Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
C’est moi mes petites – waltzy time!
Moi?
Strange
Yippee!
I do darlings – I do
I did…
I do indeed…
@Ian Brotherhood
I liked the start with the walking, very nice. Would be hard to beat Michael Jackson with the Billie Jean video though.
Was gonna link to that but thought naw, this walking is more entertaining.
Eek!
For those sweet boys –
I know this is how you feel…
@Paula Rose –
Thanks for that footage of Slade performing ‘Come On Feel The Noiz’ (pardon my spelling) –
Correct me if I’m wrong here, but did Noddy Holder actually manage to grow sideburns during the three-or-so minutes of coverage? To the naked, untrained eye, it would seem so. By the end of the song they were encompassing his chin.
The question must be asked – who were these people?
Darlings – its up to you
btw girls – thepnr is all mine, just saying like.
Get Down Get With it. link to youtube.com
And everyone else of course.
I am getting old. link to youtube.com But I am Aye till I die.
Sshhh…Psst…Thepnr…it’s working…keep it going…she’s got no idea…shhhhh….
Let the lip sync battle begin. link to youtube.com
Sticking with the Swiss theme (the Jackets are also Swiss).
The Monofones – Feel Alright
Morning all… 🙂
Heading out to Irvine with some SSP folks for another street stall in a bit. Any Wingers in Irvine, feel free to stop by and say Hi.
Hoping Brian Donohoe and Co are there again so I can enjoy the sight of them slinking off again…
(They don’t seem to want to stick around to debate with us for some reason. Can’t think why…)
Anyways, leaving this here since it came up on this morning’s random music selection, and it has the name “Free”, which I like…
Think I’ll grab some Lidl corn… err, I mean ‘cheese’ puffs on the way home! 😀
Well, Brian Donohoe and his motley crew were conspicuous by their absence in Irvine today.
Perhaps something to do with the fact that the SNP and the Green Party were also out in full force, braving the weather that seemed to change every couple of minutes…
Nice day! 🙂
@Oneironaut
We encountered John Lamont and some very handsome young men standing about with leaflets for the blue Tories in Selkirk; they were easily outnumbered by our SNP activists and left after half an hour, unable to withstand the spring showers (and occasional snow!). We, however, are made of sterner stuff, and continued undaunted (I’m still trying to get warm, though, 3 hours later).
They looked rather uncomfortable, I have to say.
I’m just being silly now. Or am I?
The Strapones – Born To Consume
@Natasha
Blue Tories in Scotland?
I thought we only had the common or garden lesser-spotted Red Tory this far North of the border.
I can understand why they didn’t want to hang around in the cold, being an endangered species and all…
Hope you manage to warm up ok there 🙂
Hi peeps.
A repeat of the info from the 8th April…
Heads up, Wingers who will be in the Dundee area tomorrow.
On Sunday, from 12 noon until 4pm, Team YES Bus will be at City Square in Dundee, campaigning for independence and the SNP.
Any Wingers who are in Dundee at the weekend will be welcomed with open arms by Team YES Bus, to hammer home the benefits of re-electing Stuart Hosie in Dundee East and electing Chris Law (Spirit of Independence) in Dundee West.
We Wingers had a bra’ afternoon at City Square a couple of Sundays ago!
Tea and coffee will be available on the YES Bus. I’ll be there, Ronnie Anderson will be there – and Paula Rose has threatened to make a rare public appearance!
I,m leaveing Airdrie about 10am if anybody wants to go up to Dundee I can pick you up 12 to 4pm . 4 seats available n the phes are good in Dundee, Post up.
Lemar, ‘If There’s Any Justice’ –
So what Natasha is really saying is she frightened off the tory totty!
test test test
Feeling a bit testy tonight, Ronnie?
Testicular iteration, cearc…
Right, sensible hat on.
Remember the Stamford University lecture suggesting that it is more than a philosophical proposition to suggest we create the world around us, and that we actually do shape our brains and so the world we perceive. Neural plasticity responding to outside stimuli. Well if that got you thinking, here’s an article from across the pond that might also be of interest. I think I might also have found an excuse for the Stuart Campbell’s voting history. 🙂 😉
link to blogs.discovermagazine.com
I for one would appreciate a trained opinion from any neuroscientists or psychologists out there. A word or two from a trained philosopher would also be appreciated. Including you Will. Ach, pile in. 😉
P.S. Prizes will be awarded for incorporating the concepts of modernity and post-modernity. Also, if you can find that psychiatric study I posted during indyref, suggesting wealth breads right-mindedness (not a right-wing outlook but the perception of correctness in thinking).
Fun hat on now.
MISUNDERSTOOD – MY MIND (from the album “Before the Dream Faded”)
While we’re on the subjects of neuroscience and psychology. Here’s something I stumbled onto.
Apparently it has now been tested and proven as scientific fact that rich people are indeed a bunch of innately-selfish b*****ds…
arstechnica.com/science/2015/02/the-powerful-cheat-for-themselves-the-powerless-cheat-for-others/
P.P.S. That was the best audio quality/least visually irritating/disturbing version I could find.
The rich are very expensive – someone has to pay for them.
Oneironaut
Where’s Richard Dawkins when you need him. 😉
Aren’t genes also ‘plastic’, responding to outside stimuli?
CameronB honey – read up about Lamark.
Lamarck – ooh genetics.
link to en.wikipedia.org 😉
Any wingies going to Dundee tomorrow (later on today) who can give me a lift from Brechin?
Stereolab – Exploding Head Movie
@CamB-
re: ‘Exploding Head’ – good stuff.
Hoots!
The Sound – I Can’t Escape Myself 😉
I forgot to post the link that got me think about hats.
link to opendemocracy.net
Offshoreness, globalization and sovereignty:
A postmodern geo-political economy?
Dr. Alan Hudson
Government and Politics Discipline
Faculty of Social Sciences
The Open University
Offshoreness provides a useful and important lens through which to look at the changing geographies of globalization and the reworking of sovereignty.
The phenomenon of “offshore”
– offshore financial centres (OFCs), export processing zones and special economic zones which are located legally, if not always physically, beyond the reach of onshore regulation – seems to play a central role in the restructuring of sovereignty as an ordering principle of the international political economy
London is onshore, but it could as well be across the pond for all the influence we have to regulate it. That can change very quickly though and probably for ever and ever. All we need do is maximise the SNP voice in Warminster. 😉
link to alanhudson.info
@CameronB Brodie
All we need do is maximise the SNP voice in Warminster.
That’s odd, I didn’t think anyone from the SNP was standing in Warminster. 🙂
Hair done, heels on
Watch out Dundee
Here I come!
Blimey – only 166 comments until we hit the 400k.
Another fine day campaigning at City Square.
Ronnie A, Paula Rose and me are now partaking of coffees in Henry’s coffee house.
400,001?
You can all listen to the Inverclyde hustings at the Greenock Town Hall, featuring Yes Inverclyde campaign co-ordinator turned SNP candidate Ronnie Cowan debating with Labour’s Iain McKenzie, the Conservatives’ George Jabbour, LibDem John Watson and UKIP’s Michael Burrows:
link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com
@Paula Rose –
You nailed 400,001?
Of course I did Ian dear – I had to do something while ronnie anderson and Beedeeteetee were admiring my new shoes!
For all those using Chrome as their browser and having to enter their details each time they post, try this extension:
link to dl.dropboxusercontent.com
Download this file and unzip it, a directory WOS_Details will be created, this directory contains 6 plain text files. Make a note of where you saved the directory.
Start Chrome, click on the “Customise and Control” button, this button is usually in the upper right hand side of the browser window,it has 3 horizontal bars. In the dropdown menu, click “More Tools” -> “Extensions”. Click on the check box “Turn on Developer mode”. Then click on the button “Load unpacked extension”, in the file dialogue box find the directory WOS_Details you saved earlier and select it.
The extension should now be visible in the extensions window with the name WOS_Details. There are 2 ways to set your details, using the “Options” link on the “Extensions” page or on a Wings blog page click on the green link in the address bar, both open the same page. Enter your details and click on the “Save” button. Now load a Wings blog page and your details should be automatically entered onto the page.
Warning, the usual caveats and provisos are in force. You use this at your own risk. I haven’t found any issues with this extension so far but no doubt there are bugs somewhere. This hasn’t been industrialised, there is very little to no error checking. Let me know if you use it even if there are no issues for you and definitely let me know if there is an issue. Please note, this will not affect the normal running of your PC and won’t be the cause of any strange behaviour outside of Chrome.
If you need an extension similar to this for Firefox use Autofill v3.6. I will have a look at getting this to run in Opera. If you run IE or Safari then I am afraid you are shit out of luck 😀
Oh you,s will aw be jealous of me, I met the Lovely La Contessa with Paula Rose,I was pampered rotten La Contessa,s Plum & Rasberry tart mmmmmmmm.
And naw ah didnae wipe ma mooth on the table cloth, I used the embroidered napkin provided. Thank you,s very much Ladies for ah very entertaining evening.
BrianDT lovely day spent in your company,& the SNP campainers.
Hi All
we are livestreaming tomorrow from the blockade at Faslane. We should be live around 7am…
Please share and tweet: link to livestream.com
@Ronnie, BDTT, PR et al –
Nice to hear that y’all had a good time. Sounds very civilised! (Napkins? Oooh-er!)
Next week we really will have to start punting the CH MayDay gig. No new names for a good few days now. We also need to discuss you-know-what (i.e. the flags/managerial discretion thing) with a view to being prepared on the night if we end up confronting jobsworth-related pishiness.
And the raffle…and accommodating those who want to bring instruments but will probably have to play outside in the square…and the proper organisation of a team-photie…making sure any Livestream has something to stream apart from swilling hordes…hassling Press and/or ‘celebs’ to attend…etcetera.
Best response to the shameful rubbish we’re getting from the Murph/McTernan/BT crowd is to show them how to party, and do it with a bit of class.
Thistle,
7am! Wow, that’s dedication.
Ian B.
Still not certain here but looking possible.
To avoid pisshiness, would it not be better to book the space rather than just take it over?
@cearc –
I hope you do make it – ’twas a real pleasure meeting you last time.
Even if the space was booked, it wouldn’t solve the possible problem. I’d best leave it to Ronnie, BDTT and X-Sticks to explain, if they want to.
Can’t imagine ‘it’ will be a major issue, but we should be prepared all the same. (Sorry to be so cryptic, but ye never know who’s reading, and we don’t want to go giving them any ideas, eh?!)
@Ian Brotherhood
I suppose I could come along after all and handle the team photie responsibility…
Then again… Expensive camera + Squashed into overcrowded area = Making me nervous!
I suppose I could bring the cheap compact one with the broken screen again, but these days it’s too much hassle finding the right way to bang it against the tabletop to make it work…
All this technical stuff is really not as easy as I make it look!
I decided to go through a local Inverclyde leaflet Wings-style:
Not quite as acerbic or deadly as the good Reverend, but I’d like to think educational enough.
@Taranaich
“Not quite as acerbic or deadly as the good Reverend, but I’d like to think educational enough.”
You’re definitely getting there though. Nice one! 🙂
Got what looks like a very similar leaflet in from “Katy Clark’s office”… (Actually the Post Office!)
Haven’t read it though, I know I’ll just get wound up if I do.
I ended up just ripping it in half and will be posting it back through her office door later as a small act of defiance…
Hey Patrician
Thanks for that wee extension. It works for me regarding filling in the boxes, now to see if the page will refresh faster. Good work, will let you know. Ta.
Promising! That posted instantly 🙂
@ BrianDTT
@PeteTC
Counting House Badges
Maryhill Ladies
Julie Webster
Lynda McConnell
Jackie Timmonoy
Collette McDonald
Jack Smart
Thanks guys.
