Get your feet back on the ground

Posted on February 28, 2014 by

A chance comment on Twitter this afternoon gave us a fun thought – with over 230,000 readers a month, could we get a song to No.1 in the charts by ourselves now, as both publicity and a rallying call for the Yes movement?

We got lots of suggestions for songs with apt lyrics about Scotland’s relationship with the UK and catchy tunes, so as democrats we’ve decided to have a poll to pick what would be the best choice if we should decide to attempt the project.

You can cast your vote below.

What song should we try to get to No.1?

• Should Have Been Loved (100%, 288 Votes)

Total Voters: 288

Loading ... Loading ...

SHOULD HAVE BEEN LOVED
(The Proclaimers, 2003)

“You’ve been let down, messed around
Told to get your feet back on the ground
When you should have been loved, loved, loved
Should have been loved

You’ve been ripped off, written off
Told an act of kindness made you soft
You should have been loved

But all your detractors underestimated you
Cause they don’t know you like I do

You’ve slept rough, you’ve stolen stuff
Been beaten by a guy to show he’s tough
Should have been loved

And anything new you tried to do
Got you treated like a jumper in a queue
You should have been loved

But when there was pity and when there was wealth
You wasted neither on yourself

Should have been loved, should have been loved

Oh, your detractors underestimated you
Cause they don’t know you like I do, like I do

You’ve been let down, messed around
Told to get your feet back on the ground
when you should have been loved, loved, loved
You should have been loved.

338 to “Get your feet back on the ground”

1. Albert Herring

It’s a bit like voting for Saddam Hussein.

2. bookie from hell

anyone have live stream for tommy Sheridan independence debate 730pm

3. Donald

Is this poll rigged?

4. Paul Kelly

Something inside so strong.

5. Xeethra

The Tide by Noisia…
    “What has begun…cannot be stopped”

6. sneddon

Is this a political choice because my genetics won’t let me choose if it is. 🙂

7. twenty14

the song by The Angels – Am I ever gonna see your face again – who knows the chorus 🙂

8. Paul Kelly

Def not should have been loved. Is there a modern version of Scotland the Brave?

9. sneddon

I’d have preferred ‘Orgasm Addict’ as a nod to our opponents but happy with the choice.

10. Grahame

According to a reliable source yes Scotland have something similar in the pipeline

11. Dinnatouch

Cap In Hand

12. Gaavster

Brilliant idea Stu

Do we deliberately only have one option? 😉

Might I suggest ‘Cap in Hand’ by the same duo,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gApwpSWAhbQ

or maybe Hamish Henderson’s ‘Freedom Come All Ye’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89YOvmcRdf0

or Dick Gaughan’s ‘No Gods’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3aniiKuxL8

Them’s my 3 for the no.1 spot 😉

13. AnneDon

I’d have preferred Cap In Hand, but since we don’t seem to have a choice El Presidente!

14. Jon D

For me THIS seems rather appropriate:

“Jocks Revenge” by Whisky Kiss

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6UabZV94is

Feel that YES positivity!

15. Iain

Say hello wave goodbye old 80’s soft cell and the thatcher era all rolled into one

16. Juteman

I can only see one choice of song?

17. Brian Powell

As I wrote on the previous thread, perhaps The Proclaimers would write a new song.

Could be the new Scottish National anthem.

18. Mike Wallace

Let’s get Caledonia to number 1, or hue and crys ‘hand and heart’

19. haartime

A Proclaimers song, how apt. maybe it will even get a mention at FMQS. I think the Proclaimers would be fully supportive and it would really annoy Johann, Alistair and the BT twitterati. Could we even think of letting get away with ignoring it?

20. DonnieMac

At least you held off the true but rather unhelpful ‘Cap In Hand’

21. Helpmaboab

“Stockholm Syndrome” anyone?

22. Juteman

I’ll pick Rebel Rebel, by Bowie. 🙂

23. BigRD

What was wrong with Cap in Hand?

24. Billy Manson

I always thought ‘Take The Power Back’ by Rage Against The Machine would get the blood pumping.. 😀

25. Buster Bloggs

Like I said on Twitter, great idea, I thought Frankie Miller’s Caledonia would be cool but maybe a bit to sentimental, Sex Pistols Anarchy in the rUK 🙂 or go the whole hog and see if the Proclaimers would record a new ver of Flower of Scotland.

The UK chart goes worldwide so what an incredible thing to do.

26. bookie from hell

thx highander

27. Conan_the_Librarian

’79 RPM.

28. Jim Finlayson

It’s got to be ‘Cap in hand’ by the Procs or ‘Dawning of the day’ by The Corries. Two great songs.

29. Chris Cairns

‘Freedom’ – George Michael, got to be. C’mon – the lyrics work and the video’s got lots of pretty ladies in it – what’s not to like?

30. Murray McCallum

There’s something not quite right about that vote. Can’t quite work it out yet.

31. Iain

If it is Charlie and Craig’s track and I believe they are pro YES they may well waive royalties that can be used to support the independence campaign

32. alexicon

“Stockhom Sybdrome” anyone?

Don’t you mean Jockholm syndrome Boab?

Surely 500 miles? Anything else would just be to deep.

33. Kendomacaroonbar

It has to be ‘ No Charge’, by Tammy Wynette 🙂

34. Arabs for Independence

It has got to be Cap in Hand

35. Gaavster

Once a song has been selected, how about we put it there and keep it there from now until September…

What would it cost each of us?

£1/week maybe?

And it would constantly be splattered across the news too 😉

Maybe even some free advertising for Wings if we’re clever about how it is marketed

36. bookie from hell

English group–YES

starship trouper

37. Grant

Cap in hand.

38. Bawheid Bragg

Hmm, if you’re gonna choose a song, it might be wise to establish beforehand whether or not the artiste(s) are in favour of independence.
    Quite liked that Paolo Nutini song that was doing the rounds this morn.
    Maybe Mr Gaughan could do a deep trance remix of ‘Precious Few Heroes’, get the bairns interested, ken?

39. heraldnomore

One more for Cap in Hand

40. CraigM

The Proclaimers – Cap In Hand

The Corries – Flower Of Scotland

Frankie Miller – Caledonia

Deacon Blue – Dignity

The Proclaimers – Letter From America

41. Murray McCallum

Cap in Hand should be our national anthem right up to 18th September 2014.

42. Purr

Ask the Proclaimers if they would do a letter from edinburgh

43. amimmortal

For the price of a download on iTunes, I’d buy a single every week until 18th September! How many singles do you need to sell these days to get into the chart? It’s not as much as you might think…

44. Croompenstein

aye Cap in Hand apart from the bit aboot Hibs goalie as their goalies have been terminally shit since Goram..

45. Helpmaboab

I’ve always liked ‘Throw The ‘R’ Away’. It’s a superb antidote to the Cringe.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=066oSmDRKPA&w=420&h=315%5D

46. galamcennalath

Brilliant plan!

However, it will have to be done quickly or the Unionists will catch on and sheer numbers from Englandshire could overwhelm us with some southern alternative.

47. Seepy

Hermless by Michael Marra. And why not?

48. Jeannie

Something Inside so Strong or Cap in Hand.

49. twenty14

Jock’s Revenge by Whiskey Kiss – just amazing

50. bookie from hell

English group YES

song– IT CAN HAPPEN

English press will be wondering why so high the charts
    great song

51. Croompenstein

the theme tune from Rainbow

52. sneddon

I’ve a feelIng the postal vote will swing this one :0

53. MD

I did have a similar idea which was to encourage folk to put their ‘Independence playlist’ together on e.g. Spotify i.e. what songs will they be playing at their Yes celebration party on 19th September?

Could be some prize money to encourage a bit of creativity. If only we knew someone with a bit of spare cash to put towards it…

54. galamcennalath

Looking through comments above. Flower of Scotland, the original by the Corries would make the maximum statement possible. I thnk.

55. Calgacus MacAndrews

Spooky, timing-wise, but I guess we are all on the same journey, much in step.

The “Make Alba Shine” YES song that featured at Celtic Connections (see Scot goes Pop link) has just finished being recorded in the studio by “Cask” this week.

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/celtic-connections-photos.html

More news to follow regarding release date, but there will be a chunk of the proceeds going to the YES cause.

It was performed at the YES Badenoch meeting in January (wee clip below).

Not on the same league as the Wings crowd-fundraising, but the money to record “Make Alba Shine” in the studio was “pub-sourced” in about 5 minutes, after songwriter Gilly performed it at his legendary New Year’s Day gig (with Brother Fergus) in the Cairn Hotel in Carrbridge.

