Quarantine

Posted on January 01, 1968 by

If people really can’t behave in other comment threads and insist on derailing them with irrelevant and disruptive posts, as a last resort the comments in question will be moved here. People are also free to use it for general off-topic chat.

Subscribe
Notify of

1.4K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Conan_the_Librarian

@Paula Rose

If you think the damned are hunky…

Bugger (the Panda)

Paula and credit cards.
link to anorak.co.uk

Paula Rose

Conan dear – this is the kitchen, winky things a go go.

Conan_the_Librarian

G’night folks

Bugger (the Panda)

@ Conan

If you think the damned are hunky…
Steady there boy, the damned?
You think you are Alan Cochrane in disguise and I only hope that I am a Panda, FFS.

TJenny

Thought they only had glass ceilings!  And, whatever happened to a wee gold spoon on a chain, much favoured in the 70s.

Paula Rose – that fair woke me up, but in a good way. 

Bugger (the Panda)

TJ

Follow my link to the anorak.com site and look bottom left at the photo of the table in front of the two.

Otherwise what are going on about and glass ceilings and other weird stuff?

Bugger (the Panda)

NIGHTOL
James has to have his meds and his allnight nappy changed.

Better Together St Kilda

Anyone got a fag? – this is the kitchen?

Bugger (the Panda)

Better Together St Kilda

I smell a Police Box and has the Doctor regenerated?

A fag darling?

You have to go to Eton for that. Ask DC and GO, for the directions

TJenny

BtP – nighty, night. Think you’re correct we have a shape-shifter in our midst.  Conan and I both have your email address so we can continue the setting up of the chat area off site.  

K1

“When you believe there’s no mountain you can’t climb
and if you get it wrong…you get it right next time”….

Definitely A side 🙂

Conan_the_Librarian

Can’t make it to the Albanach tonight 🙁

Sorry folks.

Quinie frae Angus

Boo hoo, sorry folks, I can’t make it to the pub tonight either….but would love to meet up on another occasion. Hope those of you who are able to make it have a really good night, with lots of Wingy ideas for getting the truth out there to the unconvinced, the uninformed, the unsure and the uninterested…..

TJenny

Does anyone know if Wingman and J MacKay are going to the Abanach?  As it’s the freezingest night of the year so far, I may not go either.

K Mackay

Hey folks, I went to the Albannach with my girlfriend and my mum 🙂 Couldn’t see any
wingers (we need a sign) reckoned it was a long shot anyway, only made it there at 11:30pm. Anyway,  whisky happened, ended up in banshee labrynth. Doubt I’m goin to feel very healthy tomorrow.

This trying to meet wings folk is a dangerous business 🙂 But I will persevere! I’ll keep going out and getting pissed until I meet everyone 🙂

Up for trying again next week or the week after?

Quinie frae Angus

Yes, I’m up for trying next week! Friday night only possibility for me though….

TJenny

K. Mackay – Glad you went to The Albanach and as you were wth others, hope you had a good time 🙂

Even if I had gone, it’s unlikely that I would have stayed for 3 and half hours on my own, so would’t have been there for your arrival.

If anyone is going to be there next Friday, and they have a mobile or somesuch device, it would be handy if you could post a comment here, on Quarantine, to say you’re there (I can be there within about 15 mins if I know there are WoSers present).  You could also post to say where in pub you are/what you’re wearing, so other WoSers that may be there can find you – just a thought. 🙂

Conan_the_Librarian

I’ll defo be there Friday the 20th, It’s my office party that that night, aboot fifty yards away from the Albanach.

Paula Rose

Anyone know what’s happened to the Better Together Facebook page?

Paula Rose

You know – the one from St Kilda.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula –

There’s no-one on St. Kilda apart from very keen scientists. I suspect the BT page you’re talking about is a spoof.

Anyway, check this out – it’s a Marvin Gaye song I was listening to earlier on a CD I hadn’t played for years. Looked for it on Youtube, and got this version, which is definitely ‘live’, but the behaviour of the audience is peculiar, uncomfortable.

Strikes me that what we’ve got going here in the pro-Indy campaign is a kind of ‘Soul’ movement which the broader audience (rUK/MSM) simply does not understand, doesn’t know how to react to.

In this wee example it didn’t stop Marvin turning in a great performance, and doesn’t detract from the music.

Bottom line? They just don’t get it.

Their loss.

Paula Rose

Spoof dear?

Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula –

I didn’t mean any disrespect to the people who lived there. I’ve got the Tom Steel book, have tried hard to imagine what it must’ve been like living there.

I was just thinking about that alleged Better Together St. Kilda group – that cannot be real. That was all.

Better Together St Kilda

We’re back – Better Together Saint Kilda.

Ian Brotherhood

Paula –

You’ve probably heard this before, but if not, you may like it. The video seems dodgy, but I’m not sure if that’s deliberate. The sound’s okay anyway, and it’s Martyn Bennett, so that’s the main thing.

Paula Rose

Ian –

Know the poems well, first time I’ve heard them with music – reminded me of the time I heard Lynton Kwesi Johnson perform his poetry with the music of the culture, magical.
Thanks – quite a library of Scottish culture building up in Quarantine – smiley thing!
btw those puffins on St Kilda must have really got up BT’s nose, they’ve been shot down again.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula –

I only encountered MacLean’s work as part of a course, and it blew me away. I can’t believe that this guy’s work isn’t commonly known, that we didn’t get any of it in school, that his passing went almost unmarked.

