Come on babes – love a bit of competition xx

3. Paula Rose

All the heavy lifting?

4. Paula Rose

One more comment thingy? Hate to appear greedy.

5. Paula Rose

So be it…

6. Paula Rose

X

7. Paula Rose

Totally rofl xx

8. Michael McCabe

I wish you all a good Night. And I leave you with a song for Paula Rose. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OfiC8QzEVKc&feature=player_detailpage

9. Betty Boop

Congratulations Michael McC – You won! First on page. Paula R will need a comforting stroke…xx

10. X_Sticks

Oh dear Michael, what have you done!

Paula will be in a huff for weeks!

No gentle strokes for you, you’ll have to look out for the stilettos and whips ๐Ÿ˜‰

11. Betty Boop

@ Michael McCabe

Re your Nationals. After a conversation I had yesterday with an elder citizen in sheltered accommodation, can I suggest that the lounge in such a place would be a good home for them?

I found that the lady who is an SNP supporter had never heard of the National despite the fact that she and her husband buy a daily.

The conversation brought home to me yet again that without internet many people are at the mercy of the scurrilous rags which pass for newspapers, etc.

Buying an extra one and passing it on to a “needy” person/leaving it in a public place is a good use of 50p! ๐Ÿ™‚

12. Michael McCabe

I Think I am safe from Paula Rose. I Think She was looking for the Number at the top of the Page. 11 Thousand and She got it. About the Nationals I would never just throw them out. I would like to donate them to the YES Library What there is no Yes Library. Well there should be one. Anyway I was Just seeing if anybody on Wings wanted them first.

13. pete the camera

I don’t know how you did it Paula but Michael was at the top of the page this morning but you seem to have claimed the accolade again,can we raise a strokes for favours question in a higher place ????

14. Oneironaut

@Michael McCabe
    “I would like to donate them to the YES Library What there is no Yes Library. Well there should be one.”

This seriously needs to be a thing that exists somewhere…

Anyone?

15. Brian Doonthetoon

Yes Pete , I saw Michael at pole position at lunchtime but…

I got two email notifications of 2 posts by the vamp at 12.08.

Paula Rose commented on Off-topic.

in response to RevStu:

For off-topic chat. Duh.

So be itโ€ฆ

and

Paula Rose commented on Off-topic.

in response to RevStu:

For off-topic chat. Duh.

All the heavy lifting?

Now, according to up above, there were no posts between Michael’s at 11.41 and yours at 2.01. Strange, what?

Now, the thing is, my email notifications USUALLY concur with the times of posting in ‘off-topic’.

However, Paula Rose’s two posts, which were timed at 12.08 via the email notifications, have mysteriously appeared on the previous page at 12.59AM and 1.11AM – 12 hours earlier, thus bumping Paula Rose’s posts from the bottom of the previous to the top of this one and knocking Michael from the #1 spot.

Methinks Paula Rose has been offering Rev Stu strokes above and beyond the call of decorum, in return for a page pochle.

16. Michael McCabe

I Don’t think Paula Rose was aiming for the top of the new Page Comment. She was going for the 11 Thousand Comment which She Achieved. I then Commented again and I did see my Comment at the top of the new page. Now positioned in third Place ? I am happy with that. I am happy to Comment on a Website where the Majority wants Independence. And as for Paula Rose Being at the top of the page. As my old mum taught me. it Should always be Ladies First.

17. X_Sticks

@Bdtt

That’s what I saw too. Michael’s post was 1st on the page this morning.

Thought I might just have been hallucinating, but if so then you’re obviously on the same drugs! ๐Ÿ˜‰

18. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee bit of advice from the late great Fankie Miller. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXGhYRM_BNM&feature=player_detailpage

19. chipmonkey

No-one at all on off topic? You’ll worry us lurkers. Where have you gone?Campaigning?

20. Paula Rose

Hi chipmonkey – they’re all hiding behind the sofa in a state of shock.

21. chipmonkey

Oh well. At least there are still 2 of us not banned Paula:-) You’ve not been manipulating for some more girl power again have you?

22. Thepnr

I’m still lurking ๐Ÿ™‚

23. Michael McCabe

I always give in to the Indigo Girls. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaBXE2-yUXI&feature=player_detailpage

24. X_Sticks

Lurking here too – too much multitasking going on ๐Ÿ˜‰

It’s getting like the last week of the indyref out there, only it seems its even more heated that that!

25. ronnie anderson

Naebody telt me aboot the competition of who,s the King of the Castle lol.

26. Betty Boop

@Oneironaut, 23/4/15, 2:36pm

@Michael McCabe
    โ€œI would like to donate them to the YES Library What there is no Yes Library. Well there should be one.โ€

This seriously needs to be a thing that exists somewhereโ€ฆ

Anyone?

I think that’s what the National Archives of Scotland are for. I don’t know, but, I would imagine that The National is already being archived there. I am fairly certain that IndependenceLive are archiving loads of stuff with them too.

27. Thepnr

@Betty Boops & Michael McCabe

The National Library of Scotland has already appealed for information relating to the Referendum.

The NLS project aims to establish a โ€œunique and valuable resourceโ€ surrounding the referendum campaign that will take shape over the next half century and inform the work of scholars, researchers and journalists of the future.

https://archive.is/Lb65u

28. Michael McCabe

Thanks for that Thepnr I have just put there phone number into my phone and I will give them a call tomorrow. Cheers.

29. ronnie anderson

Noo ah dont want tae be accused of siding with the enemy nor offending any lucky raffle winners taste buds.

Whit kind of Malt would be exceptable ?.

30. Brian Doonthetoon

Eezer, Ronnie…

31. Paula Rose

This english born rose is home

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8IwBlgxyss

32. Ian Brotherhood

Look at the image on this YT vid – is the dude second from left the guy who was in Talking Heads? Looks awfy like him…

Anyway, this is for Jim Murphy, and his endless All-Star Roadshow – everyone loves a trier!

Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers, ‘Roadrunner’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BgRYncR1Nog

33. Brian Doonthetoon

The final chance to book seats for the minibus from Dundee, through to the Wings Over Scotland get-together in the Counting house in Glasgow on the 1st May will be Sunday evening.

If we donโ€™t have enough โ€˜bums on seatsโ€™ by then, the minibus will NOT be travelling.

If you want to book seats, register your claim to seats โ€“ by Sunday evening.

We need at least another 9 bums or the bus won’t happen. Sunday cut-off is to allow those who have booked seats to make other arrangements.

34. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

What a total effing bummer that bus hasn’t been oversubscribed many times over!

Come on all ye lurkers – this is an historic chance, and it’ll not come again…as is the nature of historic chances.

Make yourselves known to the man, get yourself a seat booked, and join us for one evening. What’s the worst that could happen? You might even win the raffle!

Get to it, oh ye accursed by doubt and shyness – a braw nicht awaits ye!

35. Morag

I’m being told that I have to say I’m coming on 1st May, and book a badge or something. So can I be booked.

36. Ian Brotherhood

The WOS boys – and girls – will be back in town…be part of it! Book yer seat on the bus, and do it soon!

Thin Lizzy, ‘The Boys Are Back In Town’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxioAqOz_hk

37. Ian Brotherhood

This world do be a strange place, right?

Anyone care to explain how one dude with a guitar can make this? –

John Martyn, ‘I’d Rather Be The Devil’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvFMEiVX_Ck

38. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Morag.

That’s you on the list.

I’m having an early night tonight, just about to turn in, because I have to be up early tomorrow for the minibus through to the rally in George Square.

So, tonight, I will leave you with this, for 25th April, ANZAC Day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WG48Ftsr3OI

39. Paula Rose

Morag! Sweetness! You are going to be at the CH? I will be there xxx

40. Paula Rose

Darlings you can come out now – yes wee michael had his wee bit of fame, oh how you all were so concerned (or not) about my disappointment – notes have been taken, never mess again sweeties – the next ‘king of the castle’ will have difficulty walking.

41. Paula Rose

@ Beedeeteetee 11:50 kisses honey – let us remember.

42. Paula Rose

RIGHT enough maudling get the juke-box fired up, Wreckless Eric in twenty seconds unless…

43. Paula Rose

such joy and pleasure – the dansette is loaded

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FT_oDqOEGpc

44. Paula Rose

ffs – music NOW

45. Paula Rose

Home counties night!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hce74cEAAaE

46. Paula Rose

Please do not ask for any more

47. Michael McCabe

@ Paula Rose. Not Happy with the wee Michael. Anyway this one is for You. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MZ35SOU9HTM&feature=player_detailpage

48. Michael McCabe

Re The first one hundred National newspapers mentioned in my earlier posts. I phoned the Edinburgh South Yes Cafรฉ Yesterday and they sounded happy to take them. I will hopefully drop them off to them early next week.

49. Cactus

y’Aldi (c) Michael McCabe & Paula Rose, what you two up to at this time once upon a Saturday morn?

Grooooovy chunes ah swell.

50. Wee Jonny

I woke up this morning to find a huge pile of dogshit had been pushed through my letterbox.

Or “Labour election leaflets” as they’re otherwise known.

True Story.

51. Wee Jonny

My mum ran off with the milkman when I was eight years old.

Watching them drive away on his float were the worst three hours of my life.

True Story.

52. Wee Jonny

My wife came up to me the other day and asked me, “what do you like most, my pretty face or my sexy body?”

I looked her up and down from head to toe.

“Your sense of humour” I replied.

True Story.

53. Wee Jonny

My wife said she was going to leaving me at 2 o’clock if i didn’t give up my obsession with horse racing.

I replied, That fine by me, You better get packing, It’s 5-2

True Story.

54. john king

wee Jonny
    Woohahahahahaha. ๐Ÿ™‚

I have a true story
    A mild-mannered man was tired of being bossed around by his wife so he went to a psychiatrist. The psychiatrist said he needed to build his self-esteem, and so gave him a book on assertiveness, which he read on the way home. He had finished the book by the time he reached his house.

The man stormed into the house and walked up to his wife. Pointing a finger in her face, he said, “From now on, I want you to know that I am the man of this house, and my word is law! I want you to prepare me a gourmet meal tonight, and when I’m finished eating my meal, I expect a sumptuous dessert afterward. Then, after dinner, you’re going to draw me my bath so I can relax. And when I’m finished with my bath, guess who’s going to dress me and comb my hair?”

“The funeral director,” said his wife.

55. Quentin Quale

Ian B. Just in case that was an honest question – the Echoplex. John Martyn, what a talent. Saw him many, many times but best had to be the One World tour at Leeds Uni in late 70s. Echoplex AND quadrophonic speaker set up. Michty.

56. Wee Jonny

John King
    I believe that was a true story from the King residence. And I’m glad Irene let you away we that one ๐Ÿ˜‰

57. Paula Rose

Michael McCabe sweetie – I’m sure you’re very big in all the important areas xx

58. Ian Brotherhood

@Quentin Quayle –

I’m properly jealous.

The question was, in a way, serious, because I listened to Martyn stuff for years without realising how much he does. I’d assumed that a lot of his stuff was down to hours in the studio, fiddling with knobs a la Mike Oldfield etc. Wasn’t until I saw YT vids of him on the OGWT and suchlike that it clicked, and I still can’t quite believe it. Even when you get the proper close-ups of his hands, it’s impossible to square that with the sounds he gets. Astonishing stuff.

59. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Any more bums on bus-seats?

If not, I fear we may have to ask Paula Rose to get out her paddle and have a word with these shy lurkers…harsh, but necessary.

60. Thepnr

Now bear with me, you may not care much for football but I’m sure you can recognise the difference between mediocre and world class.

This display of skill from 7 years ago is world class and the music that accompanies the video is pretty dammed good too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZnUr8lcqjo

61. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “Any more bums on bus-seats?

If not, I fear we may have to ask Paula Rose to get out her paddle and have a word with these shy lurkersโ€ฆharsh, but necessary.”

Trouble there is, they may not be able to sit down on said seats by the time she’s done! ๐Ÿ˜‰

62. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hoots mister, that was braw. ๐Ÿ˜‰

63. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Good point. They’ll be on the roof-rack, buttocks facing into the headwind.

Never mind – we’ll have a bit tub of Savlon waiting for them. (Makes mental note: bring some disposable gloves…)

64. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT CH badges.
    David Mc Guinness & Sarah McGuinness Thanks Brian.

65. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

There you go again, raising the tone of the message in Off Topic ๐Ÿ™‚

66. Michael McCabe

I had a Box of Disposable Gloves. But I cant remember where I left them.

67. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Haha reminded me of some Tommy Cooper jokes ๐Ÿ™‚

Went to the paper shop – it had blown away.

I went to buy some camouflage trousers the other day but I couldn’t find any.

I bought some HP sauce the other day. It’s costing me 6p a month for the next 2 years.

Hey! This is Off Topic right! No need to laugh, but can if you want.

68. Michael McCabe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyDQoEHibdM&feature=player_detailpage One Lady in the Audience gets what its all about.

69. Jock Scot

@Thepnr
    Think @Ian Brotherhood is trying to entice a certain Paula into the conversation..and Ian..Witch Hazel is better ๐Ÿ™‚

70. TJenny

Hi peeps. Just a few wee thoughts on getting bums on seats for the CH night out.

1. I admit to not paying much attention to this as I’ll be travelling by train from Edinburgh, BUT…

I’m not aware of seeing a recent timetable for departure from pick up points, arrival at CH or the departure and estimated drop off times for return journey. Folk need to know this for e.g. child minders or the walking of wee dugs etc.

2. How much does a seat for bum cost? Don’t know but here’s an idea. As a lot of folk may want to go, but feel they can’t pay and are too embarrassed to say, why don’t we crowdfund the last 9 seats and make them ALL free on a first come first first served basis? (As long as the coach driver is prepared to wait until he reaches the CH or unless a Winger on bus can stump up for 9 seat total, and wait to be recompensed at CH.)

Come on Wingers, isn’t this what we do? Help those in need?
    I’ll sponsor a seat – anyone else up for it?

If we get 9 sponsors, maybe the organiser of the bus (Thepnr/BDTT?) could contact Stuey and ask him if we can post the info either as an article or as first comment on next article he posts, to give it prominence. Of course, he might attack you with hammers! For your cheek. ๐Ÿ˜‰

71. Jock Scot

Count me in for sponsoring a bum, so to speak

72. TJenny

Jock Scot – my hero. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And that deffo deserves a kiss from me to you on the night. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Will you be leaving from Waverley? If so maybe meet up with you for journey.

So folks, 2 bums on seats payment commitment – only another 7 to go. ๐Ÿ™‚

73. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Good shout. Let’s make it happen – stick or carrot, however.

It’s not just a ‘social night’ – it’s sending a message to the bullies who tried to claim ‘George Square’ as their territory on Sep 19th. Aye, they can have ‘George Square’, but ‘Freedom Square’ is what it’s already called by many, and will be known as in years to come.

They can belittle and insult us all they like, but so long as we keep doing this stuff there’s no way we can be ignored.

Marley, ‘Get Up, Stand Up’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7iXcKKpdx0

74. Michael McCabe

Just about to post another song. But before I do. Can I just say what an Excellent idea that is TJenny. A lot of great and smart people use this website. Anyway. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIh5dUOz824&feature=player_detailpage

75. TJenny

Here’s a wee tune for Wingers everywhere.

Bill Withers and ‘Lean on me’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QzpSeDsHIw

Enjoy. ๐Ÿ™‚

76. Michael McCabe

Just love the harmonizing when they get into the song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPnxOsOTxNM&feature=player_detailpage

77. Paula Rose

TJenny dear – the lovely Michael McCabe is all mine, hands off honey xx

78. Cactus

Hey TJenny, count me in a stake for some of that sponsorship action. Get the on-board entertainment sorted out ye passengers.

