nah,Only 55% of them.

34. ronnie anderson

Artyhetty .
    Gordon Ross ( indy car) said we should sell the Oil fields to England , now that statements up there with Jim Sillyarse’s , we should take one of the Aircraft carriers in lou of the dept .

Both get sillier with every utterance .

35. jfngw

The only question is will we trade our oil in dollars or yen, always options, which one to choose!

36. Shinty

Socrates MacSporran says:
    13 April, 2018 at 8:14 pm
    Shinty @ 7.55pm

I wish I could share your confidence about the three nations country of England (although they will be down to two by then) looking to bomb the shite out of Scotland following Independence
    ——–

Have no idea what you are on about regarding my post at 7.55pm

I suggest you read my post again. Maybe I’ve fallen for it an you’re just stirring up shite. Bye

37. Bob Mack

These damned oil fields are like the cooling system on my old car. Every time I plug a leak ,a new one appears.

38. twathater

Re all the people willing to extend the resources of Scotland to people south of the border in a gracious charitable act , I would like to put your proposals to a vote of people who have suffered undeservedly from the ravages imposed on them from the wondrous wastemonster governments e.g. bedroom tax ,working tax credits ,job losses ,job centre closures , and the constant denigration and abuse heaped on the aspirations and dreams of citizens of Scotland lovingly referred to as SWEATIES ,SUBSIDY JUNKIES , JOCKS or any of the other pet names they have for us undesirables . ( it’s only banter )
    I am aware that not ALL citizens of england are bad but they are the ones who constantly vote the reprehensible tories into government yet we have to suffer their evil

So I for one am not about to forgive or forget 300+ years of theft and lies to advantage englands benefit so I think they have had enough charity

39. twathater

Ronnie A 10.11 pm

Gordon’s comment was made on 1st April I hope it was an April fool

40. Craig Macinnes

O/T I know but I’ve just watched BBC 10 o’clock news for the first time in ages and it IS frighteningly 1984-ish…

FFS! I see they’re still peddling the fake chemical attack as being perpetrated by the legitimate Syrian government! The Americans even claim to have proof! At least the BBC said “all lies are on the White House tonight…” what? Oh…all eyes…right, sorry, I thought for a moment the BBC had inadvertently told the truth for a change…

Wow! These fuckers are getting orgasmic at the prospect of illegal war…Jesus H. They keep showing that crudely staged Islamic rebel video of these poor kids getting soaked by water hoses as if this was a credible way to treat any chemical attack…no streaming eyes, no breathing difficulties and that is their proof!!!! I honestly thought that after Iraq we might have learned but obviously not…

OMG! We’ve now got the “Nerve Agent” crap again…the propaganda is so crude it’s laughable but it seems to be working

41. Crackerjack

England and their peoples remind me of the old Holywood actress who refuses to believe that she is no longer the star she used to be.

She still thinks the world adores her and looks to her for moral judgement and guidance.

Somebody needs to tell this old actress (england), that the party is over. no one listens to you any more and worse still, nobody cares.

Will you tell her or will I.???

42. Scottish Steve

When he says “us” he is referring to the British/English government. They see Scotland and her resources as a personal possession. But servile unionists have no problem with this. Handing over Scottish resources and sovereignty to England is the natural order for them.

43. Welsh Sion

My “oil parable” … written BEFORE Indy Ref 1. (Needs updating in places, but I hope you still enjoy it.)

37. (of 60)

The Scott family trunk

Jack Union was an inveterate gambler. As often as not, he was to be seen in one of the many casinos in town. He was seldom seen in these places without his bosom pal, Sam Washington.

Like most gamblers, Jack Union lost more money than he won. But that did not stop his addiction to roulette, blackjack or slot machines. On the contrary, the more he lost, the more he would stake in the (often erroneous) belief that this outward appearance of riches would influence the roulette wheel or the card dealer and he would recoup (and with interest) his initial ante.

Most of the croupiers had by now got wind of this piece of ostentatious bravado on the part of Jack Union, had seen it for the pretence of power or sham that it really was, and had happily arranged matters so that Jack Union would continue to lose money at their casinos. So it was then that Jack Union, and egged on by Sam Washington, could be seen squandering his money on the throw of a die or on the turn of a card night after night.

