Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
Peace Always
You know it’s Right
Peace Always
Some will not weep until the tear gas is upon them washing the dust from their eyes
Peace Always
Uncharted Waters
Peace Always
Deja vu?
I’m young and I’m old
I’m rich and I’m poor
I feel like I’ve been on this earth many times before
Once I was a white Gazelle
On horse back riding free
Searching in the darkness for a piece of me
Peace Always
@ Tinto, also a heathen & love Eilan a Cheo. Best ever day in the hills was on Blaven on a roastin day. Sailed into the wee bottle-necked anchorage on Soay with the ruined shark-fishing station, thought we were the only folk in the world till Tex Geddes (sharker) appeared & headed for the shore with the ashes, deid noo along with his adversary Maxwell. Did U see “Cruising with Jane McDonald” last night on 5, nine o clock. Sailin roon Mull of the Cool High Bens, great photography & hersel singing in Fingals Cave was a delight so it wiz. Glenelg Brochs awesome.
Did the coo appear contented & asked for a fag?
@ Smallaxe, this could be the Humanist Channel kid? was in Govan Old Parish Church for Jimmy Reid’s funeral & meant to go back sometime & see the Hogback Stones inside the church. The Milliband’s were a disgrace that day using the occasion to pose for photo op’s with the workies. Much good it did the bastards! Reid wouldn’t have pished on them.
Fred:
I WOULD have pished on them in Jimmy’s HONOUR! it might have helped to wash the shite’s away.
Peace Always My Friend
“From the very depth of my being, I challenge the right of any man or any group of men, in business or in government, to tell a fellow human being that he or she is expendable.”
Jimmy Reid
Peace Always
Michael and Smallaxe: great picks last night. Hadn’t heard the Alan Price version before. Still play the 10cc first album regularly.
Fred:didn’t see that Jane McD prog. Sounds great. The first time I climbed Blaven it was a beautiful clear day and I took many photographs of the Cuillin Ridge. Amazing views from Blaven back to The Saddle on the mainland too.
The coo wasn’t all that bothered at being driven home but the bull wasn’t happy, despite having lots of other “girlfriends”. All I had to hide behind was a scroggy wee hawthorn “tree”. Then on the way back I went straight up to the thighs in one of those peaty sink holes. If I’d been alone I don’t know what would have happened because the suction is pretty strong.
It’s hard work being a pretendy crofter.
Hey, Smallaxe, did you ever hold hands with this young lady?
Smallaxe, TC and possibly others:
Here’s two books i can thoroughly recommend, came across them several years ago whilst doing my family research. Smallaxe in particular would enjoy them i think, due to them covering coal mining history and they contain a lot of poetry by the miners, their families and others.
Black Faces and Tackety Boots
Pit Props and Ponies
I’ve just discovered she has a third book out which i’ll need to try and get my hands on. If it’s half as good as the other two then it’ll be well worth the purchase.
Coal Mining Fatalities in Hamilton Parish, 1841-1948
BTW, Smallaxe, I really enjoyed the first half of that archive find you posted further upstream at 3:48pm on 17th, good find and thank you.
Stoker:
Thank you, My Friend, I’m glad you enjoyed the film.I will certainly take a look at the books that you have recommended.
Peace Always
Tinto:
I have never held the hand of Baroness Sacher-Masoch, but she has held my heart.
Peace Always
Blue Smoke Orange Sky
Peace Always
Crossword rant.
I hate it when I do not finish the cryptic crossword in The National.
Such was the case yesterday.
A good clue should ideally be challenging, yet have an obviously correct answer once you find it. Not easy for the compiler I know, because I had a go at compiling a crossword for The National and it was just utter, embarrassing shit.
When the answer is so obscure or tenuously linked to the clue that one suspects it may be wrong, I usually put a question mark beside the clue to record my concern and remind me of it when checking the answers later.
Nearly always, the answer is correct anyway.
There are a couple of compilers in particular where there are often such question marks.
Anyhoo, to get back to the point.
Yesterday’s puzzle.
30Ac Provided spinning target for champion.(6)
The obvious answer is ‘RECORD’. I already had the ‘E’ and ‘D’ and if you are already champion then the only targets you have left are records, and records spin, right?
No question mark here.
Unfortunately, that meant the last letter of 21 Dn was an ‘O’ and I could not therefore get the answer.
It turns out the answer to 30Ac was ‘DEFEND’ which meant the last letter of 21 Dn should have been an ‘E’.
But how much more tenuous an answer is that to the clue than ‘RECORD’? Even if you allow that defending what you already have could properly be described as a target where the hey does ‘spinning’ come into it?
BTW I’m fairly certain I would have got the answer to 21 Dn if the ‘E’ had been there instead of the ‘O’ although that answer would have had ‘an obscurity question mark’ as well.
My suspicion is that the compiler originally had an ‘O’ ending answer for 21Dn but then, perhaps discovering the answer was incorrectly spelled, had to change it, which meant changing 21Ac
to ‘DEFEND’. He or She then put in a new clue for 21D but then failed to amend the clue for 30Ac.
Sad? Moi?
Chick McGregor:
Cheer up Chic 🙂
Peace Always
Many ways to climb a hill
You just have to know you will
Should you even lose a round
Never let it get you down
Tell me how you lose a fight
When you just know you’re right
I can offer one big clue
All you have to be is you
The world is a crossword puzzle to me
Sly Stone
Peace Always
Thanks for those titles, Stoker. The males on my mother’s side were all Blantyre miners so I’m sure I would find them interesting, and probably make me feel very angry as well at the living and working conditions…
Chic(k): very frustrating when that happens, though thankfully rare.
Sometimes malt whisky can be effective in such circumstances, if the sun is over the yard-arm.
Afternoon,mankies.
Having some trouble posting recently (attachments??), will be giving it a miss for a while,till gremlins sorted, still read every post though, all good, keeping it real.
Smallaxe…obnoxious you ?….come on, remember who we are up against and you’re a ‘manky vile cybernat’ ….don’t let anyone tell you any different .
;-/
It seems like, the runts are no longer receiving, the normal full protection, of their many (shady) friends, (with their slimy octopus like tentacles) in the media, but still they are always at the wind up, (every time I hear little red tory’s voice, it is like she’s dragging her nails across a blackboard, likewise with the big blue tory, all I can hear is the sound of jack boots, all I can visualise is the butcher’s apron).
Maggots (urban or rural) always used to make me feel a bit queasy as well, but I have overcome that fear, and I’ve learned to understand, they can make very good bait for an angler and yet not really,yclept can also be,not quite moist enough,for the crawling,orange pygmy tory.
Aye,we know it’s just the calm before the storm and right on cue…….here come Maggie May’s mate Tony, now they really are a vision of loveliness…..Mr and Mrs Obnoxious Cnut.
Thanks for listening, am feeling better now.
#VilePost
carjamtic: A Rap for You!
HEY WESTMINSTER!
YOU TURN OUR WELFARE STATE
INTO A WARFARE STATE
YOU SAY YOUR COUNTRY’S BRITAIN
AND IT’S FUCKING GREAT
WELL I TELL YOU NOW
IT’S NOT THAT FUCKING GREAT
XENOPHOBIC ANYPHOBIC
EUROPHOBIC HATE
LET’S GO SEE TRUMP
THE NEW GENERAL CUSTER
YOU CAN SHOW HIM YOUR BOMBS
THEY COME BY THE CLUSTER
YOU SELL THEM TO SAUDI
THEY DROP THEM IN YEMEN
PEOPLE DOWN BELOW CAN SAY
NOTHING BUT AMEN
I COULD GO ON AND ON AND ON
AND ON
BUT ALL THAT WE WANT IS FOR OUR SCOTLAND
TO BE WELL AND TRULY GONE
GONE FROM THE JACKBOOT
THAT WE ALL SEE IS COMING
GONE FROM THE ETON MESS
THAT LEAVES POOR PEOPLE
SLUMMING
YEAH YOUR BRITAIN’S FUCKING GREAT
GREAT AT LEAVING WORKERS
WITH NO DINNER ON THEIR PLATE
YOU TOOK AWAY THE MINES
THE STEELWORKS AND THE TOOLS
YOU TOOK THE SCOTTISH PEOPLE
FOR SOME TARTAN WEARING FOOLS
WE’VE TOOK YOUR SHIT FOR CENTURIES
AND LOOK WHERE THAT HAS LEFT US
LIKE YOUR USUAL STOLEN COLONIES
YOU ROBBED US AND BEREFT US
NO MORE NO MORE WE WILL NOT TAKE IT
WE WILL GO IT ALONE
AND WE WILL FUCKING MAKE IT
SO, SEE YOU! WOULD’NT WANT TO BE YOU
62% AND COUNTING STAYING WITH THE EU
Peace Always
Smallaxe, well done kid! Speaking of tackety boots, a boyhood on Rum “Barefeet & Tackety Boots!” forget the author but he borrowed a rowing boat & the factor evicted the family!
Fred:
My father went barefoot except on Sundays when he was a kid, his father was a preacher in the Closed Brethren. My dad was accused of stealing a donkey and denied it strongly until it was found tied to his bedpost. 🙂
Some advice he gave me included this gem
“If you steal a chicken, put feathers in everybody’s bins”
A boyhood on the island of Rhum
link to ebay.co.uk
#Manky
Peace Always
Michael McCabe
Cheers mate, same back.
Smallaxe
Brilliant.
Why do you deserve to access your inalienable human rights?
‘Cause you’re so special…
Just like anybody else.
De Phazz – Something Special
@smallaxe
Nice funk, I like a nice bit of funk. Superstition by Stevie Wonder is my fav. but Perth/Dundee outfit, Average White Band is up there as well with a really early funk piece, which could have been a temporary anthem for us Yessers during this ‘interrefnum’ period.
Fred:
It wisnae me, a big boey dun it.Surely, my manky mate, you couldn’t have thought that I would use such profanity online or in any public forum.
Glad you liked it! 🙂
Peace Always #Manky Mates
@Tinto Chiel
Extreme crises require extreme measures.
Totally justifiable.
carjamtic: see post above to “Fred”.
Ahm losing the plot a’ th’gither.Sorry, my Friend please accept this little musical gift in Peace.
Peace Always
Chick McGregor:
Very apt Chic, as you can probably tell I’m trying to “Pick up the Pieces” at this very moment.
Peace Always
Chick:
Sorry wrong link, try this “Funk for your Ass”
I said was losing the plot!
Peace Always
Haud the bus troops, links coming through.
WOS Archives for August 2013
Yet another Union dividend
link to wingsoverscotland.com
The beam in your own eye
You spend a fiver, we’ll spend a tenner
Reassuring news relocated
Quoted for truth #29
Fair comments?
The Sunday matinees
A better way
The limits of democracy
Lies on Marr
A professional appraisal
Blood from a stone
The end of radio
Undisclosed interests
The twist in the tale
Smallaxe
Cool man,just glad we’re on the same side lol….guess you missed the tongue in cheek,wee thingy,done it masel …..off topic is a blast lol.
Peter Green class act.
#MankyMates
For, The Donald: Might help him out.
“Swamp Funk”
Peace Always
when I was 17.. it was a very good year
smallaxe
Good stuff, I just barely remember him. Also listened to Maggot Brain. He was in the same league as Hendrix.
carjamtic:
Wee tongue in cheek thingy, seen. I n’I nuh miss much man yuh overstan I?
Peace Always
Chick:
If you like Maggot Brain AND “Funk for your Ass” try “Swamp Funk” that I left for “The Donald” up there ^ a bit. Just be careful Chic, Stoker’s got a few buses coming through!
I don’t know, you wait ages for a bus then a load of them come along at the same time…. some people..I..don’t… know!
Peace Always
Thought i would share one of my fav all time songs with you guys 😉
Belly – feed the tree
I see David Torrance is determined to prove beyond doubt that he talks out his arse. In what way do the SNP seek to forward a neo-liberal agenda or seek to diminish Scotland’s territorial claim within the UK? The mans a dick.
Jimi Jules ft. Oliver Dollar – Soggy Cereal
seek to diminish Scotland’s territorial claim within the UKseek to appropriate bits of England, through sneaky, nefarious means… 🙂
DerickM: Hi!
One! of your favourites. We can only play One Derick, I can only play One of mine.I don’t think that I could pick “My Favourite”. But here’s One of them,
Peace Always
@ Smallaxe, ma faither used tae extol the runnin aboot in yer “berries!” Some excellent stuff on here the night guys & thanx for the Rum link, a good wee read, the family moved to Castlemilk (pre-scheme days!) where the laird threw the front door open every morning & pished from the terrace! Classy or whit?
Smallaxe
Smallaxe just putting this out here,apologises for any unintentional insults by my shit communications.
Believe me man,I am affronted….I throw flowers to you,never stones.
Peace Man
#respect
Now that everyone’s hung themselves after that last Guy that I played. Cheer up!
A likkle bit of Bob yuh wi like it..seen?
Peace Always
@ smallaxe
Yea i like Alexander,the reason i said one of my fav songs is because i have so many,i have a room full of old vinyl lol
High on a parapet a Scottish piper stands alone..
