Sorry!

I’m positive I posted that link, could be wrong though 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERN6xKuk6R8

2. Thepnr

Man, that is impressive, Nana’s link to the Arms Dealers dinner has had 20,000 more views since 22:30, it only had 15,000 until tonight.

I haven’t used Facebook since September 18th but stuck that link on my page tonight. Think it might go viral.

3. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

That’s Connolly singing the finale, right?

Cheers man. Good stuff.

Wonder if the Big Yin watches this himself, eh?

That was then.

This is now.

Hoots, as ever.

4. Thepnr

Goan Ian get number 9000 🙂

5. Thepnr

?

6. Michael McCabe

Are we on a new page yet? 😉

7. Patrician

I see what you did there Michael 😀

8. Michael McCabe

Have we turned over a new leaf yet.? 😉

9. Michael McCabe

Who said we wont get fooled again. Anyway here’s a wee tune. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y15iusA4ylc&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

10. X_Sticks

@Thepnr

Thanks for that vid of Glasgow as it was in my childhood. Brought back some memories.

11. AuldA

@BdTt, Natasha et al.

Thanks!
    Noted Natasha. You’re right: avoiding the sentence is a sensible advice.
    Cheers and have fun this weekend!

12. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

In your last comment, drop the ‘a’ – ‘advice’ isn’t a countable noun, unless, perhaps in really archaic legal terms? (I’m not sure now, looking at it…but it doesn’t sound right anyway!)

I feel uncomfortable ‘correcting’ you, but you do ask for it! 🙂

13. AuldA

@Ian –
    No, please do. It’s the kind of things that I obviously know (a piece of advice, a piece of luggage, etc.), but that I keep botching because it has not been sufficiently nailed down, and so it does not jump out at me. It must become a reflex. So don’t feel queasy. Quite the contrary: pan me until the lesson is learnt.

14. AuldA

@Ian –
    Matter of fact, I would never write ‘an advice’. But ‘a good advice’ does not register as wrong, because of the middle adjective that masks the uncountable noun behind.

By the way, is it correct to use an appositive adjective to begin a sentence? E.g: ‘Stolid, the guy watched the girl recede and vanish.’

Thanks!

15. Ian Brotherhood

This is worth dipping into, even if you’re not a Pogues fan – proof of how real original work doesn’t lose its edge, and how the physical body (e.g. Shane McGowan) is not all we’re about.

Inspiring and joyful. This, IMO, is art.

The Pogues, Live, on their 30th (!!) Anniversary, in Paris –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBCiy6Da96o

16. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

I don’t even know what an ‘appositive adjective’ is!

Like most native ‘English’ speakers, I have scant knowledge of grammar, and all the terms associated with classification. (I don’t even know for sure what the ‘middle adjective’ you mention refers to – ‘good’, perhaps?)

It must be horribly frustrating. I have no proficiency in any language. I admire your persistence!

A good friend (from Glasgow) spent a year (as a student) with a similarly aged guy from, I think, Switzerland. The guy’s ‘English’ was, apparently, perfect – mid-Atlantic pronounciation, impossible for any English-speaker to pinpoint where precisely he was from.

The one and only time my friend EVER heard him make an obvious mistake was just before they were leaving their flat to meet friends for a night-out. The guy glanced in a mirror at the door and said ‘Hang on a second, I just have to brush my hairs.’

A very very simple ‘mistake’, but glaring to a native speaker.

That’s why I’ve always been deeply suspicious about apocryphal ‘double-agents’ who can speak Russian/French/German/Whatever-else ‘fluently’. I don’t believe anyone is ever totally ‘fluent’ in any language.

C’est la vie!

17. Natasha

Hi AuldA
    It would have to be ‘stolidly’ because you need an adverb there, not an adjective; you are describing the way he watched the girl. You could use an apposite adjective, but not to describe what he was doing; it would have to describe something else, eg ‘Motionless, he watched the girl recede and vanish’.
    I’m really enjoying this – it must be the frustrated English teacher in me. I don’t get much chance to explain the finer points of English grammar to five year olds; I’m too busy wiping runny noses and sorting out petty arguments about who called someone else a poo head.

18. Natasha

Hi Ian Brotherhood
    I didn’t really begin to understand English grammar until I learnt German – how weird is that?

19. AuldA

@Ian –

The English grammar is somewhat simpler than most of other ones. Basically because there is almost no gender anymore, the adjectives are invariable, the tenses are simple and the subjonctive is dead. I think you can’t even fathom how crooked and twisted French grammar is, when you dive into subtleties. Even famous writers can’t get it right sometimes, the use of editors and pre-readers is mandatory 99% of the time.

‘Hair’ vs. ‘hairs’. Yup. The guy was a fop. ‘I want to preen myself’ would have been so much more effective and less error prone! 😉

@Natasha –

Ok. I see. So: ‘Discombobulated, he watched the girl put off his clothes’ is right, whereas I should write: ‘Impassively, he watched the girl blah blah’. Is that correct?

Thanks for your patience and invaluable advice! (see, I’m quick on the uptake :))

20. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

Yeah, it’s weird alright.

Like, that old rule about ‘I before e except after c’. Why is ‘weird’ exempt?

And another one – above, you said ‘until I learnt’.

Why not ‘until I learned’ ?

What’s the difference?

Not trying to be a smart-arse, just genuinely curious. It does my nut in!

21. Paula Rose

Hello Darlings! I’m just in from the SNP adoption meeting for Mike Weir, and guess what?

Mr Salmond was there to give his support, and you know what?

He really is very funny, he really is angry and he really does wear THAT beret!!!

22. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood
    You’re right, it makes no sense.

The only rule in English is that there is always an exception to the rule. It’s because we take our words from so many different languages. Take German, for example. The letter ‘g’ is always pronounced as a hard ‘g’ as in ‘got’ and never a soft ‘g’ as in giraffe. There are no exceptions to this. ‘ei’ is always pronounced as in ‘eye’ and ‘ie’ is always pronounced as in ‘each’.

Not so in English; you can have ceiling, reins, either (which is in itself debatable), their, and as you pointed out, weird. Then for ie you can have tie, fiefdom, holier and quiet. Probably one of the reasons for children on the continent making more progress in learning to read and write at a younger age than children in the UK is that languages such as German, Norwegian, French and Swedish have a much closer and more consistent correlation between spelling and pronunciation than does English. I mean, there are NINE different ways of pronouncing ough, for heaven’s sake! (And try as I might, I can only ever think of seven of them).

The fact is that in order to get the hang of spelling and grammar in English, you need to be blessed with a good memory; it’s as simple as that. It’s got nothing to do with intelligence.

23. Natasha

Hi AuldA
    Yes, you’re absolutely right about the discombobulated and the impassively. Interesting what you say about French grammar; that makes me feel better about finding French so difficult; German grammar is obviously much simpler and more like English.

Paula Rose – I see our Eck is putting himself about a bit; he’s coming to our adoption meeting too! At last I might get that autograph. Then I can REALLY annoy my father! I hope you didn’t have to bend down to far to give him a stroke (Eck, I mean, not my dad).

24. Natasha

Bugger, bugger, bugger, TOO FAR! How the mighty have fallen.

25. Natasha

AuldA
    What did you mean about the subjunctive being dead? Surely we use it when we say things like, “If I were to vote no, I should have to shoot myself”. Note the use of ‘were’ instead of ‘was’.

We can even say, “If I were to have voted no, I would have had to have been shot”, thereby introducing the passive as well!

I remember when I was little, my brothers broke the toilet window with a football. I’ll never forget my dad’s comment in response to our feeble, “The window got broken”. It was, “That’s an interesting use of the passive tense.”

26. Paula Rose

Passive and tense? Well that seems like a bit of a contradiction.

27. Natasha

How long did it take you to think that one up? 🙂

28. Paula Rose

How long? I read I write. Working at the speed of light doll.

29. Grouse Beater

Hello night rippers.

For those looking for a brief diversion from the tedium of Unionist claptrap, here’s my latest essay, an upbeat one for your entertainment.

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2015/02/06/a-petrolhead-strikes-gold/

30. Paula Rose

(hope this works)

Look it’s true!

https://twitter.com/WFIAngus/status/563837273624825856/photo/1

31. Paula Rose

All this language – it’s a virus…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jvb0-Fm98qI

32. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

And why does Alex not have you sitting on his knee?

33. Paula Rose

A song to drive grammar buffs wild…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m7M4thNT_EY

34. Paula Rose

Am I all on my lonesome tonight?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cS5aCozhcA

35. Michael McCabe

Talking about Lonesome. Here is some Scottish Yodeling. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0XvrPJkbkY&feature=player_detailpage

36. Paula Rose

I was taking the photo you silly sausage!

37. Paula Rose

Two ells dear two ells – grammar pedants lurking alert.

38. Thepnr

39. Michael McCabe

You want Two LLS here is Two LLS. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GB6tSIj5Emw&feature=player_detailpage Sorry

40. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Another word-related song for you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Vl1m5FYlAo

41. AuldA

@Natasha –

The only rule in English is that there is always an exception to the rule.

In French also we are plagued by exceptions. Example: all words ending in -au form their plural in -auX. Except landau, landaus, because landau (pram) has been borrowed from the city of Landau in Germany where these vehicles were invented. Other example: all nouns ending in -ou have a normal plural in -ous except six words: choux (cabbages), hiboux (owls), cailloux (gravel), joujoux (toys), poux (lice), genoux (knees).

In English, you have a few irregular plurals, but not that many (goose, geese; louse, lice; mouse, mice; ox, oxen…). As strong verbs, you must rote memorise them.

Learnt/learned. This is called analogy in linguistics. Offbeat forms tend to disturb people because, precisely, they are exceptional and need to be memorised. Since everyone is lazy, it is much more convenient to reinvent a regular form based on a more regular and widely accepted scheme, such as *;-ed;-ed. Compare dreamt/dreamed, hewn/hewed, etc. Sometimes, curiously, it can work the other way round: sneak sneaked/snuck (modern and US).

Back to ’hair’ and ‘hairs’, the most difficult concept of French grammar for foreigners is the ‘liaison’, that is the way some final mute consonants will be pronounced if the next word begins by a vowel, and under a lot of other conditions (some mute consonants cannot ”liaise”, some change sound, such as ‘grand’ (final ‘d’ is mute) whose “liaised” form is “granT” which is the way it is was written and uttered back in the 16th century, some liaisons are facultative, some are prohibited, etc.). If someone pronounces ‘grand enfant’ (big child) /grã ãfã/ (with the hiatus) instead of /grãt ãfã/ he/she is knee-jerk-ly identified as a stranger. Grammatically, this is known as a sandhi, and in no other Western languages it is that developed. English has a trace of sandhi in the opposition a/an.

What did you mean about the subjunctive being dead? Surely we use it when we say things like, “If I were to vote no, I should have to shoot myself”. Note the use of ‘were’ instead of ‘was’.

Well, you’re right of course. But this is vestigial. If you’ve learnt German grammar, you may have seen how subjonctive is pervasive in this other Germanic language. In Romance languages, subjonctive is essential as a marker of doubt or command. Compare: Je crois qu’il vieNT (I think he will come) to Je ne crois pas qu’il vieNNE (I don’t think he will come). In the first case, the speaker affirms he believes in the coming of the guy ? indicative; in the second case, there is a big doubt whether the guy will come or not ? subjonctive. Note that Italian has no such distinction: credo che venga / non credo che venga both subjonctive, because the verb ‘believe’ (credo) carries an idea of doubt anyway. Italian is a good example, by the way, of a language that is written exactly the way it is pronounced. No mute letters, no ‘h’, no ‘y’, no ‘j’, no ‘ph’, ‘th’ or fancy greek digraphs ? f or t (fotografia, ritmo (compare English ‘rhythm’)…).

To turn back to subjonctive in English, the US are a bit more conservative with their ‘I order you go in jail’ (j’ordonne que tu AILLES, not j’ordonne que tu VAS), for example, which seems to be less common in British English.

I mean, there are NINE different ways of pronouncing ‘ough’

Examples? I can hardly think of four/five (bough, dough, lough, enough and maybe trough)

The fact is that in order to get the hang of spelling and grammar in English, you need to be blessed with a good memory; it’s as simple as that. It’s got nothing to do with intelligence.

Like French liaison, learning a language is based on rote memorising and mimicking. Then your brain connects circuits and the association becomes reflexive (not in the grammatical sense this time!). But most of medicine, too, is based on learning recipes.

42. Paula Rose

Actually I think quantum mechanics are easier to understand – can we get back to particles rather than past participles?

43. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose, 4:40pm

Actually I think quantum mechanics are easier to understand – can we get back to particles rather than past participles?

Oh, please! Quantum anything!

BTW, Did you have a wonderful time in InverG last night?

