Hands off Britain’s money, idiots

Posted on December 12, 2011 by

The influential think-tank Reform Scotland has just published what you might think was good news – a report suggesting that an independent Scotland could be a world leader in the production of renewable energy, and generate billions of pounds a year for the Scottish economy by 2020. The organisation specifies, however, that in order to do so, Scotland would need full control over energy policy devolved from Westminster.

While the Herald [paywall] runs the story as news, free of editorial comment and focusing on the positive angle, the Scotsman's approach could barely be more different. It takes just one sentence before the paper rustles up an objection, and much of its piece is subsequently devoted to the angry complaints of Labour MP Tom Greatrex, who asserts that the Scots are incapable of taking advantage of this bounty, issuing what the paper describes as "a stark warning that handing full powers over energy to Holyrood would harm Scotland’s economy".

Astonishingly, despite Reform Scotland's explicit statement that only full control for the Scottish Parliament would enable the financial benefits to accrue, Greatrex insists:

"No credible or serious player in [the] energy sector agrees separation would do anything other than make it harder for Scotland to realise its vast renewable energy potential."

Or in other words, the traditional rallying call of the Unionists – Scotland is too wee, too poor and too stupid to run its own affairs. (Though in this case, perhaps "too wee, too rich and too stupid" would be more accurate.) Handed an enormous treasure-trove by nature, we simple dimwitted Jocks would make a giant hash of it, and so can't be trusted. It would appear that Greatrex feels only the Tories and Lib Dems at Westminster have the competence to handle Scotland's energy riches, and of course to spend them wisely. We wonder if Scottish voters feel the same way.

Subscribe
Notify of

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Stats: 6,679 Posts, 1,205,126 Comments

• gregor on Trump’s Card: “Donald Trump Jr. @DonaldJTrumpJr: “Apparently a large group of Democrat legislators plan to boycott my father’s inauguration, which is great…Dec 14, 22:10
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “Aye cause we can be forgiven & that tosser can’t. I watched a video ad for this organisation a while…Dec 14, 22:07
    • gregor on Trump’s Card: “satan is the dumbest fuck of all time – The diabolical freak is terrified of humans: #HeavenlysatanDiapersDec 14, 21:51
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “I wonder why they were colonised for centuries then? You’ve been at the Christmas crackers haven’t you? Fun fact but…Dec 14, 21:44
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “The Swiss have gone full tonto. It’s the NATO membership doctrine. All laws must now be rewritten to accommodate one…Dec 14, 21:31
    • gregor on Trump’s Card: “Luke Garfield: Yes You Are: Yes You Are: “You spoke the stars Into existence You gave the laws of gravity…Dec 14, 21:21
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “WEF Where Satan gathers his wealthy minions to discuss ways to fuck up the lives of the poor..Dec 14, 21:20
    • Mark Beggan on Trump’s Card: “The success of the AK. Is in its design. It can operate under the most extreme conditions. In an enclosed…Dec 14, 21:10
    • gregor on Trump’s Card: “World Economic Forum: 75 years of NATO: The North Atlantic Treaty Organization explained: ‘We stand with you in your courageous…Dec 14, 21:01
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Maybe naebody kens fit a repocussion is, Geri. Could it be some kind of replica soft thing you sit on…Dec 14, 21:00
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Trump’s Card: “Dr John Campbell’s broadcast today (‘The Banality of Evil’) highlights this powerful quote by CS Lewis: “The greatest evil is…Dec 14, 20:59
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “I can’t for the life of me think who was responsible for that.. You must be delighted they’ve emptied all…Dec 14, 20:57
    • Captain Caveman on Trump’s Card: “Still waiting. /tumbleweedDec 14, 20:56
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “It’s certainly a great favourite of the chief Orc himself, poot. He said it’s: ”a symbol of the creative genius…Dec 14, 20:50
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “Well isn’t that strange? The ICJ ruled that countries had to cease & desist supplying weapons to aid in gen-ocide.…Dec 14, 20:32
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “So you believe protesters “dress up” to protest? My, my, Geri, who could ever accuse you of being “boring”! Get…Dec 14, 20:30
    • Mark Beggan on Trump’s Card: “Down Among The Big Boys.Dec 14, 20:24
    • Mark Beggan on Trump’s Card: “The AK-47 is the African way of doing business.Dec 14, 20:23
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “Aye, she says she’s not leaving. WTF do they find these mentalists?Dec 14, 20:16
    • gregor on The Wage Thief: “The Sherbs: The Skill: I Have The Skill: “I have the spirit, I’ll never be broken… W?ll maybe you think…Dec 14, 20:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Syria is already a war torn failed state. Inexplicable you couldn’t have noticed, Ros, but maybe there’s no media in…Dec 14, 20:03
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “The French – really are the persona non grata in the Sahel – already several countries including Niger, Burkina Faso,…Dec 14, 19:44
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Still nae a gen0cide Ros. As for the humous boys, I call them craven, yellow, skulking defilers of helpless lassies,…Dec 14, 19:39
    • gregor on The Wage Thief: “77th Brigade: Adapting to warfare in the information age: “Warfare is rapidly evolving and the ability to compete in the…Dec 14, 19:37
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “The ruling goes against the ICC’s issuing warrants for the arrest of the head of the snake.”A Dutch court has…Dec 14, 19:34
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “I guess this cartoon might be open to different interpretations. I assumed Mr Cairns was making the point that no…Dec 14, 19:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “It’s “Scotland” and it’s “NATO”, Ros. Congrats on spelling the boy’s name correctly though. Telling that you can do it…Dec 14, 19:12
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “Switzerland will pass laws to ban any form of knattizz-i symbolism – yet the same country has proscribed hHam-mas and…Dec 14, 19:06
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “Looks like the Nnatto/EU coup has failed “The Georgian parliament has voted to appoint former Manchester City player Mikhail Kavelashvili,…Dec 14, 18:55
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “The Mayor of Scotland Swinney will comply with whatever Trump wants – as long as his London masters, okay it.Dec 14, 18:50

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()