Hi peeps.
During the week, when a crust has to be earned, I catch up with the active Wings pages and ‘off-topic’ in snatches throughout the day.
Weekends are slightly different – no need to go out crust earning so the catching up at Wings, Twitter feeds, The National and so on (I am neglecting Facebook) is a tad more relaxed.
Now I mean no disrespect to Wingers who are up with the vampires and can listen to YouTube links as they are posted but when one is catching up next day, to be faced with 14 YouTube links just breaks the space/time continuum. So, unfortunately, I usually skip, unless there is a wee bit of info included, which piques my curiosity.
One such post was Chick McGregor’s of 6.55pm tonight, featuring the Average White Band. I don’t know why but it sent me all a-Googling.
Some quotes and links…
“Saxophonists, Roger Ball & Molly Duncan, were known as the “Dundee Horns” before they went on to become part of the Average White Band in 1972.
This wasn’t an act in their own right, so to speak, more of an outfit for session work.
The Dundee Horns tag was actually coined by Scottish rock singer, Maggie Bell, and the duo have been involved in a number of recordings during their pre AWB days.
One such recording was with a group of well known folk-rockers who got together and called themselves The Bunch, and they released one album titled “Rock On” in 1972.”
The full article is at:-
link to retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk
And following on from “The Bunch”…
“There’s a New Orleans-style version of Don’t Be Cruel with Fotheringay’s Trevor Lucas on lead and Sandy Denny returns one more time for lead vocals on Johnny Otis’ Willie and the Hand Jive; both featuring the Dundee Horns, who would eventually become the Average White Band.
I’m quite sure all involved had a fine time revisiting the songs of their youth, but overall the album is only an interesting novelty.”
The full article is here:-
link to londonyodeller.ca
This last quote is from one of those “Google Books” links, the book in this instance being “The Scottish World: A Journey Into the Scottish Diaspora”:-
“The soul charts then were almost exclusively African-American, but AWB made themselves a niche and their success there was quite unique at the time. Some people suggested that the sound was so black that the audience presumed it was made by black men, and it became popular before people realised its purveyors were white. Others asserted that it was the obvious foreignness of their accents which gained them acceptance in African-American culture – they were not identified in any way with the racism which was perceived as tainting ‘Whitey’, the derogatory black term for white American society.
In their shows, the guys always highlighted their Scottish roots, spotlighting the Glasgow Guitars and the Dundee Horns for example within their set. In interviews, they spoke of the links between poor urban communities in Scotland and the ghettos of America, where in both instances people got by in life with a self-effacing, self-deprecating brand of humour. As someone who has always loved black music, it was a thrill to see a huge American audience singing and dancing to their amazing brand of Caledonia soul.”
That’s from:-
link to tinyurl.com
Lastly, for Smallaxe, if you’ve stuck to the end…
You may recall I mentioned the book “Take it to the Bridge: Dundee’s Rock and Pop History” some months ago. That book turned up at Google Books in my search. The blurb says that some pages are omitted but there seems to be a fair amount of stuff there.
If you start at the link below, scroll down gingerly to the “Contents” and try clicking on the links to see what’s there. The first chapter is “The Sixties” and there seems to be a fair amount.
link to books.google.co.uk
One Love Peace Concert: Bob Marley unites Jamaica’s Prime Ministers.
WATCH! The Honourable Robert Nesta Marley Awarded:
1976: Band of the Year (Rolling Stone).
June 1978: Awarded the Peace Medal of the Third World from the United Nations.[54]
February 1981: Awarded Jamaica’s third highest honour, the Jamaican Order of Merit.
March 1994: Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
1999: Album of the Century for Exodus by Time Magazine.
February 2001: A star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.
February 2001: Awarded Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.
2004: Rolling Stone ranked him No.11 on their list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.[66]
“One Love” named song of the millennium by BBC.
Voted as one of the greatest lyricists of all time by a BBC poll.[67]
2006: A blue plaque was unveiled at his first UK residence in Ridgmount Gardens, London, dedicated to him by Nubian Jak community trust and supported by Her Majesty’s Foreign Office.[68]
2010: Catch a Fire inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame (Reggae Album).[69]
Watch! A Natural Mystic Flowing, and bringing together two Political leaders who’s Party’s opposing supporters were shooting each other in the streets.
Peace Always
One Love One People
LINK FROM ABOVE
Peace Always
For those whose boat is floated by spatial strategies for European development.
European Spatial Development, the Polycentric EU
Capital, and Eastern Enlargement
link to repository.brynmawr.edu
FROM ‘BLUE BANANA’ TO ‘RED OCTOPUS’ AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF
EASTERN AND SOUTHERN EUROPEAN CITIES: WARSAW AND LISBON
link to usc.es
The smell of Ganja must be coming through my speakers 🙂
Peace Always All Ways
Just give me one good year..
Brian Doonthetoon:
I’ve seen Yours have You seen Mine! I think Yours may be longer than Mine but Mine has more Substance to it!
Oooh Matron! Cheeky 🙂
Peace Always
Hi Smallaxe.
Here’s something for you – but don’t you go exploring the other stuff at that site! I cannot hold myself responsible for your curiosity…
link to rarelust.com
(Scroll down for download links.)
Brian:
Curiosity kill di cat Brian, I n’I nah look truss I, mi Bredren
Peace Always
Brian, I n’I ashamed to sey but mi tek a likkle peak an yuh a very bad man 🙂
link to s6.depic.me
Peace Always
Brian:
I only showed the picture of the video if you want to see what it’s about. go and look for yourself, it’s Japanese 3rd vid down.
Will Brian LOOK, Tune in next week for the shocking conclusion to Brians Dilemma, Will he Dare! Will he faint, freak out or Fart!
Peace Always
A well-respected man:
The Kinks
Peace Always
Monkey Man:
Amy Winehouse
Peace Always
Hi Smallaxe.
No, I didn’t have a skeck – Japanese should remain with the Japanese, in this context.
Some classic stuff on that site though. Click on the UK category and be prepared for a hit of nostalgia from the 60s and 70s. Who can forget “Adventures Of A Handyman”?
Peace in the Valley:
Elvis Presley
Peace Always
@
Smallaxe. TUNE, love it. 😉
You watch this, Deal?
Peace Always
Big Phil:
Phil your Boots
Do you have a Wooden Heart?
If you don’t want them Return to Sender!
Peace Always
Hi Smallaxe.
“Howard The Duck”.
It really gets my goat when somebody uploads a video to YouTube and decides to play around with the actual video, like by uploading at 16:9 when the original is 4:3, so making all the characters wee and dumpy or, like Howard The Duck, deciding to crop ACRES of video from each side.
I cannot enjoy an hour and a half of such sacrilege against the creative arts.
Onnyhoo, I’m in the middle of my Indian then beddy-byes, so I’ll bid you Gute Nacht.
BTW: Japanese. Stick to Suntory…
8=)
Yoku nemuru Brian San
Peace Always
For our European Scots
Bienvenidos amigos
Bienvenue les amis
Willkommen Freunde
Welkom vrienden
Fáilte Cairde
Welcome ALL
Peace Always
Scots Guards ~ Pipes & Drums ~ Skye Boat Song
With views of Scotland
Peace Always to All
Guid nicht folks 🙂
smallaxe , my wedding song was ‘please dont stop loving me’. the king lives.
Big Phil:
Phil, why didn’t you ask? Always happy to do requests.Just Ask.
Encore! Encore!
Love me Tender
Just can’t Help Believing
Unchained Melody
One night wth You
ELVIS HAS LEFT THE BUILDING
WE ARE LONESOME TONIGHT
ELVIS LIVES
Peace and Love to You and Those to whom you give your Love Phil
Big Phil:
Why didn’t you ask?
Peace Always
lol . brilliant. 😉
Big Phil:
Any time Phil, just ask I’m happy to oblige anyone who wants to hear a song or tune.
Especially when their name starts with BIG.
YOU WILL LIKE THIS Phil
Peace and Love to you Phil and Those to whom You give Your Love
Peace Always
She had picture of a cowboy tattooed on her spine saying Pheonix Arizona 1949:
Little Egypt
Elvis has left the building!
ELVIS LIVES
Peace Always
More on inclusiveness, which British exceptionalism has a problem with.
Oops, sorry.
CameronB Brodie:
You’re forgiven 🙂
Double Trouble
Peace Always
Just testing this archive thing again…
link to archive.is
Ian Brotherhood:
Looks like you cracked it Ian, well done!
An interesting read too.
Peace Always Brother
Twas ever thus Ian! A Venetian diplomat visiting the British Isles c.1500 reported back to Venice that,
“The English are, for the most part, both men & women of all ages, handsome & well proportioned…..the Scotch are much handsomer; & the English are great lovers of themselves; & of everything belonging to them; they think that there are no other men than themselves & no other world than England!”
True Dat.
Fred:
Believe Dat!
Peace Always
@David Torrance
Here’s one for you, with your psychology degree and shit. Some background on the things you stand in opposition to. Perhaps it will stimulate discussion with BLiS___d’s Dr. Scot and others in your circle.
link to law.utexas.edu
Junior Byles – Fade away
Translation mishap
False flag operation
What they left out
Poll-tergeists
The personal touch
Official: Scotsman now a joke paper
Tendentious tendencies
Tiny cracks in the silence
Spot the bawbags
Quoted for truth #28
It’s not enough to spectate
Bullet points
Quoted for truth #27
Closing ranks
The fifth column
@David Torrance
Perhaps you could also have a chat with your circle about the radical, de-humanising and unsustainable nature of neo-liberalism. You might not agree but there is an alternative. Given the glaring imperative to find such an alternative, what do you think it might look like and how could Scotland achieve such under Westminster diktat?
@Andrew Neil
Sorry, this appears to be above your pay grade.
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
CameronB: fascinating as always, but these dudes ain’t listening.
That’s their problem and their destiny. So long, suckers!
While on the lam in Ruchazie, I mused upon its meaning and came up with this:
“This name includes the apparent z which is actually the old Scots letter yogh or consonantal y, as represented also in Cadzow for Cadihou. A possible non-phonetic original pronunciation would be Rach-aye-ee.
This old Glasgow name seems to be a corrupted form of Gaelic ràth àthaigh, “fort at ford-place”. The modern version seems to have been influenced in part by Ruchill, Scots “rough hill”.”
If any locals can give information re local burns, please let me know.
Otherwise, it’s the usual slog through OS Sheets.
And as regards the relative merits of The Trumpster/Clinton/BBC, all I can say of that existential non-choice is:
Thankfully, we have our own impervious heroes in the SG and beyond who will fight the good fight to deliver an independent Scotland.
Hey, Theresa: things fall apart, the centre cannot hold.
Yeats, ya bass.
Cheers mate, though the search engine does the heavy lifting.
Meant to say, pop-pickers…..
While stuck in the bog and hall sizing the plastered walls and doing the skirtings this week, I enjoyed adenoidal Melvin Bragg’s In Our Time prog. for once (wot am I saying?).
This week it was about one of my heroes (irony), John Clare, a man destroyed by the English Enclosure Acts, when the rich stole all the land and destroyed his local landscape for filthy lucre. All his landmarks and their history and heritage just disappeared. He spent much of his life in an open-door asylum as his fragile mind struggled to cope. Those with a sense of place will perhaps understand his mental turmoil.
This is his best and saddest, imho:
link to poetryfoundation.org
Tinto Chiel:
Is this Any use to you? You may want something older.
link to google.co.uk
Peace Always
@ Tinto, anciently Rachasie, the name originally applied to the whole ridge south of Hogganfield & Frankfield lochs, name means a rath beside the water which is spot on. From a scarce wee book “Ruchazie” by J.F.Miller, Millerston, who I suspect is off that family who occupied Frankfield House/estate, that being the name of their property in Jamaica where they were sugar merchants, the old name of the loch was the Cam Loch (Gaelic or Welsh, a bend). Lethamhill was originally Garthliscan Hill, Comedie is from Caermedie. Millerston they modestly named for themselves. I once came across a farm near Loudon Hill called Ruchazie! Very strange eh?
Thanks, Smallaxe, old #MankyMate. Will zoom through the night, and, as my lawyer used to say, will consider and revert (but it won’t cost YOU onnyhing).
When I think of Clare, I always think of Mr R. Burns.
Listen to this great Scots voice:
The Forward Shop at 196, Argyll Street, Dunoon,,PA23 8RN has Saltires (5ft x 3ft, polyester with sleeve and eyeholes) for sale. Plain Saltire £3.50, YES Saltire , Euro Stars Saltire £5.00. Also DVDs of “London Calling- How the BBC stole the Referendum” at £2.00. Posted to you with no postage charge. Cheques to be made out to YES Cowal.
Fred: thanks for that, most interesting.
I’ve started two long answers to you but they’ve disappeared into the ether, so the short is the Rachasie near Loudoun may well mean the same. Obviously the hill may well have had a round fort and there are streams in the area, like the Dumduff Burn and Glen Water, precursors of the River Irvine arising in EK parish.