Hope you weren’t too starstruck by Wee Eck to enjoy the company of lesser mortals 🙂 He may be coming to our candidate adoption night too, and, guess what, I’m missing that as well 🙁 Think I need a comforting PR stroke

44. cearc

I think Wee Eck would have been the starstruck one, meeting the fabulous Paula Rose.

PS. I think all comments about grammar and syntax should be on the quantum scale.

45. Natasha

I promise to stay off grammar. Am I forgiven?

Thank you AuldA, that was really interesting. We understand each other.

46. Paula Rose

Betty Boop – It was Forfar honey, far for me to go but a kind gent gave me a lift – what’s with the Wee Eck? I was there to meet the Angry Salmond of twitter fame xx

Cearc honey – he couldn’t get near me but I gave him a wave xx

Natasha sweetie – stay on the grammar darling I’m sure you’ll learn a thing or two xx

47. Brian Doonthetoon

I thought it was in Forfar last night?

Hi Natasha.
    You typed (you did type),

We understand each other
    Or,
    Understand each other; we do.
    Understanding is what we mutually perform.
    Mutual understanding? That’s us, that is.
    We are on the same page of the hymn book.
    We are two peas from the same pod.

I’m sure there are many more…

48. AuldA

@Natasha—
    Indeed we do.
    But I’m still interested in your seven ways to pronounce -ough.
    And please, DO correct me when I make mistakes.

49. Brian Doonthetoon

Mind you, it can be fun to mix the meanings of ‘understanding’…

It is my perception, that you two display a grasp of language, which should lead you to treat the rest of us with compassion and tolerance. Is that a deal, bargain, settlement, pact, contract, covenant, bond, or meeting of minds?

8=)

50. Paula Rose

ought – oh off off con oh uk – soughed

51. Brian Doonthetoon

bough = bow (as in ‘bow-wow’)
    tough = tuff
    through = throo
    thorough = thurrah
    dough = doe
    lough = loch

And that’s me stought.

52. Brian Doonthetoon

Forgot about ought = ot.

53. Paula Rose

damn messed up my comment – getting squiffy, due to main thread.

54. Natasha

Bdtt
    Yes, very funny.
    With the help of Google (I’m not proud) I found:

slough – pronounced sluff, apparently

hiccough – pronounced hiccup

cough – self-evident, but I realised I had been confusing it with lough (loch).

Doesn’t that make it 10?

55. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

You typed,
    slough – pronounced sluff, apparently

hiccough – pronounced hiccup

cough – self-evident, but I realised I had been confusing it with lough (loch).

Slough is covered by tough = tuff but you’ve nailed hiccough and cough = koff.

So, how many is that? All nine?

56. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: the Dictionary/Thesaurus which is installed with a Mac OS was useful; didn’t need to Google.

57. Betty Boop

Oops, sorry, confusing the social diary dates. All I know is I’m missing fun stuff because of prior arrangements 🙁

So, Paula R, did they have bridies in Forfar? 🙂

58. AuldA

Geez, I never write ’hiccough’, I write ‘hiccup’. I didn’t even know this variant existed!

If you don’t understand someone, then it means you overstand him/her, no? For example:

“Parlez-vous français ?”
    “Pardon me? I overstood what you said, I’m afraid.”

59. chipmonkey

OK I’ve been lurking. Well spying really. Like BDDT I get OT as emails. I don’t get time to do very many of the links 🙁

@ Betty Boop @Cearc @Paula Rose : Quantum Anything? I’ve been watching back to back Quantum leap 🙂 Yummy.

@ Paula Rose – are you losing your touch? Don’t despair, Alex’s had the Winger’s touch quite recently. Despite the large crowd waiting for him after the last conference in Perth concert hall, he had time to peck Chipmonkey (Moi) on the cheek and get similar in return. (I have photos of the large crowd, and the BBC cameras on the balcony of the foyer of said concert hall busy talking to themselves as if no-one else were there.)

@ Natasha and AuldA – I love the grammatical discussions. We must forgive each other the odd blooper though 🙂

@Everybody… If you have a table booked for Inverwotsit dining, can we (QQ and I) be added? We don’t need to have out tea at Inverwotsit, but we want to if we can dine in winger’s company. So I’m in a muddle whether I should have booked a table for 2, since that’s not really the object of the exercise xxxxxx F

60. AuldA

Word order question. Do you say:

“I understand, miss”

or

“I miss understand”

?

61. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha, AuldA, and other grammar fetishists –

In 1990 I went to Japan to work in one of the big ‘English conversation’ schools. The only qualification required was that you held an honours degree from a recognised UK institution. I had a (third-class!) Fine Art BA from Glasgow, so that was enough to get me in and I could work legally. A whole stack of GSA graduates went over there around the same time (and some are still there!).

Anyway! After a couple of months I landed a great gig when I got a two-roomed flat in a prosperous area of Tokyo. The landlord was a professor of English Literature at Sophia University. A great guy, in his seventies, with a forty-something wife and three wee boys. There was no ‘rent’ for the flat – instead, he wanted four hours of private tuition (and another two for his nephew/niece)every week, and that usually involved proofreading papers he was preparing for submission to academic journals.

As part of my application for the flat I’d included a copy of an article I’d had published in the Edinburgh Review in 86, 87, thereabouts, and it was all about my experience of going to art-school and how it had messed with my head. After seeing the landlord (Kosugi-san) every Tue and Sat morning (7-9) for over a year, he produced the article and asked me to explain it.

The first sentence was –

‘I went to the Glasgow School of Art and did my head in’.

He asked me what the ‘subject’ of that sentence was. I replied, ‘Well, it’s about me.’ He smiled, then asked, ‘What is the object of the sentence?’. I said something like ‘It’s to try and explain why the art-school did my head in.’ He continued smiling, and then asked, ‘Can you identify any verbs in that sentence?’.

It’s only in the last two years or so that I’ve realised what he was asking me, and why. I remained in that flat, and continued to have very enjoyable sessions with him for another year after that, but I suspect I wasn’t a great advert for the Scottish education system!

62. chipmonkey

@AuldA haha
    A similar problem to the one you just posted.
    Mr Chipmonkey (he quite rightly won’t like that – sorry QQ) and I were once hoping to have our lunch at a nice place in Albuquerque NM. We wanted to sit in the nice outside dining area, which no-one seemed to be using. A sign said ‘The waitress will seat you inside’. My other half decided to walk away. Then it dawned on me. The American’s can’t speak English. What they meant was that the waitress (who was) inside (would) seat you (allocate you a table) which, of course, could be outside if you wanted.

I understood you, sir. I didn’t misunderstand 🙂 (I Hope).

63. cearc

Chipmonkey is spot on about the tables.

How about us just telling you, Bdtt, and you telling them how many covers are required?

64. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chipmonkey.

I’ve just phoned the Invergowrie Inn to book a table for 3 for me, Pete and my son, for 6.30 on the 21st.

Cut a long story short – she said (re a table for 2, you and QQ), if you mention that you want to be with the Wings crowd, she’ll make sure we are all in one clump, together, sharing a space, within shouting distance of each other, or she may stick you on the same table as another pair of Wingers.

Phone 01382 562686 to book, and mention it’s for the Wings do.

65. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi cearc.

It’s more efficient if those who are intending to be there book their seats.

Remember, my ex is the chef and, if people didn’t turn up to take their places, I would get it in the neck.

And I’ve had enough of that to last a lifetime.

In other words, phone the number, book your seat(s), mention Wings, and you’ll share a table with Wingers, and all will be sorted.

66. Natasha

Bdtt
    Oops – I hadn’t noticed slough and tough were the same. See, I told you it was only 9!

Ian Brotherhood – what a lovely story! My parents had a good friend whom they had met in West Africa. He was a Japanese linguist who later moved to Austria. I remember they came to stay once with their two little ones and I practised my German on them. They must have grown up as trilingual.

AuldA
    Is gruntled the opposite of disgruntled, do you think?

67. Stoker

One for the Rev, given his fondness for the wee furry creatures.
    https://archive.today/34fCN

68. Brian Doonthetoon

But then there’s this Stoker.

A brilliant example of ‘punk-prog’ or prog-punk’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wB3XGrWZQlM

69. Paula Rose

stampie stamp foot time – stop talking in riddles, sulk sulk ffs weep.

70. Brian Doonthetoon

Who’s rocking in tiddles?

71. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Okay now, that’s enough stamping!

You’ll be getting a dose of your own medicine if you keep this up, and Thepnr is just the man to give it to you! (Because he’s nearest, far as I can tell…)

So there!

To help you calm down, please check out this dude – he’s the first (maybe the only?) person to ever imagine what a Blobfish might look like when it’s in its own space, doing its own thing.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allan_Riverstone_McCulloch

72. Paula Rose

I’ve got all the time in the world…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2AxWPQVOBA

73. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Read your story about Japan with great interest. It just goes to show even though I have met you three times we know nothing of each other!

Maybe not fair, we do learn enough from the words we are willing to post to give an idea of who we are.

You know what is funny though? Without knowing about any of this or these posts we kinda knew each other. You know what I’m saying, and that’s one of the reasons I see you as a friend.

OK I played this once before, but I love it, it’s mental!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWOyfLBYtuU

74. Ian Brotherhood

For Paula Rose –

You sound a bit out of kilter this evening.

You’ll no doubt have heard this many times, but the version of ‘Blockheads’, at the end, never fails to delight.

Keep yer lovely chin up!

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Peel Session 1977’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7dvLWrEV7s

75. Paula Rose

Don’t mess with me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxlLTp1rPtk

76. Cadogan Enright

unpleasant troll haunting SNP candidates here https://www.facebook.com/allan.cornwell.5

77. Paula Rose

Ian honey – I’m very angry…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CtEJ2hO-FF0

78. Paula Rose

I’m cooling down now – for all you lovely wingie wotsits

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByqXqz7Tvqo

79. chipmonkey

BDTT -well I do see your problem.
    I’ll phone later today.
    Anyone else going to? (or too – both would work, but different meanings – mixing my threads now)

80. AuldA

@Chipmonkey –
    Now, you’ve learnt the hard way that life and language in the United States are topsy-turvy.
    But what did you do in Albuquerque? Was the sky murky?

@Natasha –

Is gruntled the opposite of disgruntled, do you think?

No more I think than dismiss is the opposite of miss, miss.
    Your beholden thrall.

81. chipmonkey

@AuldA – we did lots of things in ABQ. Three main visits – it is a good starting point for all things ‘South West’ – which in the USA doesn’t mean California. Typical, back to language,(they would say ‘go figure’).

I’ve seen all sorts of weather around there, from snow in the desert to baking heat via amazing thunderstorms (sometimes all in one day). I’ve never seen it murky, despite the rhyme.

The first visit was because of Prefab Sprout. (Ask QQ one day.) The second visit was because we got so much from the first – and QQ was doing something scholarly about the area. For the third visit he had a Carnegie grant and did some scholarly type stuff at the university there.

82. chipmonkey

Yip. Thanks Paula Rose.Still love it.

83. Paula Rose

Connection time – vegetable in the band’s name and if you add some girls…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71iMoEBmpVg

84. AuldA

@Chipmonkey –

I’ve seen all sorts of weather around there, from snow in the desert to baking heat via amazing thunderstorms (sometimes all in one day). I’ve never seen it murky, despite the rhyme.

Oh, it’s not just the rhyme: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vU2cwzXhqqQ

For the third visit he had a Carnegie grant and did some scholarly type stuff at the university there.

Isn’t Albuquerque the HQ of the Sandia laboratories, fathers of the Z-machine?

85. Paula Rose

Oi – if I can’t understand what you’re talking about what chance does anyone else have?

86. Brian Doonthetoon

Just posted this on three FB pages…

Catching up on stuff away from Facebook and Wings, I just read this:-

“Hence from today I’ve switching to showing a figure based on a combination of a uniform swing across Scotland and a uniform swing across the rest of Great Britain.
    The Scottish UNS is based on an average of Scottish polls, the rest of GB UNS is based on an average of GB polls, adjusted to account for the absence of Scotland.”

How soon can we arrange a permanent absence?

http://ukpollingreport.co.uk/blog/archives/9234

87. Thistle

Hi folks

myself and Gerry from Independence Live were interviewed by Michael Greenwell from The Scottish Independence Podcast. If you get a moment please have a listen and let me know what you think:
    tvL.ink/scotindypod

88. Brian Doonthetoon

Looks like Prof Curtice is finally seeing it.

“Second, the hurdle that confronts the SNP in a Westminster election is much lower than the one that faced the Yes side in the referendum.
    To win a referendum the Yes side had to win more than 50% of the vote. To win the vast bulk of Scotland’s seats at Westminster, the SNP simply needs to outpoll Labour by a substantial margin.

