11. Paula Rose

Did I do this one for the Rev?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpA0oPR_EOQ

12. Michael McCabe

@ K1 That was a great wee song you played. you should pop over to off/topic more often with a song. Anyway. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8W89j6GjPDI&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die.

13. Paula Rose

Can’t resist – my thoughts go out to you all…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Go9aks4aujM

14. Paula Rose

something quiet…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqqgG5_T2eA

15. Paula Rose

Time for some real music…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLRPT2lc6M8

16. Paula Rose

I live and breathe in this country.

17. Paula Rose

For Easter this is lovely…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ja5PHkEm8lw

18. CameronB Brodie

Blast Off – The Birthday Party
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GliB0Z2EM2I

Paula Rose
    You might have guessed by now Paula, you make me want to fiddle about and get at the fundamentals. Well, I think this cat has a lot to do with the development of certain predilections we share.

Talking about ‘hip to the beat’, here’s one of the wildest showbiz dudes of his era. Mae West apparently thought he was probably one of the greatest entertainer of his time. I don’t think “race music” would have been accepted into ‘popular culture’ at that time, without him. 😉

Sorry for poor audio quality. 🙁

Thanks bro. 😉

Harry “The Hipster” Gibson – Piano Boogie Jump
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VlK0y8TlzUE

19. CameronB Brodie

Darn, missed the new page. 🙂

20. pete the camera

something for this Groundhog weekend

Groundhogs from Who will save the world

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZo43OQcarI

21. K1

Thanks Bdtt, and Teddy Thompson’s cover of ‘Tonight Will Be FIne, is one of my ‘heart’ songs…:-)

I replied to you in the wee sma’ hours but it didn’t post…think tiredness left in the http…anyway…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojf18wT_Xtk&list=RDojf18wT_Xtk

22. K1

Oops that reply was meant for Michael…:-)

23. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Here’s the updated info forom the Facebook page, regarding the YESNP Independence Rally in Edinburgh, on 18th April.
    ======================================================

18 April
    at 12:00–16:00

Ocean Terminal Shopping Centre
    Ocean Drive, Leith, EH6 6JJ Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Not long now until our event, but as the heading above suggests, we have had to have a change of venue!
    We have three incredible SNP Westminster candidates on our speakers list and the Scottish Parliament felt the rally was taking the form of an election broadcast and under their rules they have to remain neutral, which we totally understand.

So, we have managed to source another fabulous space, it’s The Waterfront Plaza, Ocean Terminal – just opposite the main entrance to the shopping centre.

The new venue means our candidates can speak freely and are not restricted by the constraints at the Parliament grounds on the run up to the general election. It also means we are not as pushed for time, which is wonderful.

Car parking at Ocean Terminal is FREE, and it’s well served by Lothian Buses. I hope this will be an easy change for you and that you will still be able to attend.
    Many thanks for your support

To ensure the Scottish voice is heard at Westminster, and to stop a majority government, we need to vote SNP in the general election. This is the best way to support Scotland on the road to Independence.

BEST TIN HAT AWARD – Embracing the phenomenon we will award a trophy and a bottle of wine to the most innovative tin hat of the day 🙂 🙂 🙂 PLEASE wear it proudly on the 18th April 🙂 🙂

POETRY COMPETITION – Now closed.
    We have had a phenomenal amount of entries! Some funny, some poignant, all fantastic….thank you so much for embracing the suggestion. The admin will meet in the next few days and we will announce our winner 🙂 🙂

Speakers;
    Joyce Rahman – Opening address
    1.MC McKinnon – The Voice of Scotland
    2.Colin Keir – SNP MSP Edinburgh West
    3.Tommy Sheppard – SNP Westminster Candidate
    4.Maciej Wiczynski – Poles for an Independent Scotland
    5.Paul Young – Scotland Against Fracking
    6.Roddy Oliphant – http://itsscotlandsoil.com/
    7.Martin Mitchell – The Radical Road Bar/Restaurant
    8.Ex-Corporal Cliff Purvis- Veterans for Independence
    9.?????? – Poetry competition winner
    10.Ben Munnoch – Young Scots for Independence
    11.Barbara-Anne Haig – Yes45Fife
    12.Ruaraidh Oliphant – Scotland’s Youngest activist!
    13.Deb Brown – Yes We Care Dundee
    14.Steve Bell – Steve will read out statements from supporters who are unable to attend the rally.
    15. Andy McGurk – Catelonia/Scotland & Independence
    16 Derek Bateman -Ex BBC journalist-derekbateman.co.uk
    17 Adrian Bayne – The Voice of Scotland
    18 Hannah Bardell – SNP Westminster candidate
    19 Hardeep Singh Kholi – Comedian, Broadcaster, Journalist & Chef TBC
    20 Michelle Thomson – SNP Westminster Candidate
    21 June Reilly – Charity worker with homeless and vulnerable adults
    Joyce Rahman – Closing statement

Supporting statements;
    Springbank Distillers Campbeltown.
    A YES supporting family company

Brian Cox – Dundee born Scottish actor, films include Braveheart, The Bourne Identity, X-Men

Elaine C Smith – Glasgow born actress, TV credits include Rab C Nesbitt, Naked Video, theatre roles Calender Girls & I dreamed a Dream.

The fabulous YES BUS will be there!

Music:-

Dick Gaughan – International Singer/songwriter/guitarist
    Ted Christopher – One of Scotland’s finest performers
    Kenny Donaldson – Wonderful accordionist
    Amanda Brown – Fabulous vocalist/guitarist from Fife
    Scott McWatt – Critically acclaimed Scottish recording artist
    Rebecca McKinlay- Traditional piper & highland dancers
    Musicians for Indy – Please check out their facebook page
    Jack Rowberry – Award winning modern blues singer

LIVESTREAM

FOOD BANK COLLECTION
    It has become customary for there to be a food bank collection at these events, and this one will be no different. The generosity of the Indy folks is now well documented and welcomed from the charities that run these places. Many, many thanks.

24. Brian Doonthetoon

“forom” = from

25. Betty Boop

@ Patrician, 12:14am

Thanks for the tips. As we have found over the months, it is outwith our control 🙁

At least there was only a few minutes delay in the wee, sma’ hours instead of the usual 20+ minutes!

26. AuldA

Err…
    Crivens! You know what?
    Our ambassador woke me from hibernation.
    How’s everybody doing?
    Cheers!

27. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

Good to see the March sunshine – and your ambassador – have brought you out of hibernation!

Your lack of input to Frenchgate/Memogate over the last couple of days perpluzzled* me.

Onnyhoo, as you have typed that you want us to correct your English/Scots, I must point out that the usual spelling of “crivens” is “crivvins”, usually preceded by “Jings!” and followed with “Help ma Boab!”.

This link may help you to get your tongue round the Dundonesian dialect of Scots.

http://web.archive.org/web/20050322224304/members.aol.com/dinnaastme/page5.htm

Onnyhoo, nice to see you back.

* One of my makey-up words.

28. Paula Rose

AuldA honey! Coffee or something stronger?

29. Brian Doonthetoon

Wee Jonny sent me a pic of the update to his wheels a few days ago and – woe is me! – I’ve just got round to uploading it to my web space.

Apologies to Wee Jonny for my tardiness.

BTW, WJ: you want to book a seat on the minibus through to Glasgow on 1st May for the Wings get-together?

http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/WeeJonnysLatest.JPG

30. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt
    @Wee Jonny

Jings, that car is impressive – love it 🙂

@ Auld A,

Whaur hae ye bin? Welcome back:-)

31. AuldA

@Everybody:
    Thanks for your heartwarming messages!
    Feel a bit dozy tonight but will answer tomorrow for sure.
    Hugs and kisses from Paris! Have a great evening!

32. Thepnr

@Hoss Mackintosh

Regarding the article about the Today programming being edited. After Morags post saying everything was the same I of course listened again and it was the same.

Thinks how did I miss that? Doesn’t matter the “fact” is that I did. So pissed off with myself that I took a break from wings. This was a good idea in any case.

However, I started reading again tonight and went back to that original thread and saw that I wasn’t the only winger to see the edit. That was a relief, here’s the good news for our sanity. The original version of the Today program I listened to was 2:59:46 the previous two days were 3:00:16 a 30 second difference obviously.

The version that is up now is 2:59:57 an extra 11 seconds from what we listened to.

I know what I heard, everybody else can make their own minds up.

33. cearc

Glad to see you back Thepnr.

34. Paula Rose

Thepnr dearest – got the coffee machine on for AuldA, do you want the same?

35. Ian Brotherhood

re – Return of Thepnr.

On the face of it, a contradiction in terms, but a most welcome development all the same.

Alex – please note my new email: ianbhood@gmail.com

(The auld yin will be deid tomorrow.)

36. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve been asked, by Bob Costello of Team YES Bus, if Wingers want to have presence next Sunday in Dundee, with the YES Bus at City Square, the 12th April.

The YES Bus will be campaigning for a maximum vote for the SNP on 7th May, and for independence for Scotland, in the long term.

Ronnie is now in possession of the banner, so it’s now up to him.

37. Paula Rose

cearc sweetest – special stroke.

38. Paula Rose

Ian has had a quick swish – anyone else before I put the wand away?

39. ronnie anderson

Dont be putting the blame oan me you didna tell me yesterday , an I asked you if you had anything on in Dundee, to take the Wings banner back with you,sneaky bahaaah,ah know yer game so’s I,ll come tae Dundee ae you need tae do is ask Lol.

40. cearc

BDtt,

I could post you a spare white tarpaulin 3.41 metres long and 1.76 metres wide. If you want to make another banner.

41. Brian Doonthetoon

Och Ronnie…
    Bob only got back into Dundee after his Norwegian cruise, at 3.15 this morning.

He’s only, just, getting back into the campaigning groove.

If you’re coming up to Dundee, gimme a shout on…

0-7-9-8-6–8-8-7-9-9-8 (Day time)
    or
    0-1-3-8-2–2-2-1-1-8-0 (Evening)

42. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cearc.

What makes you so sure that I would know what do do with such an implement?

43. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose yup everybody knew but ,money spoke louder than words.

44. Paula Rose

Whose got the ‘I want my baby back’ link?

45. ronnie anderson

@ Briandoonthetoon Whit dey yea mean

(Thinks… Another Anderson. Should we be worried?)

There,s many branches in oor Oak Tree Brian,so dont be walking under any or anither Anderson mibbee faw in here,ah want mair tae come oot the woods,an they dont need tae be of ma Clan lol.

Welcome Irene.

46. Hoss Mackintosh

@Thepnr,
    Thanks for your comment – I also thought I was going nuts but my wife was listening as well and we both did not hear Rev Stu’s bit.

It had been cut and then replaced later.

Waste of time complaining to the BBC but sometimes it is better to get it out of your system. I just got their response earlier…

“If it was not available for technical reasons initially, that problem seems to have been corrected now. Sorry for any inconvenience.”

Still waiting on my final one at the BBC trust.

I have bought the G.A. Ponsonby book and looking forward to that.:-)

Welcome back.

47. Natasha

Hi, Auld A! Welcome back; we’ve missed you.

48. AuldA

@Paula: a coffee with a dram of… well, uh.
    @Natasha: Thanks!

I’ve lost a lot of time engrossed in literary exercises (i.e. trying to write short stories), until I found out recently that, whatever amount of energy and love I put into them, I could not get them fully right—specifically I couldn’t write realistic dialogues. There seems to be an insuperable fence here: if you’re not immersed in an English-speaking world or use English everyday with native speakers, there is hardly a way you can tell, for example, unusual or posh words from normal ones, which leads to stilted dialogue; it’s not about purple prose or something of that ilk, it’s about picking the right word and not something (almost) nobody uses and that you choose nevertheless because, well, you don’t have the necessary feedback to sort the chaff from the wheat.

And written English does not help you here.

Besides, I suddenly realised listening to the accent tag feed on YouTube that there were still large areas of Scotland where I would experience (at least at start) a ‘lost in translation’ syndrome. Like, e.g., listening to the Aberdonian accent. That was an exotic experience.

@Brian: thanks for your advice. That will help me write better Scottish dialogues in the future! 😛 Perpuzzled. You mean discombobulated? Flabbergasted maybe? Ever-so-slightly :°

Besides, I’m still involved in linguistic quests. This time I search I word I forgot whose meaning both encompasses ‘move repeatedly up and down, yoyo’ and ‘discuss vividly’. Any idea?