Much to mull over. Didn’t know of the form Rachasie but it strengthens my idea of “rath” in the original construction.
Thanks again, MM2.
As regards doublers, Fred: there is the famous Crossraguel Abbey in Ayrshire and a wee farm between Hamilton and Strathaven of the same name, just meaning “royal cross” in Gaelic. No trace of the original cross now, unfortunately, so nothing else can be known just now.
GCHQ obvs. don’t like Scottish place-name discussions…..
Or anyone else, for that matter.
😛
Tinto:
The poem was a silent and a plaintively unheard plea towards a humanity deafened by the sound. The Burn’s song flowed as if a warm sweet breeze had softly disturbed the Autumn leaves of the rushes lining the old river Doon rippling as it flows lazily out of view of Dalmellington on and under bridges built from ancient stone aeons old
The actual reality is, I am lying with my head in the oven breathing deeply.I’m utterly destroyed by the sadness that you have gifted me with through those two mediums, beautiful pitiful sadness. In return for your gift may I offer you both music and poetry in gratitude for this dark deep despair.I will be listening as a last hope that it will lighten my thoughts
I wish this was a gas oven! Sob!
Peace Always
Fred: Lethamhill is just G. leathann, “slope” with later unconscious duplication. There’s a Letham near Strathaven.
I was discussing this earlier this week with Taylor Swift, but she didn’t seem interested.
The ladies, eh?
Sheesh!
Hi peeps.
You guys researching Glasgow waterways…
A few months ago, I found myself researching Grahamston (previously mentioned in ‘off-topic’) and, for some reason, found myself, subsequently, following the line of the Forth-Clyde Canal through Glasgow. Did you know that the M8 used the line of the canal, well its northern line onnyhoo, from Junction 16 to Easterhouse?
I was discussing this with a workmate and he put forward the supposition that that line was used, because it was already clear of buildings so would need a minimum of demolition.
The map I used was from the Georeferenced maps at:-
link to maps.nls.uk
This is a brilliant idea. You zoom in your desired location, then, from the panel on the left, you choose your “old” map (in the example at the link below, I chose the “OS 25 inch, 1892-1905”) and by default, the site gives you the modern Bing hybrid map as an overlay.
The beauty is that on the panel at the left, at the bottom, there is a slider that lets you fade the modern map so you just see the old map, and vice versa. It’s great for seeing what is there now and what was there then.
Of course, you can zoom in and out and move around by clicking and dragging. It’s a great resource.
Here’s the link to the map I used for my research.
link to maps.nls.uk
There’s also Lethams in Angus, Fife and Perthshire.
Hey, Smallaxe, isn’t that the Motherwell FC anthem (rueful, desperate laugh)?
Get yer heid oot the killogie, we need you for the May election canvassing!
Off to bed, but I leave you with an old classic:
*The young lovers, Samantha and Roger, are having an amorous conversation in the moonlight..
Roger: Oh, Samantha, it’s been so long…
Samantha (nervously): And how long is it now?*
Boom! Boom!
Music not Maps.co.ol
Jack white with some bass to make you vibrate
I don’t need a map to know where I am 😉
Peace Always
# Manky
BDTT: amazing map, thanks. May be up all night. Samantha will be pleased: Carry On Cartography.
Yes, Lethams in several places.
Smallaxe: sub-woofers blown. Thanks!
Dormez-bien, mes braves.
Hawaii is not all hula skirts and beaches, they have similar problems to our own Politically. Like us, they also have some good music to help them fight their oppressors.
Peace Always
ka Maluhia Allahu
Goodnight Tinto, or are you just having a wee map?
🙂 #Manky
Peace Always
Africa:
An American guy in Africa with Gumboots
Peace Always
Amani Daima
jamaica:
Bob
Peace Always
Start the week with a little bit of history
The curse of Scotland
link to undiscoveredscotland.co.uk
Nana:
The curse of diamonds doesn’t bother this girl.
Peace Always xx
@ Tinto, Lethamhill was named after a merchant of that name I’m afraid. MOT time so must dash!
@ Brian, that was the Monkland Canal, older than the F & C and it made money!
Fred: #Manky Mates.
A lot of us remember the Monkland canal as a rat infested sewer that we played in (“some drowned”) at the back of Easterhouse, built to give fresh new homes to the slum dwellers of Govan etc.
#Concrete Bungle, a desert with windows.
Peace Always
Thanks, Fred. The importance of local knowledge. At least his surname means “slope”.
And it should have been leathan not leathann (G. for broad), though since the former means a broad slope they are probably linked anyway.
Apart from all those mistakes I was completely correct.
It’s called the Tony Blair defence.
No “wee maps” for me today, Smallaxe. Mrs TC has bought one of those super turbo wallpaper steamer machines and it’s like a Chinese laundry in here.
*Special Offer:Shirts pressed 75p. Two “Smalls” free for every shirt steamed.*
“Starting the Week” with Andrew Marr on Pravdasound4. That put-on plummy voice is really annoying.
Bliss: he’s just finished and I’m steaming.
Cheers, chinas!
@ Clint Easterhoose., remember the Noll with fond affection, the rats were really Watter Voles & despite the canal being now piped the voles are still there, but now landlubbers & black (Scottish variant), rare & protected.
@ Tinto, The Provan was boughtby the Toon Cooncil from the Hamilton’s, who were skint after the Wars of the Covenant, in 1667, it just means the Prebend, a possession of the Cathedral, a far older name is Barlanark (the Bar L) presumably Welsh? It appears in the “Inquest of David” in 1116 when that King was only the young Prince of Cumbria & establishing the extent of the church lands of the Provan, then Barlanark.
Have U read “Welsh Origins of Scottish Placenames!” by William Oxenham, £6.50. This wee tome-ette would be right up your street kid. Loadsa names we assume are Gaelic he has as Welsh, so much older. Edinburgh has a chapter tae itself.
TC is steaming and stripping?*
Blimey – the Monday Club starts early these days…
*one for the ladies
If Scots consider the advise from crack heads, then we must be in serious peril. Then again, this deeply flawed individual was advising the former Chancellor of the Exchequer.
Time to ditch these reprobates.
“rise and sine for the sake of future generations”
Bunny Wailer – Rise & Shine (& Dub)
Grrr! Another crossword incomplete. Pashmina, the answer to 25 Ac. Fancy Glasgow novelist wearing a scarf.
Never heard of it.
Typed Pashmina into Google, apparently it is a type of cashmere and can be used to make scarves.
However typing ‘Pashmina Glasgow Novelist’ into Google found no linkage, so still no idea what that part of the clue referred to.
Chick, you’re as well deid as oot the fashion!
Anent Tinto’s new strip, check oot Limmy’s, “Margaret & the Stripper” on YouTube, hilarious.
Tea break.
“*one for the ladies”.
Probs not, Ian. My pectorals ain’t wot they used to be.
Thanks: Oxenham will be purchased, Fred. I think Barlanark is usually regarded as a rare Gaelic/Welsh hybrid, barr plus llanerch, ridge plus clearing, isn’t it?
I feel your pain, Chic, and it’s much too early for the Yard-Arm Solution.
Just discovered I can steam jasmine sticky rice and tiger prawns using this machine.
Oh! Supervisor has just called.
Coming, dearest!
Lunch.
For some reason this came into my head.
Wot is wrong with me?
Chic McGregor:
This may be of help (or not)
Denise Mina (born 1966) is a Scottish crime writer and playwright. She has written the Garnethill trilogy and another three novels featuring the character Patricia “Paddy” Meehan, a Glasgow journalist. Described as an author of Tartan Noir, she has also dabbled in comic book writing, having recently written 13 issues of Hellblazer.[1] Since 2006, she has had two plays performed with successful reception. Wiki.
Pash; Pash definition, an infatuation for another person; crush.
I hope I have not just made it more convoluted for you.
Peace Always
Tinto:
Are you sure it was “Telephone Man” that you were thinking about or did you confuse it with this!
Good luck with the Steamie, Mrs Culfeathers 🙂
Peace Always #Manky
Tinto:
Barlanark, my Alma Mater, have a look at some of the street names.
Pendeen, Garlieston, Bressay, Lochbridge and Burnmouth etc.
No relevance just a distraction technique. 🙂
Peace Always
A.K.A. Clint Easterhoose
Fred:
I can assure you that I know the difference between the water vole and a Long Tail (rat).
The distinction is very obvious to me.They taste entirely different from each other!
Hedgehog is Preferable (cook in a mud casing under campfire) Tasty Tasty very very Tasty
Peace Always #Manky
If anyone replies please do not think I have ignored you. I’m afraid that I am floating into the arms of Morphia. Will get back to you.
Peace Always
Consumed with what’s to transpire
Talent borrows, genius steals
The war of the worlds
Looking ahead
The fourth and fifth estates
The very bottom of the barrel
Quoted for truth #26
Looking for someone to trust
In, out, and shaking it all about
Unclouding the truth
Now with added fear
Not living in Yorkshire it doesn’t apply
All bound for Bongo-Bongo Land
The furious cringe
We’re confused again
Smallaxe
Thanks for that.
Confess I can’t recall Ms Mina even though I have read quite a lot of Scottish crime.
Must give her a try.
‘Pash’ now you mention it, I have heard it used that way very occasionally by my in laws.
I had momentarily thought the compiler may be meaning a usage more common hereabouts which I will illustrate with the following old Saints fan joke.
BDDT – look away.
Q: What is the difference between an Arab and a Pashtoon?
A: No a’bdy fae Dundee is an Arab but they’re a fae a Pash Toon.
Actually, these days, I prefer Dundee. Perth has been on the slide and Dundee is definitely on the up.
Smallaxe: no, I definitely meant Meri, who had a very strange effect on me as a young man, hem, hem.
For anyone seeking extra motivation to canvass for SNP during the May elections, I recommend Stoker’s link to “the furious cringe”. A cleansing of the Augean Stables required, imo, and then Indyref2 will have a chance of proper administration.
Wish I’d spent £28 quid on a steamer before: at least 5x quicker and no swearing.
Lovely to see you behind the Green Door, Nana. I append my 2017 tariff for Address to The Haggis……
Standard Address (with feeling): two haufs, single malt of choice, sausage roll.
Special Address (with actions and movement): three haufs (sm), full neeps and haggis portion.
Platinum Address (A&M, sgian dubh brandishing, kilt worn): 4x sm haufs, full haggis, neeps, tatties dinner, taxi home.
NB: Mates’ Rates may apply.
Please advise,
Magic Mike, aka TC.
@Chic
Also perhaps link to pashma.com with “in”.
Wife has breakfast TV on [ ;-( ] so maybe I half-heard it on there.
@Chick
And there I was, warming to you. 😉
Anent Denise Mina, was she not of a Unionist persuasion in 2014? unlike ma personal fav’ Val McDermott!
A serious question for the ‘techies’ among us:
Can i remove the battery pack from my laptop and just run it off the mains power? I’m aware of the risks of losing data if this procedure is possible.
I never use my laptop in portable mode and the battery icon is repeatedly showing a steady reduction in battery power and doesn’t seem to be charging.
The whole set-up is only a few months old and i can’t understand the steady drainage on the battery and would like to do something about it before warning bells start going off.
The laptop itself sits on top of a soft rubber perforated slip mat which in turn sits on a hard flat surface so the ventilation slots should be clear of obstruction, thus preventing overheating.
I’m down to my last 3 hair follicles.
Any advice greatly received.
AND DON’T BLIDDY WELL RECOMMEND SHAMPOO.
Stoker: I suspect BDTT is the Go To Guy here.
CameronB: intrigued by your Gotan Project on the MT.
My female GP recommended all sorts of this stuff for various minor ailments.
Did wonders for my snake hips/unnatural beauty/abs tightening.
It’s a funny old game, Saint.
Stoker:
I’m not a techie but I have a Toshiba L/T that had the same problem.The battery pack went completely dead, it still worked with the dead battery in and using the power cable with no loss of data.
Shampoo useless. #comb-over 🙂
Peace Always
TC & Smallaxe,
Thank you! Smallaxe, you’ve reinforced my belief that it is possible but no disrespect meant to you when i say i hope one of our more knowledgeable comrades can give it the go-ahead.
BTW, looks like that wee job may be back on for me so if i suddenly disappear offline i’ll be back asap with the WOS archives.
Good luck with the job, Stoker. You’ve earned a break from the archives.
Hey, Smallaxe, does my bum look big in this Bri-Nylon tartan mankini?
Too much sticky jasmine rice the day, my manky friend, methinks.
Hi Stoker.
The stuff you value – docs, photos, videos and so on – is stored on the hard drive. The only way you can lose it is by a hardware failure of that drive. It doesn’t matter whether the laptop is powered by battery, PSU or is off. The stuff is retained on your hard drive.
What I would recommend is an investment in an external usb hard drive, the same size as your internal one, then get hold of an app that can be set to backup your internal hard drive to the external one periodically (3 times a day?).
I learned this the hard way a number of years ago but was able to get my stuff off my drive using a recovery app (Disk Rescue, for Macs).