Beedeeteetee and Peeteeteecee – can I have two badges, one for each shoe?
We’re not all as old as Paula and in love with the 70’s so here’s one for us younger folk from the 90’s LOL
Hi Folks,
May I request a badge for the Counting House night on the first of May
Jock Scot
@ Jock Scot
Glad to hear you will make it my friend, don’t forget the hat 🙂
Tried having a go at this blogging lark, it is harder than it seems. Have a look at link to cybernatdotorg.wordpress.com
Be kind 😉
@ Ian Brotherhood Weil am punting everything at hand Ian, Badges in Dundee, CHouse attendance.
Am no gone doon tae Cambridge,tae punt on the Cam thats a river am no gonna cross. lol
@ Patrician ah wiz kind wie ma comment,well done.
Just enjoyed a bag a Arbroath wulks, forget oysters and caviar, the upper classes don’t know what their missing.
Keep it a secret.
@ronnie anderson.
First comment, no one can take that away from you now.
Justtaken a trip down memory lane:
Taken me back to school:
Still on a trip down memory lane, these guys out on their luck had to work as builders and they were contracted to refurbish the girls toilets in one of my old schools in England – Southwood Upper school, Corby, Northants:
I always had a thing for this lady, and i still do:
@Stoker
Yeah liked it, many memories of the time. However did you ever try dancing to it? Impossible LOL.
No reason, i just like it:
Alex,
OK, goodnight folks (maybe), sorry for repeating Annabella Lwin,
honestly didn’t mean it. Alex, no, would never try dancing to her music, was always mesmerised by her :), take care mate.
I’ll leave you good folk with this cracker (maybe).
The 7th May? The Polls? You Never Can Tell:
Back on the subject of posts not appearing/taking ages
I made the mistake yesterday of clearing out all cookies from Chrome.
Expected to see the response form blank (which it was) so filled it in with the usual details and posted earlier on the latest thread. The usual behaviour is a refresh of page and a return to the bottom of the thread. That didn’t happen. Page refreshed but stayed at top. Scrolled down to end and no sign of my post.
I posted again with slightly different content and that didn’t appear either.
Changed to IE11 and checked page, second post was there but not first, plus a lot of posts from others.
So, conclusion is that the whole posting debacle is cookie based.
I’ll have a hunt for the family of Wings cookies on my laptop (which doesn’t have the problem) and copy them across to this desktop PC and see what happens.
Might take a while (doing other things right now) so none of that breath holding, ok?
Weird, the post I put on here via Chrome hasn’t appeared, and I’m now looking via IE11
Still chortling at Cameron’s speech where he talks of ‘buccaneering Britain’. Ah yes, buccaneer: a person who acts in a recklessly adventurous and often unscrupulous way, especially in business. Pretty much says it all.
Now Cameron promises ‘the Good Life for all’. So, will you & yours be Tom & Barbara or Jerry & Margo? Suppose we’ll have to wait and see if Cameron offers a free packet of seeds for everyone.
The return of Quentin Quale to off topic! Not just once! Recovered from the lurgae at last ? xx
testing, testing, 1, 2, 3.
Not transferred the cookies from laptop yet. Just trying to see if anything has improved.
and, no, it hasn’t.
I keep my cookies in a tin, how do you store them in your lap?
What’s happening with the campaign perks Rev?
“What’s happening with the campaign perks Rev?”
They’re coming. Some technical stuff with the book is taking a wee while.
@ BrianDTT & PeteTC.
Another one for the Badge CH
Paul Kavanagh (WGD)Thanks Guys.
Anyone going to the Holyrood YeSNP rally on Sat?
The CH badge list is fairly growing – it’s going to be a cracker I think. Fair looking forward to it I have to say.
So glad I won’t be the only celebrity there.
Just noticed they’ve had to more the rally location to the Radical Road restaurant on Willowbrae road – new info here:
link to facebook.com
I’ll still be going – some good speakers on.
@Paula
Ah, but you’ll be the only celebrity with style (and probably the only one with stilettos, implements of bondage and whips, though I’m not sure about that Paul Kavanagh 😉 )
@thepnr
Have a try of this Chrome extension:
link to dropbox.com
This does something totally different but is useful.
Still uncertain of whether or not to go to CH myself…
Or just stay at home and play darts with my dartboard with the picture of Jim Murphy on it…
Or go on another dream vision quest to find my spirit guide…
The party never ends here! 🙂
@Patrician
Cheers, the original is working fine as far as keeping the boxes filled in with your name and email. Unfortunately, it appears to have made no difference to the lag in posts.
Will try the new one and let you know.
Wee test.
Sorry folks another test after disabling WOS Details. Patrician knows what it means.
OK Patrician
May have installed the new one wrongly but disabling WOS Details made my name and email disappear. Can’t be sure though that I installed the latest file successfully.
I just downloaded it then added the extension to Chrome by navigating to the folder I downloaded too.
Don’t disable WOS_details, the new extension fulfils another task. Can you guess what it does? Don’t worry it isn’t nasty.
@ Natasha,
Left you a reply on The cowards of the county thread.
To be honest I can’t guess, but it certainly didn’t speed up the time taken for posts to appear 🙁
I’m afraid that whatever it does is not apparent on first observation at least. I’ll try again tomorrow, makes sense 🙂
@ Paula Rose nae worries Paula, you,ll still be the star attaction,ah telt Mr Kavanagh last week the Ginger Dugs the Star no him (he,s still talking tae me tho) & the Dug canny get in to CH.
8mins for post to appear.
From the BBC:
“Police and fire services are investigating the cause of a fire at Strathmartine Hospital in Dundee. Fire crews were called to the listed derelict building on Craigmill Road after the blaze broke out in a roof space.”
Dim Jim issued his apologies for not being able to attend the scene, citing a severe lack of casualties as his reason.
Jenny Marra stated that the fire will only add to the derelict hospitals current inability to reach its A&E targets.
Deputy Dug blames the SNP for the severe lack of casualties and the derelict hospital’s inability to reach any targets.
Jabba Blabber is speechless at these latest Slabber findings and is spotted sitting on Dim Jim’s lap with her trademark gormless grin on her face.
I will say this again, NO ONE HERE CAN SPEED THE UP THE POSTING OF COMMENTS. The issue is server side. Stu needs to get in contact with his hosting company and get them to investigate: 1) why the config of WordPress was changed last July/August; 2) What is the issue for slow posts, is it contention on the host? over eager spam filters? or something else entirely different.
It needs to be delegated to one of the professionals the hosting fee pays for.
@ thepnr, hint for the new extension, goto one of your posts. On the top line of the post where you name appears go to the right of your name and on that line some options should now appear.
trying with replaced cookies. Not holding breath.
OK, that came up straight away, but, no completed fields in the submit box area.
That “instant posting” lasted all of 20 seconds … now waiting to see the follow-up one (and probably this one too.)
I’d love to know what my 11.44 post got deleted – its usually obvious – but this looked distinctly on-topic for Armageddon
I posted about Deutsche bank on this site a few days ago – does anybody know the author of their anti-Scottish electoral intervention this time?
Is s/he the same as the author of the intervention the Referendum debate by Deutsche bank?
Does this person have any connections with other UK political parties?
Does Deutsche bank’s head office know that their branch office is playing politics in the UK and Scotland? If so, what benefit does Deutsche bank see for itself in this meddling intervention?
Never complained before – but explanation warranted here . .
Ok – now trying on the trusty ol’ laptop
@Cadogan Enright – use the “Contact” tab in the very top bar of the wings page and ask Stuart directly why it was deleted. I can see a response from Roughian at 11:56 to whatever the posting was though.
Now have both the laptop and the desktop with same Chrome settings
@Stoker 11.16pm
Got it, thanks! You’re obviously not a control freak like me . . . 🙂
I watched Pointless last night.
Or as it’s better known – A Party Political Broadcast from the Lib Dems.
So far no last last minute catastrophes. How’s the list coming along for the CH night?
@ CameronB Brodie, thanks for posting the Misunderstood song – I don’t normally recognise the bands you post, but them I have heard of before!
@ Thepnr, you posted the Ruts singing Babylon’s Burning – but instead of Jum Murphy, surely that’s Graeme Obree singing for them! (Aye that one, the Scottish World Champion cyclist.)
@Wee Jonny
Would have imagined a Party Political Broadcast from the Lib Dems to be something like Nick Clegg saying:
“Please vote for us… Please? I don’t want to be in a coalition any more… I’m sick of running around in that maid’s outfit Cameron always makes me wear! I hate making the tea for everyone! Vote for us and we’ll make everything nice again… Honest!”
Just tested the Chrome autofill extension I posted up a few days ago on Opera browser. Good news, it works without any modification in the new chromium based versions of Opera (the one that doesn’t have the mail client).
Opera! Yippee – no more of this computer nerdery, whose first with an aria?
An aria with wings…
giggle giggle – more arias with wings…
David
You’re very welcome David. The Misunderstood might not be the most obscure band I have posted, but I honestly didn’t think any readers would recognise them. I’ll need to try harder in future. 😉
Hi Macart.
Here’s the list I have, up to NOW…
List For Counting House 1/5/15
Ian Brotherhood
Ronnie Anderson
crazycat
Alexandra-M
Irene King
John King (Eccles)
Lollysmum
Macart
Mrs Macart
X_Sticks
Paula Rose
Cactus
Jim Thomson
Betty Boop
Alistair Grapevine
Brian Doonthetoon
Pete the Camera
Hanii Puppy (my son)
Quentin Quayle
Chipmonkey
Bob Sinclair
Helen Sinclair
Sand Holmes
iclare1
TJenny
Thepnr
Thistle
Jock Scot
Indigo
Natasha
Kininvie
Irene Anderson
Julie Webster
Lynda McConnell
Jackie Timmonoy
Collette McDonald
Jack Smart
Paul Kavanagh (WGD)
Anyone else wahnta baj?
Talking of pensioners here’s Steve Harley less than 3 years away from collecting his.
Saw him for the last time at the Queens Hall, Edinburgh in 2006 where he gave an excellent performance. Once a rocker always a rocker.
This is from 2013.
It’s not too often that I post links to music videos but, seeing as I’m on holiday, I thought I would.
In January 1968, our family got our hand-me-down Dansette that could play 45’s and 33’s – unlike our previous gramophone that could only play 78’s.
Onnyhoo, I started to scour the second hand shops and the Dens Road Market, looking for the stuff that it had been pointless to buy previously.
In my expeditions, I kept finding copies of this 45. By the number of them available second-hand, every hovelhold in Dundee must have possessed a copy at one time.
I was lucky enough to see them live in the Caird Hall in the early 70s, supporting The Who or Deep Purple or some such major band.
Two videos here; the original single from 1964, then a revival of the band from a live performance in 2011.
I need a break!
Need to get away from all the election shyte so I’m off to Kildonan for a week’s gold panning. If anyone is passing Baile an Or look for a caravan and a white van with Pudsey wearing a YES badge and an SNP sticker in the window.
If I’m about (probably after 6.00pm) then drop in and I’ll put kettle on for a brew!
Cheers Brian
Good to see Paul will be there and so looking forward to meeting you guys after all this time.
Nicola is doing well tonight
Keep the comments coming darlings – I’m “watching” the debate here and on the wings twitter feedie thing.
Nigel the arse does it again
poor Nigel has the girls walking all over him tonight
Me! Me! I want to join in!
Get your heels on girl
Will when I’ve finished sharpening them…
Paula Rose ordered me over here! OK… It’s on radio 5 live.
Loved it when Ed was asked “would you press the button”
Trident! We all know what they will say. Sturgeon is doing well.