Have a great day anyone out there in the Northern mists! 🙂

49. Wee Jonny

Bdtt – Thanks for posting that photo Brian. I do love my car.

I won’t make the Coontin Hoos on the 1st.

Is it my imagination or are there more Yes stickers on cars again? There was a lull after the 18th but I’m sure I’ve saw more and more the last couple o weeks. Anybody else?

50. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    “Ian has had a quick swish – anyone else before I put the wand away?”

Aww, did I miss my chance? 🙁

Was just out wandering in the fog down by the shoreline here. No zombies or ghost ships spotted yet.
    (All the Labour supporters must be staying at home then!)

Hope everyone had a fun chocolate bunny day! 🙂

51. X_Sticks

@Wee Jonny

Just out of interest Jonny has the political stuff on the motor lost you any business?

52. Silverytay

Wee Johnny
    Its not just on cars , I am beginning to see them pop up everywhere down my area , there was a big yes banner on the fence of one of our co-ops .
    I tore all mines down on the 19th September but after logging back onto wings a few days later I put mines back on my car and office .

53. Wee Jonny

X_Sticks – No.

My wife advised me against it incase it did cost me business but I needed to do something.

My view was that we were saturated with Union Union Union, and felt that some people were scared to talk about Yes. So my car was my way of saying it’s okay to talk about Yes and even be Yes. And it’s done that in spades.

I had 1 customer who said they thought I was ramming it down people’s throats and that people can think for themselves. (This was also in response to me wearing a Yes t.shirt everyday, having Yes stickers on my windee cleenin buckets and havin Yes on my bills). My response was “If you’re away to tell me you’re gona get another windee cleenir because I’m all for Yes then you can shove your windeez up yir arse and that’ll go for anybody else who has the same thoughts because nothing will change my mind that Scotland should be an independent country.”

She thanked me for my honesty and loved my dedication. I still do their windeez.

I had another who only realised what was on my car as late as last August. She was mortified that one of her neighbours might have saw my car. I laughed at her and told her I was gona drive really really slow down her long driveway and the private road her and her neighbours live beside.

My thoughts then and now are If you have a problem with what’s on my car then fuck you.

In the lead up to the referendum it got loads of attention. Some positive and some negative.

It still does.

54. Wee Jonny

Siverytay-

I kept my Yes flag flying in the backies until the pole eventually couldn’t take any more of the strong winds last month and snapped. I’ll put it back up as soon as I get a new flagpole.

I’ve never stopped wearing my wee gold Yes badge on my work shirt collar,Yes badge on my jeckit and wee SNP badge everyday.

Yes spotting was part of everyday life last year but things obviously died down but obviously never died after “The day we shall not speak of”. But now the Yes spotting game’s back on.

55. X_Sticks

Respect for your commitment Jonny. Takes some bottle to risk your livelihood.

I shall put my Yes badge back on my jacket from now on for the sake of solidarity.

56. Wee Jonny

Ha.

I’d rather risk my livelihood than risk not being able to look myself in the mirror.

57. Natasha

Auld A
    Does it have to be just one word, or could it be an expression/phrase?

58. Natasha

Auld A

bandy about, thrash out, toss around, spar with, altercate, bounce off

Altercate was the only one I could find which was just one word, but I’m not sure it covers the first meaning you mentioned.

59. Thepnr

Could this be McTernans last throw of the dice?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6p3FsA0olbQ

60. CameronB Brodie

@ British Labour and your imperialist Fabian masters.

Chumbawamba – The Land Of Do What You’re Told
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ryXjQIvjiI

Chumbawamba – Walking into battle with the Lord
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iqRbXiEeIw

Chumbawamba – One Way Or The Other
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-EBdfQIAO4

61. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

Been trying to catch you, email me at thepnr03@gmail.com and I will forward Broty boys email to you.

62. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Cheers. I’ve been laid low this last week and have only recently resurfaced. I’ll drop you a line in a day or two, when feeling more human.

———————————————————–

Here is one for those already attuned. 🙂

Negativland – Negativland
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DV08nrktjlI

For those not in the know, Negativeland were at the heart of the culture jamming movement. A postmodernist rejection of cultural orthodoxy.

IMO, the Yes movement could have been view as the postmodern culture jamming of British orthodoxy.

Here is another culture jammer. So much for the BBC’s competence. 🙂

Bhopal Disaster – BBC – The Yes Men
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LiWlvBro9eI

63. Patrician

I have been working on this opinion piece for a week or so now,with nowhere to post it up.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10473839/Daydreaming.pdf

Have a read and let me know what you think.

64. ronnie anderson

@ Wee Johnny Big TAMMY doff tae U.

65. Natasha

@Patrician 12.46am
    I thought it was very interesting and well-thought out, with clear sources and evidence.

66. AuldA

@Natasha: Thanks, it was ‘to bandy’. I didn’t know that meaning of ‘spar’, which for me was just a name meaning some kind of pole or bar. I will… spar it for future use! 🙂

Thanks once more and have a very great day under the Sun!

67. Arabs for Independence

FAO: thepnr

Hope you are well – if you still have my mobile number could you let me have yours. M

68. Thepnr

@Arabs for Independence

My phone packed in and I lost all my contacts, send me an email at the address from 11:35 above and I’ll send you my number.

69. Betty Boop

@ Wee Jonny
    @ X_Sticks

I still wear my Yes badges, wristband and have Yes on my windows.

The Yes flag took a battering in the gales and the pole (approx. 30 feet) had to be taken down, but, it will soon be refurbished (hopefully) and will sport an enormous saltire.

Think I should go for a tattoo ? 🙂

70. Oneironaut

@Wee Jonny
    “My thoughts then and now are If you have a problem with what’s on my car then fuck you.”

Well said! 😀

I picked up one of those big “Yes” flags during the referendum campaign, but never managed to find a place selling anything suitable to use as a flagpole.

Then after that ill-fated day of the vote, I thought it would never see the light of day again anyway…

Still, maybe if I can find a pole for it someday.

Until then, it sleeps and dreams of flying free in the wind… 🙂

71. Brian Doonthetoon

My 4 wee (3′ x 2′) saltires are still hanging from my windows.

However, the big (5′ x 3′) YES saltire was damaged during the January winds and has rolled itself up around the cane it is hanging from.

Never mind; on holiday next week so I’ll get it fixed.

72. Paula Rose

Betty Boop – NO!!!

73. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee cherub – I’ve just checked, I’ve got a spare cane.

74. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Oneironaut.

Keep an eye on Aldi and Lidl for their 30+ feet fishing poles. Available for virtual peanuts.

They get them in, then a week later, they have them at half price.

Pete the Camera has a splendid example with a YES saltire, which he wielded with some effect during the referendum campaign.

75. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

It is well known that you always have a spare cane!

However, my cane is in perfect working order. The winds caused the grommet at the bottom flagpole side of the flag to tear out, thus allowing further winds to cause the flag to start retreating round the cane.

76. Paula Rose

I don’t know why…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpgV6Pm1grQ

77. Natasha

@AuldA 7.46am
    Hooray! I didn’t think I’d get it so quickly. We also have a term, “sparring partner”, which is someone you practise boxing with, or someone you have regular debates with.

78. Paula Rose

Spar – moi?

79. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    I usually go to the Co-op.

80. Paula Rose

Natasha sweetie – ssh honey.

81. Ian Brotherhood

Lidl for a fiddle…

82. Ian Brotherhood

Keep trying with this new e-mail address…can’t get any comments through, here or main thread…23.45…test

83. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Hmmm, never seen those in the Lidl down my way, but I’ll keep a look out. Thanks 🙂

Ideally I’d prefer something that wouldn’t bend with a heavy flag in a strong wind though.

The winds down our way have to be experienced to be believed! If they ever invent a wind turbine that can handle it, they could probably run the national grid from this place! 😀

84. Ian Brotherhood

…still testing…canny get through…

85. Patrician

Don’t worry Ian, we can see you.

86. CameronB Brodie

The Remains – Don’t look back
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUaKppnPEBE

87. AuldA

@Natasha, @Paula:
    I always thought a ‘sparring partner’ was a guy you kept in your larder/pantry in case… well… you’d experience ‘an unfortunate spell of deep sorrow’… 😛

88. Wee Jonny

Betty Boop – No. But ‘sup ti you.

Oneironaut – I used the same pole I use for window cleaning. They’re actually painters telescopic poles. They’re strong (but obviously not strong enough for the strong winds) and the one I have for work is a double but they also come in triple piece for reaching higher up. Mine can extend to around two metres (Ooh Matron). I get mine from Wickes as they have always been the cheapest at around £12.

When I do put another flag up I’m gona swap the 5×3 Yes Saltire for my 5×3 Lion Rampant and cut the Yes from one of my t.shirts and sew it next to the Lions mooth. Good idea I fink.

89. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    I can see your post at 12:30, but your avatar is missing.

Some BOFH at GCHQ been taking out some frustration on your internet connection?

@Wee Jonny
    Sounds like a plan there. If I see that one being carried around at some event, maybe I’ll come up and say hi 🙂

(Assuming someone else doesn’t have a flag of similar design and I get the wrong person. But, oh well, maybe make a new friend!)

90. Betty Boop

@Paula R
    @Wee Jonny

Thanks for the advice (nay, instruction from PR!). Well then, maybe I shall have to look for a transfer instead and have Paula stroke it on for me 😉

Anything (almost) for the cause 🙂

91. Paula Rose

Darlings – I’m always here, touched by your wotsit.

92. Thepnr

Well that debate was good. I’m now informed LOL.

93. Paula Rose

AuldA honey-waggle dance.

94. Paula Rose

So much touching by so many – oh my word!

95. Brian Doonthetoon

Heads up, Wingers who will be in the Dundee are over this weekend.

On Sunday, from 12 noon until 4pm, Team YES Bus will be at City Square in Dundee, campaigning for independence and the SNP.

Any Wingers who are in Dundee at the weekend will be welcomed with open arms by Team YES Bus, to hammer home the benefits of re-electing Stuart Hosie in Dundee East and electing Chris Law (Spirit of Independence) in Dundee West.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/DSCN0155-1000.jpg

We Wingers had a bra’ afternoon at City Square a couple of Sundays ago!

96. Brian Doonthetoon

“Dundee are” = Dundee area.

97. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    “Darlings – I’m always here, touched by your wotsit.”

A cheesy wotsit? 😀

98. Ken500

@ Wee Jonny

Like your style

: > )

99. Paula Rose

Remember that Sex Pistols song that began with the lines…

Don’t know what I want

but I know how to get it

I wanna be… in Dundee

xx

100. Paula Rose

Oneironaut honey – bad dreams can be avoided by consuming cheeses wrapped in urtica leaves xx

101. Natasha

Brian Dtt

What cup size were you?

102. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

You’ll be made welcome! Who will be able to resist the heels?

Hi Natasha.

We had catering facilities so mine was ‘coffee cup’.

Anyone else gonna make an appearance?

103. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW Paula Rose.

“Sex Pistols”, “Dundee”.

The original Sex Pistols played their only Scottish gig in Dundee, in October, 1976.

From the link below…

“My memory of the journey is hazy, probably because there was beer involved, but I do remember waking the following morning as the train trundled over the Tay bridge and into Dundee.”

and

“We played that evening in a student union gaff and, while lightly attended, after a few numbers, pretty soon a barrage of glasses and bottles started hitting the stage belying the numbers in the sparse crowd.”

This was the gig in the “Bowlin’ Alley”, the students’ union of the Bell Street College of Technology. (See second link.)

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/what-s-on/music/fringe-preview-glen-matlock-1-3498531

http://retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/search?q=Bowling+Alley

Check out “THE BOWLING ALLEY – MARKETGAIT” in the list of hits.
    BTW: I am “Brian Wilson”.

104. Betty Boop

@Natasha, 10:10pm

Brian Dtt

What cup size were you?

Natasha, I was avoiding that corny question 🙂 BTW, does anyone use “corny” these days or am I just showing my years? 🙁

105. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi B Boop.

The adjective “cheesy” seems to have been substituted for “corny” in the past few years.

It has been applied to music, (ABBA, etc) and popular cultural philosophies, like deelyboppers, whirly bow-ties, and other stuff worn “for fun” at social functions.

