Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
Having a discussion with a friend last night. Does anyone know where I can find details of % of postal votes returned for the referendum.
ta
Just added 20 GBP for Paula Rose.
We shall triumph!
Check out Richard Jobson here. Unique dancing style.
The Skids, ‘Working For The Yankee Dollar’ –
IB
“(BTW, you scrubbed-up well for the Scotlandshire shoot. Respect due. I hope they reimbursed you correctly.”
Jings I thought I had put too much chili powder in the stew, phew you should have hud yer liberty bodice oan PR ye’ll catch yer death o cauld
BTW “the bold Irene will be happy to run the raffle for you Ian she has a bottle of whisky she won at inverwhatsit (cannie gie the stuff away) its a bottle of Grants I know I know, I said they’re likely to crack it over your head and launch you into the Clyde
Robert Kerr,
noted, thanks.
Ian Brotherhood says:
1 March, 2015 at 12:00 am
Jermaine Stewart, ‘We Don’t Have To Take Our Clothes Off (To Have A Good Time)’
Only if you like knee tremblers?
I regret that I have fallen into the position of doing a TEST post, as the post I did at a couple of minutes past 8 has gone walkabout in the matrix.
Tried reposting but “Duplicate post was detected”.
Wonder if it’s enjoying itself, wherever it is?
I’m going to enjoy myself tonight – time to put something on xx
Hi Paula Rose an’ onnybuddie else.
Check out my post at 7.56pm on the ‘Dippity Dug’ page.
I think you’ll like it.
@Jim McIntosh –
44.7 YES
55.3 NO
If I’ve done the link right it’s at 6 minutes in.
It really hurt to watch that again.
I got rid of the http bit, but it just came up again anyway.
Sorry Jim. I just realised you asked for postal votes. Though they might be in there as well.
BDTT SAYS
“Tried reposting but “Duplicate post was detected”.
Wonder if it’s enjoying itself, wherever it is?
Snigger 🙂
but seriously an if you just add another sentence or just a couple of words it wont been regarded as a duplicate post.
an= BRIAN 🙁
Hi john king.
???
I’m perfuzzled at your post. Moi neh spikka Fifeorian.
ACH! Got it on rereading John!
Hi John H.
It appears that the way WordPress works is that if a web address contains ‘www’ (like YouTube), you don’t need the ‘http://’ and so on. The WordPress system adds the ‘http://’.
But if a web address DOESN”T contain ‘www’, you still need the ‘http://.
Beedeeteetee dear, I did like it – now with regards to the duplicate comment thingy I find that,”Is that right?” does the trick.
Brian Doonthetoon
Thanks Brian. So the Rev won’t kill me then?
Hi John H.
I think you live to type another day…
OK, let’s try this. ß ? © ? ? ?
This is the post ¬ I did at a couple of ? minutes past 8 but, this ? time, I have added odd ç characters into it. You’ll recognise ? and ? ignore them, to make a sensible read ~.
I posted • this on µ the ¶ ‘Dippity Dug’ ^ page at 7.56pm but I’m gonna % repeat it here?.
Thanks to ¢ Danny McGee (a shy lurker) # for this link ?.
Check € out the consecutive ¡ road names ? at 1:37 and 1:40.
Prescient, å ur whut?
JEEZ! It’s no’ easy bein’ a vile cybernat…
John H says
“Thanks Brian. So the Rev won’t kill me then?”
Probably not,
not on your first day at least,
it took a week before he killed me! 🙁
Seems like I’m going to be doing a stroking tour of the British Isles soon – I love you all. You will be able to specify stroking preferences at a later date.
Hi Paula Rose.
I saw what you did in “its-that-time-of-year-again”.
Eh um keepin’ meh eh on you…
Jealous of my ability to spot an opening dear?
John King. 🙂
My dearest sweetest honey darlings – keep those tenners coming, I need the grand.
Those of you who have met me ken there will be no hoarding – all will be re-distributed to Wingers of reknown.
I might need a limited edition of “I’ve stroked Paula Rose” badges.
@John King –
Please give Irene a smacker from me (no, not a PR-style smacker…
Raffle prizes? We need some good stuff. Thinking of writing to Brian Haudoanthenoo to see if he’ll give us one of his old syrup-of-figs. (He must have a few, surely?)
Anyway, here’s a good song.
Stone Roses, ‘Fools Gold’ –
Some people might not be too turned on by one of my special strokings, but Ian honey we could offer a private performance – I deliver the stroke of their choice! Raffle a go go – we could sell tickets on-line.
Hi Paula Rose.
“I might need a limited edition of “I’ve stroked Paula Rose” badges.”
You must have inhaled more of that Invergowrie Inn car park air than I thought.
There have never been “I’ve stroked Paula Rose” badges.”. Unless you have a black market badge supplier?
However, a very limited edition of “I’ve been stroked by Paula Rose” badges are known to be ‘in the wild’…
@Paula Rose –
Hmm, it’s a thought. We could probably fill the Armadillo (if you’ll pardon the expression).
I missed out the “been” and “by” on purpose you silly sausage.
@ Ian Brotherhood am up fur a bottle of Malt fur the raffle,Natasha stuck me in fur the bottle of Grants at Invergowrie ( wee bissum, ah bet she,s the Teachers klipe)oonyhows any prefferances, there,s that many on the banned list.does enby drink OZZO in support of the Greek econemy ye mind lol.
@ Briandoonthetoon 11.12. ah meant tae ask that nite what Wee Johnny,s ladders were against that carpark wa fur, but you,ve answered the question.
Stickers is it? Right, that just got me thinking of this modern re-take on the old Link Wray classic.
The Others – I’m Branded
That’s just not quite right though. Here’s the dude with his Ray Men, back when he was inventing power chords (late ’50s – early ’60s).
Link Wray And His Wray Men – I’m Branded
Here’s another of his early recordings, just ’cause it’s one of my all-time favs. I found it when 14 and never looked back. 😉
Link Wray – Hidden Charms
Thanks John H – but I was interested in just the % postal votes. I believe this was 66%/34% for NO.
I believe there were approximately 780,000 postal votes, how many were returned?
Pedant query.
Can any of you bright young things help me out here?
I’m seeing lots of folk using ‘that’ when they mean ‘than’ in text.
For example,’England has a larger population that Scotland’.
Drives me nuts.
Am I missing something too subtle for my aging brain?
Hi Ronnie.
That’ll be because the perpetrators have their smartphone/tablet/laptop/computer set to “auto-correct” and/or are using ‘predictive text’, where the device monitors your typing and makes a guess as to the word you are intending to type.
I have my devices set to indicate questionable spelling by means of red underlining so, as I type a sentence, I can glance at what I’ve typed to see if correction is required.
Brian DTT,
Thanks, I did wonder if that might be the cause. It just seemed to be happening too often for folk not to notice. I have never trusted predictive text, as it is so often wrong, it’s just not worth it.
Or does nobody take time to check before sending, maybe I’m old-fashioned that way! I willingly admit to being pedantic about spelling, grammar, punctuation, etc.
I just feel that when you’re effectively speaking to the world, you should try to get it right.
Some of the clangers on here make me despair at times.
Cheers anyway.
Has the (Glasgow) Herald recently changed its policy on voting on comments?
It used to be that I could give the ‘thumbs-up’ to comments I liked without signing in, but now it seems that you need to be signed in for both thumbs-up AND thumbs-down. Why would they change their system – did OBE of Woking complain?!
@Ronnie, @Bttn:
Fres dabots hople aver bropt. Ve alpens ga thur og aif gebl.
Ar wogget nit bastrine; het retibles ve joffs.
Ek met wafad gartile glang, ar damit:
Awake!
Wee.
@Paula:
No, Finnegan.
I am awake dear.
Got an idea…
Looking for individuals, groups, organisations who would be interested in having their own regular show on our livestream channel?
The beauty of this is that it can be done from the comfort of your home and you have full control to discuss whatever you want and chat to guests. All this can be done via Skype and we livestream it to our channel (“The Citizens Broadcast Livestream Channel”).
We need content to help grow the numbers and this can help give people a voice.
Email Kevin: liveindependence@gmail.com
Thistle honey – I could do it from my dungeon!
lol, Paula you are on… Skype: indylive1
Actually I was thinking it would be cool maybe if there was a WoS show?
We could do live killing with hammers for non-paragraph break users!
@AuldA & Paula,
No, I haven’t read it either, probably too late now.
Wouldn’t be able to stay awake.
Might not make good TV – it’s a fiendish punishment, watching WHUFC play for any amount of time can cause one to lose the will to live.
HELP2 – Looking for somebody to build us an App that will display our livestream events. Do you know anybody who could help or give advice?
liveindependence@gmail.com
My reflection on our pal Lurch. 😉
The Bat Boys – Cheating Charlie
P.S. I should be able to see how many of you click this one. 🙂
I think the first one of these got lost in the either, so, guess who these are for. 🙂
Bat Boys – Cheating Charlie
Los Vidrios Quebrados – Fictions
The Executioners – Dead End
Darlings, good news! My acting agency says it’s OK for me to wear the badge on my nurse’s uniform as long as I don’t say any good words about the Labour Party.
I can say as many effing naughty ones as I like.
Here is a wee tune for Nana Smith. link to youtube.com
Michael McCabe
I see what you did there Michael. Ouch, that looked sare. 😉
Michael McCabe
Well I got that the wrong way around. I thought you were responding to the Ronnie Pearson track I posted, but you posted Tobias first. I’m confused but I don’t suppose that matters. 🙂
Saint Andrew & The Woolen Mill – Baps & Paste
Today’s maths square, almost certain there is a mistake e.g. the middle column total could be 9 instead of 10 or some other error.
See this ‘paragraph break’ thing. I’m assuming it just means those who do not break their post into paragraphs, or is it referring to some control character which should be used like in Word?
@Ronnie:
It’s never too late for dreaming… even if sometimes the awakening is, well, brutal.
@Chic McG:
What are you talking about. Something in the National I suppose?
Cheers!
@Chic McGregor
I think that once you do about 8 lines or so (of text that is) a couple of s will see you good.
Not sure what the Hammer Threshold(tm) would actually be though. Maybe Stu uses fuzzy logic to determine the tipping point and repeat offending massively reduces the threshold.
There’s bound to be a Maths thesis in there somewhere.
aaargghhhh … bloody WordPress and it’s background html killer!
That should have read ” … a couple of CRs will see you good” but I’d enclosed the CR bit in the “less than” and “greater than” symbols
Hi CameronB Brodie.
Good to see Saint Andrew & The Woolen Mill in ‘off-topic’.
Here are the A and B sides of their infamous single, on the “Dark Side Of The Haggis” label.
A:
B (Slow to start, then lets rip):
@BDtt
Ahhh, that reminded me of this lot:
And, if you look closely at the very start, isn’t that our very own Paula making an entrance? Not sure though, image is a bit grainy.
And this guy cracks me up – lots of Youtube footage of Max
Thanks Jim, that is what I do, hit return twice. I think the Rev. frowns on any more than two CR’s or one space between sentences but I was wondering if there was some new way I missed.
Hi Jim Thomson.
Cockatoos are brilliant!
What the Rev means about paragraph breaks is –
If you don’t include them every few lines you will be forced to watch West Ham United attempt to play football.
I guarantee that after ten and a half minutes you will lose the will to live.
I tried watching that exciting new team from Glasgow (the one that has surprisingly risen up the league from a standing start) – it had the same effect though.