Radio 5 live dear? Wouldn’t even deign to twiddle the dial.
Silence ….for Farage on everything he says. Deserves it!
I’ll tweak my dial if I want to! 🙂
Scottish auntie not broadcasting it and no license reqd. Don’t pay for BBC tv either.
Sturgeon dropping wee hints to Ed about being prime minister can’t see if he’s puffing out his chest a bit.
The tipping point?
Ooops! Thought so Ed returns the compliment and uses Farage to do it.
Deal or No deal? Issue by issue basis.
Farage blows a gasket!
Yes tipping point might be reached. Rhetoric always becomes reality as Ed knows.
Is Murphy on egg-heads?
Big Q now, will Ed make a deal.
Sturgeon will flutter her eyelids now and it’s a clincher Ed has his needs. 🙂
Is Murphy actually there?
Only in his dreams! No only Ed..Murphy in dog house.
Just an egghead ; tipping point and deal or no deal joke!
I’ll get my coat. 🙁
Sorry – bit cryptic – his twitter feed is silent.
Ed just blew it, mentioned 1979..What a plonker!
Only 30+ labour MP’s voted Callaghan out in the vote.
Blimey Farage wanting in bed with Ed too but no EU referendum so it’s off. Lucky escape Ed.
Um – the 30 odd votes were previous to the confidence vote.
“Exploitative zero hours contracts”
I thought this was a Murphyism, limited to the Scottish branch office; as if the users of the phrase were proud to be able to pronounce the phrase correctly, with no mistakes, so used it at every opportunity.
But Milliband has learned to get his tongue round it – and decided to use it tonight!
I don’t know about anyone else but I’d be content to hear about the abolition of FORCED zero hours contracts – not just the exploitative ones.
Some people DO prefer that way of working (nurse banks, for example) but it shouldn’t be compulsory.
Bring back the contract of employment…
Bring back employment.
I thought 34 Labour rebels voted against their own party in 1979?
Oh you youngsters – you do make me sniggle, go and do some reading.
Tweeted by Alastair – simples
We should treat immigrants the way we want emigrants treated #VoteSNP @NicolaSturgeon #SNP #BBCDebate
I just have, madam!
This is from the link at the foot of this post…
Jim Callaghan knocks the Labour myth that the SNP caused Labour’s loss in 1979. As he says:
“Michael Cocks, the Chief Whip, had spoken with some of Labour’s Devolution rebels. In his view the difficulty within the Party was much greater than any from the Scottish National Party and the Whips’ judgement was that the Government could not rely on the votes of Labour Members from Merseyside or the North if we moved to reject the Repeal Order”
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Writing about the 40% rule and the support of 34 Labour MPs for it he says
“This provision was carried by a majority of fifteen, with as many as thirty-four Labour Members voting against the Government. On the other hand a small number of Conservatives and the Liberal Party supported us.
I have since wondered whether those thirty-four Labour Members would have voted as they did if they had been able to foresee that their votes on that evening would precipitate a General Election in 1979, at the least favourable time for their Government.”
link to politicsforum.co.uk
BUT IT WAS’NT THE CONFIDENCE VOTE !!!
Oops – Alasdair
UM: yes correct I should have got that right! Thanks for that.
Still: Enjoyed the debate and Sturgeon will now be talked down by the Con Lib labour spinners like Dougy Alexander now on radio 5.
Correction – Paula Rose ‘corrects’.
It shows the state of our media when the after debate debate is held in the ‘spin room’.
Paula Rose correct when I looked up the voting unless I have read it wrong.
link to commons.wikimedia.org
Ach well correct me anytime. 🙂
Off to the golf on Crich tv That’s free too!
@ call me dave
xxx
Anyone ken how to get the Blurrt UK graph on twitter up here?
Let the record show…on 16.4.15, at 9.35 pm, Paula Rose ‘shouted’ on O/T.
This election palaver is making beasts of us all…
beast? little moi? YOU BETTER BELIEVE IT!
Paula Rose – Eh luv it when yi git loused…
Beedeeteetee darling – take care honey, might get sticky.
link to twitter.com
Now dearests bear with me – If you had scored Nichola 5 out of 10 in previous debates, what score would you give her for this one?
Guys …didn’t realise that the Counting House gig on the 1st was getting your name down onto a list. What is it that I need to do? Do I just state here that I would like to attend and someone will update the list? I very rarely come to the off-topic page so at a bit of a loss here.
As said, would love to go and catch up with a lot of old faces, as well meet some new ones.
JLT sweetie – unique lovely well designed badge with your moniker on it if you are on the list otherwise tacky bit of sticky label with a felt pen scrawl.
Brian Doonthetoon
Had a quick scan through the posts to get the gist of what I need to do (or what I have perceived so far LOL) for the gig at the Counting House.
Would love to attend.
If OK and there is room for me, then for my badge …can I have ‘JLT’
Thanks for pointing me in this direction, Brian. Cheers again
Hi JLT.
You have discovered that area of the cyberworld, known to those who hang out here, as ‘off-topic’!
Welcome to our world! Paula Rose will take you under her Wing and be gentle with you.
I’ll add you to the badge list. See up above, my post of last night –
I’ll add you to the list.
Hi Paula Rose
LOL …worst comes to worst …I’ll get one made up at work! I work in IT, so I’m sure I can lay my hands on a colour printer somewhere and get my Unicorn Avatar made up.
Thanks again, and I’m looking forward to meeting you on the 1st, Paula.
Thanks again
@JLT –
Short answer? Just turn up.
The ‘list’ is for rough indications, but important if you would like a personalised badge to commemorate attendance!
Nae worries – we’ll be punting it big-time in advance, so no details will escape yer ken.
Hoots, hic, etc, and see ye there!
Unlike everything else – I unchain unicorns xx
Hi Ian.
Is James Kelly (Scot Goes Pop!) gonna be there? Is he one of your mystery celebrities?
As per usual, angry Paula Rose is having a dig at yours truly for resorting to the use of sticky labels and felt pens.
I would like it to be known that, for the CH gig last year (April 4th) the felt pens and ‘address labels’ (as they should properly be called) were all bought in Morrison’s, and I kept the receipt. Maybe not up to everyone’s standards, but they didn’t fall off the back of a fucking lorry – okay?
Badges, badges…talk about feeding ye’s a line?
Ian honey I loved your valiant d-i-y attempt to make sure that people could get to know each other, it was very sweet, if a little Blue Peterish xx
I still have my badge (credit card size) that I made for the two get-togethers, in Broughty Ferry and Glasgow, May 2014.
So there. PARP!
8=)
I’ve still got my ‘address labels’ and I shall treasure them forever.
Whit nae music 🙁
Got any fat lady singing?
One of my favourite curvy ladies… Beth Ditto
Yeah Paula 🙂
Och music.
I will repaste my post from last night that elicited absolutely no response. From anybody…
—————————————————-
Brian Doonthetoon says:
16 April, 2015 at 1:06 am
It’s not too often that I post links to music videos but, seeing as I’m on holiday, I thought I would.
In January 1968, our family got our hand-me-down Dansette that could play 45’s and 33’s – unlike our previous gramophone that could only play 78’s.
Onnyhoo, I started to scour the second hand shops and the Dens Road Market, looking for the stuff that it had been pointless to buy previously.
In my expeditions, I kept finding copies of this 45. By the number of them available second-hand, every hovelhold in Dundee must have possessed a copy at one time.
I was lucky enough to see them live in the Caird Hall in the early 70s, supporting The Who or Deep Purple or some such major band.
Two videos here; the original single from 1964, then a revival of the band from a live performance in 2011.
@ Bdtt
Jings, I suppose everyone who had a record player had a Dansette. Think ours was a natty shade of aqua marine, or somesuch, the very height of modernity after the Bakelite 78s and winding up the gramophone. The arm even moved off the record automatically! Wow!
Don’t recall “The Poets”, my head must have been full of The Beatles and The Kinks and stuff. Stereo looked no’ too bad in the later video though; strategically placed lighting I suppose ;-).
Cheers Ian Brotherhood
Catch you there on the night. I don’t usually drink …but I think I may that evening LOL
@Ian Brotherhood
I liked the sticky labels. Nice idea 🙂
I kept mine as a souvenir. Still got it somewhere around here…
Aaaaahhh Yes Yes YES! finally after a month abroad in deepest France with no phone or internet or contact with the real world, a fix of Wings! And boy, its going to ba at least a 24 hour fix! How I have missed my daily buzz sussing out the buzz. Great to be back online if not in body, Wingers, even tho I’m mostly just a lowly lurker. And the news is all looking pretty good. Now, am I too late to get a proxy vote? (don’t trust postals!)
@ Ian Brotherhood 16th.11.13pm Ah did’nt say onnything adverse aboot your sticky lable’s , so,s leave ma Badges Badges line tae me, am still punting Badges wie BrianDTT & PeteTC.
Badges badges badges limited edition , did I say limited edition , aye ah did, we huv lions,tigers,cats,dugs,pandas,penguins (ronnie we,ve nae penguins Ok Brian Taxi fur Ronnie & the comedy goes on N on N on. lol
@ Ian Brotherhood ah furgoat Insie winsie Spider gifted to us by the poster, Ronnie try try try again.lol
Actually wouldn’t mind a badge (as if I don’t have enough already!)
Are they only for people in the super-secret exclusive cybernat club who turn up on the night though? 🙂
Erm, anybody got an update on the state of play of Wee Rory’s Border Cairn?
Eek the cairn – news fellow wingers? Lesley-Anne honey update?
@fionan if you have a postal vote and want to change it to a proxy vote. you must cancel your postal vote in writing or complete and return a proxy application BEFORE 5PM ON TUESDAY 21st of April. for more information the electoral registration office number is (0131) 344 2500 that number is for Edinburgh. hope that helps.
Oh btw Quentin Quale – finally got the film developed from the first Inverwotsit gathering, gosh you really do stand out amongst the other skinny dippers. Nice capture of cearc looking on approvingly.
Hi Betty Boop.
Our Dansette was that sort of bluey colour as well. Incidentally, recently I have acquired a Dansette Viva from my mother in law, who was having a house clearance, prior to flitting. It’s that bluey colour as well.
The Poets were a Scottish blues, freakbeat and psychedelic pop band, who were managed and produced by Andrew Loog Oldham. Some of their singles were released on his Immediate Records label. Their cover version of “Baby Don’t You Do It”, was produced by Immediate in-house record producer, Paul Raven (Gary Glitter).
That’s from:-
link to en.wikipedia.org
Hi Oneironaut.
The badges are done as souvenirs of the event so you have to let us know you’re going and you have to turn up to claim your badge. That’s how you managed to claim one at the November Glasgow get-together.
8=)
@ Oneironaut – darling you are so dreamy, please come on the first.
Hi Paula Rose.
I found a pic of ‘Rory the cairn’.
link to tinyurl.com
PAUL RAVEN IS FUCK ALL TO DO WITH PAUL GADD
This one Beedeeteetee – xx
Hi Paula Rose.
We’re not talking about the Killing Joke bassist – it’s the other one…
After performing as Paul Raven in the 1960s, he first came to prominence as Gary Glitter in the glam rock era of the early 1970s…
Beedeeteetee – I ken dear but I don’t want him to have any kudos whatsoever.
Whoops – there went a good thing
Michael McCabe thank you for info, will phone on Monday see if I can arrange a vote – f not it will be the first ever election I’ll have missed voting for indepence/snp. OK next question – anyone have any suggestions or plans to get the elction night results onto utube or livestream or whatever as it seems we cant access iplayer here and I will be on tenterhooks once the polls close, like most folk I suppose. Are there still any other French based wingers going about? If you see my wee van puttering about with its YES stickers, give me a shout, all survival advice most welcome
Hi Paula Rose.
