One for the Doctor Who fans

Posted on September 18, 2013 by

No campaign director Blair McDougall speaking to BBC News this morning.

tiredblair

Don’t you think he looks tired?

82 to “One for the Doctor Who fans”

1. BMC875

Luvvit. Great Strap line.

2. DMyers

Tired and more than a bit stressed.

And the ticker makes it even funnier 🙂

3. Roddy Macdonald

Great ticker line. Perhaps he was tired and emotional last night.

4. blunttrauma

Guy looks like he’s found the positive case for the Union and lost a fiver.

5. Doug Daniel

Having never watched Doctor Who ever, this one goes right over my head.

6. willie

Do we care???

7. EmbraBoffin

Doctor Who? Surely Star Wars, with the pallid skin, sunken eyes and penchant for causing fear that we are looking at a Sith Lord in the making. His journey to the dark side is almost complete. 

8. Albalha

Talking about Project Fear what is the NIESR report all about? Seems that’s the one to quote today.

9. sneddon

Slowly the life force is being sucked out by that vampire Vlad Darling .  Either that or the buckie. 🙂

10. Ruby Tuesday

I think he looks ill check out the ‘Periorbital Ecchymosis’
    (Panda Eyes/Racoon Eyes)

11. rabb

Better Together is an emotional vampire. It’s clearly sucking the life & soul right out of this man and anyone else who comes into contact with it.

He’s been awake now for over a year searching constantly for the positive case for the union to no avail. Time for bed now Bliar.

In all seriousness though. This guy does look quite ill. He’s not getting enough sleep and his complexion suggests his liver is on it’s arse (diet or alcohol).
    I know he’s a cockbag but I do genuinely hope he goes and sees a GP soon. He’s not in good shape at all and I wouldn’t wish ill health on anyone.

12. Robert Louis

Ha, nice.  If I recall this is from the episode, with Tennant as the Doctor, with aliens who took over the bodies of members of Government including the prime minister.  The line is suggested by the doc, right at the end.  if I’m right do I get a prize????

btw, he does look tired.

13. David Martin

I am a Whovian and get the connection. Sorry.

14. Caroline Corfield

For those of you getting a middle parting with this one. At the end of a Dr Who episode where he and the sole remaining and female, member of the UK government cabinet ( and therefore de facto PM) win against the baddies. The now official lady PM, says some things about weapons ( a la Trident)  – a thing Dr Who is emphatically against using never mind developing and he say “I can bring you down with six ( though I thought it was five) words”, she haughtily turns aside from this remark but he whispers in an aide’s ear the words “don’t you think she looks tired?” And the final scene is a view of the aide’s face re-appraising the leader who has brought them through the worst of it, as possibly not the person to continue.

15. Robert Louis

Actually, it wouldn’t surprise me, if the bitter together team were getting tired.  Those on the YES side, are speaking the truth and from the heart, something they genuinely believe in, whereas bitter together, are continually having to spin and lie day in, day out.  The mental effort required to continually spin and lie, really must be tiring to folks in the no campaign.

16. wee jamie

Slightly o/t here , but I couldn’t resist saying something
    Although I have refused to buy a daily newspaper for the last 6 months, my wife brought in a copy of the daily record this morning, as the front page caught her eye. It’s easy to see which way they want the readers to vote. On pages 5-6, they had quotes from 12 members of the general public, you would suppose 6 yes ,6 no in the interest of balance and fairness, imagine my surprise to find 6 definite NO voters, 5 unconvinced/ want more info,but love the union , and the one solitary YES voter says ” I don’t really like the S.N.P,. I don’t trust Alex Salmond’s blueprint for independence”  If this is the standard of journalism we will get from the so- called unbiased press in the next 12 months , it’s going to be a very difficult year !

17. Macart

I’d feel sorry for them, but the old sympathy cupboard is particularly bare after the past week. They chose their strategy, now they can deal with the consequences.

Still, the fella looks like he could do with a lie down.

18. Rev. Stuart Campbell

The now official lady PM, says some things about weapons ( a la Trident)  – a thing Dr Who is emphatically against using never mind developing and he say “I can bring you down with six ( though I thought it was five) words””

No, definitely six words, and he does it when she orders the fleeing alien ship to be shot down.

DOCTOR: That was murder!

JONES: That was defence.

DOCTOR: But they were leaving!

JONES: …we have to defend ourselves.

DOCTOR: Britain’s Golden Age.