I’ve just posted this on one or three pages on Facebook…
———————————————————-
It’s looking like there’s gonna be a total meltdown in the Labour and Lib-Dem support at the General Election on 7th May.
The new set of Ashcroft constituency polls is out tonight and they make dire reading for both of those parties. These were. mostly, strong NO voting areas in the independence referendum.
In Gordon Brown’s seat (Kirkcaldy & Cowdenbeath):
SNP – 46%
Labour – 36%
In Charles Kennedy’s seat (Ross, Skye, Lochaber):
SNP – 42%
Lib-Dem – 24%
In Alistair Darling’s seat (Edinburgh South West):
SNP- 40%
Labour – 26%
In Sandra Osborne’s seat (Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock ):
SNP – 41%
Labour – 31%
In Sir Robert Smith’s seat (Lib-Dem, Aberdeenshire West & Kincardine):
SNP – 40%
Tory – 27%
Lib-Dem – 14%
Labour – 13%
In Jim Murphy’s seat (Renfrewshire East):
SNP – 37%
Labour – 30%
In David Mundell’s seat (the only Tory in Scotland; Dumfries, Clydesdale & Tweeddale):
SNP – 35%
Tory – 32%
Wingers, taking into consideration the results from Ashcroft on 4th February, which showed 20+% swings to the SNP in mainly YES voting areas, it looks like we are on the verge of a historical breakthrough.
link to lordashcroftpolls.com
@ Brian DoontheToon
In Jim Murphy’s seat (Renfrewshire East):
SNP – 37%
Labour – 30%
Are you sure that one is correct?
Those were the figures from here:-
You can get all the figures here:-
BTW: the weighted figures are different by a couple of %age points.
Good lookin’ figures above there Brian Doonthetoon.
I’m down for both Sunday 15th March & Friday 1st May gigs. Sat 25th April to be confirmicated 🙂
Have a wicked Wednesday night ye all!
Here’s a rock track
AuldA
Yes its a maths square puzzle in the National.
I forgot that you have to do the X and / before +s and -s.
Got it now.
Its only the third day of them I think.
Well my lovelies – as the world would have it, I am off to my yearly retreat to ponder life, meaning and materialism.
I expect a gold badge on my return.
Hi Paula Rose.
I thought that local retreat was called Pondlife, without the ‘er’, but knowing you, it probably stretches out to ‘oo er missus’.
Enjoy. Lady might be back by the time you return to the off-topic fold.
I see the table, Brian DoontheToon
I am just confused because Mr Ashcroft says:
“But what of Jim Murphy? Well, on the basis of this snapshot, after 7th May……he may be rather lonely in Westminster but at least he’ll be there.”
Can’t reconcile that with these figures, nor with the report on ScotgoesPop that labour are 1% ahead in East Ren.
Best thing to do is look at the various pages in the data for each constituency, Fiona.
There’s umpteen ways of extrapolating the findings. Makes an interesting half hour though!
8=)
Pity Vote No – screw your country deposed politicians still get their full pension.
@Brian Doonthetoon
The worrying figure in the aggregated table is that for the social class DE where 10% say they won’t vote. That works out at roughly 2.5% of the total electorate which is roughly 100,000 non-voters in that class.
So, are they natural Labour voters or just people who really don’t give a stuff about who is going to drop the next load of shite on them because they’re going to be dumped on regardless?
During the IndyRef, SSP did a sterling job of rousing that end of the electorate scale and I suspect they could be seriously influential in helping a more socially minded party (i.e. NOT SLab) get a chance at influencing their future well-being. I just hope that SSP are still as active along with RIC in the locations where the DE social class reside.
I have no idea if the DEs, who had been encouraged to register to vote, are still on the register (following the rule change to individual, rather than household, registration). It would be helpful to get them to check if they are still registered. That in itself has difficulties in terms of access to the new methods of registration. I still suspect that it’s a devious ploy to lose the less informed off the register and keep encouraging people I meet to just get on-line and register (if they can).
Hi Jim.
I know Chris Law’s team (Dundee West) are out canvassing around 5 days a week. They are covering the schemes like Charleston, Menzieshill, Kirkton and so on, that were well canvassed by RIC (twice a week) during the referendum campaign.
I don’t think McGovern will still be in his job, come 8th May. I’ve heard that the percentage of those intending to vote SNP, in Kirkton for example, is around 80%.
That’s good to know Brian.
Our own Betty Boop has been trudging the streets tonight as well. She’s also getting through the on-line training for the phone canvassing.
All I can say is “Watch out Ayrshire” 🙂
Just had a look at Odds Checker … jings … Philippa has gone to evens with Ladbrokes! SNP started at 16/1 on 19th Sept.
Donohoe (our SLab offering) is still drifting towards evens but not quite there yet. Currently sitting at 8/11 odds on, but definitely drifting 🙂
Labour wipeout in Scotland.. Where I Find My Heaven…
@JimT –
Drifting?
‘Tis a pity he’s not drifting towards Greenland in a barrel.
Hi Jim.
This is the Team YES Bus anthem…
Crash Test Dummies…. Slab
@Ian –
Drifting?
‘Tis a pity he’s not drifting towards Greenland in a barrel
His fuckin hair certainly is 🙂
Greens polling at 3% in East Renfrewshire – does anyone have influence to come to a deal here with the Greens vis-s-vis arrangements written in blood for the 2016 regional list?
To all Labour party members.. So What!
Did anyone catch R5 Question Time Extra Time last night?
If you didn’t,I suggest you do.Morag,well known to us from Morning Call,was on.She was,as usual,polite and informative.The hosts then brought on a young boy,from Basildon,who is a first time voter.What happened next was the most nauseating piece of prejudice imaginable.
Catch it on iplayer and see for yourselves.
Paula Rose will be thrilled with todays National – 40 pages now. Definitely getting thicker.
@Arabs for Independence
You can email me at thepnr03@gmail.com
Here from you soon hopefully.
@CMG:
Crap. Precisely when I decided to switch to an unlimited access to the website but waived the electronic copy of the newspaper.
Silly me.
40 pages? What did they stuff in? More news? Did they finally open a science column?
I put out a letter to a few local newspapers today. If you regularly read a local paper, keep an eye out for it.
TIA
@AuldA –
More TV coverage, new weekly feature looking at different constituencies before General Election. Hard to tell what else…perhaps they’re getting more ads? Seems it’ll just be the 40-pages on Fridays, so perhaps they’re toying with idea of expanding? Here’s hoping they do.
@Ian Brotherhood
A racing section for next weeks Cheltanham Festival would be nice for those that way inclined.
I can wait until next year though :o)
Ian Brotherhood, Paula seems to be in Venice enjoying a break with some friends.
I’m sure she will log in after the cafes have closed for the night!
@Lanarkist –
God help Venice.
RE: The National’s 40 pages.
I’m sure, in the first week of publication, the Friday edition had 40 pages.
Yep, just checked my archive. Friday, 28th November; 40 pages. Smith was on the front page with “It’s Not Enough”.
I can hardly type this, blinded by tears and snotters, but this is for the bold Paula Rose…
Scottish Bagpipes, ‘Will Ye No Come Back Again?’
@Thepnr (8.05) –
RE: Racing form etc…
We’ve mentioned this a few times in past months.
It surely wouldn’t cost that much, given that the Herald covers the racing cards, and always has done. Okay, they’ve maybe never given it the same cartoonish coverage that the Sun/DR manage, but it would tip a lot of ‘punters’ (forgive the multiple puns there) over to the National. If done properly, with some minimal ‘Expert Commentary’ (er, mibbe’s the big man, AS?) it could easily justify another two pages, and draw in more adverts.
Let’s keep mentioning this – no doubt, it’s being noted.
Poster doesn’t believe I’m six feet and broad shouldered. Must think I’m exaggerating.
Sheesh! 🙁
Photo sixth down here:
link to grousebeater.wordpress.com
Tribute to Slab conference….
There wasn’t quite as many as there was a while ago
Tribute to Creepy Jim and his Irn Bru crate…
Just… because..
Anybody putting a bet on how many seats SNP might win?
Alternatively, is there a bookie offering odds?
@ Grouse Beater William Hill odds for SNP seats 0-5 100/1 6-10 33/1 11-15 25/1 16-20 14/1 A wee Break. 21-25 12/1 26-30 6/1 31-35 6/1 36-40 5/1 and finally. 41-45 3/1 46-50 3/1 51 and over 2/1 The bookies no taken any chances with those Odds. I think over 40. Love to take them all though. Happy Betting.
@Michael McCabe –
Fascinating odds. Wonder what they’d offer on SNP getting the whole lot.
A wonderful adoption party for Pete Wishart in Perth last night. Mind you, Pete could have put on some sausage rolls.
There is a good buzz about the upcoming GE and why not? Labour telling their ‘ain folk’ to vote Tory and Dave telling Ed to rule out a pact with SNP. So, we love you Scotchlanders, but we don’t want you taking part in the democratic process.
A wee tune for a Saturday
My first comment on WINGS!!!
I am resident in venezia!
I love absolutly wings over scotlandia
Last night I sleep with paula rosa Dio Mio deo ex machina!!!!
Hahaha bye bye babee!!!!!!
Here’s one for AuldA.
Salut!
(No idea what they’re singing about. It’s all Greek to me.)
Baccara, ‘Parlez-vous Francais?’
Thanks, Michael. I’ll take my chances and place a couple of bets.
Need help:
Serious hit of spring to summer last year. Female singer – begins with atmospheric repeated melody played on Jamaican steel drums, then a sudden clash of orchestrated music…
I think the first line of the lyrics is “When the nights … or … when the lights…
It has a melancholy tone to the song but a strong rhythmic beat that carries it forward.
Been searching hours. Driving me crazy. It was everywhere.
Help! 🙁
Grouse Beater is it Arcade fire Reflecktor
Whose idea was it to let Paula Rose out of the country?
Now, the blowback…
Paula Does Venice.
FFS, how many more love-notes are we going to get? She must be giving this place as her point of contact…
‘Don’t Look Now’? aye…
Arcade fire?
No. 🙂
One of the main female singers of the last three years – she’s had at least two other hits. The damn thing was played everywhere, still hear the opening used as ‘sting’ to bookend radio and TV sequences…
It induces strong images of a city at night – lots of lights..
That opening refrain on the Jamaican steel drum has an echo added.
Paloma Faith
Lana Del Rey
Caro emerald
@ Paula Rose please come back, Ian Brotherhoods aboot tae throw himself affa the the Bridge of Sighs.
@ronnie anderson –
Yes, I am upset, and no wonder. Bloody foreigners bragging about conquering our fair maidens.
You’ll know that one about Pierre, Luigi, and Jimmy, discussing their lovemaking techniques:
Pierre (Paris, France): ‘I prepare for hours, making sure everything is just perfect. I croon, slowly, praising her until language fails. I kiss, kiss, kiss, from her toes to the top of her beautiful head. It drives her crazy I tell you, crazy…’
Luigi (Turin, Italy): ‘I sing to her, softly, ever-more softly, as I caress every part of her, and ask her to voice her deepest desires. She is powerless to resist. My own voice strengthens as she succumbs. It drives her mad I tell you, mad!’
Jimmy (Glasgow, Scotland): ‘See right after I give her one? Wipe my dick on the curtain. Drives her pure mental!’
@Contessa –
Last night I sleep with paula rosa
I don’t know how you treat ladies where you come from Contessa but please have a little more respect for our ladies.