That video you posted just now…
On the ‘London American’ labels in the video (a Decca label), they are named as the American Poets. The Scottish Poets were originally on Decca – “Now We’re Thru” was on Decca.
So I guess there was a band in the US, going by the same name.
Here’s another from the Scottish Poets.
Friday night – stacking up the discs on the dansette…
Hi Paula Rose.
Here’s an unusual Dusty one for you. From the original “Casino Royale”.
For tram fans everywhere…
This will annoy some of you (if you have no sense of humour)…
Brian Doonthetoon, Rory the Cairn. Still laughing. Here’s Dusty covering a Randy Newman song.
The steelmen…
Let me know if you want your spindle re-loaded…
Hi fionan.
See if you can get these two sites. On the first, select “UK Live TV” from the list on the left and you should see BBC1 Scotland.
link to filmon.tv
You can also try this one:-
link to tvcatchup.com
The second doesn’t offer BBC1 Scotland, just BBC1. However, both have apps available for Android and iPhone and the tvcatchup app offers BBC1 Scotland, Wales and N. Ireland.
Maybe worth trying to see if they’ll work in France.
BTW: Welcome to ‘off-topic’!
Hi Paula, the weekend is here so time to leap aboot the lobby
Hi fionan.
If you try these web sites and get a message saying you have to be in the UK, try this site:-
link to proxfree.com
You want the server to be in the UK but, more importantly, your “IP Address Location” should be selected as ‘United Kingdom’ from the drop-down menu.
Here’s what it says at proxfree…
More information
Simply enter the address of the website you wish to access in the bar above and press enter or click “ProxFree”.
ProxFree acts as an intermediate (i.e. “proxy”) between you and the target website. This means that you see the target website, but the address bar in your browser contains “proxfree.com”. Therefore, as long as you have access to ProxFree.com you have access to any website even in a censored environment.
Your privacy and anonymity is maintained since the remote website sees only the proxy server and it’s IP address.
Beedeeteetee sweetie you read my mind!
That spindle keeps on turning…
Can’t resist darlings, showing my age…
Brian Doonthetoon
Funnily enough Brian, I was searching for clips from the original “Casino Royale”, that I think might explain some of our southern neighbour’s perception of Scottish-ness. The first 15 minutes or so could be responsible for a lot of misapprehension. James Bond (David Niven) battling mad, mental, incestuous Jocks who are stuck in an imaginary bygone era. 🙂
You lot not watching the Livestream of the Common Fest Night? Link on main thread.
Alan Bissett’s just had his band on.
re 8:23 so lovely to see X_sticks and Tartan Tory leading the dance.
perhaps you would prefer something truly beautiful –
the country I chose to live in
my dearest friends enjoy…
Loading up the spindle…
Need I say more about why I CHOOSE to live here?
This is the world I am welcomed into…
Is there a greater country?
enough of this restraint –
One of my friends xx
Paula Rose
Sans les Pistols. 😉
Laurel and Hardy – Way Out West – At The Ball
Och well, Paula Rose…
If you’re gonna go in a ‘sweary word’ direction…
And the CLASSIC from the band:-
@ fionan Hopefully Brian Doonthetoon has given you some great advice and you get the results. but if all else fails there will be people on the main threads or on off topic when the results are coming in. so if you cant get them you can ask us to keep you up to date.
Ha ha fucking ha…
Paula rose Brian Doonthetoon Language Language. Here is a mellower interpetation link to youtube.com
So where do you think Ska comes from?
Johnny Griffin – Chuck-a-Boogie (1948)
This place is busy tonight. Just the adrenalin kicking in I guess. Election not far away now, ooohhhh scary? Not.
I was going to say something really profound but I’m too drunk so will go to bed instead. Enjoy the rest of the night 🙂
@ oneirnaut Brian & Pete will have the Limited edition badges on the nite 50p all proceeds go to foodbanks.
Hi CameronB Brodie.
You coming to the Glasgow bash?
And early rocky stuff…
And prior to the 50s, there was the 30s…
Here is a wee bit of Boogie Woogie. link to youtube.com
Brian Doonthetoon
I’m going to try, but can’t say for certain yet.
This one blows my mind. Notice the all coloured audience. The USA was still an apartheid state when this was filmed.
Martha Davis – Martha’s Boogie
@ CameronB Brodie As always a wide and interesting Choice of Music. Here’s some drums Boogie. Done by a Father & Daughter. The Drum solo kicks of about 2 minutes in. link to youtube.com
I was bored again:
link to cybernatdotorg.wordpress.com
For those still thinking of voting British Labour, you won’t actually be voting for a political party. you will be voting for an unelected and unaccountable ‘think tank’.
New Labour and Beyond
In the 1990s the Fabian Society came to be a major force in the modernisation of the Labour Party, building on its work from the 1980s and developing many of the ideas that would come to characterise New Labour.
A New Constitution for the Labour Party was instrumental in the introduction of “one member, one vote” to party elections and contained the original recommendation for the replacement of Clause IV. The Fabians applied themselves to the challenges that Labour faced in building an election-winning coalition of voters and in the Southern Discomfort series pointed the way towards many of the changes that would take place and help Labour to its historic 1997 victory.
After Tony Blair’s landslide victory in 1997, over 200 Fabians now sat in the House of Commons, including many of the Cabinet. However, the Fabian Society developed its role as a critical friend, supporting the Blair and Brown government’s in developing policy, without being afraid to draw attention to the omissions or shortcomings of the government.
The advent of the Conservative-Lib Dem coalition government in 2010 again posed new challenges for the Society. It has renewed its focus on tackling the big issues facing policymakers including the future of the state and public services, and the creation of a more robust, balanced and equal economy. It has also applied itself to the task once again of defining and articulating the electoral strategy that Labour needs to regain power.
link to fabians.org.uk
Michael McCabe
That clip got me thinking of Karen Carpenter, so I tried posting the Carpenters live in 1972, performing “We’ve only just begun”. I ended up blue-screening twice. It might have been a screen-res issue but possibly not. Mmmm.
The Southern Discomfort pamphlets were a series of studies by Giles Radice published by the Fabian Society that examined attitudes towards the Labour Party in the south of England after the 1992 General Election defeat.[1] The studies found that voters in marginal constituencies were concerned about Labour’s lack of economic credibility and feared that their taxes would increase if Neil Kinnock had won in 1992. The pamphlets were influential in underscoring the need for Labour to appeal to “C1” and “C2” voters.
link to en.wikipedia.org
@Paula Rose
“@ Oneironaut – darling you are so dreamy, please come on the first.”
Only when I’m viewed through Beer Goggles! Rose-tinted ones too! 😉 hehe.
BrianDoon the Toon, many thanks, for the info and the welcome to OT. I’ve tried the first link and looks like I will hopefully get some visuals on the night, I will also be on the comments here on wings to soak up the atmosphere, (as long as not the utter nausea and unbelief of 18/9/14) but I am hopeful of being able to see some labour gravy trainers faces when they face the dole, not to mention a certain ginger muppet. Michael McCabe thanks also, wish I was helping in these weeks, but at least I think I’ll get my proxy vote sorted out. I will never trust postal voting ever after the past few elections/referendum. Now time t turn up the volume on all these music links, see if I remember any golden oldies.
fionan darling – set the theme for tonight’s party!
Julie Andrews night?
Gaga!!!
Alpine fleurs…
Naughtie!!!
Haven’t heard this for yonks. Superb.
Radiohead, ‘Fitter, Happier’ –
Well we can always trust Ian B to disrupt a thread – Radiohead? Get an effing life dear.
Sorting the sheep from the goats…
Coomon, madferrit, beat this:
Stone Roses, ‘Fools Gold’ –
My favourite!
A spoonful?
Magic!
Even more magic…
No reason…
Its Magic. Looks like a young Paul Whitehouse. link to youtube.com
here’s a little magic for yea. link to youtube.com
Dreamy…
‘Things are never quite the way they seem…’
True dat.
Stan Ridgway, ‘Camouflage’ –
Darlings – there is a logic if you click on the linkies.
Dueling Banjoes (from ‘Deliverance’):
Peaceful folk song…
Someone does…
a wee tribute to Stevie. link to youtube.com
Lest we forget. Why I am on this site in the first place. This track reminds me why. link to youtube.com Roll on the Divorce. Aye till I die.
“Dueling Banjoes”?
Nah, not in Scotland…
@ Brian Doonthetoon. Och aye man that was Class.
Sign out time – good night darlings
Ian brotherhood stick my name down for counting house cheers.
@BDTT (12.25) –
@Kevin Meina (12.37) –
Soo-perb. See ye there!
Ahh, what the hell…
Put me down for a badge too.
I’ll just hide in the corner and try to make one of the CH’s overpriced Pepsis last all night! 🙂
@BDTT –
Dorothy Devine is a ‘maybe’ for Mayday.
I’ve lost track with the list, must double-check against what you last posted…
@Oneironaut
Yaaay – pleased you are making a return visit to CH – the more the merrier 🙂
@Kevin Meina – will be pleased to meet you there along with all others I haven’t met before.
@Bdtt & IanB
Looks like it is going to be a busy night. Looking forward to it so for heaven’s sake folks, don’t change the date on this one!!! I have my hotel room booked so JimT and I don’t have to rush off for the ridiculously early last train to the wild west.
@fionan & JLT Been a bit busy past few weeks and still trying to catch up on lots of Wingsy stuff. Pleased to see you both on O/T 🙂
@ Paula Rose
Thanks, m’dear, for the Dusty links! Loved listening to her. The Springfields – amongst the first discs bought for the family Dansette! Ta, to QQ as well.
Haven’t had the hours to listen to all tracks being posted, but, oh, I loved “Ba Mo Leanabh”. Still can’t get “Fear a Bhata” out of my head since you posted that as well, especially Karen Matheson’s rendition. Takes me back to the outer isles where we lived for several years.
Paula Rose, these clips were brilliant, where do you find them? Cant believe Julie Andrews doing C&W, and Gaga doing JA, the girl’s got talent right enough! Lots of great clips, love Stanley Odd, and of course Mike McCabe’s duellists – have been laughing my head off instead of doing essential work, oh dear! Cant believe I’ve been missing all this fun the last couple of years while agonising over referenda. As the big guy once said, I’ll be back! And thanks Betty Boop and others for the welcoming comments – if you are ever in central france, look out for my Wings badges and Yes stickers folks 🙂
Well, the RIC public meeting in Ardrossan was interesting.
Definitely shows some promise for the future…
Also a pleasant surprise to meet Crazycat there too. Nice seeing you again! 😀
‘Take a look at these hands!’
Talking Heads, ‘Born Under Punches’ (Live) –
Anyone in Glasgow able to stroll into the counting house and book the SW corner for the 1st of May from 7 onwards? Manager tells me it is returnable cash.
Hi Paula Rose & peeps.
We have 42 on the list so far ad I know, from the BBC demo this afternoon, that there are some others who still have to go ‘off-topic’ to get their names on the register.
Booking the SW corner would be ace – but I have read before that Wetherspoon’s won’t take bookings?
Onnyhoo, here is the latest list, as I have it.
List For Counting House 1/5/15
Ian Brotherhood
Ronnie Anderson
crazycat
Alexandra-M
Irene King
John King (Eccles)
Lollysmum
Macart
Mrs Macart
X_Sticks
Paula Rose
Cactus
Jim Thomson
Betty Boop
Alistair Grapevine
Brian Doonthetoon
Pete the Camera
Hanii Puppy (my son)
Quentin Quayle
Chipmonkey
Bob Sinclair
Helen Sinclair
Sand Holmes
iclare1
TJenny
Thepnr
Thistle
Jock Scot
Indigo
Natasha
Kininvie
Irene Anderson
Julie Webster
Lynda McConnell
Jackie Timmonoy
Collette McDonald
Jack Smart
Paul Kavanagh (WGD)
JLT
Kevin meina
Oneironaut
Dorothy Devine – ‘maybe’
I’ve just done a post, which contains the latest list for the May Day bash but, once again, as happens with every post with a list,
Your comment is awaiting moderation.