Personally typing, I would be quite happy to see “cheesy” consigned to the wheely bin of obsolete words.

106. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    Ahh ok. Had to ask Wikipedia what Urtica Leaves were. I’m not sure I want to try that… (O.o)

Besides, I can draw some good inspiration from bad dreams! 🙂

@Brian Doonthetoon
    But “corny wotsits” just doesn’t have the same ring to it… 🙁

107. CameronB Brodie

The Jackets – Freak Out 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T6qZeIBFlM4

108. Paula Rose

Very very O/T something so beautiful…

http://www.thehollywoodnews.com/2014/12/09/watch-richard-butchins-poignant-insightful-documentary-an-attic-full-of-puppets-in-full/

might incur the wrath of rev – in mitigation, please watch out for Zizi.

109. Paula Rose

Cornish Yarg wrapped in nettle leaves – one of the most exquisite cheeses on the planet, Cornwall has an SNP branch – we are the future xx

110. Paula Rose

No embeddy thingy -phew!

111. Brian Doonthetoon

And no remarky on the whole Sex Pistolly Dundee fundemold.

Me thocht that would have suffered an interestymost in the punkoley Paula Rose.

Perhail, Paula Roses forgrail their roots, as they climbil the laddridge of age and noteritridge? Oh, deep folly!

112. Brian Doonthetoon

Onnyhoo, tonight I am mostly partaking of Lidl’s “Cheese Puffs”, which are Wotsits without the marketing budget.

113. Thepnr

OK, here we go a very special song dedicated to Johann Lamont from her very bestest pals Mags and Jim.

The O’Jays http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwZciH3hx-A

Most apt LOL

114. Paula Rose

Darlings hold on a sec – gotta tidy up a bit.

115. Ian Brotherhood

Sshhhh…

FFS, no-one let-on that the main thread comment-count is approaching 400,000.

We all remember Paula Rose’s shocking behaviour when this place was getting close to 10k. (Aye, the mask slipped then eh?)

It would be of inestimable benefit to us all if we confine her to O/T in the mantime, I mean, meantime – a suitably saucy conversation, and/or a steady supply of her fave music links may do the trick.

If, on the other hand, she breaks cover and hits the main threads as the clicker nears 400k? God bless us and save us and soap us and shave us, it doesn’t bear thinking about…

116. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I’ll try to hold the fort here with this. Paula loves the 70’s.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fvKlUfVb90Y

117. cearc

Hey, we’re discussing Maggie and Michael’s cheese! (The Yarg)Yummy stuff.

118. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Appreciated.

A manly/womanly/humanly supreme effort is required here, and it must succeed, like the gumsy budgie of yore. We must sort our plans before she gets back…

Anyway, here’s a catchy tune!

Jamelia, ‘Superstar’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_egs4VXHLYY

119. Paula Rose

C’est moi mes petites – waltzy time!

120. Paula Rose

I do darlings – I do

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PHNZUop7OK0

121. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I liked the start with the walking, very nice. Would be hard to beat Michael Jackson with the Billie Jean video though.

Was gonna link to that but thought naw, this walking is more entertaining.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLZ5AVHfnCs

122. Paula Rose

For those sweet boys –

I know this is how you feel…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUFL8WSxTgY

123. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Thanks for that footage of Slade performing ‘Come On Feel The Noiz’ (pardon my spelling) –

Correct me if I’m wrong here, but did Noddy Holder actually manage to grow sideburns during the three-or-so minutes of coverage? To the naked, untrained eye, it would seem so. By the end of the song they were encompassing his chin.

The question must be asked – who were these people?

124. Paula Rose

Darlings – its up to you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GqH21LEmfbQ

125. Paula Rose

btw girls – thepnr is all mine, just saying like.

126. Paula Rose

And everyone else of course.

127. Michael McCabe

I am getting old. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=cRLlYxGNFEc But I am Aye till I die.

128. Ian Brotherhood

Sshhh…Psst…Thepnr…it’s working…keep it going…she’s got no idea…shhhhh….

129. CameronB Brodie

Sticking with the Swiss theme (the Jackets are also Swiss).

The Monofones – Feel Alright
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otfYqI5sm9g

130. Oneironaut

Morning all… 🙂

Heading out to Irvine with some SSP folks for another street stall in a bit. Any Wingers in Irvine, feel free to stop by and say Hi.

Hoping Brian Donohoe and Co are there again so I can enjoy the sight of them slinking off again…

(They don’t seem to want to stick around to debate with us for some reason. Can’t think why…)

Anyways, leaving this here since it came up on this morning’s random music selection, and it has the name “Free”, which I like…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4_R1xm5vBU

Think I’ll grab some Lidl corn… err, I mean ‘cheese’ puffs on the way home! 😀

131. Oneironaut

Well, Brian Donohoe and his motley crew were conspicuous by their absence in Irvine today.

Perhaps something to do with the fact that the SNP and the Green Party were also out in full force, braving the weather that seemed to change every couple of minutes…

Nice day! 🙂

132. Natasha

@Oneironaut

We encountered John Lamont and some very handsome young men standing about with leaflets for the blue Tories in Selkirk; they were easily outnumbered by our SNP activists and left after half an hour, unable to withstand the spring showers (and occasional snow!). We, however, are made of sterner stuff, and continued undaunted (I’m still trying to get warm, though, 3 hours later).

They looked rather uncomfortable, I have to say.

133. CameronB Brodie

I’m just being silly now. Or am I?

The Strapones – Born To Consume
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qD_VFuzYF4Y

134. Oneironaut

@Natasha
    Blue Tories in Scotland?

I thought we only had the common or garden lesser-spotted Red Tory this far North of the border.

I can understand why they didn’t want to hang around in the cold, being an endangered species and all…

Hope you manage to warm up ok there 🙂

135. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

A repeat of the info from the 8th April…

Heads up, Wingers who will be in the Dundee area tomorrow.

On Sunday, from 12 noon until 4pm, Team YES Bus will be at City Square in Dundee, campaigning for independence and the SNP.

Any Wingers who are in Dundee at the weekend will be welcomed with open arms by Team YES Bus, to hammer home the benefits of re-electing Stuart Hosie in Dundee East and electing Chris Law (Spirit of Independence) in Dundee West.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/DSCN0155-1000.jpg

Tea and coffee will be available on the YES Bus. I’ll be there, Ronnie Anderson will be there – and Paula Rose has threatened to make a rare public appearance!

136. ronnie anderson

I,m leaveing Airdrie about 10am if anybody wants to go up to Dundee I can pick you up 12 to 4pm . 4 seats available n the phes are good in Dundee, Post up.

137. Ian Brotherhood

Lemar, ‘If There’s Any Justice’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OrXB31Znxpk

138. cearc

So what Natasha is really saying is she frightened off the tory totty!

139. ronnie anderson

test test test

140. cearc

Feeling a bit testy tonight, Ronnie?

141. Brian Doonthetoon

Testicular iteration, cearc…

142. CameronB Brodie

Right, sensible hat on.

Remember the Stamford University lecture suggesting that it is more than a philosophical proposition to suggest we create the world around us, and that we actually do shape our brains and so the world we perceive. Neural plasticity responding to outside stimuli. Well if that got you thinking, here’s an article from across the pond that might also be of interest. I think I might also have found an excuse for the Stuart Campbell’s voting history. 🙂 😉

http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/intersection/2011/09/07/your-brain-on-politics-the-cognitive-neuroscience-of-liberals-and-conservatives/#.VSl4B5OBJ8E

I for one would appreciate a trained opinion from any neuroscientists or psychologists out there. A word or two from a trained philosopher would also be appreciated. Including you Will. Ach, pile in. 😉

P.S. Prizes will be awarded for incorporating the concepts of modernity and post-modernity. Also, if you can find that psychiatric study I posted during indyref, suggesting wealth breads right-mindedness (not a right-wing outlook but the perception of correctness in thinking).

Fun hat on now.

MISUNDERSTOOD – MY MIND (from the album “Before the Dream Faded”)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRLggUhoCYo

143. Oneironaut

While we’re on the subjects of neuroscience and psychology. Here’s something I stumbled onto.

Apparently it has now been tested and proven as scientific fact that rich people are indeed a bunch of innately-selfish b*****ds…

arstechnica.com/science/2015/02/the-powerful-cheat-for-themselves-the-powerless-cheat-for-others/

144. CameronB Brodie

P.P.S. That was the best audio quality/least visually irritating/disturbing version I could find.

145. Paula Rose

The rich are very expensive – someone has to pay for them.

146. CameronB Brodie

Oneironaut
    Where’s Richard Dawkins when you need him. 😉

Aren’t genes also ‘plastic’, responding to outside stimuli?

147. Paula Rose

CameronB honey – read up about Lamark.

148. Paula Rose

Lamarck – ooh genetics.

149. Paula Rose

Any wingies going to Dundee tomorrow (later on today) who can give me a lift from Brechin?

150. CameronB Brodie

Stereolab – Exploding Head Movie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDkZyC0LuWI

151. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB-

re: ‘Exploding Head’ – good stuff.

Hoots!

152. CameronB Brodie

The Sound – I Can’t Escape Myself 😉
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0FKEDexivA

153. CameronB Brodie

I forgot to post the link that got me think about hats.

https://www.opendemocracy.net/ourkingdom/adam-ramsay/old-order-is-dying-but-refuses-to-go-quietly

154. CameronB Brodie

Offshoreness, globalization and sovereignty:
    A postmodern geo-political economy?

Dr. Alan Hudson
    Government and Politics Discipline
    Faculty of Social Sciences
    The Open University

Offshoreness provides a useful and important lens through which to look at the changing geographies of globalization and the reworking of sovereignty.

The phenomenon of “offshore”

– offshore financial centres (OFCs), export processing zones and special economic zones which are located legally, if not always physically, beyond the reach of onshore regulation – seems to play a central role in the restructuring of sovereignty as an ordering principle of the international political economy

London is onshore, but it could as well be across the pond for all the influence we have to regulate it. That can change very quickly though and probably for ever and ever. All we need do is maximise the SNP voice in Warminster. 😉

http://alanhudson.info/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/offshoreness.pdf

155. Natasha

@CameronB Brodie
    All we need do is maximise the SNP voice in Warminster.
    That’s odd, I didn’t think anyone from the SNP was standing in Warminster. 🙂

156. Paula Rose

Hair done, heels on
    Watch out Dundee
    Here I come!

157. Ian Brotherhood

Blimey – only 166 comments until we hit the 400k.

158. Brian Doonthetoon

Another fine day campaigning at City Square.

Ronnie A, Paula Rose and me are now partaking of coffees in Henry’s coffee house.

159. Paula Rose

400,001?

160. Taranaich

You can all listen to the Inverclyde hustings at the Greenock Town Hall, featuring Yes Inverclyde campaign co-ordinator turned SNP candidate Ronnie Cowan debating with Labour’s Iain McKenzie, the Conservatives’ George Jabbour, LibDem John Watson and UKIP’s Michael Burrows:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/04/12/inverclyde-debate-8th-april-opening-statements/

161. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You nailed 400,001?

162. Paula Rose

Of course I did Ian dear – I had to do something while ronnie anderson and Beedeeteetee were admiring my new shoes!

163. Patrician

For all those using Chrome as their browser and having to enter their details each time they post, try this extension:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10473839/WOS_Details.zip

Download this file and unzip it, a directory WOS_Details will be created, this directory contains 6 plain text files. Make a note of where you saved the directory.

Start Chrome, click on the “Customise and Control” button, this button is usually in the upper right hand side of the browser window,it has 3 horizontal bars. In the dropdown menu, click “More Tools” -> “Extensions”. Click on the check box “Turn on Developer mode”. Then click on the button “Load unpacked extension”, in the file dialogue box find the directory WOS_Details you saved earlier and select it.

The extension should now be visible in the extensions window with the name WOS_Details. There are 2 ways to set your details, using the “Options” link on the “Extensions” page or on a Wings blog page click on the green link in the address bar, both open the same page. Enter your details and click on the “Save” button. Now load a Wings blog page and your details should be automatically entered onto the page.

Warning, the usual caveats and provisos are in force. You use this at your own risk. I haven’t found any issues with this extension so far but no doubt there are bugs somewhere. This hasn’t been industrialised, there is very little to no error checking. Let me know if you use it even if there are no issues for you and definitely let me know if there is an issue. Please note, this will not affect the normal running of your PC and won’t be the cause of any strange behaviour outside of Chrome.

