Crimes and punishment

Posted on December 24, 2023 by

Well, this’d bring a tear to a glass eye.

Yeah, whatever DID happen to that?

Wings Over Scotland doesn’t know whether serial business failure but successful self-enricher Michelle Mone has committed any crimes. But what we DO know, by her own admission, is that she lied about her links to poor-quality medical kit firm PPE Medpro, and that she and her children stand to gain £60m from its activities which are currently under police investigation.

And we also know that she didn’t used to be so keen on due legal process.

Because when angry youths rioted in London in 2011 after the killing by police of Mark Duggan, Lady Mone wasn’t demanding that all those arrested be treated as innocent until proven guilty. She wanted them rounded up, crammed into cells, deprived of all human rights (and their homes) and/or shot by the army.

(Which was ironically the eventual fate of Colombian drug lord Pablo Escobar.)

And while many of the rioters caused a lot of property damage and engaged in quite large-scale looting, none of them came anywhere remotely close to robbing the UK taxpayer of £60 million.

So while we hope that Baroness Mone Of Mayfair – who as a life peer is of course is still a UK lawmaker, and therefore under extra obligation to set an example by obeying said law – IS given the benefit of a proper investigation, and a fair trial if required, we presume she wouldn’t complain if she got the same treatment she advocated for others accused of far lesser crimes.

Have a Merry Christmas, readers.

0 to “Crimes and punishment”

1. Paul Garbett

The best comment I have seen about this was that “at least Pablo Escobar provided a product!” – that said walk away from the keyboard and relax

2. Shug

I feel sure the westminster machine will be delighted the throw a common wedgie under the bus to divert attention.

A we bit like nicola will discover. They are never grateful to their little helpers.

The arabs have a saying ” better to be the englishman’s enemy than his friend, if you his enemy he will try and buy you if your his friend he will sell you”

3. Stoker

Mone (OBE) truly is a nasty & bitter BritNat, isn’t she? I seen that interview of her and her husband. What a pair they are. I’ve never seen a married couple being interviewed together like that until i saw their interview. It was quite a strange set-up.

4. Patsy Millar

Happy Christmas Stu ?

5. Geri

Merry Christmas..

As for Moaner..I wonder where she’s moving to next? Lol
    Let’s hope it involves some porridge.

Throw the book at her. Shameful profiteering during a crisis & for duff goods & contacts that I’d bet they creamed off the other side too.

That goes for every single Tory on that shameful VIP lane.

6. Ian McCubbin

She deserves the heaviest penalty when she is convicted of fraud and deception.
    Let’s hope it’s a long prison sentence.
    Merry Christmas to all us ordinary people with quieter lives.

7. Eric

She’ll build her own prison like Pablo.

8. Dan

Talking of folk under pressure…
    Judging by the midriff shirt button tension on her hubby, I take it her man didnae buy intae Mone’s diet pill venture…

9. Jason Smoothpiece

Hope the investigation and any court trial is conducted in fairness to the accused.

If the accused is found guilty then I hope the jail sentence takes peoples breath away it’s the only way to deal with this type of case

Happy Christmas to all on here

10. Republicofscotland

Mone has said that the likes of Gove and Johnson knew what was going on with regards to PPE awards, to me its sounds like a veiled threat from Mone that if she goes down she’ll take others with her, so I suspect Mone will walk free from any accusations of improprieties.

The mentioning of Escobar seems fitting for Westminster, as for Escobar.

“People referred to him as “Plato O Plomo”, which means “accept a bribe, or face bullets”.

11. John Burns

She should now be stripped of her title and banished from the House of Lords.

12. X_Sticks

Merry Xmas Wingers

13. Tom Halliday

She is as crooked as they come, still owes my sons boss £30k for packaging of her bra range, almost put him out of business, she is everything you would expect from a tory.

14. Stoker

The poster posting direct links to the BritNat media, under the name of “sam”, further up thread at 5:21 pm, has a nerve calling anyone a “gormless idiot”. Some indy supporter you are, eh!
    ________

In other news. 🙂 I’ve just noticed the new facility added to WOS btl usernames. It appears to exist to give folk the option of “ignoring” other posters they want to ignore. Early days but not sure what to make of it. Whether i find it a good or bad move because it’s akin to a thumbs up/down button? On second thoughts i think i’d rather have the thumbs up/down button. Think i’ll give it a test-run though. LOL!

15. panda paws

Pablo Escobra surely?*

* It was really her ex husband who was the brain of the outfit.

16. Shug

How did things end for Pablo Escobar again?

Somone remind me.

17. John

Thanks for that wee pressie post. Now, I know Mone was only ever a useful idiot house jock , it is nonetheless a chuckle to see this happen to her.
    Yep, the bigger thieves will get away with it .

18. sam

@stoker

You couldn’t tell which way a car is moving, forwards or backwards, if you got two guesses.

Some indy supporter.

Your turn.

19. PhilM

I was tasked lately with consulting the world’s leading expert on micro-expressions, Professor Therese Di Brau, about these pictures of Lady Mone of Mayfair Magazine.
    In an authoritative report, the professor inclined to the view that judging by the almost complete lack of facial movement in these photographs, there was an obvious and troubling inconsistency that required her expertise.
    I can exclusively reveal the report’s provisional conclusions: these images of Lady M appear to indicate surprisingly little real concern about the current criminal investigation, rather what may seem to the untrained eye like a possible hint of worry in Lady M’s upper face is actually a fleeting external manifestation of holding in a particularly aggressive poo.
    This is peer-reviewed settled science folks and is beyond question.

A short message now follows from the editor of the International Research Journal of Coprological Semiotics, Professor Ishmael Shah Yeet of Brown University at Providence.
    “As the clock counts down to Christmas Day, I will raise a glass in the wee hours and wish all scholars wherever they may be a very merry Christmas.
    ‘Sapere aude!’ as Immanuel Kant and former MSP James Kelly were wont to say…”
    Take these enlightened words readers and copy them into your daily log.
    Night night.

20. Jacqueline

What a shit show. Not just money draws the whole lot.
    Anyway thank you Stu and Chris (last cartoon was brill).
    Merry Christmas to all and love to independence supporters. X

21. 100%Yes

She a victim now and I don’t believe she now holds these horrid views, at leased not when it come to herself.

22. twathater

As others have said the fact that MONE and Barrowboy are the subjects of police criminal investigations SURELY kuenssbergs and the bbc’s interview should NOT have taken place or at least should NOT have been aired ,I think they are attempting to prepare and lodge a prejudicial claim that if charged and found guilty they will claim the bbc stitched them up or cast them wrongly
    Every time our politicians are accused of some wrongdoing or if they are the subject of a police investigation their response to ANY and ALL questions is ” As the matter is subject to a police investigation I am not allowed to comment or I am unable or unwilling to comment” sturgeon, swinney , humza, sunak Johnson and others have used the same wording numerous times , so how can Mone, kuenssberg and the bbc be exempt from the legal rules
    IMO this Mark Williams Thomas is colluding with the bbc and mone to subvert justice

23. 100%Yes

Are we to believe Lady Mone is the only one with sticky fingers and the idea she exempt from laws we must all abide by, I think not.

I’d like more TV interviews, I really do believe where getting somewhere?

24. Doreen A Milne

Merry Christmas to you and your family, Stuart. Thank you for everything you do throughout the year to keep us informed AND entertained. Have a good yin! ?

25. Papko

“And while many of the rioters caused a lot of property damage and engaged in quite large-scale looting, none of them came anywhere remotely close to robbing the UK taxpayer of £60 million.”

LOL.

Seaskns Greetings to you all.

26. Papko

“And while many of the rioters caused a lot of property damage and engaged in quite large-scale looting, none of them came anywhere remotely close to robbing the UK taxpayer of £60 million.”

LOL.

Seasons Greetings to you all.

27. Andy Anderson

She is an establishment scape goat. Others who did the same are likely linked to the establishment with political back handlers probably. That’s why she gets the media.

28. Bob Mack

Merry Xmas to Stu and all his readers and contributors.

29. Republicofscotland

If Jesus was born today he’d have been buried under the rubble along with his entire family.

I don’t want to hear or see any hollow messages of good will on Xmas day from Western leaders on tv, they’re complicit in the genocide against the oppressed Palestinians.

“A United Nations official has been killed along with more than 70 members of his extended family in an Israeli airstrike near Gaza City, as the world body condemned a series of mass massacres and successive crimes committed by the Israeli crimes in the besieged territory.

Issam Al Mughrabi, 56, who worked for the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) for three decades was killed along with his wife and children in an Israeli airstrike on Friday.

UNDP administrator Achim Steiner on Sunday criticized the Israeli regime for targeting civilians and UN staff in the besieged strip.

“For almost 30 years, Issam has worked with UNDP through our Programme of Assistance to the Palestinian People,” Steiner said in a statement on Sunday.

“The loss of Issam and his family has deeply affected us all. The UN and civilians in Gaza are not a target.”

Offering his condolences to Issam’s family and colleagues, the World Health Organization’s chief Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus also stressed in a post on X that “humanitarians should never be victims” and called for a ceasefire.”

30. robertkknight

Pity they don’t still throw transgressing Lords/Ladies into the Tower for a spell. Perhaps King Chuck could reinstate an old tradition – it’d certainly increase his popularity amongst the peasantry.

Merry etc. and god bless Tiny Tim.

31. Republicofscotland

The SMO will be over very soon, one way or another.

https://nitter.net/KitKlarenberg/status/1738954236669333677#m

32. Willie

Undernoted is a quote from a source about another poor distressed innocent soul.

He is beside himself with this latest development and everyone close to him is concerned for his mental well-being.

“He is at a loss, totally tormented. He is facing his second Christmas without his mother and now the New Year is going to start with his name being dragged through the mud all over again

Like Mone he thinks himself hard done by.. Sticky fingers not him. Denies everything. Innocent he says. But pays millions to a girl he says he never met

So why then is the poor innocent prince Andrew fearing the release of the names of around 170 people involved in the Jeffrey Epstein sex scandal.

If Prince Andrew is innocent as he says he is he has nothing to fear.

33. Geri

Heard on the radio that the US military are tracking Santa ffs!

That’s Santa & all the reindeers dead then.. Friendly fire, obviously.

They have a nerve to even attempt spreading peace & good cheer to children after all the ones they’ve helped murder this year.

34. Brian Doonthetoon

Merry Christmas Abdee!

35. Dr Steinberg

Merry Christmas Stu. Have a peaceful time and thank you for all you work. It’s appreciated more than you know. ?

36. Dr Steinberg

Merry Christmas Stu. Have a peaceful time and thank you for all you work. It’s appreciated more than you know. ?

37. Effijy

Top news story today is a very greedy billionaire has bought a 25% stake in an English Football Club for over £1 Billion.
    By moving out of the U.K. and moving to Monaco Radcliffe can buy the club with the tax he doesn’t pay here.
    Oh and other news- 200 more innocents murdered in Gaza.

Gold Digger Tory Mone May soon be trading her wears for snout and chocolate In Cornton Vale shortly if U.K. bribery and corruption decides to take a day off.

38. Kcor

If the so called “mainstream” media reported like this, all scum “UK lawmakers” like Baroness Mone Of Mayfair would be a thing of the past.

After 100 years or more, Labour would have to stop promising to abolish the House of Lords as that place would be filled with nobel people.

Sigh.

39. Confused

One conspiracy theory we should put to bed, right now, at this time is –

“Santa does not exist”

– that it’s really your da sticking the presents under the tree once you fall asleep. This is wrong and completely debunked by fact checkers, scientists and a million youtube videos. Santa operates as a “sleigh”, what is really a quantum interdimensional craft, not unlike the mythical tardis of dr who invention, so he can bend time, shrink himself to get down the chimney, or through a door lock, no sweat. The engineering is something along the lines of the alcubierre warp drive, but its tech stuff. Santa does use modern tech though and his Elves Corporation has a massive bilateral deal with Amazon.

I am off to watch

WHITE
    WHITE
    WHITE

Christmas

40. PhilM

@Twathater
    I couldn’t care less about these people but I thought I would have a go at addressing what you wrote above.
    It is a matter of public record that the Mones are currently being investigated by the National Crime Agency. This is from memory…the NCA can only act in Scotland with the say-so of the Lord Advocate. There is a MoU between the NCA and the Scottish Ministers that formalises cross-border co-operation. An online word search should bring up the pdf.
    However, the Mones I think are resident in The Isle of Man and in London where residences were searched. As their company is probably not registered in Scotland and as the current investigation appears not to involve our jurisdiction, our stricter contempt rules do not apply to this ‘case’. This is where you are getting the contempt laws wrong. They differ between Scotland and England/Wales.
    Edit. PPE Medpro is registered in the Isle of Man (and also at a London address…don’t know why).
    As I understand English contempt laws, as Lady M has never been arrested, she is well within her rights to advocate for herself in the media on the facts and on aspects of how business and parliamentary ethics intersect because the interview rarely addressed the criminal allegations and furthermore no trial as far as anyone knows is imminent. If a trial was imminent, the BBC wouldn’t have flown Laura K out to Spain to conduct this interview.
    There was one occasion when Laura K went close to the nub of what might be one allegation of criminality but it appeared to me to be an attempt to clarify a factual matter. That is almost certainly a legitimate question to ask at this point in the investigations (I think) especially because the question of the yacht has been all over social media. All this being said, the Mones have their reputation management people, the BBC have their legal backup, so if you actually watch the whole interview (not recommended) and make a note of what the subjects discussed actually are, it was quite a tame affair. I don’t see anything prejudicial here. When politicians say ‘I can’t comment on an ongoing investigation’ quite often there isn’t actually anything stopping them commenting at all. When a journalist asks a question where that type of comment is valid, it’s about optics. Get some good video of a harassed under pressure politician. The journo certainly isn’t expecting an answer of any worthwhile content.
    Anyway, this was an agreed sit-down interview and the questions will have been vetted beforehand. I think your claims about what the Mones might say later about the BBC are not realistic in the circumstances.
    As for what The Daily Record reported a few weeks back before this interview, writing that a woman had been arrested in Surrey over the blackmail allegations against the Mones. That is obviously separate to what is said in the interview because Doug BarrowMone talks at one specific point about a ‘he’ not a ‘she’. People might dislike these type of people but they inhabit a world where they rarely make the kind of mistakes that single them out above others. It pains me slightly to say it but there might be something in the ‘scapegoat’ allegation they make, however Wes Streeting said that allegations of pandemic profiteering, corruption and also of criminality would be pursued under a Labour govt so who knows what might happen as these investigations continue. There will be others who make allegations of scapegoating, even as the number of convictions pile up. We cannot know if the Mones are culpable, civilly or criminally, and I am not suggesting they are in any way. They have lied to the media though, so that in itself is a moral failing that is a matter of public record. Make of that what you will.
    Now wouldn’t it be great, if we could flush out some legally qualified lurkers who could correct everyone on here when inevitably we get the law wrong in some way. Fat chance of course.
    Anyway, Merry Christmas to all who inhabit the murky depths BTL. To you too Stuart, a real bonny fechter, not at all like The Great Impostress.

41. Johnlm

Doug seems to be wearing a money belt.
    Could she not make him a girdle?

A guid Christmas to all genuine posters.

42. stuart mctavish

Cracking clarification @PhilM which implies it’s the NCA itself that’s operating in gross contempt of Scots’ law (outrageous defamation and pre trial punishment allied to a presumption of guilt and manipulation of public perception)..

A crime, and fundamental breach of union, made even more sinister when you remember that the PPE in question was ordered to combat/ facilitate UK gov & opposition nonsense over seasonal flu.

In fact, given the prejudicial nature of the contempt, AND the fact that the victim is both a Scot and a true Lady, it’s probably time to invoke a variation on the Archduke Ferdinand precedent. ie end* the union before it can damage itself yet further!

On that note, MERRY CHRISTMAS to all the Ladies, Lords, parents, children & 7 day adventists out there.

*If we’re genuinely not ready, integrity wise, the elevation of (more) indy minded folk to HOL might not be so daft after all (eg about 2-5 million of us) albeit only if its accompanied by a coherent, transparent, and agreed, milestone schedule 🙂

43. Garavelli Princip

Andy Anderson
    Ignored says:
    24 December, 2023 at 9:04 pm
    “She is an establishment scape goat. Others who did the same are likely linked to the establishment with political back handlers probably .”
    =============================================
    Precisely the point. And the fact that this is slowly dawning on the truly thick baroness, is why she is so angry and desperate. Mone’s peerage was Cameron’s little joke and ‘fuck-you’ to indy Scots.

But as a wee Glasgow hairy, she is infinitely expendable to the the establishment who will quite happily make an example of her in lieu of going after bigger Establishment fish.

She’s effin bealin aboot it!

44. Breeks

Republicofscotland
    Ignored says:
    24 December, 2023 at 10:06 pm
    The SMO will be over very soon, one way or another.

I hope so, but the fat lady isn’t on stage yet.

Gotta ask questions, is the war going to escalate, or subside? Subsiding is good, less people die, but at the same time, the sides have a chance to re-group, re-organise, re-arm.

Escalation? What would that mean? Abrams tanks? F15’s? I hear the Swiss are trying to change their laws to supply a competent air defence system… but to abuse and misuse the expression, that’s “One small step for the war, but a giant leap (backwards?) for the Swiss. I don’t see it happening.

The “nature” of the war now, (actually always has been), is Ruskia establishing a redrawn border it can defend… not the extermination of YooKrane. This has been achieved.

So why are men still dying? Because a fixed defence line is a sitting duck, and denied the option of strategic withdrawal. Sitting duck maybe, but a well fortified and heavily armed line, mined and reconnoitred to infinite extent. Typically, it is recommended doctrine that an attacker needs to outnumber a defender by 10 to 1 to be confident of success. I don’t believe even 20 to 1 would shift the Ruskians. Don’t forget, Kiev is only 240 miles from Kursk.

In nearly all capacities, the Ruskians are in the ascendancy, often emphatically so, but Western / NATO weaponry has the Top Trump in the range of its artillery, but it’s expensive to shoot and reload, and inadequate in number to be decisive, however it could lend weight to a strategic equilibrium, hopefully on the road to ceasefire and peace.

But in my in-expert opinion, this war is nearly won and lost, and changing that outcome would require something Biblical to happen. I just don’t see it, nor do I see anywhere it might come from. There is peace, or there is long term small scale attrition. But I don’t think the YooKrane nowadays has the numbers for the latter. Their casualties have been too grievous, and too much of their youth has been squandered.

Instead, I foresee small tactical advances in the University of Front Line survival; how to combat drones, how to hide your heat signature, how to stay alive. Hopefully such a war becomes tedious and fizzles out, and like the 1914 Christmas Truce, maybe Christmas 2023 will be the day the drones don’t come. That day is coming, but we’re not there yet.

Gaza, to me, looks far more bleak.