@IanB
Re: Talking Heads. Didn’t like all the disjointed, screechy stuff at the start; almost gave up. Took stamina to get to the good bit, but, it was worth it. 🙂
@Paula Rose –
You called CH? Did you tell them what it was for? I’m guessing they probably didn’t even ask…
If push comes to the proverbial, I’ll go, but I hope someone else can do it – I’m full-on with uni-stuff this week, really really cannot spare the time.
Will someone Glasgow-based please help us oot here? I went in and booked the space last year, and they asked for £20 cash – I got it back on the night once they saw a few bodies moving in.
Time’s running out, so please, can someone step-up?!?
@Betty Boop –
The screechy stuff was mostly Adrian Belew, who isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. TBH, I’m not that keen on him meself. But that concert was awesome, and it’s all on YT in chunks.
Aye – fine to book the space but cash would be best, anyone able to do this?
I’ve got a new outfit from Nicola’s favoured costumier, who happens to be a dear friend – quelle surprise!
I promise not to do this again unless requested by public demand – bit like a referendum…
@CameronB Brodie, The Fabians are a strange grouping to the Labour Party. This was explained to me at a meeting I attended during the 1990’s, the meeting was ostensibly about the direction of the Labour Party. Strangely, the speaker sent from London opened with the statement that the Labour Party has always had a right wing and they haven’t always been socialists. After this talk, I have always found the subject of the Fabians interesting.
The concept of the Labour Party as a wholly socialist party really only took hold post WW2. This was the reason they could be a home for Oswald Moseley (a Fabian) and the birthplace for his New (BUF) party. The Fabians actually pre-date the Labour Party and had been the focus of the London based left leaning intelligentsia for some years before the Labour Party was formed. The addition of the Fabians made the Labour Party respectable in the eyes of the establishment.
Through the years the Fabians had forces to counteract them, mostly the hard left and the centrists. In my opinion, the Fabians came to prominence before the Blair era due to 2 reasons: The centrists leaving, the gang of 4 who formed the Social Democrats; And the loss of influence by the left, due to their failure to win elections. To use the cliche, nature hates a vacuum and the Fabians and their supporters filled that vacant space.
The reason they managed this without the party fighting back is down to the boiling frog principle, the change was slow and imperceptible at times, there was no big lurch to the right just a slow constant shuffle. One day socialists woke up and found they were part of a right wing party. Of course, the fact they won elections also helped 😉
Patrician
Bit by bit. Apparently caused George Orwell some troubled, sleepless nights scratching a book together (1984).
Don’t forget though, …..S.N.P. BAD. Waoooo.
The Voronas – I Love My Monsters
From death, shall come new life…
As the Labour Party dies, so Scotland shall be renewed, as the laws of Nature dictate…
Resurrection 😀
(That’s the last time I try talking to Jim Murphy. Those glue fumes in his breath do weird things to your head!)
@IanB
@Paula rose
Re: CH booking: If no one else has offered, I am willing to make the journey to the metropolis tomorrow and pay the deposit.
Will email you.
@Bdtt, 19/4/15, 10:19pm
Reckon someone’s moniker must be on the suspicious list!
@Bdtt, 19/4/15, 10:19pm
Reckon someone’s moniker must be on the suspicious list! 😉
Ach, I’m not on Twitter so can’t join in the jolly japes over on Wings Twitter mocking Murphy’s ‘referendum not ruled out’ in the SNP manifesto. So, Return of the Ducking Stool #notruledoutbythesnp
Hi peeps.
There have been one or three mentions of “Outlander” on the front pages over the weekend.
My son offered me this link:-
http://www.watchoutlander.com
The episodes are around an hour long so that’s the ones you want.
Now, the beauty is, if you have the Firefox add-on “Downloadhelper” installed (the one with the icon featuring three coloured balls), it allows you to download each episode for posterity. All you have to do is click play on the appropriate video and the downloadhelper icon energises, to allow download as mp4.
I’ve downloaded Episode 1; Episode 2 is in the process of downloading… The file size per episode is just over 200MB.
~ Ian Brotherhood
~ Paula Rose
~ Betty Boop
Howdy partners, I’m in and around the city centre tomorrow and can reserve the SW suite for us at the Counting House (from 7pm onwards & upwards) if this helps.. would you happen to have a contact name there Paula dearest darling?
Big thumbs up to the 42 guests to date 🙂
Will confirm booking later on tomorrow evening.
@Quentin Quale
You don’t need to have a twitter account to join in the fun.
Just Google “wings over scotland twitter” and you will get the revs feed, then click on the hastag of your choice.
So, where did you and Dixie end up, at the last Wings do on 22nd November, Cactus?
You’ve never spilled the beans. At 6.15pm or thereabouts, you were taking the air in George Square, with Dixie – but you never came back!
So, what begrail, in the fundemold of Georgey Squarish, that you couldn’t suffer a returney-most?
Last post hasn’t appeared after an hour, strange.
@Cactus
Hi Cactus,
Can you confirm that you are definitely going to do the booking at the Counting House cos I offered earlier today to go there tomorrow?
Ta ever so much, young man. Will you be staying awhile this time? 😉
Here’s a report about the manifesto launch. It has pictures!
BTW: re: ‘Outlander’ (see post above), you may find this of educamatical value…
@Taranaich
Lovely report from Ratho; I could feel the atmosphere! So glad you enjoyed your experience today, Al. Hey, “the hand of history…” and all that!
It has been quite a ride over the past few years and many of us have ended up doing things and meeting people we would never have imagined. Despite the trauma, here we are, still hopeful of achieving something better.
Apropos meeting up with acquaintances, do you think you might find the time to come to the Counting House again on 1st May? Be great if you could.
~ Betty Boop
Hey Betty B, yeah sure, I’m five minutes away.
If they ask what the function is, I’ll say it’s a works night out!
And aye Betty B, I’ll be an allnighter this time.. and who knows where we may all go apres.. Glasgow has many fine places to party 😉
Hi Cactus.
“a works night out”?
That’ll be the Wings Over Scotland (Scottish Branch) then?
8=)
@ Cactus
LOL – Thanks Cactus. Looking forward to seeing y’all! We’ve got a big crowd by the looks of it 🙂
Aweright Brian D, I whisked D and me over to the Drury Street bars furra gander, got talking to some other friendly ladies and alcohol spirits were applied….. I do remember Dixie taking me home.
I’ll try to be first in and last out this time round.
And yeah the Wings Scottish Branch which is completely accountable.
Some Scottish singers versions of other peoples Songs. link to youtube.com
@Betty Boop, Cactus –
Heroes!
Hoots and hoots again.
@Cactus
“got talking to some other friendly ladies and alcohol spirits were applied….. I do remember Dixie taking me home.”
Hmmm, is that the “censored for family viewing” version? 😉
I’d really love to, but I’m afraid I’ll have to decline: despite even the Daily Mail proclaiming Inverclyde a goner for New Labour, despite all but one bookies putting SNP in the lead (the one that doesn’t has New Labour winning by 71 votes), despite several polls colouring Inverclyde yellow, I’m going to be working round the clock for the local campaign. New Labour certainly are.
Douglas Alexander, the New Labour campaign co-ordinator himself, opened Iain McKenzie’s shop. Gordon Brown will be coming this week in another one of those exclusive invitation-only roads-closed no-nats-allowed visits. New Labour still has 9 councillors, 1 constituency MSP, and a core vote. New Labour are out in greater force than any time my elderly relatives can remember.
Make no mistake: the “SNP will totally win Inverclyde” narrative is deliberate, precisely because it’s so close. They’re hoping prospective SNP voters won’t bother to turn up, that it’s “in the bag.”
New Labour aren’t giving up this fight. Neither will I.
That’s the venue booked for 50 guests in the SW suite (the library).
Ref no. 94647, wink wink 😉
Well done that man!
That’s the venue booked for 50 guests in the SW suite (the library) from 7pm.
Entry password is 94647, wink wink.
For Cactus –
Aretha, ‘Respect’ –
Well done the “man in the hat” 🙂
Just a wee heads up re The Counting House, some comments on fb suggesting that folk from the bairns not bombs rally were denied access due to having saltires in their possession. ( though perhaps it had more to do with pointy poles they were attached to) also some suggestions the staff are on zero hours contracts, though one suspects within the hospitality industry you’d be hard pushed to find someone who wasn’t. Thought you’d like to know though. I kinda like the pub myself because it’s handy and usually has space even when stowed.
Hi Caroline Corfield.
The doormen at the Counting House had orders from ‘the management’ not to allow flagpoles in. Ronnie Anderson had a short conversation with them, which confirmed the ban.
So we toddled along to the YES Bar, where there were piles of flags on flagpoles in every corner. The YES Bar was stowed out.
I wonder how much trade the Counting House sacrificed that day?
Here is a wee song for Cactus The man in the Hat. link to youtube.com
Alas! A double-dunt above, ah posted the news on my fidgety moby earlier but it didnae show first time, all is good.
Thanks to the Counting House today. Friendly staff. If any of you happen to follow this website, give us a shout and a shake when we’re in. We’ll show your bar a great time!
~ Oneironaut, aye the censored version it be.. ah didnae want tae embarrass all of the Generation X readers on here 🙂
Sweet sixteen earth days to go go, cheers y’everybuddy.
Cactus my darling – that is going to be a lovely stroke from moi!
@Cactus
do I count as X Generation?
X_Sticks honey – a blond quiff, suits you sir (sniggle).
All of you are…
Before Wings – one of my faves…
link to facebook.com
Smashing songs on the jukebox aujourd’hui, chairs!
I like that Mr X.. you/we are the X generation, hmm if it hasn’t already, that could catch on..
Strokes I like, as long as I get a birdie 😀
True story, about 30 years ago when I was of an age age to do such a thing I went to Ricks disco in Dundee with my brother and a pal.
My brother was a bit of joker and had the patter to chat up the female species and make them laugh. There was a latter day punk there with a dyed blond mohican and a number of girls in his company. He was very suave and in love with himself.
He got jealous though of my brothers popularity with his female friends so said to him “Ho mate! anybidy ever telt yeh that you look like Feargal Sharkey.”
My brother says, “No, anybidy ever told you that you look like Orville the Duck?” The lassies laughed, so did I and the “punk” went all red in the face.
Sadly my brother passed away last month so this song is for him.
Played at my mum’s final farewell – please accept it as my tribute to all. I’m thinking of a certain man who has lost his father as well.
Sorry to hear about your brother Alex, I hope you’re ok.
Thepnr honey – we met your brother, he rocks on xx
@ Cactus Tammy Doff tae you young Sir.
x_sticks,
Generation X, where X = a number best not revealed?
John came to the CH meet up no. 2 on the bus – hey Beedeeteetee and Peeteeteecee can we have some special badges? Ten only “I knew John”?
ßügg€® off, Paula Rose!
My printer packed in at the weekend and I’m now in ‘rescue the situation’ mode.
Got 42 badges (so far) to get printed out for 1st May, so you’ll understand my reticence to comply, iye?