56. Paul Kelly

Flower of Scotland’s a dirge. First thing we need to do in the Glorious Independent People’s Republic of Scotland is ban that funeral tune!

57. Sunsine On Crieff

Scotland’s Story by The Proclaimers

58. margaret mcneil

Freedom Come Freedom Go by the Fortunes

59. Joseph Curran

The Proclaimers – Scotland’s Story

60. Alan Whitelaw

I recommend the song written by Lou Hickey “Change is Coming”. She sang it at the Yes Rally in September 2013 and was accompanied spontaneously on stage by Eddie Reader.

61. J. R. Tomlin

Albert Herring says:

“It’s a bit like voting for Saddam Hussein”

I BEG your pardon?

62. James D

@Gaavster “Cap in hand” is much better – the lyrics are perfect.

I also really like “The workers song” by Dick Gaughan which accompanied the LFI appeal video. “No Gods” is also excellent.

But maybe we should make a new version of “A man’s a man” went down a treat at the Rally.

63. Croompenstein

It’s Now or Never by The King..

64. Robert Llewellyn Tyler

Praying in Wales. Go for it Scotland

65. Solo&TheWookie

My first post on Wings …yeah!

I was also going to suggest ‘Say Hello, Wave Goodbye’. I was listening to it earlier for reasons other than the referendum and the words and sentiment struck me as entirely appropriate. I also think it would stand a decent chance of getting the whole movement going ‘yeah, we’ll get behind that and get it to number one’ …rather than just the WoS readers.

I’m sure there are loads of decent candidates worthy of the nod. This piques my curiosity and humour. I shall watch with interest.

66. twenty14

Jerusalem – eh -just saying like

67. CraigM

Big Country – Restless Natives

68. Marcia

Book from Hell

There is no filming at the Sheridan meeting as the Labour MP refused to allow it. However someone is tweeting from it;

https://twitter.com/AlisonWilson09

69. Buster Bloggs

Michael Jackson Beat It…. Cap in hand is well cool.

70. X_Sticks

I’d have gone for the Pink Fairies – Do It from Never Never Land

All you gotta do is do it
    Do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, yeah! Ah Yes do it.

71. Inbhir Anainn

One song to be definitely excluded is the Strawbs – Part of the Union just saying like.

72. Calgacus MacAndrews

Both Sides the Tweed

The ultimate song about the relationship between the two countries.

73. bookie from hell

thx marcia

74. Joseph Curran

Did Mark Knopfler not do a “sounds like” Big Country soundtrack for Restless Natives?

75. Fireproofjim

I go with the Proclaimers ” Should have been Loved”
    OT just sent £25 to YES IN THE GLEN for the big August rally in Dunfermline. They are toiling to reach their initial target for preliminary deposits etc.
    Check it out and let’s help them get this great day organised. It will be just a month before the BIG DAY!!

76. twenty14

Land of hope and Dreams by the Boss – Lyrics so appropriate

77. ElGordo

First Post…Be Gentle

I want my country back (Autumn Almanac – The Kinks)

From this do-nowt dredge creeps a call from west-min-ister,
    Then it dawns and then I crack.
    It’s all crap so I want my country back.
    Breeze blows sleaze from this musty-coloured fellow,
    So I tell them he’s a sack.
    Yes, yes, yes, I want my country back.

It has no meaning, better together,
    Remembered, but not Forever
    Flee to your hosted, shuttered rodent runs
    Can’t compensate for lack of a colony,
    Because the empires all gone away.

La-la-la-la…
    Oh, your poor old union jack
    La-la-la-la…
    Oh, in the autumn albas back

I like my football on a Saturday,
    Roast beef on Sundays, aye right.
    I go to Blackpool for my holidays,
    Sit in the open, shoot the shite.

This is my street, and I’m never gonna to leave it,
    And I’m always gonna to stay here
    If I live to be ninety-nine,
    ‘Cause all the people I meet
    Seem to come from my street
    And I can’t get away,
    Because it’s calling me, (come on home)
    Hear it calling me, (come on home)

La-la-la-la…
    Oh, in the autumn albas back
    La-la-la-la…
    Oh, I want my country back
    Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes.

Bop-bop-bopm-bop-bop, whoa!
    [etc.]

78. Alastair Wright

Freewil by Rush

There are those who think that life is nothing left to chance,
    A host of holy horrors to direct our aimless dance.

A planet of playthings,
    We dance on the strings
    Of powers we cannot perceive.
    “The stars aren’t aligned
    Or the gods are malign”-
    Blame is better to give than receive.

You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice.
    If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
    You can choose from phantom fears and kindness that can kill;
    I will choose a path that’s clear-
    I will choose Free Will.

There are those who think that they were dealt a losing hand,
    The cards were stacked against them- they weren’t born in lotus-land.

All preordained-
    A prisoner in chains-
    A victim of venomous fate.
    Kicked in the face,
    You can’t pray for a place
    In heaven’s unearthly estate.

You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice.
    If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
    You can choose from phantom fears and kindness that can kill;
    I will choose a path that’s clear-
    I will choose Free Will.

Each of us-
    A cell of awareness-
    Imperfect and incomplete.
    Genetic blends
    With uncertain ends
    On a fortune hunt that’s far too fleet.

79. Arbroath 1320

As we’ve already seen so many views so many songs so here’s my tuppence worth. 😉

The Cybernat song by Hazel Lewry
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8KAUijtdHw

or The Nasty Cybernat by Yew Choob
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oD-q5h3b7gc&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Caledonia by Black Watch
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Z2V-rfkl0g&feature=youtu.be

The Clutha appeal… (kill two birds with one stone, sorry song, with this one)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=kAbppV_Y96U

Of course no song considerations can be had without a song about Stu’s favourite newspaper, could it? 🙂

The Daily Mail song by Dan and Dan

80. Mealer

I think this is a good idea,though not the loved,loved,loved song.Obviously.its important that the artists performing the song are firmly in the YES camp.Most importantly,there is only room for one song at a time.One joint effort.I’d vote for either cap in hand or one great thing,if we’re sure the artists are on board.

81. Croompenstein

They’re Coming To Take Me Away Ha Ha for Flipper,Anus, Chairchoob, Beaker and his brother Dugless, HMS Hood and all the rest of them

82. Red Squirrel

Scotland’s story would be great

83. Buster Bloggs

Here what about a bit of Marley Get up Stand Up.

84. Simon

An new version James D? What’s wrong with the one we have already?

85. CraigM

Joseph,

You thinking of his soundtrack for Local Hero?

86. Peter

Cap in hand

87. Zed

Has to be Cap in Hand

88. Jim T

Zakk Wylde’s “Hate your guts” off Pride & Glory.

Right enough, that might just engender the wrong sort of feelings 🙂

89. Alba4Eva

90. Loveme2times

How about taking back D ream from new labour, things can only get better?

91. Theunicorn

Rev, As we owe so much to those who have gone before us and who enabled us to reach this threshold I would go for Ted Christopher’s “Freedoms Flame”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17kPGchFidY

92. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Joseph Curran says:
    Did Mark Knopfler not do a “sounds like” Big Country soundtrack for Restless Natives?

I think it was the other way round.
    i.e. the Big Country music for “Restless Natives” sounded like the earlier Mark Knopfler music for “Local Hero”.

93. Adam Davidson

79p on iTunes. Get it bought people.

94. Paul

I don’t think that it is a good idea i’m not saying that that the charts can’t be topped just that in my opinion it’s a bit twee.

95. Colin Harvey

How About Blackeyed Biddy – Right to be free http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y3bYsm1wvqA

96. Juteman

If folk want a Yes song, it would have to be Wondrous Stories.

97. Mo Lau

Caledonia – so appropriate

98. Hwanofbute

Let’s go glam and try a bit of Boy George with “Yes We Can.” Just look at who kicks the video off. 😉

99. Bill Tohill

@dinnatouch
    Agreed, cap in hand, defines it all

100. Croompenstein

Jocky Wilson Said by Dexy’s

101. Andy Drynan

Brilliant idea, i’m up for that 😉 but cap in hands no’ a very optimistic tune is it, letter from Embra sounds like a laugh though, or Dougie MaCleans Caledonia.

102. Joseph Curran

Your right it was for Local Hero. not Restless Natives.

103. Restlessnative

“I’d have gone for the Pink Fairies”

Wow!!!,I’ve just put “What a bunch of sweeties”on,far out indeed!

104. Juteman

Martyn Bennet and Move.

105. handclapping

Where’s the Don’t Know button? Is this another dDoS loss?