If you need an extension similar to this for Firefox use Autofill v3.6. I will have a look at getting this to run in Opera. If you run IE or Safari then I am afraid you are shit out of luck 😀

164. ronnie anderson

Oh you,s will aw be jealous of me, I met the Lovely La Contessa with Paula Rose,I was pampered rotten La Contessa,s Plum & Rasberry tart mmmmmmmm.

And naw ah didnae wipe ma mooth on the table cloth, I used the embroidered napkin provided. Thank you,s very much Ladies for ah very entertaining evening.

BrianDT lovely day spent in your company,& the SNP campainers.

165. Thistle

Hi All

we are livestreaming tomorrow from the blockade at Faslane. We should be live around 7am…

Please share and tweet: http://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/blockade

166. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie, BDTT, PR et al –

Nice to hear that y’all had a good time. Sounds very civilised! (Napkins? Oooh-er!)

Next week we really will have to start punting the CH MayDay gig. No new names for a good few days now. We also need to discuss you-know-what (i.e. the flags/managerial discretion thing) with a view to being prepared on the night if we end up confronting jobsworth-related pishiness.

And the raffle…and accommodating those who want to bring instruments but will probably have to play outside in the square…and the proper organisation of a team-photie…making sure any Livestream has something to stream apart from swilling hordes…hassling Press and/or ‘celebs’ to attend…etcetera.

Best response to the shameful rubbish we’re getting from the Murph/McTernan/BT crowd is to show them how to party, and do it with a bit of class.

167. cearc

Thistle,

7am! Wow, that’s dedication.

168. cearc

Ian B.

Still not certain here but looking possible.

To avoid pisshiness, would it not be better to book the space rather than just take it over?

169. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

I hope you do make it – ’twas a real pleasure meeting you last time.

Even if the space was booked, it wouldn’t solve the possible problem. I’d best leave it to Ronnie, BDTT and X-Sticks to explain, if they want to.

Can’t imagine ‘it’ will be a major issue, but we should be prepared all the same. (Sorry to be so cryptic, but ye never know who’s reading, and we don’t want to go giving them any ideas, eh?!)

170. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    I suppose I could come along after all and handle the team photie responsibility…

Then again… Expensive camera + Squashed into overcrowded area = Making me nervous!

I suppose I could bring the cheap compact one with the broken screen again, but these days it’s too much hassle finding the right way to bang it against the tabletop to make it work…

All this technical stuff is really not as easy as I make it look!

171. Taranaich

I decided to go through a local Inverclyde leaflet Wings-style:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/04/13/a-public-service-announcement-to-labour-voters-in-inverclyde/

Not quite as acerbic or deadly as the good Reverend, but I’d like to think educational enough.

172. Oneironaut

@Taranaich
    “Not quite as acerbic or deadly as the good Reverend, but I’d like to think educational enough.”

You’re definitely getting there though. Nice one! 🙂

Got what looks like a very similar leaflet in from “Katy Clark’s office”… (Actually the Post Office!)

Haven’t read it though, I know I’ll just get wound up if I do.
    I ended up just ripping it in half and will be posting it back through her office door later as a small act of defiance…

173. Thepnr

Hey Patrician

Thanks for that wee extension. It works for me regarding filling in the boxes, now to see if the page will refresh faster. Good work, will let you know. Ta.

174. Thepnr

Promising! That posted instantly 🙂

175. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT
    @PeteTC

Counting House Badges
    Maryhill Ladies

Julie Webster
    Lynda McConnell
    Jackie Timmonoy
    Collette McDonald
    Jack Smart

Thanks guys.

176. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee and Peeteeteecee – can I have two badges, one for each shoe?

177. Thepnr

We’re not all as old as Paula and in love with the 70’s so here’s one for us younger folk from the 90’s LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yuTMWgOduFM

178. Jock Scot

Hi Folks,

May I request a badge for the Counting House night on the first of May

Jock Scot

179. Thepnr

@ Jock Scot

Glad to hear you will make it my friend, don’t forget the hat 🙂

180. Patrician

Tried having a go at this blogging lark, it is harder than it seems. Have a look at https://cybernatdotorg.wordpress.com/
    Be kind 😉

181. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Weil am punting everything at hand Ian, Badges in Dundee, CHouse attendance.

Am no gone doon tae Cambridge,tae punt on the Cam thats a river am no gonna cross. lol

182. ronnie anderson

@ Patrician ah wiz kind wie ma comment,well done.

183. Thepnr

Just enjoyed a bag a Arbroath wulks, forget oysters and caviar, the upper classes don’t know what their missing.

Keep it a secret.

184. Patrician

@ronnie anderson.

First comment, no one can take that away from you now.

185. Stoker

Justtaken a trip down memory lane:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5INzqtUi9aw

186. Stoker

Taken me back to school:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHPI5o5zPhM

187. Stoker

Still on a trip down memory lane, these guys out on their luck had to work as builders and they were contracted to refurbish the girls toilets in one of my old schools in England – Southwood Upper school, Corby, Northants:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i15ALD6fsUU

188. Stoker

I always had a thing for this lady, and i still do:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4Gh-GH8Miw

189. Thepnr

@Stoker

Yeah liked it, many memories of the time. However did you ever try dancing to it? Impossible LOL.

190. Stoker

No reason, i just like it:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4Gh-GH8Miw

191. Stoker

Alex,

192. Stoker

OK, goodnight folks (maybe), sorry for repeating Annabella Lwin,
    honestly didn’t mean it. Alex, no, would never try dancing to her music, was always mesmerised by her :), take care mate.
    I’ll leave you good folk with this cracker (maybe).
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBcq5EzBcmQ

193. Stoker

The 7th May? The Polls? You Never Can Tell:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-Q3ADnJKpY

194. Jim Thomson

Back on the subject of posts not appearing/taking ages

I made the mistake yesterday of clearing out all cookies from Chrome.

Expected to see the response form blank (which it was) so filled it in with the usual details and posted earlier on the latest thread. The usual behaviour is a refresh of page and a return to the bottom of the thread. That didn’t happen. Page refreshed but stayed at top. Scrolled down to end and no sign of my post.

I posted again with slightly different content and that didn’t appear either.

Changed to IE11 and checked page, second post was there but not first, plus a lot of posts from others.

So, conclusion is that the whole posting debacle is cookie based.

I’ll have a hunt for the family of Wings cookies on my laptop (which doesn’t have the problem) and copy them across to this desktop PC and see what happens.

Might take a while (doing other things right now) so none of that breath holding, ok?

195. Jim Thomson

Weird, the post I put on here via Chrome hasn’t appeared, and I’m now looking via IE11

196. Quentin Quale

Still chortling at Cameron’s speech where he talks of ‘buccaneering Britain’. Ah yes, buccaneer: a person who acts in a recklessly adventurous and often unscrupulous way, especially in business. Pretty much says it all.

197. Quentin Quale

Now Cameron promises ‘the Good Life for all’. So, will you & yours be Tom & Barbara or Jerry & Margo? Suppose we’ll have to wait and see if Cameron offers a free packet of seeds for everyone.

198. Jim Thomson

testing, testing, 1, 2, 3.

Not transferred the cookies from laptop yet. Just trying to see if anything has improved.

199. Jim Thomson

and, no, it hasn’t.

200. chipmonkey

The return of Quentin Quale to off topic! Not just once! Recovered from the lurgae at last ? xx

201. Paula Rose

I keep my cookies in a tin, how do you store them in your lap?

202. G

What’s happening with the campaign perks Rev?

203. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT & PeteTC.

Another one for the Badge CH

Paul Kavanagh (WGD)Thanks Guys.

204. X_Sticks

Anyone going to the Holyrood YeSNP rally on Sat?

The CH badge list is fairly growing – it’s going to be a cracker I think. Fair looking forward to it I have to say.

205. Paula Rose

So glad I won’t be the only celebrity there.

206. X_Sticks

Just noticed they’ve had to more the rally location to the Radical Road restaurant on Willowbrae road – new info here:

https://www.facebook.com/events/730063793745967/

I’ll still be going – some good speakers on.

207. X_Sticks

@Paula

Ah, but you’ll be the only celebrity with style (and probably the only one with stilettos, implements of bondage and whips, though I’m not sure about that Paul Kavanagh 😉 )

208. Patrician

@thepnr

Have a try of this Chrome extension:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8wzblnc749vg73i/chrome-killfile-extension.zip?dl=0

This does something totally different but is useful.

209. Oneironaut

Still uncertain of whether or not to go to CH myself…

Or just stay at home and play darts with my dartboard with the picture of Jim Murphy on it…

Or go on another dream vision quest to find my spirit guide…

The party never ends here! 🙂

210. Thepnr

@Patrician

Cheers, the original is working fine as far as keeping the boxes filled in with your name and email. Unfortunately, it appears to have made no difference to the lag in posts.

Will try the new one and let you know.

211. Thepnr

Wee test.

212. Thepnr

Sorry folks another test after disabling WOS Details. Patrician knows what it means.

213. Thepnr

OK Patrician

May have installed the new one wrongly but disabling WOS Details made my name and email disappear. Can’t be sure though that I installed the latest file successfully.

I just downloaded it then added the extension to Chrome by navigating to the folder I downloaded too.

214. Patrician

Don’t disable WOS_details, the new extension fulfils another task. Can you guess what it does? Don’t worry it isn’t nasty.

215. Stoker

@ Natasha,
    Left you a reply on The cowards of the county thread.

216. Thepnr

To be honest I can’t guess, but it certainly didn’t speed up the time taken for posts to appear 🙁

I’m afraid that whatever it does is not apparent on first observation at least. I’ll try again tomorrow, makes sense 🙂

217. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose nae worries Paula, you,ll still be the star attaction,ah telt Mr Kavanagh last week the Ginger Dugs the Star no him (he,s still talking tae me tho) & the Dug canny get in to CH.

218. ronnie anderson

8mins for post to appear.

219. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“What’s happening with the campaign perks Rev?”

They’re coming. Some technical stuff with the book is taking a wee while.

220. Stoker

From the BBC:
    “Police and fire services are investigating the cause of a fire at Strathmartine Hospital in Dundee. Fire crews were called to the listed derelict building on Craigmill Road after the blaze broke out in a roof space.”

Dim Jim issued his apologies for not being able to attend the scene, citing a severe lack of casualties as his reason.

Jenny Marra stated that the fire will only add to the derelict hospitals current inability to reach its A&E targets.

Deputy Dug blames the SNP for the severe lack of casualties and the derelict hospital’s inability to reach any targets.

Jabba Blabber is speechless at these latest Slabber findings and is spotted sitting on Dim Jim’s lap with her trademark gormless grin on her face.

221. Patrician

I will say this again, NO ONE HERE CAN SPEED THE UP THE POSTING OF COMMENTS. The issue is server side. Stu needs to get in contact with his hosting company and get them to investigate: 1) why the config of WordPress was changed last July/August; 2) What is the issue for slow posts, is it contention on the host? over eager spam filters? or something else entirely different.

It needs to be delegated to one of the professionals the hosting fee pays for.

222. Patrician

@ thepnr, hint for the new extension, goto one of your posts. On the top line of the post where you name appears go to the right of your name and on that line some options should now appear.

223. Jim Thomson

trying with replaced cookies. Not holding breath.

224. Jim Thomson

OK, that came up straight away, but, no completed fields in the submit box area.

225. Jim Thomson

That “instant posting” lasted all of 20 seconds … now waiting to see the follow-up one (and probably this one too.)

226. Cadogan Enright

I’d love to know what my 11.44 post got deleted – its usually obvious – but this looked distinctly on-topic for Armageddon

I posted about Deutsche bank on this site a few days ago – does anybody know the author of their anti-Scottish electoral intervention this time?
    Is s/he the same as the author of the intervention the Referendum debate by Deutsche bank?
    Does this person have any connections with other UK political parties?
    Does Deutsche bank’s head office know that their branch office is playing politics in the UK and Scotland? If so, what benefit does Deutsche bank see for itself in this meddling intervention?

Never complained before – but explanation warranted here . .

227. Jim Thomson

Ok – now trying on the trusty ol’ laptop

@Cadogan Enright – use the “Contact” tab in the very top bar of the wings page and ask Stuart directly why it was deleted. I can see a response from Roughian at 11:56 to whatever the posting was though.