I now have three external drives, all having backups of my Mac’s internal drive so even if an external fails, there are another two doing the backup job. There are probably around 8 backups a day, spread over the 3 external drives.
Macs also have a provided app called “Time Machine”. This backs up your internal drive to an external drive every hour. The beauty of the app is that it will save previous back ups until the external is full, then deletes the oldest backups to release space. It works kinda like archive.org – if you’ve deleted something that you subsequently need, you can go into its ‘calendar’, find the backup of the file you want, then restore it to its previous location on your internal drive.
Really, what I’m saying is that BACKUP is important, so you don’t have to worry about drive failure.
Hi Fred.
Thanks for “@ Brian, that was the Monkland Canal, older than the F & C and it made money!”.
Eh’m no fae that Glasgow so I made a Dundonian assumption that it was the Forth/Clyde. Yir iye learnin’, iye?
It’s interesting to fade between the maps and see then and now though. Many minutes at work taken up with ‘research’…
Thanks, Brian.
So, in a nutshell, i can remove the battery pack, run the laptop off the mains power (without any battery backup in the event of power cuts/shortages etc) but install backup procedures as recommended in your post?
Tinto Chiel says:
“Hey, Smallaxe, does my bum look big in this Bri-Nylon tartan mankini?”
I have never ever ever in my long legged life, seen such a disgusting sartorially obscene display. Bri-Nylon, Boaking!
Yer bahookie’s braw Tinto, don’t let anybody tell you different show it with pride.I’ll have the bail money ready #MANKY MATE!
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
Tinto has been telling us he’s been doing a lot of stripping lately. I wonder if he does yoga in his spare time?
link to twitter.com
Hi Stoker.
The only problem I can see is if it’s built into the laptop’s system that it can’t run without a battery in situ.
You can always try – you won’t lose your content from the hard drive, according to logic.
Nana:
He’s doing well enough for a bit of busking to help pay for his Steamer.
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
Aw gings Billy, I’m tempted to try that but I might end up tying myself in knots and I don’t think there’s any WD40 in the shed.
Tinto Chiel
I’ve only scratched the surface of what the Gotan Project have recorded but I’ve liked just about everything I’ve heard.
Sarah Vaughan – Whatever Lola Wants (Gotan Project Remix 2003)
Tinto was a child prodigy, not a lot of people know Dat!
Peace Always
Having just been to Priceless to get an old Dell laptop fixed just last week, one of the issues was that the internal battery needed replaced. The laptop was fixed and ready to go the next day ‘without’ it’s battery, as he had to order it, we still haven’t picked it up yet. (lazy bastards)
This was why it wasn’t charging properly and the wee icon wasn’t filling up when the charger was in.
So of course the laptop is now running on mains only. You won’t lose anything Stoker.
Go get a price for a new battery, we thought it was the charger initially and so tended to run it on the mains the whole time before it gave up the ghost (hard drive problem separate from battery issue).
A blast from the past Chris Mclure
Culminating in his 50th Anniversary Concert
Sing Along 🙂
Peace Always
‘long legged life’
Noo yer just showin’ aff…(fuckin’ knew that’s how you could climb drain pipes so easily!) 😉
This music video was recorded on Oahu in the fall of 1991 features Henry Kapono Ka’aihue.
“Broken Promise,” a Hawaiian mele ku’e (song of protest).
See the Similarities?
Peace Always
K1:
An old song, sung by Glesga lassies when they were playing ball.
Have you ever ever ever in your long legged life
Seen a long legged sailor with a long legged wife?
No I’ve never ever ever in my long legged life
Seen a long legged sailor with a long legged wife!
Have you ever ever ever in your short legged life… (replace long legged with short legged)
Have you ever ever ever in your one legged life…
Have you ever ever ever in your bow legged life…
Have you ever ever ever in your knock kneed life…
Have you ever ever ever in your pigeon toed life…
Last verse:
Have you ever ever ever in your long legged life
Seen a short legged sailor with a one legged wife?
No I’ve never ever ever in my bow legged life
Seen a knock kneed sailor with a pigeon toed wife!
Try saying it FAST!
Peace Always
Carlos Santana and Peter Green playing Peter’s “Black Magic Woman”
Like, far out man, really really out there man******
Peace Always
Buddy Guy in 1969 with Jack Bruce and Buddy Miles
Peace Always
Laughing…I managed to say it ‘very’ fast indeed…
I’ve never in ma short legged life met a long legged smallaxe wi a wit like a well sharpened knife 😉
BB King Calls This One Of His Best Performances
Peace Always
Elvis Presley – A Little Less Conversation (Original Movie Version) This one’s for you Phil if you’re listening 🙂
Peace Always
K1:
Ride “wit” Me
Peace Always
smallaxe
Enjoyed those Chris McLure videos, great voice. Always felt he suffered from an incompatible pop look. Crap, but that’s life.
A bit like Chris Farlowe
Also powerful song about Hawaian indy.
Chick:
Chris Farlowe is one of my favourite singers of some songs
Hawaii: America/Britain who taught who?
Peace Always
BDTT
Found this interview with Alan Gorrie the founder of AWB
link to aaaedinburgh.co.uk
Otis Redding, Eric Burdon & Chris Farlowe – Shake (Live, 1966)
Peace Always
Frankie Miller: Caledonia
Darlin’
Peace Always
They say “It aint over until the fat lady sings”. Here she is!
Peace to All
@Stoker
Laptops were designed to be used on the move without connection to the mains, not for permanenet connection to the mains, so it used to be standard advice to discharge them completely every couple of months and then recharge them if using from mains all the time. You can just do this by unplugging the charger until the laptop puts itself to sleep.
But apparently you shouldn’t do this if it’s a Lithium-ion battery, so check that out first.
link to computerhope.com
The other thing is that if you have it on a rubber slip mat, the fans are on the underneath and rubber is a heat insulator, so it could be over-heating. Perhaps as well the “legs” of the laptop are sinking into the rubber, and decreasing the gap so not allowing so much air to circulate. That could affect the life of all the components.
Described as a great Blues Singer. Elkie Brooks-Red House link to youtube.com
You’ve got to love unionists. So fixated are they on Wings they mention it on MSM forums, which means we can reply to that and give it even more publicity.
There ain’t no such thing as bad publicity, in show business.
K1 (12:22 am) & yesindyref2 (2:43 am):
Thanks for the extra input, very much appreciated.
K1 – That’s reassuring and helps add to the reinforcement from Brian and Smallaxe. Cheers!
yesindyref 2 – You make a couple of points i had already considered such as the rubber matting being soft and the laptop sinking into it and not giving as much ventilation clearance as i thought. Yeah, it’s no longer standard advice to fully discharge the batteries and my battery pack is ‘Li-ion’ so was aware of that also.
Thanks again everyone for your input, all worries have subsided.
Some brilliant stuff by the Hoolets the day!
Some party here last night. Who brought the popcorn? What a mess! Bet it was that Ian Brotherhood.
Thanks for the bahookie reassurance, Smallaxe. I feel better now. I think all this scraping is helping my belle forme. And Mrs TC often calls me a big prodigy. At least, I thinks that’s what she’s saying…
Nana, you’re a marvel! How did you find that footage? That’s me on the right in the first shot! You can have my Burns Platinum service for free (excluding taxi) now. Have haggis, will travel.
CameronB: re Gotan Project, I got Mrs TC the box set called Revenge of the Tango and the single CD Lunatico (!). The only problem is, I hate rose thorns in the lips. The music’s infectious, though.
Fred: Mr Oxenham should be arriving soon.
This other guy knows his stuff re. Old Welsh/Cumbric, though. It’s very technical and a bit of a challenge, and definitely not user-friendly but there’s lots to think about:
link to spns.org.uk
Scholarly stuff Tinto! this Oxenham guy’s presumably Welsh so allow for some bias? 🙂
Don’t know anything about Mr. O, Fred.
Looking forward to reading it.
All steaming done.
Yes, Michael, Elkie had a great voice. Don’t know why she wasn’t a bigger star. Liked “Pearl’s A Singer” v. much too.
This is an oldie but I never tire of it. I had a colleague who had a crush on Karen Matheson. One day she sat opposite him on the train and he couldn’t bring himself to speak to her for the whole journey.
Silly sausage.
I think Ishbel MacAskill’s version is finer but if you click on the Show More button on the Capercaillie track you get bi-lingual lyrics.
Deserving of pity
Echoes from history
A dangerously radical idea
Vote No, close Holyrood
Together on tour
Won’t somebody think of the children?
Together alone
The Red Scare
The “foreigner” vote
Quieter little voices
The spokesman who won’t speak
Please do not leave a message
Dial-a-debate
Losing a tenner and finding a quid
Behind enemy lines
The squirrel parade
Take your pick
Running scared
Don’t blame me.Blame Stoker’s last link!^
Peace Always
Smallaxe (and others):
I’m not one for poetry but rummaging through some family history materials i came across this which was written by one of the female members of the family.
As i said, not really one for poetry but sometimes i think certain pieces give a unique incite into life at the time of writing, especially in the mining communities etc.
Those book titles i referred to a few days ago have a bit of poetry in them and reading the stuff conjures up very vivid images in the mind. Great stuff!
The Fighting Cooks
Our Dick who worked in old Wellhall,
Was always very sad,
He had a chronic stomach & his teeth were very bad,
But he went and joined the navy,
A stoker for to be,
And now he’s sweeping up the mines,
Out of the bright blue sea.
Our Jimmie is a right good lad,
He is an engineer,
You see him when he’s at his best,
That’s mopping up the beer.
There’s Jock he’s got an M.P. crest,
He’s never in the wrang,
By special request he will do his best,
And sing ‘Accordian Dan’.
Big Bill he’s in the army too,
But never should have been,
Like all the rest he’s one of the best,
But he’s always had bad een.
Now there comes Tam the fighting man,
He fought out East and West,
The Jerries did not like him much,
They said he was a pest,
He fought against them in Norway,
They maybe thought him civil,
But now the Jerrie up and cries,
By God the Wee Red Devil.
In Italy he floated down,
And Jerry he did run,
My God, there’s that Red Devil again,
And he’s got a Tommy gun.
Next comes the man, Old Crapper Dan,
I think he takes the kitty,
When the guns did bark he got off his mark,
And landed in Dodge City.
I’m off my nob i forgot wee Bob,
You know he’s a Jack Tar,
Talk about girls you should see his curls,
And you know what sailors are.
insight even!
Stoker:
Thanks for that, I like rhyming poetry that tells a story. I don’t read much poetry ever, excepting Rab the Ranter of course and Nonsense poems (which mine is usually) I could never be arsed with a host of Daffodils, I prefer Bluebells and Thistles anyway!
The BaNNed: Looing for the Steel
Peace Always
Boss
They were not Looing for the Steel, that’s a lot of Sh!t. They were looking for the Piggin’ Steel.
Here’s some Pig Iron from Lonnie Donegan: “Rock Island Line”
Peace Always
And here’s the Link
Peace Always
Sorry for my mistake with the last link, I’ve been getting pestered with THIS and It’s twistin’ ma melon.
Peace Always
The Hot Violinist:
And don’t fiddle with her, any of you #Manky Mates
Peace Always
You can keep your Pavarotti and the rest.
I’ll take this “Vocalist” any day.
Mario Lanza’s “Nessun Dorma”:
Be My Love
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
Ooh Mario Lanza, just wonderful
Hi, Nana 🙂
I’ve had the place to myself and was indulging my Passion.
This Guy is not as handsome as Mario but he could carry a tune.
Enrico Caruso
Peace Always xx
@Smallaxe
My dad had some of his recordings along with many other singers of the times. I’m fairly sure those heavy gramophone records are in the attic.
His favourite female singer was Callas
I prefer Sissel link to youtube.com
A quick visit…
Re: Mario Lanza.
I have the 78 of this, within the shellac collection in my hovelhold.
Brian:
Even though you were too much of a snob to watch “Howard the Duck”
I did read what you posted about 60’s and 70’s, it was really interesting Thanks.
Here’s a video of a wedding in the Fenwick Hotel in Kilmarnock that you should enjoy.Really!
Peace Always
Nana:
I think that I played Sissel recently singing Pie Jesu, here it is again in case you missed it.
Peace Always
G’day,
Went to see T2 at the cinemar tonight, smashin’ film, excellent soundtrack and they chose to..
Choose life and have a lust for life
Good times.
Wilson Pickett – “In the Midnight Hour”
Peace Always
Stevie Wonder Superstition
Otis Redding – Try A Little Tenderness
Peace Always
Hi, Cactus:
Movie good then? Music sounds good, drums, I like Drums!
Peace Always
Thanks for the link to Chris McClure: saw him in the Hamilton Trocadaro (sp?)in late 66 or early 67. Brilliant.
Still Positive:
GLAD YOU ENJOYED IT!
Here’s another one
Peace Always
Just occurred to me: are all of us oldies on here recent converts to Indy or have we believed since we were much younger?