JONES: It comes with a price.

DOCTOR: I gave them the wrong warning. I should have told them to run, as fast as they can, run and hide because the monsters are coming. The human race.

JONES: Those are the people I represent. I did it on their behalf.

DOCTOR: And I should have stopped you.

JONES: What does that make you, Doctor? Another alien threat?

DOCTOR: Don’t challenge me, Harriet Jones! Because I’m a completely new man. I could bring down your government with a single word.

JONES: You’re the most remarkable man I’ve ever met. But I don’t think you’re quite capable of that.

DOCTOR: No, you’re right. Not a single word. Just six.

JONES: I don’t think so.

DOCTOR: Six words.

JONES: Stop it!

DOCTOR: Six.

[walks over to aide]

DOCTOR: Don’t you think she looks tired?

19. Training Day

Aye, and wasn’t Harriet Jones ultimately exterminated by a dalek?

20. KillieBoab

I would say that the word is more scunnert than tired.

21. AmadeusMinkowski

Perhaps my late-night tweet to UK poodle McDougall was the last straw!
    McDougall’s “I’m-a-UK-poodle” moment
    Text below:
    Amadeus Minkowski ?@MinkowskiKelvin16h
    Asking @blairmcdougall to call out @AnasSarwar for lying to the Scottish people is surely the most ironic tweet of the day!

22. bunter

He looks pish. A lot to worry about. Ive just watched Patrick Harvies best ever interview,  with the state broadcastesr Gavin Essle on news 24 . He was buzzin and positive and made so much sense. Off to work wi a smile on ma face…

23. bunter

Er thats broadcaster and Gavin Essler..lol. In a hurry….

24. pmcrek

wee jamie,
    Thats pretty much the standard of journalism we’ve had in Scotland for decades unfortunately, personally I feel its rather remarkable we’ve come this far despite it and heartening also. It shows we dont need them to be impartial to win, just as the SNP didnt need them to be impartial to win in 2011.

25. abigdoob

Not sure about DrWho, maybe more like the dead eyes of Emperor Palpatine/Darth Sideous, and that didn’t end well for him.
    http://www.rebelscum.com/Sideshow/EmperorPF/header.jpg

26. Morag

Veryexcellent aricle on Newsnet
    http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/referendum/8042-the-yes-campaign-doesnt-require-media-approval-its-doing-just-fine

Good, isn’t it?  I’d like to like Newsnet more, if only they weren’t such schoolmarmish, judgemental stuffed shirts.  And if every second news article didn’t begin “[unionist] under pressure” or “[unionist] criticised” when we know perfectly well these people are being given a free ride and the only people doing the criticism are a bunch of bloggers.

27. Robert Dickson

He looks to me like the fat kid who was picked last at football and was stuck in goal.
    Think that’s what happened here too?

28. rabb

The state must be foaming at the mouth just now. Despite their control of the media and state broadcaster their propaganda campaign is impotent.

Could this be the first instance of the internet age truly overtaking the traditional media and state? Or is it simply boots on the ground, real democracy in action?

No wonder the Chinese and others have put the squeeze on it.

29. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Incidentally, can we think of any other six words that could bring down a UK government?

30. HandandShrimp

Listened to GMS with Nicola on banks and currency, chap chatting about business being pretty neutral on the issue of independence and a roving reporter in Coldstream. The people he spoke in Coldstream were mostly positive or open to persuassion and the people on the other side of the border were more concerned about whether they could still visit the health centre in Scotland. All in all and coupled with the Newsnight debate last night pretty positive.

Obviously the Record is another kettle of fish but I’m not convinced the relentless negativity is paying off.

31. Seasick Dave

Just watched that Newsnight speshul on AyePlayer and I’m going to have a big smile on my coupon all the way to Saturday and well beyond!

I loved Kirsty Wark’s parting shot at the outcome of the poll; “Its not a scientific poll”.

No, its not, Kirsty, but this was the borders and you, Mags the business lady and the Prof all did your best to lead people to a NO.

I think that this may be turning point in the campaign with exactly a year to go.

Optimism and imagination over fear and lies.

