40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Paula Rose

Please can I have the 10,000th grovel.

2. Michael McCabe

That’s it my life is on Hold till Paula gets the thingie. Go Paula.

3. Paula Rose

Keep away

4. Paula Rose

go away

5. Paula Rose

please please darlings please

6. Paula Rose

pkease sweeties please

7. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

Be not alarmed!

There will be no nudity, no dodgy jokes, and no bevvying!

The plan is that we entice the DR and/or Scottish Sun into hiring such a suite (in a **** hotel, no less) and tip them the wink that all the most prominent CyberNats will be there. They, naturally, will send stooges and plant recording devices.

Do we then have a rammy/fist-fights/orgy/meeting to plan terrorist outrages?

Nah…we take turns reading the complete works of Ossian the Bard, which will easily get us through to lunchtime on the Saturday.

Aye – get a scoop fae that, ya bams!

8. Paula Rose

Mine mine all mine get to fuck

9. Michael McCabe

Well Done Paula. Here is a nice Scenic video. And the music is not to bad Either.www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjoPWxmOCtc&feature=player_detailpage

10. Paula Rose

Ian honey I will be at your door but – I want the 10,000 comment.

11. Paula Rose

kisses

12. Paula Rose

famousness

13. Michael McCabe

Try again with that video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjoPWxmOCtc&feature=player_detailpage Hope it works this time.

14. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Gordon Bennett!!

Haven’t heard you that desperate since the WOS gig in The Ferry!

Happy noo?

Have a large brandy, a small cheroot, and re-laaaaax…

15. Macart

Paula? By my count you made 10K.

Congrats. 🙂

16. Thepnr

Hey Paula

You were very lucky, or maybe a light shown on you because at 11:32 pm I put a post up with this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x8PLjvmiIw

But forgot to remove the http LOL. Happy 10,000th.

17. Ian Brotherhood

The delay between sending comments and their eventual appearance is becoming embarrassing. As I type this, the last visible comment is by Thepnr, at 12.01.

It’s now 1.07.

On the main ongoing thread, the latest comment I remember seeing was approx. 12.47.

???

18. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, so, NO comments were posted to O/T between 12.01 and 1.08?

Eh?!

19. Ian Brotherhood

Now 1.36, and O/T remains still, abandoned…

Aye, right…

20. Thepnr

Hey Ian

Try this for size, Jim Diamond 2014.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YPSf2A_EUE

21. Thepnr

Absolutely fuckin wow, found this by accident. Guess what I typed in Google. This sums it up for me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MVpQi9BO6I

22. cearc

Well I hope you have a less awful one tomorrow.

23. cearc

Day that is, not song.

(hmmm, a bit ear-wormy that chorus line)

24. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee drinking song with an intro to the story. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=VJxCS5gjtZk

25. john king

@Macart
    BtP’s right,
    the wife gets good deals on reasonable hotels because of her being a frequent booker and all.

I’ll ask her what she’s paying for the room for May , I think its £65.00 b&b so a single would probably be about £50.00 I get her to check availability if you like, I’m driving from Fife but if you want a lift I could easily take a detour and pick you up, we’re only 25 mins from the center of Edinburgh,
    It would be a pleasure to come and get you.
    Plenty of people have my email address if you want to contact me. 🙂

26. Macart

Thanks John, but that particular detour would take you several hours out of your way. 🙂

Don’t worry, I can get there ok. Transport no problem this time round.

27. Rigmac7

Wee Willie Rennie runs through Aberdeen Toon,
    Being chased quite closely by Paddy Pantsdoon,
    Tapping passing donors, crying when he’s mocked,
    And all the ladies are in bed, avoiding Paddy’s clock

28. john king

Macart @ 7.48
    No problem, but do you want me to get a price for you on our hotel?

29. gus1940

Re Osborne’s planned celebration of Agincourt – as it was a purely English victory will Scotland receive a % of the £1Million being spent on celebrating it and Waterloo (which was a UK victory)as a Barnett Consequential?

Re the £50k fine imposed on The Scottish Fire Service yesterday, while not wishing to comment on the rights and wrongs of the case, is not a fact that this fine along with all fines imposed by Scottish Courts will go straight to HM Treasury in London?

30. john king

There ye go Sam
    http://tinyurl.com/o8ycpoo
    Few minutes by taxi from the counting house ,we stayed there at the last night and it was a nice hotel with a good breakfast, staff were friendly, the wife’s just cancelling our booking for another hotel to go there again, so if it meets with the wife’s approval it must be good and there’s a good Indian takeaway (much cheapness ) right across the road. 🙂

31. Oneironaut

Any Wingers going to this, in Glasgow today?

http://www.sacc.org.uk/events/2015/m21scot-stand-racism-and-fascism

Might see you there if so 🙂

32. john king

The wife asked me to remind you that May 1st is a holiday weekend so you had better get your skates on if your going to book a room Sam.

33. Lollysmum

BDTT
    Does Easy Hotel, Glasgow have it’s own parking? No mention of it on website.How far is it from the Counting House?

I don’t know Glasgow at all

34. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lollysmum.

Have a look at this link. Easy Hotel is flagged at top, left of centre and George Square can be seen at the bottom, right of centre.

The Counting House is on the corner of St Vincent Street and George Square.

http://goo.gl/maps/4bjmJ

Here’s the link for Easy Hotel:-

http://bookings.easyhotel.com/Booking/EHOTBookHotel.asp?SD=65535378720150321124702

Remember, Easy Hotel is just a room with beds, shower, etc; no food. You have to provide your own but there are plenty cafes and so on nearby for breakfast after you check out.

35. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lollysmum.

Sorry – that should be St Vincent Place.

If you look at this link, you’ll see that there’s a multi-storey car park just across the road from the hotel.

http://goo.gl/maps/En7O7

Here’s more info from Trip Advisor.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186534-d5970332-Reviews-EasyHotel_Glasgow_City-Glasgow_Scotland.html

36. Brian Doonthetoon

Looking for Dundee-based Wingers.

Tomorrow, Sunday, between noon and around 4pm, Team YES Bus, with the Dragon, will be campaigning at City Square, in support of the SNP in Dundee.

I asked the boss of Team Yes Bus, Bob Costello (some of you met him at the last Invergowrie get-together), if a Wings presence at the Dragon with the Wings banner would be an idea.

He was over the moon at the suggestion. BTW: he’s gonna have tea and coffee facilities on the Dragon.

So, any Wingers up for an afternoon in Dundee?

BTW2: in case you don’t know what I’m on about, here’s a pic of the Dragon, with City Square and Caird Hall in the background.

https://dancingbagpipe.files.wordpress.com/2014/09/yes-bus2.png

37. Macart

Cheers John

Been out all day and just catching up. Mrs M has us all booked in.

Yep, Mrs M going too. 😮

38. Lollysmum

Thanks for the info Brian- it was a great help.

Have spent most of the afternoon looking at Glasgow hotels on the internet & have booked to stay at the Rennie Mackintosh near Central Station-mainly to save myself from getting lost :-)in an unfamiliar city.

39. Taranaich

How in the name of all that is sane is WILLIE BAIN one of the few New Labour MPs forecast to keep his seat? The man shouldn’t be let out of his house, let alone in parliament:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/the-devo-files-willie-bain-glasgow-north-east/

This series is proving hazardous to my health.

40. Ian Brotherhood

After all the 10k hysteria, PR’s near-breakdown, and talk of orgies, let’s get mellow…

Commodores, ‘Zoom’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5tX7W0Ov6A

41. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr (1.57) –

Sorry mister, missed that one last night.

Jim Diamond? FFS, I thought at first it was Irvine Welsh!

42. Ian Brotherhood

Randy Crawford & Joe Sample Trio, ‘One Day I’ll Fly Away’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=annotation_116437&feature=iv&src_vid=VdM3NHDU7Mk&v=ViIx5uagasY

43. Ian Brotherhood

Marvin Gaye, ‘Let’s Get It On’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x6QZn9xiuOE

44. Ian Brotherhood

En Vogue, ‘Never Gonna Get It’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlP0m39xdI0

45. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian Brotherhood.

I know you typed that you won’t but…

Onny risk of putting together an updating register of who’s going to the Counting House get-together on 1st May? That would let us prepare badges for those intending to be there.

Otherwise, there are only around 8 (that we know of), who will have ‘proper’ badges.

46. Macart

Ooooooo Mrs M bought me a pressie today when off on her travels. Mr Salmond’s book no less.

Right, feet up, glass in hand, choccy raisins at the ready. 🙂

47. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

I’d forgotten all about that side of things.

Will have to start from scratch really…a’body who’s coming, please post the name you want to appear on the badge here in O/T and I’ll keep a note of them, send them on whenever suits BDTT. Nae probs.

‘IanB’ will do for me – too many letters otherwise.

(I wrote to Wee Ginger Dug t’other day and he said he should be able to make it, but I don’t know if he wants his real name on a badge.)

48. Ian Brotherhood

Stevie Wonder, ‘Superstition’ (studio version, 1973) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDZFf0pm0SE

49. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

We already do a “Wee Ginger Dug” badge (see link below) – maybe he’d like one with his name? It’s up to him.

Same for everyone. Let us know what name/username you want on the badge.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/WeeGingerDug-crop.jpg

50. Brian Doonthetoon

Something just permeated my brainbockers…

Do you think Rev Stu spends his quality leisure time in ‘off-topic’?

Should I have asked that at ask.fm?

Will the circle be unbroken?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tFGRnUzfOEI

51. Brian Doonthetoon

And while I’m thinking of that band, here’s a well known tune…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9gCN9-Jnfg

52. Brian Doonthetoon

And while I’m on this ‘folkie’ groove,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLufwtSZiIs

53. Alistair Grapevine

Hi Brian
    Put me down for a badge,
    Thanks AG

54. crazycat

@ BDTT (and Ian)

I’m intending to be at the Counting House, complete with the splendid badge you made for me last time.

No need for a new one, I presume?

55. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi crazycat.

The idea behind those badges was that Wingers could wear them to indicate that they were there at the time and remember it well(?).

The first one we did was for Invergowrie on 13th September last year, then we did Glasgow in November and Invergowrie again in February.

Anyone who has one or more of the personalised badges should ALWAYS wear them at Wings events, kinda like a ‘badges of honour’- ‘eh wiz there!’.

So, if you’re gonna be there on 1st May, you will get another badge!

BTW: Rev Stu has his two Invergowrie and November Glasgow badges, coz he was there in spirit. I wonder if he’ll be at the Counting House, more than ‘in spirit’, on the 1st?

56. Ian Brotherhood

…and so, it begins.

Crazycat is first on ‘The List’.

Where will it all end (apart from, obviously, in the Counting House) – can we expect the likes of Moodie, Bateman, Riddoch et al (whoever he is) to make an appearance?

Why are celebrities so shy about joining WOS socials?

This one may break the mould, because the historic element is hard for these people to ignore. It’s not like Woodstock, where everyone can claim to have been there, and there’s no proof otherwise.

If anyone, three, ten, or fifty years hence says ‘The famous WOS May-Day gig just before Labour became extinct in Scotland? Oh aye, I was there!’ then it’s a matter of a few clicks to access the footage, and we’ll be able to confirm their presence for sure.

If you’re a celebrity, and you’re not there? fair do’s, but don’t imagine that you’ll be able, one day, if it suits, to pretend that you were. Remember Hilary Clinton…

57. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

We had Chris Law at Invergowrie in February. He’s one of them thaar ‘celebrities’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AimKUHX2TtM

And the proof from Invergowrie:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8RQKd2XX70

58. Alexandra-M-

I will be coming along to the Counting House… I believe I’m second on “the list” – I feels all the specials.

I’ll just go with Alex-M on my badge please!

59. Thepnr

Ah but Ian to claim

“The famous WOS May-Day gig just before Labour became extinct in Scotland? Oh aye, I was there!”

Then surely you would need a badge 🙂 By the way BDTT the first badges were for Wings Over Arbroath!

60. Ian Brotherhood

Following some Twittering, ‘Alexx’ is second on ‘The List’ for WOS Does MayDay.

S/HE will, I’m sure, supply desired badge-name here in due course.

Okay…who’s next?

61. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Yep, I noticed that the man was there, and he will deservedly enjoy extraordinary bragging rights in years to come. (Still hacked-off I missed that night as there was a slender chance. Twas not to be.)

But let’s see who happens along on May 1st – savvy celebs won’t advertise any intention to attend. (Doesn’t mean they won’t turn up on the night though…) I’m confident that we’ll see at least two well-kent faces/names (journalist/broadcasters), but daren’t even provide a hint as to names.

Shouldn’t we make a special effort to reach out to our foes (especially as many of them ply their daily trade in the GCC, within a stone’s throw of the Counting House) and invite them along for some civilised discussion over a glass of Pimms?

Anyone fancy sending invitations to the Glasgow Labour stalwarts?

It’s gonny be a big night – ye can just feel it.

62. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

I’ll wait for confirmation in this page re: “‘Alexx’”. (I don’t do Twitter – ‘off-topic’ is ‘the word’.

I’m now trying to keep a list of names as they’re indicated in here. So far I have,

List For Counting House 1/5/15

Ian Brotherhood

Ronnie Anderson

crazycat

Alexandra-M

Irene King

John King

Lollysmum

Macart

Mrs Macart

but that’s only from memory.

63. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

RE: Pimms.

I recall from my youth, that there were 7 Pimms, for different spirits. Sometime, in the 70s or 80s, many of them were discontinued, leaving just 2 or 3.

Hi Thepnr.

“By the way BDTT the first badges were for Wings Over Arbroath!”

Eh ken thah’! And so does Rev Stu, coz I finally got round to sending him a pile of badges from the last 6 months or so.
    So, watch out for the badge he is wearing next time he’s on TV…

64. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve uploaded a couple of videos to YouTube – two clips from STV’s “Scotland Tonight” on Thursday evening.

The first features Bernard Ponsonby interviewing Alex Salmond. For balance, the second features Ponsonby interviewing Douglas Alexander.

Note in the Alexander interview, he once again attempts to reinforce the myth that the ‘largest party’ forms the government (at 5.36).

When will they learn that their propaganda is immediately scorned on social media?

Here’s the first video – the second is in the comment below.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhgcjR4IbwQ

65. Brian Doonthetoon

Looks like I’m the only Winger still up…

So, a repeat from earlier today:

Looking for Dundee-based Wingers.

Tomorrow, Sunday, between noon and around 4pm, Team YES Bus, with the Dragon, will be campaigning at City Square, in support of the SNP in Dundee.

I asked the boss of Team Yes Bus, Bob Costello (some of you met him at the last Invergowrie get-together), if a Wings presence at the Dragon with the Wings banner would be an idea.

He was over the moon at the suggestion. BTW: he’s gonna have tea and coffee facilities on the Dragon.