While the 45% of the vote that the Yes campaign won in the referendum meant defeat then, we already know that it can mean sweeping election success – when the SNP secured exactly the same share of the vote in the 2011 Scottish parliament election, it won 53 of Holyrood’s 73 constituency seats.
    There is thus every reason to believe that a similar SNP performance in May would have much the same impact.”

http://www.iscot.scot/labour-really-does-face-a-tough-battle-in-scotland/

89. Tamson

Read this article on SpinWatch, and it looks like another piece of motivation for Jim Murphy going for the Scottish leadership.

http://www.spinwatch.org/index.php/issues/politics/item/5706-henry-jackson-society-forced-to-quit-westminster-role-after-spinwatch-complaint

It looks like Westminster is cleaning up its act (incredible, I know) on all-party groups, so a prominent role in something like the HJS was no longer worth the effort. Between that, being out of favour with Miliband, and the slow death of Labour’s Blairite wing, it looks like Jim simply felt it was time to bail out from the Labour Westminster front line.

BTW, if you know any Muslim voters in East Renfrewshire, well worth forwarding that link on to them, just so they know exactly the kind of company their MP keeps.

90. Brian Doonthetoon

I don’t know if this has been posted in off-topic previously. However, it bears repeating.

http://www.morningstaronline.co.uk/a-9810-Politics-its-all-about-keeping-the-public-confused

91. Michael McCabe

Shook the hand of my SNP Councillor Stefan Tymkewycz today who was out Canvassing for Tommy Sheppard Who is Standing as the SNP Candidate For Edinburgh East at the General Election. Looking Forward to Tommy becoming my new MP. Anyway any Labour Folk Canvassing Round My way this song is for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWktoG5DU_4&feature=player_detailpage

92. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee Drinking Song. And Apparently A True Story. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATiLJEzU75A&feature=player_detailpage Brilliant Lyrics.

93. AuldA

@Paula Rose –

Well, Italian stuff, if you scrape the surface.

94. tartanarse

Stu if I promise to be good do I get back on Twitter? I didn’t know, honest guv..

95. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt, 12:59pm

Aye, Brian, there was a piece on tv about Surkov recently. Mind you, it has long been obvious that our government and others have been playing both ends against the middle and nobody knows which way is up!

96. Paula Rose

Sergio Leone, Ennio Morricone, Claudia Cardinale et al – Italian? I’d never have guessed (where’s that winkie smiley thingie).

97. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood honey – you’ve learnt some more big words! Isn’t he doing well Natasha?

98. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    I haven’t had time to finish it yet, but some of the words are quite long. I though armistices was pushing it a bit, myself.

99. john king

Tartanarse @3.26

Weeellll?
    WHAT DID YOU DO?
    DONT LEAVE US IN SUSPENDERS!

100. tartanarse

John

I used 247 characters to fill up a tweet with HAHAHAHAH. I didn’t know, seriously.

I’m new to twitter

101. Betty Boop

@ tartanarse

Tell Stu you were having a convulsion! He might forgive you. 🙂

102. john king

OK you lot
    Lets not “Look back in anger”, Let it be”, just take a walk around the “Streets of London” and have “PUFF” Lets just think we’re “Down Under” and lets get those Men at Work, meanwhile we could “GO West”,But remember, “No Woman No Cry”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HFrsBMXipDk&list=RDHFrsBMXipDk#t=0

103. john king

Tartanarse says
    “I used 247 characters to fill up a tweet with HAHAHAHAH. I didn’t know, seriously.”

Tartanarse, or can I call you arse, what did you think was happening when the writing went pink?
    titter. 🙂

104. X_Sticks

Political Compass..

Your Political Compass

Economic Left/Right: -9.13
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -7.23

Two squares up and one from the left.

Am I an anarchist or is it continued exposure to radical Wings Over Scotland folk that is having an effect?

Any closer to the lower left I’d be out the box. Oh, wait..

105. Fiona

I have been doing this test for a number of years, and I did it again yesterday.

Economic Left/Right -9.13
    libertarian/authoritarian -8.36

A slight move to the left and to libertarianism over my score in November 2013

But I must say that the idea of using it to score political parties, as Rev Campbell has done, had never occurred to me. That is a far more interesting and useful thing to do. Once again I am impressed by his intelligent use of information resources.

106. Brian Doonthetoon

Can I just say that I’ve always thought, since I discovered it, that ‘circumjacent’ is a very handy word.

No?

Oh, please yourselves. I will make a point of dropping it into the crack at Invergowrie.

So there.

8=)

107. Thepnr

OK very important post.

Cearc, Natasha and Paula are all staying here. I’d love that and it is still possible.

Things have changed since we first talked. My brother will be staying with me now.

108. Michael McCabe

Here is a nice wee tune for this time of day. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WY6zBMvCgJ8&feature=player_detailpage

109. Brian Doonthetoon

I don’t understand what you’re typing, Thepnr. Mind you, it’s early in the morning…

110. cearc

Thepnr,

So what is it that we need to know about your brother?

111. cearc

Severe flatulance? OO member? Unrepentant bum-pincher?

112. Tartan Tory

Political Compass

Economic Left/Right: -3.5
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -1.54

From the middle, I’m four squares to the left and one down!

Well, that’s a bit of a surprise! 🙂

Still sneaking about here and keeping an eye on you folks occasionally. 😉

113. X_Sticks

Hi TT, good to see you’re keeping a watch.

So, a closet leftie too! That is a surprise 😉

Sorry to see Charles didn’t make the cut. Not my fault, I voted Yes. He earned my vote.

Instead of fresh air, we have now got a young, inexperienced career politician who spent the whole hustings spouting SNP soundbites at a rate that a labour politician can spout labour party mantra, Poor and disappointing in my view.

114. Tartan Tory

Hi Colin

I’m very glad that Charles didn’t make the grade. All is not what it might seem there and I can assure you that he has never been interested in the common good. Yes, he wants independence, but aside from this, he has far more in common with Mr Osborne than Mr Swinney!

My vote went to Bill Duff, followed by Geva Blacket. A third option didn’t exist for me. As for Stuart, my kilt is older than he is! He is from a political dynasty as his mother is an MSP and his grandfather was an MP. He’s a very capable and likeable young chap, but he’s never heard of a ‘Spam Fritter’! Fresh out of university and currently ‘working’ for an MSP whose constituency borders his mother’s.

Representative democracy, it seems, is an illusion. Three of the candidates in this area have never struggled to find a job, never struggled to find a home, never struggled to put food on the table (or have it put there for them), nor can they possibly understand the lives and concerns of the vast majority of their would-be constituents, many of whom struggle on a daily basis.

Worst of all, I’m expected to knock on doors and ask people to vote for someone who didn’t even get my third preference in a ballot. 🙁

115. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tartan Tory.

Good to see you back!

Are you coming out to play at Invergowrie a week on Saturday?

116. Natasha

Hi Thepnr
    I’m very honoured to be in with the in crowd!

What is this Political Compass thingy? And what does bfh mean? I keep seeing it on people’s posts and I can’t work out what it stands for.

By the way, had ANY of you ever heard of caesuras? Rabblach has GOT to be Ian Brotherhood; he’s the only one with the nerve to try and get away with stuff like that! (Anyway, apparently the plural of caesura should be caesurae, so that was stretching it a bit!)

117. Natasha

I’ve found the Political Compass and I’m economic -9.15 and social -8.15, right there with Gandhi! Yippee!

118. Lollysmum

Morag is being interviewed about Lockerbie on Independence Live at 7pm

http://new.livestream.com/accounts/6163639/events/3803448

119. Natasha

Okay, I’ve been ill and I missed that thread about The Great Narrowing. Just want to make clear that I’m not completely thick.

120. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – as well as that I believe he was the same height as you!!!

121. Tartan Tory

Hi Brian. At this point it looks unlikely. Too many pots spinning here I’m afraid, but if one looks like it’s not on a shooglie peg, I might manage. 😉

122. Paula Rose

Oh Tartan Tory please do (be still my beating heart), I will never forget the way the room went silent in Edinburgh when you sauntered in dressed neck to toe in black leather. If you do come and feel a strange sensation around your knees, that’ll be Natasha.

123. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    That had me laughing out loud!

124. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi TT.

But it’s a Saturday night
    And we’ve just got each other.
    No unionists at the Wingers’ do.
    Now how you wish you had someone to talk to,
    You will, if you’re coming too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fvTVnX5PiVQ

125. Paula Rose

We all know Tartan Tory would love to come, it’s just a matter of how he spins it (titter).

126. Paula Rose

(Natasha – they’re all our wee sweet Ian)

127. Natasha

@Ian Brotherhood
    Oh he did, did he? Do you often talk to yourself? 🙂

128. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – I’m going to wear a splendiferous Barbie pink number, what about you?

129. Paula Rose

We could cicumjacentise!

130. Paula Rose

Natasha sweetest – have you ever met Ian Brotherhood?

He’s huge!

131. cearc

Paula Rose,

Wrapped in a pink jacket, lying around on the floor or both you will get trodden on.

132. Paula Rose

eek misspelling of circumwotsit!

cearc hen – cruel honey cruel.

133. Paula Rose

Any excuse – I just don’t know…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

134. David

@ Natasha, asking ‘what does bfh mean’?

There’s a poster here on Wings by the name of Bookie From Hell, i.e. BFH. He often puts his initials at the bottom of his comments. Maybe this is what you have seen.

135. X_Sticks

@Paula

Kate Moss is good, but not a patch on you after a couple of cocktails 😀

@TT
    Ah, TT is that brotherly love I detect there. I thought Charles came over very well at the hustings. My second choice was Bill.

Like you I feel some reticence at having to canvass & leaflet for someone that I wouldn’t have chosen, but I’ll hold my nose and get on with it. The game’s still afoot.

136. Tartan Tory

@ X_Sticks
    Allegedly, we are identical twins. However, the same coin can have two very different sides. He has, in the past, used the term ‘cooncil hoose quinne’ to describe my wife in a derogatory manner and his love of Deeside springs from an innate desire for social climbing. Always the type to discover what kind of home, car and employment position you have before spending time with you. More importantly, he had little or nothing to do with the campaign publically before the 19th September. His neighbour had a huge YES sign at the side of the A93, but he could only bring himself to put a wee yes badge in a side window, in case it were seen from the road by his ‘society chums’. Brotherly love indeed. 😉

137. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    I will wear whatever is clean and still fits me. It will not be exciting.

138. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – the very idea that you would turn up in something dirty that is too large for you suggests you are being sardonic (new word alert Ian Brotherhood) and the idea that you will not create a ripple of excitement upon your entrance, is quite honestly below the belt.

139. Bob Sinclair

What I heard of Eck on R4 tonight was pretty damn good. The people of Scotland will owe a massive debt to Alex Salmonds constituency if they elect him to go down to Westminster.

140. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Bob Sinclair.

Yeah, he performed well; a good mix of humour and serious points.

And, like Nicola on Wednesday, he seemed to have the audience with him.

141. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

I’m sure whatever you choose will be worn with aplomb and typical WOS chic. Wish I could be there to discover for myself just how small you are, but it’s not going to happen…(sniff)

Feels like yonks since I’ve been able to sit and read WOS (especially this wee snug) for more than ten minutes, so, if you don’t mind, I’m going to settle meself down, post links to some tunes, and get quietly pished.

Slainte!

142. Brian Doonthetoon

So, when are we gonna change the SNP’s constitution (or whatever) to allow us to put up candidates in England?

Berwick, Liverpool, Newcastle, Cornwall, London, Bath…

143. Ian Brotherhood

Alvin Stardust, ‘Pretend’ (Live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6VX_BrTo0ok

144. Paula Rose

small thingies to a big mannie

145. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, hands-up – who knew this song was written by Elvis Costello? (Just found out a minute ago via the YT comments…blimey.) Makes sense right enough, you can imagine him singing it…

Dave Edmunds, ‘Girls Talk’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTkhBuNdMgY

146. Brian Doonthetoon

Heads up to the Wingers who will be at Invergowrie next weekend…

Had to visit my ex at work, at teatime tonight, for reasons associated with my son.

Onnyhoo, my ex introduced me to the underling chef, a guy called Bruce, who asked me if it was ok if he came along to the Wings get-together.

I said “OF COURSE!” – wirra Jock Thamson’s bairns. Onnyhoo, he’s around 6 fut plus, presentable, and canvassed for a YES vote during the campaign.

So, Paula, take him under your wing and; be gentle…

147. Ian Brotherhood

Did anyone else hear Janice Forsyth, on her Saturday morning show (approx. 8, maybe 10 years ago) interviewing Elvis Costello over the phone?

Janice was doing her usual faux swooning, OTT, voice rising with every sentence until only bats could hear her. He was in L.A. (apparently) and she asked him to describe the view from his penthouse apartment, which he was happy to do. (He was, naturally, plugging some album/tour whatever) She waxed lyrical about the ‘old days’ when she’d seen him at this or that concert. You can imagine…

So anyway, the next thing, there’s this big ‘fwwooooooosshhhhh!’ noise, and you can hear him coughing, trying to cover it up, and her voice lowers dramatically as she realises what’s been happening, i.e. where he’s been, and she utters the immortal lines:

‘Elvis, was that the toilet flushing?’