106. James123

I want to break free – Queen

107. Gordon Hay

How about a Proclaimers “double A-side” (showing my age?) with Should Have Been Loved and Cap In Hand giving a good feel for what we want to say.

108. Thepnr

HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!! STOP.

THIS IS THE SONG WE SHOULD SEND TO No 1 STOP.

IT’S OUR SONG STOP.

FROM US TO UKOK STOP.

WE’RE SENDING A VERY STRAIGHT FORWARD MESSAGE. STOP

109. Andy Drynan

Bedroom tax no more
    trident no more
    tories no more
    You’re welcome Craig an Charlie, no charge 😉

110. helen

It has to be ‘Scotland Will Flourish’ by the Corries – it may have been written years ago but the words still ring true especially: ‘let us be rid of those bigots & fools, who will not let Scotland live and let live’
    http://youtu.be/gkr9c_ok-7c

ps this is my first post but I have been a big fan of Wings for a good few months now, & it really has helped me become a proud Yes supporter from previously being on the fence!

111. Juteman

112. bookie from hell

cap in hand is GOOD

strong lyrics

113. sneddon

OT- Indy debate in Irvine. Labour MP refused to agree to filming. But judging by twweets from https://twitter.com/AlisonWilson09 Donohue the labour MP gettings a bit of a hard time.

114. heedtracker

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIXV0cir4-E Its a long way to the top Scotland. Its also a long from Forfar to rock legend.

115. Rev. Stuart Campbell

IT APPEARS YOU HAVE ALL MISUNDERSTOOD THE NATURE OF THIS DEMOCRACY.

116. James D

@Simon Yeah, brilliant! I meant a remix of the same song – I wouldn’t change it for any amount of English gold!

117. gordoz

O/T – But this made me smile.

Dr John Robertson of BBC Bias Research has now been made up to full Professor by Uni of WoS.

Becomes Professor John W Robertson, Convenor: CCI Research Ethics Committee, Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, School of Creative and Cultural Industries, University of the West of Scotland.

Now isn’t that ironic – BBC think he is useless and then he gets rewarde fo excellent work. (Via D Bateman blog)

118. Marcia

Rev

Not everyone. It is like an East German election pre-1989.

119. Jean

Nothing against the Proclaimers but neither song is catchy enough for community singing. Caledonia is a beautiful song but too slow. We need something with an upbeat melody and catchy lyrics. Flower of Scotland doesn’t do it for me.
    Don’t think we need a song which underpins the independence process so much as a rousing new Scots anthem.

120. handclapping

Someday – Seekers

I would have gone for Puff the Magic Dragon but given the Rev’s heroin and fried mars bar habit …
    ( that’s the one he wears on Sundays for the service 🙂 )

121. sneddon

gordox – Excellent news- University of the West of Scotland gives ‘kiss my big fat academic arse’ message to BBC 🙂 Congrats to Professor Robertson.

122. Croompenstein

Scotland Will Flourish by The Corries

123. James123

The Cure – Just Say Yes

Just say yes! Do it now!
    Let yourself go!
    Just leap! Don’t look!
    Or you’ll never know
    If you love it
    You might really love it
    If you love it
    You might really love it!

Oh come on and love it!

Yeah, this is it
    Don’t be cautious
    Don’t think twice
    This is it
    Don’t play it safe
    Don’t put on ice
    Yeah, this is it
    Don’t chew it over
    No don’t kick it around
    This is it
    Don’t wait and see
    Don’t try to work it out

Just say yes! Do it now!
    Let yourself go!
    Just leap! Don’t look!
    Or you’ll never know
    If you love it
    You might really love it!

So don’t tell me
    It could all go wrong
    No don’t tell me
    It could all be a mess
    Oh don’t tell me
    It could all be a waste of time
    Just say oui! Si! Sim! Da! Ja! Yow! Igen! Kylla!
    Just say yes!

124. sausage fingered luddite

Cap in hand for me too

125. Fergus Green

Can’t see past ‘Cap in Hand’ myself. Its such an infectious tune and the perfect riposte to Lamont plagairising the Proclaimers’ words this week.

126. Jeannie

I also love Dick Gaughan’s “Both Sides the Tweed”. It’s a beautiful song and it exemplifies what we all want to achieve at the end of the day. It’s not all about money, it’s about things of much higher value. I think I’ll vote for this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXurIE7dP-0

127. haud on the noo

D

I

V

O

R

C

E

?

128. Jim T

Albert Herring 7:25

wrt Tommy vs Brian from the Irvine Herald –

“Irvine Beat FM will also be on hand to record the event which will be broadcast on Peter Lockhart’s Sunday Talk-In show on the same weekend.”

129. rabb

Brilliant song and perfect for the job. I went to see them in October in the Hydro. Fantastic night 🙂

Let’s get this show on the road!

When do we start buying it? Any specific timing in mind?

130. Arbroath 1320

Like it, sorry LOVE it Thepnr. 🙂

sneddon hope the final outcome of the debate in Irvine confirms the norm…majority of audience for YES. 🙂

131. Tamson

I’m with Paul above, not a great idea in my opinion. Makes the Yes campaign look like a wee fringe group trying to be allowed to sing rebel songs, or a bunch of indie types moaning about Simon Cowell and X-Factor.

The only way I can think of it working is if the song in question provokes the BBC into banning it (for being overtly political, maybe?) and then you get a Streisand Effect. On those grounds, a rewrite of Cap in Hand might be an interesting release.

132. Jim T

ahhh now it comes clear ….

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    28 February, 2014 at 8:32 pm
    IT APPEARS YOU HAVE ALL MISUNDERSTOOD THE NATURE OF THIS DEMOCRACY.

Stu’s got a container load of fire damaged CDs he’s trying to shift 😉

133. Helpmaboab

Let’s not forget ‘What do you do?’, also by the Proclaimers.

I sincerely hope that this song is a relic of the past but it’s still beautiful.

http://youtu.be/dXs7JYw4BP4

134. Holebender

That Proclaimers song is a new one for me but I have to say the lyrics are perfect.

If we can’t take a dig at the BBC by promoting The Revolution Will Not Be Televised by the late Gil Scott-Heron then I vote for Should Have Been Loved.

135. Onwards

That proclaimers song is too much of a complaint.

Something more inspirational would be better.

One Great Thing maybe – isn’t that the ‘official’ song of the YES campaign?

Flower of Scotland is a love it or hate it job.
    Anything folky will be seen as too parochial by the younger generation.

It would be good to see the indy supporting bands and artists do an original song – maybe with a shouty YES chorus along the lines of Van Halens JUMP 🙂

A free summer festival would be nice!

Or we could just hire Avicii to do a YES summer party anthem, Wake Me Up style, complete with YES tattoos 🙂

136. Big Drew

Get a dream team on the case, Eddi, Charlie, Craig and the Kane gang, gotta be a winner in there somewhere.
    Cap in Hand great but not a song of hope, I would go for a land fit for zeros.

137. Thepnr

Thanks Arbroath 1320 the lyrics are perfect. Sums it up to a tee in my humble opinion 🙂 And it’s a “shouty” song.

138. Elizabeth Sutherland

How about the Proclaimers song “I’m on my way” it was used in the Shrek Movie.

139. gerry parker

We’re in a democracy? Have I gone to sleep and woken up on the 19th September??

140. twenty14

@Onwards – what Jon D said

“Jocks Revenge” by Whisky Kiss

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6UabZV94is

A trendy feelgood number

141. Arbroath 1320

Aye that’s what I was thinking. It would please my partner too, she recently got a Twisted Sister badge that she wears with pride on her leather biker jacket :), sadly no bike I’m afraid. 🙁

142. Jeannie

@Calgacus MacAndrew

Sorry, Calgacus, just scrolled up and saw you’d already put a version of Both Sides the Tweed on already. Great minds think alike – I can never listen to this song without getting a lump in my throat.

143. Barbara Gribbon

I think the power has gone to the Revs head and he thinks we’ll all just jump when he says. So Rev, how high was that, again?

(and besides it’s only 89p on Amazon!..)

144. Thepnr

All we need is The proclaimers to release it!

145. twenty14

@Onwards – you mean like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1A6__HssHW8

Done in Irish Gaelic

146. Theunicorn

The last link didn’t work for some reason http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17kPGchFidY

147. The Man in the Jar

@Juteman
    Love the Martyn Bennet but I must say. Not his most accessible work. My favorite is “Blackbird” but I think “Aye!” more appropriate.

Not a serious suggestion but I was playing some Pink Floyd (I know!) the closing lines from the song “Time” keep playing in my head.

Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way.
    The time is up, the song is over.
    Thought Id something more to say.

My vote would go to The Sensational Alex Harvey Band “The Man in the Jar” but hey, Im biased.

148. Douglas Campbell

Hearts of olden glory (Runrig)

Good sentiment for a nation reborn

149. Fergus Green

Any chance of getting a collective of pro-indy artistes together to cover a Proclaimers song, Band Aid style? Just listened to ‘What Do You Do’ (above) and that song would fit perfectly.

150. Paula Rose

John Cage’s 4′ 33″ would get my vote.

151. twenty14

What about Mull of Kintyre by …..

getting a bit carried away – Merlot must have kicked in

152. Theunicorn

Sorry,that’s not working either for some reason so go to you tube and enter Ted Chistophers’s Freedoms Flame

153. Alba4Eva

Juteman… LOVING Move – Martyn Bennet

Bouncing around my living room 😀

154. john king

Something insides so strong

155. Croompenstein

Water Beastie

156. Paula Rose

When’s the poetry night?

157. KatyMac

Orange juice Rip it up!!

158. indigo

@Andy Drynan

“trident no more”

wow, can you imagine if they did re-record that as a pro indy song – does anyone have the ear of craig & charlie? given their reaction to lamont’s abuse of exactly those lyrics they may well be up for it

159. Marcia

At the Irvine meeting;

Heckler to Donohoe. ‘Get yer CV up to date, pal. Yer going to need it’

160. Davie Hay

“I’m on my way” would be good. Together with “Over and done with” perhaps.

161. Morag

I’m coming round to Paula’s position here.

John Cage it is.

162. Barbara Gribbon

I hear and obey! (reaches for pinot..)

163. Jim

I saw the statement on twitter Stu ( and don’t like twitter). However, what about “the state of independence shall be” by Donna Summer? A lot of folk elsewhere couldn’t help but download. How embarrassing would that be to the naesayers? Can we not organise a date to start downloading it?

164. Jeannie

@Marcia

That twitter feed of the meeting in Irvine tonight is a scream!

165. Morag

Priceless, Jeannie! I’m praying the audience is just punters, and not Yes activists. They sound really fired up.

166. moo.moo

Am I the only one who thinks Better Together campaign is now gonna come out with their own song? Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up….!

As for YES song… might as well go full out and just go with that dramatic “I’m as mad as hell and I’m not gonna take this any more” speech http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juFSNpjbVN4

And lets not forget George Carlin… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yi6XV8yBFoU It’s a big club and we’re not in it!

167. Ian Brotherhood

Just back from leafleting arrivals at the Sheridan/Donohoe Celebrity Death Match.

TS arrived, after reccying us from the car park, surrounded by a human doughnut of his most trusted guards (they know who they are…plus ca change, comrades eh?) He accepted a leaflet from me, but the head was down the whole time, no eye-contact, and no sound at all, apart from a vile comment from one of his party (who shall remain nameless) dismissing us as the ‘Scottish Psychopath Party’ (huh?) – the same character emerged some ten minutes later to call one of us a ‘monkey’. Nice!

The place was packed. We ran out of leaflets publicising next Monday’s Ayr Town Hall SSP public meeting (where Colin Fox and Jim Sillars will be speaking) and Trade Unions For Independence. 99% of arrivals cordially accepted the flyers – a few angrily waved them away when they realised who were were.

I asked the organiser, well before the hall started filling, if I could put the flyers on empty seats. Request denied – ‘no political literature on the seating’. Aye, okay big man…

The proposed Livestream was cancelled – the ‘speakers’ hadn’t given consent. Clan Destiny Films were denied permission to film the event, although Sheridan did agree to grant them an interview afterwards. It seems you really had to be there, eh? (‘Public’ meetings – don’t you just love them?)

And that, as they say, was that.

168. Fergus Green

Maggie’s Farm anybody?

http://www.metrolyrics.com/maggies-farm-lyrics-bob-dylan.html

might even appeal to folk south of the border as well.

169. john king

“Flower of Scotland’s a dirge. First thing we need to do in the Glorious Independent People’s Republic of Scotland is ban that funeral tune!”

At last!

170. alexicon

Sorry for the O/T and sorry if it has been posted before.

The flaw in Osborne’s pre-emptive strike against a currency union

Of course it takes a non UK person to tell the truth.

David Scheffer is a law professor and director of the Center for International Human Rights at Northwestern University School of Law in Chicago.

Have a good read.

http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/2014/02/flaw-osbornes-pre-emptive-strike-against-currency-union

171. handclapping

Thinking (that’s rare) about it we should go for something the Beeb is already unhappy with, Ta Ra Ta Ra

The Wicked Witch is Dead.

172. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“The proposed Livestream was cancelled – the ‘speakers’ hadn’t given consent. Clan Destiny Films were denied permission to film the event, although Sheridan did agree to grant them an interview afterwards. It seems you really had to be there, eh? (‘Public’ meetings – don’t you just love them?)”

The organiser has said that Sheridan gave permission. It was Donohoe who refused. Have known for a few days.

173. john king

“Something inside so strong.”

Didnt see that Paul
    great minds think alike,
    yes its a powerful song.

174. Dcanmore

O/T YES Dunfermline need some help to push their campaign along a bit …

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/yes-in-the-glen

175. AngleGrinder

I loved this Redskins track in the 80’s and it still gets me up and jumping around 30 years later! The lyrics are maybe too aggressive for some, but they are strangely prophetic!

You’ve never had it so good
    The favourite phrase of those who’ve always had it
    Better
    Burn it up!
    Realise the altogether

Bring it down
    Burn together
    The altogether’s an insane thing, insane thing
    Bring it down
    All together

You’ve never had it so good
    The favourite phrase of those who’ve always had it
    Better
    You never had so much is the cry
    Of those who’ve always had much more, much more than
    You & I

Burn brother burn
    Fight together
    This altogether’s an insane thing, insane thing
    Bring it down
    All together

Burn
    Insane thing, insane thing

Burn brother burn
    Let’s burn Together
    Burn brother burn
    Burn, burn, burn
    This insane thing, insane thing
    Burn brother burn
    Burn sister burn

Spurn the lie
    They use to justify
    This insanity!
    The inhumanity!
    Of this insane thing

Burn brother burn
    Burn, burn, burn
    Some’s got it easy
    Bring it down
    The altogether
    Keeps getting better for the few
    Who’ve got it good to start with

176. Jeannie

For some reason that Dick Gaughan link didn’t work, so trying again.

youtube.com/watch?v=vXurIE7dP-0

177. Morag

Ian, it was Donohoe refused to allow filming, as if you didn’t know.

178. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You and poyums, eh? What are you like?

Go ahead – name a time and place. If you build it they will come an aw that stuff…

(I’ll even offer to read some of my stuff by way of an ice-breaker.)

Go on. I dare ye!

In fact, I double-dare ye! So there!

179. Thepnr

@alexicon

Thanks for the link.

180. tartanfever

This for the new national anthem and the no.1 spot in the Wings Hit Parade.

Meaningful lyrics ? – Forget it. People like something they can tap their toes to. Imagine this as our national anthem, people all over the world would be queueing up to emigrate here.

181. X_Sticks

sneddon says:
    “Indy debate in Irvine.
    https://twitter.com/AlisonWilson09

Donohue Sheridan

Donohue getting a pasting!

Fun to watch.

182. J. R. Tomlin

‘Cap in Hand’ is the best choice as much as I love some of the other suggestions (particularly anything from Runrig).

183. Arbroath 1320

Good old Donohoe at the debate in Irvine tonight apparently said he wanted a 1p INCREASE in income tax and £1 OFF a bottle of whiskey. Meanwhile back in the real world Tommy Sheridan apparently received a standing ovation at the end of his spell. I wonder how Donohoe will get on, you’ll excuse me if I am not surprised to read he did not receive a standing ovation. I’ve just read he was booed at the start of his closing remarks so all going well for a NO victory in Irvine tonight then. 🙂

184. Alex

Scotlands 1982 world cup song wee have a dream

185. Meg McLean

Still has to be “Dawning of the Day”

186. Morag

My God I thought people were joking about the fundraiser from Kent to “Keep the UK together” but it actually looks genuine. No way am I posting a link, but it’s fall-down funny.

187. CyBOS

Got to be something so outrageous that it will be difficult for the UK media to explain away!

How about:

Donald Where’s Your Troosers?- Andy Stewart
    The Corries – Flower of Scotland

188. Bill McLean

Has to be “Caledonia” !