So, any Wingers up for an afternoon in Dundee?

BTW2: in case you don’t know what I’m on about, here’s a pic of the Dragon, with City Square and Caird Hall in the background.

https://dancingbagpipe.files.wordpress.com/2014/09/yes-bus2.png

66. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

If we both keep a list, we can double-check. Can’t both be on here 24/7.

Please note –

‘Alexx’ already posted to confirm, above (1.35)

Hoots!

Bedwise now bestwise…

67. Brian Doonthetoon

How about helping the anti-onionists in Falkirk?

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/elect-john-mcnally-snp-candidate-for-falkirk-2015/x/6554369

68. Michael McCabe

Aye we will get there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKkGPWQ1wFo&feature=player_detailpage Hopefully Sooner rather than later.

69. Brian Doonthetoon

Jeez Ian!

You see the task we have trying to collate names?

So “Alexx” is the one I have already as ‘Alexandra-M’?

I will only count names/usernames that are posted in ‘off-topic’.

So there – PARP!

70. john king

Can Aa get a badge wi Eccles (gravatar picture) and jdman oan it?
    an a bike, and a cowboy suit an……..

71. Lollysmum

Lollysmum on my badge please guys 🙂

72. Chic McGregor

@Muscleguy
    “Here there was one bird, couldn’t see what it was that was hooting fit to burst at the peak of the dimming here in Dundee.”

Might have been a collared dove (Eurasian origin but has spread West in recent decades). Lot of folk mistake their hoots for owls (or cuckoos in Spring). Usual pattern I’ve heard in Scotland is Hoo-Hooooo-Hoo – 1 to 2 sec pause – Hoo-Hoo but there are regional variations. I think they tend to sound off more at twilight more but not too sure about that.

Was very common for a year or two about a decade back but I think the Rooks have seen them off in the main and they are a lot less common again now.

73. X_Sticks

@BDTT

I’ll be there, of course.

74. john king

I’ve had a family of collard Doves in my garden for about 5 years, they come and go, they’ll be there for months sitting in my ash tree then vanish I think they migrate, but they always come back again.

75. Paula Rose

I know one celebrity who will be at the Counting House – Moi!

76. Taranaich

I thought it would be nice to give props to our stellar SNP team in Westminster, who will hopefully have a lot of pals this May:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/03/22/the-devo-files-snp-class-of-2010/

They’re going to be big targets for the SNPouters, and since their only option in most is a Tory, I’ll be damned if tactical votes shove some of our best guys out.

77. gerry parker

I know there are a few wingers who have contributed already, and I know there are still a few crowd funds around, but I’d be grateful if you could donate a couple of pounds to this one.

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/phil-boswell-election-campaign/backers/?

78. gerry parker

@ Taranaich.

That was a breath of fresh air after all the crap you’ve had to wade through for the Labour lot.

Well done and keep em coming.

79. Alexandra-M-

Loving the fact I’ve been counted twice! Feeling uber special now lol

80. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Taranaich.

A good read!

8=)

81. Cactus

Howdy, I’ll be at the CH on the foist of May.

Here’s a MV frae a band I saw playing Glasgow recently:

Steel Panther ~ The Stocking Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KmjHevZOC90

X 🙂

82. Betty Boop

@Bdtt
    @Ian Brotherhood

Brian/Ian, JimT and moi, B Boop will be at the Counting House on 1st May, barring plagues of locusts or some other apocalyptic event.

I put out marker down when it was first mentioned, but, it looks like you have misplaced your “list”. Ne’er mind, you can get your marker pen out and keep adding to that list. Cheers.

83. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty B –

Noted.

Hope youse are well there.

Hoots, as ever!

84. cearc

Ian,

No idea whether i will be able to come down.

I’ll have to see much closer to the time when i know which birds are doing what etc.

Hope i can.

85. Brotyboy

@CameronB Brodie

Great to bump into you again this morning, Cameron.

If you’re through in Dundee again and have the time for a blether over a coffee, drop me a line. Thepnr has my email address.

Was that your father you were with? Hope it was a successful visit.

86. Chic McGregor

IanB, I think I know what the answer must be to 27 Ac but could you give us a clue? Whatever way, initially, you like expressing it.

87. Betty Boop

@IanB

Thanks Ian. We are well and will be all the better for eyeballing youse lot on 1st May! 🙂

88. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Brotyboy.

You no’ want seat or seats on the minibus going through to the Counting House on 1st May?

Hi CameronB Brodie.

Good to meet you yesterday!

89. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m gonna repaste this post from a couple of weeks ago.
    ——————————————————-

Hi peeps.

Talked with Bob Costello of Team Yes Bus tonight. He’s amenable to providing a minibus to go down to Glasgow for the get-together on 1st May. Cost will probably be £8 a head.

The bus would probably be leaving Dundee around 5.30pm.

Can I have names of anyone interested in claiming a seat? The route will from Dundee > Perth > A9 to Stirling > Glasgow, so we could pick up at points in between.

Like November’s abortive effort, we’ll need 16 seats filled.
    ——————————————————-

We have 6 definites so far and one ‘probably’.
    Bob has said 15 bums will suffice.
    Any more takers?

90. Taranaich

Thanks, all!

Unfortunately, it’s back to the cesspit for Brian Donohoe:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/the-devo-files-brian-donohoe-central-ayrshire/

While I obviously hope beyond hope that SNP win in every constituency, I would be particularly heartbroken if Philippa didn’t get in, yet this pernicious, racist, bigoted ignoramus did.

91. AndyC

Keep up the excellent work with the devo files. Taranaich.
    Every one a gem.

92. Natasha

Hi guys
    I’d love to be at the Counting House on the 1st of May, but it depends what we’re doing in our constituency; I’ll probably be canvassing/leafleting. If we can return an SNP MSP in Roxburgh, Berwickshire & Selkirk, that will really make history and we need all hands to the pump to make it happen.

If I can’t make it, I’ll be thinking of you all. Just keep Paula Rose off the tables.

93. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – I see you had recognition in today’s x-word, 27 across

STYLE

94. Natasha

Paula Rose
    🙂 xx

95. Chic McGregor

@Paula
    27 Ac could be any number of words, but ‘style’ as you can see is my guess from the above post as being the most probable.

I suppose the next most likely would be ‘Skype’.

But without a clue in either the on line or printed version, it is kind of difficult to be certain.

I suppose manana will reveal all.

96. Chic McGregor

BTW Did we ever get told who was the voice-over in the Tory Toon?
    My guess was Paul Darrow (most famously Avon in Blake’s 7).

97. Chic McGregor

@Taranaich

A budgie + toothless = succeed.

A Slab Boy + spineless = success.

98. Michael McCabe

@ Taranaich Great read as per usual. Looking forward to the next Instalment. Cheers.

99. Betty Boop

@Natasha, 23/3/15, 9:07pm

If I can’t make it, I’ll be thinking of you all. Just keep Paula Rose off the tables

Whit!!? Spoil oor entertainment!!? Nae chance, as long as Paula takes the stilettos off first, fine by moi.

100. Bob Sinclair

I am definitely going to be at the ‘Wings does MayDay’ bash & will be dragging the apolitical Mrs Bob along as well. It’s about time she met some of these monstrous cybernats she’s read so much about in the Sunday papers.

101. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Bob.

What name does Mrs Bob want on her badge? Mrs Bob? Bob’s Keeper? Bob’s Carer?

BTW: Ian. I have a name to add to both the big list and the Dundee minibus list – a regularly reading lurker from work.

Alexandra Holmes.

I think I’ll try to get her to shorten her first name…

102. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Bob.

What name does Mrs Bob want on her badge? Mrs Bob? Bob’s Keeper? Bob’s Carer?

BTW: IanB. I have a name to add to both the big list and the Dundee minibus list – a regularly reading lurker from work.

Alexandra Holmes.

I think I’ll try to get her to shorten her first name…

103. Brian Doonthetoon

Apologies for the duplicate post – it’s this having to go back after submitting to see the post. I went back and forgot to refresh…

104. Brian Doonthetoon

Just remembered why I came into off’topic’ in the first place.

Much mention in today’s page(s) about ‘DEFCON’, which reminded me of this track, which was a floor-filler in Jaspers Rock Club (Dundee), back in the 90s.

It must have the most samples and ‘borrowings’ of any single ever released. I gave up counting at 9 different sources.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xef60FAN6Vk

Onnyhoo, the most iconic sample in that track led me to put together this mix – audio only, sorry. You may have to download before playing.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/Def%20Con%201-Crazy%20Horses-64.mp3

105. Bob Sinclair

Hi Brian,
    It should probably read ‘Bob’s responsible adult’ but Helen would be the correct name.

106. Brian Doonthetoon

Noted Bob.

107. Paula Rose

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JOHN KING!!!

108. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Noted.

Good stuff.

109. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Here’s my ‘big’ list. Have you got any I don’t have?

Swappies?

Ian Brotherhood

Ronnie Anderson

crazycat

Alexandra-M

Irene King

John King (Eccles)

Lollysmum

Macart

Mrs Macart

X_Sticks

Paula Rose

Cactus

Jim Thomson

Betty Boop

Alistair Grapevine

Brian Doonthetoon

Pete the Camera

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Quentin Quayle

Chipmonkey

Bob Sinclair

Helen Sinclair

Alexandra Holmes

110. Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmmm…

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

Wonder what that’s all about?

We don’t want to start that nonsense.

111. Brian Doonthetoon

JEEZ! In the time it took me to type my follow-up post about moderation, my first was approved!

Methinks Rev Stu is working a greater than 50 hour week…

112. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood (and others) do I get a special prize for correctly solving 27 across yesterday?

113. Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmmm…

It hasn’t been approved – my post at 7.39pm is still “awaiting moderation”.

114. Taranaich

Strange to think that back in October, Dumfries & Galloway looked like the most impossible seat for the SNP (4th place in 2010), yet Ashcroft and others are showing it going gold. Maybe everyone’s fed up with their MP:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/03/24/the-devo-files-russell-brown-dumfries-galloway/

115. cearc

Happy Birthday John.

116. Thepnr

Happy birthday from me and mine John. Don’t get fat on the cake 🙂

I played this for Ian Brotherhood last year so your honored (or insulted).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=co5Ar8PIFak

117. Oneironaut

Happy birthday John! 🙂

Raising a drink to you…
    (It’s only cheap Lidl cola, but it’s the sentiment that counts, right?)

118. Jim McIntosh

As we were discussing postal votes in a recent thread on the main blog for anyone interested I’ve listed the areas and postal vote percentage returns below. I think I’ve removed all formatting so hopefully will show up OK 🙂

Aberdeen City – 92.6%
    Aberdeenshire – 94.3%
    Angus – 92.9%
    Argyll & Bute – 95.1%
    Clackmannanshire – 95.2%
    Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar – 92.8%
    Dumfries and Galloway – 95.1%
    Dundee – 91.3%
    East Ayrshire – 94%
    East Dunbartonshire – 94%
    East Lothian – 94.8%
    East Renfrewshire – 94.4%
    City of Edinburgh – 92.2%
    Falkirk – 95.5%
    Fife – 92.3%
    Glasgow – 88%
    Highland – 93.8%
    Inverclyde – 92.2%
    Midlothian – 93.7%
    Moray – 92.9%
    North Ayrshire – 93%
    North Lanarkshire – 86.6%
    Orkney – 94.5%
    Perth & Kinross – 94.1%
    Renfrewshire – 95.1%
    Scottish Borders – 93.6%
    Shetland – 93.7%
    South Ayrshire – 93.6%
    South Lanarkshire – 93.5%
    Stirling – 95.3%
    West Dunbartonshire – 93.5%
    West Lothian – 93%
    Total – 92.5%

119. cearc

Jim,

To put that in perspective, the highest voter turnout in Australia (where voting is compulsory) since 1946 was in 1946 at 91.85%.

It has not been above 85% since 1972.

http://www.idea.int/vt/countryview.cfm?CountryCode=AU

I don’t recall them giving out the PV turnout seperately at the Highland count. Mind, it was 8.30am so my brain had pretty well gone on strike by then.

120. Thepnr

@Jim McIntosh

Those numbers are truly eye opening.

To be clear though these are the percentages of people who requested a postal vote and then actually bothered to vote?

I’d guess if you bother to ask for a postal vote, chances are you will use it.

121. Fiona

Thanks for that Jim McIntosh

Must have been a lot of work.

122. Jim McIntosh

cearc,

I was at the Moray count they didn’t give it out there either, but as you know there were teams of staff recording info from all the boxes.

I extrapolated the info above from the ‘Scottish Independence Referendum – Electoral Data (XLS)’ document found at

http://www.electoralcommission.org.uk/our-work/our-research/electoral-data

123. K1

Jim do you have a breakdown of the percentage of non postal votes of each area too, for comparison?

124. Jim McIntosh

K1 – if you follow the link in the post above all that info is in the excel spreadsheet. Lots of other interesting stuff as well.

125. K1

Thanks Jim, will do 🙂

126. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

See my post at 7.39pm last night. It was in moderation for hours so you may have missed it.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-21/#comment-1984031

127. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m just trying something – just ignore me.
    ——————————————-
    Interesting comparison…

Voter power in Dundee West 0.216
    The average UK voter has 1.18x more voting power than voters in Dundee West.

Voter power in Dundee East 0.973
    Voters in Dundee East have 3.85x more voting power than the UK average.

BTW: that site also suggests for Dundee West,

Constituency marginality Fairly safe.

I don’t think McGovern is “fairly safe”, going by the SNP’s canvassing returns onnyhoo.

128. Brian Doonthetoon

Strange.

The above appeared immediately after hitting “Submit Comment” but the bit below the line just wouldn’t appear on the “a-fundamental-misunderstanding” page.

Don’t know if it’s ever gonna appear. (That’s been around 12 minutes and it’s still not showing.)

129. Brian Doonthetoon

My last post (above) took AGES to appear here.

My post in today’s page took around 15 minutes to appear, then I ended up with two of it because I thought the first one had been binned for some reason.

130. Betty Boop

just a wee test …

trying to see if there’s still a delay and if my details are “sticky” (don’t even go there!)

131. Betty Boop

no delay but, also no details in the boxes … hmmmm

132. Betty Boop

Brian, are you getting your posting details (name and e-mail) being pre-completed?

It’s odd that Jim T (who is sitting alongside me) using an almost identical laptop, and Chrome settings, can post immediately and retains user details.

133. Brian Doonthetoon

Which takes us to the classic, “What’s brown and sticky?”

134. Betty Boop

Just had the cookies changed to permit Wings so, we’ll see what that does!

135. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

I have no problem on my MacPro at home – username and email filled in, although I did have to put them in manually, for a wee while, when I moved to this machine and updated system software, Firefox, and so on.
    OK now though.

However, on my personal iMac at work, and the Windoze machine I sometimes use, it’s erratic. Sometimes stuff posts immediately, other times there’s a delay, like this afternoon.