He mumbled some rubbish about there being sporadic noises in his flat due to inexplicable gushes of water from the upstairs flat, but by then the penny had dropped (because he had well and truly spent it) and she brought the interview to a curt conclusion shortly thereafter.

Have sometimes wondered whether he really was caught on the crapper unintentionally, or if he was sending some coded message back to the BBC via oor ain wee Janice.

‘Oliver’s Army’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVwrrkt22Ag

148. Paula Rose

Ian Youngsterish et al – I am so falling over laughing at your pathetic attempts to be punks!

149. Paula Rose

sorry – tiddley

150. Ian Brotherhood

The Specials, ‘Too Much Too Young’ (OGWT 1979) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxHcx7FO8nI

151. Paula Rose

@ beedeeteetee’s son – as you will no doubt be aware, I’m not what I seem, I’m actually rather sweet.

152. Ian Brotherhood

For Paula Rose, X

George Hamilton IV, ‘Canadian Pacific’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9A45M2jmVi8

153. Paula Rose

my sweet Ian Brotherhood – I shall stamp and stamp and stamp again if I cannot share a wee moment of deliciousness at Inverwotstit (13 letters) xx

154. Ian Brotherhood

Australian Copperfieldery pisstake stuff – three gags worth:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6wRJqgqv5M

155. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

13 letters? So, it’s Inverkeithing then?

I can’t make it, but I’ve told Rabblach all about you and he’s made an appointment for the barber’s on Tuesday – he must be keen, given that he’s bald.

156. Ian Brotherhood

James Brown, ‘Hot Pants’ (rehearsal!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1U-EBVuLt0

157. Ian Brotherhood

Question: Which came first? The song, or the chat-up line?

Tavares, ‘Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VAtRF4US8k

158. Ian Brotherhood

@The Whole Lot Of Ye’s –

Fuck off then.

Billy Idol, ‘Dancing With Myself’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FG1NrQYXjLU

159. cearc

We all love you really, Ian.

XXXX.

160. Ian Brotherhood

Bleeeurgh – sorry for ‘swearing’ at y’all.

Peace & Love, anawthatstuff…

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘You’ll See Glimpses’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MrmXrK1eS0

161. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Appreciated hugely.

Now, would you please give us a song? Or, at least, something to dance to?

Someone?

Anyone?

If we have no music, we are, in fact, deid.

Fact!

(Told ye’s ah wis gonny get pished…)

162. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Here is one for you to jump about too http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=mfI1S0PKJR8

163. Ian Brotherhood

Martyn Bennett ‘doing’ Sorley MacLean’s ‘Hallaig’.

This is what we’re all about, and where we’re from – like it or not.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzewXmgVzL4

164. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Nice one!

Then again, there’s this..

Joy Division, ‘Atmosphere’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93XIO_fpMVU

165. Michael McCabe

@Ian Brotherhood Enjoyed that. The Drums at the start reminds me of Enola Gay. Here is another from Afro Celt Sound System. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LhIkAKJzs8&feature=player_detailpage Featuring Sinead.

166. David

It’s carnival time in Brazil, so here’s Sergio Mendes + Brasil 66 – ‘MAS QUE NADA’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9U1v01SGtGE

167. Michael McCabe

Here is Bomb the Bass. Featuring Sinead O,Connor and everybody’s favourite Reggae Poet Benjamin Zephaniah. I am sure you can see George Osborne slowly walking through the door in the Video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8O1E-2jfpE&feature=player_detailpage Love the line. From now on I will call you England. No Offence meant to any English people Tuning in.

168. Michael McCabe

Cheers David. That reminds me of the Football World Cup.

169. David

The real deal, two & a half minutes of Salgueiro’s drum corps, the ‘Bateria Furiosa’ performing in Rio’s Sambodromo. Turn it up to eleven!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMfNnlr7SJQ

170. Michael McCabe

Loved the Drums and the Dancing Ladies. But no way I am turning it down from Twelve

171. David

That’s the spirit, play it loud! Try this, Mangueira’s 200 drummers & percussionists, all wearing pink, blowing your ears off. Beat that, Labour!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKINophmDY8

172. Macart

Good tunes all round folks.

Ian B.?

Which came first? The song or the chat up line?

Depends on whether you could carry a tune in a bucket or no. In my case? Ah preferred shock and awe.

Hi, ma name’s Clint an ahm an astronaut.

Killer line. 😉

173. Taranaich

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! I wrote a wee love letter to you all:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/02/14/martyrdoms/

(No, I couldn’t bring myself to including No activists, bloggers & politicians, I’m only a man, dammit!)

174. Natasha

Taranaich

A lovely letter.

It made me think of Hemingway, though:

The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break, it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these, you can be sure it will kill you too, but there will be no special hurry.

My oldest brother, a GP who died at the age of 42 from a brain tumour after living his life loving others and speaking out against injustice – this is the kind of person he was talking about. His epitaph was “James – gifted, loving and brave.”

In the end we all die – it’s the question of how we lived our lives that matters.

175. Paula Rose

To all those wondering about the “bambi shoes”

I prefer heels that leave a deep impression rather than a light bruise.

176. Natasha

@Paula Rose

I think we can all say without doubt that you leave a deep impression!

177. Taranaich

Och, Natasha, now I have a sad. Damn Hemingway always gets to me!

178. Paula Rose

Oo Valentine time – love(ly) songs, the first time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdSIlVZhsDw

179. Paula Rose

Here’s a real treat (titter)…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qqBvmeEmFdk

180. Paula Rose

But this is not (a love song)…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Az_GCJnXAI0

181. Paula Rose

At last all my cryptic comments make sense…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5dpYDTEMRU

182. Macart

Beautifully written Taranaich.

Well said.

183. Brian Doonthetoon

Right peeps.

It’s just under a week to ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 2’ (WOS 7).

Hope you’ve got your seats booked for a nosebag, pre-fun, if you want to be fed. Telephone 01382 562686 to book a seat or seats with other Wingers. Mention Wings when you book your seat(s). Last bookings, 6.45pm.

As I’ve typed to the point of boredom, we’ll be doing personalised badges for this gig, as we did for Invergowrie in September and Glasgow in November.

But…
    You’ll only get a personalised badge if you’ve typed that you’re gonna join us!

The cut-off point for claiming your badge will be 11.59pm on Thursday evening. Here’s the list of Wingers who have intimated that they will be at Invergowrie.

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Ian Clark

Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Pete The Camera

Chipmonkey

Quentin Quayle

X_Sticks

Cearc

Cactus

Paula Rose

Irene King

John King

AndyC

Ronnie Anderson

Wee Jonny

Quinie frae Angus (MAYBE+)

So, who else is gonna be there?

184. Natasha

I’ve booked my table!

185. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee – do they have those high chairs at the inverwotsit inn for those of limited stature, I’m concerned about Natasha’s ability to reach her knife and fork.

186. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    If I were you I’d be more concerned about Natasha’s ability to reach you with her knife and fork. 🙂

187. Thepnr

@Natasha

Looking forward to seeing you dine on a Paula Rose supper.

188. Paula Rose

Darlings you are so silly

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXDgn4OTnjU

189. Paula Rose

You don’t have to say…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QR4vE9xL3yk

190. Paula Rose

Its the way you make me feel…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByqXqz7Tvqo

191. Paula Rose

Its only tomorrow…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuanbnnzXQ4

192. Paula Rose

One of my finest moments…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeKQumiN-vY

193. Epiphyta

Got my first comment deleted at the Guardian, wahey!

(I was explaining that FATCA and FBAR probably have a bit to do with Boris the Moppet’s renouncing US citizenship, and that a fair few ordinary people are paying rather more of a price than he’s going to, and it seems they didn’t like that.)

194. Wee Jonny

Taranaich that was brilliant.
    And Natasha I love this “In the end we all die – it’s the question of how we lived our lives that matters.” So it’s not just Stu who has “it”.

195. Natasha

Thank you Wee Jonny. I am not worthy! 🙂

196. Thepnr

cearc and natasha room and board confirmed, email me for info for saturday. Cheers.

thepnr03@gmail.com

197. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex / thepnr.

Will you be able to curb Paula Rose’s enthusiasm for watersports this time?

198. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee – watersports are so last year.

199. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh Paula Rose!

I do believe, after that wee conversation we had at Invergowrie in September, that you are seriously thinking of investing in a pair of crotchless ear-flaps for next weekend.

Am I so wrong?

200. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Oh Paula Rose!

I do believe, after that wee conversation we had at Invergowrie in September, that you are seriously thinking of investing in a pair of crotchless ear-flaps for next weekend.

Och, I am so disappointed that I can’t come to the bash next weekend. Those Aussie impersonators at the Hydro had better be good to make up for the show Paula R might put on!

201. Betty Boop

@ Taranaich

“Martyrdoms” – Love it.

You are, without doubt, a most talented writer. You express yourself with such heartfelt honesty and humanity, endearing yourself to us all. Always thought-provoking.

@ Paula Rose, 14/2/15

Thanks for Beatles, Dusty – favourites from my youth – and KD Lang with her fabulous Orbison rendition, but, Daniel O’Donnell!!! (almost too much for my sensibilities)

Anyway, lowering the tone, here is something to remind us of what we are currently up against. It is still the weekend and I am allowed to be crass…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HSmOLUY3la8

202. Brian Doonthetoon

I have heard, from sources close to the action, that Paula Rose has been known, during her Dame Edna Everage tribute performance, to have done this, so close to the original performance as to be rated “uncannily perfect”.

Only those, who were there at the time, and remember it well, can feel qualified to comment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3r4MDgzLDE

203. Lanarkist

Briandoonthetoon, hoping to make it along for a quick visit!

204. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lanarkist.

Your personalised badge will be produced – but you can only claim it if you make Invergowrie!

8=)

205. Paula Rose

Betty Boop – I’m no fan of DO’D myself, but Ian Brotherhood and Thepnr are.

206. john king

cumon folks we’ll no hiv much o a raffle wi 17 folk, there are more raffle prizes than attendees, some o its whisky mind. 🙂
    wheres Bob, Geoff, Handclapping,Helena an everybody else I’ve forgotten from Fife and Dundee area, cumon folks these nichts oot are a blast, I can probably even persuade the wife tae gie us a we rendition o Lady Alba’s “Am votin no”
    And Ah’ll even promise tae shut the hell up….. mibbie. 😉

207. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose

I’m no fan of DO’D myself, but Ian Brotherhood and Thepnr are.

That must be a very exclusive club!

They might like this too in that case:

http://www.bit.ly/17FEN76

Ducks down quickly! 🙂

208. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi John King.

So, are you organising the raffle on Saturday then?

We hadn’t thought about that. Feel free to organise away…

8=)

209. Natasha

Anyone heard from Oneironaut recently? He seems to have disappeared off the radar.

210. Betty Boop

@ John King, 8:26am

John, If Irene is doin’ Lady Alba, I’ll likely have to cancel Aussie P Floyd and hightail it to see the show in Inverwotsit! 🙂

211. Paula Rose

Natasha doll, he’s a busy man – spotted him on various other site over the last few days.

212. Paula Rose

Of course I may have been dreaming.

213. Paula Rose

Betty Boop dear, Irene’s doing a greatest hits show.

214. Paula Rose

Btw – a wee plug for my facebook page http://www.facebook.com/UnofficialUKOK

215. Thepnr

Songs to give you a lift!

Higher and Higher. Jackie Wilson.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1odvp-_bhk

216. Thepnr

A song I played here before the referendum. Man it takes you back. It is not Greece but Spain. Spain is next in line for change.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XoBMJAEOvPA

217. Paula Rose

Thepnr dear – main thread, what are toties?

218. Cadogan Enright

@Thepnr 10.10 – And Ireland is in the queue too – where Labour Party is being wiped out by anti-austerity Sinn Fein and independants (poll from anti-SF paper) http://adriankavanaghelections.org/2015/02/14/sinn-fein-feeling-the-love-on-valentines-day-constituency-level-analysis-of-the-sunday-independent-millward-brown-opinion-poll-15th-february-2015/

219. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Toties are skint Tories, did ye no ken LOL.

220. Paula Rose

Ah doo noo sweetness.

221. X_Sticks

Came across this tonight and would like to recommend it. It’s long but is an amazing piece of work from Adam Curtis.

“Bitter Lake is a new, adventurous and epic film by Adam Curtis that explains why the big stories that politicians tell us have become so simplified that we can’t really see the world any longer.

The narrative goes all over the world, America, Britain, Russia and Saudi Arabia – but the country at the heart of it is Afghanistan. Because Afghanistan is the place that has confronted our politicians with the terrible truth – that they cannot understand what is going on any longer.”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/p02gyz6b/adam-curtis-bitter-lake

Thought provoking stuff.