228. Jim Thomson

Now have both the laptop and the desktop with same Chrome settings

229. Natasha

@Stoker 11.16pm
    Got it, thanks! You’re obviously not a control freak like me . . . 🙂

230. Wee Jonny

I watched Pointless last night.
    Or as it’s better known – A Party Political Broadcast from the Lib Dems.

231. Macart

So far no last last minute catastrophes. How’s the list coming along for the CH night?

232. David

@ CameronB Brodie, thanks for posting the Misunderstood song – I don’t normally recognise the bands you post, but them I have heard of before!

@ Thepnr, you posted the Ruts singing Babylon’s Burning – but instead of Jum Murphy, surely that’s Graeme Obree singing for them! (Aye that one, the Scottish World Champion cyclist.)

233. Oneironaut

@Wee Jonny
    Would have imagined a Party Political Broadcast from the Lib Dems to be something like Nick Clegg saying:

“Please vote for us… Please? I don’t want to be in a coalition any more… I’m sick of running around in that maid’s outfit Cameron always makes me wear! I hate making the tea for everyone! Vote for us and we’ll make everything nice again… Honest!”

234. Patrician

Just tested the Chrome autofill extension I posted up a few days ago on Opera browser. Good news, it works without any modification in the new chromium based versions of Opera (the one that doesn’t have the mail client).

235. Paula Rose

Opera! Yippee – no more of this computer nerdery, whose first with an aria?

236. Paula Rose

An aria with wings…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZ_Ep8i-Uh0

237. Paula Rose

giggle giggle – more arias with wings…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rjOrOt6wFw

238. CameronB Brodie

David
    You’re very welcome David. The Misunderstood might not be the most obscure band I have posted, but I honestly didn’t think any readers would recognise them. I’ll need to try harder in future. 😉

239. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Macart.

Here’s the list I have, up to NOW…

List For Counting House 1/5/15

Ian Brotherhood

Ronnie Anderson

crazycat

Alexandra-M

Irene King

John King (Eccles)

Lollysmum

Macart

Mrs Macart

X_Sticks

Paula Rose

Cactus

Jim Thomson

Betty Boop

Alistair Grapevine

Brian Doonthetoon

Pete the Camera

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Quentin Quayle

Chipmonkey

Bob Sinclair

Helen Sinclair

Sand Holmes

iclare1

TJenny

Thepnr

Thistle

Jock Scot

Indigo

Natasha

Kininvie

Irene Anderson

Julie Webster
    Lynda McConnell
    Jackie Timmonoy
    Collette McDonald
    Jack Smart

Paul Kavanagh (WGD)

Anyone else wahnta baj?

240. Thepnr

Talking of pensioners here’s Steve Harley less than 3 years away from collecting his.

Saw him for the last time at the Queens Hall, Edinburgh in 2006 where he gave an excellent performance. Once a rocker always a rocker.

This is from 2013.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ux07mWAUi0

241. Brian Doonthetoon

It’s not too often that I post links to music videos but, seeing as I’m on holiday, I thought I would.

In January 1968, our family got our hand-me-down Dansette that could play 45’s and 33’s – unlike our previous gramophone that could only play 78’s.

Onnyhoo, I started to scour the second hand shops and the Dens Road Market, looking for the stuff that it had been pointless to buy previously.

In my expeditions, I kept finding copies of this 45. By the number of them available second-hand, every hovelhold in Dundee must have possessed a copy at one time.

I was lucky enough to see them live in the Caird Hall in the early 70s, supporting The Who or Deep Purple or some such major band.

Two videos here; the original single from 1964, then a revival of the band from a live performance in 2011.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rejn0Kw03T4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwGG53SIHuw

242. frogesque

I need a break!

Need to get away from all the election shyte so I’m off to Kildonan for a week’s gold panning. If anyone is passing Baile an Or look for a caravan and a white van with Pudsey wearing a YES badge and an SNP sticker in the window.

If I’m about (probably after 6.00pm) then drop in and I’ll put kettle on for a brew!

243. Macart

Cheers Brian

Good to see Paul will be there and so looking forward to meeting you guys after all this time.

244. pete the camera

Nicola is doing well tonight

245. Paula Rose

Keep the comments coming darlings – I’m “watching” the debate here and on the wings twitter feedie thing.

246. pete the camera

Nigel the arse does it again

247. pete the camera

poor Nigel has the girls walking all over him tonight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISzoUdtMSH4

248. Paula Rose

Me! Me! I want to join in!

249. pete the camera

Get your heels on girl

250. Paula Rose

Will when I’ve finished sharpening them…

251. call me dave

Paula Rose ordered me over here! OK… It’s on radio 5 live.

Loved it when Ed was asked “would you press the button”

Trident! We all know what they will say. Sturgeon is doing well.

252. Paula Rose

Radio 5 live dear? Wouldn’t even deign to twiddle the dial.

253. call me dave

Silence ….for Farage on everything he says. Deserves it!

I’ll tweak my dial if I want to! 🙂

Scottish auntie not broadcasting it and no license reqd. Don’t pay for BBC tv either.

Sturgeon dropping wee hints to Ed about being prime minister can’t see if he’s puffing out his chest a bit.

254. call me dave

Ooops! Thought so Ed returns the compliment and uses Farage to do it.

Deal or No deal? Issue by issue basis.

255. Paula Rose

The tipping point?

256. call me dave

Farage blows a gasket!

Yes tipping point might be reached. Rhetoric always becomes reality as Ed knows.

Is Murphy on egg-heads?

Big Q now, will Ed make a deal.

Sturgeon will flutter her eyelids now and it’s a clincher Ed has his needs. 🙂

257. Paula Rose

Is Murphy actually there?

258. call me dave

Only in his dreams! No only Ed..Murphy in dog house.

Just an egghead ; tipping point and deal or no deal joke!
    I’ll get my coat. 🙁

259. Paula Rose

Sorry – bit cryptic – his twitter feed is silent.

260. call me dave

Ed just blew it, mentioned 1979..What a plonker!

Only 30+ labour MP’s voted Callaghan out in the vote.

Blimey Farage wanting in bed with Ed too but no EU referendum so it’s off. Lucky escape Ed.

261. Brian Doonthetoon

“Exploitative zero hours contracts”

I thought this was a Murphyism, limited to the Scottish branch office; as if the users of the phrase were proud to be able to pronounce the phrase correctly, with no mistakes, so used it at every opportunity.

But Milliband has learned to get his tongue round it – and decided to use it tonight!

I don’t know about anyone else but I’d be content to hear about the abolition of FORCED zero hours contracts – not just the exploitative ones.

Some people DO prefer that way of working (nurse banks, for example) but it shouldn’t be compulsory.

Bring back the contract of employment…

262. Paula Rose

Um – the 30 odd votes were previous to the confidence vote.

263. Paula Rose

Bring back employment.

264. Brian Doonthetoon

I thought 34 Labour rebels voted against their own party in 1979?

265. Paula Rose

Oh you youngsters – you do make me sniggle, go and do some reading.

266. Paula Rose

Tweeted by Alastair – simples

We should treat immigrants the way we want emigrants treated #VoteSNP @NicolaSturgeon #SNP #BBCDebate

267. Brian Doonthetoon

I just have, madam!

This is from the link at the foot of this post…

Jim Callaghan knocks the Labour myth that the SNP caused Labour’s loss in 1979. As he says:

“Michael Cocks, the Chief Whip, had spoken with some of Labour’s Devolution rebels. In his view the difficulty within the Party was much greater than any from the Scottish National Party and the Whips’ judgement was that the Government could not rely on the votes of Labour Members from Merseyside or the North if we moved to reject the Repeal Order”
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/36-years-of-discontent/

Writing about the 40% rule and the support of 34 Labour MPs for it he says

“This provision was carried by a majority of fifteen, with as many as thirty-four Labour Members voting against the Government. On the other hand a small number of Conservatives and the Liberal Party supported us.

I have since wondered whether those thirty-four Labour Members would have voted as they did if they had been able to foresee that their votes on that evening would precipitate a General Election in 1979, at the least favourable time for their Government.”

http://www.politicsforum.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=103&t=45119

268. Paula Rose

Oops – Alasdair

269. Paula Rose

BUT IT WAS’NT THE CONFIDENCE VOTE !!!

270. call me dave

UM: yes correct I should have got that right! Thanks for that.

Still: Enjoyed the debate and Sturgeon will now be talked down by the Con Lib labour spinners like Dougy Alexander now on radio 5.

271. Jim McIntosh

It shows the state of our media when the after debate debate is held in the ‘spin room’.

272. Paula Rose

Correction – Paula Rose ‘corrects’.

273. call me dave

Ach well correct me anytime. 🙂

Off to the golf on Crich tv That’s free too!

274. Paula Rose

@ call me dave

xxx

275. Paula Rose

Anyone ken how to get the Blurrt UK graph on twitter up here?

276. Ian Brotherhood

Let the record show…on 16.4.15, at 9.35 pm, Paula Rose ‘shouted’ on O/T.

This election palaver is making beasts of us all…

277. Paula Rose

beast? little moi? YOU BETTER BELIEVE IT!

278. Brian Doonthetoon

Paula Rose – Eh luv it when yi git loused…

279. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee darling – take care honey, might get sticky.

280. Paula Rose

Now dearests bear with me – If you had scored Nichola 5 out of 10 in previous debates, what score would you give her for this one?

281. JLT

Guys …didn’t realise that the Counting House gig on the 1st was getting your name down onto a list. What is it that I need to do? Do I just state here that I would like to attend and someone will update the list? I very rarely come to the off-topic page so at a bit of a loss here.

As said, would love to go and catch up with a lot of old faces, as well meet some new ones.

282. Paula Rose

JLT sweetie – unique lovely well designed badge with your moniker on it if you are on the list otherwise tacky bit of sticky label with a felt pen scrawl.

283. JLT

Brian Doonthetoon

Had a quick scan through the posts to get the gist of what I need to do (or what I have perceived so far LOL) for the gig at the Counting House.

Would love to attend.

If OK and there is room for me, then for my badge …can I have ‘JLT’

Thanks for pointing me in this direction, Brian. Cheers again

284. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi JLT.

You have discovered that area of the cyberworld, known to those who hang out here, as ‘off-topic’!

Welcome to our world! Paula Rose will take you under her Wing and be gentle with you.

I’ll add you to the badge list. See up above, my post of last night –
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-22/#comment-1997889

I’ll add you to the list.

285. JLT

Hi Paula Rose

LOL …worst comes to worst …I’ll get one made up at work! I work in IT, so I’m sure I can lay my hands on a colour printer somewhere and get my Unicorn Avatar made up.

Thanks again, and I’m looking forward to meeting you on the 1st, Paula.

Thanks again

286. Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

Short answer? Just turn up.

The ‘list’ is for rough indications, but important if you would like a personalised badge to commemorate attendance!

Nae worries – we’ll be punting it big-time in advance, so no details will escape yer ken.

Hoots, hic, etc, and see ye there!

287. Paula Rose

Unlike everything else – I unchain unicorns xx

288. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

Is James Kelly (Scot Goes Pop!) gonna be there? Is he one of your mystery celebrities?

289. Ian Brotherhood

As per usual, angry Paula Rose is having a dig at yours truly for resorting to the use of sticky labels and felt pens.

I would like it to be known that, for the CH gig last year (April 4th) the felt pens and ‘address labels’ (as they should properly be called) were all bought in Morrison’s, and I kept the receipt. Maybe not up to everyone’s standards, but they didn’t fall off the back of a fucking lorry – okay?

Badges, badges…talk about feeding ye’s a line?

290. Paula Rose

Ian honey I loved your valiant d-i-y attempt to make sure that people could get to know each other, it was very sweet, if a little Blue Peterish xx

291. Brian Doonthetoon

I still have my badge (credit card size) that I made for the two get-togethers, in Broughty Ferry and Glasgow, May 2014.

So there. PARP!

8=)

292. Paula Rose

I’ve still got my ‘address labels’ and I shall treasure them forever.

293. Thepnr

Whit nae music 🙁

294. Paula Rose

Got any fat lady singing?

295. Paula Rose

One of my favourite curvy ladies… Beth Ditto

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xl4fAwuhG8Q

296. Brian Doonthetoon

Och music.

