Good luck, remaining Labour voters

Posted on June 25, 2015 by

Pick two from five. No refunds.

labcandidates

Which possible pairing will terrify the SNP the most?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

1. 25 06 15 14:18

Good luck, remaining Labour voters | Speymouth

219 to “Good luck, remaining Labour voters”

1. call me dave

Nice photo and no flags in the picture either. Wonder why?

Also the invisible strings to London have been photo-shopped out.

2. Capella

The umpteenth Labour leadership contest. Well the MSM have already decided on Kezia so the competition is a bit redundant. Winner to be announced in August I believe, once the postal votes are counted. Exciting isn’t it?

3. Lollysmum

Not an inspiring looking bunch are they. Fixed false smiles really says it all. Glad I don’t have to vote for any of them. I’d be forced to ABSTAIN from the Abstention Party’s pretendy Leadership election aka stitch up.

4. Murray McCallum

Do they have to attend a book keeping refresher course before administering the Scottish Accounting Unit?

5. Steve Bowers

I just wish I could summon up the energy to give a shit

6. ahundredthidiot

ooh, ooh, ooh, it’s sooo exciting….

…..for SNP supporters! – like a wee early Christmas

Names in a hat please

7. Wee Jimmy

I’ll go with Mr Pink and Mr Wobbly-Tickle.

8. AdamH

Caught the Beeb documentary “The Fall of Labour” on iplayer last night. At the end the 2 leader candidates talked about the need to get the electorate to trust them again (true enough). Neither of them mentioned anything about values or principles. Naturally the only use of that nasty S word (socialism) was by the long-time union guy who had long since given up on Slab.

9. gillie

Dream team of Dugdale and Rowley.

Labour’s very own Push-Me-Pull-You

10. Calum McKay

Welcome to the 77th annual labour Hunger Games in Scotland!

Ferrets in a sack

11. Cag-does-thinking

Is it helpful that the backdrop looks a bit like the inner cover of the end of a book just before you shut it?

12. Desimond

Its at times of great decision making like this that I pause, take a knee, bow my head and inwardly ask myself “What would Jim Murphy do?”

13. Doug Daniel

Ken Macintosh and Alex Rowley would actually be the best pairing out of that lot, which is kind of indicative of Labour’s problem. Rowley at least has a grasp of how fucked Labour are.

It goes without saying that there’s not a hope in hell of them choosing that pairing, though. It’ll between Matheson or Baker, which is just a frightening prospect, but not for the reasons Labour would hope.

I mean, Richard Baker? Seriously? He’s like a human made up from leftovers.

14. David

Looks more like a reunion of the Teletubbies, all growed up now!
    L-R: Tipsy, Uh-Oh, Who-He, FiFi, & Gobbly-Wobbly.

P.S. Who is the Jim Sheridan (ex Renfrew Nth MP) lookalike at fourth right? (SLab don’t do left any more.)

15. Linda McFarlane

Oi!

You missed the most obvious.

Dugdale/Macaroni Pie

16. Wee Jimmy

The photo op just looks like the cover for a really shit, alternative version of Reservoir Dogs. Gutter Dogs.

17. yesitis

My favourite is Alex. He`s so real, and has adventurous hair.

18. Macnakamura

Desimond says:
    25 June, 2015 at 1:49 pm
    Its at times of great decision making like this that I pause, take a knee, bow my head and inwardly

:::::;:;;;;;;;;
    Shout and point.

19. Tackety Beets

Let me tink now ….

Who are yee ?

Roll up, roll up , 2 fur a pownd !

Naw I better jist go for the sport socks !

20. Macnakamura

Desimond says:
    25 June, 2015 at 1:49 pm
    Its at times of great decision making like this that I pause, take a knee, bow my head and inwardly ask myself “What would Jim Murphy do?”
    :::::::
    Shout and point.

21. Johnny

Matheson! I didn’t even recognise the other two deputy candidates (though I am aware of who they are and have read Rowley’s witterings lately).

I can’t decide whether having a deputy who was previously anonymous would be good for Labour or not. Whatever’s good for them I hope (and imagine, anyway) that they will choose the opposite.

22. Sideshowmanny

In the articles I’ve read, the other one is the only one of the bunch that had anything half sensible to say.
    I suppose that explains why he’s getting squeezed out in the photo…

23. Tartan Tory

Watched Kezia with Sara Smith last night and was stuck by her feint pride in herself. “I’m proud of what I did in the referendum campaign” “I’m proud to have supported Jim Murphy” “I’m proud to be holding the SNP to acocunt in Holyrood” etc, etc.

If that’s the truth, then so be it, but it all seemed to have been speech-written and rehearsed to my eye.

Now, if she had said that she wasn’t so proud of all this, and that she simply wasn’t in any position to challenge things at the time, I’d have had much more respect for her.

24. Robert Peffers

Now then! Who remembers that way back, before Murphy even announced he would stand-down as leader, and when Rowley resigned his position on the Holyrood Front bench I posted that he would be standing for leadership soon? I ended by posting, “Watch this Space”.

The Rev Stu has just filled that space with Rowley, in more senses than one now, “In the Picture”.

Now also note that in that picture Rowley is standing centre but almost behind – all I’m going to say is, “Watch this Space”.

To let you understand, my late wife, (a trained nurse), used to be the first port of call, in the old Kelty village, for the bairns with skint knees, insect bites and sometimes much more serious injuries.

I’ve thus seen Alex and how his brain patterns developed since he was a bairn wi skint knees. Alex is in the Big Broon backed category and a most definite Broonite with his eyes set on the Labour Leadership. Watch this space.

25. shiregirl

The most fun I have had today:-D (it’s quiet here in the ‘shire)

They look like double glazing sales people – the ones that pounce on you at the supermarket.

I wouldn’t trust them with my windows, let alone my future.

26. Fred

The Adams Family! they would cut one anothers throats for thruppence. A clear out of Glasgow City Chambers is long overdue till we get a look at the (cooked) books.