222. Ken500

Where’s Invergowie. What time/date and where is the Wings Do?

223. Paula Rose

Thought provoking stuff – at least it’s honest

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtWWeSuLGSU

Ken500 honey scroll up the thread a bit you’ll find it, just west of Dundee.

224. Thepnr

@Ken500

Would love to see you there. Invergowrie is on the outskirts of Dundee at the West end. Time around 19:00 on the 21st Feb at invergowrie Inn, hope you can make it.

Lots of friends will be there.

225. Ken500

@ Thepnr

Thanks

226. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ken500.

Re Invergowrie – see this post:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-19/#comment-1963396

This link to Google Maps shows you the location of the Inn. You can zoom in on the “A” marker for a better look. It’s around an 8-10 minute taxi ride from Dundee’s city centre, depending on traffic.
    There’s also a large car park at the rear of the building, which will take a minibus.

http://goo.gl/maps/ZpHqR

227. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just heard from Chris Law, the SNP candidate for Dundee West.

He’s planning on coming to the get-together for a wee while and, with a bit of luck, should have “The Spirit Of Independence” as his chariot.

228. Thepnr

Ask Chris if there’s any chance o a lift to Invergowrie in the big fire engine 🙂

229. Paula Rose

I knew if I stroked that lovely machine I’d get a ride!

230. cearc

Well that’s the first time anybody’s called my car ‘a lovely machine’…

Oh, you meant the big blue one.

231. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I’ve just uploaded a couple of pics from 30th November.
    You can see them here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8

232. Thepnr

Nice pics Brian.

233. Paula Rose

Is that Natasha on the right in each pic – she’s taller than I remember.

cearc darling – I seem to remember I was left holding your Vespa whilst you took a wee spin around Dundee riding pillion on X_sticks’ Matchless.

234. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

SOMEBODY took some pics of Wingers ‘n’ co in front of the goddess, outside Fat Sams. Wasn’t me. I’m sure I’ve seen at least one but can’t remember where.

BTW: Chris has been back in touch. His “truck” is off the road just now but he’s looking forward to Saturday.

235. kendomacaroonbar

Hi Brian,

Sorry the Indy live message crashed before I could read it

236. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi kendomacaroonbar.

I was just asking if you were coming to Invergowrie on Saturday. See above. I’ve even provided a Google Maps link, so you can ignore your ropey sat-nav.

8=)

237. kendomacaroonbar

Hi Brian, Thanks for the invite but ah cannae make it 🙂

I’m putting the next iScot mag to bed this weekend.

238. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi kendomacaroonbar.

Is that ‘Issue 3’ or the print version of ‘Issue 2’?

Don’t have much feedback for you but most recipients remarked on the “quality” feel and appearance of Issue 1.

239. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: methinks (because I did it yonks ago) that regular contributors to ‘off-topic’ should tick the wee boxes below the text box (when you’re putting together a post) that say,

“Notify me of follow-up comments by email.”
    and
    “Notify me of new posts by email.”

Because, methinks, peeps tend to check their emails more frequently than web sites, so you can keep up to speed with comments here, without actually having to come to the site.

Vwallah!

8=)

240. kendomacaroonbar

Brian, it’s issue 3

241. Brian Doonthetoon

Is there gonna be a print edition of Issue 2?

242. kendomacaroonbar

Brian,

Yeah. Send me your postal address by e-mail and I’ll mail you one. They are in short supply tbh

243. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ken.

Done.

244. Thepnr

Brian

Get a subscription, bunce up and share it with Pete. Between you I’m sure you can afford 10p/day.

245. Natasha

@Paula Rose 8.14pm

Careful – with me around, no one’s kneecaps are safe.

246. Thepnr

My point of view on the iScot magazine is this.

It is the best chance of establishing a homegrown, genuine supporter of Independence in print that we have.

It has quality, unlike the National it has been created by people like us. The people producing it do it for love of the project and their support of Independence.

It is a quality mag and deserves to succeed, it will only do so though if we support it.

This is not aimed at you Brian nor anyone in particular, there are though people who can afford it who choose not to bother. That is fair enough, but they are missing a golden opportunity in my view to get a voice into the wider community.

We moaned and continue to moan about the MSM, I’m actually stunned that iScot has yet to be embraced. I believe it may be available in a number of newsagents across Scotland in the near future.

If you can’t subscribe consider buying it if it appears on the shelves of your local newsagent.

Winning Independence as has been shown will not be easy, we had better be prepared the next time there is a referendum.

247. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve never found a need to wear kneecaps.
    I have been told that my knees pass muster and have no need for any sort of adornment.

Now, if you’re typing about headgear, ask Paula Rose about the crotchless earflaps. Will she bring them to Invergowrie? Heaven help us all if she does.

248. kendomacaroonbar

Thanks Alex,

btw, since I subscribed to notifications of a reply, I’m actually receiving e-mail comments before the moderation has cleared them on the forum post.

The mags will be Scotland wide in independent newsagents from the borders to Shetland – over 800 + stores. Supermarkets are an issue in as much as we need to pay to list them which can be a few grand each chain.

We’re out there and with a fair wind we’ll get some paid advertising done before the May elections which will give us some increased publicity and numbers. I keep reminding myself we only secured £ 2 grand on indiegogo where others secured 20 times more, but we still got the mag to print. Issue 3 hits the shelves on March 3rd (my birthday woo hoo ) I hope the public take to it.

249. X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

Have you got a ride for Saturday?

250. cearc

X_Sticks,

Yes, she has and without you groping her knees all the way.

251. cearc

Not that she didn’t enjoy it mind!

252. Thepnr

800+ stores. Impressed, thanks for the update. I hope the magazine can now make a rock solid foundation for itself.

Good Luck.

253. Michael McCabe

@ kendomacaroonbar. If you can tell me a shop in Edinburgh that will be stocking it I will Definitely be buying it. Hope it is a big success.

254. Thepnr

Billy Bragg thoughts on the media in song, “It says Here”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m7FjJeBBx8w

255. kendomacaroonbar

@Michael,

If you give me the first part of your post code I’ll find out and get back to you tomorrow.

256. kendomacaroonbar

@Michael,

Just remembered that the Edinburgh YES Café/Hub has a supply. I believe that’s MajorBloodnoks local haunt 🙂

257. Michael McCabe

@ kendomacaroonbar Have not been up to the YES Café/Hub. But was looking it up on the Computer just a few days ago. Now I can go up for a Coffee. let them know what a great job they are doing. and pick up your iScot Mag at the same time. I don’t get out much. so a wee day out to look forward to. Cheers. And keep up the good work.

258. Cactus

Hey Scotland and further afar.. gonnna play this one again.. here’s a cracker from Fantasia.. it’s important, and may I say inda words of mr michael mccabe.. Ahm aye till aye die!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDHBZlSNO6w

See y’all at Inverwotsit, U missy Quinie, ye coming doon?

259. Cactus

Set us free

260. Cactus

Dedication, TO YOU, here’s one for through the night, have an amazing Wednesday beautiful Scottish friends.

Love.

261. Cactus

Playing catch-up, Mike O, he plays a mean guitar..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IhNucymsq4

You know whatcha gotta do

262. Michael McCabe

I Am away to my bed. But here is a wee mellow tune for Cactus and anyone who is still up. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=0Vi3UreI9vU

263. X_Sticks

I NEVER TOUCHED HER KNEES!

264. Paula Rose

X_Sticks honey – I had the sweetest ride with you last November and I loved your gentle touch on the controls, but as cearc and I are booked into the same B&B, I thought it made sense to let her take me under her wing – it means we can change into our party gear without it getting creased during a long drive.

265. X_Sticks

No problem Paula Rose. I know you’ll be safe with cearc even if you are staying at the point of no return B&B 😉

As yet I have no idea when I’ll be going down the road anyway, but see you at the Inn.

Good to see spikyman is coming along too 😀

266. Natasha

I notice no one’s offered to grope my knees.

267. Paula Rose

Natasha doll – we don’t have any knuckle-dragging wingers so your knees are quite safe, unless you want a wingie grope?

268. Brian Doonthetoon

Who’s “spikyman”?

Right – updated list of those who will get a personalised badge, because they’ve typed that they will be in Invergowrie on Saturday…

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Ian Clark

Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Pete The Camera

Chipmonkey

Quentin Quayle

X_Sticks

Cearc

Cactus

Paula Rose

Irene King

John King

AndyC

Ronnie Anderson

Wee Jonny

Lanarkist

Shed Princess

To that, we’ll add Chris Law, SNP candidate for Dundee West, and Bob Costello, the man behind ‘Team YES Bus’.

BTW: “Shed Princess” is a lurker I know at work. Treat her nicely…

Remember, if you’re coming on Saturday, and haven’t typed so, stick a post in here before 11.59pm tomorrow night (Thursday), to book your badge.

Pete will also have a stock of badges with him, for which a donation of 50p a badge is invited, to support our badge-making endeavours.

Natasha – Paula Rose typed, more eloquently than I could, what I was struggling for in my mind.

269. Betty Boop

@ Shed Princess

If you are lurking about, welcome and jump in some time and have a word with these fine Wingers.

You will surely have a night to remember in Invergowrie – I’ve heard Lady Alba is on the bill (or was it the tables?).

Anyway, fear not, they’re a friendly bunch and any trepidation will be soothed by Paula Rose with a gentle stroke. If you’ve got a shed you’ll get on fine wi’ Ronnie. 🙂

@ Bdtt

‘Spikyman’ = Cactus, don’t you think?… 🙂

270. pete the camera

Betty Boop I think bdtt has been on the “slow slow juice” tonight

271. X_Sticks

@BDTT

At least Betty’s on the ball!

272. Paula Rose

Please note –

No badge, no stroke.

273. Macart

One of these days I have to get the chance to go to one of these shindigs. I never seem to get the timing, geography or the funds together at the same time. After three or four years, it’d be a real pleasure to meet and greet, put some faces to names and shake some hands.

Maybe next time. (sigh)

274. karen Brownlee

Hiya , I Am Going To Come Along For A Wee While , Looking Forward to it….

275. cearc

Macart,

If you say what area you stay in you might be able to get a lift.

276. cearc

Karen,

Everyone will be delighted.

277. Macart

@Cearc

Opposite end of the country from me. Way out in the sticks in the south west coast.

Maybe next time it comes to Glasgow.

278. Brian Doonthetoon

OK – I was slow on ‘spikyman’.

Hi Karen.

You’re now on the list!

BTW: Rev Stu is interviewed on the first episode of “Newsshaft” at:-

http://www.newsshaft.podbean.com/

(That’s the crowd from Dateline Scotland.)

279. call me dave

Footie link for later. STV are showing Liverpool game but for those who want to see a Scottish team 🙂

Anyhoo click and select your game here.

http://myp2p.ec/

280. Natasha

I’m seeing Alex Salmond tomorrow night! I’m seeing Alex Salmond tomorrow night! I’m seeing Alex . . . you get my drift.

I’ve promised not to be a groupie, but I had my fingers crossed behind my back. I only have to trample 250 other people to get near him.

281. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – the point that matters is when the wee man wants to meet you, get my point? (chuckles)

282. X_Sticks

@Natasha

You have to be on top to trample people dear.

You’d be better nutmeging them 😉

283. Thepnr

I saw Alex and Nicola in Perth the night before the referendum. Inspired, a giant in political terms. Enjoy Natasha.

284. Paula Rose

I’m effing seething having read the last two posts from the Rev – I need a stroke, I need Inverwotsit.

285. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Heres a tune to help calm you down. Also to lift your spirits.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otuwNwsqHmQ

286. AuldA

@Natasha:

Try to bring an axe with you and hew your way amidst the ruck!

287. Paula Rose

Thepnr – dearest you are so sweet

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jVMTydhx1Y

288. Paula Rose

I’ve posted this before – some folk have had their land stolen a damn site more than we have – I weep when I hear this, I also rejoice.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2d5JeO7vSM

289. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Don’t think I’ve ever heard you so exercised – what got your hackles up about those posts in particular? Blair MacDougall?

‘Leave it Paula! He’s not worth it!’

290. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Two good songs, thanks.

291. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood – I love all my ancestry, yes I am one angry person – but I will share strokes soonest. Still giggling over your silly crosswordthingies xxx

292. Paula Rose

Never a crossword between us xxx

293. Paula Rose

For the gorgeous Ian Brotherhood and the superlative Thepnr – (usual)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfBn5IJgP0o

294. Paula Rose

I’m at a friends house – now I am livid.

295. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Kind words indeed.

I’m properly brassed-off that I can’t attend. I was hoping to get a ‘selfie’, sandwiched between you and Natasha.

One day…

296. Paula Rose

One of my favourites – please listen…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXwR0JGUCFI

297. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood you naughty boy – wee Natasha would be lost between us – I’ve got a high chair for the wee lassie at Inverwotsit, an event that you have declined to attend – is that a past participle?