In fact, it would be charitable to say that Jack Union was throwing his own money about on the gaming tables and elsewhere. One might have allowed Jack Union the personal choice of frittering away his money. Maybe one might have suggested, very tactfully of course, that he seek counselling for his addiction. But, if rebuffed, a likely scenario as not, one could shrug one’s shoulders, withdraw and walk on by. To each their own.

What was more pernicious however was that in fact, Jack Union was gambling away money that he held on trust for others. In so doing, he was not only breaking legal principles but also his moral obligations towards those others.

Some time previously, Jack Union’s neighbours, the Scott family, had fallen on hard times. In order to raise some revenue they had been obliged to sell an old trunk which had been in the family for centuries and was considered to be a valuable heirloom. The trunk was therefore sold to the brokers, Purcell O. Rogues on Cabal Street in town. The sum realised was a meagre £17.07. Rogues had then sold the trunk on to Jack Union at a healthy profit to themselves, with the (and as it turned out, unenforceable) caveat that he, Jack Union, would look after the Scotts in any business dealings involving the trunk.

Now the trunk also came with a large amount of a thick, black and unpalatable liquid which was held in a vast number of bottles. Jack Union quickly seized the opportunity afforded to him by this and began to sell off the bottles of black liquid, thus making a big profit for himself. Obviously, monies accruing from the sales of this commodity were then “invested” in the casinos – not transferred to the Scotts as detailed under the trust deed. Thus, the profits fed Jack Union’s gambling addiction and also underlined his illegal and immoral conduct as the Scotts’ trustee and guarantor.

Naturally, the Scotts were not best pleased at Jack Union’s behaviour. What they considered to be their birthright was being sold off in order to finance Jack Union’s gambling lust. So they gathered together, decided to enlist the support of their friends, notably Jacob Ite and his dashing young lieutenant, Charlie Stewart, to petition Jack Union for the return of the trunk. To no avail. Redcotes, Jack Union’s butler, refused them entry and gave Jacob Ite a bloody nose on the doorstep of Culloden House. Charlie Stewart was forced to flee for his life when Redcotes called for the enforcer, Butcher-Cumberland. (This last was known in town for his savagery and ferocity. Butcher-Cumberland was not a man to be trifled with nor crossed.)

Having dismissed Jacob Ite’s petition out of hand, Jack Union reinforced his position and continued to act with impunity. When the trunk was not in use, he had it securely padlocked. Redcotes acted the dutiful retainer. A private army was maintained under Marshal-Wade to crush any future attempt by the Scotts to regain the historic trunk. In the legal domain, Messrs. Darling, Lamont, Davidson and Davidson (Solicitors and Commissioners for Oaths – the last named partner was well-known for administering oaths) spun legal principles in order to maintain Jack Union’s authority over the Scotts, deprive them of the historic trunk and protect him from being sued for breach of the trust deed. (The other partner in this legal practice was said to be on sick leave. Contrary to popular belief, Rennies give you indigestion – not relieve you of it).

With all this in mind, Jack Union therefore felt secure that nothing could hinder his progress to further profits and his enjoyment of gambling.

But as is often the case, nemesis is to be found to be a close companion of hubris. One evening, Jack Union lost a much larger sum than normal at the Iraq Venture casino. At his side, as was usual, was his best friend, Sam Washington. Now, subsequently, and although the link between the two was not proven, a few weeks later Jack Union was barred from the AAA Club. In private, he was furious at this slight to his seemingly invincible self-confidence. In public however, Jack Union insisted that there would be no change in his outward behaviour. He had to keep up appearances. He would continue to squ- – errmm – invest the monies earned from the sale of the bottles of the black liquid in other casinos.

The Scotts, quite naturally, were appalled by the man’s brazenness. There had to be a way of reclaiming their historic trunk. They had to shock Jack Union into realising what he was doing and that like all gamblers and cheats he would ultimately be left all alone with no friends or money. Not that they felt any pity for him, of course – it had gone too far for that.

Yes, that was it. They, the Scotts, would have to take matters into their own hands. They would have take the trunk back themselves. They would also get a Salmond key from Jenkins’s the locksmiths on h-Aye Street in town. This key would serve as a skeleton key, opening any lock, removing any obstacle to their acquiring the trunk, and most importantly opening the padlock to the trunk itself which Jack Union had placed on it, once it had been returned home. The regaining of the Scott family trunk then would quite literally be in their hands.