27. G. Campbell

Ken Macintosh says Richard Baker’s face is too inexperienced-looking for the job of deputy leader.

28. The Man in the Jar

Has Kezia had a new hairdoo? She seems to have got rid of that ridiculous “Max Wall” centre parting. If I am correct her parting is the only thing in that photo that has moved to the left since God knows when.

29. Sandra

The real issue is, which of them will keep his/her seat next year?

30. Dcanmore

what we’re looking in the picture is the entire Scottish Labour group, there is nobody else.

31. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Here we see Blair announcing the crushing victory of their ‘charismatic’ eventual winner of the leadership contest to the rapturous applause of what remains of SLAB.

This while Murphy/Homer looks on in fury.

//www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y08catbZ2cw

In Rod we trust!!

LOLZ indeed.

😀

32. karmanaut

And so the pantomime goes on.

33. No no no...Yes

The photo is like one of these trendy pop group shots, all standing at different angles and poses. This lot could be called ‘Nae Direction.’

34. Macart

Yeah, I’m looking at a group of people who are deeply worried about the direction and future of the Labour party…

… now if they cared as much about the direction and future of the Scottish electorate I’d maybe give a monkey’s who gets picked.

35. Stoker

Wee Jimmy wrote:
    “The photo op just looks like the cover for a really shit, alternative version of Reservoir Dogs. Gutter Dogs.”

Guid yin, LLF.

36. David McCann

My bets is on Donald Dewar!

37. blackhack

Kind of sums up labour these days…What a ragtaggle bunch of no hopers….If thats the best of the bunch, It’s no wonder they have little chance of regaining the peoples trust, They have lost the Scottish populations respect for the socialist ideals of the original labour party

38. tombee

@ David McCann,
    Well David they have been known to count the dead. Wouldn’t put it past them to dig one up.

39. Robert Bryce

Death by Mao Mao!

40. Marie clark

Oh dear god, is that really the best they have to offer.

None of the above for me. Mind you I dinnae gie a shit aboot Labour, same way that they dinnae gie a shit aboot Scotland.

LOLZ right enough.

41. Bob Mack

Ever watch Trumpton with the kids.The line up includes-

Hugh, Pugh, Barney McGrew , Cuthbert , Dibble and (macaroni Pie) Grubb
    Mind you, the characters in Trumpton look less wooden.

42. Bob Mack

Is the wee guy second from the left related to Fluffy ?. As well as having the same policies they look like brothers.

43. Robert Peffers

@David McCann says: 25 June, 2015 at 2:20 pm:

“My bets is on Donald Dewar!”

Naw! David, Donald’s deid, did naebody tell ye?

Wi canna hae Donald bit wi cud hae the Traffic cone. At least the Traffic Cone kens tae tell fowk whit direction thae canna gang.

44. Andy-B

Pick two from five.

Erm….Do I have to?

45. proudscot

No matter which pairing from this collection of political lightweights and no-weights lands the poisoned chalice of leading Labour’s North British Branch Office, they will qualify for the title of “The Odd Couple of Scottish Politics”.

I much prefer Radio Scotland’s alternative “Odd Couple” of Stewart Cosgrove and Tam Cowan. They are not only talented at what they do, they have the added bonus of being genuinely funny. That’s funny amusing, as opposed to funny strange, unlike any combination of this Labour lot.

46. Joemcg

Armageddon beckons at the scottish elections next year methinks.

47. Suzanne

LOLZ

“Ferret Breeders’ Monthly announces dismal annual sales figures. Five sacked.”

48. Doug McG

You will probably end up with more votes cast here than the real contest will get!

ps thanks for not charging me £3 to vote.

49. Marcia

If the items that you are selling are foostie, no changing of personnel at the top will change your prospects. You need to bring in fresh goods to replace the foostie items. Labour won’t do that as their history has shown so far.

50. call me dave

@The Man in the Jar

“her parting is the only thing in that photo that has moved to the left since God knows when”. 🙂

But! But! That’s the cream of the crop… macaroni pie sponsor.

51. Famous15

To borrow a phrase from Ruth Davidson on the departure of Annabelle Doubtfire and applying it to the departure of Jim Murphy.

Stay awake at the back,Yes ,you!

“It will leave a Jim Murphy sized hole in the Labour Party which won’t ever quite be filled.He was unique”

Is it allowed for all of them to win. Apologies for reality being more absurd than anything JK Rowley could make up!

52. Nana Smith

So that will be no improvement then.

Maybe they could throw in a song & dance routine.

53. David Robertson

If any one picture opitimises why political oblivion beckons for the Labour party branch office it is this.

54. Debbiethebruce

Kezia had a nice chat with Sarah Smith last night.Do we have any decent political interveiwers in Scotland anymore?

55. Bob Mack

” You will leave a Jim Murphy sized hole in the Labour Party”

Was it shaped like a coffin?

56. call me dave

This is fairly upbeat for the Observer.

https://archive.is/S3BQL

57. Scunterbunnet

ahundredthidiot says:

“…..for SNP supporters! – like a wee early Christmas”

Aye, but it’s cruel forcing the turkeys to try to smile like that.

58. HandandShrimp

I’m hoping for a Kezia Gordon ticket

Part of me is not proud of that

(I don’t actually know who two of them are)

59. Luigi

That lot would struggle to make it on an SNP list for the councillor for St. Kilda.

60. Keith Hynd

Is this the lineup for the new BBC Scotland late night (10.30pm) show, “Scotland’s got Talent!!!” LOLZ ma sides ur splittin

61. Greannach

I’m so exciting I doubt if I’ll sleep between now and whenever the result will be announced. I just know Labour will choose a pair of political giants again – the envy of all Europe.

62. Greannach

I meant “excited” but maybe I am more exciting that the Branch.

63. Greannach

HandandShrimp @3.14 Same here. Haven’t a clue who 2 of them are. Recognise 2 others kind of and then there’s Ms Dugdale.

64. JLT

A fascinating photograph.