I reckon some of the many viewers on here will appear in words yet, will probably feel compelled to do, more than ever.. after all, it’s now easy, like Sunday morning.

You got five and legs eleven days tae go.

79. ronnie anderson

@ T Jenny. Im in for ยฃ20,jist get ah erse on aah seat.

80. X_Sticks

Count me in for the sponsorship of a seat. ๐Ÿ˜€

81. pete the camera

Tjenny and others it is great that you are wanting to sponsor seats in the bus only problem is I would feel guilty traveling on Friday with a half empty bus and a lot of fresh air (if only on the outward journey as I am sure on the way back it won’t be as fresh :!) ) as always we have people lurking in the shadows frightend to take the small step and be part of this great community that is WOS,
    on that note at the Wings stall yesterday in George square the sale of badges raised 406.88 going to the Scottish Kidney Federation well done Ronnie Anderson “the walking talking billboard” and “barrow boy” castle hill chav who’s sale patter brought donations from far and wide

82. Jock Scot

@TJenny
    Look forward to that kiss and I will be aiming for about 6.30 from Haymarket but depends on how quickly I can get there from work.

@Pete
    Guilt has no place oan that bus..dinnae be bringing it with you and we will all see you there with smiles on. Well done with the badges, the stall has never looked busier and it was good to see many people wanting or being (shall we say) coaxed to have a photo with the banner taken. Great company with Brian and Ronnie too and I heard that a Ninja Penguin was in the vicinity.

83. castle hills chavie

Hey Pete, that’s great news about the money raised. It was a great day, so nice meeting up with fellow Wingers.

Will see you all on Friday at CH.

84. LizM

Hi all will be at CH on Friday.

85. fionan

I would love a seat on that bus, but I don’t suppose it drops by Calais. It will always be a source of disappointment to me that I never managed to get to a Wings do or any of these great rallies, but it has been fun following you all in your various mad exploits, and who knows what the future brings.

86. Natasha

I’ll sponsor a seat. Only 11 days to go! Keep your fingers and toes crossed for us down here in the Borders.

87. Betty Boop

Hi folks,

Been a few days since I have been on off topic and find that T Jenny has suggested something I was discussing with the other half.

Re: sponsoring seats on the bus from Dundee, count JimT and me in.

Bdtt/Pete/Alex – how much do you need for the untaken seats? If we know that, we know what we are aiming at and I’ve no doubt it will be covered, one way or another ๐Ÿ˜‰

btw, you are heroes for collecting so much in Glasgow – Ronnie too, of course ๐Ÿ™‚

88. ronnie anderson

SoS I forgot to mention our other assistants at the Freedom Square rally Jock Scott ( Yew Choob Channel) & Young Martyn in Da Hoose, (caz ms) laddy.

89. Thepnr

Dear all you generous people, it’s great to know that we will all help where possible but that may not really be the issue.

I definately want the bus to go so BTDD it must go even with a few hardy souls, it would not be right now not to go. I’m sure you know what I mean.

Unfortunately, I have to say I can no longer attend, my Father In law passed away on Friday and his funeral is next Friday.

I’ve let down Paula Rose as I was to drive her though and back, sometimes circumstances defeat your best plans and all that, but we are meantime sorting alternatives.

I really hope the Dundee bus goes ahead just so those that have already booked get there, then I’d be happy. Even happier if anyone who had maybe thought of going and had now decided to get their name down for the bus.

Loads of Dundonians on this site, go on, it will be a good night. Your last chance to meet other Wingers before the vote. Don’t be shy it, you will enjoy it. I promise ๐Ÿ™‚

Something to tell the grandchildren and you’ll get a badge ๐Ÿ™‚

90. Jock Scot

@Thepnr
    Condolences and you will be in our thoughts. See you at the next one.

91. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Really sorry to hear that mister. You’ll be missed on the night, but we’ll raise one to ye.

92. Paul Rose

Darlings you’ll have read Thepnr’s sad news. Now though I have nowhere to stay overnight – I can get the bus through but if I get it back I’ll be stuck in Dundee! Quelle horreur!

Anyone ready to sleep on their sofas?

93. Betty Boop

@ Thepnr

Alex, you are having a tough time at the moment. Sorry to hear about your loss. What a sad time it has been for you and your family over the past couple of months.

Sorry you will not be with us on Friday, but, we’ll raise a glass to you and your family and you will all be in our thoughts.

As for the bus, you Dundonian Wingers (including lurkers) hiding out there heard Alex, did you not? Make yourselves known to Briandoonthetoon and book your seat on the bus. Come along and meet a great bunch from the Wings family. You won’t be disappointed and you will definitely be amused! ๐Ÿ™‚

94. Natasha

Dear Thepnr, I’m so sorry. Please pass on my sympathies to your wife.
    xxx

95. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

Sorry to read your news. My thoughts are with you and yours.

Re: the minibus from Dundee. I had a blether with Pete the Camera today about the situation; it’s pointless sending a 19-seater minibus to Glasgow with 6 or 7 bums in it.

If there’s no minibus, Pete will take his car, which covers him, me, my son, and Sand Holmes from work. That leaves Chipmonkey, Quentin Quayle and Paula Rose to arrange something.

It would be great if a lone driver was heading to Glasgow and could travel via Brechin and Blairgowrie, to hoover up the three amigos.

Onnyhoo, I have repeated the post below on two Facebook pages with which I am associated: the “YES BUS… SCOTLAND’S DRAGON FOR INDY” page,

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1449600478633420

and the “Yes We Care Dundee” page.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1574732476076180

Here’s what I posted.

We’ve been trying to organise a minibus down to Glasgow on Friday, 1st May, for the Wings Over Scotland get-together at the Counting House, on the corner of George Square.
    We only have 24 hours left to make a decision on whether to book the minibus.
    Leaving Dundee at around 5.15 pm; leave from Glasgow at 00.15.
    We’re still short of the needed number of bums so If you want to book seats for what will be a great night, stick a post in here, claiming however many seats you need.
    The cost will be ยฃ10 return.
    Remember, you only have 24 hours.

We’ll see what transpires…

96. Thepnr

Thanks all for the kind words.

What is it though that makes some of us “scared”. I really don’t know. That’s just me though.

Dundee fowk show us your mettle, there really is nothing to fear, they fear us, never forget that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKHENjnk-T0

97. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, here’s the updated list of peeps who have asked for badges on Friday. Add these names to the list I already posted on the 19th, at:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-22/#comment-2000058

Morag

Sarah McGuinness

David Mc Guinness

LizM

And the ones I picked up at George Square yesterdayโ€ฆ

Ninja Penguin

Nod Bruce

Iain Bruce

Jรถrdi McArthur

Alan Walker

Scott Chung

Gillian Ruglonian

Regretfully, I have removed Thepnr from the list. That makes 52 so far.

Any more? You only have until TUESDAY evening to claim your badge for Friday.

98. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Sorry to hear about that ๐Ÿ™

Can’t be of much help with the bus seat sponsorship I’m afraid, as I’m starting to wonder if I’ll even have enough for the train fare up to Glasgow.

I’ll try to be there on the night, but it’s a bit uncertain as yet.

Wish I could be of more help than that, but such is the story of my life it seems…

99. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr. Sorry to here of your loss.

100. Michael McCabe

Somebody put this up on twitter, Tommy Sheridan I think. I hope this works ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rnLgDqDQ1YE&feature=player_embedded if it does it will seriously make you laugh out loud.

101. Michael McCabe

Sorry about that last post. its the same video that I seen on twitter. but it had subtitles. and the one I posted has not. if anybody has seen the one with Subtitles and knows how to post it here on off topic would you Please. Cheers.

102. Cactus

48 VIP seats now remaining at the Counting House gig in Glasgow ๐Ÿ˜‰

103. JLT

ThePNR

Hi matey. Sorry about your loss. My sympathies to yourself and the family. Take care.

James

104. Betty Boop

@Cactus, 4:00am

I see what you did there! ๐Ÿ™‚

BTW, 4:00am!!!! You are more of a nighthawk than moi ๐Ÿ™‚

105. X_Sticks

@Alex

Really sorry to hear of your loss. My thoughts are with you at this difficult time.

You will be sorely missed at the CH, but we will be thinking of you.

106. Fiona

Sorry to intrude but Counting House is wetherspoons is it not?

It seems their outlet at Queen St station has refused someone entry for having a saltire, according to twitter

Any thoughts?

107. X_Sticks

@Cactus

I’m no VIP but I would like a seat to rest my old bones – big smilie thing!

108. Betty Boop

@ Fiona, 10:05am

I believe the establishment refusing entry was the one in front of Queen Street Station, Camperdown Place I think it is named, beside Burger King.

That is the one I saw in a photo with regard to this story.

109. Betty Boop

@X_Sticks, 10:19am

I think your VIP seat is booked already – you’re on the list!! :-O

See ya there or be square ๐Ÿ™‚ That old phrase just popped into this old head… 1960s memory? ๐Ÿ™

110. Fiona

@ Betty Boop,

Yes it was.

111. Betty Boop

@ Fiona, 10:05am

Forgot to say, is it perhaps because the saltire was on a pole. I believe CH refused to let folk in with flag poles in the past. Giving the benefit of the doubt, probably from a health and safety perspective.

112. Fiona

Not sure, Betty Boop: but the lady was in wheelchair and the child with her was wearing a flag. I only know what is on twitter, but it doesn’t sound good.

Not taking any particular position: just thought that those going to the CH might want to think about it

113. Betty Boop

@Michael McCabe, 2:27am

This is the link with the subtitles:

http://captiongenerator.com/37342/Scottish-Labour-2015

Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

114. Thistle

Hi all

we are doing another Crowdfunder called “Going Foward”. Anything you can do to help would be appreciated as always.

http://igg.me/at/goingforward/x/2910307

Alex, my thoughts are with you. I hope I can see you soon maybe at another WoS meetup.

115. Betty Boop

@ Thistle

Just added a bit to your fund. I am sure you will make the target once you get all the Wingers on board. I’ll put it about some FB sites as well.

You were looking well at the SNP Conference, if very busy :-)- the coffee wasn’t bad though!

116. cearc

Thepnr,

Sorry to hear that.

Best wishes to you and your wife.

117. Michael McCabe

@ Betty Boop Thanks.

118. castle hills chavie

Alex, very sad to hear of your loss, many thoughts from me and mine, to you and yours.

BrianDTT.

Can I have a badge as well…?

119. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Castle Hills Chavie.

Of course! I forgot to add you to the list last night.

I’m just about to check Facebook – I know from email notification that at least one Winger has expressed an interest in going on the minibus.

Eh wull keep yooz posted, an’ thah’, iye?

120. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Craig Allan Stewart has expressed a wish for a seat.
    That gives us 8 –

Chipmonkey
    Quentin Quayle
    Pete the Camera
    Brian Doonthetoon
    Hanii Puppy
    Sand Holmes
    Paula Rose
    Craig Allan Stewart

So we still need 7 or 8 to make it worthwhile.
    Leaving Dundee at around 5.15 pm; leave from Glasgow at 00.15.
    If you want to book seats for what will be a great night, stick a post in here, claiming however many seats you need.
    The cost will be ยฃ10 return.

We could pick up/drop off at Perth, Auchterarder, Blackford and so on, down the A9/M9 – Stirling Services, Cumbernauld, for example.

The cut-off time will have to be midnight tonight, to allow peeps to make other arrangements if no minibus.

121. Macart

Deepest condolences Alex.

Another time for the meet and greet.

122. Betty Boop

Calling Angus and all points SW down the M9 and M80.

Re the Dundee charabanc, come on folks, get your name down for Brian’s bus to the Wingding in Glasgow.

Just look at the names of those who will be on board; ยฃ10 is cheap for the entertainment, not to mention the fantastic scenery, you will get on the journey with those friends and you will still be looking forward to the amusement at the CH!

Your carriage awaits… roll up! ๐Ÿ™‚

123. Paul Rose

How about starting the bus in Brechin? Good idea don’t you think?

124. X_Sticks

@Paula

Why? What’s in Brechin?

125. Paula Rose

Moi, you silly boy – why? Are you driving to Glasgow and back sweetie?

126. X_Sticks

Unfortunately not Paula, I’m planning to relieve the strain and get the train.

127. chipmonkey

X-sticks… get off the train in Dundee and come in the bus with the A team. ๐Ÿ™‚ Please.

128. chipmonkey

Wee Jonny… why are you not coming on Friday,on the bus? Can’t you change your mind?

129. X_Sticks

Would love to chipmonkey but I’ll be going down early to get some other things done ๐Ÿ™

130. Taranaich

Technically 9 days to go now, but I was determined to have a very basic “why am I voting SNP” post up, to see if I could elucidate.

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/why-snp/

I really wanted to convey to people just what a change the SNP have made for me in my day-to-day life, and why voting for them has been so beneficial even in an abstract way – making friends, self-development, helping hands – beyond simple policy.

The SNP really is a movement, now.

131. Michael McCabe

@ Taranaich Hear,hear!”

132. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

Hi Ronnie, I have just finished night shift out here.

Is this for the Counting House night out?

Thanks for asking about the names. Just put down Caz and Martyn.

I come off the rig on Friday, so we should be there. Will check out your reply later, I’m off to bed Ronnie, nighty night.

133. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Sorry, we can’t go ahead with the minibus – only 8 have said they wanted a seat. 4 of us are going down in Pete’s car, leaving Paula Rose (Brechin), Chipmonkey and Quentin Quayle (Blairgowrie) and Craig Allan Stewart (Dundee) to make other arrangements.

Apologies again.

Hi Caz-m.

I’ll add you two to the badge list.

This evening is anyone’s last chance to claim a personalised badge if you’re gonna be at the get-together on Friday.

134. Oneironaut

@Taranaich
    Folowing your post on the “The punch Ali didnโ€™t throw” article, is there anything I can do to help out with the rest of the Devo Files?

Definitely feel that they’re information that should be available to everyone running an election campaign stall in the final days till voting day.
    Confront a few of Labour’s few remaining loyal voters with the ugly truth… (Not that they’ll be likely to see it through those rose-tinted goggles!)

135. chipmonkey

Glum face thingy. Sorry folks. No way QQ or I can drive to Glasgow and back at the end of a busy day without collapsing in a heap. I’ve checked out bus and train from Dundee,but with the lowest price about ยฃ28.70 each to still have to leave just after 10… well no sense in that. I even checked out the Premier Inn to stay over until I realised that would make it a bit hard to campaign at home on Saturday morning:-) Have a nice night. xx

136. chipmonkey

@bdtt thank-you for trying so hard ๐Ÿ™‚

137. Brian Doonthetoon

Cheers Chipmonkey.

It’s a fine minibus too – we used it to go to the rally in Glasgow on Saturday. It’s actually a 19 seater.

Onnyhoo, $hยกโ€  happens, iye?

138. ronnie anderson

@ Chipmonkey if its any help I will be going to Dundee on Sat morning, I could run you & Graeme back to BlairG. We tip put ah bit of grey rince in your hair & get a over 55 rail ticket lol.

139. Paula Rose

re Friday night – sob sob sob.

140. Robert Kerr

I use Linkedin and accessed the site today. I checked out the “people you may know” list and was amazed to find one Kezia Dugdale complete with photograph listed.

Can anyone give me any thoughts on how this may have happened? My name is of course in plain view here on WoS.

141. Betty Boop

Aww – so unhappy that you lovely peeps from points north of Dundee are unable to travel to Glasgow.

