The Bain Principle

Posted on March 28, 2012 by

The story isn't, of course, that Labour failed to vote against the 50p tax-rate cut when the SNP and Plaid Cymru put forward a motion in the House Of Commons. The truth that it was a "screw-up" is entirely believable in the light of Labour's general ineptitude, and not that big a deal in itself. The rate cut was happening anyway no matter whether Labour voted on the motion or not, and in the flurry of essentially meaningless post-Budget motions, missing out on one of them is pretty insignificant.

Had Labour left it at that, a compliant Scottish media would probably have seen them get away with it altogether, as they'd hoped. (Even now, more than 36 hours later, only the Scotsman has covered it at all, in a tiny little story with no byline buried near the bottom of the Politics section.)

But then Willie Bain stepped in. Late on Tuesday night, the MP for Glasgow North East responded to some criticism of Labour's abstention on Twitter, with an admission of what many in Scotland have long suspected/known – that Labour opposes anything proposed by the SNP, regardless of the merits of the thing in question.

The SNP, unsurprisingly, summed the comment up in uncompromising terms:

It is clear that Labour hates the SNP much more than it loves Scotland. Even when it came to voting against a Tory tax cut for millionaires, Labour could not put its resentment of the SNP aside in the interests of ordinary working people."

But we'll charitably assume that Bain's extraordinary on-the-record revelation (he hasn't deleted the tweet, though it's impossible to say if that's out of honour or a recognition of the futility of trying to delete internet trails) occurred too late at night for the Scottish press to have picked it up in time for the morning editions. We'll be watching closely, though, to see if tonight's TV and tomorrow's papers consider it in any way newsworthy that Scotland's Labour MPs are now by their own acknowledgement more concerned with pettily fighting the SNP than serving the interests of their voters.

3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 21 03 15 18:02

The Devo Files: Willie Bain (Glasgow North East) | A Wilderness of Peace

2. 13 04 15 13:57

A Public Service Announcement to Labour Voters in Inverclyde | A Wilderness of Peace

3. 23 09 18 22:31

IT’S ALL ABOUT SNP BAAAAAD – MUNGUIN'S NEW REPUBLIC

7 to “The Bain Principle”

1. Bugger (theconfused Panda) says:

This is straight out of Animal Farm.
    4 legs good, 2 legs bad.

It confirms, if conformation were ever needed, that Labour have the following priorities.

1) The Party
    2) Me
    3) Anything that gets Me re-elected
    4) Nothing for the Great Unwashed unless it can be spun to be beneficial to The Party and Me.

For this they will try to ban caffeine  rather address alcohol abuse, vote against their own amendments and tweet their contempt.

I suspect there are a few defectors floating about with e-mails and other documents worthy of a mediaeval witch burning.

2. Doug Daniel says:

Not surprised Bain is at the centre of this, he's always seemed rather devoid of principles (other than his own one). Of all the examples of Labour politicians refusing to use "independence" and saying "separation" instead, it was his appearance on Newsnicht a few months ago that sticks in my head the most, because the way he answered every question about "independence" with "separation" was so obvious and artifical.

The guy is a complete plonker. I mean, we all knew fine this was what Labour do after all the examples of them voting against their own policies in Holyrood, but to actually admit it in public is either gross arrogance or gross stupidity.

The BBC have absolutely no credibility whatsoever if they don't even mention this story. That's if they even have any credibility left. I think we should all ambush their reporters on Twitter and demand they explain why the story is not being covered. In fact, we should do this every time they display blatant bias towards Labour and/or the union.

3. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

To be fair, I'm sure he didn't INVENT the Bain Principle, he's just the one who admitted to it in public…

4. An Duine Gruamach says:

If the SNP were to say "The sky is blue", Labour would shriek in apoplectic rage, shocked that someone had usurped their right to tell people what colour the sky is. They would then scream that the sky was the first colour that came into their heads, possibly one suggested by the Tories. Meanwhile, ordinary people will look up and shrug.

5. charlie says:

i’m guessing you’re saying that the Labour Party prefer to align themselves with the Tories than acknowledge the SNP have valid views. You won’t get an argument from me.

6. Shodan says:

Ah, Bain. You couldn't hope for better opposition. I remember seeing this numpty on RT. He must be prone to making a fool of himself. It's nice to see them admit (in public) to this catastrophically stupid policy at last.

7. Al-Stuart says:

2019 UPDATE ON THE “BAIN PRINCIPLE”…

Fancy a laugh, not that chronic SLAB SBPBaditis is funny, but this is an example of what happens to Unionist MPs who are stupid.

Such is Oor Wullies respect for his political legacy that he is turning Chinese…

http://www.williebain.com

Evidently Willie was too miserable to pay the £5.99 per annum to keep his website alive and the domain URL has been hoovered up by an inscrutible person from the far east.