Basically …the last days of Labour, because this is what it has comedown to. Even 10 years ago, none of those in the picture would have even be considered for selection, let alone being a candidate. So poor is the field. It reminds me of the last days of Christiandom within Constantinople before the sacking by the Turks in 1453. A pitiful few rallying to a lost cause as a vast enemy lays siege to the great walls.

It’s not a matter of if …it’s a matter of when. When will it end? When will it finally be over?

Every single one of them in that photo knows that half of Scotland is now Nationalist, and yet they are still going to take to the podiums …or the irn bru crates, and still tell us that we are wrong, wrong, wrong! And yet, when asked what they would do instead …it’s literally a shrug of the shoulders and a mumble of ‘well, the Labour Party in London will let us know shortly…’

They have learned nothing. Can they not see, that even those who voted ‘No’ are now becoming bemused with the latest in a line of Westminster gaffs and antics since the Referendum and GE. A Southern media that slaughters us on a daily basis. Some of the headlines and comments in the media have bordered on something that wouldn’t have looked out of place in 1930’s Nazi Germany. And yet the Scottish Labour Party still tell us that the rUK love us dearly, as does Westminster.

So what is Labour’s new tact? Well, the same as the old one. All five in that photograph will continue to shriek ‘SNP bad’. It did hee-haw for them in the GE, and yet foolishly, they believe it will still work today!

The people want change. They believe that Scotland can not only do more, but do better, and yet, this lot will tell us we can’t! The reason …the usual guff …too wee, too poor, too stupid.

So, in these last couple of hundred days, we will watch. We will listen …and then we will turn our back on Scottish Labour forever.

When Mehmet the Great finally did conquer Constantinople, he famously quoted ‘The spider weaves the curtains in the palace of the Caesars; the owl calls the watches in the towers of Afrasiab.’

Basically …how the mighty have fallen into dust and shadow …and are now nothing more than just ghosts…

65. Macca73

They are really determined to lose the Scottish elections aren’t they?

What fun!

66. Petra

You should have asked what pairing would terrify their supporters most of all or which pairing would the SNP like to see get voted in. Definitely Dugdale and Matheson: a fatal combination.

67. JPM1952

I thought that was a photo of the remaining Labour voters ….

68. Auld Rock

Come on guys we’re being hammered, come the 15th August it will be SNP 2 – Red Tories 8. There lies the difference, we have a united team with inbuilt continuity and a dedicated gaol.

Auld Rock

69. Tinto Chiel

That photo got me thinking. Where have I seen people like that before? Then I remembered the film “Invasion of the Body-Snatchers” and the bit after the pods open.

Just waiting for the pointing and screaming to start…

70. galamcennalath

They need three mair lassies fur Strip The Willow.

Wait a minute, it’s just Musical Chairs they’re up for.

71. Luigi

If I was a potential employer, and saw that sight outside the interview, the following thought would immediately come to mind:

We need to readvertise! 🙁

72. thedogphilosopher

Not only does every member get the chance to vote, but sooner or later they get the chance to be ‘leader’ of The Branch as well!

Your turn.
    No, after you.
    I insist!
    No, no, after you.
    But I had my shot yesterday.
    That was then.
    Do I really have to?
    Yes, Branch Manager.

73. G4jeepers

Aw dear gawd naw, nae mister shouty aff the commonwealth games?

Have they even considered how much it’s gonnae cost to train him to tone himsel down? They’ll be bankrupt!

74. Dr Jim

Keep expecting Dim Jim to pop in from the side like a Moodievision Toon

75. Big Jock

Matheson represents the tartan shortbread tin Scotland, hat comes oot o the pantry at the bells. Then gets put back for another year.

The opening ceremony at the commonwealths sums up the plastic Jock identity. It’s funny becausse the only people I have met who were not embarassed were the no voting 90 minute patriots. They like the twee pretendy nation status of Scotland “Tartan wrapped in a Union Flag”.

I despise twee Scotland.It’s as fake as Brigadoon.

76. Alastair Wright

Can’t imagine being so committed to any organisation, rather than a set of ideals and principles, that I would happily choose to take part in this ‘selection’ process (at any level).

77. Iain More

That is a tough one. I think I will lay down and my brain now hurts trying to answer it.

78. Author_Al

Did the Fifi La Bonbon thing get sorted out? Was a certain wee dug linked to this account – heralding the political awakening and humble beginnings of the erstwhile saviour of Scottish Labour?

Personally I find her musings like listening to a wasp trapped under a jar.

79. Tinto Chiel

Previous post disappeared. Apologies if original materialises.

I was looking at this photograph closely, wondering where I had seen people like this before. Then I remembered the film “The Invasion of the Body Snatchers” and the bit after the pods open.

Just waiting for the pointing and screaming to start…

80. Juteman

A trailer for the new series of Crimewatch?

81. Joemcg

Is Matheson involved in turning a blind eye to the ridiculous number of orange walks that take place in the west of Scotland? Or even sanctioning them?

82. gillie

New Super-Hero TV series – THE EXPENDABLES

83. scotsbob

Labour’s London HQ and the media have decided it will be Dugdale and Matheson and I’m sure the postal votes will verify that.

84. Les Wilson

This photo reflects the new BBC tv Muppet show right?
    It has an unusual twist, they are using real life Muppets.
    Doubt if it will work, but is sure to be a laugh.

85. Papadox

SLAB comes clean on membership numbers, 1 potatoe, 2 potatoes…………
    5 potatoes, NO MORE. What a line up, going down

86. donald anderson

Spot the numpty.

87. Andrew Haddow

Looks like the cast of the latest branch office sitcom…. oh, haud on…

88. scunner

A colleague sent me this:

http://www.thepoke.co.uk/2014/10/19/spotted-on-a-train-to-norwich/

Had to have a wee chuckle.

If only this was mandatory…

89. Juteman

Independence will never happen with these BBC London presenters. All we need is Ms Bradford for the fool set, and we’re fecked. 🙁

90. Joemcg

Can someone post the video of Matheson shouting at the games ceremony for a wee chuckle please?