Neither machine displays username and email; I have to click in each box then select. Firefox installed on both machines.

136. Betty Boop

another cookie change

137. Betty Boop

yet another tweak (in IE this time)

138. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee honey I’m on my way to give you a special stroke, have the darkened room ready – all will be well.

139. Jim Thomson

She’s off out to do battle with the Troon survey sheet delivery.

I’m fiddling with her bits (technical term, apparently) to see if I can replicate the working set up on my laptop versus (why do sports link people always say “vee”? Poor education I reckon .. anyway ..) this one.

I might be doing a “Captain Oates” on this tonight :-p

140. Paula Rose

Walk don’t run…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owq7hgzna3E

141. Macart

Weird.

When I use Safari on my imac posts are near instantaneous. When I post from W8 and use Chrome they take about half an hour to appear.

See you in half an hour.

142. Betty Boop

settings in IE changed – wonder if that will help …

143. Betty Boop

restart of lappy to try that and see if posting name/email sticks

144. Betty Boop

back on Chrome (and still waiting for previous post from past 20 mins to appear)

145. Jim Thomson

Right … on my own lappy now, same OS build, same anti-virus, same browsers (IE & Chrome)

Another thing I notice is that on this lappy, once I send a post, it returns to bottom of page but, the other lappy doesn’t (probably linked to the slow update of posting data).

I am convinced there’s something happening outside the browsers but there’s not much there that can be tweaked except a/v software and the OS (Win7 pro x64) isn’t as tweakable as XP was.

ho-hum

146. Brian Doonthetoon

I think I’ll try Safari on my personal iMac at work tomorrow, and see what begrails of the lateymost postage, that happidge with Fireyfoxy.

Oh yes!

147. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, a video for yooz, that I picked up from Facebook.

It’s rather good, in an anglo-centric way. Appears to be available, even if you’re not logged into Facebook.

http://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10153276583434218&set=vb.148379514217&type=2&theater

148. Jim Thomson

right, as I was comparing Chrome browser settings, I noticed that my one has “Done” buttons and Betty’s has “Finished” buttons in same place.

No obvious language settings (different versions of English maybe?) and the installed versions of Chrome are identical.

149. Jim Thomson

@BDtt – was the egg hand familiar? a bit quick for my old eyes but, a youngster like you will spot it 😛

150. Betty Boop

ok, yet another go

151. Betty Boop

righty-ho, next minor fiddle to see if that helps … probably not.

152. Betty Boop

ok – that posted straight away !&?*? whit?

Still not keeping poster details though.

I switched on Java helpers in Toolbars and Extensions, and also Norton Identity Protection. Bizarre. Will need a few other posts over time to see if it’s going to be permanent.

153. Betty Boop

Hah! Knew it was too good to be true. Bugger!

154. Betty Boop

getting fed up now.

last try – cleared browser cache in IE 11

155. Paula Rose

One of my old show reels – notice how cleverly I lose my heels –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqkzDca0SpE

156. Taranaich

While I’ve done my best to just let him hoist himself on his own petard, I cannot help but reiterate how much I loathe Ian Davidson.

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/03/25/the-devo-files-ian-davidson-glasgow-south-west/

If he gets back in because the Patriotic Socialists, Scottish Socialists and Scottish Greens split the vote with the SNP, I might defenestrate something. Man is a lout, a goon, a blockhead, and he needs kicked out.

157. Oneironaut

Strange that…

Chrome is Google’s browser, and from what people are saying here, it has an odd habit of losing posts?

I’m using Gmail (until I can find a better alternative!) which is also by Google, and it frequently loses my messages…

Coincidence?

158. Paula Rose

when do we get back to normal stuff like quarks?

159. Oneironaut

You mean “quark” as in, the elementary particles that combine to form such things as the building blocks of atomic nuclei?

Or “quark” as in the noise made by an atomic duck? 😉

(*watches a tumbleweed blow past in the silence…*)

…I’ll get my coat…

160. Taranaich

Also, six days to get to £3,000. I’m going to post this every day until we get there.

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/inverclyde-snp-westminster-campaign

161. Paula Rose

Um – app, Twitter and wings – how does that work on etch-a-sketch?
    I’m dumfoundit. Time to watch naughty stuff, nighty night.

162. Paula Rose

Um – app, Twitter and wings – how does that work on etch-a-sketch?
    I’m dumfoundit. Time to watch naughty stuff, nighty night.

163. Thepnr

Yes Paula, what has happened to Auld A? An informative chap.

O/T and since this is O/T that’ll be Ok then.

Just substitute Westminster for B….. and it just about sums up the media frenzy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsdIxw8jImo

By the way, lead singer has a slight resemblance to a young Jim Murphy. No offence mate!

164. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

You must know that microsloth has given up on Indecent Exploiter?

Microsoft relegates Internet Explorer to a ‘legacy engine’ to make way for new browser

http://www.theverge.com/2015/3/24/8284781/internet-explorer-is-slowly-dying

165. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon

Internet Explorer has actually been dying (not so slowly!) for years now. All that’s left is the digital equivalent of skeletal remains reanimated through some sinister dark techno-magic that left it nothing more than the shambling electronically-zombified remains of something that was never all that alive to start with…

(Feel free to quote me on that. I’m at my most creative at these insanely late/early times!)

Knowing Microsoft, I doubt I’ll be tempted to use their “new browser” either.
    Then again all my systems here are Linux powered now, and they wouldn’t want something working on Linux.
    That would be like Jim Murphy going on the BBC and telling the world that he’s been lying all along and that everyone should vote SNP!

Phew, rant over. I’m off to bed now… 🙂

166. Macart

Do you ever get tired?

I’m tired and right about now a hill loch with a head of trout and a wee break is calling. A total break from screens, arguments, debate. Just friends, wine and a craic, perhaps some of my old chefing skills and some eats.

Some days you just want to see a child laugh because the future is all before them, feel the arms of that pretty girl you married twenty seven years ago around you, feel the wind in your face and watch the world go by.

Today feels like one of those days.

167. Nana Smith

@Macart

Totally agree. Enjoy your break Sam.

168. Macart

Thanks Nana 🙂

Consider me gone… for a time.

169. CameronB Brodie

Brotyboy
    Hi, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. That was indeed my dad and everything was fine, thanks.

I’m back in Dundee every two or three weeks, so I imagine it won’t be too difficult to get together. I’m not sure how contact details are best shared though.

Thepnr
    Apparently you’re the man to speak to.

Brian Doonthetoon & Pete the Camera
    Nice to finally put faces to names. 😉

170. DerekM

Tight lines @ Macart and i think i might do the same this weekend so thanks for a cracking idea 🙂
    Sometimes you just cant beat being out in the beautiful Scottish countryside watching a river flow or the waves of a loch lapping about your waders as the world passes by to the twittering of the little birds in the trees 🙂

171. Bugger (the Panda)

test with Safari

172. Bugger (the Panda)

second test

173. icyspark

@BtP

Safari so goody 😉

174. Bugger (the Panda)

20+ minutes delay

175. Oneironaut

Sometimes I’m tempted to take a holiday myself.

Trouble is, if I did, I don’t think I’d come back…

176. Betty Boop

@BtP, 1:59pm

Panda on Safari? You don’t hear that every day of the week! 🙂

Anyways, please explain what going on Safari does for you rather than being an Explorer, ie, when you see this in half an hour or so! 🙁

Remember that I (the real Betty B not the imposter posting above) am an IT idiot…

177. Natasha

Can someone tell me what’s going on with the Rev? I seem to have missed something.

178. Betty Boop

@ Natasha, 4:04pm

Read through the last main thread Temporary Service Interruption and you will get the idea from some of the posts why he might need a breather. Apart from that, I have a feeling he has something he wishes to do over the next few days.

Anyways, what we can all do is keep the heid for a few days and behave like the sensible adults we are 🙂

179. Betty Boop

Oh, that was interesting. Post to Natasha appeared immediately:-)
    Pushing my luck now!

180. Jim Thomson

@Natasha he’s simply gone “tilt” over the (as yet formally unannounced) appointment of Kate Higgins as a SPAD to our Nicola.

Alternatively, he’s being touted by a variety of folks on here as having audience tickets for a range of politics shows over the next couple of days.

There’s even a wicked rumour that he’s attending the conference this weekend.

The first one above, was the subject of a (now replaced) thread he started and which rapidly became a misogyny accusation-fest.

Other than that, he probably simply needs a wee spell away from the hassle, and who can blame him?

181. Jim Thomson

@Betty Boop – Hmmm, so my tinkering with your bits seems to have some intermittent success?

Probably not my undisputed skills as a laptop fiddler, more likely to be a random occurrence of getting past some invisible barrier.

182. Betty Boop

@JimT

It’s now 4:44pm and my post at 4:31pm still hasn’t appeared on Chrome which is where I posted it, but, is here on Explorer. Go figure.

And stop hinting about your predilections… my reputation is at stake and PR will be envious. 😉

183. CameronB Brodie

Natasha
    There’s only so much a sentient being with funtioning nervous system can take, before having to think up new and imaginative swear words? 🙂

184. Thepnr

@CameronB

Email me at thepnr03@gmail.com and I’ll pass on Brotyboys email address as he instructed earlier.

185. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

Email me at:-

brian@navelfluffdoonthetoon.plus.com

(Remove navelfluff to get correct address.)

I’ll send you something.

186. Chic McGregor

@CameronB

I remember at Kinfauns Primary school a hundred and fifty years ago or so, someone suggested we invent swear words.

The two I thought up have both appeared on TV.

The first was ‘Smeg’, which appeared some years ago on Red Dwarf and the other was ‘Cunk’ which has appeared recently as Diane Morgan’s alter ego ‘Philomena Cunk’ on Charlie Brooker’s show.

Probably just coincidence, especially the second.

187. iclare1

Can you put me down for 1st May please?

188. Ian Brotherhood

@iclare1 –

Noted!

189. TJenny

Hi BDTT + Ian B, can you make sure I’m on the May 1st list too, please. Ta. 🙂

190. Cactus

Hi iclare1, welcome, should be a lively night at the Counting House 🙂

191. Thepnr

Hi Ian

Was undecided about 1st May for personal reasons but if I can make it will definitely be there.

@BDTT

I intend staying overnight so will be driving, looking forward to shacking up with Paula Rose once again 😉

192. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

193. Natasha

Thanks to everyone for filling me in about the Rev. Kate Higgins sounds like a real piece of work.

194. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You haven’t read my post at 9.48am yesterday morning, have you?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-21/#comment-1984223

195. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Sorry mister, did see it, but didn’t respond immediately, then forgot…

Your list is the main one. I don’t have any names that you don’t, assuming that you’ve updated today with iclare1, TJenny and Thepnr.

Still waiting to confirm a good few via my missus and SSP buddies – probably another dozen or so, but I’ll have to nail them down and get whatever names they want on badges etc.

Sorry if I’m flagging a bit, but you seem to have it all under control!!

196. cearc

Hey Brian,

Is the YES bus getting spruced up for a trip to Westminister?

197. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cearc.

Because of the age of the bus, it usually keeps to within a 20 mile radius of Dundee.

However, it is going through to Edinburgh on 18th April.

Reason for keeping close to Dundee…
    For example, if it breaks down on the Edinburgh trip, it would cost around £600 to get it ‘recovered’ back to the yard in Dundee. + the cost of getting the passengers back to Dundee.

From the 5th April, until the election, the Dragon will be at City Square in Dundee every weekend (mostly Sundays), as a campaigning hub for the SNP – whether they like it or not!

Hi Ian B.

I am continuing to be an alert reader!
    BTW: ‘Alexandra Holmes’ has suggested ‘Sand Holmes’ as her username for the badge. That saves some ink…

198. cearc

Brian,

It would be worth low-loading it down for the MPs to arrive at Westminster in it.

199. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

You’ve got it covered.

So far we still haven’t captured any celebrities (apart from, obviously, Miss Rose) so the shout is out – who will be the first ‘name’ to pledge attendance?

The smart money (or so I hear) is on Bateman, but a slender possibility that a Riddoch or McAlpine may, by sheer coincidence, find themselves in or around the CH on May 1st? Michty me, the grapevine is a weird and wonderful thing…

200. Brian Doonthetoon

OOH! Cearc!

I will put that idea to Bob.

8=)

201. Michael McCabe

@ Brian Doonthetoon Why is the yes bus coming through to Edinburgh on the 18th of April. My part of the World.

202. cearc

Ian,

Celebrities?

I hear that a famous author and crossword compiler will be there!

203. Chic McGregor

@Ian Brotherhood

Don’t know if you are today’s compiler Ian, but if you are, could you post the missing clues? Looks like they used a bigger or bolder font for them and couldn’t fit them all in.

204. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic McG –

Wisny me mister!

It’s a hell of a mess today. Don’t know what must’ve happened to cause that.

Is that your letter in there today? Gordon Bennett, we’re taking the place over one column inch at a time…all we need now is Paula Rose doing a tasteful centre-spread.

205. Chic McGregor

Aye, that wis me.

206. Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

Very nice coverage of Maxwell’s achievements here:

http://www.maxwellyear2006.org/html/press_coverage.html#Press5

One quote from Einstein on his work.

“the most profound and the most fruitful that physics has experienced since the time of Newton.”

207. Chic McGregor

@Thepnr

Although he is well up there in the pantheon among his fellow physicists, I doubt whether even half the population of Scotland could tell you anything about him.

Another example of Union dividend perhaps?

It is remarkable how the greatest achievements of Scots become ‘buried’.

For example, James Gregory’s discovery of the calculus, the invention of the reflecting telescope, the identification of diffraction grating effects and his fundamental work on mathematical series and first proof of the calculus all attributed to Newton, Leibniz, Taylor et al.

Yet how many Scots have heard of him?

And then there is ‘survival of the fittest’ a well established theory of evolution in Scotland from Lord Monboddo to Patrick Matthews going back decades before Darwin ever came up to Edinburgh to do his degree.

Curiously, ‘second division’ achievements are ‘allowed’, James Watt, Bell, Baird.

208. Chic McGregor

Patrick Matthew no s

209. Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

You definitely got me there with James Gregory, I had always believed (and read) that there was a dispute as to who “founded” the use of calculus was between Newton and Leibniz.

I also have never heard of Lord Monboddo nor Patrick Matthews. How ignorant are we (I) then?

Looks like I should give up reading novels and start reading about Scottish history, in particular it’s scientists. Thanks Chic.

210. Natasha

Thepnr
    How ignorant are I? Tut tut.

211. Thepnr

Ok Natasha. Am I.

I said “are we” then realised that it was I who was ignorant and not Chic, hence the addition of I.