But then, the same could be said of George Mackay Brown or Morgan – there’s next to nothing in the White Paper about how important these people are, and how Scottish women are pushing the boundaries of poetry, but Salmond, Fabiani, Sturgeon, Russell etc are sophisticated people, and it’s a cert they’re well aware of them – I guess they’re not drawing attention to that fact because they want to avoid any accusations of try to lay claim to these artists – fact is, though, people like Kathleen Jamie are appearing on Yes platforms.

Having people like that on our side is yet another reason to be optimistic.

Paula Rose

@ Ian

I think it is a grave mistake to nail artists to one’s mast without their permission, what may seem one thing one day can mean something else the next – though many of these great poets  made it abundantly clear in their lifetimes that Scotland no longer needed to hold England’s hand as she tried to find her way in the world.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula –

Agreed. But when you look at someone like Vaclav Havel, and what he did, it does make you wonder about the status artists have in our society – it’s tragic that so many have (understandably) become extremely wary of associating themselves with any political party or movement.

Who knows? Maybe that’s about to change. I hope so.

Paula Rose

@Ian –

I beg to differ – seems to me that what with National Collective and statements by many others, our Scottish culture is very much part of the new enlightenment that the end of a now ‘not fit for purpose’ political union offers.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula –

Well, let’s at least agree that we’re on the same page. Literally.

Paula Rose

Literary

Conan_the_Librarian

A meet up in the Albanach; my latest excuse

link to mypseudepigrapha.blogspot.co.uk

Ian Brotherhood

@Conan the Librarian –

Just read your blog entry there. Gordon Bennett, you must’ve got a fright. Hope you’re well on the mend and fit enough to enjoy the festivities.

Tell me – if a Glasgow shindig was organised, and you had plenty of notice, would you consider attending? I’m thinking sometime in spring, perhaps around Easter time.

In any event, have a good one.

Cheers!

Conan_the_Librarian

Thanks Ian, I’m always up for a shindig.
Well not tonight obviously…

Ian Brotherhood

I did ask earlier in Quarantine if anyone wanted to suggest a time and place for another west-coast getthegither, but no takers, so here goes:

Who’s up for a proper swally/blether on April 4th? It’s a Friday, not so far away from pay-day that most won’t still have a few bawbees to spend wisely, and the clocks will have gone forward the previous weekend so, in theory at least, the winter has passed and there’s a wee bit extra light in the evening.

I’m thinking of McGinn’s, right at Central Station, bottom of Hope St (if it’s still going and hasn’t changed hands lately – a wee while since I’ve been there). They have an upstairs lounge which isn’t normally used but I’m pretty sure I could get it for skelps if they can be persuaded that it’ll be worth their while opening the bar. If, for argument’s sake, I can promise the owner (who’s Matt McGinn’s nephew) that there’ll be at least, say, thirty of us? I’m sure that would be enough for him to put on staff.

No tickets, no raffles, nae gimmicks – just a good squad of us having a few hours together.

And does anyone fancy volunteering to do the sounds? (But you MUST promise to play Whisky Kiss at least three times, right?)

If I get a solid idea of numbers, here, by mid-week? then I’ll pop in to McGinn’s week after next and see if we can get that night booked.

What think ye’s? Who’s up for it?

Iain Hamilton

Ian Brotherhood, Please count Karen and me in for McGinns. Looking forward to maybe seeing a few faces from September’s march there.

kininvie

Hi Ian,

I’ll do my damndest to be there. Date noted. About time you and I met up!

Conan_the_Librarian

Should be 100% by then Ian.

Quinie frae Angus

Date is in my diary, Ian. Thank you.

Ian Brotherhood

Cheers folks. That’s a good start.

I know this is a pretty arbitrary number, but if we get to 25 confirming interest then I’ll go ahead and try to book it.

Just 21 to go…

Quinie frae Angus

I’m betting that come the time that wee venue won’t be big enough to fit us all in!! 

The Man in the Jar

Count me in!

I used to be quite a regular in “The Solid” across the street so I know that I can get there in under half an hour. 😉

Alex Taylor

Blantyre boy agrees to go to night out for bevvy shocker!

Ian Brotherhood

That’s seven of us now…bags me Yul Brynner.

Thepnr

Ian
Count me in, I’ll be looking forward to it. Cheers.

Twenty14

Ian Brotherhood – Count me in – far enough away to for the boy from North Glasgow to pencil in. Be good to meet up and look to the future.

clochoderic

Ian, count me in too, !’ll see if I can drag a few bodies in with me.

Patrician

I will put the date in my diary. I can’t guarantee I’ll make it so far in advance but I will try my best

cearc

I am hoping to be down to the dear green place around about that time.  If it’s on I’ll make the trip then and come but I cannot make a certain yes (except september’s Yes, of course).  Sometimes life , or the other thing, chucks up the wrong stuff.

Ian Brotherhood

Cheers to all. Very good.

Now, we’re half-way there. Another twelve or so, and I’ll have to drag me auld bones up to Glasgow to have a wee fly pint in McGinn’s and have a blether with the lassies…och, it’s a serr fecht sometimes so it is.

scaredy cat.

I’d like to join you if that’s ok? I work nearby, so if I can get a sitter for the wee one, I’ll be there too.

Spout

Room for one more?

Ian Brotherhood

@Spout –

Nae danger…that’s us at 15 now…ticking along nicely, and already slighty more onboard than the first Glasgow WoS meeting in The Horseshoe.

Methinks this could be a biggie…

Paula Rose

Methinks we should arrange a gathering of the wings in every city in Scotland on the 4th of April – I’ll arrange a venue in Brechin.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Good shout.

This would be a good time to knock our heids together and make sure there’s no major event of earth-shifting importance scheduled for that evening. I’m not aware of anything, but will keep the proverbials peeled.