91. Iain More

Well you have Bill and Ben the flower pot men and little weed. Who are the other two?

92. Giving Goose

What about Gordon and the guy in the car?

http://tinyurl.com/msx5oah

93. Stoker

Dr Jim wrote:
    “Keep expecting Dim Jim to pop in from the side like a Moodievision Toon”

Fat chance, Doc, he’s up above the curtain controlling the strings alongside McTermite & McPoodle.

94. Stoker

donald anderson wrote:
    “Spot the numpty.”

OK, wiseguy, no even Mastermind was that hard, give us a clue.
    Ah canny tell the difference. Is this wan ae yon trick questions?

95. john king

Wheres Wally?

96. Mealer

Margaret Curran/Ian Davidson would be my dream ticket.Since they’re not in the running (and I think Labour really have missed a trick here.They could have changed the rules to allow them to stand) I’m going to plump for the Dugdale/Baker combo as future FM and Deputy FM.I can picture Kezia on a tour of the U.S. while Mr Baker holds the fort at Holyrood.Statesmanlike.

97. Ken500

Who to chose? 2016 Another Unionist wipe out.

98. Mealer

UPDATE
    Couldn’t do it.When it came to actually casting my vote I had to go for LOLZ.I’ve no idea what or who LOLZ is but I think its the right choice.

99. Dr Jim

Actually Alex Salmond predicted Dippity would go far, well his words were…”But not in the Labour party” Hmmm?

Is that deep or as simple as it sounds

100. ronnie anderson

Is it ah two fur wan vote , vomit free.

101. Arabs for Independence

As Mr Matheson said:

“one swallow doesn’t make you my boyfriend”

102. Dr Jim

I eh, always eh, feel eh, sorry for eh, Alex eh Rowley eh,

By the eh, time he eh, gets eh, the eh, words out, he eh, is too eh late eh, to join in the eh, conversation

He’d be quicker with emails

Too Much?

103. DerekM

what a shower lolz if this is the Labour parties idea of a good candidate to run the Scotland branch they have lost it,or does the Labour party even really care about their north branch me thinks not too busy stabbing each other in the back with the knives the tories gave them, idiots,dont they get it yet look your north branch is irrelevant if you want to speak to us dont send your stooges promising pish,we grow tired of the shiny beads.

Looking at this lot even the tories must think they are in with a chance to come second in 2016 jeez

104. A MacRitchie

BRAIN MELTDOWN

Please which combination of these bores are going to be competition for the SNP?

Please please stop I’ve had enough of SLAB leadership contest am loosing the will to live.

KAZOO DUDWAIL:
    We’ve already had this conversation about her and so far the consensus is

She’s whiney

She’s a total bore, repetitive, monotonous and an unnatural speaker.

She talks total crap and speaks as though she’s on speed. The mouth moves but there is nobody home. She’s out for breakfast, lunch and dinner…….the lights are on but there’s nobody home etc.

Being told by her spin docs and all those Klingons hoping for a career promotion the she’s the ONE she actually beginning to believe it she’s being telling us courtesy of the slabBBC for the past fortnight that she’s the one to save SLAB.

What she can’t comprehend that nobody outside SLABERVILLE is remotely interested in what they have to say. Keep it for the auld Slabbers who attend your Auld Slabber private meets.

Totally convinced by her Dudwail fan club etch she’s developed psychotic defect that blinds her to the fact that she’s boring people to death. Being stuck in her own wee slab bubble she cant sense that. Nobody is interested how she’s going to save slab or be the new generation saviour of slab. She can bore for Scotland and by hell is she succeeding give her the gold medal already.

McIntosh

He looks like a bad impression of Mr Spock

He’s trying to break out of the slab time warp continuum but because of his past can’t escape the event horizon and is sucked back into the slab black hole and back to the past even though he tries to sound as if he is trying to change.

Another bore although he isn’t going to have the effect of making you jump off a 50 storey building like a lemon as Dudwail does he is just slightly less monotonous but I’d rather listen to the long term death rattle of a man suffering from terminal flatulence.

Wee Mathieson is a wee knob cant think of any other word appropriate to describe this guy claim to fame carrying out tory austerity cuts/policy. He’s in the wrong party although there isn’t that much difference between them.

The other two? ……. what other two?

So which combination ……………. who cares they are all crap.

105. chris kilby

Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Titch…?

106. chris kilby

Well, we’ve got Dopey, Grumpy, Sleazy, Whiny & Glaekit. Where are the other two dwarves…?

107. BuckieBraes

Hunt the brain cell.

108. chris kilby

The Unusual Suspects

109. chris kilby

Reservoir Cocks

110. chris kilby

The Bottom of the Barrel

111. Mealer

A MacRitchie 5.33
    Soooo,probably best you sleep on it.

112. chris kilby

Wee Nicola must be absolutely PISHIN’ hersel’.

(Wi’ laughter.)

113. Desimond

BBC Scotland announce cast for classic comedy remake.

“Are You Being Served: Shite”

114. Mealer

Willie Bain.Richard Baker.Spooky.

115. Lollysmum

Seems that Labour were running true to form at FMQ’s today

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2015/jun/labour-gaffe-party-plans-%C2%A33350-childcare-charge

I really don’t know where they find these numpties!

116. chris kilby

Scottish Labour announces its closing down sale. Two-for-the-price-of-one. EVERYTHING MUST GO!

117. chris kilby

If the SNP is “BAD,” what does that make this useless shower…?

118. chris kilby

Seriously though. What difference does it make? Whoever they choose will be oot on their arse (or dead in the water) a year from now.

BRING OOT YER DEID!

119. Socrates MacSporran

As an old Round the Horne fan, I accept BJ Matheson is “Julian”, but, which one will play “Sandy”.

120. chris kilby

THE UNELECTABLES!

121. ronnie anderson

If Numptie is singular, would a collection of five be Numptiest’s.

122. Paula Rose

I notice the photographer has tried using one of those lenses that attempts to make them look normal – hate to think what the pic would be like if they hadn’t!