Maybe my printer needs a good stroke; I’ll try that tomorrow…
40 odd comments to go and I’m top again (wicked laugh)
Paula Rose says:
“40 odd comments to go and I’m top again (wicked laugh)”
I do love a girl with ambition 😉
Be very very careful cherubs xx
I remember my mum saying this to my brother…
Oh and by the way
@Paula
Must they be odd comments? My definition of odd is a bit awry at times and if we are getting competitive..are we using shiftable goalposts? Or is that too odd? I appear to have encountered the ? key. It’s amazing how it just took the right kind of stroke on my keyboard x
Some odd, some even and a few prime.
@ Cactus
Well done, cowboy, moseyin’ on down and stakin’ a claim on our CH territory! Ta 🙂
@ Taranaich
Good luck with Inverclyde and hats off to you too for the commitment. Sorry you can’t be there at our Mayfest 🙁
@ Paula Rose, you’re getting all mathematical on us now. S’pose you had better be first on the next page after showing off your counting prowess 🙂 Oh, and ta for The Proclaimers. xx
@ Bdtt & Petetc
There we were on the Costa del Tay yesterday,enjoying a wee cappuccino in the bright sunshine in City Square in the wonderful Yes City and you were nowhere to be seen; I would have thought, local heroes that you are, you would have featured in some street art there by now(I have a suggestion for the council on that one!). Where were you both?
Hi Betty Boop.
My printer packed in at the weekend so I was wandering round the second-hand warehouse that is my flat, looking for another working printer.
No joy so far…
Me too. Somehow I have a feeling I’ll be busy next May too. And the May after that… (God, this is my life now…)
Anyway, I’d love all of you to watch Ronnie’s campaign message. I helped filming by holding and lifting things, so technically I can claim a tiny bit of credit!
Here’s something we can hopefully all look forward to on May 8th.
8 VIP seats remaining at the Counting House gig in Glasgow, Scotland, UK, Europe.. who’s gonna be the first long term lurker to introduce themselves here and join us?
You’ve been reading this website for well over a year now, so come on you, do it.
Hey Paula Rosa your at it!
Seen enough of Wreckless Eric with The Whole Wide World, you’ve played it so often.
Have to admit though I didn’t know the Proclaimers sang it 🙂
Seems to me that all the crap being thrown at us from Cameron, Miliband, Digby Jones and the MSM is eerily familiar. Made me think of this wee classic. link to youtube.com
Thepnr honey I’ve got a whole stack of Wreckless Eric covers – are you feeling lucky punk?
I have bought the National from day one. I have every one of them apart from Friday the 6th of March. Anyhow I aint got the space to keep them. So I was wondering if anybody wants them or knows anybody who would want them ?
@Michael McCabe
You did it again!
Great tune and even better pictures. We’re at war! LOL
……………………./´¯/)
………………….,/¯..//
…………………/…./ /
…………./´¯/’…’/´¯¯`·¸
………./’/…/…./……./¨¯\
……..(‘(…´(..´……,~/’…’)
………\……………..\/…./
……….”…\………. _.·´
…………\…………..(
…………..\………….\
@Taranaich
“(God, this is my life now…)”
I know the feeling. I can barely even remember my old life!
Vague memories, pictures drawn in the sand, washed away by the seas of time…
Prime…
Even…
I have 25 songs lined up. I hope you don’t mind If I put them on one after the other ?
@Michael McCabe
I would normally say “get on wie it man” but I think to ration those 25 songs between now and 7th May would be wiser.
See, give us a countdown of these 25 and finish with a crescendo!
@Michael McCabe –
Please don’t ditch your Nationals. I too have a full set, and they box away very tidily if they’re properly flat.
By using an old tablecover or curtain creatively, you can make those old stacked newspapers into a small armchair, or even an unusual coffee-table.
Seriously man – you could end up sitting on a wee fortune there. Keep them. (Big Bonus Besides – you’ll have ‘originals’ of all Moodie’s cartoons!)
25 songs – be very careful Michael dear.
@ Thepnr iwas only joking about the 25 songs. I was waiting on paula rose coming on and saying don’t you dare. As I know she likes turning over a new leaf. Anyway here is another old Scottish Band. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe –
I’ll slip this in before you get going then…
Seasick Steve, ‘Sonic Soul Surfer’ –
this one is for Paula Rose. link to youtube.com
I do…
Warning babes…
@ Ian Brotherhood I cant keep a hold of the nationals. that is why I am trying to find them a good home to go to. I just thought I would try here first. I don’t want anything for them. I will still be buying the national every day. So if anybody wants them leave a message here on off/topic. This is my last post until we turn the page. Seasick Steve Yeah. Seen him at the Queens Hall Edinburgh.
Ah, Nick Lowe.
One musical offering before I turn in…
I loved this man xx
Is there a more beautiful country?
One of my proteges….
Darlings – are you being sweet?
Come on babes – love a bit of competition xx
All the heavy lifting?
One more comment thingy? Hate to appear greedy.
So be it…
X
Totally rofl xx
I wish you all a good Night. And I leave you with a song for Paula Rose. link to youtube.com
Congratulations Michael McC – You won! First on page. Paula R will need a comforting stroke…xx
Oh dear Michael, what have you done!
Paula will be in a huff for weeks!
No gentle strokes for you, you’ll have to look out for the stilettos and whips 😉
@ Michael McCabe
Re your Nationals. After a conversation I had yesterday with an elder citizen in sheltered accommodation, can I suggest that the lounge in such a place would be a good home for them?
I found that the lady who is an SNP supporter had never heard of the National despite the fact that she and her husband buy a daily.
The conversation brought home to me yet again that without internet many people are at the mercy of the scurrilous rags which pass for newspapers, etc.
Buying an extra one and passing it on to a “needy” person/leaving it in a public place is a good use of 50p! 🙂
I Think I am safe from Paula Rose. I Think She was looking for the Number at the top of the Page. 11 Thousand and She got it. About the Nationals I would never just throw them out. I would like to donate them to the YES Library What there is no Yes Library. Well there should be one. Anyway I was Just seeing if anybody on Wings wanted them first.
I don’t know how you did it Paula but Michael was at the top of the page this morning but you seem to have claimed the accolade again,can we raise a strokes for favours question in a higher place ????
@Michael McCabe
“I would like to donate them to the YES Library What there is no Yes Library. Well there should be one.”
This seriously needs to be a thing that exists somewhere…
Anyone?
Yes Pete , I saw Michael at pole position at lunchtime but…
I got two email notifications of 2 posts by the vamp at 12.08.
So be it…
and
Paula Rose commented on Off-topic.
in response to RevStu:
For off-topic chat. Duh.
All the heavy lifting?
Now, according to up above, there were no posts between Michael’s at 11.41 and yours at 2.01. Strange, what?
Now, the thing is, my email notifications USUALLY concur with the times of posting in ‘off-topic’.
However, Paula Rose’s two posts, which were timed at 12.08 via the email notifications, have mysteriously appeared on the previous page at 12.59AM and 1.11AM – 12 hours earlier, thus bumping Paula Rose’s posts from the bottom of the previous to the top of this one and knocking Michael from the #1 spot.
Methinks Paula Rose has been offering Rev Stu strokes above and beyond the call of decorum, in return for a page pochle.
I Don’t think Paula Rose was aiming for the top of the new Page Comment. She was going for the 11 Thousand Comment which She Achieved. I then Commented again and I did see my Comment at the top of the new page. Now positioned in third Place ? I am happy with that. I am happy to Comment on a Website where the Majority wants Independence. And as for Paula Rose Being at the top of the page. As my old mum taught me. it Should always be Ladies First.
No-one at all on off topic? You’ll worry us lurkers. Where have you gone?Campaigning?
Hi chipmonkey – they’re all hiding behind the sofa in a state of shock.
Oh well. At least there are still 2 of us not banned Paula:-) You’ve not been manipulating for some more girl power again have you?
@Bdtt
That’s what I saw too. Michael’s post was 1st on the page this morning.
Thought I might just have been hallucinating, but if so then you’re obviously on the same drugs! 😉
Here is a wee bit of advice from the late great Fankie Miller. link to youtube.com
I’m still lurking 🙂
I always give in to the Indigo Girls. link to youtube.com
Lurking here too – too much multitasking going on 😉
It’s getting like the last week of the indyref out there, only it seems its even more heated that that!
Naebody telt me aboot the competition of who,s the King of the Castle lol.
The News link to youtube.com
@Oneironaut, 23/4/15, 2:36pm
I think that’s what the National Archives of Scotland are for. I don’t know, but, I would imagine that The National is already being archived there. I am fairly certain that IndependenceLive are archiving loads of stuff with them too.
@Betty Boops & Michael McCabe
The National Library of Scotland has already appealed for information relating to the Referendum.
The NLS project aims to establish a “unique and valuable resource” surrounding the referendum campaign that will take shape over the next half century and inform the work of scholars, researchers and journalists of the future.
link to archive.is
Thanks for that Thepnr I have just put there phone number into my phone and I will give them a call tomorrow. Cheers.
Noo ah dont want tae be accused of siding with the enemy nor offending any lucky raffle winners taste buds.
Whit kind of Malt would be exceptable ?.
Eezer, Ronnie…
This english born rose is home
Look at the image on this YT vid – is the dude second from left the guy who was in Talking Heads? Looks awfy like him…
Anyway, this is for Jim Murphy, and his endless All-Star Roadshow – everyone loves a trier!
Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers, ‘Roadrunner’ –
The final chance to book seats for the minibus from Dundee, through to the Wings Over Scotland get-together in the Counting house in Glasgow on the 1st May will be Sunday evening.
If we don’t have enough ‘bums on seats’ by then, the minibus will NOT be travelling.
If you want to book seats, register your claim to seats – by Sunday evening.
We need at least another 9 bums or the bus won’t happen. Sunday cut-off is to allow those who have booked seats to make other arrangements.
@BDTT –
What a total effing bummer that bus hasn’t been oversubscribed many times over!
Come on all ye lurkers – this is an historic chance, and it’ll not come again…as is the nature of historic chances.
Make yourselves known to the man, get yourself a seat booked, and join us for one evening. What’s the worst that could happen? You might even win the raffle!
Get to it, oh ye accursed by doubt and shyness – a braw nicht awaits ye!
I’m being told that I have to say I’m coming on 1st May, and book a badge or something. So can I be booked.
The WOS boys – and girls – will be back in town…be part of it! Book yer seat on the bus, and do it soon!
Thin Lizzy, ‘The Boys Are Back In Town’ –
This world do be a strange place, right?
Anyone care to explain how one dude with a guitar can make this? –
John Martyn, ‘I’d Rather Be The Devil’ –
Hi Morag.
That’s you on the list.
I’m having an early night tonight, just about to turn in, because I have to be up early tomorrow for the minibus through to the rally in George Square.
So, tonight, I will leave you with this, for 25th April, ANZAC Day.
Morag! Sweetness! You are going to be at the CH? I will be there xxx
Darlings you can come out now – yes wee michael had his wee bit of fame, oh how you all were so concerned (or not) about my disappointment – notes have been taken, never mess again sweeties – the next ‘king of the castle’ will have difficulty walking.
@ Beedeeteetee 11:50 kisses honey – let us remember.
RIGHT enough maudling get the juke-box fired up, Wreckless Eric in twenty seconds unless…
such joy and pleasure – the dansette is loaded
ffs – music NOW
Home counties night!
Where?
Is it worth it?
Please do not ask for any more
@ Paula Rose. Not Happy with the wee Michael. Anyway this one is for You. link to youtube.com
Re The first one hundred National newspapers mentioned in my earlier posts. I phoned the Edinburgh South Yes Café Yesterday and they sounded happy to take them. I will hopefully drop them off to them early next week.
y’Aldi (c) Michael McCabe & Paula Rose, what you two up to at this time once upon a Saturday morn?
Grooooovy chunes ah swell.