A wee story comes to mind of when the miners were in the shower room and a young fella was bragging about his exploits with one of the young girls from the town, when a big miner said to him that is my daughter you are talking about and you are about to be hammered.
Thing is we don’t know who may be present when we discuss young ladies but we are here for Paula Rose so watch what you say..
@ Ian Brotherhood Hills is only Offering 2/1 on the SNP talking all seats at the General Election.
@ Grouse Beater I will be up all night trying to find that song. Will report back later if I think I have found it. Wish me Luck.
Going through an old box of stuff and came across a CD I hadn’t listened to for years :
Perfect moment
youtu.be/L73NX_Q9EGk
Ideal World
youtu.be/M7_zfivvmwU
Hooverville
youtu.be/dssA5ApFbo0
What’s in a word
youtu.be/RYD6ld_DGME
Words
youtu.be/UfcDJNElrl4
Harvest for the world
youtu.be/6s-SHrzXbU8
(well worth listening to the words on most tracks)
Here is a wee bit of Dibby Dibby Sound link to youtube.com
Michael: I will be up all night trying to find that song.
I can only say it’s kept me awake two days now. Not even construction crew that work with a popular music station blaring permanently by the ears knew the answer.
The other day on state radio I heard the old £500 quid worse off threat again (what is it with £500 quid?).
What with the £500 quid threat and oil running out, it’s beginning to feel a lot like September.
Prepare yourselves now for the arrival of St Gordon and perhaps a promise of some even newer powers.
Last night, Pete the Camera and I went along to the official launch of Chris Ward’s campaign to win Dundee West for the SNP, in The Friary.
It was a good night, both the speeches, from the politicians, like John Swinney and Chris Law and the music, from Frankie Cosgrove (from the band Independence) and the Graham Brown Band “unplugged”.
Onnyhoo, as Pete and I walked back to his car in the Friary’s car park, I saw a banner tied to the railings. My creative juices started to flow so I took a pic of it and, today, I played with it in Photoshop.
Here’s the result.
Feel free to share.
If you want to see/hear Chris Law’s speech from last night, you can find it here:-
BTW: he gives Wings a mention.
I typed “Chris Ward’s campaign”.
Of course, I meant to type “Chris Law’s campaign”.
Mea Culpa…
Thanks for the Chris Law speech Brian.
Still thinking about badge designs 😀
Once again, a reminder about booking seats for the charabanc from Dundee to the Wing’s get-together on 1st May.
We have 6 bums on seats so far.
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Wing’s = Wingers’.
@ Grouse Beater There’s no place I would Rather Be. I have went through the Charts from April to the middle of July. I am Hoping this Might be the song you are on about. link to youtube.com Let me know if it is or not. if not I will keep on looking. I used to think I like a good Mystery. Now I just think How can people Vote for Labour.
Michael: I will keep on looking
I don’t want to impose, but familiar and pleasant melody that that is, often played as background music, it ain’t the one.
🙁
Keep in mind a Jamaican steel drum opens the track. And the song has a melancholy tone about it.
This is me, pensive as ever, outside the beach pad, trying to find out the bloody song title and singer that’s dae-in’ mah brains in!
link to grousebeater.wordpress.com
Footie & other sports for tonight or always.
link to crichd.tv
link to myp2p.ec
@Brian Doonthetoon
Now, you set my (limited) imagination running there.
picturing a woman in the throes of giving birth and the phrase “if you think this is painful you should try Labour” came to mind – not got it quite right yet, but I’m sure there’s scope for editorial adjustment 🙂
@Grouse Beater – for the tune/song any other clues?
I’ve had a quick trawl through the UK Top 40 from March to July last year and haven’t seen anything that matches the earlier clues.
Was there any techno or electronic music involved?
Was it likely to be one of those xyz featuring abc tracks?
Was it a straight song or was there any rapping in it?
Single vocalist or multiple?
Definitely female?
@Grose Beater I used this website which lets you listen to tracks
link to officialcharts.com
oops, sorry, GROUSE Beater
Thanks, Jim. Will have a nose around.
Was there any techno or electronic music involved?
Don’t think so, although I’m sure conventional instruments were boosted by the electronic control board.
Yup. Definitely a female vocal.
What’s so maddening is, it was everywhere, but I didn’t take notice until recently when one day it caught my soul and I wept – a flash recollection of a sad incident over Daughter One. Then I remembered it was at its most popular when that moment had befallen me.
@ Grouse Beater I found a track with the Lyrics When the lights go down. But not at the start. More like leading up to the Chorus. It is Called Burn by Ellie Goulding. link to youtube.com
@ Grouse Beater The same Singer also has a Song called Lights. link to youtube.com
Here is a wee song I have posted before. link to youtube.com Aye till I die.
And the winner is – Ellie Goulding: “Lights”
Well done, Michael!
Alistair Gray had a good article in the National yesterday with a pointer to this short film on the subject.
Round Ma Bit about the Gallowgate Twins and has a nice wee surprise at the end.
link to tinyurl.com
@Michael & Grouse
Errmmm, that isn’t steel drums at the start it’s electronic synth stuff.
I had heard that on my wander through possibles earlier but discounted it as electronic.
and to think I could have won the prize … 🙁
@ Jim Thomson I could not find the steel drums either. So went through the charts again (same chart site as you) Looking at the Female singer angle. I am happy he got the song he was looking for.
“Can you give an example of this nonsense you talk.
Allow me to answer. No you can’t.
Can you explain how Salmond managed to gather 45% of the ref vote and how polls now show a SNP mauling of the other parties at GE?
How did he manage this with a hostile MSM?
You are amusing Senor Pete”
I tried to post this in the Spectator and it is being modded.
Can anyone see why this would be the case?
I have loads of others too. No swearing, no names but pro Scotland and all modded.
In addition I can’t post on Herald and many others and can’t remember posting anything untoward there either.
Jim: that isn’t steel drums – it’s electronic synth stuff
Fake steel drums.
I should have guessed. Downside of electronic instrumentation is lack of spontaneity. Beats are split second perfect, reverbs exact, there’s no surprise that comes from human intervention and style.
I couldn’t find the song either not only because I didn’t know the title, but also because a member of the construction crew said it was Katy Perry. Until today I’ve not heard of the leggy Ms Goulding. Her name sounds Canadian but she’s born in Herefordshire.
She’s had a good training – pronounces her T’s at the end of every line.
I’m watching Zoomer Patrol with greater and greater bemusement. It’s astounding just how easily these journalists devolve into hysterics when the mere idea that the Scots could gain a little more political leverage rears its head.
They think we Scots are barbarians looking to sack Rome and destabilise their precious Empire. You know what? Maybe that’s exactly what we are.
link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com
Also, not to clog up the page with links, but we’re raising money in Inverclyde to get our candidate into Westminster. I know I’ve always been saying “concentrate on your own constituency,” but we could really do with any spare donations.
link to crowdfunder.co.uk
For all the ladies..
Or gents whatever floats your boat eh!
Dinner with Mr Clooney and helping to feed someone in need.
https://www.itison.com
I thought I’d posted this the other day but I canny find it so I’m gona post it here.
[EDIT BY REV.STU: You can’t find it because NO SONG LYRICS:
NO SONG LYRICS
Shit, that was a belter too.
Ciao boys and girls este mio back on offtopico.
Glad to see the place looks reasonably tidy, though I note the Rev popped his head round the door – hope you weren’t being too loud.
Nicola Sturgeon to speak at Scrap Trident Demo, 4 April Glasgow.
cearc
£50 towards Paula Rose gold wings just paid in.
Those horrible popping out bloodshot eyes on the Zoomer Watch picture fair gie me the dreh boak. Seriously, I’m squeamish about eyes at the best of times and that picture is giving me nightmares.
Another thing to thank SLAB for.
We’ve been reading stuff about you posted in off-topic, Paula Rose, and some are black affrontit at what you seem to have got up to on your travels.
You must vet your prospective playthings a tad more stringently, lest we draw the wrong impression, from their running to the nearest keyboard.
That’s all. Stand easy.
@Paula Rose –
Good to see you back missus.
So, did you get us anything nice?
Thanks, Lollysmum!
Ron, I think the big-eye photo is from the Arnold Schwarzenegger film “Total Recall”. Either that, or some paparazzi took a pic of Jim Murphy when he read the Ashcroft polling results for East Renfrewshire!
David,
I think the second option is correct.
Paula Rose,
Wot, no postcard!
I’ll go off-topic here, and nod in the direction of Private Eye.
Anybody got an amazing (but educational) story about their favourite spork?
Why? Coz it’s off-topic, that’s why.
@ Ian Brotherhood
ME!
(Lollysmum xx)
Right – that’s it I’ve deep cleaned the place, and in future I will leave a rota for housework if I’m away for more than three days.
Who stuffed that mess down the back of the sofa? And where is the goldfish?
Sporty links for tonight and always. I’m watching Everton later in the EUAF cup tie.
link to crichd.tv
link to myp2p.ec
PS:
@Grouse Beater: Enjoyed the petrol head link good story. 🙂
Dave:
Grouse Beater: Enjoyed petrolhead link good story
Ta. I cater for all tastes! 🙂
Hi Paula Rose.
Is there, by any chance, a spork lying in the bottom of the goldfish bowl?
Is that what it is? There’s another one in the rat tray (and if you get that pun you get a special stroke).
Well, Paula Rose, if it was in the rat tray, it must be a silver plate specimen?
Right – I’m off for my bimonthly Chopstix nosebag.
Catchyiz anon.
@ Briandoonthetoom. Are you’s coming down on Sunday for the Bbc Demo. We need the Wings Banner.
Visionary…
How’s your critical thinking? enjoy!
link to dontfallacymebro.com
Ach Ronnie.
Beat you to it!
At our social nosebag tonight in Chopstix, I remarked to Pete that we hadn’t heard of any official Wings presence on Sunday and did he fancy going through to PQ, coz I still had the banner, flags, Irn-Bru and bottled water.
So we decided to venture down to that Glasgow on Sunday.
When’s the kick off? Does it start at George Square, or PQ?
BTW: Pete will bring as many of the Maryhill badges, that he manages to complete, for you on Sunday.
Tried to post this a few days ago for PR, but couldn’t see through the tears.
Eddy Grant, ‘Baby Come Back’ –
@Ian Brotherhood
Good stuff Ian. Ta
My Favourite Equals track – a live version of it.
@ Briandoonthetoon .As far as I know its from G/Squ. Im not driving sos I will be going by Subway.
Dont PARK at science centre, drive past bbc /SC 1st turning on left Govan Rd park there on road. cross over walk down rd at ( bmj) backend of S/C car park to S/C Bbc.
Talking about the Equals. Is that not what we are all striving for. to be looked upon as Equals. Anyway here is a wee song from the lead Singer of the Equals. Its for all the People going to the BBC demo. link to youtube.com
and breathe and stretch and breathe and stretch – hi issa mia.
That’s it – kick off the heels, relax and spin some discs, you first…
Brilliant letter from Dave McEwan Hill in today’s National.
What time does the demo start on Sunday?
@Cearc,
I posted a couple of days ago that I put £52 into wings fundraiser for Paula but it did not seem to get posted on O/T – happens sometimes?
If you are still needing any funding for Paula’s Golden Wings then please include my one from early Saturday morning.
Ref BBC demo on Sunday – IndyScotEvents has tweeted that it has been cancelled.
The facebook page is down.