32. sneddon

‘It was just one sheep dammit’

33. The Man in the Jar

Stressed! The same goes for quite a few who must be finding it difficult to be better together those that know the truth that is. Maintaining a lie over a sustained period especially when deep down you know that literally millions of your own people will suffer because of it must inevitably take its toll. How on earth do they sleep at night? I have commented elsewhere that I reckon that Lamont wont make the referendum.
    On a lighter note and keeping to the Sci-Fi theme “Pick TV” are re-running “Stargate Atlantis” a spin-off of “Stargate”. The plot, set in the not to distant future involves an international team made up from 12 countries travel across galaxies to the lost city of Atlantis. Each of the team has their national flag on a shoulder patch. There are Americans, Russians even a Canadian but the big surprise is that the Scottish guy (irritating as he is) wears a Saltire and not a Union Jack!  

34. Brian Powell

We are going to be Independent.

35. kendomacaroonbar

Too Wee, Too Poor, Too Stupid
    (It’s going to bring down the UK)

36. rabb

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Incidentally, can we think of any other six words that could bring down a UK government?

Kiss my hairy independent Scottish arse!

37. kininvie

@sneddon

38. naebd

…BY PEOPLE DRINKING TOO MUCH NIGHT NURSE

39. Iain

‘A dead rent boy you say?’

40. Elizabeth

o/t
    Derek Bateman – “only a year to go” Really funny!
    http://derekbatemandotnet1.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/only-a-year-to-go/comment-page-1/#comment-138

41. HoraceSaysYes

“That Salmond chap is right, actually” 😉

42. steve stewart

The 6 words that will bring the curtain down on the UK Government are

Should Scotland be an Independent Country?

43. Geoff Huijer

Excellent Steve Stewart!

44. Emma

Quote from the JoLa interview on BBC news: ‘I was a schoolteacher in the 80’s and I stood in a classroom and watched hope disappear from the eyes of the children in front of me’. Thirty years on and no change then….

45. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Quote from the JoLa interview on BBC news: ‘I was a schoolteacher in the 80?s and I stood in a classroom and watched hope disappear from the eyes of the children in front of me’.”

Fascinating in the context of her recent admission that she campaigned for a No vote in the 1979 devolution referendum.

46. steve stewart

Even the School children looked up at Lamont and realised, “Oh my word, we have no hope with her in charge”

47. sneddon

Emma – I imagine the thoughts of the children went along the lines of “oh naw it’s her teaching US english, that’s my career as a writer stuffed then’

48. cadgers

Scotland votes aye YES to independence

49. naebd

“yes result result result in 2014”

50. castle hills chavie

I  too have just watched the newsnight special.
    I live in Glasgow now, but I’m Berwick born and bred and nobody and I mean NOBODY calls it the union bridge.
    It’s always been known as the chain bridge

51. Scottish_Snowboarder_;)

Yes,No,Yes,No,Yes,Yes

52. Patrick Roden

Johann looked knackered as well and i’m sure that’s why she disappeared over the summer….she needed to de-stress!

You simply cannot lie to your own people, knowing that if you manage to scare them into voting for your preferred choice, it will decimate their living standards.
    They must break out into sweat when they think about the consequences of the vote, because whatever way it goes people like Lamont, Ballie, Sarwar etc, have no future in Scotland as politicians. 

53. a supporter

@Morag
    “only people doing the criticism are a bunch of bloggers.
    Well that’s a very poor statement to make. Without the ‘bunch of bloggers’ I doubt if Independence would be achievable. And with them going from strength to strength while the MSM shits in its own nest every day on the way down we shall prevail.

54. BBC Scotlandshire

As one who channels UKOK on a daily basis, I can confirm this is a knackering experience.

55. Mad Jock McMad

“There is no Scottish oil left”

56. McNic

I thought it was The Absorbaloth!

57. david

6 words for independence…. lamont, davidson, rennie, sarwar baillie, kelly

58. jake

Rev. Stuart Campbell asked:

“Incidentally, can we think of any other six words that could bring down a UK government?”

Best I can do is

” We’re alright! We’re alright! We’re alright!”

Until then Labour were hot favorites to win that election.

59. Morag

Hey, I think I just converted my hairdresser.

She’s pretty low-information, but not entirely.  She was a tad confused between the local council by-election next month and the referendum.  After I’d explained that I’d been in the SNP for 20 years because at the time I joined it was the only independence movement we had, she said, sounding surprised, “would you really vote for independence?”  I said something like “just try to stop me,” and she said, but wouldn’t we be better just staying as we are?

I asked her why, and she said, but suppose there was a war or something?  Almost before I could ask her who on earth she thought we were going to have a war with, and of course I was ready to talk about alliances and NATO and so on, she said, “England would kill us!  They’re so much bigger!”