123. chris kilby

The Last Desperate Roll of the Dice…

124. john king

Dr Jim @5.31
    “Too Much?”

Nothing you can say after Arabs for independence’s comment can be deemed to be “too much”. 🙁

125. frogesque

I spoiled my paper, it’s doon the lavvy – and I sooo wanted to vote for Kay (without an e’ for the truth)

126. Proud Cybernat

Good luck to them. Me thinks they’re gonna need all the luck they can get.

These SLabs just do not understand that there has been a political paradigm shift of epic proportions in Scotland and, by extension, across the UK. They are merely putting themselves forward for the job of who gets to finally turn off the light on Labour in Scotland. Never thought I’d see the day when a Labour politician would become a protected species. But well, when you act like a bunch of dodos, I guess you end up going the same way.

127. Desimond

I select big Blair and wee McTernan

What do you mean they’re always behind the screen!

128. Stoker

I think, by presenting that picture above, Slabber have inadvertently exposed Wee Billy Chunter (aka – Ian Murray) as the love child of Matheson and that other gormless twat first on the left as you look at the picture.

The redneck tories are back in town!

129. One_Scot

They must be standing there thinking,

‘Seriously, who the F’ck are we trying to kid’

130. Jimbo

“Which possible pairing will terrify the SNP the most?”

All of them combined couldn’t give the SNP the slightest of scares imaginable. However, it’s sad that Labour in Scotland now seem to think that their raison d’être is to get one over the SNP.

131. frogesque

Socrates MacSporran says:
    25 June, 2015 at 5:50 pm
    As an old Round the Horne fan, I accept BJ Matheson is “Julian”, but, which one will play “Sandy”.

Just for you! (and any young ones who never had the chance to love these old radio progs)

youtube.com/watch?v=RId7SKOg984

132. Jim McIntosh

O/T – from the BBC website

David Cameron has accepted there may be no change to the EU’s treaties to accommodate Britain’s demands ahead of a referendum, the BBC understands.

Instead there will be an “irreversal lock” and “legally binding” agreements ensuring treaty change. So basically they’re going to campaign for a YES by promising a VOW.

Stupid buggers, 45% of Scots will vote NO on principle.

133. Taranaich

I’m sick to the back teeth of the lot of them. The sooner they realise that the mendacious points-scoring and relentless negativity which got the party to where it is must stop, the better.

Then again, the NeoLibDems still don’t seem to have learned that, judging from Willie Rennie’s nonsense.

134. Helena Brown

What a gorgeous turnout for the Labour Party Conference, oh I am wrong it is the turnout for the Labour (ahem) leadership. So looking forward to seeing the Books in Glasgow after 2017 with any of them at the wheel.

135. Valerie

Off topic

Mhairi Black has graduated with first class degree in Politics.

Also read Tommy Sheridan has also gained his Law degree.

Pleased for them both, considering the amount of work both put in on other things!

136. Edward

So the UK government are exempting Fort Kinnaird Retail park from being transferred to the Scottish Government (which could have easily taken over the Crown Estates share)

Reason given is its too complex due to the tax dodging arrangement

137. Jet

Will the result of this selection give us any
    Membership numbers for the labour party
    That we can trust or verify
    Any ideas thanks

138. Iain More

So the treacherous Brit Nats now have command of Highland Council.

I wonder where else the Brit Nat Alliance Party will surface on Local Councils before next years Holyrood Elections?

139. Big Jock

I think Matheson managed to get through his whole games speech. Without mentioning Scotland once. Quite an achievement. It was all down to Glasgow council.

140. Boorach

Must be terrifying to be a SLAB footsoldier right now… watching the glass ceiling of branch leadership collapsing towards you.

141. Graham MacLure

Are there still enough enough Labour supporters to give them one vote each?
    I would have asked ” Are there still enough Labour supporters left” but that is not a word to use around present day Labourites.

142. frogesque

Valerie says:
    25 June, 2015 at 6:45 pm
    Off topic

Mhairi Black has graduated with first class degree in Politics.

Also read Tommy Sheridan has also gained his Law degree.

Pleased for them both, considering the amount of work both put in on other things!

Brilliant! So pleased for the both of them.

143. KraftyKris

I’m abstaining, can’t stand the word “lol” and especially not “lolz”.

144. Eckle Fechan

Like a still from a new Taggart episode.

145. Lollysmum

Live now-Solidarity with Greece

http://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/sgaa

146. Dr Jim

Just sneakily slipped into the news by the BBC
    George Osborne intends to devolve more powers to Newcastle and the Northeast and Manchester than will be delivered to the Scottish Parliament in order to create the new Northern Powerhouse

Spokesgit for the BBC said “People will just have to go where the work is”

They’re doing it again the Bastirts
    They’re about to F..k Scotland over and drag the work over the border again

What have they been pumping out in the last week “NAE OIL”
    Scotland’s F….D don’t even think or hope for anything coz your getting NOUT and we don’t care Ha Ha

I know that you’re reading this “NIPPY” even though you’re not supposed to
    I hope this plan you’ve got is a good one

147. john king

Paula Rose says
    “I notice the photographer has tried using one of those lenses that attempts to make them look normal – hate to think what the pic would be like if they hadn’t!”

What?
    What would they look like normally?
    http://tinyurl.com/p5yhu79
    http://tinyurl.com/ofbhboo
    http://tinyurl.com/q4jyshv
    Eh?

148. robertknight

Yes Scotland missed a trick. Should’ve had that image on billboards emblazoned with the slogan “What awaits Scotland after a No vote”.

A 10% swing to Yes would’ve been guaranteed.

149. woosie

I know it’s been quiet, but when we have to find something interesting to discuss about this shower, it’s time to look out the old Miss Marple videos!

Honestly, I’m certain that battle’s been won, lab will never return in Scotland; they have nothing to offer except SNP bad, and every time we hear that, more Scots take the leap.

150. Paula Rose

@ john king – what would they look like normally?

No idea – never seen them in public.