I just came to the startling realisation – that we are the barbarians. Maybe we should start acting like them?
@Paula Rose –
Okay.
Marvin Gaye, ‘Got To Give It Up’ –
Natasha and Ian
Just to confirm, Ronnie,
Sunday has been cancelled.
link to twitter.com
I still can’t…
Special lovely boys with lovely rubbing…
@Paula Rose –
Aye.
Cheers.
Natasha gets the ‘Aye Bondage!’ bit, and I get ‘Up Yours!’??
Thanks ever so much (sniff).
@ red sunset
PQ off / cancelled ? Anyone confirm ?
If so is it the conflict with Mother’s Day ?
Ian my dearest…
Hi Tackety Beets.
See my post above.
@ Briandoonthetoon I,m trying to contact the orginizers for confirmation.
Only only for the man of my dreams
Paula Rose
What’s with the bondage stuff?
Hi Natasha.
I must admit that I’m enjoying the James Bondage sequences on the Red Nose prog tonight.
A deep fundimold of bondage joy!
link to sites.google.com
@Paula Rose –
Leo Sawyer is undoubtedly a talented man. A gifted songwriter, a mime artist of some note, and once touted by the NME as ‘the next David Bowie’ (a calamitous error of judgement for which that organ has never offered apology or explanation).
Sadly, he is best known these days for having annoyed multitudes via his involvement with the ‘Big Brother’ programme, and the ubiquitous, unbroken presence of his ‘Endless Flight’ album in every known charity shop in our United Kingdom for the past three decades.
In the highly unlikely event that you don’t know what album I’m on about, here it is. (Please note Sawyer’s apparent state of euphoria, physical agitation, and unkempt hairstyle…sure signs of rampant drug abuse and nascent megalomania.)
link to upload.wikimedia.org
But I do like this one Ian.
@Brian Doonthetoon (11.38) –
Superb.
Respect!
I have to confess to a certain nostalgia for Leo Sayer, especially “When I need love”; it takes me right back to my childhood. Sad, I know.
Rail ticket booked for trip to Glasgow tomorrow.
I’ll be on the 9:41 train from Stonehaven if anyone else is getting the train look out for me.
Otherwise see you on the walk from George Square down to Pathetic Key.
@ X_sticks
I’m sure I read last night that this has been cancelled.
Best check last night’s threads.
@Paula Rose,
“As regards time comments take to appear – I will explain on O/T for those interested…”
You offered the above in answer to a query from Morag about posting issues and delays on another article. I am interested in knowing more about these myself, having just replaced my PC, and I am now having to enter my name and email address every time, whereas they appeared automatically before.
Essentially, it appears the relevant cookies are not being created anymore by Wings.
I have got round it now by using an archived cookies file from the old PC which still had the relevant Author and Email cookies, but I’d still like to know what is actually going on, if you wouldn’t mind following up with your explanation.
Please?
Thanks Nana
I see Ronnie is trying to get confirmation.
Damn, was looking forward to a wee get together with the hard core crew 🙁
I know it’s disappointing. Hope you haven’t lost too much money on your tickets.
People don’t realise how much the authorities try to stop any Demo. The Police and the Local Authorities try everything to prevent them. The UK Gov has put in place many measures to prevent protest and freedom of expression. The last YES March in Edinburgh was touch and go right up to the last minute. The Authorities did everything to prevent it even though all conditions been met. At the last minute the Authorities demanded £thousands for a licence. This was overcome by the Organisers realising a (by- law) £10 day licence would suffice. Otherwise the March, which had taken months to organise, would have had to be cancelled. People had booked transport and accomodation.
That is the reason why there are not more demonstrations. Some are spontaneous and young innocent women are arrested and put in cells. Orange Marches every week in Glasgow seem to have no problems. Banned in every other City.
Hi peeps.
RE: Sunday’s cancellation.
Here’s what was flagged up on Twitter.
link to twitter.com
Anyone else catch that wee item on BBC News about Labour’s spring conference?
Apparently, Milliband is claiming the phrase “Hope Over Fear” for Labour. Methinks Mr Sheridan may have something to say about Milliband’s ignorance of what’s been happening in Scotland over the past year.
I got a link to this last night.
Nicely put together and should be shared worldwide.
test
@Nana
Club 55 ticket so no serious loss, and I can use it up to the 31st, so may take a jaunt down for a day before that if I can find the time.
Just need to look forward to the Wings soiree in May 😀 😉
Oops, just posted in Quarantine, when was the last time any of us went there, anyhoo,
Kilt out of hibernation & Looking forward to tonight’s Glasgow South Adoption event for Stewart McDonald our SNP candidate who is going to hand Tom Harris his P45.
Say hi if you’re there.
Hoss M,
I got that from your post 28th. feb 5.02pm.
Thanks.
@cearc
The second one was for another £52!
One on 28th and second last week.
@Paula Rose
“because you are worth it”
Enjoy your Golden Wings!
@ cearc
I’ve just sent £15 to help support the wings for Golden Gal from Brechin. 😉
It’s with my real name Mike Haley. Midgehunter
I donated 50 quid and did not take a perk on 1st day of fundraiser. More than happy if that can count towards Paula’s Wings!
This one just came on, i’d forgot this one…
Hey Hoss,
That was great. We are now there for the Paula Rose Golden Girl award!
There was some talk of trying for one for Robert Pfeffers. Should we go for it?
If so, I can carry Midgehunter’s and Hector’s donations over for it.
Check Facebook.
Hope over Fear event on 4th April cancelled.
They recommend people go to Bairns Not Bombs event.
link to facebook.com
Hi Bob Sinclair.
I managed to finish reading everything at Quarantine a couple of months ago.
But…
What got me was after all the enthusiasm through December 2013 and January, February and March 2014, about the first Wings get-together last April, there was absolutely no report on the evening!
In fact, there was nothing in Quarantine for around three weeks. What was so shocking about that get-together that everyone was dumfoonirt?
BDtt,
Well we wouldn’t want to be embarassing Ian!
There was a live stream though.
Mmmmm…
I must have a rake through Thistle’s archive.
Isn’t t’interweb a wonderful concept?
8=)
If Westminster Don’t want us going down there and being part of the Democratic Process. Then all I can say is its link to youtube.com Aye till I die.
@Xaracen, 9:41pm
I posted on here before Christmas the why you have to re-enter your details every time you post. There is nothing you can do to fix this, it is a server side issue with the wordpress installation.
For everyone who doesn’t think this issue will impact them, think again, everyone who posts will be affected by end of August at the latest.
@ Bdtt, 12:12am
Was that the first one at the Counting House, Brian? When JK was impersonating BtP?
I wasn’t there, but, I watched a fair bit of it. The lappie seemed to be on its own a lot!!
Hi Betty Boop.
I know nothing about impersonation on the night.
All I know is that prior to the get-together, Quarantine is gushing over with comments about the night (2nd April?) then Quarantine goes into quarantine for three weeks and nothing is reported.
WHAT, exactly, went on that night, that caused you all to take a vow of silence?
@ cearc I put in £25 tonite for Paula Roses Gold badge.
Badgee d’oro – darlings I am overwhelmed, ronnie anderson you are the biggest most beautiful humungus lovely thingie wotsit.
ronnie anderson sweetie
I never know
I wasnt impersonating BtP I was just wearing the jumper he gave me, it was everyone else who assumed I was trying to pass myself off as him,
no really.
And BDTT if we tell you that then we’ll have to kill you. 🙂
Thanks, Patrician, I found that post eventually.
It confirms the conclusion I was coming to, that the server is no longer setting the cookies in the first place, as it used to.
I happen to have an older copy of my Firefox cookies.sqlite file which contains the WoS Author and Email cookies. I extracted the relevant ones with SqliteBrowser, saved them as a csv text file, and can use SqliteBrowser to re-insert them into the newer cookies file, so my details appear automatically in the comment form.
I must experiment to see if I can change the expiry dates.
I happen to have an older copy of my Firefox cookies.sqlite file which contains the WoS Author and Email cookies. I extracted the relevant ones with SqliteBrowser, saved them as a csv text file, and can use SqliteBrowser to re-insert them into the newer cookies file, so my details appear automatically in the comment form.
I must experiment to see if I can change the expiry dates.
*boggles*
[sings] Well I know all the words and I’ve sung all the notes, but I never quite learned the song he sings]
@Brian
You can’t find anything in Quarentine about the April 4th Wings meet up because Off Topic started on the 30th March.
There are a fair few number of comments about the meet on the above page.
Rock on Tommy
Tommy Sheridan is brilliant.
Milliband has taken Tommy’s slogan.
Nicola at George Square at ‘Bairn’s not Bombs’. 4th April. Tommy & Co are giving support for that Rally.
Big ‘Hope over Fear’ Rally 25th April, in Freedom Square.
“*boggles*”
😀
The Devo Files have begun – starting with Inverclyde’s Iain McKenzie.
As ever, I thank everyone at Wings for giving me the courage, confidence and chutzpah to pursue a more active political presence online: the Devo Files are the ultimate culmination of your support. I hope to have every New Labour that’s still contesting MP represented eventually – the Great Cowards of Kircaldy and Edinburgh having scurried off like scalded dogs – and although they probably won’t be nearly as detailed, I hope they can provide some assistance to those in the constituencies who need them.
@Taranaich
I enjoyed the read about your local MP Iain McKenzie.
Inverclyde will be one of the results I keenly await while watching the results come in on the morning of Fri 8th May.
Good luck with your endeavors, I have a funny feeling you will get there and strike one more blow for the good guys.
said in jest but how true
Yes, Prime Minister: Nuclear Deterrent- Scrapping Trident
Hi Alex.
Thanks for that! Read the reports about the Glasgow meet and have now paused at 12th April, where the first Wings meet in Dundee is being discussed.
That’s some more reading over the next few days…
Stone Roses, ‘Made Of Stone’ –
Match you with paper.
BDtt,
and there was me, thinking that you had a life!
Sunday night, Rock of Ages…
Hi cearc.
My life, such as it is, has been spent tonight, putting together a new badge design.
You may recognise it.
Oh look this is sweet…
It certainly looks familiar!
Loved the spider, am nicking that for my wee grandsons’s next t-shirt.
Roxy Music, ‘Virginia Plain’ (Live, 1972)
I do though (giggle)…
@BDtt
Ian Brotherhood will have to tell you about the very first Wingers get together which was at the end of 2013 in the Horseshoe bar.
I never made it along and only other person that I do know that did was Thistle of Indy Live, I believe the idea for Indy Live was born there. Or so the story goes 🙂
@Ian Brotherhood
Yes, Virginia Plain a classic, well at least for me.
There were a few good songs in 1972 including this, which you know, could be Jim M’s campaign song for the coming year.
Check out the chimp playing the part of McTernan.
Hi Thepnr/Alex.
I’ve read about the Horseshoe in Quarantine.
Hi Paula Rose.
On 22nd April 2014, you remarked,
” don’t know much about betting – but I do remember a comment by a guy on a Yes page where he pointed out that an anagram of ‘Better Together’ is ‘the bet to regret’.”
How prescient of you! Those who were of the “Better Together” persuasion certainly seem to be regretting all the PI55 they bombarded us with last year, to ensure a NO vote.
Hell mend ’em…
I’m not sure…
Beedeeteetee
I am going to stroke you in a very special way.
You won’t regret it.