Rod Mac

I enjoyed The Horseshoe and look forward to this next meet

kendomacaroonbar

FFS   Cant suss out how to place video within a post.  I’ve embedded a link and I’ve cut and pasted a link  neither seems to work.

Ian Brotherhood

@kendomacaroonbar –

Splendid.

Not sure what you were testing there, but you passed ‘with flying colours’. (Get it? See what I did there, eh?)

Ian Brotherhood

@kendomacaroonbar –

Know what you mean.

From time to time the Youtube links seem to appear in a thread as they do on YT itself, even when you think you’ve just pasted a text-based link. No idea why that happens – I always try to just provide a link, but now and then the full frame has appeared in the comment thread – sorry, I can’t explain it, but it’s definitely happened before, and I only ever use the one way I know of copying links i.e. Ctrl C, then Ctrl V.

Thistle

Hi Ian
im up for next WoS get together!

john king

Too far away for me, bein a fifer 
just read your post Paula Rose, now that would work, any wingers from Kirkcaldy ,Dunfermline, Cowdenbeath that can meet up ?

john king

Conan says
“I refuse to join any club that would have me as a member.”

Then go and never darken my towels again.

kendomacaroonbar

Stu,

The link still doesn’t work. Not that I specifically wanted to embedd that specific video, I just wanted to work out how to do it. Is it something I’m doing wrong ? 🙁

Conan_the_Librarian

What about Queensferry John?

dmw42

@Ian Brotherhood

Count me in for McGinns as well fella; an saffen the Lambrusco owr Krimble

kendomacaroonbar

I’m trying to concoct a Wings Over Scotland cocktail for Ne’erday…   any suggestions ?

Ian Brotherhood

@kendomacaroonbar –

Try Sapphire Blue gin blended with Lidl beans (the concept is drawn from the writings of Major Bloodnok) – I’ve no idea what it’ll taste like, but, well, nothing ventured an’ aw that…a couple of ice cubes might help, a bit.

kendomacaroonbar

@Ian,

Thinking about using some of the mystery bottles at the back of the swally cupboard, but then again maybe not a good idea.  lol

I have seen some Scottish Gin somewhere, will try to work on a ‘Rev Stu’ cocktail… cool, refreshing, and with a bit of a kick !

kendomacaroonbar

Ian

Lidle  beans ??

Ian Brotherhood

Baked beans. From Lidl. The best that money can buy.

BTW, it’s just a joke.

Then again, when you think of Bloody Mary ingredients, it’s not so far away, just a bit of added roughage…I would try it meself but I can’t stand gin.

kendomacaroonbar

@ Ian

Ah, Ok,  thought it was some kind of coffee bean lol

Paula Rose

Wings night out in every city in Scotland – April the fourth, yes lets get it organised.

Conan_the_Librarian

What happened to last nights comments?

Sneaking this; I’ll be dead if found online Christmas day…

Ian Brotherhood

@Conan the Librarian –

Strange. Don’t remember this ever happening before, but definitely a chunk of comments missing.

I’ve a separate handwritten note of those interested in the McGinn’s night, and the last names I have are Jeannie, Ekindy and Alex Mci. If there were more posts into Quarantine last night then I won’t have a note of anyone after them – anyone have to repost?

kendomacaroonbar

@ TREE OF LIBERTY

mail me at kenmcdonald1@btopenworld.com please !!

K1

Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Powerful stuff.

Quinine frae Angus

I am definitely up for a Wings night out on 4th April. McGinns in Glasgow or a venue in Dundee would suit me. Love the idea of a “universal” Wings night out in every town on that night that we can make a thing of on Facebook etc, as that will be a handy trigger for enticing curious newbies to the site to find out what this Wings thing’s all about.

Mind you, April 4th does seem quite a way off so I am also up for any wee-er Winger get-togethersin the meantime, such as the Friday night Albannach “local” idea that was mooted before…

Quinie frae Angus

Whoops, at home for Christmas and trying to master the touchscreen on my Dad’s I-pad and I seem to have made a typo of my moniker. It’s meant to be “quinie” but the auto-correct turned me into “quinine”.

Quinie frae Angus

apologies, my previous comment about Wingie nights oot doesn’t seem to have posted at all – maybe because Askimet doesn’t recognise ‘quinine’, so my later comment won’t make sense. Think I will give up and try again later when I am back on my trusty old laptop.

Conan_the_Librarian

A whole raft of comments went AWOL Christmas Eve.

john king

“What about Queensferry John?”

Sorry Conan like Any Kerr I also been banned from the keyboard over Christmas, Queensferry would be great for me its only about ten minutes away over the bridge, anyone else up for it? 

john king

“That’s seven of us now…bags me Yul Brynner.”

Thats not fair, can we start again? because I just know I’ll end up being Brad Dexter, and you’ll all go: who? and I’ll go:exactly,
besides he’s shot first,
mind you with my alcohol limit being about half a pint of shandy that would be about right I suppose,
 sigh ok,  Brad Dexter it is then,
 I wouldn’t have even minded Eli Wallach mutter mutter.

john king

Is it too late to change my mind?
If not I want to be Charles Bronson,
once described as a Clark Gable who’s been left out in the sun too long  🙂
and I’ve got a really good cowboy hat, just ask Bloodnok, he tried to flog it grrr ,

Ah’ll get ma chaps 🙁

john king

any kerr?
I meant to write Andy Kerr and even then I was wrong, should have been Robert Kerr, sorry Robert 🙂

Geoff Huijer

Further mince to add to December’s quotes…

Paul Wright

When it comes – my best wishes to all of you, from Paula and the Puffins.