Next, a date for the planned day for liberating the trunk from Jack Union’s house had to be agreed upon. It was then unanimously accepted that 18 September was ideal – most of Jack Union’s private army would be away on leave or square bashing at their annual muster in Aldershot or Brighton or Blackpool or wherever at that time. (It did not really matter where – it was enough to know that most of the Praetorian Guard as it were would be away then).

The Scotts and their followers would then be able to rush on Jack Union’s house, seize the trunk and return both it and the bottles of black liquid back to their rightful owners.

An element of surprise was vital – Jack Union and his cohorts would not (nor indeed, should not) expect an attack. In order to avoid being seen by either Redcotes or Butcher-Cumberland or indeed PC Cameron, it was decided that the action to liberate the historic trunk had to occur at night. (They took their cue from the actions of a previous generation who had successfully carried off the Stone of Destiny just before eight o’clock – ten to eight or 19.50 to be exact – one Christmas Night). The date, 18 September had been fixed. Watches were to be synchronised for a little before a quarter past eight, 20.14, on that evening.

Will the Scotts be successful in winning back their old family heirloom, their historic birthright and talisman as represented by the trunk and the bottles of black liquid? Will the trunk once more have pride of place in their home – its proper home? The family know that it is tantalisingly close to their grasp. They also know that if they fail that the retribution of Jack Union and his associates will be harsh and unmitigating.

They also know that if they succeed that they will be depriving Jack Union of his money making schemes at their expense. On learning of the loss of the trunk and the bottles of black unpalatable liquid, Jack Union will find he will no longer have the means of funding his once lavish and extravagant lifestyle. He will expire a bitter and twisted man. Jack Union’s downfall and demise will not be lamented in the Scott household.
    ______

(c) Parables for the New Politics
    2012-2018
    All Rights Reserved

44. ronnie anderson

twathater Westminster/England are not know for their generosity to the peoples of other nations who leave their tender stranglehold , they will make all kinds of claims for years after Independence . It’s foolish to expect England to play fair on anything .

45. Crackerjack

Craig Macinnes 10.24pm

“…I’ve just watched BBC 10 o’clock news…”

You must be made of stronger stuff than me Craig.

I just can’t bring myself to watch any news bulletins at the moment.

It is an assault on my intelligence mate..LOL

46. Crackerjack

England becomes more foreign to me by the day.

I just don’t recognise it as anything other than this nasty foreign country to the south of our border.

Yet they ram their foreign news headlines on us every day of the week.

It is like Belgium getting French news headlines beamed into their living rooms every day. It just wouldn’t happen.

So why should it happen it Scotland, where we get english news headlines rammed down our throat every day of the week.

Enough is enough.

47. artyhetty

Re; Ronnie Anderson@10.11

I see thanks. Nah, to sell our oilfields would be daft. Scotland though has just this week proven to be doing exceptionally well in renewable energy. It’s such a shame it is still not the go to policy of UKOK gov, because even their kids and grandkids will be cursing them when the chips are down and there is no clean air to breathe, and no clean water to drink. But yeh, I had a couple of Yoon pals, Labour, proud Scot buts,who aksed why we would want the oil, ‘it’s dirty’, they said. Aye I said, it’s absolutely freaking minging in your Labour and Tory hands so it is! They reckoned Scotland’s whisky was just creating a drink problem with it being exported as well.

That would be like saying to France stop exporting your wine, it’s causing people to drink it!

48. heedtracker

England and their peoples remind me of the old Holywood actress who refuses to believe that she is no longer the star she used to be.

She still thinks the world adores her and looks to her for moral judgement and guidance

Twa l’s in Hollywood CJ.

Also CJ, the world tends not look to Hollywood actresses for “moral judgement and guidance,” nor is it offered by them much at all.

Oprah, maybe. But Oprah is still the star she used to be.

Then there’s Ronnie Reagan too.

Must try harder, CJ the sexist .

49. Greannach

Oops! I should have gone to Specsavers. I thought that was veteran Conservative and Unionist MP Brian Wilson in the photo!

50. Northern Rock

Tomorrow’s National front page:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DasMYSmXkAEEh6G.jpg

51. Northern Rock

Tomorrow’s “National” twitter pages:

https://twitter.com/ScotNational

52. Gary45%

Forget about oil, the Empire will NEVER let Scotchland break away, because they have to keep their Nukes somewhere away from ENGERLAND.
    Simples.
    If Mr Bumbles(Boris) cannot get the world cup away from Russia, Qatar will be next in line for England’s fuckwittery.
    Palestine is getting destroyed daily by the Israeli Ziononists and the west do FUCK ALL.(this does not make me anti-Semitic).
    Putin and Assad are the good guys.(The rest of the world leaders are an embarrassment).
    No idea who the Tory plamph is in the picture and basically I don’t give a shit.