A total of 153 countries voted in favour of the UN Ceasfire resolution on Tuesday, 10 countries voted against it, while 23 abstained. How in the name of God can 33 Nations be complicit with murderous genocide, and 10 of those vote in support of it?

There has been an ugly and ignominious change in Western diplomatic strategy. We are no longer advocates of ceasefires, dialogue and diplomatic resolution. Even when we were disingenuous about it, we’d still go through the motions. But Now? We are openly duplicitous in our International Agreements (Minsk Accords), indiscriminate in our compliance with International Law, and increasingly open and unguarded in our inglorious position of instigator in foreign coups, turmoil and political instability. We “execute” enemies by drone strikes without trial. Now we abstain from voting on the genocide of children.

We aren’t “shaping up” to be the bad guys in the next war. We already are the bad the guys, and the rest of the World will soon be forced to contemplate a war to contain us and our NeoLiberal Fanaticism, the way the world once gelled to contain Nazism.

I wish Scotland would rediscover its auld potency, and “tossing the caber” comes to represent the size of stick we stick in the spokes of NATO / Neo-Liberal aggression and depravity. Scotland has the capacity to turn the UK into 2K, and this Juggernaut of Evil no longer has a “British” flag to fly. Give hope to Scots that we need not be part of this, and give hope to the World that moral integrity holds on in the West… just.

I’m not wishing anybody a Merry Christmas this year. Don’t be offended, but Santa only comes to people who’ve been good. I think Santa had a very easy shift last night. There are even fewer kids in hospitals to get around this year.

You know what too? I think they’ll do to Christmas what they did to the Remembrance poppy. Our government’s are addicted to exploitation, and nothing is sacred to them anymore. Nothing.

45. John Main

Russian media talking about annexing Poland. Also joking about do they need Portugal too.

More sober western experts expecting a move against Finland, now that Russia’s Black Sea exit to the Atlantic has been effectively sealed.

Hold back a bottle of something, Breeks. You may get something to toast in 2024 when the Eastern European states are annexed, enslaved and asset stripped, and the EU collapses.

I think I may watch the King’s Xmas Message. I wouldn’t usually, but after Breeks effort, His Maj will be a great improvement.

And BTW. Yes, the UK abstained in the most recent UN resolution, but the damn thing still passed, to be completely ignored, predictably as expected, by the two groups doing the actual fighting.

Worth pointing out too, that the resolution calls for the immediate and unconditional release of all hostages.

Don’t put off enjoying your Xmas dinner till that happens.

46. Johnlm

Our resident unsober western expert has started early I see.

47. Shug

A seat in the house of lords they want!!!!

Why have they not burnt the place down?

The current SNP members make the labour party in their most useless days, look effective.

A disgrace and worthy of nothing but contempt.

48. Bob Mack

@Breeks,

I read all your posts.

Christmas is not about war. It’s more about the hope that humans can live in decency and tolerance with each other.

I suppose that’s why we celebrate the birth of the child who grew up proposing those very things. Humans who cannot listen and ignore this message for their own reasons ,are at fault for the ills you describe.

The message is good. The humans are incapable of its application. .

Still, we persevere. Merry Christmas anyway.

49. Republicofscotland

Merry Xmas to one and all.

“If Mary and Joseph Set Off for Bethlehem Today – They’d Have to Cross 15 Israeli Checkpoints and a 30ft Wall”

https://nitter.net/robinmonotti/status/1739027837326115064#m

50. Garavelli Princip

I love the new x function.

John Main and the rest of the bellicose, warmongering yoons duly zapped.

Excellent.

51. Skip_NC

Geri @ 11:02pm, the NORAD ( a joint US/Canadian operation) tracking of Santa started by accident. In 1955, a newspaper in Colorado offered children a telephone call with the great man himself (Santa, not Jimmy Johnstone). They got the number wrong and calls went to the commanding officer of the NORAD base. He was a good sport about it. Seemingly he didn’t want to spoil it for the children and dutifully deputised for Santa Claus.

Since that first time, military veterans and others have come together to volunteer their time and when the internet came along, they started tracking Santa Claus, paid for by large corporations with, I believe, a donation of office space on the base.

For those interested in a brief history of Santa tracking, as well as technical details on his sleigh you can visit https://www.noradsanta.org/en/noradhq#OurMission – observe the weight on takeoff and the weight on landing. The sacrifices he makes for humanity are quite astounding.

Merry Christmas.

52. Graf Midgehunter

John Main breaking wind again.

The Britnat Brexiteer has passed on his Oracle of Doom.

53. Graf Midgehunter

BTW, what’s this X thing by the names about, have we been referred to Twitter/X or Nitter…?

Merry Xmas (X?) to everyone in the hope that peace will suddenly break out. 🙂

54. The Flying Iron of Doom

Garavelli Princip says:
    25 December, 2023 at 11:56 am

Browser details? I’ve tried it on Firefox and (eugh) Chrome and it did’t hide anything. Curious…

55. willie

Maybe after pocketing of some £60 million of tax payers money there might be people that think Mone should be deprived of her human rights.

In fact there will be many who will say that the world would be a better place without this piece of shit.

56. willie

Extract from Wikipedia

” Mone obtained a marketing job with the Labatt brewing company and, within two years, had risen to become its head of marketing in Scotland.[4] She has since said that she invented qualifications to help get the job there.[4] She was then made redundant by the company”

So, back then she invented qualifications to get a job. That’s honesty for you. In fact it’s not honesty, it’s fraud.

Making yourself out to be somebody you’re not, be it a doctor, or a nurse, or an accountant or a marketeer is what this piece of shit is about,

What other lies, what other fraud has she perpetrated to make her millions. And she wants to remove poples human rights, their house without trial and due process.

Makes her a fascist piece of shit as well for our Baroness Mone OBE. Peer of the realm and recognised by Order of the British Empire no less.

Mind you Sir Jimmy Saville was a KBE, a knight of the realm too. Saville and Mone – a bonny pair saying it all about our foul corrupt system

57. Dan

Conundrum for the “Greens”…

If they want everyone to use pushbikes to save the planet, then how does that square with having Hawthorne hedges along the roadsides.

#InnerTubeLivesMatter

^^^ And even more so when modern tubes are made of some shitey material that doesn’t vulcanise properly with rubber solution to properly meld the patch to the tube.
    Which basically means folk just throwaway punctured tubes and buy new ones imported from far flung lands in industries powered by fossil fuels, thus increasing their carbon footprint to the point they could probably just drive a diesel car instead of biking everywhere.

The above post came to mind during the homeward trudge after Bad Santa gave me a thorn in my tyre miles from home.

58. Johnlm

This is why we can not get rid of jury trials.
    Juries as part of society, maybe largely stupid, but they do reflect public opinion.
    Otherwise, we are left in the hands of an elite judiciary, where any desired result can be finagled.

Back in the day it was pretty clear what was right and wrong, the law was well defined.
    Now, by changing the meaning of words, the law has become ill defined and fuzzy.
    State creatures now make up and interpret what they think is legal or not.
    Juries debate what a law actually means.

At an average of 100 homicides per year (tho’ this number is now half that), 12 jurors, 5M pop., in my 50 yr adulthood there should be a 1:80 chance of me being called for jury duty.
    Plus ther are all the non-homicide trials.
    Yet, I know of only one acquaintance who has been called.

A representative democracy is an irritation to the elite.
    Much better to have a permacrisis whereby states of emergency must continually be declared,
    Government by decree, Emergency Use Authorisations, Executive Actions, Diplock courts etc. are much more efficient.

All forms of government decay into tyrannys.
    But, they do still need our consent.
    This can be a good time for Independence, as people awaken.

59. Johnlm

*Doh.
    15 in a homicide jury. 12 in a civil case.
    1:67 chance

60. Breeks

The Flying Iron of Doom
    Ignored says:
    25 December, 2023 at 1:52 pm
    Garavelli Princip says:
    25 December, 2023 at 11:56 am

Browser details? I’ve tried it on Firefox and (eugh) Chrome and it did’t hide anything. Curious…

I know nothing, but since “x” marking one individual, I haven’t seen another post from them.

I only did so through curiosity, because I am somewhat accomplished in my ability to scroll past certain trolls and / or ignoramuses without reading a word of what they’re dribbling on about.

I do wonder however whether the “ignore” function will require a number of similar “ignores” in order for the comment to disappear. Pure speculation, but some Blogs let their BTL comments self regulate by having a + or – facility, and once a comment has 6 minuses, it becomes hidden, and if you want to read it, you have to do so on your own volition.

I suspect the problem on Wings might be the proliferation of trolls and gobshites determined to obstruct rational debate and constructive dialogue, where both Unionists and Gender Tribalists are quite adept at manipulating their online presence by deceit and subversion. Give them a system, and typically they will attempt to confound it.

61. Stoker

sam says on 24 December 2023 at 6:35 pm: “You couldn’t tell which way a car is moving, forwards or backwards, if you got two guesses. Some indy supporter. Your turn.”

Nah! I’ll pass on that, i don’t do childish tit-for-tat games. I leave that kind of thing to folk like you who have trouble even typing their own names properly.

But in the spirit of the season i’ll give you a wee tip. When trying to hit someone with a comeback line, best not to try and emulate the style of someone like John Main because, quite frankly, you’re crap at it. Try and develop your own style, if it’s not beyond your capabilities.

Thanks for the laugh anyway. By the way, i hope i don’t confuse you too much when i tell you the vehicle i’m looking at is stationery. See, you can’t even get that right. LOL!

62. Stoker

Update on the new btl ‘X’ function, it’s not working for me. I did a test run on one individual and it didn’t work, i could still see their posts.

But like Breeks, i’m not bothered about it because we all have the free ability to scroll on past any comments we don’t want to read.

I can only assume Stuart’s reason for installing such a facility on the btl threads is to try and reduce the number of constant complaints he may be getting about certain commenters. Who knows?

63. Ruby

Stoker
    25 December, 2023 at 6:27 pm

Update on the new btl ‘X’ function, it’s not working for me. I did a test run on one individual and it didn’t work, i could still see their posts.

But like Breeks, i’m not bothered about it because we all have the free ability to scroll on past any comments we don’t want to read.

I can only assume Stuart’s reason for installing such a facility on the btl threads is to try and reduce the number of constant complaints he may be getting about certain commenters. Who knows?

I quite like it because the x turning green and ‘ignored in red’ reminds me that particular posters is someone to scroll past.

I haven’t ignored you Stoker the little x turns to ‘Ignored’ if you quote it.

Maybe Stu can tell which posters are being ignored & how many readers are ignoring them.

64. Tartanpigsy

Merry Christmas to all the good guys on here
    X and Main is zapped?
    Think that’s as good a pressie as my Dr Feelgood live in 75 LP

65. Anthem

We all know the way forward. But do we have the balls to do it!?
    The UK union sucks,surely an Independent Scotland with the protector OF SCOTTISH RIGHTS & BELIEVES can end this nonsense
    No? ?

66. twathater

@ PhilM 2.22am thanks for your response, I was unaware of the difference in Scot’s and engerlish law relating to contempt of court,I was also comparing her public denials to sturgeons after she had been charged ,it is very fortuitous that mone was given a platform by the bbc to expand her profile and to claim innocence of all accusations whilst simultaneously admitting to OPENLY and DELIBERATELY LYING to the media
    How many other people would elicit the expense and response of the bbc for a publicity stunt

67. McDuff

A belated Merry Xmas rev and grateful thanks for your outstanding work.

68. Republicofscotland

“Gotta ask questions, is the war going to escalate, or subside? Subsiding is good, less people die, but at the same time, the sides have a chance to re-group, re-organise, re-arm.”

Breeks.

A lot of what will follow on the SMO will be down to whether the Great Satan (USA) and its minions manage to steal the $300 billion in R—–n frozen assets currently held by the west. To do so would be breaking International laws on the matter, so I suspect it will probably happen and the conflict will stagger on.

The reason I say that the $300 billion will be stolen is that already the Bank of England is illegally holding roughly $2 billion dollars worth of Venezuelan gold, the Great Satan is currently holding billion worth in Afghan gold in an attempt to steal it from the country which badly needs it.

Sovereign nations take a big risk by leaving their assets in the care of the UK or US.

69. John Main

@Stoker 6:19

I’m taking para 3 of your post as a back-handed compliment. Thanks 🙂

Alert readers will be intrigued at the number of posters who are looking forwards to protecting themselves against exposure to opinions or viewpoints they don’t agree with. Defo innarestin to consider how the default Indy groupthink celebrated by so many on here has advanced the Indy cause by zero over the past decade. But heaven forbid any new ideas should puncture the adamantly and hermetically sealed minds of the faithful. Ideological purity trumps all!

Alert and worldly readers will be wondering just how long those happily ignoring troublesome posts will be able to persevere. After all, to plenty of the regulars, the opportunity to post insulting, potty-mouthed, juvenile abuse from their bedrooms at total strangers is a big part of the attraction of this place.

Are they going to give that up? Naw, I hae ma doots.

And that’s before we start to consider how sane, rational posters might be steering the debate along sane, rational lines – while the censoring roasters continue all unaware with their debunked bletherings within an ever decreasing circle of the similarly deluded …

70. John Main

RoS 10:43

SMO. Good one!

It’s a scab you can’t stop yourself picking – I see that.

Just why you are so keen on the destruction of a sovereign nation, its culture and language, the theft of its assets, and the ethnic cleansing or oppression of its people, remains a mystery over which we can but speculate.

Alert readers will wonder if you intend your desired outcome to apply to Scotland too.

I have concluded that you do. Ideological purity is what matters to you, so any sovereign nation that fails to meet your standards must go under.

Strong, the spirit of John Knox is, in you.

71. robertkknight

Can’t stop the urge to have that pic of the vermin in ermine at the head of Stu’s piece turned into a door mat in order that I might take pleasure in wiping my clarty boots all over it on a daily basis.

Anyone know of somewhere that might oblige in furnishing bespoke door mats? Etsy perhaps?

72. Mark Beggan

The Kings speech was very profound and moving. It’s what I’d expect from the sovereign.
    God save the King.

73. SteepBrae

robertkknight:

ebay
    £20

(more vermin in ermine in the pipeline though?)

74. Graf Midgehunter

Mark Beggan (Ignored) at 12:56 pm

“The Kings speech was very profound and moving. It’s what I’d expect from the sovereign.
    God save the King.”
    ————————-

Said the serf and knee-crawler…

75. dasBlimp

Mark Beggan
    Ignored says:
    26 December, 2023 at 12:56 pm
    The Kings speech was very profound and moving. It’s what I’d expect from the sovereign.
    God save the King.

Chuck the turd!

76. Breastplate

I hope everyone had a great Christmas.

John Main, the SMO that RoS is referring to was/is an intervention in a civil war within 404 to stop an ethnic cleansing that had been going on since 2014.

What precipitated the armed civil unrest in the Donbas was the violent overthrow of a democratically elected government. Although not as expedient, the usual process for a change of government is to democratically vote it out.

The new West friendly government was of course West friendly because it had been in installed by the West, a geopolitical power move that the Yookrainians who were ethnically Ruskie took exception to, including Russkieland, unsurprisingly.

I’m sorry if any of this seems new to you but it’s well established old news really.

Again, you are of course entitled to believe what suits your world view and I see you utilise that prerogative incessantly, however, it would be nice if you could acknowledge facts on occasion.

77. John

Seasonal greetings to all Indy supporters. Thank you Stu for the ever informed coverage. Also I thank the Rev for enticing so many Britnat to btl . We need look nowhere else for a daily reminder of how deviant and devoid of humanity these people are. Nothing is black and white but these folk are knowingly of the dark side , most likely since early years of Beasting turned them into, well, beasts.
    Reality has never been a currency for these facists. Only control of information is their truth.
    Their truth is the conflict in Gaza was started by Palestinian people in October this year.
    Their truth is the conflict around Kiev started when the Russians started an offensive a couple of years ago.
    Reading Craig Murray’s most recent post it is with no doubt our Government, it’s masters and lackeys are wrong ‘uns. Yet they represent and are the image the world has of this godforsaken* United Kingdom we’re obliged to dwell in until we rise again.

*spoiler alert . Gott ist tot

78. Republicofscotland

I wonder if dasBlimp watched Mr Fry give his Christmas speech, I certainly didn’t.

The man in question has links to the below.

Israel lobby group CCFP/StandWithUs which has been funded by Netanyahu.

“Stephen Fry has at least twice signed letters for this Israel lobby group. The first time was in 2019 to support the Eurovision song contest being held in Israel.

That year, Israel hosted the Eurovision on top of the ethnically cleansed Palestinian village of al-Manshiyya”

https://nitter.net/Lowkey0nline/status/1739350214442459389#m

The Jewish comedian Alexei Sayle gave a more balanced speech, short and sweet, and kind of funny but worth the watching.

https://twitter.com/i/broadcasts/1YqJDgaqBVAGV?s=20

79. dasBlimp

Republicofscotland
    Ignored says:
    26 December, 2023 at 3:34 pm
    I wonder if dasBlimp watched Mr Fry give his Christmas speech, I certainly didn’t.

Certainly not. Alexei Sayle? Certainly not. Chuck the turd? Certainly not. Cinderella? You goddam, betcha. LOL

80. Effijy

So old King Charlie wishes for peace.
    Any change to anything?
    Are there any same people in the world outside of Israel who don’t want peace and happy to see the number of innocent babies murdered grow with every passing day.

What is the point of team Charlie.
    Something to broadcast on Christmas Day,
    A visit to cut a ribbon somewhere, tap a sword on the shoulder of a few millionaires?

Time for all that malarkey to stay in the history books.

81. Effijy

A retail store in Amsterdam has broadcast an appeal for shoppers to boycott products owned by backers of the Palestinian genocide.

They dropped leaflets from the roof listing the guilty companies including Puma

82. Alf Baird

John @ 3:33 pm

“Reality has never been a currency for these facists”

Yes, the colonial hoax is based on psychology where subordinate groups develop “a dependency complex”; i.e. native groups who are psychologically made for dependence, “that crave it, ask for it, demand it” (Cesaire).

“Psychoanalysis embellished with existentialism” provides for the required outcome, and where “the most absurd prejudices are explained and justified; and as if by magic, the moon is turned into green cheese.”

According to Freire, the middle class (and above) is particularly susceptible in colonial societies where barbarism thus becomes acceptable for such groups.

In short, British Imperialism resulted in a worrying psychological condition affecting those who bought into its fascist ideology and their propensity to dehumanize ‘subordinate’ peoples.

A key feature of ‘dependent psychology’ is that since on one can serve two masters, one of the two should be sacrificed to the other; in colonial society this means sacrifice of the colonized group and its culture.

83. Republicofscotland

Effigy @4.27pm.

BDS have their sights set on this new target which if successful would make a big dent in the Zionists budget.