Honestly, some of us have already offered to chip in for the bus and I am sure we would have managed to find any extra dosh if required on the night ๐Ÿ™

Can ye no change your mind folks and hire that bus cos you will all be sorely missed otherwise. Have a wee think – and, heavens, Paula Rose’s counselling and therapy services will be in demand on Friday :-0

142. Paula Rose

Betty Boop honey – all I need is one gallant winger to sleep on his sofa and I will be there, I’m not a teenager, so staying up all night is not an option.

143. Betty Boop

@Paula Rose,

Had we lived somewhere sensible instead of the western fringes of civilisation, a bed for the night would be no problem.

As it is, we have booked overnight in Glasgow because the last train back to the boonies leaves at a ridiculously early time.

So, Wingers, the call is out – one sofa required with PR’s name on it!

144. Paula Rose

Oh well I’ll slum it – offers of a sofa will be gratefully received, I know I’ve been spoilt with water beds and four-posters at previous night-outs!

145. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose You can stay with me I have a spare bed,& get a one way rail ticket, dare I say it for people over a certain age but it is ยฃ20 return any where in Scotland & thats cheaper than a one way ticket. I will be going to Dundee on Sat morning.

146. Paula Rose

Stay with the incomparable ronnie anderson! My I’m all aflutter!

147. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose Aye but leave your crystal bell,on your own bedside cabinet,there,s nae servants here lol, oh my god I,ll need tae by napkins.

148. Paula Rose

Well I did say I was prepared to slum it at 8:59 – la contessa is raising her eyebrows.

149. Betty Boop

@Paula Rose

Stop fluttering. The bed is in Ronnie’s shed ! ๐Ÿ˜‰

150. Paula Rose

A bed in history! Swoon…

151. Paula Rose

But mes petites, nous avons to get les QQ and chipmonkey a la event aussi. Nous avons le return journey sorted – any way we can sort this?

152. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Good to read that you have, in your own style, secured a berth for the night in Ronnie’s shed.

I did a quick search, as you typed, “Oh well Iโ€™ll slum it”.

There’s a luxury charabanc leaves Seagate Bus Station in Dundee at 17.05 and arrives at Glasgow’s Buchanan Bus Station at 18.40. This gives you 20 minutes to sassily promenade down the road to the Counting House, awarding the crowds who have rushed to get a glimpse of you (word on the grapevine), with your customary demure ‘wave’.

Journey details here:-

http://tinyurl.com/o67aphl

If you’re coming back up to Dundee with Ronnie on Saturday, that means you’ll be able to join the rest of the Wingers campaigning with Team YES Bus at City Square!

Dundee will be honoured…

153. Brian Doonthetoon

Just did a post but it “is awaiting moderation.”

154. Paula Rose

Chipmonkey and QQ – we can do this, drive to mine, we get a lift to the station, we go to Glasgow, you stay in a tinkly bell place – other wingers help with funds if need be, ronnie anderson drives us to Dundee, I’ll get us a lift to mine and on to yours – simples.

155. Paula Rose

BDTT dearie did you use swearie words?

156. chipmonkey

You are a honey Paula. We have been quiet because we want to come. Emailing you with an idea. xx

157. X_Sticks

I’m with Betty.

Just get the bus folks.

According to Brian there were 7-8 seats at ยฃ10 needed.

I will guarantee to pay the ยฃ80 required. If anyone else wants to chip in fine, but the cost will be covered. You have my word.

158. cearc

Bdtt,

About 95% that I will be there.

159. Betty Boop

@ X_Sticks

Aye, whatever it takes! Looks like Chips might have a plan too though.

Need to talk about future strategy sometime too – there will be future gatherings ๐Ÿ™‚

160. Paula Rose

chipmonkey – I find that keeping quiet is not a good way of signalling that you are coming, just saying like.

161. Paula Rose

Just Craig Allan Stewart to sort out.

162. chipmonkey

I am delighted to inform you that the triple A team of Paula Rose,Quentin Quale and myself will indeed be arriving at said CH wings get together. ????

163. Natasha

Happy to help with the cost of the bus.

Guess what? I get to be a counting agent! Yayyy!

164. chipmonkey

QQ and I had resigned ourselves to being sensible (What?us?) and staying home on Friday evening.Not happy bunnies though. Then I happened to pick up my multimedia device and read posts and emails. Paula Rose and QQ both came up with plans.
    Please,please put us back on the list!!
    Hurrah!
    xxxx

165. chipmonkey

Where will Craig Allan Stewart be on Friday pm?

166. Paula Rose

The tears are long since wiped from my eyes – we will be amongst you, cearc that would be the icing on the cake to see you again. Morag my pet you too.

167. Oneironaut

Afraid I’m going to have to drop off the list for CH too.

The Council Tax folks just helped themselves to the last of my cash for the rest of the week, so I now have no way of getting to Glasgow. ๐Ÿ™

Probably for the best, since my previous antisocial tendencies have only increased since the referendum result! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Also I have a lot of sleep to catch up on…

168. ronnie anderson

@ Chipmonkey I sent you a Email re Hotel did you get it.

169. ronnie anderson

@ Betty Boop There,s nothing wrang wie ma shed it might leak ah bit,but I wont let the Raindrops fall on oor lovely Paula Rose, I,ll give her a big umbarella.

170. Paula Rose

Oneironaut – I’ve just had a dreadful dream where you didn’t show on May 1st, please come along, many friends have made it possible for me to do so, we’ll do the same for you.

171. Paula Rose

To spend the night in the most famous shed in Scotland alongside the swifts and swallows – I shall spend the night skyclad.

172. ronnie anderson

Im still on for ยฃ20 to help with bus costs

173. ronnie anderson

@ Oneironaut I,ll punt up for your fare just get there.

174. Paula Rose

Too late dolly.

175. Paula Rose

Oneironaut – I’ll buy you a dreamy cocktail xxx

176. Oneironaut

@ronnie anderson
    Thanks for the offer, but Glasgow is a bit too far to walk to from the west coast.

@Paula Rose
    I don’t drink alcohol, but thanks for the offer.
    Also dreams are fascinating things. Especially skyclad dreams! ๐Ÿ˜‰

177. Paula Rose

Some papaya honey?

178. Jock Scot

Hope as many make it as possible on Friday..a meeting of Wingers minds in a collective social, ought to be significant.So on the last Friday of the current regime let’s plot the future and make it happen….Umbrellas and sheds..what is a mind to think x

179. Jock Scot

@oneironaut
    TJenny suggested sponsoring bums on seats for the Dundee bus and about ยฃ50 was pledged. If the bus isn’t happening and you are needing a help oot from fellow wingers then we are here and 50 quid may get and return you to west coast.

180. Brian Doonthetoon

I see my post at 9.45pm has been successfully moderated but has been superseded by subsequent arrangements.

Betty Boop mentioned,

“The bed is in Ronnieโ€™s shed”

Reminds me of an old Dundee phrase, “Behd in the shed”, the meaning of which can be found on this page:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/dundickshonary

181. Brian Doonthetoon

Just to let yooz ken…

That’s the badge list closed. Last entry was cearc.

We’ll have some blanks with us on Friday for peeps who haven’t asked and turn up on the night.

Night all. Take care out there.

182. Betty Boop

@Bdtt & Paula Rose

Behd in the shed

LOL and I was already trying to get over Paula R “skyclad”!!! Does that mean she takes the stilettos off or leaves them on?

@ Ronnie
    There was no implication that there is anything wrong with your shed – I think it’s braw ๐Ÿ™‚ Mind you, Paula R thinks she’ll be spending the night with “the swifts and the swallows” – hae ye telt her aboot the spideys and the speugs?

@Oneironaut
    As mentioned above, the more the merrier and we’ll see you okay, but, anybody driving over from the west coast who could offer a lift?

183. Oneironaut

@Jock Scot
    50 quid is way too much!
    Don’t want to become one of Labour’s “scroungers” do I? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Seriously, don’t worry about it.

184. Betty Boop

@ Natasha

Hope you have a good night at the count. JimT and I were at the Ref count, and JimT is a counting agent for this one too.

I get to sleep this time ๐Ÿ™‚

Both doing Postal Vote observing – like watching paint dry at times, but, someone’s got to do it.

185. Michael McCabe

I was looking for a nice mellow song to play at this time of the Morning. And I settled for this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1H3_PFN5lg&feature=player_detailpage

186. Oneironaut

I don’t do mellow music much these days…

Besides, I’ve had this song stuck in my head for three days straight now, since a webcomic artist from Holland introduced me to these guys via a link two weeks back.
    Only right that I inflict it on everyone else too. Sharing is caring! ๐Ÿ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69OSmdm9G3w

187. Betty Boop

@ Michael McCabe, 2:55am

Lovely, wee tune Michael and very relaxing until, at advancing age, you listen to the words! “…things I might have missed” and “settled for…” and also noting that you’ve probably forgotten anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

Jings, I’ll get my slippers.

Actually, no I won’t:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twuzki0ZpDo

188. Betty Boop

@ Oneironaut

No wonder you can’t get that tune out of your head. That was gooooooood!

189. Jim Thomson

Still playing with cookies …

190. Jim Thomson

comment appeared straight away and page auto-scrolled to it. name & e-mail field still empty

191. Jim Thomson

Last comment didn’t appear immediately and no-autoscroll. Fields empty. That was using a full copy of all cookies for Chrome from the laptop which is fine.

And yet, this PC was also fine until I deleted all cookies. Bizarre.

192. Jim Thomson

yet another try after fiddling with Chrome settings

193. Jim Thomson

Just sent a help query to Google. This might take a while …

194. Michael McCabe

@ Oneironaut That was new to me and very very good. Cheers

195. Michael McCabe

@ Betty Boop Loved that version of the song. Cheers

196. Oneironaut

@Jim Thomson
    When I posted my last message, it appeared immediately. But then when I reloaded the page, it disappeared again and took some time to reappear.

Suggests it could be an issue causing the browser to reload an older cached version of the page rather than the new one with the comment on it.
    I’ll try clearing the browser cache after sending this and reloading the page.

See you on the other side… ๐Ÿ™‚

197. Oneironaut

Ok, follow up to my last post with the little comment posting experiment in it…

Same thing happened, message appeared instantly, then disappeared when the page was reloaded (by clicking on the thread name “Off-topic” at the top, which is something I do often after posting to clear the ID of my comment from the URL so it doesn’t jump to that every time the page is reloaded).

Clearing the cache and refreshing the page had no effect, and my message still hasn’t appeared.

Hopefully it’ll have appeared by the time this one has posted or this message probably won’t make much sense to anyone!

198. Oneironaut

ALSO, I just noticed that it IS reloading an older version of the page each time, as the two most recent main article links just disappeared off the list when the page was reloaded after posting.

According to the one I’m looking at right now, “Questions for Jim” was the last main article posted.

I’d say this also explains why some people reported being redirected to the previous page of comments after posting whenever we move onto a new page.

Since the browser cache obviously isn’t to blame, I’d say that for some reason it keeps downloading an older version of the page from the server.
    No idea why…

I’m guessing Patrician might have figured all or most of this out already, but thought I’d mention it just in case it helps get to the bottom of this issue in some way.

Right, that’s my good deed for the day done. I’m off to scare some Labour activists!

199. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Not sure about moving into Ronnies shed, but glad you found a place anyway.

Hope he is giving you the 5* shed with the Fridge and the AC rather than the old manky one covered in Yes paraphernalia?

Here’s the video my mate made, he payed ยฃ100/night you know ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDD_gmcbaF8

200. Hoss Mackintosh

@cearc,
    just a question on golden wings. How did the collection for Robert Peffers go – did he get his wings or how far to go?

201. Patrician

@Oneironaut, The site is getting worse. tonight is the first time I have encountered getting an older page instead of a new one. I have two tabs open, same page on both tabs, it shows 13 comments on one tab and on the other it is over twenty. When I refresh the pages(using all the strange tricks) they both stay at the same number of comments.

I have said this before, this is a server side issue and there isn’t much we can do about it but suck it up.

202. Michael McCabe

Gonna leave you with a couple of songs from the band. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-rTkqn-4qg&feature=player_detailpage

203. john king

I’ve been trying to persuade Irene to get on here and start posting, but I think she thinks she’ll have nothing of importance to say, I pointed her to my posts, (steady there Paula Rose)cumon guys what about private messaging her to get her to break her duck,

When she comments on events happening past my bedtime ๐Ÿ™ her observations are much more incisive than she thinks and the (second hand) influence of Wings is getting her to take a more critical look at what is being said rather than just assuming anything she’s told on tv must be true,

She is a classic example of a L.I.V (I mean that in a nice way) who has had thier eyes opened and if she is anything to go by we are winning the fight with the uninformed and uninterested, we just have to keep plugging away.

A no voter at work initiated a conversation with me(always a good sign) who said that in spite of voting no he would be an SNP voter since Labour were not representing his views but asked when are we going to get over the whole independence schtick since we’re twtpts to run our own country, I simply responded that if after 300 year s of Westminster rule we are twtpts, who should he blame for that and why should we continue down such a self depreciating path as that,
    it looked like a paradigm shift took place right in front of my eyes and he turned quietly away and got back on with his work
    ITS WORKING GUYS. ๐Ÿ™‚

204. john king

Croompenstein Croompenstein wherefore art thou Croompenstien?

Are you going to the Counting House and if not why not, we’ve met just about everyone else (collectively) but I have never had the pleasure of meeting your good self, get your arse along there. ๐Ÿ™‚

205. X_Sticks

@Irene King

Come on Irene!

I know you can add something worthwhile here and your input will be appreciated. You don’t have to go full frontal on the main thread, you can just dip a toe in here on off topic. It really doesn’t hurt at all.

My only word of caution is that it can become addictive. Look at thon John King, we cannae shut him up sometimes!

206. cearc

Hoss,

I mooted it here on OT but no-one responded at all to the idea so it didn’t take off.

I now feel a bit bad because I think if I had just gone ahead and posted on the threads that I might well have got it even though it was late in the appeal. He surely deserves one.

207. cearc

Irene,

C’mon, Irene, c’mon.

208. bob sinclair

John King,

A friend carried out a ‘Poll’ in her place of work with the following results:

Referendum
    12 No
    8 Yes

GE 2015
    23 SNP
    1 Labour

The Labour guy is a party member and is voting Labour out of ‘obligation’.

Ive told my friend im very dissapointed in these figures & she must try harder ๐Ÿ™‚

209. Oneironaut

Did a poll of my own here at home…

Referendum
    2 Yes
    0 No

Then again, the second voter wasn’t eligible to vote in the referendum as he was a woodlouse I found under the garden shed.

Still, shows some promise… ๐Ÿ™‚

210. Cactus

Ye be right Oneironaut.

I did a poll of my own here at home…

Referendum
    2 Yes
    0 No

Then again, the second voter wasnโ€™t eligible to vote in the referendum as she was my yes guitar, who sits on her stand.

Sorry to hear you and Alex canny make Glasgow tomorrow.. enjoy the live-streamed version instead! Cheers to yee’s.

211. Betty Boop

C’mon Irene, C’mon Irene – you even have your own song!

Shove John off the keyboard for a while. Your time is now (Nicolas says so!). A wee comment here and there and you never know where it ends up – like Arbroath for instance. Now there’s a town that seems to have had a change of heart since last summer’s festivities ????

212. Oneironaut

@Cactus
    “Sorry to hear you and Alex canny make Glasgow tomorrow.. enjoy the live-streamed version instead! Cheers to yeeโ€™s.”

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

If I can get on the Livestream, I’ll take a quick peek at you all there.

Hope you’ve invited the Yes Guitar. Does she have a name badge?

Have a great night! ๐Ÿ˜‰

213. Thepnr

Irene

Noooooo! Don’t do it, no matter how many try and persuade you. It will take over your life.