Regrets? I’ve had a few – but, then again, too fu’ to mention…
Onnyhoo, for the badge collectors amongst you; this may be of interest. I’ve just ordered a ‘light’ one.
link to saoralbagubrath.co.uk
@Paula Rose –
Nice one at 10.57.
IMO, you’re at your best when you get funky.
Well, that’s page 1 of “off-topic” now read.
Page 2, 23rd April, beckons but not tonight, Josephine.
Here’s something for Paula Rose and the other old punks who hang around here, the sort of person whom you would not invite to meet your mother.
Essential reading…
“Home Maintenance”….by Duane Pipe
“Growing up in the Balkans”…..by Hugo Slavia
“Irish Winter Tales”…..by Pete Moss
“Increase Your Brain Power”….by Sarah Bellum
“Looking Into the Wishing Well”….by Eileen Dover
“How to Write a Mystery Novel”….by Paige Turner
“I Got Away With Murder”….by Scott Free
“Winning Big”…..by Jack Potts
“Vacation Spot in the Tropics”….by Sandy Beech
“I Always Enjoy the Darkness”….by Gladys Knight
OK, I pasted from an email but, what the hell, nobody’s awake.
We’re a bit behind time wise here but the fundraiser for Phil Boswell to oust Tom Clarke is at:-
link to crowdfunder.co.uk
I know there’s a lot of fundraisers on at the moment but we would be grateful for your help in Coatbridge Bellshill and Chryston.
We have over 1,000 members now so have plenty foot soldiers out there working their socks off.
@BDTT –
‘Cat In My Bed’ by Claude Baws.
@Gerry
I know Phil from campaigning in Aberdeen – have chipped in a bit to help his campaign 😀
I hope he does well, he’d be a good man in the Westminster cess pit.
“Nail On The Banister” by R. Stornaway.
Colin, many thanks for that. I’ve spoken to Phil a number of times, ideal man for the job, just up to us foot soldiers and letter writers to give it a “big push”.
A 20,000 majority is a lot to overturn, but I get the sense that in Coatbridge, Labour doesn’t have the enthusiasm or self belief to keep the seat. The former Labour supporters and members who have joined the SNP are shocked that a party could have turned its back on the people it should represent and quite vocal about their disgust.
hope to see you again soon – looks like the Trident demo may be the next opportunity.
@Brian Doonthetoon
Don’t forget:
“Scottish Dentists”, by Phil McAvity
“Plumbing for Idiots”, by Lee King
“Amateur Geology”, by Roxanne Minerals
And, “How to Get Rich at Westminster”, by Robin Oyle 😉
Way-hay!! Oneironaut’s back.
9 Ac a stinker. Got it eventually with the help of a dictionary.
@Chic McG –
Thepnr’s to blame. He mentioned it a few weeks back. I’d never heard of it.
I note that the Rev has been replacing the word *’tray-tor’ (ahem) in peoples’ comments with ‘tractor’. 🙂
Any other words he is doing this to, perhaps *’quizzling’ and *’turnecoat’?
(* Names changed to protect the innocent.)
Well the clue has all the letters and you can get close enough with the bits that make spelling sense to look it up.
Good clue, I’d be afraid to change it 😉
Ian Brotherhood, have you ever considered compiling an easier crossword? You could call it the ‘Iain Gray’ or the ‘Easy-Kezia’.
Clues would be on the level of:
“Who wrote the McCrone Report?”
“Vote Labour, get what?”
“Is socialism a 4-letter word for SLab?”
“If the SNP propose to end world famine, what does Willie Bain do?”
“Considering today’s Labour party, how fast is Keir Hardie spinning in his grave?”
“How long does a LibDem vow last?”
@Ian Brotherhood
“Way-hay!! Oneironaut’s back.”
Only on Off-Topic for now!
Yep, I’ve once again emerged from a self-imposed exile. And also some down-time spent tinkering with new tech, exploring strange new dream worlds, and generally living a hermit-like existence whenever possible 🙂
Surprised how much I’ve missed my own little world…
Speaking of which, I’ll leave this here as my music link of the day.
A somewhat loud one to wake everyone up after the weekend! 🙂
Sing along if you know the words!
‘quizzling’ – one of Ian’s weans?
Gosh – kicked off those stroppy high heelie thingies again –
Did I mean strappy? (giggle)
Thepnr – a whole clue to himself and another – God is amongst us.
What have I missed? Clueless!
Thank ye kindly, Thepnr!
Here’s the second installment, going east a bit – Glasgow East, to be precise:
This has been far more enjoyable than it has any right to be. Any Wings readers who can recommend who should be scrutinised next feel free to nominate their candidate!
I can drive a tractor xx
Thepnr,
9ac.
Hi peeps.
Been trying to keep up to speed with all the BLT comments on all the recent pages but it’s getting difficult.
Onnyhoo, something triggered a memory a wee while ago and now I can’t recall what the trigger was!
It relates to the St Andrew’s Day gathering in Dundee. The link below will take you to a pic I did as an A3 poster to stick on the wall at the Wings stall on that day at Fatties.
@Taranaich :
Excellent write up on Glasgow East. Thanks. Lots of good ammo there.
We have the inestimable Tom Greatrex – if you wanted to do a write on same, I’m sure it would be devoured greedily by interested parties.
@ Paula Rose thinking back to counting house & Morag 1st time she ever saw your face !.
@Gerry Parker :
We’ve also got a 20,000 majority in Rutherglen & Hamilton West. And we are fighting to win this one.
I have to agree with what you say about Labour not having much confidence, even with that type of majority. I feel they are really worried about this constituency. Also I’m sure they don’t believe they can take England.
I’ve had reason to post this on two of the main pages tonight, in answer to Connor McEwen and it has elicited NO further comment.
Do peeps just post and then go to play Minecraft Farmlife or whatever?
Onnyhoo…
But we have to remember that Rev Stu also indicated Wings could (will?) be involved in the May GE.
“We’ve still got cash left over in the Wings kitty and it’s only £500 for an election deposit. We think it’s about time that we put up our own candidate, either at the next available by-election or at the 2015 general election. We’re not even joking. We’re going to do it. Because it looks like ANYONE can beat the Lib Dems now.”
@Taranaich
Hmmm, got me curious to see if there’s any dirt to be dug up on Katy Clark (North Ayrshire’s Labour candidate)…
Supposedly the only honourable one left in the party, she does seem happy to stick with them and continue fighting hard for them despite them openly lying to voters and generally behaving like thugs in expensive suits.
Has she abandoned her principles these days, or is she really making a doomed attempt to fix from the inside a party that’s become corrupted beyond hope of repair?
Just a thought 🙂
@Brian Doonthetoon are you suggesting a Wings candidate for the GE? I would think you are to late now to register anyone to do this.
I didn’t suggest it!
I’m only pasting what Rev Stu typed in November.
@Xaracen, if you use Chrome or one of its variants then I have an add-in to fix this, it is a bit ropey but it works. Unfortunately I am rebuilding the laptop at the moment but should be good to share in a few days or so.
@ Taranaich Would love it if you could give us a low down on Sheila Gilmore MP Edinburgh East. Cheers in Anticipation. Aye till I die.
@ Patrician and BDTT.
“a Wings candidate for the GE?”
Berwick upon Tweed anyone?
@Patrician, thanks for that. I would like to know what your fix is, even though I do not use Chrome. It would be interesting to compare it with my fix.
I use Firefox, and now have a reliable fix for it, but it requires that one has access to the original cookies preserved from the period when the Wos/Wordpress servers were setting them correctly. I had them on my old PC I was replacing, where my posting name and email were still automatically inserted in the Wings commenting form.
During the process of transferring all my user settings and data across to the new PC, I took a copy of my Firefox user profile folder and saved it on the new computer.
I was able to identify and extract the relevant cookies from that folder and insert them into the new Firefox profile folder that was created during the fresh install of Firefox on the new computer.
I now know more about cookies than I ever thought I would need to! And that is still only a tiny fraction of what there is to know about them.
testing
@Xaracen
It gets worse when you add LSOs into the mix. Non-expiring cookies sneaked in and stashed where most cookie-control apps don’t look for them! 😉
Today’s music link is one that all the newspaper editors are probably singing on the streets and from the rooftops down in London as election day draws ever nearer…
Thanks all! I’m looking at Katy, Sheila and Tom Greatrex in the near future, as well as Jim Murphy, Willie Bain and Douglas Alexander. I’m starting with the really strong New Labour candidates, then I’ll go for the Lone Tory and the few Lib Dems I see surviving (the Bear of Shetland), then the moderate/marginal New Labours.
Katy in particular has been an eye-opener. You’d think she had a chance, being a socialist. But after what I’ve found…
Fairly easy today except for 11 Ac. Got everything else including the three of six letters but no joy.
I could stand in Tunbridge Wells – I haven’t a clue on what platform.
Sorry Chic dear – do you want the answer?
and btw the 10,000th comment on O/T is mine, mine, mine OK?
The pink sparkly platforms look good with your legs.
moi?
Rev Stu with an E every morning.
Stu ee
Um Rev honey, we are very good about using parathingie breaks here – could we not have that WHUFC wotsit?
@Xaracen, Firefox is even simpler. I just an extension called Autofill, although it is a bit of a bugger to setup due to the crap instructions.
This is not a recommendation, it works for me when I am forced to use Firefox. My browser of preference is Opera but I use Chrome to visit blogs as I have a couple of nice extensions I have adapted, one allows me to block posters by name and comment and the other autofills text boxes.
Hi Paula Rose.
You did type,
“I could stand in Tunbridge Wells – I haven’t a clue on what platform.
C’MON! It’s got to be Platform 9½!
My tearless retinas and circuits gleam over Katy Clark’s Devo Files:
Seriously, anyone who still thinks she has a bone of socialism left in her needs to think again.
@Paula
Way I heard it was you could barely stand in Tunbridge Wells 😉
Just saw that WGD is going to write a weekly column for The National. I am pleased!
@Taranaich Excellent Post again. Looking forward to the next one already. Cheers.
Yes Fiona, here’s the great news straight from the dug’s mouth on his blog: “The dug had a meeting today with the editor of the National – and as of this Thursday will be writing a weekly column in your Scottish national newspaper in addition to the monthly column in iScot magazine.”
@Taranaich
A great many of my own thoughts on Katy at the end there.
I’m tempted to send that to her in fact, but she’d probably set the Labour lawyers on you to get it taken down!
Looking forward to see what you can pull up on Jim Murphy, although I think posting all of his faults would create a page so long it would take a week to download and probably crash the server!
I recommend taking a page from the SLAB campaigning handbook. Just post up a picture of him with the words “LABOUR BAD!” 😉
WE NEED THIS APP!!!
wingsoverscotland.com/a-little-more-application/
Please whoever developed Rev’s app we basically need exact same done, get in touch. Help pro-indy citizen livestream journalists.
Can you imagine if we have a wee app running on your mobile/tablet and it informs you when we start a livestream? I have been trying to see if somebody would develop one for us and guess what somebody does one for the Rev with exact functionality we need.
Kevin: liveindepedence@gmail.com
http://www.independencelive.net
Kevin needs an app – help him.
@ X_Sticks – dearest boy, do you know how the Wings contingent ended up in Tunbridge Wells? We’re still stuck here and may need to do one of those crowdfundie things to get home.
Hallo cearc
As usual I’m trying to catch up on the threads etc. after a long hard day.
Whatever happened to the Paula Rose gold badge funding, did we get there?