For me: When Winnie Ewing won Hamilton in November 1967 and it was reported that, “the SNP believed Scotland was a country so should be independent.”
I had just turned 17 (born September, 1950) and I have not wavered from that sentiment.
I have voted SNP at every opportunity since I was old enough to vote.
Del Shannon:
With the same song
Peace Always
Eddie Cochran: “Three Steps To Heaven”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxj–MkqACY
Peace Always
Still Positive:
I’ve been a Communist a Socialist an Anarchist and Activist.I’m now a Pacifist a Humanist I worked in a railyard a steelyard and a Prison yard courtesy of Scotland YARD! NOW! INDY CALLS ME!
Peace Always
Remember the rule if you go here!
Peace Always
Country Joe and the Fish:
You know what you get if you play country music backwards? You get your dog back, your trailer back, your wife back, your good memory’s back. :-)?
Peace Always
Josef Locke The Irish Tenor link to youtube.com
Greece, when disaster comes then you know what to do. We will join with you in this.
Peace Always
Michael McCabe:
Hi, Michael, we seem to pass like ships in the night.
Alexander – A Million Years
Peace Always my Friend
Gary Moore – Parisienne Walkways
Peace Always to All
Smallaxe we do seem to pass in the Night. Anyway here is a wee song for you. link to youtube.com Hopefully we will meet up a Wings night out and we can have a wee Blether over a Courvoisier.
The Burst Mattress. link to youtube.com
If we do meet up Michael, make mine a Remy Martin.
The Be Good Tanyas – Waiting Around to Die
I’ll leave you to do the night shift Michael, see you soon.
Goodnight
Peace Always My Friend
One more:
Peace Always
Smallaxe. Remy Martin You say link to youtube.com Goodnight My Friend.
@Smallaxe
I hadn’t seen your link to Pie Jesu, I have a couple of her albums. I would also recommend Renee Fleming’s version and highly recommend the Dark hope album.
Nana:
Will do thanks, after I’ve read your links. 🙂
Peace Always
The Manky channel gets classier n classier, will enjoy these the night with the decanter & cravat! 🙂
Fred:
Michael and I do requests (for a small fee). I will print out our tariff for you later. Nana works for free as she is more altruistic than us. 🙂
Peace Always
That was a great wedding video, Smallaxe.
I didn’t know they were called Clanedonia. I passed them so often in Buchanan Street I just called them The Mad Picts.
Tinto:
Put their name into you tube and you will find quite a few videos of them.
Peace Always
I get the impression that Alex Massie considers himself an exceptional mind. As a result of this conceit, he appears to be comfortable rejecting both Hegel and Heidegger.
@Alex Massie
You may be a Tory but that is no excuse to be a dick all your life.
link to en.wikipedia.org
link to un.org
link to sustainabledevelopment.un.org
link to discourses.org
Obviously Hand Pict guys?
Fred:
Have you got your jacket?, if not we have spares (for a small fee) of course.
#Manky Mates Rates. lenusajkt@miserable.dosh
Peace Always
CameronB: I think more and more that the inalienable right to development, like sovereignty, is something which needs to be asserted/insisted upon. As you have pointed out, our right to develop as Scots is being hampered and hindered by the dreadful democratic deficit in Scotland.
Fred, your jokes are getting as bad as Smallaxe’s.
“What do you call a man wearing a suit in East Kilbride?
“The accused.”
Can only get away with that ‘cos that’s whareicumfae.
Tinto Chiel
I’m trying to interpret Scotland’s circumstances through the lens of critical social theory, which originates from the Frankfurt School and was introduced into British academia by the Fabian Society. Unfortunately, the majority of British Fabians appear to be English nationalists content to look inward from their ivory towers of English Socialism.
link to en.wikipedia.org
@Fabian Society
Socialism and colonialism don’t mix. Never have and never will.
@Fabian Sociaety
link to un.org
Tinto Chiel says:
“What do you call a man wearing a suit in East Kilbride?
A debt collector!
Peace Always
GONE FISHING!
Stoker:
If your post means that you have the new job, Congratulations*****
Peace Always
Big One landed, Stoker?
Congratulations too.
Your joke, Smallaxe, reminded me of a pal of mine who, when he joined the council, was given the task of doing a council survey around the doors in Hamilton. He was sent to a scheme where there was, shall we say, some suspicion of unexpected callers.
Rings doorbell.
*Sound of TV getting switched off*.
*Silence*
Rings door bell again.
*Faint, muffled sound of approaching foosteps up long hallway*.
From inside, low, flat voice asks, “Whit is it?”
“Morning , sir, I’m here to do a survey for the council.”
*Long pause*.
“Ah’m no in.”
*Faint, muffled sound of receding foosteps up long hallway.*
And for all you culture vultures out there, I meant to offer this as an end-piece to Meri’s breathless little ditty from yesterday:
Pyoor klass, btw.
Tinto:
Talking about the accused, a wee guy in Glasow Sherrif Court was found not guilty of theft, and he said to the Sherrif “Does that mean that I can keep the gear”
True Dat!
Peace Always
Stoker:
I know that you don’t particularly like poems (Rhymes) so please forgive me for this:
Stoker has a new job and everyone’s overjoyed
There’s no doubt that it’s well deserved
And it comes with lot’s more pay
But I’m just slightly worried now
That I’ll be Unemployed today
Your faithful (ex?) Minder
Smallaxe
(sob’s n’ snotters)
Peace Always (Boss!)
Anent wee poems,
link to scottishbooktrust.com
Very interesting account of Tinto, Fred.
When we were in P7 we had a very earnest young teacher who decided to take us to climb Tinto as an end-of-term treat. She chose 12 from her class of 53(!) and we set off from EK by public transport, i.e. the red SMT/Western bus. I can’t remember how many changes we needed, but do remember getting dropped off at Thankerton crossroads. It was a nice summer day and from what I remember, there were no crises/outbreaks of cannibalism, just a great view from the top and a packed lunch with an hb egg: bliss.
Surprised the octogenarian hadn’t heard that most folk agree the name is almost certainly from G. teinnteach “fiery (place)”, referring to the beacon which would probs. have been placed there originally by the Dumnonii as a warning of approaching enemies, e.g. Romans, Nigel Farage or Wee Fluffie himself.
Hey, (forgot to append) anyone fancy some class in a glass?
Smallaxe, you’ll never be lonely with one of these, nae fears….
Right, enough nonsense; back to painting the hall.
Fred:
AKA: Billy the rhymer;
On Tintock Tap I first was kissed
I’d tried before but bloody missed
In the Kiss there was a trap
She got pregnant and I a slap
Don’t tak a kiss on Tintock tap
Or you’ll pay main-tenance
Until ye Drap
Peace Always
Gon oot fir a wee wile back soon!
As if embdy ker’s
Peace Always
Just got the weirdest leaflet through the door..Well when I say me I really mean wan o the dugs actually received it…
So I should say I just got 4 bits of a weird leaflet!
Anyhoo….Scotland Messenger is the title.
Looks like the group are religious, definitely the abrhamic wans but no sure which one.
Quite the fantasy around the stone of Destiny,but can’t see the purpose of the leaflet.
JAH truth.net seems to be the website for them but at a quick glance it looks like a conspiracy site.
Very professional leaflet through.
Anybody know anything about them?
liz g:
I checked their website, they are “up the lum” and trying to find someone who will publish an interpretation of their bible which seems to be an amalgamation of the KJ bible, the koran and Star Trek. Of course, I signed up immediately as I could do with a laugh. 🙂
Live Long and Prosper
Peace Always
These fruit loop Scotland Messengers must be Yoons then, surely?
And my name’s not Shirley.
In dangerous times like these, we need things like this:
Hi Smallaxe.
Thanks for the “video of a wedding in the Fenwick Hotel in Kilmarnock that you should enjoy.Really!”.
Watched it at work today. Reminded me of a band called MacUmba, who I saw in City Square, Dundee, a few times some years ago. Did a search on YouTube.
“MacUmba is a unique fusion of Scottish Bagpipes and Brazilian Samba.”
Also,
“Mac Umba… schottisch brasilianische Band
exotsich schottisch eben ;-))… passt bombastisch”
Here are three examples for you.
“Macumba at the Thames Festival”:-
“MacUmba bei den Highland Games Fehraltorf 2011”:-
“MACUMBA (Dumfries) (Samba & Bagpipe Fusion 08/07/2012)”:-
I can’t recall if this guy’s been mentioned on ‘off-topic’ in the past so here you are onnyhoo.
He went/goes under the name of “Funtwo” and became a YouTube sensation. Here’s the original video that was uploaded. I believe it was shot in a South Korean bedroom – well, he is South Korean and it is a bedroom. Pachelbel’s Canon…
It got to the point where he performed his piece de resistance on stage with Joe Satriani.
Smallaxe
I once decided to troll the Scientologist for a laugh, a year or so after sustaining a serious brain injury. My eyes were still spinning so they thought they were on to a winner. Extremely creepy dudes and not expecting to be trolled. It was braw, though I made a move when their heavies appeared. 🙂
Brian, they are very good. Try some Albannach: “The Gael” this will make you reach for your Claymore!
Peace Always
Cameron:
Welcome to the Brain damage club,(lack of Oxygen) in my own case.
Like you, I enjoy having fun with some people, if they want to take their chances and knock on my door I invariably invite them in to discuss their views.
Mormons etc, I n’I mi kno who di true god, your’s false ya know!
I have a collection of religious books in my house and I have found in the KJ bible two different people killing Goliath at two different times. By the time they leave it’s obvious whose brain damage is worse and it’s not mine. I’m looking forward to the next coven of profits (NOT A TYPO) to arrive.
Good Hunting!
Peace Always
Tinto:
Tin soldier, Stevie Marriot was/is one of my top 5 male vocalists.
Likkle more?
Peace Always
When the Small Faces did “Tin Soldier” on Top of the pops, Madeline Bell provided the backing vocals. I remember it well. One of my favourite Small Faces singles – behind this one:-
(One of the few toons I can pick out on the ol’ keyboard – it’s quite classical in its construction.)
Onnyhoo, Madeline Bell…
Dis mi bredren Nyabinghi drummas, them Nyabinghi dem nuh 12 Tribe Rasta like I n’I but them irie all de same…Seen?
I found some of the Nyabinghi to be slightly racist and prone to
violence in some cases, only some. OK for the most part.
One Love One People
Brian:
Stevie again,
Madeline Bell
Peace Always
Brian:
Forgot to mention, Funtwo is Smokin’ on the axe it makes me want to throw my guitars out.
Black Label Society
Peace Always
Smallaxe, Brian:
Small Faces: at the time I found Steve Marriot looked a bit mad in an unpleasant way, although I really liked the band. Singer (whichever), bass, drums, keyboard always seemed to be really together.
I haven’t heard My Mind’s Eye for ages and MB was always a great singer.
The wonders of YouTube: you hear stuff you missed at the time but can really enjoy it now .
We will all need to remember this MB song over the coming years, pre-independence, I think:
Tinto:
Stevie was a lovely guy, he was a bit narky if he had been drinking but sober he was a gentle man who liked a laugh.Stevie was killed in a fire at his home in 91′.Sad
Peace Always
Hi Tinto Chiel.
You typed,
“The wonders of YouTube: you hear stuff you missed at the time but can really enjoy it now .”
There’s a track I have on 7″ single. I’ve checked YouTube every year for the past ten years or so and it still isn’t there. (Just checked again – nope.)
Some time between now and January next year, I will find the single within my hovelhold, digitise it, put a video together, then upload it for the wider enjoyment of Scots, wherever they have their hovelholds.
Don’t you just feel that air of anti
cipation?
Before I retreat towards my nosebag, one more Small Faces track, with a nod to an independent Scotland.
“Wouldn’t it be nice to get on with me neighbours”?
Another Bell that rings a name; Anyone who did partake of a small refreshment in Burns Howff will remember her with “Stone the Crows!”
Maggie Bell: After Midnight
Peace Always
Smallaxe: thanks for that. I think you should preserve some of your memories for Posterity, but I’ve heard he can be an ungrateful cove. The SMs were rather unlucky health-wise, etc., weren’t they?
Brian: you’re a bigger tease than Paula Rose!
Any sightings of that lovely girl at all?
Tinto:
What’s posterity ever done for me?. I will give you one memory from Ilford and what we did there!
Peace Always
Paula Rose: Are you out there?,
Peace Always
Always loved that one, Smallaxe: obvs. the band had good times there dogging the school and exploring some “substances”. It reminds me of the sheer fun and promise of the 60s. Was that one of the earliest egs of phasing?
And then we had the bloody 70s: Ted Heath, power cuts and Maggie, Maggie, Maggie.
Was that one of the earliest egs of phasing?
Night all.
Don’t have nightmares…..
G’Night Tinto:
DON’T think about Clowns on a dark dark night hiding in your house and just waiting for their chance to…………
Sleep Tight sleep light…just in ca..
DON’T GO NEAR THE WOODS…
Peace Always
The Burns Howff, remember it well, some good stuff tonight.