In saying that, there could be worse things to take over your life. So would like to see you dip a toe in the water, especially if it keeps John off the laptop and we don’t have to hear as much from him ๐Ÿ™‚

214. X_Sticks

@Thepnr

Irene sneaked in on the main thread – I wouldn’t have noticed if it hadn’t been for mumsyhugs!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-toll-taken/comment-page-1/#comment-2006432

As you say Alex, a slippery slope…

215. Thepnr

@X_Sticks

I saw your post today and mumsyhugs and was lost. Hahaha I missed the Eccles reference and was searching for Irene. Good handle choice Irene.

Love and kisses ๐Ÿ™‚

216. Paula Rose

Raffles will be king.

217. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Or she may prefer to be Queen LOL.

218. Paula Rose

Takes the cake.

219. Paula Rose

Raffles honey – will we have the pleasure of your company at the CH?

220. Natasha

What time are we meeting up at the Counting House?

221. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hello, I just wanted to say how much I’m looking forward to meeting you all tomorrow. I was supposed to attend the last shindig but couldn’t at the last minute, so try and stop me now!
    I’m lucky that I’m only 10 minutes away, but I am hoping that distance isn’t going to put people off cos I’m really looking forward to hearing the nationwide campaigning stories. This election is impossible to call, as we know, but the constituency make-ups are all so diverse that it will be fascinating to hear first-hand experiences from far and wide.

For anyone reading this who’s considering coming tomorrow, but is maybe a wee bit shy, well I’m not a prolific poster or the most outgoing of people but I have met individual wingers at rallies and things and they were very nice!!
    Also, the opportunity to speak freely amongst like minded thinkers is to good to pass up ๐Ÿ˜‰ So, go on, go on, go on, go on…

222. Paula Rose

Time Natasha? this much

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMxRDTfzgpU

xxx

223. Paula Rose

Can’t resist – sniggle

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbyAZQ45uww

224. Paula Rose

Gillian_Ruglonian – sweetie I can’t wait to meet you and everyone else, I’m the sassy blond.

225. Oneironaut

Hmm, not getting the Eccles reference… Is that an in-joke or am I just thick? hehe ๐Ÿ™‚

226. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    Yes, very nice darling, but I still don’t know what time to turn up!

227. Paula Rose

My chauffeur assures me that he will deliver me to the door at 7:30 – my wee cherub Natasha – I expect the seats will have been taken by then. I’m going for flatties as I’ll probably be on my feet all night.

228. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    Not sure if I’ve met you yet. Mystery Winger there ๐Ÿ™‚

As for campaign stories… I don’t think I really have any. None that are particularly interesting anyway.
    Lots of standing around in the freezing cold lately.

Although we have met some rather interesting nutters at street stalls. Everywhere has its fair share of nutters, but me and the team I’m in seem to attract some truly spectacular ones…

229. Paula Rose

Seeing as we are in this world…

My mum’s favourite…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IzQWXPI8mA

230. chipmonkey

Don’t be silly @Paula Rose. When we walk in wearing our sparkly heels as usual,the gentlemen will dash off to buy us drinks and we’ll have our choice of chairs.

231. X_Sticks

@Oneironaut

Eccles is John King’s avatar.

232. Paula Rose

I’m dreaming of meeting an oneironaut tomorrow, and everyone else.

233. Betty Boop

@Natasha, 10:30pm

What time are we meeting up at the Counting House?

I am sure CH is booked from 7.00pm Natasha.

234. Paula Rose

Chippymonkey honey – maybe the boys will be discombobulated as to how they should behave – I suggest we let them buy the drinks and reserve their seats.

235. Macart

Bugger!

If the ladies are wearing their sparkly heels I don’t want to clash.

Pit boots it is then.

236. cearc

x_sticks,

Well spotted!

Congratulations Irene!

I had looked at those comments this morning but it may still have been in moderation as a first comment.

Been driving down most of the day.

I see Albamac night be there as well, tomorrow.

237. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    I’ll be there in spirit ๐Ÿ™‚

(Watch out, my spirit has wandering hands! hehe) ๐Ÿ˜‰

238. Paula Rose

Too much, much too much

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVAahsWM_2Y

239. Brian Doonthetoon

I must be one of that select group of Wingers, who have met Gillian Ruglonian at least once, if not twice. And both times would have been in George Square.

So there! PARP!

Looking forward to tomorrow evening, 7pm till throwing out (or up) time…

240. Paula Rose

Nevermind the Paula Rose…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=na7A3-UCCYE

241. Betty Boop

See y’all later today ๐Ÿ™‚

242. Paula Rose

I’m dreaming…

243. Paula Rose

Pedicure booked

hair sorted

Tottie rock outfit procured

See you all soon xx

244. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi again, back from the twits!
    Paula – not to put anyone else’s nose out of joint, but you may very well be the main attraction ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oneironaut – mysterious, I like it!

Brian – Ha, I knew I existed

245. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

All your links are good. However, post too many together then we will miss out. Stick the Ollie and Hardie on again LOL

246. Gillian_Ruglonian

Oh no, I’ve just noticed that my tablet corrected Twitter to twits! Just as I was getting comfy too (my first wee riddy) ๐Ÿ˜‰

247. Thepnr

Just done a really funny thing there. I still have hundreds of posts to read on two different articles.

But decided to go to bed instead. Hey for one less grey hair!

248. CameronB Brodie

@ Will Podmore
    Here’s one to get your teeth stuck in to, if you’re lurking out there. Perhaps Heidegger failed to transcend the boundaries of western metaphysics and ended up rejecting humanism because, unlike Zen Buddhism, he was using western metaphysical tools in his attempt. His dialectic couldn’t get around duality. ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.partiallyexaminedlife.com/2013/08/31/zen-and-the-art-of-martin-heidegger/

249. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr & Broughtyboy
    Sorry for not getting in touch, its nothing personal. I spoke too soon about getting shot of the lurgie. Now my Sciatica has flared up so I’m not going to get to the CH. Bummer. ๐Ÿ™

Tam Jardine
    No pressure, or have I missed the Edinburgh bash? ๐Ÿ™‚

250. CameronB Brodie

Brotyboy
    Sorry. ๐Ÿ˜‰

251. CameronB Brodie

So the democratic will of an increasing proportion of Scots raiders (voters) looks as if it is about to experience a Pearl (accidentally driving the nose of the board underwater, generally ending the ride).

Too early in the day? ๐Ÿ™‚

The Surf Raiders – Point Conception
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RKKfcAjv3yA

Remember were still in a parallel universe, where everything is reversed and vica versa. ๐Ÿ˜‰

252. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

I am not getting off the oil rig until 4pm today. I will get home too late to go to the Counting House. Really disappointed Ronnie.

Martyn and I will see you sometime very soon. All of you have a great night. If it’s on livestream, i will tune in.

Be good.

All the best,

Caz.

253. Betty Boop

@caz-m, 8:40am

Sorry to hear you won’t be at CH. Next time, eh? Safe journey home.

254. john king

Cameron Brodie @ 2.37 am

Will just sent me a response to you post Cameron,
    He said
    “well that was Zen this is Tao” ๐Ÿ™‚

255. john king

Like a bairn going on holiday, counting the minutes.
    see you all tonight folks shame you cant make it Alex, Caz-m and Cameron (get well soon,)I hope you can find a way to come Oneironaut ๐Ÿ™‚

256. CameronB Brodie

Last one on a surf theme, but it’s a pity I missed this little known mid-60s Northwest stomp-per from the album “Riot City”, when the LibDumbs plunged Scotland into anarchy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Rocky & The Riddlers – Riot City
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=we6dZbHkqKo

257. Alistair Grapevine

Just boarding plane ( Corfu ) hope to see you all tonight in the CH

258. CameronB Brodie

john king
    Sharp. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Post-indyref revilation – I hadn’t realised David Carradine had had such a profound effect on me. ๐Ÿ™‚

259. indigo

Hi folks, I’m not going to make it tonight sadly, it was lovely to meet some of you last Saturday, hope you have a fabulous night, look forward to hearing about it x

260. CameronB Brodie

I wonder if this will be the next excuse from the Project Fear team, explaining the First Minister’s popularity. ๐Ÿ™‚

Charles Sheffield – Its your voodoo working
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELLyhKUmeRU&index=15&list=PLeQ5Ojv_nZEiTepV6lg8Po8GTU0Mw1q6x

261. Alex Waugh

Does anyone have details about a get-together at St. Peter’s hall in Hyndland Street, Partick on the 8th? My daughter would like to go but I can’t remember any details, or even where I read about it. Definitely getting doatit!

262. Oneironaut

Well, thanks to a very kind last minute donation of the train fare from a friend here, I’ll be able to make it tonight after all ๐Ÿ™‚

(Now I just need to see if I can sneak my cheapo mini Lidl cola bottle in past the doormen…)

See ya all later then! ๐Ÿ˜€

263. Cactus

Hey Oneironaut, aint gonna bring my 6-string to this gig but am looking forward to hearing one of Ian B’s musical guests performing for us ๐Ÿ™‚

To confirm, the Counting House has been booked from 1900hrs (till 3am!)

The VIP area has been reserved in the south-west corner of the bar, AKA the library.

For first time navigators, this part of the bar is situated directly across the road from the ‘Subway’ junk food shop on St. Vincent’s Place.

See ye all there Scotland.

264. Thistle

Del (10badges) and myself will be seeing some of you folk later at the WoS meetup.

I was thinking if people interested we could do wee livestreams from George Square about election etc.

265. JLT

Am in george sq. Away for a coffee …and a wee bit studying. Catch you all later.

James

266. Jim Thomson

Sitting in the CH in “our” corner just now. Quite busy.

267. Jim Thomson

Damn phone screen not updating straight away. Apologies if I seem to be ignoring. ๐Ÿ™

268. Oneironaut

@Jim Thomson
    Heading there now. Should be with you in about an hour or so, depending on whether anything slows the train down on the way.

See ya! ๐Ÿ˜‰

269. Jim Thomson

And just to add to the joy, the library has signs saying private party from 6:30pm

270. Jim Thomson

our wee bit of the CH starting to empty now. Betty is getting fractious – nae pals yet.

271. Jim Thomson

Wingers now drifting in …

272. chipmonkey

The A team will be about another 20 mins at most. We are on our way:-)

273. Tam Jardine

Hope you all have a great night in Glasgow – sad not to make it through this time..

274. Wee Jonny

To all attending the Coontin Hoos – Enjoy yirsells.

275. Tam Jardine

CameronB Brodieย 

Aye – never organised another Edinburgh mate – I could give you all the reasons but it boils down to being busy and lazy. And not really feeling there was anyone else pushing for one. 190,000 Edinburgers voting no is another reason. There are other, better reasons

Salut Cameron. One day when we’re auld tins we will tell young folk about these crazy pre indy days

276. Tam Jardine

auld yins…

277. Michael McCabe

To Everyone who makes the Counting House Tonight. Have a great time. Wish I was there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=JxUSQC-KAHM

278. Thepnr

To all my friends and Wingers in the Counting House tonight, I’m sorry I couldn’t make but here’s the instructions for the dance around George Square.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiU-n_lWAio

Have a good one.

279. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Message from Irene King – Missing you tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

280. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Glad you got there, tell Irene and John I’m missing them too ๐Ÿ™

Also to Ian, thanks for the mention on Indy Live.

281. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hope all went okay for you today. When I went into CH I spotted someone at the bar, thought it was you – thankfully, I didn;’t clap him on the shoulder! (He was a fine figure of a man, so, I’m sure you’ll agree, the mistake was understandable.)

@Caz-M –

I’m sorry mister – said hello to you via the Live stream but got your lad’s name wrong. ๐Ÿ™ Apologies…

Proper bummer youse weren’t there though – a lot of the usual suspects were there, all looking well up for it. And a good few new faces besides.

Big hoots tae ane an’ aw. Ye’s are diamonds.

282. Macart

Had a great night at the CH tonight. A huge pleasure to meet everyone and share a few tales and some laughs.

See you all on threads when I get home Monday.

283. Ian Brotherhood

Rihanna, ‘Diamonds’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lWA2pjMjpBs

284. Michael McCabe

Here is a link Nana Smith put up on the main thread. Deserves to be on here too. Labour must hate this guy. Enjoy. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JIGjUPwYU94&feature=player_detailpage

285. Jock Scot

A Wings social.. use your imagination if you didn’t see it on livestream cos We did. Had a word with Kevin about setting up multiple socials on the same night in different areas, more local to many and do livestreams from them all. If each venue manages to produce 5 laptops for example, every venue could interact whilst those elsewhere will be spoilt for choice. Maybe I had a pint of imagination too many. I blame Paula Rose. Wingers can’t help but enthuse others so thanks to the many, merry band who provided the opportunity to be enthused so much.

286. Paula Rose

Wow – this shed has wi-fi as well as a jacuzzi! Heaven.

287. Paula Rose

Oh my – here’s ronnie with the cocoa.

288. Brian Doonthetoon

Got back into YES City just after 2pm, after another successful meeting of ‘Cybernatz Central’ in that Glasgow’s Counting House.

It was so successful on the scale that we even had a lurker (Hello Shona!) asking for a badge.

Ian Brotherhood – I’m not sure you actually exist on this astral plane. Umpteen times tonight, I asked various peeps to point you out so I could say hello and the answer, every time was “He was over there. Maybe he’s gone out for a fag.”

Now, I thought Ronnie Anderson HAD to be a figment of our collective imagination but I KNOW he exists!

So, in the race for the next Wings get-together, is it gonna be Dundee (Invergowrie) or Edinburgh in early July?

Stay tuned for the news where you are…

289. Cactus

Rockin’ it out in Glasgow wingers.. after the CH, me, Cearc & Gillian were bigging it up inda merchant city. These girls know how to party!

Time to sleep some, kali spera pretty people.

290. Gillian_Ruglonian

@ cactus, you know x

291. John king

I’ve just been chucked out of our hotel room by irene for making too much racket and it’s too early for her,

bUt I’m hungry whaaaaaaa ????

292. Caroline Corfield

Alex Waugh

Shindig in Hyndland hall for GE….

I saw something about that on fb, think it was Yes Partick, I won’t find it trawling back because it was a couple of days back, but try their internet presence, fb or maybe they have a site?

293. Alex Waugh

Cactus says ‘kalispera’

Kalimerasas,

Are you in Greece or Cyprus Cactus? I’m in Cyprus

294. Thistle

LIVESTREAM video from Counting House here: http://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/events/4015608

295. cearc

G’morning, party poppers!

xx

296. Alex Waugh

Thanks Caroline. I went to the Yes Partick facebook page and sent them a message.

297. Oneironaut

Everyone manage to survive last night then? ๐Ÿ™‚

@Thepnr
    Sorry I didn’t get your reply. I wasn’t even sure that message made it through.
    My mini laptop couldn’t connect to the crappy wi-fi in the CH, so I ended up connecting through Glasgow Council’s wi-fi (which wasn’t much better!)
    I tried to send that message at Irene’s request before having to pack up and dash off for my train before the page had fully reloaded.

Last night was fun though ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy to meet Paul, A.K.A. the Wee Ginger Dug at last, even if it was just a brief wave since I was jammed in behind at least three other people!

Also, nice to meet JLT, and the mysterious (and very pretty!) Gillian_Ruglonian! ๐Ÿ˜€

Hope everyone isn’t feeling too rough.

We must do this again soon! ๐Ÿ˜€

298. HandandShrimp

Nice meeting you all again. I should have been more definite about attending and got a wee badge ๐Ÿ™‚ However, all in, a very pleasant evening.

299. Quentin Quale

@Thepnr, we all missed you, man, hope you are well. We didn’t manage the River Dance but wait for this – Paula Rose might have had one sherbert too many but a Fan Dance was performed. If you were luck enough to have seen it then, like me, that is one memory that will stay with you forever.