Please don’t belt me again Miss, I promise not to do it again 🙂

212. Jock Scot

Hi Folks
    Ninja Penguin in brilliant form and giving me something f@ckin’ excellent to sing..Hail Alba

Nicola’s Army

youtu.be/hiuSR8hQf18

213. Ninja Penguin

A wee tune from Yew Choob for the weekend http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiuSR8hQf18

214. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael McCabe.

I’m not sure – something at Holyrood. I’ll try to get more info.

215. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chic McGregor and Thepnr (and ‘et al’).

On the ‘scientist’ subject…

Who was the first person to demonstrate working electric light? And where?

And if anyone feels the urge to type Edison or Swan, award yourself a spell in Quarantine!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine/

216. kendomacaroonbar

@Brian Doonthetoon

Brian, did you receive my e mail ?

217. Jock Scot

Thanks Ninja Penguin

I tried a while ago and followed all the rules so I’m glad you’re the ones wi’ the brains

218. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ken.

Yes. I’ll reply tonight.

8=)

219. Thepnr

@BDtt

Would that be James Bowman Lindsay in Dundee in 1835?

He was born less than a mile from where I now live.

Amazing where Google can lead you 🙂

220. Caledonius

Electric light – was it Nicholas telsa?

221. Brian Doonthetoon

Well done, Thepnr!

In 1835, 40 years before Thomas Edison announced the invention of the lightblub, he demonstrated constant electric light, whereby he could read a book at a distance of one and a half foot.
    His concern with electric light was mainly prompted by the need to provide a safe method of lighting the jute mills, where severe fires had devastated the lives of the workers.

http://www.leisureandculturedundee.com/library/jbl

Oh, and it was in the Thistle Hall in Union Street, which, in a later incarnation, was Teazers Nite Club.

222. Caledonius

Nvm google says thepnr is right :p

223. Brian Doonthetoon

I see you’ve discovered ‘off-topic’ Caledonius.

Welcome to the clubbie!

Gonna be in the Counting House on 1st May?

224. Chic McGregor

@Thepnr

I remember an incident as an undergraduate when we were going through the series definitions of various trigonometric functions.
    The lecturer put up the series for arctan. I realised that if pi/4 was the presumed value then we could use the series to calculate a value for pi. I interjected with that suggestion and the lecturer told me I was correct and that it had been used to do that and that it was known as the Leibniz series.

On another occasion the lecturer covered MacLaurin’s series, pointing out that his grave was no more than 200 yards away from the lecture theater, in Greyfriar’s churchyard. He then went on to the related Taylor’s series which he prefaced (tongue-in-cheek) with the comment “but, of course, whatever a Scotsman can do an Englishman can do better”.

It was many years later that I learned, by chance nerdy leisure research, it was in fact Gregory who came up with both ‘Leibniz’ and Taylor’s’ series and many others.

Moral is – ignorance is rarely the fault of its possessor.

Something we should bear in mind when next exasperated by unionist displays of it, however spectacular.

225. Chic McGregor

Didn’t know about Lindsay, thanks.

But on a similar theme, the World’s first wind turbine used to generate electricity was built by James Blyth in Marykirk, just over the Angus/Aberdeen border. He offered to supply electricity to the town, but the people refused, thinking it the work of the devil. He used it to light his own house.

A useful one to use on Quixote types.

226. Ian Brotherhood

The lassie dancing in this video looks strangely familiar, but I can’t place her.

Red Hot Chili Peppers, ‘The Zephyr Song’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fcRa5Z6LmU

227. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Nice choice, enjoyed.

The dancer was also a little familiar to me too. Though I can’t place her, will have to wait until I get my cataracts operated on 🙂

@BDtt

By the way I met my lovely wife in Teezers Nite Club in 1978, I’d had a few and the cataracts were just starting to give me problems.

228. Chic McGregor

@Ian
    Nope, can’t place her. Similar cheek structure to Sandie Shaw from the 60s.

229. Ian Brotherhood

‘Show me a motion!’
    ‘Aye. Nae borra. Jim’s jist left wan oan the carpet.’

Boney-M, ‘Brown Girl In The Ring’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28IYIZNmUKo

230. Chic McGregor

Rain surely 🙂

231. Natasha

Ian B, Thepnr, Chic McGregor
    Is ‘cheek structure’ some kind of euphemism? Mind you, if I had a figure like that, I’d probably be dancing in my underwear too.

232. Chic McGregor

Nat, never noticed her figure. Yes, I am that old.

233. Ian Brotherhood

This one, obviously, is for Rev:

Boney-M, ‘Hooray! Hooray!’ (It’s A Holiday) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJkrA6DtDgQ

234. Chic McGregor

Well the Rev must often think he his lying down by the rivers of Babylon, or at least the Tower of Babel.

235. Thepnr

Hey Ian Brotherhood

Just saw your post on the main thread, that 20 minute delay drives me nuts too. I was searching today for some kind of solution with no luck.

Patrician mentioned a few days ago here that he was close to having a solution. Have you got there yet P?

Now for Boney M 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSApOjpslg8

236. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

I’m using Firefox 35.0.1 with MacOS 10.6.8 (old, I know) on a Macpro from 2007 and I am having no delays.

Onnyhoo, this has got to be my fave Boney M track of all time, in the world, ever. When I played the 12″ in Chalmers & Joy for the wee listen, back in the 70s, I thought, “That is GOOD!”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMOxnrS7eFo

237. Chic McGregor

Sorry Ian,
    For my entire life I have heard that line as “Brown girl in the rain”. Quite shocked really.

238. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Glad to hear your not having any issues with delays to posting. I guess your not yet on the “list” and your posts don’t have to be filtered through GCHQ before appearing.

“A paranoid is someone who knows a little of what’s going on.”

William S Buroughs

239. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh Thepnr, I have delay issues at work, both from my personal iMac and the work’s wintelbox.

I can’t think of a rational explanation.

240. Brian Doonthetoon

I think it’s all down to some cookie malfunction.

241. Chic McGregor

Brian,
    If you have enough confidence/knowledge, try installing dual boot to a Linux OS (Ubuntu, Mint etc.)

242. Brian Doonthetoon

No Thanks, Chic.

MacOS 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard) is working fine on this machine.

I don’t want to jinx it.

243. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood If you go to go-go amy.com then to video then to commercial work you will find your Red Hot Chili Peppers Dancer. Anyway here is Something Delightful With a bit of Dancing. Does the Dancer look like a young Paula Rose ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etviGf1uWlg&feature=player_detailpage

244. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I hereby nominate you as WOS’s very own ‘Daddy Cool’. You may have to acquire a suitable outfit for May 1st.

I’m sure Paula Rose would agree, but she’s been strangely quiet.

(Rev goes on an unexpected holiday, and Paula Rose is AWOL? Hmmm…)

@Chic McG –

‘She looks like a sugar in a plum’ is the one that always got me, but it turns out that is the actual lyric. Never mind – great tunes summoning happy memories. And Scotland’s very own Boney-M is looking more like ‘a sugar in a plum’ with every passing hour. Roll on the Sunday papers and politics programmes: “Taxi for Murphy!”

245. Michael McCabe

Never mind a taxi for Murphy. Let him run home The W–ker.

246. Caledonius

@ Brian Doonthetoon

What’s happening May 1st?

247. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Nice one.

Can’t even guess whether this one is of similar vintage, but it did it for me at the time.

Black Box, ‘Ride On Time’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MiJ2B8PFjqU

248. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

And Scotland’s very own Boney-M is looking more like ‘a sugar in a plum’ with every passing hour.

You mean he’s on to plums! Hahaha 🙂

249. Natasha

Caledonius

Bless you, child, we’re all meeting up in the Counting House in Glasgow for a Wings get-together! (Well, I say ‘we’ but I’ll probably be chained to a canvassing sheet and clipboard in Jedburgh). Scroll up the thread and you’ll find details

(I do hope you weren’t taking the p*** with that comment, because I’ll look really stupid if you were).

250. Caledonius

@ Natasha

Lol no, I was serious, I’m kind of new to Wings so behind on news like this. I don’t really get to talk politics much with family or friends so I’d thought Id try out talking to people on wings – people who hate the Union and want independance like I do. 🙂

Although I think Ive rubbed a few people the wrong way, not the best start. The meeting sounds fun, if I’m allowed to stick around this site I’ll certainly try to go.

251. Caledonius

Btw, I tend to use my iPad and sometimes I get instant posts but at night it takes about 15mins for my posts to appear. Could the slowness be due to some sort of time of day thing?

Btw I’m no tech wizard, just a silly thought. Wanted to let you know my experience as I see others are suffering posts appearing after long delays too.

252. Oneironaut

@Caledonius
    “Although I think Ive rubbed a few people the wrong way, not the best start.”

Don’t worry about it. I do that all the time! 😉

253. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael McCabe.

The info below is from the event’s Facebook page at:-

https://www.facebook.com/events/730063793745967/
    —————————————————-

18 April
    at 12:00–16:00

The Scottish Parliament, EH99 1SP

To ensure the Scottish voice is heard at Westminster, and to stop a majority government, we need to vote SNP in the general election. This is the best way to support Scotland on the road to Independence.

BEST TIN HAT AWARD – Embracing the phenomenon we will award a trophy and a bottle of wine to the most innovative tin hat of the day 🙂 🙂 🙂 PLEASE wear it proudly on the 18th April 🙂 🙂

POETRY COMPETITION – Closing date 31/3/15
    We are running a poetry competition and the winner will get to read out his/her poem on the day of the rally. Please submit your entries to;- thevoiceofscotland@virginmedia.com
    ;- just a couple of rules….keep it clean, no swearing, and as the focus of the rally is on the SNP, please mention them somewhere in your entry. Good luck!!

Speakers;
    Joyce Rahman – Opening address
    1.MC McKinnon – The Voice of Scotland
    2.Colin Keir – SNP MSP Edinburgh West
    3.Tommy Sheppard – SNP Westminster Candidate
    4.Maciej Wiczynski – Poles for an Independent Scotland
    5.Paul Young – Scotland Against Fracking
    6.Roddy Oliphant – http://itsscotlandsoil.com/
    7.Martin Mitchell – The Radical Road Bar/Restaurant
    8.Ex-Corporal Cliff Purvis- Veterans for Independence
    9.?????? – Poetry competition winner
    10.Ben Munnoch – Young Scots for Independence
    11.Barbara-Anne Haig – Yes45Fife
    12.Ruaraidh Oliphant – Scotland’s Youngest activist!
    13.Deb Brown – Yes We Care Dundee
    14.Steve Bell – Steve will read out statements from supporters who are unable to attend the rally.
    15. Andy McGurk – Catelonia/Scotland & Independence
    16 Derek Bateman -Ex BBC journalist-derekbateman.co.uk
    17 Adrian Bayne – The Voice of Scotland
    18 Hannah Bardell – SNP Westminster candidate
    19 Hardeep Singh Kholi – Comedian, Broadcaster, Journalist & Chef TBC
    20 Michelle Thomson – SNP Westminster Candidate
    21 June Reilly – Charity worker with homeless and vulnerable adults
    Joyce Rahman – Closing statement

Supporting statements;
    Springbank Distillers Campbeltown.
    A YES supporting family company

Brian Cox – Dundee born Scottish actor, films include Braveheart, The Bourne Identity, X-Men

Elaine C Smith – Glasgow born actress, TV credits include Rab C Nesbitt, Naked Video, theatre roles Calender Girls & I dreamed a Dream.

The fabulous YES BUS will be there!

Music:-

Dick Gaughan – International Singer/songwriter/guitarist
    Ted Christopher – One of Scotland’s finest performers
    Kenny Donaldson – Wonderful accordionist
    Amanda Brown – Fabulous vocalist/guitarist from Fife
    Scott McWatt – Critically acclaimed Scottish recording artist
    Rebecca McKinlay- Traditional piper & highland dancers
    Musicians for Indy – Please check out their facebook page
    Jack Rowberry – Award winning modern blues singer

LIVESTREAM

FOOD BANK COLLECTION
    It has become customary for there to be a food bank collection at these events, and this one will be no different. The generosity of the Indy folks is now well documented and welcomed from the charities that run these places. Many, many thanks.
    —————————————————

You can see the ‘poster’ here:-

http://tinyurl.com/q2z9cns

254. Chic McGregor

Cannae make the rally. Will be in New Zealand. 🙁

255. Natasha

@Caledonius 12.58am

You haven’t rubbed anyone up the wrong way; when you get to know Ian B a bit better, you’ll be able to have a joke with him. You’re very welcome here. More so in my opinion than some long-term commenters who have just revealed a very nasty side to their natures over on the ‘Temporary interruption’ thread.

256. Betty Boop

@Bdtt

Met Kevin (livestream)at the SNP conference today and he is intending to come to the Counting House bash on 1 May.

Badge name required = Thistle

Spent pm with QQ & Chipmonkey and met a few more Wingers hingin’ aboot the place. Great first day.

257. Lollysmum

Betty Boop
    I watched the conference on independence live.It looked really good & would have loved to be there. Had to make do with Ronnie Anderson & John King causing havoc on Livestream comments page instead! 🙂

Have no idea whether they are livestreaming tomorrow but hope so.

258. mumsyhugs

Help! Can I have some reinforcements on the main thread – they’re starting to eat each other – it’s not pretty 🙁 very sad 🙁 My first venture onto Off Topic by the way xxx

259. Betty Boop

@ Lollysmum, 9:41pm

Conference was really good, excellent speeches and resolutions. You know, it is just like Wings; it is like being amongst family.

I’ll have to look at the livestream and see what RA & JK have been up to 🙂

260. Thepnr

@Natasha & mumsyhugs

Believe me it is not worth becoming embroiled, the exact same thing happened in Sept after the Referendum when the Rev took a break.

Paula Rose made the right choice when telling me by email on Friday she would not be back until Monday when the Rev returns.

261. Betty Boop

@ mumsyhugs, 10:18pm

I’ve been trying to catch up on what’s been going on in the main thread and it seemed to be calming down a little while back.

I guess the report that started the argument is having the effect intended, ie to be divisive. Whilst respecting everyone’s opinions, we shouldn’t allow that to happen.

262. Thepnr

I have just saw a post from Paula Rose on the main thread, I guess the valve popped and the pressure just had to be released!

263. Paula Rose

I’ve left the Rev sleeping peacefully – he loved his foot massage. I’ve already had to do some whip stuff on the main thread, now dears can we get the kilted hordes to behave?

264. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

This is for you.

I like to think it’s about a Blobfish, but they just couldn’t bring themselves to use that in the title:

Radiohead, ‘Weird Fishes’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q888PBtrWc0

265. Paula Rose

No surprise here –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvG3is7Bm1w

266. Michael McCabe

@ Brian Doonthetoon 9:43am Thank you for all that lovely Information. I will be taking a wee daunder down there on the 18th.

267. Paula Rose

(do these comments from the Bahamas reach you?)