“Israel has committed a $3.2 billion grant to Intel’s groundbreaking $25 billion chip plant , the largest foreign investment in Israel’s history.

Slated to open by 2027, this mega-facility in Kiryat Gat, is about 20 miles from Gaza and 50 miles from Tel Aviv.

Intel’s footprint in Israel with $17 billion invested since 1974, has indirect employment for approximately 42,000 workers in the country.”

https://nitter.net/Kathleen_Tyson_/status/1739673457946751156#m

84. Dan

Ach, I prefer a different Charlie’s speech.
    David Hayman with a take on Charlie Chaplin’s – The Great Dictator

(5mins long)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBOj1xAu2NQ

Also sampled in the song by Paulo Nutini – Iron Sky
    (Dedicated to btl poster Lochside if you’re reading in 😉 )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELKbtFljucQ

85. Johnlm

Making computer chips is ok but who is doing the coding is much more important?

Wonder why all those Ru55ian mathematicians were given Israhelli citizenship?

And Unit 8200 soldiers are given their own startup companies to run?

If the Bunting Cloverleaf Map comes to pass then all information will pass through the Eastern end of the Mediterranean.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1455678047780269

86. Dan

Whoopsee, apologies to Paolo for misspelling of your name but quaffing a red wine and preparing dinner had me somewhat compromised.

Whilst dropping tuneage; Something for fans of electro…

Marnie of Ladytron released this song early Sep 2014 about taking chances. IIRC the release date was brought forward for some reason… maybe a message with the sticker on synthesiser.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ch7XIOL-keM

Though I prefer this song, The Hunter, about staying together… so lucky BetterTogether didn’t adopt it.
    Hope she didn’t get any tick bites in the making of this vid.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqJQEf9q6go

87. John

@Alf 4:29
    One of the two “should be sacrificed “ ? Likely being slow. Though in my growing year count I am more content not to jump off without knowing the distance or depth.
    What about the colonial collaboration retort that they are biding their time ( like snp disclaimer the last decade) .
    The uk establishment is openly prepared to break any international law. Create any number of false allegations at extreme public expense and divert as much public money into their pockets as can possibly fit.
    I did think this apocalypse was a bit shit . Now I’m raising an eyebrow.

88. Andy Storrie

This is exactly the kind of London privilege and skulduggery that the people of Scotland will be well shot of once we don’t need to deal with that rat pit for any reason other than some kind of joint defence plan, perhaps.

There’s a million grim little stories just like this one that will never be heard of, albeit on a smaller scale.

89. John

Couldn’t help myself but to recommend having a look at GB News Dinosaur hour hosted by John Cleese . A lot funnier than faulty towers but a wonderful insight to these folk.
    He’s sat in what looks like a senior or members meeting room. Subdued lighting still makes us aware of the separate tables with nuns playing cards and men in bowler hats doing who the f knows whilst kittens roll around on the carpets.
    Still waiting for the little naked boys to walk in with plates of marshmallows and skewers. Chatting with the defender of semites and national treasure Fry . Think they already know each other . Fry grew up near me .

90. Republicofscotland

Johnlm.

“Intel / AMD
    Intel ME
    Modern chips from Intel all include the Management Engine, which is provides an extra feature set. This can be used as a low level backdoor.[5] Although the lack of public documentation hinders its understanding, hackers have reverse engineered it to some extent. From a user perspective the IME “sounds like a bad joke, or a scene inspired by George Orwell’s work” [6] because it is closed source, exempt from power off, has full memory access, continuously runs in the background and embedded on the CPU core dye. From the perspective of deep state actors, this is another step toward a centralized deep point of control and manipulation shielded from public scrutiny.”

https://www.wikispooks.com/wiki/Backdoor

Our cell/mobile phones are compromised as well.

91. Republicofscotland

Is Israel’s right to self-defence illegal?

“Citing the International Court of Justice 2014 ruling, Ardi Imseis, prof. of int’l law at Queens University (Canada), explains why Israel is not afforded the right to self defense inside the occupied Palestinian territory under its control.”

The Professor explains why Israel has no right to self-defence in the interview in the link.

https://nitter.net/BDSmovement/status/1739682735185183173#m

92. PacMan

Republicofscotland says:
    26 December, 2023 at 9:33 pm

Johnlm.

“Intel / AMD
    Intel ME
    Modern chips from Intel all include the Management Engine, which is provides an extra feature set. This can be used as a low level backdoor.[5] Although the lack of public documentation hinders its understanding, hackers have reverse engineered it to some extent. From a user perspective the IME “sounds like a bad joke, or a scene inspired by George Orwell’s work” [6] because it is closed source, exempt from power off, has full memory access, continuously runs in the background and embedded on the CPU core dye. From the perspective of deep state actors, this is another step toward a centralized deep point of control and manipulation shielded from public scrutiny.”

https://www.wikispooks.com/wiki/Backdoor

Our cell/mobile phones are compromised as well.

While it has been a lot more focused on the software rather than hardware side, the Open source (computer) movement has long been against companies using computers for surveillance purposes:

https://magazine.factor-tech.com/factor_winter_2017/richard_stallman_and_the_vanishing_state_of_privacy

“The reason that we are subject now to more surveillance than there was in the Soviet Union is that digital technology made it possible,” he says. “And the first disaster of digital technology was proprietary software that people would install and run on their own computers, and they wouldn’t know what it was doing.

93. sarah

O/T: I have just had a mild shock with BT email. I was writing to some pals and began my email with “Nollaig Chrideil agus Bliadhna Mhath Ur”. BT refused to send the email on the grounds that it contained something that could be malware or phishing!

So I had to delete the words that were in the native language of this district and replace them with the coloniser’s language. Scary, eh?

94. GM

I have had that at the work, Sarah. Not sure what software it is triggering or why.

95. PacMan

@ sarah & GM.

Sounds like spam filtering software. This shows you the level of sophistication of the supposed ‘Artificial Intelligence’ that we are supposed to be scared of.

There are some fields like image, language and sound manipulation that AI is great at but in most, it is limited to downright useless.

Even in those fields where it is good at, when something that falls out of the knowledge, the AI has trained at, like the Gaelic that you had put in your email, it flags up.

In short, AI is intelligent at what it is known but it can’t think out of the box when encountering something it doesn’t know or able to learn new stuff on it’s own.

96. sam

@Stoker

You picked a fight with me because I posted something that the Guardian newspaper ran about the Mones.

It certainly escaped you that the Guardian has been at the forefront of exposing what the Mones have been about.

Yet you, because you regard the paper as “BritNat” have a go at me because posting the link alone makes me “some indy supporter”.

You can’t tell your arse from your elbow. You can’t even sneer adequately.

“i hope i don’t confuse you too much when i tell you the vehicle i’m looking at is stationery”

The vehicle you are looking at is sheets of paper, envelopes?

97. Dan

That doesn’t bode well for self-driving cars and Gaelic road signage…

Seriously, why would we need self-driving vehicles anyway?
    If humans have lost the ability to drive a car due to failing mental faculties and physical disability, then presumably we’d have lost the abilities to do other tasks such as cooking and shagging.
    TBH at that point I’d say we’re done anyway, and having a self-driving car to cruise around looking for a meal and a fuck doesn’t seem like the obvious technology we should be focusing our efforts on at this time.

98. John Main

Effijy 4:22

Let me guess.

Wrong kind of peace?

Or maybes, right kind of peace, but still to be spurned, cos wrong person calling for it?

99. John Main

@Breastplate 2:46

“since 2014”

Easy one to refute BP, I’ll raise you one Holodomor.

It’s cool, BP, I fully understand that nobody posting on here ever changes their minds about anything. It’s the alert readers I am interested in.

All of your whataboutery can’t obscure the Russti tanks and troops that are hundreds of miles inside a different sovereign country and nation, destroying, killing, torturing, abducting and raping.

100. John Main

@Sam 9:46

I share Stoker’s jaundiced view of your dubious Indy credentials.

BTW, it’s called origami. Educate yersel dude!

101. stuart mctavish

Pacman @11:06

Security services must be reasonably aware by now, so their explication for any failure to entertain us with murder tents outside the doors of ALL the billionaires, captured regulators and corrupted judicials suspected of being so irresponsible as to encourage it should be interesting.. especially if it comes at special request from those whose constitution/ popular culture makes such collective criminalisation/ formation of suspicious minds, a heineous treason on we (/they) the people to boot 🙂

102. John Main

Innarestin to read about the synergy between microprocessors, Israel and tinfoil wrapped conspiracy theorists on Wings BTL.

Anybody who wants to get an up-to-date picture on the new front in the war for world domination should read “Chip War” by Chris Miller. For those not already in the know, mastery of this cutting edge technology is existential to any power aspiring to world domination.

Any substantial or long term interruption to the supply of the products provided by this technology really will have incalculable consequences to our lifestyles.

If Israel has positioned itself as a major player or chip fabrication provider, it has played the equivalent of a Grand Master’s checkmate. No country reliant on it’s products will want to take the risk of an interruption to supplies.

Don’t believe me? Here’s a wee game for you to play. Go round your house/garage/block and identify every device you own/use/rely on that contains silicon chips of any kind. Attach a label saying “broken” and power off, disconnect, hide keys, boycott, etc.

See if you can get by for even 24 hours.

103. Republicofscotland

Looks like Mr Fry’s appearance on tv at Christmas with his message, has had a Streisand Effect on him.

“The producers of Stephen Fry’s controversial Christmas message were members of a Zionist youth group that funnels members into the Israeli military.

Fulwell73 was founded by Leo Pearlman, Benjamin Turner, Gabe Turner, and Ben Winston.

All of whom were members of the Zionist youth group B’nei Akiva, which runs pre-military programmes to enrol members in the Israeli occupation forces. They have also spoken at events for the Israel lobby group, the Jewish Leadership Council.”

https://nitter.net/MintPressNews/status/1739716951813791915#m

104. Stoker

“Cases of highly contagious whooping cough recorded in Coventry are spreading rapidly across the nation.”

https://archive.is/sxbYT

How long before the BBC in Scotland converts this into another ‘Scottish NHS is failing’ story? Before the year is out? LOL!

Relax, don’t panic, it’s just another alarmist headline. We get to the truth at paragraph 6 with:

“Not everywhere has seen the spread of whooping cough – nearly a third of more than 300 local authority areas monitored by the UKHSA have yet to identify a single case.”

Never heard of the UKHSA so i did a shoogle on Google, this is who they are and what relevance they are to Scotland: https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/650d530e52e73c00139426c1/UKHSA_3_year_strategy.pdf

“For most of UKHSA’s work, our remit covers England as health protection is largely a devolved policy area. We hold some UK-wide responsibilities on reserved matters where the UK government has retained policy responsibility.”

“This strategic plan relates to UKHSA’s work in England, with the exception of sections where we note we are referring to reserved matters, such as our work in preparing for and responding to the effects of radiation on public health and international obligations on global health security.”

105. Stoker

About the UKHSA: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UK_Health_Security_Agency

The section under “Response” is very interesting. Looks like the Tories tried to create & usher this organisation in under the radar. I wonder what finer details the public haven’t been told?

106. willie

Here is an extract from an article by Professor Klaus Steger who is a molecular biologist who has just retired for the University of Giessen, Germany.

The extract conclusion from a much bigger article which I frankly did not understand raises some very concerning issues, especially since the whole Covid emergency in reflection looks so much like an exercise in population control and manipulation.

Moreover, his piece illustrates the utterly terrifying concept of humankind being injected with agents that can alter millions of years of cell immunity developed over millions of years.

Indeed, rather than helping prevent viral infections that humanity’s immune systems have fought over aeons, the mass treatment could actually programme changes that weaken humankind.

Mass population reduction built in to the masses. One would not need to be a conspiracist theorist to see the potential for this. We do not, as event show, live in a world where the elite of control are honest and decent.

Anyway, here’s the extract. A digression from the usual BTL it’s maybe, just maybe worth a read. Problem is, we just don’t know, but one thing we do know is that there are evil elites out there.

EXTRACT FROM PIECE BY PROF KLAUS STEGER

” Despite contradictory evidence, national politicians “assured the public that they were adopting COVID-19 policies by ‘following the science.’” However, scientific consent was achieved only by suppressing scientific debate.
    Remember: When questions are allowed, it is science; when they are not, it is propaganda.

So-called “experts” selected by politicians told us that we must be vaccinated to be able to fight a new respiratory virus. This contradicts the science of the human immune system. Our immune systems are dynamic and can clear a virus they have never encountered; they can also develop cross-immunity to identify variants even if the virus mutates. However, since RNA-based vaccines will produce a single antigen, our immune system is deprived of the possibility of developing cross-immunity against virus variants. This applies, in particular, to respiratory viruses exhibiting a high mutation rate. In the long run, this will lead to an increase in both the frequency and the severity of infectious diseases. Thus, politicians interested in protecting the population against future infections would be well-advised to offer health programs that strengthen the immune system before seasonal infections.

Scientists haven’t the faintest idea of how to direct modRNA or saRNA to a specific cell type or how to stop the translation of administered RNA. However, they continue to study how the stability of injected RNA and the amount of generated antigen can be further increased. The current development of RNA-based vaccine technology reminds one of the poem “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice,” which German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe wrote over 200 years ago:

“The spirits, whom I’ve careless raised, are spellbound to my power not.”

107. Breastplate

John Main,
    I think you’ll find that you change your mind all the time depending on who you support.
    It is this ability to be contradictory and hypocritical that directly affects your credibility or lack thereof.

The yookranians, the Israelis, the Russkies or the Americans killing civilians shouldn’t need to be filtered through your very own and particular world view to understand they are all wrong.

That you have principles only depending on what flag someone waves, is an issue that should be more than a concern, it should be alarming.

108. Johnlm

Main logic.
    Winds are caused by trees waving their branches about.

109. Ruby

My timeline is looking very ‘Christmassy’ with all the green & red.

I’m now ignoring anyone who replies or quotes the persons I’m ignoring.

110. PacMan

Dan says:
    27 December, 2023 at 10:06 am

If humans have lost the ability to drive a car due to failing mental faculties and physical disability, then presumably we’d have lost the abilities to do other tasks such as cooking and shagging.
    TBH at that point I’d say we’re done anyway, and having a self-driving car to cruise around looking for a meal and a fuck doesn’t seem like the obvious technology we should be focusing our efforts on at this time.

Self-driving vehicles really does sum up what A.I. is. It was hyped to change our lives and over a decade later, it is still not here and it’s abilities and benefits have been scaled right down.

What is the purpose of self-driving vehicles? A more realistic purpose is for road haulage and public transport where there are known and regular routes that the A.I. is capable of handling.

Earlier this year, a self-driving bus has been introduced in Edinburgh this year. The bus drives by itself but has a driver on board. From my understanding the driver takes over and drives the bus manually when at the depot.

From my understanding, like Electric vehicles, the infrastructure in terms of dedicated Wi-Fi networks needs to be put in place first for self-driving vehicles to work properly. If that is true, I can see self-driving functionality being in a cars as a sort of advanced cruise control where the self-driving kicks in when the car is in the built up urban areas where the infrastructure is in place then control is handed back to driver when outside these areas.

It might not sound all that great but would come in handy by people who need to drive in city/town centre’s in order to avoid traffic congestion as well as aiding fuel economy. Ultimately though, the market will decide if this functionality is worth it when consumers are shown these products and whether the extra cost is justified.

111. Brian Doonthetoon

It’s good to see Channel 4 doing its bit to keep a roof over Graham Linehan’s head this festive season, with all the binge repeats of Father Ted they’re showing just now.

112. sarah

@ PacMan and GM: I do wonder if BT has any customers left in the Hebrides if you’re not able to email in Gaelic.

I should get off my backside and complain to BT, I suppose.

113. Dan

@ PacMan

I’ll expand the point I was making. Human’s actually need to do something during their lives, and due to the current evolution of our physiology and for the foreseeable future, that means both physical and mental activity is required for us to be in and maintain a healthy state of body and mind.
    Why would I want to give up my abilities and freedoms and capitulate to whatever the latest corporate life and joy crushing shite is being imposed upon us.

Self-driving cars for small gains in energy efficiency, just smells a lot like NetZero bollox to me, which completely ignores the carbon footprint of the massive energy expended in tech development, manufacturing, and implementing the infrastructure which would then need to be permanently powered to manage an SD car system.
    And all that just to improve the energy efficiency by a very small amount in an SD vehicle at the end of that line.
    Maybe once we have addressed the big energy wastage and inefficiencies on the planet we might start to look at that, but in the here and now things like stopping wars, trading and transporting junk products around the globe, and closer to home implementing simple policies that allowed the fitting of double glazing to the thousands of houses in Scotland that still have single glazing might be a more beneficial place to start.

114. Dan

Haven’t seen any NetZero fans calling for the banning of crimbo coz that ridiculous consumerist festival of over indulgence with the excessive use of imported plastic tat, and the leccy to power a bazillion decorative lights isn’t really necessary, and the “planet emergency” needs dealing with first.
    And best cancel artistic stuff too. The carbon footprint of a Madonna or Rolling Stones world tour sure as fuck ain’t carbon neutral.

115. Brian Doonthetoon

This is a good example of how the colonial powers turn a feel-good story into a story to deflate the indigenous population.

https://talkingupscotlandtwo.com/2023/12/13/a-lesson-in-how-bbc-scotland-twists-the-facts-to-undermine-our-confidence-in-ourselves/

116. A Scot Abroad

Meanwhile, the bill for the ferries ticked over £403 million today.

117. twathater

@ BDTT and yet this bbc lying and deliberate misinformation could be EXPOSED and RIDICULED if instead of having a snp and sturgeon apologist blog issuing the truth we had a proper REBUTTAL UNIT which scum sturgeon and her cabal of deviants promised years ago , NOW the YUSELESS arsehole is following in the betrayers lies by promising another rebuttal unit, voting fodder for snp idiots and the brainwashed

118. President Xiden

Michelle Moan.

119. PacMan

sarah says: 27 December, 2023 at 2:00 pm

@ PacMan and GM: I do wonder if BT has any customers left in the Hebrides if you’re not able to email in Gaelic.

I should get off my backside and complain to BT, I suppose.

I’m not a professional IT expert, just a guy who has a casual interest in technology so I’m only guessing with it is due to the spam filtering software.

My understanding of AI technology or what it is really called Machine learning technology that the ‘software’ is giving datasets to learn which then generates rules that the software uses to filter emails.

These datasets contain common spell and grammar mistakes made by spammers but also differences made by people who’s first language isn’t English and tries to write in English.

An example of this is for instance in the spam creators language their grammar structure is different from English and instead of saying My name is John the will write John my name is because that is how it is structured in their language.

As well as learning datasets of common mistakes, they also learn datasets containing common mistakes made by people. I believe it is called False positive so it it doesn’t reject valid mistakes that can be made and therefore make it more accurate in ‘judging’ what is spam.