Great to meet up again with old friends and a big hello to all the new friends. Roll on the next shindig.

300. Hoss Mackintosh

@cearc,

maybe Rec Stu could give Roberts Peffers – “Honorary Gold Wings” for all his efforts?

hint, hint…
    ๐Ÿ™‚

301. cearc

QQ,
    Ahh, You have recovered your voice after being stunned into silence by the fan dance.

I’m not sure that some of the guys will ever be the same again. It was quite a show!

302. cearc

Hoss,

Well I certainly think he should get one.

Perhaps we (preferably you), could gather names and petition Stu?

303. Brian Doonthetoon

I have just surfaced.

I blame Paula Rose’s fan dance and the Tsing Tao.

Now off to meet Ronnie and Paula Rose (I think) at the YES Bus at City Square.

304. Cactus

Hey Alex Waugh, I’m in the sunny climbs of Glasgow. Was listening to some Zorba when I got back home.. Yamas!

Have a smashin’ time in Cyprus ๐Ÿ™‚

305. castle hills chavie

What..

..you mean I missed the fan dance from the delightful Paula Rose.Knew I shouldn’t have left so early and all for the want of not having to wait for a bloody taxi.

Anyway, so good to meet up with old friends and now new ones, Lollysmum, Macart etc

Hope to see you all again soon..

306. CameronB Brodie

Billy Davis & the Legands – Spunky Onions
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VeVe4z0rt80

307. JLT

Afternoon folks!

Excellent night last night! Far, far too many names to mention, but finally have faces to many names and pseudo names. Without giving too much away, it was an absolute pleasure to meet Paula Rose.

Also great to catch up with John and Irene King, whom I hadn’t seen since before the Referendum, when they disappeared somewhere in West Lothian after the great Livingston convoy slightly came apart at Fauldhouse!

So far, I have done hee-haw studying today (somehow LOL …you have all worn me out from last night, and I only had 3 pints!!!). I really have to motivate myself as I have a final assignment to hand in this week, but I also need to tidy the bathrooms (my orders from Mrs JLT) as well as post final letters around Livi Village …sigh …it never seems to end.

Anyway …catch up with you all soon! Cheers!!

308. Thepnr

@JLT

Yes, I know what you mean. Paula had exactly the same effect on me when first meeting. Starstruck is all I can say. Shame I couldn’t make it, looked like a great doo!

309. Natasha

I saw the fan dance. I may never recover from the experience. ๐Ÿ˜‰

310. Quentin Quale

Recover, Natasha? I’m still blushing. So hot I need a fan to cool down. Dammit, there’s that image again.

311. Thistle

Hi folks

thank you all for your generosity at CH ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway…

LIVE 7th May: Glasgow Emirates Arena #GE2015 We will be livestreaming through the night so please join us and let us know what you think… (Also for you special wingers we could be doing some Skype livestream chats so if you fancy joining us on that then add me to your Skype: indylive1)

http://tvl.ink/ge15glasgow

312. X_Sticks

Really enjoyed the get together last night. What a great bunch of people you all are. Always good catching up with faces old and new.

Just a pity Alex and Caz didn’t make it and Alexandra was missed too ๐Ÿ™ Ah, well, next time guys.

313. Ian Brotherhood

Just got e-mail from Craig Murray – turns out he was going to join us last night in CH, but last-minute family stuff prevented it. Have replied, saying it’s the thought that counts and I’ll certainly let him know as and when another is arranged.

314. Natasha

Just want to say hi to the charming SNP supporting rickshaw driver who conveyed me to Cambridge Street car park last night and who should now be lurking here on off topic. Don’t be shy, say hello – we’re very friendly!

315. Thepnr

Anybody fancy a visit back to the Ferry in a couple of months time?

A big yellow bus from the central belt would be most welcome.

316. Ian Brotherhood

John Martyn, ‘Don’t Want To Know’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=stRmPH0PbPs

317. Paula Rose

To be honest ronnie anderson’s shed is not quite the five star residence that I suggested in the early hours.

The wind did blow, the rain did infiltrate – but a brave spider persisted and eventually succeeded in spinning her web…

Reminded me of something…

318. Paula Rose

Very cross the Murphy – snuggle xx

319. Paula Rose

Very cross the Murphy – SNIGGLE.

320. Betty Boop

@Thepnr

Gee, Alex, what a night! Really sorry you couldn’t be there. Our thoughts were with you and your family.

Also, shame that Caz-m was too late off the rig to attend – next time, eh?

Well, the fan dance was going well until Paula Rose, feathery, pink fans swooshing, became distracted by JLT, who looked as though he was going to join Paula on the table, and that was when Paula’s stiletto stuck in the table top.

Ooh, it was an awkward moment but Paula saved herself with a timely pirouette. She is an absolute class act.

321. ronnie anderson

Not long in from my sojour to Breichin @ coffe with the delectble Paula Rose & La Contessa ( linen napkins still not back from the laundry)so paper wans. La Contessa made me ah couple of BLT (without the L ) on Wry for my snack back down the road.I.ll need to get somone else to drive Paula Rose, she keeps finding Parking Tickets on my windscreen, (2 to date from the unfair city of Dundee).Onnyhows I hope everybody got home safely from CH & by reading some of the posts another great night.

@ Thepnr, well missed my friend, by all.

Noo where,s that wee Lurker that highjacked me, Cmon lets hear from you.

Great nite as always Guys N Gals,shall we do it again sometime SOON.

322. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT – I was so close to saying hello, twice, but you looked very busy, no doubt with badge-related business. And thanks for leaving mine with Handandshrimp, I got it when I came back in. A superb wee souvenir I will always treasure alongside all the other WOS campaign medals.

@Natasha, JLT, X-sticks, Chipmonkey, Ian B aka Cactus, Seona ‘the Lurker'(?), John & Irene, Cearc, Jim T, Gwen and BettyB, as well as all the usual reprobates – a total pleasure, and I’m just so sorry I had to bolt early. Hope the raffle went okay – it was just getting underway as I left. (And, naturally, I missed the ‘fan dance’…)

Hoots tae ye’s aw!!

323. Betty Boop

@ Natasha
    Your rickshaw driver didn’t have a megaphone, did he? ๐Ÿ™‚

@ A’body else – great meeting up again and good to meet quite a few new faces. Shona, if you are lurking about, pleased you stayed with us – we only do friendly abductions!

@Paula R, dear, I am hoping that you have completed the appropriate customer service form Chez Ronnie. Was breakfast full service? Hopefully, the fans were professionally laundered.

@ Bdtt & Petethecamera
    You guys are heroes designing and making our bespoke Wingding badges.

@Thepnr Another meet in a wee while at the Ferry sounds like a good idea as does a bus from several points in the central belt.

@Ronnie
    Hero

324. JLT

Betty Boop

Well, the fan dance was going well until Paula Rose, feathery, pink fans swooshing, became distracted by JLT, who looked as though he was going to join Paula on the table

What! My drink must have been spiked! I cant remember dancing gracefully around the Counting House. Certainly blethered a lot about the Reformation and the theme of authority (which will now have Kininvie groaning! LOL) …and I only had 3 pints of Heineken …honest!!!!

325. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

So you are real!

8=)

Hi Alex Thepnr.

When I was outside the Counting House last night for one of my rare ‘real’ fags, TJenny arrived. I threw down the gauntlet.

Edinburgh was offered its chance for a get-together after the 22nd November get-together in Glasgow, and dropped the baton. Since then, we’ve had Invergowrie 2 in February and Glasgow on Friday evening.

I told her that if Edinburgh doesn’t get its act together, there will be Invergowrie 3 in early July. It’s up to Tam and TJenny to sort out Edinburgh.

Now, the reasons I cite Invergowrie are,
    1. The staff are ‘YES friendly’ (remember the number of Wee Blue Books that were asked for / accepted on 13th September) and
    2. We can have music videos and Cactus and his guitar, if we want and
    3. The CH in the Ferry won’t allow ‘live music’, or videos, and
    4. If Thistle wants to Livestream from Invergowrie, there won’t be a problem.

A couple of peeps last night said that Invergowrie was ‘out in the sticks’, mentioning the train times back to wherever.
    Invergowrie is nearer to Dundee’s city centre than the Ferry!

If we give Edinburgh until the end of May to organise something, and they don’t, we could have Invergowrie 3 in the first half of July, which gives travellers plenty time to organise their overnight stay in Dundee, to allow leisurely travelling home on the Sunday.

If WE can arrange travel to Glasgow from Dundee and Brechin, surely Glasgow and the west coast can arrange a minibus from their locale for a grand night out?

326. Thepnr

Tough shit JLT as they say in Dundee.

Also I’m having none of the “only had 3 pints of Heineken” you’ve been found out as a secret admirer of our Paula.

No point denying it now ๐Ÿ™‚

327. Brian Doonthetoon

Aye, Shona the lurker got a special handwritten badge/souvenir of the night.

I told her that she’d better get her @ยฎ$e inti gear and post in ‘off-topic’ as an easy option for dippin’ ‘er toe in the wahttir’ that is Wings Over Scotland…

Whaur ir yi?

328. Brian Doonthetoon

I had 4 bottles of Tsing Tao and Pete was able to get me home to Dunkeld ok…

329. Brian Doonthetoon

Sorry, not Dunkeld, I live in Dundee.

It was the ospreys that done it.

330. Brian Doonthetoon

Sorry to hog the page but…

There’s a march and rally in Dundee next Saturday from noon. A march round the city centre, followed by a rally in City Square (until 5pm) with live bands, including the Graham Brown Band, Sheena Wellington, speakers, etc. Rumour is that Dundee’s newly elected SNP MP’s will be there also.

There will be a Wings stand at this event, under the supervision of Ronnie Anderson. So, if any Wingers are coming to Dundee on the 9th, for the “Dundee Sunshine City Fest”, look out for the Wings banner in the Square.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebNAj5q4fxo

331. Betty Boop

@JLT, 11:00pm

…I cant remember…

You see, that’s the thing about a Wings do, so much happens that it is like being in a parallel universe – total recall is not possible ๐Ÿ™‚

332. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, this is a wee bit show-offy, but, god almighty, it’s impressive –

John Martyn, ‘Seven Black Roses’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c80pa9lCFjQ

333. Paula Rose

Making do with Natasha’s budgie feathers was maybe a mistake – sorry.

334. Thepnr

Well Ian Brotherhood, that was FUCKIN brilliant.

You sly old fox, you. SSP full of numpties LOL.

335. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I missed your performance, so I’m not too sure what went awry, but please be assured – you’ll always have a big fan right here.

I just hope your table-top mishap didn’t damage either of your lovely Chaz Jankels.

336. Thepnr

So good I had to watch it twice. Just don’t get it do you Mr McTernan LOL.

337. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

What’s the betting there’s some simple psychological reason behind McTernan’s behaviour?

Could it be that, once upon a time, someone called him a crater-faced fud?

Just a guess, but these wee things are important when assessing why apparently sociopathic individuals assume the right to tinker with the ‘democratic process’.

If you happen to read this, McT, please do yourself a favour – find another nation to ‘advise’. Wasting your time here – we are not worthy of your exalted, sophisticated input.

338. Brian Doonthetoon

It’s official! It’s been announced!

Our Queen, Queen Elizabeth of Scots (Not the 2nd of Englandshire) has announced the name of the new royal baby.

She, with appropriate recognition of the the role of Scotland in the building of the empire, will be named ‘Princess Senga’.

So there…

339. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hey no-one around?
    So, my first wings social was something else! You guys all surpassed my expectations, and I now feel slightly corrupted (but in a good way) ๐Ÿ˜‰

340. Michael McCabe

@ Gillian Ruglonian Welcome to off/topic. Glad you had a great night on Friday. You will probably be hooked now and already looking forward to the next Social Gathering. Anyway here is a wee song which I think is appropriate right now. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=qy1hXDOenOY

341. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi Michael, yeah I had a ball at my first ‘do’ and can’t wait for the next one!
    Your song is appropriate at any time ๐Ÿ™‚

342. Michael McCabe

That is the Boxing about to start. So I will leave you with a nice mellow track. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=kbialNJT69k

343. JLT

ThePNR

LOL …I’m not saying another word!

Right …I did absolutely hee-haw studying yesterday. I need to get stuck into it today. Catch you all later!

344. Wee Jonny

For the next night oot or the ane eftir that or the ane eftir that, there’s a band called A Right Couple O Charlie’s that would be perfecto for the night.

They do a great Bonnie Dundee, Flower Of Scotland and even do some of their own stuff.

My wife’s auntie had a wee get together in The Neptune Bar in Montrose for her 70th and the Charlie’s were just setting up as we arrived.

Now I’m not a fan of bands (techno for me) but as soon as I saw the Yes stickers on their guitars and their Yes t.shirts I knew we were in for a belter o an afternoon. They were great and a very nice couple o boys too.

So either we could go to them or we could ask if they could come to us?

They’re on Facebook – A Right Couple O Charlie’s.

345. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    “…and I now feel slightly corrupted (but in a good way)”

Yeeeeessssss. Give in to the corruption and come over to the Dark Side… We have cookies! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Glad you enjoyed the night.
    Was nice meeting you at last ๐Ÿ™‚

Wishing I could have stuck around for this intriguing Paula Rose fan dance everyone is talking about! ๐Ÿ˜€

Also hope our new lurker speaks up at some point (assuming we didn’t scare her off!)

346. Albamac

@ Michael McCabe

Great song, Michael, and it sparks some memories for me.

I left home when I was 15 and traveled down through the borders into Northumberland, then across the north of England and into Wales, working for my keep as I went. I don’t know how I’d have fared without the kindness, hospitality and generosity of the people that I met on the way. I joined the Army at seventeen and the next chapter began in Catterick.

Sorry I couldn’t make it to the CH. The spirit was willing but the flesh was weak. Watched the video and it was great to see everyone having such a good time. Sorry I missed it.

347. Kelpie

Guys,

you haven’t scared me off.

Thanks all for making me feel so welcome on Friday night, I can recommend abduction by nasty cybernats to anyone as they are lovely folks indeed. Next time I’m nearby I’ll be much less shy about coming over to say hello.

Bdtt,

thanks for the badge, it has pride of place next to my Yes badge.

348. CameronB Brodie

A wee twist on the surf theme. Awesome video.

Red Hot Chilli Peppers – Torture Me (steady Paula)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XD7Slq32a4s

349. Quentin Quale

@Ian Brotherhood Sorry I didn’t manage to have a chat on Friday. Loved the John Martyn link. Here’s a brilliant guitarist using different tunings (Slack Key). Sort of goes with a day of rain!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loDjRxRpJuQ

350. Paula Rose

Kelpie honey – welcome to cybernat central xx

351. Macart

Just got back a few hours ago folks and have to say thoroughly enjoyed Friday night at the CH. Met so many great people and put faces to names.

Privilege to meet you one and all.

As for the fan dance (blush)…

… Mrs Macart is super jealous of Paula Rose. ๐Ÿ™‚

352. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Kelpie (Shona?)

Always good to meet an incomer to the cause! Get posting on the main pages now, yi hear?

HandandShrimp could have had a badge as well. All you had to do was make your name known and you could have had a handwritten one! Like I typed on the 29th,

“Weโ€™ll have some blanks with us on Friday for peeps who havenโ€™t asked and turn up on the night.”

Shona fitted that profile perfectly!

As I typed above,

“When I was outside the Counting House last night for one of my rare โ€˜realโ€™ fags, TJenny arrived. I threw down the gauntlet.”

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-23/#comment-2008217

Is Edinburgh gonna get their act inti gear?