268. Thepnr

Coming over loud and clear Paula. Oh wait…Paula come back Paula…

I guess the Rev called huh, that’s you and me finished LOL.

269. Paula Rose

Jock Tamson has just tweeted me that he’s not too particular.

270. cearc

Paula Rose,

Gently with the thumbscrews, sweetie. We want the Rev returned still able to type.

271. Paula Rose

Please be quiet – took me ages to get the Rev to go to sleep last night.

272. Thepnr

We didn’t half post some good music on here in the last year. Fellow Wingers take a bow.

273. Paula Rose

He’s stirring – got to go xx

274. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

‘Do these comments from the Bahamas reach you?’

Yes, they do, but they take approximately 20 minutes, as they would if you were ten feet away.

275. Paula Rose

Thepnr – shh dear, we don’t want everyone to know.

276. Paula Rose

Cearc sweetest – he’s salivating over the flocked wallpaper.

277. Chic McGregor

@Ian
    The Piglet Squid looks more like Mr Blobby than the Blob Fish, IMO.

I know, controversial suggestion, but judge for yourself:

http://www.divereport.com/

278. Caledonius

@ Natasha

Aww thanks Natasha. You, Lesley Anne and a couple of others have certainly helped me feel more part of the group. And as for Ian Brotherhood, I think we concluded we clashed when not in the best moods, it seems all sorted now. 🙂

And yeah was sad the way the main thread went. Personally thought the SNP conference would have dominated the talk today, but hey ho, maybe tmoz.

Thanks again for filling me in on the counting house event!

279. Chic McGregor

There’s a bit of Lord Foulkes about it as well.

280. Paula Rose

Does this work? Maybe…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUFL8WSxTgY

281. Paula Rose

Oops – Rev is stirring, must attend – xx

282. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic McGregor –

Sooperbus Maximus.

283. Ian Brotherhood

‘There’s a bit of Lord Foulkes about it as well.’

So, not only is it a Piglet Squid, but it’s pished?

Now there’s a thing…

284. Natasha

@Ian Brotherhood
    Thanks – I think. You continue to broaden my musical education.

I’m thinking of changing my username to Shrieking Harpy. What do you think?

285. Thepnr

@Natasha

FWIW I agreed with everything you said, just reluctant to get involved. Been there and done that. Decided it’s a waste of time, refusing to fan the flames.

Nice to see you getting stuck in though. By the way if I felt I needed too, believe me I would. Better though to starve them of oxygen.

286. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

I think it’s too late for me to attempt to answer loaded questions, because I am, myself, loaded.

I also think that some folk are still wielding hatchets which, for the greater good, need to be buried soonermost.

287. Macart

Should I ask, or just go back to bed?

Go away for a few days RnR and the last thread seems to have gone tonto. Seems an awfie lot of grumpy folk on it. With over a thousand posts I’ll give reading back through the thing a miss.

Any roads, played catch up on my recording of the SNP conference last night. Helluva speech by the FM. I haven’t trusted the political class for (mumble) years, but that lady may just be the real deal y’know. Mr Hosie and Mr Robertson looked like class acts in their interviews, hell even the random bods interviewed on the floor after the main event looked different class. The old Beeb couldn’t lay a glove on any of them.

288. frogesque

Morning folks. Hate this changing clocks, I’ll be jetlagged for the whole day!

Popped over to the main thread. Popped back out again.

Going to play some Red Hot Chilie Pipers at full crank to see if it will wake me up.

289. Natasha

Just looked at my laptop to find it’s an hour later than I thought. B******ds! Who invented BST anyway? They ought to be shot at dawn. Not that I’m intolerant or anything.

290. Natasha

Ian B
    I’m keeping my hatchet up my sleeve until I can find a head to bury it in.

291. cearc

Natasha,

Plenty of wood to chop here!

292. Thepnr

Just noticed something that I hadn’t noticed before when refreshing the page using Chrome.

If you scroll down to the very bottom of the page so that the “Submit Comment” button is visible and then refresh the page. As the refresh completes I briefly see this line of text appear below the comment button:

Current ye@r* 3.4.

Anyone one else fancy trying this, I know after doing a google search for “Current ye@r*” that it is associated with WordPress and may be a bug.

293. Thepnr

Tried again using Firefox and got this line of type:

Current ye@r* 2015

2015 instead of 3.4. Puzzling.

294. Thepnr

And that last post went up instantly instead of the typical delay.

295. Thepnr

That last post did not appear instantly and still hasn’t.

296. Lollysmum

Thepnr
    Yes you are right. I get it with Chrome but nothing when I use IE

297. Thepnr

@Lollysmum

Thanks, do you suffer from posts being delayed or not?

298. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    I get that too.
    2015 for me.

Currently using Linux version of Pale Moon (a modified variant of Firefox).

299. Oneironaut

Out of curiosity, I took a look into the source code of this page.

The “Current Ye@r” thing seems to be part of the antispam measures. With “2015” and “3.4” being the two values listed there.
    Not too sure exactly how it works, since my knowledge of web scripting is limited…

300. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Your knowledge of web scripting may be limited but mine is non-existent.

Take a look at the first few results of this Google search, seems there is some kind of issue starting 4 or so months ago. I have no idea though if these issues are in any way related to the delays of posts appearing.

Just hoping someone with more knowledge might find something as it’s an absolute pain.

https://www.google.co.uk/?gws_rd=ssl#q=%22Current+ye%40r+*%22

301. Oneironaut

Going by that, it definitely seems to be part of the antispam measures.

One site on there has it set as an actual visible form field (like Name, Mail and so on). Except it’s filled in as a number like “3.4” by default, and the poster has to clear that and type in the current year, “2015”.

That way it’s less likely to be an automated spam bot, as they wouldn’t know to do that. Similar to a “captcha code” used on some forums that only a human could respond to.

On this site though, it doesn’t seem to be active. Maybe once a poster is moderated, the Rev can add them to a “not spam” list thus it isn’t needed. Anyone on that list can post normally, while anyone not on that list gets sent to the moderation queue and either allowed or blocked.
    So it’s a bit more aggressive than normal spam filtering, as I’d guess this site is under various forms of attack most of the time.

I’m only assuming that’s how it works though. Could be wrong.
    I don’t think it’s what’s causing the slow down though. Unless the antispam measures are unusually slow to respond to new messages.

302. Paula Rose

I find that a spot of sauce coding and whipped scripting does the job.

303. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Thanks for that, I’m probably barking up the wrong tree but did find it funny that I hadn’t noticed that appearing before.

I’m certain the site has a “not spam” list as your first post is always moderated, same if you type your email or id wrong.

304. Lollysmum

Thepnr
    Oh yes, I’ve always suffered from delayed posts. So much so that it isn’t worth trying to join conversations because by the time my post appears, the thread has moved on to another subject so I’m always behind the curve.

I often end up just giving up on posting.

305. Lollysmum

Would you believe it-my last post appeared immediately!

I did wonder if it was something to do with how many were browsing particular pages simultaneously.

306. Lollysmum

And my last one didn’t appear immediately-it just doesn’t make sense.7 minutes & counting for that one.

This one submitted at 9.16pm

307. Brian Doonthetoon

I just tried the reload right at the bottom of the page thing and, for a microsecond, I saw the date 2015. I will now post this and see what happens.

308. Brian Doonthetoon

And that posted immediately!

309. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW:

The last four names I have for badges on the 1st May are:-

iclare1

TJenny

Alex Clark Thepnr

Thistle

Anyone I’ve missed over the last 48 hours or so?

310. X_Sticks

@BDtt

“Anyone I’ve missed over the last 48 hours or so?”

Apart from the Rev, you mean. 😉

311. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Not that I’ve noticed – you’ve caught all the same weird fishes as me.

312. Caledonius

Ignore this post, just testing post speed!

313. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

The Rev has his badges from Invergowrie in September last year, Glasgow in November, and Invergowrie in February. And his Seafest badge, and his ‘Arbroath Declaration’ badge, and so on.

He probably has a bigger collection than Betty Boop!

I wonder if he’ll come to the Counting House to collect his latest, in person?

We’re up to speed then Ian!

314. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

We certainly are.

I told the hardy buddies in Ardrossan about it today, and will do so again at SSP branch meetings, perhaps RIC meet if I can make it. Genuine interest – especially as it’s likely to be the last social for most prior to the GE.

315. Paula Rose

Rev safely delivered back into the fray – don’t mention flocked wallpaper.

316. Ian Brotherhood

So, when do we start rehearsals for doing this on May 1st? Out there in George Square, with all the moves sorted, tight as a drum. Bags me the bass player.

But who will be Maurice White? I suggest Ronnie A should get first shout at that…

Earth Wind and Fire, ‘September’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gs069dndIYk

317. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood I read yout post on the main page re Ardrossan, next time better no making your notes in a notepad in the pissing rain. But weil done to you,s all that braved that storm front.

318. Thepnr

@Oneironaut & Ian Brotherhood

Just wanted to say, well done both of you for getting drookit and freezing just to let Gordy know that we haven’t gone away.

Hope your having a hot toddy now 🙂

319. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood am no blacking up fur anybody ask Billy Cotton an he,ll bring his band lol.

320. Ian Brotherhood

Just stumbled across this. Used to love the Neville Brothers, and this guy was the business. Seems he’s still going…

Aaron Neville, ‘Tears On My Pillow’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNWBIaa5r7U

321. Paula Rose

Ronnie darling – just over a month to go till I am in your arms!

322. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Paula Rose.

Johnny Nash, ‘Hold Me Tight’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYhRpbqe1Zg

323. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Before I turn in…

“She said spread your wings my little butterfly…”

“Mom, I touched the net!”

“If these wings could fly, for the rest of our lives…”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOQDsmEqVt8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAg3uMlNyHA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJTXDCh2YiA

324. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Haven’t even checked with you yet if you’re coming to CH on May 1st. Are you? You wouldn’t want to miss out on the customised badge – your campaign medal collection won’t be the same without it.

Please confirm!

325. chipmonkey

Enjoyed the conference the last 2 days in the good company of QQ Betty Boop and Jim T. Pictorial evidence that Betty Boop and I got our hands on Humzah Yousaf to follow when I work out how. Jealous Paula Rose and Natasha?

326. ronnie anderson

@ Briandoonthetoon Please add Jock Scott for the 1st May also waiting on Julie submitting names.

@ Paula Rose You,ll need tae strech your arms tae git roon everybody lol.

327. Thepnr

Hi chipmonkey

Try using tinypic.com to post the pictures, works well on Wings and no need to give any personal details like email ect.

They are stored on their site with a link you can post here.

328. Indigo

What’s the times for the get together on 1st May? I’d love to come but would be relying on trains to Dumfries

329. Betty Boop

@ Macart, 7:49am

They were all class acts!

Never thought I would spend two full days at a political party conference and want to do it all over again!

If anything, the atmosphere was even more intense than the Hydro a few months back. We did get down to business too! 🙂

330. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Dunno really. You know I’ve never been much of a social person.
    (An “antisocial socialist”, you might say!)

I’ll see what kind of state I’m in by then anyway. Also whether I can afford the fare and the ridiculous prices they charge for drinks up in Glasgow! Hehe.

331. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

My last post, anywhere, for tonight.

This was in today’s Sunday Herald. The wee segment that jumped out at me was,

“Dundee West, won by Labour in 2010 with a 7278 majority over the SNP, is said to have been written off by headquarters and has not been given an organiser.”

Here’s the link but you don’t have to click it – I have pasted the full story below.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/scottish-politics/scottish-labour-accused-of-giving-up-in-key-election-marginals.121872445
    ——————————————————

(Headline)Scottish Labour accused of ‘giving up’ in key election marginals
    Paul Hutcheon
    Investigations Editor
    Sunday 29 March 2015

SCOTTISH Labour headquarters has been accused of giving up on key battleground seats by channelling resources to the party’s favoured “sons and daughters”.

The Sunday Herald has learned that Dundee West, held by Labour for 65 years, has not been given a dedicated party organiser, while resources have also been moved away from a prime target seat on the outskirts of Glasgow.

Labour won 41 seats at the last general election in Scotland, but opinion polls have predicted meltdown for Jim Murphy’s party and sweeping SNP gains.

Political parties in Scotland tend to prioritise a small number of seats in national elections, but the polls have meant that nearly all Labour constituencies north of the border are in play.

Of the thirty or so organisers working for Scottish Labour, some are focusing on one seat, while others are taking care of multiple constituencies.

In public, Murphy is committed to holding every seat won in 2010 and picking up gains from the Liberal Democrats.

In private, tough decisions have been made in the party’s Bath Street HQ about which seats should get the time and resources.

Dundee West, won by Labour in 2010 with a 7278 majority over the SNP, is said to have been written off by headquarters and has not been given an organiser.

The organiser in East Dunbartonshire, which Murphy said he wants to win from LibDem Minister Jo Swinson, also covers the Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East seat, and is believed to be focusing more on the latter constituency.

Lanark and Hamilton East, which Labour’s Jimmy Hood won in 2010 by 13,478 votes, is not expected to get a dedicated organiser.

Activists are knocking doors in these constituencies, but senior party insiders believe these seats are either lost causes or risks not worth taking.

When considering which seats to prioritise, Labour HQ looks at the 2011 Holyrood result, referendum voting behaviour, and whether local members are hitting targets for the amount of voter contacts made.

Resources are being used in Glasgow, parts of Lanarkshire, as well as in the West Dunbartonshire and East Renfrewshire seats, the latter of which is held by Murphy.

Glasgow East MP Margaret Curran, who is also shadow Scotland secretary, is receiving help from the party.

One senior party source said: “The resources are benefiting the favoured sons and daughters.”

A second insider said: “It looks like HQ has given up in these seats.”

An email has also revealed that the Blairite Progress group will be campaigning next week to save seven Scottish Labour candidates associated with New Labour.

On Wednesday, Progress activists will visit the seats held by MPs Anas Sarwar, Gemma Doyle, Gregg McClymont and Pamela Nash.

On Thursday, the team will help MPs Ian Murray and Sheila Gilmore, as well as candidate Melanie Ward.

A spokesperson for Scottish Labour said: “Labour has 33 organisers working in seats across Scotland. It is the largest ground campaign we have ever had and we will continue to make the case for social justice through the election of a Labour government, street by street, door by door across the country.”

Ross Greer, the Scottish Green candidate in East Dunbartonshire, said: “It’s amazing that Labour have taken so long to realise East Dunbartonshire will reject them at the ballot box in May, although their reliance on Royal Mail would indicate that they don’t have the volunteers knocking on doors and feeding voters’ anger back to party HQ.”

SNP MP Angus Robertson said: “Labour are paying a heavy price for their toxic alliance with the Tories in the referendum – and these revelations show that there is simply no such thing as Labour heartlands in Scotland any more, as their support under Ed Miliband and Jim Murphy continues to stagnate.”