298. Thistle

171 contributions, 558 shares, 947 tweets, 6376 visits, 3816 referrals… job done 🙂

And from the stats £835 from links from WoS.

Thanks for all the support.

299. Thepnr

Well done Kevin, glad you made it. You do us all proud.

300. Brian Doonthetoon

So, Kevin (and Delboy).

We’ll see you at Invergowrie?

I’ll buy you a pint…

301. Jim Thomson

Just playing …

First column
    2nd Column

1st entry
    2nd one
    another line
    etc.

/table>

302. Jim Thomson

dammit, tables don’t work then … hmmm

2nd try

Constituency
    Candidates

Aberdeen North
    Kirsty Blackman
    David Cameron
    John Cook
    Stepen Flynn
    Gillian Martin
    Gill Samarai
    Richard Thomson

303. Jim Thomson

ah weel, just gie up, methinks.

304. Betty Boop

@ Natasha, 19/2/15, 7.10pm:

Natasha says: I’m seeing Alex Salmond tomorrow night!

Natasha, Forget trying to climb up to trample people; take a ladder so Alex can tell folks that he saw you! 🙂

305. Thistle

I’m afraid I can’t make Inergowrie but I will see if Del can.

Any WoS events for Glasgow coming up?

306. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Kevin.

Because of events being held all over the place on the 2nd and 3rd of May, “All Under One Banner”, it could be an idea for someone in the Glasgow area to think about organising another ‘Wings Over Glasgow’ for Saturday 2nd.

Jiss an ehdee like…

307. Thistle

Just saw Thepnr comment about iScot magazine. It is absolute quality, love it.

308. Paula Rose

Darlings – just given my pedicurist a big tip for the fab nail job, should I have asked for a receipt?

309. Thistle

Brian we could have a WoS night at Piper, George Square or YesBar downstairs. Given how much WoS donated to crowdfunder I would be more than happy to cover any hiring chargers if required.

What does everyone think?

310. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Kevin.

The last couple of Glasgow get-togethers have been at the Counting House. We just take over one of the corner “snugs” as people vacate tables.

The rule of thumb is; if you’re providing a venue with a flock of money-spenders, you shouldn’t have to pay to spend your money, ie, there shouldn’t be a hire charge for parking piles of thirsty bums (excuse the pun!) on seats.

However, if the venue is providing some extra service, like FOOD, then it’s reasonable to expect a commensurate hire charge.

For example, there is no hire charge at the Invergowrie Inn. They are making money from the Wingers who are having a meal, then we’ll be buying “DRINK! FECK! GURLZ!” for the rest of the night.

The Glasgow gig on the 22nd November was supposed to happen at the YES Bar but, those who were there right after Nicola’s Hydro gig, took the decision to move to the Counting House.
    ‘Twas a good night.

Maybe points to ponder…

311. Ian Brotherhood

@Thistle –

I’m sure plenty of us would be up for another social, but it would be nice to see you having a night ‘off’ i.e. without a fekking I-pad superglued to your paw!

312. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh, and 22nd November…

Cactus was alive and kicking at the back of 6 – I met him outside with Dixie, I believe. But he never returned to the Counting House.

Obviously more pressing business ensued.

313. kendomacaroonbar

Kevin,

Thanks for the kind words, and congratulations on reaching your target.

There is a venue in Helensburgh (seafront) The Clyde Bar – family friends of mine that I’m hoping we can host a shindig at some point. Trying to arrange a few things, possibly a play and a fair amount of swally ? what say yeah ?

314. Brian Doonthetoon

As I typed the other day, the claiming of name badges for the Invergowrie shebang closed at 11.59pm last night. Here’s the final list…

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Ian Clark

Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Pete The Camera

Chipmonkey

Quentin Quayle

X_Sticks

Cearc

Cactus

Paula Rose

Irene King

John King

AndyC

Ronnie Anderson

Wee Jonny

Lanarkist

Shed Princess

Karen Brownlee

Bob Costello

Chris Law

If anyone not on the list turns up, they will be invited to scrawl their own name on a badge, like was done at Glasgow.

315. Macart

I’d be in for a wee pre vote soiree at the YES bar.

I missed every meet an greet during the referendum. That is NOT happening this time round.

316. Macart

So long as its not a full moon of course.

317. Paula Rose

So excited – going to bed early, clutching my photo album.

318. Thepnr

Good for you Macart, I hope you don’t mind but I’d like to make sure I can be there and shake your hand too.

319. Paula Rose

Bee dee tee tee – honey, so excited, terrified though of tripping over Natasha.

320. Ian Brotherhood

Why don’t we just pencil-in Friday May 1st for the Counting House again – I know some folk weren’t too keen on the place, but it’s big, not too dear, has disabled access, and we know that the Wetherspoon’s boss (forget his name, you know the dude..) was pretty sanguine about the whole indy-ref thing.

It’s just a suggestion.

321. cearc

‘clutching my photo album.’

OMG not the wings-do photo album. Hasn’t it been classified?

322. Ian Brotherhood

Friday May 1st is ‘May Day’.

International Workers’ Day. (And a big deal if you happen to be a Morris Dancer.)

Lumilumi will be able to tell us about ‘Vappu’, which I’ve just read about here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/May_Day

323. Macart

@Thepnr

Look forward to it.

324. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

My train of thought is that with the “All Under One Banner” events being planned for the 2nd and 3rd, there’s a good chance that Wingers will be wingin’ it towards Glasgow on either of those two days.

Thus a get-together on the evening of the 2nd could provide an evening event for those going to Glasgow for anything going on in the afternoon, or next day.

Friday’s are a ßügg€r if you work on Fridays and have to travel any distance, like from Aberdeen or Dundee to Glasgow.

325. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: Counting House in Glasgow is a fine drinking den – no complaints.

But don’t eat there – the quality control on their food is a tad askew.

326. Ian Brotherhood

Aye, Morris dancing.

Check this out – hardcore ‘extreme’ Morris dancing. Not for the faint-hearted.

You have been warned.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VP3fZp4UM2E

327. Betty Boop

Hope all you lovely, lucky Wingers have a great time tomorrow night. Paula R – no dancin’ on the tables, the landlady would be annoyed about the stiletto marks.

@ Ian Brotherhood – definitely up for a another do at the Counting House. Would be great if it could be the Yes Bar but it is a bit wee and on a Friday, no doubt, it will be heaving.

328. Brian Doonthetoon

Please – if you want Wingers from 80 miles away (and more), make it a Saturday.

And this is happening in Glasgow on Saturday the 2nd:-

http://heyevent.com/event/1521421908137218/all-under-one-banners-glasgow-vote-snp-march-rally

329. Ian Brotherhood

Fuck it.

For once in my cream-puff I’m making an executive decision.

Friday. May 1st. Counting House, Glasgow. I’m going, and inviting all my SSP comrades, AND all the Ayrshire folk I’ve met via the Yes campaign, AND all the folk who wanted to go to previous WOS Glasgow gigs but couldn’t make it, AND a’body else who’s free that night.

If ye can make it, see ye there.

And that’s that.

Sorted.

330. Natasha

Just got back from our candidate’s adoption meeting; Wee Eck was AMAZING! And I got a photo with him! I didn’t even need a stepladder. You can all bask in my reflected glory tomorrow (or later today, actually).

331. Brian Doonthetoon

Ian, I’ve got to ask.

Why Friday?

332. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

I hear you mister.

There’s only so many days in the week, and let’s face it – come the start of May? we’ll have a pretty good idea of how things are panning out.

Some will only be able to do a Friday or Saturday. Some lucky yins will be able to do both. Let’s apportion the eggs between whatever baskets we have – no matter, we’ll have a rerr terr as and when we get together.

Canny wait!

333. Michael McCabe

Here is a song for all those meeting at Invergowrie later today. And all those meeting up in the Future. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=gHyzpWaKjCM Have a Great time.

334. Thepnr

I feel another bus from Dundee & Angus coming up for the first weekend in May. Maybe Bob Costello could help us out there?

Let’s do it one more time.

335. Michael McCabe

Alas as much as I would like to be there. I wont be able to make it. Hope you all have a great time though. Anyway this one is for me to cheer me up. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=1iZOYXux37M Aye till I die.

336. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Nice song and lovely girls. That looks to me like Riga in Latvia, couldn’t find anything on the net. Is it?

337. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr I think they are a band from Slovakia. Don’t know where the Video is from. Sorry. Hope you have a great night Tonight. And all the other Wingers too Naturally.

338. Thistle

@Ian Ok cool 1st

339. AuldA

To every participant: enjoy your evening!

340. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

He’s hoping to be there tonight. We can have a blether about buses…

There are two events happening in Glasgow –

SEIZE THE DAY (HOPE OVER FEAR RALLY) GEORGE SQUARE GLASGOW
    George Square, George Street, GLASGOW, G2 1DU
    Saturday, April 25, 2015, 12:00 (4 hours)

http://www.indyscot.info/details.php?ref=157

and

GLASGOW AUOB- PUBLIC PROCESSION
    All Under One Banner
    Glasgow Green to Independence (George) Square
    Saturday, 2 May 2015 from 10:30 to 12:00

http://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/glasgow-auob-public-procession-tickets-15127379399?aff=efblik

Can’t find any info about what’s happening at George Square when the procession reaches there.

341. Bob Sinclair

To all those going to Invergowrie – have a great time. Sorry I couldn’t be there – family event – but will be at the next one for sure.

342. Cactus

A bonnie afternoon to y’all, I should be able to make it along to the next Glasgow Counting House gig on Friday the 1st May (Episode 3).

Am going to play at the Girvan Folk Festival on the Saturday, so that suits AOK.

Looking forward to the leisurely drive up to Inverwotsit this early evening to see you folks.

Chairs 🙂

343. Macart

May 1st?

Sounds good t’me.

344. Kevin meina

Reference canvassing I have only being doing this for a weeks so this is my take on it . I am doing it in North Ayrshire for SNP .We are given a pack for a certain street.Not all house nos are on it ones that aren’t are known anti snp voters.
    You only chap doors of snp voters or don’t knows.When I started chap ping doors I knocked on some I shouldn’t have and reaction showed why Fenian communist was one choice phrase. Basically you are checking core support is still with you .
    I personally think it is pretty pointless and there must be a better way to encourage support and gain voters.

345. Quinie frae Angus

Woo hoo, looking forward to seeing the Wingers in the Gowrie.

Hope Paula Rose won’t be too consumed with envy when she find out I am getting a ride up there in the bold Cactus’ chariot!

346. Wee Jonny

That’s me showered, shaved and fed, see some of you in the ‘Inn.

347. Ian Brotherhood

Hope y’all have a blast. Raising a glass of cheeky Lambrini Rose to youse right now – slainte!

348. Croompenstein

Listening to some tunes..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NhGoZLudKyk

349. Croompenstein

This is Bob Dylan’s boy you know…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfQCDfXqI3g

350. Croompenstein

F*ck it here’s anither wan…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rA1n4oOYLfY

351. Croompenstein

You may think this is the Byrds but it’s the fantastic Jayhawks..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pm24ldAcnhc

352. Michael McCabe

@ Croompenstein Loving your song choices. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=BDUDx15KdkI

353. Nana Smith

Looks like it’s just me & you Croompenstein, I believe the usual off topic folks are having a party elsewhere tonight.

love Creedence and John Fogerty. Actually any good guitarists.

Hope you like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5tNhGTlQwiY

354. Nana Smith

Here’s another Joe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlfCyHbLdpI

355. Croompenstein

@Nice one Michael and super stuff from Joe Nana..

I am listening to some tunes on random play here’s another..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1SCOimBo5tg

356. Nana Smith

One more. Slab gravy train coming to a halt soon I hope!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8qeacBZGA4

357. Croompenstein

I do like Welsh folk….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhUIVUOdyR0

358. Ian Brotherhood

Oi!!

All youse bams in Inverwotsit!!

Any chance of a photie, or an update, or SOMETHING?!?

It’s bad enough not being there, but youse don’t have to rub it in…(razzin’ frazzin’, stuck-in-the-hoose angrypants)

359. Michael McCabe

Here is a good Guitarist for you Nana. Sadly no longer with us. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=lROruo8G7Yo

360. Nana Smith

@Michael McCabe

Superb Michael. Here’s Joe at the royal albert hall playing Rory’s guitar. Nice tribute!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2AceOp5sYHg

361. Michael McCabe

Here is a Joe Walsh song for the Labour party. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=nNPWVi0sHac But not for much longer. Tick Tock

362. Michael McCabe

Here is another good Guitarist for Nana. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=SE1xO44FlME

363. Michael McCabe

@ Nana Smith I noticed on one of the main threads that you were finding it hard to type. So I hope you wont mind if I post up some Guitarists that you may like Hopefully. ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=tUYQMslOobw

364. Nana Smith

Oh that was terrific Michael.

