65 to “The human shield”

1. Ghillie

Who?

2. heedtracker

Ofcourse Sooty and Sweep are not bbc plants, its their puppet show, they can invite any audience they like.

3. jdman

But of course,
    its obvious,
    Sooty and Theresa are one and the same person!

4. Helpmaboab

“What’s that Sooty?”

*whispers into the presenters ear*

“Yes, Sooty. She does lack all of the essential skills required by a stateswoman.”

*more whispers*

“And she couldn’t find her WHAT with both hands and a map?! Please don’t be rude, Sooty.”

5. bugsbunny

Did anyone see Have I Got News For You last night? I think it was a Sky news reporter who introduced Kezia Dugdale as leader of the Scottish LABIA Party. What a stupid c©nt. And the reporter was not much better. You should have seen Kezia’s face. Lol.

6. Capella

How appropriate! A children’s puppet show. Sweep can shake his magic wand and conjure up that magical money tree the Tories harp on about.
    Izzy wizzy lets get busy.

7. Giving Goose

Sooty and Sweep AKA Kezia and Ruth, both London puppets!

8. Robbo

bugsbunny says:
    3 June, 2017 at 7:32 am
    Did anyone see Have I Got News For You last night? I think it was a Sky news reporter who introduced Kezia Dugdale as leader of the Scottish LABIA Party. What a stupid c©nt. And the reporter was not much better. You should have seen Kezia’s face. Lol.

Seriously? no way lol

9. Contrary

Hahaha! Helpmaboab, excellent, you have captured the mood very well there, your comment should be the caption 🙂

10. Free Scotland

She was not even confident of looking strong and stable when up against a pair of weak and wobbly glove puppets.

11. bugsbunny

Yes Robbie. As they say you couldn’t make it up. What with Theresa’s wooden performance and keeping to the BBC theme maybe Muffin the Mule would be more appropriate. Along with Dobbin the Donkey thus is a prerequisite perversion needed to join the Bullington Club. As well as shoving a cucumber up your ear hole. I think it was ear hole. Yes, Kezia was introduced as leader of Scottish LABIA.

12. Socrates MacSporran

Chris – what have Ruth Davidson and Wullie Rennie got to do with Amber Rudd?

13. Cuilean

Canny thole Sooty – aw thon corrieneukin o fowks’ lugs – gey ower rude. An his glamoury swicks are rubbage innaw.

great cartoon though

14. bugsbunny

So rates. Is the answer to that question they all have had fists shoved up them?

15. defo

Crosby’s going to have right a pain in the neck, when he gets out from under the table.
    It must be a bit of a squeeze under there, Rupert and Rothermere take up a lot of space.
    Nice bit of caricaturing Chris.

16. Big Phil

Brilliant. ;-).
    oan ma way tae Glesga. hopefully see some of you wingers today, I’m the big guy with the girl wi green hair.(weans lol).Say hello. Gonnae be a good day. 😉

17. Morgatron

Its really got me baffled everyone , how the fuck does May get her hand up that big puppets arse to work her mouth work?

18. Dr Jim

Where’s her right hand?

19. Robbo

bugsbunny says:
    3 June, 2017 at 7:52 am
    Yes Robbie.

Bugsb you’re naughty lol

20. bugsbunny

Morgatron. From what I’ve heard about Ruth Davidson she’s a bit of a puppet master herself. It’s not the first time she’s put her hand up a lady and made her lips move. Robbie lol. Yes I’m decidedly in a naughty mood today. What has Thatcher get in common with Jimmy Saville? They both liked to f©ck with minors.

21. Dr Jim

Roaring with laughter there at Alex Salmond parody twitter account with all these rabid Yoon types replying to it as if it’s real until someone points out it’s a parody
    but they don’t stop arguing and replying to it with one poster saying

Aye but it’s the sort of thing Salmond would say

Yoons brains are located really low down in their body

About Arse level

22. Effijy

I swear that I just caught the tail end of a EBC Show at 7.50
    am where Mrs Tory Posh was on to complaint that one of their
    political leaders debate shows had a bias balance of Left Wingers who just high jacked the show and their aggression
    stifled contributions from any Right Wing Central participants.

She and many of her friends just had to turn off due to these
    left wing anarchists clapping and cheering.

WTF. Just breath taking!
    Never in the annals of history has a darker Pot called a Kettle Black.

23. Davy

Its a great cartoon but I think everyone has missed the elephant in the room.

Yes I mean the “Scottish LIBDEM Political Broadcast”, now there was a program that had a full cast of PUPPETS.