53. Dr Jim

We’re at the stage now when any *British* media tell you something you basically have no choice but to believe the opposite, although to be fair I saw this coming years ago when they told us artificial sweeteners were good for us

54. Indy2

England’s Prime Minister Theresa May is making a complete arse of herself. She is actually waiting to see what Donald Trump is going to do before she decides whether she bombs Syria or not.

And this is also the same clown who is leading us out of the EU.

We surely deserve better than this.

55. artyhetty

Re;Welsh Sion@10.33pm

Enjoyed your parable. It conjures up the olde style pirate stories crossed with the mafia old style films. Oh dear that might be getting a bit too close to the actual fact of the whole kit and kaboodle.

Beware pirates, watch out for their flag Scotland.

56. Robert Peffers

@ian murray says: 13 April, 2018 at 9:51 pm:

“When Scotland introduces its own currency I am quite sure that the Scottish Pound will very quickly be worth than the English pound
    and the sooner the better.”

Would the year 1707 be, “sooner the better”, Ian?

That’s when Scotland got her own currency and you can read all about it in the Treaty of Union- here’s a sample:-

“XVI. THAT from and after the Union, the Coin shall be of the same Standard and Value throughout the United Kingdom, as now in England, and a Mint shall be continued in Scotland; under the same Rules as the Mint in England, and the present Officers of the Mint continued, subject to such Regulations and Alterations as Her Majesty, her Heirs or Successors, or the Parliament of Great Britain shall think fit.”

In 1707 it was agreed that Scots Banks could legally print their own banknotes and thus Scotland has always had a distinct currency but tied to the English Pound Sterling. When a Scots bank prints off a batch of banknotes it has to legally deposit a special high value bank note in an account in the Bank of England to the value of the notes they printed.

This money does not belong to England it is Scottish Money. When the Union ends that money will be returned to Scotland as it belongs to Scotland but, as the Bank of England has never in its entire history belonged to England as it remained a private company until 1946 when it was nationalised by, The United Kingdom. Then Scotland owns a negotiable part of it.

So if Scotland creates a central bank, (and there are moves being made in that direction just now), then they have a choice to declare the Scots Pound Sterling as Scotland’s currency. It is distinctive enough for English retailers to refuse to accept it or even offer less than its face value to any Scot attempting to use Scots pounds in England.

Then Holyrood can decide if it is advantageous to tie the Scots pound Sterling to the English Pound Sterling or let it float freely on the currency market.

The Pound Sterling has long been an international Trading currency and as such is bought and sold like any other commodity. This is why every news broadcast and newspaper has the rates of international trading currencies quoted against each other on their financial pages.

What that means is that no one can prevent any country from buying and using any international trading currency as its own. Many in fact do just that. In fact I’d bet that the Scots Pound Sterling, if NOT tied to the English Pound Sterling would soon rise dramatically against the English Pound.

Which was one of the things Gavin McCrone warned the UK government about in the McCrone report:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McCrone_report

Which was why Westminster panicked and hid the report away in a vault for so many years. The same conditions warned about still exist today and would have the same result. It is not a good thing to have your currency rise against another but it is a damned site worse for the one it has risen against. The bright side is that there are things, good things, that a good government can do to mitigate such circumstance.

57. Joe of the Coutts

Heedtracker 10:57
    But Jackie thinks everybody loves her!
    Hogmany every news where you are night.

58. mike cassidy

Re ‘what currency’

Read and weep!

“At midnight on 31 December 1992, the Czechoslovak Republic bifurcated into the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic. In 1993, the newly independent Slovakia introduced its own koruna, replacing the Czechoslovak koruna at par. Provisional banknotes were issued in denominations of 20, 50, 100, 500, and 1,000 korún by affixing stamps bearing the coat of arms of Slovakia and the denomination to Czechoslovak banknotes.[2] The main motifs on the obverses of the banknotes represent important people living in the territory of the present Slovakia in various historical eras. On the reverses, these motifs are completed by depicting places where these people lived and were active.”

And that was them for 16 years until they joined the euro.

Imagine a newly Independent Scotland simply sticking things on to existing banknotes and saying

Right. That’s the currency fixed!