A2

hi ho, 
I’m up for the 4th although not entirely in control of my own timetable at the moment so I can’t make a 100% commitment

Ian Brotherhood

@A2 –

Cheers. No sweat at all.

It’s just to get a rough idea, but the way thing are looking, it could be a busy nicht, and I don’t want to be responsible for booking a venue which can’t accommodate everyone who wants to be there.

There will be more and more of these things organised as the year unfolds – we have to get them right. All of them.

Albamac

Hi Ian,
I’ve sent you an email, using the link you posted.  What about the cost of hiring the venue?  I’d be happy to contribute.

Thepnr

Ian
Best book me for two as I’d like the missus to come, my niece is getting married on the 5th (I’ve just been told) but I won’t be missing the 4th.

See you all then.

Ian Brotherhood

@Albamac –
(Replied to you via e-mail before seeing your latest here.)

Very kind offer – for which many thanks – but no need. Any pub owner who’s daft enough to ask room hire for an otherwise unused lounge on a Friday night (with upwards of 50 folk likely to attend?) will not be considered.

We’re offering them a chance to host a ‘nation-changing’ celebration, and they’ll get the coverage and kudos that comes with it – they should be paying us!

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Great. Duly added.

Looking forward to meeting you.

Paula Rose

Any of you non-idiots able to send me an idiot-proof guide about ‘twitter’? The Rev keeps going on about it, but I hate to ask as he’s so busy, what with rats, pussies and flirtatious eagles.

Aidan

Ian Brotherhood
Please add my name to the list for the gathering on April 4th. 

Albamac

@Paula Rose

Idiot-proofing Twitter?  I wouldn’t even look at the feasibility of that project.  🙂

Paula Rose

Oh well – lets have a poem

Albamac

@ Paula Rose

Ignore me.  Ah couldnae organise a piss-up in a pub. 🙂

Albamac

@Ian Brotherhood

Me’s clueless!  Cannae even claim ‘sheltered life’ as an excuse.

Paula Rose

Scotland, your supremely beautiful wings… I like that bit.

Paula Rose

And I like the rev’s logo.

Albamac

Wrote this about Brain Taylor’s ‘Blether with Brian’ and his love of poetry.

Is it a plot, an aberration,
diversion fae the fate o’ nation,
tae while away the hoors in verse
whilst clingin’ tae the Union’s erse?
Change the subject, come ower witty,
patronise them jist a bitty,
gie them naewhere else tae go,
hem them in, absorb the blow!
A sheltered nook, for blethers couthy.
Let country burn an’ play yer moothy!

Paula Rose

I forget – are poems still verboten?

Albamac

@Paula Rose

The absence of poetry is deeply damaging to the soul of the individual and the nation.  I write because I think. I think therefore…

Self-preservation?

Albamac

@Paula Rose

Sorry I haven’t commented on Sorley but, beautiful as the language may be, his work depresses me.  I don’t know why, but I can’t approach it without calling up dark clouds.

Thepnr

Yeah maybe poems on the main pages are not the way to go. I did it once and got pelters?

Not really a big deal but it did sort of change the thread so maybe here is the place to do it. I only associate with one poem and here it is:

O Me! O Life!

BY WALT WHITMAN

Oh me! Oh life! of the questions of these recurring,
Of the endless trains of the faithless, of cities fill’d with the foolish,
Of myself forever reproaching myself, (for who more foolish than I, and who more faithless?)
Of eyes that vainly crave the light, of the objects mean, of the struggle ever renew’d,
Of the poor results of all, of the plodding and sordid crowds I see around me,
Of the empty and useless years of the rest, with the rest me intertwined,
The question, O me! so sad, recurring—What good amid these, O me, O life?

Answer.
That you are here—that life exists and identity,
That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.

Paula Rose
Paula Rose

Just another English brother, who gives a willie rub.

Training Day

@ian
Ian, you have my email address bud – I intend to be there on the 4th along with two others.  Feel free to drop me a line with arrangements any time. Cheers.

The Tree of Liberty

Ian Brotherhood, this boring auld bastard is going, assuming am naw deid, regards,

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s the list of those regulars intending to attend WoS social on Friday April 4th, provisionally at McGinns Bar, Hope St, Glasgow.

If I’ve missed you out, or you want non-WoS family/friends to be added, please let me know this evening – intend to get it booked this week.

Iain & Karen Hamilton

Kininvie

Conan the Librarian

Quinie frae Angus

The Man in the Jar

Alex Taylor

Thepnr (2)

Twenty14

Chlocoderic

Patrician

cearc

scaredy cat

spout

Rod Mac

Thistle

dmw42

Dave McEwan Hill

madmurph

velofello

fairliered

Jeannie

EKindy

Alex Mci

XSticks

Steve Duncan

A2

Ken500

Albamac

Desimond (2)

Aidan

Robert Kerr

Macart

The Tree of Liberty

Training Day (3)

Paula Rose

Here’s the list of those regulars intending to attend WoS social on Friday April 4th, provisionally at The ‘Caley’, Southesk St, Brechin. If I’ve missed you out, or you want non-WoS family/friends to be added, please let me know this evening – intend to get it booked this week.

Better Together St Kilda (39)

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose – 

I’d love to attend but I’m a smoker and someone told me no puffin was allowed.

desimond

For the McGinns night, will any Better Together loving English Celebrities be in attendance….strange that The Herald run such a story yet cant even name a Union loving lovebomber!

Also…is it just a get together or maybe a wee fundraiser?