I haven’t laughed so much in years, you think Theresa May is shite on TV, watch Willie and the rest of the cast of Trumpton.

Note: beware the smiles.

24. HandandShrimp

Thought HIGNFY last night was actually pretty funny. First time in ages that it has made me laugh out loud. Election Spy afterwards was also very funny. Then Newsnight came on. It was like parody without the humour. I lasted about 10 minutes.

Kezia’s stony silence to the labia slip was amazing. Don’t know if she was just baffled or annoyed.

25. jfngw

Good comment on Wings twitter trail, someone trying to find out where May is going to be in Doncaster and it being pointed out she will find it easier to discover the whereabouts of Lord Lucan.

26. Lenny Hartley

O/T see u wingers at glasgow green later, good turnout from Arran on first boat, about fifteen I’ve seen , nae bad fae a wee Island !

27. Iain

Prediction: Sunday papers will miraculously discover ‘new poll’ showing Tory recovery, and SNP slump.

28. lumilumi

re. HIGNFY and the “slip” of Scottish Labia party. It’s a reference to an actual slip by a (I think) Sky presenter a few days ago. She actually accidentally said “…leader of the Scottish Labia… Labour party” live on air, and Kez didn’t look amused, but quickly recovered to spout the usual SNPBaaaad stuff.

So the puerile “joke” wasn’t HIGNFY’s own, they were just ripping off a real life slip.

29. Clydebuilt

It’s the final Saturday of campaigning , the parties are out fighting for the vote……… Yessers are to walk through Glasgow …. Instead of campaigning ……. Sounds like a goal for the Yoons

30. cearc

… after we’ve been properly ‘vetted’ and all.

Hope everyone has a great time in Glasgae today. Sorry I can’t be with you. Gorgeous day here.

31. cearc

… after we’ve been ‘properly vetted’ and all.

Hope everyone has a great time in Glasgae today. Sorry I can’t be with you. Gorgeous day here.

32. galamcennalath

Great cartoon! Where’s Theresa?

Makes me think of yet another conspiracy theory. Perhaps it’s not Theresa that has gone AWOL, it’s the puppet master who works her who can’t be found.

Talking for conspiracy theories. With each passing day it looks more like the Tories are trying to lose their majority. It certainly would solve a lot of problems for the establishment. With a softer approach to Brexit they could keep the single market and save the economy, not least in their minds save The City. They would remove the excuses for referendums in Scotland and NI.

Sounds ridiculous? Where’s the evidence to the contrary? Does make me wonder!

33. Fergus Green

Megabus from Perth to Glasgow. Packed, older people with bus passes and Saltires.

34. John Edgar

Henry McLeish is anguishing again. He needs to put himself out if his misery and support Labour for Indy2. Read it in the National.
    He does not need to join the SNP! Labour can be electable again in an independent Scotland!!

35. Street Andrew

I recognise Sooty and and Sweep, but what is the name of the big gormless looking puppet? Is she standing in for Soo?

I liked the show better with Ramsbottom.

36. Bob Mack

“Theresa sent me round to give you a hand”

37. Footsoldier

Off topic but today’s Scottish Daily Mail has a pretty dreadful picture of a slum in Govanhill, portraying this as Nicola Sturgeon’s backyard. Anyone local know where this building is? I smell a rat.

38. lumilumi

@ Johm Edgar

Henry McLeish is intellectually head and shoulders above the current SLAB lot, and seems to have some integrity. He’s been teetering on the fence for years now.

He realises that Scotland will be independent. He loves his country and wants the transition to be as smooth and painless as possible. If only he could wean himself from the UK Labour teat that has turned bitter and now run dry, and be the man his country, Scotland, needs.

39. Roughian

Off to Glasgow. See you there folks.

40. HandandShrimp

Iain

Aye, I am expecting the polling companies to get behind the Tories to muster flagging support.

Hardly been any Scottish polls though. I think we are just a side show to the Labour Tory battle in England.

41. Fred

Saw the Scottish Labia crack on HIGNFY, Kezia’s coupon was a classic! Had to look up the dictionary but!

42. dakk

Nice one Chris.

Maybe she’s away doing a show at Blackpool Winter Gardens with Rod Hull as Emu.

I knew she reminded of something.

Hope March goes well.Enjoy!

Had hoped to catch end of it at square but last chink of light closed.Will be on till 6 or 7 tonight 🙁

43. David Caledonia

I don’t have a television, but the BBC still don’t believe me, they keep sending me letters saying someone will visit me, this is making me more angry by the minute, you see i wait it expecting a visitor, i am going to write to them and complain about their lack of bad manners, when you say your going to visit someone, you should at least keep your word lol

44. David Caledonia

sorry about my typing , i ment their lack of good manners lol

45. Robbo

Wish I could go Glasgow but got chest infection i can’t shift.