I retrieved my jaw from the floor (not an easy feat when someone is trimming round your left ear) and suggested I could not possibly conceive of any circumstances in which we would be at war with England.  I talked about the way the world is moving to small countries that can look after their own people while making beneficial alliances with their neighbours.  I talked about Scandinavia, and can you imagine Norway saying, well we’d better give all our money to Sweden because they’re bigger than us and they could kill us if we had a war?  She agreed this was unlikely.

Then we talked about money, and glory hallelujah, she knew perfectly well that we’re a rich country and resented the “subsidy junky” label.  I pointed out that it wasn’t just the injury of us passing all our money to England and getting only some of it back, it was the insult of the money being spent on roads and railways and tunnels and so on in the south east, and nobody saying, thanks, Scotland, you’re really helping us with your shared prosperity.  Instead they call us scroungers.

I think that one is job done, though there will be another half dozen or so haircuts before the referendum to make sure the lesson stayed learned.  Jings, some people have the most bizarre concerns.  A war with England?

60. Morag

The 6 words that will bring the curtain down on the UK Government are

Should Scotland be an Independent Country?

*** Wins thread. ***  😀

61. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“The 6 words that will bring the curtain down on the UK Government are
    Should Scotland be an Independent Country?”

Those were the ones I was thinking of, yes 🙂

62. Rod Mac

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    18 September, 2013 at 11:09 am

how about “Gordon Brown to  replace Ed Milliband?

63. Albert Herring

@Morag

Steve Stewart at 11.30am 😀

64. Albert Herring

Was going to suggest “David Cameron is alien space lizard”, but of course everyone knows that already.

65. Morag

Yes, Steve Stewart gets the coconut.  Or the enamelled badge, whatever.

66. Jimmy the pict

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    18 September, 2013 at 11:09 am

David, Scotland has voted for independence

67. Gordon Smith

He is tired by the daily wait. in confirming those early morning Scare stories make it to the Printing Presses on Cue. When the Whole campaign is based around the SMSM and it’s pejorative anti-independence output, no wonder he gets little sleep.

68. Craig P

Morag – a war with England is about the only reason that would make me think of voting no, as even the union would be better than a war on Scottish soil. However as you say it is such a vanishingly unlikely scenario in this day and age, I can’t believe anyone might hold it as a legitimate concern. 

69. Morag

I really don’t know what she was thinking of.  She seemed to realise it was a ludicrous idea when she stopped and thought about it for a minute.  But it was a wee bit telling that her first reaction was that England hates us so much that it might start a war against us.  Not much of a basis for a continuing relationship, one might think.

70. Davy

Another six words to bring down the Westninster government are :

“This expenses form, is it yours ? “

71. sneddon

‘No more oil money to spend’
    “the bank wants its money back’
    “feck, the banks have crashed again’
    “Cameron joins UKIP,”like coming home””

72. CameronB

I thought of TWTPTS, but that might leave the government intact whilst undoing the union.

“This expenses form, is it yours?” Brilliant, but how much justice has been served as a result of duck houses and the like?

Haven’t topped ‘It was just one sheep dammit’. Yet. 🙂

Just spotted “That Salmond chap is right, actually”. Don’t think I’ll top that. 🙂

73. Turnip_ghost

Man in the jar,
    i also watched that show and loved that the Scotsman wore the Saltire and not the Union Flag! I remember seeing a character who sounded English in one of the episodes but couldn’t tell you if they wore St George’s Cross or union flag. 

74. jr1969mr

He looks as if he has seen the writing on the wall re a YES victory and realises that he has to endure another 52 weeks of trying to sell a lost cause

75. Baheid

I think Blair has been using his share of Mr. Taylors donation for his bar tab.

76. Inbhir Anainn

Re six words

“Farewell for I must leave thee”

77. The Rough Bounds

Back in the 60’s we used to say that blokes who looked like that had ‘Wanker’s eyes’.

78. Krackerman

A war with England – not likely – not when Scotland supplies 60% of her energy. Hairs – short – by – the – caught… re-arrange…
    No – sadly it’s far more likely England will have a civil war before it ever has a war with us..

79. Midgehunter

6 words

Yes 65%  No 30%  YES wins

Cam-moron resigns

80. Duncan D'Isorderly

A fat man on the telly talking shite.

81. Morag

Yes 65%  No 30%  YES wins

What are the other 5%?  Spoiled ballots?  😉

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.