@ Tinto, Class in a Glass is classy, liked the abandoned Bucky bottle. Now ah know what MacPhail in the Para Handy stories was on aboot when he refered tae the teuchters who lived doon-stream of “Dead Slow” in the Clyde!
Fred: did you see my little ditty at 3;24pm?
Peace Always #Manky
It’s no picnic for the Teddy Bears nooadays Smallaxe! Very creepy. Schlaf gut mien freund!
Seth Lakeman:
Blacksmiths Prayer
Peace Always
World leaders will try to keep this from you
To Smallaxe
Amnesty International UK <action@webmail.amnesty.org.uk
Today at 20:16
No more lies. No more blame. No more hate. No more fear.
Today we launch our Annual Report on the state of the world's human rights.
This year's report covers investigations and surveys of over 159 countries, which reveal grave violations of human rights around the world.
The division of 'us vs them' has dominated global politics in 2016. World leaders are using 'otherness' to create discriminatory policies and spread fear. They’re even using it to commit crimes against their own citizens.
We have seen these kinds of divisive and toxic politics before. We said never again.
We can't rely on governments to protect human rights – we must take action today.
We should never forget that whenever leaders seek to divide, demonise and repress people, there are always people willing to stand up and get in the way. Building a sustainable movement for change starts with this simple act of defiance. Never has it been so urgent to stand up and get in the way.
Salil Shetty, Secretary General, Amnesty International
Watch the video
The big question this year will be how far the world lets atrocities go before doing something about them.
Our report calls on you, on all of us, around the world to stand up against the politics of fear, blame and hate.
2017 needs human rights heroes. Thank you for being one of them!
In hope,
Kerry Moscogiuri
Director of Supporter Campaigning and Communications
Amnesty International UK
Do you want to be a hero like me. 🙂
Have a look at the website!
Peace Always
Fred:
Danke, Ich werde mein Freund, auch Sie.
Peace Always
I remember years ago back from working in Germany going straight into my local: “I get a beer” and Davie saying “Do you? Do you really?”.
yesindyref2:
I had been playing with one of my daughters when she was just a baby.I went up to the club that I was running at the time and asked a customer “What would you like to dink today”.
#funnylooks
Peace Always
Bass:
Noir and Haze: “Around”
Peace Always
Smallaxe @ 1.10am yesterday.
My first vote in a UKGE was for a Communist because the Sunday before priests and ministers were telling their congregations, in this area, that Communism was not compatible with Christianity.
I thought: ‘No man is telling me how to vote.’ And I voted for Jimmy Reid, the Communist candidate who later was a member of the SNP.
I voted SNP thereafter.
Tinto Cheil: I grew up in EK from 1957 – 1969. Originally from Cambuslang.
Snowmine: “Let Me In
Peace Always
Smallaxe @1.10 yesterday.
In Feb 1974 I voted for Jimmy Reid, Communist, because the priests and ministers locally telt their congregations that Communism was not compatible with Christianity and I thought that no man was going to tell me how to vote.
Since then I have voted SNP at every opportunity and after more than 40 years now have a much-loved SNP
Sorry. I was told the first post was a duplicate which it wasn’t so I tried again with a slightly different post and both appear!
@smallaxe
Great selection tonight.
Sanfrancisco. Takes me back to me and a couple of teenage mates camping on St Andrews beach, being moved on by the polis, heading up into town somewhat forlorn and beautiful young hippy girl, flower tiara and all, coming up to me and offering me a flower. By the time I actually got to San Francisco, circa 1980, it was the crime capital of the USA.
You and I must be ages.
That Alexander vid was amazing, tune a bit Mumford and Sons but… maybe vice versa.
Thanks for reminding us what a great axeman Gary Moore of Thin Lizzie was.
Nice to hear great Dougie MacLean tunes from your hot violinesst???.
Michael McCabe, Josef Locke – class.
What a great bunch of good stuff merchants we have here.
Suppose I better chuck in my 2p.
First Free of charge.
And, keeping it Scottish
heartless bastards came a long way:
Legendary Shack Shakers – Blood on the Blue Grass
Lonnie Donegan: Hang Down Your Head Tom Dooley (with original lyrics)
Peace Always
Smallaxe..
Diggin’ ra drums dude..
Da boom boom.
X.
Still Positive:
It’s got to be SNP all the way, it’s the only way!
Peace and Love
Chick McGregor:
AYE Chic, we must be as young as each other, That was 3 crackers that you played.
I leave you all with this Curtis Mayfield number.
We gotta have Peace:
PEACE LOVE and Goodnight to All
Chic McGregor great voice Paul Rogers has. After Free did he not fall into Bad Company. link to youtube.com Last I heard of him he was singing for a band that knows all about Good Company link to youtube.com And he is Doing link to youtube.com
don’t get trouble in you mind. link to youtube.com
Rhiannon Giddens- Lost on the River link to youtube.com
I will leave you with some Mouth Music from Celtic Connections 2016 link to youtube.com
The night shift’s been busy. Thanks for the mouth-music Michael. You hauderim & ah’ll heiderim.
Smallaxe, caught the poem, du bist die katze schlafrock.
Hope you guys all caught “The news where you are” link posted by Dave McEwan Hill?
Fred:
Diese Katze hat Krallen. 🙂
Frieden immer Mein Freund
I think this could do with being posted here, as well.
link to web4.uwindsor.ca
link to twitter.com
lol Seen The Cramps many times Rev they are with out a doubt the craziest band on the planet and probably the best show i have ever been to.
It was just after they released stay sick in the Barrowlands,the place was mobbed big Lux came on leather trousers high heels no top out his mind the band cranked into you got good taste and Lux was flinging the mike stand about and smacked himself right between the eyes busting open his head,instead of collapsing in a heap it electrified him fuck knows what he was on but that night he was on the amps humping them,playing the bongo drum on the mike stuffed down his trousers,doing the dying fly crowd surfing.
I came out the gig with a black eye and deaf as a post,Ivy had the lead so high it about blew out your eardrums and the slam dancing was more like a mass brawl lol
Morning, all, or rather afternoon.
Hardly slept last night and then slept in. Had strange dreams of a nasty blonde girl with her hair in bunches who chased me through some dark woods with a baseball bat, all the while blowing bubble-gum at me.
And then this infernal voice in my head…..
Bizarre.
Any ideas?
Smallaxe?
EH?
Re. The Cramps. My first live indoors performance, at the Barrowlands. I was only 15 so got a bit trashed in the mosh but what a night.
Tinto Chiel:
It wisnae me, here’s the guilty wan, #Manky Mate
Peace Always
Great stuff: I’d heard it before somewhere but had no idea who it was.
Of course, French always sounds so sexy, especially that bit where she says breathlessly, “I’m just popping out for some sprouts, love, back in five.”
A bit fruity for the afternoon, eh?, and what’s a half-naked woman doing wearing armoured gauntlets?
I think we should be told…..
Tinto: Pay attention to the lyrics!
Peace Always
Tinto:
My mistake, I meant this one.
Peace Always
Fascinating stuff, Smallaxe and I’m pretty sure at 1.37, JC says,“I’m just popping out for some sprouts, love, back in five.”
Spooky, but at least I understand the gauntlets now.
Love that Jamaican saltire! I’m sure Neil “Sivrikin/Pantene” Oliver will be around to expatiate (ooh, matron!) on our unique links to slavery, the KKK and the American Civil War in a minute.
Was it for this the clay grew tall?
Tinto:
It was for this that the clay grew tall
Peace Always
Quite a voice she’s got,#MankyMate, don’t you think?
And is there honey still for tea?
I am now going to pre-empt you in such a vile unspeakable way that even I tremble as I hit the Submit button.
Gulp…..
Tinto:
Honey? Mama Mia! I’ve heard about you.
Peace Always
You’ve taken that too far! 😛
Until fairly recently, I was the only male, outnumbered 3-1 at Tinto Towers. I once opined Mamma Mia was the worst film I had ever seen in the history of the world after Spice Girls: The Movie (shudders).
For this, I was metaphorically consigned to the cupboard under the stairs and received the Full Frost Treatment by the Chielettes/Quines.
But, I mean, honestly…..
Sample script: “What’s that about drums, Fernando? Do you have a hearing deficiency?” (cue song).
Or, alternatively: “Hi, handsome hunk! From what London station did you depart before your unexpected arrival in Greece?” (cue song).
Jeezo, man! Weasels rip ma flesh!
I feel better now…..
Just sticking ma big napper in to say hello.
Hello!
On This Day:
February 23, 1974, “Rebel Rebel’ by David Bowie entered the UK chart, the single reached No.5 the following month.
Peace Always
Hello, Ian. Nice to hear from you.
Been worrying about Paula Rose’s extended absence. Was it my crass remark about her silly palms? Or my fitba’ refernces?
Or was it your unusual deposit (hem, hem) under that plant pot?
Any pointers?
It is now after 9;30pm Time for some music?
Peace Always
“References” obvs.
Do you think she ever thinks of the old days: the toilet with the chanky lock? The smoke house out the back and the strange gentlemen callers?
Things seemed so simple in those days…..
@TC –
That was just my stash – it’s a wee packet of Golden Virginia, but don’t tell anyone. It’ll soon be cheaper to buy skunk.
Relieved, Ian, frankly. Ah, roll-ups. I had the wee rolling machine and kept my baccy in a Golden Virginia tin with an apple slice.
Then I discovered Passing Clouds and it was all downhill from there: beautiful women, booze and Fir Park.
Ou sont les neiges d’antan, eh?
Smallaxe: charming girl but (sacrilege!) I think I prefer the Fleetwood Mac version.
Am I a bad person?
I’m not saying what I’m smoking!
Peace Always
Play that funky music white boy
Peace Always
SACRILEGE SUITS ME! Tinto:
Louis prima – sing sing sing (with a swing)
Peace Always
Jeff Beck & Jimmy Page Beck’s Bolero, Immigrant Song, Train Kept A Rollin’ 2009
Peace Always
Rockin’ Rollin’ Rockabilly: Dance!
Peace Always
Cab Calloway – “Minnie The Moocher” – ORIGINAL “VIDEO”
Peace Always
You’re really smokin’ tonight, Smallaxe, just as I’m going to bed. I have no doubt the Night Shift will be on soon.
Isn’t that Singx3 Benny Goodman’s version? When my tinies were wee they loved The Manhatten Murder Mystery and that classic was in the title music credits.
Am now off to commune with the ancients in my winceyette pyjamas…….
Sleep well, all.
I used to smoke 40 fags a day and at least a bottle of whisky and 6 cans of beer.
But I packed all that in when I left school 🙂
THREE MEN IN A PUB
1st man “my wife is daft, she has just bought a car and she can’t drive”
2nd man “my wife’s daft as well, she’s went on a diet and she’s skinny”
3rd man “my wife must be the daftest, she’s taken 30 condoms on holiday and she hasn’t got a Dick”
Peace Always
Smallaxe says:
Nce 🙂
Bob Seger – Against the Wind
Peace Always
Wonderful creepy intro and cover version to a great movie ….
Go easy there bro.
Willie Dixon & Memphis Slim – Go Easy
Sorry galamcennalath, must remember to refresh Smallaxe,
Smallaxe
I’ve made myself obscure again. That track and comment in reply to your r’n’r rock-out. 😉
Hi, Cameron, you, my Friend will never be Obscure.
Deportee’s, well, if T/M gets away with the inhuman decisions that she and W/Minster are making then we will all be complicit in this disgusting Union’s Crimes. People having a home and family on these islands will become Obscure.
For the many immigrants who have worked, suffered and been deported from any place that they called Home.
PEACE LOVE INCLUSION ALWAYS
Re. whats’ inside a girl? Man has been searching for the answer to that for some time now. Isn’t it just as well attitudes evolve and new approaches are followed?
“No man should marry until he has studied anatomy and dissected at least one woman.” – Honore de Balzac
#neverenoughfuzz
galamcennalath: Hi!
Welcome to the Jungle,
Peace Always
Something we don’t get a lot of from the MSM or the BBC!
Alexander Ebert, “Truth”
Peace Always
Women Cameron? Here’s what I think of Them!!
Peace Always
The Blues Mystery: Back To The Dirty Town
Peace Always
Smallaxe.
lol, my missus says she has a dick, wonder why she looked at me. wee biatch. loved yer joke. 😉
galamcennalath
Just try not to wake Hamish. 😉
The Cadets – Stranded In The Jungle
P.S. Were these guys buzzing Helium?
Yardbirds: Heart Full of Soul
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Sook. 🙂
That obviously wasn’t the Cadets. Anyhoo, here’s one for Kez, poor lass.
Dobie Gray- Drift away
Big Phil: This Big Phil?
If that is you, Phil, if you haven’t already, look back up this page to the 19th at 4;59 am. I left a load of stuff for you but it must have gone into Admin. because it only appeared 2/3 days ago.
Dobie Gray, great choice Cameron, love it!
And if you think that last lot were on helium, I want some of what Frankie take’s at 82 yrs young.
Peace Always
Smallaxe.