151. Effijy

I voted for the Dug and the Night Shift Park Ranger,
    not because they are likely to terrify the SNP, but because they
    will be the most likely choice, and as their past history is know, and known to be completely scurrilous and inferior to their SNP
    counterparts.

Did anyone listen to Ian Gray today?
    He asked Nicola a series of questions, which were obviously scripted and written for him, Unfortunately for him, Nicola covered the answer to his next question within the context of answering the previous one, but he just read it out anyway, as he didn’t know how to think for himself?

Thankfully, BBC Radio was able to edit it to deliver an SNP bad message, and where it sounded like he was giving Nicola a hard time?

152. IvMoz

At first glance I thought the photo was a “Stranger Danger” campaign poster.

Charley Says – Do not approach these people.

153. andy smith

Wait a minute,didn’t dugtail say a few short months ago that she wasn’t into politics for the long haul…or maybe this fits in with her plans !

154. Mark J

Who?

Which ones First Minister material?

155. Petra

They’ll go all out now to try to convince the electorate that they will be an ‘autonomous’ party because it has kind of dawned on them that most Scots can’t stick Westminster. However most Scots will know that if they say (or more likely lie) that they’re against Trident or austerity cuts it wont matter one whit because their bosses in London are calling all the shots.

At the moment they’re trying to hush up the fact that their bosses in London are ‘managing’ Scottish Branch Office recruitment even although some Scottish Lab politicians have stated that they are vehemently against this move. Reaction from London? Two fingers. So much for autonomy!

It actually makes me feel sad looking at that photograph. Sad to think that many poor individuals, such as Keir Hardie, gave their all to establish that party and they’ve all contributed to decimating it. Sad to think that not one of them (in the photograph / elsewhere) is of the calibre of a Robin Cooke, Smith or Dewar (warts and all).

Their hatred (and jealousy) of the SNP is the only thing that seems to drive them on. You can actually see a sublime look settle over their faces when they think they’ve got one up on the SNP, such as the drop in oil prices. No matter that no one, not even Mystic Meg, could have predicted that and more so that many people are losing their jobs because of it. STV reported on the IFSs gloomy oil revenue forecast tonight and actually stated that Labour ‘seized on the information with glee’. They don’t give a damn for the Scots and just about everyone knows it now.

I watch them at FM Questions uniting with their Union pals to attack Nicola Sturgeon on every front (I have a vision of them collaborating on the phone every night). Constant negativity and absolutely no sign of them backing her on any issue to better the lives of Scots: no constructive input at all as per their latest demand for poor families to pay 10% of their income towards childcare whilst it’s free under the SNP.

They lost the Election, in part, due to having a close relationship with the Tories and Libdems, because they have no clear, positive vision for Scotland and even if they did their bosses wouldn’t allow them to act on it: Nothing’s changed.

PS Congratulations to Tommy Sheppard who’s just finished studying Law and to Mhairi Black who has acquired a 1st Class Honours Degree in Politics ………….
    higher, more relevant degree than Osborne with his 2:1 in History ………………… Good for you Mhairi.

156. Tam Jardine

Edward

So they want to play hardball over Fort Kinnaird? That’s a red line for me. We’ll gie them the Kirkgate and nothing more

157. Rock

Labour the party that took the people of Scotland for granted for so long.

Dugdale represents everything that is wrong with Labour.

They couldn’t even find a Corbyn type left wing candidate.

Labour is redundant in Scotland.

The SNP has taken over as a genuine social democratic party and proved it by good governance which Labour could never manage.

158. Joemcg

How is that for a mental story? All Fort Kinnairds profits go to the UK treasury!!!

159. Effijy

There will have to be a medical to see who’s back passage best fits McTernan’s hand.

The one that wins will be able to drink a glass of water
    while you can still hear McTernan’s words.

Gess Nenn Pree Bag!

I’m away for a Gottle of Geer!

160. velofello

If the result is a Dugdale/ Mathieson pairing at least they will be able to sing the Red Flag in the same key.

The background looks a bit like a curtain, maybe symbolic.

161. Stoker

From WOS Twitter:-
    https://twitter.com/wingsscotland

Dippy Dug says:
    “A Government that respected Parliament wouldn’t have waited until the final hours of a term to publish an oil and gas report – poor show SNP”

Nicola fires back:
    “an opposition with its wits about it would have been able to ask questions at 12 noon about a report published at 10am!

(((((SKELP))))) Does that Dug never tire of being humiliated?
    Lookout Slabberites she’s coming to a branch office near you!
    Promoted from Deputy Dug to Dippy Dug, eh!

162. Ananurhing

Holy crap, look at them. How did Slab come to this?
    It’s like a bin end closing down sale. When they’re gone, they’re gone.

They’d have more chance of being pulled back from the brink of extinction if they all dressed as polar bears and begged for adoption at two pounds a month.

163. Onwards

Party of the past.

You can almost see that photo turning into sepia tone as you look at it.

164. Inverclyde

You would think Jackie Burd would be standing for Branch Office Caretaker Sweeper Upper Tealady Janitor with all the good work she’s done over the years. Maybe wearing red would make her arse look big!

The Dream Team of Former Deputy Dugdale and Shouty Man Matheson is the only one that makes sense. That’ll drive the voters back to them with their SNP Bad policies and Socialist leanings.

Aye That’ll work. Where do I sign up?!

165. ronnie anderson

A opposition party that respected the Scottish people would,nt tell lies via the Scottish Parliament.

166. Chris F

Why are they all dressed virtually identically? Oh, for some sartorial individuality. We must surely be living through the dullest, most unimaginative time in the history of fashion.

167. De Valera

Looking at that photo almost makes me consider Henry Mcleish and Jack McConnel political heavyweights.

This time next year they’ll be going through all this again and we’ll be caring even less.

168. Ian Brotherhood

You’re all being beastly!

The SNP needs an effective opposition, and SLab will be represented whether we like it or not.

So, let’s cheer them on!

Go on SLab! Get your act together! Ignore the vile cybernats! You’ve already got shot of Boney-M, so the only way is up! Here’s a stirring anthem you might want to use…‘Don’t let ’em ever change your point of view!’