189. Arbroath 1320

O.K. folks the latest on how much David Cameron “loves” us genetically unprogrammed people living North of Hadrian’s wall can be read here.

http://tinyurl.com/m3qcd3t

190. bookie from hell

public meeting

I don’t think NO,undecided voters will show up

get info from mainstream tv,radio

191. cynicalHighlander

Irvine Beat FM will also be on hand to record the event which will be broadcast on Peter Lockhart’s Sunday Talk-In show on the same weekend.

Will someone will post a link to this if they find one?

192. Richie

Pride by Amy MacDonald

193. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag & Rev –

Hmm.

Let’s get this straight.

I was told ‘the speakers’ (in relation to the Livestream bar)and as I didn’t encounter another source able to confirm either way (not that I asked everyone else – we were rather ‘busy’) that is what I reported. Maybe the organiser was being ‘diplomatic’, or maybe the person who communicated the information to me got it wrong, but that’s precisely what I was told the organiser said, on the ground, and I was told that at approx 6.45.

Morag, I’ll ignore the ‘as if you didn’t know’ – not even sure what you’re implying there? If I was particularly interested in what Sheridan or Donohoe have to say about anything then I’d still be in the Volunteer Rooms. And in any event, I was there to hand out leaflets for an upcoming SSP public meeting, not to collect notes for a WoS article/BTL SSP propaganda piece.

What I’ve written above is a true account of what happened tonight – if you think it’s tainted with some ‘agenda’ then you’re crediting me with more imagination and guile than I happen to have.

194. aldo_macb

I can’t understand why we let someone else rule our land – cap in hand.

195. Morag

For goodness sake Ian, I didn’t mean anything. It was only a throwaway remark meaning, I imagine you can guess.

We’ve been following tweets from Alison Wilson in the hall and she had the info that Tommy was happy to have been filmed.

196. Dave McEwan Hill

Yes, Stu
    We are wilfully misunderstanding this poll.
    However an Ayetunes CD would be great

Dick Gaughan and Five Hand Reel with the Freedom Come A Ye
    (words by Hamish Henderson music – the Bloody Fields of Flanders – by Pipe Major John McLellan of Dunoon)would be my first choice,,followed by Barbara Dickson’s Parcel of Rogues

197. call me dave

Topical… The Proclaimers are not pleased.

http://archive.is/PZAGD

198. Tony

How about this one from Paolo Nutini? Not sure of his position in the constitutional debate but the lyrics are quite powerful.

199. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“However an Ayetunes CD would be great”

Yours would be very different to mine…

200. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

Fair do’s.

I’m maybe still a wee bit wound-up about it all.

Cheers anyway…

201. galamcennalath

It is important that the chosen artist doesn’t turn round and say they aren’t actually for Independence! They need to be firm Yes supports and not Nos or ‘fence sitters’.

202. Baheid

Don’t know if anyone else has suggested but why don’t we pick a different tune each month till Sept.

We could afford that easily.

203. E. Robinson

This is my first post on this site. Have been reading for a while and very impressed with the information available. As the Proclaimers support us in the YES camp, I think we should support them by choosing Cap in Hand as the single to promote, as it is very apt to our cause.

The Poll , however, does seem to only have one choice at the moment , and I would also support that choice , especially if the Proclaimers were willing to perhaps change some of the wording for us.

If timed properly we COULD make this a number one in the UK, what a slap in the face that would be, but I feel it would be most effective towards the last two months.

In 2013 Avicci reached number one with 267,00 copies sold in the first week, with Blurred Lines being the best selling single of 2013 at 1.47 million copies sold and occupying the number one slot for 5 non consecutive weeks, also making it the longest number one of 2013. If Andy Stewart could keep A Scottish Soldier in the charts for 36 weeks in 1961, surely with these ease of online purchasing we can get a ‘hit’ in 2014.

204. I G

Perhaps a dry run with Should Have Been Loved just now, but we should bide our time and go for a big one in the summer. It needs to be something obvious, with broad appeal across all age groups. During the summer there needs to be an unstoppable momentum, a zeitgeist. The only one that I can think of that’s accessible, upbeat, not corny and has artistic merit is Caledonia. Probably the Frankie Miller version (sorry Dougie).

Caledonia at number 1 throughout August right up to September 18th and beyond. That should be worth a few thousand Yes votes.

205. laukat

I was going to suggest “who takes the baw fae Maggie Thatcher” by the Corries

But I’m with Alex

“We have a Dream” is the one that gets the closest

If we get this in the charts then its undeniable who did it and why its there

206. john king

Heres a dark horse

207. David Agnew

Something a bit more direct aimed at Georgie Boy and all this little creepy friends:

208. Morag

Am I really the only one looking at the fundraiser page set up to get £30,000 so that the barely literate promoter (from Kent) can travel round Scotland telling us all how Salmond is all wrong and we should vote No?

It’s on its second day of an 8-day run and it has raised precisely £0. (Remember the effort we put in to get £30,000 for Stu a year ago, over 8 weeks?) The promoter hasn’t even had the nous to put in a bit of pump-priming money, nor has he persuaded anyone else to do it.

If this is a spoof, hats off to whoever set it up, my respect sir. If it’s genuine, I’m wetting myself.

209. laukat

forget me previous nomination for we have a dream

I know vote for this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kK6LkpfZ94s

Last 10 seconds still relevant 40 years on.

Also when we did get Independence can someone please officially honour Roy Williamson (posthumously) and Roy Brown? The nation owes them and many others a debt

210. Alba4Eva

Tony… after hearing the Paolo Nutini track on a previous thread, I am fully behind getting this to number 1. Saying that, it would stand a good chance of nailing number 1 if it was released tomorrow anyway. Superb track.

211. naebd

A bit ambitious to spam the top 40 every month, not to mention pretty cruel to everyone – if some of the suggested playlist is selected. It’d probably provoke a backlash.

212. Ian Brotherhood

This would surely resonate with everyone, albeit for different reasons?

213. heraldnomore

Or there’s Andre Rieu and his pipers from a few weeks back

214. call me dave

I G

I agree. I have listened to all the nominated tracks and favour Caledonia.
    Gone on the tube and listened to various options

Frankie Miller but also Eileen Laverty or Celtic woman are good. Maybe a woman should be asked.

It will appeal to the many Scots abroad as well as at home.

215. Morag

John Cage. That is all.

216. Edward Andrews

Proclaimers Cap in hand

217. Croompenstein

@naebd – I think it’s just a bit of fun

218. Boorach

As our favourite broadcaster ramps up it’s ‘celebration’ of WW1 I think either of the following would be appropriate:

The Green Fields of France

or

Mothers, Daughters, Wives

Both have been covered by the Corries

219. CalumCarr

I’m with Dave McEwan Hill (@21.38) who went for Freedom Come All Ye fronted by Dick Gaughan. I go for this not because I uploaded the video which DMcEH embedded but because the lyrics describe our vision and the past we want to leave behind.

Gaughan’s website – http://www.dickgaughan.co.uk/songs/texts/freecaye.html – says this about the song,

This song is so rich in imagery and symbolism that it is impossible to give an adequate understanding of it without writing a major treatise. Basically, the main theme is anti-imperialism coupled with the recognition of the part that Scots have played in the conquest and subjugation of other peoples within the British Empire and the anticipation of the day when all peoples are truly free and can meet in peace and friendship.

220. roddy

Dick Gaughan…Both Sides the Tweed.

221. Brotyboy

Jeannie says:

Something Inside So Strong

Can only agree, Jeannie.

This one takes it outside our own borders and makes it international and multi-racial. It is one of the most powerful statements of determination and inevitability I have ever heard.

For me, it’s now about the inevitability of Independence, and of the indomitable human spirit.

We will get there, it’s just a question of when. Please let it be during my lifetime.

222. Andrew Sinclair

Another suggestion could be Tom Petty’s song “I Won’t Back Down” OK its not particularly Scottish, nor is the writer but it sends a pretty clear message:

Well I won’t back down, no I won’t back down
    You could stand me up at the gates of hell
    But I won’t back down

Gonna stand my ground, won’t be turned around
    And I’ll keep this world from draggin’ me down
    Gonna stand my ground and I won’t back down

Chorus
    Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
    Hey I will stand my ground
    And I won’t back down

Well I know what’s right, I got just one life
    In a world that keeps on pushin’ me around
    But I’ll stand my ground and I won’t back down

Hey baby there ain’t no easy way out
    Hey I will stand my ground
    And I won’t back down

223. roddy

Any excuse to play – Jimmy Shand Bluebell Polka

224. Craig P

It’s kind of off topic, but when armed service day comes round in Stirling this summer, I wouldn’t mind getting a double A side of The Green Fields of France and Mothers, Daughters Wives in to Number 1.