59. heedtracker

But Jackie thinks everybody loves her!
    Hogmany every news where you are night.

Don’t remind me. Only 8 months to go. Jacky’s been Beeb Scotland’s news “anchor” since before they invented actual anchors but she’s a Hollywood star? Long to reign over us, tell us we’re all shite and, there’s been a murder…

60. schrodingers cat

wos has never been anti english, only anti westminster.
    cj, indy2 and other trolls are doing their best to change that.
    when the authorities discredit and try to shut down this site, it will be their comments that will be used as proof of the right wing anti english nature of this site.
    stu, you need to get rid of these trolls

61. schrodingers cat

this is a concerted effort to discredit this site folks, wise up.
    heed
    wake up and smell the coffee

62. heedtracker

And please don’t reply to this, coz I am not in the mood for chasing you down to the bottom of the page with your endless crazy rants.

Awe CJ, I didn’t get where I am today, remember that CJ? I didn’t get where I am today without flaming sorry arsed trolls like you and indy2 btl.

How hot do you like it flamed CJ:D

63. heedtracker

wake up and smell the coffee

Of course SC. I like to light them up from time to time. We get endlessly lied to and bullshitted all time, by yoons, day and day out and then up they pop with more cunning stunts:D

64. schrodingers cat

heed
    this is a concerted effort to destroy this blog and you are not hindering them, you are helping them.

65. Scot Finlayson

`U.S. started its military action against Damascus before daybreak Saturday as loud explosions were heard reverberating across the Syrian capital with red dots seen flying from earth to the sky in what appeared to be air defenses responding to the U.S.`

jeezo.

66. Black Joan

US AND UK and France. Dragged in against our will. Independence now, should we survive …

67. Reluctant Nationalist

What happened to Kinters? Hope he’s OK.

68. Reluctant Nationalist

I find it awfully strange that Russia has so far officially given refugee status to only one Syrian since 2011, according to al jazeera at the start of this year.

69. Moone

Just to point out to the poster above about Scotland selling it’s oil in Dollars or Yen after Indy. People who don’t sell their oil in dollars quickly end up DEAD. Hugo Chavez, Saddam Hussein, both sold in Euro’s, both very dead. Gaddafi was intending to create a new oil based international currency for trading in the stuff, thereby not using the dollar. Also very DEAD. It’s no coincidence.

The CIA take it very seriously when any country even thinks about not trading oil in U.S dollars.

Please seek out ROBERT NEWMAN’s history of oil on youtube or wherever you can find it, it’s a very funny explanation of world geo-politics and oil is a huge part of it.

Just for info, there is believed to be oil in SYRIA’s west bank, and overthrowing Assad would give Israel free access to it. Which is a large part of why the U.S wants regime change in Syria.

The CIA want to install another puppet government for just this purpose.

70. Moone

The EBC ladled on the propaganda yesterday and today it’s all missiles away involving the UK too.

Strangely enough the OPCW was due to arrive in Syria very soon to investigate whether or not Assad was making chemical weapons secretly.

Looks a bit like the U.S destroying the evidence, or perhaps proof of innocence before they could get there.

71. Al Dossary

With all the shit in Syria last night, it is no real surprise that the countries visited by the Saudi Crown Prince recently were the UK, US & France.

Syria and it’s supporters Iran, Iraq0

72. Al Dossary

…. seem to have the Saudi’s worried.

With reports of several US, UK and Israeli “advisors” being captured in Syria recently – are these attacks housekeeping I wonder?

73. Auntie Anglo

So we actually bombed them.

This is madness.

74. Luigi

RE: Syria missile strike

Ach this whole thing is staged. No way Trump and Putin did not discuss this beforehand. Minmal damage but it will be portrayed as a massive strike by our compliant MSM.

You have to understand that the west has been completely humiliated in Syria . The they have had their asses kicked and desperately need a face-saver. And a welcome distraction for Theresa May (although a growing anti-war response may yet finish her off).

Putin probably saying to Trump = “Ok, have your strike, but I control Syria ha ha”.

75. yesindyref2

@Luigi
    Exactly. Cameron, Hollande and Obama lost face back in 2013 when they were unable to go for missile strikes, with Cameron voted down in the Commons, Hollande not daring to go for it, and Obama isolated so unable to follow through, with Putin calmly “managing” to peacefully get Assad to sign the CWC.