A Scottish Conservatives spokesman said: “Labour appears to be paying the price for decades of complacency in these seats. Parachuting in last minute organisers to certain parts of the country won’t reverse that neglect.”
    ——————————————————

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoZZVkDVZ0c

332. Ian Brotherhood

@Indigo –

No big fixed times – say, 7, 7.30-ish? but some will be there beforehand. I’ll be there about six-ish. If we lay claim to the same patch as before, it’s a sharp left when you go in through the main doors on St Vincent Place.

Last time I had the space booked, but there’s no need for it – the place is so huge that, even if 150 of us turn up, we’ll find room enough, if not in that patch, elsewhere, and if we end-up absorbing other punters, no worries – it could be a happy hunting ground for us, get a few last-minute converts.

Not sure what the numbers were last time, we all had different guesses, but it couldn’t have been far off 150 at its busiest, maybe more. The doormen got a bit tetchy with us at one point because we were jam-packed and the bar staff were having bother getting through us to clear the empties.

Regardless of numbers, it should be a great night, if for no other reason than we’re doing it right on the doorstep of Glasgow City Council – they won’t like it one wee toty bit.

Really hope you can make it Indigo – tell all your pals, and make a proper night of it!

333. Indigo

That’s interesting, I wonder whether perceived strength of SNP candidates is shaping where they’re putting resources too – Chris Law in Dundee West with his Spirit of Independence profile would be difficult to beat I think

334. Betty Boop

@ chipmonkey, 11:12pm

Good to see you both in Glasgow.

Never did get Alex’s book signed. After having us wait in the hall, they asked everyone to join on the end of the queue buying their books in the stalls section! I think folk might still be there!!!

Don’t want to make Paula R too envious with tales of Humza, but, a lady was positively swooning when she said she had a kiss from him yesterday. Your photo might put Paula over the edge. 😉

335. Indigo

Thanks Ian, might just be me but keen to meet other wings folks, train back is at 11 apparently so that should be fine, just need to get some child sitting organised 🙂

336. Brian Doonthetoon

Indigo – that’s you added to to the badge list.

You better turn up!

8=)

337. Indigo

Haha, well that’s that decided then! Cheers Brian

338. Ian Brotherhood

@Indigo –

Can BDTT add you to the list for a personalised badge? And if so, what name should appear on’t?

339. Indigo

Real name? Lorna

340. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood and CH Wingers

Perhaps we would endear ourselves to CH staff by making sure we return glasses to the bar and save the staff the bother of having to climb over or shimmy through us.

No shimmying might upset Paula, however, but I’m sure she’ll find some other entertainment 😉

341. Betty Boop

@ Indigo

Hi Lorna – meant to say, we’ll be pleased to meet you at CH. The more the merrier!

342. Chic McGregor

Xword fans. Digital version today, clues invisible on chrome w7 unless you click and hold over them.

I usually use snip to screen capture so you can fill it in with the snip pencil.

Trying snip seemed to work, clues were visible during capture, but were not visible in final captured image.

Same for the National’s built in version of snip.

However the page pdf download function does display the clues.

ctrl + to zoom in on pdf then use snip to capture is a workaround.

343. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Just checking, did you get my message with the pics from yesterday?

Not sure if Gmail are playing sneaky tricks with my messages again…

344. Jock Scot

Cheers Ronnie
    Looking forward to meeting up with folks again.

345. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Yeah, I got the pics and message, quite late-on.

I replied last night. Didn’t you get it?

346. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Nope. Looks like Gmail was playing sneaky tricks with my messages after all.

At least that one got through 🙂

347. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Indigo (Lorna).

On your badge, do you want,

Indigo

Lorna

Indigo (Lorna)

Lorna (Indigo)

Lorna Indigo

Indigo Lorna

?

BTW: Captured Jock Scot (Yew Choob) also.
    Do you want,

Jock Scot

Yew Choob

Jock Scot (Yew Choob)

Yew Choob (Jock Scot)

Jock Scot
    Yew Choob

Yew Choob
    Jock Scot

?

I know, it reads pedantic, but we’d hate for you to be disappointed with the nomenclature on your badge.

348. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee

Executive decision – “Indigo” and “Jock Scot” – It’s who we Ken them as.

349. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Will you be wearing the crotchless earflaps while you administer you executive decision?

What about,

Alex Clark

Thepnr

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Thepnr (Alex Clark)

And so on?

Are you willing to risk the wrath of Thepnr if we get his badge wrong?

350. Thepnr

I do wish that I could follow my own advice since it’s embarrassing that you can’t.

Like a lot of others here we can only take so much before letting off steam. I regret posting last night when I should have know better than to do that, my trigger was pulled and that was that.

Apologies to those I may have offended by flying off the handle. Particularly X-Sticks as my comments were aimed at controversy and those were the three that sprang to mind.

I wasn’t arguing the right or wrong of any position, only the timing. Sorry again, I know I can contribute much better than that.

351. Paula Rose

Thepnr

Wrath? LOL.

352. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

Like many others, who can’t keep up with comments as they are posted, I find myself trawling through them and I find that any post I was gonna do in response to the ABL story, has already been addressed by another Winger.

I know that there are are many who read the ABL story, then immediately click on the icon to go to the comment box, type and submit their comment, without reading if anyone has typed the same thing, provided the same link(s) and so on.

I find that so frustrating!

It’s like that ALL the comments that have been posted before are irrelevant!

That’s why my posts on the main pages are few and far between – someone’s already typed what I would have typed.

Does what I’ve typed concur with your particular regrets of last night?

Eh dinnae ken. Eh’m fae doon the toon, ken, iye?

353. Brian Doonthetoon

“ABL” = “ATL”; Above the line.

I was thinking in shorthand.

354. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee – you’re frae a lovely part of town dear, succinct and to the point xx.

355. Thepnr

No Brian of course not.

To understand what I was trying to apologise for you would have to read all the comments from about midnight on.

Please stick Thepnr on my badge. Ta.

356. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

“Please stick Thepnr on my badge. Ta.”

Noted.

BTW: my observation in my earlier post wasn’t aimed at you.

I read your wee disagreement with X_Sticks last night and I thought, “Alex is a wee bit emotional tonight; that’s no’ like him.”

I was just observing that a lot of Wingers comment without reading everything that has been posted previously, and that’s why I find that anything I was thinking of typing has already been typed.

If I THINK I’m gonna type, I make sure I read all the other posts before I type my 2p worth. Then I find that what I was gonna type has been covered already.

Not all Wingers do that, as I typed previously.

Makes one feel like a lurker…

357. X_Sticks

@Thepnr

No worries Alex I know what a wee hothead you can be 😉

As long as you get a pint to me at the Counting House before I get my hands on Paula whip you’ll be fine 😀

358. Bob Sinclair

Had a great weekend at the conference, first time I’ve ever been a delegate to a party conference. Who knew that it would be such fun. Those who know me will know that politics only became a part of my life because of Wings. Thanks for that guys – Mrs Bob is now an SNP widow as well as a Wings widow.

Lots of fellow wingers there as well. In order that I don’t offend by omission ill just say it was great seeing you all.

359. Oneironaut

That’s part of the reason I rarely chip in on main article discussions.

Even before the current “posting lag” problems, I was still lingering behind the discussions (likely due to the fact that my mind takes longer to process certain topics that aren’t related to my usual interests). Not to mention the fact that I usually don’t have the spare time to read through several hundred posts a day to check that my comment hasn’t already been said.

Easier not to bother saying it, than to say it anyway and be greeted with a reply of “(name) already said that. Try and keep up, ya daftie!” (Or less flattering words to that effect!)

Also, I had other reasons for taking a few steps back from Wings over the past months…

And on that note, I just deleted most of what I was going to type next. I’d rather not feed any dirt diggers from the MSM who happen to be reading through these posts.

But yeah, like Rev Stu said before, everyone has their breaking point.

Anyways, lightening the mood a bit. I’ll post up some music…

Here’s one for Jim Murphy! 😉 Hehe.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQZmCJUSC6g

360. Thepnr

@X_Sticks

Thanks, same goes for all that were supporting the petition, I used it, wrongly, as an example of timing.

Interesting that the Rev goes and does exactly what I was arguing against in the first article of today. Maybe simply a case of wash your sheets right away rather than lay in the filth?

361. Natasha

Bdtt
    Only just caught up on posts, read yours from the 29th at 11.55pm, fell about laughing. “Given” organisers by HQ? We’re fighting off volunteers at branch level, and that’s in the Scottish Borders! We could easily have had three organisers just for our branch, never mind for the constituency, but had to choose just one because of the way the membership data network is organised.

What a joke. They really are dead in the water now.

362. Natasha

Bdtt
    What the heck. I’m going to ask for a badge, and then I’ll feel obliged to make it to the CH even if I should be out canvassing.
    I’m torn between ‘Natasha’ and ‘Shrieking Harpy’ though.

363. Caledonius

@ Brian Doonthetoon

Nothing wrong with being a lurker! Lurkers unite! Well I was such until I actually summoned up the guts to finally post an opinion one day… now I can’t stop. Damn my addictive personality.

Oh and as it happens my first few posts (after validation) took about 15mins each to appear. Now it’s only about 2mins to instant. Curious.

364. cearc

Natasha,

Wee Evil Furrin Shrieking Harpy, surely?

Thepnr,

Shouldn’t worry about too much. Compared with the ‘Let’s pick on people (apart from ourselves) to blame for losing the referendun’ brigade, yours was a quite mellow remark.

365. Natasha

Caledonius, 12.24pm

It’s so sweet watching you leaping about in the deep end after having put a toe in the water; I was just the same when I started commenting (don’t recall anyone welcoming me, though – some people actually reserved judgement in case I was a troll! Honestly – petite moi?)

Just keep an eye out for sharks (and blobfish – ask Ian B about that).

366. Natasha

cearc
    Nah, that wouldn’t fit on the badge. 🙂

367. ronnie anderson

@ Caledonius Ah dont lke Lurkers. Ah like Lurchers WOOF WOOF did nobody tell you.

Lurkers =s Lurchers =s Winger =s Informed.

All the Graduates meet on the 1st May in the Counting House register your name for a named badge to BrianDTT.

368. ronnie anderson

@ Natasha O ya wee fibber ah welcomed you as did others,you,ll be gone tae the back of the class if you fib again.

369. Michael McCabe

Having read all the posts on the main threads. I now find myself at the last resort and it seems Everybody has gone. So Before I call it a night I will leave you with a Song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4zR9r9olOg&feature=player_detailpage Oh nearly forgot. It’s great having you back Rev Stu.

370. pete the camera

Re Alex Thepnr and Brian DTT comments on how quickly the threads move on, I suffer the same fate of being to late for the party as well this is more to do with my slow one finger typing speed rather than any delay in uploading, still
    its good to see lots of new posters on the threads just shows that our group are not withering away but getting stronger, we would have more to moan about if the site was shrinking rather than growing.

371. John Young

I would like to set up a SNP stall in our wee corner of Scotland. Where can I get hold of leaflets and other campaign materials as local SNP branch has nothing spare. Happy to purchase badges etc direct from SNP shop but really need stuff people can take away and read. I do not have the facilities to print my own.

372. kendomacaroonbar

@John Young I can arrange to get you iScot magazines which you can sell and split the sale 50/50 allowing you to generate a ‘fighting fund’ to print your own material.

Let me know if that is of interest to you.

373. Oneironaut

It’s a good thing I’m not religious.

Looking at the storm that’s battering this place right now, I’d probably suspect Jim Murphy and Co of trying to summon up dark malevolent supernatural assistance to win them the election!

374. Oneironaut

@kendomacaroonbar
    Hmmm, consider me intrigued by that idea also… 🙂

Not sure who’d buy them in this town, but curious about it anyway.

375. Betty Boop

Hi Natasha

I think I welcomed you when you first started posting 🙂 I do try when I see someone new, but, by the time I get on here these days, they might have been posting for weeks before I notice.

Having difficulty keeping up with because of all the stuff going on outside and, these days, I usually have a 20+ minute delay on most posts. Always surprised now if a post appears immediately!

Anyways, for anyone I have missed greeting, please be assured that you are welcome as far as I am concerned :-))

376. Caledonius

@ronnie anderson

Oh please say I’ve evolved into a winger! It would make my year!

Also May 1st – I might be heading up to Striling around then for a friends 21st birthday, things a bit up in the air atm, I’ll try to confirm one way or the other in the next week.

@ Oneironaut @ 11.37am

‘And Lo! Did the dark prophet Jim Murphy of the Fib attempt to summon forth a great flood, that it might sweep away the scourge of Sturgeon and her followers, and all who dared to dream of independance and a fairer society.’

377. Chic McGregor

Not sure about 4 down today.

BTW clues are still invisible today, so wondering if it may not be a ruse to get folk to buy the paper version? In which case, my bad for telling workaround.

I buy the paper version anyway, but in the evening. That is to check how many are left. If there are none left, so much the better, I didn’t waste a possible first time buyer getting one.

378. cearc

Chic,

Just keep complaining to them, maybe they will sort it.

My today’s complaint @8.20:

‘I know it is rather dull and conventional but how about having a crossword with ALL the clues every day and VISIBLE.

That tantalizing glimpse of the clues as one taps on the screen does produce a wee frisson of excitement. Then there is the thrill of discovering that if you hold click continuously you can both see the clues and get a sore finger.

Sadly, overall, these pleasures are totally outweighed by not being able to do the *** crossword, again.’

No response yet!

379. Chic McGregor

cearc

See my workaround above (yesterday).

Briefly download pdf of page.

Zoom in on crossword with ctrl+

Snip it (snip should be in accessories on windows)
    Fill it in with the snip pencil. Might want to set mouse to slow for easier writing control.

380. Chic McGregor

BTW yesterday’s maths square was particularly easy 😉

381. Oneironaut

@Caledonius
    “Oh please say I’ve evolved into a winger! It would make my year! “

Becoming a Winger is a state of mind…

A form of transcendence into something greater…

Just as the lowly caterpillar that knows little beyond the taste of the leaves shall one day rise as a beautiful butterfly and enjoy the freedom of the sky. So too shall the brainwashed follower of the Red and Blue Tories one day be reborn anew by the discovery of the truth, and rise up to know all the freedom that the promise of independence can offer.

No-one can tell you you are a Winger, it is something you have to feel within the heart and soul.

And with great power comes great responsibility…

There is much to learn. Next week, how to catch a fly with chopsticks! 😀

382. Chic McGregor

@Oneironaut, Caledonius

Yes, only when you can walk the entire path of paper without missing a single lie will you earn the name ‘Grassrootshoper’.

Of course there remains the minor matter of burning the Wings logo into your forearms by lifting the Rev’s cauldron of truth.

383. X_Sticks

Caledonius says:

“Oh please say I’ve evolved into a winger! It would make my year!”