It may be simply that software doesn’t recognise Gaelic and simply rejects it out of hand. If the company responsible for the software uses Gaelic datasets then it might not flag the email in future.

It may be just a case of informing BT of this as it is a genuine mistake or simply use a better email system like the one from Google who deals with multiple languages.

I might be totally off on this and hopefully some lurker who is IT literate can explain it better.

120. John Main

@Breastplate says:27 December, 2023 at 12:09 pm

an issue that should be more than a concern, it should be alarming

Seriously?

There was a regular on here just a few days ago, reposting online material in support of the ham boys – a proscribed terrorist organisation. Was that a comfort to you, then, when you find my support for 404 to be so alarming?

There’s an invading army occupying large swathes of an eastern European Sovereign nation. Your complete inability to admit in any shape or form that that’s a “bad thing” speaks volumes for the kind of iScotland you and your fellow travelers would inflict on the rest of us, if you ever got your way.

121. PacMan

Dan says: 27 December, 2023 at 2:19 pm

@ PacMan

I’ll expand the point I was making. Human’s actually need to do something during their lives, and due to the current evolution of our physiology and for the foreseeable future, that means both physical and mental activity is required for us to be in and maintain a healthy state of body and mind.
    Why would I want to give up my abilities and freedoms and capitulate to whatever the latest corporate life and joy crushing shite is being imposed upon us.

Self-driving cars for small gains in energy efficiency, just smells a lot like NetZero bollox to me, which completely ignores the carbon footprint of the massive energy expended in tech development, manufacturing, and implementing the infrastructure which would then need to be permanently powered to manage an SD car system.
    And all that just to improve the energy efficiency by a very small amount in an SD vehicle at the end of that line.
    Maybe once we have addressed the big energy wastage and inefficiencies on the planet we might start to look at that, but in the here and now things like stopping wars, trading and transporting junk products around the globe, and closer to home implementing simple policies that allowed the fitting of double glazing to the thousands of houses in Scotland that still have single glazing might be a more beneficial place to start.

Firstly Dan, I want to mention that I really enjoy your post. I know you are into the climate stuff and are sensible but I haven’t really interacted with you on here as I stay away from the subject due to it’s toxicity and can’t really be bothered having to deal with the eco zeolots on here when they jump on my posts that deal with the climate.

I get what you are saying but there are instances when abdicating common sense to technology for convenience is useful, provided of course everybody follows the rules.

As I had mentioned in previous posts I have an interest in Japan. I had previously put across the idea that Japanese society reliance on collective thinking is based on the islands problems with natural disaster but the other thing that is unique to Japan is that it is has a high population density which has got worse due to industrialisation and the de-depopulation of rural areas.

Japanese society has a lot of unwritten social rules and micro planning like standing at traffic lights at red even when there is no traffic lights and obsessive adherence to passenger flow planning in for instance train stations because that is the only way to deal with huge number of people in small areas.

Technology like self-driving cars may be the ideal solution for countries like Japan but may not be useful for low population density countries like here.

As well as that, a cashless society may be ideal for countries that don’t have a good banking system due to population spread over wide areas like in Africa or in mega cities like in China where it is so much easier for say local food stalls to not use cash transactions.

I do agree though it technology shouldn’t be forced on us because it is convenient for corporate companies where alternatives are just as good if not better.

122. David Hannah

Sturgeon deletes Alex Salmond files. Scottish government deletes Alex Salmond files.

During the month that followed the 2019 judicial review defeat at the hands of the former First Minister and now Alba leader at the Court of Session, a total of 1,058 files were deleted. Tory MSPs are calling it “very suspect”.

Time for vigilante justice in 2024.

Get David Davis on the phone and read out the emails. Fuck you Nicola Sturgeon. Rot in fucking hell bitch.

123. David Hannah

All thos documents shredded into unreadable strips of paper …

Alphabettie spaghetti?

Ahaha.

Your going down. And your going down. For 30 fucking years. Each as every one of you. And in particular. The destroyer of women’s rights. NICOLA STURGEON. FUCKING ROT. YOU FUCKING COW.

124. John Main

@Dan says:27 December, 2023 at 2:43 pm

Haven’t seen any NetZero fans calling for the banning of crimbo

Haven’t heard them greeting about shipping having to avoid the Suez Canal and add several thousand miles of unnecessary travel to the carbon footprint of every piece of tat either.

There’s an innarestin article on Unherd right now about just how little time it would take the US to spoke the missile firing Hotties wheels.

That would be an entirely justifiable response on several grounds, of which concern for the environment aught to be the most fashionable one.

125. PacMan

@ John Main

Most of the posters on here have been consistent in using context both in the current wars at the edge of Europe and in the Middle East.

However, a lot of those in the left have not been consistent where they think the war at the edge of Europe only started in 2022 yet say the current war in the Middle east is part of an ongoing war since 1948 and even before that.

I know you are never going to agree with me or any of the other WoS poster on these subject but you have to accept that other people have different viewpoint and they make be right on some of these.

126. David Hannah

Anyone fancy a bowl of alphabettie spaghetti?

Woman H.

127. Mac

Hey min the ‘x’ blocker is a great addition but it does not work, it marks the post with an ignored red tag but it does not hide it. Please fix. It would be superb if it worked. Superb!

128. John Main

@PacMan says:27 December, 2023 at 7:20 pm

Thanks for your response.

I know you are never going to agree

That’s the eternal problem in any argument, dispute or conflict situation.

I remain mystified at the enduring attitude to the first front in The War. It just does not seem credible to me that any Indy supporter could ever believe that another recently Independent country could deserve to have its ex-colonialist, imperialist occupier attempt to take it back at gunpoint.

The potential for replication of the circumstances in an iScotland should WM decide it wants us back too, is just too obvious.

“But that’s different”, they’ll say.

Naw, it’s naw.

129. Mac

Jings we are down to one article a week between cartoons. Two if you count a further week. Can’t ever remember this site so quiet… other than when SC retired for a year. It feels like time has stopped in Scotland while the world burns.

130. Mac

I was very excited but the ‘x’ thing also does nothing for me (on 3 different browsers). I really love the concept but it fails to hide the comment. It does add a red ‘ignored’ tab to the top right hand side which makes it easier to scroll on by but obviously it would be great if the post just disappeared along with all the other comments from the blocked poster. It would improve this site immeasurably if it worked. Really good idea if it worked.

131. Mac

Wow, comments are appearing instantly now, no 5 minute wait.

132. Johnlm

How do you teach a NATO fanboy about the NATO coup, the Minsk agreements, the Biolabs?

There are no grey areas in a fanboy’s world.

133. PacMan

I think the new ignore functionality is a 3rd party WordPress plugin as per below link:

https://wordpress.com/plugins/commenter-ignore-button

From the site:

Note that CIB is designed for standards-compliant WordPress comment threads.

CIB has been written to work “out of the box” with standard WordPress comments and several common variations. In testing, the default setting worked as intended, in a a few cases after minimal adjustments without custom CSS or PHP, with 96 out of 100 “Popular,” “Featured,” and custom WordPress themes. CIB is not suitable for 3rd Party commenting systems like Disqus or Facebook Comments, however.

More generally, though CIB can also be adapted to modified commenting templates, the further that your theme and commenting plug-ins diverge from typical, up-to-date WordPress, the more adjustments you may have to make.
    …also

This is a brand-new plugin, so… please be kind!

If correct, it looks like a work in progress and may not work for every WordPress powered sites, including the Rev’s.

134. Republicofscotland

“There was a regular on here just a few days ago, reposting online material in support of the ham boys – a proscribed terrorist organisation.”

You gotta love John Main’s western narrative BS, the west proscribes Hamas, whilst the rest of the world doesn’t. Of course one mans terrorist is another mans freedom fighter, the West called Che Guevara a terrorist, you see anyone or any group the west can’t turn or control gets proscribed as a terrorist group.

In reality though the truth is a different matter.

“It must be emphasised that armed struggle by the Palestinian resistance against the occupier is legal under international law.

This is from UN General Assembly resolution 37/43 adopted in 1982. There is no ambiguity about it.”

The Palestinians can take up arms and fight to overthrow their oppressors its perfectly legitimate.

https://nitter.net/kennardmatt/status/1710609969085554916#m

135. Republicofscotland

Actually Israel doesn’t have a leg to stand on.

“The International Court of Justice ruled in an Ad. Op., in 2004, that Israel has in reality no right to invoke Self-defense Right (UN Charter Art 51), as & as long as it is unlawfully occupying Palestinian territory, impeding & not allowing genuine Palestinian Statehood.”

Read the ruling below.

https://nitter.net/Epsilonm/status/1739686866494927351#m

136. Republicofscotland

Oxford’s Avi Shlaim, a intellectual Jewish man points out who the real terrorists are and its no the Palestinians.

“The Palestinian people,” he writes, “are the only people living under military occupation who are expected to ensure the security of their occupier. ”

Wise words indeed.

137. John Main

@Mac says:

It feels like time has stopped in Scotland while the world burns

My advice is don’t knock it. You might find Scotland being the top of the news for months on end to be a lot worse.

it would be great if the post just disappeared along with all the other comments from the blocked poster. It would improve this site immeasurably

You could get the same effect by just emailing your own comments to yourself.

But the grown up way to deal with it is to learn to take stuff you don’t agree with in your stride. TBQH, just about everybody could do that until quite recently.

138. Republicofscotland

For those that it takes a while for the truth to sink, here is the UN Rapporteur explaining exactly why Israeli cannot use Article 51 as a right of self-defence.

Watch her tell it like it is.

https://nitter.net/kennardmatt/status/1740003210512023887#m

“As UN Special Rapporteur @FranceskAlbs explains: “Israel cannot claim the right of self-defence against a threat that emanates from the territory that it occupies, that is kept under belligerent occupation.””

139. John Main

@Republicofscotland says:27 December, 2023 at 9:04 pm

You are posting as a guest on Rev Stu’s site in favour of a proscribed terrorist organisation.

This site is hosted in the west and is subject to the west’s laws. Laws that apply to you too if you are residing in the west. Maybes you aren’t – fecked if I know.

You continue to play with fire.

Here’s what I think. Nothing is more important to you than your own, personal, twisted agenda. Not Indy, not this site, not Rev Stu himself, nothing.

140. John Main

@Republicofscotland says:27 December, 2023 at 9:20 pm

points out who the real terrorists are

Really? How does his quote out of context do that?

Real terrorism is the sudden mowing down of unarmed kids at a rock concert.

Real terrorism is the kidnapping of random, innocent people to hold them hostage in pursuit of political/military objectives.

Real terrorism is the close up videoing for broadcast of the torture, rape and murder of defenseless captives.

You should pray you never have to find this out the hard way.

141. SteepBrae

JohnIm 8.37pm
    How do you teach a NATO fanboy about the NATO coup, the Minsk agreements, the Biolabs?

There’s none so blind…

142. John Main

@SteepBrae says:27 December, 2023 at 10:10 pm

There’s none so blind…

Here’s an earlier post, SB. Please feel free to enlighten us with your explanation.

It just does not seem credible to me that any Indy supporter could ever believe that another recently Independent country could deserve to have its ex-colonialist, imperialist occupier attempt to take it back at gunpoint.

The potential for replication of the circumstances in an iScotland should WM decide it wants us back too, is just too obvious.

C’moan now SB. You must have thought this through, so spill the beans.

143. Ian Brotherhood

‘Innarestin’ to see the ‘John Main’ persona now threatening other commenters here.

FWIW, many Scots who are not fully paid-up members of Hamas actually do support the heroic efforts of Palestinians to thwart the cowardly evil bastards who have already slaughtered and maimed so many of their loved ones.

And we will continue to do so.

144. Johnlm

“The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposing ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function.”

F. Scott Fitzgerald

And not endlessly repeat unsupported propaganda.

145. John Main

@Ian Brotherhood says:27 December, 2023 at 10:41 pm

threatening other commenters here

‘Threatened’ by some words posted online, or putting it another way, ‘threatened’ by a differing opinion!

Oh so sadly, that’s about par for the course for the most vocal, self-proclaimed inheritors of the mantle bequeathed to all Sovereign Scots by the likes of Wallace and King Robert.

Man up, IB. You’ll need mair smeddum than that if you’re ever going to overthrow the pitiless, colonialist, enslaving oppressor.

146. JockMcT

FFS! We need a like and dislike on posts in here, then executive action taken, bye bye who???

147. Alf Baird

John Main @ 9:42 pm

“You continue to play with fire.”

You are entirely out of kilter with authentic Scottish culture, as is any colonialist.

In colonialism “the law of progressive dehumanization suggests henceforth an agenda of violence, occupation and barbarism” (Cesaire).

There are those who wish to promote colonial terrorist states as if they were some kind of ‘imaginary oppression’; that it is all a ‘neurotic fabrication, that the tortures were imaginary tortures applied by imaginary executioners’.

Palestine, India, Kenya, Ireland, Scotland, etc: colonial society is still ‘the most putrid carrion that ever rotted under the sun’.

148. Derek

“John Main says:

Real terrorism is the sudden mowing down of unarmed kids at a rock concert.

Real terrorism is the kidnapping of random, innocent people to hold them hostage in pursuit of political/military objectives.

Real terrorism is the close up videoing for broadcast of the torture, rape and murder of defenseless captives.”

All of which indicate that you’re taking sides. What about indiscriminate bombing and shelling of civilians, or is that acceptable as long as they’re (ahem) lesser beings?

149. Ian Brotherhood

‘John Main’ has the comfort and security of hiding behind an interchangeable pseudonym, and is probably paid for it.

Whether his identity is ever ‘revealed’ or not doesn’t matter – he’s already disclosed enough, via this place and many others, to send him and his colleagues to Hell.

150. chic.mcgregor

It taks a lang spin tae sup wi the Deil.

And there IS no spoon long enough if you are Scots.

Goes way back to pre Union.

Captain Kidd, despite being given a Letter of Marque (‘entitling’ him to pirate foreign vessels) was hung as a pirate in London in 1701. That was around the time when the usefulness of the thousands of ‘privateers’ licensed by England to curtail the Spanish Empire had served its purpose and the piracy genie needed putting back in the bottle. As a Scot his execution was of no consequence but served to help end the piracy which was now more problematic than helpful.

151. PacMan

Both conflicts in the Middle East and at the edge of Europe needs to have immediate negotiations in order to prevent further loss of life.

From what I’ve read, one will be heading that way quite soon and the other hopefully not long afterwards.

Thankfully John Main won’t be included. His idea of diplomacy is to break your leg and tell you to lean on him.

152. John Main

@Alf Baird says:27 December, 2023 at 11:16 pm

entirely out of kilter with authentic Scottish culture

If that’s true, then authentic Scottish culture must be one of reality denial and fantasy-based nihilism, and so, yes, guilty as charged.

Because, Alf, taking your next line:

In colonialism “the law of progressive dehumanization suggests henceforth an agenda of violence, occupation and barbarism” (Cesaire)

Jeezo H Christ on a bike. If that’s not an accurate description of what’s going on in 404, then WTAF ever will be, eh?

Maybes you haven’t been paying attention, Alf, or maybes you don’t think it worth while reading my posts properly, seeing as how you don’t agree with them.

Maybes you’ve mentally been applying your own “law of progressive dehumanization”.

To recap, cos due to the constant malicious deflection and whataboutery, nobody on here will ever stick to the subject.

Coming up 2 years ago, I pointed out to those promoting “authentic Scottish culture” that it was a bad idea to be enthusiastically cheering on the barbaric destruction of a Sovereign Nation & Culture, for various reasons, but specifically cos it empowered those who would want to do it again, maybes to Scotland next time around.

And lo it came to pass, it was not Scotland next time around (luckily), but another nation and culture, only this time, “authentic Scottish culture” claims to be immensely exercised about that.

And thus, rationalists are faced with a paradox. How can the diametrically opposed responses of “authentic Scottish culture” to two very similar situations be explained. Could it be, as I am now convinced, that “authentic Scottish culture” has just been hijacked for nefarious purposes by some extremely vocal bad actors? Aided and abetted by the usual useful idiots?

As you are an engineer, presumably steeped in the scientific method, I remain flummoxed at your willingness to randomly apply your colonialist theories, depending on the result you desire to “prove”.

You wouldn’t be so cavalier in the application of your engineering theories to ship design.

So don’t tell me you haven’t noticed the inconsistencies in play here.

Anyhoo, Alf, happy to discuss “authentic Scottish culture” any time you are free. We could start with your plan to enforce reading and writing in Scots to those whose first language is Gaelic. What does Cesaire say about that?

153. John Main

@ PacMan Ignored says: 28 December, 2023 at 6:53 am

Woohoo, you’ve raised some sniggers from the mouth breathers, so job well done, eh?

For the record:

First front: Aggressor to withdraw to its own borders.

Second front: Both sides to abandon vows of mutual annihilation, full exchange of all hostages/prisoners.

Thems the necessary preconditions to any lasting cease fires. They don’t take a lot of investigation or intellectual investment to find out, if your interest goes any further than trying to pointlessly points score online.

154. John Main

@ PacMan Ignored says: 28 December, 2023 at 6:53 am

Woohoo, you’ve raised some snorts from the mouth breathers, so job well done, eh?

For the record:

First front: Aggressor to withdraw to its own borders.

Second front: Both sides to abandon vows of mutual annihilation, full exchange of all hostages/prisoners.

Thems the necessary preconditions to any lasting cease fires. They don’t take a lot of investigation or intellectual investment to find out, if your interest goes any further than trying to pointlessly points score online.

155. Johnlm

John Main is hilarious
    “ To recap, cos due to the constant malicious deflection and whataboutery, nobody on here will ever stick to the subject.”

Motes and beams

156. The Flying Iron of Doom

Dan says:
    27 December, 2023 at 10:06 am

I don’t get it either, and there is no way on God’s green earth I could ever feel comfortable rolling down the road at 60MPH while some mystery blob of software handled the driving. While I’m at it, can we get rid of the ludicrous array of useless electronic knobbery in vehicles these days? Please don’t tell me that I’m the only person who feels a sort of visceral rage when confronted with one of these Fischer-Price “My First Dashboard” LED-festooned nightmares…?

157. Alf Baird

John Main @ 7:19 am

“plan to enforce reading and writing in Scots to those whose first language is Gaelic”

My recommendation is that the native Scots language should be taught to the Scots speaking community and to those who wish or need to learn it. If a language is not taught it will be lost, and the peoples culture will soon follow it.

There are only 50,000 Gaelic speakers according to a previous census, and 1.6 million Scots language speakers. Current state policy seems to be to impose the former language onto the latter? Creating tribal conflict is of course part of the colonial MO.

Perhaps the only thing one can say with some certainty about the situation in the East is that language, culture, identity and national consciousness are and remain key features; this is the case for all peoples in self-determination conflict including Scotland.