Kin right!

Rod Stewart, ‘Young Turks’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQ41hqlV0Kk

169. Chris

Which one is the sensitive one who writes all the songs?

170. galamcennalath

Labour are clearly intent on self destruction in Holyrood 2016 ….

http://www.stirlingsnp.com/council-cabal-in-snp-snub-at-new-school/

171. Pete Penny

You could have helped us a bit by telling us which one is which ?? !!!

172. G4jeepers

For anyone interested in the SG Devolution of further powers committee today

http://www.scottishparliament.tv/category.aspx?sort=date&vid=0_hgn0zgun

It’s a lengthy inquiry with Swinney and Fluffy in the hotseat.

173. Clydebuilt

I prefered or should that be scared of the Allstar team of

Matheson and Baker

174. G

There’s Dugdale, Mathieson, and … erm … erm … three other candidates who are putting themselves forward!

175. Iain More

So the Institute of Fascist Studies (IFS) produced a doom and gloom end of the world report yet again.

I don’t see my petrol dropping below one Brit Peso to the Litre yet. Nor do I expect it to do so either.

I do expect the Oil and Gas bosses to use any excuse they can to hammer their employees, cynical but true, it is the British Way of the Pure Blue Slime Brigade.

176. heedtracker

Awe, I was really looking forward to seeing Kezia’s big brawny man hands again. Wonder how often she wanted to squeeze creepy Morphy’s neck with them too.

177. Robert Peffers

It has to be Dugdale, folks, as Labour have female only selection lists.

178. Dan Huil

I think the Rev was being too kind when he air-brushed out the Westminster strings attached to their spineless backs.

179. Dr Jim

Congratulations to Mhairi Black

Well done that Lassie

180. Effijy

(((((SKELP))))) Does that Dug never tire of being humiliated?

The Dug and wee Jimmy Kranktory should be smacked on the nose with a rolled up newspaper for turning up with crass questions every week.

What a job when you have to humiliate yourself over and over!

181. Clootie

I know I can’t have it but Baker / Matheson would have been my dream ticket 🙂

182. Craig P

Doug Daniel is right. The best of a bad bunch is Macintosh and the other one.

The worst possible choice is Dugdale and Baker.

Guess what SLAB are most likely to choose…

183. cynicalHighlander

@Ian Brotherhood says:

You’re all being beastly!

The SNP needs an effective opposition

Why? Once we have independence yes but until then they only serve as a stumbling block providing Westminster some breathing space.

184. Gary

Dugdale is a lightweight, not up to the job. But she’s the only one who’s known to the public and to be fair, the competition is poor.

She’s been the leader in Holyrood so they’d be foolish to change that.

Saying all that, this is the Scottish Labour Party. They’ll probably vote for Eric Joyce or Greville Janner…

185. Iain More

Fit!!!! Only 83% of us splitting our sides and breaking ribs from too much hilarity. Bloody rigged vote ah tell yee!

186. Tam Jardine

Kez and Mathieson dream team please.

O/T I see from the news that the confederate flag is getting a real hammering and it is becoming taboo to display this relic of the civil war and the Old South.

Anytime now I expect David Starkey to draw parallels with the totalitarian, fascist racist regime under that other crooked cross flag, our own Saltire. Or would that be deemed as offensive to those in the Southern States?

187. Tam Jardine

Gary

Your mention Eric Joyce and Janner in the same breath is pretty offensive. One has fuck all to do with the other. I’ve enjoyed Eric’s posts on this site and he deserves better than that careless association.

188. Big Jock

Tam the Union flag is offensive in many parts of Scotland. Yet we have it imposed on us!

189. Stephen Mckenzie

Clootie @10:18

How do you know you cant have it – are you going to the wrong car park?

190. jordiemc

I recognise one, but who are the rest?

191. Cadogan Enright

Coming in after a long and tiring day, that was a good laugh

192. Petra

@ J4jeepers at 10pm

Thanks for the link to the devolution discussion at Holyrood J4. For those who don’t want to listen to it all Mundell comes on to spout his guff half way through. Well worth listening to this discussion. Mundell would surely win the most infamous Scottish award of being the ultimate, current ‘fly man’: On a par with the treacherous Earl of Stair.

On one sole galling point (for me at least) the UK Government advocates EVEL so why were English politicians permitted to vote on the permanence of our Scottish Parliament? They voted against it as we know. Mundell says no need to worry about this as the abolishment of our Parliament would lead to the end of the Union and no UK Government would do such a thing. So why vote against it and what if, say, a party like UKIP was ultimately ruling the roost? They’ve already stated that the would do away with our Parliament.

If Cameron and Mundell had any respect for Scotland at all and the outcome of the General Election our Parliament would have made permanent if for no other reason than to show good faith. This came about at the beginning of the Scotland Bill debate / votes so just gives us some idea of the way this is progressing (regressing).

Mundell waffles on the ‘veto’ questions. He in fact waffles his way through most of the discussion, as expected.

He of the turned down mouth, dead eyes and untrustworthy face was the last person the Scots needed to go cap in hand to. Then again he may be pivotal to us acquiring our Independence.

In retrospect we should have called for an inquiry into Ruth Davidsons manipulative, lying behaviour on the 7th May (outed by the Police and the Council) which may well have influenced the outcome of that result. Called for a Bi-Election. Well we’re stuck with him now but won’t ever forget her (won the award for being, historically, the greatest ever Tory Leader loser in Scotland) and the tactics that she’s used over time. We won’t forget the part that she’s played in ensuring a Tory hatchet man is lording it over Scotland.

193. pete the camera

Re Mhairi and her first class degree it was good to hear the national BBC radio news give her a good positive mention about being the youngest mp as well as an honest congratulations about getting a first, not all bad at the BBC then.

194. Socrates MacSporran

I see the Herald is running a story that BJ Matheson will be standing down from leading Glasgow Labour.

The story says: “a single-figure cabal” is alleged to be behind moves to get rid of him.