You’ll have to attend one of the Wings over Scotland new inductees backroom gatherings where you have to make a sacrifice to the Rev. Sleeves and trouser legs being rolled up are optional but won’t do your cause any harm.

Certain high officers in the cult of the separatists must be in attendance before your induction as a winger is recognised by George Galloway.

😀

384. Caledonius

Natasha, don’t rename yourself shrieking harpy! I fear that would involve a picture change, and that dog with the yes sticker on its noggin is far to cute to be replaced.

385. Caledonius

@ Oneironaut

Yes Sensei, wise words, I shall reflect in them.

386. Chic McGregor

OT Today was the deadline for countries to join the AIIB and retain founder status and rights.

A lot of dominoes have fallen in the last few days. The UK was the first in Europe. The last biggie, Russia lodged its application a couple of days ago.

Even the IMF and World Bank have felt it necessary to give it support despite American opposition.

This really feels like the beginning of the end of dollar dominance. i.e. just a wee bit important in the World order of things.

387. Wee Jonny

How do I post a foatay on here?

388. Chic McGregor

Wee Jonny

Ye cannae. The Rev disnae allow it.

Ye’ll need tae post a link tae it in an online repository.

389. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – your name is and will be Natasha, now stop being silly, and have you forgotten that lovely stroke I gave you after your first comment?

ronnie anderson – don’t forget the hairy string on the first of May for our lovely new wingers.

Caledonius darling – don’t be trepidatious, I’ll be gentle.

390. John Young

kendomacaroonbar at 11.09am what a good suggestion, think I would prefer just to hand them out to anyone who shows a genuine interest. Can I get back to you tomorrow evening and thank you for responding so promptly.

391. Wee Jonny

Chic M.
    Ah okay. No biggy Twiggy.

I’ve just had a few signs on my car changed and fancied posing a foatay o it in here.

392. kendomacaroonbar

@John Young

Absolutely no problem John.

393. Lollysmum

Oneironaut @ 3.26pm

Brilliant post on being a Winger & so funny. You earlly should post more often. I’ve needed that LOL all day. Catching a fly with chopsticks :-)When & where is the lesson going to be?

394. Lollysmum

Aaargh Really not earlly-duhhhh!

395. Macart

Never having had the pleasure of a wings meet n greet before, quick question. Is there eats involved or should you eat before you get there.

Sounds a daft question I know, but just getting things squared for the trip and the hotel.

396. X_Sticks

@Macart

There’s no food laid on but the Counting House does decent pub grub and seems pretty popular for food.

Go early and get a seat. Wings have generally gathered in the south west corner of the pub – it’s almost a separate room tucked round the corner.

Look forward to meeting you there.

397. Macart

Ditto x_sticks

Any particular time?

398. Paula Rose

MacArt love – I expect there will be flutterings of wings from about six rising to a roar within an hour xx

399. Macart

@Paula Rose

Many thanks m’lady.

Look forward to it.

400. Thepnr

@Wee Jonny

Try tinypic.com read the instructions. It’s just a drag and drop case then you can post the link it generates.

401. Ian Brotherhood

SSP branch meeting earlier, first in a wee while for me, and I was telling them about the WOS Mayday bash. One of the chaps expressed particular interest – thing is, if he does come, he’ll be bringing his fiddle.

Now, me ain’t no musician, but this guy is good. Problem – nae music in Wetherspoons pubs. (Aye, well, if they object to him playing then they’ll mibbe lose one hundred or more customers at a stroke…)

402. cearc

Ian,

He could play to the smokers outside?

403. Oneironaut

@Lollysmum
    The lesson will probably be somewhere on the Dreamscape. For there, anything is possible, where worlds rise and fall with but a fleeting thought, and catching a fly with chopsticks is an effortless task.

Alternatively, I could come along to the Counting House gig, and you could bring some chopsticks and flies with you, and I’ll give it a go here on the material plane too 🙂 Might take me a little longer than I’m used to though!

@Ian Brotherhood
    Now I’m definitely tempted to come along after all. Curious to see if the bouncers decide to use the window instead of the door to remove him from the premises! I’ve heard they do that sometimes.

I’ll bring some popcorn to eat while enjoying the show! 😀 Hehe.

404. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

I’ve added you to the badge list for the 1st May, “as known”.

8=)

Macart and Caledonius – if you’re definitely gonna be there, let me know and I’ll add you to the badge list.

The deadline for claiming a badge will be 11.59pm on Wednesday, 29th April.

Hi Wee Jonny.

If you want to send me pics like last time, I’ll do the needful. You no’ wahnt ti book a seat or seats on the charabanc through to Glasgow with us on 1st May?

That goes for anyone else in the Dundee > Perth > Blackford > Stirling > Glasgow route area. 8 seats still available @ £8 for the return journey.

Leaving Dundee @ 5.30pm; leaving Glasgow @ 12.15am.

405. Almannysbunnet

When I want cheering up I watch this clip. Just something in the kid’s joy when he really get’s into it makes me smile.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_kad4UavXM

406. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

That’s exactly what I was thinking – he could play outside, in George Square, and we could go out to see him. And he would do it too, I’m sure. Lovely guy, and a real character.

At the SSP/SNP stall in Saltcoats a couple of weeks ago, he got right up the noses of the neighbouring ‘Labour’ stall-people by loudly referring to them (repeatedly, for over an hour) as ‘the wattered-doon Tories ower there!’

407. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I’ve been a tad remiss, what with one thing and another.

It was Paula Rose’s mention of the hairy string that reminded me.

Here are a couple of pics from last Sunday, 22nd March, where Wings joined up with Team YES Bus to campaign for independence and the SNP at City Square in Dundee.

This first shows Wingers and assorted Team YES Bus members. For those of you who don’t know Ronnie Anderson, he’s the tall guy in the middle.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/DSCN0292-1000.jpg

The second features Ronnie wielding the hairy string over the head of CameronB Brodie, in Henry’s Coffee House in City Square, at the après-campaigning wind down.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/DSCN0298-1000.jpg

408. Ian Brotherhood

‘The place reminded me of home – it was filthy and full of strangers’.

That, plus the best mother-in-law joke of all time, right here:

Les Dawson on ‘The Good Old Days’ (1983) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dipgwBEx8FY

409. Caledonius

Ah Dundee… not been back in 11 years. Nice seeing photos of it again 🙂

And dare I ask the story of the hairy string? Or is it an enigma wrapped in a mystery?

Oh and Ian Brotherhood, Natasha tells me to ask you a very very important super serious question. It is: Blofish?

410. Caledonius

Oh, blobfish actually.

411. Betty Boop

@ Caledonius

To be invested into the Order of the Hairy String is one of the highest honours bestowed upon a Winger. The ceremony always comes as a surprise to those so honoured as does the criteria for being anointed.

The roll call of anointees is short, such is the status of this honour.

Be assured, you will know if you are ever so anointed. :-))

412. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood, 12:43am

That, plus the best mother-in-law joke of all time, right here:

Les Dawson on ‘The Good Old Days’ (1983) –

Thanks for that, Ian. Les Dawson never failed to have me in stitches.

I never remember jokes except this one from Les, on Jokers Wild, I think: “I saw a film last night that was so old it was made by a 17th century fox!”

Well, it was funny at the time! 🙂

413. Betty Boop

@ Brian Doonthetoon, 12:13am

Gee, I’m up late tonight…

There’s nothing desperate about Ronnie!

Anyways:

The second features Ronnie wielding the hairy string over the head of CameronB Brodie,…

@Ronnie, the curl that hairy string still has is quite impressive. You haven’t had the curling tongs on it, have you?

@CameronB, Nice to put the face to the name!

414. Cactus

Yeah Mr B. would be good to have some live instrumentation at the CH giggle.

Should the evening take a wander outside, I’d probably have a notion to do the locomotion around Freedom Square, led by fiddle.

Merry April the 1st Day attendees 🙂

X

415. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood For You. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fK6bHql5Jg&feature=player_detailpage&list=WL Thank You Very Much.

416. Oneironaut

@Caledonius
    “And dare I ask the story of the hairy string? Or is it an enigma wrapped in a mystery?”

That’s the final lesson.
    After the one about how to walk on water and how to master the “midge stance” of Winger martial arts (you must be very swift and very annoying to your opponents!) 😉

417. cearc

Talking of The Hairy String, here it is at Inverwotsit.

Sorry, I had forgotten about those pix.

http://tinypic.com/r/153l7wl/8

418. Patrician

@thepnr and others having issues posting. The issue here isn’t with most people’s browser or PC. The issue is the WordPress installation on the server hosting the site. To use a highly technical description the configuration is sh*gged. Stu needs to get whoever is doing the hosting to go through the configuration and fix the issues. There are some issues that are not fixable unless you are quite technically minded.

I have some workarounds but they are more hacks. For example, for Firefox if you are having to fill in your details every time you post, then use the extension auto fill version 1.6.

419. gerry parker

@Patrician.

Need to get you to look at my i mac sometime , that “technical” description fits my copy of Safari – don’t know what happened to it and I’ve stopped using it. Now use Firefox.

420. Thepnr

@Patrician

Thanks for that. Will give it a try.

421. Patrician

apologies, I am blaming autocomplete on my phone, earlier post should read:

autofill3.6 version.

Just ask if you have a problem setting it up, the official instructions are rubbish.

422. Thepnr

testing autofill

423. Thepnr

Hmmm, not working yet. Installed autofill, restarted Firefox, returned to Off Topic and name and email fields blank. Will try again after restarting computer.

424. Thepnr

Not working for me I’m afraid. I suspect there may be other issues??

425. chipmonkey

@Betty Boop
    Trying the tiny pic thingy

//i62.tinypic.com/rwjp08.jpg

426. chipmonkey

http://i62.tinypic.com/rwjp08.jpg

@Betty Boop – I was bound to get it wrong …

427. Thepnr

@chipmonkey

Nice pic 🙂

428. chipmonkey

Aha! Thanks @Thepnr

It must have worked then!

You never know what I’ll manage to post next… hairy string… seafest…

429. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood, 12.43am
    Great link to Les Dawson. Just a shame it was followed by Bernard Manning!! 🙂

Caledonius
    The first time I encountered the hairy string, I thought Ronnie was going to hang me!

schrodingers cat – if you’re lurking out there, Loretta says hello. 🙂

chipmonkey – I am very jealous, although I would still choose Alex over Humza.

430. Betty Boop

@ chipmonkey

Thanks Fiona for the pic of Humza and his granny! Nice bloke, eh?

431. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chipmonkey.

The rule of thumb is…

If the web address has both h.t.t.p.// and w.w.w. (disregard the periods), then you don’t paste the h.t.t.p.// part – WordPress adds that in automatically. You only need everything after, and including w.w.w.

So, a link to my webspace should look like this (with h.t.t.p.s.) typed in front of it:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/DSCN0160-1000.jpg

However, if you link to a site that has the whole shebang, ie, h.t.t.p://w.w.w. (without the dots), then you only paste the stuff from “www” onwards.

See?

432. Brian Doonthetoon

Like Youtube, for example.

433. Patrician

@thepnr
    It does work, the trick is to after installing the addon and restarting firefox.

Open a wings article and do the following.
    Click in Name text box, fill in your name, now right click in that box, in the dropdown menu select Autofill -> Add rule for this field. Click next button and then click Finish button.

Repeat for Mail and Website, if required.

Open a different Wings article and you should hear a beep as it updates the text boxes.

434. Taranaich

Hello all, sorry I haven’t commented or put up any new Devo Files for a while: a mixture of a horrendous bug and some trying personal issues have really taken it out of me.

With the start of the campaign, the negativity, lies, corruption and fighting has kicked into gear, and it’s supremely difficult for me to keep a happy face. The recent SNP gender quota controversy didn’t help: the last thing I wanted to see was people sympathetic to the cause fighting with each other on a complicated issue like this. We have enough problems with New Labour lying about the SNP planning to scrap the UK pension and the “biggest party forms the government” meme, the NeoLibDems lying through their teeth about fantasy federalism and holding the Tories to account, and the Tories just being the Tories.

With only about five weeks to go, I have to get out of this mess. We’re on the cusp of a new age, and I’m still too traumatized by the referendum result to countenance defeat in May. I’m sick of the people and cause I believe in being called racist, right-wing, xenophobic, economically illiterate, fascist, evil, everything under the sun, while *I’m* the one being accused of having a problem with “tone.”

435. Thepnr

I have made an arse of myself on the main thread, (not for the first time recently) with stating that the BBC were messing with the Jim Murphy interview. No excuses, I missed it.

Taking a break from Wings, I need it, see you all on election night.

436. chipmonkey

@bdtt thanks, now I remember. I got it second time:-) I thought ailing the first time was worth it not to get hit on the head with a big stick for rule breaking 🙂

Nice photo. It’s the one where I’m the blob half hidden by the yes flag!

437. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich & Thepnr –

Steady lads, steady…

To paraphrase Orwell – if you want a picture of Scotland’s future, just imagine Brian Donohoe’s face, laughing, forever…

It could happen – if we give up.

See ye’s tomorrow?

Hoots!

438. Grouse Beater

Thepnr: Taking a break from Wings

When a guy lives vicariously by who he talks to on a social website it’s time to find a new hobby. 🙁

439. Natasha

Thepnr
    We love you.

Taranaich
    We love you too.

The hour is always darkest before the dawn.

440. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr et a’body else interested –

My new email address:

ianbhood@gmail.com

The old one will die on Friday.

441. Caledonius

@ Taranaich

Hi there, I for one just want to say great work with those files. I’ve been utterly shocked at the votes some of these so called Scottish MPs took in our name. If you ever make more I’d love the dirt on Frank Roy.

As for all the negativity, dunno, I found it worse during the referendum especially the moment my dad phoning from England said to me “no idea why those racist yes voters want to destroy the Union, utterly disgusting – don’t let them intimidate you.”. To which I could only reply “dad, I am a Yes supporter.” it was a horrible awkward time. And after defeat I literally felt numb for weeks, don’t think I even ushered a word the full day following it.

Now, I can’t explain it, I don’t feel the same pressure or dread. I dont want to call it hope or optimism but it feels damn close to that. I also find limiting how many blogs I visit and how much news I look at help. I know most of it will be full of crap and just raise my stress levels. So why bother – and if polls are correct and as rock solid as they have been for months then it seems many people are now clued on to much of the medias bile.

Perhaps just step back from the politics for a few days, this things got weeks to go yet. The Rev seemed to benefit from his four day break.

Let them call us names, it’s nothing new. With luck our revenge will come election night, watching smug unionist MPs who have called us allsorts dethroned. Hope you feel better soon, you really have been doing a great thing with those files, and I for one do appreciate the work you must have put into them.

442. Macart

@Thepnr

Know what you mean fella. Had to take a break myself.