I will repaste my post from last night that elicited absolutely no response. From anybody…
    —————————————————-

Brian Doonthetoon says:
    16 April, 2015 at 1:06 am

It’s not too often that I post links to music videos but, seeing as I’m on holiday, I thought I would.

In January 1968, our family got our hand-me-down Dansette that could play 45’s and 33’s – unlike our previous gramophone that could only play 78’s.

Onnyhoo, I started to scour the second hand shops and the Dens Road Market, looking for the stuff that it had been pointless to buy previously.

In my expeditions, I kept finding copies of this 45. By the number of them available second-hand, every hovelhold in Dundee must have possessed a copy at one time.

I was lucky enough to see them live in the Caird Hall in the early 70s, supporting The Who or Deep Purple or some such major band.

Two videos here; the original single from 1964, then a revival of the band from a live performance in 2011.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rejn0Kw03T4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwGG53SIHuw

297. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Jings, I suppose everyone who had a record player had a Dansette. Think ours was a natty shade of aqua marine, or somesuch, the very height of modernity after the Bakelite 78s and winding up the gramophone. The arm even moved off the record automatically! Wow!

Don’t recall “The Poets”, my head must have been full of The Beatles and The Kinks and stuff. Stereo looked no’ too bad in the later video though; strategically placed lighting I suppose ;-).

298. JLT

Cheers Ian Brotherhood

Catch you there on the night. I don’t usually drink …but I think I may that evening LOL

299. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    I liked the sticky labels. Nice idea 🙂

I kept mine as a souvenir. Still got it somewhere around here…

300. fionan

Aaaaahhh Yes Yes YES! finally after a month abroad in deepest France with no phone or internet or contact with the real world, a fix of Wings! And boy, its going to ba at least a 24 hour fix! How I have missed my daily buzz sussing out the buzz. Great to be back online if not in body, Wingers, even tho I’m mostly just a lowly lurker. And the news is all looking pretty good. Now, am I too late to get a proxy vote? (don’t trust postals!)

301. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood 16th.11.13pm Ah did’nt say onnything adverse aboot your sticky lable’s , so,s leave ma Badges Badges line tae me, am still punting Badges wie BrianDTT & PeteTC.

Badges badges badges limited edition , did I say limited edition , aye ah did, we huv lions,tigers,cats,dugs,pandas,penguins (ronnie we,ve nae penguins Ok Brian Taxi fur Ronnie & the comedy goes on N on N on. lol

302. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood ah furgoat Insie winsie Spider gifted to us by the poster, Ronnie try try try again.lol

303. Oneironaut

Actually wouldn’t mind a badge (as if I don’t have enough already!)
    Are they only for people in the super-secret exclusive cybernat club who turn up on the night though? 🙂

304. Quentin Quale

Erm, anybody got an update on the state of play of Wee Rory’s Border Cairn?

305. Paula Rose

Eek the cairn – news fellow wingers? Lesley-Anne honey update?

306. Michael McCabe

@fionan if you have a postal vote and want to change it to a proxy vote. you must cancel your postal vote in writing or complete and return a proxy application BEFORE 5PM ON TUESDAY 21st of April. for more information the electoral registration office number is (0131) 344 2500 that number is for Edinburgh. hope that helps.

307. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

Our Dansette was that sort of bluey colour as well. Incidentally, recently I have acquired a Dansette Viva from my mother in law, who was having a house clearance, prior to flitting. It’s that bluey colour as well.

The Poets were a Scottish blues, freakbeat and psychedelic pop band, who were managed and produced by Andrew Loog Oldham. Some of their singles were released on his Immediate Records label. Their cover version of “Baby Don’t You Do It”, was produced by Immediate in-house record producer, Paul Raven (Gary Glitter).

That’s from:-
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Poets

Hi Oneironaut.

The badges are done as souvenirs of the event so you have to let us know you’re going and you have to turn up to claim your badge. That’s how you managed to claim one at the November Glasgow get-together.

8=)

308. Paula Rose

Oh btw Quentin Quale – finally got the film developed from the first Inverwotsit gathering, gosh you really do stand out amongst the other skinny dippers. Nice capture of cearc looking on approvingly.

309. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I found a pic of ‘Rory the cairn’.

http://tinyurl.com/m7do4eq

310. Paula Rose

@ Oneironaut – darling you are so dreamy, please come on the first.

311. Paula Rose

PAUL RAVEN IS FUCK ALL TO DO WITH PAUL GADD

312. Paula Rose

This one Beedeeteetee – xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzpHmhLNmz0

313. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

We’re not talking about the Killing Joke bassist – it’s the other one…

After performing as Paul Raven in the 1960s, he first came to prominence as Gary Glitter in the glam rock era of the early 1970s…

314. Paula Rose

Whoops – there went a good thing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3FU8Fdz2sw

315. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee – I ken dear but I don’t want him to have any kudos whatsoever.

316. fionan

Michael McCabe thank you for info, will phone on Monday see if I can arrange a vote – f not it will be the first ever election I’ll have missed voting for indepence/snp. OK next question – anyone have any suggestions or plans to get the elction night results onto utube or livestream or whatever as it seems we cant access iplayer here and I will be on tenterhooks once the polls close, like most folk I suppose. Are there still any other French based wingers going about? If you see my wee van puttering about with its YES stickers, give me a shout, all survival advice most welcome

317. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

That video you posted just now…

On the ‘London American’ labels in the video (a Decca label), they are named as the American Poets. The Scottish Poets were originally on Decca – “Now We’re Thru” was on Decca.

So I guess there was a band in the US, going by the same name.
    Here’s another from the Scottish Poets.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CtRnLMORqg

318. Paula Rose

Friday night – stacking up the discs on the dansette…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fh8xuEyIWYM

319. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Here’s an unusual Dusty one for you. From the original “Casino Royale”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IW_kMtut25M

320. Paula Rose

For tram fans everywhere…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDhaZElJ4Ho

321. Paula Rose

This will annoy some of you (if you have no sense of humour)…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3hcZ4s9cvpw

322. Quentin Quale

Brian Doonthetoon, Rory the Cairn. Still laughing. Here’s Dusty covering a Randy Newman song.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHk5zs4ll44

323. Paula Rose

Let me know if you want your spindle re-loaded…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAtUw6lxcis

324. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi fionan.

See if you can get these two sites. On the first, select “UK Live TV” from the list on the left and you should see BBC1 Scotland.

http://www.filmon.tv/tv/live

You can also try this one:-

http://www.tvcatchup.com/

The second doesn’t offer BBC1 Scotland, just BBC1. However, both have apps available for Android and iPhone and the tvcatchup app offers BBC1 Scotland, Wales and N. Ireland.

Maybe worth trying to see if they’ll work in France.

BTW: Welcome to ‘off-topic’!

325. Quentin Quale

Hi Paula, the weekend is here so time to leap aboot the lobby
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LyAFrmafmKo

326. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi fionan.

If you try these web sites and get a message saying you have to be in the UK, try this site:-

http://www.proxfree.com/

You want the server to be in the UK but, more importantly, your “IP Address Location” should be selected as ‘United Kingdom’ from the drop-down menu.

Here’s what it says at proxfree…

More information
    Simply enter the address of the website you wish to access in the bar above and press enter or click “ProxFree”.

ProxFree acts as an intermediate (i.e. “proxy”) between you and the target website. This means that you see the target website, but the address bar in your browser contains “proxfree.com”. Therefore, as long as you have access to ProxFree.com you have access to any website even in a censored environment.

Your privacy and anonymity is maintained since the remote website sees only the proxy server and it’s IP address.

327. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee sweetie you read my mind!

328. Paula Rose

That spindle keeps on turning…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEhS9Y9HYjU

329. Paula Rose

Can’t resist darlings, showing my age…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVAahsWM_2Y

330. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Funnily enough Brian, I was searching for clips from the original “Casino Royale”, that I think might explain some of our southern neighbour’s perception of Scottish-ness. The first 15 minutes or so could be responsible for a lot of misapprehension. James Bond (David Niven) battling mad, mental, incestuous Jocks who are stuck in an imaginary bygone era. 🙂

331. X_Sticks

You lot not watching the Livestream of the Common Fest Night? Link on main thread.

Alan Bissett’s just had his band on.

332. Paula Rose

re 8:23 so lovely to see X_sticks and Tartan Tory leading the dance.

333. Paula Rose

perhaps you would prefer something truly beautiful –

the country I chose to live in

my dearest friends enjoy…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GXx1Io7StE

334. Paula Rose

Loading up the spindle…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tP5FS6IXJJA

335. Paula Rose

Need I say more about why I CHOOSE to live here?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnCI_kFuG3g

336. Paula Rose

This is the world I am welcomed into…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAxeKEZSJ6c

Is there a greater country?

337. Paula Rose

enough of this restraint –

One of my friends xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J34zX-JsOrI

338. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
    Sans les Pistols. 😉

Laurel and Hardy – Way Out West – At The Ball
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-84jOEmCf4

339. Brian Doonthetoon

Och well, Paula Rose…
    If you’re gonna go in a ‘sweary word’ direction…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RIYi0D_m4o

And the CLASSIC from the band:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojufSzByheE

340. Michael McCabe

@ fionan Hopefully Brian Doonthetoon has given you some great advice and you get the results. but if all else fails there will be people on the main threads or on off topic when the results are coming in. so if you cant get them you can ask us to keep you up to date.

341. Paula Rose

Ha ha fucking ha…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pKkOOQR7_o

342. Michael McCabe

Paula rose Brian Doonthetoon Language Language. Here is a mellower interpetation http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rc4eYOhNnU8&feature=player_detailpage

343. CameronB Brodie

So where do you think Ska comes from?

Johnny Griffin – Chuck-a-Boogie (1948)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xggJ-K371ns

344. Thepnr

This place is busy tonight. Just the adrenalin kicking in I guess. Election not far away now, ooohhhh scary? Not.

I was going to say something really profound but I’m too drunk so will go to bed instead. Enjoy the rest of the night 🙂

345. ronnie anderson

@ oneirnaut Brian & Pete will have the Limited edition badges on the nite 50p all proceeds go to foodbanks.

346. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

You coming to the Glasgow bash?

And early rocky stuff…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2KMDA13ITg

347. Brian Doonthetoon

And prior to the 50s, there was the 30s…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXSKMmGHOT4

348. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee bit of Boogie Woogie. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZV7GCBZkDw&feature=player_detailpage

349. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    I’m going to try, but can’t say for certain yet.

This one blows my mind. Notice the all coloured audience. The USA was still an apartheid state when this was filmed.

Martha Davis – Martha’s Boogie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DKaSoxJ43A

350. Michael McCabe

@ CameronB Brodie As always a wide and interesting Choice of Music. Here’s some drums Boogie. Done by a Father & Daughter. The Drum solo kicks of about 2 minutes in. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=oZbbQ3t7mYA

351. CameronB Brodie

For those still thinking of voting British Labour, you won’t actually be voting for a political party. you will be voting for an unelected and unaccountable ‘think tank’.

New Labour and Beyond

In the 1990s the Fabian Society came to be a major force in the modernisation of the Labour Party, building on its work from the 1980s and developing many of the ideas that would come to characterise New Labour.

A New Constitution for the Labour Party was instrumental in the introduction of “one member, one vote” to party elections and contained the original recommendation for the replacement of Clause IV. The Fabians applied themselves to the challenges that Labour faced in building an election-winning coalition of voters and in the Southern Discomfort series pointed the way towards many of the changes that would take place and help Labour to its historic 1997 victory.

After Tony Blair’s landslide victory in 1997, over 200 Fabians now sat in the House of Commons, including many of the Cabinet. However, the Fabian Society developed its role as a critical friend, supporting the Blair and Brown government’s in developing policy, without being afraid to draw attention to the omissions or shortcomings of the government.

The advent of the Conservative-Lib Dem coalition government in 2010 again posed new challenges for the Society. It has renewed its focus on tackling the big issues facing policymakers including the future of the state and public services, and the creation of a more robust, balanced and equal economy. It has also applied itself to the task once again of defining and articulating the electoral strategy that Labour needs to regain power.

http://www.fabians.org.uk/about/the-fabian-story/

352. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    That clip got me thinking of Karen Carpenter, so I tried posting the Carpenters live in 1972, performing “We’ve only just begun”. I ended up blue-screening twice. It might have been a screen-res issue but possibly not. Mmmm.