Imposing the Russian language on many other diverse peoples had a similar intended effect to that of English Linguistic Imperialism, also creating a ‘cultural division of labour’ favouring the Imperial power.

English is nivver ma mither tongue despite the best efforts of British ‘educationalists’.

158. Dorothy Devine

Dan and the Flying Iron of Doom, definitely with you there – a terrifying scenario of lack of control.

159. Republicofscotland

The English staging post in Edinburgh Queen Elizabeth House won’t reveal how many staff work in it via FoI. Opened in 2020 the staging post now cost a whopping £11 million quid a year to run.

The staging post was originally intended to hold 3,000 staff when it opened, but we don’t know now how many staff work in it, and what they do, though we can be pretty sure it main remit will be to keep on undermining our own Holyrood parliament.

https://archive.is/85aau

160. John Main

@Alf Baird says:28 December, 2023 at 8:59 am

My recommendation is that the native Scots language should be taught to the Scots speaking community and to those who wish or need to learn it

That certainly seems fair enough. I would be onside with voluntarily expanding my ain knowledge o Scots. It’s got a smidge rusty ower the years.

In fact, I clearly recall suggesting a Scots language thread on here – post what you like but only in Scots. That idea seems to have bombed.

I’m guessing my clear memory of you posting that in iScotland, employment should be conditional on being fluent in spoken and written Scots is one of those false memory events.

I even have a false memory of me asking how it would impact on Yousaf’s one million New Scots plan, as he attempts to fill all the jobs we aren’t doing. I wondered where he would find the proficient Scots readers/writers.

False memory, eh? You just never know where it will rear up next.

But thanks for your response.

161. Johnlm

Re driverless cars.

It was remarkable during the scamdemic lockdown in my area that the only workers still active, other than in the shops, were the 5G engineers arriving in camper vans (as B&Bs were shut).

A universal 5G system would be necessary countrywide for the driverless road system.
    It is then a small step to connect up the ‘internet of things’, digital currencies, ID tracking, social credit system.

Bad social credit, your car won’t start.

And there is the problem of letting Elon Musk’s AI make our moral decisions for us.

YouTube – Would you sacrifice one person to save five? – Eleanor Nelsen driverless cars.

162. PacMan

In relation to self-driving cars, the following article about the UK government saying there could these types of cars on the road in 2026 isn’t inspiring:

https://archive.is/bbc1p

“We already know the technology works,” Harper told the BBC, adding that he had seen it used in California, where the automated technology has been approved for use on public roads.

As the government seeks to compete with Silicon Valley’s promise to revolutionise the way we drive, autonomous vehicles have faced increased scrutiny in recent months. The founder of Cruise, owned by General Motors, resigned in November after the driverless car company lost permission to operate following safety incidents. Last month, a judge found “reasonable evidence” that Elon Musk and other executives at Tesla knew that the company’s self-driving technology was defective but allowed the cars to be driven anyway.

When debating the bill in November, Lord Naseby said that as of 10 November, the California Department of Motor Vehicles had received 673 autonomous vehicle collision reports.

“Well, if safety is primary to this legislation, that is not a very good start, is it?” he said.

It really does sound this technology is being driven by the need to compete on international markets which is fair enough in itself but given the potential safety issues on general use, would it not be better to focus on a niche part of the potential market like self-driving public transport which is already being used and the haulage industry?

163. Mac

Very good article asking the same question I asked recently…

Are we the baddies?

jonathan-cook.net/2023-12-27/baddies-genocide-gaza-answer/

One excerpt…

“Israel is an ap@rtheid state masquerading as “the only democracy in the Middle East”. Its brutal occupation forces masquerade as “the most moral army in the world”. And now Israel’s gen0cide in Gaza masquerades as “the elimination of Hamas”.

Israel has always had to obscure these lies through intimidation. Anyone daring to call out the deceptions is smeared as an anti$emite.

But that playbook has sounded grossly offensive – inhuman even – when the matter at hand is stopping gen0cide in Gaza.”

164. Mac

Get that blocker function working please. If it was then I am sure for certain folks endlessly commenting on here it would very quickly become EXACTLY like, ‘writing something and then emailing yourself’. (Knows fine well.)

Get it working! I think it would really help. There is a spamming aspect to it as well, the sheer volume of it sort of swamps the BTL, which I think is the goal as well as all the tedious trolling, shilling etc etc.

165. Garavelli Princip

Yes, please get the blocker working. Certain profligate posters of Yoon, imperialist warmongering, anti-Scottish belligerent shite on here are distracting from the message and wasting the otherwise massively positive experience for all of us.

When e.g. John Main is posting just to himself he’ll crawl back under his stone.

166. Willir

Ah Humza Yousaf’s one million new Scots someone says. That’s a good one!

Seems Humza’s got a problem with the existing Scots. Too many are white, white, white he screams. They should be in the jobs they are in.

And he’s serious. Positive discrimination where whites need not apply. Where woman rights, woman’s protections are secondary to trans people. Or an influx of southern English to replace indigenous Scots in our Highlands and islands

NuSNP, delivering chaos and rancour. The guy is sectarian. That’s the old fashioned word for it.

So who are his new Scots. Who are the priveleged ones to replace the old ones.

167. James

We can ignore the Yoons now? YAY!!

With an X and…. Main’s gorn! Happy New Year!

(Wonder if he/she/it can see the ‘ignore’ count? LOL)

168. Dundee Scot

Those who want comments to this site restricted in some fashion miss the point of “Wings.”

“Wings” gets taken seriously by the outside world (if it’s taken seriously at all) because of the volume of comments. Not by their intellectual content.

For a blogger like “Rev.” Stuart Campbell (he isn’t–his title is as phony as his “retirement”), hits matter. The more comments, however puerile, the more “Wings” can claim to be popular. View blockers would dampen the back-and-forth of the handful of fanatics who dominate the comments, lessen the numbers, and thus lessen “Wings” to the outside world.

169. James

BAM – there goes another one! Haw.

170. Sven

James @ 12.24.

If only it were so James. On my device selecting the ignore function merely enlarges the X and turns it green, whilst a red “ignored” box appears. Unfortunately the offending post and poster remain.
    So, meantime, irritating or interminably prolific and prosey posters continue to vex.

171. John Main

@Garavelli Princip says:28 December, 2023 at 11:44 am

When e.g. John Main is posting just to himself he’ll crawl back under his stone

Aw naw, and I’ve always seen myself as one of your biggest fans 🙂

But as I pointed out yesterday, the set of fine, upstanding Scots who are most in favour of blocking, seems to correlate well with the other set of fine, upstanding Scots who mostly come on here to hurl potty-mouthed playground abuse.

Block those you disagree with to the onset of blind, insensate hatred, and who will you cant-call? Where will you get your kicks then?

Once again, you haven’t thought it through. But maybes in 2024, you’ll develop the knack, eh? Never give up on hope. 🙂

172. John Main

Cracker of a repeated article by Irvine Welsh on Unherd today. Here’s a spookily prescient wee quote:

‘Thus, through toxic social media platforms, proponents of various identities get to sling all sorts of mud at each other, devoid of any social setting and real human interaction. Generally, it’s an inconsequential battle, in which people are afforded the keyboard warrior’s licence — rewarded by the dopamine hits — to abuse each other with relative impunity. The objective of the game is to goad the other party into an overreach and a subsequent pile-on, with an attendant Twitter ban or, the great weapon of our times, “cancellation”. Generally, however, in those futile wars, no party claims a feasible victory. Nonetheless, the participants are rarely shy of pompously deploying tiresome, overdramatic dictums declaring their cause or viewpoint to be “on the right side of history”.’

Man, he must have been looking at Wings BTL just before he wrote that!

173. Robert Hughes

Hold The Front Page !

The Dundee Bugle can exclusively reveal infamous Scotnat blogger Rev Stu Campbell not a genuine member of the clergy , is not actually retired and – in what will be possibly the most sensational revelation , likely to cause emotional devastation to his many readers – doesn’t live in Scotland !

Doorstepped by the Bugle’s ace investigative reporter A Done D Scott for comment the * controversial * blogger answered in his characteristic uncouth style , saying ” aw fuck off you spotty twat , these ducks I’m feeding have more journalistic skills than you and the entire Scottish Press Corps combined ; now beat before I feed you to the bears ” .

We anticipate a call from the Pulitzer Prize committee any day now .

In other news …..

East Kilbride man rushed to hospital after living exclusively on a diet of yellow and blue Skittles for almost two years ; though it appears he had lately begun to supplement his insanely restricted food intake by hourly insertions of matzo ball suppositories .
    Neighbours became concerned when the usually well-presented man began appearing in public dressed in oversized green combat fatigues and sweatshirts and speaking in a strange , garbled made-up language – possibly some E European/Hebrew hybrid – and muttering to himself things like ” Reds have reached Busby ” ” repent , the Rapture is coming ” and , perhaps most bizarrely of all…” show God the money ” . He remains in an unstable condition and it’s thought he will be transferred to a secure mental institution when he stops foaming at the mouth and screaming for ” Zelly ” .

174. loki

@Sven
    Aye, but at the same time its possible that outliers can be noted then told to GTF by the rev. Perhaps the threat of being kicked out will be enough to quieten even tho most prolific arsehole from spouting shite.

I appreciate reading contrary opinions, but there are one or two who derail by asking seemingly honest questions that they could have googled, while leaving their own “wisdom” in their wake. Anything that limits them and their sycophants posts is a good move. Gimme the honest, if pished, observation & music list from some guy walking up glasgow road anyday.

175. Johnlm

Gen0cide John Main is sounding so uncomfortable.
    Wading into matters he doesn’t understand or research, his ego and insulting posts can’t allow him to recant even the smallest error.
    Running on pure Copium.

176. sarah

Foaming at the mouth here – I made the mistake of looking at The National on-line and it’s current “news” page reports that “Scottish government is setting up a mental health commission to support LGBT youth.”

Hasn’t Scotgov got more urgent and important matters to attend to?

They clearly have no intention of changing their ways. What an appalling and irresponsible bunch they are. They should be getting us out of the Union. They should be keeping us all warm, dry, employed, educated, fed and healthy.

What are they doing? Fabricating and in fact creating a mental health issue by pushing insane material into our schools.

They are criminals.

177. John Main

@Robert Hughes says:28 December, 2023 at 2:16 pm

Good post.

BTW, ever hear any Sovereign Scots screaming for Yousaf?

Of course not.

Maybes you think, eh?

178. David Hannah

What about men’s mental health, they don’t give a shit about that do they?

They cancelled £200 million from the house building projects. So men can’t get on in life.

But give all the money to Africa at Cop26.

The Christmas story was a Palestinian story this year. The Prince of Peace Jesus the Christ child, our Lord and Savior. Was born a referee in Bethlehem. Only the Pope was calling for World Peace this year. While our corrupt leaders at the state sponsored terrorism club the UN failed in supporting a ceasefire.

God is with the Palestinians. The hundreds of thousands of displaced people in Gaza without hospitals. The 50,000 pregnant mothers that have fled on donkeys to the border. Like Mary and Joseph.

President Netanyahu is King Herod the baby killer.

I know that God is with Palestine. I know that the Pope is the real world leader of 2023. God bless you all.

179. David Hannah

*Born a referee! Jesus. The refugee. In the holy lands. Have a look at the Banksy artwork of Mary and Joseph trying to follow the star. Only to have their route blocked by the wall of apartheid.

Displaced by Military decree from Nazareth. Like the refugees of today in Palestine.

The Christmas story of Jesus born in the stable. Like all of the homeless today who’s houses have been destroyed.

It’s so obvious that God is with Palestine. While Sir Kier Starmer is hell bent on going to hell with pretend Catholic Tony Blair. We know it was the Nazi Pope that blessed him after all. Fortunately the current Pope is brilliant.

180. Alf Baird

John Main @ 10:38 am

“I’m guessing my clear memory of you posting that in iScotland, employment should be conditional on being fluent in spoken and written Scots is one of those false memory events.”

In most independent countries at least some knowledge of the local language is usually necessary especially for public sector posts, as one might find in Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Sweden, Netherlands, Germany, etc.

181. twathater

@ Robert Hughes 2.16pm, as usual Robert you create humour out of truth

182. Anton Decadent

Re Irvine Welsh, the irony is that his manuscripts are now given to a “sensitivity reader” prior to publishing incase someone in Hyndland finds something ist or ic in them and turns to dust and blows away under the door.

183. twathater

@ Sarah 2.35pm, and yet Sarah people will still vote for these deviants and perverts, if you check out PayPal Paul’s site the munguin’s site and talking up Scotland’s site it is ALL the fault of WM, EVERYTHING bad that happens to Scots and Scotland is ALL WM’S fault, the Scottish deviant administration is blameless, the amount of deluded apologists and sycophants supporting and defending these blogs and bloggers who are unwilling to face the truth of the utter betrayal of the independence movement by the corrupt and reviled Scottish Nonce Party defies logic , the evidence is there for even the most deluded to see, but they refuse to accept it

184. dasBlimp

James
    Ignored says:
    28 December, 2023 at 12:24 pm
    We can ignore the Yoons now? YAY!!

With an X and…. Main’s gorn! Happy New Year!

(Wonder if he/she/it can see the ‘ignore’ count? LOL)

Why would you do that? Why not just scroll on past if someone else’s opinion is in opposition to your own?

You never know, within the screeching posts of Geri, the mind-numbing tedium of James Che and the endless colonial drivel of Alf Baird there may one day be something that’s worth reading….. maybe.

185. dasBlimp

John Main
    Ignored says:
    28 December, 2023 at 2:13 pm
    Cracker of a repeated article by Irvine Welsh on Unherd today. Here’s a spookily prescient wee quote:

It is a great article and well worth repeating. Another great (in my not-so-humble opinion) is ‘Spiked online’ but the sentiments on there would be anathema to the anti-semites here.

186. Mac

The block function if it was working would only block the blocker from seeing the blockee’s comments not anyone else. It is a personal spam filter. Oh man please get it working.

Once I block the spamking it will then surface the serial repliers of the spamking and after that job is done, bliss.

Plus it must be cookie related as we don’t login here. So clear your cookies and you will have to reblock. No big deal as I would only block one or two.

They are spamming cunts so this is entirely merited and deserved. Why do people and it is the same people reply to it. It is not an authentic dialogue…

187. Mac

One personal observation is that the chat that refers to the Palestinians as Pallys and the Houthis as Hotties is very typical of sink hole neocon zionist shithole websites. They all sound the same.

They have pay people to espouse this vile shit. No one would be on here saying it from the heart. No one.

188. George Ferguson

@Sarah 2:35pm
    Agreed. An over representation of LGTQ++ in the Scottish Parliament. Leading us to daft policies. The situation is so dire. I called it Jenga with Public Services it’s worse than that. The SNP/Green Government are adopting a scorched earth policy. A billion wasted here or there and hundreds of millions on top of that usually to serve their interests. The definition of corruption. Absolutely need an early Scottish Parliamentary Election.

189. sarah

@ twathater at 5.28: “…blogs and bloggers who are unwilling to face the truth of the utter betrayal..by the corrupt Scottish Nonce Party..”

Yes, it is very disheartening. However the polls show that many voters have got the message – SNP support is down but independence support is unchanged/slightly up.

190. John Main

@ Mac says:28 December, 2023 at 6:40 pm

They have pay people to espouse this vile shit

If only, Mac, if only.

Still, you sound as if you are in real distress. Genuine question – what happens to you when you go out and about? How do you control what people say to you, or say in your presence?

Your life must be a living nightmare!

Soz to be harsh and all that, but you’re not much use in the rough and tumble of politics in your fragile state. Best stay out of it.

191. Republicofscotland

Its about time the Iraqi’s kicked out the Great Satan (US) and its minions. Hopefully the Syrian government will also manage to push out the Great Satan and its bellicose minions who are stealing Syrian assets.

“ALBAWABA- In a significant development, Iraqi Prime Minister Mohammed Shayia’a Sudani has announced a strategic shift in Iraqi politics, revealing plans to terminate the foreign presence in Iraq, specifically referring to the international coalition led by the United States.”

https://www.albawaba.com/news/iraqi-pm-declares-plan-terminate-international-coalitions-role-1546780

192. Dan

@ George Ferguson

Aye, maybe if the Clownshow in Holyrood didn’t blow so much dosh on complete tosh there would be more available to disburse to local authorities so they could keep the most basic of public services running properly.
    The roads and pavements round my way have been getting progressively worse for years now.
    This latest bout of rain highlighting very obviously that little to no preventive maintenance has been carried out, which is crazy because it costs way more to repair roads that have succumbed to being water logged and frosted breaking up the road surface, than it would cost to have kept up with the cheaper more simple task of just keeping the drainage in a functioning state.
    Notably though, the sections of road that I take the time to keep the drains and gullies clear and flowing have avoided being overwhelmed by recent heavy rains.

A couple of months back I reported 10 blocked drains to the local roads department that require a proper industrial machine to flush and clean them out as they have become blocked with compacted debris built up because they haven’t been cleaned for years.
    Due to some of these choked drains the rain now builds up and flows off the road into the sub-floor void of a few properties. You would have thought that would create some impetus for them to get the task done, but no, here were are months later and it’s repeating.
    I’m torn between just letting everything fall apart because it feels so pointless reporting issues that rarely get addressed, but the engineer in me can’t stand watching our basic infrastructure being ruined by utter twats that are spaffing taxpayers’ cash on all the wrong things.

193. George Ferguson

@Dan 7:29pm
    I am in complete agreement with you. Outside collecting bins the Local Authorities are not doing much in the way of Public Services. Humza declares a 350 million Council Tax freeze not to Parliament but to his Party Conference. The speaker a Green MSP was unfazed. No debate in Parliament about this policy serviced by an ever increasing tax burden on the few. A recipe for disaster. I do voluntary work now and some of this work used to be the work of Local Authorities. I don’t blame Local Authorities they have been starved of resources.

194. Mac

It is not normal behaviour…

youtube.com/watch?v=4vKuB1su43c

It is fascinating seeing who speaks up and who remains silent.

195. Alf Baird

dasBlimp @ 5:47 pm

“colonial drivel”

It is the ‘Union’ drivel/myth that is a colonial hoax. Face reality, Scots are made subordinate, their culture and language debased.

No direct international representation permitted, no say in matters of war or peace, and nae live Scottish national fitba on Brit-TV. Scots are oot the international gemm. Even a direct ferry service tae the continent – no permitted. Ireland has 15+ direct ferry sailings per week to France, Spain, Belgium….

Tak yer John Bull Anglo cultural medicine like guid loyal Jocks, ken yer place, find a colonial bone taw gnaw on, assimilate and perish; tho we may yet choose leeberation.

196. John Main

@Alf Baird says:28 December, 2023 at 8:29 pm

The Union is a fact, Alf. You can’t make a plan in the real world to unravel a myth.