I like Wee Jonny’s mention of “A Right Couple O Charlieโ€™s”,

“Now Iโ€™m not a fan of bands (techno for me) but as soon as I saw the Yes stickers on their guitars and their Yes t.shirts I knew we were in for a belter o an afternoon. They were great and a very nice couple o boys too.”

Maybe we could crowdfund having them at the next Invergowrie get-together (Jolly’s wouldn’t allow music).

Lastly, I’ll repeat the info re next Saturday in Dundee…

Thereโ€™s a march and rally in Dundee next Saturday from noon. A march round the city centre, followed by a rally in City Square (until 5pm) with live bands, including the Graham Brown Band, Sheena Wellington, speakers, etc. Rumour is that Dundeeโ€™s newly elected SNP MPโ€™s will be there also.

There will be a Wings stand at this event, under the supervision of Ronnie Anderson. So, if any Wingers are coming to Dundee on the 9th, for the โ€œDundee Sunshine City Festโ€, look out for the Wings banner in the Square.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebNAj5q4fxo

353. chipmonkey

Had a great night out on Friday! Thanks all you scary people.
    Very glad QQ and I came after all.

@Paula Rose Thanks for giving us a big push in the right direction. Good job we are ‘besties’ – others might have been concerned to have their husband turn up quite late for tea with the famous Paula Rose in the back of his car and then mumble all night about the fan dance!

@Oneironaut – @Cactus photobombed our selfie – it’s not a good photo from my phone but I might post it later.

@Briandoonthetoon – I really suit your hat -again I might eventually post proof. @Cactus also thought it was tasty.

@Kelpie – nice to see you online, glad Brian came up with the badge ๐Ÿ™‚

@Everybody else – nice to meet you all, again for for the first time.

354. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the graphic for next Saturday’s shindig in Dundee.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/SunCity-9thMay.jpg

Aye, Chipmonkey, you do suit my hat…

Yir no’ gittin’ it…

Jiss a shottie, noo an’ then.

355. chipmonkey

A May Morning – good one. Pete Wishart posted it – enjoyed and indeed seems right for now so sharing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?t=14&v=Yrc6X38Pnp4

356. Thepnr

I want you to hear a song first linked to on here by IB almost a year ago.

True, it’s a wee bit sentimental and won’t be to everyones taste. It is though still relevant now, just put you feet up, close your eyes and enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjEq-r2agqc

357. Thepnr

By way of contrast here is the first link to a music video ever played in Off Topic.

Well done Jon D ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUaib5ksqWM

358. Paula Rose

We certainly have not given up and onward we march and …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oKPYe53h78

359. Betty Boop

@ Kelpie

Welcome to Off Topic and Wings in general. Pleased to meet you on Friday.

We only kidnap nice folks and always send in big Ronnie. He’s our best diplomat, like an ambassador; granted, a unique type of ambassador ๐Ÿ™‚

Notice you’ve ditched the lurker moniker. Kelpie is good; is it a clue?

Cheers

360. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose
    Notice you pouring oil on troubled waters over on the main thread today. Honestly, sometimes a soothing stroke is all that is required ๐Ÿ™‚

@ Chipmonkey, Apologies, didn’t get much of a chat on Friday although QQ and I chewed the fat for a wee while.

@ Thepnr, 11:21pm
    That video is properly weird and just a wee bit creepy. I didn’t dare go to the website to find out some weird facts about Michael Rodd!!! Probably the stuff of nightmares O-(

361. Paula Rose

Every time I go to a wings thingie I get this tinglie thingie…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6x3mRb

362. Paula Rose

@ Betty Boop

I wish I could be everywhere stroking everyone.

363. Paula Rose

Fun dilly mun dilly…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZftlRs-pfv4

364. CameronB Brodie

Fundilymundily, rejection has always been a weak position to sell from. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Monotones – What would I do?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JsGGu2LEhRU

365. CameronB Brodie

Second go. ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6QZukp1Eco

366. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    Was that a hint Michael? ๐Ÿ™‚

367. X_Sticks

Just remembered that (I think it was) Hoss that proposed that Robert Peffers should get any honorary gold Wings badge.

I’d support that, but I also think that Nana Smith, Call me Dave and Lollysmum should also get them for their wonderful contributions to Wings.

Would Stu be up for 4 honourary badges?

368. Kelpie

Betty Boop

I like swimming.

I think some of the local pensioners might also complain that I threaten to drag innocents to their death in my haste to get a few lengths in before heading off to work!

369. Oneironaut

@Kelpie
    Yay! Welcome to the infamous Cybernat Central! ๐Ÿ˜€

The bar is on your left, the Cybernat Mind Control Lab is on your right, and refreshments are just over there.

Don’t go through the big doors marked “Cybernat High Command”. The Rev gets a bit cranky when someone disturbs him while he’s plotting (also the white cat keeps escaping!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Love your avatar by the way ๐Ÿ™‚

370. CameronB Brodie

Now these are kittens. ๐Ÿ™‚

F1 vs F5 (Savannah cats play fighting)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEJ6MWf0sCk

Savannah cats are a cross between a domestic cat and the Serval, which I understand have been, or are being banned by various nations, due to the threat a feral population of these would pose to indigenous ecosystems. The F1 is the first generation from wild and grow to about the size of small Collies. ๐Ÿ™‚

This is perhaps tangential evidence that Laissez-faire socioeconomic practice is not compatible with the holistic balance of all things. Man. Or woman Reg. ๐Ÿ˜‰

371. Brian Doonthetoon

And now it’s time for a game of “Spot The Bob Sinclair”!

https://mobile.twitter.com/alextomo/status/595169549072388097/video/1

(Video of Murphillydillydally arriving for ‘fundemallyrally’ this morning.)

372. Quinie frae Angus

Glad you all had a good night on Friday. Sorry I couldn’t make it this time.

373. Oneironaut

Inspiring picture over on the “Waiting for Nicola” article there.

The music player was running this in the background too. Quite a nice effect… ๐Ÿ™‚
    Making it my music link for the day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VPRjCeoBqrI

374. X_Sticks

@Quinie

Ye were well missed Quinie ๐Ÿ˜‰

375. Ian Brotherhood

Come on a’body, cheer up. Just a few more days, and we’re looking at a near-enough clean slate.

(If this disny make ye smile, get sumdy tae call the co-op, cause ye’re deid.)

Seasick Steve, ‘Down On The Farm’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPzlYsaJyKI

376. ronnie anderson

@ Shona see we telt ye its no say hard to find your voice on WOS,whit we never telt you is Its addictive.

A Big Wingers Welcome SHONA.

377. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Yes, I also spotted Oor Boab on a different video. Well done Bob my friend. One of the Wings heroes.

This is for you buddy ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfmrHTdXgK4

378. X-Sticks

See that Ronnie Anderson wi’ the ladies!

A big Wingers welcome to the murky world of O/T from me too though to Shona and Kelpie ๐Ÿ˜€

379. Brian Doonthetoon

I feel really privileged.

I checked out my emails when I got home from work tonight. And, guess what?
    I have received an email from Jimmilly Fundimurphilly.

And it contained GOOD NEWS!
    It would appear that the Labour Party has caved in and now is promising home rule if we vote Labour!
    The graphic below (from the email) lays out Labour’s promises and, right at the top left, is HOME RULE!
    Ya beauty! “We’re on the way…”

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/Hardiescreenshot-Resized.jpg

380. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie Anderson –

In your avatar I’m sure there’s a set of toes at the end of the shed, peeking out. You sure Paula Rose isn’t still in there? Best knock first, mind…

381. X_Sticks

@Ian

I’ve heard from various sources that Paula is often peeking out ๐Ÿ˜‰

382. Thepnr

I’m going to come across as a raving loony here but so be it.

NOW IS THE TIME.

The best and only opportunity you have had in my lifetime to really make a difference. If you don’t knock into your your Labour voters heads friend why they should vote SNP this time. Than you are doing not just yourself a disservice but your community and your country.

I truly can’t be arsed with the sectarian shite either, just another divisive to be used against us. I can’t be arsed with any Nationalist shite either, just another way to divide us.

The politics I envisage for Scotland is better than that. A politics of the people. I will not put a name to that, the Scottish people will.

The establishment is screwed now here in Scotland, you know why? In my view we only want the best for all our people. Westminster in the disguise of Tory or Labour will continue to screw our people.

Fuck them, two days to the election. Tell everyone you know. Fuck them that have screwed us for years.

383. Macart

@Thepnr

Nope, you come across just fine Alex. If you’re anything like me, you’re just tired of the politics of self. Sick to death of the adversarial nature of our politics which generates the party before people culture of our parliaments. Weary of a caste and patronage system which sees no problem with corporate and media compromise.

What has it given the electorate? What has it done for the electorate in the past fifty years especially? Corruption, wars, financial crashes, scandals, mis managed deindustrialisation and a system which uses the power we grant it to line the pockets of the few at a terrible cost to the many. Its given successive governments the green light to direct and manipulate the perceptions of their electorate for plain, old fashioned greed, their own agendas.

The arrival on the scene of the SNP, SSP and Greens during the referendum has given people a chance and it gave them a voice with which to speak. During that two year period the voice spoke to the establishment quietly, with this general election we can raise that voice to a shout.

With the right result this week, I think they’ll hear us loud and clear. ๐Ÿ™‚

384. Jim Thomson

Bloody ear-worms. I have to share to get rid of them …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wt9vIWQ2Akg&list=RDWt9vIWQ2Akg

The late and great Mr Cocker.

385. Quentin Quale

Right, that’s it, I’m voting for Dave. The things he has to put up with. Now the Herald is reporting that a man with a Scottish accent heckled Cameron when he was addressing supporters ‘at a garden centre in Twickenham’. The chap had the temerity to shout ‘Come on the SNP’. Disgraceful. Nicola must condemn this behaviour immediately.

386. chipmonkey

Shouting promises in England, I’ll give you shouty promises.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3QuRWyys2q4

๐Ÿ™‚

387. Taranaich

Two more sleeps, and I think I narrowed down just why I find the stramash about the “chaos” in Glasgow so repulsive:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/engagement/

Jim Murphy and Eddie Izzard were “threatened” by four choobs with a megaphone. We had an actual Combat 18 thug protesting, and a wee girl with a saltire wasn’t afraid of him.

It’s the height of insulting for Murphy to dare call what happened yesterday “the ugly face of nationalism” when you had people who represented a group which is considered by many to be an actual terrorist organisation in Greenock.

388. Paula Rose

Taranaich honey – another gem xx

389. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hello Taranaich, another solid article, well done! As I’ve said before, your style is great – very precise and accessible.

Best of luck for the final stretch ๐Ÿ™‚

390. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

๐Ÿ˜‰

Soo-perb stuff.

Hope you can remember to take a selfie ASAP after your man Ronnie wins – loads of us will be watching carefully, but not much chance we’ll get to pinpoint you – would be priceless to see your expression after all the work you’ve done.

More power to ye mister! You deserve to win, and I’ve no doubt you will.

Hoots!

391. Chic McGregor

Sent the following to the rev a wee while ago.

Oil price is recovering, nudging towards $70, but is still at a low level for recent years. So some folk may well be wondering why the British establishment still seem so desperate to hang on to a Scotland in possession of only one oily banana.

In the past I have tried to point out that the UK has many more reasons than oil for holding on to Scotland. I have, for instance, attempted to show the importance of the Food and Drink sector in the equation.

However trying to do so using nominal monetary value which is confused by a plethora of โ€˜adjustmentsโ€™ – tax breaks, subsidy levels, tariffs, voucher systems, GVA calculations with confusing, inconsistent and somewhat arbitrary assumptions of when a subsidy is a subsidy or not? has made for a less than satisfactory result.

Whether deliberate or coincidental, the result of all that mind-boggling confusion, obscures the underlying message.

Also, when numbers go above about a billion, folkโ€™s minds, including mine, tend to start wondering where a squirrel is when you need one.

But a few days ago, I hit on the idea of concentrating on raw produce levels instead of nominal monetary value and also, and I think crucially, drastically reducing the number sizes by calculating the amount produced for each and every man woman and child in Scotland per day.

And to do so in terms of measurements which are readily understood in the everyday real world.

In that way, potentially distorting accountancy measures are avoided, and daily volumes are more readily recognisable and familiar.

So in the following you will often see an abbreviation I have coined โ€˜p4dโ€™ which is shorthand for Production Per Person Per Day.

I have also calculated comparative figures for England or rUK.

I have been data crunching this for about three days and have only got through three sectors, albeit main ones.

It would be better with piccies, a photo of two plates say with the food amounts shown for Scotland and England, rather than verbal examples, but no time for that just now.

Anyway, have a swatch if you can spare the time.

FOOD and DRINK SECTOR

Not exhaustive, just the key staples.

Fish Production

Conventional fishing

Landed at Scottish ports i.e. less than the total actually caught in Scottish waters. Scotland lands about 2/3 of the UKโ€™s fisheries production.

About 190 g production per person per day (p4d). Taking haddock as an illustrative example that would be about two and half of Tescoโ€™s Prime Haddock Fillets (86% fish) p4d in Scotland (of course, in reality, it is a much more diverse catch than just haddock)
    England landed fish figure equates to only about 6 or 7 g p4d or less than a quarter of an ounce, not even a proper mouthful .

Salmon

The main product of Scotlandโ€™s rapidly expanding aquaculture industry.
    Scotland 85 g p4d. According to M&S that is just about two servings of their smoked Lochmuir salmon side.
    England, of course, virtually nothing.

It is worth a mention, that although smaller in weight volume, salmon is now worth more in monetary terms than the conventional fisheries catch.

Meat Production

Beef (nearly 30% of UK herd)

Scotland 93 g p4d Enough for a Birdseye original 1/4 pounder burger (77% beef) for every man, woman, child in Scotland every day
    England p4d only a quarter of said burger.

Lamb (nearly a quarter of UK herd)

Scotland 28.5 g p4d Just over an ounce. Might not seem a lot but that is several times more than Scots actually consume, we are not big lamb eaters.
    England only around 7g p4d Also, the English eat three times more lamb per head than Scots

Pig meat (10% of UK herd)*

Scotland 30 g of pig meat p4d Equivalent to two Tesco streaky bacon rashers.
    England a little less. However the UK, including Scotland, remains a big net pig meat importer.

Poultry(just under 8% of UK stock)*

Scotland chicken 61 g p4d About two and a quarter ounces or around 3 Tesco roast chicken slices.
    Scotland Eggs, just under half an egg p4d
    England a little more

*Pigs and poultry
    Pigs and poultry are in a slightly different category from sheep and cattle because the distribution of nominal production is not tied to land use per se, unlike for grazing animals.

Cereals Production
    Scottish cereal production is, overall, about 12% of the UK total, therefore, per head, nearly one and a half times the UK average. However, cereal does not generally find its way to the table directly. Therefore we must be careful not to be guilty of double accounting.

Barley

Scotland just over 1Kg p4d. The equivalent of 4 X 250 gm (9 oz.) bags of barley from Tesco.
    England 0.2 Kg p4d. A fifth of Scottish p4d levels.

However, 34% of Scottish barley goes to maltings (whisky) and 54% to animal feed. Still, the remaining 12% could form the basis of a pretty big pot of soup.

Wheat

Scotland just over half a Kg p4d
    Only around 2/3 of rUK p4d but well more than offset by the barley production.

Oats

Scotland About 80 g p4d Over one and a half servings if all were used for porridge but some, again, is used for animal feed.
    RUK around 25 g p4d. About half a porridge serving equivalent.

Oilseed Rape

Not strictly a cereal. It is used increasingly as a vegetable oil, animal feed and biofuel
    This crop also increases other grain yields through rotation with them.