Ian Brotherhood

@desimond –

You never know. Maybe we can get Ant & Dec? (I’ll make sure they get wee stickers so we know for sure which one’s which.)

So far as fundraising etc goes, I don’t know. I’m only concerned with getting the ball rolling, and there does seem to be enough interest, so all I’ll be doing is finding a safe, convenient venue suitable for the numbers involved. Beyond that, it’s up to you and everyone else to decide what you want to do on the nicht.

I’ll be sure to let the McGinn’s manager know who we are and what the purpose of the get-together is – I’m confident there won’t be any problems, but it’s better to be above-board. We certainly don’t need anyone hassling us on the night, saying it’s a political gathering of some kind. If they don’t like it? I’ll keep asking around until I find somewhere.

I’ll also ask what they have, or can provide, by way of a PA system etc. If youse want to organise live music, or bring pre-recorded stuff, have a DJ, whatever, I’m sure we have more than enough talented folk to do an impromptu gig if that’s what folk would prefer.

Personally speaking, I just want to have a good night and meet more Wingers, and that needn’t involve more than sitting around talking. But there’s more than one way to skin a proverbial, and I’m up for anything, so long as it doesn’t involve drinking gin.

Kendomacaroonbar

Guys,

i have received the WOS car stickers ( 18 cm x 7 cm ) with the ‘old’ official logo and will happily make them available to any interested party. 

I don’t plan to charge for these puppies, although a donation towards postage would be appreciated.

I can be reached on kenmcdonald1@btopenworld.com

Yours aye

Ken

Thistle

Looking forward to WoS meetup on 4th April 🙂

Just a reminder we have two events this month that we are live streaming and filming…

22/01/2014 Alan Bissett with MD Michelle Thomson and Ivan McKee from Business for Scotland from The Glad Cafe, Shawlands, Glasgow.

23/01/2014 Labour for Independence at STUC building, 333 Woodlands Road, Glasgow

Details at link to facebook.com

Kendomacaroonbar

Car Sticker SAE to be sent to :    First Come First Served basis – limited supply.

Ken McDonald
Corrymeela
Middleton Lane
Craigendoran
HELENSBURGH G84 7BB,  Argyll & Bute

Lobeydosser

Hello Ian, Didn’t put my name down but is it possible to come along to the do in McGinns. Would love the chance to meet my fellow Wingsters. There will be 2 of us coming if that cool with you.

Patrician

@Kendomacaroonbar.

I don’t visit this section often and I have just seen your post about Car Stickers. Are these the Wings Over Scotland ones? And do you have any left?

kendomacaroonbar

@Patrician

Correct, they are WoS rear window stickers and yes they are available.

Ian Brotherhood

@Lobeydosser –

Done.

Watch this space for details as and when. Cheers.

CameronB

I came across this interesting interpretation of Lockerbie, and wondered if anyone has any thoughts, or would wish to ask Morag what she thinks.

link to globalresearch.ca

The Tree of Liberty

kendomacaroonbar, thank you very much for the car stickers and the business cards. There will be an extra fiver for the Rev, in the crowd funding.

p.s. who do you use for the business cards?

Kendomacaroonbar

@Tree of Liberty.

My pleasure.

The Aye Right cards were given to me by Alex Taylor. He obtained the artwork from a n other and just got them printed I think.

BTW, if you look further up the posts you might notice I was trying to send you the stickers first, since it was your prompting months ago that convinced me to go ahead and print the darn things 🙂 Did you not see it ? 🙂

The Tree of Liberty

kendomacaroonbar, ah just found Quarantine last week! Anyway, thanks again, and your name I may forget, but your kindness, never. Regards,

Albalha
Archie [not Erchie]

@ Major B – I am a Kenyaphile having schooled there and been back to Nairobi/Nakuru over the last 7 years or so. A failed business project in Nakuru really scunnered me however out of it all I maintained a contact in Kampala [GGaba].

I help out financially with a friend in Ggaba each month which pays for her rent. This friend is the admin and admissions secretary to the Ggaba Catholic Seminary. I have tried at times to send birthday and Christmas parcels which have always gone missing.

You will find picture of Prisca on my Facebook [Archie Melrose] and you can contact me initially there. I had hoped to contact you previous to your last visit to Uganda but was too late to ask. In the future, if you are in agreement I would love to send a small care package to Prisca complete with Saltire. She is a YES vote and is aware of our Scottish heritage. Thanks and await your response.

K1

One for the upbeat A side.

Paula Rose

Most of my life I have walked down a street at least once a day – and one thing has never changed. Outside newsagents are boards with headlines, Gilbert and George (London based artists) often use them as part of collage.

When I was young we used to swap what was there for sheets advertising punk gigs, and later political stuff – no social media then.

Easy – stencil or even a felt pen, imagine…

Financial Times

Every Scot

Better Off

By £600

On Indy

clochoderic

Can anyone help?

Last week I responded to a post by a reader here on Wings who was offering “Aye, Right” leaflets – Gavin Lessels is his name. I have lost his phone number and have searched the threads for his original post but without a result.

I can be contacted at:

rabrant@hotmail.com

Thanks in advance.

twenty14

@ ian Brotherhood – me thinks access out may be a bigger problem 🙂

twenty14

@ Ian Brotherhood _ another possible venue would be The Griffin., They have a smaller pub that they hire out for private parties. We once held a family party for no other reason that we only seen the rest of the Family at funerals. it has its own bar and they allowed us to use laptop to have pics of our family projected on to the wall plus we played our own music. Think it holds over 50 – would have to check out

Ian Brotherhood

@twenty14 –

Ha! Indeed…we can take turns rolling each other down the stairs.