I did indeed see it my friend ,I left a thank-you as well. so thank-you again. The King Lives. Some of the tunes on O/T are brilliant lots of good memories. I dont always post but I do listen.@ CameronB I smiled at that one. 😉
I n’I mi ave ramp a likkle bit of bob’s music now..Seen?
I know a place
Chances Are
Talking Blues
ONE LOVE ONE PEOPLE
SEEN?
Cheers Big Phil. I really hope you are right about me not being obscure Smallaxe. Sometimes I worry that folk might think I’m anti-English. Far from it, I had an English granny. I also have English cousins and have spent a good bit of time living there (London). I’m just not a fan of the English Establishment and their boorishness. The Scottish Establishment though, that’s a different matter. How can anyone be allowed out on their own, when they are of a mind to disown inalienable human rights?
Yoon beliefs stand in opposition to the established world order, frankly.
Nice to know someone’s listening Phil, Peace
Bob gets inna yuh heart ya?
This guy should give us a laugh
Different Style
Peace Always
It’s late, everyone should have a bedtime drink, Horlicks or….
Hot Chocolate
Peace Always
Cameron, I don’t think any of us hate the English, I have a daughter in England and another in Wales.I also have two beautiful
Scottish/Caribbean grandchildren and two who were born in this area. And I consider myself a very lucky man.
We are all related as human beings it can’t be any other way.
Cheer Up My Brothers & Sisters
Out of many One People
One Love
Smallaxe pick of the night and a pleasantly surprising one, the Rockabilly Dancing, thanks for that. Close second, the Dirty Town bluesy thing.
One of my current favs. Sorry if I’ve posted it here before, I’ve posted it on several forums:
Caution, may contain ear worms.
Well said Smallaxe.
It doesn’t matter where people were born: if they share our beliefs they are one of us.
Just watched that Kez Dugdale on STV and I wonder why. I Drink link to youtube.com
Smallaxe. Hot Chocolate I prefer a cup of Horricks. link to youtube.com
Chick:
If you played that before I don’t remember it.Saying that I can’t remember my phone number.
Peace Always
Still Positive:
Colour, Creed, Belief matters not as long as we live in Peace.
Peace Always
Michael:
Good to see you on so early, I’m down here at the River Annan and you’re away across at the Forth.
Tell this other friend that we miss her
Peace Always
Chick McGregor a wee add on to one of your current Favs. link to youtube.com
Friends from Hawaii
Koa Hewahewa “Strength”
Peace Always
GOD BLESS THE WOMAN: BILLY KEKONA
I like this because my mother was a Woman
Peace Always
Biffy Clyro: Mountains
Peace Always
Still Positive
link to wsupress.wayne.edu
John Leyton: Johnny Remember Me
Peace Always
Loving the Music on off topic. Then again I am a Slave to the Rhythm. link to youtube.com
Goodnight People
Peace and Love to All
Hi Smallaxe.
Strange night tonight. Put my head down for a wee snooze around 7.30 and woke up at half past midnight. Just about to turn in again but, referencing your “Johnny Remember Me”, here’s another classic “teenage death” song from the early 60s. Definitely a ‘classic of its genre”…
OK.Brian one more morbid memory:
Peace Always
Brian Doonthetoon
Not quite a “teenage death” song from the early 60s but I probably shouldn’t go there. 🙂
The Kingsmen – Death Of An Angel
Oh no, too late. Black, black, black…..
Famous Metal Riffs without Distortion #1 aka Surf Music From Hell
Metal without Distortion #2 aka Satanic Surf Music!
SURF ROCK with DISTORTION aka Smells Like BLACK METAL
Ergo….
Surf rock and black metal are secretly identical
We’re remembering Roy Orbison on Argyll Independent Radio in
my Not Fade Away Rock’n’Roll show (8 -9pm)
tunein.com/radio/Argyll-Independent-Radio-s198410
Ah the young death era. Wonder, were these inspired by James Dean and Buddy Holly real life tragedies?
Here’s one from a little star in the 60s
Another from the same era.
Jonna Gault – I’m Never Gonna Cry Again
where did all these morbid tracks come from?
Peace Always
‘Cause we’re a bunch of alt-right narrow nationalists trying to shut down opposition through a project of fear, coordinated from Bath. Moving right along, here’s one for BLiS___d.
Grover – Monster in the Mirror
Let us not forget that WE have to be the change we want to see in the world and as the song says, “It’s our right, to right the wrong.”
On and On | War & Pierce | Playing For Change
peace Always
@Smallaxe –
Plenty folk diss Pat Kane nowadays, but this track managed to project anti-Thatcher feeling in a ‘funky’ way, and I loved it at the time. The guy’s a rare chanter, nae doots…
‘Labour Of Love’ –
Where There Is Love | Playing For Change
Playing For Change | Song Around The World
Peace Always
Playing For Change is a movement created to inspire and connect the world through music.
Music can show us the way
What’s Going On Playing For Change Song Around The World
Peace Always
Cole Swindell: You Should Be Here
Peace Always
Hi Ian: and Cameron:
Just back from a late Burns Supper, Had a talk with the wee Ginger Dug and Joan McAlpine MSP, Richard Arkless MP and Emma Harper MSP
So I got it all sorted and gave them their orders 🙂
Brad Paisley
Margaret Thatcher How Does It Feel To Be The Mother Of A Thousand Dead.
Peace Always
Lauren Alaina: Road Less Travelled
Peace Always
Loretta Lynn: Coal Miner’s Daughter
Peace Always
Willie Nelson: Always On My Mind
Peace Always
smallaxe i know im being a fud but when i share a youtube vid it disnae go.. how do i do it?
Phil,
RIGHT CLICK ON THE HTTPS:/ WHEN IT TURNS BLUE LEFT CLICK AND COPY.
WHEN YOU PUT IT ONTO THE BOX IN WINGS, DELETE THE HTTPS:/ LEAVING JUST THE WWW. WHATEVER. IF YOU LEAVE THE HTTPS:/ BIT ON IT Won’t GO THROUGH.
Peace Always
I dont want hammers . lol
The HTTPS:// COMES BACK LOOKING LIKE THIS HTTP://
Peace Always
Delete everything before the http://www.youtube.
Peace Always
That should be delete everything before http://www.youtube. Sorry, I’m a bit tired if you want to ask anything Phil, please do.
Peace Always
Ian B,
Much as I concur with the political views of PK (I recall in particular, an internet discussion between myself, Pat Kane and Stuart Cosgrove on the merits or otherwise of ‘The Scheme’ some years ago) Jazz has always been somewhat of a Curate’s Egg for me.
Whereas I can appreciate the virtuosity of the likes of Oscar Peterson, Stephane Grappelli or Django Reindhart and even appreciate at a lower level the pleasing musak effect of the likes of ‘Trad Jazz’, a lot of it falls, for me, into the category of ‘self indulgence I do not ‘get”.
Sadly, for me Hue and Cry were in that category although I am more than willing to accept that that was simply a perception problem on my part
I’ll try the morra Smallaxe , tired as well, read all the comments and im feckin knackered , sleep well buddy. 😉
That’s cool Phil Goodnight, my Friend.
Peace always
Chick: enjoy
Peace Always
Thanks smallaxe.
Rockabilly is a bit of a revelation for me.
Thought your first vid was a better standard but the couple with the guy with horizontal striped shirt were excellent.
The Major of London appears to picture Scotland is as it is imagined by History Woman. I wouldn’t want him to be insensitive to the minority concerns of Scots or to indulge in ethnic prejudice, so I thought I’d suggest some background reading for him. Hopefully the Major will reappraise his comments in light of this critical and semiotic re-edumication. If he truly values the principle of universal human rights, he may hopefully find a way to support Scotland’s self-determination.
@The Major of London
Get enlightened or wind your neck in, otherwise folk might think you a bigoted racist.
link to sciencespo.fr
A critical evaluation of theories of nationalism
link to research.aston.ac.uk
Gellnarian Theory of Nation and Nationalism: A Critical Appraisal
link to jstor.org
Toward a New Critical Theory with a Cosmopolitan Intent
link to public.iastate.edu
@ The MaYor of London
STUDYING NATIONALISM AS AN EVERYDAY IDEOLOGY
link to psych.lse.ac.uk
Race, Nationalism, and Transnationalism
link to communication.oxfordre.com
Kosovo: An Identity between Local and Global
link to psa.ac.uk
@ The Mayor of London
Not forgetting the anthropological perspective.
Ethnicity and Nationalism: Anthropological Perspectives
link to researchgate.net
Anthropology and the Future of the Nation-State and Nationalism
link to omicsonline.org
Ethnicity and Nationalism
Anthropological Perspectives
link to hyllanderiksen.net
Max Weber on Nations and Nationalism: Political Economy before Political Sociology
link to jstor.org
@ The Mayor of London
As that was only a tiny selection of theories of nations and nationalism(s), you may be intimidated by the level of your ignorance, so let’s cut to the chase. Do you or do you not support the principle of universal human rights?
link to un.org
THE FUTURE OUR CHILDREN WANT:
Peace Always
@ The Mayor of London
I thought you may need some help in understanding the degree of your ‘insensitivity’. IMHO you owe Scotland the most humblest of apologies bud.
link to routledgesoc.com
@Fabian Society
Critical social theory’s a bugger eh?
The Coasters – Run Red Run
@ The Mayor of London
Critical Race and Postcolonial Theory
To simplify the theory that my friend CameronB Brodie has espoused, in case you may not have the critical capacity to comprehend.You, my dear Sir, are an arse.
Peace Always
That’s about the size of it Smallaxe, cheers. 😉
You are more than welcome, Cameron my Friend.
A wee tune for You!
Peace Always
Lots of folk have been making art for Lindsay Jarrett who inspired us all with her climb up the castle rock in Edinburgh to place a giant Yes sign at night. You can view them here –
link to facebook.com
and some of them on twitter #Art4Lindsay
If you would like to paint, draw, design or write something please do.
My twitter handle is @PaulaHoneyRose tag me in if you post a pic and I’ll post it on the page.
Paula Rose:
I have just read Lindsay’s story and I am humbled and inspired by her bravery and commitment to our cause.Thank you for bringing it to us.
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Seen this, Smallaxe?
link to twitter.com
Mr Khan of Lunnon should be ashamed of himself.
@TC –
Khan?!
Blimey…
I’m pretty sure yon dude in yer link used to be in the SSP. If not, he was certainly around a lot back in the heady Sheridan days, when we had half a dozen MSPs.
Ian, today we got a taste of the MSM shit-storm ahead of us: utter lies, hypocrisy and desperate cynicism from the Yoon Last Chance Saloon (including Ruthie’s wee “Let us register you for a postal vote” letter on my mat this morning).
I can only hope that once May presses the Article 50 button, the EU is unequivocal in its support for our rights as EU citizens to remain. I can’t imagine it can do anything else without fatally undermining its position and reputation.
I suspect there will be a certain amount of relish from Mr Verhofstadt as he tells May she’s getting diddlysquat and “negotiations” will be short and sweet.
Moody and doom-laden? You got it….
Sweet Joni..
Ayrshire’s finest..
Biffy ya bass: agreed.
Four great instrumental solos on this one but few will know it:
Night all: early start the morn’s morn.
@TC –
Hear ye mister, hear ye…
And I do hope you’re right.
Nothing will ever change the London-centric mindset, but the maximum possible embarrassment may, just may give its foremost champions some food for thought.
In the meantime, no-one on this planet would do anything other than cheer our departure from such a rancid, irredemiably nasty ‘partner’.
Something a wee bit different.
Mind-blowing.
Sometimes I wish I still smoked hash.
When I see stuff like this I’m glad I don’t! –
‘Largest Glacier calving ever filmed’ –
link to thenational.scot
Thanks to the National for publishing my article. Any help much appreciated
I just tuned into,
link to webcomradio.co.uk
and the track playing was Dougie MacLean – Caledonia.
Some serious James Brown here, a compilation of his Soul Train gigs…
Soo-perb, even in snatches:
Apologies for subbing this for the umpteenth time, but it’s got to be one of the best-ever live recordings of anything:
Stevie Wonder, ‘Superstition’ –
H, Ian, And anyone else still awake:
Curtis Mayfield
Peace Always
All tearful now *leans on shoulders*
A Speech from a great man!
Peace Always
Bob Dylan
Peace Always
“I Started a joke”
Robin Gibb
Peace Always
Everybody in bed?
Ska:
Peace Always
“Rally Round The Flag”
Steel Pulse:
Peace Always
@Smallaxe –
Just about to hit the flea-pit. Hope you’re well there, and not awake if you’d rather not be.
Great sounds, as aye mister.
Hoots to ye, and all.
yah, look like everybody inna likkle bed cep’ fi I n’I, nah matta I n’I ramp A likkle music fi mi, seen?
The Specials: “A message to you Rudy”
Alton Ellis
Peace Always
Mi sorry Bredren Ian mi nuh notice yuh post at first mi head mashed, Seen?
Likkle Sound fi you Bredren!Yuh wi enjoy it.