Scotland 76.5 g p4d
    rUK 85 g p4d. Slightly more.

Potato Production

Potatoes
    Scotland 590 g (1.3 pounds) p4d Equivalent of two reasonably large portions of chips.
    rUK 240 g, (about 8oz) p4d

Note Scotland produces most of the UK’s seed potatoes.

Milk Production

Scotland 1.214 pints of milk p4d
    England 0.79 of a pint p4d.

Milk is obviously used to also produce butter and cheese and other table bound items as well.

Whisky Production

Scotland about 70% of a bottle p4d.
    rUK, not a lot.

Because this uses 34% of Scotlandโ€™s barley crop and the land used to grow it (around 100,000 hectares) it is effectively, despite its nutritional dubiety, an agricultural product. But, it would be beyond silly not to point out there is a unique value added for this product that sets it apart from other agri-products.
    Scotland’s distilling industry also makes significant and increasing volumes of other spirits. I believe even the majority of that quintessentially English product, gin, is now made in Scotland, though I have not seen the detailed figures.

What does the Food and Drink Sector mean in money terms and for independence?

The UK annual food and drink consumption in money terms, the annual grocery bill if you like, comes to a little over 50 billion pounds.

Currently the UK exports about 19 billion pounds worth but imports about 40 billion pounds worth.

A current trade deficit on food and drink of 21 billion pounds.

What does that amount mean (apart from the UK needing to import about 40% of its food and drink)?

Well, to put it in context, it dwarfs oil revenue, even in good oil price years. It is a huge amount.

Looking at it again on a per person basis might be more meaningful. It amounts to nearly 400 quid a year for every person in the UK, or about 1500 pounds per family per year.
    It represents an in built deficit which has to be paid before anything else can be paid for.

And of course with ‘pooling and sharing’ Scots also have to share that bill in whatever ways it manifests itself.

But what if Scotland were on its own?

Scotland has a food and drink annual turnover of around 13 billion pounds.

Scotland exports about 5.4 billion pounds of food and drink overseas, almost a third of UK food and drink exports, plus about another 2 billion to the rUK.

Scotland’s consumption of food and drink is something south of 5 billion.

The massive UK food and drink deficit is not of Scotland’s making.

What would independence mean re food and drink for the rUK?

5.4 billion would disappear from the positive side of the UK balance sheet and the 2 billion Scottish exports to rUK would appear on its negative side, Scotland then being outside the UK.

Plus there would be 8.3% less people to share that bigger bill.

A big reason to hang on to Scotland.

ELECTRICITY PRODUCTION SECTOR

You could easily be forgiven, if you only listened to the MSM, that Scotland was in danger of running out of electricity and will be needing to rely on the rUK some time soon.

What is the reality?

In 2013, latest complete DUKEs analysis, Scotland produced 53 TWh (net 49.6 )

A terrawatt hour is the amount of energy you would use if you ran 1000000000000 amps through a 1 ohm resistor for an hour.

Err right.

But fear not, like for food production, I am converting this into a smaller and hopefully, more understandable figure in terms of p4d and expressing it in kWh (the familiar ‘unit’ on your leccy bill).

Scotland 26 kWh (‘units’) p4d
    England 13.4 kWh (‘units’) p4d

Scotland consumed 32 TWh which gave it a production/consumption ratio of 1.55
    England generated 259 TWh but consumed 295 TWh, production/consumption ratio is 0.88

Unfortunately, because of England’s much larger population, this means that once again the UK as a whole is running with another deficit. Around 15TWh imported from Europe. Assuming 10 p per unit, that amounts to about 1.5 billion pounds per year.

Scotland on the other hand ‘exports’ about 15 TWh to the rUK, nominally 1.5 billion pounds worth per year if 10p per unit is taken. Again, on an annual basis this should represent a gain for the Scottish economy of around 300 pounds per person per year, 1200 pound per family.

Of course, in the event that Scotland became independent this would also nominally double the rUK deficit from 1.5 billion to 3 billion.

Another reason for hanging on to Scotland.

WOOD PRODUCTION SECTOR

In terms of production to consumption ratio, the UK, overall, is in an even bigger trade deficit situation than for food and drink. The UK uses nearly 5 times the wood it produces.

This amounts to a wood trade deficit of over ยฃ5 billion annually.

How does that break down when comparing production levels between Scotland and England?

There is a bewildering array of metrics used in the timber production industry.
    Greene tonnes, sawn tonnes, overbark cubic metres/tonnes, under bark, cubic metres/tonnes, recovered tonnes/cubic metres.
    Unlike other land use crops, it is not a case of an annual harvest where the harvest yield = the annual production.
    Trees actually recovered can and do vary as matter of planning considerations.

I therefore took the view that the best guide to true production levels was the estimated standing annual growth figure i.e. irrespective of whether it was actually harvested that year, and that people would be slightly more sure of what a volume meant rather than a weight.

In volumetric terms – millions of cubic metres (overbark, standing)
    Annual timber production in Scotland is about 10 million cubic metres per year.
    For England, it is about 5 million cubic metres per year.

Since people, I think, would be less familiar with what a fraction of a cubic metre meant.

So to make everyday sense of these figures, I converted into litres of wood production per person per day. Unconventional, I know, but a litre is a volume most folk are pretty familiar with. (and yes it is a fraction of a cubic metre, I know)

For Scotland, that works out at 5.2 litres of wood p4d.
    For England it works out to 0.26 litres of wood p4d

A plank v a ruler in pictorial terms.

Consumption of wood in the UK is around 3 litres of wood per person per day perhaps a little more.

The deficit is again entirely down to England, indeed Scotland has a trade surplus on wood.

‘Export’ to rUK from Scotland is reckoned to be nearly 2 billion pounds a year.

Another potential trade deficit increase for the rUK if Scotland became independent.

Another reason to hang on to Scotland.

And we still haven’t got to oil or engineering, electronics, software, quarrying, life sciences, financial services, tourism, woolens and textiles, university technology spin out partnerships, publishing or design.

392. Paula Rose

I want a “selfie” with Taranaich’s mum – that Nicola is hogging the limelight.

393. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Auld Preacher Broon, before he bows-out once and for good –

Bob Dylan, ‘Gotta Serve Somebody’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C8sI5WekW78&list=PLknidvzcLCRFU2E_2wLM6PK9VWfCsHDVi

394. Natasha

@Taranaich
    Lovely article; great pictures too! I’ll be thinking of you on Thursday.
    xxx

395. Paula Rose

Just back from Bath – any chance anyone knows what happened to one of the eggs I was using for the Rev’s omelette? Got a bit distracted by one of the rats.

396. Gillian_Ruglonian

Paula, naughty girl!
    Are you insinuating, or denying involvement? ๐Ÿ˜‰

397. Paula Rose

Much as I love little furry things – it was a bit unexpected.

398. Gillian_Ruglonian

Paula – Ah little furry things! I was expecting to see you on Friday, surrounded by them! Sorry I missed you, but it’s a date for the next meet x

399. Paula Rose

Sorry I missed you, caught the last ten minutes xxx

400. Gillian_Ruglonian

I went to the CH from work, but next time I’ll glam up and we can paint the town red together!

401. AuldA

So, itโ€™s about time to hone your spears, isnโ€™t it?
    We are all supporting you!

The English call Nicola a battle-axe? Wellโ€ฆ she might use it pretty soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

402. X_Sticks

@Gillian

NO! No! Not red dear, yellow and black please.

Red is so last century now ๐Ÿ˜€

403. Oneironaut

@Taranaich
    Good article there ๐Ÿ™‚

If we ever get around to getting rid of the biased has-been mainstream media in this country, then I hope it’s people like you who’ll replace them. You got a talent there! ๐Ÿ˜€

That picture of the two C18 thugs getting shown up by a little girl with a flag is definitely my favourite picture from the whole campaign now, hehe.

If someone in the distant future ever asks what this whole thing was about, I’m gonna show them that picture. Says it all for me.

404. Chic McGregor

Everyday, in every way….

https://www.dropbox.com/s/66kn2273k8lwips/COB.JPG?dl=0

405. Chic McGregor

Found a great lake in NZ last month. Its only a wee one but its perfectly formed.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9deeifymm6bbcpx/DSCF2464.JPG?dl=0

406. Oneironaut

@AuldA
    “So, itโ€™s about time to hone your spears, isnโ€™t it?
    We are all supporting you!”

Funny, I found this earlier. Thought it seemed oddly appropriate ๐Ÿ™‚

http://imgs.xkcd.com/comics/sword_in_the_stone.png

407. Gillian_Ruglonian

@Oneironaut
    Totally agree with you about the flags photo. Have you seen the photoshopped version that looks like a banksy? It’s incredible (sorry I don’t have a link).

I love the comic strip!
    Disney’s sword in the stone film was one of my favourites when I was wee, I still like the song about karma that Merlin sings, it’s always appropriate ๐Ÿ˜‰

@X_Sticks
    someone needs to wrestle the colour red (& anything else left of value) from the labour party’s cold dead hands, I’m up for the job, fancy joining me!!

408. Alex Waugh

Sent to me on Facebook.
    Anagrams of ‘Conservative manifesto’..

More of Satan’s invective
    I often scam naรฏve voters
    No facts, no merit, evasive
    Some overactive infants

Plenty more, but you get the point.

You’ve gotta laugh, haven’t you ๐Ÿ™‚

409. Alex Waugh

Jeez Chic, your head must be birlin’ Thanks for all the hard work. If I may I’ll quote it next time some idiot tells me that Scotland can’t go it alone.

410. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chic McGregor.

Your data crunching is a grand piece of work!

Gillian_Ruglonian – re ‘flags photo’ and Banksy.

See here :-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wee-Lass-Stand-Fast-original-art-work-UK-Political-/400914220418

411. Chic McGregor

@Alex

Five mates conversation?

412. Chic McGregor

Thanks guys, believe it or not, that is a synopsis of the data and calculations or it would have been about 3 times longer.

I’ll post the main links used later but have the last of the election letters to go out just now.

413. Gillian_Ruglonian

@Brian
    Aye, that’s the one!

Over on the ‘proper pages’ I read this comment:

โ€œgalamcennalath says:
    6 May, 2015 at 11:07 am
    Remember the infamous Feeble Fifty of the 80s? Labourโ€™s chocolate fire guard in Scotland against Thatcher?

While not wishing to pre-count chickens etc etc โ€ฆ. Iโ€™m wondering what a good nickname for the Fifty (we hope) who will be Scotlandโ€™s representatives this time?”

Now there are two aspects to this, our name for the group and the name they’re given (probably by the likes of Boris),
    I like “the fierce thirty!” (I’ll happily take a majority number of seats, but the name will work for forty or fifty too).

So folks, any suggestions?

414. Michael McCabe

The Fighting Fifty.

415. X_Sticks

Ok Gillian, red it is.

Where do we start?

๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ™‚

416. Gillian_Ruglonian

@X_Sticks
    Let’s see what tomorrow brings, and we can formulate a plan from there – nod nod, wink wink, say no more!

Incidentally, what’s everyone’s plans for after the polling stations close? Any parties?

417. Paula Rose

We will include every colour! Now – where’s the parties?

418. Ian Brotherhood

So long cool dude…

Hot Chocolate, ‘Every 1’s A Winner’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J-GkwIRbLw8

419. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    Hmm, what song was that? Haven’t seen that one in years ๐Ÿ™‚

Last I heard of Disney, they’d acquired the Star Wars name. Waiting for animated adventures involving characters singing musical numbers during lightsabre duels, and Jedi with amusing animal sidekicks, hehe.

Thinking of printing off that photograph and hanging it on the wall here. If I ever meet that girl, maybe I’ll get her to autograph it for me ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve got ambitions… Sorry, more like “delusions”, of being a photographer myself, but I’ve never gotten anything as good as that. Most of photography is being lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time and being able to realise when you’re in that right place at the right time.
    Dunno if I can pull that off, since I’ve always been a bit slow. But hopefully…

I think the SSP are already reclaiming red from Labour.
    Yellow and black is nice too, though it makes me think of bees. Probably makes Labour think of bees too, considering how badly they’re getting stung every time they stick their heads out of hiding these days! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Not sure what plans I’ll have after the polling stations close. They will probably involve lots of sleeping! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyways, for now I’m off to try and hack the MurphyBot 900 and reprogram it to make it sing “I Know A Song That’ll Get On Your Nerves” over and over again! ๐Ÿ˜€

420. X_Sticks

@ Paula

“Now โ€“ whereโ€™s the parties?”

Think I’ll try and get to this for a starter:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-23/#comment-2008851

Any other takers?

421. Ian Brotherhood

Hot Chocolate, ‘It Started With A Kiss’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L3pf7o-9OOk

422. Jock Scot

@everyone
    Just been doing some catch up reading and the smile on my face is something to thank everyone for. From Thepnr’s statement of fact..I’m ready for a better future and re sectarianism..I moved 40 miles to get away from it(became a Partick Thistle fan at about 9 yrs old to make life easier). Paula you are a tease and Gillian, pls do let her lead you astray, just mind and take some photos( maybe a job for you x-sticks)..Paula Rose’s elusiveness is denying the country the ability to eradicate the bitter photo memories of Fran and Anna. Taranaich and Chic..your contributions are wonderful as always and Quinie..see you at future events. One sleep until something wonderful starts to happen, may be tough at first but the rewards for future generations could be awesome. Proud to be a Winger. x. Vote SNP

423. Thepnr

@Jock Scot

This one for all Wingers, will be played relentlessly from now until Friday 05:00 hrs!

This recipe written especially for Wingers is just the ticket for gathering around the telly tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7UmUX68KtE

424. Ian Brotherhood

Dusty Springfield, in shiny high-heeled boots, walking all over a butcher’s apron?

I think I might know someone who’ll quite like this.

Pet Shop Boys & Dusty Springfield, ‘What Have I Done To Deserve This?’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=js6WVxHTtAM

425. Cactus

@Gillian ~

Howdy yeah, I’m planning on heading into the city tomorrow evening.. gonna head down to Freedom Square and see who else is there for the festivities..

May even go for an impromptu drink at the Counting House.

p.s. Have any of you fellow Glaswegians seen the person camped out in a tent, on the south side of Freedom Square for the past couple of weeks?

Think I’ll bring a radio with me..
    Any good radio stations for through-the-night coverage?

426. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    I love that! Nice one! ๐Ÿ˜€

*settles down with some popcorn to enjoy the show…*

427. Ian Brotherhood

‘I’ve been searching for something taken out of my soul. It’s something I’d never lose – something somebody stole.’

Billy Joel, ‘River Of Dreams’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSq4B_zHqPM

428. Thepnr

Right, I’m on a roll. Here’s what Nicola the SNP AND we the Scottish voter have in store for the arsehole establishment after the votes are cast. No wonder they are shitting themselves.

Spitting Image.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oFrvr7EB66g

429. Chic McGregor

As promised earlier, the main links I used to compile the above analysis. Also visited Tesco, Sainsbury and M&S sites for product example amounts.