353. CameronB Brodie

The Southern Discomfort pamphlets were a series of studies by Giles Radice published by the Fabian Society that examined attitudes towards the Labour Party in the south of England after the 1992 General Election defeat.[1] The studies found that voters in marginal constituencies were concerned about Labour’s lack of economic credibility and feared that their taxes would increase if Neil Kinnock had won in 1992. The pamphlets were influential in underscoring the need for Labour to appeal to “C1” and “C2” voters.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_Discomfort_%28Fabian_Society_pamphlets%29

354. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    “@ Oneironaut – darling you are so dreamy, please come on the first.”

Only when I’m viewed through Beer Goggles! Rose-tinted ones too! 😉 hehe.

355. fionan

BrianDoon the Toon, many thanks, for the info and the welcome to OT. I’ve tried the first link and looks like I will hopefully get some visuals on the night, I will also be on the comments here on wings to soak up the atmosphere, (as long as not the utter nausea and unbelief of 18/9/14) but I am hopeful of being able to see some labour gravy trainers faces when they face the dole, not to mention a certain ginger muppet. Michael McCabe thanks also, wish I was helping in these weeks, but at least I think I’ll get my proxy vote sorted out. I will never trust postal voting ever after the past few elections/referendum. Now time t turn up the volume on all these music links, see if I remember any golden oldies.

356. Paula Rose

fionan darling – set the theme for tonight’s party!

357. Paula Rose

Julie Andrews night?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o35EurnMEQA

358. Ian Brotherhood

Haven’t heard this for yonks. Superb.

Radiohead, ‘Fitter, Happier’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3RFwhEvVqnA

359. Paula Rose

Well we can always trust Ian B to disrupt a thread – Radiohead? Get an effing life dear.

360. Paula Rose

Sorting the sheep from the goats…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjSjB-3xPVM

361. Ian Brotherhood

Coomon, madferrit, beat this:

Stone Roses, ‘Fools Gold’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BBsazIACpYM

362. Paula Rose

Even more magic…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=orNpH6iyokI

363. Michael McCabe

Its Magic. Looks like a young Paul Whitehouse. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MzlK0OGpIRs&feature=player_detailpage

364. Michael McCabe

here’s a little magic for yea. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEJ6AF3xbSw&feature=player_detailpage

365. Ian Brotherhood

‘Things are never quite the way they seem…’

True dat.

Stan Ridgway, ‘Camouflage’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFYxCIr-Byo

366. Paula Rose

Darlings – there is a logic if you click on the linkies.

367. Ian Brotherhood

Dueling Banjoes (from ‘Deliverance’):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tqxzWdKKu8

368. Paula Rose

Peaceful folk song…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EmxbbAoDq4

369. Michael McCabe

Lest we forget. Why I am on this site in the first place. This track reminds me why. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu8ta_ECc5s&feature=player_detailpage Roll on the Divorce. Aye till I die.

370. Brian Doonthetoon

“Dueling Banjoes”?

Nah, not in Scotland…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amNF_F6oeRU

371. Michael McCabe

@ Brian Doonthetoon. Och aye man that was Class.

372. Paula Rose

Sign out time – good night darlings

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTfyUqVqX-0

373. Kevin meina

Ian brotherhood stick my name down for counting house cheers.

374. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT (12.25) –

375. Ian Brotherhood

@Kevin Meina (12.37) –

Soo-perb. See ye there!

376. Oneironaut

Ahh, what the hell…
    Put me down for a badge too.

I’ll just hide in the corner and try to make one of the CH’s overpriced Pepsis last all night! 🙂

377. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Dorothy Devine is a ‘maybe’ for Mayday.

I’ve lost track with the list, must double-check against what you last posted…

378. Betty Boop

@Oneironaut

Yaaay – pleased you are making a return visit to CH – the more the merrier 🙂

@Kevin Meina – will be pleased to meet you there along with all others I haven’t met before.

@Bdtt & IanB

Looks like it is going to be a busy night. Looking forward to it so for heaven’s sake folks, don’t change the date on this one!!! I have my hotel room booked so JimT and I don’t have to rush off for the ridiculously early last train to the wild west.

@fionan & JLT Been a bit busy past few weeks and still trying to catch up on lots of Wingsy stuff. Pleased to see you both on O/T 🙂

379. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose

Thanks, m’dear, for the Dusty links! Loved listening to her. The Springfields – amongst the first discs bought for the family Dansette! Ta, to QQ as well.

Haven’t had the hours to listen to all tracks being posted, but, oh, I loved “Ba Mo Leanabh”. Still can’t get “Fear a Bhata” out of my head since you posted that as well, especially Karen Matheson’s rendition. Takes me back to the outer isles where we lived for several years.

380. fionan

Paula Rose, these clips were brilliant, where do you find them? Cant believe Julie Andrews doing C&W, and Gaga doing JA, the girl’s got talent right enough! Lots of great clips, love Stanley Odd, and of course Mike McCabe’s duellists – have been laughing my head off instead of doing essential work, oh dear! Cant believe I’ve been missing all this fun the last couple of years while agonising over referenda. As the big guy once said, I’ll be back! And thanks Betty Boop and others for the welcoming comments – if you are ever in central france, look out for my Wings badges and Yes stickers folks 🙂

381. Oneironaut

Well, the RIC public meeting in Ardrossan was interesting.
    Definitely shows some promise for the future…

Also a pleasant surprise to meet Crazycat there too. Nice seeing you again! 😀

382. Ian Brotherhood

‘Take a look at these hands!’

Talking Heads, ‘Born Under Punches’ (Live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YO7N2tFb0X8

383. Paula Rose

Anyone in Glasgow able to stroll into the counting house and book the SW corner for the 1st of May from 7 onwards? Manager tells me it is returnable cash.

384. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose & peeps.

We have 42 on the list so far ad I know, from the BBC demo this afternoon, that there are some others who still have to go ‘off-topic’ to get their names on the register.

Booking the SW corner would be ace – but I have read before that Wetherspoon’s won’t take bookings?

Onnyhoo, here is the latest list, as I have it.

List For Counting House 1/5/15

Ian Brotherhood

Ronnie Anderson

crazycat

Alexandra-M

Irene King

John King (Eccles)

Lollysmum

Macart

Mrs Macart

X_Sticks

Paula Rose

Cactus

Jim Thomson

Betty Boop

Alistair Grapevine

Brian Doonthetoon

Pete the Camera

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Quentin Quayle

Chipmonkey

Bob Sinclair

Helen Sinclair

Sand Holmes

iclare1

TJenny

Thepnr

Thistle

Jock Scot

Indigo

Natasha

Kininvie

Irene Anderson

Julie Webster
    Lynda McConnell
    Jackie Timmonoy
    Collette McDonald
    Jack Smart

Paul Kavanagh (WGD)

JLT

Kevin meina

Oneironaut

Dorothy Devine – ‘maybe’

385. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just done a post, which contains the latest list for the May Day bash but, once again, as happens with every post with a list,

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

386. Betty Boop

@IanB

Re: Talking Heads. Didn’t like all the disjointed, screechy stuff at the start; almost gave up. Took stamina to get to the good bit, but, it was worth it. 🙂

387. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You called CH? Did you tell them what it was for? I’m guessing they probably didn’t even ask…

If push comes to the proverbial, I’ll go, but I hope someone else can do it – I’m full-on with uni-stuff this week, really really cannot spare the time.

Will someone Glasgow-based please help us oot here? I went in and booked the space last year, and they asked for £20 cash – I got it back on the night once they saw a few bodies moving in.

Time’s running out, so please, can someone step-up?!?

388. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

The screechy stuff was mostly Adrian Belew, who isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. TBH, I’m not that keen on him meself. But that concert was awesome, and it’s all on YT in chunks.

389. Paula Rose

Aye – fine to book the space but cash would be best, anyone able to do this?

390. Paula Rose

I’ve got a new outfit from Nicola’s favoured costumier, who happens to be a dear friend – quelle surprise!

391. Paula Rose

I promise not to do this again unless requested by public demand – bit like a referendum…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

392. Patrician

@CameronB Brodie, The Fabians are a strange grouping to the Labour Party. This was explained to me at a meeting I attended during the 1990’s, the meeting was ostensibly about the direction of the Labour Party. Strangely, the speaker sent from London opened with the statement that the Labour Party has always had a right wing and they haven’t always been socialists. After this talk, I have always found the subject of the Fabians interesting.

The concept of the Labour Party as a wholly socialist party really only took hold post WW2. This was the reason they could be a home for Oswald Moseley (a Fabian) and the birthplace for his New (BUF) party. The Fabians actually pre-date the Labour Party and had been the focus of the London based left leaning intelligentsia for some years before the Labour Party was formed. The addition of the Fabians made the Labour Party respectable in the eyes of the establishment.

Through the years the Fabians had forces to counteract them, mostly the hard left and the centrists. In my opinion, the Fabians came to prominence before the Blair era due to 2 reasons: The centrists leaving, the gang of 4 who formed the Social Democrats; And the loss of influence by the left, due to their failure to win elections. To use the cliche, nature hates a vacuum and the Fabians and their supporters filled that vacant space.

The reason they managed this without the party fighting back is down to the boiling frog principle, the change was slow and imperceptible at times, there was no big lurch to the right just a slow constant shuffle. One day socialists woke up and found they were part of a right wing party. Of course, the fact they won elections also helped 😉

393. CameronB Brodie

Patrician
    Bit by bit. Apparently caused George Orwell some troubled, sleepless nights scratching a book together (1984).

Don’t forget though, …..S.N.P. BAD. Waoooo.

The Voronas – I Love My Monsters
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSU3nvpJ9sM

394. Oneironaut

From death, shall come new life…

As the Labour Party dies, so Scotland shall be renewed, as the laws of Nature dictate…

Resurrection 😀

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSyQWDyfDJM

(That’s the last time I try talking to Jim Murphy. Those glue fumes in his breath do weird things to your head!)

395. Betty Boop

@IanB
    @Paula rose

Re: CH booking: If no one else has offered, I am willing to make the journey to the metropolis tomorrow and pay the deposit.

Will email you.

396. Betty Boop

@Bdtt, 19/4/15, 10:19pm

…as happens with every post with a list,

Reckon someone’s moniker must be on the suspicious list!

397. Betty Boop

@Bdtt, 19/4/15, 10:19pm

…as happens with every post with a list,

Reckon someone’s moniker must be on the suspicious list! 😉

398. Quentin Quale

Ach, I’m not on Twitter so can’t join in the jolly japes over on Wings Twitter mocking Murphy’s ‘referendum not ruled out’ in the SNP manifesto. So, Return of the Ducking Stool #notruledoutbythesnp

399. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

There have been one or three mentions of “Outlander” on the front pages over the weekend.

My son offered me this link:-

http://www.watchoutlander.com

The episodes are around an hour long so that’s the ones you want.
    Now, the beauty is, if you have the Firefox add-on “Downloadhelper” installed (the one with the icon featuring three coloured balls), it allows you to download each episode for posterity. All you have to do is click play on the appropriate video and the downloadhelper icon energises, to allow download as mp4.

I’ve downloaded Episode 1; Episode 2 is in the process of downloading… The file size per episode is just over 200MB.

400. Cactus

~ Ian Brotherhood
    ~ Paula Rose
    ~ Betty Boop

Howdy partners, I’m in and around the city centre tomorrow and can reserve the SW suite for us at the Counting House (from 7pm onwards & upwards) if this helps.. would you happen to have a contact name there Paula dearest darling?

Big thumbs up to the 42 guests to date 🙂

Will confirm booking later on tomorrow evening.

401. Thepnra

@Quentin Quale

You don’t need to have a twitter account to join in the fun.

Just Google “wings over scotland twitter” and you will get the revs feed, then click on the hastag of your choice.

402. Brian Doonthetoon

So, where did you and Dixie end up, at the last Wings do on 22nd November, Cactus?

You’ve never spilled the beans. At 6.15pm or thereabouts, you were taking the air in George Square, with Dixie – but you never came back!

So, what begrail, in the fundemold of Georgey Squarish, that you couldn’t suffer a returney-most?

403. Thepnr

Last post hasn’t appeared after an hour, strange.

404. Betty Boop

@Cactus

Hi Cactus,

Can you confirm that you are definitely going to do the booking at the Counting House cos I offered earlier today to go there tomorrow?