Here’s a fine fellow I came across fairly recently.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMPWfHqVj40

365. Michael McCabe

That was Fantastic Nana. That young man is very talented. Here is an old Classic done Acoustically. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=0qjpOLj7WSY

366. Michael McCabe

This Guitarist Chills me right out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=0Vi3UreI9vU Hope they are all Enjoying Themselves at Invergowrie

367. Ian Brotherhood

The Inverwotsians are too busy enjoying themselves to remember their old mates here in O/T.

Ach well. So it goes. (sniff…)

Tomorrow, mid-afternoonish, we’ll get effusive, transparently superficial reports about how great it all was, and then, when the guilt kicks in (i.e. after they’ve swapped notes on the flashbacks) we’ll get the awful truth…bit by horrible bit…

The mind boggles.

Please join me as I get the rosary beads out for the guid folk ay Invergowrie – bless their souls, they did no harm, but had this visited upon them…ochone, ochone…

368. Michael McCabe

I have found a train labour would never be allowed on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=jOrhjgt-_Qc

369. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Feeling mellow now, after tonight’s shenanigans at the Invergowrie Inn.

But…

A first. We managed to capture a couple of pics of the legendary Paula Rose. Also, did a wee video of those who were there and remember it well.

Uploading will have to wait until I’m feeling a tad less mellow though. Tomorrow, sometime, sounds like a plan.

370. chipmonkey

Ian,some of the secrets of Inverwotsit will never be told. It was a great success and I don’t think we’re actually barred from having another. Nice to meet some new faces who were as well behaved (ahem) as the rest of us. There was another heels damage incident,but we managed to persuade them that Natasha wasn’t there last time so didn’t know about the promises after the Paula Rose incident (and has a demonstrable need for the heels).
    The story at the B&B is still unfolding 🙂

371. Thepnr

Well, hmmm. I didn’t get to bed until 5:45am. Myself and Cactus were the last two standing, and I’ll tell you what that guy can play a good tune and he can sing 🙂

Good night, enjoyed myself. Thanks Brian and thanks cearc for the eggs!

372. Natasha

Hi folks
    Thepnr, have you managed to tidy up yet, or have you had to go and lie down?

We raised £100 in the raffle at Inverwotsit, so £50 is going to Thistle and £50 to Wee Ginger Dug. Ronnie has charge of the cash.

As one of the only three sober people at the end of the night, I would like to point out that the heels incident had nothing to do with me! It was very funny though watching Thepnr telling the taxi driver the best way to drive through Dundee and then begging him to vote SNP for the sake of his country’s future.

Paula Rose, if I’d realised how much you wanted that high chair, I would have just given it to you. There was no need to stamp your foot at me . . .

373. Thepnr

@Natasha

Yes, all is tidy now. I didn’t fancy the wrath i would have to face later today if it wasn’t.

Oh and well done on staying sober, wish I had now 🙁

374. X_Sticks

Cracking night last night folks.

Great seeing you all and in such good spirits.

So, if the heels incident wasn’t you Natasha, then who was the culprit?

Sorry you didn’t make it Ian, but we’ll see you soon.

375. karen Brownlee

Hiya Abodee, was Ace meeting You Guys n gals Last pm…Hope you all Have A Safe Journey Home x

376. Lanarkist

Great to meet so many of you last night, sorry I had to leave so early, glad I was one of the sober ones!

Great tally for the two causes who will receive the raffle money, both excellent recipients!

377. Thistle

Thanks for the donation people 🙂

378. Natasha

Is Paula Rose not coming out to play tonight? Maybe she has a wee bit of a headache . . .

379. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Instead of taking loads of pics last night, I spent 3 minutes shooting a video with, hopefully, everyone in it, except yours truly.

You can see it here :-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8RQKd2XX70

BTW: X_Sticks. Apologies for misspelling your username in the captions. I didn’t realise I had done it till I was taking my first view on YouTube.

PS: the music in the background is “The Black Bear”, by Frank Cordell & his orchestra, which was the signature tune of the pirate Radio Scotland in the 60s.

380. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

How did you manage you avoid being in the video? You do this ALL the time. People will start wondering if you really exist.

381. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s what the poor sowels of Inverwotsit were singing into their beer last night:

Pet Shop Boys, ‘What Have I Done To Deserve This?’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn9E5i7l-Eg

382. Bob Sinclair

It’s a shame Paula didn’t turn up. I see one of her distant male relatives was there though. Looks like you all had a good night & a good turnout as well.

383. Paula Rose

Seems I must of been powdering my nose when BDTT was making his little home movie.

As for the point of no return B&B – well what can I say?

When I glided downstairs this morning there seemed to be wingers sleeping everywhere including the kitchen table – but for some reason I can’t recall much about the late night events apart from Cactus’ lovely warbling.

384. AndyC

Sorry I couldn’t make it folks..last minute hitch.

385. Ian Brotherhood

Aha!

Paula Rose has resurfaced!

(Powdering yer nose? Aye…heard it.)

Poor old Inverwotsit. The guid menfolk, law-abiding god-fearing and decent as they are, all sitting about today, wondering what happened to them, and whether she’ll ever come their way again. They sob quietly into their flat pints, the will to live draining away as they ponder the prospect of never seeing her again…

Then, one of them rises from his bar-stool, blows his nose violently, and releases a whimper before downing what’s left of his Guinness. He rakes about for some change, staggers across to the juke-box, and, through a never-ending torrent of tears, locates the following, to which all of his lovestruck colleagues sing along:

Dionne Warwick, ‘Heartbreaker’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8VCuCm6XKeA

386. cearc

A round of applause there for Ian’s prose.

ThePNR,

Did I leave a kangaroo’s bawbag on your kitchen table?

387. Natasha

cearc
    It was there when I left this morning, but who knows what you lot got up to after I had gone? When the cat’s away . . .

388. Ian Brotherhood

Good god, is this what it’s come to? Casual discussion about leaving ‘a kangaroo’s bawbag’ on a kitchen table has been normalised?

389. Brian Doonthetoon

Did anyone have a chance of blethering with “Uncle Bill”?

If so, how did it go?

BTW: I remembered, after I had uploaded the video, that Graham from Oz is known to some as “Swannie”.

390. Thepnr

@cearc

Yes you did. email me your postal address and I’ll send it to you. The baws are still in the bag, so no harm done LOL.

391. ronnie anderson

Did wee Johnny get hame ok embody

392. ronnie anderson

When the Manny ( Ian Brotherhood ) gets roon tae taking names fur the 1st May Wingers anither nite oot, would you put my name on the list please.

393. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A –

You’re aye tap ay lists, alphabetical-wise onyroad, ‘n ye ken fine ye’d tap a’ lists otherwise (looks, charm, patter, etc etc), so haud yer pish, eh?

Friday? May 1st? Glasgow?

Ye’d best be there mister!

Ah’ll be lookin’ fur ye!

394. Tackety Beets

Thanks for posting the link ” Invergowie Nicht Oot ”

Brilliant , and nice to see all the friendly people .

The posts suggest a good time was had by all .

Hopefully there is another good turn oot @ PQ in March or doo on May 1st .
    For me it’s a b@@@@@r getting time off work sometimes .

Onywy , nice to see the video , ta

395. Wee Jonny

Ronnie – Yes I got home safe and well thank you. My wife got oot o bed and came and picked me up somewhere along the Perth Road. Or Riverside drive (I canny mind). Great night as ab’dee has already said. Felt rough as funk yesterday though? Musta been that Stella ????.

396. X_Sticks

@Wee Jonny

“My wife got oot o bed and came and picked me up”

Where can I get one like that? You lucky boy!

397. john king

Counting house 01/05/15
    You can add us to the list Ian. 🙂

398. cearc

Wee Jonny,

You’ll have to be on your best behaviour for ever now.

Your wife only needs to post, ‘I’ve kicked Wee Jonny out.’

and thousands of suitors will be tearing down the fence to get there.

399. Ian Brotherhood

@John King –

Good stuff. I’m not even keeping a list this time, but that’s a few of the usual suspects onboard already. Won’t be long coming.

400. Lollysmum

I’ve volunteered for London branch canvassing team to come up the weekend before GE to either Glasgow or Edinburgh. I expect we’ll travel up on Friday 1st. If I find I’m on Glasgow team then I may be able to join you all. I hope so

It will be a few weeks before I find out but fingers crossed. It would be great to meet some of the characters I only know through these pages. 😉

401. Quentin Quale

@karen Brownlee. Link to photos isn’t working!

402. Wee Jonny

X_sticks “Where can I get one like that? You lucky boy!” Arbroath.

Cearc – Ha, Mrs Wee Jonny would never chuck me oot, we’re daft on eacother. And it was in our wedding vows (oh no not another vow) – For better or for Wings. Till Wings do us depart…….

403. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood

Is Counting House bash confirmed for 1st May?

As noted before, I am definitely up for the CH as is JimT, of course! Was really disappointed when the date for Inverwotsit changed and couldn’t make that. 🙁 Glad you all had a good time though 🙂

Wee observation, Brian said he thought it should be Saturday, but, if the All under One Banner event is on at George Square on the Saturday, the Counting House will be heaving along with everywhere else around the square.

404. Brian Doonthetoon

One of things that was discussed on Saturday night was the Hope Over Fear Rally in George Square on 25th April.

Looks like there may be a bus going down from the Dundee area. I’ll find out at the Team Yes Bus meeting on Wednesday.

Are we gonna have a Wings presence in the Square that day?

I’ll have to know, as Ronnie bestowed on me the honour of being Keeper of the Flags, Banner, Irn-Bru & Bottled Water, after the Dundee St Andrews Day Gathering.

405. Brian Doonthetoon

hi Tackety Beets.

All part of the service!

8=)

Hi Wee Jonny.

Have you got a pic of your car uploaded anywhere that we can link to?

I forgot to take a pic of it on Saturday and some of those there didn’t see your wheels.

406. Paula Rose

I’ve noticed that we are very good about paragraph breaks in here – perhaps the Rev could remove the “I will kill you” etc from this page – it’s a bit distracting…

407. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I had a bit of a disaster with the two pics I took of you posing on the table on Saturday night. (You may not recall; I believe your state, after midnight, could be described as ‘squiffy”.)

Onnyhoo, I will persevere with Photoshop and see what I can do. May take a day or three though…

408. Wee Jonny

Brian Doonthetoon – Yes click onto my Twitter page – Wee Jonny1 and you’ll see a photo of my car with the heading Still Yes.

409. Brian Doonthetoon

Och Wee Jonny.

Some Wingers don’t do Facebook. I’m in the group that doesn’t do Twitter. I tried various permutations of Wee Jonny, WeeJonny and Wee_Jonny with no luck.

Onny risk o’ a link ti the pic?

410. Paula Rose

@ Beedeeteetee

MOI!

411. Paula Rose

and btw I’ll have you know that if it wasn’t for my navigational skills, Cactus’ Humvee could well have ended up in the North Sea.

412. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: I also tried:

https://twitter.com/Wee Jonny1

And got,

“Sorry, that page doesn’t exist!”

So, I tried,

https://twitter.com/WeeJonny1

and found your page! Unfortunately, we have the same problem that arises with Facebook,

@weejonny1’s Tweets are protected.

Only confirmed followers have access to @weejonny1’s Tweets and complete profile. Click the “Follow” button to send a follow request.

Can you email me a pic? The email address is:

brian@BUMFLUFFdoonthetoon.plus.com

Remove the BUMFLUFF to get the correct email address.

413. Brian Doonthetoon

Paula Rose – Oui – Tu!

414. Wee Jonny

BDtt – email sent with twa foatays. Hope it works.

415. Paula Rose

Oh and btw Ian Cruciverbalist –

have you mislaid your dictionary of obscure words? I couldn’t write fast enough to fill the grid today – quickie of the easiest order.

416. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    If our taxi driver had taken any notice at all of Thepnr’s drunken directions, we WOULD have ended up in the North Sea.

417. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I’ve contacted Indy Deb and Karen Brownlee and they’ve allowed me to capture their pics of Saturday, for uploading to my webspace.

Also, Wee Jonny has sent pics of his car so I’ll upload that as well.

Could take me a day or three though; I have to earn a crust.

418. Thepnr

Tut Tut Natasha

I got everyone back in one piece.

419. Paula Rose

Apart from the Kangaroo.

420. Natasha

Thepnr
    I beg your pudding. You did pay for the taxi, after all.

421. Brian Doonthetoon

He who pays the piper chooses the tune for the karaoke…

422. Macart

@ John King

Lookin’ forward to seein’ you there fella.

So long as its not a full moon. 😮

423. cearc

Well the kangaroo was asking for trouble jumping onto the kitchen table with all those knives around.

424. Paula Rose

Wish I’d been there for Natasha’s knife throwing act – pity about the kangaroo’s wotsit, still I hear QfA comforted the wee thing.