I really do wish you would ground your ideas in facts-based reality. They would stand an order-of-magnitude better chance of becoming popular and widely supported policy if they didn’t seem to be airy-fairy nonsense.

Take your plan to enforce Scots, the language that around 2 million Scots claim to be fluent in. That still leaves nearly twice that number of Scots citizens who are going to see the idea as a pointless distraction at best, and a complete turn off at worst.

As for our “debased culture”. The Hogger is coming up. Nobody’s going to be debasing mine, and I hae ma doots you will let yours be debased either, even if there really is somebody trying to do so.

But we both know there isn’t, unless it’s the barstewards who landed us with alcohol MUP and the UK’s first indoor smoking ban. And they’re all so Scottish they bleed Pantone 300. And most posters on here happily voted them in year after year after year!

197. John

@Alf
    I did/do find it incredible folk in Scotland are not allowed direct ferry route to mainland Europe. Yous have to go to Newcastle ffs. Union divide nd and all that.
    Hope those affected by the extreme weather are coping.

198. dasBlimp

Alf Baird
    Ignored says:
    28 December, 2023 at 8:29 pm
    dasBlimp @ 5:47 pm

“colonial drivel”

It is the ‘Union’ drivel/myth that is a colonial hoax. Face reality, Scots are made subordinate, their culture and language debased.

You ‘feel’ subordinate, Alf, there’s a difference. The Scots culture is strong and if your language is debased then you are doing it to yourselves. The Welsh language seems to be thriving – they’re even replacing the Anglo place names. Why don’t you people do the same? Don’t ask for permission – just do it.

No direct international representation permitted, no say in matters of war or peace,

We English don’t even have a government to represent us so consider yourselves better off than us.

and nae live Scottish national fitba on Brit-TV. Scots are oot the international gemm. Even a direct ferry service tae the continent – no permitted. Ireland has 15+ direct ferry sailings per week to France, Spain, Belgium….

Brit-TV? Alba you mean? Consult your own government re ferry services. Its nowt to do with colonialism

Tak yer John Bull Anglo cultural medicine like guid loyal Jocks, ken yer place, find a colonial bone taw gnaw on, assimilate and perish; tho we may yet choose leeberation.

Maybe, but you will be long gone before that happens. We’re all being shafted by ‘our’ governments it’s not just the Scots that are singled out.

199. chic.mcgregor

Thank you Talk Radio for 20 mins or so of comedy gold.

The anti Scottish theme in ‘Plank of the Year Award’ show was priceless.

The Michelle Mone piece I mostly concurred with whilst, of course, noting the complete absence of the dozens of other English corrupt contracts awarded.

Even the kicking Humza ‘Useless’ and the Scottish Government received was partially justified althoulgh scattered throughout with the usual plethora of lies.

Especially on the effect of higher taxation on higher earners, which polling in Scotland has shown that is actually accepted by those higher earners, the negative effect on migration when current data shows there are more people moving into Scotland from the rUK than vice versa and stating that6 Scottish university students will find it harder to pay back their tuition fees when we don’t have tuition fees.

Next target was the city of Dundee. Introduced by Mike Graham as ‘The next candidate is the city of Jute, Jam an Journalism, wherever that is?’. If course he knew fine well where it was, especially with the rehearsed denegrations if not by his Scottish connections.

Not a candidate, of course, because it had the largest Yes vote, no not at all, but because the council there had a scheme to install lamppost voice links around the city centre which allowed people to contact the AI controlled help services which people might want to access for multifarious reasons. A sensible enough initiative portrayed by him and his braying panel as insanity.
    At one point he said the journalism tag was because the Beano was published there and that it was where Disney comics were based in the UK.

Many many laughs throughout the whole thing, but the biggest one, where I involuntarily belly laughed like I have not done for many years, was when he said ‘I love Scotland’. God did my sides hurt.

Anyway, they picked the right candidate as the winner at least, Michelle Mone (I never stop).

200. George Ferguson

@John Main 9;07pm
    Your response to Alf was unfair. Its not about misspent billions or cultural misappropriation, language or otherwise. What’s going to bring down the Scottish Government?. The Scottish Census. Politicised inputs and massaging of outputs. The evidence is there in front of you.Operation Branchform with 24 charges and six people charged won’t bring them dowm .A humble headcount will. And it’s the cover up that counts.

201. PacMan

twathater says: 28 December, 2023 at 5:28 pm

@ Sarah 2.35pm, and yet Sarah people will still vote for these deviants and perverts, if you check out PayPal Paul’s site the munguin’s site and talking up Scotland’s site it is ALL the fault of WM, EVERYTHING bad that happens to Scots and Scotland is ALL WM’S fault, the Scottish deviant administration is blameless, the amount of deluded apologists and sycophants supporting and defending these blogs and bloggers who are unwilling to face the truth of the utter betrayal of the independence movement by the corrupt and reviled Scottish Nonce Party defies logic , the evidence is there for even the most deluded to see, but they refuse to accept it

The idiots who follow PayPaul have more credible as supporters of a Bay City Rollers concert than supporters of independence. PayPaul is more showbiz than politics.

They are just going through the motions like their heroine Elsy McSelfie, go to a March, wave a saltire, shout a few anti- chants then back home with a warm glow inside them.

Total fakes and posers.

202. Derek

” “…in iScotland, employment should be conditional on being fluent in spoken and written Scots is one of those false memory events.”

In most independent countries at least some knowledge of the local language is usually necessary especially for public sector posts, as one might find in Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Sweden, Netherlands, Germany, etc.”

Part of becoming a Finnish citizen is a language test; my pal who lives there (a Scot married to a Finn) thought that it was a better option than trying to retain a British passport, despite the language’s notorious difficulty.

203. sarah

@ Derek: quoting Alf Baird “..some knowledge of the country’s language is usually necessary especially for public sector posts…”.

Wales requires Welsh, even of children at school. An English neighbour of mine married a Welsh speaker, their children were born in England and when they went to live in Wales the children were spoken to by staff in Welsh only. I did think that was unnecessarily hard on the children but it does show how seriously the Welsh take their language.

As I have mentioned previously, all written material that is issued to the public must have Welsh treated equally to English.

204. Derek

“sarah says:
    28 December, 2023 at 11:06 pm

…when they went to live in Wales the children were spoken to by staff in Welsh only…”

The Finnish course that my pal did was conducted entirely in Finnish. Quite fair really, I suppose; doesn’t matter where you’re from, this is the language that you need to learn. His class had speakers of at least 10 languages, so everyone starts in the same place.

205. James Jones

Sound bites from Fanon, Memmi and others aren’t hitting the spot. I was hoping in an earlier thread that Alf Baird could post a precis of ‘other’ colonial societies he has studied, and how they were influenced before and after colonisation.

Still no response, so I looked at Alf’s publications and it appears he hasn’t studied other colonies at all, he has merely plagiarised short phrases from texts on ‘colonialism’ and erroneously jammed them into a supposedly Scottish perspective. For example, the Pidgen English which he regards as ‘Scots language’ (notably not Gaelic, which would be too difficult) has not been deliberately suppressed and is ripe for conservation like Welsh, but there simply isn’t a widespread desire for it. Nonetheless, blame the ‘colonial’ rUK. I’m hard-pressed to find anything else he says which isn’t similarly biased towards blaming someone else for a wholly imagined or self-inflicted “injustice”.

206. Breeks

That’s my Ma passed away now. Another lifelong Independentist denied the pleasure and the justice of seeing Scotland’s dignity and sovereignty restored. Especially in 2016; a priceless opportunity squandered by the corrupt liar Sturgeon and her reprobates, when the f’krs hijacked the political momentum of the YES Movement, and abdicated the defence of Scotland’s Constitutional integrity, all to feather their own nests and promote the deviant denial of science and biology with their delinquent Pervert’s Charter.

Scotland deserved so very much better.

Rest in peace Ma. The fight goes on.

One less of us to push maybe, but one more on the other side, now pulling.

207. John Main

@sarah says:28 December, 2023 at 11:06 pm

it does show how seriously the Welsh take their language

Indeed.

Compare and contrast with here. Despite lots of people paying lip service to the idea, the number of posters dropping Scots words into their posts is trivially small.

Apart from Alf, I can’t think of a single poster who would ever trouble to put together an entire post in Scots.

To me, that says all that needs to be said about any genuine interest and desire to use the Scots language in a formal sense.

Unless (whisper it) this forum is completely unrepresentative of the Scotland many posters claim to speak for!

208. John Main

@George Ferguson says:28 December, 2023 at 10:22 pm

What’s going to bring down the Scottish Government?

The Scottish Census.

Maybes.

I don’t believe anything will bring it down. The next HR election, in May 2026, will dent its majority, as Scots return to Labour, but that still gives the SNP/Greens two and a half years of remaking Scotland in their image.

I think, as the UK and indeed the west generally is only one miscalculation away from much bigger problems, our attentions will inevitably become focused elsewhere.

209. John Main

Terrifying article on Unherd this morning. I’m posting the link, cos this stuff is important:

https://unherd.com/thepost/who-quietly-publishes-controversial-gender-guidance/

Here’s a wee quote:

‘“puberty blockers ought to be treated as the default option” for all youth, as opposed to “letting puberty runs its course”.

… letting this stage of human development progress uninterrupted “strongly favours cis embodiment by raising the psychological and medical toll of transitioning”.’

This is the WHO coming for our kids, folks. They want to medicate every single one of them.

Wake the fuck up.

210. Johnlm

John Main pretending to care.
    It’s like watching a fish play billiards.

211. SteepBrae

Breeks 7.15am
    Sending condolences on the loss of your Ma.
    “One less of us to push maybe, but one more on the other side, now pulling”
    and she will always inspire you.

212. SteepBrae

JohnIm 8.33am
    “It’s like watching a fish play billiards”.
    Yes, or a flounder pretending to have a soul.

213. John Main

@Johnlm says:29 December, 2023 at 8:33 am

John Main pretending to care.

I care very deeply indeed about you!

In my position, who wouldn’t? There you slump, glued to your screen all day long, just waiting for me to post something, so that you can fire off an immediate put-down.

One would need a heart of stone to not be touched by such doglike, … what’s the right word here?

I promised you a wee bit juicy meat bone before the Hogger and this is it. Premature perhaps, but I hope the warmth and satisfaction it brings you will last well into 2024.

Ach, go oan, hae a biscuit an a’.

214. Effijy

Is the Rev Stuart Campbell still involved in John Main’s blog?

If John could meet and greet the refugees on England’s South Coast I think we could find the boats doing a U-turn with Brits swimming after them.

215. John Main

@Effijy says:29 December, 2023 at 9:26 am

Hey Effijy.

1 A comment about Scots, and about the gulf between feigned concern and actual use.

2 A reply to an earlier post.

3 A highly relevant post about development in gender re-assignment policy – a specific concern of Rev Stu’s.

4 A wee bit of fun.

Why don’t you join in – contribute – make some noise – educate – entertain – something other than greetin about BoJo, WM and the English?

Who knows, maybes Indy will benefit. The standard fare over the past decade has hardly been setting the heather alight.

216. Alf Baird

James Jones @ 1:25 am

“it appears he hasn’t studied other colonies”

On the contrary, postcolonial theory is built upon in-depth analysis of decolonization worldwide, and is therefore describing colonial procedures as applied in other colonies. This provides all oppressed peoples seeking self-determination with a comprehensive decolonization template, showing them what they should look for in the ‘colonial condition’, for example:

economic plunder; external political control; cultural assimilation; a debased culture/language; a distorted history; s*****r occupation; population displacement; a co-operative national party; a ‘procured’ native elite; tight governance; use of police/justice/security services to hold back radicals; a ruptured independence movement; etc etc etc

217. Mac

Norman Finkelstein talking to Krystal Ball. I have never seen him so angry or using language like this.

youtube.com/watch?v=7tI595leq4U

The clip of JFK Jr is extremely disappointing to say the least. Not in the least surprised by the total piece of $hit that is Bill Maher. Sadly not surprised at Stephen Fry though.

This is a truly defining period. These people will never escape this.

And it is not just those cheerleading it, many, many more are silent, just looking the other way.

It is incredible to witness. And it tells us so much…

218. James Che

My sincere condolences on your mum passing away,

219. James Che

We would have to go back to 1707 to consult a Scottish parliamentary government on any subject as the real Scottish government/ Scottish parliament were dissolved in England only in 1707,

Nothing Stopping Scotlands people opening their own new Scottish parliament seeing that the old one has been dissolved of all liability.

220. Xaracen

@Breeks;

sorry to read of your loss, my condolences.

221. James Che

There is no Scottish government to bring down, it was dissolved in 1707 of all liability to the union
    You would be bringing down part of the Westminster government in Scotland under Westminster statues. Passed by the parliament of Westminster down south.

This is a kind of lack of intelligence on behalf of the yoonists.

222. dasBlimp

Alf Baird
    Ignored says:
    29 December, 2023 at 10:08 am
    James Jones @ 1:25 am

“it appears he hasn’t studied other colonies”

economic plunder; external political control; cultural assimilation; a debased culture/language; a distorted history; s*****r occupation; population displacement; a co-operative national party; a ‘procured’ native elite; tight governance; use of police/justice/security services to hold back radicals; a ruptured independence movement; etc etc etc

That’s just a list of all your imagined wrongs done to Scotland by the Ingerlish. You see everything through the prism of colonialism – that is what makes you so bitter.

223. dasBlimp

James Che

Nothing Stopping Scotlands people opening their own new Scottish parliament seeing that the old one has been dissolved of all liability.

You’ve already got one. Just the wrong people in it. It’s your problem so sort it out and stop blaming it on the ingruntish.

224. John Main

@Mac says:29 December, 2023 at 10:20 am

This is a truly defining period.

It is incredible to witness. And it tells us so much…

Amen, brother.

225. James Che

Only the parliament of Westminster is in the treaty of union, as that same westminster parliament, dissolved the 1707 Scottish parliament from all legal liability. IN ENGLAND prior to creating the parliament Union of Great- Britain.

The Parliament in Scotland however under Scots law in the kingdom of Scotland adjourned/Sine Die’d its own Scottish parliament,

The Scottish…. (named)…..men who gave their signature to enter Westminster parliament in 1707 were not members of any dissolved or Sine Die’d parliament from Scotland,

And those individuals and their families are still in a treaty union with the parliament of Westminster as far as I understand,
    They would be liable for a shared debt with England.

226. johnlm

@Breeks

My condolences to you and your family.

227. James Che

dasBlimp.

Ha haa ha,

A parliament in Scotland under Westminster legislation and Staues, under a hoax treaty of non parliamentary union. That actually breaches the hoax treaty of union articles that state their will be one parliament of Great- Britain,

If Scotland had its own parliament and government you would looking at a independent Scotland Doh.

Your gonna have to make a choice dasblimp over which reality you wish to be your reality.

228. Dorothy Devine

Breeks, how sad made worse by surrounding festivities.

229. Garavelli Princip

Hi Rev,

Seems “John Main” has just about completely taken Wings below the line.

He/it is ruining this for your core audience.

I fear if something is not done to stop this, many of your loyal readership will be driven away – no doubt his/its intention

230. sarah

@ Breeks: Very sorry to hear about your mother’s passing. Best wishes to you and yours.

231. dasBlimp

James Che
    Ignored says:
    29 December, 2023 at 12:05 pm
    dasBlimp.

If Scotland had its own parliament and government you would looking at a independent Scotland Doh.

But that’s exactly what you have and yet you are still a dependent nation. Until you flush HR of all the UK-compliant Scots then the status quo will remain. Once you do that then let us know so we can do the same with WM.

232. James Che

We seem to be having the need to explain what a “Union” actually entails/means in the legal sense to people whom think a parliamentary union involves only Westminster parliament and one dissolved Scottish parliament from Westminster parliament.

The Scottish parliament was dissolved by the Westminster parliament of Englandprior to a parliamentary union between Scotland and England creation of the British parliament.

This means that Westminster parliament dissolved the Scottish side of the Parliamentary Union, in and from England.

It is a legally impossibilty to bring together a Great- Britain entity of Westminster Parliamentary Union with a Dissolved Scottish parliament by Westminsters own hand, since 1707.

As of the Specific date that Westminster parliament Dissolved the Parliament of Scotland in England it dissolved the Scottish parliament of all legal liability to the Treaty of Union,

The Institute of Governance.UK, explain the position of a (dissolved parliament) on their site.
    As defunct, with no members.

233. James Che

Will Westminster sue its “own” devolved government under Westminster Statues in Scotland?

As Scotlands old 1707 closed and dissolved parliament, has no longer has any legal obligation as non entity parliament to Westminster Parliament.

234. dasBlimp

James Che
    Ignored says:
    29 December, 2023 at 12:30 pm
    We seem to be having the need to explain what a “Union” actually entails/means in the legal sense

But…but…but why have you never explained this before, James? LOL

235. robertkknight

James Che…

Being fairly ignorant of the legal shenanigans surrounding the 1706/7 Acts of Parliament(s) and associated Treaty Articles, can you inform the likes of myself what effect the 1800 Act(s) of Union between the Parliament of the Kingdom of Great Britain and the Parliament of the Kingdom of Ireland had on the status of Scotland within the “union”?

The 1707 business concerns the Kingdom
    of Scotland’s place, extinguished or otherwise, within the unified Kingdom of Great Britain. However, did the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (1801-1922) change that status even further, given Scotland in itself doesn’t get a mention save Articles II and V, concerning royal succession and religion:

https://rahbarnes.co.uk/union/the-united-kingdom-of-union-1800/union-with-ireland-act-1800/

236. David Holden

Sorry to here of your loss Breeks and may she rest in peace. I have several friends who have left us without seeing our country gain its independence and I will never forgive the SNP for squandering the chance to make their dream become a reality. Take care .

237. James Che

dasblimp.

No, that spiel you are trying to sell is not accurate information

A Scottish parliament would not be under Westminster parliament Statues,

238. Lenny Hartley

Breeks, sorry to hear your loss, thougts. With you and family.

Doorothy, re main , already driven me away, only dip in once every so often for a quick scan.
    Beginning to think my £120 a year better spent elsewhere tbh.
    May most on here have a good new year.

239. James Che

The 1800 treaty between Westminster parliament and Ireland in the records of the parliament of Ireland are known as the “Anglo–Ireland” treaty 1800/1801.

As is the Anglo– American trade treaty,
    Meaning
    Anglo = English,

These treaties were made with the Westminster parliament of England in their originality and were English parliament treaties and it was only in the final stages of these treaties that Westminster used in every (sense of the word) the additional name of Great-Britain,

The records record The 1800 treaty as a Anglo- Ireland treaty,

240. James Che

RobertKKnight,

The best analogy I can think of is to liken the treaty of Ireland with the Westminster parliament of England in 1800, to building a house,

Without the required foundations of a parliamentary union between Scotlands dissolved parliament 1707 by Westminster, and Westminster parliament itself not being able to hold a union with a dissolved and sine die’d parliament of Scotland, I would assume that any layer that was built on those percarious foundations if based on the “Great-Britain” foundations would fall.