Ta ever so much, young man. Will you be staying awhile this time? 😉

405. Taranaich

Here’s a report about the manifesto launch. It has pictures!

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/you-only-vote-twice/

406. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: re: ‘Outlander’ (see post above), you may find this of educamatical value…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXpQna8WRB8

407. Betty Boop

@Taranaich

Lovely report from Ratho; I could feel the atmosphere! So glad you enjoyed your experience today, Al. Hey, “the hand of history…” and all that!

It has been quite a ride over the past few years and many of us have ended up doing things and meeting people we would never have imagined. Despite the trauma, here we are, still hopeful of achieving something better.

Apropos meeting up with acquaintances, do you think you might find the time to come to the Counting House again on 1st May? Be great if you could.

408. Cactus

~ Betty Boop

Hey Betty B, yeah sure, I’m five minutes away.

If they ask what the function is, I’ll say it’s a works night out!

409. Cactus

And aye Betty B, I’ll be an allnighter this time.. and who knows where we may all go apres.. Glasgow has many fine places to party 😉

410. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

“a works night out”?

That’ll be the Wings Over Scotland (Scottish Branch) then?

8=)

411. Betty Boop

@ Cactus

LOL – Thanks Cactus. Looking forward to seeing y’all! We’ve got a big crowd by the looks of it 🙂

412. Cactus

Aweright Brian D, I whisked D and me over to the Drury Street bars furra gander, got talking to some other friendly ladies and alcohol spirits were applied….. I do remember Dixie taking me home.

I’ll try to be first in and last out this time round.

And yeah the Wings Scottish Branch which is completely accountable.

413. Michael McCabe

Some Scottish singers versions of other peoples Songs. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBYo9o6y1k4&feature=player_detailpage

414. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop, Cactus –

Heroes!

Hoots and hoots again.

415. Oneironaut

@Cactus
    “got talking to some other friendly ladies and alcohol spirits were applied….. I do remember Dixie taking me home.”

Hmmm, is that the “censored for family viewing” version? 😉

416. Taranaich

@Betty Boop: Apropos meeting up with acquaintances, do you think you might find the time to come to the Counting House again on 1st May? Be great if you could.

I’d really love to, but I’m afraid I’ll have to decline: despite even the Daily Mail proclaiming Inverclyde a goner for New Labour, despite all but one bookies putting SNP in the lead (the one that doesn’t has New Labour winning by 71 votes), despite several polls colouring Inverclyde yellow, I’m going to be working round the clock for the local campaign. New Labour certainly are.

Douglas Alexander, the New Labour campaign co-ordinator himself, opened Iain McKenzie’s shop. Gordon Brown will be coming this week in another one of those exclusive invitation-only roads-closed no-nats-allowed visits. New Labour still has 9 councillors, 1 constituency MSP, and a core vote. New Labour are out in greater force than any time my elderly relatives can remember.

Make no mistake: the “SNP will totally win Inverclyde” narrative is deliberate, precisely because it’s so close. They’re hoping prospective SNP voters won’t bother to turn up, that it’s “in the bag.”

New Labour aren’t giving up this fight. Neither will I.

417. Cactus

That’s the venue booked for 50 guests in the SW suite (the library).

Ref no. 94647, wink wink 😉

418. Brian Doonthetoon

Well done that man!

419. Cactus

That’s the venue booked for 50 guests in the SW suite (the library) from 7pm.

Entry password is 94647, wink wink.

420. Ian Brotherhood

For Cactus –

Aretha, ‘Respect’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DZ3_obMXwU

421. Thepnr

Well done the “man in the hat” 🙂

422. Caroline Corfield

Just a wee heads up re The Counting House, some comments on fb suggesting that folk from the bairns not bombs rally were denied access due to having saltires in their possession. ( though perhaps it had more to do with pointy poles they were attached to) also some suggestions the staff are on zero hours contracts, though one suspects within the hospitality industry you’d be hard pushed to find someone who wasn’t. Thought you’d like to know though. I kinda like the pub myself because it’s handy and usually has space even when stowed.

423. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Caroline Corfield.

The doormen at the Counting House had orders from ‘the management’ not to allow flagpoles in. Ronnie Anderson had a short conversation with them, which confirmed the ban.

So we toddled along to the YES Bar, where there were piles of flags on flagpoles in every corner. The YES Bar was stowed out.

I wonder how much trade the Counting House sacrificed that day?

424. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee song for Cactus The man in the Hat. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Py0_XzcnMIU&feature=player_detailpage

425. Cactus

Alas! A double-dunt above, ah posted the news on my fidgety moby earlier but it didnae show first time, all is good.

Thanks to the Counting House today. Friendly staff. If any of you happen to follow this website, give us a shout and a shake when we’re in. We’ll show your bar a great time!

~ Oneironaut, aye the censored version it be.. ah didnae want tae embarrass all of the Generation X readers on here 🙂

Sweet sixteen earth days to go go, cheers y’everybuddy.

426. Paula Rose

Cactus my darling – that is going to be a lovely stroke from moi!

427. X_Sticks

@Cactus

do I count as X Generation?

428. Paula Rose

X_Sticks honey – a blond quiff, suits you sir (sniggle).

429. Paula Rose

Before Wings – one of my faves…

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008842366650&fref=ts

430. Cactus

Smashing songs on the jukebox aujourd’hui, chairs!

I like that Mr X.. you/we are the X generation, hmm if it hasn’t already, that could catch on..

Strokes I like, as long as I get a birdie 😀

431. Thepnr

True story, about 30 years ago when I was of an age age to do such a thing I went to Ricks disco in Dundee with my brother and a pal.

My brother was a bit of joker and had the patter to chat up the female species and make them laugh. There was a latter day punk there with a dyed blond mohican and a number of girls in his company. He was very suave and in love with himself.

He got jealous though of my brothers popularity with his female friends so said to him “Ho mate! anybidy ever telt yeh that you look like Feargal Sharkey.”

My brother says, “No, anybidy ever told you that you look like Orville the Duck?” The lassies laughed, so did I and the “punk” went all red in the face.

Sadly my brother passed away last month so this song is for him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bx9qUR9P2ZQ

432. Paula Rose

Played at my mum’s final farewell – please accept it as my tribute to all. I’m thinking of a certain man who has lost his father as well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXWI6ISkzlI

433. X_Sticks

Sorry to hear about your brother Alex, I hope you’re ok.

434. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey – we met your brother, he rocks on xx

435. ronnie anderson

@ Cactus Tammy Doff tae you young Sir.

436. cearc

x_sticks,

Generation X, where X = a number best not revealed?

437. Paula Rose

John came to the CH meet up no. 2 on the bus – hey Beedeeteetee and Peeteeteecee can we have some special badges? Ten only “I knew John”?

438. Brian Doonthetoon

ßügg€® off, Paula Rose!

My printer packed in at the weekend and I’m now in ‘rescue the situation’ mode.

Got 42 badges (so far) to get printed out for 1st May, so you’ll understand my reticence to comply, iye?

Maybe my printer needs a good stroke; I’ll try that tomorrow…

439. Paula Rose

40 odd comments to go and I’m top again (wicked laugh)

440. X_Sticks

Paula Rose says:

“40 odd comments to go and I’m top again (wicked laugh)”

I do love a girl with ambition 😉

441. Paula Rose

I remember my mum saying this to my brother…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUFL8WSxTgY

442. Jock Scot

@Paula

Must they be odd comments? My definition of odd is a bit awry at times and if we are getting competitive..are we using shiftable goalposts? Or is that too odd? I appear to have encountered the ? key. It’s amazing how it just took the right kind of stroke on my keyboard x

443. Paula Rose

Be very very careful cherubs xx

444. Paula Rose

Some odd, some even and a few prime.

445. Betty Boop

@ Cactus
    Well done, cowboy, moseyin’ on down and stakin’ a claim on our CH territory! Ta 🙂

@ Taranaich
    Good luck with Inverclyde and hats off to you too for the commitment. Sorry you can’t be there at our Mayfest 🙁

@ Paula Rose, you’re getting all mathematical on us now. S’pose you had better be first on the next page after showing off your counting prowess 🙂 Oh, and ta for The Proclaimers. xx

@ Bdtt & Petetc
    There we were on the Costa del Tay yesterday,enjoying a wee cappuccino in the bright sunshine in City Square in the wonderful Yes City and you were nowhere to be seen; I would have thought, local heroes that you are, you would have featured in some street art there by now(I have a suggestion for the council on that one!). Where were you both?

446. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

My printer packed in at the weekend so I was wandering round the second-hand warehouse that is my flat, looking for another working printer.

No joy so far…

447. Taranaich

@Betty Boop: Good luck with Inverclyde and hats off to you too for the commitment. Sorry you can’t be there at our Mayfest 🙁

Me too. Somehow I have a feeling I’ll be busy next May too. And the May after that… (God, this is my life now…)

Anyway, I’d love all of you to watch Ronnie’s campaign message. I helped filming by holding and lifting things, so technically I can claim a tiny bit of credit!

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/04/22/count-on-cowan/

448. Thepnr

Here’s something we can hopefully all look forward to on May 8th.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lxO9zPI_Uzw

449. Cactus

8 VIP seats remaining at the Counting House gig in Glasgow, Scotland, UK, Europe.. who’s gonna be the first long term lurker to introduce themselves here and join us?

You’ve been reading this website for well over a year now, so come on you, do it.

450. Thepnr

Hey Paula Rosa your at it!

Seen enough of Wreckless Eric with The Whole Wide World, you’ve played it so often.

Have to admit though I didn’t know the Proclaimers sang it 🙂

451. Quentin Quale

Seems to me that all the crap being thrown at us from Cameron, Miliband, Digby Jones and the MSM is eerily familiar. Made me think of this wee classic. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZr07AYWLSo

452. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey I’ve got a whole stack of Wreckless Eric covers – are you feeling lucky punk?

453. Michael McCabe

I have bought the National from day one. I have every one of them apart from Friday the 6th of March. Anyhow I aint got the space to keep them. So I was wondering if anybody wants them or knows anybody who would want them ?

454. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

You did it again!

Great tune and even better pictures. We’re at war! LOL

……………………./´¯/)
    ………………….,/¯..//
    …………………/…./ /
    …………./´¯/’…’/´¯¯`·¸
    ………./’/…/…./……./¨¯\
    ……..(‘(…´(..´……,~/’…’)
    ………\……………..\/…./
    ……….”…\………. _.·´
    …………\…………..(
    …………..\………….\

455. Oneironaut

@Taranaich
    “(God, this is my life now…)”

I know the feeling. I can barely even remember my old life!

Vague memories, pictures drawn in the sand, washed away by the seas of time…

456. Michael McCabe

I have 25 songs lined up. I hope you don’t mind If I put them on one after the other ?

457. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

I would normally say “get on wie it man” but I think to ration those 25 songs between now and 7th May would be wiser.

See, give us a countdown of these 25 and finish with a crescendo!

458. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Please don’t ditch your Nationals. I too have a full set, and they box away very tidily if they’re properly flat.

By using an old tablecover or curtain creatively, you can make those old stacked newspapers into a small armchair, or even an unusual coffee-table.

Seriously man – you could end up sitting on a wee fortune there. Keep them. (Big Bonus Besides – you’ll have ‘originals’ of all Moodie’s cartoons!)

459. Paula Rose

25 songs – be very careful Michael dear.

460. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr iwas only joking about the 25 songs. I was waiting on paula rose coming on and saying don’t you dare. As I know she likes turning over a new leaf. Anyway here is another old Scottish Band. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ulDc8R4uhA&feature=player_detailpage

461. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

I’ll slip this in before you get going then…

Seasick Steve, ‘Sonic Soul Surfer’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUb9IpEwa4M

462. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood I cant keep a hold of the nationals. that is why I am trying to find them a good home to go to. I just thought I would try here first. I don’t want anything for them. I will still be buying the national every day. So if anybody wants them leave a message here on off/topic. This is my last post until we turn the page. Seasick Steve Yeah. Seen him at the Queens Hall Edinburgh.

463. Brian Doonthetoon

Ah, Nick Lowe.

One musical offering before I turn in…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSlyn0WoSjc

464. Paula Rose

I loved this man xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6s2_4KlWdVc

465. Paula Rose

Is there a more beautiful country?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHe2H2WOQXs

466. Paula Rose

One of my proteges….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aH3Q_CZy968

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.