++ OVERLOAD ERROR ++

Posted on January 11, 2012 by

As you might imagine, the sudden burst of sunlight cast on the independence referendum yesterday has seen the media scurrying around like hundreds of cockroaches who've just had the rock lifted from on top of them. There isn't time to come anywhere close to a complete analysis of the reaction and we've got a lot of stuff to do today, so we're going to cut through the swamp and point you at a handful that cover all the core issues with the minimum of fluff and waffle.

"Salmond outmanoeuvres Westminster", says Hamish McDonnell in the CalMerc, reflecting/summarising what seems to be the general media take on the subject

David Maddox in the Scotsman, apparently unaware of when the Scottish Parliament's term ends (it's April 2016, Dave) presents events from the Unionist perspective

The Guardian highlights the arrival of the civic-Scotland devo-max movement and its potential for complicating the issue

Michael Moore explicitly tells Scotland Tonight the UK government WON'T bring a legal challenge if the SNP launch a referendum without Westminster approval – we're amazed nobody else has questioned him in more detail on this. It would be absolutely extraordinary if the British government stood idly by and watched an illegal attempt to break up the United Kingdom, so why is Moore saying they won't? And what does that reveal about the UK government's true opinion on the legality of the referendum? (Warning: 300 years of adverts first)

Devolution expert Alan Trench analyses the situation in detail

Unionist misinformation kicks off early as The Telegraph runs a headline poll claiming low support for independence, but waits until the small print at the bottom before revealing that its Scottish sample is under 500 – ie less than half the number required for a survey to have any legitimacy

And Ian Smart asks an excellent question

Get through that lot and we'll see where we are.

1 to “++ OVERLOAD ERROR ++”

1. Leighton says:

Overload error is right all I can see on my FB is links to Scottish independence stories. One of the more interesting ones in my view was this:
    link to scotsman.com

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,833 Posts, 1,229,985 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on How To Create Racists: ““thuggery is a root characteristic of the colonizer, I suspect” Nae shit, Sherlock! Or did you really believe the Apache,…Nov 3, 18:59
    • Dave Hansell on How To Create Racists: ““Imagine coming on to a public forum and openly claiming that, in effect, someone’s political beliefs and how they vote…Nov 3, 18:57
    • Hatey McHateface on How To Create Racists: ““Maybe it’s time you took a sabbatical” It’s past time you troubled to discover how things work on Wings BTL.…Nov 3, 18:48
    • Dave Hansell on How To Create Racists: “Ah bless!, hatey’s been triggered. Would you like some tissue to wipe the spittle from that wee gob of yours,…Nov 3, 18:36
    • Dan on How To Create Racists: “IIRC about a year ago Wales regressed its democratic credentials by switching to a closed list system. https://electoral-reform.org.uk/closed-lists-were-a-misstep-cross-party-stv-bill-would-put-the-senedd-back-on-track/Nov 3, 18:36
    • Northcode on How To Create Racists: “It’s clear to see that when a unionist (colonialist if preferred… same thing) has their ‘argument’ – if the weak…Nov 3, 18:35
    • sarah on How To Create Racists: “Thank you, Dan! It is a bit odd that Prism etc aren’t included on Voices for I anymore but it…Nov 3, 18:34
    • David Holden on How To Create Racists: “A bit of friendly advice to our friends South of the Wall. As you seem to be determined to suck…Nov 3, 18:23
    • Dan on How To Create Racists: “@ Stuart Mackay if you’re reading. Sarah inquired last week, but got no response. Is there a reason Barrheadboy’s articles…Nov 3, 18:10
    • Northcode on How To Create Racists: “A’ll hae aw thon colonialists wha coggle hereaboots scrievin doun aw thair Inglis thocht in braw Scots wirds suin eneuch…Nov 3, 18:07
    • Hatey McHateface on How To Create Racists: “Nae bother, CC. I would have felt really bad over taking your £10K bet off you in any case!Nov 3, 18:01
    • Captain Caveman on How To Create Racists: “‘… Zat so, CC?’ Sorry old chap, ’twas my rather lame attempt at humour I’m afraid (at Dave Hensell’s expense…Nov 3, 17:37
    • Hatey McHateface on How To Create Racists: “Dinna fash aboot Bavaria, NC. A’ the places that banned yer sairy, steaming arse will hae forgotten aboot it by…Nov 3, 17:26
    • Dan on How To Create Racists: “Soz, looks like that 1st link back to previous comments re. Salmon farming failed to copy and paste correctly. So…Nov 3, 17:18
    • Hatey McHateface on How To Create Racists: ““I bet poor old Hatey will be licking his wounds and crying himself to sleep this night” Zat so, CC?…Nov 3, 17:18
    • Cynicus on How To Create Racists: “Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says: 1 November, 2025 at 9:52 pm “At least three of Robert Louis Stevenson’s books have been translated…Nov 3, 17:15
    • Hatey McHateface on How To Create Racists: ““HR is merely an adjunct of WM” I see. So any positive outcomes or good policies coming out of HR…Nov 3, 17:15
    • robertkknight on How To Create Racists: “The SNP didn’t give a shit whilst the Yoons remained content to field their lower division teams – if devolution…Nov 3, 16:47
    • Rob on How To Create Racists: “I don’t think there is a group of reform voters. Anybody I talk to just says they are going to…Nov 3, 16:05
    • Northcode on How To Create Racists: “Bavaria! Bavaria! Bavaria! All I see on here these days are colonialists (unionists if preferred… same thing) banging on aboot…Nov 3, 15:01
    • Dan on How To Create Racists: “The poor soul living in Norfolk and having to write her article whilst in bed with the electric blanket on……Nov 3, 14:26
    • Captain Caveman on How To Create Racists: “…designed to take in the terminally gullible? The “terminally gullible” you say, Dave? As someone who’s no doubt probably slavishly…Nov 3, 13:54
    • Mark Beggan on How To Create Racists: “Big Mammy Turnip and her lovely, lovely boys. No wasp is safe around wee dicky hater. The secret sauce is…Nov 3, 13:41
    • Dave Hansell on How To Create Racists: “Ah! Quelle suprise! The whataboutory card. The one which buries the wider contextual fact that HR is merely an adjunct…Nov 3, 13:30
    • Dave Hansell on How To Create Racists: “Seeing as I’m following your logic, hatey, your response almost classifies as Zen. I’ve seen people pass back handed compliments…Nov 3, 13:14
    • Dave Hansell on How To Create Racists: ““the King’s English.”? That would be this “King” would it, hatey: https://www.weforum.org/podcasts/world-vs-virus/episodes/klaus-schwab-and-prince-charles-on-why-we-need-a-great-reset/ The darling of the WEF Globalists. Hatay Mchateface…Nov 3, 13:05
    • Aidan on How To Create Racists: “Yes James – to you of all people. Obviously it was in one ear and out the other like every…Nov 3, 12:51
    • Hatey McHateface on How To Create Racists: “Nae man-hating Mammie wi a face lik a skelped arse. Perhaps that’s the secret sauce!Nov 3, 12:42
    • Hatey McHateface on How To Create Racists: “Your ‘logic’ is incomprehensible, Dave. Perhaps you are too.Nov 3, 12:39
    • Dave Hansell on How To Create Racists: “Young people, eh, hatey! With ” almost 19,700 cautions and convictions made for possession of a knife or offensive weapon.…Nov 3, 12:37