However I am aware that the Treaty between England and Ireland on record is noted as A Anglo- Ireland treaty in Irelands parliamentary records,

So I would presume this would be a interesting debate between Ireland and England parliaments.and taking into account that a large portion of Ireland now is no longer under the governance of Westminster parliament.

241. James Che

RobertKKnight,

Could you give a specific date on when Scotland and England were unified?

242. John Main

@ Garavelli Princip says:29 December, 2023 at 12:12 pm

There’s a braw Scots word – clipe.

Used to be, that being a clipe was disgraceful, even dishonourable, to ordinary Scots. I suppose that’s another cultural loss for us to mourn.

243. Ruby

Garavelli Princip
    29 December, 2023 at 12:12 pm

Hi Rev,

Seems “John Main” has just about completely taken Wings below the line.

He/it is ruining this for your core audience.

I fear if something is not done to stop this, many of your loyal readership will be driven away – no doubt his/its intention

You seem to be asking the Rev to do something you could do yourself. Ignore, ignore, ignore.

I know it’s not easy!

There might be a bit of a dilemma for the Rev in that ‘John Main’ might be a major contributor unlike myself who contributes nothing. I did contribute but only the minimum but decided to cancel that when I got pre-moderated. It was due to personal abuse mainly towards John Main that caused me to be pre-moderated. I was unable to practice any self-restraint by ignoring him. ‘Captain Yossarian’ & ‘A Scot Abroad’ were also posters I should have ignored.

There seems to be a fair amount of personal abuse being directed towards ‘John Main’ lately. I’m wondering why these posters are not being pre-moderated too?

I believe ‘John Main’s’ intention is to wind everyone up which he is very successive at. I believe he could be described as a ‘flame baiter’
    or to use more well known phrase ‘a wind-up merchant who could cause trouble in an empty house’

It would be ideal if the ‘ignore function’ worked and helped us not to read anything posted by John Main etc.
    Of course we could practice some self restraint and actually just ignore ‘John Main’ etc. I find the ‘green X’ & ‘red ignore’ helps.

Where are ‘Captain Yossarian’ & ‘A Scot Abroad’ these days.
    Will we ever find out what happened to ‘the sinking school’

OK ‘John Main’ is posting a lot (sometimes known as spamming) but the ‘loyal readership’ are guilty of not posting enough.

I just watched this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLIZD3Yg-Nk

It’s two hours long but very informative.

I also found the article

‘Hundreds of documents were destroyed after Salmond court battle
    ‘Cover-up’ row as Government files wiped in wake of defeat to ex-FM’

Extremely interesting and was disappointed there wasn’t more discussion about this BTL here on Wings.

244. Alf Baird

dasBlimp @ 11:03 am

“imagined wrongs done to Scotland”

We should remember that “colonization is based on psychology” (Cesaire) and that denial of oppression forms a key part of the colonial ‘condition’.

Yes indeed, other realities can be and are imagined, as reflected in “the persistent bourgeois attempt to reduce the most human problems to comfortable, hollow notions”, for example ‘better together’; and here we return to the idea of “dependency complex”.

245. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Breeks.

Sorry to read the news about your Mum. I know how you must be feeling right now.

My condolences to you and yours.

246. Dan

https://caltonjock.com/2023/12/29/2023-the-cost-of-scottish-civil-servants-to-the-public-purse-sky-rockets-to-1-6bn-a-year/

Ach, another day and another wee shift of unpaid community service for me…
    Rather than getting paid the big bucks to talk and implement a load of flawed policies that do little to benefit society, I decided to again take the initiative and crack on with doing something that actually benefits my community.
    This time in the form of digging out a totally choked road drain filled with years of sediment build up that was enough to fill a wheelbarrow.
    The drain issues were reported to council months ago and with the inclement winter weather it is just basic common sense to have drains functioning for the wet winter season.
    Of course because the drains haven’t had regular maintenance the sediment had fill the entire sub grate sediment catchment bowl and proceeded to then fill and block the actual drainage pipe that carries the water away.
    Fucking sick of seeing this sort of thing in so many aspects of life where zoomers can’t comprehend that simple basic servicing and maintenance of systems is cheaper in the long term than letting shit get out of hand with all the extra time and resources it takes to fix a now bigger problem.

But this has actually got me thinking about all that I do. The considerable efforts I discreetly put in around my locality are actually making the council look better performing than they are. The council may be looking at me as just a useful idiot because the wider public have no knowledge of who is actually doing this work.

247. silverfox

Garavelli Princip. I have a number of “Green Crosses” scattered over my forum. Five in a row just above my post at 15.17. The only difference I see is that it is faster to scroll past them now they are marked.

248. Dan

Doh!, and I meant to tack on my condolences to Breeks in that last post.

@ Breeks

A pal from Perthshire sent me pics of the damage caused by flooding to the bridge at Bridge of Cally.
    A couple of years ago about half the down stream side wall got washed off the bridge due to the pressure of flood water held between the walls because the small drain tubes were choked and unable to cope with the water build up.
    That stonework got sorted last year, but this time the upstream side damage is slightly different with a lot of stone of the bridge structure below the road and pavement getting washed away. Tricky repair, but again this sort of thing needs some big picture considerations to implement initiatives to protect infrastructure rather than just fixing the specific issue.
    Climate change and supposedly increasing wilder weather is never out the news. So why not put in proper spillways to divert floodwater away well before it ever reaches a critical confluence pinch point.

249. Xaracen

James Che said;

“Only the parliament of Westminster is in the treaty of union, as that same Westminster parliament, dissolved the 1707 Scottish parliament from all legal liability. IN ENGLAND prior to creating the parliament Union of Great- Britain.”

The Parliament of England did not dissolve the Scottish Parliament, Queen Anne dissolved it by proclamation on the 28th April 1707, that is, prior to the inception of the Union, and she had that right as it was her parliament in her Scottish monarchical capacity. She also dissolved the Parliament of England on the same day in her capacity as the English monarch.

The next day, 29th April 1707, a proclamation was issued to declare that the present Parliament (in Westminster) would henceforth be known as the ‘First Parliament of Great Britain’. This completed the formalities of the Treaty, making the new Parliament of Great Britain live, but it didn’t sit until the 23rd October, as the Treaty allowed Queen Anne to delay its first session while the current session of her 2nd English Parliament was still sitting.

“This means that Westminster parliament dissolved the Scottish side of the Parliamentary Union, in and from England.”

NOBODY ‘dissolved the Scottish side of the Parliamentary Union’, or there could be no Union!

Westminster is SUPPOSED to be the sole Parliament of the Union. There is no requirement in the Treaty for two distinct parliaments to carry out the joint governance of the Union. Parliamentary Union did NOT mean two parliaments sitting in one building! It meant and still does, one Parliament with two very distinct sets of MPs sitting in it.

The key aspect of Westminster that you keep ignoring is that, while the Union Parliament is one single parliament, it is a SHARED parliament. It is formally shared between two sets of MPs because the parliament’s governance decisions for the Union are supposed to be agreed between those two sets of MPs whose parents, the two sovereign kingdoms, founded both the Union and its parliament together. And neither kingdom was willing to give up their sovereignty to the other kingdom; neither trusted the other, and they both intended to participate fully in governing the new Union from its new Union Parliament!

Each set of MPs explicitly represent ONLY their own parent kingdom in the ongoing daily negotiations involved in making those governance decisions, and as such each set is present specifically to DEFEND and PROMOTE the interests of their respective parent kingdoms, and once you and everyone else understands that purpose and that context, it becomes obvious that neither body of MPs should be expected to submit to the decisions of the other body, since clearly neither body has any legitimate authority over the other.

It is patently ludicrous to suggest that Scotland’s MPs be required to submit to majority decisions made by the MPs of a completely different kingdom! And it’s even more ludicrous to also suggest that there should be no converse requirement for England’s MPs. The Treaty contains no such requirement.

England’s MPs shouldn’t be making decisions for Scotland at all! They don’t represent Scotland, they don’t represent the Union, and they don’t have the legal authority to enforce their decisions on either. And since the Union parliament is NOT the parliament of England anymore, they don’t even have the legal authority to enforce their decisions on England, on their own.

Both kingdoms are in a formal partnership, and all decisions of that partnership, bar its dissolution, need the agreement of both partners. That is why both partners are represented in the same parliament building, so that they can face each other directly during the daily negotiations and debates needed to properly conduct that joint, shared governance.

The Treaty isn’t a hoax, James, but its implementation by the English establishment that runs Westminster is clearly a scam, because it doesn’t properly respect the Treaty nor the sovereignties of the two kingdoms that agreed it and founded the Union and its parliament. The Union’s governance processes are an abusive scam perpetrated and maintained by the English establishment with the collusion of Scotland’s MPs.

250. James Che

Dan,

You should wear a logo on a vest,

I am not the council, but I voluntary clean their ditches and pick up the rubbish when they fail,

Or something along those lines, name and shame them, after all they take your council tax. But don’t do the job.

251. Dorothy Devine

Lenny, It was Garavelli Princip who made the comment – that said it could easily have been me!
    I am adept at scrolling past quite a few drivelling blowhards!

252. James Che

Dan,
    When I pick up the litter I make sure that people “know” that I am not the “failing council” that hike up the Council tax,
    And say to as many people as possible that the council should reduce my, or anyone else’s council tax whilst doing their work.

253. James Che

Xaracen,

I was waiting for you to pop in and was beginning to think you were on holiday,

Queen Anne was never made Queen of Scotland,
    Remember your post, that England sent a LETTER to Scotland telling us that the people down south had witnessed and made her queen of Scotland,

And with no ceremony, Oath or crowning taking place or witnesses in Scotland.
    You can believe it if you wish to, but most Scots need better and more sincere validity than a letter sent from England.

And of course the kink in your argument is that it was Westminster parliament that EXTENDED her kingdom to include Scotland as under the fallacious union, to then be part of her kingdom, which is also in Westminster records.

So Englands elite political sphere, created and made her Queen of Scotland, through a letter and later by extending her kingdom to include Scotland.

A queen of Scotland “that never was” other than what was created by England in England,

So Scotland was not part of Queen Annes inherited kingdom until after the

254. James Che

Xaracen,

The last monarch of Scotland that took the Oath in Scotland and was coronated in Scotland with the Scottish regalia was king Charles11.

255. Republicofscotland

Breeks sorry to read about the loss of your mother, many folk have lost loved ones who now won’t see an independent Scotland.

The treacherous b*stard Sturgeon really did a number on the cause and Scotland in general of which the current SNP seems to be continuing.

Make no mistake about it the English government and it security services are our enemies, the British army has an entire department 77th Brigade that actively works against Scotland, GCHQ also has an online presence which among other things deters Scottish independence, MI5 spies on us and keeps dossiers on the more prominent indy minded individuals.

The entire remit of these arms of the English government with Scotland in mind is to stop Scotland leaving the union and to keep Scots believing that they are better off within the union when the opposite is the truth.

Our political parties are strewn with informants the parties themselves are pro-union, take away the Greens and the SNP and the rest are just branch offices of English parties in Scotland.

Also what passes for the MSM in Scotland is utterly pro-union, virtually none of it is Scottish with Scottish interests at heart, Scots are the most propagandised people in the world.

256. Dan

@ James Che

I was thinking of making a “Man At Work” sign, but not for safety reasons, more as a reminder to a forgotten era because most folk round my way have forgotten what a man at work actually looks like these days.
    Far too many twats in offices sitting on their arses in front of computers spending their days typing thinking it will sort shit out…

257. Republicofscotland

Dan.

Another thread from your link, Scottish government Quangos are robbing the Scottish taxpayer blind.

https://caltonjock.com/2023/12/20/scotlands-other-government-the-unaccountable-quangos/

258. Xaracen

Good Afternoon, James. 🙂 I remember the letter, and I also remember that the Scottish Parliament was satisfied that the witnesses were reliable enough for it to accept that the Oath was properly taken, and accept Anne as Scotland’s new Queen. It was the Scottish Parliament that made her queen by its formal acceptance of her status along with her inheritance of the Scottish Crown, so it was not ‘the people down south that made her queen of Scotland’.

A coronation ceremony isn’t definitive as a legal requirement of accession, it is only the Scottish Coronation Oath that confers legality to the new wearer of the crown, and the taking of that Oath was what the witnesses witnessed. To my knowledge, no monarch since Anne has taken that Oath.

(I don’t know what’s going on with the Records of the Scottish Parliament (www.rps.ac.uk) site, it’s been several weeks since it stopped providing access to those records, and they appear to have no idea when access will be restored.)

As for Queen Anne’s acquisition of territorial rights over Scotland, that is a right that only the sovereign Scots can confer, and they never did. As such no UK Monarch can own Scottish territory under either of the English or Scottish Royal capacities, and any exercise of authority involving Scotland’s territory and the mineral rights that come with it must be regarded as actual crimes of fraud and theft.

It is of course no surprise that the UK monarch’s illicit acquisition of Scotland’s mineral wealth would benefit London rather than Scotland or the Scots who constitutionally do own Scotland’s territory and associated wealth.

So that’s on Westminster’s charge sheet along with a whole wheen of other major charges. We’ll need to bring the English establishment to book soon or the oldest charges on the sheet will have faded away.

259. James Che

Dan,

Aye, most of the next generation will not understand why there are no men at work to cater for their requirement, burst pipes, ditches, painters or decorators, someone to pick up the rubbish, mend the hole in their roof, or to mend the roads,
    Sitting in office jobs or online work at home on guarenteed universal credit will not get thing done as required,
    They are the next generation that have to learn how to work at old skills if they want to survive, but I think dissasociation from the reality of the world were they believe in modern magic of computers to fix everything

What most do not understand is, its them that are sitting on their social credit arses that will be the down fall of their Countries.

260. ayemachrihanish

Xaracen says:

´The Parliament of England did not dissolve the Scottish Parliament, Queen Anne dissolved it by proclamation on the 28th April 1707, that is, prior to´ to to to….

Respectfully, that is bollocks 🙂

Aye.. Queen Anne was the last monarch of the Stuart dynasty.

But, it was ´after´ the Act of Union in 1707 she became the first sovereign of Great Britain (rather than England and Scotland).

Facts and Law matter.. so, best Keep it simple… it was ´after´ the Act of Union in 1707 she became the first sovereign of Great Britain

261. twathater

@ Breeks I echo others sentiments in the passing of your mum it is something you know is inevitable but it still breaks your heart
    It is unacceptable that ANY of the Scottish Nonce Party should ever be forgiven for the DELIBERATE BETRAYAL of ALL indy supporters but more especially those who have passed after giving their vote and support to a corrupt,vile , deviant shower of perverts who are FIXATED on the sex lives of our children
    When independent I DEMAND as a sovereign Scot a mandate that any government we elect MUST bring every one of these tra itors to judgement irrespective of time or location for the crimes they committed against Scotland and Scots living or dead

262. James Che

Xaracen,

I not sure you have noticed that there is no unified one kingdom,

For generations of English monarchs hold their coronation in England and swear an Oath to the governance of the people of England, and wear the throne of Englands regalia.

Them they cheekily come up north to the kingdom of Scotland and Swear a “different separate kingdom Oath” to the Sovereign people in Scotland without going through the required coronation that would make them monarch of Scots.
    No open ceremony as in England, no wearing or being Crowned with the Scottish regalia,
    But the monarch in the kingdom of Scotland in a deceitful manner never goes through with the completion of a full ceremony, the same as Queen Anne and every monarch of England since queen Anne f… mucked up becoming Queen of Scots,

But as a ramification of the monarch of England swearing a separate Oath to the Scots, it leaves the Scots Sovereignty intact as a separate kingdom from England,
    The Scottish Oath” is to the people in Scotland, and does include not the territory kingdom of Scotland.
    Just the people in Scotland,

So where is the unified united one kingdom?

263. Xaracen

@ayemachrihanish;

Actually, Queen Anne became Queen in 1702, and was Queen in both Scottish and English capacities because of the ‘Union of the Crowns’ in 1603. It was as the Scottish monarch she proclaimed the Scottish parliament dissolved, not as the GB monarch, nor as the English monarch.

264. Xaracen

James Che said;

“Xaracen,

So where is the unified united one kingdom?”

James, I’ve no idea where you got the idea I think the UK is a ‘unified united kingdom’, I’ve spent a long time pointing out why that is nothing more than an English establishment scam, and not a meaningful description of the reality of the UK.

We have two monarchies, two sovereign territories, two legal systems, two justice systems, two constitutions, two national religions, two very different cultures, several languages, and two distinct populations, one of which owns the sovereignty of their kingdom, and one which owns no sovereignty at all.

And you’re asking me what the hell is unified and united about all that?

265. Merkin Scot

My Law professor, when in private practice, flung her and her proxy out of his offices for trying to involve his firm in dodgy property deals and mortgage fraud.

266. Dan

@ James Che

Indeed, the loss of practical skills is something I’m acutely aware of as constantly get asked to do a broad range of practical stuff for folks.
    The thing is though, that our society actually requires that knowledge and skillsets to maintain its sustainability and infrastructure.
    If the young ones are so smart and savvy then how come they ask me to fix very basic faults with their tractors, cars, lawnmowers, electrical goods, plumbing, etc. The generation raised on social media haven’t half turned out to be a bunch of feckless workshy cretins. But I guess all this stuff that goes wrong in their lives will soon, in their delusional and compromised minds, be self-fixing, just like the new self-driving cars that are supposed to be getting rolled out…

NetZero zealots rarely if ever rage about the shit way modern housing is built using crap imported materials. But that is most likely because it is completely beyond their imagination and comprehension that we could be using an awful lot more locally sourced stuff. And being locally sourced that would mean industries and jobs here for our own people with all the economic benefits that brings, instead of handing that aspect away to far flung lands.
    The physical work involved in what I’ll call proper practical trades and vocations is very good for both the body and therapeutic for the mind. In my opinion it’s also far more beneficial in real terms to society than those of office dweller type extraction tapping away on their keyboards, or academics pontificating on theoretical stuff.

267. ayemachrihanish

Only three Magna Carta clauses of 1215 remain in English law today – and therefore also in UK Law. Pay particular attention to clause IX.

IX. THE City of London shall have all the old Liberties and Customs which it hath been used to have. Moreover We will and grant, that all other Cities, Boroughs, Towns, and the Barons of the Five Ports, as with all other Ports, shall have all their Liberties and free Customs.

THE City of London shall have all the old Liberties and Customs which it hath been used to have.

Ask?

Exactly what old financial Liberties and tax exempt Customs which it hath been used to have?

Well this is one:

Upon his father’s death in August 2016, Shuggie or Hugh Grosvenor, 7th Duke of Westminster inherited the titles and share in the barons fortune then estimated at £9 billion, with considerable trust funds for his sisters.