I woke up this morning to find a huge pile of dogshit had been pushed through my letterbox.
Or “Labour election leaflets” as they’re otherwise known.
True Story.
My mum ran off with the milkman when I was eight years old.
Watching them drive away on his float were the worst three hours of my life.
True Story.
My wife came up to me the other day and asked me, “what do you like most, my pretty face or my sexy body?”
I looked her up and down from head to toe.
“Your sense of humour” I replied.
True Story.
My wife said she was going to leaving me at 2 o’clock if i didn’t give up my obsession with horse racing.
I replied, That fine by me, You better get packing, It’s 5-2
True Story.
wee Jonny
Woohahahahahaha. 🙂
I have a true story
A mild-mannered man was tired of being bossed around by his wife so he went to a psychiatrist. The psychiatrist said he needed to build his self-esteem, and so gave him a book on assertiveness, which he read on the way home. He had finished the book by the time he reached his house.
The man stormed into the house and walked up to his wife. Pointing a finger in her face, he said, “From now on, I want you to know that I am the man of this house, and my word is law! I want you to prepare me a gourmet meal tonight, and when I’m finished eating my meal, I expect a sumptuous dessert afterward. Then, after dinner, you’re going to draw me my bath so I can relax. And when I’m finished with my bath, guess who’s going to dress me and comb my hair?”
“The funeral director,” said his wife.
Ian B. Just in case that was an honest question – the Echoplex. John Martyn, what a talent. Saw him many, many times but best had to be the One World tour at Leeds Uni in late 70s. Echoplex AND quadrophonic speaker set up. Michty.
John King
I believe that was a true story from the King residence. And I’m glad Irene let you away we that one 😉
Michael McCabe sweetie – I’m sure you’re very big in all the important areas xx
@Quentin Quayle –
I’m properly jealous.
The question was, in a way, serious, because I listened to Martyn stuff for years without realising how much he does. I’d assumed that a lot of his stuff was down to hours in the studio, fiddling with knobs a la Mike Oldfield etc. Wasn’t until I saw YT vids of him on the OGWT and suchlike that it clicked, and I still can’t quite believe it. Even when you get the proper close-ups of his hands, it’s impossible to square that with the sounds he gets. Astonishing stuff.
@BDTT –
Any more bums on bus-seats?
If not, I fear we may have to ask Paula Rose to get out her paddle and have a word with these shy lurkers…harsh, but necessary.
Now bear with me, you may not care much for football but I’m sure you can recognise the difference between mediocre and world class.
This display of skill from 7 years ago is world class and the music that accompanies the video is pretty dammed good too.
@Ian Brotherhood
“Any more bums on bus-seats?
If not, I fear we may have to ask Paula Rose to get out her paddle and have a word with these shy lurkers…harsh, but necessary.”
Trouble there is, they may not be able to sit down on said seats by the time she’s done! 😉
@Thepnr –
Hoots mister, that was braw. 😉
@Oneironaut –
Good point. They’ll be on the roof-rack, buttocks facing into the headwind.
Never mind – we’ll have a bit tub of Savlon waiting for them. (Makes mental note: bring some disposable gloves…)
@ BrianDTT CH badges.
David Mc Guinness & Sarah McGuinness Thanks Brian.
@Ian Brotherhood
There you go again, raising the tone of the message in Off Topic 🙂
I had a Box of Disposable Gloves. But I cant remember where I left them.
@Michael McCabe
Haha reminded me of some Tommy Cooper jokes 🙂
Went to the paper shop – it had blown away.
I went to buy some camouflage trousers the other day but I couldn’t find any.
I bought some HP sauce the other day. It’s costing me 6p a month for the next 2 years.
Hey! This is Off Topic right! No need to laugh, but can if you want.
link to youtube.com One Lady in the Audience gets what its all about.
@Thepnr
Think @Ian Brotherhood is trying to entice a certain Paula into the conversation..and Ian..Witch Hazel is better 🙂
Hi peeps. Just a few wee thoughts on getting bums on seats for the CH night out.
1. I admit to not paying much attention to this as I’ll be travelling by train from Edinburgh, BUT…
I’m not aware of seeing a recent timetable for departure from pick up points, arrival at CH or the departure and estimated drop off times for return journey. Folk need to know this for e.g. child minders or the walking of wee dugs etc.
2. How much does a seat for bum cost? Don’t know but here’s an idea. As a lot of folk may want to go, but feel they can’t pay and are too embarrassed to say, why don’t we crowdfund the last 9 seats and make them ALL free on a first come first first served basis? (As long as the coach driver is prepared to wait until he reaches the CH or unless a Winger on bus can stump up for 9 seat total, and wait to be recompensed at CH.)
Come on Wingers, isn’t this what we do? Help those in need?
I’ll sponsor a seat – anyone else up for it?
If we get 9 sponsors, maybe the organiser of the bus (Thepnr/BDTT?) could contact Stuey and ask him if we can post the info either as an article or as first comment on next article he posts, to give it prominence. Of course, he might attack you with hammers! For your cheek. 😉
Count me in for sponsoring a bum, so to speak
Jock Scot – my hero. 😉 And that deffo deserves a kiss from me to you on the night. 😉
Will you be leaving from Waverley? If so maybe meet up with you for journey.
So folks, 2 bums on seats payment commitment – only another 7 to go. 🙂
@TJenny –
Good shout. Let’s make it happen – stick or carrot, however.
It’s not just a ‘social night’ – it’s sending a message to the bullies who tried to claim ‘George Square’ as their territory on Sep 19th. Aye, they can have ‘George Square’, but ‘Freedom Square’ is what it’s already called by many, and will be known as in years to come.
They can belittle and insult us all they like, but so long as we keep doing this stuff there’s no way we can be ignored.
Marley, ‘Get Up, Stand Up’ –
Just about to post another song. But before I do. Can I just say what an Excellent idea that is TJenny. A lot of great and smart people use this website. Anyway. link to youtube.com
Here’s a wee tune for Wingers everywhere.
Bill Withers and ‘Lean on me’
Enjoy. 🙂
Just love the harmonizing when they get into the song. link to youtube.com
TJenny dear – the lovely Michael McCabe is all mine, hands off honey xx
Hey TJenny, count me in a stake for some of that sponsorship action. Get the on-board entertainment sorted out ye passengers.
I reckon some of the many viewers on here will appear in words yet, will probably feel compelled to do, more than ever.. after all, it’s now easy, like Sunday morning.
You got five and legs eleven days tae go.
@ T Jenny. Im in for £20,jist get ah erse on aah seat.
Count me in for the sponsorship of a seat. 😀
Tjenny and others it is great that you are wanting to sponsor seats in the bus only problem is I would feel guilty traveling on Friday with a half empty bus and a lot of fresh air (if only on the outward journey as I am sure on the way back it won’t be as fresh :!) ) as always we have people lurking in the shadows frightend to take the small step and be part of this great community that is WOS,
on that note at the Wings stall yesterday in George square the sale of badges raised 406.88 going to the Scottish Kidney Federation well done Ronnie Anderson “the walking talking billboard” and “barrow boy” castle hill chav who’s sale patter brought donations from far and wide
@TJenny
Look forward to that kiss and I will be aiming for about 6.30 from Haymarket but depends on how quickly I can get there from work.
@Pete
Guilt has no place oan that bus..dinnae be bringing it with you and we will all see you there with smiles on. Well done with the badges, the stall has never looked busier and it was good to see many people wanting or being (shall we say) coaxed to have a photo with the banner taken. Great company with Brian and Ronnie too and I heard that a Ninja Penguin was in the vicinity.
Hey Pete, that’s great news about the money raised. It was a great day, so nice meeting up with fellow Wingers.
Will see you all on Friday at CH.
Hi all will be at CH on Friday.
I would love a seat on that bus, but I don’t suppose it drops by Calais. It will always be a source of disappointment to me that I never managed to get to a Wings do or any of these great rallies, but it has been fun following you all in your various mad exploits, and who knows what the future brings.
I’ll sponsor a seat. Only 11 days to go! Keep your fingers and toes crossed for us down here in the Borders.
Hi folks,
Been a few days since I have been on off topic and find that T Jenny has suggested something I was discussing with the other half.
Re: sponsoring seats on the bus from Dundee, count JimT and me in.
Bdtt/Pete/Alex – how much do you need for the untaken seats? If we know that, we know what we are aiming at and I’ve no doubt it will be covered, one way or another 😉
btw, you are heroes for collecting so much in Glasgow – Ronnie too, of course 🙂
SoS I forgot to mention our other assistants at the Freedom Square rally Jock Scott ( Yew Choob Channel) & Young Martyn in Da Hoose, (caz ms) laddy.
Dear all you generous people, it’s great to know that we will all help where possible but that may not really be the issue.
I definately want the bus to go so BTDD it must go even with a few hardy souls, it would not be right now not to go. I’m sure you know what I mean.
Unfortunately, I have to say I can no longer attend, my Father In law passed away on Friday and his funeral is next Friday.
I’ve let down Paula Rose as I was to drive her though and back, sometimes circumstances defeat your best plans and all that, but we are meantime sorting alternatives.
I really hope the Dundee bus goes ahead just so those that have already booked get there, then I’d be happy. Even happier if anyone who had maybe thought of going and had now decided to get their name down for the bus.
Loads of Dundonians on this site, go on, it will be a good night. Your last chance to meet other Wingers before the vote. Don’t be shy it, you will enjoy it. I promise 🙂
Something to tell the grandchildren and you’ll get a badge 🙂
@Thepnr
Condolences and you will be in our thoughts. See you at the next one.
@Thepnr –
Really sorry to hear that mister. You’ll be missed on the night, but we’ll raise one to ye.
Darlings you’ll have read Thepnr’s sad news. Now though I have nowhere to stay overnight – I can get the bus through but if I get it back I’ll be stuck in Dundee! Quelle horreur!
Anyone ready to sleep on their sofas?
@ Thepnr
Alex, you are having a tough time at the moment. Sorry to hear about your loss. What a sad time it has been for you and your family over the past couple of months.
Sorry you will not be with us on Friday, but, we’ll raise a glass to you and your family and you will all be in our thoughts.
As for the bus, you Dundonian Wingers (including lurkers) hiding out there heard Alex, did you not? Make yourselves known to Briandoonthetoon and book your seat on the bus. Come along and meet a great bunch from the Wings family. You won’t be disappointed and you will definitely be amused! 🙂
Dear Thepnr, I’m so sorry. Please pass on my sympathies to your wife.
xxx
Hi Alex.
Sorry to read your news. My thoughts are with you and yours.
Re: the minibus from Dundee. I had a blether with Pete the Camera today about the situation; it’s pointless sending a 19-seater minibus to Glasgow with 6 or 7 bums in it.
If there’s no minibus, Pete will take his car, which covers him, me, my son, and Sand Holmes from work. That leaves Chipmonkey, Quentin Quayle and Paula Rose to arrange something.
It would be great if a lone driver was heading to Glasgow and could travel via Brechin and Blairgowrie, to hoover up the three amigos.
Onnyhoo, I have repeated the post below on two Facebook pages with which I am associated: the “YES BUS… SCOTLAND’S DRAGON FOR INDY” page,
link to facebook.com
and the “Yes We Care Dundee” page.
link to facebook.com
Here’s what I posted.
We’re still short of the needed number of bums so If you want to book seats for what will be a great night, stick a post in here, claiming however many seats you need.
The cost will be £10 return.
Remember, you only have 24 hours.
Dundee fowk show us your mettle, there really is nothing to fear, they fear us, never forget that.