I know the bit of the Griffin you mean – the Griffinette? Prob is, I’ve already got 43 names from WoS alone, and the probable number turning up, if we did it, say, this week-end, would likely be nearer 60-70. With another seven weeks to go, word getting about? Hmmm… we may have to look at somewhere bigger again.

Nice ‘problem’ to have, but I’ll go and check out McGinn’s anyway, then we can start putting some bones on this.

Watch this space!

twenty14

Cheers Ian B – I’m only replying to get rid of the number of ” death ” at top of comment page 🙂

Bugger (the Panda)

quarantine test

Croompenstein

Chairchoob

castle hills chavie

bug’rit..Hand and shrimp, I’m looking at you!!

James Kay

Poisson!

castle hills chavie

Shi’ite armageddon outta here.

jingly

login test

dmw42

oh happy days…

Croompenstein

Flipper

castle hills chavie

whoops missed the e, sorry rev

Croompenstein

Alec?

liz

logging in

liz

gday

Croompenstein

bbc?

liz

hello

Bugger (the Panda)

knickers

TJenny

K1

testing

K1

scissors

liz

nice time

Croompenstein

Ruthie?

Mary Bruce

Refresh

kininvie

check

Fairliered

Pathetic Quay

Ian Brotherhood

Quarantine 2 really needed more than ever…

Steve B

Testing 1,2,3

Also missing the page arrows to get here — it’s a real pain getting all the way down here on my Andoid tablet 🙂

Fiona

lost the posts again. Why does this happen?

Dick Gaughan

ping

Steve B

Refreshers – anyone remember them? 🙂

jingly jangly

Holy Isle

jingly jangly

Holy Isle

Dick Gaughan

post refresh

jingly jangly

Islay

jingly jangly

sanda

Croompenstein

refresh page

dmw42

refresh page

jingly jangly

gigha

kininvie

barking mad

Keef

Patience. Scotland will be Free.

jingly jangly

Davaar (at high tide)

Steve B

A morning refresh . . .

Bevrijdingsdag

Bow-Wow-weeeeh

jingly jangly

Big Cumbrae

liz

lgging in

Croompenstein

JoLa

liz

loggingin

kendomacaroonbar

Wings stickers

Pls send SAE envelope ( 8 x 4 inch ) and mark numbers required on the back of the envelope

Ken McDonald
Corrymeela
Middleton Lane
Helensburgh G84 7BB Argyll & Bute

patronsaintofcats

test

Grahame

@kendomacaroonbar

SAE in the post today. –

Grahame

@kendomacaroonbar

– look out for the Wings Logo on the envelope 🙂

Kendomacaroonbar

Nice Wings Stamp logo Grahame ! 🙂

ian foulds

For the benefit of the No (soft and hard) as well as the Don’t know camps –

It’s not about Alex Salmond, the SNP and especially not ‘ the English’.

It is about throwing off the shackles of the Westminster Parliamentary Union for the greater good and future of our Country.

Silverytay

Ken
meant to say thanks for the prompt dispatch of the W.O.S car stickers .
I moved house not long ago and have been up to my eyes in it ever since .
yours for Scotland
Mike McCabe

kendomacaroonbar

My pleasure Mike. I’ve got a few left, so if you need any more please just ask.

Silverytay

Ken
I am now saving all my pennies for the Rev’s big fund raiser but if I need any more I will give you a shout .

Grahame

to save going off topic in other threads i’ll just leave a link to the Edinburgh YES Ad Trailer Fundraiser – any donations gratefully received.

We’ve just commissioned the first posters for trailer number 1. (they’ll be delivered and on the trailer tomorrow)

if Rev Stu is reading his please drop me an email and we’ll see what we can do with regards to a Wings Over Scotland banner for one of them !

Caroline Corfield

I’ve been doing so well, but I want to see the 40 comments and I can’t remember is it refresh page or page refresh or something else entirely…

Btw the cybernat badge arrived, minus stamp, but not a problem, thanks.

Grahame

@Kendomacaroonbar

just doing my bit for the cause –

We made a concious decision at work to advertise Business for Scotland on our till receipts link to twitter.com

callum

refresh

Grahame

Aye Right Cards

just ordered 15000 Aye Right postcards for distribution around Edinburgh West. – A6 on super thick 300GSM card a rather cheap £203.00

if anyone wants to order some please contact yesedinburghwest@gmail.com with your quantities and we’ll see what price our friendly printer can do for you

Grahame

@Kendomacaroonbar

notice my postage wasn’t quite enough, do you want me to PAYPAL you the difference ? or just donate it to Wings ?

Kendomacaroonbar

@Grahame,

My pleasure 🙂

Boorach

@ Kendomacaroonbar

Do you have any of the Wings stickers left Ken?

If yes please fwd contact details to bill_urquhart@hotmail.com.

Many thanks

john king

“Quarantine 2 really needed more than ever…”

Or just turn it upside down so the newest posts are at the top instead of having to read Longshankers crap ad nauseum while waiting for my computer to let me scroll to the bottom,
Anyway its you I want to speak to Ian, is there any news on the wings night out?
the wife wants to know what arrangements we need to make, I hope its still on,
I was thinking about asking Rolftheganger to go, what do you think, he’s never (to my knowledge) posted on wings but he’s the real deal (one of us) 🙂

RolftheGanger

As requested I am lodging a post on here for jdmank
RolftheGanger

SquareHaggis

HI Stu, don’t know what happened on the “sticking with the script” thread, something clearly went awry with my posts there, sorry 🙁

If you get a minute could I ask you to delete my mis-posts at 10.24 am and 10.27 am as they kind of spoiled the thread.