It was if I remember gonna be trying for a 1000 quid – an expensive young lady. 😉
Only Munguin, Bateman, WGD, Scotch Pop and Bella to do and then off to bed. 🙂 nite, nite.
The Undertones, ‘Here Comes The Summer’ (live, 1978)
Midgehunter,
Yep, we got there. Gold for the Golden Girl!
Douglas Alexander’s next.
I left a LOT of stuff out, but will return to it when I have time.
@ Taranaich Another Great read. Keep them Coming. Here is a wee tune. link to youtube.com Once again Cheers.
@Paula
Can’t you just fly back using your gold wings? 😉
No flies on Paula Rose.
@ Anybody How many copies of the National has there been ?
Wings Over Scotland – MI5 (Top Secret)
MI5 operatives have been closely monitoring the Seperatist website “Wings Over Scotland” over the last 2 years. We have identified a group that require closer monitoring. The following is a description of those to be tracked and their potential for harm to the state.
Ian “Godfather” Brotherhood
He was identified very early in our survelience when he was first seen to be the organiser of a secret meeting with other Wingers in late 2013 in the Horseshoe Bar, Glasgow.
We managed to infiltrate that meeting and our operative witnessed firsthand the setting up of “Independence Live” by Brotherhood and his cohorts.
This target is undoubtably an enemy of the state and is a leading member of the communist organisation the SSP, as an author it is well known that he is used by Wings as a propagandist and we suspect that he uses the crossword in the National to post secret messages to his fellow Wingers upon which they may act.
Ronnie “The Banker” Anderson
This is where Wings gets the majority of it’s money from in it’s fundraisers, using thousands of psydenoums Anderson manages to launder his ill gotten gains through to the ring leader of Wings the Rev Stuart Campbell.
He has been known to hang around foodbanks, in particular Maryhill in Glasgow trying to entice Mothers and their children to become Wingers. We have discovered though that his real grievance is against ATOS but as a manipultor of people he is using Wings to achieve his real goals.
Paula “Legs” Rose
A really devious character who uses sex as a weapon, she has been known to “befriend” numerous Unionist MP’s in order to garner secrets. A slight, slim appearance is very decieving. This woman is deadly.
She is an expert in the martial arts and her knowledge of the lexicon is unparralled.
*DO NOT APPRAOCH UNLESS IN PAIRS*
John “Brains” King
John is the stratagist, never ever gets done without his say so. He is almost the equal of John McTernan but not quite. The difference between them though is his secret weapon Irene. SHE is the one that really makes all the decisions!
Never to be underestimated we must keep a close eye on this pair, it is known that he has raised a huge saltire in his back garden on a carbon pole to influence the neighbours, we believe he has replaced his shed which contains radio equipment to contact his Wings friends. We have yet to break into his shed so for now this is just a theory.
Make no mistake, these 4 above are a danger to the existence of the United Kingdom, there are many more but resources are limited due to the budget cuts.
Will report back soon.
Thepnr
What no report on the infamous Point of no Return B&B!
Fascinating Thepnr, I read the same briefing document – strange but true. Btw are you coming to the secret gathering on Saturday?
@Thepnr –
I’m going to print that out and stick it right at the top of my CV.
Cearc sweetest – we need the grand donated pour moi, then one of those advertising thingies will hang forever in the B&B and many prominent wingers will be rewarded – I’m being generous, just a badge for slim sexy sublime me.
PR,
I thought we were stopping at the gold? There were a couple more donations and I put a post up about asking if we were going on or trying for a gold for Pfeffers but nobody responded.
That Taylor Swift song that Rev likes so much – ‘Shake It Off’. Isn’t it a lot like this?
Toni Basil, ‘Oh Mickey’ –
@Ian Brotherhood
Oh man that song is awful lol. I keep telling my weans how much better music was “in my day”. I’m glad they didn’t through that song in my face 🙂
Hope you and Paula didn’t mind my wee report above, was bored and thought I’d have a laugh.
@cearc
Maybe a part 2 coming up later on the sleaze house known as the B&B from which there is no return? Scary shit eh! lol
@Thepnr –
Gaun yersel!
You’ve got the characters, and the setting…
Go ahead and do the novel man – it’ll be a smash. You could be Scotland’s answer to Freddy Forsyth.
Let’s make a title to get you stated – fill in the blank:
‘Day Of The ???’
‘Day of the Cactus’?
“Day of the B&B” Nah, not quite right?
“Day of the I’m no listening to your shite anymore and voting SNP” Too long
“Day of the Wingers Bite Back” I like that. Gnash Gnash!
‘Day Of The Pnr’
In The Ferry, no-one can hear you scream…
Check out this original trailer for TDOTJ – makes you want to see it again, right now. Great stuff:
Ian,
Just brilliant!
‘In The Ferry, no-one can hear you scream…’
love it.
Right, if Jim Sheridan actually retains his seat in May I’m going around to Paisley to smack everyone upside the head myself:
This man is an absolute disgrace of a joke of an excuse of a politician.
Murphy on Question time next week from Bolton. Pity we could not get a big giant Billboard with Murphys face on it. And Murphy is a Liar in the middle of Bolton. Any Wingers down in Bolton.
@Ian Brotherhood
Even though Fredrick Forsyth is an absolute right wing nutter, that book The “Day of The Jackal” was a classic.
I can’t deny the man that.
@Michael McCabe –
Morphomania hits Bolton.
Brilliant.
Moodie will get a hold of this, and we’ll get the latest manifestation of crisp-poke snorter Murph, i.e., with a bolt on either side of his neck.
See what I did there, eh?
Did ye see that?
DID YE SEE THAT??
Boom! Boom!
@Taranaich
For a wider audience you should submit these articles to the Rev. I have believe he will put them up as an because they are good.
It would also give him a breathing space and a rest, I know he hasn’t asked you so you need to ask him.
“Hey Rev, can you print this as an article.”
@Thepnr
Hmm, seems like MI5 haven’t discovered my secret base yet.
For now they remain blissfully unaware of the many technological developments in progress there…
But soon, they’ll know! Soon, the WHOLE WORLD will know!!!
(*cue “mad scientist” style maniacal laughter and lightning flashing in the background…*)
@ Taranaich 11.44 Good read Alan but what constatutes the ( upside of the head )? .
HASH? OK HAS H, but Imertinent? Fellow?
I had RASH as in RA’s H, which fitted the clue perfectly (Fellow of the Royal Academy)
That of course made ROME RULE wrong but I rejected H for R since Hash over Home because I thought Rash must be correct.
Oops, I am referring to 17 Dn
Just read Peter May’s ‘The Blackhouse’. A good read, characters very fully developed for a crime genre. He uses third person and unusually first person for different characters. Also a lot of time shift.
Thorough recommend, well into his 2nd in the serious where he tries to get inside the head of someone with dementia.
Some of his descriptive prose is, IMO, top notch and very evocative.
Just watched the eclipse with glossy white photo quality printing paper using a pair of binoculars to focus. Got to about 95% here.
Didn’t stop the birds singing here, quite the opposite, the large rookery down in the den started their twilight chorus and they moved to the top of the trees getting ready for their twilight patrol, but it didn’t get quite to the light level to induce them into flight, which I was hoping it might.
Thanks again, all! I’ve just started an index and stickied it to the front of the blog:
So far that’s 5 MPs published in the files. I’m probably just going to put the 6 SNP MPs in the one file, since they’ve more or less all voted the same way and it would be redundant pointing out that they’ve voted entirely in favour of meaningful devolution. And with 9 MPs not contesting their seat, thus closing their Devo Files, that leaves 39 more MPs to get through. Eep.
I’m really humbled that you think highly enough of the articles to suggest this, thank you! Well, I’ll see how it goes…
Hip-hop slang of indeterminate origin, I use it because it has the “nonsense verse” quality of some of my favourite poets. 🙂
“Coalition” “A feature length drama that charts the politically frenzied days in 2010 that led to Nick Clegg’s rise from rank outsider to the man who would decide the fate of the country”
Channel 4 Saturday 28 March 2015
Link (with trailer)
link to channel4.com
Wonder if Jim Murphy will watch and learn? Doubt it!
@Chic MacGregor
Here there was one bird, couldn’t see what it was that was hooting fit to burst at the peak of the dimming here in Dundee. Not a sound I recognise either so likely a distress call of some sort.
Normally a dimming like that would presage the arrival of a large black storm cloud, except the barometric pressure was not indicating that which might well creep out some species able to sense pressure and realise the disconnect. As my wife remarked, if you didn’t understand it then it would be alarming.
It’s my second solar eclipse but only because I grew up in NZ so they generally come along too infrequently in any one place for human memory, let alone animal experience. The wee Scottie dug over our back fence was unusually nervous too. She doesn’t usually bark at me when I’m out there but she did today.
Rev honey – we are very well behaved here in the social club, can we have wilderness of peace on the list of scottish political sites cos he is lovely?
And please stop threatening us with WHUFC.
For my fans –
Bunnets all round?
Happy week-end.\
Anyone know any reasonable gaffs for an overnight stay in Glasgow in May? Its been a few years since I stayed there and I’m a bit out of touch with city hotels these days.
Gone Tonto dearest – if you do not revert to your real moniker I am going to be very upset. You are a dear must read thingie and I need you top of my list, apart from all the rest obviously.
@
Macart says:
Ask John King
Oh I just love this lovely man and today is a good time to play this song –
My native american friends have songs about this
My native friends everywhere have songs about this
I am a traveller – but natives are delighted to have me stay.
@Macart –
Just spent ten minutes racking my brains, and called my old dear to check…could see it in my heid, but couldn’t place it.
My great uncle used to come up from London to Glasgow roughly once a year, for ceilidhs, and to catch up with relatives in Ayrshire/Gorbals etc. He always used a hostel which is at 318 Clyde St, called Euro Hostel. Just had a look online and the reviews are pretty mixed, but I remember him saying it was a good place for him because it was so handy for Central Station (especially as he got older, less mobile).
Don’t want to heartily recommend it as I’ve never stayed there meself, but it may be worth considering if you’re just looking for a crash-site for the night.
Hoots!
@
Paula Rose says:
Ok
Yippee – BtP – Dancing barefoot in glee – I’ve got my panda back!!!
Muscleguy,
The heavy cloud here, in the NW negated the effect on most creatures. The rather eerie silence was missing.
My chickens headed under a stand of big spruces and the guineas into their house which is what they do when it is about to pour with rain. A few blackbirds streaked back to base and the ducks ignored it.
A handful of bats come out of their roost though.
I got a small clear patch of sky just before the peak which perfectly framed a thin crescent sun and another about 15 mins later.
Further south, down the coast, they got a hole in the cloud at exactly the moment.
link to facebook.com
BtP,
Do you really want people to call you G&T?
BtP c’est toi!! Joy enters ma couer!
Hi Macart.
You asked,
“Anyone know any reasonable gaffs for an overnight stay in Glasgow in May?
Me and my son needed somewhere to crash last year, after my brother’s wedding at the Piping Centre.
Googling found me the ‘Easy Hotel’ – £35 for the twin room. If you just need somewhere to crash and have a shower in the morning, it’s ideal. No catering but take your own nosebags.
link to easyhotel.com
xxx
Actually I prefer to stroke pandas rather than be a wee bit rough.
Macart says:
Anyone know any reasonable gaffs for an overnight stay in Glasgow in May?