Ooh Boorach, I see you’ve had the same idea!

225. stramash

Here’s Iceland’s favourite daughter, Bjork, with Declare Independence. Its a bit shouty, but gets the point across.

226. David Sharp

The Corries -Scotland Will Flourish

I love this song. Just says it all

Lyrics to Scotland Will Flourish :
    Scotland will flourish by the sweat of labour
    The strength of our will and the force of our mind
    Forget the old battles, those days are over
    Hatred corrupts and friendship refines

Let the Scots be a nation proud of their heritage
    With an eye to the future and a heart to forgive
    And let us be rid of those bigots and fools
    Who will not let Scotland live and let live

Let us govern over country wisely and fairly
    Let each man and woman work with a will
    And Scotland will flourish secure in the knowledge
    That we reap our own harvest and ring our own till

And let us be known for our kind hospitality
    A hand that is open proper to friends
    A hard working people, proud and unbending
    Scotland will thrive and win out in the end

Scotland will flourish by the sweat of labour
    The strength of our will and the force of our mind
    Forget the old battles, those days are over
    Hatred corrupts and friendship refines

So let us be known for our kind hospitality
    A hand that is open proper to friends
    A hard working people, proud and unbending
    Scotland will thrive and win out in the end

227. Stevie

I could be convinced to go for Cap In Hand but that’s about it

228. Another Union Dividend

As we need to reach out to women voters, I would go for Donna Summer / Chrissie Hyde / Moodswings /The Pretenders with Spiritual High (State of Independence) which was written by Vangelis.

Time, time again, it is said
    We will hear, we will see
    See it all-in his wisdom-hear
    His truth will abound the land
    This truth will abound the land
    This State of independence shall be

P.S Like the new BT / UKIP/ BNP slogan, Love Britain Vote NO.

229. HoraceSaysYes

Hmm. It was a struggle deciding, but in the end, I’ve gone for ‘Should Have Been Loved’ by The Proclaimers. 😉

230. Jeannie

@Ian Brotherhood

“You can go your own way” – I’ve often thought this would be a great song for us, but reworded to “We can go our own way, We can call it our…Independence Day”. Actually, that’s how I tend to sing it these days anyway.

231. Andrew Morton

Anything by Wings.

232. Stevie

233. Alfresco Dent

So they were right, you spent the money on dope after all…

234. heraldnomore

The Amy McDonald number above, but with the video from the equal marriage trailer

235. cearc

Should be a new recording.

A sort of ‘It’s just a perfect day’ type rendering of Cap in Hand with a whole bunch of different people from across the musical spectrum together.

236. Stevie

237. eddie

238. chicmac

Gaavster
    2Brilliant idea Stu

Do we deliberately only have one option? 😉

Might I suggest ‘Cap in Hand’ by the same duo,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gApwpSWAhbQ

or maybe Hamish Henderson’s ‘Freedom Come All Ye’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89YOvmcRdf0

or Dick Gaughan’s ‘No Gods’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3aniiKuxL8

Them’s my 3 for the no.1 spot ;)”

All favourites of mine, but not sure “No Gods and Precious Few Heroes” quite fits the Rev’s profile in at least a couple of ways 🙂

But I’d vote for ‘Freedom Come All Ye’ by our Mr Gaughan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nLGKFTH5sw

or, considering the time of year of the referendum and the with a salient anti-violence message, his masterful rendition of Westlin Winds.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFO2ldO3Ga0

But the Proclaimers are great too.

239. rab_the_doubter

Im up for anything that Mr Gaughan has done. One of my life changing moments was the first time I listened to ‘handful of earth’.

240. Jill P

OK, looking at this logically…
    It would have to be something that is already available on iTunes etc. It would also need to be something that many people would buy without realising why it is suddenly selling well. There are lots of good suggestions on this thread.

I like Letter From America, cos Johann Lamont set us off in that direction this week. It’s been on the news so that could be what put it into people’s minds. And, of course, the guys are pro-independence and have been in the news complaining about JL hijacking it.

As for best time to buy it… Saturday night after midnight. It’s when new releases are released and a sudden rush to buy would be normal. Get it high enough before 4pm Sunday and it would appear in the top ten at the start of the Chart Show on radio. If it is in the top ten it would be brought to more people’s attention and therefor could go higher before the chart is “locked down” around 6pm. Without radio play it would be difficult but do-able.

Of course already we all have a wide spread of IP addresses and locations, if iTunes was checking.

I’m heading off now to research possibilities on iTunes. I’ll report back later 🙂

241. rab_the_doubter

We could also ask Steve Earle to join in.

242. heraldnomore

or a bit of Hebridean Chant from the good Rev…

243. tartanarse

Is it just me or is Newsnights Gordon Brewer in actual fact a Harry Enfield character?

He’s hilarious.

He almost had a a fit when Ian Mcwhirtrer announced Standard & Poors potential AAA assessment.

244. Davie Park

Another vote for Scotland Will Flourish. All the rest of you are simply wrong.

245. eddie

Further to Sam Cooke, I’d also like to add some more to the mix –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9I6QTipR03Q

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMeipHcDmbI

And for the inevitable party on September 19th –

246. kininvie

I think Amy has it for me. Pride. What’s not to like?

247. wullie

Chris Rea
    YOU CAN GO YOUR OWN WAY

248. Hammy

What about this it would be amazing so bonny. https://soundcloud.com/sefirus/rise-up

249. boglestone

Nice work on all the clickable links in the lyrics. I actually clicked on them for once. 🙂

250. jingly jangly

Among Proddy Dogs and Papes sung by Mick West

Could not find a “youtube” of Mick, here’s one with the Song’s writer, if we can get those on both sides of the sectarian divide to understand their just pawns in a game, it will help no end.

251. Ian Brotherhood

How awesome is it that someone being nominated for a song relevant to these momentous doings is also a contributor to the discussion?

The man will maybe blush, but you know what I mean, right?

Are any BT blogs similarly embarrassed?

Come to think of it…are there any BT blogs?

252. Keef

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dPCtLkzeTSM

“Killing the past and coming back to life”

Scotland singing to Westminster – ” where were you when I was hurt and helpless?”

253. jingly jangly

OMG found Mick Singing it on the BBC Music Player, anyway will post a link its starts about 6.50 secs in

http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/player/bb_wm_ms_44533682?redirect=ms_44533682&lang=en&nbram=1&nbwm=1&bbwm=1&bbram=1&ms3=6&ms_javascript=true&bbcws=2

254. Jill P

I am a Patriot

And the river opens for the righteous
    Someday

I was walking with my brother and he wondered what’s on my mind
    I said, What I believe in my soul ain’t what I see with my eyes
    And we can’t turn our backs this time

I am a patriot and I love my county
    Because my country is all I know
    I want to be with my family people who understand me
    I’ve got nowhere else to go

Someday

And I was talking with my sister she looked so fine
    I said, “Baby, what’s on your mind?”
    She said, “I want to run like the lion released from the cages
    Released from the rages burning in my heart tonight”, yeah

And I ain’t no Communist and I ain’t no Capitalist
    And I ain’t no Socialist and I ain’t no Imperialist
    And I ain’t no Democrat so I ain’t no Republican
    I only know one party and it is freedom

I am, I am, I am
    I am a patriot and I love my country
    Because my county is all I know

Someday

255. Scotsfox

Ah luv democracy!

256. chicmac

For a younger contingent (hip hop) there is Stanley Od’s ‘Marriage Counselling’ which has the merit of being right on message.

257. Sue

Hallelujah Freedom, by Junior Campbell. Any relation, Rev ?

258. AvidViewer

Simple, up-tempo, and positive: I’m gonna be (500 miles).

Even better if Charlie and Craig record an indy version with a gender-neutral lyric eg “one” for “man”, and replaced “To fall down at your door” with “For what we’re ready for.”

259. Dick Gaughan

Humbled and honoured as I am by being included in a professional capacity on this thread, for me it just has to be “Hermless”.

Although, as we’re looking for an actual anthem here, Frankie’s version of “Caledonia” takes some beating. Especially if it includes that Tennents ad 🙂

260. Ian Brotherhood

@Dick Gaughan –

(I can hardly believe I’m typing this…)

If the man nominates the song, so should it not be, eh?

I mean, seriously?

261. Bugger (the Panda)

Juteman

I think the poll is rigged, pass it on but don’t tell anybody.