OK, here’s the updated list of peeps who have asked for badges on Friday. Add these names to the list I already posted on the 19th, at:-
Morag
Sarah McGuinness
David Mc Guinness
LizM
And the ones I picked up at George Square yesterday…
Ninja Penguin
Nod Bruce
Iain Bruce
Jördi McArthur
Alan Walker
Scott Chung
Gillian Ruglonian
Regretfully, I have removed Thepnr from the list. That makes 52 so far.
Any more? You only have until TUESDAY evening to claim your badge for Friday.
@Thepnr
Sorry to hear about that 🙁
Can’t be of much help with the bus seat sponsorship I’m afraid, as I’m starting to wonder if I’ll even have enough for the train fare up to Glasgow.
I’ll try to be there on the night, but it’s a bit uncertain as yet.
Wish I could be of more help than that, but such is the story of my life it seems…
@ Thepnr. Sorry to here of your loss.
Somebody put this up on twitter, Tommy Sheridan I think. I hope this works ? link to youtube.com if it does it will seriously make you laugh out loud.
Sorry about that last post. its the same video that I seen on twitter. but it had subtitles. and the one I posted has not. if anybody has seen the one with Subtitles and knows how to post it here on off topic would you Please. Cheers.
48 VIP seats now remaining at the Counting House gig in Glasgow 😉
ThePNR
Hi matey. Sorry about your loss. My sympathies to yourself and the family. Take care.
James
@Cactus, 4:00am
I see what you did there! 🙂
BTW, 4:00am!!!! You are more of a nighthawk than moi 🙂
@Alex
Really sorry to hear of your loss. My thoughts are with you at this difficult time.
You will be sorely missed at the CH, but we will be thinking of you.
Sorry to intrude but Counting House is wetherspoons is it not?
It seems their outlet at Queen St station has refused someone entry for having a saltire, according to twitter
Any thoughts?
@Cactus
I’m no VIP but I would like a seat to rest my old bones – big smilie thing!
@ Fiona, 10:05am
I believe the establishment refusing entry was the one in front of Queen Street Station, Camperdown Place I think it is named, beside Burger King.
That is the one I saw in a photo with regard to this story.
@X_Sticks, 10:19am
I think your VIP seat is booked already – you’re on the list!! :-O
See ya there or be square 🙂 That old phrase just popped into this old head… 1960s memory? 🙁
@ Betty Boop,
Yes it was.
@ Fiona, 10:05am
Forgot to say, is it perhaps because the saltire was on a pole. I believe CH refused to let folk in with flag poles in the past. Giving the benefit of the doubt, probably from a health and safety perspective.
Not sure, Betty Boop: but the lady was in wheelchair and the child with her was wearing a flag. I only know what is on twitter, but it doesn’t sound good.
Not taking any particular position: just thought that those going to the CH might want to think about it
@Michael McCabe, 2:27am
This is the link with the subtitles:
link to captiongenerator.com
Enjoy 🙂
Hi all
we are doing another Crowdfunder called “Going Foward”. Anything you can do to help would be appreciated as always.
link to igg.me
—
Alex, my thoughts are with you. I hope I can see you soon maybe at another WoS meetup.
@ Thistle
Just added a bit to your fund. I am sure you will make the target once you get all the Wingers on board. I’ll put it about some FB sites as well.
You were looking well at the SNP Conference, if very busy :-)- the coffee wasn’t bad though!
Thepnr,
Sorry to hear that.
Best wishes to you and your wife.
@ Betty Boop Thanks.
Alex, very sad to hear of your loss, many thoughts from me and mine, to you and yours.
BrianDTT.
Can I have a badge as well…?
Hi Castle Hills Chavie.
Of course! I forgot to add you to the list last night.
I’m just about to check Facebook – I know from email notification that at least one Winger has expressed an interest in going on the minibus.
Eh wull keep yooz posted, an’ thah’, iye?
Hi peeps.
Craig Allan Stewart has expressed a wish for a seat.
That gives us 8 –
Chipmonkey
Quentin Quayle
Pete the Camera
Brian Doonthetoon
Hanii Puppy
Sand Holmes
Paula Rose
Craig Allan Stewart
So we still need 7 or 8 to make it worthwhile.
Leaving Dundee at around 5.15 pm; leave from Glasgow at 00.15.
If you want to book seats for what will be a great night, stick a post in here, claiming however many seats you need.
The cost will be £10 return.
We could pick up/drop off at Perth, Auchterarder, Blackford and so on, down the A9/M9 – Stirling Services, Cumbernauld, for example.
The cut-off time will have to be midnight tonight, to allow peeps to make other arrangements if no minibus.
Deepest condolences Alex.
Another time for the meet and greet.
Calling Angus and all points SW down the M9 and M80.
Re the Dundee charabanc, come on folks, get your name down for Brian’s bus to the Wingding in Glasgow.
Just look at the names of those who will be on board; £10 is cheap for the entertainment, not to mention the fantastic scenery, you will get on the journey with those friends and you will still be looking forward to the amusement at the CH!
Your carriage awaits… roll up! 🙂
How about starting the bus in Brechin? Good idea don’t you think?
@Paula
Why? What’s in Brechin?
Moi, you silly boy – why? Are you driving to Glasgow and back sweetie?
Unfortunately not Paula, I’m planning to relieve the strain and get the train.
X-sticks… get off the train in Dundee and come in the bus with the A team. 🙂 Please.
Wee Jonny… why are you not coming on Friday,on the bus? Can’t you change your mind?
Would love to chipmonkey but I’ll be going down early to get some other things done 🙁
Technically 9 days to go now, but I was determined to have a very basic “why am I voting SNP” post up, to see if I could elucidate.
I really wanted to convey to people just what a change the SNP have made for me in my day-to-day life, and why voting for them has been so beneficial even in an abstract way – making friends, self-development, helping hands – beyond simple policy.
The SNP really is a movement, now.
@ Taranaich Hear,hear!”
Ronnie Anderson
Hi Ronnie, I have just finished night shift out here.
Is this for the Counting House night out?
Thanks for asking about the names. Just put down Caz and Martyn.
I come off the rig on Friday, so we should be there. Will check out your reply later, I’m off to bed Ronnie, nighty night.
Hi peeps.
Sorry, we can’t go ahead with the minibus – only 8 have said they wanted a seat. 4 of us are going down in Pete’s car, leaving Paula Rose (Brechin), Chipmonkey and Quentin Quayle (Blairgowrie) and Craig Allan Stewart (Dundee) to make other arrangements.
Apologies again.
Glum face thingy. Sorry folks. No way QQ or I can drive to Glasgow and back at the end of a busy day without collapsing in a heap. I’ve checked out bus and train from Dundee,but with the lowest price about £28.70 each to still have to leave just after 10… well no sense in that. I even checked out the Premier Inn to stay over until I realised that would make it a bit hard to campaign at home on Saturday morning:-) Have a nice night. xx
@bdtt thank-you for trying so hard 🙂
@Taranaich
Folowing your post on the “The punch Ali didn’t throw” article, is there anything I can do to help out with the rest of the Devo Files?
Definitely feel that they’re information that should be available to everyone running an election campaign stall in the final days till voting day.
Confront a few of Labour’s few remaining loyal voters with the ugly truth… (Not that they’ll be likely to see it through those rose-tinted goggles!)
Cheers Chipmonkey.
It’s a fine minibus too – we used it to go to the rally in Glasgow on Saturday. It’s actually a 19 seater.
Onnyhoo, $h¡† happens, iye?
@ Chipmonkey if its any help I will be going to Dundee on Sat morning, I could run you & Graeme back to BlairG. We tip put ah bit of grey rince in your hair & get a over 55 rail ticket lol.
re Friday night – sob sob sob.
I use Linkedin and accessed the site today. I checked out the “people you may know” list and was amazed to find one Kezia Dugdale complete with photograph listed.
Can anyone give me any thoughts on how this may have happened? My name is of course in plain view here on WoS.
Aww – so unhappy that you lovely peeps from points north of Dundee are unable to travel to Glasgow.
Honestly, some of us have already offered to chip in for the bus and I am sure we would have managed to find any extra dosh if required on the night 🙁
Can ye no change your mind folks and hire that bus cos you will all be sorely missed otherwise. Have a wee think – and, heavens, Paula Rose’s counselling and therapy services will be in demand on Friday :-0
Betty Boop honey – all I need is one gallant winger to sleep on his sofa and I will be there, I’m not a teenager, so staying up all night is not an option.
@Paula Rose,
Had we lived somewhere sensible instead of the western fringes of civilisation, a bed for the night would be no problem.
As it is, we have booked overnight in Glasgow because the last train back to the boonies leaves at a ridiculously early time.
So, Wingers, the call is out – one sofa required with PR’s name on it!
Oh well I’ll slum it – offers of a sofa will be gratefully received, I know I’ve been spoilt with water beds and four-posters at previous night-outs!
@ Paula Rose You can stay with me I have a spare bed,& get a one way rail ticket, dare I say it for people over a certain age but it is £20 return any where in Scotland & thats cheaper than a one way ticket. I will be going to Dundee on Sat morning.
Stay with the incomparable ronnie anderson! My I’m all aflutter!
@ Paula Rose Aye but leave your crystal bell,on your own bedside cabinet,there,s nae servants here lol, oh my god I,ll need tae by napkins.
Well I did say I was prepared to slum it at 8:59 – la contessa is raising her eyebrows.
@Paula Rose
Stop fluttering. The bed is in Ronnie’s shed ! 😉
A bed in history! Swoon…
But mes petites, nous avons to get les QQ and chipmonkey a la event aussi. Nous avons le return journey sorted – any way we can sort this?
Hi Paula Rose.
Good to read that you have, in your own style, secured a berth for the night in Ronnie’s shed.
I did a quick search, as you typed, “Oh well I’ll slum it”.
There’s a luxury charabanc leaves Seagate Bus Station in Dundee at 17.05 and arrives at Glasgow’s Buchanan Bus Station at 18.40. This gives you 20 minutes to sassily promenade down the road to the Counting House, awarding the crowds who have rushed to get a glimpse of you (word on the grapevine), with your customary demure ‘wave’.
Journey details here:-
link to tinyurl.com
If you’re coming back up to Dundee with Ronnie on Saturday, that means you’ll be able to join the rest of the Wingers campaigning with Team YES Bus at City Square!
Dundee will be honoured…
Just did a post but it “is awaiting moderation.”
BDTT dearie did you use swearie words?
You are a honey Paula. We have been quiet because we want to come. Emailing you with an idea. xx
chipmonkey – I find that keeping quiet is not a good way of signalling that you are coming, just saying like.
I am delighted to inform you that the triple A team of Paula Rose,Quentin Quale and myself will indeed be arriving at said CH wings get together. ????
QQ and I had resigned ourselves to being sensible (What?us?) and staying home on Friday evening.Not happy bunnies though. Then I happened to pick up my multimedia device and read posts and emails. Paula Rose and QQ both came up with plans.
Please,please put us back on the list!!
Hurrah!
xxxx
Chipmonkey and QQ – we can do this, drive to mine, we get a lift to the station, we go to Glasgow, you stay in a tinkly bell place – other wingers help with funds if need be, ronnie anderson drives us to Dundee, I’ll get us a lift to mine and on to yours – simples.
I’m with Betty.
Just get the bus folks.
According to Brian there were 7-8 seats at £10 needed.
I will guarantee to pay the £80 required. If anyone else wants to chip in fine, but the cost will be covered. You have my word.
Bdtt,
About 95% that I will be there.
@ X_Sticks
Aye, whatever it takes! Looks like Chips might have a plan too though.
Need to talk about future strategy sometime too – there will be future gatherings 🙂
The tears are long since wiped from my eyes – we will be amongst you, cearc that would be the icing on the cake to see you again. Morag my pet you too.