Macart, are you going to the Wings get together in May? (just wondering if this is the reason why you’re asking). If so mate ,would be good to meet up with yourself, and many of the other wingers (such as Ian Brotherhood ..high time I met many of you guys!). I intend to jump a train from Edinburgh (straight from work) and head through to Glasgow. If so mate (and others)…hopefully, I will meet you at the grand get-together! LOL
I’ve met BtP twice and I know she’ll hate me saying it – but she is an absolute dame.
@ cearc
Feed me G & T if you want. Just don’t call me early in the morning.
The Gone Tonto thing was just a voice of frustration in trying to find out why I was, apparently, on permanent moderation: still am.
I changed names to see if it was a bowdlerisation thingy.
????
Nytol
Cheers folks, much appreciated.
Lookin’ forward to meeting you guys and didn’t want to have to bail early.
I’ve just had an idea!
Why don’t we chip in, hire a suite of rooms for the night, and have an orgy?!
(Just askin’…have been reading I Claudius…)
Ian,
It’s an idea. Have you run it by your wife?
no no we don’t do that sort of thing -we’re Scottish.
Ian honey – are you free?
Back off darlings the 10,000th is mine.
Ian Whatthehood darling – we always have fun honey why allow anyone else to experience our joy?
re orgy – have you shaved?
um btw Ian Lovelihood – thats what we usually do.
Surprised this has not been played link to youtube.com
I’ve had it in the ear before
@ Ian B
Wait whut? 🙂
I’ll supply all the fruit and vegetables, and two big bottles of Lambrini, in return for signed disclaimers and the film rights.
Deal?
Here is a pink Floyd track. Here is a pink Floyd track. link to youtube.com To Chill to.
please pease honeys pour moi
I don’t care about the badge I just want the thingie.
Please can I have the 10,000th grovel.
That’s it my life is on Hold till Paula gets the thingie. Go Paula.
Keep away
go away
please please darlings please
pkease sweeties please
@Macart –
Be not alarmed!
There will be no nudity, no dodgy jokes, and no bevvying!
The plan is that we entice the DR and/or Scottish Sun into hiring such a suite (in a **** hotel, no less) and tip them the wink that all the most prominent CyberNats will be there. They, naturally, will send stooges and plant recording devices.
Do we then have a rammy/fist-fights/orgy/meeting to plan terrorist outrages?
Nah…we take turns reading the complete works of Ossian the Bard, which will easily get us through to lunchtime on the Saturday.
Aye – get a scoop fae that, ya bams!
Mine mine all mine get to fuck
Well Done Paula. Here is a nice Scenic video. And the music is not to bad Either.www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjoPWxmOCtc&feature=player_detailpage
Ian honey I will be at your door but – I want the 10,000 comment.
kisses
famousness
Try again with that video. link to youtube.com Hope it works this time.
@Paula Rose –
Gordon Bennett!!
Haven’t heard you that desperate since the WOS gig in The Ferry!
Happy noo?
Have a large brandy, a small cheroot, and re-laaaaax…
Paula? By my count you made 10K.
Congrats. 🙂
Hey Paula
You were very lucky, or maybe a light shown on you because at 11:32 pm I put a post up with this:
But forgot to remove the http LOL. Happy 10,000th.
The delay between sending comments and their eventual appearance is becoming embarrassing. As I type this, the last visible comment is by Thepnr, at 12.01.
It’s now 1.07.
On the main ongoing thread, the latest comment I remember seeing was approx. 12.47.
???
Okay, so, NO comments were posted to O/T between 12.01 and 1.08?
Eh?!
Now 1.36, and O/T remains still, abandoned…
Aye, right…
Hey Ian
Try this for size, Jim Diamond 2014.
Absolutely fuckin wow, found this by accident. Guess what I typed in Google. This sums it up for me.
Well I hope you have a less awful one tomorrow.
Day that is, not song.
(hmmm, a bit ear-wormy that chorus line)
Here is a wee drinking song with an intro to the story. link to youtube.com
@Macart
BtP’s right,
the wife gets good deals on reasonable hotels because of her being a frequent booker and all.
I’ll ask her what she’s paying for the room for May , I think its £65.00 b&b so a single would probably be about £50.00 I get her to check availability if you like, I’m driving from Fife but if you want a lift I could easily take a detour and pick you up, we’re only 25 mins from the center of Edinburgh,
It would be a pleasure to come and get you.
Plenty of people have my email address if you want to contact me. 🙂
Thanks John, but that particular detour would take you several hours out of your way. 🙂
Don’t worry, I can get there ok. Transport no problem this time round.
Wee Willie Rennie runs through Aberdeen Toon,
Being chased quite closely by Paddy Pantsdoon,
Tapping passing donors, crying when he’s mocked,
And all the ladies are in bed, avoiding Paddy’s clock
Macart @ 7.48
No problem, but do you want me to get a price for you on our hotel?
Re Osborne’s planned celebration of Agincourt – as it was a purely English victory will Scotland receive a % of the £1Million being spent on celebrating it and Waterloo (which was a UK victory)as a Barnett Consequential?
Re the £50k fine imposed on The Scottish Fire Service yesterday, while not wishing to comment on the rights and wrongs of the case, is not a fact that this fine along with all fines imposed by Scottish Courts will go straight to HM Treasury in London?
There ye go Sam
link to tinyurl.com
Few minutes by taxi from the counting house ,we stayed there at the last night and it was a nice hotel with a good breakfast, staff were friendly, the wife’s just cancelling our booking for another hotel to go there again, so if it meets with the wife’s approval it must be good and there’s a good Indian takeaway (much cheapness ) right across the road. 🙂
Any Wingers going to this, in Glasgow today?
link to sacc.org.uk
Might see you there if so 🙂
The wife asked me to remind you that May 1st is a holiday weekend so you had better get your skates on if your going to book a room Sam.
BDTT
Does Easy Hotel, Glasgow have it’s own parking? No mention of it on website.How far is it from the Counting House?
I don’t know Glasgow at all
Hi Lollysmum.
Have a look at this link. Easy Hotel is flagged at top, left of centre and George Square can be seen at the bottom, right of centre.
The Counting House is on the corner of St Vincent Street and George Square.
link to goo.gl
Here’s the link for Easy Hotel:-
link to bookings.easyhotel.com
Remember, Easy Hotel is just a room with beds, shower, etc; no food. You have to provide your own but there are plenty cafes and so on nearby for breakfast after you check out.
Hi Lollysmum.
Sorry – that should be St Vincent Place.
If you look at this link, you’ll see that there’s a multi-storey car park just across the road from the hotel.
link to goo.gl
Here’s more info from Trip Advisor.
link to tripadvisor.co.uk
Looking for Dundee-based Wingers.
Tomorrow, Sunday, between noon and around 4pm, Team YES Bus, with the Dragon, will be campaigning at City Square, in support of the SNP in Dundee.
I asked the boss of Team Yes Bus, Bob Costello (some of you met him at the last Invergowrie get-together), if a Wings presence at the Dragon with the Wings banner would be an idea.
He was over the moon at the suggestion. BTW: he’s gonna have tea and coffee facilities on the Dragon.
So, any Wingers up for an afternoon in Dundee?
BTW2: in case you don’t know what I’m on about, here’s a pic of the Dragon, with City Square and Caird Hall in the background.
Cheers John
Been out all day and just catching up. Mrs M has us all booked in.
Yep, Mrs M going too. 😮
Thanks for the info Brian- it was a great help.
Have spent most of the afternoon looking at Glasgow hotels on the internet & have booked to stay at the Rennie Mackintosh near Central Station-mainly to save myself from getting lost :-)in an unfamiliar city.
How in the name of all that is sane is WILLIE BAIN one of the few New Labour MPs forecast to keep his seat? The man shouldn’t be let out of his house, let alone in parliament:
This series is proving hazardous to my health.
After all the 10k hysteria, PR’s near-breakdown, and talk of orgies, let’s get mellow…
Commodores, ‘Zoom’ –
@Thepnr (1.57) –
Sorry mister, missed that one last night.
Jim Diamond? FFS, I thought at first it was Irvine Welsh!
Randy Crawford & Joe Sample Trio, ‘One Day I’ll Fly Away’ (live) –
Marvin Gaye, ‘Let’s Get It On’ –
En Vogue, ‘Never Gonna Get It’ –
Hi Ian Brotherhood.
I know you typed that you won’t but…
Onny risk of putting together an updating register of who’s going to the Counting House get-together on 1st May? That would let us prepare badges for those intending to be there.
Otherwise, there are only around 8 (that we know of), who will have ‘proper’ badges.
Ooooooo Mrs M bought me a pressie today when off on her travels. Mr Salmond’s book no less.
Right, feet up, glass in hand, choccy raisins at the ready. 🙂
@BDTT –
I’d forgotten all about that side of things.
Will have to start from scratch really…a’body who’s coming, please post the name you want to appear on the badge here in O/T and I’ll keep a note of them, send them on whenever suits BDTT. Nae probs.
‘IanB’ will do for me – too many letters otherwise.
(I wrote to Wee Ginger Dug t’other day and he said he should be able to make it, but I don’t know if he wants his real name on a badge.)
Stevie Wonder, ‘Superstition’ (studio version, 1973) –
Hi Ian.
We already do a “Wee Ginger Dug” badge (see link below) – maybe he’d like one with his name? It’s up to him.
Same for everyone. Let us know what name/username you want on the badge.
Something just permeated my brainbockers…
Do you think Rev Stu spends his quality leisure time in ‘off-topic’?
Should I have asked that at ask.fm?
Will the circle be unbroken?
And while I’m thinking of that band, here’s a well known tune…
And while I’m on this ‘folkie’ groove,
Hi Brian
Put me down for a badge,
Thanks AG
@ BDTT (and Ian)
I’m intending to be at the Counting House, complete with the splendid badge you made for me last time.
No need for a new one, I presume?
Hi crazycat.
The idea behind those badges was that Wingers could wear them to indicate that they were there at the time and remember it well(?).
The first one we did was for Invergowrie on 13th September last year, then we did Glasgow in November and Invergowrie again in February.
Anyone who has one or more of the personalised badges should ALWAYS wear them at Wings events, kinda like a ‘badges of honour’- ‘eh wiz there!’.
So, if you’re gonna be there on 1st May, you will get another badge!
BTW: Rev Stu has his two Invergowrie and November Glasgow badges, coz he was there in spirit. I wonder if he’ll be at the Counting House, more than ‘in spirit’, on the 1st?
…and so, it begins.
Crazycat is first on ‘The List’.
Where will it all end (apart from, obviously, in the Counting House) – can we expect the likes of Moodie, Bateman, Riddoch et al (whoever he is) to make an appearance?
Why are celebrities so shy about joining WOS socials?
This one may break the mould, because the historic element is hard for these people to ignore. It’s not like Woodstock, where everyone can claim to have been there, and there’s no proof otherwise.
If anyone, three, ten, or fifty years hence says ‘The famous WOS May-Day gig just before Labour became extinct in Scotland? Oh aye, I was there!’ then it’s a matter of a few clicks to access the footage, and we’ll be able to confirm their presence for sure.
If you’re a celebrity, and you’re not there? fair do’s, but don’t imagine that you’ll be able, one day, if it suits, to pretend that you were. Remember Hilary Clinton…
Hi Ian.
We had Chris Law at Invergowrie in February. He’s one of them thaar ‘celebrities’.
And the proof from Invergowrie:-
I will be coming along to the Counting House… I believe I’m second on “the list” – I feels all the specials.
I’ll just go with Alex-M on my badge please!