Eternally greatful and eternally sorry for the c0nFUsi0n!

jingly jangly

Ian Brotherhood, Ive forgotten the date when is it again?

Ian Brotherhood

@John king & jingly jangly –

April 4th, The Counting House, Glasgow, St. Vincent place/George Square, anytime after 7/7.30.

I’ll be there early anyway – hoping Rev will establish new ‘Quarantine’ so we can discuss this stuff without disrupting regular threads.

Cheers, as ever.

Conan_the_Librarian

@ Ian Brotherhood

It took me long enough to find out where McGinn’s was.

Is it a bigger venue?

Ian Brotherhood

@Conan the Librarian –

I know mister, and I’m sorry. McGinn’s was my first choice too, but sadly, the space is no more.

Counting House is much bigger and better for all sorts of reasons. Hope you can still make it, but if not, there is a McGinns-related place we may be able to use for other sessions. I’ll send in details later today.

Ian Brotherhood

Now here’s a thing –

Yesterday, after booking The Counting House, went back to have a chat with the manageress of McGinn’s.

She also manages the Quarter Gill, just down the road. I checked the lounge there a few weeks ago, but it’s a tad on the small side for April 4th. Lovely wee windowless old-fashioned style lounge, does occasional functions.

I asked her how many folk she’d need for it to be worthwhile opening. Fifteen, twenty would be enough. To cut a long proverbial short – we could have that lounge pretty much anytime we want, including weekends. I was upfront with her about who we are – Yes supporters, some party-affiliated, most not. She never batted an eye. She was particularly keen on the idea of us playing music as she seems to be into the folk scene and quoted a few names I didn’t recognise.

Anyway, I told her I’d float the idea here and let her know. The place could become a wee hub for anyone passing through Glasgow – our own meeting place. If anyone’s up for it, we could try a trial run anytime – if it’s a go-er, and we get half-decent numbers, there’s no reason why it can’t become a really useful venue all the way up to September and beyond, and with word-of-mouth, we could attract many non-Wings people there, especially if they know it’s safe and welcoming, no danger in openly discussing the stuff that they might be wary of airing elsewhere.

Just as a wee test, is anyone up for a session next Friday? If I get fifteen or more definites by tomorrow night I’ll call her on Monday.

jingly jangly

Ian

Myself and Rab C will be there, cu then.

jingly jangly

Ian just read your last post, just so theres no confusion, I meant Rab C and I will be there on April 4th.

Maybe worth mentioning that the CND march in Glasgow is on the 5th April, so we can make a weekend of it!!!!

Desimond

@Ian Brotherhood

Well done that man. I dont get back from London commute until late this Friday Im afraid but most saturdays are fine. Best of luck with it. My mates and I just working on latest Referendum LP so would be happy to perform anytime that suits.

Ian Brotherhood

@jingly-jangly –

I had you on the list, but not Rab C. You’re both down now as definities. Thanks.

@Desimond –

Great stuff. Cheers.

twenty14

The counting House is 2 mins from Queen St and 5 mins from Central station – – easy access to transport for everyone

john king

Rolf sorry I’ve been installing a new computer today and haven’t seen your reply until now, as you saw from my post and Ian Brotherhoods comments were having a wings get together in the counting house in Glasgow the evening of the forth of April, it would be great if you came along I’m absolutely sure the Wings crowd would be happy to welcome you as would I, you may know me better a jdman
It would be great to see you there, why dont you come along?

RolftheGanger

Hello John
Thanks for the invitation, but I am not able to attend.
Hope the meeting goes well.
John McAteer, one time National Organiser, SNP, used to talk of the energy renewing power of such meetings as ‘body heat” Very useful for recharging one’s batteries.
Regards, RtG

Ian Brotherhood

@John King –

Sorry mister, I missed your reference to Rolf – I’ve stuck him on the list as a possible. Hope he doesn’t mind!

It’s worth pointing out that this isn’t a formal do – no-one will be vetting us, checking names, or anything like that. I only asked for names so that I’d have an idea of numbers, but with it being a big place, there’s no sweat. Everyone should feel free to bring whoever they like, and there’s no need for me to know all the names.

Put it this way – if people join us on the night who’ve never heard of Wings in their lives, but end up talking to us and finding out what’re doing, that’s got to be good.

Quinie frae Angus

@Ian Brotherhood

Hi, do you mean the Quarter Gill in Partick? Or is there another Quarter Gill?

Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

Sorry, I should’ve explained – the one I’m on about is 2 minutes walk from the Argyle St exit of Glasgow Central.

The Man in the Jar

For anyone attending the Counting House doo or any other wings function heres a wee something that might raise a laugh or two.

link to funkybunky.co.uk

I find the Farage, Brown and Hauge ones particularly disturbing.

I myself am probably about 80% certain to attend.

john king

I just noticed the Counting house is a Wetherspoons pub Ian ,nice one,
much cheapness 🙂
and the grubs pretty decent as well.

john king

Btw Ian did you see my post re the badges, 100 badges made to spec for about 58quid, could have the wings logo and the name of the individual on them so we all know who each other is,
what do you think?
we could crowd fund that in about ,oh I don’t know? a nano second.:)

scaredy cat

Quick question.

Have you booked a function room in the Counting House? As a female, it can be a bit intimidating going into a pub alone. How do I know where/who you are?

Are you all going to be sitting under a big WoS flag?