262. Grant_M

This one’s for José Manuel Barroso… European Song 😀

263. jingly jangly

I have changed my mind, just listened to Paulo Nutini’s Iron Sky and it is the one, no question. If he is not supporting Independence I am a Duck..

No Scottish person at this time would release a song with the lyrics contained in Iron Sky if they were going to vote NO.

Please Please ref make your mind up very soon, I am going to buy this as my first ever purchase on ITunes and I aint going to wait much longer… See attached article which I found googling tonight and everybody if you have not listened to the link earlier go and do it now!!!!

http://www.smithsmagazine.co.uk/2014/02/27/is-paolo-nutini-trying-to-say-something-about-scottish-independence/

Even Adele said its the most powerful song she has every heard….

264. Jill P

Tear Down These Walls – Runrig

Tear down these walls
    They keep raising for you

In the slipstream of luck and democracy
    A victim of chance and geography
    I reap and I sow the face of the earth
    While big guns play games with the land of my birth

I walk these hills and I sail the seas
    I’ve weathered the storms of history
    Created to live, created to share
    With the fish of the sea, the birds of the air

Tear down these walls
    All men were born the same
    You came here with nothing
    But naked and a name
    Oh, a name

Tear down these walls
    They keep raising for you, hey, hey

I’m not too hot on Dukes or Earls or Graces
    But I love respect and exalted places
    Give me the people with sod on the knee
    The higher the monkey climbs the more he reveals, oh, oh

Tear down these walls
    But naked and a name

Tear down these walls
    But naked and a name
    Oh, a name

Tear down these walls
    Oh, tear down these walls

Aw, tear down these walls

Tear down, tear down tear down

265. SquareHaggis

@haud on the noo

Did you mean this yin?

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1dig3UEbgXk

266. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s how much they ‘sellers’ can pack intae seventy seconds – enough tae mak a man greet, eh?

267. Stuart Crawford

A Rush And A Push And The Land Is Ours.

268. Kenny

I’ve got to second Marriage Counselling by Stanley Odd. They’re great spokespeople too and are playing at several festivals over the summer, so the song will get heard lots. I’d also rather support an exciting young Scottish band than someone who’s already made their money and their name.

269. Old mikey

In with a shout surely ‘This is your land’, written by Woody Guthrie and performed by Bruce Springsteen at President Obama’s inauguration ceremony.

270. Kate Williams

Alba – Runrig. Pete Wishart ought to approve.
    Lorraine McIntosh does a lovely version of Freedom Come All Ye.
    Caledonia – popular already and the right sentiment.
    I think its a great idea and would make headlines. Just look at the success of the anti-X Factor campaigns.

271. Dave McEwan Hill

Or how about Louis Jordan with “Caldonia” from 1946. The whole world should know we like to boogie

272. X_Sticks

A wee round of applause for us a’

http://t.co/XmrWCquK2P

I hope this is really where we are – it looks increasingly like it..

273. Donald

Anything by Eric Bogle, but The Band Played Waltzing Matilda or All the Fine Young Men for starters.

274. Jill P

Has to be 🙂

Hue and Cry song called PLAN B

275. Jeannie

@jingly jangly

Wow. Brilliant song from Paolo.

276. Seasick Dave

If its got to be singable by a crowd then you can’t go far wrong with a Proclaimer’s ditty like ‘I’m On My Way’.

Just for the joy of it please give the following a viewing…

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CC8QtwIwAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dh8NWqO85P6Y&ei=ACARU5T0KMKj0QWviIDwBw&usg=AFQjCNGBFcOK3GktHVWGhNj6S8fGH7AGGA&bvm=bv.62286460,d.d2k

It’s Al Green singing ‘People Get Ready’ and its awesome!

277. Dick Gaughan

I should point out in case of doubt that in the post above I was refering, of course, to the late Michael Marra’s version of “Hermless”.

I’ve heard others dae’t bit nane wi the same conviction. (An gin ye’re no a Dundonian, thon accent’s a real bastirt tae dae!)

278. Jiggsbro

‘This Gift’ – Sons & Daughters

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAgjdyBKMG8

“This gift will last forever
    This gift will never let you down
    Some things are made from better stuff
    This gift is ready to be found
    Just you believe it now”

279. faolie

Bit late to this thread, but have to admit I like the Proclaimers and letter from America, tho its lyrics obviously not suited to here and now, but its sentiments as expressed by others here are great, eg

Trident no more
    Tories no more
    Bedroom tax no more (ok that doesn’t scan so well)

So, rewriting the start a wee bittie:

When you vote you can send them
    a message from Cal’donia.
    Take a look at the rail track
    from Montrose to Anglia

Sort of…you get the drift

280. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Dick Gaughan

A ‘peh roll’ puzzled me for a while.

281. X_Sticks

Ah Jigsbro..

Sons and Daughters – wish they’d come back 🙁

282. Margaret Brogan

Already suggested several times, Something Inside So Strong says it all.

283. Steve

The words of this song sum the whole campaign for me.

We have
    The chance to turn the pages over
    We can write what we want to write
    We gotta make ends meet, before we get much older

We’re all someone’s daughter
    We’re all someone’s son
    How long can we look at each other
    Down the barrel of a gun?

Chorus:
    You’re the voice, try and understand it
    Make a noise and make it clear
    Oh-o-o-o, whoa-o-o-o!
    We’re not gonna sit in silence
    We’re not gonna live with fear
    Oh-o-o-o, whoa-o-o-o!

This time
    We know we all stand together
    With the power to be powerful
    Believing, we can make it better

Oooooooh,
    We’re all someone’s son
    Down the barrel of a gun?…

Oh-o-o-o, whoa-o-o-o!

{Instrumental[Bag Pipes(Tin Whistle)]}

Ooooooh
    We’re all someone’s son
    Down the barrel of a gun?…

Oh-o-o-o, whoa-o-o-o!
    (repeat until end of song)

284. MartinCoull

Am just thinking anything by “The Ukranians”…

285. jtb 4

The yes campaign is dignified, the no campaign is not. What abot Dignity by Deacon Blue?

286. Patrician

Preference would be:

Something inside so strong by Labi Siffre;

Pride by Amy McDonald;

and not forgetting D.I.V.O.R.C.E. by Tammy Wynette or Billy Connolly.

Remember this has to be sung by crowds of people and some of the earlier choices are so dirge like it is sad. It needs to be uplifting and speak to the heart and, of course, be a good tune.

287. Chic McGregor

I think the one which has the best chance of getting into the charts is the Proclaimers, ‘Cap in Hand’

But I would like to stick another couple up there just because I think they say something.

First

288. Albert Herring

If we’re co-opting John Cage, it’s got to be “Scottish Circus” https://www.facebook.com/events/362734260468895/?ref=nf Desperate shame about Eddie McGuire though.

289. Chic McGregor

Ignore the Braveheart piccie on this next video

290. PatrickJB

Cap In Hand – perfection.

291. Chic McGregor

Like the Rev Jo Hamilton is an ex pat Scot in England.

292. Rosco

Paolo Nutini – Iron Sky

Just released today.

Powerful, passionate and truly about Scotland.

Without hyperbole, set to be one of the greatest songs ever written. Check it out on YouTube.

Paolo is one of us!

Yes

293. murraymint

I always thought that this one by Fish summed things up.
    Surprised it hasn’t been mentioned on here.
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=w9nFbuvwUJU

294. PatrickJB

Seems like the target is a little low though – if it can be done once then why not aim higher and pick a new song every month.

295. Rosco

Sorry,I forgot to include the link to Paolo’s Iron Sky!

Rev, listen to the lyrics and get it out there!

296. Doug Daniel

As I said on Twitter, if we were actually going to do this, from a “bang for your buck” point of view, we’d be far better writing and recording our own song, with a nice blatant title like “Scotland Is Being Lied To By The Media”, “Anyone Who Says Scotland Would Be Forced To Join The Euro Is A Fucking Idiot” or “Euan McColm Is An Arsehole”.

After all, one of the strongest statements in pop history was “God Save The Queen” by the Sex Pistols, particularly as it demonstrated the sycophantic nature of the BBC et al by pretending it didn’t get to number one. Nobody listens to the charts any more, so nice lyrics with a coded message does nothing. What you want is to hammer the point home, and you do that by having a particular title.

Or just choose Declare Independence by Bjork.

297. Megsmaw

For all my fellow ravers out there, how’s about Freedom by QFX? There’s even a mix with bits from Braveheart in it to really piss off the Unionists.

http://youtu.be/KB680FvlQ4w

298. The Water Beastie

What Doug D said.