So, apparently the majority of the membership of Glasgow Labour want rid.

195. Wee Jimmy

Well one thing’s for certain; if it’s a beauty concert, there’s no question who I’d vote for. That’s right – the bloke on the far right that looks like a cross between Kevin Rudd and the Three Little Pigs!

196. Tom Platt

“Party of the past”, indeed, Onwards, as they compete to take over the management of the decline of one of the parties which has lost its way. Perhaps Sepia is also seeping into the motivation of at least some of the 5 people in the photo as they vie to try to ensure a high personal place on the Labour List for next May’s Holyrood election.

197. Fred

Baker, in that photo, looks as if he’s on a 24 hour pass from the “Caper Hoose”. 🙂

198. Martin

It really doesn’t matter who wins the branch manager or the London overlord job. Whilst the party’s aim is to win elections they will always be doomed. I know, sounds odd…but if you just want to win for winning’s sake, you change your policies all the time a la Labour.

They must think about how they wish to improve the country, stick to it, and see if people vote for their plans. They are too busy preparing for government money to remember to prepare for governing the country.

199. Almannysbunnet

And there we have it, the final proof of the dumbing down of Labour.

200. Now's the Hour

I’m going for the Jackie Bird-Jakey Rowling dream team.

201. Nana Smith

O/T A few links some may find interesting & possibly annoying!

What a hypocrite

https://tompride.wordpress.com/2014/01/26/anti-eu-daily-mail-editor-paul-dacre-secretly-trousering-eu-subsidies/

Scottish government publishes EU reform agenda

http://www.gov.scot/Topics/International/Europe/Policies/EUReform/booklet

Nicolas Wilson has been trying to spread the word re HSBC fraud. This is his latest blog post…

http://nicholaswilson.com/email-your-mp/

TTIP explained in a comic strip…

http://economixcomix.com/home/tpp/

202. Jim McIntosh

O/T – What with Cameron offering a vow on Europe yesterday, today in the National is a piece saying the queen is “politically neutral on Europe”.

Deja-vu or what?

203. Kenny Campbell

The Untouchables……

204. Dorohy Devine

Anyone read the Nelson drivel on the DT?
    Utterly shocking and the comments below the line follow the Proudscotsbut…lead.

Yet another Nazi jibe from some cretin below the line, though it appears that Scots comments are few and far between – for which I am truly grateful.

Could we do the same to the Herald please?

205. john king

Kenny campbell
    “The Untouchables……”

I was thinking The Avengers, but the thoucht o KD dressed all in leather fair put me aff ma porridge soinitdid!

RIP Patrick Mcnee

206. ahundredthidiot

…oh there they are! – thank God for that

Right then. 56 (second class) rail tickets, one way, London to Jockshire please.

Now this lot have turned up we should do that vote thingy thing again

207. chris kilby

It is an ex-party. It has ceased to be.

208. Gordon

As we ridicule Labour in Scotland let’s remember that many of us did the same thing to Scottish Conservatives when we were all Labour voters. We should not let ourselves and the SNP become imbued with the same sense of entitlement that has contributed to the downfall of Labour in Scotland. If Scottish Labour opposed Trident, advocated Home Rule and was anti-austerity then many SNP voters would surely “jump ship”.
    However they are miles away from that position unfortunately and making no progress.

209. Itchybiscuit

Apparently there’s a bust of Keir Hardie going spare at the Glasgow Life storage facility. They could mount it on the Labour (Branch Office) leader’s podium during FMQ’s.The bust would say nothing but that would be an improvement over Fifi and the Gray Man. It would also serve as a metaphor for a ‘bust’ Labour (Branch Office) Party lest they forget.

210. john king

Chris Kilby
    “It is an ex-party. It has ceased to be.”

But it hasn’t gone to meet its maker who doesnt give a shit,
    And I really wish it would hurry up and join the choir invisible. 🙂

211. boris

Petra says: 26 June, 2015 at 2:31 am @ J4jeepers at 10pm

Referring to the referendum:

In retrospect we should have called for an inquiry into Ruth Davidsons manipulative, lying behaviour on the 7th May (outed by the Police and the Council) which may well have influenced the outcome of that result.

Jackie Baillie was not interviewed by the police following her press statement just after the referendum:

Better Together campaigner and MSP for Dumbarton and the Vale, Jackie Baillie said whilst was delighted with the overall outcome, she was disappointed at losing the vote in Dumbartonshire. But she added: “Our own ballot box sampling suggests a majority of people in the Dumbarton and Lomond wards voted No to independence.

http://www.dumbartonreporter.co.uk/news/thisweek/articles/2014/09/24/510611-dumbarton-and-vale-msp-calls-for-unity-after-indyref/

I believe the postal vote was fixed in favour of a No vote but in some cases ballot box voters clearly outnumbered the excess postal vote

212. cearc

Nana Smith,

Nice to see you back posting links.

Love the TTIP graphic strip.

http://economixcomix.com/home/tpp/

A really good crash-course in economics.

213. Nana Smith

@cearc

Thank you!

I welcome anything which makes economics easier to understand and thought the comic strip was very good.

214. donald anderson

Jim McIntosh commented on Good luck, remaining Labour voters.
    in response to RevStu:
    “O/T – What with Cameron offering a vow on Europe yesterday, today in the National is a piece saying the queen is “politically neutral on Europe”. Deja-vu or what?”

The Jelly Bean was delighted to see her Hunoverian cousins and will be delighted to rule them after her canonfodder Jocks kick her out.

215. dave the squirrel

The liar and the cheat.
    No, the fraud and the manipulator.

…which party is this again?

216. Alan McMahon

Look, if Kezia means what she says about the macaroni pie going on the statutes – and that’s a big IF – I’m right behind her.

217. Mick Waters

Dugdale is a great result for SNP. Forever tied to her Tory friends. Labour must cut all ties with the collaborators to have any chance of winning back Labour voters.

218. Lou Nisbet

Best typo in the world – EVER

“I’m proud to be holding the SNP to acocunt in Holyrood”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.