Have a great day all!!

46. Robert Graham

We are getting both barrels this morning Mayhem on both news channels gee wizz i thought they were news channels silly me .
    Best of luck and good weather to all who are able to attend the march today , the bbc have probably compiled the numbers already ” looks like about 200 what do you think Sara Smith ? ” Oh not as much as that SNP taking a severe dent with these low numbers .

47. asklair

Apologies for link to BBC web page
    This short clip shows what the bullyboy Boris is, just at the end of trying to goad this guy he starts making kissing sounds in his ear.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/video_and_audio/headlines/40140992/boris-johnson-and-labour-s-ian-lavery-have-heated-debate

48. Muscleguy

I agree that a Yes march today is premature, pointless and a serious distraction.

I realise it was probably organised prior to the snap election but it could surely be put off a week or two. Make the case to the council. Especially now, after the Local Elections.

Needless to say I am not going. Never went on one last time either. I don’t need my morale lifting, rather put my time, money and energy towards canvassing and street politics.

We are going to convince NOBODY to Yes with a Yes march. Chap some doors (after the election) and use this time to bone up and plan your strategy.

49. K1

And he’s the ‘Foreign Secretary’. This is the guy tasked with representing the UK abroad. Supposedly one of the most prestigious positions in government, diplomacy being a prerequisite characteristic in such an important cabinet brief. This idiot represents the UK in Brexit negotiations. God help us all if this child becomes PM after May is outsted after 8th June.

———————–

Brilliant cartoon Chris. 🙂

50. Dan Huil

Just back from the bookies. Feeling confident. I’m going to celebrate by going to Sooty’s barbecue and having a sweepsteak. [Apologies to Tim Vine]

51. Fireproofjim

Foot soldier
    Any dreadful slums in Govanhill are certainly the sole responsibility of the Labour Party who have been in charge for about a hundred years.
    Nothing to do with Nicola but the Daily Heil will do their worst.

52. seanair

Footsoldier
    A Daily Mail is lying (see what I did there) on my wife’s chair, but I’m not going to read it.
    Housing is a Council issue, and until very recently the people responsible for Glasgow housing were the Labour Party.
    Now that The SNP are in charge in Glasgow Council there may be a big change, but you won’t see any plaudits in the Mail.

53. Hamish100

Muscle guy

So you ain’t going to the march. So what?

Can you wish the rest of us well?

54. mike d

Hope everyone enjoys the March and the weather stays fair. Wonder if the cameras in George Square will be working?

55. Dorothy Devine

Grandsons gone so watching live stream and listening to the thunder!

Great song by the way!

56. Lenny Hartley

Muscleguy totally disagree, the general public are been told non stop there is no appetitethe site of 17k plus marching through Glasgow today would have shown them a different story.

Dorothy Devine , gave Big Ronnie a hug as requested 🙂

57. Dorothy Devine

Lenny , thanks – I hope he appreciated it!

58. Dorothy Devine

I’ll try again!

Lenny , thanks – I hope he appreciated it!

If this turns up twice I will offer up a prayer against hammers.

59. Phil

David Caledonia says:
    3 June, 2017 at 10:30 am

“I don’t have a television, but the BBC (Capita) still don’t believe me, ….. saying someone will visit me…..”

ditto – and we keep making fresh scones for when they say they’ll visit. Nada. That’s Crapita for you.

60. Rock

lumilumi,

“Henry McLeish is intellectually head and shoulders above the current SLAB lot, and seems to have some integrity. He’s been teetering on the fence for years now.”

McLeish is a chameleon with zero credibility or integrity.

Intellect? Dumb idiot who sent funds back to Westminster rather than use them to develop Scotland.

Which politician with a shred of principle be “teetering on the fence for years now.”

61. Fred

@ Muscleguy, what we do in our spare time is our business! good advice-mind your own! a superb day!

62. defo

Re McLeish
    If were going to start condemning people for life, with no allowance made for the possibility of redemption, we could save a fortune on the criminal justice system too.
    Zyclon B is very effective…

So much anger, so little thought.

63. Grouse Beater

Amber Rudd came across as another hooray Henry, all mouth and no intellect. I half expected her to make some outrageous statement and end with a ‘Well, Yaa-ah!”

Your weekend reading:

Creeping fascism: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-gx3
    Brian Cox does his best: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-gNO

64. Cactus

CC.

Excellent.

65. Alastair

Feeling a bit thick. I think I just got it .

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.