Alternatively, I was put in mind of Fish’s cover of Thunderclap Newman’s ‘Something in the Air’ – credentials for this song as a candidate? Well, apart from the lyrics, and happy beat, a nice chorus about the revolution’s here… at the time Fish was a fairly large SNP supporter (I even remember him saying ‘Free by ’93, I truly hope so’ on stage once), and EMI blocked him from putting this single out before the 1992 general election on the grounds that it was “too political”. It got a delayed release and no promotion, disappearing fast…so it kind of is a song that got martyred for the cause of Scottish independence!! 😉

299. Rosco

Paolo Nutini has just released what may be one of the greatest rallying calls for our young to vote Yes!

To all Wings fans please watch or listen to his new song Iron Sky. Astonishing.

300. Rosco

Paolo Nutini has just released what may be one of the greatest rallying calls for our young to vote Yes!

To all Wings fans please watch or listen to his new song Iron Sky. Astonishing.

301. Marker Post

Things can only get better 🙂

302. Colin young

It has to be this tune………

303. Albalha

Had a canter, well trot through the posts and @MegsMaw gets my vote, says what needs to be said and gets a crowd jumping.

304. Tris

Has to be Cap in Hand

Perhaps the can release a refreshed version and state that all proceeds go to Yes Scotland.

305. Hotrod Cadets

Yes I do feel better – McAlmont & Butler
    It’s the end of the world as we know it (and I feel fine) – REM
    I will survive – Gloria Gaynor
    There is a light that never goes out – The Smiths
    Royals – Lords

There is power in a union – Billy Bragg (OK, perhaps not)

And agree with previous poster – ‘This is the sea’ would be perfect.

306. niall

Aye, Paulo’s is a good shout. current and well kent.

307. Cris

My preference is for “I will survive” my vote is for ABSOLUTELY NOT RUNRIG!

308. Stuart Black

We’re in for a bit of a fight in September 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVrR54zJ0k0

And it’s got a great shouty chorus and ending, works for me!

309. Stuart Black

@The Man in the Jar: Hot City Symphony 1 & 2, as a double A side, Vambo AND The Man in the Jar, what’s not to like? 😀

310. Colin Dawson

Why just have one song – why not a series of songs between now and September?

On My Way by The Proclaimers would be a great one to use

311. Sunface

Paolo Nutini’s new song ‘Iron Sky’ is pretty obviously pro-Independence!

312. Colin Dawson

Regarding suggestions for a Runrig song, does anyone know what the band’s opinion is regarding independence? Former member Donnie Munroe used to be a Labour supporter and stood for election to the UK and Scottish parliaments in the 90s as a Labour candidate. Many Labour supporters oppose independence but I’m not sure whether or not he does. Former member Pete Wishart is of course an SNP MSP but I’m not sure what the political views are of the other current and former members.

313. McZinzan

First time on ‘Wings’ but I have been reading it for a couple of months !

Maybe not Scottish enough but Bob Dylans ‘Times they are a changing’
    Last verse

” The line it is drawn The curse it is cast
    The slow one now Will later be fast
    As the present now Will later be past
    The order is Rapidly fadin’
    And the first one now Will later be last
    For the times they are a-changin”

314. Barbara Watson

it has to be Paolo Nuttini, he has wide appeal with young and old, his material is new and fresh, just what the Yes campaign needs.

315. Skotti

This is a great version for standard lifer’s and NO business but theirs … http://youtu.be/pOuKLl70wbI#aid=P8VTNvGPltA

316. gerry parker

Did no one suggest “Please release me” by Engelbert?

Ok, I’ll get ma coat.

317. jingly jangly

Getting back to Iron Sky by Paolo Nutini, just watched the video for the umpteenth time, every time I well up.

Have just noticed the subliminal fade out shot, of the the guitar neck being mirrored to show a Saltire..

318. jingly jangly

C’mon Rev put us out our misery, if you don’t tell us today Im going ahead to buy it anyway.

Iron Sky by Paolo Nutini

We are proud individuals
    Living for the city
    But the flames
    Couldn’t go much higher

We find God and religions
    To bait us with salvation
    But no one, no nobody
    Can give you the power

To rise
    Over love
    Over hate
    Through this iron sky that’s fast becoming our mind
    Over fear and into freedom

Oh, that’s life
    That’s dripping down the walls
    Of a dream that cannot breathe
    In this harsh reality
    Mass confusion spoon fed to the blind
    Serves now to define our cold society

From which we’ll rise
    Over love
    Over hate

You’ve just got to hold on

[Charlie Chaplin’s speech from The Great Dictator]
    “To those who can hear me, I say – do not despair. The misery that is now upon us is but the passing of greed – the bitterness of men who fear the way of human progress. The hate of men will pass, and dictators die, and the power they took from the people will return to the people. And so long as men die, liberty will never perish. ….. Don’t give yourselves to these unnatural men – machine men with machine minds and machine hearts! You are not machines! You are not cattle! …..
    You are men! You, the people, have the power to make this life free and beautiful, to make this life a wonderful adventure.

….. let us use that power – let us all unite.”

And we’ll rise
    Over love
    Over hate
    Into freedom

From which we’ll rise
    Over love
    Over hate
    Freedom, freedom

Oh, rain on me
    Rain on me
    Rain on me

319. Colin young

Ok so nobody listened to ‘This is the sea’ well here is another great Waterboys tune

320. Iain

Standing at the door of the pink Flamingo crying in the rain,
    It was a kind of so-so love and I’m gonna make sure it doesn’t happen again,
    You and I had to be the standing joke of the year,
    You were a run around, a lost and found, and not for me I feel

Take your hands off me, hey,
    I don’t belong to you, you see,
    And take a look in my face, for the last time,
    I never knew you, you never knew me,
    Say hello goodbye,
    Say hello and wave goodbye,

We tried to make it work, you in a cocktail skirt and me in a suit but it just wasn’t me,
    You’re used to wearing less, and now your life’s a mess, so insecure you see,
    I put up with all the scenes, this is one scene that’s going to be played my way

321. A2

X stix that’s a bit spooky (again) as I was having ‘do it’ going round in my head earlier in the week.

Stu, I’m quite sure there’s any number of musicians and associates quite prepared to put in a bit of their time should you want to record something special. I know there’s quite a few readers on here in a position to make this happen.

322. McNic

Its got to Paolo, having watched Iron Rain live at Abbey Rd, I cant help but think this young man is going to be our next biggest export, it gets my vote.

323. Vronsky

Inti Illimani, folk group forced to flee Chile by the Pinochet’s gangsters.

En libertad

Quisiera tener alas para volar,
    cruzar por el espacio en libertad

En libertad, como los pajarillos
    que nadie me pregunte: ¿a dónde vas?

I wish I had wings to fly
    to soar for a little while in freedom

Free, like the little birds
    And no-one to ask me: where are you going?

Here with some initial improvisation by Paco Peña.

324. chicmac

@Colin

FWIW my favourite Waterboys track is ‘The Stolen Child’ a musical version of Yeats’ magical poem.

325. kev corbett

Brilliant idea. I think the proclaimers should be consulted. They might write something especially. If not I’d vote for cap in hand.

326. chicmac

For Good measure, my favourite Gerry Rafferty track. Which I had to upload to youtube since noone else had.

327. X_Sticks

A2 says:

“I was having ‘do it’ going round in my head earlier in the week.”

One of my favourite tracks of all time. In fact Never Never Land is in my top 5 albums of all time. Not everyone’s taste, but I condider it a classic.

328. deewal

For people who have suggested a couple of Yes (the band)songs it just so happens that i wrote quite a few of their earlier songs in conjuction with their singer. There is one in particular which wasn’t recorded by Yes but Jon tried to do it with someone else but couldn’t get the words to work. Some one else ended up recording it adding to the lyric to make it work for them. I am in the process of re-writing a couple of lines and am recording it now as we speak. I’ll up it to youtube when it’s done. 🙂

329. Aidan

I’m surprised no-one has suggested these guys. No lyrics in this other than “AAARGHHH!” but the sound fairly stirs the blood, especially in the middle of Buchanan Street!

http://youtu.be/d2mWMKTzUt8

330. Aidan

I agree, though, with everyone saying Paolo Nutini’s ‘Iron Sky’ should be the top choice. It couldn’t be more timely, the meaning is unmistakable and it will have very wide appeal.

331. Colin young

@chicmac

You probably remember this guy some called the Scot’s Bob Dylan..

332. chicmac

Colin
    Sure do, possibly more than he does 😉

Here’s some interesting footage of Donovan and Dylan hanging out

333. chicmac

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.