URls
    http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2013/01/4828/3
    http://www.fbspartnership.co.uk/documents/2010_11/Poultry_Production_2010-11.pdf
    http://reidfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/Whisky-and-the-Scottish-Economy-BiGGAR-Economics-Nov12.pdf
    http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2014/09/7931
    http://www.whatsonyourplate.co.uk/scottish_farming.html
    http://www.nfus.org.uk/farming-facts/what-we-produce
    http://www.fbspartnership.co.uk/documents/2010_11/Crop_Production_2010-11.pdf
    http://www.ukagriculture.com/production_cycles/potatoe_production_cycle.cfm
    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/423616/foodpocketbook-2014report-23apr15.pdf

http://www.ukpower.co.uk/home_energy/tariffs-per-unit-kwh
    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/386846/Electricity_generation_and_supply.pdf
    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/266471/electricity_generation_and_supply.pdf
    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/65841/7345-elec-gen-2008-2011-et-article.pdf
    http://gov.wales/docs/statistics/2015/150225-energy-generation-consumption-2013-en.pdf
    http://www.gov.scot/Resource/0047/00474200.pdf
    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/415998/renewables.pdf
    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/337649/chapter_5.pdf

http://www.forestry.gov.uk/website/forstats2014.nsf/LUContentsTop?openview&RestrictToCategory=1

430. David

Ah, the Swedish Chef – just the sort of skilled professional that we want to attract to Scotland!

431. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers for that. First time I’ve seen it.

The list of credits at the end is astonishing – there’s no way anyone in contemporary ‘British’ broadcasting could get together a team like that to produce anything satirical.

Great stuff.

432. Paula Rose

We need some new statues…

Hello Ian everybodyhood xxx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6AeWZ6RrM5s

433. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Yes Ian, the list of credits with quite a few big names there. 30 year ago you could watch that in the comfort of your living room.

Shows how far we’ve fallen, or should I say the media has fallen.

434. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Hey there. Haven’t seen you around since the CH (and even then you kept disappearing).
    Hope you’re not getting buried under that mountain of uni work! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Yep, I don’t think anyone in any ‘british’ field of anything could work together at all, since their way of life involves stabbing each other in the back and using the pile of bodies as stepping stones to climb to the top.

The sooner we get rid of that way of thinking, the better for all…

…Not that I work together with people much either, but that’s just me being an antisocial git, which is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT, ok?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

435. Thepnr

Just spotted another two “names” Grant & Naylor of Red Dwarf fame.

The words of the song, sung by Sting were the point. How come we produced programes like this in the 80’s but now no TV station would touch it with your barge pole?

I really didn’t need to ask that question, did I?

436. Paula Rose

What have we done to deserve this?

We are rewriting the rule book, we are spreading hope, love and a future worth living

Why?

Because we love seeing our bairns happy and full of optimism.

437. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Therpnr.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oFrvr7EB66g

Perfect! Says it all.

BTW: Remember this Saturday in Dundee:-

http://tinyurl.com/knrl7tf

The Wingers will be there, including Ronnie and Jock Scot. See you there!

BTW2: Saturday will see the last outing of the YES Bus as the YES Bus. This is Team Yes Bus’s song…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoZZVkDVZ0c

And to finish off, the band who should be headlining on Saturday, with “I can hear the nation tonight”, recorded at the YES City Gathering, on St Andrew’s Day, 2014.

Walk the road, and hear the battle cry.
    Feel the pride, when you hear the distant pipes.
    Loud and clear, a thousand voices cry,
    I can hear the nation tonight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_gagc55RhI

438. Paula Rose

I hereby promise not to even attempt to be the first name on the new O/T page and have no intention of even trying.

439. Paula Rose

Post card from the USA…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5tF3Xg7A8k

440. cearc

Chic,

Grand piece of work, do post the whole piece somewhere.

Newsshaft are doing a 9hr. election night special @

http://newsshaft.com/election-special/#.VUpGrstqpeQ.twitter

It’s just audio so those that want to watch the faces from Pacific Quay will have something fit to listen to.

441. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

That link about Saturday requires a download, not many, including me will do that. Must be a better link.

Cheers anyway, I intend to be there on Saturday.

442. Paula Rose

Democracy and the USA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6bdIkQZgiQ

Bit angry tonight cherubs xxx

443. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    I don’t think I’ve ever managed to be the first name on a new page yet.

Is there a prize for it? Do I win a T-shirt or something? ๐Ÿ˜€

Got no idea what number it starts at, so might just post randomly whenever my medication kicks in!

444. Gillian_Ruglonian

Oneironaut – I love your posts! Star wars musical sidekicks / snp-bee metaphorical jokes / robot mischief, you really set the bar high! (My tablet kept wanting to call you inordinate, but I’ve finally trained it).

Jock – I’m gonnae have to keep an eye on you!

Cactus – I’ve noticed that tent too, can’t tell you anything about it’s occupier though. Do you think we may have a Brian Haw (parliament sq resident) in training?

My diary’s full for the next few evenings, but I’m free on Sunday for post-match analysis (Murphy metaphor #1) if anyone else is up for it!

Oh, liking the YouTube links guys, especially the anticipation of an untitled one, mmm ๐Ÿ˜‰

445. Brian Doonthetoon

The election results from Alberta, Canada. Could this annihilation of the Progressive-Conservatives (PC), in favour of the New Democratic Party (NDP), portend what is gonna happen in Scotland and the UK in 24 hours time?

“Alberta is traditionally Canada’s most conservative province, but anger at the long-governing Progressive Conservative Party seems to have spurred an orange wave that has swept over most parts of the province.”

http://www.cbc.ca/news/elections/alberta-votes/alberta-election-2015-results-ndp-wave-sweeps-across-province-in-historic-win-1.3062605

446. X_Sticks

@Paula

I do hope it wasn’t me calling you a silly girl on the twittery thingy that’s upset you.

447. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

It’s only a Jpeg. I Tinyurl’d the original link coz this is how Google provides it…

https://0527555a-a-62cb3a1a-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/SunCity-9thMay.jpg?attachauth=ANoY7coDOxjtl4HrAMG-oWdEeYRyuH-tPIltw6dGV2bXefnFD0dOoIjsnhCjGxFSu4H_95pTKCgwiLbLFDNMoKjOOmyNV8JtA9rV1d9tnpwn9lzC-E5GJq5aum_SSd9fbDD7Mvh6_e_EZ3kik3jNbLvZA5rEtEepwYP6pbdGWkW_JlL4_6ly0z0rXzyRF2RqkWETNvGEHTbj61vqa3J3vwLC5UR0DDoFxNjrG6GL9vgLGqz0_LzM-CKoNyqsCi3iArU3f9Za0zgF&attredirects=0

I tinyurl’d it because the alternative was highlighting and deleting all the extraneous bumfluff and it was actually quicker to go to Tinyurl. After much highlighting and deleting, here’s the alternative, with all the $h!โ€  taken out.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/SunCity-9thMay.jpg

448. Thepnr

Cheer up Paula! I hear you have a date tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

449. Paula Rose

@ oneironaut

My darling dreamboat – every time you comment here

we are refreshed

by your presence dear

Just keep it clean

450. Nana Smith

An oldie for all wingers and everyone voting SNP tomorrow.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEDboC4mBYk

451. Paula Rose

X_Sticks honey – you’re on the front page of the Sun!!! Link someone?

452. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Nana.

Your link reminded me of this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRfluaMKoOY

453. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    Glad you like them ๐Ÿ™‚

Had to look up the meaning of “inordinate”, but it sounds an accurate enough description.

I think I have Sunday free as well if there’s something on then, but I’m limited in how far I can travel.

If anyone happens to be in Stevenston or the surrounding area, feel free to suggest a meet up or something ๐Ÿ˜€

454. Paula Rose

The one and only Thepnr has beaten the rest of you to the prize – weep darlings.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6bdIkQZgiQ

(ronnie anderson is still the best)

455. Betty Boop

@Thepnr, 9:50pm

Re Spitting Image. Thanks for posting that, Alex. That is the clip I remember most from the series. Never forgot it – it made a huge impression on me at the time.

As I recall, it was at a time when we were all concerned over Iran and the ayatollahs. Considering everything since, they were pussycats and we were likely looking in the wrong direction.

456. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    Awww, stop it, you’re making me blush! ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ll try and keep it clean, but I can never tell what sort of weird stuff will drift up from the deepest depths of my deranged psyche ๐Ÿ˜‰

457. Michael McCabe

Some Music to go with the great choice of Poetry from Paula Rose 11:16pm http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEDSRP3yNPo&feature=player_detailpage

458. David

How bad are things for Scottish Labour?
    Let’s just say that they’re playing Leonard Cohen songs to cheer them up…

459. Betty Boop

Well, folks, I am about to head off for some sleep. Up longer than intended because I’m on the early shift at the polling station today (!!!).

Hope we all have a really good day.

460. Paula Rose

I’m away up the glens early doors to do some hammering – peace, love and beautiful thoughts be with you all – until 24 hours time xxx

461. Paula Rose

@ Michael McCabe xxx

462. Brian Doonthetoon

This is a post I’ve stuck on various Facebook pages tonight.

It would appear, from comments on TV in the past few weeks, that the ‘English’ have a problem with MP’s from one part of the UK being too numerous.

This has been the mantra of David Cameron and the London-centric media during this time of electioneering.

Why should this be? After all, every constituency in the UK elects an MP to represent them in the UK parliament at Westminster. If enough of those MP’s support the views of one of the larger parties, then a government is put together.

We should remind ourselves here that both Wales and Northern Ireland have their own assemblies and Scotland has the Holyrood Parliament, reconvened in 1999, after a wee break since 1707.

We elect representatives to those assemblies/parliaments – but we also elect MP’s to the UK parliament.

Why should a plethora of SNP MP’s in the UK parliament cause a problem for English voters?

It’s simple. For decades, if not centuries, the British establishment has promoted the idea that the UK parliament at Westminster is actually the ‘English’ parliament. There is no English parliament. England is the only nation in this United Kingdom which doesn’t have its own parliament.

Hence ‘the English’ are led to believe that the parliament of the UK is THEIR parliament, and uppity Celts should be seen, enjoyed, their mountains climbed, their fish caught, their seas and islands explored and so on, but they should not be laying down the laws (in the UK parliament) that tell them, the English, what they can and can’t do.

This is not just me seeing this. The clip below is from ‘Reporting Scotland’, broadcast on 5th May, 2015. There was a feature on how people in Yorkshire viewed the prospect of a substantial number of SNP MP’s heading down to Westminster on Scotland’s Dragon, the YES Bus.

Compare the comments of Yorkshire businessman Adam Sinclair, with the ignorance exhibited in the comments from Philip Metcalf, proving that the problem is not Scottish – the problem is an English perception of the function of the United Kingdom parliament. And that perception of Westminster being the ENGLISH parliament is encouraged by the English based media.

THERE IS NO ENGLISH PARLIAMENT!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ELQk2aX9jE

463. Oneironaut

Well, time for me to call it a night… Or a morning, since it’s well past midnight now.

Suppose I’ll call it a night anyway, since it looks like one, being all dark and with the moon out and everything!

Gonna leave you with a music link for now.
    See ya all tomorrow! ๐Ÿ˜€

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKs-ou8pbxg

464. gerry parker

One for today.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7-iBValPvY

465. Chic McGregor

Since folk are going to need some cyber bubble wrap to relieve stress until we know the result, I thought I would say more on the analysis I did above.

OK it might not be as good as the real thing but I think a suitable time passing comatose state can be guaranteed.

On Electricity

First I have a slight error to report on one of the calculations, I misread a six for a nine.

“England generated 259 TWh but consumed 295 TWh, production/consumption ratio is 0.88”

should be

“England generated 259 TWh but consumed 265 TWh, production/consumption ratio is 0.97”

Sorry about that, it doesn’t change any of the other numbers or conclusions.

However perhaps I should explain more about the methodology used.

To do that, let’s look at the specific case of England for 2013 and follow it through from generation to consumption.

The Gross generation from all generators in England in 2013 was 271.942 TWh

However, that is not the amount of electricity which is actually made potentially available to others on the grid because the generators use a small but significant amount in the generation process itself. Mainly when using pumped storage.

So it makes little sense to use the gross figure in calculations and rather more sense, IMV, to use the figure which depicts that which is actually made potentially available to users.

England’s generators used 13.343 TWh in the process of generating electricity, resulting in a net generation of 258.599 TWh

Next England got
    From Europe 14.476 TWh
    From Scotland 13.275 TWh
    From Wales 1.696 TWh
    A total ‘topping up’ of 29.447 TWh

Making the total now potentially available to users of 288.046 TWh

However, there are unavoidable losses to come before the consumer gets their share. Mainly distribution and transmission losses, but also included in this accounting category, rather contentiously IMV, are losses due to electricity theft.
    For England in 2013 they amounted to a total for ‘losses’ of 22.582 TWh

Therefore leaving the final amount actually consumed (perhaps we should add ‘legally’ here) at 265.464 TWh

Now disingenuous unionist politicians (are there any other kind?) by taking the Gross generation figure and the final consumption figure and ignoring everything else in between, can and often do, make the claim that England generates slightly more than it consumes.

More honestly, IMV, I have used the net generation figure for the pro rata per diem and consumption/production calculations.

Arguably, a similar argument could be made for adding the distribution/transmission/theft losses to the consumption figure to get a ‘total consumption’ figure, which I have not done.

An advantage of doing so would be that the true shortfall could be seen by simply taking the difference between net generation and total consumption.

Which in England’s case would be nearly 30 TWh in 2013, plugged by Europe, Scotland and Wales.

I was going to wax on about the Food and Wood sectors as well, but I am not entirely merciless.

466. Thepnr

@Chic

Your an anorak, I’m a parka! Food and Wood sectors as well please ๐Ÿ™‚

OK I can wait until after all the excitement is over.

467. Chic McGregor

@Thepnr

Aye nae rush now. The per person per day comparison ploy is probably more of an indyref2 thing anyway.

Are we close enough for a safe prediction yet? I think so.

Mine is 37 SNP 18 SLAB 2 Libdem 2 Green

468. Michael McCabe

I predict 54 But this is what I hope for Scotland http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3Y6i-fclp0&feature=player_detailpage

469. pete the camera

So that’s libdems down 500 quid already

470. Ian Brotherhood

Guaranteed bawbaggery free zone, just for a few minutes –

Ambient Music – Ocean Dolphins:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqNfBHHJR1M

471. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Kezia –

Mental As Anything, ‘Live It Up’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kK_eQImKnPA

472. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee lassie with a message for the labour party. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBKrpiUQrrQ&feature=player_detailpage

473. Paula Rose

Popcorn and sniggles lovelies.

474. Michael McCabe

Cathy jamieson gone. 1 up SNP Well done alan Brown. Cheer up Cathy. from the gravy train to the. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BkI3zKX1vc&feature=player_detailpage

475. Michael McCabe

Angus McNeil Number Two SNP Yee ha

476. Michael McCabe

Mhairi Black Number 3 Youngest Member of Parliament gone yer self.

477. Paula Rose

So sweet.

478. Michael McCabe

Chris law number 4 things are looking up.

479. Michael McCabe

8 Declared winners for the SNP so far. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a37bBm8pXSk&feature=player_detailpage

480. fionan

frank roy gone and not before time, this is amazing!!!!

481. Michael McCabe

Come on Paula Rose and Thepnr I know you are lurking. Gease a tune ?

482. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, the polling companies seem to have overunderestimated the SNP’s share of the vote, iye?

8=)

483. Brian Doonthetoon

The Smurph has been fundimundilly…

8=)

484. Michael McCabe

Jim Murphy gone Yes Yes Yes Here’s a wee song Jim. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liyiT_DGREA&feature=player_detailpage Don’t Worry Jim I hear IRN Bru are looking for Crate Stackers.

485. Betty Boop

???? just ????

486. Betty Boop

That was meant to be great big grins, to ?marks ?

487. Michael McCabe

Margaret Curran gone whoo hoo A wee song Margeret. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG7I4oniOyA&feature=player_detailpage

488. Brian Doonthetoon

Alexander, Murphy, Curran…

I thought we could get two of them but all three?

The Wee Ginger Dug must be ecstatic!

489. chipmonkey

I can hardly believe it so far. What a night. Who needs sleep anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.