One Love Mi Bredren
Hi, Ian, I’ve just been poking around the Interweb, just to see what I could find, you know?
Amy: Valerie
Peace Always
Mundell!
“Rasta have the angle”
No matter how the mountain may be high
We’ve got to reach the top
And no matter how the hill might be steep
We’ll never stop
And no matter how dangerous the cliff
We’ll never fall
‘Cause Rasta have the handle
Babylon, you hold on on the blame
Peace Always
Sissel: “Going Home”
Peacefully Peaceful, Beautifully Beautiful, Truthfully Truthful
Peace Always
FOR SADIQ KHAN:
“Abuse of words has been the great instrument of sophistry and chicanery, of party, faction, and division of society.”
John Adams
Peace Always
Truth!
Peace Always
Good Morning, Michael, For You.
Peace Always my Friend
Smallaxe you have played some great music on here today my Friend. Here is some Sweetness Riddim for you. 1 Riddim 5 different Songs. link to youtube.com
I leave you with this and give you a chance to play some of your
good (as always) Music.
Peace Love and MUSIC
I don’t have to think twice about playing this. link to youtube.com
Smallaxe that last song you played made me Snap. link to youtube.com
Baby I’m a fool link to youtube.com
Honey Bee link to youtube.com
@Jeremy Corbyn
English Socialism might suite English Marxists, Fabians and the English Establishment but it fits poorly with needs of Scotland. Why can’t you respect the principle of universal human rights? Is it because of a Marxist objection to acknowledging cultural values and difference or are you simply an English nationalist at heart? A bit of mix?
The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Do The Get Down
Exclusive video of the SLAB conference in Perth.
CCR: “Have You Ever Seen The Rain”
“Proud Mary”
“Bad Moon Rising
Peace Always
Kraftwerk: “Das Model”
Are Friends Electric?
Peace Always
The current battle and one to come is this anti-English idea, and it is one we can win now (and are winning I think). I have an ace in the hole but am keeping it until needed – those who’ve talked with me would know what it is, even though I was born in Scotland and lived most of my life here.
Some cool stuff today guys. Did anybody catch the Govan weans pipe band today on Alba at 1500? Superb prog’ bring a tear tae a gless eye!
Can anyone imagine what the festivals will be like post-indy?
Getting properly goose-bumply even thinking about it…
Scissor Sisters, ‘Laura’ (Live, T In The Park)
A quickie before I turn in.
Smallaxe – I remember seeing the Bay City Rollers a number of times in the JM Ballroom in Dundee, around 1970/71. They did A couple from Pendulum – “Have you ever seen the rain” and “Hey Tonight”. They also did a credible version of “Born To Be Wild” (that was when Archie Marr was their organist) and a decent version of this, which was never a hit. You can hear how Nobby Clark’s voice would have suited it though.
—————————————–
Hi Ian B.
Typing about post-indy festivals. I’ve linked to this video in the past. What gets me is that many of us know the song from pro-indy rallies but this was a young(ish) mainstream audience at a mainstream festival, who knew all the words.
Tea In The Park 2015.
Gatecrash the party with a comment on the No to Yes vids
How long till we see these on the list?
And will the rankings reflect the time taken by their one-cell processors to accept the inevitable:
Number
316 Dunc
417 Mctwerp
718 putting the Sad into Sadiq
1109 F. E. Deans of Universities
15378 Ex History Lecturers
123456 Jerky
209278 Kez
19876543 Anyone still a Labour Party member
23456789 Spanner and the Tools
Previous post hasn’t appeared yet.
hello to off-topicers.
Am currently not in UK timezone so may not see any replies. have dodgy wifi also.
best of luck to all with campaign for Yes2Indy
@BDTT –
Brilliant.
Hadn’t seen that one before, wee tear in the eye now!
Great stuff.
@ LOAST A POST!FFS..WI/FI.
Been having problems since setting up a new sound system.
Eighth Day 1980
Einstein a Go Go 1981
Peace Always
Success!
They can send video’s from caves in Afganistan and I’m having problems doing it from here??
Us And Them – piano cover
A guy playing a guitar (very well)
Peace Always
smallaxe
CCR
Fogerty is a legend, should be up there along with Dylan, Lennon et al.
Think I have posted all of those here in the dim and distant, including the following which IIRCC had a few hundred thousand hits but is now in the 10’s of millions in its various postings.
I think it is also one of the first proto heavy metal examples.
Green River is another good one.
Chic:
I agree with you re Fogarty, he has never got the deserved respect due to him. Here’s another from him.
Sharp Dressed Man
Peace Always
Another Legend
Jeff Beck: “Apache” / “Sleepwalk
“Women of Ireland”
Peace Always
smallaxe
Loved CCR in the 60s. Remember getting quite angry at their treatment at Woodstock.
Backatcha with another with a political resonance which is just as relevant today.
More Relevance:
FOLK LEGEND JOHN McCUTCHEON
“Not in My Name”
Deportees
NOT IN OUR NAME!
Peace Love and Inclusion
Beth Hart “Whole Lotta Love
Beth Hart & Joe Bonamassa – I Love You More
Peace Always
Mike Oldfield tubular bells part2 full original (1973)
With accompanying Ukippers near the end. 🙂
Peace Always
Pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii bursts into tears when he plays at Carnegie Hall his own composition “Elegy for the Victims of the Tsunami of March 11, 2011 in Japan”.
Goodnight
Peace to All
@BDTT
That Gerry Cinnamon video from T In The Park was great, so good I wanted to see more of this guy and I found this.
This is really good, the same song and guaranteed to bring a smile to your face. Nah it’s much better than good, it’s fantastic.
I see that a mushroom has appeared on the main thread so I have to welcome him with a song of his own.#Magic
Peace Always
Scots need to remember there is no difference between surf rock and black metal. Enough with this separatist pulp fiction.
The Immortals – Surf and Destroy
See, no difference.
The Centurians – Bullwinkle Part II
Interesting choice of viewing on BBC 2 Scotland tonight – arch Unionist Mary Berry bakes stuff on a visit to Scotland followed by a programme on the House of Lords, ‘one of Britain’s oldest, most idiosyncratic and most important institutions’. After the Mayor of London’s short & sweet trip and Corbyn’s refusal to distance himself from his disgraceful comments, it would seem those who are terrified of an independent Scotland are up and running.
Chuck Berry, Keith Richards, Jerry Lee Lewis, Neil Young – “Roll Over Beethoven”
Peace Always
Stevie Ray Vaughan – Little Wing
Voodoo Chile
Peace Always
The Nortons: “Married to the Blues”
Detroit Blues Band: “Tears From My Eyes”
Peace Always
hi Ian B and Thepnr.
RE: Gerry Cinnamon.
At one of the George Square rallies (September 2015?), me and Pete stayed right to the end to see Gerry Cinnamon, particularly “Hope Over Fear”. The Wings stall had been deconstructed and everybody had pi$$ed off to The Clutha. That afternoon, the rally ran just over two hours over time and finished around 7.30pm.
Around the back of six, we were listening to something on stage, when a couple of late teenage Yoons entered the square from the south end, doing the usual Yoon shouting.
There were a handful of Polis still in the square and we watched as 4 pairs of Polis headed towards the Yoons from 4 different directions. One of the Yoons was slightly less drunk and saw the possibilities. He started pulling his mate back towards the road, as the Polis joined together into a line of 8.
They eventually turned tail and ran across the road, right in front of a bus. Unfortunately, the more sober one rescued the pair of them from ‘death by bus’.
The Polis were rather good that day… as they have always been at the George Square rallies. That same afternoon, one of the Polis who has the white braid on the peak of his hat, was pestered incessantly by a guy who wanted a selfie with him. The Polis took it all in good part.
Onnyhoo, here’s Gerry Cinnamon from George Square, September 2015.
Hi Smallaxe.
I mentioned Joe Satriani the other day re Funtwo. I know you like your geetahr myoozack so here’s one of my favourite guitar instrumentals, right up there with Beck’s Bolero and Albatross.
@BDTT
Good story Brian and another good video. Getting me excited now for round 2. Dying to get off the stool and get stuck in there 🙂
There’s nothing to lose and everything to fight for.
Hi Thepnr.
Here’s a wee offering from a Dundee band to keep your Indy glands firing…
Ted Nugent – Stranglehold
Peia (Shaman!) Blessed We Are
Blessed we are
to dance on this ground,
The rhythm of saints to carry the sound.
We hold a prayer for the earth,
for the ones yet to come,
‘May you walk in beauty and remember your song.
Peace Always
Please do not disparage the Shamanic Chant in my last post.
You will get a similar answer to that which I gave to a young lady during an intimate moment in my youth.
She said, “Who do you expect to satisfy with THAT!”
I said, “ME!”
Peace Always
Homeless Busker:
Female Guitarists:
Dave Grohl – Best Drummer in the World Tribute:
Foo Fighters – The Pretender
Peace Always
Prince: “Bass Jam”
PRINCE: “GETTIN FUNKY” ’04
Peace Always
For: Big Phil 🙂
Elvis Presley @ NBC Studio’s 1968-23-One Night With You:
Elvis: Heartbreak Hotel:
Elvis: BABY WHAT YOU WANT ME TO DO:
Peace Always
BDTT:
Sorry, Brian got carried away with myself and never noticed you and Thepnr up there. My Apologies.
POPA CHUBBY: “Hey Joe”
Peace Always
Come fly with me: Devil Blues
Natalia M.King: “I Need To See You”
Peace Always
ONE OK ROCK: “Clock Strikes”
Peace Always
Homecoming at Duncarron Scotland
The Irish! Hail Patrol
Peace Always
THE IRISH S:A:O:R:^ UP THERE!
I’m Voting Yes for Scotland – Song
Just Say YES!
Help Yourself to this lot
Peace Always
Except: Wingdyref2, sharpen your pencils and draw the saltire in the Ballot Box X
Goodnight All
PEACE, LOVE and INDEPENDENCE
John Major popping up again I see, just like old times in Indy Ref 1.
Indy Ref is in the air,
everywhere I look around.
Indy Ref is in the air
every sight and every sound.
And I don’t know if I’m being foolish,
don’t know if I’m being wise.
But it’s something that I must believe in,
and it’s there when I look at the prize.
Independence for Scotland!
Sitting here with my pal Lynn half pished and I have drawn the short straw to put a song on. She picked the song though. Something I had not heard before. Anyway I think it is Quite good and hope you lot in here like it too. Lynn says hi to Thepnr Briandoonthetoon Pete the Camera. And her Dancing Buddy Ian Brotherhood. And all other Wingers one and all. link to youtube.com
Michael and Lynn: Good Morning, that sun is bright!
Modestep – Sunlight
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
Watching Rev Stu’s fundraiser rising while listening to your off topic tunes. Nice!
Hi, Nana, I hope you’re enjoying the music as much as I’m enjoying your links. Hope the fundraiser goes well, this time we will definitely get out of this heartless union.
Have a great day!
Billy xx
Peace Always
Hi, sophisticates.
Been away for a coupe of days, hugging Pictish stones and the Fortingall Yew to re-centre my spiritual nodes and so I offer you this:
Made the mistake of coming home by the wee road from Kenmore to Amulree through Glen Quaich. I’ve done this three times without any trouble but today, just below the top of the steep section out of Kenmore before the moor begins there was a sudden 20-yard section of ice. The ABS in the car only made things worse and the car began to slide back towards the fence and nasty drop, despite my foot on the brake.
Fortunately, it pulled up just short and I managed to straighten up and reverse to the nearest passing place, where I managed a magnificent 7-point turn and back down to Kenmore for a change of Kelvin Klein underwear.
It was nice to see the Burns poem written in his hand above the fireplace of the hotel: cheered me up after a bit of a stammy-gaster on that road.
Some crowd-funder on MT, eh?
Heeheeheeheehee………
We’re on our way to …
Tinto:
I will tell you as I have told others, excuses don’t cut it here. Next time you’re late, bring a note from a responsible adult!
“God Shuffled His Feet”
Peace Always
Responsible Adult, is it? I was with ma wife!
As for ur vid, Smallaxe, I could have done with Him on the brake pedal.
Still love ye, man…
*Blubs like a big girlie*
(No offence to Big Girlies, obvs.)
As you all know, the crowdfunding to help give us the tools to get our movement through to our inevitable Independence, started today. I would ask you, if I may, to watch and to listen carefully to the lyrics in the first track, they are very relevant at this time.(The Ghost of our Kingdoms Future?)NEVER!
After that, enjoy the rest of the tracks (or not). Tinto Chiel will be serving sandwiches during the intermission. In the meantime please help yourself to cocktails in the foyer.Thank you.Make yourself comfortable in Paula Rose’s Palace of Delights.
Al Jolson: Brother can you spare a Dime
Sam Smith: “Money On My Mind”
Barrett Strong: “Money (That’s What I Want)
Peace Always
Dire Straits: “Money For Nothing”
Stevie Marriott
Jack Benny: “Your Money or Your Life”
Peace Always
Adam & The Ants: “Stand And Deliver”
Adam Faith: “What Do You Want(if you don’t want money”