425. Paula Rose

Though the Kangaroo’s castrati vocal did add a nice bass line to Cactus’ vocals.

426. cearc

The Cactus hip-hop duet. That really was something.

427. cearc

Natasha was jumping about like a wallaby.

428. Quinie frae Angus

@Paula Rose

Oh,is that what it was??? Now you tell me!

429. Chic McGregor

Of the 13 Prime Ministers since WWII, 9 went to Oxford.

Of the remaining 4, Churchill came via a military route, Harrow-Sandhurst, probably helped by actually being at war when he first got in.

Curiously, the other three, Callaghan, Major and Brown, all ‘inherited’ the position, that is they took over during administration when the incumbent stood down for some reason.

Perhaps in those circumstances the usual selection process by the men in suits was circumvented either by perceived performance or time constraints?

430. Cactus

Good times in the Gowrie, cheers to all and to Brian Doonthetoon for organising, yer musical videos were crackin’ by the way.

Aye was lucky enough to be Miss Roses chaperone back to thepnrs most excellent 5-Star B&B. I was truly touched by her intimate presence and have learned that navigation is one of her many skills, but that’s between us. Now I know how tartan tory must have felt!

The after-show party at thepnrs was a winner, great to be there and fun to play with you all, thanks 😉

See y’all at the next event in Glasgow.

ps I found your embroidered handkerchief Miss Rose.. will return to you on our next date, honey.

431. call me dave

EU footie link + other things.

http://myp2p.ec/ OR

http://crichd.tv/bt-sport-1-live-stream.php

432. Grouse Beater

Fellow wingers, can somebody teach me how to create a sad Smiley, and a winking Smiley in dots and dashes? Thanks.

433. Paula Rose

Morse code?

434. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

As I mentioned yesterday, I got permission from Indy Deb and Karen Brownlee to upload their Facebook pics from Saturday night to my webspace, so that non FB users could squirm as well.

Job completed.

You can see them here:

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-invergowrie-21-02-15

Feel free to share the link.

435. john king

GB @ 8.50
    you use ; then ) for winking smiley or : then ( for sad

436. john king

Cactus
    you truly are a gentleman
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4V8OHy0su0

437. Grouse Beater

😉 🙁

If those work I owe you a pint, John. Ta. 🙂

(Won’t know till I hit the SEND icon… )

438. john king

Macart says:
    @ John King

Lookin’ forward to seein’ you there fella.

So long as its not a full moon. 😮

What?
    like this you mean?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ew1NZzo1iYE

I want you to know I carry silver bullets at all times 🙂

439. john king

Paula Rose says
    “Though the Kangaroo’s castrati vocal did add a nice bass line to Cactus’ vocals.”

how high is cactus’s voice if the castrati is the bass line, Jesus only bats will hear him!

440. Paula Rose

How high is Cactus’ voice? Amongst the angels.

441. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Ur you looking fur ah job as ma agent ( looks charm ) am discounting they 1st two an the ect ect,an am deducting that fae yer fee lol.

442. Cactus

He he, yeah I’m trying to find a new frequency.. it’s tough, but I’m getting some lessons fae an angel of another kind.. her name is Madison and she’s a mermaid 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4z848FFClBM

Even though, you know my resistance is low.

443. Betty Boop

@ Cactus

With ref to your last comment, this is for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYSdh8UKul8

Forgot all about this guy.

444. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie Anderson, 10:45pm, 24/2/15

@ Ian Brotherhood Ur you looking fur ah job as ma agent ( looks charm ) am discounting they 1st two an the ect ect,an am deducting that fae yer fee lol

Ian forgot to mention your rather fine singing voice! 😉

445. Wee Jonny

Nice pic’s Brian. The last one’s a wee belter 😉

446. AuldA

@Chic McGregor:

UK has Oxford, France has ENA. Plato, in his time was already saying this about Athenian democracy: “Then as now, and indeed always, from that time to this, speaking generally, our government was an aristocracy–a form of government which receives various names, according to the fancies of men, and is sometimes called democracy, but is really an aristocracy which has the approval of the many.” (Plato, Menexenus).

447. Chic McGregor

@AuldA
    Yes. Democracy has the merit that it is difficult for the minority to justifiably reject the wishes of the majority but without genuine checks and balances (which do not exist anywhere) it rapidly degenerates into a matter of cheques and balance-sheets.

It naturally attracts the greedy and most corruptible types to seek office, furthermore, it is those whom are best at lying who tend to get in.

The SNP are, of course, the exception – for now at least.

But as Yanis Varoufakis recently said, if they do not push the Greek reforms through now, it will be too late, in a year from now the new Greek government will already be corrupt itself. Presumably without him. No doubt they are already preparing the hemlock for one so honest as he. 🙂

448. Cactus

@Betty Boop ~

I hadn’t seen that version before, likey, especially the lady dancers, thanks. They got the groove 🙂

Still, ye cannae beat auld Hoagy on the hammers.. the musical ones that is!

X

449. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Talked with Bob Costello of Team Yes Bus tonight. He’s amenable to providing a minibus to go down to Glasgow for the get-together on 1st May. Cost will probably be £8 a head.

The bus would probably be leaving Dundee around 5.30pm.

Can I have names of anyone interested in claiming a seat? The route will from Dundee > Perth > A9 to Stirling > Glasgow, so we could pick up at points in between.

Like November’s abortive effort, we’ll need 16 seats filled.

450. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: nobody has responded to my query about ‘Hope Over Fear’ on 25th April.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-19/#comment-1967139

451. Paula Rose

( @ Beedeeteetee – I got awfully squiffy on Saturday night, I’m not sure if I’m allowed out anymore )

452. chipmonkey

Anyone going to the snp spring conference next month? X-Sticks?

453. debbiethebruce

Hi Everyone
    We’re organising a Referendum film night in Musselburgh on Sunday (March 1st) its a premiere of a fly on the wall documentary with unique footage from the three days of the vote including the Glasgow Count and Nicola Sturgeon as well as the RIC conference in November.
    Everyone is welcome (its an SNP GE fundraiser, free entry, donations requested) Theres more info on the link:
    Hope to see some Wingers there!

https://www.facebook.com/events/377500699103878/?ref_newsfeed_story_type=regular

454. Jumping Joe

Paula Rose,

‘A bit squiffy’, you and me both.

Life’s not fair.

You just got grounded.

I…, I lost…, I lost my …,

Oh, I can’t (sob) say (sob) it.

(you’ll have noted that I am being very, very, careful aboot they HAMMERS).

The human (although not very humane), with whom I dwell has only this night written to the proprietor of The Point of No Return B&B asking for the return of the (sob) ‘personal item’ (sob) which I left on his (sob, sob) kitchen table.

I only hop it’s not too late!

I used to be very (sob) attached to it.

455. Thistle

HELP…

Would you know anybody who would be interested in this…

your own livestream show on runup to May elections discussing whatever you want. Would be your little contribution to OUR/YOUR citizen livestream channel. We want people and groups to start doing their own content for the channel and we are currently talking to Veterans for Independence, Comedy Stand in Glasgow, Craig Murray etc

If we can get more people producing their own content we will grow the viewers watching the citizen livesteram channel and try and create something as an alternative to the MSM.

You can be part of it.

DON’T HATE THE MEDIA, BECOME THE MEDIA
    THE CITIZEN BROADCAST CHANNEL (CBC)
    new.livestream.com/independencelive

456. call me dave

Footie link for those without Sky Celtic game in half an hour.

http://myp2p.ec/

457. call me dave

Belt and braces. Second link footie.

http://crichd.tv/bt-sport-1-live-stream.php

458. Paula Rose

My darling Jumping Joe do not fret.

For the record it has been pointed out further up the thread that Natasha does like to bite and she can jump surprisingly high for her size – as if she has wings.

Now, Thepnr has safely stored your thingy in a bag of frozen brussel sprouts, so a quick stitch when you get it back should have everything back in working order in no time.

Next time don’t pat her on the head, especially not when you’re wearing boxing gloves.

PS I hope no-one from the Daily Redcoat has found this room.

459. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    PS I hope no-one from the Daily Redcoat has found this room.

Even if they had, they wouldn’t understand it; you need a brain and a sense of humour to cope with this lot.

460. David

I’m happy with this*, so it’s getting repeated here:

*(Effing difficult to quickly find rhymes for Duncan, tho!)

“A Suborner’s Love Song” ghostwritten by Slab SpAd Craig Miller for his Labour boss Doctor Dick Simpson MSP. (Based on John Betjeman’s ‘A Subaltern’s Love Song’)

Miss S. Hunter-Duncan, Miss S. Hunter-Duncan,
    Furnish’d and burnish’d by Forth Valley sun,
    What strenuous denials we mouthed after tea,
    We in the Record – you supporting me!

Lie-thirty, lie-forty, oh! weakness of joy,
    The speed of the Record, the SNP to destroy,
    With carefullest carelessness, how you spoke such bunkum,
    I am weak from your mendaciousness, Suzanne Hunter-Duncan.

Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan, Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan,
    How mad I am, sad I am, glad that you flunk ’em,
    The cold-hearted racket that is Scotland’s press,
    Give my shock-troops in Labour, no need to confess.

Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan, Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan,
    I can hear from Jackie Bird the truth has been found,
    Oh! Clackmannanshire twilight! inebriate band!
    Oh! strongly adorable actress/nurse/tennis-girl’s hand!

Around us are Hillmans and Avengers, the cars,
    That are not made in Linwood -’twas shut from afar,
    And here on my right-wing is the actress/nurse of my choice,
    With her Pinocchio-nose due to lies given voice.

And the scent of her scrubs, and the lies Labour said,
    And the ominous, ominous SNP-hating ahead.
    We sat in the hospital car park till our plans came to none
    And now I’ve totally dropped Miss Suzanne Hunter-Duncan.

461. Paula Rose

David dear, remind me to give you a stroke next time we meet xx

462. Paula Rose

well someone has to –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otJY2HvW3Bw

463. cearc

OMG, not merely content with sending waves of sobs up the stairs to keep me awake, that wretched ‘roo’s been on my PC!

464. Paula Rose

I’m hearing a train coming down the tracks…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLG91tOLPdQ

465. Jumping Joe

Oohh, she called me darling!

I’ve been called darling by Paula Rose!

In response to my first post as well!

She’s much lovelier than that Quinnie frae Angus. I thought she was gorgeous,I was in lurve and then she (sob) wrote (sob),

‘Oh,is that what it was??? Now you tell me!’

Oh, my aching heart (and other bits).

PS. Girls, please note, it is semi-castrati, winky thing!

466. AuldA

@Chic:

But as Yanis Varoufakis recently said, if they do not push the Greek reforms through now, it will be too late, in a year from now the new Greek government will already be corrupt itself. Presumably without him. No doubt they are already preparing the hemlock for one so honest as he.

We’ll see. With dogged determination, maybe he will endure…
    If we could devise a system where money would be banished, that would probably solve many of our problems… But we would have to significantly alter human nature first.

467. Dougie Bee

To donate..I still work with cheques..who do I make it out for..and where to send..sorry for this but I don’t trust these pay pal type things.

Dougie

468. Lollysmum

Dougie Bee
    Use the Contact page to send Stu an email asking him to confirm the address he would like mail to go to.

469. ronnie anderson

@ Cearc

I pledge £25 to Paula Rose,s Gold Badge.

470. X_Sticks

@cearc

I’ve pledged £50 for the gold Wings.

471. Cherry

Hi folks, can someone,anyone tell me where I can buy a Wings lapel pin/badge. Been to the wings store but no pins. Help anyone!

472. kendomacaroonbar

Cherry,

If you DM me at ken@iscot.scot I’ll arrange to send you a spare ceramic wings badge.

473. Cherry

@kendomacaroonbar
    That is wonderful will contact you soon. 😉 thanks.

474. Lollysmum

Cearc
    If I pledge some money towards Paula’s badge, do I pay it in on today’s crowdfunder page?

475. X_Sticks

@Lollysmum

Yes just put it in the fundraiser and cearc is going to keep track. You just need to tell her how much.

Doesn’t matter when you do it as long as you keep your pledge.

476. Natasha

cearc
    I’ve just paid £10 for Paula Rose’s badge. Tell her I expect suitable stroking payment in return. Btw, my husband says one of the perks should be dinner with Paula Rose in her stilettos.

477. Lollysmum

cearc
    I’ve just paid in £30 towards Paula’s badge 🙂

478. David

Thanks Paula Rose!

Blame my poetic adaptation on the benefit of having a good Scottish education! For Higher English, many years ago, our class studied John Betjeman, and that poem has been stuck in my head ever since.

The similarity between the names must have clicked somewhere in my brain, and ‘forced’ me to adapt the poem. 🙂

479. ronnie anderson

@ cearc £25 donated credit to Paula Rose Gold badge

480. ronnie anderson

@ Natasha is your man moist again, through a bucket of icewatter er him .lol

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.