So May bypassed parliament, as did Macron, and went with Trump to reset the balance of face. Let’s hopw that’s an end to it, “honours” even.

76. Reluctant Nationalist

@ Moone, 4.20am

I don’t know whether you were referring to me as ‘the poster above’ (probably not as I hadn’t mentioned petrodollars or owt), but I found Newman’s history of oil on youtube and am watching it now. It’s really good. Cheers for the tip.

77. Robert Peffers

@Jockanese Wind Talker says: 13 April, 2018 at 6:53 pm:

“An unserviceable National Debt of £1.9 Trillion due to Brexit and no longer having control of Scottish natural resources.
    The Kingdom of EWNI has no real national Industry and will struggle to feed, clothe and heat their population with cutting standards across imported goods.”

I agree with everything you say in that comment, Jockanese Wind Talker, but –

There is, and cannot be such a Kingdom as, “The Kingdom of EWNI”, and here’s why.

The Kingdom of England did not unite with either Wales or Ireland. The Welsh were annexed as an integral part of The Kingdom of England by, “The Statute of Rhuddlan”.

This statute was enacted on 3 March 1284 and was promulgated on 19 March at Rhuddlan Castle in North Wales by King Edward I of England. It was not an act of parliament just an enforced statute of the sovereign monarch of the Kingdom of England and, in 1284, the Rule of law in both England & Wales was The Divine Right of Kings which rule of law states that a God appointed monarch who defeats another monarch in war becomes the defeated monarch’s overlord. that is England annexed Wales.

Also The Crown of Ireland Act passed by the parliament of Ireland placed the crown of Ireland upon the King of England’s head in 1542. This followed the appointment of the English monarch as Lord of Ireland by the Holy Roman Se.

The act created the title of, “King of Ireland”, for King Henry VIII of England and his successors, who previously ruled the island as Lord of Ireland.

Thus there were no Treaties of Union in either case. Furthermore, the so called pair of, “Treaties of Union”, of 1800/1 each have the long title, “An Act for the Union of Great Britain and Ireland”. Thus they did NOT United England with Northern Ireland – they united the Union of Great Britain & Northern Ireland but as, “The Treaty Of Union of Great Britain”, of 1706/7 is a bipartite union of the then, “Kingdom of Great Britain”, it had only the kingdoms of Scotland and the two country Kingdom of England as equally sovereign partner Kingdoms.

Laughable if they try to pull that one in an international court then Northern Ireland will have to be split between the only two Kingdoms with signatures on the Treaty of Union of 1706/7. Furthermore there really are no basis of the split being along the lines of the current population ratios that Westminster claims as, for example, in North Sea revenues.

After all it is due to Westminster legislation that Scotland’s traditional greatest export is not Whisky. It is the people of Scotland.

So there you go – all that gobbledegook we get rammed down our throats on an hourly basis is Westminster propaganda. It sure as hell is not the actual legal position. Note that this is the basis of the last thread by Rev Stu. His Lordship, was obviously brainwashed to believe all the oil & gas belongs to England a.k.a. “The United Kingdom”.

Mind you, with the exception of a certain faction of Loyalists, I believe not too many Scots would want N.I. as part of The Kingdom of Scotland.

78. Welsh Sion

Artyhetty @ 11:52 pm

Thank you for your support.

56 of these parables are now available in book/Kindle form via Amazon … 😉

79. twathater

Welsh Sion , thank you for that parable it made entertaining and illuminating reading , it’s a pity it doesn’t receive funding from beeb to make it into a televisual drama ( that would be funny ) ps thanks for your support for indy hopefully the Welsh won’t be far behind

80. Welsh Sion

Thank you to twathater (@ 3:05 pm) for your support, too.

I hope you realized that ALL the proper nouns (Including the characters’ names) and the clock times were deliberately chosen …

These are trademark features of all 60 of my parables. 😉

81. louis.b.argyll

To many above,

With independence comes the power to temper England, something we can’t currently do. We’ll have huge bargaining power. Coupled with similar desire from similar smaller nations, a chance for change for the better is almost guaranteed

82. Bill Drees

Bill Cash is a huge fan of Alex Salmond. He said Alex was comparable with Charles Stuart Parnell. That is a great Parliamentary compliment.
    http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/13200233.The_new_Parnell__Tory_MP_compares_Salmond_to_maverick_Irish_nationalist/

83. Bill Drees

Correction: Charles STEWART Parnell…..not Stuart.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.