Sometimes you get too close, too involved, so invested you don’t see the wall until you smack into it. Do what I did and have a rest. In your case well earned.

By the by I’m still looking to shake that hand.

Rest well.

443. Macart

@ taranaich

That’s what makes you, you.

You care.

No bad thing in my book.

Kick back with some non political literature for a few days and possibly the box set of your fav sci fi. That’s what I do. 😉

444. Kininvie

I’ll be there on 1st May……badge please if possible?

445. Wee Jony

Thepnr & Taranaich

To regain the world we need to step back from it a little. Away from the noise.

446. Oneironaut

@Taranaich + Thepnr
    Now you know why I keep disappearing for months on end…

Have to stop doing that though, it’s getting more and more difficult to return each time, knowing I have to immerse myself once more in that vile pool of media poison.

Ignorance truly is bliss… Maybe that’s why so many people out there like to remain gullible and uninformed…

447. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Kininvie.

Noted. You’re on the list…

448. Chic McGregor

Sair fecht the day, cannae get 15 doon. Some kine o flooer Ah think, mibbes in Latin.

449. Capella

Hi Taranaich. Me too. I don’t comment on the posts now as I feel there is a great big elephant in the room called gender equality.

So I’m taking a break and reading blogs, reading books, watching videos etc to keep the mind active! I’ve just baked an Easter cake too!

Watched all ten parts of a video on the 1916 Easter Rising (well it’s Easter and the 100th anniversary is next year and there’ll be precious little about it on the MSM).
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UA2eSj3w3aU

Keep on blogging – you have a great resource in your devo files back in your Wilderness of Peace!

450. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Patrician.

I installed that extension on my ‘at work’ iMac and it works fine, filling in the two fields.

However, that hasn’t cured the delay in a post appearing. They still take around 10 minutes to appear. On this machine, my home MacPro, posts appear within seconds of hitting ‘Submit Comment’.

Strange thing is, both machines are running MacOS Snow Leopard with Firefox 35.0.1.

451. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh, and I disabled “Blur” (formerly “Do Not Track Me”) on WOS pages, on the work machine, but that didn’t make any difference either.

452. Chic McGregor

Starting the third in The Lewis Trilogy by Peter May.

What a cracking read so far. Already feeling sad that this is the last in the series.

453. Taranaich

I hasten to add: by “this mess” I most assuredly did NOT mean you fine folks, it’s more about my local situation. Inverclyde is one of the localities which is still predicted to be a New Labour retention, even given the SNP surge, and I desperately don’t want any SNP Inverclyde folk to think this is going to be a cakewalk. Not a single activist I know is complacent, of course, but there are only so many of us: even if every member got out and worked, 1,300 for an electorate of over 60,000 is a momentous challenge.

454. Oneironaut

@Taranaich
    Could always suggest pooling resources to buy up a few advertising billboards around Inverclyde and use them to display some of the choicest bits from Mr McKenzie’s Devo File there 😉

Failing that, getting them made into stickers for bus shelters and public noticeboards perhaps?

Good luck with the campaigning! 🙂

455. Brian Doonthetoon

If you’re watching tonight’s leaders’ debate, keep the page at the link open and click on disagree or agree as your mood takes you.

The graph will be updated in real time.

http://www.itv.com/news/2015-04-01/rate-the-itv-leaders-debate/

456. Capella

@Chic McGregor what a fascinating character Peter May is. Just googled him. Will look out fof the Lewis Trilogy. Sounds like the kind of story that would make a great TV series.

Not watching the debates as no TV but will look on youtube.

Good luck with the canvassing Taranaich. You sound quietly determined!

457. Chic McGregor

@Capella
    Yes I think he is excellent. The grit and detail and the realistic well developed characters are fully up to or surpass those of ‘Nordic Noir’ of which I believe ‘Scottish Noir’ (McIlvanney, Taggart etc.) is a subset or maybe even a precursor.

Like Nordic Noir he has characters which are all allowed to work to the full intelligence of which they are capable, which distinguishes that genre from the Anglo/American likes of Midsommer Murders, Murder She Wrote, Death in Paradise and the like, where superficial, often inexplicably stupid, stereotypes are the order of the day.

He avoids stereotyping, like Nordic Noir, but takes that even further by, whenever he can, describing some of the character’s history which helps an understanding of how they got to where they are. Not just one or two characters but as many as he can do that for.

Even the ‘bad’ guys.

OK his character development is maybe not quite up to that of McIlvanney but his overall fusion of character development, real life grit and the care over how many of the main characters got to where they are is new an unique I think. A new, and I think better, quality/quantity balance.

His plots are logically cohesive and intelligently intricate.

As for televisation, yes, much of it you can easily see is transferable, but some bits, very important bits, would require a new approach and a very good director to accomplish it. But if they managed it, it could be groundbreaking.

458. Chic McGregor

Let me rewrite this bit: (Must learn to check that edit window before hitting send)

‘OK his character development is maybe not quite up to that of McIlvanney but his overall fusion of character development, real life grit and the care over how many more of the main characters got to where they are is new and unique I think. And I think a better, quality/quantity balance.’

459. Capella

@ Chic McGregor
    Are you a copywriter? You could write the blurbs for his novels! Intriguing. I do love Nordic noir and I thought the Swedish and Danish productions were much superior to the British version of Wallander. I put it down to a completely different world view. Maybe Scandinavian, maybe social democrat? Beyond stereotypes anyway. How can these wee countries produce good drama!

But I have to confess to not reading McIlvanney. Must add to reading list already too long.

460. Chic McGregor

Capella
    No, just a recent find for me.

461. Chic McGregor

PS
    I agree the superiority of the Scandinavian productions, directorially, but to his credit, I thought Branagh, who I normally write off as a luvie-wannabe, did ‘get’ it. But not enough to salvage. Scandi was better.

The Bridge, is my fav.

But in book 2, May attempts insight into an even more challenged character than Saga Norn.

462. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr. You said you were talking a wee break from Wings and not Posting. I think you will still be reading the posts though. Anyway here is a wee song for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-CuoPHc1B1M&feature=player_detailpage Haste ye back Alex

463. Cactus

For those taking a time-out, a virtual thumbs-up to y’all, lurking is mandatory though 🙂

It’ll soon be party-time in Scotland as each and every SNP seat win is announced.

This Tuesday is the month to go marker, see you then.

464. Ken500

McIlvanny is brilliant. So astute. After the ‘Kiln’ have read most of his books. He was in a Hotel in Glasgow recently being acknowledged. Rankin has borrowed a few hints. Ian Banks is a good writer.

Been reading up on Irish History after a recent trip to Dublin. A great City with a good Art Gallery. An interesting exhibition of Artists and Writers linked.

465. Oneironaut

@Cactus
    My mind is on permanent time-out these days. I just leave my body to do the occasional post.

Try not to engage my body in debate though, he’s a sarcastic little git when he gets going! 😉

466. Capella

Interesting feedback on the Leaders Debate. I watched the BBC “highlights” last night and Nicola Sturgeon was particularly impressive on two points:
    1 keeping Labour honest
    2 challenging Cameron on an EU referendum to honour the votes of the member nations of this “family of nations”.

I find today that her EU referendum challenge has been edited out of the “highlights” !

Ah the BBC, what are they like?

467. Capella

Even worse – all broadcasters have edited out Nicola’s attack on wasting billions on Trident. That wasn’t even the first version of the highlights. Craig Murray has detail:
    https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2015/04/it-didnt-happen/

We will need a special youtube video of “offcuts”.

468. Cactus

Can someone advise please..? I’ve enquired using the contact form but have yet to receive my crowdfunder perk.

Has everybody else received theirs?

Thanks.

@oneironaut – know what you mean dude.. hopefully things will make more sense in just over a months time 🙂

469. X_Sticks

@Cactus

I wouldn’t expect the Rev to get around to that stuff until after the election. He may be a bit busy to deal with such trivia before that 😉

If he turned up at the Counting House he could probably save himself a fortune in postage…just sayin’ like..

470. Paula Rose

I am not allowing the Rev to leave his parishioners in Bath for the foreseeable future – he has a flock that need his spiritual guidance.

471. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve posted this on today’s main page but I thought it would be an idea to post it, also, in off-topic, for the cognoscenti.
    ————————————————-

Two subjects to this post…

1. McGovern’s reason for withdrawing.

I read this web page through a link on a Facebook page on Tuesday.

http://www.iaindale.com/posts/2015/03/15/i-ve-revised-my-general-election-predictions-for-scotland-it-means-a-minority-government-looms-ever-more-likely

The pertinent sentence is right at the end of 14 Dundee West.

“There are rumours that Jim McGovern is being pressured to stand aside for a new candidate.”

Back on 21st November 2014 (the Day before the Wings get-together in Glasgow and Nicola’s Hydro gig), Rev Stu posted this:

“We’ve still got cash left over in the Wings kitty and it’s only £500 for an election deposit. We think it’s about time that we put up our own candidate, either at the next available by-election or at the 2015 general election.

We’re not even joking. We’re going to do it. Because it looks like ANYONE can beat the Lib Dems now.”

And he typed that here:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-time-is-right/

So, me and Pete the Camera managed to get some badges made for the Wings get-together on the 22nd November in Glasgow.
    (See link below.) Some of you may possess these badges…

I recently sent Rev Stu a collection of badges that we’ve put together since August last year. In his email reply, he said that he’s definitely wearing this one the next time he’s asked on TV – the one we managed to put together for the November meet.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/WOSomerset-46mm-crop.jpg

472. Ian Brotherhood

@All me O/T buddies –

Anyone who wants to keep in touch, please note my new e-mail – ianbhood@gmail.com

Please drop a note if you’ve a spare minute, or you’re going spare for a minute – either will do nicely, so long as I get your details.

The address you have for me will be deid on Monday, if it isn’t already.

473. Capella

Since the gender balance debate looks like it will be permanently Off Topic, I thought I should post a couple of links here to current articles on this issue.
    First up is Bella Caledonia where the wings position is mentioned, I thought quite sensitively.
    http://tinyurl.com/kbyo7kr

Second is a Common Space article which covers other types of discrimination against minority groups.
    http://tinyurl.com/lmzc5r5

For those who regard these as “divisive issues” and wonder why they are raised now, I can only say from decades of experience:
    There is NEVER a right time
    There is NO proper method.
    It is always TOO MUCH and TOO SOON.

There’s an election to win.

474. Cactus

Message received, thanks.

475. Patrician

@Brian Doonthetoon

I sometimes see a delay on posting on one of my home machines but not on the others. The one I perceive as slow is the one that doesn’t have cookies installed, it needs the autofill fix. I say perceive, as occasionally the posts appear almost immediately. To me this points to either the server that hosts this website is labouring under the strain occasionally or GCHQ need to get their finger out and process the posts quicker 😉 Unfortunately, either one takes it out of our hands.

476. Betty Boop

@ Patrician

Well, let’s see how long this post takes to appear!

I know you have been sporadically putting the brain cells into gear on this for months, so, thank you for your efforts.

Been having trouble since just after the Ref. It did get better for a while, but, was dire last week. I used to find that if a post was taking a while to appear on Explorer, I could pop over to Chrome and would be there and vice versa. Now, they can both be simultaneously slow or can pop up immediately on the odd occasion especially if it is the first post of the day!

‘Tis an enigma or a mystery or just tomfoolery at Cheltenham 🙁

477. Betty Boop

My 2:25am post went up immediately! 🙂

478. Betty Boop

@ Patrician

The post right afterwards didn’t go up immediately and the 2:25 still hasn’t appeared on Chrome.

Doh…

479. chic mcgregor

Ken500
    Agree on all those comments.

I think you would like May.

480. Irene Anderson

Hello, please put me on the list for 1 May at the Counting House. Irene Anderson.

481. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Irene.

You’re now on the list!

Good to meet you this afternoon in George Square.

(Thinks… Another Anderson. Should we be worried?)

8=)

482. Brian Doonthetoon

After a bra’ trip to Glasgow today, I’ve been catching up on the Wings main pages and comments.

Which made me think of the link below. We have not returned to the back of the bus – we have occupied the driving seat!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LinXv5qRXPI

483. Brian Doonthetoon

Referring back to my post of last night at 9.35pm…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-21/#comment-1989684

Re: item 2. In the last 23 hours, someone pointed out to me that WOS = Wings Over Scotland and WOS = Wings Over Somerset.

I never noticed that…

484. pete the camera

It was me doon

485. Ian Brotherhood

Edith Piaf, ‘La Vie En Rose’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFzViYkZAz4

486. Ian Brotherhood

Gabriel Yared, ‘C’Est Le Vent, Betty’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Enr-A5yRgNY

487. Ian Brotherhood

Johnny Hallyday, ‘Un Jour Viendra’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbP6TtDbszE

488. Ian Brotherhood

The Manhattan Transfer, ‘Chanson D’Amour’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARfARi-gpWc

489. Ian Brotherhood

@Irene Anderson –

Got ye on my list as well – looking forward to seeing you.

Hoots!

490. K1

I see you mentioned crazycat’s and my benightment today Ronnie, on ‘The Accused’ thread 🙂

Aye, an unexpected ‘honour’, does that make us knights of the hairystring realm noo?

Anyways lovely to meet you and Bdtt and crazycat, caz-m, and Pete…hope I haven’t left anyone out.

MIssed Nicola’s speech but more than made up for by meeting you guy’s 🙂

A wee song that could describe the ‘spirit’ of many on here 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJbdNi_WbH8

491. Patrician

@Betty Boop

Some of what happens can be fixed by pressing Ctrl+F5 to refresh your browser. This is a fix that I suggested to use when the site was under DDOS for a while.

A simple explanation: F5 reloads the latest version of a webpage, this will usually be from a copy in your computers memory. Ctrl+F5 requests the server that has the webpage to send a completely new version of the webpage.

However, it worth noting that while Ctrl+F5 will cause a request for a new web page from the server, the server may ignore the request and return a server cached page. Thus even Ctrl+F5 may return an old version of the page if the server doesn’t properly handle the request. I think this is part of the problem, there are issues on the server hosting Wings or to be more precise there are issues with the WordPress installation. I see issues like this almost every day in my working life, usually caused by someone for example, upgrading a piece of software with a fix that looks innocuous or tweaking a setting to see what it does and forgetting to return it to its original setting. It usually just comes down to bad change management and testing procedures.

Skip this part if you don’t want technical explanation: F5 reloads the webpage from the local cache if it is available and hasn’t timed out, if it isn’t available then it will request the page from the hosting server. Ctrl-F5, requests the webpage directly from the hosting server regardless of whether there is a locally cached copy. More info on caching can be found at this link, http://www.w3.org/Protocols/rfc2616/rfc2616-sec13.html.

492. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood – I’m sitting comfortably.

493. Paula Rose

Have I got this right?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GqH21LEmfbQ

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.