This wealth is held in a old Liberties and Customs trust of which the 7th Duke is a beneficial owner and chair of trustees ….but not the legal owner…. an arrangement that, owing to the inheritance tax exemption it confers means Grosvenor Estates and the 7th Duke of Westminster never ever pay income or inheritance tax.

They have an old Liberties and Customs exemption.

They and the other barons – that come and go – have exemptions.

Outrages as this is… that is not the most suffocating City of London old Liberties and Customs which it hath been used to have….

268. ayemachrihanish

In the same 2023 enacted Magna Carta clause it say this…

Moreover We will and grant, that all other Cities, Boroughs, Towns, and the Barons of the Five Ports, as with all other Ports, shall have all their Liberties and free Customs.

Yes, you did read that correctly: ´We will and grant´

Who is this we?
    Where are they based? In THE City of London of 1215.
    Where exactly is THE 1215 City of London? Well, today it is called the City of Westminster. Which is conveniently disguised as being also in the burgh of Westminster.

However, almost exactly sq foot for sq foot the then City of London of 1215.

A physical city within a city.

But one sq mile where shall have all the old Liberties and Customs which it hath been used to have.

Moreover We will and grant, that all other Cities, Boroughs, Towns, and the Barons of the Five Ports, as with all other Ports, shall have all their Liberties and free Customs.

Not parliament… We will and grant.

One of only three Magna Carta clauses of 1215 that remain in English law today – and therefore also in UK Law.

269. Republicofscotland

Well done SA, we’ll see what comes from it.

“South Africa has begun today ICJ proceeding against Israel for violation of the Genocide Convention at The Hague.”

The Zionist murderers and their backers MUST stand trial for the geocide in Gaza.

https://nitter.net/Kathleen_Tyson_/status/1740785577526726940#m

270. Mac

Just catching up and seeing all the Breeks posts. Obviously I don’t know you man but having lost both parents since early 2021, I can tell you it is a perspective changer. My sincere condolences to you.

271. Graf Midgehunter

Breeks

My best wishes and condolences.

If your mother was as much a women of the borders as you are a man, then your mother was rightly proud.

272. Geri

Breeks..

I’m so sorry for the loss of yer Mam. Sincere condolences to you & your family xx

let’s hope she’s putting in a word with the big yin for us.

SNP is finished. They’re beyond salvation. Each & every single one of them a total user of votes for self interest. A party that shat it on a tidal wave of support. Just like Slabber, they’ll be banished from ever holding power again & as a bonus they’ll take the perverted Frankenstein Greens with them before we’re all half man, half goat with their crazy arsed mutations!

New Year’s I always raise a glass to folks who’ve passed & start greetin’ – such a shame at any time of year, but especially over the holidays. We’re here for a natter if you feel up to it – take care x

273. Alf Baird

Continuity Empire man disnae quite ‘get’ Scottish decolonization:

“First Minister Humza Yousaf said: “Those recognised in the New Year’s Honours list have made exceptional contributions to communities across Scotland and beyond.”

274. Dan

Jesus suffering fuck! It’s quarter to one and I’ve had two of my neighbours’ air source heat pumps hammering away constantly since I went to bed over an hour ago. No chance I can get to sleep with that din going on.
    What a shit state this country is being turned into by brain dead melts.

275. chic.mcgregor

Breeks

Condolences.

276. James Che

Xaracen,

As you are aware i am unable to be reliable to set times in responding to comments as looking after spouse at home after amputation on foot,

After A quick read of your last comment may I make this observation.

The position of queen Anne as queen of Scots is highly debatable, as you are aware by the method and who declared her queen of Scots,

The “parliament of Westminster extended” her kingdom to Scotland, that is in Writing, in records.
    When Englands parliament extended her kingdom to include Scotland, to you and I that means in laymans terms that queen Anne of England, France and Ireland was not Queen of Scotland. The territory.

And she was never coronated as queen of Scots,

There is a vast difference between between “England” sending a (letter to Scotland) making her queen of Scots from England.

And The Scots making her Their queen under the appropriate Coronation in Scotland,
    This area of how she or when she came to the kingdom of Scotland to be coronated Queen of Scots is entirely missing in all records.

The personal union of the monarch of England has never been confirmed officially in Scotland as the monarch of Scots,
    Could you provide the place name and the date Scotland actually confirmed and held the ceremony to make her queen of Scots,
    Otherwise what you are repeating is old English parliament propaganda and whitewash.

So it is important that you can provide the time and place Scotland made her Queen of Scots,

277. James Che

The union of the crowns was a personal union not a official union, and it was the already coronated Scottish monarchs in Scotland that inherited the Throne of England, not vice versa,

The republic of England has not been officially repealed by statue,
    And when England excepted the coronated king Charles 11 of Scots to inherit the throne of England after the Cromwellien period.
    Englands throne became a addition to the to the already Scottish king Charles 11 monarch kingdom,

Perhaps this is evidenced in the Westminster parliament making separate Anglo treaties with Ireland and America after the fallacious treaty of union,

Regardless of the lack of evidence provided by yourself for a date and place in Scotland as Scots accepting and coronating Queen Anne of England to be the queen of Scots, other than a letter from England,
    We do have evidence of a coronation to make her queen of England and a coronation date, time, the Oath taken to Englands people, and the place in England that this happened,

As the two kingdoms were operating officially in their capacities as separate kingdoms, with separate parliaments and officials it was not up to The kingdom of England to make queen Anne, queen of the kingdom of Scotland, even by letter,
    That required the people of Scotland,
    Scots could simply consider the letter from England as a “lie” without the evidence.

This is a important issue for Scotland with regards as to wether she was actually queen of Scots in 1706/1707.in relation to her authority over the treaty of union, and given Royal assent to that treaty,
    Queen Anne of England never bothered to be coronated Queen of Scots in Scotland as she was to busy with the wars of England,
    And is highly questionable with the lack of records wether there was a union of Crowns between Scotland and England,

Even with that huge questionable issue of The lack of evidence of her being the monarch of Scotland hovering over her,
    Queen Anne dissolved the 1707 Scottish parliament from a Scottish parliamentary union with the the parliament of England. By her proclamation in Westminster parliament,
    The Westminster parliament in England stood on its own in entering the 1707 treaty

A dissolved parliament has no representatives, cannot represent its constituents, and has no legal standing or liability in any binding way on the next parliament of Scotland,
    The dissolution of the 1707 Scottish parliament was never repealed or re- opened in Englands statues or in the British Statues,

Once made void by dissolution it was impossible to have a parliamentary union or for Scotland to have representative in the Westminster parliament in future,

So the presumption that England pre union could make a Scottish monarch by sending a letter to Scotland, or that a parliamentary union of two parliaments had proceeded is propaganda.

However I accept your willingness to believe in all that is propergated by letter from England, and your believe that a political union took place between Westminster parliament of England and the dissolved parliament of Scotland,
    Note:
    The parliament of England was not dissolved on the same day as the parliament of Scotland in England by any proclamation of Queen Anne in Westminster Parliament or elsewhere.
    Thus leaving Scotlands void and dissolved parliament not liable officially to Claims of shared debt, breaches of the treaty of union, and with the territory of Scotland intact from from taxation and all the promises that were made towards the fallacious union.

278. Xaracen

@James Che;

I’m assembling a reply for you, and I need to check something, but I should be able to post it later today.

279. James Che

Xaracen,

Thank you for your kind response,
    as you will be aware I have many stored records from parliaments of England , Ireland and Scotlands old parliaments, plus various amounts that are more modern in nature, and under the duress of family illness and a carer of my spouse in that capacity I seldom have the time to respond directly recently, or to take the records out of storage,

However my memory for historical recorded events in general is not to bad due to my previous and present hobbies of metal detecting, researching history and archaeology,
    And I hope you will likewise be as patient in my responses to yourself.

280. Xaracen

James Che said;

“The “parliament of Westminster extended” her kingdom to Scotland, that is in Writing, in records.
    When England’s parliament extended her kingdom to include Scotland, to you and I that means in layman’s terms that queen Anne of England, France and Ireland was not Queen of Scotland. The territory.”

James, when exactly did this happen? Where could any Westminster parliament get the authority to confer ownership of Scotland’s territory to ANYONE, monarch or not, without the express permission of the sovereign Scots who do own Scotland’s territory?

“And she was never coronated crowned as Queen of Scots.”

She didn’t need to be, inheriting the throne from her deceased predecessor as next in line, and taking the Scottish Coronation Oath entitled her to hold the title of Queen of Scots.

There is a vast difference between between “England” sending a (letter to Scotland) making her queen of Scots from England.”

There is no meaningful difference, since neither of those things happened. ‘England’ sent no letter, a person ‘in England’ did, and it was the acceptance by the Scottish Parliament that the letter was credible evidence that the Oath was properly taken and witnessed as such by persons that the parliament also accepted her as Queen of Scots. There was no requirement that the Oath be taken in Scotland, as an oath is binding wherever it is taken.

I need to make a correction at this point, as I had said in a previous comment that;

‘It was the Scottish Parliament that made her queen by its formal acceptance of her status along with her inheritance of the Scottish Crown, so it was not ‘the people down south that made her queen of Scotland’.

This was wrong, I was forgetting myself, as the Scottish parliament’s acceptance was never a requirement for a new monarch to take on her powers. The Scottish parliament was a creature of the monarch not the other way around. All it really needed was confirmation that due process had been followed, for it to accept her authority over it.

Coronations do NOT confer regal authority to monarchs in Scotland or England. The only legal requirement under Scots law is that the Scottish Coronation Oath must be taken before the new monarch can take the title of King or Queen of Scots, but the monarch’s powers and privileges are already held on accession when the old monarch dies.

“Could you provide the place name and the date Scotland actually confirmed and held the ceremony to make her queen of Scots, otherwise what you are repeating is old English parliament propaganda and whitewash.

So it is important that you can provide the time and place Scotland made her Queen of Scots.”

Scotland made her Queen of Scots in principle in 1689 when the Convention of the Estates offered the Scottish throne to William and Mary, establishing a new royal line, and she did the rest herself in 1702 by;

a, being ‘next in line’ for both thrones,

b, being still alive when her predecessor died, and,

c, taking the Scottish Coronation Oath in a formal event in front of credible official witnesses.

The Scottish Parliament didn’t make her Queen of Scots, it just accepted that she already was because it had received a letter detailing the relevant circumstances had taken place to make her so, that is, points a, b, and c. Remember that it was the Scottish monarch who called Scottish parliaments to sit, and to prorogue or end sessions. Parliaments in those days did not sit permanently as they do today (apart from holidays). The Scottish Parliament was the creature of the Scottish monarch, and at the monarch’s beck and call.

You said;

“The union of the crowns was a personal union not a official union, and it was the already coronated crowned Scottish monarchs in Scotland that inherited the Throne of England, not vice versa.”

I don’t see why this has any relevance.

“The republic of England has not been officially repealed by statue,
    And when England excepted the coronated crowned king Charles 11 of Scots to inherit the throne of England after the Cromwellian period.
    England’s throne became an addition to the already Scottish king Charles 11 monarch kingdom,”

I think that’s an English matter, not a Scottish one. Why would a Scottish monarch have any authority over England, republic or not?

“Regardless of the lack of evidence provided by yourself for a date and place in Scotland as Scots accepting and coronating crowning Queen Anne of England to be the queen of Scots, other than a letter from England, we do have evidence of a coronation to make her queen of England and a coronation date, time, the Oath taken to England’s people, and the place in England that this happened,”

I’ve already dealt with the first part of this, and as for the second part, what does this have to do with Scotland?

“As the two kingdoms were operating officially in their capacities as separate kingdoms, with separate parliaments and officials it was not up to the kingdom of England to make Anne Queen of the Kingdom of Scotland, even by letter, that required the people of Scotland, Scots could simply consider the letter from England as a “lie” without the evidence.”

As I’ve explained above, that simply didn’t happen.

“This is a important issue for Scotland with regards as to whether she was actually queen of Scots in 1706/1707 in relation to her authority over the treaty of union, and given Royal assent to that treaty, Queen Anne of England never bothered to be coronated crowned Queen of Scots in Scotland as she was too busy with the wars of England, and it’s highly questionable with the lack of records whether there was a union of Crowns between Scotland and England.”

The Union of the Crowns certainly happened, but had no constitutional significance as long as the monarch remembered which Crown’s authority was being invoked on any matter being considered, since those authorities were not identical across the two kingdoms. It did NOT imply or mean that there was any other kind of union. It was simply a case of one person having two separate and distinct but similar jobs, nothing more.

“Even with that huge questionable issue of the lack of evidence of her being the monarch of Scotland hovering over her, Queen Anne dissolved the 1707 Scottish parliament from a Scottish parliamentary union with the the parliament of England. By her proclamation in Westminster parliament, the Westminster parliament in England stood on its own in entering the 1707 treaty.”

The huge questionable issue was NOT a huge questionable issue, and Westminster was supposed to be the only parliament of the Union. That is not an issue. Issues abound elsewhere, but that is not one of them.

“A dissolved parliament has no representatives, cannot represent its constituents, and has no legal standing or liability in any binding way on the next parliament of Scotland,
    The dissolution of the 1707 Scottish parliament was never repealed or re- opened in England’s statues or in the British Statutes.”

The dissolved parliament’s MPs were already formally entitled as of 1st May 1707 to sit in the new Union parliament when it eventually sat, and took their seats when it did on 23rd October 1707. So what’s the problem?

“Once made void by dissolution it was impossible to have a parliamentary union or for Scotland to have representative in the Westminster parliament in future.”

The parliamentary union was a union of two sets of MPs in one shared parliament, and that actually happened, though its implementation was banjaxed on purpose to prevent the Scots MPs from wielding any real power in the Union. England’s establishment wasn’t going to tolerate any effective rivals to their authority.

“So the presumption that England pre union could make a Scottish monarch by sending a letter to Scotland, or that a parliamentary union of two parliaments had proceeded is propaganda.”

No, it’s just a mistaken interpretation of what actually happened.

“However I accept your willingness to believe in all that is propagated by letter from England, and your belief that a political union took place between Westminster parliament of England and the dissolved parliament of Scotland,”

The political Union took place, but its implementation was deliberately malformed to unfairly benefit England at Scotland’s expense.

“Note:
    The parliament of England was not dissolved on the same day as the parliament of Scotland in England by any proclamation of Queen Anne in Westminster Parliament or elsewhere.”

I’m afraid I keep finding conflicting reports around timelines on this matter, depending on who is reporting them, including from supposedly reputable historic societies, so I’m not committing to any of them. I don’t think they are important given the existence of much more serious issues, so I’m not losing any sleep over them.

“Thus leaving Scotland’s void and dissolved parliament not liable officially to claims of shared debt, breaches of the treaty of union, and with the territory of Scotland intact from from taxation and all the promises that were made towards the fallacious union.”

My conclusion is simple; little of the Treaty and its implementation that would have benefitted Scotland were respected, and much of it was badly twisted by England’s establishment to benefit England, and especially London, and to Scotland’s great detriment.

Fundamentally, the Union is a major fraud, and the Treaty irretrievably broken, making the continuation of the Union an ongoing major national crime. An independent Scotland is under no obligation to pay back debts it never incurred, or debts incurred on its behalf it never required, asked for, nor benefitted from.

Happy New Year to you and yours, James.

281. James Che

First and foremost I will be brief in my first reply, due to district nurse due to arrive for changing Spouses dressing,

Of corse the ceremony and coronation has to take place in Scotland, for Scotland people to accept Queen Anne as their Queen, just as England did,
    Because in Scotland the monarchs Status is not the same as Englands,
    And their are still two separate ceremonies undertaking today on separate days,
    A letter sent from someone in England to a few people in Scotland did not make her Queen of Scotland,
    other by Someones letter from England , whom may have lied.

The point I often make regards Westminster parliament of England continuing long after the Scottish parliament was dissolved from the liability of being in a treaty of union by Queen Annes proclamation in Westminster parliament.

The distinction is as follows:

The lower house of commons was dissolved in Westminster parliament of England, to create a new Great- Britain parliament,

However the upper house, The house of Lords in the parliament of England was never dissolved to create a new parliament of great-britain.
    The parliament of England continued its existence through the House of lords.

I will respond further and with better detail after the detrimental 5 week period for my Spouse health, when I will retrieve all my records.

282. Xaracen

James, don’t worry about any response for now. We can pick this up later.

283. Confused

che/xaracen – my own understanding of the union was that it was a gigantic bait and switch; there was to be this new UK parliament (but its just the english parliament … )

– this is good, the union shenanigans is about half way in 25.00

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m000fzsh/royal-historys-biggest-fibs-with-lucy-worsley-series-1-3-queen-anne-and-the-union

You both seem to be picking away at details which are at least worth investigating. The goal should be a definitive timeline, with all the sleight of hand and legalistic chicanery pointed out.

The one guy, the man who sold our world, more than any was Hamilton.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9je7cFIJKt4

At one time, they were to coal what the saud family are to oil. Ironically, in 2014, the current duke had become a nationalist, a fact the daily telegraph weekend magazine didn’t know how to handle; defer to aristocracy, but rubbish indy.

Hamilton Palace, once as grand as buck house, now has an asda on its old site. The other queer historical note of that family was the flight of Rudolf Hess, explained away as a moment of madness.

When I was a kid I remember seeing on telly, some expert/historian saying “OF COURSE the terms of the treaty have been breached, many, many, times … ” – and with that thought I reckoned indy would have happened, some 40 years ago. The law doesn’t matter when no one cares, no one will enforce its provisions; the biggest fuckyou to the treaty was the creation of the supreme court, the clearest breach imaginable. No one cared.

And yet it worries them …

– the “ancient guff” meme was poor, forced and stupid; every fucking thing in the world is set by some brand of AG – let’s fix the middle east by telling the jews to forget about their AG, of some 3000 years ago? Or tell the yanks their constitution is a load of daft old wank.

then there is the double standard, as typical of anglos; they want you to obey the law, and like to wank themselves dizzy over e.g. the magna carta, but then say – don’t keep looking at the treaty, in case you find you have rights under it you can exercise … it’s the law or it isn’t, and if it isn’t then – IN INTERNATIONAL LAW – Scotland is OCCUPIED BY A FOREIGN POWER and in international law you have the right of resistance, the right of armed conflict, so next time you see some braying home counties wank, you can follow him home and do him in … legally.

https://www.cambridge.org/core/books/abs/use-of-armed-force-in-occupied-territory/armed-resistance-against-the-occupying-power-in-international-law/930AF96A0A005123DA94E1B1EB8D7947

– it’s the law. International Law.

oh, okay … so you now think the act/treaty are valid? Okay, so you don’t mind if we look at the small print?

Keep digging Xaracen/Che, keep digging.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.