Ah but Ian to claim
“The famous WOS May-Day gig just before Labour became extinct in Scotland? Oh aye, I was there!”
Then surely you would need a badge 🙂 By the way BDTT the first badges were for Wings Over Arbroath!
Following some Twittering, ‘Alexx’ is second on ‘The List’ for WOS Does MayDay.
S/HE will, I’m sure, supply desired badge-name here in due course.
Okay…who’s next?
@BDTT –
Yep, I noticed that the man was there, and he will deservedly enjoy extraordinary bragging rights in years to come. (Still hacked-off I missed that night as there was a slender chance. Twas not to be.)
But let’s see who happens along on May 1st – savvy celebs won’t advertise any intention to attend. (Doesn’t mean they won’t turn up on the night though…) I’m confident that we’ll see at least two well-kent faces/names (journalist/broadcasters), but daren’t even provide a hint as to names.
Shouldn’t we make a special effort to reach out to our foes (especially as many of them ply their daily trade in the GCC, within a stone’s throw of the Counting House) and invite them along for some civilised discussion over a glass of Pimms?
Anyone fancy sending invitations to the Glasgow Labour stalwarts?
It’s gonny be a big night – ye can just feel it.
Hi Ian.
I’ll wait for confirmation in this page re: “‘Alexx’”. (I don’t do Twitter – ‘off-topic’ is ‘the word’.
I’m now trying to keep a list of names as they’re indicated in here. So far I have,
List For Counting House 1/5/15
Ian Brotherhood
Ronnie Anderson
crazycat
Alexandra-M
Irene King
John King
Lollysmum
Macart
Mrs Macart
but that’s only from memory.
Hi Ian.
RE: Pimms.
I recall from my youth, that there were 7 Pimms, for different spirits. Sometime, in the 70s or 80s, many of them were discontinued, leaving just 2 or 3.
Hi Thepnr.
“By the way BDTT the first badges were for Wings Over Arbroath!”
Eh ken thah’! And so does Rev Stu, coz I finally got round to sending him a pile of badges from the last 6 months or so.
So, watch out for the badge he is wearing next time he’s on TV…
I’ve uploaded a couple of videos to YouTube – two clips from STV’s “Scotland Tonight” on Thursday evening.
The first features Bernard Ponsonby interviewing Alex Salmond. For balance, the second features Ponsonby interviewing Douglas Alexander.
Note in the Alexander interview, he once again attempts to reinforce the myth that the ‘largest party’ forms the government (at 5.36).
When will they learn that their propaganda is immediately scorned on social media?
Here’s the first video – the second is in the comment below.
Looks like I’m the only Winger still up…
So, a repeat from earlier today:
Looking for Dundee-based Wingers.
Tomorrow, Sunday, between noon and around 4pm, Team YES Bus, with the Dragon, will be campaigning at City Square, in support of the SNP in Dundee.
I asked the boss of Team Yes Bus, Bob Costello (some of you met him at the last Invergowrie get-together), if a Wings presence at the Dragon with the Wings banner would be an idea.
He was over the moon at the suggestion. BTW: he’s gonna have tea and coffee facilities on the Dragon.
So, any Wingers up for an afternoon in Dundee?
BTW2: in case you don’t know what I’m on about, here’s a pic of the Dragon, with City Square and Caird Hall in the background.
@BDTT –
If we both keep a list, we can double-check. Can’t both be on here 24/7.
Please note –
‘Alexx’ already posted to confirm, above (1.35)
Hoots!
Bedwise now bestwise…
How about helping the anti-onionists in Falkirk?
link to indiegogo.com
Aye we will get there. link to youtube.com Hopefully Sooner rather than later.
Jeez Ian!
You see the task we have trying to collate names?
So “Alexx” is the one I have already as ‘Alexandra-M’?
I will only count names/usernames that are posted in ‘off-topic’.
So there – PARP!
Can Aa get a badge wi Eccles (gravatar picture) and jdman oan it?
an a bike, and a cowboy suit an……..
Lollysmum on my badge please guys 🙂
@Muscleguy
“Here there was one bird, couldn’t see what it was that was hooting fit to burst at the peak of the dimming here in Dundee.”
Might have been a collared dove (Eurasian origin but has spread West in recent decades). Lot of folk mistake their hoots for owls (or cuckoos in Spring). Usual pattern I’ve heard in Scotland is Hoo-Hooooo-Hoo – 1 to 2 sec pause – Hoo-Hoo but there are regional variations. I think they tend to sound off more at twilight more but not too sure about that.
Was very common for a year or two about a decade back but I think the Rooks have seen them off in the main and they are a lot less common again now.
@BDTT
I’ll be there, of course.
I’ve had a family of collard Doves in my garden for about 5 years, they come and go, they’ll be there for months sitting in my ash tree then vanish I think they migrate, but they always come back again.
I know one celebrity who will be at the Counting House – Moi!
I thought it would be nice to give props to our stellar SNP team in Westminster, who will hopefully have a lot of pals this May:
They’re going to be big targets for the SNPouters, and since their only option in most is a Tory, I’ll be damned if tactical votes shove some of our best guys out.
I know there are a few wingers who have contributed already, and I know there are still a few crowd funds around, but I’d be grateful if you could donate a couple of pounds to this one.
link to crowdfunder.co.uk?
@ Taranaich.
That was a breath of fresh air after all the crap you’ve had to wade through for the Labour lot.
Well done and keep em coming.
Loving the fact I’ve been counted twice! Feeling uber special now lol
Hi Taranaich.
A good read!
8=)
Howdy, I’ll be at the CH on the foist of May.
Here’s a MV frae a band I saw playing Glasgow recently:
Steel Panther ~ The Stocking Song
X 🙂
@Bdtt
@Ian Brotherhood
Brian/Ian, JimT and moi, B Boop will be at the Counting House on 1st May, barring plagues of locusts or some other apocalyptic event.
I put out marker down when it was first mentioned, but, it looks like you have misplaced your “list”. Ne’er mind, you can get your marker pen out and keep adding to that list. Cheers.
@Betty B –
Noted.
Hope youse are well there.
Hoots, as ever!
Ian,
No idea whether i will be able to come down.
I’ll have to see much closer to the time when i know which birds are doing what etc.
Hope i can.
@CameronB Brodie
Great to bump into you again this morning, Cameron.
If you’re through in Dundee again and have the time for a blether over a coffee, drop me a line. Thepnr has my email address.
Was that your father you were with? Hope it was a successful visit.
IanB, I think I know what the answer must be to 27 Ac but could you give us a clue? Whatever way, initially, you like expressing it.
@IanB
Thanks Ian. We are well and will be all the better for eyeballing youse lot on 1st May! 🙂
Hi Brotyboy.
You no’ want seat or seats on the minibus going through to the Counting House on 1st May?
Hi CameronB Brodie.
Good to meet you yesterday!
I’m gonna repaste this post from a couple of weeks ago.
——————————————————-
Hi peeps.
Talked with Bob Costello of Team Yes Bus tonight. He’s amenable to providing a minibus to go down to Glasgow for the get-together on 1st May. Cost will probably be £8 a head.
The bus would probably be leaving Dundee around 5.30pm.
Can I have names of anyone interested in claiming a seat? The route will from Dundee > Perth > A9 to Stirling > Glasgow, so we could pick up at points in between.
Like November’s abortive effort, we’ll need 16 seats filled.
——————————————————-
We have 6 definites so far and one ‘probably’.
Bob has said 15 bums will suffice.
Any more takers?
Thanks, all!
Unfortunately, it’s back to the cesspit for Brian Donohoe:
While I obviously hope beyond hope that SNP win in every constituency, I would be particularly heartbroken if Philippa didn’t get in, yet this pernicious, racist, bigoted ignoramus did.
Keep up the excellent work with the devo files. Taranaich.
Every one a gem.
Hi guys
I’d love to be at the Counting House on the 1st of May, but it depends what we’re doing in our constituency; I’ll probably be canvassing/leafleting. If we can return an SNP MSP in Roxburgh, Berwickshire & Selkirk, that will really make history and we need all hands to the pump to make it happen.
If I can’t make it, I’ll be thinking of you all. Just keep Paula Rose off the tables.
Natasha honey – I see you had recognition in today’s x-word, 27 across
STYLE
Paula Rose
🙂 xx
@Paula
27 Ac could be any number of words, but ‘style’ as you can see is my guess from the above post as being the most probable.
I suppose the next most likely would be ‘Skype’.
But without a clue in either the on line or printed version, it is kind of difficult to be certain.
I suppose manana will reveal all.
BTW Did we ever get told who was the voice-over in the Tory Toon?
My guess was Paul Darrow (most famously Avon in Blake’s 7).
@Taranaich
A budgie + toothless = succeed.
A Slab Boy + spineless = success.
@ Taranaich Great read as per usual. Looking forward to the next Instalment. Cheers.
@Natasha, 23/3/15, 9:07pm
Whit!!? Spoil oor entertainment!!? Nae chance, as long as Paula takes the stilettos off first, fine by moi.
I am definitely going to be at the ‘Wings does MayDay’ bash & will be dragging the apolitical Mrs Bob along as well. It’s about time she met some of these monstrous cybernats she’s read so much about in the Sunday papers.
Hi Bob.
What name does Mrs Bob want on her badge? Mrs Bob? Bob’s Keeper? Bob’s Carer?
BTW: Ian. I have a name to add to both the big list and the Dundee minibus list – a regularly reading lurker from work.
Alexandra Holmes.
I think I’ll try to get her to shorten her first name…
Hi Bob.
What name does Mrs Bob want on her badge? Mrs Bob? Bob’s Keeper? Bob’s Carer?
BTW: IanB. I have a name to add to both the big list and the Dundee minibus list – a regularly reading lurker from work.
Alexandra Holmes.
I think I’ll try to get her to shorten her first name…
Apologies for the duplicate post – it’s this having to go back after submitting to see the post. I went back and forgot to refresh…
Just remembered why I came into off’topic’ in the first place.
Much mention in today’s page(s) about ‘DEFCON’, which reminded me of this track, which was a floor-filler in Jaspers Rock Club (Dundee), back in the 90s.
It must have the most samples and ‘borrowings’ of any single ever released. I gave up counting at 9 different sources.
Onnyhoo, the most iconic sample in that track led me to put together this mix – audio only, sorry. You may have to download before playing.
link to sites.google.com
Hi Brian,
It should probably read ‘Bob’s responsible adult’ but Helen would be the correct name.
Noted Bob.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY JOHN KING!!!
@BDTT –
Noted.
Good stuff.
Hi Ian B.
Here’s my ‘big’ list. Have you got any I don’t have?
Swappies?
Ian Brotherhood
Ronnie Anderson
crazycat
Alexandra-M
Irene King
John King (Eccles)
Lollysmum
Macart
Mrs Macart
X_Sticks
Paula Rose
Cactus
Jim Thomson
Betty Boop
Alistair Grapevine
Brian Doonthetoon
Pete the Camera
Hanii Puppy (my son)
Quentin Quayle
Chipmonkey
Bob Sinclair
Helen Sinclair
Alexandra Holmes
Mmmmm…
Your comment is awaiting moderation.
Wonder what that’s all about?
We don’t want to start that nonsense.
JEEZ! In the time it took me to type my follow-up post about moderation, my first was approved!
Methinks Rev Stu is working a greater than 50 hour week…
Ian Brotherhood (and others) do I get a special prize for correctly solving 27 across yesterday?