Ian Brotherhood

@John King –

re badges. I was just going to bring a roll of sticky labels and a bingo pen, but I suppose people might want to make their own, or perhaps come dressed as their Wings handle – mind boggles to think what BtP would look like…

@Scaredy Cat –

Fret not. The Counting House really isn’t a ‘man’s’ pub. It’s usually full of office-workers, parties of girls on Hen nights etc. And yes, we’ll be conspicuous enough – just remember to make a sharp left as soon as you go in – you won’t miss us.

Paula Rose

Plans for Wings night in Brechin going well have booked two bar stools at the Caley.

ronnie anderson

Rev, ma loggin keeps disapearing on every story refresh.

Roll_On_2014
David

link to jdwetherspoon.co.uk

Above is the link to the Counting House webpage. Iain Brotherhood, it may be worth confirming that wheelchair users have full access to the pub, using (I think) the entrance on the George Square side of the building:

link to euansguide.com

I won’t be attending, but I wish I were!

As for the Quarter Gill in Oswald Street (near The Arches), the lounge is upstairs, and I don’t remember there being a lift. (Things might have changed in ten years, though.) This is more of a traditional pub, i.e. you won’t mistake it for a wine bar! 😉 It is however nice and private, with a great central location.

Just typing this is making me homesick for proper pubs, there are none anywhere near me at present. So I’ll give a wee shout-out to anyone who knows Glasgow’s Laurieston Bar, south of the river, at the corner of Bridge St. and Nelson St. It’s got a tv, but the fixtures and fittings are pure 1950s, and all the better for it. The lounge was used as a location for a short scene in Ewen McGregor’s 2003 film “Young Adam”.

john king

Wings handle – mind boggles to think what BtP would look like…

Ahem have you seen my avatar I would need to come dressed as a 12 y/o schoolboy 😉

Thepnr

Just sneaking in again via quarantine 🙂

Ian, is that Counting house confirmed then for the 4th? Just want to book a place to stay. Did you get much feedback on the Quarter Gill?

Anybody know why we haven’t seen many posts from ronnie recently or have I missed them?

Ian Brotherhood

@John King –

‘Aherm’ indeed – it’s not that sort of a social.

@Thepnr –

Definite. Nae doots aboot it. All welcome – more the merrier.

On Quarter Gill, some interest, but it’s only been discussed here in Quarantine so far – once word gets about I’m sure we’ll get enough interest to give it a dry-run. (Not the most apt phrase for a pub session, but you know what I mean…)

Hopefully we’ll get a definite Friday (or other weekend night) arranged and booked before the month is out, and make a special appeal to those of a musical bent to bring their instruments. Could be the start of something a wee bit special. (I might even dig out my Triangle and give it a seeing-to with the old Brasso.)

Thepnr

Cheers Ian.

No news on ronnie though?

Thepnr

ronnie, I see you sneaked a post in while I wasn’t looking or maybe I just didn’t open my eyes?

Thepnr

Ian
At next weeks Labour Conference, Allan Grogan will be taking part in a debate with Margaret Curran and Henry McLeish in a fringe meeting on the Saturday. If you fancy that weekend in Dundee you know my email.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Sorry for slow response – have barely been on this, keeps freezing.

Kind offer mister, but this is exam time for me, I’m up to me ears in all-sorts. But I’ll certainly look out for that meeting, sounds a good one.

Breastplate

@ Ian Brotherhood, I’m going to be at my brother’s birthday party that night but hoping to get along for a pint or two if that’s OK.

William Duguid

Expecting to make it along to the Counting House on 4 April also.

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

No problem Ian, good luck with the exams.

Scotrock

Hope to make it on the 4th also if there is any room?

ronnie anderson

Ian ah forgot to say I might have 1or 2 people with me on

the 4 April to help me,is that ok.

ronnie anderson

Ian how many Lady Wingers or Partners going, an naw am no

on the hunt,just a wee suprize.

Paula Rose

The two bar stools are still booked at the ‘Caley’ on Southesk Street, Brechin, April 4th -any takers?

Ian Brotherhood

@Scotrock – that’s you on the list. Bring whoever you like, no bother – the numbers won’t be a problem, there’s plenty room.

@ronnie – of course man, the more the merrier. I’ll start plugging it again next week to remind folk, but even as it is I reckon we’re looking at approx 70 or 80 folk, and if even half of them brings pals or partners then it could be a big yin!

Alan Mackintosh

@ Ian brotherhood

You were asking about symbols, for ¿ you need to press Alt key and type 168. For ¡ Alt and 173. There is a heap of others so play around and find out 🙂

Oneironaut

@Alan Mackintosh
For Windows systems there’s also the Character Map, which will show you all possible letters, numbers and symbols for every font installed on your system.

On Windows XP, it’s at “Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> Character Map”
Not sure if it’s in the same place on other versions of Windows.

john king

Ronnie Anderson says
“Ian how many Lady Wingers or Partners going, an naw am no

on the hunt,just a wee suprize.”

The wife’s going Ronnie but she assured me if she as much as sees a tea cosy she’s out of there 🙂

john king

Scotrock says
“!Hope to make it on the 4th also if there is any room?”

How much room do you need? planning on bringing your elephant? 🙂
heres the qualification for entry
are you a winger?
if the answer to the above is yes then there’s room for you, and your elephant, as long as he doesn’t drink to much 😉

CameronB

WARNING

Very hard playlist.

Boogie Down Productions – Love’s Gonna Get’cha (Material Love)

CameronB

Wrong playlist. It should have started with Lauren Hill, before BDP. Well worth it anyway.

john king

I take it your going to the Counting House on the 4th Cameron?

liz

@Ian Brotherhood – I have mentioned before on other threads that I will be coming with possibly 2 others but it might have got lost in general discussion as the threads move on really quickly.

Paula Rose