I have heard of the song: “Turning Japanese”. Maybe Oor Wullie has is working on a new cover version of this old classic…

For sure the old SLAB dinosaur in Scotland is extinct. Either that, or Willie Bain will need to learn Chinese to recover his old career.

Somewhere in all of this is a lesson to all the Unionist slaves who follow the SNP Baaaad Bain principle.

Stu., please can I nominate Willie Bain for your Moron list.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,724 Posts, 1,214,547 Comments

• Skip_NC on The Sacrifice: “Do you think that Andrew Learmonth will get kept on after his work experience or is the school going to…Mar 23, 11:45
    • Robert McAllan on The Sacrifice: “Willie, what you perceive as a ‘wolf’ has all the characteristics of a JACKAL and that is to flatter what…Mar 23, 10:45
    • Willie on The Sacrifice: “At first glance I wasn’t quite sure of the tethered goat was Murrel or Swinney. Maybe it can be both.…Mar 23, 09:33
    • Sven on The Sacrifice: “socratesmacsporran @ 08.48. I well recall in the 1980s hearing an elderly speaker, probably in his late seventies, commenting that…Mar 23, 09:06
    • socratesmacsporran on The Sacrifice: “I am old enough to remember TW3 (That Was The Week That Was) on Saturday nights on television. We used…Mar 23, 08:48
    • Hatey McHateface on The Sacrifice: “Nae shit, Sherlock!Mar 23, 08:21
    • Hatey McHateface on The Sacrifice: “A standing ovation, no less! I’m starting to worry afresh about a resurgence in Jacobite support. Let these people have…Mar 23, 08:18
    • 100%Yes on The Sacrifice: “@ Lorn 6:17 I think you’ll find gender ID is a dead duck and the SNP has kicked it into…Mar 23, 08:11
    • yoon scum on The Sacrifice: “I strongly believe that many in Scotland treat voting for a party the same as they treat supporting a football…Mar 23, 07:33
    • Callum on The Sacrifice: “When published Peter Murrell’s memoirs will be far more interesting than Nicola Sturgeon’sMar 23, 07:10
    • yoon scum on The Sacrifice: “You forgot the part about her suddenly leaving said shared home just before plod appearedMar 23, 06:44
    • yoon scum on The Sacrifice: “If you think the SNP wouldn’t grasp any chance for indy then you’re a loony HOWEVER If you think you…Mar 23, 06:40
    • Cynicus on The Sacrifice: “Should Chris not have used artistic licence to give the scapegoat a beard?Mar 23, 01:10
    • Mark Beggan on The Sacrifice: “The sad story of the little Nasty and the Gravy Kiddettes.Mar 23, 00:49
    • Anthem on The Sacrifice: “I feel your pain. She is laughing at all of us. A civil law suit should do the trick, but…Mar 23, 00:10
    • Mark Beggan on The Sacrifice: “” and I looked into brainwashing house and they were all running around playing with each other then my Father…Mar 22, 23:33
    • Former President Xiden on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “So the Crown office spent 4 years trying to decide on a case in which there was ‘not a scrap…Mar 22, 23:18
    • agent x on The Sacrifice: “It’s cost £2.1m and Sturgeon is joking about it!Mar 22, 22:25
    • Hatey McHateface on The Sacrifice: “Oh dear. Exactly as I predicted earlier, Sturgeon’s comedy circuit debut appears to have gone well. Disapproving, heckling, unhappy Sovereign…Mar 22, 22:22
    • agent x on The Sacrifice: “https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/25029859.nicola-sturgeon-jokes-police-probe-comedy-festival/ Read and boke!Mar 22, 22:21
    • James Barr Gardner on The Sacrifice: “How long will wee peem be alive ?Mar 22, 22:13
    • Maxxmacc on The Sacrifice: “Best. Cartoon. Ever!Mar 22, 20:18
    • diabloandco on The Sacrifice: “Hear! Hear!Mar 22, 19:53
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Here you go, Mia: Per Apathy Ad Indy I’ve made you a wee cod-Latin motto so you can continue to…Mar 22, 18:29
    • Lorn on The Sacrifice: “100%: independence was scuppered by gender ID during the most fertile time of opportunity ever in the party’s history. It…Mar 22, 18:17
    • Lorn on The Sacrifice: “You are very probably right, Sven. All so predictable and so depressing.Mar 22, 16:50
    • Skip_NC on The Sacrifice: “I don’t see sunlit uplands. I see a well-hidden cliff. Note Muscleguy’s point above.Mar 22, 16:20
    • Mia on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: ““but how does that help anybody?” How does continuing to take part in and legitimising with our vote a rigged…Mar 22, 16:18
    • Skip_NC on The Sacrifice: “This is a good point. Saint Nicola of Dreghorn and Colin Beattie admitted to being incompetent, lazy, incurious or uncaring-…Mar 22, 16:16
    • Mia on The Sacrifice: ““berates all and sundry for being critical of and not showing empathy for SHE” Well, as far as I am…Mar 22, 15:48